About Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

199 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

We serve deliciously fresh Japanese cuisine and drinks. Our team provides quality service, and we look forward to welcoming you. We hope to greet you and friends or family, at Tokyo Japanese Steak House Restaurant located in Newton, Massachusetts.

Please let us know if you would like an Hibachi or Shabu dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hibachi, Shabu-shabu, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm. 15% discount for college students, Free hibachi birthday dinner, minimum party of 2 and up, ID required, discounts can not be combined with any other offer.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 243-9090

Website:
http://www.tokyonewton.com/

Parking Details:
Located at Mall at Chestnut Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Free Birthday Dinner on Teppanyaki Table with Two or More Parties. ID Required.
College Students 15% OFF. ID required.

Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.5

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (10)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Typical hibachi-style Japanese fare. Se ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Typical hibachi-style Japanese fare. Seated promptly. These style restaurants always appear to be one or two people short in terms of server help. Same story...take drink order, brings drinks, take food order, bring soup and follow up immediately with salad. Chef comes and server disappears for too long. Drinks never get refilled when they should be.

Chef was typical, other then almost throwing food onto plates that he had a difficult time teaching. Little unprofessional for me.

Most irritating part was the teen girls' celebration near us. Screamed for what seemed like hours. Parents, though I'm sure were preoccupied with making sure the girls enjoyed themselves, were either too ignorant or simply didn't care that others were in the restaurant. Restaurant staff did nothing about it. Guess whatever it takes to pay the bills.

Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Service was poor. Very slow and waitper ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was poor. Very slow and waitperson didn't seem to understand English well enough to understand the word allergy. One diner said he was allergic to mango, and he was brought a mango cocktail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great with kids! Sit at the hibachi tabl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great with kids! Sit at the hibachi table! It's like dinner theater and the chefs are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It costs nothing to be kind. Our server ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It costs nothing to be kind. Our server was simply rude.

Her finger tips were in the Miso soup.

She spilled Miso soup.

She did not apologize or make any attempt to clean up the mess she made.

She got upset when we took a napkin from the table next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

This was perfect for a night out with my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was perfect for a night out with my adult children.. very entertaining with good food!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for sushi, but there is a soup t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We went for sushi, but there is a soup that everyone really goes there for. I cannot pronounce, let alone spell the soup, but we'll have to get it next time. The sushi was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Don't go if they are busy. They were a d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Don't go if they are busy. They were a disorganized mess. Only sat us 20 mins after our reservation time. Then sat for a while before drink order taken. Then sat for a long while before chef arrived. Food was fine - not bad not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

My review goes only for their hibachi me ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My review goes only for their hibachi menu. We have yet to try their sushi menu and the bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service is fast when you arrive, onc ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service is fast when you arrive, once your order is taken you are never asked If you need another drink or water. The waitress only comes back with your check. The waitress we had last night was Pleasant, how ever on past visits the waitress is down right rude, we had decided if we were seated with her we were going to leave. The only reason we go back is because our children enjoy the chefs presentation., and we don't feel like driving to Cambridge .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very good food. A fun night out

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very good food. A fun night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Shabu shabu was delicious and great fun. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Shabu shabu was delicious and great fun. "Meat lovers" was good beef slices. Wish they had more options for dipping sauce though, like sesame-based Gomadare, instead of just soy sauce-based one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sour and rude waitress, never refilled o ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Sour and rude waitress, never refilled our water and became irritated when we asked. Meet quality ok but salad, soup, fried rice do not live up to expectations. Worst of all are the sweet sauces instead of ginger sauce. Yuck. If you want this kind of meal pay a bit more and go to Benihana - this cheap copy is not cheap enough to justify the poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

First time here and will definitely go b ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time here and will definitely go back. We did the hot pot which was very fun. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Teppanyaki was fun for the kids, but foo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Teppanyaki was fun for the kids, but food was just OK. The house special fried rice was the best thing we had and was worth adding. Sushi was good and service was very friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I really do like this restaurant, but th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I really do like this restaurant, but the experience is sometimes a little hit or miss, depending on how many people are in the restaurant, and how much time you have to spend. The staff is informative and helpful, even if they can come across as impatient (checking in frequently and clearing plates quickly). If you're eating the shabu (hot pot) or sushi, I recommend keeping a menu at the table, in case you'd like to add something to your order later on in the meal; the portions are moderate, but the food is genuinely delicious, and very easy to customize. I do wish the restaurant had some ambient music to set a nice tone for dining, rather than listening to nothing but a dozen boiling pots and conversations.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

My family has always enjoyed Japanese fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

My family has always enjoyed Japanese food cooked at the table. Until now, most of the available choices were just fair. My family has recently been here three times, and each time, the meal has been excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very good food. Very fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very good food. Very fun atmosphere. hank youT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Due to traffic, half of our party was 1/ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Due to traffic, half of our party was 1/2 hour late. When they arrived we were seated immediately. The only negative was that they were slow in taking our drink order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Went to Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse with f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Went to Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse with four friends after hearing good things. Unfortunately it was a rather bad experience and certainly won't go back.

The server took almost 20 minutes to take our order despite it being a slow Thursday night. After we ordered the first food didn't come for 20 minutes, and though we had ordered three rolls, only one was delivered, the other two came 10 minutes later.

Our beers were all served warm, basically undrinkable, and the hostess (who ended up very nicely helping us out because the server had disappeared) said the beer cooler hadn't been working right for a week. If it had been a week why not get it fixed? She later went and got two beer pitchers and filled them with ice and water which was great.

Later when we wanted another round of beer, I had to again go find the hostess because the server was gone. And again when we wanted the check.

