About Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge

TOMO Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant & Lounge is where you will find some of the very best Japanese cuisine in the city of Cleveland, Ohio (and throughout the Midwest).

We are the home of the most entertaining, charismatic, and talented chefs from the Far East who prepare your Sushi or Hibachi meals before your very eyes, and leave you with a taste that you won’t believe.

Let us entertain you and satisfy your appetite at one of our 17 Hibachi tables on 3 floors, where our talented chefs will prepare your meal of Hibachi Chicken , Shrimp, Steak, or one of our Hibachi Classic or Hibachi Combination plates.

Enjoy over 400 different hookah flavors from Starbuzz, Haze, Nakhla, Sinbad, Al Fakher, Miso, Social Smoke and many more brands. Craft cocktails, martinis, and drinks, live DJ, music and dancing on our Second Floor Bar & Lounge.

1293 W. 9th Street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 696-4444

Website:
http://www.tomohibachiandsushi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.4

ambience

3.4

value

2.7

noise

Moderate

53% would recommend it to a friend

Open Kitchen (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
72 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant needs to be updated. The ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant needs to be updated. The entryway looked run down, and even our chairs and the table looked crummy. The music did not fit with the atmosphere, and our sushi was just ok. The rice did not seem fresh and the avocado was not good. I would not go back when there are numerous other sushi places to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Great service, terrible fish. This was ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great service, terrible fish.

This was my second visit; the last time the service was horrible (every part of my order was wrong) and the sushi was OK.

This time, the service was great and the fish was less than what I would expect at midnight from a chain grocery store.

I was the first dinner reservation of the evening and the only person in the restaurant. My waitress was attentive, but didn't lurk. When I had finished my appetizer and salad, I set the plates off to the side. A waiter who was on his way in to start his shift saw my plates and took them with him; awesome service.

The sushi was, however, garbage. For an appetizer I ordered tuna carpaccio- slices of raw tuna with scallions and some ponzu sauce. The chef actually used a torch to sear the tuna. From wikipedia- Carpaccio is a dish of raw meat or fish (such as beef, veal, venison, salmon or tuna), thinly sliced or pounded thin and served mainly as an appetizer. Why would you ruin sushi- grade tuna by torching it. I was speechless.

For dinner I ordered a sashimi platter- 18 pieces of fish. It was served on about a pound of shredded carrots (You couldn't find daikon?). 18 pieces of fish on a plate of orange clouds was not the most appealing visually. Every piece of fish had been frozen, some was still frozen (white tuna) when it was served to me. Each piece had that mushy, pasty feel of frozen and thawed fish.

The wasabi was more like green paste- no kick at all.

Oh, and they charged me $2.75 for a glass of iced tea. Really? I feel like i was mugged.

I have given you two chances. I doubt I would ever return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We had reservation for 7:45pm. We arrive ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had reservation for 7:45pm. We arrived on time and the hostess was unsure if we could be seated for Hibachi (I called earlier that day to confirm that the reservation was for Hibachi). We were seated with two other couples, who had been waiting an hour and a half for their dining experience. Our Hibachi show did not begin until 8:30pm!!!! There was no excuse for this because the restaurant wasn't busy. The food was subpar, we got our veggies first then rice then protein, so our veggies sat and got cold while we waited for everything else. The other couples sitting with us had tickets for a show at 9pm, but were just leaving Tomo at 9 due to the ridiculous wait. And they had to pay full price for their food. If that was me, I wouldn't have paid. Don't waste your time or money. There's better Hibachi places out there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The waiter was awesome, as well as the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waiter was awesome, as well as the food, however we waited 1hr for the chef to come to the grill top to cook. Every time we asked why it was taking so long we were told because it was a holiday (NYE @ 6:30pm). that lost points in my book, it showed they cannot not handle a busy dinner hour and not enough staffing. The staff was great, Mgmt lacked in personality and sense of urgency.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We left because they didn't service us a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We left because they didn't service us at a hibachi where you're supposed to cook food to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

