About Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

199 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

We serve deliciously fresh Japanese cuisine and drinks. Our team provides quality service, and we look forward to welcoming you. We hope to greet you and friends or family, at Tokyo Japanese Steak House Restaurant located in Newton, Massachusetts.

Please let us know if you would like an Hibachi or Shabu dinner.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hibachi, Shabu-shabu, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm. 15% discount for college students, Free hibachi birthday dinner, minimum party of 2 and up, ID required, discounts can not be combined with any other offer.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 243-9090

Website:
http://www.tokyonewton.com/

Parking Details:
Located at Mall at Chestnut Hill

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Free Birthday Dinner on Teppanyaki Table with Two or More Parties. ID Required.
College Students 15% OFF. ID required.

Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Boston / New England
Kid Friendly
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Chestnut Hill ›

good for groups (15)
kid-friendly (14)
special occasion (7)
See All
great for lunch (7)
fit for foodies (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
romantic (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
98 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My family has always enjoyed Japanese fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My family has always enjoyed Japanese food cooked at the table. Until now, most of the available choices were just fair. My family has recently been here three times, and each time, the meal has been excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very good food. Very fun atmosphe ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very good food. Very fun atmosphere. hank youT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Due to traffic, half of our party was 1/ ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Due to traffic, half of our party was 1/2 hour late. When they arrived we were seated immediately. The only negative was that they were slow in taking our drink order.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Went to Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse with f ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Went to Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse with four friends after hearing good things. Unfortunately it was a rather bad experience and certainly won't go back.

The server took almost 20 minutes to take our order despite it being a slow Thursday night. After we ordered the first food didn't come for 20 minutes, and though we had ordered three rolls, only one was delivered, the other two came 10 minutes later.

Our beers were all served warm, basically undrinkable, and the hostess (who ended up very nicely helping us out because the server had disappeared) said the beer cooler hadn't been working right for a week. If it had been a week why not get it fixed? She later went and got two beer pitchers and filled them with ice and water which was great.

Later when we wanted another round of beer, I had to again go find the hostess because the server was gone. And again when we wanted the check.

Food was decent, hostess was great, just a pity about the terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Not a fan - food quality and service are ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Not a fan - food quality and service are lacking. We visited on a busy Saturday night and they seemed to be understaffed. It took a while to get drinks. The overall food quality was more like fast food - iceberg lettuce salads that were pre made several hours prior to dinner drowning in a tasteless dressing out of a can, chicken on the hibachi that was soaked in a sodium laden sauce with little flavor, and overcooked salmon with a seafood sauce that they could not describe. We were wary of cross-contamination of scallops since we had a person with allergies. They didn't seem to understand that we didn't want the scallops touching the chicken. Never really saw the waiter after we ordered. Tasteless food and weak service made for a poor experience. Fuji is a better option in Needham for this type of cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Food Allergy Awareness

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our party had multiple food allergies and our chef, Frankie, handled our orders with ease. Thank you for a safe and enjoyable meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go somewhere else

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is not a good restaurant. Service was slow -- for Shabu, which is uncooked to start with. Waitress basically threw the food at us - it was as impersonal service has I have had in boston in years. The food was not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fun night out with the kids.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Fun night out with the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Hidden Hot-Pot Gem

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

This really is a great little restaurant. The menu has some traditional classics, with a great selection (including vegetarian). The sushi was great, but my favorite is the shabu shabu (also known elsewhere as "hot pot"), which I really recommend. Great for a date, although definitely on the casual side. Located in the corner of a nice mall (The Shops at Chestnut Hill), I've probably driven past it a hundred times without knowing it was there; I'm glad to have found it, and will definitely be going back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice b'day family lunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Everyone liked the food and the experience of Hibachi during last Saturday b'day lunch with family. Food and drinks were delicious. We ordered several non alcoholic lychee frozen drinks and from alcoholic section "love potion" and Sapporo. All were great! Drinks are very affordable there and a good variety too. Will stop here again sometimes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food good, value so so, customer service awful

