About Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

We serve deliciously fresh Japanese cuisine and drinks. Our team provides quality service, and we look forward to welcoming you. We hope to greet you and friends or family, at Tokyo Japanese Steak House Restaurant located in Newton, Massachusetts.

Please let us know if you would like an Hibachi or Shabu dinner.

199 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hibachi, Shabu-shabu, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm. 15% discount for college students, Free hibachi birthday dinner, minimum party of 2 and up, ID required, discounts can not be combined with any other offer.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 243-9090

Website:
http://www.tokyonewton.com/

Parking Details:
Located at Mall at Chestnut Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Free Birthday Dinner on Teppanyaki Table with Two or More Parties. ID Required.
College Students 15% OFF. ID required.

Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.2

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

Noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for Birthdays (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort by
S
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been here a lot. Our kids love it and we have taken their friends. But we had not been in a while and on our last visit it had gone downhill. The Hibach chef rushed through his act and didn't do the favorite parts...the Choo choose train onion and the boy container spraying it. 😟 And the food wasn't as good as it had been. A little oily. I ordered shrimp as my main dish. They use to give you different bigger shrimp for the entree than for the appetizer. They only gave me extra appetizer shrimp.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We waited 20 minutes over our reservation time. We than waited over an hour for our chef to come and make our food. Our server never came to check on us for more drinks or how the food was. The food was good and very light. We didn't leave feeling greasy or heavy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Do not eat here the food is terrible. They have the worst calamari. This is my first time writing a review on any restaurant but they left me no choice the food was that bad. Not worth half the money I spent. I repeat do no eat here you will regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2017

The food was dry and nothing to write home about. We ordered an appetizer that we never received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2017

My kids loved watching the food be prepared and everything was delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Hi, now 3rd time here - gets better each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2017

The service was good, and the Shabu was excellent!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Food was good,show was good,just didn’t appreciate the $13 margarita since the other drinks were $7-8,my only complaint

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Our "reservation" was not really a reservation. Upon showing up on time for a 6:15 reservation they were extremely delayed and did not call us or try to make any accommodation for being so behind. After 35 min of waiting without further apology or update we left. We will never go back. You shouldn't be able to make a reservation for a specific time on Open Table if the restaurant is not going to honor it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2017

We have been here over 10 times and tonight the service (not the cook) was horrible and the quality of the food has slipped! The lobster tails were not Maine lobsters and the steak had no taste. There seemed to be tension among the staff. MAy be awhile before we return,if we do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Fun for the kids -- they actually ate something! Cocktails are so-so, and need some help.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

Worst restaurant experience of our lives! If we could give zero stars we would. The food was the worst we've had at any Hibachi restaurant, the chef overcooked the steak, & chicken was overcooked, dry & tough, & the hibachi show the chef put on was the LEAST impressive I've EVER seen at any Japanese Steakhouse (he hardly did any tricks compared to other Hibachi places). There's a reason why this restaurant is empty. In addition, prices on their menu were higher than what they posted on their website. They also did not honor the free bday entree promotion that is advertised on their website & which I confirmed before booking the reservation. They created a huge scene on my husband's bday in front of our children & we had to get the Police involved, who settled the matter in our favor when they heard the whole story & saw their deceptive business practices. Worst customer service & rudest staff, who tried to bully us into paying the incorrect amount they charged us on our bill. We obviously could afford the $40 they had overcharged us on our bill (we live in Chestnut Hill which is like the Bev Hills of MA), but it was the principle & our consumer rights laws in MA. They had no manager working (hostess claimed he was on vaca for 2 weeks) & they couldn't get ahold of the owner for 2 days while we were dealing with this matter with the police, so had to waste our time dealing with the rude ignorant hostess instead who could barely speak English. The police ended up settling the matter in our favor after hearing the whole debacle. The restaurant knew ahead of time that it was my husband's bday & did not acknowlwdge it or do anything special, not even a candle in the dessert, all they did was ruin it by trying to humiliate us over their mistake & made it the worst bday din of his life. Most restaurants would compensate & have compassion for ruining someone's bday, but this restaurant could care less about their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

This restaurant is terrible. Waited two hours before they started cooking. We asked for steak well done, and they made it rare. Then, the cook put steak on someone’s plate who asked for shrimp. When he was told the order was wrong he dumped the steak from the persons plate back in the grill! Then they charged us full price after we complained. Avoid at all cost!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2017

First time - GREAT!! Perfect, went the next week too!!
Just a happy and fun place!!
Food fresh and wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Went before dinner crowd. As always...seated right away, and waited on right away. Chef out shortly thereafter. Good show, as usual. Never saw server after that. Waited and waited. The one thing that is continuously irritating about this place. Recognize when people are done eating, and get them out. Shouldn’t be that difficult. Shouldn’t have to wait 15-20 minutes after I’m done eating for check to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Terrible service. Didn’t honor our reservation. Took forever to get a server once we sat down. Never clears our dishes when we were finished and I had to chase someone across the restaurant to get a check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fun place to dine with friends and kids. Service is often very slow.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

the shabu shabu is not japanese style but chinese style. better off going to a chinese restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Kids like it but service is terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always enjoyable-- decent food and decent value especially with a Groupon--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was not very well seasoned or tasty. The fried rice is a total ripoff and we never got the shrimp appetizer

We won't be back. We had a Groupon and even with that it's not worth the extra we had to pay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

So the kids loved it - and it was my birthday so I ate for free. However, the host was really not very friendly and the space is looking a little sad and worn for something that is not that old. The seat next to me was dirty. Our chef was great with the kids and they had a good time. Food was what you would expect, but the soup was like dishwater.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our chef was "ok." We found ourselves happier watching the chefs at the other tables so it's hit or miss I guess. Food was "ok." Service was very good. It was "fine" - wouldn't run back. Was fine for what it was.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very frustrated. I tried to use Groupon voucher and told it to the waiter in advance of our order. He accepted it, and we ordered Lunch Special. After the lunch, he told me "This coupon is not applicable for Lunch Special." He should not do this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This restaurant is inside the mall. Not much to be desired by ambience. Food and drinks was okay. If you're shopping and tired looking for a hot meal this place will do or if you have young children. Service was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I like this style of food but the meat was not good quality at all. This is not an inexpensive restaurant so they should be buying decent quality meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Located inside the Shops at Chestnut Hill parking was easily available. Upon entering we were given the option of where to sit which specified the type of dining we would be getting for the night, either hibachi or sit in dining. The hibachi dining area was very energetic with a variety of customers being energized by the chef's presentation. However this time we chose to sit in the dining area where we settled into a booth.

