About Tony's - St. Louis

410 Market St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Business Casual)
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm (Business Casual)

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-7007

Website:
http://tonysstlouis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided.

Executive Chef:
Vincent P. Bommarito

Private Party Facilities:
Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, offers two exquisite private dining rooms, which are uniquely suited for business functions and celebrations, including rehearsal dinners, receptions, and more. The Wine Room, featuring a dramatic glass wall that highlights the medal-winning wine cellar, is a stunning dining space that accommodates up to 66 guests. The second private dining room, accommodating up to 50 guests, exudes an understated elegance. Order either from the renown Tony's menu, or work directly with Executive Chef Vincent P. Bommarito to develop a custom menu. Guests will enjoy award-winning cuisine and table side service that only Tony's can provide. Upon request, table centerpieces, music, audio/video equipment, podium, and other equipment can be provided. Tony's, because you want a signature evening from those who set the standard in the industry.

Private Party Contact:
Vincent J. Bommarito: 3142317007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tony's - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Best Food
St. Louis
Best Service
St. Louis
13 More
Best Value
St. Louis
Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

special occasion (75)
romantic (58)
notable wine list (45)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
777 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a dining experience. The food wa ...

Dined 6 days ago

This is a dining experience. The food was excellent . Had a whiskey sour and it was not good,even after requesting a specific recipe it was not made correctly. The desert was something I never had before and it was great

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

FABULOUS. Tony's is the St. Louis iconi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

FABULOUS. Tony's is the St. Louis iconic restaurant. No place like it. Four of us had dinner on Saturday and from the morels with homemade pasta to the ice cream pie with hot fudge everything was fabulous. Salads not overdone with dressing , to the halibut to the lobster pasta every thing was delicious! Best restaurant in St. Louis

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!!!

Dined 7 days ago

Thirtieth anniversary couldn't have been more memorable. We were treated exceptionally! The food, wine and dessert was to die for. Best meal ever!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, gourmet experience

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were greeted and treated like royalty, attended by a crew of servers. No need was left unmet. The owner, Vincent, hosted us like we were guests in his home. The food was stellar, prepared perfectly and served with flair.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Overall...not bad

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everyone was exceptionally nice. Our server was upset that his table of 8 people had not shown. My daughter and I heard him tell the other servers about it several times during our meal. We waited over 20 minutes to be shown the desert menu and to be served desert because the desert cart hadn't been set up

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tony's does not disappoint!

Dined on May 20, 2016

What a perfect spot for a special event! We celebrated two special birthdays recently, and we loved the food, the exquisite service, and an all around beautiful evening. Thank you, Tony's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our most favorites places in St. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of our most favorites places in St. Louis. The attention to detail in every aspect is by far the best! The food is always amazing and the service is second to none!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant - food was outstand ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant - food was outstanding. Service impeccable, elegant and the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great food and service! Owner is ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always great food and service! Owner is always present and makes it a point to stop and visit with each table.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another fantastic evening dinner at Tony ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Another fantastic evening dinner at Tony's! The food was exceptional, the service and hospitality top notch. I hosted a business dinner with four clients/prospects and Tony's knows how to handle this kind of event superbly. We had fantastic food and some old Barolo which made for a meme ramble night! I am on a low carb diet and was a bit bit worried about what to order, but James and Vince handled it perfectly. Thanks to the whole crew at Tony's for a fantastic night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town!

Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I come here once a year to celebrate our anniversary. Carlos has been our waiter the past three years and greets us like old friends. Mr. Bomarito, the owner, always finds time to visit and make us feel special. The food and atmosphere are unbelievable, and the attention to detail by everybody is a forgotten art.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had the Filet of Swordfish...a ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Two of us had the Filet of Swordfish...a bit "chewy". Otherwise, everything was outstanding! Will absolutely return to this restaurant when back in STL.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service is super. Adam and Keith wer ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

The service is super. Adam and Keith were great. Best food and service in STL

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service and excellent food.

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a great anniviersary meal here. Tony's salad was wonderful, and the seafood dishes were superb. Perfect service. We will return when back in St. Louis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My first experience at Tony's was 60 yea ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

My first experience at Tony's was 60 years ago and it is still one of my favorites anywhere. Vincent still makes his rounds for a personal visit. The food and wine are superb and the staff is very professional and knowledgeable. Look forward to going back again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This our favorite place to dine!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was Carlos, so friendly and personable! Will ask for him if we return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service5

Outstanding food and service!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Outstanding!

Dined on April 22, 2016

It had been a couple of years since I dined at this St. Louis classic and the hiatus was my loss. The dining experience has always been the best and this return visit did not disappoint. The service was extraordinary and the wine was even better. Tony's attracts an out of town business crowd but that should not deter a romantic or special occasion evening. Locals should enjoy this great restaurant more often. I am not sure it was ever all that stuffy as some would proclaim, but the Bommaritos treat you like family and what a family! Thanks for a great evening. It will not take me two years to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and atsmosphere

Dined on April 21, 2016

Have not been to Tony's in about 15 years. The service and food was as good as I remember it. The main change is in the clientele. It used to be a place where everyone dressed up and it seemed like a special occasion. I believe they used to require men to wear a jacket. No more. There were customers in jeans, non-collared shirts, sleeveless top, etc,. This is not Tony's fault, just a reflection of the times. It just doesn't seem as much of a special occasion as it used to be. If you want a great meal you won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, amazing food, excellent service from start to finish. We keep returning again and again and again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

date night

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food, service and ambience at Tony's is fantastic. The prices are on the high end, but a wonderful place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous

