Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

3.6
176 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Hibachi
Perfect For:
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Fun
  • Good for Groups
We serve deliciously fresh Japanese cuisine and drinks. Our team provides quality service, and we look forward to welcoming you. We hope to greet you and friends or family, at Tokyo Japanese Steak House Restaurant located in Newton, Massachusetts.

Please let us know if you would like an Hibachi or Shabu dinner.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Hibachi, Shabu-shabu, Sushi
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm. 15% discount for college students, Free hibachi birthday dinner, minimum party of 2 and up, ID required, discounts can not be combined with any other offer.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 243-9090
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Located at Mall at Chestnut Hill
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Free Birthday Dinner on Teppanyaki Table with Two or More Parties. ID Required.
College Students 15% OFF. ID required.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout
What 176 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.6based on recent ratings
3.6
food
2.9
service
3.3
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Moderate
60% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

I have been to this restaurant many times so i am going to chalk our dinner up to just a bad night. Place was crowded and they moved us along quickly. Chef was not on his game, new or rushed. Not many tricks to entertain us and messed up the ones he did. In his haste, he was off - because when he was cooking, fried rice went everywhere including top of our table - and tasted a bit burnt. Based on my history with this restaurant, I will try again. However; our night was off.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 29, 2018

The food was good but since we were there between lunch and dinner the wait staff and team showed their annoyance that we were there. Each request was met with an eye roll and an obvious annoyed attitude. Really disappointing since we went there to kickoff our long weekend.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Location was closed when we arrived for our reservation.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The chef was fine. The host and waitresses were terrible. Not friendly or inviting. I would not return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The service is very bad. They should learn to understand their clients!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 2, 2018

It was the worst service I have ever had. We had to ask several times to place our order. They were out of the first 2 drinks I asked for. I was embarrassed that I was the one who chose the restaurant for my friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

To start if we got there 10 minutes before our reservation and ended up waiting and extra 25 min to get seated.. food was ok not bad but I had way better hibachi before.. for a chestnut hill restaurant price wasn’t that bad but the chef could be a little more enthusiastic for his job lol

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The wait staff needs to be more attentive to the customers and notice when they have not taken an order. We waited over 15 minutes before the wait person came to take our order

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Terrible service- 5 min wait for waitress to greet us/get our drink order among other things. Bad service included our waitress essentially flinging our check at us. Food was just okay.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Never Again.
They NEVER honored the reservation. We never got our table, and that was after a 1 hour wait.

And it wasn't just me, there were several large parties that also had reservations and they had to make other arrangements.

It's pretty crappy for a restaurant to take reservations and NOT honor them.
We were supposed to be celebrating a birthday party, and they ruined our whole evening.
Never again

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2018

made a reservation and they didn't honor it. We waited over an hour to be seated. We complained, along with the other 4 late reservations, but the manager refused to come out to talk to us from the back. Once we were finally seated, no orders were taken for drinks or food for over 30 min. We finally ordered, food was okay but not worth the wait and we didn't get our waters until after we finished eating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Delicious and we had a great chef. Went for my daughter’s birthday, but they didn’t do anything special. Would go back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We have been here a lot. Our kids love it and we have taken their friends. But we had not been in a while and on our last visit it had gone downhill. The Hibach chef rushed through his act and didn't do the favorite parts...the Choo choose train onion and the boy container spraying it. 😟 And the food wasn't as good as it had been. A little oily. I ordered shrimp as my main dish. They use to give you different bigger shrimp for the entree than for the appetizer. They only gave me extra appetizer shrimp.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We waited 20 minutes over our reservation time. We than waited over an hour for our chef to come and make our food. Our server never came to check on us for more drinks or how the food was. The food was good and very light. We didn't leave feeling greasy or heavy.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Do not eat here the food is terrible. They have the worst calamari. This is my first time writing a review on any restaurant but they left me no choice the food was that bad. Not worth half the money I spent. I repeat do no eat here you will regret it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 20, 2017

The food was dry and nothing to write home about. We ordered an appetizer that we never received.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

My kids loved watching the food be prepared and everything was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Hi, now 3rd time here - gets better each time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The service was good, and the Shabu was excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

Food was good,show was good,just didn’t appreciate the $13 margarita since the other drinks were $7-8,my only complaint

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Our "reservation" was not really a reservation. Upon showing up on time for a 6:15 reservation they were extremely delayed and did not call us or try to make any accommodation for being so behind. After 35 min of waiting without further apology or update we left. We will never go back. You shouldn't be able to make a reservation for a specific time on Open Table if the restaurant is not going to honor it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 22, 2017

We have been here over 10 times and tonight the service (not the cook) was horrible and the quality of the food has slipped! The lobster tails were not Maine lobsters and the steak had no taste. There seemed to be tension among the staff. MAy be awhile before we return,if we do.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