This place was phenomenal. No waiting, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This place was phenomenal. No waiting, friendly staff, and more food than one could eat. Worth the drive downtown for the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not one to usually complain about se ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I'm not one to usually complain about service, but this was by far the worst experience I've had at a restaurant. We had a reservation for 12 people at 6:15, arrived early around 5:55 and the host asked us to wait at the bar until our reservation time, which was no issue at all. We got our drinks & hung out then at 6:15 I went back to the host stand and said we'd like to be seated and the hostess looked at me as though she had no idea what I was talking about. She asked how many of us their were and the time of our reservation, then asked me if any tables were open for hibachi in the dining room? I told her I didn't know and she walked away. She came back 15 minute later and said we would be sitting in their basement. We went down to a hibachi table, with a small end table shoved up against the side & two place settings turned sideways to fit to accommodate our party... we then proceeded to wait an entire hour before our hibachi cook arrived to serve us. The chef was funny and made the experience better, however, during our 1 hour wait the only person who acknowledged our wait was our hostess who walked by and asked how everything was. We then were all charged 18% gratuity for the lack of service we received. Overall, not a good New Years Eve experience to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

There was only 4 of us, and it took just ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

There was only 4 of us, and it took just under 2 hours to get our food. Once we did, there was nothing real good about it. We sat regular seating and got hibachi chicken and steak. Steak was chewy (and done, not medium rare like ordered) and chicken was rubbery. Would not recommend to anyone. Service wasn't great either. Positively they never let the water glass get below 1/4, but sometimes would try and refill the waters within a couple minutes of each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Should have know it was going to be bad ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Should have know it was going to be bad when they moved us to three different tables before we ordered. Then our final destination was down in the unfinished dungeon they call a basement way to expensive for conditions like that. Was a bad experience from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The food and presentation was very good. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food and presentation was very good. I was able to chat with the owner and find out what an upstanding man he is. A definite recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved it! Food and the service was ex ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We loved it! Food and the service was excellent! We plan to go up there just to have dinner at Tomo, thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hospitable and excellent service.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Hospitable and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went there for our daughters 5th birt ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We went there for our daughters 5th birthday. Our food was almost done cooking when my husband asked our server if our daughters food was ready. He said in a few mins. The other people there were asking for their check and she still didn't have her food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The hostess was overwhelmed, so we moved ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The hostess was overwhelmed, so we moved to the bar area, and the bar staff was wonderful. My sushi roll was wrong, but the fixed it quickly and it was wonderful.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for a birthday dinner this weeke ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner this weekend and I was a little worried because of so many poor reviews but decided to go anyways. It was well worth the trip. The food, drinks, and service were all excellent. We went fairly early ( 6pm ) and had a great experience. No issues at all and will return again!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Myself, girlfriend and best friend are a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Myself, girlfriend and best friend are all huge fans of hibachi style restaurants. This was our first time at Tomo, we all thought the food was excellent and the chef and staff were great. Our server, Candace gave great suggestions on what to try since Toni has more of a selection than just steak, chicken and shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Terrible. Reservations mean nothing. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Terrible. Reservations mean nothing. The chef didn't start cooking until we had been there for an hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

was not very busy on a Thursday night, f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 4, 2016

was not very busy on a Thursday night, friendly staff. chef very engaging

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I went there for my birthday. The server ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I went there for my birthday. The server was really bad which ruined the whole experience. She came to our table initially and said she had been at work for 10 hours which made us feel uncomfortable. She took a very long time to take our order. Once the food arrived, she didn't bring the "yum yum sauce" (which we all needed because our food was hibachi) and took over 10 minutes to return with it, at which time the food was cold. Then she never returned to the table.. EVER. After we all finished eating, unable to order another drink or get refills. I had to ask the hostess (who told us she didn't work there.. another weird moment) for our checks. The waitress then presented our checks 15 minutes later.

