About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Toloache-Midtown
Quesadilla De Huitlacoche Y Trufas
Vegetarian Sopa De Tortilla
Cactus Chips
Margarita
Chicken Enchilada
Desert Sampler
Guacamole and Chips
Flan
Tortilla Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
New York / Tri-State Area
Mexican
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

Fit for Foodies (171)
Neighborhood Gem (102)
Hot Spot (93)
See All
Good for Groups (89)
Special Occasion (85)
Great for Lunch (80)
Vibrant Bar Scene (45)
Late-night Find (37)
Kid-friendly (36)
Great for Brunch (36)
Romantic (29)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service and right in the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and service and right in the theater district with easy access.

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Toloache was a great meal. Server was fa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Toloache was a great meal. Server was fabulous, made great recommendations. Try the fried crickets!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was delighted to find a good Mexican r ...

vip
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I was delighted to find a good Mexican restaurant close the theater district.

Food was very good. Especially the fantastic desserts.

You can find me there the next time I have a "curtain call"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and margaritas! The brusse ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great service and margaritas! The brussel sprout appetizer was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love this restaurant! Food is amazing an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Love this restaurant! Food is amazing and always perfectly seasoned! Wait staff very friendly and so helpful. Will visit again very soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very yummy! It is a bit expensi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was very yummy! It is a bit expensive for size of meals but it tastes fresh and seems to be good quality. Space is typical for NYC (a little bit on top of each other) but that's just part of living in the city. Our server was consistent with checking in on us. We made a reservation and were seated right away. Would go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location for before or after Broad ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great location for before or after Broadway shows. Fun lovely atmosphere, attentive staff. Ceviche sampler was creative and tasty. Deserts are large but a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time here and the foo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was my second time here and the food was very good. Bar was a little crowded but they did their best to accomodate us. The service was a little lacking but it was very busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delicious! The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was delicious! The service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service and a real ge ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food and service and a real gem in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful food, and very accommodating t ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wonderful food, and very accommodating to dietary restrictions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was fine...nothing bad but not memora ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was fine...nothing bad but not memorable either.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good but overpriced

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very good but overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's nice when a restaurant is both fun ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's nice when a restaurant is both fun and good. Being with friends in a cheerful atmosphere with very good margaritas and well-executed food is a lovely experience. We ate picnic-style with multiple plates, including tacos, guac, sides, and one larger shrimp dish. All very tasty and satisfying.

We all agreed we'd be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall a very good one. Given location ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall a very good one. Given location is near theater district many tourists. And loud location. No complaints really... We were party of 2. Seated upstairs right next to service area where dirty dishes were dumped. We asked and were moved as soon as a table opened up. Extremely pleased. Food was REALLY good. So were drinks. Would definitely go back. And would try the UES location. Try the paella, and the roasted garlic shrimp entrees. You can pass on the regular guac. Nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and service. Noise level ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Noise level was over the top. Had to scream to be heard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. It is typical NY ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was excellent. It is typical NY restaurant, very noisy. Not suitable when you wish to have conversations and ability to talk.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great dinner! Food, service were g Aweso ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great dinner! Food, service were g

Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

exceptional service, excellent food (had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

exceptional service, excellent food (had guacamole, lobster and carne asada tacos) and great margaritas. Will definitely recommend to others and will visit again when back in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was overpriced and just fine. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was overpriced and just fine. The quesadilla was small, simple, greasy, and yet cost about 14 dollars. Nothing else we ate was particularly bad, but also not particularly good. We are pescatarians, though, so hopefully their meat dishes are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food - try the guacamole with pome ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food - try the guacamole with pomegranate seeds, the beef short rib tacos, and the cucumber margarita. This place is also perfect for anyone who is gluten free - lots of choices!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Way too noisy and couldn't enjoy ourselv ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Way too noisy and couldn't enjoy ourselves. Not a place for enjoy meal just to eat and rush off to a show

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Love this restaurant - ate there the fir ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this restaurant - ate there the first time on March 2016, will always be on my short list when in in NYC!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did not enjoy our dinner at Toloache. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We did not enjoy our dinner at Toloache. It was rushed and we were seated upstairs with a fiercely blowing AC. It was freezing. The food was just OK and the prices are high. I would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was amazing! A little cramped thoug ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was amazing! A little cramped though. Overall very enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food. Too noisy.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very good food. Too noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food. Fun vibe. Noise level a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent food. Fun vibe. Noise level a bit high so not for a quiet romantic evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great authentic Mexican food...not the u ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great authentic Mexican food...not the usual Tex-Mex. Wait staff were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I didn't care for the restaurant week me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I didn't care for the restaurant week menu. I couldn't eat it and asked for it to go. I had to throw it out. Gross. I ordered the salad and steak. Both were not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

There for a lunch meeting. Quiet enough ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

There for a lunch meeting. Quiet enough to easily talk and hear everyone. All the food I tried was excellent. The guac, chicken tacos, and one of the quesadillas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for restaurant week - I'm not us ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We went for restaurant week - I'm not usually bowled over by restaurant week menus, and in fact, most often end up getting food from the regular menu. However, Toloache's restaurant week menu was great - and everything came exactly as requested (level of spice, etc). Everything was delicious! And I'm already craving another blueberry margarita! The only negative is how close together the tables are - but they bent over backwards to be accommodating and sat us at a great table. I'll definitely look forward to going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very nice. I go to Japan a lot and the o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very nice. I go to Japan a lot and the octopus in the paella dish was the best i ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I highly recommend the prickly pear froz ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I highly recommend the prickly pear frozen margarita and the freshly made guacamole. I ordered chicken tacos & my husband had the pork enchilada. Both were excellent. Delicious & great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambiance. Friendly staff. Drinks we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Nice ambiance. Friendly staff. Drinks were perfect. The carnitas was beyond delicious....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was a great find. Went here before a sho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Was a great find. Went here before a show, great drink and great food. Avocado fries and guacamole are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. Everything we ordered. S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great. Everything we ordered. Service was attentive and accommodating. It's a really good restaurant that just happens to be in the heart of the theater district.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed brunch here on July 30. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We enjoyed brunch here on July 30. The food was great. My husband even enjoyed his grasshopper tacos. The service was also good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The drinks were great and the food was a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The drinks were great and the food was amazing. Service was prompt and attentive. My wife and I could not stop raving about how good our food was from the tuna ceviche (atun) to the fish tacos (pescado). My cod dish was unbelievably tasty and cooked to perfection. The huitlacoche quesadilla was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend this place for a date night or a nice night out with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is amazing, the guacamole is unbeat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food is amazing, the guacamole is unbeatable, and the queso fondue was simply delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We didn't know what to expect from an Ea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We didn't know what to expect from an East Coast Mexican restaurant...but Toloache was

Incredible! Try the guacamole...to start it was really flavorful...and save room for dessert...

oMG! Tres Leches...yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.