About Tony's - St. Louis

410 Market St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Business Casual)
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm (Business Casual)

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-7007

Website:
http://tonysstlouis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided.

Executive Chef:
Vincent P. Bommarito

Private Party Facilities:
Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, offers two exquisite private dining rooms, which are uniquely suited for business functions and celebrations, including rehearsal dinners, receptions, and more. The Wine Room, featuring a dramatic glass wall that highlights the medal-winning wine cellar, is a stunning dining space that accommodates up to 66 guests. The second private dining room, accommodating up to 50 guests, exudes an understated elegance. Order either from the renown Tony's menu, or work directly with Executive Chef Vincent P. Bommarito to develop a custom menu. Guests will enjoy award-winning cuisine and table side service that only Tony's can provide. Upon request, table centerpieces, music, audio/video equipment, podium, and other equipment can be provided. Tony's, because you want a signature evening from those who set the standard in the industry.

Private Party Contact:
Vincent J. Bommarito: 3142317007x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sirloin
Raspberry Cabaglione
Please Order Dessert Temptations
Lobster Albanalo
Steamed Spinach
Eggplant, Tomato And Basil Rissoto
Scallops With Truffles
Baby Green Beans
Fresh Mozzarella, Roasted Red Peppers, and Pesto
Caponata Siciliana (Eggplants)
Bread Basket
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco
Spinach, Avacado, And Roquerfort Salad
Beef Tartare
Almond Tort Wirh Carmel Ice Cream
Arancini
Scallops With Black Truffles
Shrimp And Lobster Linguine
Zucchini Blossoms with Greens
Shrimp Scampi and Lobster In Garlic and Caper Sauce
Roasted Coconut Ice Cream & Torte
Canneloni
Pan Roasted Salmon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tony's - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Best Food
St. Louis
Best Service
St. Louis
14 More
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Best Value
St. Louis
Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

special occasion (78)
romantic (62)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
notable wine list (41)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (4)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

JUST AN OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE. MY THIRD ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

JUST AN OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE. MY THIRD VISIT OVER PAST SEVERAL YEARS, EVERY ONE TRULY ENJOYABLE. I VISIT ALMOST EVERY TRIP TO ST. LOUIS, AND I LOOK FORWARD TO MY NEXT VISIT !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a very good experience. I was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Overall, a very good experience. I was surprised how casual the diners are now at Tony's . For decades Tony's was a suit and tie place and youngsters were rarely seen. On this night one of the diners had on a t-shirt, shorts and flip-flops.

Sign of the times, I suppose.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were there for our 44th Wedding Anniv ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were there for our 44th Wedding Anniversary. Greeted at the front desk by Kevin, with a "Happy Anniversary", our waitstaff all greeted us as well with a similar greeting. The food was delicious, the attention to detail was right on. Vince Bommarito walked around to all the tables checking that everything was satisfactory. He actually came by our table 3 times & he & my husband everyttalked about hing you can imagine. Love, love this place... love the food... love the staff!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first experience at Tony's was mostl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our first experience at Tony's was mostly a good one. The food was absolutely outstanding and to us, worth the money. I would offer a word of caution, however. If you go on a game day, they say they allow a more relaxed dress code. (My husband wore dress shorts and a golf shirt) They will certainly let you in, but don't expect the same treatment as the people that are in suits. When we return, we will definitely be more formal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Such a wonderful restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Such a wonderful restaurant to celebrate a special occasion... The service is awesome, and they make everyone feel like a VIP

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaraunt across from Hilton by t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great restaraunt across from Hilton by the ballpark. Excellent food and a very nice ambience. Service was exceptional as was Vin the owner who made it a point to talk with everyone and ask about service and food. Very personal service and vin's stories are great as he is a St. Louis legend.

