About Todd English P.U.B Birmingham

2221 Richard Arrington Jr. Blvd. N
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

Four-time James Beard Award winner Todd English debuts his second P.U.B. concept at the fun-filled Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex. A full menu offers a mix of traditional American comfort foods and creative delicacies.The beautifully decadent bar features a full raw bar showcasing the best of the sea and a selection of over 100 premium beers. The open-expo kitchen features an assortment of prime roasted meats, as well as some of your traditional PUB favs with a modern twist. A multitude of large screen televisions, make Todd English P.U.B. the ideal spot for big game viewing, while patio dining allows patrons to enjoy the beauty of this exciting entertainment district.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday: 6:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
22nd & 23rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 307-3700

Website:
http://www.toddenglishpub.com/

Entertainment:
Home of the "7-Second Challenge", where guests can try to chug a beer in 7 seconds or less (beat the clock) & it"s on the house! Beer Pong, Darts, Foos Ball & more! Come "get a little fresh with us" on Saturdays & Sundays, when Todd's own Farm Girls will be mixing up farm-to-table, Bloody Marys, customized just how you like 'em - you choose all the 'fixins & we'll shake it just right!

Executive Chef:
Jamie Pruitt

Private Party Facilities:
The Todd English P.U.B. has something for everyone. TE P.U.B. is about engaging in pleasure and having absolute fun! A place where guests can indulge in their favorite cocktail or beer, delight in a delectable meal and be captivated by a few surprises along the way.

Private Party Contact:
Leighton James: 8558402804

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Todd English P.U.B Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.4

ambience

3.4

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
good for groups (4)
See All
special occasion (2)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
notable wine list (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good but service was lacking. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was good but service was lacking. Empty drinks and searching for your server is not acceptable for $120 meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

We never actually got food at the restau ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We never actually got food at the restaurant. We left after waiting over an hour and after paying for our drinks. The manager gave us his card so we could "call him next time we wanted to come". Um, not sure why? So he can start cooking out food then? The waitress wasn't bad and warned us when we sat down to go ahead and order as the kitchen was "running behind". Horrible experience. Now I see why it's rated so badly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We went to this particular restaurant ri ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We went to this particular restaurant right before seeing a Broadway show at the BJCC. While the food was good, it wasn't great or spectacular. It was a pretty mediocre place, and we probably won't go back.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Went for a date. Food was solid. Jerk ch ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Went for a date. Food was solid. Jerk chicken wings were stellar!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food too expensive for teh value.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Not very tasty and way too loud. The prices were expensive and its clear that the entire place caters to patrons who are trapped at conventions. I was expecting more.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and atmosphere.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific atmosphere

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and atmosphere was fabulous. The service is slow, which is a consideration if you are in a hurry or expect timeliness. If you are not, this is a great fit.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Trying Out Uptown

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Our first time to eat in this area since the recent uptown revitalization. After reading reviews of the several choices for dining this seemed to appeal most to us. Also, it was close to the forum theater where we planned to be later that night. Our waiter was very attentive and helped us have a good idea of what to expect from the various options. Also, we spent more time there than we realized so we started to worry about making the performance at the Forum on time so we had to ask him to hurry up with the check processing and he took care of us and got us out in a hurry. All in all we were pleased with the service and food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cannot be Todd English

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Very disappointed. Food was certainly not the Todd English restaurants I have gone to.

Food was okay but very limiting. The service was minimal and it appears to cater to alcohol lovers who probably cannot remember the food. Dinner ranked as one of my husband's worst ever and breakfast there from Westin served biscuits hat could have been hockey pucks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Waited over 30 minutes for food and rest ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Waited over 30 minutes for food and restaurant was not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I liked it more for lunch

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Great food. If you don't mind collective screaming and beer chugging, happy hour and dinner are fine. That's the crowd they want to attract. But for the rest of us, lunch and special occasions are quite nice. Recommend.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Grill temp.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

My hamburger was underdone. Rare on a medium order. The server was on target when she removed it from the bill NQA. No time for a redo. Tipped her nicely. Back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Slow, surprisingly slow considering ther ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Slow, surprisingly slow considering there were only a handful of other tables in the house. Good food, but pricey for the level of quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Mostly great, we'll be back

