About Toast Birmingham

203 Pierce Street
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Casual comfortable yet whimsical atmosphere featuring a cozy outdoor patio and the open air living room setting of the "Blue Room". Serving artfully prepared, progressive American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, an eclectic wine list, craft cocktails, extensive local craft beer list, local music and the friendliest service!

Award winning Executive Chef Myles McVay joined the Toast team in January 2013. His use of unique ingredients; wild cultivated mushrooms, sustainable products, local produce, naturally grown and sustainable proteins adds an exciting take on the already Award winning Toast kitchen.Chef McVay was named one of the top 3 young chefs in Michigan. Awarded Best Breakfast in Detroit area for the 12th year in a row. Awarded "Neighborhood Gem" and Diner Choice Award by Open Table for the second year. Named "Best Restaurants in Michigan" , Urban Spoon, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Patio Seating and Open Air dining
Winter Hours
Breakfast: Monday: 7am - 4pm Tue - Friday: 7:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Except Sunday

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 258-6278

Website:
http://www.eatattoast.com/

Catering:
Contact: Catering@eatattoast.com

Host at Toast, No matter the occasion, our staff works with you to create a memorable occasion featuring unique cuisine and a high level of service! The Blue room at Toast is a wonderful venue for more intimate gatherings or meetings. It Can service 35 seated and 60 people for a cocktail party or passed Hors d'oeuvres affair. Whether an Evening Party, Lunch with Friends, Business meeting or Family celebration; Toast offers a distinct dining experience.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking and public lot is less than a block away and is free for first two hours!

Executive Chef:
Myles McVay

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate 20 - 50 for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Tony Minicilli: 734-716-4405x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (26)
great for brunch (24)
fit for foodies (24)
See All
great for lunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (11)
good for groups (10)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (8)
special occasion (6)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice atmosphere. large portions. many ...

Dined 3 days ago

nice atmosphere. large portions. many selections to choose from. i had the greek omelette and liked the pine nuts that were part of the recipe. the portion was large enough to share. also ordered the cinnamon challah that was very good. my friend had thebreakfast burrito that was also huge.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was horrible, which is especiall ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Service was horrible, which is especially disappointing because the food was quite good.

food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Toast is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Toast is one of our favorite restaurants in Birmingham, but Saturday night was a disappointment. The service was very slow and three of the entrees were uncooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen at which point the fourth in our party was finished with his meal. No offer for a discount or dessert from the manager.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mixed Reviews

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We have had many great brunches, including great tasting cocktails at Toast. That's why we decided to head to toast on a Friday fro cocktails and dinner. My girlfriend's Bird of Paradise Friday night tasted very different from the drink we had a couple weekends ago at brunch. Either the mixer or the proportions were different. The server offered to take it off the bill, but I decided to drink it anyway, and ordered something else for my gf. The replacement drink was a special request - the blueberry margarita with vodka instead of tequila. Unfortunately, the drink came with tequila. We just decided to cut our losses and head elsewhere.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Table was not comfortable. Good was deli ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Table was not comfortable. Good was delicious but expensive Service was great.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Three couples had a great dinner on a busy Saturday night. Andrew was a great server, helpful and attentive. Everyone was pleased with both food and beverage. Only negative was that one sofa was fine; the other needed to be re-done with firmer cushions. Made for one side of diners eating at chin level!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

This is one of my favorite places to gra ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

This is one of my favorite places to grab a bite to eat. However this night out original server took about 15 minutes to greet us. My wife and I weren't satisfied with that so we spoke to the manager and got a different server. He was attentive and kind. Made for a much better experience.

food3
ambience5
service5

I got the chicken and waffles, which wer ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I got the chicken and waffles, which were good, but a part of me regrets not getting the ravioli. It was a very large portion, but now I know what to get next time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great. You could actually hold a conversation with your party. The service was great, the waiter was super friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Find

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very unique ambiance. Menu was limited but good. Apparently we didn't realize it was a more of a brunch place. We had the mushroom appetizer. Awesome and unique. They were out of ravioli, so ended up having mac n cheese, since I am vegetarian. But it was about the best Mac N Cheese I have ever had. Also got the order of fries. Didn't need ketchup!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Got the egg benny with salmon Came wit ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Got the egg benny with salmon Came with potatoes. Meal was amazing! Highly recommended!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Overall review