Recommended for upscale dining

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant truly is a gem. Amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This restaurant truly is a gem. Amazing food, amazing service. Well worth a trip. Will visit again when in St. Louis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I chose Tony's to cele ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My girlfriend and I chose Tony's to celebrate our birthdays. It may have been a different experience had we gotten to sit in the main dining room. However, we were put in what appeared to be an overflow room with absolutely no atmosphere. I did not make reservations to be treated as an afterthought. I would not recommend Tony's to anyone unless they could be guaranteed a spot in the main dining room. The room we were in should be closed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Service was uneven. It was great at time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was uneven. It was great at times, then gone for long periods. However, there was always someone there to push the chair in when we returned to the table. Drinks and bread great. Scallops appetizer very tasty and small. Salads so-so. Entrees disappointing. Had to send my linguini back---too salty. Steak very bland with little flavor. All things considered, rather disappointing for what should have been a special night.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Without a doubt, the best service in St ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Without a doubt, the best service in St Louis. Attentive, polite, and knowledgable . Use the valet parking unless you see an obvious street space. The filet mignon of swordfish was spectacular. The trio of veal was perfect , and I had a risotto as appetizer which I had to share. Great wines by the glass - we did not order off the cellar menu but it's always diverse. We even had dessert which, especially the creme brûlée , were elegant and tasty. All of this at a very reasonable , but not cheap, price. I am never disappointed with my Tony's experience. I highly recommend this .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an awesome place to celebrate a w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

It was an awesome place to celebrate a wedding anniversary. Pricey but worth it. Excellent service. Great food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining at Tony's is always a pleasure. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Dining at Tony's is always a pleasure. To me Tony's is my favored restaurant in the Mid West. I know the restaurant since I moved to Southern Illinois in 1986, been going there ever since.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to St Louis and Tony's came h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

First time to St Louis and Tony's came highly recommended and it didn't disappoint. Service was stellar and food was exceptional. We ordered the carpaccio and scallops for an appetizer, the Lobster Albanello and Grilled Scampi and Lobster tail for entrée and creme brûlée for dessert. Everything was outstanding. Will go back anytime we go to St Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took our son to Tony's for his birthd ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We took our son to Tony's for his birthday and it was a premiere dining event. Tony's still delivers on a true fine dining experience, from top notch service to excellent food (and choices) to an atmosphere of elegance and sophistication - what seems to be a lost art in the world of restaurant dining these days. I would highly recommend Tony's for any special occasion....and dress up! It's fun! And posh!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorite

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Unfortunately i only get to St. Louis infrequently, but when i get there Tony's is the one restaurant I have to visit. On this trip I had two opportunities to visit and so I enjoyed tow wonderful meals. Our server was amazing and supported by a team of highly trained individuals. I had Dover Sole on my first visit and swordfish the second time and both we extremely well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I drove three hours to celeb ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I drove three hours to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary at Tony's. We didn't consider any other dining establishment and are already planning to spend our 50th at Tony's, God willing. We love the fare at Tony's, but it is the overall dining experience that is phenomenal and keeps us coming back. The friendliness and professionalism from the valets to Mr.Bomarito himself are without equal. It is a "genuine" atmosphere, nothing fake like you find in many so-called upscale restaurants. They want to please their guests and do everything possible to make sure your experience is something to fondly remember. We love Tony's and hope this landmark lives on forever in St Louis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Distracted and slow sevice

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our server, despite help from a legion of supporters, seemed distracted and perhaps he had too many tables. He was slow coming before and after every course and with the check. It distracted. We had a 7:15p reservation and sat right down by 8:10, we had each had one scallop. We subsisted on bread. We weren't in a hurry but it took forever. Detracted from the delicious food. Nice and informative guy when he was with us, just not at the table very much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

It was a special occasion, our 38 the an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was a special occasion, our 38 the anniversary. We were in town visiting family and someone suggested Tony's, it's a St. Louis landmark. Our evening was special, the service was outstanding and the food was delicious. However p, I was not impressed with the ambiance and decor. I expected to see treasures on the walls from years of entertaining guests. The decor was boring and not memorable. The owner did stop by our table to check on us, that was appreciated and made a nice touch. Overall we had a good evening, thank you Tony's!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Lobster Albanello and Dover Sole excelle ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Lobster Albanello and Dover Sole excellent. Chocolate torte also delicious. Raisin bread weird addition to bread basket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very nice

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very professional wait staff. Excellent food. Elegant quiet restaurant. Not cheap but more than worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a dining experience. The food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

