About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
New York / Tri-State Area
Mexican
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

fit for foodies (185)
neighborhood gem (103)
great for lunch (99)
See All
good for groups (90)
hot spot (85)
special occasion (80)
vibrant bar scene (49)
great for brunch (43)
late-night find (41)
kid-friendly (30)
romantic (30)
 (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (3)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

A great place to go for exceptional food ...

Dined 3 days ago

A great place to go for exceptional food and service before a Broadway show.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Creative, enthusiastic Mexican

Dined 4 days ago

The enthusiasm and desire to please are impressive. Food is very good, outstanding in the case of the varied ceviches. Service is excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined 5 days ago

Great service

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Top Tapas

Dined 5 days ago

Brisket to die for. Seafood is fabulous. Service staff very attentive. Only down side is the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food & atmosphere. Great place ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food & atmosphere. Great place to eat before a show. We come here every time we are in NY and have never been disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal and service! I had the black ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great meal and service! I had the black cod; it was amazing.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

That was the second time we had dinner i ...

Dined 6 days ago

That was the second time we had dinner in Toloache and it was very good as time. The guacamole was superb enchiladas very good and spicy. It has a very nice ambience though that night we had very noisy neighbours. I strongly recommend it and definitely we will visit again.

Tags: outdoor eating, late night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lobster tacos, and black beans ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful lobster tacos, and black beans with rice. Signature Toloache margarita is striking in appearance and very flavorful. Splendid guac, too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice food nice size portions wine very g ...

Dined 6 days ago

Nice food nice size portions wine very good. Great atmosphere however pricey but this seems to be the norm for New York!

Tags: child friendly, group bookings
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

This is the second time we've eaten here ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This is the second time we've eaten here. The first time the food was good, this time fair. However, the service was beyond outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location in the neighborhood. We r ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great location in the neighborhood. We really enjoyed the drinks & the food was tasty. I'd definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried this place before our Broadway sho ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Tried this place before our Broadway show. Was only one block over . Food was outstanding !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Very authe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great food and great service. Very authentic feel.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing food! Guacamole and the rib eye ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing food! Guacamole and the rib eye were delish! Margaritas are a must!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of us LOVED this restaurant...someth ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

All of us LOVED this restaurant...something on the menu for everyone!! Awesome fusion of Mexican and American fare! Ate before a Broadway play with our two young teenagers. Service was primo! only complaint was the hostess, she did not communicate very well and we waited a half hour for our table even though we had a reservation. Looking forward to an opportunity to dine here again!!!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love ! Amazing food and great atmosphere ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Love ! Amazing food and great atmosphere !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Very Special Place!

Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I had the good fortune of dining at Toloache-Midtown last Friday. Unfortunately, my daughter left her purse in the Yellow Cab that had dropped us off. The management and staff of the restaurant could not have been more sincere, helpful, and compassionate! They looked at their surveillance cameras to see if they could find the cab number--no luck! They offered us excellent advice and came to check on my daughter multiple times, because she was distraught. They even brought us a complementary mango puree margarita, the specialty of the house, when the manager came to us with the amazing and wonderful news that the cab driver had come all of the way back around on his route to return the purse, which the next customer had found in the back seat! The food was fabulous, but the kindness of the folks at Toloache was unforgettable. Never mind what politicians may say about New York values, I have experienced some of the best people I have ever encountered right in the big apple! Thank you Toloach management and staff and our Yellow Cab driver for making what could have been a horrible night...wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You can't get better Mexican food than t ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

You can't get better Mexican food than this. Every dish was beautifully prepared. The Lechon Prensado just melts in your mouth and the Camarones Trufado was especially delicious. The wait staff is very knowledgeable about the food and drinks (also excellent), attentive, and friendly. Prices are high, but very well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Not your typical Mexican restaurant

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was very good and the service attentive but not overbearing. We especially enjoyed the seared scallops, guacamole with fruit, and the dulce de lecce cake.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was second visit to Toloache-midtow ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was second visit to Toloache-midtown and it certainly did not diasappoint! The food was spectacular - by far the best we have tasted in New York and the staff were wonderful. It was my birthday and staff surprised me with a wonderful cake and rendition of Happy Birthday. Thank you so much. We will most certainly be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best Mexican cuisine around!

Dined on May 19, 2016

I’ve been to this restaurant twice, and both times have been amazing. The service is suburb, and the food is delicious. They usually ask you if you are going to see a show and at what time so that they can give you the quickest service possible. Before I forget, the guacamole is by far the freshest guac I’ve ever had – Ever! We will certainly be returning to this wonderful restaurant again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best meal of our lives or right up there!