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was good quality. Skimpy on combination plates, and poor customer service. Had a coupon, and after spending significant money, was told they added a restriction that wasn't on the coupon. Had to argue for 20 minutes before they would honor what was rightfully our discount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

the food quality is just way too average ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

the food quality is just way too average. but its a good place for family fun due to convenient of location, ease of parking and proximity to apple store when your kids don't want to go home right after eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Staff couldn't handle rush

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Came here on a Saturday night. Frank Pepe's was extremely busy and overflow likely went to Tokyo. We had reservations, but women in the front seemed overwhelmed and was letting various parties in regardless of reservations.

The waiter seemed rushed and didn't even ask us for a drink order. We had to ask him.

Chef put on a good show and food was as expected.

I would recommend coming mid week.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Why make a reservation when you can wait?

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Arrived @ 6:25 for 6:30 reservation. Place packed with people waiting. Hostess said would be "few minutes"no apology for delay, no smile nothing. We're seated @ 7:05. No apology for delay . Waited another 10 minutes for hibachi chef (who did apologize & was very pleasant & entertaining). Waited to order drinks, waited for drinks to come, waited for someone to see if we would like another drink or if everything was OK.

Food was typical hibachi (took our kids, they like it).

Asked manager/ hostess for check (could not find waiter) & told her we were not happy about wait & service. She could not have cared less. Made no response & came back with check.

If you have kids & like to wait for mediocre food & enjoy bad service, this is the place for you.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great for Birthday Party

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a wonderful party: 7 adults, 2 kids, 2 infants. The kids were fascinated by the chef, who was a great entertainer. Even when there was no cooking at our grill, it was fun to watch cooking at other grills. And they brought our birthday cake in while beating a gong. It was a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shabu at Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We had the shabu. The services are so so at best. The waitperson never cracked a smile or stopped by to see if we needed anything. The staff can pretend they are friendly. Isn't that part of the job?

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Service was awful. They didn't seem to k ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was awful. They didn't seem to know what they were doing. When we were greeted by the hostess it took 10 minutes to acknowledge us. It took 15 minutes for some one to take our order. With Negative temperatures they had the AC blowing. Asking the waitress question was like pulling teeth and she seemed very annoyed. Not a good way to spend Valentines Day

Drinks were the only good part

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Great food and a really fun experience! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and a really fun experience! We will definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Allergy friendly

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant was able to accommodate several food allergies and special requests, despite it being a full house (Valentine's night - packed)! Our chef, Frankie, was pleasant, entertaining, and happy to take care of our particular needs. Our meals were delicious and fresh. The cocktails were tasty. So glad to have dined here.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food but very noisy. Only option wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Good food but very noisy. Only option was to sit around large tables where the food is prepared. Not conducive to conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

We have only eaten here once the other t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We have only eaten here once the other two reservations were not honored and we were never seated so we left. They are over booking their tables and people are crowded at the front desk that have reservations waiting to sit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Busy and fun

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The restaurant was over flowing with people, walk-in, long lists, families, adults - crazy.

However, we had a reservation and had asked for corner seats at the Hibachi table. Within two minutes, we got our table and the seating we had asked for. I was very impressed.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Birthday Hibachi

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

This place has a birthday special. The birthday person gets a free Hibachi! In addition, the food was tasty. However, the fried rice portion, though, also tasty, was quite small. One special treat was that it had bean sprout (Chinese vegetable) and that is uncommon. Overall, the value was very good and the food was tasty.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A fun and different place to dine. Chef ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

A fun and different place to dine. Chef playful and entertaining. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We tried Shabu Shabu...fun yum!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We tried Shabu Shabu for the first time and really enjoyed our experience and time together. We all oreded miso for the brothband soba for our noodles, then we had a vegetarian, surf and turf, and two beef orders. Everyone had fun cooking their own lunch. Plenty of food and all meals included plenty of veggies. We look forward to going back soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not enough staff

