About Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse

We serve deliciously fresh Japanese cuisine and drinks. Our team provides quality service, and we look forward to welcoming you. We hope to greet you and friends or family, at Tokyo Japanese Steak House Restaurant located in Newton, Massachusetts.

Please let us know if you would like an Hibachi or Shabu dinner.

199 Boylston Street
Chestnut Hill, MA 02467
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hibachi, Shabu-shabu, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm. 15% discount for college students, Free hibachi birthday dinner, minimum party of 2 and up, ID required, discounts can not be combined with any other offer.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 243-9090

Website:
http://www.tokyonewton.com/

Parking Details:
Located at Mall at Chestnut Hill

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout

Special Events & Promotions:
Free Birthday Dinner on Teppanyaki Table with Two or More Parties. ID Required.
College Students 15% OFF. ID required.

Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.2

ambience

3.4

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

56% would recommend it to a friend

Kid-friendly (12)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (4)
Family Style (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fun experience with the live cooking very friendly cooks espially with kids

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fun with kids not a fine dining spot

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have been here many times - but this was our last time.
1. They pack people in like sardines, to the point that 2 or 3 people at each hibachi table are sitting behind the guy cooking the food and making the show.
2. Either the guy who sat us, or the manager who came over lied to us about our seating situation.
3. The guy cooking was beyond terrible and lazy. dropping his fork & spatula many times, making the volcano out of onions but rather than filling it to light and making it look like a volcano, just threw the liquid all over it and lit the whole darn thing on fire, and put it out as fast as he could.
4. The food had no seasoning.
5. He skipped the whole 'catch a piece of zucchini' that the kids all love.
6. He was lazy and rushed beyond belief, he just couldn't wait to get out of there. And well, neither could we. Thanks but no thanks - never going back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had a reservation for 9pm and we're seated by 9:10, however, didn't receive our first drinks till 9:45pm. The service is extremely slow and waitress wasn't that pleasant, seemed annoyed with us the entire night. There was a big college crowd when we came, and they were very loud and inappropriate for a restaurant setting, just happy I didn't have my daughter with me. When he did finally make it to our table, the chef was great. The food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a nice meal food is fresh and flavorful. Was very disappointed to see two young girls, teens, that were at our table and were asking us what grat meant because the restaurant added it to their bill. Found this to be extremely offensive and discriminatory on the restaurants part because our bill did not have gratuity added. Clearly the restaurant singled out these two girls assuming they wouldn't leave a tip and assuming we would. It just makes me wonder who else they would do this too. Not a nice practice Tokyo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Tokyo is always a good family place, especially when we have a big crowd. They do a great job seating everyone promptly, getting our order, and having the chef arrive to prepare pretty quickly. Always entertaining and fun. You would have a hard time not laughing as the chef tosses food at everyone at the table to catch with their mouth. We've been to Tokyo many times and this particular time a few of us ordered filet mignon and others steak - both were the same and we asked the chef who said it was right. For me going forward I will order chicken and shrimp to avoid the bait and switch on the red meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Grand kids like hibachi grill performance. Grandparents, not so much.

2nd time in 12 months (see prior review). Saturday night was crowded & understaffed. Had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated (with a reservation).

Had "rookie" chef (Different colored toque) who did not "perform" as well as the others...dropped an egg on floor...no "onion volcano" ...did not play with the kids and was fairly sloppy with his prep of the food.

Chicken, steak, shrimp hibachi were good. Spicy Tuna Sushi fresh but no spicy kick.

Service was minimal. No one stopped by to refresh ice water, ask if we wanted another drink, ask if everything was OK or thank us for dining there.

Bar side of restaurant which serves Shabu-Shabu appeared less crowded and more relaxing.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Poor service from both waitress and chef. No fun that you would expect from a hibachi experience. Mediocre food. Won't be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great food and careful consideration for food allergies.

