About Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge

1293 W. 9th Street
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

TOMO Sushi & Hibachi Restaurant & Lounge is where you will find some of the very best Japanese cuisine in the city of Cleveland, Ohio (and throughout the Midwest).

We are the home of the most entertaining, charismatic, and talented chefs from the Far East who prepare your Sushi or Hibachi meals before your very eyes, and leave you with a taste that you won’t believe.

Let us entertain you and satisfy your appetite at one of our 17 Hibachi tables on 3 floors, where our talented chefs will prepare your meal of Hibachi Chicken , Shrimp, Steak, or one of our Hibachi Classic or Hibachi Combination plates.

Enjoy over 400 different hookah flavors from Starbuzz, Haze, Nakhla, Sinbad, Al Fakher, Miso, Social Smoke and many more brands. Craft cocktails, martinis, and drinks, live DJ, music and dancing on our Second Floor Bar & Lounge.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 696-4444

Website:
http://www.tomohibachiandsushi.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Tomo Hibachi & Sushi Restaurant and Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

2.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

2.7

ambience

2.8

value

2.1

noise

Moderate

29% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
See All
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waitress/ hostess was WONDERFUL. It' ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our waitress/ hostess was WONDERFUL. It's a shame she doesn't work in a better place. The inside decor was very average-- they were trying too hard. The place was almost empty and shortly after we ordered our drinks a woman whom I'm assuming was a manger chose to sit at the table directly next to us (despite there being many empties in secluded areas of the place) and reprimand an employee-- not quietly either. This included swearing and inappropriate language. Additionally, any time we would get up to use the restroom or anything she would give us the nastiest look as if we interrupted her conversation. When the food final to arrived it was awful. I didn't finish my sushi because the smell seemed to indicate that wasn't the best idea. My friend ordered hibachi and said it was completely unseasoned. I don't know how this place has decent ratings because I'll never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value2

The sushi was amazing as always. We alwa ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The sushi was amazing as always. We always go there on Mondays for the half off sushi. This time however we had a new server who was very unexperienced. He did not take notes when taking our orders and therefore made many mistakes. Hopefully next time we go he will be better prepared to take a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

This is our third time at the restaurant ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is our third time at the restaurant. Our first two experiences were great but our third visit was not so great. Server screwed our sushi order up not once but twice pulse see had no idea what beers they served. She can out and said she couldn't find her manager to talk to us on sushi roll mix up. Really! 7:30 at night and can't find manager. She was not very knowledgeable at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Didnt like the fact the sushi cooks re u ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Didnt like the fact the sushi cooks re used there gloves for each order instead of putting a new pair on. The food tasted gross. Like the fish had been sitting out. Very displeased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

We arrived 5" prior to our reservation t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We arrived 5" prior to our reservation time! We waited at the hostess stand almost 15" before anyone acknowledged us! Another patron got up from his table and found someone to seat us! Everything from that point on was just oK!!! I don't think I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Worst Hibachi - Very disappointing

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Tomo last Saturday as a date night to celebrate something special. We were very excited because we had heard good things about this place. We made a reservation first thing Saturday morning for 7:30pm that night.

When we arrived, we weren't even greeted until about 5 minutes into standing at the front door. Our table wasn't ready yet, so they told us to go sit at the bar. We didn't get seated until 7:50. Once we were seated, the chef didn't come out until 8:45!! We were literally sitting there for an hour waiting for our chef to even arrive. They weren't even particularly busy, so we were very annoyed at that point. (I felt even worse for the table next to us because they arrived the same time as we did and their chef didn't arrive until 9:15!!!!)

Then, our chef didn't do ANY of the "fun" things the hibachi chefs usually do while cooking the food. He was very silent during the entire process. Also, the filet mignon cost $36. And it was AWFUL. It was such a thin slice of meat and was no where near the quality of what is served at Wasabi or any other hibachi place. So it was WAY over priced for how disappointing the meat really was.

The wait staff (minus the chef) was perfectly pleasant and all, but that was about the only good thing about our experience there.

Very, very disappointing. I definitely would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Me and 7 of my friends dined at Tomo for ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Me and 7 of my friends dined at Tomo for my birthday. We had a hibachi table and was thoroughly entertained by our chef. Most

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food and service were good. Large selection, noise level high though.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good sushi selection and that is it.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Reservations were pretty much required, but my party was seated an hour after our reservation with no real waiting area for a party on 10. There was no comp, apology or concession for our long old. If we weren’t such a large group in the middle of Downtown Cleveland and hungry we would have left. Sushi selection was decent to pretty good, depending on what you are looking for. Service was nothing short of terrible; at one point the waiter raised his voice at my 60+ year old mother after she reminded him that she wanted more yum yum sauce. I don't go to hibachi restaurant frequently but my family does, and this experience was awful. It dampened the rest of the night, which was my birthday. I will never patronize this restaurant again, especially when I can go to Wasabi, Hibatchi or Otani and get much better service.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a large group, and were put in th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a large group, and were put in the lower level to accommodate. I did made a reservation, but it took over an hour for the chef to come. Our waiter was very nice, but getting drinks was difficult since he had to run back up and down stairs to bring them. Food was good, but I've had better hibachi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food quality was not as good as last tim ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food quality was not as good as last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Downtown Hibachi

