About TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Enjoy a causal or business lunch with us at TJ’s Lunch Room and Bistro. TJ’s is focused with you in mind; enjoy a causal get together with friends or a quiet business lunch where you can get work done and enjoy delicious cuisine. Enjoy dinner service in a contemporary bistro but historic setting. TJ’s is a Southern Bistro featuring fresh local flair including seasonal items such as southern shrimp and grits and fried green tomatoes with hand pulled mozzarella. Enjoy the view and grandeur of the rotunda while you dine. Beverage service includes a focus on craft breweries, hand-made cocktails and a rustic wine list. We are committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood wherever possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Mon - Fri: 6:30am - 10:00am; Sat: 7:00am - 11:00am;

Sun: 7:00am - 12:00pm

LUNCH: Mon - Fri: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Sat: 11:30am - 2:00pm


BRUNCH: Sunday seatings: 10:30am, 11:00am, 1:00pm, 1:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4609

Website:
http://www.jeffersonhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Ehemann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Richmond
American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Great for Brunch (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Historic (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was very nice. We did order ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was very nice. We did order the special Chicken Cordon Bleu but were not told

it would come as a sandwich. It was tasty but not what we were expecting. We paid

extra to have a side salad but the ingredients that were to be in the salad were very

scarce. Disappointing. Paying extra and not getting a side dish, I think the salad

should have been more plentiful.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We were four good friends having a Chris ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

We were four good friends having a Christmas celebration at our favorite restaurant. The decorations at Christmas time are fabulous. When one walks into the lobby is simply takes your breath away. We had reservations so we were quickly seated in the bar area overlooking the

lobby with its beautiful decorations. Our waiter was very attentive and saw to our every need.

The food was delicious ( especially the crabcakes ). We have plans to return during the New Year to have tea.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheddar grits with creole sauce and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The cheddar grits with creole sauce and blacked shrimp was superb. The grits are locally produced and are a bit bigger in size than what you may be used to. They are oh so good. Service is excellent and the selection of locally crafted beers was extensive. I had a seasonal amber brew that was bit hoppy but had a slightly sweet taste that lingered on the palate., Very good.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Cozy, Historic, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portion sizes are decent, would like a l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Portion sizes are decent, would like a little more for portion sizes. But overall a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

TJ's is always a treat. It's a good menu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

TJ's is always a treat. It's a good menu and changes seasonally with interesting new options. Service is excellent. Jacqui is a favorite.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were married at The Jefferson Hotel 2 ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We were married at The Jefferson Hotel 25 years ago. Still holds a special place in our hearts. Christmas decorations are beautiful. We had music thanks to a local school group. Great place for a holiday lunch. If it won't get you into the spirit, nothing will!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

TJs is one of my favorite lunch spot. My ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

TJs is one of my favorite lunch spot. My niece had never seen The Jefferson dressed up for Christmas so i wanted to share this fabulous Richmond tradition with her. My niece absolutely loved everything about all the Christmas decorations. The food was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was outstanding, had to be the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was outstanding, had to be the second best filet I have had in my life behind Statler Grill in NYC. The MR cook on it was perfect, the asparagus was also perfect with a slight crunch on the outside and softness on the inside.

Unfortunately the service was not as it should have been, it was only about a 6 out of 10 and it should have more along the lines of 8, 9 or 10 out of 10. Restaurant was not busy, yet we sat with empty drink glasses and were brought the wrong beverage and no steak knife was presented with filet, I had to ask for one. Lastly, after the meals were placed with us, service never checked back as to the cook of steak or the taste.

Overall very good, but would have rating as outstanding if service had been more up to par.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This was a very disappointing experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a very disappointing experience! The service was poor - our drinks arrived in shifts and most were not served until the first course arrived. The children were not given menus. The salad green were not chilled and the peanut soup needed to be sent back to be heated. The salmon was salty and the burgers were mediocre. On top of all the poor food and service they put a 20% gratuity.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The ambience was wonderful in this very ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The ambience was wonderful in this very stately hotel. The service and food were both great! The tenderloin was cooked properly and my bronzino was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My group of seven and I had an amazing b ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My group of seven and I had an amazing brunch at TJ's this past weekend. We had a server that one member of our party had worked with before, Bruce. She was so excited that we had his service again. He was prompt, energetic, funny, polite and well mannered. I plan to request Bruce the next time we dine at TJ's. Our table was on the Mezzanine, which I was worried about but it ended up being perfect..we got to over see the entire setting downstairs and admire all of the food before going down to pick what we wanted. Great experience, thank you for keeping up this Richmond brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it we celebrate every November a di ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love it we celebrate every November a different kind of Thanksgiving.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful time! Was my son's birthday a ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

wonderful time! Was my son's birthday and we all enjoyed the food, the ambience, and our waitress, Jackie, was wonderful and attentive. Have already booked for a Spring brunch. Tried to taste a little of everything and there was not a thing I didn't enjoy. Highly recommend but plan ahead......

