About Toast - Summerville

717 Old Trolley Road
Summerville, SC 29485
View Larger Map

The famous Toast of Charleston restaurant is now open in Summerville! Toast of Summerville offers the same great food and service that Toast of Charleston has become famous for.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Wednesday: 7:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Saturday: 7:00am-11:00pm
Sunday: 7:00am-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Brandy Mill Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 900-4422

Website:
http://www.toastofsummerville.com/

Parking Details:
We offer out guests a parking lot.

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast - Summerville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.7

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Good for a Date (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (3)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had Kendra and she was training a new ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had Kendra and she was training a new server... they both did an amazing job making sure we were happy with everything and keeping our drinks full.

Food was great husband loved the sample of Shrimp&Grits....

The Sweet Tea Chicken was amazing...

We will go back

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our visit. The food w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We really enjoyed our visit. The food was good, the atmosphere was good for a mid-day get together with friends. We stayed longer than anticipated, yet we did not at any time feel pressured to leave.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Took the family here to celebrate a birt ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Took the family here to celebrate a birthday. Thought it would be a good alternative to going into Charleston during Restaurant Week. Appetizers of fried green tomatoes and coconut shrimp were delicious! Main courses varied..shrimp and grits less than ordinary; crab cakes were better than they looked (they looked way over cooked). Server tried to push the ref velvet cupcakes even though was told we really don't do "cake"; ordered two key lime pies...only one left,,.didnt notice until the next t day that she still charged for two!! Not sure we'll be back..expected more.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We went for restaurant week. The french ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for restaurant week. The french onion soup was super super salty. I couldn't finish mine.

I got the sweet tea glazed chicken. It was okay. The glaze didn't really have any flavor to it. Which was shocking cause after the soup I thought it would be super sweet. The chicken was dunked in the glaze and by the end of the meal the breading was coming off the chicken. Should have asked for the glaze on the side.

My husband got the shrimp and grits and he said they were ok.

Husband and I both agreed that everything kinda tasted "canned" or "processed". Shame.

First time and probably last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

The food was excellent! Service was pre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was excellent! Service was pretty good and the quaintness this local)k

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome food and service! Kendra was gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Awesome food and service! Kendra was great and all staff friendly!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress and the food were exception ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The waitress and the food were exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great experience wait staff was on ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Had a great experience wait staff was on top of everything, food was really good and good pricing will make this a regular place to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I brought my sister here for her graduat ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I brought my sister here for her graduation dinner and it was her first time eating at a non fast food/sports bar restaurant. Her review would have been all 5 stars and that is what's important to me. However, I was not too impressed. James is a wonderful server, extremely timely and personable. The difference her menu however was just okay and I've eaten a similar menu at better places. The crab dip was amazing I could have easily eaten it for the entire dinner! But the shrimp and grits was missing something crucial. I've eaten this dish done a million different ways and still there's always that flavor that brings me back home, it's the sole reason I order the dish. As far as the sides go their potato salad is the biggest disappointment ever. The potatoes were extremely over cooked and it ruined the entire dish. The cake took me out of this world. My sister begged me to buy it and bring it home but I know we'd both eat ourselves sick with sweets!!!! I will definitely return for breakfast one day but dinner? Never again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We were very disappointed. The waiter di ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were very disappointed. The waiter didn't know the menu at all. He said he normally worked breakfasts and was unable to explain different dishes we asked about.We were there for a birthday dinner with no acknowledgement from them. The desserts were stale and should have been thrown out. Alot of other choices to pick from so I will not go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Thanksgiving meal was good. Staff very ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving meal was good. Staff very attentive. Great that they still offered a full menu so that others in our party could order something else.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We didn't have silverware till we got ou ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We didn't have silverware till we got our food like 3mins. We asked 2 servers to bring it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

I have been to the location in Summervil ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I have been to the location in Summerville twice and both times the service and food has been great. Their catfish and sweet tea chicken are to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a new addition to the Toast chain. ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It's a new addition to the Toast chain. Overall they have some work to do in food prep and quality. I know that Chef and the Charleston Hospitality Group can get them where they need to be...I'll give it some time then try again!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