The menu for the dining portion of customers offered a variety of options such as shabu, sushi, and stake. The price for the options were very affordable and we managed to keep it under 100 total for a party of 4. The waitress was kind in that she didn't mind coming back several times when we took a long time to order. Many of the serving staff seemed to speak English as a second language with Chinese or Cantonese being their first. I would recommend this restaurant for a casual dining option with friends and family, or some where to go for a date.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The usual Japanese steakhouse. Food was fresh and prepared well. What set this place apart from others were the lovely sauces--something sweet but not overly so and a nice robust hot mustard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Classic Japanese Teppanyaki and sushi and other Asian cuisine. Hot Pot tables with built in elements. Teppanyaki & Sushi were both very good. A little loud when busy, though.

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Vegan, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family and I went here for Mother's Day. The food and drinks are good, the chef puts on a great show, the price is right.

However, the maitre d' seemed like he didn't know what he was doing, and when I paid the bill, we were asked to leave because they needed the table for the next party. Apparently we were being a little too slow in leaving because I am handicapped and need a little extra time to stand up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was tasty. Chef was entertaining! Service was horrendous! Unfriendly waitress took our cocktail order, returned with the cocktails and a glass of water for two out of the three of us. She delivered the salad and broth and we never saw her again. Ever! No one from staff took her place. Halfway through the meal we needed beverages. We wanted to order cocktails, but water would have sufficed. We asked another waitress to either get us drinks or please get our waitress. Neither happened! After finishing our meals we sat for 30 minutes (very, very thirsty!) waiting for anyone to attend to our table. No one came. I approached two bored teenagers on their cell phones at reception desk and was promised our waitress would be right over. Nope! After another twenty minutes I again went to reception. Finally someone, not original waitress, came and collect our money, probably because they were afraid all three groups would walk out without paying. Too bad the service is so pathetic. I was thinking about holding my son's graduation party here. But the service was so dreadful that I would be embarrassed to host a party here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Ridiculously disinterested service--- We sat down at 5:15. Maybe. 3 other customers. In a large room the waitress never came back
We had to go up to the main desk after 20 min where she was talking with the manager
Our food came quickly and was ok
Hot and well priced but service

Rocky at best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fun experience with the live cooking very friendly cooks espially with kids

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fun with kids not a fine dining spot

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have been here many times - but this was our last time.
1. They pack people in like sardines, to the point that 2 or 3 people at each hibachi table are sitting behind the guy cooking the food and making the show.
2. Either the guy who sat us, or the manager who came over lied to us about our seating situation.
3. The guy cooking was beyond terrible and lazy. dropping his fork & spatula many times, making the volcano out of onions but rather than filling it to light and making it look like a volcano, just threw the liquid all over it and lit the whole darn thing on fire, and put it out as fast as he could.
4. The food had no seasoning.
5. He skipped the whole 'catch a piece of zucchini' that the kids all love.
6. He was lazy and rushed beyond belief, he just couldn't wait to get out of there. And well, neither could we. Thanks but no thanks - never going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a reservation for 9pm and we're seated by 9:10, however, didn't receive our first drinks till 9:45pm. The service is extremely slow and waitress wasn't that pleasant, seemed annoyed with us the entire night. There was a big college crowd when we came, and they were very loud and inappropriate for a restaurant setting, just happy I didn't have my daughter with me. When he did finally make it to our table, the chef was great. The food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a nice meal food is fresh and flavorful. Was very disappointed to see two young girls, teens, that were at our table and were asking us what grat meant because the restaurant added it to their bill. Found this to be extremely offensive and discriminatory on the restaurants part because our bill did not have gratuity added. Clearly the restaurant singled out these two girls assuming they wouldn't leave a tip and assuming we would. It just makes me wonder who else they would do this too. Not a nice practice Tokyo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Tokyo is always a good family place, especially when we have a big crowd. They do a great job seating everyone promptly, getting our order, and having the chef arrive to prepare pretty quickly. Always entertaining and fun. You would have a hard time not laughing as the chef tosses food at everyone at the table to catch with their mouth. We've been to Tokyo many times and this particular time a few of us ordered filet mignon and others steak - both were the same and we asked the chef who said it was right. For me going forward I will order chicken and shrimp to avoid the bait and switch on the red meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Grand kids like hibachi grill performance. Grandparents, not so much.

2nd time in 12 months (see prior review). Saturday night was crowded & understaffed. Had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated (with a reservation).

Had "rookie" chef (Different colored toque) who did not "perform" as well as the others...dropped an egg on floor...no "onion volcano" ...did not play with the kids and was fairly sloppy with his prep of the food.

Chicken, steak, shrimp hibachi were good. Spicy Tuna Sushi fresh but no spicy kick.

Service was minimal. No one stopped by to refresh ice water, ask if we wanted another drink, ask if everything was OK or thank us for dining there.

Bar side of restaurant which serves Shabu-Shabu appeared less crowded and more relaxing.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.