Food was decent, hostess was great, just a pity about the terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Not a fan - food quality and service are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Not a fan - food quality and service are lacking. We visited on a busy Saturday night and they seemed to be understaffed. It took a while to get drinks. The overall food quality was more like fast food - iceberg lettuce salads that were pre made several hours prior to dinner drowning in a tasteless dressing out of a can, chicken on the hibachi that was soaked in a sodium laden sauce with little flavor, and overcooked salmon with a seafood sauce that they could not describe. We were wary of cross-contamination of scallops since we had a person with allergies. They didn't seem to understand that we didn't want the scallops touching the chicken. Never really saw the waiter after we ordered. Tasteless food and weak service made for a poor experience. Fuji is a better option in Needham for this type of cuisine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Food Allergy Awareness

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our party had multiple food allergies and our chef, Frankie, handled our orders with ease. Thank you for a safe and enjoyable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go somewhere else

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is not a good restaurant. Service was slow -- for Shabu, which is uncooked to start with. Waitress basically threw the food at us - it was as impersonal service has I have had in boston in years. The food was not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun night out with the kids.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Fun night out with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Hidden Hot-Pot Gem

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2016

This really is a great little restaurant. The menu has some traditional classics, with a great selection (including vegetarian). The sushi was great, but my favorite is the shabu shabu (also known elsewhere as "hot pot"), which I really recommend. Great for a date, although definitely on the casual side. Located in the corner of a nice mall (The Shops at Chestnut Hill), I've probably driven past it a hundred times without knowing it was there; I'm glad to have found it, and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice b'day family lunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Everyone liked the food and the experience of Hibachi during last Saturday b'day lunch with family. Food and drinks were delicious. We ordered several non alcoholic lychee frozen drinks and from alcoholic section "love potion" and Sapporo. All were great! Drinks are very affordable there and a good variety too. Will stop here again sometimes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food good, value so so, customer service awful

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was good quality. Skimpy on combination plates, and poor customer service. Had a coupon, and after spending significant money, was told they added a restriction that wasn't on the coupon. Had to argue for 20 minutes before they would honor what was rightfully our discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

the food quality is just way too average ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2016

the food quality is just way too average. but its a good place for family fun due to convenient of location, ease of parking and proximity to apple store when your kids don't want to go home right after eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Staff couldn't handle rush

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Came here on a Saturday night. Frank Pepe's was extremely busy and overflow likely went to Tokyo. We had reservations, but women in the front seemed overwhelmed and was letting various parties in regardless of reservations.

The waiter seemed rushed and didn't even ask us for a drink order. We had to ask him.

Chef put on a good show and food was as expected.

I would recommend coming mid week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Why make a reservation when you can wait?

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Arrived @ 6:25 for 6:30 reservation. Place packed with people waiting. Hostess said would be "few minutes"no apology for delay, no smile nothing. We're seated @ 7:05. No apology for delay . Waited another 10 minutes for hibachi chef (who did apologize & was very pleasant & entertaining). Waited to order drinks, waited for drinks to come, waited for someone to see if we would like another drink or if everything was OK.

Food was typical hibachi (took our kids, they like it).

Asked manager/ hostess for check (could not find waiter) & told her we were not happy about wait & service. She could not have cared less. Made no response & came back with check.

If you have kids & like to wait for mediocre food & enjoy bad service, this is the place for you.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great for Birthday Party

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a wonderful party: 7 adults, 2 kids, 2 infants. The kids were fascinated by the chef, who was a great entertainer. Even when there was no cooking at our grill, it was fun to watch cooking at other grills. And they brought our birthday cake in while beating a gong. It was a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shabu at Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2016

We had the shabu. The services are so so at best. The waitperson never cracked a smile or stopped by to see if we needed anything. The staff can pretend they are friendly. Isn't that part of the job?

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was awful. They didn't seem to k ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was awful. They didn't seem to know what they were doing. When we were greeted by the hostess it took 10 minutes to acknowledge us. It took 15 minutes for some one to take our order. With Negative temperatures they had the AC blowing. Asking the waitress question was like pulling teeth and she seemed very annoyed. Not a good way to spend Valentines Day

Drinks were the only good part

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great food and a really fun experience! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and a really fun experience! We will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Allergy friendly

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant was able to accommodate several food allergies and special requests, despite it being a full house (Valentine's night - packed)! Our chef, Frankie, was pleasant, entertaining, and happy to take care of our particular needs. Our meals were delicious and fresh. The cocktails were tasty. So glad to have dined here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but very noisy. Only option wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2016

Good food but very noisy. Only option was to sit around large tables where the food is prepared. Not conducive to conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

We have only eaten here once the other t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 6, 2016

We have only eaten here once the other two reservations were not honored and we were never seated so we left. They are over booking their tables and people are crowded at the front desk that have reservations waiting to sit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Busy and fun

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The restaurant was over flowing with people, walk-in, long lists, families, adults - crazy.

However, we had a reservation and had asked for corner seats at the Hibachi table. Within two minutes, we got our table and the seating we had asked for. I was very impressed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Birthday Hibachi

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2016

This place has a birthday special. The birthday person gets a free Hibachi! In addition, the food was tasty. However, the fried rice portion, though, also tasty, was quite small. One special treat was that it had bean sprout (Chinese vegetable) and that is uncommon. Overall, the value was very good and the food was tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A fun and different place to dine. Chef ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2016

A fun and different place to dine. Chef playful and entertaining. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We tried Shabu Shabu...fun yum!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2016

We tried Shabu Shabu for the first time and really enjoyed our experience and time together. We all oreded miso for the brothband soba for our noodles, then we had a vegetarian, surf and turf, and two beef orders. Everyone had fun cooking their own lunch. Plenty of food and all meals included plenty of veggies. We look forward to going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.