About TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Enjoy a causal or business lunch with us at TJ’s Lunch Room and Bistro. TJ’s is focused with you in mind; enjoy a causal get together with friends or a quiet business lunch where you can get work done and enjoy delicious cuisine. Enjoy dinner service in a contemporary bistro but historic setting. TJ’s is a Southern Bistro featuring fresh local flair including seasonal items such as southern shrimp and grits and fried green tomatoes with hand pulled mozzarella. Enjoy the view and grandeur of the rotunda while you dine. Beverage service includes a focus on craft breweries, hand-made cocktails and a rustic wine list. We are committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood wherever possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Mon - Fri: 6:30am - 10:00am; Sat: 7:00am - 11:00am;

Sun: 7:00am - 12:00pm

LUNCH: Mon - Fri: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Sat: 11:30am - 2:00pm


BRUNCH: Sunday seatings: 10:30am, 11:00am, 1:00pm, 1:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4609

Website:
http://www.jeffersonhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Ehemann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 2:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
American
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
4 More
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Great for Lunch
Richmond
American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

great for brunch (42)
special occasion (40)
romantic (20)
See All
great for lunch (19)
good for groups (15)
fit for foodies (14)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday champagne brunch at TJ's has ...

Dined 4 days ago

The Sunday champagne brunch at TJ's has always been our favorite restaurant for Sunday Brunch before we were parents. This time we brought our two children along as we have moved out the area, and it still the best.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable, beautiful think everyone shou ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Enjoyable, beautiful think everyone should visit ,I have had the Sunday brunch, Mothers Day brunch, Thanksgiving luncheon, bridal luncheon , Christmas ..what can I say The Jefferson is great ! Thanks for another great Sunday Funday !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrific and service was wonder ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was terrific and service was wonderful! We celebrated our 10th anniversary there and they made it very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated Mother's Day here on Satur ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day here on Saturday. All of the food was delicious. Server was very attentive to our table and needs.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, staff, ambiance

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was very good; the staff was professional and responsive and our server was very congenial and knowledgeable. The ambiance of the restaurant was casual and friendly and the tables were spaced to enhance the privacy of conversations. And, the noise level was moderate so it was not necessary to raise our voices.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good....

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is where we go to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries and everything in between.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great burgers

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Jefferson Hotel is beautiful. This is a casual dining option with great service and delicious burgers and house chips.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great selections for breakfast and lunch. Reasonable. Make reservations way ahead. Easier to cancel than to get them especially near holidays and special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! I loved it!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Fabulous experience! Husband, nine year old, and I all thought food was amazing and service was beyond compare. Truly a must do Richmond experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday brunch was great - easy to see wh ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Sunday brunch was great - easy to see why it often sells out. Be sure to make reservations in advance! There was a great selection of both breakfast and lunch foods. Service was a little slower than expected but that's likely because it was so busy, and everyone was friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this for a special occasion brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOUS!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We stayed at a neighboring hotel in downtown Richmond, but wanted a nice breakfast before heading home. We made a reservation at TJ's only 2 nights before we wanted to have breakfast and got a reservation on a Saturday morning with no issues. EVERYTHING was DELICIOUS!!!! I can't wait to go back and try something new on the menu. I highly recommend trying the products that are fresh made (like the honey butter made with the bee hives the Jefferson maintains on their very own roof! So cool!).

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Brunch Buffet Ever

Dined on February 28, 2016

The Sunday brunch at the Jefferson is a thing of beauty. The room itself is gorgeous and the food is every bit as worthy. A bit pricey, but it is all you can eat, so go HUNGRY!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch was good However the bread on the ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Lunch was good However the bread on the Turkey Rueben was sort of "soggy". Also, I thought since it was my wife's birthday there would have been some sort of a mini desert. Since when the reservations were they wanted to know if it was a special occasion. But that will not keep us from coming back again. We have reservations for March 23, 2016 at Lemaire to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service (Bruce). Food was fant ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent service (Bruce). Food was fantastic. From valet parking, to host seating, to individual attention at our table (Bruce), this is our ' go to ' place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Time

