Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge

3.7
143 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Japanese
Top Tags:
  • Bar Seating
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
TOMO Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant & Lounge is where you will find some of the very best Japanese cuisine in the city of Cleveland, Ohio (and throughout the Midwest).

We are the home of the most entertaining, charismatic, and talented chefs from the Far East who prepare your Sushi or Hibachi meals before your very eyes, and leave you with a taste that you won’t believe.

Let us entertain you and satisfy your appetite at one of our 17 Hibachi tables on 3 floors, where our talented chefs will prepare your meal of Hibachi Chicken , Shrimp, Steak, or one of our Hibachi Classic or Hibachi Combination plates.

Enjoy over 400 different hookah flavors from Starbuzz, Haze, Nakhla, Sinbad, Al Fakher, Miso, Social Smoke and many more brands. Craft cocktails, martinis, and drinks, live DJ, music and dancing on our Second Floor Bar & Lounge.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(216) 696-4444
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 143 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.6
service
3.2
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Quiet
61% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Their service was terrible. The menus were dirty and sticky. The place needs a good scrubbing. The chef was very good and food was decent. But the place was just too dirty for us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Service was great, everyone was very friendly. I feel like the Hibachi meals were a bit pricey for the food that you received.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 20, 2018

My girlfriend and I were in Cleveland for a weekend get away. We had a fantastic trip but the only negative thing during the 3 days we were there was dinning at TOMO. The entertainment during the cooking was some of the most inexperienced and she didn't even engage with the table. She failed at attempting the volcano more like a molotov cocktail explosion and no egg trick just a simple 1 at a time morning breakfast crack an egg and fry. The rice and veggies were barely fried and the flavor was bland. I ordered the shrimp and scallops and she ordered chicken and steak, we didn't order alcohol or appetizers and the bill was $89. The price would of been fine if it match the quality of entertainment and food. Please take this review very seriously and avoid this place. I'm not at all a person that complains unless its really bad.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Absolutely horrible. Our waiter hovered when we just got the menus to handing over the check. The sake was not sake, just warm white wine, the sushi boat was questionable, the fish looked days old and cut very thick. Overall worst birthday dinner I could've taken someone to.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Glad I had a voucher because I would not want to pay full price for the quality and service. The hostess was very friendly, but the waiter and chef were not. I've had better food from some Chinese take-out restaurants, so do not waste your money here. Food was definitely over salted and overcooked. Did not have the same energy as many other Hibachis I've been to and the music was playing so loud it was difficult to talk to my date or the waiter. Sad that this was my boyfriend's first hibachi experience; I'll have to take him to a different one for a better time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Disappointed. Went for my son’s birthday. Restaurant was mostly empty. We were the only party (6) at a hibachi table. Service was slow and staff was nice but very reserved. Habachi chef was nice but threw rice on our plates. One person ended up with rice in her lap without an apology. Restaurant was not very clean. Our soy sauce containers were coated in dry, caled on soy sauce. Very very unappealing. Won’t be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Unique menu and fresh sushi ! A bit pricey but it’s worth it. I had sushi and my fiancé had the shark hibachi, both were amazing! Would recommend and eat here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Everything was great The Host and the chef Elijah was awesome I would recommend this for anyone at any time and I'll definitely be back soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The best hibachi restaurant I have been to. Everyone there treats you like family.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Awful experience. Ran out of multiple items. Very poor quality of sushi. Would never go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was bland. The service and over all atmosphere was scattered and seemed disorganized. We had to point out to waiter that there was a long black hair on the grill top. Overall experience was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Well we were really looking forward to a nice Valentine's dinner and were very mistaken. We didn't even get a real Hibachi chef, all the food had a very "off" taste to it, my wife got sick as a dog that night and she blamed the over use of garlic in the rice, I think the food was on the edge of spoiled.
so it was not a very good experience.
Very disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Took my mom out for her birthday with my girlfriend. It was our first time doing the hibachi there and the food and service was a 10/10. Everyone of us were satisfied

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

The food is so delicious. This has now become the birthday spot for my fiance and I, we love it! The chefs are great and always entertaining !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2018

I was disappointed with the service. The food was good and so was the chef. Our server acted as if he didn't care at all and had zero personality. Had to ask multiple times for the same things. Our spot at the table was cramped in the corner with a tv right behind our heads. We were seated at the wooden section connecting the two hibachis and the other Chefs tray of supplies was right in our face. For what it cost I was extremely unsatisfied. Also didn't like the way that they automatically added gratuity to the bill. Maybe this was an isolated situation but I definitely expected a better experience for a $300.00 dinner for 4 people. Maybe someone will read this and reach out to me to hopefully rectify an unpleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We had a great time! Our Hibachi chef was hilarious, professional, and the food was so yummy!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Went with a group of friends from out of town. Had a great time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Waited 2.5 hours for our table despite a reservation for a table of 18. Food and quality was overall great but the mixup definitely was a negative. The manager comped us 30% off our checks and a free bottle of champagne for the birthday boy and they did make it up somewhat in that way. If they get their system fixed for delaying customers then this would be a great restaurant experience overall. Food again was A grade.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We were there for NYE and it wasn’t even busy. It took a half hour to get our first drink and 2 and a half hours total and that is extremely slow for Hibachi. We had a party we paid to be at that started at 9:30 and didn’t get there until 10:30. Food was very good but the service was unapologetically slow with many empty tables.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Our server skipped a couple of courses for the meal. We had a party of four yet were charged a gratuity eliminating our ability to base it on our experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Xmas eve celebration! Was very nice!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 11, 2017

