Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Todd English P.U.B Birmingham

3.0
228 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Gastro Pub
Perfect For:
  • Bar Seating
  • Hot Spot
  • Live Music
Four-time James Beard Award winner Todd English debuts his second P.U.B. concept at the fun-filled Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex. A full menu offers a mix of traditional American comfort foods and creative delicacies.The beautifully decadent bar features a full raw bar showcasing the best of the sea and a selection of over 100 premium beers. The open-expo kitchen features an assortment of prime roasted meats, as well as some of your traditional PUB favs with a modern twist. A multitude of large screen televisions, make Todd English P.U.B. the ideal spot for big game viewing, while patio dining allows patrons to enjoy the beauty of this exciting entertainment district.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Brunch: Saturday: 6:30am - 3:00pm; Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 307-3700
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jamie Pruitt
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Todd English P.U.B. has something for everyone. TE P.U.B. is about engaging in pleasure and having absolute fun! A place where guests can indulge in their favorite cocktail or beer, delight in a delectable meal and be captivated by a few surprises along the way.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Leighton James: (855) 840-2804
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
22nd & 23rd
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Home of the "7-Second Challenge", where guests can try to chug a beer in 7 seconds or less (beat the clock) & it"s on the house! Beer Pong, Darts, Foos Ball & more! Come "get a little fresh with us" on Saturdays & Sundays, when Todd's own Farm Girls will be mixing up farm-to-table, Bloody Marys, customized just how you like 'em - you choose all the 'fixins & we'll shake it just right!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 228 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.0based on recent ratings
3.3
food
2.7
service
3.2
ambience
2.9
value
Noise · Moderate
29% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 2 days ago

Terrible service. We had a 6:15 reservation that I had made three months prior. We had ordered two appetizers thinking that would be quicker. Nope. Had to leave at 7:30 without eating, to make our concert. Never again. Food is not good enough for that hassle.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

The food was bad manager did not want to help at all

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Fries were barely warm. The Salmon Sandwich was dry and mostly bread. Music was outdated.
I had a reservation and was seated right next to the front door (it was cold). Not a good night at all.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Great live music

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Four of us were going to Jerry Seinfeld. We alerted our server at the beginning we needed to leave by 6:45. We did not get our food until 6:35 at which point we boxed everything up and took it with us. The food tasted great at the BJCC, but we would have rather eaten it at the table with our drinks. We would recommend this restaurant only if you have plenty of time to eat.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Our waiter was doing the best he could, but the kitchen was running super slow. The restaurant was half empty, and our food took a really long time. They forgot our oysters, so we cancelled them. Three dishes came out at the same time, and then it was another 5-10 minutes for the fourth to arrive. We barely made it to our show at the BJCC despite booking a dinner reservation with plenty of time. I guess the restaurant mostly caters to one time diners and other people visiting, and maybe that is why they don't care about overall service. I will not go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 11, 2018

The service was terrible and very limited drink menu. We were going to event at bjcc and were late because service was so bad and food took so long

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Food was good. Service was really, really bad. We arrived at 4:45 because we had a concert to go to at 7. We thought that was plenty of time to eat dinner, have a couple of drinks and leave by 6:30. Definitely not the case. Our server forgot to put our food order in and didn’t remember until 30 minutes later (I know bc he came and re took our order). When we finally got the check after asking 3 times, it was completely wrong. We were so late leaving that we completely missed the opening act. Again, the food was really good, but it was a pretty awful experience. Everything took SO long- drinks and food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Strike one: I requested a reservation noon or early afternoon but the only times "available" were 10 or 10:30. We saw numerous empty tables at noon when we left. Strike two: the food took forever to be served and it was cold (scrambled eggs and pancakes) but considering they were very simple breakfast items, inexcusable. We did not send them back for fear it would take another 30 minutes to get them. Strike three: The manager came by to ask how everything was and when we just nodded, he briskly walked away. Did not engage in conversation or really seem to be interested. The only reason we went there for Mother's Day was the location and availability. We'd been there for Christmas day lunch and were satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

We have been a couple of times late night after WBC heavyweight fight nearby. Limited menu late, but better than all the other restaurants that are closed. We were staying in the Westin.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 16, 2017

Very slow service reservation at 5:30, drinks not served until 6 and dinner at 7:30 and our concert started at 8:00. Very bad experience. Music was so loud we couldn't hear each other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Staff was very friendly and our waitress was outstanding. Food was delicious - shrimp & grits. Price was what I expected and in line with other places for what we ordered. Service was prompt from bar/drink order, apps, main course. Great experience and we'll go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 28, 2017

After waiting for our open table res, they told us they were not honoring open table reservations. Would be a 45 minute wait although there were tables open.
We ate at the cramped bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

I love this place. For the rest of my life even if I have to drive thru Birmingham I will stop for food here

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2017

This restaurant was great and offered many delicious options. It was not crowded on the Tuesday night I went there and seemed to attract hotel guests from the Westin attached.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We have eaten at Todd English several times but would say NYE was not the best experience. Our waitress seemed frantic despite at 630 not people were there. We ordered drinks which took forever, when we ordered a second round it took even longer and they were out of the beer my son had ordered. The food was just okay this time but everything seemed like they were not prepared for the night.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 28, 2016

The service in an empty restaurant was just unacceptable. I came because the location in Vegas is a favorite, but this place isn't nearly what the version in Aria is. Ashame, because the food is still good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2016

