About Tony's - St. Louis

Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.

410 Market St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Business Casual)
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm (Business Casual)

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-7007

Website:
http://tonysstlouis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided.

Executive Chef:
Vincent P. Bommarito

Private Party Facilities:
Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, offers two exquisite private dining rooms, which are uniquely suited for business functions and celebrations, including rehearsal dinners, receptions, and more. The Wine Room, featuring a dramatic glass wall that highlights the medal-winning wine cellar, is a stunning dining space that accommodates up to 66 guests. The second private dining room, accommodating up to 50 guests, exudes an understated elegance. Order either from the renown Tony's menu, or work directly with Executive Chef Vincent P. Bommarito to develop a custom menu. Guests will enjoy award-winning cuisine and table side service that only Tony's can provide. Upon request, table centerpieces, music, audio/video equipment, podium, and other equipment can be provided. Tony's, because you want a signature evening from those who set the standard in the industry.

Private Party Contact:
Vincent J. Bommarito: (314) 231-7007

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tony's - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (42)
Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (34)
See All
Worth the Drive (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have visited the unites states around ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

I have visited the unites states around 20 times and I have only visited one other restaurant that I would say can exceed this one interms of quality of food and service. The other one was in NYC and many times more expensive. Simply brilliant food and service was provided by Tony's that I can recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tony's will always be one of our favorit ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Tony's will always be one of our favorite restaurants. Everyone is trained to make you feel like you are the most important person to ever dine there. There is no other experience like this.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food! Such a romantic atmosphere ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food! Such a romantic atmosphere. Very fancy and accommodated me by helping me propose to girlfriend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one of my favorite restaurants. took a w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

one of my favorite restaurants. took a while to get wine but otherwise excellent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tony's is St. Louis' finest! The staff a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Tony's is St. Louis' finest! The staff are well trained making service impeccable. We started with mussels in a tomato sauce with them already out of the shells--great idea and they were delicious. The seared scallops were cooked perfectly, too. For dinner we had osso buco and linguine with lobster and shrimp. The osso buco was a special for the night and the serving so large I had two more meals of it at home. The linguine was also a large serving full of lobster and shrimp. It must have been delicious as my husband ate all of it. Vince made a visit to our table to check on our dinners. Always a nice touch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful dining experience whe ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always a wonderful dining experience when dining at Tony's. Delicious food, great atmosphere and wonderful service. A must for a very special dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, wonderful, terrific, impressiv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Fabulous, wonderful, terrific, impressive, LOVE IT!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tony's is an institution, every time we' ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Tony's is an institution, every time we've been the food has always been exceptional and thus time was no different. Scallops and Risotto first course was amazing, the Tony's salad equally as good and main courses Fillet and Veal Chop topped off a great meal along with finishing with house made banana ice cream. What makes dining at Tony's different, is seeing Vince Sr still meeting each guest and spending a few minutes just saying thank you for coming.

This time, I was not as impressed with our Captain Alan, his level of service fell very short of Tony's standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Ordinarily we have a marvelous meal with ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ordinarily we have a marvelous meal with outstanding service. Unfortunately the service was very slow - in fact the waiter disappeared and never offered coffee/tea or dessert. After a while we requested the bill and left.

The salad was delicious. My pasta tasted differently then it has in the past and was quite dry which was disappointing. My father's steak is ordinary presented in several slices of meat and was presented as one large piece. He enjoyed the steak.

+

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

My wife and I went for New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I went for New Year's Eve. Tony's is always great and overall we had a great time. Vince was his personable self and came to our table a couple of times to check on us and we snagged a picture with him as we were leaving.

All that being said, I had two complaints. Our waiter, Alan, did a nice job in the beginning, but once our entrees were served we didn't see him until the check. His "seconds" served coffee asked about dessert, etc. I don't know what happened to him during that time ... he might have breezed through the room once - can't remember, but he was basically no where to be found.

Second, my wife and I both ordered the "veal three ways". It was delicious, but it wasn't hot. Two pieces were warm and one I would call hot enough. First bite and the first thought was - I should send this back ... but went ahead and ate it anyway.

Those two things kept me from an "outstanding" rating for food and service. Tony's is pricy of course, but you know that going in, but for the money everything should be top notch. That's why I rate value as "good".

Still the best restaurant in town, but this visit was a little disappointing. Still, highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding dinner and ambiance. Hadn't ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding dinner and ambiance. Hadn't been to Tony's in a while and it was even better than I remembered. Food and wine were delicious! Will definitely go there again, sooner rather than later!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always our experience at Tony's was w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always our experience at Tony's was wonderful from start to finish. The Art Deco 1960's feel to the space sets the mood and our "Table Captain" Aaron and his crew were perfect in meeting our needs and the Sole fillet prepared at the table was smooth, buttery and every bite delicious. Lastly, but not the least we always so enjoy Tony coming by our table. He genuinely takes an interest in us and truly wants us to enjoy our food and his restaurant. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

To begin the food was exquisite. My date ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

To begin the food was exquisite. My date and I did the tasting menu for two with the wine pairings. The salmon starter was the best salmon I have had.

I found this restaurant through TripAdvisor. It was not listed as a four diamond restaurant or even as an expensive option so I was not expecting to be underdressed. Had I known I would have worn a suit. The staff clearly did not like that we were underdressed. We waited for nearly 10 minutes to be seated, and were switched from the main restaurant to the front wine room. It was some time before anyone attended to us. We ended up ordering the most expensive option they offered which immediately changed their mood. We both noticed the attitude shift.