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2015

So mostly it was a great experience and we'll definitely come back. Our waitress was charming and sweet, and very knowledgeable about the many different beers and food; however, she didn't stop at our table enough and it wasn't busy so that wasn't why. She was friendly and such when she did stop but our drinks were empty and we needed crackers for our oysters and had to wait a while for her to show up. Our ahi was prepared in a very unique and tasty way, and would have been great had there not been stickers from the market left on our tomatoes. Lobster rolls tasted lovely, except for the few bits of shell... oysters were great, atmosphere was just what you'd expect. So we'll be back, and hopefully it will be better then next time!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

stopping thru for brunch

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Brunch menu limited. Buffett not too notable. Not too impressed with the make your own toast station. Ordered off the menu the southern fried chicken and biscuit. Was very pleased with that. The grits were a sorry dissappointment! At any rate the service slow and not really on point. A one time stop and over priced for a really mediocre experience. I'm sure there are other local places that can beat this place. Hopefully open table can contract with those places to steer passing through visitors to those places instead.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food is quite pricy for the quality ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

The food is quite pricy for the quality of the food....and the extra charges that are added on in lieu of tax are outrageous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Poor first impression

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 13, 2015

Arrived for our 7pm reservation at 6:45 on our first visit. We were told that we could not be seated until 7 even though half of the tables were vacant. Once we were seated, it took 10-15 minutes for a server to greet us. When ordering our meal, we were told that they had run out of the nightly special that the waitress had told about just a few minutes earlier. We were so frustrated at that point that we paid for our drinks and appetizer and went across the street to another restaurant. The noise level is so loud in this restaurant that you cannot speak to others at your table without yelling. We will not visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Over priced for the area. Not much bang ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Over priced for the area. Not much bang for your buck alcohol wise. Food was good but not amazing. Many other good options in the area. Save your money and get better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Quite Nice!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Service was just right. We had reservations and were seated promptly, our server was there when we needed her and didn't hover over us, so we didn't feel rushed. The food was great, perfect proportions, we had the chicken wing appetizer, several different salads, shrimp and grits, chicken pot pie and fish and chips. The only complaint we had, was they were out of the bottle of wine a couple of us wanted. Not a big deal and not uncommon. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Definitely a pub

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 15, 2015

I had only been to the restaurant once many months ago and sat outside. We ate outside but I overheard the hostess tell some people they couldn't eat out there (Wed night thing?). Didn't realize how noisy it was going to be inside, but sat at a table for two and had to scream at the person I was with. Could barely hear the waiter announce the daily specials and had to as him to repeat all of them. Waiter was friendly but definitely had too many tables to tend to. Had to ask for items that normally would have been served with our appetizers. The person who brought the appetizer (not our waiter) just plopped down the plates and off he went. As if there weren't enough noise, a guy began to sing and play guitar with a microphone. Yikes! If this is just a bar that would be fine and anticipated, but trying to have a meal and carry on a conversation with my grandson was not easy. Food was good. There should be a rating for noise level beyond 'energetic', like 'obnoxious'.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

New Date Night Fav!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

Great place! Great food! We were late for our reservation and the staff was so gracious in getting us in and seated. Love the atmosphere. Love the food even more. Try the fun and delicious Conecuh Corn Dog Puppies! The carmelized onions on the Iceberg Wedge is a great touch. The Rosemary Chicken Pot Pie is my fav! My husband couldn't finish the Pastrami Rueben and saved to enjoy for lunch the next . . . Because we couldn't resist the to-die-for P.U.B. Brownie. What an awesome combination in that dessert . Nitro Stout Ice Cream? Oh, YEAH!!! Uh oh, I think we found a new favorite for date night!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I want to like it, I really do.....

