About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Toloache-Midtown
Quesadilla De Huitlacoche Y Trufas
Vegetarian Sopa De Tortilla
Cactus Chips
Margarita
Chicken Enchilada
Desert Sampler
Guacamole and Chips
Flan
Tortilla Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
New York / Tri-State Area
Mexican
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

fit for foodies (197)
neighborhood gem (110)
great for lunch (98)
See All
good for groups (96)
hot spot (88)
special occasion (87)
vibrant bar scene (50)
late-night find (45)
great for brunch (44)
kid-friendly (36)
romantic (28)
great for outdoor dining (4)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
3476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Tacos de Lechon were wonderfully fla ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The Tacos de Lechon were wonderfully flavorful as were the Enchiladas Borrachas (possibly the best enchiladas we've had!). Even the complementary salsa roja was delicious--smoky, complex flavor--but not too spicy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Cramped, noisy, frenetic, great for grou ...

Dined 5 days ago

Cramped, noisy, frenetic, great for group meets or for people who want to be in a scene. This was not an environment to relax and enjoy a meal. The food was good and distinctive but not exceptional. The service was attentive but too rushed. The signature guacamole starters are the highlight of the menu.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a father's day brunch before ...

Dined 7 days ago

We went for a father's day brunch before seeing a show. The food was wonderful! We loved the trio of guacamole. The trio of ceviche was fine, but not our favorite. The carne asadacon huevo, suadero tacos and costilla and tuetano tacos, were delicious. We also had a few margaritas, which were a little sweet, but tasty. We were full after brunch, but came back after the show to have dessert. The churros are yummy! The service is outstanding and the location can't be beat. We are looking forward to our next meal there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my 2nd visit to Toloache! Took ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was my 2nd visit to Toloache! Took hubby there for Father's Day. Everyone had tacos, short rib and carnitas, delicious. Everything had a fresh and delightful flavor. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to meet friends for dinner a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to meet friends for dinner after a play on Broadway. Margaritas and tacos were perfect for late night meal. Service was attentive and made sure we knew when kitchen was losing so we could order before it closed.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Toloache is my favorite Mexican restaura ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Toloache is my favorite Mexican restaurant in Mid-town. The Atun (I call it watermelon ceviche is amazing!). I go there every time I am in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great margaritas-but really pricey. Grea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great margaritas-but really pricey. Great avocado fries! Fun place and amazing service!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is always great here. Wonderful ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

The food is always great here. Wonderful Mexican fare. The only reason service did not get 5 stars is that it took an extra 10 minutes for me to get my food after the rest of the table was served.

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I have been here many times and loved it ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

I have been here many times and loved it, but the last couple of times, I've been disappointed. Drinks are weak. Tacos tiny. quesadillas used to be crisp, now soggy. Chips with guacamole were average. My chicken enchilada with radish salad... 2 slivers of radish. Really? Our waiter was nice and told us to enjoy, but didn't return to ask how it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best grasshopper taco I have ever eaten! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Best grasshopper taco I have ever eaten! And the rest of the food was outstanding as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love Toloache - their De la Cal ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

I always love Toloache - their De la Calle Margarita is incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

not great, food was cold and not good. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

not great, food was cold and not good. guac was not spicy even though we ordered spicy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tacos and burrito s! Their specia ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great tacos and burrito s! Their specialty guacamole sauce is da bomb!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and great food

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent service and great food

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Great place to meat friends before a sho ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great place to meat friends before a show... Lively atmosphere... Good food ... Reasonably priced.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4

Always great- amazing vegetarian food.

Dined on June 15, 2016

Always great- amazing vegetarian food.

food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic guacamole, and best enchiladas ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Fantastic guacamole, and best enchiladas I've ever had

food5
ambience5
service5

Started with the trio of guacamole becau ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Started with the trio of guacamole because we couldn't decide. All three were great, frutas was favorite. Then has the atun ceviche which was delicious! For an entree the piella was also excellent. Fantastic meal and drinks. Will definitely go back again

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic and the food w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was fantastic and the food was amazing! Super authentic!

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Server was attentive, drinks were so so, ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Server was attentive, drinks were so so, food was very good, atmosphere comfortable, selection for food was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 2 bottles of some wonderful wine ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had 2 bottles of some wonderful wine (recommended by our server)...also had foie gras crostini (amazing! ), the bread was delish, had the duck for my main entree and it was superb (portions are huge)...I didn't have room for dessert, which is a shame because I love dessert

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at Toloache - Midtown was excel ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at Toloache - Midtown was excellent. Some of the best Mexican I have ever had. Very flavorful food without being too hot on the spices. For the price, I wouldn't say the portions were great, but the quality of the food made up for it. Service was very good. The owner made it around to all the tables to check on how everything was. He helped where he was needed. Nice to see. I would recommend checking this place out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great fresh mex restaurant. Food was ex ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great fresh mex restaurant. Food was excellent - and creative. Try the Guacamole - it is great. As is the ceviche! The location is beautiful - we dined upstairs and it is really nice. Great spot in midtown.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place in the heart of Times Square ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place in the heart of Times Square. Easily assessable from the 50th Street Subway. Food, and service was great. Portion sizes, price was just right, also perfect table for the 5 of us. Overall an excellent dining experience there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly and Fab food