Dined on February 14, 2016

Always a great time at Sunday Brunch at The Jefferson Hotel! A Richmond jewel spot!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The "Lunch" food and line was OUTSTANDIN ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The "Lunch" food and line was OUTSTANDING!!! The "Breakfast" food line was very LONG as they only had one person cooking the egg dishes. My wife, she is a vegatarian, she stood in the Omlett/Fried/Scrambled egg line for over 30 minutes and then as she was ghungry she stepped out of the line to get something to eat. That was very bad for my wife. :( Please make sure there are more cooks for the egg line or have a batch of scrambled eggs in the breakfast line.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time there. I thoroughly ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

It was my first time there. I thoroughly enjoyed everything.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great lunch place

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

TJs offers several delicious salads, perfect at lunchtime. You get to choose what to put on top, grilled or blackened salmon, grilled or fried chicken, shrimp, fried oysters, or steak. The greens are fresh and the fish & meat always prepared just right. It's quiet and sunny in the restaurant and a great place to join friends or have a business lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We (4 of us) went to lunch prior to pedicures in the salon in the hotel. Our hostess was friendly and responsive and our waiter was attentive and informative. We started with the smoked gouda dip that was devoured in minutes! It had a distinct flavor and was the perfect temp. We each enjoyed different dishes from the delicious crab cake (great size) sandwich to the peanut soup. The grilled chicken sandwich was excellent and the side of fries were addicting. The chicken salad was perfectly seasoned with tarragon. The truly outstanding choice was the peanut soup. Adding the crunch of the pork rinds and bacon was perfect, and it worked! Our first thought was "what?". The entire experience was wonderful, the serving sizes were perfect and the wait staff were personable and informative. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great salads

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

TJs offers great salads with fresh greens and toppings ... you can add grilled salmon, shrimp, chicken or fried oysters. Yum!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!!

Dined on January 18, 2016

I am always pleased when I dine at TJ's. The staff is always pleasant. The service is always great. The food is consistently wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at TJs

Dined on January 15, 2016

We were hoping to have brunch on Sunday at the Jefferson but were on the waiting list. Thinking that would probably not work out we decided to stop for lunch on Friday on our way to NC. Interior décor of the hotel is incredibly beautiful, the oyster po boy was delicious and both Jonathan, our server, and the hostess were very attentive, including checking to see if we might be able to move up the waiting list for brunch! Happy to say we were able to stop for brunch on our way home on Sunday - lovely atmosphere, amazing amount of food, very enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TJ's at The Jefferson - What's not to like!

Dined on January 9, 2016

Courteous, pleasant and professional staff combined with excellent luncheon fare put TJ's at the top of our list. Thanks!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely birthday luncheon!

Dined on January 9, 2016

I wanted to surprise my mother with a special day to celebrate her birthday. We traveled from Franklin, arrived at the Jefferson (much to her delight as she had never been), and had 11:30 lunch reservation at TJ's. After a leisurely walk around the lovely hotel, we spent some time in the shop adjacent to TJ's and then headed in for lunch. We were attending the Motown Musical at the Altria theater a few blocks away for the matinee show and had plenty of time for a leisurely lunch. What a wonderful experience! Deborah and her team provided incredible service with great attention to detail. Our group consisted of my sister, my Aunt, Mom and I. Three of us ordered mimosas - and Mom was going to just have water as she didn't want any alcohol. Deborah surprised her with a fruit drink beautifully decorated - such a nice thing to do! We ordered black bean soup (mom), sweet potato bisque (sis) and the grits and oysters (Aunt and I shared). Everyone loved our appetizer course. We all ordered salads - which were beautifully prepared. I had the Cobb with crispy chicken - the green goddess dressing was wonderful and just the right amount on the salad. The chicken was so tender and delicious. We then ordered coffee and two desserts for us to share....the cream brulee and the cheesecake. Both were amazing - such a talented bakery staff. Everyone agreed the cheesecake was truly the best we had ever had. Even the coffee was wonderful. Everything about our lunch was exceptional. We look forward to our next visit - as we most definitely will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful hotel w/ great ambiance & deco ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Beautiful hotel w/ great ambiance & decor. TJ's: The hostess/waitress that seated us was rude, appeared to hate her job and was either unwilling or unable to answer questions about the restaurant. The menu choices sounded unique & tasty but all of the four lunch items we tried (one of which was the special) were only mediocre. All were a bit bland. The homemade crossaint on the chicken salad sandwich was burnt & the apple slices & pecans were too large for comfortable bites. The mushroom panini didn't have many mushrooms at all. The fries were good. Our waiter was personable, well-versed on the the menu, appropiately attentive to our service and did an overall great job.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical Evening!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Amazing New Year's Eve dinner! Lively entrance, beautiful decor, and a quiet romantic dinner!!! Great server and delicious food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

