Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.41mi

About Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge

TOMO Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant & Lounge is where you will find some of the very best Japanese cuisine in the city of Cleveland, Ohio (and throughout the Midwest).

We are the home of the most entertaining, charismatic, and talented chefs from the Far East who prepare your Sushi or Hibachi meals before your very eyes, and leave you with a taste that you won’t believe.

Let us entertain you and satisfy your appetite at one of our 17 Hibachi tables on 3 floors, where our talented chefs will prepare your meal of Hibachi Chicken , Shrimp, Steak, or one of our Hibachi Classic or Hibachi Combination plates.

Enjoy over 400 different hookah flavors from Starbuzz, Haze, Nakhla, Sinbad, Al Fakher, Miso, Social Smoke and many more brands. Craft cocktails, martinis, and drinks, live DJ, music and dancing on our Second Floor Bar & Lounge.

1293 W. 9th Street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 696-4444

Website:
http://www.tomohibachiandsushi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (8)
Casual (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Family Style (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there pre Playhouse theater show. Great food and equally as good service from our server.
Will definitely return again with my whole family, all of whom love Suchi. This was by far the best that I have had to date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great Staff and Chef - going back without a doubt.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food you must definitely try the Cleveland Roll, even if you aren't a fan of sushi, the roll itself is deep fried and the sauces add an excellent touch. I ordered a side of shrimp fried rice not realizing it was $18.00.....yes, $18.00 for a cereal bowl-sized portion of shrimp fried rice that did not even gave your usual veggies and egg it's normally cooked with. The restaurant had a good ambience, great service, smooth wine, and when I visit Cleveland again I'll definitely make a stop here again.....but hold the overpriced rice please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Expensive. Not friendly at all. the chef was very rude to my son. Also the food( shrimp) was not even cooked all the way. It was a terrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great place for a nice family meal! The server was great and very attentive, the hibachi chef was hilarious and made us a great meal!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We enjoyed a good vegan meal with a groupon, so it was a good value.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall loved it very good food and awesome experience with customer service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my 4th trip, although it has been a couple years since the last visit.
The Sushi has always been good, the Habachi has never been "wow" compared to competing Habachi style offerings. Overall we like the place.
This time the service tainted the experience. after being seated we ordered hot tea... that took 40 minutes to appear! The soup bowl was served 20% full (like it had spilled out), the waitress tried to pick out the cucumbers and tomatoes out and re-serve when my wife requested lettuce only... really!
The Habachi chef was entertaining, but lost his bearings and served the wrong food to several different people at the table... causing a "recook" for several folks!
They had a rough night!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service, food and hibachi chef were amazing! Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not a great place. Food was average and service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went with a group of friends who were coming back into town. It was a great way to have fun and have dinner. Hibachi is a very interactive and fun experience. The food was great, our service was great, the chef was energetic and entertaining. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We decided to go here before going to a theater show. It was a great choice!! Everyone is very friendly, the place is very clean. We did a hibachi, the chef was fun and made our experience exciting . I would highly recommend this restaurant, based on our experience. There was plenty of food, especially at the value price . Go try it for yourself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was great except our server kept trying to get us to buy more food we didn't want

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Amazing, can't wait to go back! The food, atmosphere and service were great!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great hibachi restaurant. Huge complaint: cost of alcohol. $40 for two Long Island ice teas. That's NYC prices and Cleveland is not on the same scale as NYC. This restaurant needs a reality check when it comes to what they charge for liquor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I had reservations and still waited 3 hours for a table and it took the chef an hour to come out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was great but our hibachi chef did not interact with us at all. We had three small kids who wanted to see a show and nothing. In fact he barely said two words. They automatically charge a gratuity for hibachi which is fine when you get the show but all we did was watch him cook the food. We are from Pittsburgh and this will be my memory of this place forever. Very boring.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was good, in that it wasn't greasy. But there was no showmanship from our chef and the scallops and steak were overcooked. Another weird thing was he cooked and then plated each part of the dinner separately. First veggies, then rice then entrees. Usually they start the meats first and move to the side then work on veggies and rice and serve all together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The server was one of the best we've had anywhere in a long time. The food was incredibly fresh and served very quickly. Great experience, will absolutely go back and recommend to others.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Tomo is okay, good service...however the food was just average for what you pay. This place is more expensive than other similar hibachi restaurants, but I think you pay a premium for it being downtown. I'd rather go to other options.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The restaurant needs to be updated. The entryway looked run down, and even our chairs and the table looked crummy. The music did not fit with the atmosphere, and our sushi was just ok. The rice did not seem fresh and the avocado was not good. I would not go back when there are numerous other sushi places to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service, terrible fish.

This was my second visit; the last time the service was horrible (every part of my order was wrong) and the sushi was OK.
This time, the service was great and the fish was less than what I would expect at midnight from a chain grocery store.

I was the first dinner reservation of the evening and the only person in the restaurant. My waitress was attentive, but didn't lurk. When I had finished my appetizer and salad, I set the plates off to the side. A waiter who was on his way in to start his shift saw my plates and took them with him; awesome service.

The sushi was, however, garbage. For an appetizer I ordered tuna carpaccio- slices of raw tuna with scallions and some ponzu sauce. The chef actually used a torch to sear the tuna. From wikipedia- Carpaccio is a dish of raw meat or fish (such as beef, veal, venison, salmon or tuna), thinly sliced or pounded thin and served mainly as an appetizer. Why would you ruin sushi- grade tuna by torching it. I was speechless.
For dinner I ordered a sashimi platter- 18 pieces of fish. It was served on about a pound of shredded carrots (You couldn't find daikon?). 18 pieces of fish on a plate of orange clouds was not the most appealing visually. Every piece of fish had been frozen, some was still frozen (white tuna) when it was served to me. Each piece had that mushy, pasty feel of frozen and thawed fish.
The wasabi was more like green paste- no kick at all.

