About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Margarita - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Chicken Enchilada - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Quesadilla De Huitlacoche Y Trufas - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Vegetarian Sopa De Tortilla - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Cactus Chips - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Desert Sampler - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Guacamole and Chips - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Flan - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Tortilla Soup - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (103)
Authentic (78)
Fun (59)
See All
Casual (58)
Creative Cuisine (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Special Occasion (43)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Tapas (38)
Great for Lunch (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Spicy (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Cozy (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Romantic (15)
People Watching (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Healthy (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Family Style (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
4078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The first time I went for Mexican food a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 16 hours ago

The first time I went for Mexican food and was not stuffed after two appetizers, a main, and desert. Don't get me wrong, it was good quality food, and different. But you don't get all the bang for your buck, big bucks that is. I'd recommend it if you have a lot of dough to throw around and want to eat grasshoppers in the fanciest way possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was fenomenal like always! A NY must!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It was fenomenal like always! A NY must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for early dinner after seeing a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We came for early dinner after seeing a Broadway show. I felt that food was average for the amount of money that they charge. And the portions were very small. The drinks were ok, but nothing exciting. Will not be returning and will not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

arrived for Brunch to a VERY cold restau ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

arrived for Brunch to a VERY cold restaurant. It was cold outside. When I told the waitress they tried everything possible to make it warmer for us, they were very nice.. We were ready to leave to go somewhere else for Lunch, but they would not hear of that.. they did not want us to leave and offered the upstairs seating. I did not want to sit upstairs and had mentioned this in my reservations. Due to the coldness, we had no choice but to go upstairs. It was very crowded and loud upstairs, thus the reason why I did not want to eat there. I have to say the staff could not do enough for us. But with that said, the waitress downstairs was so much nicer and attentive then the waiter we got upstairs. Oh well.. we made the best of it and had a nice very expensive brunch.. small plates good drinks. Very close seating..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Toloache was an amazing dining experienc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Toloache was an amazing dining experience. Exquisite food in the heart of NYC, with a romantic atmosphere that is exemplary. Lol jk great food and awesome mixed drinks but quite pricey. 10/10 would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The good and the service are both excell ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The good and the service are both excellent. It was uncomfortable to sit so tightly. There are too many tables on too small a space. I was constantly bumped by the wait staff trying to get through. Great choice for pre-theater.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Nice place. Took kids, but it's a littl ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place.

Took kids, but it's a little too chic food for them. Probably great for a date or drinks with friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent! The shrimp tacos were so fla ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! The shrimp tacos were so flavorful, but the chocolate dessert is what stole the show. One of the best Mexican dinners I've had anywhere. Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

enjoyed the food, the service, and the a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

enjoyed the food, the service, and the atmosphere. Definitely will be back again soon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Healthy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Toloache is a vibrant, loud, crowded gem ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Toloache is a vibrant, loud, crowded gem for delicious and creative Mexican classics. I had the grasshopper tacos and cactus fries; both were prepared well and were very tasty! The menu has a wide selection, appealing to many different palates. I also noticed that the number of vegetarian options (marked on the menu) was significant, and there were also a fair number of gluten-free options.

Overall, Toloache-Midtown was a loud and exciting Mexican restaurant for up-scale authentic-ish food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Always amazing food. LOVE the pomegrana ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Always amazing food. LOVE the pomegranate guacamole and the Sangria!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful after-theater dinner. Great ma ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Wonderful after-theater dinner. Great margaritas. Great Latin American dishes, not the usual Tex-Mex fare. Well-prepared, fresh, vibrant. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were wonderful! What a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food and service were wonderful! What a fantastic place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there after Sunday matinee. Food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Went there after Sunday matinee. Food was very good. Would have liked more in portion size. Everything a la cart. Wish the margarita was served in margarita glass instead of small juice glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have been to Toloache the past few tim ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been to Toloache the past few times that I have been in NYC and it has always been amazing! Their guacamole, brisket tacos, and jalapeño margaritas are to die for!! It's definitely a good place to go after going to Broadway since it is open later, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the guacamole, Brussels sprouts, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Love the guacamole, Brussels sprouts, and creative menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We read about this highly recommended li ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We read about this highly recommended lively and fun Mexican restaurant when looking for a pre-theatre dinner spot. It was an excellent choice for a delicious dinner. Our waiter was attentive, skilled and helpful leading us through the menu. We had guacamole, a truffled quesadilla, spectacular tacos, and then one of us had paella and and the other had enchiladas. Despite being quite full, we made room for the dessert sampler as well as special spiced coffee. It was a snowy night and the bonus was that this restaurant was next to the Circle in the Square Theatre where the wonderful new Broadway acappella musical "In Transit" is playing. It is easy to recommend both the Mexican restaurant and the show!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great! All tacos sampled w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great! All tacos sampled were delicious as were the avocado fries, churros and the mexican hot chocolate. Wonderful selection of dessert tequilla and mescal, tho some were on the pricey range. Be careful how much you imbibe as the stairs back down could be tricky to negotiate after a couple.

