About Toast Birmingham

203 Pierce Street
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Casual comfortable yet whimsical atmosphere featuring a cozy outdoor patio and the open air living room setting of the "Blue Room". Serving artfully prepared, progressive American fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner, an eclectic wine list, craft cocktails, extensive local craft beer list, local music and the friendliest service!

Award winning Executive Chef Chris Gadulka joined the Toast team in August 2015. His use of unique ingredients; wild cultivated mushrooms, sustainable products, local produce, naturally grown and sustainable proteins adds an exciting take on the already Award winning Toast kitchen. Awarded Best Breakfast in Detroit area for the 15th year in a row. Awarded "Neighborhood Gem" and Diner Choice Award by Open Table for the second year. Named "Best Restaurants in Michigan" , Urban Spoon, TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Patio Seating and Open Air dining
Winter Hours
Breakfast: Monday: 7am - 4pm Tue - Friday: 7:00am - 3:00pm, Saturday: 8:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday: 8:00am - 4:00pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday : 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm


Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 258-6278

Website:
http://www.eatattoast.com/

Catering:
Contact: Catering@eatattoast.com

Host at Toast, No matter the occasion, our staff works with you to create a memorable occasion featuring unique cuisine and a high level of service! The Blue room at Toast is a wonderful venue for more intimate gatherings or meetings. It Can service 35 seated and 60 people for a cocktail party or passed Hors d'oeuvres affair. Whether an Evening Party, Lunch with Friends, Business meeting or Family celebration; Toast offers a distinct dining experience.

Parking Details:
Plenty of street parking and public lot is less than a block away and is free for first two hours!

Executive Chef:
Myles McVay

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate 20 - 50 for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Tony Minicilli: 734-716-4405x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chicken and Waffles - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Grilled Cheese & Tomato Soup - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Mint Mocha - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Bloody Mary - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Grilled Cheese Sandwich & Roasted Tomato Soup - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Arnold Palmer - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Potato Salad - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Cappuccino - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Santa Cruz Veggie Wrap - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Huevos rancheros - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Santa Cruz Veggie Wrap Lunch - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Ricotta Gnocchi - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Chanterelle Rissotto - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Stuffed Butternut S - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Cauliflower Skillet - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Grand Marnier French Toast - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Tomato Flatbrea - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Eggs Benedict - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
B Street French Toast - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Eggs Benny - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Eggs Florentine Benny - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Mushroom Roll - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Pulled Pork Eggs Benny - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Berry Cheesecake Pancakes - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Spicy Bloody Mary - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Wild Mushroom Omelette with Parmesan and Herb Ricotta  - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Chocolate Chip Pancakes - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Crepes - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
smoked pork belly - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Crab Cakes - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Steak-Frites - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Omelette and Home Fries - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
breakfast panini - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Apple Salad with Chicken - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Wild Mushroom Omelette - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Hotcakes - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Bacon & Gouda Omelette - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Granola Mountain French Toast - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Cobb Salad With Chicken - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Pumpkin Pancakes - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Regular Joe Hamburger - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Ventura Burger - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Caramel Mocha Expresso - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Cali Omelette - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Parisian Omlett - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Carnitas - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Turkey and Brie Sandwich with Green Apple, Arugula, Red Onion & Mustard on Ciabatta Roll - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Plain Jane French Toast - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Steel Cut Oatmeal - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Pasta - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
petosky omelette - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Chopped Apple Salad - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Picante Omlett  - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI
Shrimp Pannela - Toast Birmingham, Birmingham, MI

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Toast Birmingham Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Casual (7)
See All
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food- excellent service and th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Delicious food- excellent service and the upscale and fun atmosphere made the dinner terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall not bad. App's and Caesar salad ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall not bad. App's and Caesar salad were the stars. Steak Frites was under seasoned and lacked flavor. Fries were underdone. Pork Pot Pie - needs serious evaluation. Very greasy lacked any vegetables.

Chicken and dumplings was good but could have had a tad bit more veggies and seasoning.