Dined on April 8, 2016

Haven't been to TONY'S in 20 years! Being treated at Barnes hospital for cancer and wanted to treat my friends for coming to see me to a very special evening and I knew TONY'S was the place. Staff was very sweet and the food was the best. THANKS for making this night special

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saint Louis' Premier Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

I have been dining at Tony's for over thirty years and it NEVER fails to "come through" with an outstanding and memorable evening. I just wish that I lived in St. Louis. Living in Richmond Virginia just does not let me dine at Tony's enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on April 7, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The service was top notch and the food was divine. I highly recommend Tony's to anyone who wants to experience a world class meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Night Out!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Carlos was our fabulous server! Kind, happy, and informative. The rest of the staff helped to ensure our night was amazing and every course of the meal was delicious. I loved getting dressed up, eating great food, and feeling special celebrating a milestone day. Thank you Tony's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Staff friendly an ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Service was excellent. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Food and wine pairings were great.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

St Louis Classic

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

A St Louis classic icon. The food is excellent and the service is great. Vince still visits each table to visit and make certain everything is wonderful. A special treat for friends and that someone special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visited St Louis for a weekend and choose to eat at Tony's. We had a group of 2 couples. We had an outstanding experience. The service it great, ambiance is unbelievable, salads and starters were delicious and the main course was good. The waiters prepare some of the dishes right at your table using fresh ingredients. The wine list is fantastic. Vincent the owner definitely makes his presence known and adds to the experience. If you are looking for a great night out and money is not an issue you should go to Tony's

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had not been in several years. We decided to introduce our friends to Tony's as they had never been. The service and food remain impeccable. We were treated by everyone like family, especially by the owner. Our friends were very impressed. Best restaurant in St. Louis!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Old School Dinner

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

If you love grand service that harkens back to the "good old days"... Tony's is your place. The food is tasty and is elevated by the tableside service and attention to details. Vincent still comes by each table to greet his guests and signed pictures of Frank Sinatra and Henry Fonda grace a wall. It was a lovely dinner. ...and all of the food truly was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to spend a Special Occassion

Dined on February 26, 2016

We are fortunate enough to dine out frequently, but my wife and I were more excited than usual knowing we were going to Tony's. The service is fantastic and the food was delicious. We had a fabulous anniversary celebration!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to Tony's

Dined on February 21, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food finish prepared at the table, friendly staff. Vince Bommarito, the owner, came by to say hello. He even took a picture with us. Even though it was first class all the way, it was not pretentious at all. We felt very welcomed and we loved every minute of the whole experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine Date

Dined on February 15, 2016

The whloe experience from entering to leaving was very nice and enjoyable. Besides the food and the service having Mr. Bommarito stop by our table (twice) for light conversation was an experience we won't soon forget We also enjoyed seeing all the pictures of the many of the celebrities that have dinned there over the years. My girlfriend can't stop tanking me for the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

Dined on February 15, 2016

I booked a reservation here as a Valentines Day gift to my bf. I really wanted him to be treated to world class service and food. The service was outstanding. The staff went above and beyond. Everything went perfect and I could not be more pleased with the food, drinks--everything! My bf loved his meal and enjoyed a whiskey straight. We split a dessert of chocolate torte with house made banana ice cream and it was to die for! Do not skip dessert. The art on the wall is also quite beautiful. We stopped to admire a piece on our way out and I believe it was the manager or one of the owners who stopped to discuss it with us. Simply perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dining

Dined on February 15, 2016

We get to St Louis every couple of years and make sure to stop at Tony's every time. It is always an awesome meal with awesome service. A great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tony's Never Disappoints

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food, the service, the wine; everything about this place is focused on perfection. And what an added bonus to see Vince B. still working the room like he has for decades. Even on the busiest of evenings, the wait staff works their tables with a professionalism and efficiency that cannot be found anywhere else in this city (and few places in the world today). And the food is nothing short of spectacular. On every front. Freshness. Preparation. Seasoning. Presentation. Each course was a study in excellence; from the tartare of tenderloin and seared scallops that started our meal to a perfectly prepared veal chop and tenderloin with foie gras in the middle; and finished with a sublime crème brulee accompanied by a steaming café Napolitano. Fantastic all around....as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at Tony's

Dined on February 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Tony's and it exceeded our high expectations. We mistakenly showed up on the wrong evening for our reservation and while crowded, they couldn't have been more accommodating. The food and service was outstanding. Two of the owners stopped by our table to make sure everything was ok. And what a treat to meet Mr. Bommarito. This is a level of service and hospitality that is of days gone by. A great experience and we look forward to a return visit.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very appropriate for a special occasion ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Very appropriate for a special occasion ! Excellent!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a treat!

Dined on February 6, 2016

In St. Louis for business hosting a group of 40 people for dinner. Thoughtful and well trained staff along with a classic menu assured another great evening for my guests. Such a good time led us to return the next night with a party of 5 and once again, we were extremely happy with our experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never had a bad one!

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have been to Tony's many times. Never had a bad meal. This time was no exception. Our server was impeccable and allowed us to eat at our own pace. I always recommend Tony's for special occasions or just when you want to be pampered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.