Very noisy upstairs - just with conversation alone. Needless trap music playing all night long. Suggest you avoid the booth or table near the restroom upstairs as there is only one stall and it is in continual use all night long as well. Request a different location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent restaurant. Exceptional authen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Exceptional authentic food, extraordinary service, nice simple decor, great selection of drinks, very good deserts.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and attentive service. The t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great food and attentive service. The tacos are small but filling. The short rib entree was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service here. Due to a train iss ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Amazing service here. Due to a train issue, my date was 30 minutes late for our reservation, and we had a show to make. The hostesses were incredibly nice and accommodating of the lateness. I enjoyed a (delicious) drink at the bar. When we were seated, the turnaround on our meal was incredibly fast because they knew we had a show to make in an hour.

The food was delicious and creatively crafted overall. I'd come back in a second.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Midweek, pre-theatre dinner. Drinks and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Midweek, pre-theatre dinner. Drinks and food excellent, but very busy and noisy and seats, tables rather cramped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

All the food is great as are the margari ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

All the food is great as are the margaritas. Tables are a little close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This restaurant was really nice and cozy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This restaurant was really nice and cozy. Great food and drinks. Ideal for anyone who enjoys Mexican food in a friendly setting. The waiters and bar staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable with all menu items.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the queso fundido. The Asad was al ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Love the queso fundido. The Asad was also excelent. We will definitely eat here again if we are in the area.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our meal the other night. The serv ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Loved our meal the other night. The service and food were both excellent! Would visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every morsel that was put on the table w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Every morsel that was put on the table was delicious. It was expensive but this is NYC. They could have given us free chips and salsa ($4 charge - lol). All in all a delightful dinner and the manager visited our table. I would repeat and also recommend.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

First time there but definitely going ba ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time there but definitely going back. Food was great and the cocktails were amazing.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for eating and celebrati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent place for eating and celebrating new year's eve! Very tasty food, amazing chef's creations. I totally recommend it for Any ocassion, i will be back for sure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was by far the best restaurant we v ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was by far the best restaurant we visited in NYC. What a gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderfully novel take on Mexican food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A wonderfully novel take on Mexican food. I was a little surprised when my carnitas arrived looking a bit like a serving of lasagna, but as soon as I tasted them I was converted. Try lots of the taco appetizers ... every one was worth it.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was NY prices. Good was solid, but I' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was NY prices. Good was solid, but I've had better similar fare for 30% less. Disappointed with the tiny portions. Too gourmet for me for Mexican style food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Extremely noisy restaurant. Serious prob ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Extremely noisy restaurant. Serious problems with the acoustics

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great service, food and atmosphere. Gu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service, food and atmosphere. Guacamole, enchiladas and margaritas were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed out mid week holiday lunch he ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We enjoyed out mid week holiday lunch here.

Very creative Mexican food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites in NYC! Great food ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of our favorites in NYC! Great food and service and one of our "must-dos" when in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Richtig gutes Essen . Nur zu empfehlen . ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Richtig gutes Essen . Nur zu empfehlen . Bissl teuer , lohnt sich dennoch . Beste Taccos ever 👍🏽😜

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gets my vote for best Mexican in NYC. C ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Gets my vote for best Mexican in NYC. Creative cuisine, wonderful traditional dishes too. The take-off on a Mexican Hanukah menu was filled with items I would like to see year-round.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good Mexican food - all standard fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very good Mexican food - all standard fare but very well done. Friendly and quick service. Took granddaughter for pre-theatre lunch; perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was fabulous, but we had to eat wit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was fabulous, but we had to eat with our coats on due to entrance door constantly opening and closing, allowing cold air to enter the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.