Dined on May 19, 2016

My party of five went here for a pre-theatre dinner. We needed vegan options for 2 of the party and great food/ambiance for all of us since the night was special and the whole week was special (celebrating college graduation, a birthday, and having 93-year old Mom with us). So, it was very hard to find something in the theatre district that would appeal to all of us and being from California, I was initially concerned about booking what seems to be a Mexican restaurant. When my NYC college student daughter found that I'd booked Toalache, she said Oh my God, that place is the bomb. I've wanted to go there forever and can't wait!" I was relieved and kept the reservation, of course. My oldest daughter, also vegan, also ended up loving the place both for the food, the drinks and the crowd scene. She glances up and around at one point and says, "I really love this place." My husband and I, and both our daughters, all could not believe how truly incredibly delicious and unique our meals were. Toalache completely redefines Mexican for me, and we have some outstanding Mexican restaurants locally. But Toalache is off the hook; the flavors are so unique. The overall taste is fantastic but you also taste all these nuances within the overall and it's mind-boggling good. It might be the best meal I've ever had, truly, and the four of us felt the same way. The drinks are also super, super tasty and worth the price. The only slight negative is that it takes a long time to get the drinks once you order them. Food service is fast but the bar is slammed busy and it shows in a long wait time for drinks. And my mom, somewhat less open to such a unique way of cooking, was a bit confused by the menu but still liked her meal. The rest of us had stars in our eyes and wished Toalache had a location back home. I'd eat there every week if I could. Thank you, Toalache, for an extraordinary dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great pre-theatre or anytime

Dined on May 18, 2016

Have been here 3 times, all pre-theatre, but would recommend for any occasion. Food always good, service was particularly attentive this time, and noise level good enough for our group of five to hear each other in normal speaking voices. Waitstaff very helpful if undecided for menu selection. Great location.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Goodservice verygoodfood excellentsoups ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Goodservice verygoodfood excellentsoups andauthentic food. Slightlynoisy; but anywhereinnyc it's noisy

Tags: fit for foodies
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Overrated. Few, if any vegetarian option ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Overrated. Few, if any vegetarian options and staff was reluctant to offer options (even asked if it was due to dietary/allergy restrictions). Portions were not great and flavor - well there wasn't much. Drinks weren't worth the price.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We were looking for a place close to the ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were looking for a place close to the theaters so we could get a quick dinner after a show. The food here was great, what we call Mod Mex in Cleveland. The service was a little slow and even with a reservation through open table it took a while to get a table. We really enjoyed the quso fundito, I recommend asking for the corn tortillas instead of flour. The guacamole was decent, nothing too amazing but we were so hungry by that time. Our tacos were also very good, I got the beef brisket and my husband got the steak. The prices are moderate (although the taco portions small). Someone next to us got an entree and it was huge and most definitely meant to be shared. If you are in the area for a show I definitely recommend. One of our better dinners while in NYC.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The food, the service, the atmosphere - always right. Always festive! Great prices and great quality. I only discovered this restaurant in January - and it is now May and I have been at least 6 times already. Great location for pre-theater as well.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible service , small portions , over ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Horrible service , small portions , overpriced average drinks ,

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this place and go there whenever ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this place and go there whenever i am in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been visiting Toloache for over ove ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I've been visiting Toloache for over over 8yrs now and we love coming back to this gem as often as possible. We usually go in smaller groups, but I took a friend recently to celebrate her new job and we had a lovely time enjoying great food, great vibe and amazing drinks.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Spicy guacamole was amazing! And my hu ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Spicy guacamole was amazing! And my husband loved the shrimp special. Service was exemplary, and awareness of our theater commitment time wise was appreciated.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Noisy environment and lazy service

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

I didn't realize they would close the dining room for a special event and seat all other clients in the backroom. there should be a way to notify customers of that. In a small room there were so many of us that the waiter had to lean to each customer to hear the order- noisy to the point of being unpleasant. Waiters were slow and inattentive, perhaps they were busy elsewhere as well. the hostess was very nice and pleasant and came to each table to ask how we were doing. the food was average- flat bread too dry and felt like I was eating a cracker with toppings, chicken was good.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I dined at Toloache's. Twice in 1 week. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

I dined at Toloache's. Twice in 1 week. Dinner was a 5 star event, everything was excellent...food, service, drinks and ambiance. However, I returned a few days later for lunch and experienced a less attentive server who was abrupt and quick with us. The restaurant was not especially busy, so I wasn't sure why there was a sense of urgency. The main consistencies in the dining experience were the excellent food and the timeliness of food being delivered to our table.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regulars. I enjoy this place for ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We are regulars. I enjoy this place for lunch and dinner. Authentic Mexican cuisine with focus on fresh healthy dishes, and fabulous drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Very authentic, delicious food!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very authentic, delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Quick lunch service.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food. Quick lunch service.

food4
ambience3
service4

A unique and interesting restaurant. The ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A unique and interesting restaurant. The room was beautiful and the lighting exotic. There is a table where a woman was making fresh guacamole using a pestle and mortar, so you know their guac is good! It we delicious, I especially liked their medium heat guac with pomegranate seeds, so yummy! The food itself was unique, and I don't know much about Mexican food in general but it was great quality. I got the sea scallops with quinoa and they were cooked perfectly. The margarita was also well made and delicious! The only thing that was maybe not as nice was how dose the tables were to each other and it was loud, but hey, its NYC!! Overall a fun and unique experience.

food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Not the best experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Hostess was rude every time that i have , and rushing us. Food was ok quality of the dishes is really low I been going there for quite some years and i feel like the experience is not the best with the years instead of maintaining or improve it.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

nice but over priced Mexican restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was good, but very small portions for the cost! Wouldn't return.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A great spot for pre-theater dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

A great spot for pre-theater dinner! Made a rez before seeing a Broadway show. The staff was very attentive to the fact that we had an 8 o'clock curtain, although we never felt rushed with our meal. Great drinks, great guacamole. My husband and I both enjoyed our meals and they have nice, strong coffee. Will definitely return!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.