I made the reservation with Toast at and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I made the reservation with Toast at and when I got there is was close. This is not a good look for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

ONE OF THE FEW PLACES WE'VE BEEN WHERE E ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

ONE OF THE FEW PLACES WE'VE BEEN WHERE EVERY PART OF THE MEAL WAS ON POINT. WE ENJOYED EVERYTHING

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

2nd time and 2nd time disappointed. Cra ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

2nd time and 2nd time disappointed. Crab dip very fishy, food not hot temperature , cake stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were unhappy with the room we were as ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were unhappy with the room we were assigned: no air conditioning; the waiter assigned to us provided no silverware settings or water; the food we received had to be sent back because it was cold by the time we received our silverware; staff, in general, seemed unaware we were waiting for service---very unprofessional and lax. They were having a bad night. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

An everyday place with average food. Ser ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 2, 2016

An everyday place with average food. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

The food was good, server was nice, noth ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was good, server was nice, nothing extraordinary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

june 10

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Highly unusual for a Friday night, Toast in Summerville was not busy. The main dining room was almost full; one table in the dining area to the right was full; and two people at the bar. We were seated immediately in the dining room to the right and soon were the only two in there. Ashley quickly took our drink order and returned with only one straw. We offered an appetizer order and still did not get a straw. Within a few minutes our appetizer of Fried Green Tomatoes came - it was delicious, as usual.

When Ashley returned for our supper order, she still did not have a straw but before taking our order went to get one.

She returned, took our order, then left. We flagged down the appetizer server to bring us more water.

Our meals came and Ashley asked if the appetizer server had gotten us water! Really? Isn't that her job?

Of course, the food was really good. But for not being busy, I was extremely disappointed in the service.

We will go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We went for dinner it was fair nothing t ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We went for dinner it was fair nothing to excite your senses was hoping it would be as good for dinner as it is for breakfast and brunch but no such luck. I think we will only try breakfast type foods here from now on. They do serve breakfast all day so if I feel the need I can have breakfast for dinner

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Chevy in China were great hosts

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2016

I had a great time at toastChevy in China were great hosts

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The staff, the food, the atmosphere! We will definitely be coming back! Thanks for a great first experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Toast Summerville is a hidden gem

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Toast is known for it's brunch which I have yet to enjoy, but the dinner I had the other night will bring me back. Tasty meal, decent price, a little loud at times but an enjoyable meal. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Easter Brunch

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was excellent. An opportunity to try different menu items.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent Easter Brunch Experience

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our Easter brunch at Toast in Summerville. The food was good and plentiful. It was quite crowded, but other than that it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great, but overall needs work

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Appetizer arrived 45 minutes after we ordered it. Beef tenderloin was ordered Medium. Came out Rare. Sent it back and it was slightly more done (but still not Medium). Husband Said it had good flavor, just wish it was more done. My fried fish was good. We both loved the mashed potatoes. Dessert was the best part. Manager comped the appetizer and my husbands meal without us asking for any concession. She also comped the dessert as an additional apology for the snafu with the food. The service was really good. Had several servers and managers check on us throughout the night. Will give them one more shot to get it "right".

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Disaster

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service beyond slow. Entrée was raw. Replacement entrée too many onions and too many fries. When I asked for mayonnaise, I received sweet icing.

Management needs to make sure the chef(?) knows the difference between raw chicken and cooked chicken. Also needs to train his/ her servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Not for Valentines

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 13, 2016

valentines day not a good time to try this place, even with a reservation.

several couples almost walked out.

waited over an hour for food.

seating not very good, just slammed together.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Strange Experience

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had been to Toast previously and probably would not have returned. However, we had been given a gift certificate, and decided to have dinner there. When we arrived the place was almost empty, we couldn't understand what at 7pm on Saturday. The food turned out to be surprisingly very good. The waitress was not very attentive, as she was very busy gabbing with the kitchen staff. Even though there were few customers we had to wave our hand to get her attention when she forgot to credit the gift certificate onto the bill. Then she had to ask the manager how to do it. This was an Open Table Certificate, but she stated that she had never seen one before. The Toast in downtown Charleston is a different kind of place. I don't know what's wrong with the Summerville location. If they don't do better they will soon go out of business, just as the two previous restaurants at that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Not Quite what I was expecting