Oh, and they charged me $2.75 for a glass of iced tea. Really? I feel like i was mugged.

I have given you two chances. I doubt I would ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had reservation for 7:45pm. We arrived on time and the hostess was unsure if we could be seated for Hibachi (I called earlier that day to confirm that the reservation was for Hibachi). We were seated with two other couples, who had been waiting an hour and a half for their dining experience. Our Hibachi show did not begin until 8:30pm!!!! There was no excuse for this because the restaurant wasn't busy. The food was subpar, we got our veggies first then rice then protein, so our veggies sat and got cold while we waited for everything else. The other couples sitting with us had tickets for a show at 9pm, but were just leaving Tomo at 9 due to the ridiculous wait. And they had to pay full price for their food. If that was me, I wouldn't have paid. Don't waste your time or money. There's better Hibachi places out there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waiter was awesome, as well as the food, however we waited 1hr for the chef to come to the grill top to cook. Every time we asked why it was taking so long we were told because it was a holiday (NYE @ 6:30pm). that lost points in my book, it showed they cannot not handle a busy dinner hour and not enough staffing. The staff was great, Mgmt lacked in personality and sense of urgency.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We left because they didn't service us at a hibachi where you're supposed to cook food to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place was phenomenal. No waiting, friendly staff, and more food than one could eat. Worth the drive downtown for the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I'm not one to usually complain about service, but this was by far the worst experience I've had at a restaurant. We had a reservation for 12 people at 6:15, arrived early around 5:55 and the host asked us to wait at the bar until our reservation time, which was no issue at all. We got our drinks & hung out then at 6:15 I went back to the host stand and said we'd like to be seated and the hostess looked at me as though she had no idea what I was talking about. She asked how many of us their were and the time of our reservation, then asked me if any tables were open for hibachi in the dining room? I told her I didn't know and she walked away. She came back 15 minute later and said we would be sitting in their basement. We went down to a hibachi table, with a small end table shoved up against the side & two place settings turned sideways to fit to accommodate our party... we then proceeded to wait an entire hour before our hibachi cook arrived to serve us. The chef was funny and made the experience better, however, during our 1 hour wait the only person who acknowledged our wait was our hostess who walked by and asked how everything was. We then were all charged 18% gratuity for the lack of service we received. Overall, not a good New Years Eve experience to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

There was only 4 of us, and it took just under 2 hours to get our food. Once we did, there was nothing real good about it. We sat regular seating and got hibachi chicken and steak. Steak was chewy (and done, not medium rare like ordered) and chicken was rubbery. Would not recommend to anyone. Service wasn't great either. Positively they never let the water glass get below 1/4, but sometimes would try and refill the waters within a couple minutes of each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Should have know it was going to be bad when they moved us to three different tables before we ordered. Then our final destination was down in the unfinished dungeon they call a basement way to expensive for conditions like that. Was a bad experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food and presentation was very good. I was able to chat with the owner and find out what an upstanding man he is. A definite recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We loved it! Food and the service was excellent! We plan to go up there just to have dinner at Tomo, thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Hospitable and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We went there for our daughters 5th birthday. Our food was almost done cooking when my husband asked our server if our daughters food was ready. He said in a few mins. The other people there were asking for their check and she still didn't have her food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The hostess was overwhelmed, so we moved to the bar area, and the bar staff was wonderful. My sushi roll was wrong, but the fixed it quickly and it was wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner this weekend and I was a little worried because of so many poor reviews but decided to go anyways. It was well worth the trip. The food, drinks, and service were all excellent. We went fairly early ( 6pm ) and had a great experience. No issues at all and will return again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Myself, girlfriend and best friend are all huge fans of hibachi style restaurants. This was our first time at Tomo, we all thought the food was excellent and the chef and staff were great. Our server, Candace gave great suggestions on what to try since Toni has more of a selection than just steak, chicken and shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Terrible. Reservations mean nothing. The chef didn't start cooking until we had been there for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2016

was not very busy on a Thursday night, friendly staff. chef very engaging

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I went there for my birthday. The server was really bad which ruined the whole experience. She came to our table initially and said she had been at work for 10 hours which made us feel uncomfortable. She took a very long time to take our order. Once the food arrived, she didn't bring the "yum yum sauce" (which we all needed because our food was hibachi) and took over 10 minutes to return with it, at which time the food was cold. Then she never returned to the table.. EVER. After we all finished eating, unable to order another drink or get refills. I had to ask the hostess (who told us she didn't work there.. another weird moment) for our checks. The waitress then presented our checks 15 minutes later.

If it wasn't for the great company of my friends, it would have been a pretty bad experience. I wish I could say I would return, but that is very unlikely.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our waitress/ hostess was WONDERFUL. It's a shame she doesn't work in a better place. The inside decor was very average-- they were trying too hard. The place was almost empty and shortly after we ordered our drinks a woman whom I'm assuming was a manger chose to sit at the table directly next to us (despite there being many empties in secluded areas of the place) and reprimand an employee-- not quietly either. This included swearing and inappropriate language. Additionally, any time we would get up to use the restroom or anything she would give us the nastiest look as if we interrupted her conversation. When the food final to arrived it was awful. I didn't finish my sushi because the smell seemed to indicate that wasn't the best idea. My friend ordered hibachi and said it was completely unseasoned. I don't know how this place has decent ratings because I'll never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.