About Toast Birmingham

203 Pierce Street
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Casual comfortable yet whimsical atmosphere featuring a cozy outdoor patio and the open air living room setting of the "Blue Room". Serving artfully prepared, progressive American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, an eclectic wine list, craft cocktails, extensive local craft beer list, local music and the friendliest service!

Award winning Executive Chef Myles McVay joined the Toast team in January 2013. His use of unique ingredients; wild cultivated mushrooms, sustainable products, local produce, naturally grown and sustainable proteins adds an exciting take on the already Award winning Toast kitchen.Chef McVay was named one of the top 3 young chefs in Michigan. Awarded Best Breakfast in Detroit area for the 12th year in a row. Awarded "Neighborhood Gem" and Diner Choice Award by Open Table for the second year. Named "Best Restaurants in Michigan" , Urban Spoon, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Patio Seating and Open Air dining
Winter Hours
Breakfast: Monday: 7am - 4pm Tue - Friday: 7:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 5:00pm, Except Sunday

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 258-6278

Website:
http://www.eatattoast.com/

Catering:
Contact: Catering@eatattoast.com

Host at Toast, No matter the occasion, our staff works with you to create a memorable occasion featuring unique cuisine and a high level of service! The Blue room at Toast is a wonderful venue for more intimate gatherings or meetings. It Can service 35 seated and 60 people for a cocktail party or passed Hors d'oeuvres affair. Whether an Evening Party, Lunch with Friends, Business meeting or Family celebration; Toast offers a distinct dining experience.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking and public lot is less than a block away and is free for first two hours!

Executive Chef:
Myles McVay

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate 20 - 50 for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Tony Minicilli: 734-716-4405x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Chicken and Waffles
Grilled Cheese & Tomato Soup
Mint Mocha
Grilled Cheese Sandwich & Roasted Tomato Soup
Arnold Palmer
Bloody Mary
Ricotta Gnocchi
Chanterelle Rissotto
Stuffed Butternut S
Cauliflower Skillet
Potato Salad
Cappuccino
Santa Cruz Veggie Wrap
Huevos rancheros
Santa Cruz Veggie Wrap Lunch
Grand Marnier French Toast
Tomato Flatbrea
Eggs Benedict
B Street French Toast
Eggs Benny
Eggs Florentine Benny
Mushroom Roll
Pulled Pork Eggs Benny
Berry Cheesecake Pancakes
Spicy Bloody Mary
Wild Mushroom Omelette with Parmesan and Herb Ricotta
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Crepes
smoked pork belly
Crab Cakes
Steak-Frites
Omelette and Home Fries
breakfast panini
Apple Salad with Chicken
Wild Mushroom Omelette
Hotcakes
Bacon & Gouda Omelette
Granola Mountain French Toast
Cobb Salad With Chicken
Pumpkin Pancakes
Regular Joe Hamburger
Ventura Burger
Caramel Mocha Expresso
Cali Omelette
Parisian Omlett
Carnitas
Turkey and Brie Sandwich with Green Apple, Arugula, Red Onion & Mustard on Ciabatta Roll
Plain Jane French Toast
Steel Cut Oatmeal
Pasta
petosky omelette
Chopped Apple Salad
Picante Omlett
Shrimp Pannela

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (33)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Kid-friendly (7)
Romantic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thinking it was an off night...I usually ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Thinking it was an off night...I usually really like my food here. But I was disappointed in my steak frites last time; it was tough and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was very good. Unfortunately pa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was very good. Unfortunately parking in Birmingham is not.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Toast is always our neighborhood "count ...

vip
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Toast is always our neighborhood "count on", definitely top on our list for breakfast & lunch.. Never disappoints & when weather cooperates, sitting outdoors while your enjoying your meal there is plenty of interesting people watching!

One of the things we like the best is that you can always have breakfast. When either one of us wants an omelette fix, this is it.. The menu provides different creations and you also can create your own.. Order the toast or English muffin and then feast on the homemade peach preserve! Grandma's jar gets competition here!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had breakfast with a friend. Sat outside ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had breakfast with a friend. Sat outside on the patio. Love outdoor dining. The only problem was a food delivery truck was parked right in front of us on the street. The engine was left idling and it was loud and smelly. It was there almost the entire time. We'll make sure not to come back at that time again. Otherwise, everything else was great. I love good customer service, and it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great great greatest

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great great greatest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love going to get brunch with fri ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always love going to get brunch with friends, the atmosphere is great, overall a very pleasant place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The location and service is fantastic! I ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The location and service is fantastic! I prefer them for breakfast over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Dinner was fine. Nothing very memorable ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Dinner was fine. Nothing very memorable. A few people at the table described the food as bland. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious and great service!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy the service and fresh food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Always enjoy the service and fresh food at Toast Birmingham. I cannot comment on the dessert because I am so full from my meal I cannot eat dessert. Fresh delicious coffee too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, but noise too loud

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had delicious omelets for lunch to celebrate two birthdays. Our waiter, Brian, was very fun and thorough. He brought us a banana split with two lite candles for our dessert. We had trouble hearing ourselves talk due to extra loud groups around us. We had to yell at each other.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Usually very happy, but eggs overcooked

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had the French Toast with two scrambled eggs on the side. My friend had an omelet.

I noticed a lot of brown on the outside of his omelet, indicating overcooking. I understand omelets aren't easy. Scrambled eggs should be a slam dunk - fluffy, slightly creamy, with absolutely no brown. All it takes is a little more attention.