traditionalme

Dined on December 30, 2015

As usual, everything was done with flair and grace. My mother has limited mobility from a stroke and everyone made certain she was comfortable navigating from the valet service to the dining room staff--we were grateful she was treated with respect and all made easier for her. The food was superb--we had the salmon for lunch and a chocolate dessert, which we shared, and it was well-prepared and had the most fresh taste. Well-done all the around!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Poor Value

Dined on December 30, 2015

Unsat service, overdone steak, food not hot. Poor value in a prestigious, high end hotel

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After Christmas Lunch at TJs

Dined on December 26, 2015

It was nice to come downtown after Christmas to enjoy lunch at TJs which was delicious. I had soup and sandwich as it was a chilly, cold rainy day and it hit the spot. We got there earlier than our reservation time and was seated at once. The waitress was helpful with the menu and we didn't have to wait very long for our lunch to arrive. We also had dessert which was delicious as well. The overall atmosphere and food was great! Thank you.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints

Dined on December 25, 2015

If you have not been to the Jefferson at Christmas, you really should. The hotel is decorated beautifully: the outside, lobby and the multistory tree are all stunning. Dining is delightful. Service is attentive. It is a Richmond icon for a good reason.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

There were two of us dining at TJ's.

Dined on December 24, 2015

Everything was good the service could have been much better My impressions were that he was more attentive to the larger groups thinking of a much higher tip.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Dinner

Dined on December 19, 2015

Great dinner, great atmosphere and would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Not for a women's group

Dined on December 18, 2015

The food and atmosphere were divine. The coffee was lukewarm. I complained and they brought me lukewarm coffee again. It was more important to them to serve from a silver pitcher than to serve it hot. Six women went for a holiday dinner. They wouldn't give individual checks. EVERYONE gives six women individual checks. They totalled the bill and split it equally six ways. I don't understand if they could do that, why they couldn't simply give us our own check! They added 15% gratituty. I always tip at least 20%.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Hostess station seem quite uncoordinated.

Dined on December 17, 2015

Food was not up to expectations nor value for the price. Ambiance made up for that, but still a bit let down.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent attention to detail

Dined on December 16, 2015

A memorable experience which is consistent for this restaurant. Well-trained staff who know menu, interact well with patrons, serve courteously and with grace, and sensitive to a multitude of needs --elderly, special occasions, newbies, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

May not be the best but better than the rest.

Dined on November 26, 2015

I will keep this short. After spending a month in Jerusalem and eating in many fine restaurants there I couldn't force myself to eat in any restaurants in this area especially the franchise places. I took a chance and tried TJ's. I can honestly say TJ's is above the rest in this area and I believe no one would feel any different. I could tell from the appearance of the food on our plates there was much pride and willingness to please. The taste was unbelievable as well. I would recommend TJ's to anyone seeking fine dining as well as a nice setting. We also enjoyed walking through the beautiful Hotel taking photos. Had a real nice evening. Sorry I forgot our servers name but he was excellent and helpful too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best brunch I have ever attended. Outstanding

Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was superb. Service very attentive. Atmosphere classy and refined

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Need Better Food

Dined on November 15, 2015

My husband and I have gone here several times. We went with other couples on Valentines Days. The Brunch menu stays the same. I really wish that they would change up their food selections because it isn't very impressive. I've had much better in other cities. Don't go during the 1:00 seating. They don't refresh the food. The seafood bar was totally wiped out with guest still eating. They need a better selection in the Carving area. The meat was "very" dry and boring.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Brunch in Town!

Dined on November 15, 2015

As always, the Brunch at TJ's at the Jefferson was wonderful! They have so many delicious things that it is hard to take just of a taste of each one. It is a perfect place for a celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

TJs is a great place to grab a delicious ...

vip
Dined on October 19, 2015

TJs is a great place to grab a delicious salad in the beautiful Jefferson Hotel.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.