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

There is a large sushi menu which makes for good appetizers prior to having a Hibachi experience. If you don't want to sit at the grill, there are regular dining tables and you can still get the Hibachi grill items there. Sitting at the grill is fun though - the chef goes through the expected tricks/skills demo. Hibachi menu items come with a bowl of soup and small salad both of which are good.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

KlonsMom

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Didn't know what to expect since we had never been in that area for "brunch". Waiter was fantastic and food was very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'll start this out by saying I had high ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I'll start this out by saying I had high hopes and was looking forward to the meal. We had made a hibachi reservation for 9pm and when we arrived they said that they would not have a hibachi table for at least 45 min but, that they had regular tables available and we could still order hibachi dinners and they would just cook them in the kitchen for us.

We said fine and sat down and ordered. After 45 min and tables starting to turn around us, the waiter starts apologizing for the wait and keeps saying he will check with the kitchen. Every 10 min he came and apologized... Then the hostess stopped by saying it will not be much longer but was rude and condescending. Time passed and then the manager came by and apologized saying not much longer and brought 3 sodas for 4 kids and told them to share.

By now 90 minutes have passed and their behavior is way to suspicious and our teenagers are starving and crying from exhaustion so we call them all over and ask for an explanation.

After being left to wait for 90 min they say they lost their kitchen chef this morning. It is irresponsible, rude and dishonest to accept patrons that you do not have the capacity to serve.

We finally walked out at 10:30pm without haven't eaten and went else where to feed out famished family.

Terrible management, rude hostess and dishonest business practices make this one of my worst dining experiences ever and I never even ate the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

No very satisfied

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

For food that was fair and a bit overpriced,I was disappointed. We (my wife and I)were sat alone in the front of the restaurant with no option to sit at a hibachi because we booked through open table. The area was drafty and everytime someone entered, all you could hear was stomping of boots and shoes to remove the snow, since the front walkway was not even shoveled clear of snow. The service was lacking, probably because we were forgotten in the front of the restaurant and were not even a second thought for quite some time. Received our food after 45+ minutes, it may have even been an hour! my opinion was not cool at all. I really would like to have my $200 back but that is probably not an option. All I can say is I hope this was that one off day that happens occasionally for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Fun dining in Cleveland!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Had a fun birthday celebration here with a large party. Everyone enjoyed the wide variety of exotic meat choices and loved the fun atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for groups

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I great place for dining for small groups of friends of 8 friends. Was taken there by my children for a birthday celebration before a night on the town and it was a perfect starting plce.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

price of food and ambienance

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I cant believe that they charge a 18% charge just for habachi. So bogus and a rip off was not all fun with the chef did one trick all dinner. sushi is better at other places. We are from another big city and they place we went to there didn't charge a extra tax for habachi. This place is such a rip off and not worth going back to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Another Great Dinner!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We enjoyed yet another great dinner at Tomo last Friday night. We were seated immediately and our server was attentive and courteous. The chef was entertaining as he cook our meal, chatting with us and doing various tricks as he prepared our meal. Our entrees were perfectly done regarding our steaks with generous portions and just a delicious overall experience. We will be back soon! Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The price point for a couple of the dish ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

The price point for a couple of the dishes were a disappointment; hibachi combos. One dish was 55 dollars. I was expecting magic on a plate. Sorely disappointed. Too many onions and much to much pepper within our rice. Insert sad face here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Tomo Hibachi

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

We were warmly greeted by a very friendly and knowledgeable hostess/barmaid. We joined a group at the Hibachi table. Fun and entertaining, but the food was oversauced and the chef forgot a few of the special orders. We would not do the Hibachi again, but might return and eat tableside. Our friendly greeter, also made a point of catching us to say goodbye and nice to meet you. Didn't catch her name but she is from Ukraine!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Our server Steven was awesome!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

My mom loved it for her Mother's day dinner. Steven really kept her entertained throughtout our meal

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

If you want Hibachi, sit at the Hibachi table

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 8, 2015

we didn't sit at the hibachi table but ordered hibachi dinners. They were ok, but two of the three dinners were cold. It was as if they made one at a time and didn't even sit it under a heating lamp. The hot tea tasted like water.

The salad and the soup were good. We didn't try the sushi/sashimi but it looked good on the menu.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Pretty loud but the food and entertainme ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Pretty loud but the food and entertainment is great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was fine.. until the end

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Sushi was ok.. Host and security were terrible, our server was perfect.