Of course, I'll be back to Toast as most everything else is very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently Good with regard to service, food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Consistently good with regard to service, food, ambiance, ease of reservations, etc. My kids and I meet friends at Toast and always enjoy our meals there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice atmosphere. large portions. many ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

nice atmosphere. large portions. many selections to choose from. i had the greek omelette and liked the pine nuts that were part of the recipe. the portion was large enough to share. also ordered the cinnamon challah that was very good. my friend had thebreakfast burrito that was also huge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrible, which is especiall ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was horrible, which is especially disappointing because the food was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Toast is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Toast is one of our favorite restaurants in Birmingham, but Saturday night was a disappointment. The service was very slow and three of the entrees were uncooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen at which point the fourth in our party was finished with his meal. No offer for a discount or dessert from the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Mixed Reviews

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We have had many great brunches, including great tasting cocktails at Toast.

That's why we decided to head to toast on a Friday fro cocktails and dinner.

My girlfriend's Bird of Paradise Friday night tasted very different from the drink we had a couple weekends ago at brunch. Either the mixer or the proportions were different. The server offered to take it off the bill, but I decided to drink it anyway, and ordered something else for my gf.

The replacement drink was a special request - the blueberry margarita with vodka instead of tequila. Unfortunately, the drink came with tequila. We just decided to cut our losses and head elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Table was not comfortable. Good was deli ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Table was not comfortable. Good was delicious but expensive Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Three couples had a great dinner on a busy Saturday night. Andrew was a great server, helpful and attentive. Everyone was pleased with both food and beverage. Only negative was that one sofa was fine; the other needed to be re-done with firmer cushions. Made for one side of diners eating at chin level!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite places to gra ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This is one of my favorite places to grab a bite to eat. However this night out original server took about 15 minutes to greet us. My wife and I weren't satisfied with that so we spoke to the manager and got a different server. He was attentive and kind. Made for a much better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

I got the chicken and waffles, which wer ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

I got the chicken and waffles, which were good, but a part of me regrets not getting the ravioli. It was a very large portion, but now I know what to get next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere!

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was great. You could actually hold a conversation with your party. The service was great, the waiter was super friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Find

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very unique ambiance. Menu was limited but good. Apparently we didn't realize it was a more of a brunch place. We had the mushroom appetizer. Awesome and unique. They were out of ravioli, so ended up having mac n cheese, since I am vegetarian. But it was about the best Mac N Cheese I have ever had. Also got the order of fries. Didn't need ketchup!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Got the egg benny with salmon Came wit ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Got the egg benny with salmon Came with potatoes. Meal was amazing! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Overall review

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

The restaurant was not appropriate decorated. The flashing lights on the arrow sign especially did not fit. The foo d was OK - I have had better in nearby restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Never disappointed

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I have gone to Toast for breakfast many times, never dinner. This was our first! We had such a nice dinner, the food was incredible! It wasn't too crowded on a Saturday night which was pretty cool. All in all I would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

not very good

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

the food tasted microwaved. one of the meals was fine and the dessert was nothing to write home about. They had these naan bread dippers and brought only a few pieces and then charged us when we asked for more of those bread pieces, that is fine to try that stunt, but makes me think of the place as classless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Awful. The mushroom ravioli was almost l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Awful. The mushroom ravioli was almost literally tasteless. Crispy cheese grits were okay but the entree was so disappointing. Three tiny ravioli that tasted like absolutely nothing. If I had not added the ham (an extra $5) it would have had no taste whatsoever. Prices were over the top. Soup was tinny and sour. Service was poor. It was obvious we we assigned a rookie server and he forgot most of our requests. Do NOT waste your time or money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

First Timer

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was our first time to Toast and really enjoyed our experience. We had just been to NY and wanted to find a comparable hip place with great food. This fit the bill. Even our teenage boys liked it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

That was awesome. Excellent service. M ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

That was awesome. Excellent service. My wife loved the entertainer martini. Steak Oscar was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Chicken & Waffles!!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Chicken & Waffles!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was very good and so was the se ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

The food was very good and so was the service we had an excellent lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice menu and service. Waiter knew the ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Nice menu and service. Waiter knew the menu and helped with selections. We were seated in a back room with about 5 tables. Would ask for main room next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for restaurant week and found the p ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Went for restaurant week and found the prix fix menu interesting and varied. 3 of us choice different mains and enjoyed them all! Because of a dairy intolerance the staff graciously altered dessert so that I could enjoy a sweet ending to the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

Have repeatedly eaten lunch at Toast with friends and have never been disappointed. Their menu is very versatile; between breakfast dishes and lunch dishes. Have never eaten there for dinner. It is a great place to meet friends for a relaxing lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't get the ham and cheese waffle.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The ham and cheese waffle was a real disappointment! Tiny cubes of ham inside the waffle with tiny cheese cubes on top. Blah!!

Instead opt for the Parisian omelet!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Yummy brunch and lunch

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

The service was great, even though it was a busy day waitresses are diligent and did not forget to fill up our glasses and whaever we needed. Food is always excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great little place!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Toast is a great restaurant. The menu changes seasonally and is always full of delicious items. The wait staff is excellent. Toast is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a treat!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Went here for my birthday lunch. There was a crazy wait as always, but we made a reservation and got seated right away. The service was OUTSTANDING. The food was delicious although a little pricey.

Had a great experience either way.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pressed coffee was excellent. Food was t ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Pressed coffee was excellent. Food was typical breakfast fare -I had pancakes and turkey sausage which was ok nothing noticeably different than others I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.