Dined on March 8, 2016

The restaurant was not appropriate decorated. The flashing lights on the arrow sign especially did not fit. The foo d was OK - I have had better in nearby restaurants.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I have gone to Toast for breakfast many times, never dinner. This was our first! We had such a nice dinner, the food was incredible! It wasn't too crowded on a Saturday night which was pretty cool. All in all I would highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

not very good

Dined on February 28, 2016

the food tasted microwaved. one of the meals was fine and the dessert was nothing to write home about. They had these naan bread dippers and brought only a few pieces and then charged us when we asked for more of those bread pieces, that is fine to try that stunt, but makes me think of the place as classless.

food1
ambience2
service3

Awful. The mushroom ravioli was almost l ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Awful. The mushroom ravioli was almost literally tasteless. Crispy cheese grits were okay but the entree was so disappointing. Three tiny ravioli that tasted like absolutely nothing. If I had not added the ham (an extra $5) it would have had no taste whatsoever. Prices were over the top. Soup was tinny and sour. Service was poor. It was obvious we we assigned a rookie server and he forgot most of our requests. Do NOT waste your time or money here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Timer

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first time to Toast and really enjoyed our experience. We had just been to NY and wanted to find a comparable hip place with great food. This fit the bill. Even our teenage boys liked it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

That was awesome. Excellent service. M ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

That was awesome. Excellent service. My wife loved the entertainer martini. Steak Oscar was fantastic.

food5
ambience4
service5

Chicken & Waffles!!!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Chicken & Waffles!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and so was the se ...

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

The food was very good and so was the service we had an excellent lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice menu and service. Waiter knew the ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Nice menu and service. Waiter knew the menu and helped with selections. We were seated in a back room with about 5 tables. Would ask for main room next time

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for restaurant week and found the p ...

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Went for restaurant week and found the prix fix menu interesting and varied. 3 of us choice different mains and enjoyed them all! Because of a dairy intolerance the staff graciously altered dessert so that I could enjoy a sweet ending to the meal.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Lunch

Dined on January 21, 2016

Have repeatedly eaten lunch at Toast with friends and have never been disappointed. Their menu is very versatile; between breakfast dishes and lunch dishes. Have never eaten there for dinner. It is a great place to meet friends for a relaxing lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Don't get the ham and cheese waffle.

Dined on January 21, 2016

The ham and cheese waffle was a real disappointment! Tiny cubes of ham inside the waffle with tiny cheese cubes on top. Blah!! Instead opt for the Parisian omelet!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Yummy brunch and lunch

Dined on January 18, 2016

The service was great, even though it was a busy day waitresses are diligent and did not forget to fill up our glasses and whaever we needed. Food is always excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great little place!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Toast is a great restaurant. The menu changes seasonally and is always full of delicious items. The wait staff is excellent. Toast is one of our favorite places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a treat!

Dined on January 8, 2016

Went here for my birthday lunch. There was a crazy wait as always, but we made a reservation and got seated right away. The service was OUTSTANDING. The food was delicious although a little pricey. Had a great experience either way.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Pressed coffee was excellent. Food was t ...

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Pressed coffee was excellent. Food was typical breakfast fare -I had pancakes and turkey sausage which was ok nothing noticeably different than others I've had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Toast

Dined on December 22, 2015

In all the times we have eaten at this restaurant, there has only been one time that I did not like a dish and I sent it back. It was not well made.I noticed it is no longer on the menu. They listen to their customers. The food is innovative. It is not what you would call simple plain food. You have to be willing to take chances. They explain each dish very well and are very attentive to make sure you like it. I always request a wonderful table near the fireplace. You sit On yummy couches with lots of pillows.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Brunch!

