Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel

Enjoy a causal or business lunch with us at TJ’s Lunch Room and Bistro. TJ’s is focused with you in mind; enjoy a causal get together with friends or a quiet business lunch where you can get work done and enjoy delicious cuisine. Enjoy dinner service in a contemporary bistro but historic setting. TJ’s is a Southern Bistro featuring fresh local flair including seasonal items such as southern shrimp and grits and fried green tomatoes with hand pulled mozzarella. Enjoy the view and grandeur of the rotunda while you dine. Beverage service includes a focus on craft breweries, hand-made cocktails and a rustic wine list. We are committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood wherever possible.

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Mon - Fri: 6:30am - 10:00am; Sat: 7:00am - 11:00am;

Sun: 7:00am - 12:00pm

LUNCH: Mon - Fri: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Sat: 11:30am - 2:00pm


BRUNCH: Sunday seatings: 10:30am, 11:00am, 1:00pm, 1:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4609

Website:
http://www.jeffersonhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Ehemann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Birthdays (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Historic (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Romantic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Other than food, everything was great. My salmon was overcooked (ordered for medium rare) and not fresh. I left most of it on the plate. I hope the kitchen studies what is left on the plate to get a cue on what went wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food is just a step above. They go the extra mile to make sure the food is top quality and taste out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We came for my Mother in Law's 70th birthday. I asked (late) to be placed in the Rotunda because she has difficulty walking and our request was granted. We had 2 children, 9 and 5, and they were treated exceptionally well by our server, Mark. I would like to commend him on his friendliness, attentiveness and professionalism. I was a Banquet Captain for 4 years at the Jefferson and felt very proud of the service, cleanliness, ambiance and overall experience for my family last Sunday. Thank you! Job well done!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Sunday brunch at the Jefferson - always a special treat. Wide selection, great food and excellent service. The eggs Jefferson and the Jefferson spoon bread are "must try" offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Very nice and the service was great. The music was a nice touch. Food was plentiful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were on vacation, had taken a tour and the Jefferson Hotel was highly recommended in the tour. My husband even ordered what the tour guide had suggested: Peanut Soup and a Caesar's Salad with Fried Oysters. The tour guide Steven's recommendation was spot on - now we highly recommend it also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We took our Boss here for lunch as she doesn't get to see much of Richmond when she comes in for a visit. She was completely in awe when walking through the Jefferson Hotel and was thrilled with the food and service at TJ's. Nice middle of the day escape from work. Absolutely perfect, highlight of her trip here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Hailey was a professional server--efficient, polite and appropriately friendly and attentive. Delicious Cobb salad.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We are from out of town and were taken to the Jefferson by our daughter who is a graduate student at VCU. We had a phenomenal brunch! Not only is the hotel beautiful and stately, but the food was outstanding--all of it from the breakfast to lunch/dinner fare!! And our waitress Sheila couldn't have been any nicer or more accommodating! I would HIGHLY recommend this brunch! What a wonderful Richmond treasure!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Usually very good service but it was Mother's Day & we had to waive down the staff for coffee refills. Staff was friendly but over stretched! Won't go for brunch on a holiday but will go back.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The lunch portions were very small for the money. We ordered from the lunch selections, not small plate. Crabcake ws small, steak frites for $20 was overcookedand on a lunch plate of fries. No greens or veggies included. Food took iver 30 min to arrive and the resteraunt ws not full. Waitress was very sweet and did a great job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our service was fantastic, thanks to Rachel. Overall a wonderful lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Called TJ'S to let them know that we were celebrating the 80th birthday of my friend and asked them to make it special for her. There was nothing special except for a pink striped child's birthday candle in her dessert. Come on TJ'S, you should be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Enjoyed the experience, but service was slow (not enough waiters), and the pulled pork sandwich was as dry as the Gobi. Terrible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing. I've lived in Richmond for a few years now. The Jefferson's champagne brunch is legendary and for good reason! The food is delicious. The ambiance is sophisticated, historic, and unparalleled in Richmond. Excellent food, unlimited champagne and a great atmosphere. I absolutely can't wait to go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Historic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food and server were great! I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was not crowded, quiet. Wait staff were excellent. Iliza was a very pleasant young lady. We enjoyed her service immensely. The food was marvelous. I enjoyed the comfortable chairs.
I love The Jefferson! My youngest daughter was married there 4/13. I celebrated my birthday there during Sunday brunch 2/26/17. We all had so much excellent food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My daughter and my favorite quiet get-together in an upscale gorgeous historic location!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Such wonderful salads and your choice of grilled or blacked chicken or fish or fried oysters -- delicious fresh ingredients and delicious dressings. The atmosphere is lovely and you can actually hear your dining companion and carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Have dined here before! This was not our best experience. Cold fried oysters on a caesar salad - really? that wasn't the only thing.. just a little disappointed but will come again but probably not on business. As it turned out the looooong lunch was a good thing for visiting with my associate. we were not in a hurry that day. Thank you for opportunity to vent.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had an absolutely fabulous experience at The Jefferson. The brunch was incredible and very good value for money. Would and have highly recommended the brunch. Variety of food and quality excellent. Service impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful waiter and delicious food in a quiet atmosphere

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent service overall. Best in Richmond! I recommend highly.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my mom to TJs for lunch and really enjoyed the ambiance and good. We sat in the lounge and had a great view of the foyer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful experience for Sunday brunch. Food was great, service was super!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. Food, price, ambiance, service and value are top notch. Absolutely will return again. Waiter was attentive but not hovering. Food was magnificent and came out in excellent intervals. My party did not feel pushed in spite of our business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

There was really very little meat on your red meat sandwich.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Food was delicious. Waiting in omelet line was little lengthy, but Omelet was good and cooks were so accommodating and extremely pleasant.
Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We attended the Sunday brunch. The atmosphere, service and food were excellent. Definitely will do this again. The only problem, I was completely full after the first plate, a well prepared custom omelet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Never disappointed. A great place to have a quiet business lunch (or breakfast) meeting. Great food, good service, wonderful setting.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always come back to TJ's even though we always say we are going some place else next time. Love the atmosphere and the service we receive every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was quite good, the service was great! We wanted gourmet Southern comfort food and they delivered. Waitstaff was very attentive, professional, and personable. The hotel itself is beautiful and elegant but the dining room is a little plain as far as ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Good traditional soup, salad and sandwiches in a pleasant dining room that allows a leisurely meal with conversation with friends or colleagues. Very pleasant but unobtrusive yet helpful service. No fuss. White tablecloths. Reasonable prices given the well-known location. Easy parking...valet, lot and even on Main Street with easy access to rear entrance. A good way to enjoy the Jefferson if you are passing through Richmond.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had a wonderful time- lunch menu was boring. And all sandwiches mainly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Memorable experience. Food, service, ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service 😊 Best brunch in Richmond Virginia

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences, I have ever had. The service was impeccable and the ambiance was spectacular. What a wonderful way to start the New Year!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our bridge group met for lunch on New Years Eve. Everything we had was delicious - would not change a thing. We look forward to coming again next year.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good restaurant in the historic Jefferson Hotel. Especially nice during the Christmas Season when the hotel lobby is decorated for the holidays. Reasonably priced for lunch with a limited number of entrees. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.