About Tony's - St. Louis

410 Market St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Business Casual)
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm (Business Casual)

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-7007

Website:
http://tonysstlouis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided.

Executive Chef:
Vincent P. Bommarito

Private Party Facilities:
Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, offers two exquisite private dining rooms, which are uniquely suited for business functions and celebrations, including rehearsal dinners, receptions, and more. The Wine Room, featuring a dramatic glass wall that highlights the medal-winning wine cellar, is a stunning dining space that accommodates up to 66 guests. The second private dining room, accommodating up to 50 guests, exudes an understated elegance. Order either from the renown Tony's menu, or work directly with Executive Chef Vincent P. Bommarito to develop a custom menu. Guests will enjoy award-winning cuisine and table side service that only Tony's can provide. Upon request, table centerpieces, music, audio/video equipment, podium, and other equipment can be provided. Tony's, because you want a signature evening from those who set the standard in the industry.

Private Party Contact:
Vincent J. Bommarito: 3142317007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sirloin
Raspberry Cabaglione
Please Order Dessert Temptations
Lobster Albanalo
Steamed Spinach
Eggplant, Tomato And Basil Rissoto
Scallops With Truffles
Baby Green Beans
Fresh Mozzarella, Roasted Red Peppers, and Pesto
Caponata Siciliana (Eggplants)
Bread Basket
Beef Tartare
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco
Spinach, Avacado, And Roquerfort Salad
Almond Tort Wirh Carmel Ice Cream
Zucchini Blossoms with Greens
Arancini
Shrimp Scampi and Lobster In Garlic and Caper Sauce
Scallops With Black Truffles
Shrimp And Lobster Linguine
Roasted Coconut Ice Cream & Torte
Canneloni
Pan Roasted Salmon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tony's - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Best Food
St. Louis
Best Service
St. Louis
13 More
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Best Value
St. Louis
Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Notable Wine List
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (52)
Notable Wine List (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent upper class restaurant. Servic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent upper class restaurant. Service is outstanding as is the food.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FABULOUS! INCREDIBLE! WONDERFUL! DELI ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

FABULOUS! INCREDIBLE! WONDERFUL! DELICIOUS!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to St. Louis before but I ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had not been to St. Louis before but I needed a place to entertain clients for dinner. I found Tony's and am glad that I did. The ambiance was fantastic, food superb, and the service outstanding. Thank you for a great evening. If visiting St. Louis again, I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very poor. We waited 20 ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was very poor. We waited 20 minutes to get water and then another 10 for bread. Food was good but very poor service. Also very disappointing o see people in t shirts and Nike tennis shoes. Not sure what has happened. Use to be excellent service and people would dress nicely.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Tony's has long been known as the best r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Tony's has long been known as the best restaurant and it doesn't disappoint. The food is superb and the service is unparalleled. When we left the table and went out the front door, the valet had our car waiting for us even before we gave the ticket. Now that's attention to detail. I had heard such wonderful things about Tony's for so many years, I was sure it couldn't live up to the hype. But it was even better than I had imagined. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every detail first class. Service frien ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Every detail first class. Service friendly, helpful and efficient. Food very well prepared and a rare treat these days to have food finished off tableside. Our lead waiter Carlos was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food excellent service . Will defi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great food excellent service . Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tony's does not disappoint. We traveled ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Tony's does not disappoint. We traveled to St. Louis from Chicago over the Labor Day weekend, and anytime in St. Louis, Tony's has been a "must" stop for over 35 years. We had the Tasting Menu for Two, which gives you an opportunity to dine your way thru multiple, delicious items on the menu. Our server Ken made the evening even more enjoyable, with incredible service, and great conversation. I will be back again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was incredibly slow. It took us ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was incredibly slow. It took us over 3 hours for our meal. Had to wait for water glasses to be refilled numerous times. Another waiter had to jump in to help at the end. Ordered filets, my wife's filet was so flat it looked like a regular sirloin, my filet was cold in the middle. Overall, I have had better service, better food and definitely better prices at a lot of restaurants in St. Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Tony's is a must do for everyone. When ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Tony's is a must do for everyone. When you dine there you are treated as if you are someone very special. The attention to detail, the service, the FOOD, is so far above anywhere else you would dine in St. Louis. Everyone needs to dine at Tony's at least once, but once you go, you will want to go back!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful experience! We were wel ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

What a wonderful experience! We were welcomed by our name making us feel that we were waited for. We had a quiet table as we

requested and the service was outstanding. Our diner was a great experience, they served us our favorite Italian dish, veal piccata, and it wasn't on the menu. Impressive wine list as well.

Vincent, the owner, gracefully came to greet us at our table and our waiter was delightful too.