If it wasn't for the great company of my friends, it would have been a pretty bad experience. I wish I could say I would return, but that is very unlikely.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our waitress/ hostess was WONDERFUL. It' ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our waitress/ hostess was WONDERFUL. It's a shame she doesn't work in a better place. The inside decor was very average-- they were trying too hard. The place was almost empty and shortly after we ordered our drinks a woman whom I'm assuming was a manger chose to sit at the table directly next to us (despite there being many empties in secluded areas of the place) and reprimand an employee-- not quietly either. This included swearing and inappropriate language. Additionally, any time we would get up to use the restroom or anything she would give us the nastiest look as if we interrupted her conversation. When the food final to arrived it was awful. I didn't finish my sushi because the smell seemed to indicate that wasn't the best idea. My friend ordered hibachi and said it was completely unseasoned. I don't know how this place has decent ratings because I'll never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value2

The sushi was amazing as always. We alwa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 6, 2016

The sushi was amazing as always. We always go there on Mondays for the half off sushi. This time however we had a new server who was very unexperienced. He did not take notes when taking our orders and therefore made many mistakes. Hopefully next time we go he will be better prepared to take a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

This is our third time at the restaurant ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is our third time at the restaurant. Our first two experiences were great but our third visit was not so great. Server screwed our sushi order up not once but twice pulse see had no idea what beers they served. She can out and said she couldn't find her manager to talk to us on sushi roll mix up. Really! 7:30 at night and can't find manager. She was not very knowledgeable at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Didnt like the fact the sushi cooks re u ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Didnt like the fact the sushi cooks re used there gloves for each order instead of putting a new pair on. The food tasted gross. Like the fish had been sitting out. Very displeased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We arrived 5" prior to our reservation t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 1, 2016

We arrived 5" prior to our reservation time! We waited at the hostess stand almost 15" before anyone acknowledged us! Another patron got up from his table and found someone to seat us! Everything from that point on was just oK!!! I don't think I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Worst Hibachi - Very disappointing

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Tomo last Saturday as a date night to celebrate something special. We were very excited because we had heard good things about this place. We made a reservation first thing Saturday morning for 7:30pm that night.

When we arrived, we weren't even greeted until about 5 minutes into standing at the front door. Our table wasn't ready yet, so they told us to go sit at the bar. We didn't get seated until 7:50. Once we were seated, the chef didn't come out until 8:45!! We were literally sitting there for an hour waiting for our chef to even arrive. They weren't even particularly busy, so we were very annoyed at that point. (I felt even worse for the table next to us because they arrived the same time as we did and their chef didn't arrive until 9:15!!!!)

Then, our chef didn't do ANY of the "fun" things the hibachi chefs usually do while cooking the food. He was very silent during the entire process. Also, the filet mignon cost $36. And it was AWFUL. It was such a thin slice of meat and was no where near the quality of what is served at Wasabi or any other hibachi place. So it was WAY over priced for how disappointing the meat really was.

The wait staff (minus the chef) was perfectly pleasant and all, but that was about the only good thing about our experience there.

Very, very disappointing. I definitely would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Me and 7 of my friends dined at Tomo for ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Me and 7 of my friends dined at Tomo for my birthday. We had a hibachi table and was thoroughly entertained by our chef. Most

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food and service were good. Large selection, noise level high though.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good sushi selection and that is it.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Reservations were pretty much required, but my party was seated an hour after our reservation with no real waiting area for a party on 10. There was no comp, apology or concession for our long old. If we weren’t such a large group in the middle of Downtown Cleveland and hungry we would have left. Sushi selection was decent to pretty good, depending on what you are looking for. Service was nothing short of terrible; at one point the waiter raised his voice at my 60+ year old mother after she reminded him that she wanted more yum yum sauce. I don't go to hibachi restaurant frequently but my family does, and this experience was awful. It dampened the rest of the night, which was my birthday. I will never patronize this restaurant again, especially when I can go to Wasabi, Hibatchi or Otani and get much better service.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a large group, and were put in th ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a large group, and were put in the lower level to accommodate. I did made a reservation, but it took over an hour for the chef to come. Our waiter was very nice, but getting drinks was difficult since he had to run back up and down stairs to bring them. Food was good, but I've had better hibachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food quality was not as good as last tim ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food quality was not as good as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Downtown Hibachi