Dined on June 10, 2016

Over from Australia with out two children (aged 5 and 8) we were all made to feel extremely welcome. They were very accomodating. Food was delicious and staff were terrific. After almost four weeks of travelling throughout the States and eating at restaurants every night, this was definitely our favourite dining experience in New York, if not the States.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighbourhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

The enchiladas were to die for! Great pl ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The enchiladas were to die for! Great place to enjoy a quick meal before a show.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A favorite whose quality never disappoints

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

My sister was in town so we decided she needed to have the treat of dinner at Toloache. The food was superb as always. I appreciate the consistency of the quality of the food there. We had the trio of guacamole, hamachi ceviche, queso fundido and a selection of tacos. Churros and the decadent chocoflan to finish off a perfect meal. Service was attentive but not hurrying. Will come back again (and again).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find - high energy

Dined on June 8, 2016

Please is buzzing with people with lot's of energy. Unique presentation of food - definitely culinary style. Food portions are perfect for "fit" conscious life style. Waiter was very pleasant. Owner stop by for a welcome shake.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect before taking in Broadway Show...

Dined on June 7, 2016

This was a great Mexican place...parents and 2 teens all found something interesting and tasty on the menu. Foodie friendly....nice cocktail list....very friendly staff. They were great about making sure we were not late to our broadway musical.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Surprisingly good

Dined on June 5, 2016

I was worried because of locale -- that it might be very touristy & hence not very good food. :( The menu was surprisingly good. The food was delicious. The service was fine. It was a little loud -- but all in all, I'd return. A pleasant surprise! ps. the guac was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Pleasant, unexceptional

Dined on June 5, 2016

Here for a Sunday lunch before matinee. Cheerful greeting at the door, courteous service throughout. Though pushing drinks menu @ noon was a little aggressive, and $15 doesn't buy much of a drink. Ordered guacamole, delicious but disappointing to see that a $7 charge had been added to the bill for a teacup sized portion of cucumber and jicama sticks! If guests can't eat totopos, why charge extra for a few veg sticks? Jicama salad was tasty, slightly heavy handed on the dressing, the motulenos was very well prepared. All in all a pleasant enough meal, but not really a value @ $100 for two with one drink and no dessert.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was pretty good overall. Tacos were ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was pretty good overall. Tacos were very good as was guacamole. Cocktails were awful- totally oversweetened margaritas and mojitos. Service was OK. I prefer to eat after a show (not before) and this place does serve late, which is helpful.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great hidden gem!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were looking for a place that served some variety of Mexican food near the Barrymore theater for an after-show meal. We found this restaurant on a web search, and it seemed to be very well-rated. We originally made our reservation for 8pm, not remembering our show was at 2pm. It was 4:30, and we were already hungry. The hostesses were very gracious, and though we couldn't get the table we reserved (they were already getting busy), we sat at the bar. As with any bar seat, the service wasn't as focused on us, but it was understandable. That being said, the Sangria they serve is amazing, and the guacamole, tacos and short ribs we had were FABULOUS. The manager stopped by to make sure we enjoyed our meal, and we certainly did! I would love to go back, though I would plan our reservation a bit more accurately, so we would have a table

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum!

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my second time to Tolache. It was for a siblings get-a-way in the Big Apple. We arrived on time for our reservation, and the place was hopping. We headed to the bar to wait for our table to be ready. The bartender was so friendly and accommodating. We asked him to mix some cocktails with our own ingredients (along with tequila of course), and he was great. The cocktails were all fresh with muddled ingredients. We had a cozy table near the front, and the food was excellent. I could have been satisfied with the guacamole trio! I could eat that every day. Thank you, Tolache for a great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brilliant

Dined on June 3, 2016

Delicious Mexican food - everything we had was yummy especially the shrimp tacos, truffle quesadilla and guacamole.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great brunch! Location was perfect, foo ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great brunch! Location was perfect, food was excellent, fresh madd guacamole is a must. Our group of 8 had a wonderful meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Toloache

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had read assorted articles about restaurants around the theater district, and Toloache kept coming up as a recommendation, so we gave it a try and were very pleased with our dining experience! We have only been to their midtown location, but we'd definitely be game to try their other locations on our next visit(s). I was intrigued by their Chapulines (grasshopper) tacos and am so glad I ordered them as they are truly delicious - great flavor! We enjoyed our experience there from start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Came here for lunch before seeing a Broa ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Came here for lunch before seeing a Broadway matinee on my birthday. I came here on a recommendation from a friend and be aide it was a block from the theater. Overall, the food was pretty good. I got the fish tacos, guacamole, and the La Flaca margarita. The venue is a little crammed and the food a little overpriced, but it's Manhattan, so to be expected. I would return for the convenience factor of going to a show because the food was good, but there wasn't anything too special about the visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

A great place to go for exceptional food ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

A great place to go for exceptional food and service before a Broadway show.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Creative, enthusiastic Mexican

Dined on May 26, 2016

The enthusiasm and desire to please are impressive. Food is very good, outstanding in the case of the varied ceviches. Service is excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.