The Hibachi is by far the best at this restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

People at Tomo are friendly and want to ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

People at Tomo are friendly and want to be helpful but the place is disorganized to a fault. You would think the place was only open a week. They need better execution. Food was OK. They could also use some help at the bar. We had some sushi at the hibachi that was ok. Not bad but I would suggest you go on less busy evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Place for Quick Dinner before a Night Out

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Service was attentive and the food was delicious. For as busy as it was on a Friday night, 5 out of our 6 guests ordered sushi and it all came out in a timely fashion. Drink and sushi menus had a lot of variety! Cocktails seemed a little over price, but competitive for the downtown atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Valentines Day

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

This was my first experience with Tomo. We had chef Ninja. He was a great host and put on a great show. He is a very talented chef, food was delicious and cooked to expectation. The setting was great for a group environment, however if you were looking for a one on one date the hibachi side isn't recommended.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

Most extensive hibachi menu I've ever seen. Dragon roll was delicious. I wasn't overly fond of the fried noodles, and a lot of the food from the hibachi table tasted pretty much the same: drenched in soy. Huge wine list.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was OK, but don't go in the winter.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

I looked forward to going to Tomo. It seemed to take an unusually long time to get our food. In the meantime we were seated by the front door. The very cold and completely unimpeded winter wind whipping into the restaurant every time someone came or went made us very much regret our choice for the evening. It seemed that someone had that darn door open every 15 seconds, so it was completely miserable. I am usually too hot at most places but I ended up having to put my coat and hat back on by the time the meal arrived. When we finally got our meal, the food tasted OK but it went ice cold in minutes because of the traffic. I did not in any way enjoy my experience. In fairness management did offer some relief to the bill for the inconvenience, so that was nice but I was done by then. Only because it came so highly recommended I will try Tomo again when it warms up outside, but I will NEVER do it again in Cleveland's winter, and I would not advise anyone else to do so in the winter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5

amazing

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 2, 2015

The food was great but the atmosphere and customer service were even better. My server was extremely polite, my cup never came close to empty and he was just outstanding. The chef was hilarious! I had an great time and I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and fun dinner as always! Thank you.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

We enjoyed yet another fun and delicious dinner on December 28th. Our chef was energetic and quite entertaining as he expertly prepared our delicious entrees. Our appetizers also were delicious and the service was great as well. We will be back soon. Thank you for a fun and delicious experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was only good thing

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

The food here was very good and very fast. The drinks were okay. The service was quite lacking. With the hassle of getting downtown and parking, I would choose a sushi place in a suburb that has great food, great service and ease of transport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

fun, great food, service, e price

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

I had guests in town w me from L. A., CA. They really wanted seafood. I saw the review on here and so that was how we picked. The sushi was good, the service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing and our 6 and 2 year old had a blast. All this and the price was very reasonable for downtown Cleveland. We told the hotel staff so they could recommend. Fun family Saturday night sushi.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Need to hire a new bartender

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

Ordered a top shelf margarita & it was barely drinkable. It was like drinking moonshine...not patron. The sushi was good & the hibachi dinner was OK but the chef was not very entertaining & the drinks were just awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Average at best...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 24, 2014

Hibachi food is average, at best. Sushi is good, though. I was charged $20 for a sub par martini. I had to guide them through the drink; they did not even know what simple syrup was...in the end, they charged me the price of a double...what!!! If what I was asking for was more than their typical pour...(well, they should check with the other restaurants downtown...everywhere for that matter), but at least I should have been warned of my up charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Saturday Night Fun

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

Everyone was extremely friendly including the owner who introduced himself. service was quick and available when you needed them. Menu was amazing with tons of options and food was top quality!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went on a monday night. We sat at the su ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2014

Went on a monday night. We sat at the sushi bar and had drinks while watching our order get made. We then moved to a Hibachi table all to ourself. Every thing was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great hibachi!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 15, 2014

We sat at one of the hibachi tables I got chicken and shrimp my guests got chicken and steak, everything was cooked perfectly and the hibachi chef was very entertaining and interactive even though it was just the two of us! The service was also great my water glass was always full and I always had a refill of my soda!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food but awful wait time

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

Used openTable to reserve 2 seats at the Hibachi table but turned out the seats were for a normal table. OpenTable did not present us with any option for normal table to Hibachi seat. Got to the restaurant and were told it would take 45 min to an hour for the table to clear. We ended up waiting for 2 hours.

The only reason this review is bad because I told the manager that I made a reservation through the website where openTable is used for reserving seats but I was never presented with an option to select and normal table or hibachi table. We had to wait a ridiculous time of 2 hours when we were told that it would only take 45 min to an hour.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.