About Toast - Summerville

717 Old Trolley Road
Summerville, SC 29485
View Larger Map

The famous Toast of Charleston restaurant is now open in Summerville! Toast of Summerville offers the same great food and service that Toast of Charleston has become famous for.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Wednesday: 7:00am-10:00pm
Tuesday-Saturday: 7:00am-11:00pm
Sunday: 7:00am-5:00pm

Cross Street:
Brandy Mill Rd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 900-4422

Website:
http://www.toastofsummerville.com/

Parking Details:
We offer out guests a parking lot.

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Open on Father's Day!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast - Summerville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
South Carolina
Great for Lunch
South Carolina
Best Restaurants in Summerville ›

great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
See All
good for groups (5)
kid-friendly (4)
special occasion (4)
fit for foodies (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
romantic (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
92 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chevy in China were great hosts

Dined on April 27, 2016

I had a great time at toastChevy in China were great hosts

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The staff, the food, the atmosphere! We will definitely be coming back! Thanks for a great first experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Toast Summerville is a hidden gem

Dined on April 15, 2016

Toast is known for it's brunch which I have yet to enjoy, but the dinner I had the other night will bring me back. Tasty meal, decent price, a little loud at times but an enjoyable meal. We will be back!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was excellent. An opportunity to try different menu items.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Easter Brunch Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our Easter brunch at Toast in Summerville. The food was good and plentiful. It was quite crowded, but other than that it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was great, but overall needs work

Dined on February 27, 2016

Appetizer arrived 45 minutes after we ordered it. Beef tenderloin was ordered Medium. Came out Rare. Sent it back and it was slightly more done (but still not Medium). Husband Said it had good flavor, just wish it was more done. My fried fish was good. We both loved the mashed potatoes. Dessert was the best part. Manager comped the appetizer and my husbands meal without us asking for any concession. She also comped the dessert as an additional apology for the snafu with the food. The service was really good. Had several servers and managers check on us throughout the night. Will give them one more shot to get it "right".

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Disaster

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service beyond slow. Entrée was raw. Replacement entrée too many onions and too many fries. When I asked for mayonnaise, I received sweet icing. Management needs to make sure the chef(?) knows the difference between raw chicken and cooked chicken. Also needs to train his/ her servers.

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Not for Valentines

Dined on February 13, 2016

valentines day not a good time to try this place, even with a reservation. several couples almost walked out. waited over an hour for food. seating not very good, just slammed together.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Strange Experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had been to Toast previously and probably would not have returned. However, we had been given a gift certificate, and decided to have dinner there. When we arrived the place was almost empty, we couldn't understand what at 7pm on Saturday. The food turned out to be surprisingly very good. The waitress was not very attentive, as she was very busy gabbing with the kitchen staff. Even though there were few customers we had to wave our hand to get her attention when she forgot to credit the gift certificate onto the bill. Then she had to ask the manager how to do it. This was an Open Table Certificate, but she stated that she had never seen one before. The Toast in downtown Charleston is a different kind of place. I don't know what's wrong with the Summerville location. If they don't do better they will soon go out of business, just as the two previous restaurants at that location.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not Quite what I was expecting

Dined on January 16, 2016

When we picked out Toast for dinner, we picked it due to the star ratings. When we walked into the restaurant, it was cute and quaint and the host was friendly. He apologized for not having our table ready, which was not necessary but it was nice. We came during Restaurant Week in hopes to try something delicious. The salad was good. The dinner was nothing spectacular. We ordered the special that night, Prime Rib cooked medium rare and it came out well done and loaded with fat. I guess since it was on special, you didnt get the best cuts. The desert we tried, Peach Cobbler. It was just ok as well. The cobbler was actually bland and a little dry. We were glad it had ice cream on the side. The food was ok but we will not be back. There are way to many other restaurants that stand out. Sorry if this review upsets anyone. I just was not impressed.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This was a special occasion as it was my ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