Despite this the quality of their food and presentation was not lost on us. We have dined at a number of restaurants around the world equal to or above this calibre and Tony's certainly holds its own. I would absolutely return - with a suit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As usual Tony was great again always a p ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

As usual Tony was great again always a pleasure to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tony's was all I was hoping it would be ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Tony's was all I was hoping it would be for a before VP Ball dinner. Thank you Mr. Bommarito for upholding the tradition of excellence at your restaurant !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a delicious meal, outstandin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

If you want a delicious meal, outstanding service, and a very special experience, this is the place to go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Antonio and staff superb hosts. The fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Antonio and staff superb hosts. The food and experience are the best in St Louis by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

tony's is the ultimate dining experienc ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

tony's is the ultimate dining experience from the courteous and friendly staff to the excellent food and wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food in St. Louis. As always, a re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Best food in St. Louis. As always, a real treat to dine there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my daughters birthday. My g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Celebrating my daughters birthday. My grouper was on the dry side that evening. Otherwise very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply outstanding! The food was excell ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Simply outstanding! The food was excellent, with great choices. The staff was appropriately attentive and made our evening perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fabulous, but the experienc ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was fabulous, but the experience was truly memorable. Tableside preparation, silent but attentive service and multiple table visits by the owner who really cared that we were having an excellent meal. The linguini with duck confit was so much better than I expected. I am excited to try the veal and eggplant. We will be back! Don't skip dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tony's is still the place to go for any ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Tony's is still the place to go for any occasion to become a memory. Everything is always stellar. Always worth the drive for the Dover Sole. Another outstanding night from the Bommarito family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening was made special by a visit ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The evening was made special by a visit from the Vince himself and later by the plaque winner James. The food was top shelf, service by Carlos,Mic,and Patrick was great? We enjoyed the evening and cannot Waite for ou next visit to Tony's.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful date night at Tony's. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a wonderful date night at Tony's. The food was so flavorful. We did the Scallops(amazing), the Fettuccine with Duck Confit and Wild Mushrooms(to die for) and the Filet Mignon and the Veal Loin Chop. All were unbelievable and prepared perfectly. We loved the table side presentation. The staff was also amazing in every way and treated us like we were VIP:) Thank you for a great night!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you dine here, you're getting great ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

When you dine here, you're getting great food and an overall great dining experience. It's great for special occasions. It is expensive, but the food was fantastic. I would come here again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The people were super friendly and very ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The people were super friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu. They just removed the dishes too quickly when we weren't done yet most of the time. Overall really great food and really quiet atmo.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We are always so pleased with Tony's. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We are always so pleased with Tony's. The lobster is my favorite for sure. We had a little glitch when leaving. When we got to Tony's there was a back up of cars for the valet. The young man signaled me to pull in by the curb slightly passed the door. I got out, told the valet the keys were in the cup holder and went inside. When we left, the car was still in the same place, the ticket I had was for another car and my keys were locked in the car. We didn't have a spare with us. The more experienced valet took us to our home in Clayton in Vince's car and we retrieved out second set and returned to drive the car home. I am still not sure what happened but we have learned our lesson to always carry 2 sets of keys.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful, classy, and a proper restaura ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful, classy, and a proper restaurant for both food and service. Great atmosphere for a special occasion. It was very nice to get dressed up for a nice dinner in a nice restaurant. It is nice to see these places still exist.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in St. Louis!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Favorite restaurant in St. Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food my wife and I have been served ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Best food my wife and I have been served for a very long time... perhaps ever. Every detail of the serving was high class and the food matched this class

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A+ service and ambiance for an upscale a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A+ service and ambiance for an upscale and very special dining experience. Highly trained and attentive World Class staff. Excellent food, though not overly creative -- more on the traditional side. We sat in the "Wine Room" which we liked very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dinners all year and we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the best dinners all year and we live in Chicago and have been to Iceland and Virgin Islands in last 10 months. Every course was stellar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went to Tony's to celebrate my wife's ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went to Tony's to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food was excellent and the service was incredible. I would recommend Tony's for celebrating a special occasion. They have an incredible wine list and a good selection of entrees.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were in town for a conf ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I were in town for a conference. He has been to Tony's before but this was my first time. We both have delicious meals. I could and should have stopped after appetizers and meal but ordered dessert and ate it all. A great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would go back to St. Louis just to eat ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I would go back to St. Louis just to eat at Tony's! Everything is table service, so entertaining. The food was amazing. It is fine dining at it's best, every course nicely spaced out. The owner Vince stopped by every table and said hello. Elegant Italian food with old world charm in a modern setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was attentive and friendly. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff was attentive and friendly. The owner visited our table multiple times throughout the meal to see if everything was to our liking. The food was rich and sumptuous. I wish I could afford to eat there more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a wonderful experience. A plus ser ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Just a wonderful experience. A plus service. It is worth every cent. I highly recommend Tony's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy going to Tony's. The fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We always enjoy going to Tony's. The food , service and atmosphere are all great. We go probably 4-6 times a year and we are never disappointed. It is expensive but always worth the price. The owner always spends time talking with us at our table. This restaurant is a St. Louis Treasure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.