Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge

TOMO Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant & Lounge is where you will find some of the very best Japanese cuisine in the city of Cleveland, Ohio (and throughout the Midwest).

We are the home of the most entertaining, charismatic, and talented chefs from the Far East who prepare your Sushi or Hibachi meals before your very eyes, and leave you with a taste that you won’t believe.

Let us entertain you and satisfy your appetite at one of our 17 Hibachi tables on 3 floors, where our talented chefs will prepare your meal of Hibachi Chicken , Shrimp, Steak, or one of our Hibachi Classic or Hibachi Combination plates.

Enjoy over 400 different hookah flavors from Starbuzz, Haze, Nakhla, Sinbad, Al Fakher, Miso, Social Smoke and many more brands. Craft cocktails, martinis, and drinks, live DJ, music and dancing on our Second Floor Bar & Lounge.

1293 W. 9th Street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 696-4444

Website:
http://www.tomohibachiandsushi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
See All
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and chefs were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We waited for 30 minutes to see our server to place our drink order, and another 45 to order our food. My "vegetable hibachi" consisted of approximately half a cup of vegetables. It was supposed to come with fried rice, but it came with white. When I asked the server, she said she would ask the chef. After we were finished eating and had already paid the check, the waitress brought my fried rice. I would not return to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very enjoyable evening! The chef was quick witted and entertaining. Great spot to go before a Cavs or Indians game!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We had another fun and tasty dinner at Tomo Friday night. Our chef was lively and entertaining as he cooked up a delicious dinner of filet, chicken, shrimp and fried rice. We always enjoy our evenings at Tomo and look forward to our next visit. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

Without a doubt one of the best places i have ever had the pleasure of eating at. The owners were there and highly personable and generous. My group and i enjoyed several cocktails with them all night, sharing stories, and enjoying plenty of laughter. A great hard working couple.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food and service was very good. A lot of food for your money. The chef was phenomenal and the hostesses were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dinner was delicious. Would go back again for date night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was great. We would definitely be back and also recommend Tomo to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Server was okay. We ordered sushi only. It was below average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Everything was very good, service, food etc. Only thing that could've been better was the cooks doing more with the showing part of the hibachi. Getting more involved with what they are doing and actually have fun with it.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The sushi was fresh and was the best part of our meal. The hibachi was very bland, with no seasoning, and a very small portion of vegetables were given. Luckily we had a Groupon, as I would not pay full price for our meal. If we go back again, we will stick to only the sushi.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent sashimi ... excellent service staff...a most pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went earlier then our reservation and it was no problem at all. We ended up being the only people eating there at the time and there were a few people at the bar. The chef was funny and entertaining. Our server made sure out drinks were filled constantly and the service was quick for this type of restaurant. I'm so happy I found this place and went here instead of other chain restaurants. Not to mention the food was amazing! Without a doubt we will be back next time we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service and great cooks. The staff was pleasant and knowledgable. For the price they should include noodles as well as rice. The sushi selection was nice. We went on a friday and it wasn't crowded at all, the only draw back is going on the weekend, there is a club next door. We didn't mind the music, but some might.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything was perfect!!! Thanks so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food good experience nice waiter went upstairs to the club part had fun with no cover charge

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I took my daughter there before going to a show at Playhouse Square. Gerald our waiter was fantastic and so was the hibachi chef (sadly I forgot his name). We were the only ones in there because of how early it was yet they still did the table cooking for my daughter. She loved it! Thanks guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Had a great time, I will come back and definitely be telling my friends and family how great of a time I had. The owners make you feel like family. The service was great, the servers and bartenders was amazing very courtesy. I will be back 5 stars!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service is horrible and the food is adequate at best. We were seated at 5pm and the restaurant was empty at the time. The server was inattentive and lacked any experience. Don't waste your time at Tomo if you value attention and service during your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Little disappointing with the food quality. Chicken and steak were way too over done. Swordfish was okay but nothing special. Sushi was delicious though and our server was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was very good & the hibachi chef fun! Steak was cooked exactly to our liking & sushi was very good. The atmosphere was good & location is great, right downtown & walking distance to many attractions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was beyond bland. We ate in the restaurant with a Groupon. I am not sure if the discount was why the quality was so poor. My sons lamb still had a bone in it. The chicken was served luke warm with absolutely no flavor at all. This is hands down one my most disappointing dining experiences. The waitress tried extremely hard but it boiled down to a horrible kitchen staff. We will not be returning or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Took wife out for a date and was really pleased with the experience. Our chef was very entertaining and put on a good show while preparing our meals. Our server was outstanding providing us with background on the restaurant as well as his personal history as it relates to dining. Wonderful overall experience.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there pre Playhouse theater show. Great food and equally as good service from our server.
Will definitely return again with my whole family, all of whom love Suchi. This was by far the best that I have had to date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great Staff and Chef - going back without a doubt.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food you must definitely try the Cleveland Roll, even if you aren't a fan of sushi, the roll itself is deep fried and the sauces add an excellent touch. I ordered a side of shrimp fried rice not realizing it was $18.00.....yes, $18.00 for a cereal bowl-sized portion of shrimp fried rice that did not even gave your usual veggies and egg it's normally cooked with. The restaurant had a good ambience, great service, smooth wine, and when I visit Cleveland again I'll definitely make a stop here again.....but hold the overpriced rice please.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great and fresh sushi, first time ever my wife like eel. My daughter loved her sushi as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Expensive. Not friendly at all. the chef was very rude to my son. Also the food( shrimp) was not even cooked all the way. It was a terrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great place for a nice family meal! The server was great and very attentive, the hibachi chef was hilarious and made us a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We enjoyed a good vegan meal with a groupon, so it was a good value.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Overall loved it very good food and awesome experience with customer service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service, food and hibachi chef were amazing! Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my 4th trip, although it has been a couple years since the last visit.
The Sushi has always been good, the Habachi has never been "wow" compared to competing Habachi style offerings. Overall we like the place.
This time the service tainted the experience. after being seated we ordered hot tea... that took 40 minutes to appear! The soup bowl was served 20% full (like it had spilled out), the waitress tried to pick out the cucumbers and tomatoes out and re-serve when my wife requested lettuce only... really!
The Habachi chef was entertaining, but lost his bearings and served the wrong food to several different people at the table... causing a "recook" for several folks!
They had a rough night!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not a great place. Food was average and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went with a group of friends who were coming back into town. It was a great way to have fun and have dinner. Hibachi is a very interactive and fun experience. The food was great, our service was great, the chef was energetic and entertaining. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We decided to go here before going to a theater show. It was a great choice!! Everyone is very friendly, the place is very clean. We did a hibachi, the chef was fun and made our experience exciting . I would highly recommend this restaurant, based on our experience. There was plenty of food, especially at the value price . Go try it for yourself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was great except our server kept trying to get us to buy more food we didn't want

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Amazing, can't wait to go back! The food, atmosphere and service were great!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great hibachi restaurant. Huge complaint: cost of alcohol. $40 for two Long Island ice teas. That's NYC prices and Cleveland is not on the same scale as NYC. This restaurant needs a reality check when it comes to what they charge for liquor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had reservations and still waited 3 hours for a table and it took the chef an hour to come out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.