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 21, 2016

There is a large sushi menu which makes for good appetizers prior to having a Hibachi experience. If you don't want to sit at the grill, there are regular dining tables and you can still get the Hibachi grill items there. Sitting at the grill is fun though - the chef goes through the expected tricks/skills demo. Hibachi menu items come with a bowl of soup and small salad both of which are good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

KlonsMom

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Didn't know what to expect since we had never been in that area for "brunch". Waiter was fantastic and food was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'll start this out by saying I had high ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I'll start this out by saying I had high hopes and was looking forward to the meal. We had made a hibachi reservation for 9pm and when we arrived they said that they would not have a hibachi table for at least 45 min but, that they had regular tables available and we could still order hibachi dinners and they would just cook them in the kitchen for us.

We said fine and sat down and ordered. After 45 min and tables starting to turn around us, the waiter starts apologizing for the wait and keeps saying he will check with the kitchen. Every 10 min he came and apologized... Then the hostess stopped by saying it will not be much longer but was rude and condescending. Time passed and then the manager came by and apologized saying not much longer and brought 3 sodas for 4 kids and told them to share.

By now 90 minutes have passed and their behavior is way to suspicious and our teenagers are starving and crying from exhaustion so we call them all over and ask for an explanation.

After being left to wait for 90 min they say they lost their kitchen chef this morning. It is irresponsible, rude and dishonest to accept patrons that you do not have the capacity to serve.

We finally walked out at 10:30pm without haven't eaten and went else where to feed out famished family.

Terrible management, rude hostess and dishonest business practices make this one of my worst dining experiences ever and I never even ate the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

No very satisfied

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2016

For food that was fair and a bit overpriced,I was disappointed. We (my wife and I)were sat alone in the front of the restaurant with no option to sit at a hibachi because we booked through open table. The area was drafty and everytime someone entered, all you could hear was stomping of boots and shoes to remove the snow, since the front walkway was not even shoveled clear of snow. The service was lacking, probably because we were forgotten in the front of the restaurant and were not even a second thought for quite some time. Received our food after 45+ minutes, it may have even been an hour! my opinion was not cool at all. I really would like to have my $200 back but that is probably not an option. All I can say is I hope this was that one off day that happens occasionally for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Fun dining in Cleveland!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Had a fun birthday celebration here with a large party. Everyone enjoyed the wide variety of exotic meat choices and loved the fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for groups

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 24, 2016

I great place for dining for small groups of friends of 8 friends. Was taken there by my children for a birthday celebration before a night on the town and it was a perfect starting plce.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

price of food and ambienance

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2016

I cant believe that they charge a 18% charge just for habachi. So bogus and a rip off was not all fun with the chef did one trick all dinner. sushi is better at other places. We are from another big city and they place we went to there didn't charge a extra tax for habachi. This place is such a rip off and not worth going back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Another Great Dinner!

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 14, 2015

We enjoyed yet another great dinner at Tomo last Friday night. We were seated immediately and our server was attentive and courteous. The chef was entertaining as he cook our meal, chatting with us and doing various tricks as he prepared our meal. Our entrees were perfectly done regarding our steaks with generous portions and just a delicious overall experience. We will be back soon! Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The price point for a couple of the dish ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 25, 2015

The price point for a couple of the dishes were a disappointment; hibachi combos. One dish was 55 dollars. I was expecting magic on a plate. Sorely disappointed. Too many onions and much to much pepper within our rice. Insert sad face here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Tomo Hibachi

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2015

We were warmly greeted by a very friendly and knowledgeable hostess/barmaid. We joined a group at the Hibachi table. Fun and entertaining, but the food was oversauced and the chef forgot a few of the special orders. We would not do the Hibachi again, but might return and eat tableside. Our friendly greeter, also made a point of catching us to say goodbye and nice to meet you. Didn't catch her name but she is from Ukraine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.