Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge

TOMO Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant & Lounge is where you will find some of the very best Japanese cuisine in the city of Cleveland, Ohio (and throughout the Midwest).

We are the home of the most entertaining, charismatic, and talented chefs from the Far East who prepare your Sushi or Hibachi meals before your very eyes, and leave you with a taste that you won’t believe.

Let us entertain you and satisfy your appetite at one of our 17 Hibachi tables on 3 floors, where our talented chefs will prepare your meal of Hibachi Chicken , Shrimp, Steak, or one of our Hibachi Classic or Hibachi Combination plates.

Enjoy over 400 different hookah flavors from Starbuzz, Haze, Nakhla, Sinbad, Al Fakher, Miso, Social Smoke and many more brands. Craft cocktails, martinis, and drinks, live DJ, music and dancing on our Second Floor Bar & Lounge.

1293 W. 9th Street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 696-4444

Website:
http://www.tomohibachiandsushi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The sushi was fresh and was the best part of our meal. The hibachi was very bland, with no seasoning, and a very small portion of vegetables were given. Luckily we had a Groupon, as I would not pay full price for our meal. If we go back again, we will stick to only the sushi.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent sashimi ... excellent service staff...a most pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went earlier then our reservation and it was no problem at all. We ended up being the only people eating there at the time and there were a few people at the bar. The chef was funny and entertaining. Our server made sure out drinks were filled constantly and the service was quick for this type of restaurant. I'm so happy I found this place and went here instead of other chain restaurants. Not to mention the food was amazing! Without a doubt we will be back next time we are in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service and great cooks. The staff was pleasant and knowledgable. For the price they should include noodles as well as rice. The sushi selection was nice. We went on a friday and it wasn't crowded at all, the only draw back is going on the weekend, there is a club next door. We didn't mind the music, but some might.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything was perfect!!! Thanks so much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food good experience nice waiter went upstairs to the club part had fun with no cover charge

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I took my daughter there before going to a show at Playhouse Square. Gerald our waiter was fantastic and so was the hibachi chef (sadly I forgot his name). We were the only ones in there because of how early it was yet they still did the table cooking for my daughter. She loved it! Thanks guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Had a great time, I will come back and definitely be telling my friends and family how great of a time I had. The owners make you feel like family. The service was great, the servers and bartenders was amazing very courtesy. I will be back 5 stars!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service is horrible and the food is adequate at best. We were seated at 5pm and the restaurant was empty at the time. The server was inattentive and lacked any experience. Don't waste your time at Tomo if you value attention and service during your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Little disappointing with the food quality. Chicken and steak were way too over done. Swordfish was okay but nothing special. Sushi was delicious though and our server was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was very good & the hibachi chef fun! Steak was cooked exactly to our liking & sushi was very good. The atmosphere was good & location is great, right downtown & walking distance to many attractions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was beyond bland. We ate in the restaurant with a Groupon. I am not sure if the discount was why the quality was so poor. My sons lamb still had a bone in it. The chicken was served luke warm with absolutely no flavor at all. This is hands down one my most disappointing dining experiences. The waitress tried extremely hard but it boiled down to a horrible kitchen staff. We will not be returning or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Took wife out for a date and was really pleased with the experience. Our chef was very entertaining and put on a good show while preparing our meals. Our server was outstanding providing us with background on the restaurant as well as his personal history as it relates to dining. Wonderful overall experience.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there pre Playhouse theater show. Great food and equally as good service from our server.
Will definitely return again with my whole family, all of whom love Suchi. This was by far the best that I have had to date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great Staff and Chef - going back without a doubt.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food you must definitely try the Cleveland Roll, even if you aren't a fan of sushi, the roll itself is deep fried and the sauces add an excellent touch. I ordered a side of shrimp fried rice not realizing it was $18.00.....yes, $18.00 for a cereal bowl-sized portion of shrimp fried rice that did not even gave your usual veggies and egg it's normally cooked with. The restaurant had a good ambience, great service, smooth wine, and when I visit Cleveland again I'll definitely make a stop here again.....but hold the overpriced rice please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great and fresh sushi, first time ever my wife like eel. My daughter loved her sushi as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Expensive. Not friendly at all. the chef was very rude to my son. Also the food( shrimp) was not even cooked all the way. It was a terrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great place for a nice family meal! The server was great and very attentive, the hibachi chef was hilarious and made us a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We enjoyed a good vegan meal with a groupon, so it was a good value.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Overall loved it very good food and awesome experience with customer service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service, food and hibachi chef were amazing! Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was my 4th trip, although it has been a couple years since the last visit.
The Sushi has always been good, the Habachi has never been "wow" compared to competing Habachi style offerings. Overall we like the place.
This time the service tainted the experience. after being seated we ordered hot tea... that took 40 minutes to appear! The soup bowl was served 20% full (like it had spilled out), the waitress tried to pick out the cucumbers and tomatoes out and re-serve when my wife requested lettuce only... really!
The Habachi chef was entertaining, but lost his bearings and served the wrong food to several different people at the table... causing a "recook" for several folks!
They had a rough night!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not a great place. Food was average and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went with a group of friends who were coming back into town. It was a great way to have fun and have dinner. Hibachi is a very interactive and fun experience. The food was great, our service was great, the chef was energetic and entertaining. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We decided to go here before going to a theater show. It was a great choice!! Everyone is very friendly, the place is very clean. We did a hibachi, the chef was fun and made our experience exciting . I would highly recommend this restaurant, based on our experience. There was plenty of food, especially at the value price . Go try it for yourself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was great except our server kept trying to get us to buy more food we didn't want