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

but on this my 5th visit to this establishment, I continue to be underwhelmed. We had reservations for two at 6:00 pm. We arrived at 5:50 and were told we could not be seated until our reservation time, despite the fact that the restaurant was about half full and a party that walked up before us was seated immediately. We were invited to wait at the bar, which we did, but w didn't get a drink because none of the three bartenders ever approached us to take our order. The bar was half full. The pimento cheese appetizer, once we were seated, was quite good. My companion's lobster rolls were heavy on the sauce and bread and light on lobster. The char grilled cod on my sandwich was quite good but the size of the pieces of fish on the sandwich made it quite hard to eat. The best part of our main course was the French fries. I want to like this restaurant - I really do. The location is great, it's a great space, convenient to the convention center and full of possibilities. However, the staff just seems largely unconcerned about customer satisfaction. Maybe because of the location, this establishment will succeed in spite of itself. There are far too many outstanding restaurants in Birmingham to support those that repeatedly can't get it together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

waitress i believe her name was bridgett ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 8, 2015

waitress i believe her name was bridgette very unmotivated , seems like she did not like her job very slow with everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Good experience

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

I was with a party of 3. We all got differnt things and we all loved our food. The lobster Cobb salad was delish & the lobster rolls are worth getting again. Service was good and had a great atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and staff but needs more staff

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 23, 2015

I stayed at the Westin which is attached to the pub. The food is great, and the waitstaff friendly, but they have a staffing issue of some sort. On more than one occasion we had problems. For example, one night we waited over 20 minutes for our drinks when there was hardly anyone in the place. That same night there was a half section of the bar closed off stating that it was reserved. The waitress told us that it was not--that there was only one bartender there that night, who was working a double shift. Then, the next morning we were told that they open at 6:30 for breakfast. We waited until 6:45 until they opened their doors, and only after we asked the front desk at the Westin what was going on.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

A little lackluster but still a great restaurant

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

I have been to Todd English Pub several times and have always been pleased with the food and service. This visit the service was excellent, but I was a little disappointed with the food. We ordered the special and it was a bit bland. But I have no complaints about the regular menu and was blown away by the specials they served for New Year's.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great late lunch..very good pub food & drinks.

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

We visited this Pub which is situated in an uptown hotel which is in a relatively new and very active area near the Birmingham Civic Center. Although a bit crowded, we were seated immediately, and our server was very friendly and helpful. His suggestions were spot on and our party of 4 greatly enjoyed the meal. The Bloody Mary that I had was outstanding, but not unique. The draft beer selection is also outstanding (we were told there were 36 beers on tap). Valet parking is available, and free (with validation) parking in the hotel deck is also convenient. There are also a number of other restaurants in the same complex which have good reputations. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good Overall Experience

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

This is the second time I have eaten at the Todd English Pub. The atmosphere is quite nice with very cool decor. However, it can get quite noisy at times and the music selection can be a little all over the place. The food is good. Nothing outstanding, but I would have no problems returning to this restaurant. Overall this is a really cool restaurant design and idea with average to good food.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Have visited restaurant for dinner twice ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 16, 2015

Have visited restaurant for dinner twice. Food delivered very slow. Had to hurry and eat to make show at BJCC, making reservations hour and forty five minutes earlier than show start. Noise level VERY VERY loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

More pluses than minuses

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We ate here the day after Valentine's Day and they were out of a lot of things. Pluses- we could make a reservation- homemade pretzels were super- beer and wine selection is extensive

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Try the Short Rib Quesadillas&Smoked Wings-Awesome

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

"Drinks-awesome, service-great, food-delicious!" Hubby already wants to go back! He raves about the pimento cheese & sour cream sauce that comes with the quesadillas. Making plans to come dine there again in the near future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrible Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 8, 2015

Went to Todd English for brunch on Sunday. There was not brunch menu or specials that I could see. We sat for almost 10 minutes and no one came to even fill up our water glass or say they would "be right with us." Another table got seated a few tables away and got service quickly. My friend and I left and when I got to my car, I had an email that they cancelled my reservation. When I called the restaurant to tell them why we left and that we had checked in with the hostess (so why did they cancel the reservation), the response I got was that no one had served us yet because the server was on break. This is completely unacceptable restaurant behavior! I will never go back. I should have read reviews before I went. However, thank you OpenTable for crediting my points back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Not the Todd English I know

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 20, 2015

Having eaten at other TE restaurants, notably Olive's in the Bellagio Las Vegas, I was extremely disappointed in PUB. Salad greens were soggy with water, dressing seemed to no more than ranch dressing with some Cajun spice mixed in. Ordered MR prime rib from carving menu, it was a 24$ mostly gray pile of thinly sliced cool deli meat. Further, the meal was served on a paper covered platter, which quickly disintegrated to leave the meal eaten on the metal platter. My wife ordered salmon, it was a poorly cooked, poorly cut filet, mostly dark meat.

