About Tony's - St. Louis

410 Market St.
St. Louis, MO 63102
View Larger Map

Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, has featured award-winning food, service, and ambiance for more than 40 years. Recognized year after year with the AAA Four-Diamond Award and the Forbes (formerly Mobil) Four-Star Award, among others, executive chef Vincent P. Bommarito creates a signature menu. From lobster albanello to a veal loin chop with truffle sauce, from filet mignon of swordfish to a luxurious tasting menu, all dishes are finished tableside. Tony's complements each meal with a medal-winning wine collection and decadent house-made desserts. Servers, many with Tony's for decades, anticipate guests' needs to create an extraordinary dining experience. Every guest is treated to the gracious hospitality one would receive walking into the Bommarito family's home. Generations of families celebrate special events at Tony's; business and leisure travelers make sure to include dinner at Tony's in their visit.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm (Business Casual)
Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm (Business Casual)

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-7007

Website:
http://tonysstlouis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is provided.

Executive Chef:
Vincent P. Bommarito

Private Party Facilities:
Tony's, a St. Louis landmark and nationally acclaimed restaurant, offers two exquisite private dining rooms, which are uniquely suited for business functions and celebrations, including rehearsal dinners, receptions, and more. The Wine Room, featuring a dramatic glass wall that highlights the medal-winning wine cellar, is a stunning dining space that accommodates up to 66 guests. The second private dining room, accommodating up to 50 guests, exudes an understated elegance. Order either from the renown Tony's menu, or work directly with Executive Chef Vincent P. Bommarito to develop a custom menu. Guests will enjoy award-winning cuisine and table side service that only Tony's can provide. Upon request, table centerpieces, music, audio/video equipment, podium, and other equipment can be provided. Tony's, because you want a signature evening from those who set the standard in the industry.

Private Party Contact:
Vincent J. Bommarito: 3142317007x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sirloin - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Raspberry Cabaglione - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Please Order Dessert Temptations - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Lobster Albanalo - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Steamed Spinach - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Eggplant, Tomato And Basil Rissoto - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Scallops With Truffles - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Baby Green Beans - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Fresh Mozzarella, Roasted Red Peppers, and Pesto - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Caponata Siciliana (Eggplants) - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Bread Basket - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Beef Tartare - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Saffron Risotto with Osso Buco - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Spinach, Avacado, And Roquerfort Salad - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Almond Tort Wirh Carmel Ice Cream - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Zucchini Blossoms with Greens  - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Arancini - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Shrimp Scampi and Lobster In Garlic and Caper Sauce - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Scallops With Black Truffles - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Shrimp And Lobster Linguine - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Roasted Coconut Ice Cream & Torte  - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Canneloni - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
Pan Roasted Salmon - Tony's - St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Tony's - St. Louis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Best Food
St. Louis
Best Service
St. Louis
13 More
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Best Value
St. Louis
Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Italian
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Italian
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Business Meals (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (7)
Historic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
877 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful, classy, and a proper restaura ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful, classy, and a proper restaurant for both food and service. Great atmosphere for a special occasion. It was very nice to get dressed up for a nice dinner in a nice restaurant. It is nice to see these places still exist.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in St. Louis!

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Favorite restaurant in St. Louis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food my wife and I have been served ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Best food my wife and I have been served for a very long time... perhaps ever. Every detail of the serving was high class and the food matched this class

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A+ service and ambiance for an upscale a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A+ service and ambiance for an upscale and very special dining experience. Highly trained and attentive World Class staff. Excellent food, though not overly creative -- more on the traditional side. We sat in the "Wine Room" which we liked very much.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dinners all year and we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the best dinners all year and we live in Chicago and have been to Iceland and Virgin Islands in last 10 months. Every course was stellar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We went to Tony's to celebrate my wife's ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We went to Tony's to celebrate my wife's birthday. The food was excellent and the service was incredible. I would recommend Tony's for celebrating a special occasion. They have an incredible wine list and a good selection of entrees.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were in town for a conf ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I were in town for a conference. He has been to Tony's before but this was my first time. We both have delicious meals. I could and should have stopped after appetizers and meal but ordered dessert and ate it all. A great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would go back to St. Louis just to eat ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I would go back to St. Louis just to eat at Tony's! Everything is table service, so entertaining. The food was amazing. It is fine dining at it's best, every course nicely spaced out. The owner Vince stopped by every table and said hello. Elegant Italian food with old world charm in a modern setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was attentive and friendly. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The staff was attentive and friendly. The owner visited our table multiple times throughout the meal to see if everything was to our liking. The food was rich and sumptuous. I wish I could afford to eat there more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a wonderful experience. A plus ser ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Just a wonderful experience. A plus service. It is worth every cent. I highly recommend Tony's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We always enjoy going to Tony's. The fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We always enjoy going to Tony's. The food , service and atmosphere are all great. We go probably 4-6 times a year and we are never disappointed. It is expensive but always worth the price. The owner always spends time talking with us at our table. This restaurant is a St. Louis Treasure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been years since dining at Tony's ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It had been years since dining at Tony's but it won't be all that long before returning! With new restaurants cropping up all the time, we forgot how fabulous this restaurant is from start to finish. Many offerings are prepared table side so you can see some of the extraordinary ingredients involved. The wait staff knows their stuff so any questions you might have are properly answered. Not a good option if you are watching calories or are a vegan but the tastes are sublime! Vince came to every table to make sure all was well but more than just a greeting...he even asked my husband if he would like more pasta to go with his lobster albanello which he adored! My trio of Veals was outstanding & a fun way to try more than one flavor! A lot more special occasions will be enjoyed here.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing time celebrating our anniversary ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing time celebrating our anniversary! Great food and amazing captain.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time around and the owner came out ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