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Amazing, can't wait to go back! The food, atmosphere and service were great!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great hibachi restaurant. Huge complaint: cost of alcohol. $40 for two Long Island ice teas. That's NYC prices and Cleveland is not on the same scale as NYC. This restaurant needs a reality check when it comes to what they charge for liquor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had reservations and still waited 3 hours for a table and it took the chef an hour to come out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was great but our hibachi chef did not interact with us at all. We had three small kids who wanted to see a show and nothing. In fact he barely said two words. They automatically charge a gratuity for hibachi which is fine when you get the show but all we did was watch him cook the food. We are from Pittsburgh and this will be my memory of this place forever. Very boring.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was good, in that it wasn't greasy. But there was no showmanship from our chef and the scallops and steak were overcooked. Another weird thing was he cooked and then plated each part of the dinner separately. First veggies, then rice then entrees. Usually they start the meats first and move to the side then work on veggies and rice and serve all together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The server was one of the best we've had anywhere in a long time. The food was incredibly fresh and served very quickly. Great experience, will absolutely go back and recommend to others.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Tomo is okay, good service...however the food was just average for what you pay. This place is more expensive than other similar hibachi restaurants, but I think you pay a premium for it being downtown. I'd rather go to other options.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The restaurant needs to be updated. The entryway looked run down, and even our chairs and the table looked crummy. The music did not fit with the atmosphere, and our sushi was just ok. The rice did not seem fresh and the avocado was not good. I would not go back when there are numerous other sushi places to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service, terrible fish.

This was my second visit; the last time the service was horrible (every part of my order was wrong) and the sushi was OK.
This time, the service was great and the fish was less than what I would expect at midnight from a chain grocery store.

I was the first dinner reservation of the evening and the only person in the restaurant. My waitress was attentive, but didn't lurk. When I had finished my appetizer and salad, I set the plates off to the side. A waiter who was on his way in to start his shift saw my plates and took them with him; awesome service.

The sushi was, however, garbage. For an appetizer I ordered tuna carpaccio- slices of raw tuna with scallions and some ponzu sauce. The chef actually used a torch to sear the tuna. From wikipedia- Carpaccio is a dish of raw meat or fish (such as beef, veal, venison, salmon or tuna), thinly sliced or pounded thin and served mainly as an appetizer. Why would you ruin sushi- grade tuna by torching it. I was speechless.
For dinner I ordered a sashimi platter- 18 pieces of fish. It was served on about a pound of shredded carrots (You couldn't find daikon?). 18 pieces of fish on a plate of orange clouds was not the most appealing visually. Every piece of fish had been frozen, some was still frozen (white tuna) when it was served to me. Each piece had that mushy, pasty feel of frozen and thawed fish.
The wasabi was more like green paste- no kick at all.

Oh, and they charged me $2.75 for a glass of iced tea. Really? I feel like i was mugged.

I have given you two chances. I doubt I would ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had reservation for 7:45pm. We arrived on time and the hostess was unsure if we could be seated for Hibachi (I called earlier that day to confirm that the reservation was for Hibachi). We were seated with two other couples, who had been waiting an hour and a half for their dining experience. Our Hibachi show did not begin until 8:30pm!!!! There was no excuse for this because the restaurant wasn't busy. The food was subpar, we got our veggies first then rice then protein, so our veggies sat and got cold while we waited for everything else. The other couples sitting with us had tickets for a show at 9pm, but were just leaving Tomo at 9 due to the ridiculous wait. And they had to pay full price for their food. If that was me, I wouldn't have paid. Don't waste your time or money. There's better Hibachi places out there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waiter was awesome, as well as the food, however we waited 1hr for the chef to come to the grill top to cook. Every time we asked why it was taking so long we were told because it was a holiday (NYE @ 6:30pm). that lost points in my book, it showed they cannot not handle a busy dinner hour and not enough staffing. The staff was great, Mgmt lacked in personality and sense of urgency.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We left because they didn't service us at a hibachi where you're supposed to cook food to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place was phenomenal. No waiting, friendly staff, and more food than one could eat. Worth the drive downtown for the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.