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2016

When we picked out Toast for dinner, we picked it due to the star ratings. When we walked into the restaurant, it was cute and quaint and the host was friendly. He apologized for not having our table ready, which was not necessary but it was nice. We came during Restaurant Week in hopes to try something delicious. The salad was good. The dinner was nothing spectacular. We ordered the special that night, Prime Rib cooked medium rare and it came out well done and loaded with fat. I guess since it was on special, you didnt get the best cuts. The desert we tried, Peach Cobbler. It was just ok as well. The cobbler was actually bland and a little dry. We were glad it had ice cream on the side. The food was ok but we will not be back. There are way to many other restaurants that stand out. Sorry if this review upsets anyone. I just was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This was a special occasion as it was my ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2016

This was a special occasion as it was my wife's birthday. She order the Beef Tenderloin. The beef was thin and tiny, but cooked properly. The vegetables Zucchini and Squash were overcooked and mushy. I order the restaurant week special - Rib eye Steak. The shape was odd, thin on one side and thick on the other. Part of the steak was well done and the other medium. The flavor was good. They ran out of desert and after two tries of ordering desert the waitress said she would substitute with cheesecake. So I said it was my wife's birthday and she offered to put in extra piece in the bag. Obviously, the piece was cut in half as it was triangle shape and no more than 1 inch at it's widest to razor thin at tip. The experience was not what I expected as I have heard very good reviews about the restaurant downtown. Sorry I have to be so brutally honest but the special occasion was ruined for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome Gem found during Restaurant Week

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2016

My fiancé and I had never heard of this restaurant but were looking for somewhere to eat that was close to home during Restaurant Week. We were happy with the food choices, the drink choices and the atmosphere. Our waitress was amazing and so attentive. She could tell from across the room that we needed something before we even said anything. It was great. I would definitely recommend Toast - Summerville for a casual dinner out or a date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was really good and the portion ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 14, 2015

The food was really good and the portions were large. My boyfriend and I shared the crab and shrimp nachos and white truffle fries. We thought we would then be hungry for our mains but I ended up getting mine to go. We got the crab cake sandwiches and they were great too. Our waitress never checked in with us, and it was loud, would still return for the food. Good with gluten free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Meatloaf Dinner

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2015

the meatloaf and mashed potatoes were loaded with salt, as was inappropriate gravy

gravy for meatloaf is brown NOT the grayish paste that is served with biscuits for breakfast

My friends enjoyed their meals but mine was just beyond belief

I have eaten here before and enjoyed the food immensely - this was a surprise

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Best steak for the price

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 10, 2015

We both had the steak and it was surprisingly good for the price of $15.95. We had had the steak about a month before and were happy to find that it wasn't just good fortune that we enjoyed the beef on our first visit as the second steak was equally good. Had a nice house salad that is probably more than most will eat, but good. Also split the cheesecake dessert and itw as very nice too. One fault I find is that the bar doesn't make a very good martini. Guess the crowd that comes here isn't the martini type! All in all a good meal with good service at a good price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Disappointed in Summerville

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2015

This was the third time we visited this establishment, this time with out of town guest. Our guest wanted shrimp and grits and I recommended Toast as I love them there. Well after we received our meal I began to notice the Shrimp and grits were no where near what they were in my previous visits, in fact they were tasteless. I was a little embarrassed to say the least after raving about the meal. I asked our waitress if there was a new chief and she informed me there was, I told her the meal was a let down, she offered to get us something else but we refused as to not to cause a hassle for her. Will we return? I'm not sure yet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

NOT a dinner spot

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2015

Went for dinner. The "shrimp scampi" was not that at all. Basically cool penne in a bland sauce with some shrimp thrown on top. Get a salad if your not there for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Very hot in the restaurant. Appetizers ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 21, 2015

Very hot in the restaurant. Appetizers were great but our food was ok. Chicken was over cooked, hard to even cut through.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.