About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Toloache-Midtown
Quesadilla De Huitlacoche Y Trufas
Vegetarian Sopa De Tortilla
Cactus Chips
Margarita
Chicken Enchilada
Desert Sampler
Guacamole and Chips
Flan
Tortilla Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
New York / Tri-State Area
Mexican
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

fit for foodies (191)
neighborhood gem (108)
good for groups (99)
See All
hot spot (98)
great for lunch (87)
special occasion (87)
vibrant bar scene (47)
late-night find (43)
great for brunch (37)
kid-friendly (36)
romantic (30)
great for outdoor dining (4)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went with high expectations, the food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 13 hours ago

Went with high expectations, the food was good, was just expecting more flavor for some reason. Otherwise the presentation was great and service was good. Maybe it was because it was during restaurant week, I don't know, not tempted to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We took our kids here after School of Ro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

We took our kids here after School of Rock. Best dinner as we all were happy. Crispy Brussel Sprouts, Hamachi Crudo and Short Rib Tacos all excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food excellent, service great, our waite ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food excellent, service great, our waiter was very friendly and attentive. The menu is in Spanish so we didn't realize it was ala carte, we wish we had gotten some Spanish rice. However our food had excellent flavor, but very small portions. Being New York I expected to pay, but our entree and a drink each, tax and tip and I was out $90 and we were both still hungry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value1

Food is authentic and tasty. The prices ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is authentic and tasty. The prices however are high when compared to the size of the portions. The guacamole is really fit only for one person as opposed to a sharing item. The entrees are good but the taco dishes only include 2 small tacos. So based in flavor presentation and ambience I would have given this restaurant a rating slightly above 4 but given small portions and high prices I lowered it to a 3.25.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Very enjoyable, the tacos were a little ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very enjoyable, the tacos were a little small but if you had chips and guacamole first it would be perfect. The service was very professional--what you expect in NYC. The ambiance was great--could even have a conversation in spite of the music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I found the restaurant much too loud for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I found the restaurant much too loud for a conversation. You had to speak very loud for the person to be heard across the table. A group of 6 or 8 would have a difficult time conversing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Toloache is one of our go to places befo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Toloache is one of our go to places before a play while in Manhattan. The menu is not extensive but well executed, service is good and all in all a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awful from start to finish. The waiter ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Awful from start to finish. The waiter was pushy. The food was overpriced for tiny portions. And beware of food allergies as they don't specify key ingredients on menu items. One of the worst dining experiences I've had after 3 years of living in New York City. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The place was really good, well kept, cl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The place was really good, well kept, clean, attentive and friendly staff. The food was really good. I tried the ceviche peruano and it was indeed to closest thing to Peruvian ceviche you could have found at a non-peruvian restaurant. I also had the short rib tacos and they were delicious, I just found the portions could have been a little bit more generous. We went there for lunch before an early show and we were glad we came on the early side because it got busy really quick. The pace of the meal was perfect for the occasion. The cocktails were really good too, but, again, they could have been a little bit more generous with their portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pre theater "find" where the food is aut ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Pre theater "find" where the food is authentic and excellent. A bit pricey, but all in all, an excellent dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great affordable spot close to Times Squ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great affordable spot close to Times Square. Not cheap, but not pricey... Reasonable, especially for Times Square. The margaritas are EXCELLENT! This can be a good date spot b/c all the tables are cozy, but it's not quiet. Not crazy noisy, but not "intimate" for conversation. Will go back.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Mexican food. Good value. Great lo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great Mexican food. Good value. Great location in theatre district.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and reasonable service. A bit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food and reasonable service. A bit over priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a treat. I've been going there si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a treat. I've been going there since it opened and am never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our first visit to Tol ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We really enjoyed our first visit to Toloache Midtown. Great service, delicious guacamole and a delightful environment despite the proximity to the hustle and bustle of touristy theatre district and time square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ceriche was outstanding as well as t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The ceriche was outstanding as well as the guacamole and brussel sprouts. The wait staff was professional and courteous.

The restaurant is very small and overcrowed; you can hardly get to your table. Felt we were being rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Incredible food very great staff OK marg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Incredible food very great staff OK margaritas energetic young vibe but much too noisy if you are with someone who you really like to talk to Will definitely try the other location Upper east side to get a quitter atmosphere just because the food isso incredible

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent gem of a restaurant in the har ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent gem of a restaurant in the hard to find good restaurant area around the theatre district. Yes it's technically a Mexican r stair any but the menu had a splendid diversity of finely prepared dishes....this ain't your dads ole chips and salsa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite Mexican it Manhattan! Great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

My favorite Mexican it Manhattan! Great flavor a, creative drinks and fun!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Much too noisy for my taste. Also, I fou ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Much too noisy for my taste. Also, I found that they tried a little to hard to be creative about the food. Would have preferred good, classic dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Creative delicious interpretation of Mex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Creative delicious interpretation of Mexican Cuisine.