This was a special occasion as it was my wife's birthday. She order the Beef Tenderloin. The beef was thin and tiny, but cooked properly. The vegetables Zucchini and Squash were overcooked and mushy. I order the restaurant week special - Rib eye Steak. The shape was odd, thin on one side and thick on the other. Part of the steak was well done and the other medium. The flavor was good. They ran out of desert and after two tries of ordering desert the waitress said she would substitute with cheesecake. So I said it was my wife's birthday and she offered to put in extra piece in the bag. Obviously, the piece was cut in half as it was triangle shape and no more than 1 inch at it's widest to razor thin at tip. The experience was not what I expected as I have heard very good reviews about the restaurant downtown. Sorry I have to be so brutally honest but the special occasion was ruined for us.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Gem found during Restaurant Week

Dined on January 14, 2016

My fiancé and I had never heard of this restaurant but were looking for somewhere to eat that was close to home during Restaurant Week. We were happy with the food choices, the drink choices and the atmosphere. Our waitress was amazing and so attentive. She could tell from across the room that we needed something before we even said anything. It was great. I would definitely recommend Toast - Summerville for a casual dinner out or a date night.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was really good and the portion ...

Dined on December 14, 2015

The food was really good and the portions were large. My boyfriend and I shared the crab and shrimp nachos and white truffle fries. We thought we would then be hungry for our mains but I ended up getting mine to go. We got the crab cake sandwiches and they were great too. Our waitress never checked in with us, and it was loud, would still return for the food. Good with gluten free.

food1
ambience5
service5

Meatloaf Dinner

Dined on November 9, 2015

the meatloaf and mashed potatoes were loaded with salt, as was inappropriate gravy gravy for meatloaf is brown NOT the grayish paste that is served with biscuits for breakfast My friends enjoyed their meals but mine was just beyond belief I have eaten here before and enjoyed the food immensely - this was a surprise

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Best steak for the price

Dined on October 10, 2015

We both had the steak and it was surprisingly good for the price of $15.95. We had had the steak about a month before and were happy to find that it wasn't just good fortune that we enjoyed the beef on our first visit as the second steak was equally good. Had a nice house salad that is probably more than most will eat, but good. Also split the cheesecake dessert and itw as very nice too. One fault I find is that the bar doesn't make a very good martini. Guess the crowd that comes here isn't the martini type! All in all a good meal with good service at a good price.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service5

Disappointed in Summerville

Dined on September 12, 2015

This was the third time we visited this establishment, this time with out of town guest. Our guest wanted shrimp and grits and I recommended Toast as I love them there. Well after we received our meal I began to notice the Shrimp and grits were no where near what they were in my previous visits, in fact they were tasteless. I was a little embarrassed to say the least after raving about the meal. I asked our waitress if there was a new chief and she informed me there was, I told her the meal was a let down, she offered to get us something else but we refused as to not to cause a hassle for her. Will we return? I'm not sure yet.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4

NOT a dinner spot

Dined on August 1, 2015

Went for dinner. The "shrimp scampi" was not that at all. Basically cool penne in a bland sauce with some shrimp thrown on top. Get a salad if your not there for brunch

food3
ambience3
service5

Very hot in the restaurant. Appetizers ...

Dined on June 21, 2015

Very hot in the restaurant. Appetizers were great but our food was ok. Chicken was over cooked, hard to even cut through.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely service

vip
Dined on June 17, 2015

Visited for lunch after touring Magnolia Planation. We were welcomed with open arms and offered great suggestions from the menu. Enjoyed chatting with the people who work there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Breakfast!

Dined on June 13, 2015

Very good Breakfast, nice portions and great service. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Southern innovation

Dined on June 12, 2015

Never thought I would see a restaurant that would take southern food and make it different and delicious. You still have your traditional, but with the traditional you have sauces and seasonings that are different but good. I would go here again and continue trying their foods. The indoor setting is bright and welcoming. The only disappointing thing is the outdoor patio is next to a busy street. Very noisy and distracting. The service was awesome. The waiter was very responsive and friendly. The hostess was great with the kids, showing them around and listening to their questions.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1

The food was not that good and the serve ...

Dined on June 6, 2015

The food was not that good and the server was awful. It took her 10 minutes to just bring us drinks. I would not go back and would not recommend it to anyone. This is sad because it came highly recommended and we were all disappointed. Also I ordered the shrimp wrap and the waitress promised there were no onions in it since I am allergic and when the food came there were onions in the food. Very disappointed.

food2
ambience3
service5

The service was AWESOME. I had shrimp an ...