Fun for the kids -- they actually ate something! Cocktails are so-so, and need some help.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Worst restaurant experience of our lives! If we could give zero stars we would. The food was the worst we've had at any Hibachi restaurant, the chef overcooked the steak, & chicken was overcooked, dry & tough, & the hibachi show the chef put on was the LEAST impressive I've EVER seen at any Japanese Steakhouse (he hardly did any tricks compared to other Hibachi places). There's a reason why this restaurant is empty. In addition, prices on their menu were higher than what they posted on their website. They also did not honor the free bday entree promotion that is advertised on their website & which I confirmed before booking the reservation. They created a huge scene on my husband's bday in front of our children & we had to get the Police involved, who settled the matter in our favor when they heard the whole story & saw their deceptive business practices. Worst customer service & rudest staff, who tried to bully us into paying the incorrect amount they charged us on our bill. We obviously could afford the $40 they had overcharged us on our bill (we live in Chestnut Hill which is like the Bev Hills of MA), but it was the principle & our consumer rights laws in MA. They had no manager working (hostess claimed he was on vaca for 2 weeks) & they couldn't get ahold of the owner for 2 days while we were dealing with this matter with the police, so had to waste our time dealing with the rude ignorant hostess instead who could barely speak English. The police ended up settling the matter in our favor after hearing the whole debacle. The restaurant knew ahead of time that it was my husband's bday & did not acknowlwdge it or do anything special, not even a candle in the dessert, all they did was ruin it by trying to humiliate us over their mistake & made it the worst bday din of his life. Most restaurants would compensate & have compassion for ruining someone's bday, but this restaurant could care less about their customers.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 3, 2017

This restaurant is terrible. Waited two hours before they started cooking. We asked for steak well done, and they made it rare. Then, the cook put steak on someone’s plate who asked for shrimp. When he was told the order was wrong he dumped the steak from the persons plate back in the grill! Then they charged us full price after we complained. Avoid at all cost!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

First time - GREAT!! Perfect, went the next week too!!
Just a happy and fun place!!
Food fresh and wonderful!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 18, 2017

Went before dinner crowd. As always...seated right away, and waited on right away. Chef out shortly thereafter. Good show, as usual. Never saw server after that. Waited and waited. The one thing that is continuously irritating about this place. Recognize when people are done eating, and get them out. Shouldn’t be that difficult. Shouldn’t have to wait 15-20 minutes after I’m done eating for check to come.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Terrible service. Didn’t honor our reservation. Took forever to get a server once we sat down. Never clears our dishes when we were finished and I had to chase someone across the restaurant to get a check.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Fun place to dine with friends and kids. Service is often very slow.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 13, 2017

the shabu shabu is not japanese style but chinese style. better off going to a chinese restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Kids like it but service is terrible

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 17, 2017

Always enjoyable-- decent food and decent value especially with a Groupon--

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was not very well seasoned or tasty. The fried rice is a total ripoff and we never got the shrimp appetizer

We won't be back. We had a Groupon and even with that it's not worth the extra we had to pay

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 7, 2017

So the kids loved it - and it was my birthday so I ate for free. However, the host was really not very friendly and the space is looking a little sad and worn for something that is not that old. The seat next to me was dirty. Our chef was great with the kids and they had a good time. Food was what you would expect, but the soup was like dishwater.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 3, 2017

Our chef was "ok." We found ourselves happier watching the chefs at the other tables so it's hit or miss I guess. Food was "ok." Service was very good. It was "fine" - wouldn't run back. Was fine for what it was.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Very frustrated. I tried to use Groupon voucher and told it to the waiter in advance of our order. He accepted it, and we ordered Lunch Special. After the lunch, he told me "This coupon is not applicable for Lunch Special." He should not do this.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant is inside the mall. Not much to be desired by ambience. Food and drinks was okay. If you're shopping and tired looking for a hot meal this place will do or if you have young children. Service was mediocre at best.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2017

I like this style of food but the meat was not good quality at all. This is not an inexpensive restaurant so they should be buying decent quality meat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2017

Located inside the Shops at Chestnut Hill parking was easily available. Upon entering we were given the option of where to sit which specified the type of dining we would be getting for the night, either hibachi or sit in dining. The hibachi dining area was very energetic with a variety of customers being energized by the chef's presentation. However this time we chose to sit in the dining area where we settled into a booth.

The menu for the dining portion of customers offered a variety of options such as shabu, sushi, and stake. The price for the options were very affordable and we managed to keep it under 100 total for a party of 4. The waitress was kind in that she didn't mind coming back several times when we took a long time to order. Many of the serving staff seemed to speak English as a second language with Chinese or Cantonese being their first. I would recommend this restaurant for a casual dining option with friends and family, or some where to go for a date.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2017

The usual Japanese steakhouse. Food was fresh and prepared well. What set this place apart from others were the lovely sauces--something sweet but not overly so and a nice robust hot mustard.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5