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Chefs are entertaining and are great keeping customers engaged. The hostess helped us with a cake for my daughter add it was her 9th birthday.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was very busy. The chef did not prepare enough food for the table . I requested more vegetables. Not a good value for the portion size.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Saturday February 11 at 7:15pm arrival and reservation, Chinese male at front desk was very rude and when we asked to speak with manager he replied that there was no manager onsite

Omg never again so bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fun dinner with friends. The whole experience was great. My son's friends can not wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A surprising number of problems for a Hibachi steak house. Despite being about 10-minutes early for our OpenTable reservation, we weren't seated until 30-minutes later. The table chef seemed surprisingly inexperienced for working on a busy weekend night. First he had difficulty frying eggs for the special rice (lost three eggs to the grill drain), overcooked the egg and didn't chop it up very well. He then served my daughter the special rice even though she didn't order it. Next he started cooking steak and chicken and put that on the plates before the shrimp "appetizer". He never requested "doneness" of the steaks (mine, and my sons were medium-well when we usually prefer mid-rare. Knife and spatula tricks were clumsy and the usual patter and interacting with diners was unusually poor. We'll probably be back, but I'll aim for a less busy night and hope for a much better chef.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Everything was going well. Dinner had just finished and we hadn't received our bill yet. We were still finishing our drinks and chatting with someone else at our table when the hostess came up to us to tell us other diners were waiting for our table. We were getting booted even though they hadn't given us our bill - as if we were the deadbeats! If you want us out, tell the waitress to give us our bill! My husband asked to speak with a manager. They sent someone over and my husband asked if he was a manager and he admitted he wasn't. They them sent another person who may or may not have been a manager and she said she was sorry 100 times but I don't think she even actually listened to my husband's complaint. She had just been taught to apologize. This is very basic service, people. We have had fun and good food there but they make it hard to be excited to come back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our experience was okay until the end of the meal. After the chef finished cooking he was cleaning off the hot grill and splashed boiling water on me and my 2 year old daughter. They gave us ice cream as an apologize and asked if we needed ice for our faces. It didn't quite seem like the appropriate response. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had seem some reviews regarding sketchy service but we didn't experience that at all. The service was excellent, the food was very good and the table side cooking experience was very entertaining. Many of us had steak and the quality of the beef was excellent. The scallops and shrimp were very large and very delicious. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Took a family of first timers for shabu and it couldn't have better. Food was good. Service was good. Be prepared to get down and dirty because you are cooking your own food. Also, wear something you don't love. You will get spots on it. That top will then become your designated shabu shirt! So much fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Typical hibachi-style Japanese fare. Seated promptly. These style restaurants always appear to be one or two people short in terms of server help. Same story...take drink order, brings drinks, take food order, bring soup and follow up immediately with salad. Chef comes and server disappears for too long. Drinks never get refilled when they should be.

Chef was typical, other then almost throwing food onto plates that he had a difficult time teaching. Little unprofessional for me.

Most irritating part was the teen girls' celebration near us. Screamed for what seemed like hours. Parents, though I'm sure were preoccupied with making sure the girls enjoyed themselves, were either too ignorant or simply didn't care that others were in the restaurant. Restaurant staff did nothing about it. Guess whatever it takes to pay the bills.

Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service was poor. Very slow and waitperson didn't seem to understand English well enough to understand the word allergy. One diner said he was allergic to mango, and he was brought a mango cocktail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great with kids! Sit at the hibachi table! It's like dinner theater and the chefs are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It costs nothing to be kind. Our server was simply rude.
Her finger tips were in the Miso soup.
She spilled Miso soup.
She did not apologize or make any attempt to clean up the mess she made.
She got upset when we took a napkin from the table next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was perfect for a night out with my adult children.. very entertaining with good food!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We went for sushi, but there is a soup that everyone really goes there for. I cannot pronounce, let alone spell the soup, but we'll have to get it next time. The sushi was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Don't go if they are busy. They were a disorganized mess. Only sat us 20 mins after our reservation time. Then sat for a while before drink order taken. Then sat for a long while before chef arrived. Food was fine - not bad not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My review goes only for their hibachi menu. We have yet to try their sushi menu and the bar area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The service is fast when you arrive, once your order is taken you are never asked If you need another drink or water. The waitress only comes back with your check. The waitress we had last night was Pleasant, how ever on past visits the waitress is down right rude, we had decided if we were seated with her we were going to leave. The only reason we go back is because our children enjoy the chefs presentation., and we don't feel like driving to Cambridge .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very good food. A fun night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Shabu shabu was delicious and great fun. "Meat lovers" was good beef slices. Wish they had more options for dipping sauce though, like sesame-based Gomadare, instead of just soy sauce-based one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (東京)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Sour and rude waitress, never refilled our water and became irritated when we asked. Meet quality ok but salad, soup, fried rice do not live up to expectations. Worst of all are the sweet sauces instead of ginger sauce. Yuck. If you want this kind of meal pay a bit more and go to Benihana - this cheap copy is not cheap enough to justify the poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

First time here and will definitely go back. We did the hot pot which was very fun. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Teppanyaki was fun for the kids, but food was just OK. The house special fried rice was the best thing we had and was worth adding. Sushi was good and service was very friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I really do like this restaurant, but the experience is sometimes a little hit or miss, depending on how many people are in the restaurant, and how much time you have to spend. The staff is informative and helpful, even if they can come across as impatient (checking in frequently and clearing plates quickly). If you're eating the shabu (hot pot) or sushi, I recommend keeping a menu at the table, in case you'd like to add something to your order later on in the meal; the portions are moderate, but the food is genuinely delicious, and very easy to customize. I do wish the restaurant had some ambient music to set a nice tone for dining, rather than listening to nothing but a dozen boiling pots and conversations.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2016

My family has always enjoyed Japanese food cooked at the table. Until now, most of the available choices were just fair. My family has recently been here three times, and each time, the meal has been excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was very good food. Very fun atmosphere. hank youT

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Due to traffic, half of our party was 1/2 hour late. When they arrived we were seated immediately. The only negative was that they were slow in taking our drink order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Went to Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse with four friends after hearing good things. Unfortunately it was a rather bad experience and certainly won't go back.

The server took almost 20 minutes to take our order despite it being a slow Thursday night. After we ordered the first food didn't come for 20 minutes, and though we had ordered three rolls, only one was delivered, the other two came 10 minutes later.

Our beers were all served warm, basically undrinkable, and the hostess (who ended up very nicely helping us out because the server had disappeared) said the beer cooler hadn't been working right for a week. If it had been a week why not get it fixed? She later went and got two beer pitchers and filled them with ice and water which was great.

Later when we wanted another round of beer, I had to again go find the hostess because the server was gone. And again when we wanted the check.

Food was decent, hostess was great, just a pity about the terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Not a fan - food quality and service are lacking. We visited on a busy Saturday night and they seemed to be understaffed. It took a while to get drinks. The overall food quality was more like fast food - iceberg lettuce salads that were pre made several hours prior to dinner drowning in a tasteless dressing out of a can, chicken on the hibachi that was soaked in a sodium laden sauce with little flavor, and overcooked salmon with a seafood sauce that they could not describe. We were wary of cross-contamination of scallops since we had a person with allergies. They didn't seem to understand that we didn't want the scallops touching the chicken. Never really saw the waiter after we ordered. Tasteless food and weak service made for a poor experience. Fuji is a better option in Needham for this type of cuisine.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our party had multiple food allergies and our chef, Frankie, handled our orders with ease. Thank you for a safe and enjoyable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is not a good restaurant. Service was slow -- for Shabu, which is uncooked to start with. Waitress basically threw the food at us - it was as impersonal service has I have had in boston in years. The food was not that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.