Dined on May 16, 2015

The service was AWESOME. I had shrimp and grits which was pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner

Dined on April 20, 2015

Our waitress Amanda was great. Food was good and quick. Perfect dinner evening.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Breakfast - Dinner not so Great

Dined on April 4, 2015

This is the first time my husband and I had dinner at Toast. We have had breakfast there several times and have never been disappointed, food was excellent. But we were very disappointed with the dinner that was served. I got fried shrimp and they were advertised on menu as being "fan-tailed shrimp". I always thought fan-tailed shrimp were large shrimp, I could be wrong. But the shrimp we were served were little shrimp. They were okay but the mashed potatoes that I got as a side was cold, not warm - - COLD. I love mashed potatoes, but cold?? I don't think so. And the Asparagus was just warm. Overall, I was very disappointed in my meal. My husband got fried shrimp, fish and french fries. The fries were warm. I will say that my Caesar salad was wonderful. We did have a coupon for our meal, otherwise, I would have been very upset paying a premium price for a meal that was far from premium. We will go back for Breakfast, but Dinner . . . . I don't think so.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food!

Dined on April 1, 2015

The shrimp gumbo was great! The server was excellent and I always had a full glass of tea.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Tiki Vietri

Dined on March 27, 2015

Great restaurant, reasonable prices and very good service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

Why go back ?

Dined on March 4, 2015

To be fair my wife had the fried catfish. She said it was hot,crisp,and tasty. I had the steak which I asked for medium rare more towards the rare side. It was painfully thin and very over cooked. Not a hint of pink to be found. I sent it back and received a new piece which was still somewhat over cooked to my liking but I kept. It was tasteless and loaded with fat and gristle. Not an enjoyable evening. Our server Crystal was very nice and pleasant. With all the great eateries in summerville like Oscars,Red Pepper,Crystal Ice House,Italy,and Eva's on main there is no reason to return to toast at all.

food4
ambience3
service4

Wait for a table, then good food, good service

Dined on February 28, 2015

When we arrived for a 6:30 Open Table reservation we were told the kitchen was backed up and that we could not be seated until the back up cleared. We went into the bar and ordered wine while we waited . The bar tender was friendly, pleasant and very busy. The lighting in the bar was just right for a Saturday night. We were seated after about a 30 minute wait. The menu had a lot of variety and we settled on the Sweet Tea Fried Chicken with collards and grits and Fried Shrimp with mashed potatoes and green beans . The chicken was delicious, though I wished for a bit more of the sweet tea glaze. The collards were good and the grits a good consistency. The shrimp was also well done. The lighting in the main room of the restaurant, unlike the bar, gave the feel of a family restaurant. We bypassed the desserts, but they looked delicious. We would go back to Toast of Summerville, but at a less busy time. 30 minutes to be seated with an Open Table reservation was a first for us! The food and service were very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

The food is sodium crazy!

Dined on February 28, 2015

I've eaten here 2 time's before and the food has gotten worse each and every time. This third time I went the food was so salty! I'm talking about so salty that it was not edible. I thought maybe it was just my sweet tea glazed chicken but my mother's fish was just as salty. Then I tried my son's chicken fingers and they were very salty to. So I could only conclude that whoever made the batter there dropped a whole jar of salt into it. We did not want our meals and sent them back. The staff was very understanding, apologized, and did not charge us. While the restaurant is nice and the ambiance is cool to, we will more than likely not be coming back for a fourth time.

food3
ambience4
service4

Great ambience ,cold food

Dined on February 14, 2015

We went for valentines day dinner and thought they did a good job with no overbooking or rushing you. They had a valentine menu that was very nice by we chose somethin off the regular menu. The sweet tea glazed chicken was good! A little overlooked and not enough glaze for 2 pieces.my collard greens an asparagus was cold. My husbands meatloaf portion was small for dinner. The waitress and staff were all wonderful and dressed really nice. We are foodies and loved finding this little spot. I believe we may go back and try breakfast!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