We will return for sure at our next visit toast Louis.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were early for our reservation but we ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were early for our reservation but we're seated on time. We waited for 1:45 minutes before our first course was served. The subsequent courses were also very slow. The food was very tasty but we really didn't enjoy our dinner. And at almost $400 for 2 people you really should have a great experience and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

The ambiance, service and menu were outs ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The ambiance, service and menu were outstanding! The Lobster and Shrimp Penne was especially succulent. From the warm welcome, to coffee and dessert, the entire experience was amazing!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal service and food. Top 5 of al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Phenomenal service and food. Top 5 of all dinners I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tony's is listed as business casual and ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Tony's is listed as business casual and $50 dollars and over. I think a more appropriate listing would be Jacket Required and Ages 50+. Once we got past the glares (we were wearing a button up, nicer shorts, leather casual shoes / summer casual dress, heels / we're mid-late 20's), the food and service was excellent. The scallops were prepared wonderfully. The server was attentive and knowledgable. The prices were a bit high for some "not-so-adventurous" food. But if you're looking for a good solid tasty meal, this is your place. The restaurant could use some updating, and so could the menu, but there are definitely some things here that are good enough to keep around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We had outstanding service from everyone ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had outstanding service from everyone and enjoyed incredible food. We order the Dover Sole, and Shrimp and Lobster and both were fabulous. They also have a incredible wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was spectacular!! ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dining experience was spectacular!! It is very pricey but really worth it!! Service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual. Great food and servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent as usual. Great food and service. Always love going to Tony's whether celebrating a special occasion or just to experience a wonderful evening. Nothing like Tony's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ,cozy atmosphere. Service great . O ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice ,cozy atmosphere. Service great . Olive oil not initially offered with bread(Italian Res). It was delicious and so was Tony's salad. I had the beef tenderloin which was cooked to specification. Had a great evening and we will come again!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The owner, Vincent, stopped by our table ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The owner, Vincent, stopped by our table which made our business dinner truly an exceptional experience. He's a great guy and used to know "Stan the Man" - Stan Musial. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They never did acknowledge my wife's b/d ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

They never did acknowledge my wife's b/d even though I mention it in the RSVP. Also requested not to be in a traffic area. We were next to the ent. to the kitchen. Did the 5 course meal for 2 w/the wine paring. With several courses we had to ask what we were being served. They were busy because of Sir Paul being in concert but still. Met Vince and he was a delight. We might go back just because of Vince. Bruce was nice but the mgr. was very removed and cut and dry on his mannerism. Finally when I mention it was by wife's b/d Bruce brought out a pc of really small slice of cake. Just another day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

standards remain high over the many year ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

standards remain high over the many years we have eaten at Tony's. We would like to see the lamb rack added back to the menu, but appreciate the specials now offered.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tonys is a great example of a throwback ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Tonys is a great example of a throwback to old-school, professional service in a formal setting. Highly recommended for the food and the wine (not your grocery store varieties)! Attention has gone into every detail here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AS ALWAYS, TONY'S WAS OUTSTANDING IN E ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

AS ALWAYS, TONY'S WAS OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY. THE FOOD WAS FABULOUS, THE ATMOSPHERE WAS ELEGANT AND ROMANTIC FOR OUR 5TH ANNIVERSARY. THE STAFF WERE ALL VERY ATTENTIVE WITHOUT BEING OVER BEARING.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, food and service!! Real ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great ambiance, food and service!! Real care is given to making the dining experience enjoyable!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, outstanding in everyway

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent, outstanding in everyway

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food! A little bit pricey but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food! A little bit pricey but the quality of the food dictates it. Service was a little bit slow.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

ALWAYS WONDERFUL. IT IS SO NICE TO HAVE ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

ALWAYS WONDERFUL. IT IS SO NICE TO HAVE THE ONLY 5 STAR RESTAURANT IN OUR

AREA.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tony's is the best high end Italian rest ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Tony's is the best high end Italian restaurant I've found in the United States. 10 out of 10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was trully phenom ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The overall experience was trully phenominal. Our captain, Carlos, was sincerely polite and well educated. We knew exactly what we were getting before we received out dinners. He did not rush us into ordering, and answered any questions. I have nothing but great things to say about Carlos and Tony's. I will definitely be returning on my next trip to Saint Louis, Mo.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding & elegant. Classic Italian ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding & elegant. Classic Italian and Northern Italian dishes finished artfully table side by Tony's seasoned and knowledgeable team.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tonys was an unreal experience. The food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Tonys was an unreal experience. The food was amazing and to be completely honest it was probably the best dinner experience I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was erratic. Good at the start. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was erratic. Good at the start. Got worse as the evening progressed. We asked about it to no avail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

This was our first visit and it made me ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first visit and it made me wish we'd started going there years ago. The service and atmosphere were impeccable and the food outstanding. Surely, the best restaurant experience I've ever had and I can't wait to go back. BRAVISSIMO!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mustard sauce on the grilled lobster ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The mustard sauce on the grilled lobster and shrimp was a little heavy; everything else was to die for delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was awesome as you would expect. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner was awesome as you would expect. Service (Bruce) outstanding , professional and personal as always. Great evening, thank you for another memory.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The same everytime - great service, exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The same everytime - great service, excellent food and prep, and a tableside visit with Tony.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tonys is always awonderful place to dine ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Tonys is always awonderful place to dine and never disappoints

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tony's is a wonderful place that seems t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Tony's is a wonderful place that seems to be of a different era. Amazing attention from waitstaff, table-side food prep, and personalized service. My new favorite anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tony"s is always exquisite. One of my f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Tony"s is always exquisite. One of my favorite restaurants in the world. Food, service, wine list are always superb. Staff make the extra effort all the time. Mr. Bomaritto always a joy with stories galore to enhance the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.