Try the ceviches!!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good margaritas. Small space and very lo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Good margaritas. Small space and very loud. Food came quickly

Tacos good

Guacamole portion smaller than I would have expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great spot for a drink or meal in the th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great spot for a drink or meal in the theater district. Fantastic cocktails but very expensive.

The wait staff is obviously very experienced at pacing a meal for Broadway theater goers yet they were outgoing and knowledgeable.

Fish tacos and the bacalao were beyond delicious. Everyone was in the restaurant was having a great time. Vibrant place, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great restaurant and they understand the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

great restaurant and they understand the pre-theatre meal quickness

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dessert menu! A little pricey, b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Amazing dessert menu! A little pricey, but the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great scene. I will recomme ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food, great scene. I will recommend this to my friends and can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quick bite to eat after an afternoon s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A quick bite to eat after an afternoon show. Quick service. Salsa was OK. Chips seemed fresh. Overall, it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our favorite Mexican restaurant in Manha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our favorite Mexican restaurant in Manhattan! Hard ot believe it is so close to the theaters. Authentic Mexican food, and extra special guacamoles and brunch items.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I picked Toloache because ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I picked Toloache because of its proximity to our hotel and the theater district. WOW it was positively delicious! The chipotle salsa alone is worth going for. Stay for the tacos, all of them, and treat yourself to the chocoflan. You won't regret it! We've found our go-to midtown restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every dish was unique, flavorful and del ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Every dish was unique, flavorful and delicious. The best Mexican food we have ever had! The waiters and bus boys provide exceptional service. Don't miss the red sangria or dessert sampler.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

When we arrived our table was ready. Sin ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

When we arrived our table was ready. Since we were 2 adults and 3 kids they sat is in a table for four which we were not comfortable with because it was tight so they accommodated us to a larger table which was very nice. The restaurant is a bit tight so tables are very close to each other so it may not be the place I would choose for a romantic date night and the noise level is moderate, Latin music playing in the background is a nice touch. The server immediately attended us, was very helpful with menu recommendations being it was our first time at the restaurant. My husband and I had margaritas which were delicious, made with natural lime, a splash of oj and as per his request, Patron Anejo...DELICIOUS! We had guacamole and chips to share for appetizer. It was definitely house made with chunks of fresh avocado, diced onion and tomato. The steak tacos were very good, filled with tender well seasoned steak. The chicken enchiladas were also very very good...a bit spicy for those who may be a sensitive to that...but we loved them. I ordered a pork dish..can't remember the name but it had crunchy skin on top and tender pork underneath. Next time we visit New York, we will definitely be returning to Toloache.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Little tight on the tables - not much pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Little tight on the tables - not much privacy but good food and drinks - good business lunch - recommended

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was wonderful. Everything obvio ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was wonderful. Everything obviously was made fresh. But $200 for 2 adults and 2 kids was a bit of a jaw dropper. Two orders of guac for $16 per is insane. I know it's NYC but....

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The food here is very good. I come here ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food here is very good. I come here when I feel like having good Mexican dishes. However, the noise level is very high, so be prepared to scream to your table companion to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First the good... fruit guacamole very c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

First the good... fruit guacamole very creative and good. Shrimp and lonster tacos wow! Corn cobs yummy. Blueberry margarita was good as well.

Enchilada is not enchilada...its a tostada and a small one at that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food and service was great!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food and service was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

In from out of town so we dined out mult ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

In from out of town so we dined out multiple times each day for the 5 days we were there. Good bohemian Mexican food. Brisket tacos were a definite yes. Service was outstanding and staff was all very accommodating and friendly. Smaller portions but enough.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Literally saw our server once, when she ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Literally saw our server once, when she took our order.

Asked for side of rice and beans which finally came after we asked for again. Had to ask for refill on chip basket 3 times before we got it. The boy filling our water glasses was the hit of the night - saw him several times, without asking!

Manager comped us a dessert, which we really didn't want. Would have appreciated something else taken off the bill.

Came highly recommended -not sure why.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, small portions, expensive. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food, small portions, expensive. Margaritas not the best - very expensive for small glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.