Dined on February 14, 2015

Our Valentines Day visit was our first time to Toast. After reviewing their online menu options, we were looking forward to our visit there and had each pretty much decided what we would order. As it turned out, ordering from the regular menu was not an option. We were instead given a special occasion menu that, in my opinion, was misleading, poorly written, and finally, for what we got, was overpriced. As written, for $ 29.95 per person, it appeared that each had of us could "choose one" from the 2 available appetizers listed at the top of the page, and then "choose one" from the 2 main courses shown at the bottom. As it turned out, that the "choose one" in the apps area actually meant one per couple. Surprisingly, a small house salad with basic dressing choices was included but not mentioned on the menu. We both chose the filet from the bottom. Luckily, we did not have to share the second choice. Although tender and perfectly cooked, it was small and very thin - less than 1/2" thick. It was served over purple potatoes that had little flavor and asparagus on the side. Surprisingly afterwards, a dessert choice also not mentioned on the menu, turned out to be one of two types of cupcakes. The icing was the best part, but the actual cupcakes were nothing special and on the dry side. We definitely won't make another reservation there for a special occasion, but after speaking with our daughter, she advises they are great for breakfast. Maybe we'll try that some day when a normal menu applies.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent find

Dined on February 14, 2015

This was a great find to enjoy some southern classic meals. My wife loved the sweet tea fried chicken while I enjoyed the mixed grill with red rice and collard greens. And the cornbread was the best I've ever eaten. We'll be visiting again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service4

Disappointing

Dined on February 13, 2015

Poor ambience though we requested a 'cozy' table/booth; loud and cold. The waitress did turn off the fans. The appetizer was good (spinach and artichoke). My entrée was cold (crab cakes); this was remedied and they were good overall in taste...My husband's selections were poor...He wanted a filet and (at 6 pm) was informed they were out. He then requested a NY Strip that "did not taste right" (and was returned)...He then ordered Shrimp Scampi; it was served with penne pasta (with few shrimp, excessive noodles and either zucchini or squash all mixed together; very unusual)...The cornbread was excellent and the waitress (Christy) was excellent (and apologized repeatedly...It was not her fault...We were so looking forward to this experience. He will never return. I might try another attempt. I did expect 'quality dining.'

food2
ambience2
service5

I've eaten at Summerville TOAST twice now.

Dined on January 25, 2015

My breakfast experience at TOAST was not great -- my poached egg had to be the smallest egg I've ever seen served at a restaurant; the bottomless coffee was weak; and the tab was ridiculously expensive for a basic breakfast. Dinner at TOAST was considerably better, especially the service. The restaurant, unfortunately was cold. The food was okay. I wouldn't recommend this spot.

food4
ambience5
service5

impressed

vip
Dined on January 24, 2015

Great location, very nice inside, excellent service and food was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4

We were not Happy with our $90 dinner for 3.

Dined on January 16, 2015

Our soup was not impressive, not hot, basically broth and vegetables, not much flavor. My husband and I had the shrimp and grits. There was not enough flavor or spices in this meal. We both added salt, which I don't do, but the meal needed something. My son ordered the chicken. His cheese grits were cold with unmelted cheese. They were not creamy or flavored. His chicken looked as though it had been fried too long. Our dessert was a total failure. We both had peach cobbler which was awful. It was cold, very dry with a minute amount of peaches. My son ordered cheese cake, which he enjoyed. The waitress asked us if we wanted his peach cobbler to take home, since we paid for it. My husband said yes, but after receiving our peach cobbler, we left it on the table, because it was terrible. Sorry to say, I don't think I will get my husband back in your restaurant. I understand this was Restaurant Week. I feel you were cutting costs at our expense. We ordered pimento cheese as an appetizer and one cheesecake. For $90 we could have enjoyed the food and ambiance of Middleton Place during Restaurant Week. There are too many restaurants in our area to be dissatisfied for $90.

food2
ambience3
service1

food was late

Dined on January 16, 2015

waited 45 min for our food even thought the restaruant was not busy

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place

Dined on January 15, 2015

My husband and I love going here for brunch dates and dinner dates. The food is amazing and the people are great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed it!

Dined on January 11, 2015

We are trying to find restaurants that are closer to our home in Summerville and found this on Open Table. Knew that Toast was great for breakfast and decided to try dinner. Food was really good! I had the best meatloaf EVER! Totally melt in your mouth. Even my picky husband was impressed with it. We had reservations for 7:30 and they were really busy when we got there so we had to wait another 15 minutes or so but they kept apologizing for the wait and they made up for that with the service. Service was excellent. We will definately be going back. Also, I had the best coconut mojito ever!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.