About TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Enjoy a causal or business lunch with us at TJ’s Lunch Room and Bistro. TJ’s is focused with you in mind; enjoy a causal get together with friends or a quiet business lunch where you can get work done and enjoy delicious cuisine. Enjoy dinner service in a contemporary bistro but historic setting. TJ’s is a Southern Bistro featuring fresh local flair including seasonal items such as southern shrimp and grits and fried green tomatoes with hand pulled mozzarella. Enjoy the view and grandeur of the rotunda while you dine. Beverage service includes a focus on craft breweries, hand-made cocktails and a rustic wine list. We are committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood wherever possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Mon - Fri: 6:30am - 10:00am; Sat: 7:00am - 11:00am;

Sun: 7:00am - 12:00pm

LUNCH: Mon - Fri: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Sat: 11:30am - 2:00pm


BRUNCH: Sunday seatings: 10:30am, 11:00am, 1:00pm, 1:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4609

Website:
http://www.jeffersonhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Ehemann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
American
Virginia
Best Service
Richmond
5 More
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Great for Lunch
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Great for Brunch (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Great for Lunch (13)
See All
Romantic (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sunday Champagne Brunch outstanding. Arr ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sunday Champagne Brunch outstanding. Arrive early, eat slowly and don't plan to drive afterwards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very enjoyable visit to TJ's Resta ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had a very enjoyable visit to TJ's Restaurant in the historic Jefferson Hotel. The breakfast/lunch buffet had fabulous food in a beautiful historic setting. I would highly recommend the Sunday Buffet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jackie made the whole experie ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our server Jackie made the whole experience wonderful and very special for my wife's birthday weekend. The dining hall was very elegant and the food was delicious, not to mention the abundant champagne. The Sunday Brunch experience was exactly what I was hoping for,

thank you to all the staff, especially our server and the the Jefferson Hotel!!

Cheers!

By the way, nice alligator!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service! Friendly staff and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Impeccable service! Friendly staff and a wide assortment of brunch items at a great value and superb atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Always enjoy ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Always enjoy a meal at TJs.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff outstanding as well as the re ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wait staff outstanding as well as the receptionists.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TJ's is a great place to meet friends fo ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

TJ's is a great place to meet friends for lunch. Quiet, lovely, great service and wonderful salads.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our party of 8 was seated at a comfortab ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our party of 8 was seated at a comfortable round table for lunch. Those who ordered the turkey Reuben and crab cake sandwich were very pleased with their selection. My husband enjoyed his falafel sandwich and my TJs alas was good although not worth the price ($10 up charge for 6 small oysters making an average salad cost $17).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great breakfast. Chicken and wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a great breakfast. Chicken and waffles and cheddar grits and eggs. Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server very courteous. However, had to a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Server very courteous. However, had to ask for cream for coffee, then had to ask for a spoon to stir coffee with. Water glasses were not filled until we requested late in the meal. Got the impression server might have been new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our lunch at TJ's was spectacular! My da ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our lunch at TJ's was spectacular! My daughter and I enjoyed the special of the day, a fried oyster poboy. My husband also loved his salad. The pimento cheese appetizer was also delicious. The Jefferson Hotel is gorgeous and we would all highly recommend a little exploring after your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought our daughter her for her VCU ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We brought our daughter her for her VCU accomplishment of having her dissertation proposal approved, and wanted to visit this historic icon of the city. We were pleasantly accommodated by everyone we met, from the valet parking to our hostess at TJ's. It was a Monday afternoon so it was a very quiet enjoyable lunch to say the least. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. I will bring all my family members who will be visiting from out of town. The hotel in itself is so worth the visit. Thank you all for a pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was GREAT, the food choices ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was GREAT, the food choices were out of this world for the Brunch.

Love the location. Our server, Jacquie was on the ball, wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st Visit to Celebrate Birthday

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Was so glad to have made the reservation for the Brunch. Was not knowing what to expect with seating. We were placed up on the 2nd floor and with older couples that can be difficult with going downstairs to get food.

That was probably my only disappointment of the visit.

Staff was great!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Sunday Brunch (June 5, 2016) was absolutely outstanding. For the second time, we had the pleasure to have Jackie as our waitress. She was absolutely wonderful! To celebrate my birthday, a special dessert was offered and the musicians played "Happy Birthday".

The entire experience was well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

janie

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful, we sat in the bar area, which was GREAT. Jackie (sorry for spelling) was fantastic along with her partner. We had a great celebration - one couple on their retirement, and the other couple 41 years together. Thank you Jefferson, for a great time and great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice and clean

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a reservation for 4 but ended up with 6 in our party. They never hesitated or made us wait. The food was good and the service was great. Lovely place to dine in a historic piece of Richmond.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Sunday champagne brunch at TJ's has ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Sunday champagne brunch at TJ's has always been our favorite restaurant for Sunday Brunch before we were parents. This time we brought our two children along as we have moved out the area, and it still the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable, beautiful think everyone shou ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyable, beautiful think everyone should visit ,I have had the Sunday brunch, Mothers Day brunch, Thanksgiving luncheon, bridal luncheon , Christmas ..what can I say The Jefferson is great ! Thanks for another great Sunday Funday !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific and service was wonder ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was terrific and service was wonderful! We celebrated our 10th anniversary there and they made it very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Mother's Day here on Satur ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here on Saturday. All of the food was delicious. Server was very attentive to our table and needs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, staff, ambiance

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was very good; the staff was professional and responsive and our server was very congenial and knowledgeable. The ambiance of the restaurant was casual and friendly and the tables were spaced to enhance the privacy of conversations. And, the noise level was moderate so it was not necessary to raise our voices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good....