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Waited for 45 minutes just for the appetizers, were told that the sushi chef had not even started to make the order at that point. Asked to cancel the order, was told by the waitress that was not possible as the order has already been submitted. So, on the one had, the chef had not made the order after 45 minutes, but on the other hand, the customer can not cancel the order even though it was not yet made!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value4

Great show and meal

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Japanese hibachi is always fun for a family birthday party. The chef at Tokyo put on a great show. Food was very tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sorry but not that great

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

We tried a bit of sushi - not very good. Warm, which was a little scary, and I had to spit out part of my Hamachi due to some sort of tendon or something. The soup and salad that came with the grilled part of our meal was good and the grilled chicken and beef dishes that we had were pretty good, though quite greasy. Service was fine but we felt rushed. Music was absolutely atrocious to be subjected to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Shabu is the reason to come

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The shabu is great, however, the staff speaks very little English (or pretends not to speak English) so if you have any questions about the menu...good luck. We kept waiting for our server to come back for more cocktails. They could have made a lot more money that night had the service been a bit more attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant overbooked. The 6 of us w ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The restaurant overbooked. The 6 of us were squeezed into a space for 4. Very uncomfortable. No apologies.

Iris Lorber

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Wait staff is not friendly, hard to get ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Wait staff is not friendly, hard to get served anything else after placing initial order. The hostess is not friendly, too crowded. I have been here many times because my little one always wants to go here, but it consistently disappoints. The orders are wrong, they charge extra when you change your rice to fried, even with your $30 entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Delicious and fun. Veggie friendly.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Have been here 3 times, the shabu is always so good. Giant portions. lots of vegetarian choices. It can be messy - definitely not an uptight place.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Its so different for me.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The price is good too. The hotpot table is so cool. I loved.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Better than others for same type of food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

We come here every so often as my spouse likes the teppanyaki dinners. Compared to some other restaurants I do think this one is superior. The soup is okay and the salad dressing is better than other restaurants. I think the dipping sauces are superior to other similar restaurants. As is not uncommon, the steaks are never quite cooked as requested, usually medium rather than medium rare. This time I asked the chef to not use whatever saturated fat he usually cooks with the steaks. It's totally unnecessary for them to add the lump of fat. Though he forgot, which was annoying, I at least had less of it when I restated my request.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Horribly unorganized

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

The poor people in front of us had a reservation but had been there almost an hour waiting to get seated. There were no apologies or anything from the hostess, she acted incredibly inconvenienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Most of the Tokyo Steakhouse is a hibach ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Most of the Tokyo Steakhouse is a hibachi style and we sat in the regular sushi/hot pot area. It was pretty loud, especially because the bar separates the two areas and there were exceptionally loud patrons in the bar area.

The food was fine. Average sushi, but reasonably priced and entrees included soup and salad, which was nice and not typical. But we ordered brown rice, the server said fine, but returned to say the chef forgot to make brown rice that day! What? It's supposed toe available, but the chef forgot?

The miso soup was saltier than most and the salad was pretty lame and drenched in dressing, with an inch of water in the bottom of the bowl.

A big problem was the server clearly was not fluent in English and couldn't answer some of our questions; a problem because one of our diners has allergies.

An ok experience. Wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We had a very nice time, and the food -- ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

We had a very nice time, and the food -- we had steak and salmon -- was delicious. Particularly good was the vegetable tempura we had for an appetizer. Service was efficient and friendly, and the chef was good as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

consistently delicious

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

We always ask the sushi chef to prepare the rolls he feels will be the best that night.

We are always pleased

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Place is going down hill

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

service has deteriorated over the past several visits, They should have someone over seeing the dining room. Each time we visit this restaurant the experience been less enjoyable. Portions have gotten smaller, wait staff has been slower, my wife ordered a glass or wine when we were seated and it arrived half way through dinner. The wine was mixed with another diner that was seated at the table with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Me and my wife went on a slow night but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

Me and my wife went on a slow night but the drinks lovely and the food came out perfect. We really enjoyed the hibachi show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.