The service was horrible! The server couldn’t answer none of our questions about the menu. My food was not really good. The bathrooms are horrible and the chef took forever to come out with only 4 people in the whole restaurant

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The food was terrible!! But, I'm not sure if it was the quality of food i think it didn't taste right because it wasn't cooked right. I think the owner had to step in as chef because his other chef walked out!! I don't think he ever cooks!! His saving grace the entertainment. He was the funniest, best, entertaining hibachi chef I have ever experienced and that is the only thing that made up the experience. We have been to a lot of hibachi restaurants and this restaurant was by far the worst. Lots of things were off or irregular. It took him a very long time!! Our reservation was for 6pm and we didn't get to leave until 830pm. Making us 30 min late for Cavs game!! It took so long because he only cooked one item at a time. Rice didn't taste right, we had to ask for yum yum sauce and by the time we got our other food to eat altogether rice was cold. Chicken, steak all improperly cooked could not even eat. I'm use to seeing chef cook a couple diff meats at a time so it goes faster. This chef didn't do that so when our whole table got a diff kind of meat it seemed it took forever!! Thus allowing for food to not be cooked properly and cold. We were there with a party of 6. Nobody could eat their whole meal and a lot of us were still hungry or sick afterwards. The soup and salad was good at least. Then, we got our bills it was so expensive and we didn't even enjoy our meal!! $150 for 2 people we could have went to a nice steak restaurant for that!! So that made it much more worse that it was so expensive and not even good. That's one expensive soup and salad. Everyone I was with hated the food and none of us will ever be back!! Thank God the entertainment was the best we have ever seen or we would have all gotten up and left. I feel bad his chef quit on him right before we got there. Hopefully the future is brighter for this place and the quality of food/chefs improves!! They have to get it together or this place isn't going to last.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Our server was so quiet and passive. He seemed to be very unsure of himself. Maybe he was new. He didn't ask how we were doing, or if we needed anything. We had to ask him to removed used plates, fill/refill drinks, bring ice for Luke warm cocktail, etc. The bartender didn't put ice in the cocktail I ordered so it was warm and didnt taste great. I also wondered if the bartender was new. I've been to several hibachi restaurants and this was my least favorite. The place was almost empty on a Saturday night when the Cavs were playing in town, which made me wonder. The table felt cramped...seats were too close to side of the bar. Not impressed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 2, 2017

The waiter was very friendly and helpful, and tried his best to keep us placated during the 2 hour wait before our salads and appetizers came out. The restaurant was nearly empty, so there's no explanation why it took so long. Once the food finally came out, there was a long hair in my food.
Overall a horrible experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Food and chefs were great

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We waited for 30 minutes to see our server to place our drink order, and another 45 to order our food. My "vegetable hibachi" consisted of approximately half a cup of vegetables. It was supposed to come with fried rice, but it came with white. When I asked the server, she said she would ask the chef. After we were finished eating and had already paid the check, the waitress brought my fried rice. I would not return to this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Very enjoyable evening! The chef was quick witted and entertaining. Great spot to go before a Cavs or Indians game!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

We had another fun and tasty dinner at Tomo Friday night. Our chef was lively and entertaining as he cooked up a delicious dinner of filet, chicken, shrimp and fried rice. We always enjoy our evenings at Tomo and look forward to our next visit. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

Without a doubt one of the best places i have ever had the pleasure of eating at. The owners were there and highly personable and generous. My group and i enjoyed several cocktails with them all night, sharing stories, and enjoying plenty of laughter. A great hard working couple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

The food and service was very good. A lot of food for your money. The chef was phenomenal and the hostesses were very accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Dinner was delicious. Would go back again for date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was great. We would definitely be back and also recommend Tomo to friends and family.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Server was okay. We ordered sushi only. It was below average.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Everything was very good, service, food etc. Only thing that could've been better was the cooks doing more with the showing part of the hibachi. Getting more involved with what they are doing and actually have fun with it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 6, 2017

The sushi was fresh and was the best part of our meal. The hibachi was very bland, with no seasoning, and a very small portion of vegetables were given. Luckily we had a Groupon, as I would not pay full price for our meal. If we go back again, we will stick to only the sushi.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent sashimi ... excellent service staff...a most pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

We went earlier then our reservation and it was no problem at all. We ended up being the only people eating there at the time and there were a few people at the bar. The chef was funny and entertaining. Our server made sure out drinks were filled constantly and the service was quick for this type of restaurant. I'm so happy I found this place and went here instead of other chain restaurants. Not to mention the food was amazing! Without a doubt we will be back next time we are in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Great service and great cooks. The staff was pleasant and knowledgable. For the price they should include noodles as well as rice. The sushi selection was nice. We went on a friday and it wasn't crowded at all, the only draw back is going on the weekend, there is a club next door. We didn't mind the music, but some might.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything was perfect!!! Thanks so much

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4