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is where we go to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and everything in between.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great burgers

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The Jefferson Hotel is beautiful. This is a casual dining option with great service and delicious burgers and house chips.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Sunday Brunch

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great selections for breakfast and lunch. Reasonable. Make reservations way ahead. Easier to cancel than to get them especially near holidays and special occasions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing experience! I loved it!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Fabulous experience! Husband, nine year old, and I all thought food was amazing and service was beyond compare. Truly a must do Richmond experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was great - easy to see wh ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Sunday brunch was great - easy to see why it often sells out. Be sure to make reservations in advance! There was a great selection of both breakfast and lunch foods. Service was a little slower than expected but that's likely because it was so busy, and everyone was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

DELICIOUS!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We stayed at a neighboring hotel in downtown Richmond, but wanted a nice breakfast before heading home. We made a reservation at TJ's only 2 nights before we wanted to have breakfast and got a reservation on a Saturday morning with no issues. EVERYTHING was DELICIOUS!!!! I can't wait to go back and try something new on the menu. I highly recommend trying the products that are fresh made (like the honey butter made with the bee hives the Jefferson maintains on their very own roof! So cool!).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch Buffet Ever

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The Sunday brunch at the Jefferson is a thing of beauty. The room itself is gorgeous and the food is every bit as worthy. A bit pricey, but it is all you can eat, so go HUNGRY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lunch was good However the bread on the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Lunch was good However the bread on the Turkey Rueben was sort of "soggy". Also, I thought since it was my wife's birthday there would have been some sort of a mini desert. Since when the reservations were they wanted to know if it was a special occasion. But that will not keep us from coming back again. We have reservations for March 23, 2016 at Lemaire to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service (Bruce). Food was fant ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service (Bruce). Food was fantastic. From valet parking, to host seating, to individual attention at our table (Bruce), this is our ' go to ' place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always a great time at Sunday Brunch at The Jefferson Hotel! A Richmond jewel spot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "Lunch" food and line was OUTSTANDIN ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The "Lunch" food and line was OUTSTANDING!!!

The "Breakfast" food line was very LONG as they only had one person cooking the egg dishes. My wife, she is a vegatarian, she stood in the Omlett/Fried/Scrambled egg line for over 30 minutes and then as she was ghungry she stepped out of the line to get something to eat. That was very bad for my wife. :(

Please make sure there are more cooks for the egg line or have a batch of scrambled eggs in the breakfast line.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time there. I thoroughly ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

It was my first time there. I thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch place

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

TJs offers several delicious salads, perfect at lunchtime. You get to choose what to put on top, grilled or blackened salmon, grilled or fried chicken, shrimp, fried oysters, or steak. The greens are fresh and the fish & meat always prepared just right. It's quiet and sunny in the restaurant and a great place to join friends or have a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lunch!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We (4 of us) went to lunch prior to pedicures in the salon in the hotel. Our hostess was friendly and responsive and our waiter was attentive and informative. We started with the smoked gouda dip that was devoured in minutes! It had a distinct flavor and was the perfect temp. We each enjoyed different dishes from the delicious crab cake (great size) sandwich to the peanut soup. The grilled chicken sandwich was excellent and the side of fries were addicting. The chicken salad was perfectly seasoned with tarragon. The truly outstanding choice was the peanut soup. Adding the crunch of the pork rinds and bacon was perfect, and it worked! Our first thought was "what?". The entire experience was wonderful, the serving sizes were perfect and the wait staff were personable and informative. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great salads

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

TJs offers great salads with fresh greens and toppings ... you can add grilled salmon, shrimp, chicken or fried oysters. Yum!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always wonderful!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I am always pleased when I dine at TJ's. The staff is always pleasant. The service is always great. The food is consistently wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at TJs

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

We were hoping to have brunch on Sunday at the Jefferson but were on the waiting list. Thinking that would probably not work out we decided to stop for lunch on Friday on our way to NC. Interior décor of the hotel is incredibly beautiful, the oyster po boy was delicious and both Jonathan, our server, and the hostess were very attentive, including checking to see if we might be able to move up the waiting list for brunch! Happy to say we were able to stop for brunch on our way home on Sunday - lovely atmosphere, amazing amount of food, very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TJ's at The Jefferson - What's not to like!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Courteous, pleasant and professional staff combined with excellent luncheon fare put TJ's at the top of our list. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.