Our waiter Marco was great - friendly, attentive and was overall great. I would stick with Toast for breakfast/brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was pretty good. The cranberry cre ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food was pretty good. The cranberry cream cheese stuffed french toast is deceiving, there were no cranberries, much to my disappointment. Flavored cream cheese is a bit boring. I should have went for the B street dish, so so much better. The other party eating with me had a veggie burrito which they said was really delicious. So over all, was good

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We ordered soup and an entre each. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We ordered soup and an entre each. The soup was amazing. We had a bit of an issue with the entree's, however. The manager, took care of us, handled the bill and gave us a gift card for the next time we come. He handled it very well, and I would recommend Toast to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have been to Toast many times, and ha ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We have been to Toast many times, and have been spacing out our visits, hoping it would improve. What we loved about it before was that the menu centered around comfort food, creatively prepared - but still true to it's basic identity. This time, my husband had chicken and dumplings - which was more of a soup than a rich stew. Worse yet, the dumplings were heavy and chewy, and the chicken was sparse. I had the fish tacos which were ok, nothing special, accompanied by black eyed peas and overcooked rice. They also seem to have become one of those "metered pour" Birmingham restaurants that serves thimbles full of liquor. I ordered a Manhattan which was served in a large rocks glass with a single large ice cube (not a bad thing) and the liquid level when it was served was 1" - including the ice cube and 2 cherries. Usually when we identify a restaurant that we like but serves "child sized" cocktails, we will do beer, wine, or water, but at this point we just don't like Toast enough to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We went for lunch for my daughter's birt ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We went for lunch for my daughter's birthday. Arriving on time for our reservation we were told there would be at least a 20 minute wait. Being on my lunch hour, this was not welcome news. The manager was very nice and apologized for the inconvenience and offered us free drinks. Our server was lovely and really tried to make our lunch special. Problems: a mug of hot chocolate arrived with lipstick stains and we also had a dirty dessert plate. My daughter order grilled cheese and tomato soup and none of us liked the soup (she loved the grilled cheese.) I order the wild mushroom omelet and was just fair as was the third order of a beet omelet. We ordered the crème brulee donuts for dessert and they tasted stale and there was no crème inside. I've eaten at Toast many times and this time we were very disappointed. I doubt I will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great. Reservation in advance ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was great. Reservation in advance was honored and service great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely not the best dinner scene. I' ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Definitely not the best dinner scene. I'll stick to their brunch/lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Very limited menu and no eggs on menu. M ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very limited menu and no eggs on menu. Menu online is old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was good and it was a new menu. Gr ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was good and it was a new menu. Great comfort food options and Brunch for Dinner options. Good and consistent place for Dinner without the crazy wait times they have at Breakfast and Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I was very excited to go to Toast after ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I was very excited to go to Toast after hearing great things about it. The food was amazing, but the service was horrible, I wish that I could give it negative stars. It was not busy at 7:30 on a Friday night. Our first mistake was asking for a few more minutes to look at the drink menu. Ten minutes later the waitress came back. We ordered our food & drinks at the same time. It took another 10 to get our drinks, which were delivered by the bartender. The food was delivered by two other people. Our MIA waitress checked in ten minutes after our food had arrived. Wish she had visited sooner. My soup was cold and we needed condiments for a burger. I worked service industry so it hard for me to tip less than 20%. I went with 15% even though she really deserved 10%. Maybe service is better for brunch. In the future this place will be on my list of carry out ONLY.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food, attentuve waitstaff.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great food, attentuve waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jennifer, the manager did a great job ma ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Jennifer, the manager did a great job making sure our larger group was accommodated!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not so great

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Not so great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Waitress was blah per usual, food was gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Waitress was blah per usual, food was great, too many gnats and flies buzzing around the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Enjoyable family visit (from out of town ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Enjoyable family visit (from out of town).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

were concerned that the restaurant would ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2016

were concerned that the restaurant wouldn't live up to its good reviews due to the small crowd, but we were pleasantly surprised. We all enjoyed our meals and the shared appetizers!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was not great, would not recommend ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food was not great, would not recommend for eating but nice place to maybe have a glass of wine on outdoor seating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Met a friend for dinner on a weekday. S ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Met a friend for dinner on a weekday. Since it was summer there was seating inside and out.

We sat inside in a cute little room that was quite cozy. Found out it can be used for private parties since it is situated away from the main dining area. The waiter was terrific. Took our drink orders and then asked if we wanted to order or if we weren't in any hurry. Never ever felt rushed. The restaurant wasn't busy so that might have allowed for the more casual approach.

The only downside was the piped in music was rather loud and it really wasn't background music. We asked about any possibility of getting it turned down and were told it wasn't an option. Not a large menu but a sandwich was ordered and an order of pasta. They were both delicious. Will definitely return.

