About Toloache-Midtown

251 West 50th Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Welcome to Toloache (pronounced toh-lo-AH-tchay), chef-owner Julian Medina’s contemporary Mexican bistro located in the heart of the Theater District. Toloache is named after a flowering plant famed in Mexico for its use in love potions. We hope that when you dine with us you too will fall under the spell of chef Medina’s creative cooking, which incorporates seasonal and natural ingredients and more than a dozen types of chilies. Our festive, two-story space features a guacamole and ceviche bar, a wood-burning oven, and an exceptional tequila list, along with elegant decorative elements imported from Mexico. We looking forward to seeing you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Brunch 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Sunday + Monday: 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm,
Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - Midnight. (Bar open to 12:30am)

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and 8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 581-1818

Website:
http://www.toloachenyc.com/

Parking Details:
There is a Quik Park public lot at 1633 Broadway, next door to the restaurant. To contact the lot with questions, please call 212-445-0011.

Public Transit:
Take the C or E Trains to 50th St.; the 1 Train to 50th St.; and the N, R, or W Trains to 49th St.

Executive Chef:
Julian Medina

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Margarita - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Chicken Enchilada - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Quesadilla De Huitlacoche Y Trufas - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Vegetarian Sopa De Tortilla - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Cactus Chips - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Desert Sampler - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Guacamole and Chips - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Flan - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY
Tortilla Soup - Toloache-Midtown, New York, NY

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toloache-Midtown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mexican
New York / Tri-State Area
Mexican
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Theater District / Times Square ›

Pre/post Theatre (95)
Authentic (77)
Fit for Foodies (69)
See All
Casual (52)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Fun (51)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (39)
Spicy (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Tapas (28)
Good for Groups (28)
Hot Spot (22)
Comfort Food (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Late-night Find (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Cozy (14)
People Watching (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Romantic (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Family Style (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vibrant. Intoxicating margaritas. Profes ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Vibrant. Intoxicating margaritas. Professional service. Tasty dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food but the tacos are too exp ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food but the tacos are too expensive..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We went for a Saturday brunch after a R ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for a Saturday brunch after a Radio City Music Hall show. There were 10 of us including 4 small children, 7 of whom were vegetarians. Everyone of us had a great meal & even the sometimes picky children really enjoyed their food. It definitely was a fun place to go & all the food was delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding, as was the service ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding, as was the service. It's a little tight inside though, but we found this to be true in most New York establishments. I didn't like sitting right by the door, but that's all they had available for us. Regardless it was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Returned to Toloache for lunch after hav ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Returned to Toloache for lunch after having dinner here awhile ago. It did not disappoint. We were seated on arrival, and the service was attentive and professional throughout the meal. We started with a classic Margarita, glass of Rioja and the tres guacamoles appetizer. Yes, this app is a bit pricey at $27 (we shared it), but well worth the choice. Entrees were carnitas and shrimp tacos - both were fresh, seasoned just right, and served with the usual black beans and Spanish rice. We finished the meal with a cappuccino and a cafe olla. The restaurant was at capacity, so the noise level was high, but abated as the afternoon advanced. This is a fun place with high energy, great food, and a well trained and attentive wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, great staff and the mana ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, great staff and the manager Armondo was the best! An outstanding experience from start to finish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The margharitas were amazing and the foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The margharitas were amazing and the food was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This was a fantastic find very close to ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a fantastic find very close to Times Square. Loved out meal and the guacamole was out of this world.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was good but the noise level was ex ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good but the noise level was excessive. I could feel vibrations inside my ear due to the acoustics of the place. It isn't that there was any music playing, just the aggregate noise from the number of people in a small space all yelling to be heard over one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

great Mexican food, wonderful service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

great Mexican food, wonderful service Just watch the add ons, they increase the lrice.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love this place! I always go at least ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I love this place! I always go at least once every time I am in NYC. The manager and wait staff go out of their way to make sure that you are well taken care of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. Chapulines ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent service and food. Chapulines were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not great.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent food! Ate lunch here a couple ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food! Ate lunch here a couple of years ago before a show and loved it but forgot the name of the restaurant....returned to NYC for holiday fun and another show and the concierge at my hotel recommended Toloache....when I walked in I was pleased to be back. It was even better than I remembered.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was just OK. The food was not inspire ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was just OK. The food was not inspired (even had a "signature dish") but not bad - very average. I wouldn't suggest going out of your way, but if you're in the area and hungry, it'll do the trick