2nd time around and the owner came out shook my hand and gave free dessert. It was amazing i love Tony's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner we had in St Louis. High ho ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Best dinner we had in St Louis. High hover, knowledgeable wait staff. Charming owner who visited our table twice. Great food although not really Italian. We will return just for the that we received and the friendliness shown to our table. It is elegant, but we felt like family.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing it was my 1st time tryn ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was amazing it was my 1st time tryn caviar and the taste was better than i could imagine. I had the best time and experience that ive had dining out in quit a while def my new fav

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and service. It was a g ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Outstanding food and service. It was a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would return in a heartbeat. The only mi ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Would return in a heartbeat. The only miss was the butter that was served with the bread. It was ice cold and not spreadable. They did replace it when I brought it to their attention. How picky can you be? If that's the only problem, which it was, then this restaurant is fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mr. Tony walking to each table learning ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Mr. Tony walking to each table learning names, learning stories, and telling his = PRICELESS. Best quote from Mr. Tony was "We start over every night". No better example of constant pursuit of excellence. Well done Mr. Tony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here to celebrate an anniversary ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We came here to celebrate an anniversary. The service is truly 5-star. Our servers were wonderful and the owner made his way around the restaurant to visit with each table and help prepare dishes.

The food was very good, but not great. I had a filet mignon, and it was 4/5. It was prepared well but there was just something off about the flavor. My husband started with the shrimp and loved it. He had the peppercorn tenderloin and it was also a 4/5.

Overall, we are glad that we went to Tony's for the experience, but we will not go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Definately top of the list for a can't m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Definately top of the list for a can't miss, enjoyable dining experience. A St. Louis classic that remains excellent.

Very nice touch that Vincent, the owner for 50 years, still takes time to visit each table to make sure everything is going well.

Excellent service, and really great flavors.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation at 7:30 PM October 21, 2016. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Reservation at 7:30 PM October 21, 2016. Checked in at 7:29 PM. Did not get a menu for 32 minutes. Two tables sat down after us and had wine and a first course before us. The wine list is really good and the food tasted great. This is a great special occasion place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Just really enjoyed the way we were take ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Just really enjoyed the way we were taken care of our waiter Alan was fantastic the food was wonderful service was great everyone was professional

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening at Tony's was by far the mos ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our evening at Tony's was by far the most memorable evening of our trip to St. Louis. We celebrated our seventh anniversary and Vince, the owner, made us feel so special and important. Our captain, Austin, and the manager, Ken, provided us with outstanding service and care. Everyone was amazing and I am so thankful for the evening we had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in St. Louis, hands ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The best restaurant in St. Louis, hands down. Food is fabulous from starters through dessert. Vince Bomarito is the "godfather" of this terrific restaurant and he has his family working there as well. They do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome and special. Prices are high but not as high as you might expect given the quality of the place. If you have one restaurant to go to in St. Louis make it Tony's.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

"Reliable" can be a dirty word, but not ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

"Reliable" can be a dirty word, but not in the case of Tony's because the bar for reliability is so high. You will never have a more attentive evening but with no pretensions. Every dish is crafted and superb, but the main feature is "How did I feel?" at the end of the evening. Your will feel that every wish was fulfilled and every concern cared for. Perfect for an important date or business meal. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and wine. This is an id ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Outstanding food and wine. This is an ideal spot for a special occasion. The attentive wait staff adds to the experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had an excellent Tasting for Two dinner ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Had an excellent Tasting for Two dinner at Tony's with a very fine wine pairing. The service across the entire staff was outstanding. The noise level was minimal so conversation was easy. Would definitely recommend for a nice meal with friends and family.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful. Our waiter wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service was wonderful. Our waiter was knowlegable of the menu and new the wine list well. Tony visited our table 3 times to make sure we were having good experience. The cuisine was excellent. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Have been to Tony's quite a few times an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Have been to Tony's quite a few times and they never disappoint! The service is top notch and the food is wonderful. I highly recommend everyone experience Tony's at least once, because the food and experience will draw you back.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in St. Louis.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best restaurant in St. Louis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Plenty to eat. Dai ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was excellent. Plenty to eat. Daily special was very enticing. Atmosphere was upscale but didn't act upscale.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Long standing reputation for excellent f ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Long standing reputation for excellent food and formal dining. It still is worthy of these compliments.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as always. except the espress ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous as always. except the espresso was sub-par, didn't seem like real espresso, no crema, etc.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter got offended when we sent back ( ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Waiter got offended when we sent back ( had boxed ) an appetizer of tartar. My wife has eaten at other restaurants and loved this type dish. No big deal to us but when the waiter got an attitude, the evening went downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent upper class restaurant. Servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent upper class restaurant. Service is outstanding as is the food.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FABULOUS! INCREDIBLE! WONDERFUL! DELI ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

FABULOUS! INCREDIBLE! WONDERFUL! DELICIOUS!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to St. Louis before but I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had not been to St. Louis before but I needed a place to entertain clients for dinner. I found Tony's and am glad that I did. The ambiance was fantastic, food superb, and the service outstanding. Thank you for a great evening. If visiting St. Louis again, I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very poor. We waited 20 ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was very poor. We waited 20 minutes to get water and then another 10 for bread. Food was good but very poor service. Also very disappointing o see people in t shirts and Nike tennis shoes. Not sure what has happened. Use to be excellent service and people would dress nicely.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Tony's has long been known as the best r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Tony's has long been known as the best restaurant and it doesn't disappoint. The food is superb and the service is unparalleled. When we left the table and went out the front door, the valet had our car waiting for us even before we gave the ticket. Now that's attention to detail. I had heard such wonderful things about Tony's for so many years, I was sure it couldn't live up to the hype. But it was even better than I had imagined. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.