Walked in on Christmas night, the place was 25% full. Hostess asked us if we had a reservation, we did not, so she told us they were booked for the night and did not accept walk-ups and turned us away. I immediately opened the open table app to see if I could get a reservation later and booked a reservation for the current time. Told the hostess such and she told us she would seat us right away. We were served water immediately upon being seated. It took 15 minutes for a waitress to come take our drink order, and another 15 minutes to order our food. Service was extremely slow and the food was not very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas dinner since unfortunately we were traveling for work. We thought we were making the best of it as the website lauded the restaurants as being James Beard winners. Service was mediocre and our food came out at all different times. Sides were served before entrees arrived and all 4 of our entrees were served at different times. The food was decent, but the experience as a whole did not meet my expectactions for the price point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2016

First Timer!
-Popcorn was a different expectation; nice (considering it's one of my favorite snacks)
-Margaritas were GREAT!
-Fried pickles were good, the sauces were okay, requested different sauces (outside of what was provided with appetizer)
-Fish tacos were really good; corn salad was okay
-Our server - Devonte - was GREAT, highly recommend! As a first timer, I asked several questions, he responded to all, checked on our group regularly (allowed us to change our inside seating area - to outside (live music inside was a little loud)
-I will be returning for another visit

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 27, 2016

Great service great music

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was good but service was lacking. Empty drinks and searching for your server is not acceptable for $120 meal for two.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 23, 2016

We never actually got food at the restaurant. We left after waiting over an hour and after paying for our drinks. The manager gave us his card so we could "call him next time we wanted to come". Um, not sure why? So he can start cooking out food then? The waitress wasn't bad and warned us when we sat down to go ahead and order as the kitchen was "running behind". Horrible experience. Now I see why it's rated so badly!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2016

We went to this particular restaurant right before seeing a Broadway show at the BJCC. While the food was good, it wasn't great or spectacular. It was a pretty mediocre place, and we probably won't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 22, 2016

Went for a date. Food was solid. Jerk chicken wings were stellar!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2016

Not very tasty and way too loud. The prices were expensive and its clear that the entire place caters to patrons who are trapped at conventions. I was expecting more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food and atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2016

The food and atmosphere was fabulous. The service is slow, which is a consideration if you are in a hurry or expect timeliness. If you are not, this is a great fit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2016

Our first time to eat in this area since the recent uptown revitalization. After reading reviews of the several choices for dining this seemed to appeal most to us. Also, it was close to the forum theater where we planned to be later that night. Our waiter was very attentive and helped us have a good idea of what to expect from the various options. Also, we spent more time there than we realized so we started to worry about making the performance at the Forum on time so we had to ask him to hurry up with the check processing and he took care of us and got us out in a hurry. All in all we were pleased with the service and food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 16, 2016

Very disappointed. Food was certainly not the Todd English restaurants I have gone to.
Food was okay but very limiting. The service was minimal and it appears to cater to alcohol lovers who probably cannot remember the food. Dinner ranked as one of my husband's worst ever and breakfast there from Westin served biscuits hat could have been hockey pucks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 1, 2016

Waited over 30 minutes for food and restaurant was not crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2015

Great food. If you don't mind collective screaming and beer chugging, happy hour and dinner are fine. That's the crowd they want to attract. But for the rest of us, lunch and special occasions are quite nice. Recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 13, 2015

My hamburger was underdone. Rare on a medium order. The server was on target when she removed it from the bill NQA. No time for a redo. Tipped her nicely. Back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 8, 2015

Slow, surprisingly slow considering there were only a handful of other tables in the house. Good food, but pricey for the level of quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2015

So mostly it was a great experience and we'll definitely come back. Our waitress was charming and sweet, and very knowledgeable about the many different beers and food; however, she didn't stop at our table enough and it wasn't busy so that wasn't why. She was friendly and such when she did stop but our drinks were empty and we needed crackers for our oysters and had to wait a while for her to show up. Our ahi was prepared in a very unique and tasty way, and would have been great had there not been stickers from the market left on our tomatoes. Lobster rolls tasted lovely, except for the few bits of shell... oysters were great, atmosphere was just what you'd expect. So we'll be back, and hopefully it will be better then next time!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 25, 2015

Brunch menu limited. Buffett not too notable. Not too impressed with the make your own toast station. Ordered off the menu the southern fried chicken and biscuit. Was very pleased with that. The grits were a sorry dissappointment! At any rate the service slow and not really on point. A one time stop and over priced for a really mediocre experience. I'm sure there are other local places that can beat this place. Hopefully open table can contract with those places to steer passing through visitors to those places instead.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2015

The food is quite pricy for the quality of the food....and the extra charges that are added on in lieu of tax are outrageous

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2015

Arrived for our 7pm reservation at 6:45 on our first visit. We were told that we could not be seated until 7 even though half of the tables were vacant. Once we were seated, it took 10-15 minutes for a server to greet us. When ordering our meal, we were told that they had run out of the nightly special that the waitress had told about just a few minutes earlier. We were so frustrated at that point that we paid for our drinks and appetizer and went across the street to another restaurant. The noise level is so loud in this restaurant that you cannot speak to others at your table without yelling. We will not visit again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2015

Over priced for the area. Not much bang for your buck alcohol wise. Food was good but not amazing. Many other good options in the area. Save your money and get better service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2015

Service was just right. We had reservations and were seated promptly, our server was there when we needed her and didn't hover over us, so we didn't feel rushed. The food was great, perfect proportions, we had the chicken wing appetizer, several different salads, shrimp and grits, chicken pot pie and fish and chips. The only complaint we had, was they were out of the bottle of wine a couple of us wanted. Not a big deal and not uncommon. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6