Dined on December 13, 2015

This visit was for dinner which was delicious, but I had to give a shout out for brunch since it's my favorite brunch place. My husband and I sat in the room that looks like a living room. It's cozy and is decorated beautifully for the holidays. I had the tomato soup and a lovely salad with grilled chicken. My husband had the mac & cheese. If I wasn't gluten free, I would have stolen it from him.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I'll be back

Dined on December 11, 2015

I've been to Toast more times than I can count, usually for breakfast but occasionally for lunch and dinner. It has become my breakfast cafeteria for early morning meetings. Always outstanding food and excellent service. I'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1

Disappointing...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Food and service is not the same high quality of the Ferndale location. Don't make weekend reservations on-line. The website will take them, but the hostess there doesn't.

food4
ambience3
service4

Nice place for a decent meal

Dined on November 29, 2015

We've been to Toast (Birmingham) a number of times, both for brunch and dinner. We arrived at our appointed reservation time and we were immediately seated, which is rare these days. Our server was friendly and relaxed which always makes the experience good. All meals are well presented and as stated, the waitstaff is friendly and knowledgeable. Our meals were served in a timely manner and we were not rushed or left in the wind at any time. The service was very good. We only had one slight issue and this is directed to the chef. One person in our party ordered the steak cooked medium. It came to the table quite rare. We didn't complain but it was presented in a manner (sliced) in which the chef could see how under-cooked it was. He/She might have just make an effort to make certain it was presented as ordered. Other meals were salmon with a wonderful brussel sprout accompaniment and a mushroom ravioli. Wine list was small but complete and moderately priced. We have no problem recommending Toast to anyone who is looking for a light to mid-light dinner, or a nice brunch.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

good food with excellent service

Dined on November 26, 2015

We were totally unfamiliar with the area, and just wanted something near our hotel that wasn't astronomically expensive. Of course, since it was the Wednesday night before Thanksgiving, everything was mobbed. We stumbled onto Toast online and grabbed an OpenTable reservation right away. Although it was crowded, the service was OUTSTANDING. Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful, especially making sure we found drinks we liked. This, even though the restaurant was very busy. Even the hostesses at the front were friendly and got us seated a little early. We were expecting to be crammed into some expensive place that would rush us out the door to turn over the table; instead we had a very pleasant dining experience. The food was good, creative without crossing over into pretentious. The price was very good for what you got and for the amount of food-- some of the dishes were very large. The overall vibe of the place is definitely hipster but it's a warm, friendly brand of hipster (maybe this is a Michigan thing?). We would definitely go back if we were in the area again, and we'd recommend it to anyone.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

"Toast' of the town.

Dined on November 26, 2015

The shabby chic decor and energetic environment of this eatery is great for a business luncheon, family meal or a special first date. The Staff is is very friendly, the service is great and the food is excellent. Two thumbs up!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a goodie!

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

Always a goodie!

food4
ambience4
service5

Good time; Good food!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Enjoyed our time at Toast Birmingham. A little underwhelmed by the dinner options, but was not disappointed with our meal. Friday Night Reservation @ 8pm was not necessary, as they had open tables and booths. We wanted to be sure our group of four could be seated. The service was easily the best part of the meal. The appetizers were a bit boring, but the meals were more than competent. I would recommend this place again, but I think I will be sticking to Toast for breakfast.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance was great in this unique settin ...

vip
Dined on October 6, 2015

Ambiance was great in this unique setting. Very comfortable with a great menu and topnotch service. We will return when in the area again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Is it wrong to have breakfast for lunch? No!

Dined on September 21, 2015

This is my third time to Toast. I have always loved the service and food, but this was truly exceptional. I brought my parents and brother from out of town and we had a blast. The waitress knew the menu very well and when she noticed my mom was enjoying the little skewer of bloody mary goodies in her drink, she brought her out another skewer of olives and a pickle. As always, the food was delicious. You really can't go wrong with a good omelette and coffee. I go crazy for their bananas foster iced coffee!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great patio

vip
Dined on August 13, 2015

as usual this venue made another birthday celebration amazing ! We toasted with mimosas for the table. We lunched on the Petoskey omelette , the Beet Goes O omelette and a salad . We were there for a coup,e of hours and the server was attentive and mindful of our celebration and kept our energy high !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch with Friends

Dined on August 4, 2015

As always Toast Birmingham proved to be a great place to meet friends for Brunch. The food was delicious and the service was very good. We made a reservation and were promptly seated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.