Yikes...need to rethink this place, it won't do the TE brand any favors in its current state.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Saturday evening dinner with friends

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

On arrival we were quickly seated. Noise level high, unable to make conversation with friends at our table. Service slow. My wife selected brisket from the carving board section with two sides. The brisket slices were tough and chewy and we decided that the meal was inedible . Exchanged for a Cobb Lobster salad. Edible but not great. Took for ever to be delivered. I ordered English Fish and Chips. Rated B+. Fries made fresh and fish more than adequate and properly cooked. Provided sauces were poorly spiced and lacked originality. Desert menu small and rather average. We tried warm chocolate cookies, good but not great.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Todd English Pubb is an AWESOME establis ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

Todd English Pubb is an AWESOME establishment! The service was wonderful, from the hostess to the servers!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Year's Day dining

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

Food good, but presentation not as good as it has been on previous visits

Fries served on plate instead of in cone type container they previously were served in. Bacon in tblt sandwich was not as crisp as it usually is. Perhaps this was due to different staffing on New Year's Day. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our visit started with a rude hostess, i ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

Our visit started with a rude hostess, it was Xmas day and they were busy so maybe she was overwhelmed. The waitress was polite, but also seemed overwhelmed. The were out of the first two beers I ordered? So I settled for a Miller Light draft that came in a 8 ounce glass. The menu was a limited holiday menu that sounded good. Overall the food was tasty, but was served luke warm. Any requests made to our waitress were met with a enthusiastic yes, then we waited and waited. The soup, that was tasty, was served with tea spoons which made it very diffacult to enjoy. The guests seated near us were served the soup course with no spoons. The waitress said they were waiting for some to be washed. My wife asked for some crackers to have with her soup and they were not brought to the table until she finished her soup. Overall it felt like they were understaffed to handle the amount of guests and/or they lacked experience. I understand folks don't want to work Xmas day, but if you are going to be open and take reservation then you should be prepared. At the end of the meal both my wife and I were thinking we would come back and try the Pub food before writing off the place, but then the check came. I knew each meal would be $33.00 which if the food had been served at the right temp would have been ok. The shock was my two 8 ounce glaseses of Miller Light for $5.00 each. That along with my wife's one glass of iced tea and tax came to $83.90 & a $10.00 tip, despite the poor service I always tip unless the server is just plain rude, brought our total to $93.90. It was not a experince worth $90.00. Given the reviews on other sites and our poor experince, this place will not be open long term.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Poor

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

The experience was very disappointing and overpriced for the quality of the food. The lobster bisque was watery and the entree was barely warm. The texture of the food (potatoes) made me think the food had been sitting for a while. We will never go back there again. The server was friendly and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Good time

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

We had a reservation prior to a concert at th BJCc, and it worked out well. You definitely need to make reservations on event nights. Great food and good atmosphere. Service was just okay, but they were slammed. Live music too, which was a bonus.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Don't waste your time

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

Just walk a few feet away and go to The Southern, Bottle & Bone, or one of the other places nearby. I really can't believe a "famous" chef would let his name be associated with a place this bad.

The service wasn't awful but nothing great either.

The food was super slow to come out despite being less than half full on a Friday night.

They were out of the signature chicken and waffles...at 6:45pm...on a Friday night.

The Prime Beef entree was awful. I ordered it medium rare and it was much closer to medium well. It also had absolutely no flavor.

Mac and cheese: below average, made with something that resembled velveeta.

The whole place also smelled like buttered popcorn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.