Only metered or structure parking.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have gone to this restaurant twice. On ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 22, 2016

I have gone to this restaurant twice. Once for my birthday and the second time to meet my daughter for lunch. The food was delicious both times. The server was missing in action the second time. Just one cup of coffee and we had to wait, wait for our bill. Still love the restaurant and it was worth the drive from Livonia. I have recommended to friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Thinking it was an off night...I usually ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Thinking it was an off night...I usually really like my food here. But I was disappointed in my steak frites last time; it was tough and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was very good. Unfortunately pa ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was very good. Unfortunately parking in Birmingham is not.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Toast is always our neighborhood "count ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Toast is always our neighborhood "count on", definitely top on our list for breakfast & lunch.. Never disappoints & when weather cooperates, sitting outdoors while your enjoying your meal there is plenty of interesting people watching!

One of the things we like the best is that you can always have breakfast. When either one of us wants an omelette fix, this is it.. The menu provides different creations and you also can create your own.. Order the toast or English muffin and then feast on the homemade peach preserve! Grandma's jar gets competition here!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

good menu. service excellent. very crow ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 31, 2016

good menu. service excellent. very crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had breakfast with a friend. Sat outside ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Had breakfast with a friend. Sat outside on the patio. Love outdoor dining. The only problem was a food delivery truck was parked right in front of us on the street. The engine was left idling and it was loud and smelly. It was there almost the entire time. We'll make sure not to come back at that time again. Otherwise, everything else was great. I love good customer service, and it didn't disappoint.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great great greatest

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great great greatest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love going to get brunch with fri ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Always love going to get brunch with friends, the atmosphere is great, overall a very pleasant place to go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The location and service is fantastic! I ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2016

The location and service is fantastic! I prefer them for breakfast over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Dinner was fine. Nothing very memorable ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Dinner was fine. Nothing very memorable. A few people at the table described the food as bland. Service was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious and great service!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy the service and fresh food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Always enjoy the service and fresh food at Toast Birmingham. I cannot comment on the dessert because I am so full from my meal I cannot eat dessert. Fresh delicious coffee too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, but noise too loud

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had delicious omelets for lunch to celebrate two birthdays. Our waiter, Brian, was very fun and thorough. He brought us a banana split with two lite candles for our dessert. We had trouble hearing ourselves talk due to extra loud groups around us. We had to yell at each other.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Usually very happy, but eggs overcooked

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had the French Toast with two scrambled eggs on the side. My friend had an omelet.

I noticed a lot of brown on the outside of his omelet, indicating overcooking. I understand omelets aren't easy. Scrambled eggs should be a slam dunk - fluffy, slightly creamy, with absolutely no brown. All it takes is a little more attention.

Of course, I'll be back to Toast as most everything else is very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently Good with regard to service, food

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Consistently good with regard to service, food, ambiance, ease of reservations, etc. My kids and I meet friends at Toast and always enjoy our meals there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice atmosphere. large portions. many ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 24, 2016

nice atmosphere. large portions. many selections to choose from. i had the greek omelette and liked the pine nuts that were part of the recipe. the portion was large enough to share. also ordered the cinnamon challah that was very good. my friend had thebreakfast burrito that was also huge.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was horrible, which is especiall ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was horrible, which is especially disappointing because the food was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Toast is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Toast is one of our favorite restaurants in Birmingham, but Saturday night was a disappointment. The service was very slow and three of the entrees were uncooked and had to be sent back to the kitchen at which point the fourth in our party was finished with his meal. No offer for a discount or dessert from the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Mixed Reviews

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We have had many great brunches, including great tasting cocktails at Toast.

That's why we decided to head to toast on a Friday fro cocktails and dinner.

My girlfriend's Bird of Paradise Friday night tasted very different from the drink we had a couple weekends ago at brunch. Either the mixer or the proportions were different. The server offered to take it off the bill, but I decided to drink it anyway, and ordered something else for my gf.

The replacement drink was a special request - the blueberry margarita with vodka instead of tequila. Unfortunately, the drink came with tequila. We just decided to cut our losses and head elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Table was not comfortable. Good was deli ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Table was not comfortable. Good was delicious but expensive Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Three couples had a great dinner on a busy Saturday night. Andrew was a great server, helpful and attentive. Everyone was pleased with both food and beverage. Only negative was that one sofa was fine; the other needed to be re-done with firmer cushions. Made for one side of diners eating at chin level!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.