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience ever, great view, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best dining experience ever, great view, great food and service !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a Saturday lunch at TJ's with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We enjoyed a Saturday lunch at TJ's with our daughter and her boyfriend. The setting is lovely. We especially appreciated the low noise level, relaxed ambiance and excellent-yet-unobtrusive-service, all of which allowed us to actually enjoy our conversation -- something that we miss at most other restaurants. The food was good, but a smidge more creative than tasty. We will certainly go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to the Jefferson for brunch ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We have been to the Jefferson for brunch before. The food is amazing. The atmosphere is sophisticated. We enjoy taking our time because there is so much food you need to pace yourself. It is beautifully decorated for Christmas, however, you need to book well in advance. When we booked for October 23rd, November, December and beginning of January were already full.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting for business lunch. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Beautiful setting for business lunch. Service was great. Chicken caesar salad - chicken was a little tough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Such delicious salad topped with perfect ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Such delicious salad topped with perfectly prepared grilled salmon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was told I could not get a reservation ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I was told I could not get a reservation at the requested time and had to take an alternate time. When we arrived, the restaurant was practically empty and remained so. In fact, at the time we left, there was only one other table of guests. The service was slow. I had to ask three times for cream for the coffee. The oysters in the Po'Boy were undercooked and there was no "pineapple slaw" as listed on the menu. I have eaten at the Jefferson for years. This was a let-down.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We were confused by the menu and read th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were confused by the menu and read the Summer menu (it's October) instead of the Winter menu so we went in expecting the wrong food. When we got there, the hostess and waitress did their best job at apologizing and explaining the menu. The food was still delicious and it's not everyday one dines at such a fancy place. Plus, the game was on while we were there, so we got to watch that. I think TJ's should make it more clear that there is NO BRUNCH ON SATURDAY and explicitly put it on the website to avoid further confusion.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Well done from beginning to end. Servers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Well done from beginning to end. Servers constantly refilling champagne, juice and coffees. Food was plentiful with good selection. Nice live music playing without being overpowering.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Champagne Brunch outstanding. Arr ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sunday Champagne Brunch outstanding. Arrive early, eat slowly and don't plan to drive afterwards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very enjoyable visit to TJ's Resta ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Had a very enjoyable visit to TJ's Restaurant in the historic Jefferson Hotel. The breakfast/lunch buffet had fabulous food in a beautiful historic setting. I would highly recommend the Sunday Buffet.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Jackie made the whole experie ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our server Jackie made the whole experience wonderful and very special for my wife's birthday weekend. The dining hall was very elegant and the food was delicious, not to mention the abundant champagne. The Sunday Brunch experience was exactly what I was hoping for,

thank you to all the staff, especially our server and the the Jefferson Hotel!!

Cheers!

By the way, nice alligator!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food that's for me is the desserts. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food that's for me is the desserts. The wonderful customer service and sharing time with my sister's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service! Friendly staff and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Impeccable service! Friendly staff and a wide assortment of brunch items at a great value and superb atmosphere.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Always enjoy ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Always enjoy a meal at TJs.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff outstanding as well as the re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wait staff outstanding as well as the receptionists.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TJ's is a great place to meet friends fo ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2016

TJ's is a great place to meet friends for lunch. Quiet, lovely, great service and wonderful salads.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our party of 8 was seated at a comfortab ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our party of 8 was seated at a comfortable round table for lunch. Those who ordered the turkey Reuben and crab cake sandwich were very pleased with their selection. My husband enjoyed his falafel sandwich and my TJs alas was good although not worth the price ($10 up charge for 6 small oysters making an average salad cost $17).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great breakfast. Chicken and wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a great breakfast. Chicken and waffles and cheddar grits and eggs. Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Server very courteous. However, had to a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Server very courteous. However, had to ask for cream for coffee, then had to ask for a spoon to stir coffee with. Water glasses were not filled until we requested late in the meal. Got the impression server might have been new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our lunch at TJ's was spectacular! My da ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our lunch at TJ's was spectacular! My daughter and I enjoyed the special of the day, a fried oyster poboy. My husband also loved his salad. The pimento cheese appetizer was also delicious. The Jefferson Hotel is gorgeous and we would all highly recommend a little exploring after your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought our daughter her for her VCU ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 13, 2016

We brought our daughter her for her VCU accomplishment of having her dissertation proposal approved, and wanted to visit this historic icon of the city. We were pleasantly accommodated by everyone we met, from the valet parking to our hostess at TJ's. It was a Monday afternoon so it was a very quiet enjoyable lunch to say the least. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. I will bring all my family members who will be visiting from out of town. The hotel in itself is so worth the visit. Thank you all for a pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was GREAT, the food choices ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was GREAT, the food choices were out of this world for the Brunch.

Love the location. Our server, Jacquie was on the ball, wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st Visit to Celebrate Birthday

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Was so glad to have made the reservation for the Brunch. Was not knowing what to expect with seating. We were placed up on the 2nd floor and with older couples that can be difficult with going downstairs to get food.

That was probably my only disappointment of the visit.

Staff was great!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The Sunday Brunch (June 5, 2016) was absolutely outstanding. For the second time, we had the pleasure to have Jackie as our waitress. She was absolutely wonderful! To celebrate my birthday, a special dessert was offered and the musicians played "Happy Birthday".

The entire experience was well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

janie

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful, we sat in the bar area, which was GREAT. Jackie (sorry for spelling) was fantastic along with her partner. We had a great celebration - one couple on their retirement, and the other couple 41 years together. Thank you Jefferson, for a great time and great food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice and clean

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a reservation for 4 but ended up with 6 in our party. They never hesitated or made us wait. The food was good and the service was great. Lovely place to dine in a historic piece of Richmond.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Sunday champagne brunch at TJ's has ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 22, 2016

The Sunday champagne brunch at TJ's has always been our favorite restaurant for Sunday Brunch before we were parents. This time we brought our two children along as we have moved out the area, and it still the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.