About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Toloache-Midtown
Quesadilla De Huitlacoche Y Trufas
Vegetarian Sopa De Tortilla
Cactus Chips
Margarita
Chicken Enchilada
Desert Sampler
Guacamole and Chips
Flan
Tortilla Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
New York / Tri-State Area
Mexican
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

Fit for Foodies (148)
Neighborhood Gem (83)
Hot Spot (76)
See All
Good for Groups (67)
Special Occasion (65)
Great for Lunch (65)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Late-night Find (30)
Kid-friendly (29)
Great for Brunch (28)
Authentic (23)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Casual (17)
Spicy (16)
Fun (13)
Tapas (10)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The rib eye was the highlight. Nice Malb ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The rib eye was the highlight. Nice Malbec. Friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great guacamole! All the food was great ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great guacamole! All the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I have been going to Toloache since it o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been going to Toloache since it opened, when it was easy to walk in and get a table. I am really happy for their success, except for one thing. ... The restaurant is too noisy. Maybe it's a function of getting older, but I find the noise level disturbing and it detracts from my enjoyment of the food. The food is still good and interesting, but I have to think twice about going there pre-theater. Maybe the time to go is around 8 when it probably clears out, but that doesn't solve the before theater problem. Well, it should be my worst problem, and it's obvious that most people don't care.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Based on other reviews we had expectatio ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Based on other reviews we had expectations of above average Mexican cuisine. We were somewhat disappointed. The $17 guacamole was presented in a tiny bowl, not a shareable appetizer portion. It was described as medium spice, but was bland and mildly spiced. The hamachi and tuna ceviches were good. The other dishes were small portions and just average. The service, ambiance and location in the theater district are the only pluses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good time before the show. Cocktails wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good time before the show. Cocktails were tasty, and service was attentive and aware of our need to get out in time for the show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Restaurant is small and noisy. Food is ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant is small and noisy. Food is OK, not spectacular. Staff was friendly and the maitress 'd seated us even though we were early and one of our party had not arrived. Meal was a bargain, for Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Delicious food including tacos, guacamol ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food including tacos, guacamole and even roasted Brussels sprouts!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Tapas, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were going to the theater and wanted ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were going to the theater and wanted good food and quick service. Had a fabulous waiter who took the time to explain the dishes. We tried several, the ceviche, guacamole, short rib tacos (WOW), and the carne asada. Had to try the churros for dessert. Of course the spicy jalapeño margaritas were the best ever. I love this place. Yet will be the first restaurant we visit on our next trip to New York!!!!

Tags: Spicy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall, the best Mexican restaurant in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Overall, the best Mexican restaurant in New York City. You will crave the quac and margaritas days after your visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most selections are very good, the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Most selections are very good, the service was great, margueritas and guac are outstanding. They have a vegetarian menu but don't go for the vegetarian enchiladas. There were two to a serving but were filled only with cubed potatoes and a few pieces of asparagus and cost $20. Rice and beans were extra... They were not tasty at all and very overpriced for cubed potatoes in a tortilla. Everything else my friends had was delicious..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Upscale Mexican next door to Gershwin Th ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Upscale Mexican next door to Gershwin Theater. Guacamole fries and fried brussel sprouts delicious and different. Joe had roasted garlic shrimp -- yummy. Noisy establishment, but had a corner booth upstairs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I met my friend for Sunday brunch at Tol ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I met my friend for Sunday brunch at Toloache. The waiters were attentive and the food wasn't typical for brunch. I had the huarache, which was 2 corn cakes with bits of chorizos, some black beans, salsa and eggs. It was tasty and delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent. However the service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent. However the service was TOO fast. We said we had theater tickets. They brought everything out all at once. We had to nurse our beer just to kill time. Noise level died down a bit after the theater crowd started to thin out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My wife found this restaurant by acciden ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife found this restaurant by accident. We decided to make a reservation and try it. It is by far one of the best restaurants I have been to. The service was excellent, the food was utterly amazing. The flavors in every dish just left you wanting more! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended for those who have ne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Highly recommended for those who have nearby show tickets. The staff were extremely mindful of the time frame we needed in order to get to the theater. The food was excellent and expertly served. We also enjoyed the drinks. if you are taking folks to Broadway shows, this is a great choice if you also want creative cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience outside of table locati ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great experience outside of table location which was right next to kitchen and wait staff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great guacamole roja, food went downhill ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great guacamole roja, food went downhill from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