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Prompt seating with an open table reserv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Prompt seating with an open table reservation. Fun relaxed atmosphere with great service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As always it was delicious. This is the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

As always it was delicious. This is the best Mexican. I haven't eaten anything here that I didn't love.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, however the seat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was delicious, however the seating was cramped and this restaurant was perhaps THE LOUDEST I have ever experienced. It was impossible to carry on a conversation. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

My husband and I always eat here when in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My husband and I always eat here when in NYC. First time for lunch. Waiter was helpful in guiding us to a delicious meal. The salmon entree was his recommendation, and it was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved the proximity to the theater we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We loved the proximity to the theater we were going to and also the excellent food! We wanted something different from the normal Italian food we usually get. I would HIGHLY recommend the lobster tacos. They were very spicy but delish! Also get the sangria! AMAZING!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good guac. Mango margarita quite go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Very good guac. Mango margarita quite good and came with a slice of real mango on the side, a nice touch. Good quesadillas to share--huitlacoche and chicken. Only problem was that we felt rushed after telling them we were going to the theatre, but the theatre was literally next door, so we told them we had plenty of time. Reservations a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Attended with friends for dinner, friend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Attended with friends for dinner, friendly helpful staff and enjoyed the various dishes and drinks. Good location, near the Broadway show we attended. Prompt service ensured we had adequate time to get to the show. Bit noisy but manageable. All around good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

favorite place when in manhattan great f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

favorite place when in manhattan

great food and great service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Mexican in midtown. Highly recom ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Awesome Mexican in midtown. Highly recommend especially pretheater

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Toloache after a show on Sund ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went to Toloache after a show on Sunday. We were celebrating my birthday. I was not disappointed! We arrived a few minutes before our reservations and were seated right away. The food was delicious, the drinks were wonderful, and the service was great. Thank you to the manager for taking care of us! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great night we had. The service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a great night we had. The service was excellent. The food was delicious! We would definitely go back. The guacamole was the best I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food & drinks! Top notch serv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious food & drinks! Top notch service! Loved it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my mother here for her 75th birth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I took my mother here for her 75th birthday. We had the scallop appetizer and the ceviche appetizer both mouth wateringly delicious. For dinner we shared the skirt steak. The steak was very flavorful but a little bit grisly. For dessert my mom had the Mexican coffee which was out of this world delicious and I had the Mexican hot chocolate which was yummy. Our experience was very positive and we would definitely go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

GREAT! My first time at this restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

GREAT! My first time at this restaurant and I loved it. I went with some friends from work and had a great time. The food and the service was awesome. Definitely will go back again for those tacos.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Its a fun place and our good was really ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Its a fun place and our good was really good. We shared some spicy quacamole, had delicious margaritas, I had lobster tacos and my husband had enchiladas. All were great! He likes spicy food and thought things could have been a bit spicier but otherwise we both loved it. Fun vibe to the restaurant and our server was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

very accommodating staff. Had an enjoyab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

very accommodating staff. Had an enjoyable meal and didn't feel rushed. Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here on my birthday with my boyfrie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Went here on my birthday with my boyfriend and had THE best time from amazing service from Daniella, the best waitress, friendly manager, and awesome food. Book your reservation way in advance for this one! Unfortunately, be very mindful of the tall woman at the front when you first enter. Who takes your reservation. I think her name is Selina. She's very nasty and made us so uncomfortable the first time and gave me a dirty look when We were leaving and after we had such a wonderful time. Shame. So, given that, we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

guacamole good - chicken enchiladas - bo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

guacamole good - chicken enchiladas - boiled tasteless chicken. chicken toloache better - not great bargain but for before theater - it's ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We had lunch at Toloache. We were not i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had lunch at Toloache. We were not in a hurry and the staff was accommodated our desire to have a relaxing lunch. There was no pressure to rush us out of the restaurant. Our lunch was approximately 2 hours and it was a wonderful experience. Delicious food and drinks!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great margaritas and guacamole. Fun twis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great margaritas and guacamole. Fun twists on Mexican dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good, food excellent and the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was good, food excellent and the drinks fantastic

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food and drinks. The house ma ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good food and drinks. The house margarita will not disappoint. Make a reservation if you are going for dinner, the place gets very busy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We weresitted 40 minutes after our reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We weresitted 40 minutes after our reservation time. No apologies. Very very high prices for very small portions. Total rip off but the cocktails are nice and also the quesadillas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I loved this restaurant. I was very exci ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I loved this restaurant. I was very excited to find something on that area that was reasonbly priced and delicious. Will definitely be visiting again!!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.