This is a dining experience. The food was excellent . Had a whiskey sour and it was not good,even after requesting a specific recipe it was not made correctly. The desert was something I never had before and it was great

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

FABULOUS. Tony's is the St. Louis iconi ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

FABULOUS. Tony's is the St. Louis iconic restaurant. No place like it. Four of us had dinner on Saturday and from the morels with homemade pasta to the ice cream pie with hot fudge everything was fabulous. Salads not overdone with dressing , to the halibut to the lobster pasta every thing was delicious! Best restaurant in St. Louis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!!!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Thirtieth anniversary couldn't have been more memorable. We were treated exceptionally! The food, wine and dessert was to die for. Best meal ever!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic, gourmet experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were greeted and treated like royalty, attended by a crew of servers. No need was left unmet. The owner, Vincent, hosted us like we were guests in his home. The food was stellar, prepared perfectly and served with flair.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall...not bad

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everyone was exceptionally nice.

Our server was upset that his table of 8 people had not shown. My daughter and I heard him tell the other servers about it several times during our meal.

We waited over 20 minutes to be shown the desert menu and to be served desert because the desert cart hadn't been set up

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Tony's does not disappoint!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

What a perfect spot for a special event! We celebrated two special birthdays recently, and we loved the food, the exquisite service, and an all around beautiful evening. Thank you, Tony's!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our most favorites places in St. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

One of our most favorites places in St. Louis.

The attention to detail in every aspect is by far the best!

The food is always amazing and the service is second to none!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant - food was outstand ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fantastic restaurant - food was outstanding. Service impeccable, elegant and the best I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service! Owner is ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always great food and service! Owner is always present and makes it a point to stop and visit with each table.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another fantastic evening dinner at Tony ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Another fantastic evening dinner at Tony's! The food was exceptional, the service and hospitality top notch. I hosted a business dinner with four clients/prospects and Tony's knows how to handle this kind of event superbly. We had fantastic food and some old Barolo which made for a meme ramble night! I am on a low carb diet and was a bit bit worried about what to order, but James and Vince handled it perfectly. Thanks to the whole crew at Tony's for a fantastic night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in town!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My wife and I come here once a year to celebrate our anniversary. Carlos has been our waiter the past three years and greets us like old friends. Mr. Bomarito, the owner, always finds time to visit and make us feel special. The food and atmosphere are unbelievable, and the attention to detail by everybody is a forgotten art.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us had the Filet of Swordfish...a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Two of us had the Filet of Swordfish...a bit "chewy". Otherwise, everything was outstanding! Will absolutely return to this restaurant when back in STL.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is super. Adam and Keith wer ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The service is super. Adam and Keith were great. Best food and service in STL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and excellent food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We had a great anniviersary meal here. Tony's salad was wonderful, and the seafood dishes were superb. Perfect service. We will return when back in St. Louis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first experience at Tony's was 60 yea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My first experience at Tony's was 60 years ago and it is still one of my favorites anywhere. Vincent still makes his rounds for a personal visit. The food and wine are superb and the staff is very professional and knowledgeable. Look forward to going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This our favorite place to dine!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our server was Carlos, so friendly and personable! Will ask for him if we return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Outstanding food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Always Outstanding!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It had been a couple of years since I dined at this St. Louis classic and the hiatus was my loss. The dining experience has always been the best and this return visit did not disappoint. The service was extraordinary and the wine was even better. Tony's attracts an out of town business crowd but that should not deter a romantic or special occasion evening. Locals should enjoy this great restaurant more often. I am not sure it was ever all that stuffy as some would proclaim, but the Bommaritos treat you like family and what a family! Thanks for a great evening. It will not take me two years to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atsmosphere

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Have not been to Tony's in about 15 years. The service and food was as good as I remember it. The main change is in the clientele. It used to be a place where everyone dressed up and it seemed like a special occasion. I believe they used to require men to wear a jacket. No more. There were customers in jeans, non-collared shirts, sleeveless top, etc,. This is not Tony's fault, just a reflection of the times. It just doesn't seem as much of a special occasion as it used to be.

If you want a great meal you won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.