My business partner and I were staying i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My business partner and I were staying in midtown for work and wanted to find a decent restaurant within walking distance from our hotel. We both love margaritas and Mexican, so this seemed a perfect fit. The margaritas were particularly fresh and good. The food was delicious -- maybe a bit overpriced for the portion size -- but very tasty. Our waiter was charming and attentive and gave us great advice about what to order. We would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had an early dinner pre-theater. Food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Had an early dinner pre-theater. Food was very good and being able to choose the spiciness of the guacamole was a plus! Don't look for easy items such as a bean and cheese burrito because you won't find it. They serve a higher scale of options.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food, you can basically order ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food, you can basically order any of the tacos and it will be a treat. Their standard salsa is also something special. Incredibly noisy though, not a great place for intimate conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Tapas, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Creative soulful Mexican cuisine satisfi ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Creative soulful Mexican cuisine satisfied every diner in our group. From cocktails to dessert, it was all fantastic. We will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Vegan, Tapas, Organic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but extremely small portio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was good but extremely small portions. My group had to order an extra entree of the same to fully enjoy. No chips and salsa served on the table. The service was excellent and the host was informative and attentive. Overall, good ambiance, but other restaurants of this type are better.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I took my mom to a dinner before a broad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I took my mom to a dinner before a broadway show. The food was outstanding and the mojito- my mom who doesn't drink said it was amazing! Besides the girl that was a little unfriedly. The rest of the staff was amazing! Super nice and the decor was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose this place for dinner and drink ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We chose this place for dinner and drinks before a show. Service was outstanding. The waiter helped us select our food from the menu and the food was delicious. Definitely get the flan for dessert. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our go-to place in the theater d ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is our go-to place in the theater district. It's lively, the food and service are excellent, and the price is reasonable, especially if you don't order too many margaritas. I had the hamachi ceviche and it was so good I will probably order it again next time. Save room for dessert!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Toloache was an accidental find- I am no ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Toloache was an accidental find- I am not a fan of Mexican food because most of the Mexican restaurants are Tex Mex. This is authenic with fresh ingredients and careful preparation. The margaritas are delicious. I would recommend Toloache to anyone though the plus is that it is in the theatre district and a great pre theatre find!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here, good food, friendly se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Second time here, good food, friendly service and they are open early if need be. Nice alternative to Rosa and Dos Caminos.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Guacamole the bomb!!!!!! Lobster tacos a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Guacamole the bomb!!!!!! Lobster tacos amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was looking for a Mexican restaurant via ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

was looking for a Mexican restaurant via trip advisor whilst in New York and wasn't disappointed at all by this venue. Great food especially the home made Tacos and the service impeccable. worth a visit even though NY prices seem to get dearer and dearer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Tapas, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So good we went twice on a short trip t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

So good we went twice on a short trip to NYC! Once for dinner and once for lunch. Delicious both times

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderfully situated near theaters, with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderfully situated near theaters, with a delightful Mexican menu of well-presented foods, served with friendliness and efficiency. We enjoyed ourselves greatly on a recent visit to New York City from our home in Pennsylvania.

Tags: Tapas, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Casual, Spicy, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food are service are terrific. The rest ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food are service are terrific. The restaurant is a great place to go before a show as the location is close to the theaters. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We at here before a show and it was just ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We at here before a show and it was just right. The margaritas and appetizers were excellent. The food was great with nice regional Mexican dishes. The taco appetizers were modest in size, but very good. The sides were very large and enough to share with two or three. The Brussels sprouts were outstanding, and a odd option at a Mexican restaurant. The service was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chose mainly for convenience to theater, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Chose mainly for convenience to theater, but we were absolutely wowed by the food. As a native San Diegan, I am fussy about Mexican food. This was fresh and delicious, and the service could not have been better. Look forward to returning for dinner on our next trip.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was amazing. Having been ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This restaurant was amazing. Having been a food professional for over 30 years, I was blown away by he authenticity of their food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was friendly and very efficient. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Service was friendly and very efficient. Our lunch was fresh and delicious - a perfect portion for a midday meal (not too big). Much nicer inside than it appears from the street. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorite spots in NYC. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots in NYC. Great food, service is excellent and real Mexican food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Mexican food in NYC.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Best Mexican food in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My mom and I went here for a pre-theater ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My mom and I went here for a pre-theater meal and enjoyed ourselves very much. The interior is really cute, well decorated and welcoming. Our servers were extremely attentive, refilling water constantly and clearing plates quickly. We had a great time!

Tags: Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the best meal we had on our tri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This was the best meal we had on our trip. We almost came back a second time, and wish that we had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.