About TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Enjoy a causal or business lunch with us at TJ’s Lunch Room and Bistro. TJ’s is focused with you in mind; enjoy a causal get together with friends or a quiet business lunch where you can get work done and enjoy delicious cuisine. Enjoy dinner service in a contemporary bistro but historic setting. TJ’s is a Southern Bistro featuring fresh local flair including seasonal items such as southern shrimp and grits and fried green tomatoes with hand pulled mozzarella. Enjoy the view and grandeur of the rotunda while you dine. Beverage service includes a focus on craft breweries, hand-made cocktails and a rustic wine list. We are committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood wherever possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Mon - Fri: 6:30am - 10:00am; Sat: 7:00am - 11:00am;

Sun: 7:00am - 12:00pm

LUNCH: Mon - Fri: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Sat: 11:30am - 2:00pm


BRUNCH: Sunday seatings: 10:30am, 11:00am, 1:00pm, 1:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4609

Website:
http://www.jeffersonhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Ehemann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Historic (23)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Great for Brunch (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Seasonal (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Family Style (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Scenic View (2)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. Food, price, ambiance, service and value are top notch. Absolutely will return again. Waiter was attentive but not hovering. Food was magnificent and came out in excellent intervals. My party did not feel pushed in spite of our business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was really very little meat on you ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

There was really very little meat on your red meat sandwich.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Thoroughly enjoyed. Everyone was so ple ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Food was delicious. Waiting in omelet line was little lengthy, but Omelet was good and cooks were so accommodating and extremely pleasant.

Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended the Sunday brunch. The atmos ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We attended the Sunday brunch. The atmosphere, service and food were excellent. Definitely will do this again. The only problem, I was completely full after the first plate, a well prepared custom omelet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed. A great place to ha ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Never disappointed. A great place to have a quiet business lunch (or breakfast) meeting. Great food, good service, wonderful setting.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was quite good, the service was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was quite good, the service was great! We wanted gourmet Southern comfort food and they delivered. Waitstaff was very attentive, professional, and personable. The hotel itself is beautiful and elegant but the dining room is a little plain as far as ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good traditional soup, salad and sandwic ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Good traditional soup, salad and sandwiches in a pleasant dining room that allows a leisurely meal with conversation with friends or colleagues. Very pleasant but unobtrusive yet helpful service. No fuss. White tablecloths. Reasonable prices given the well-known location. Easy parking...valet, lot and even on Main Street with easy access to rear entrance. A good way to enjoy the Jefferson if you are passing through Richmond.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful time- lunch menu was bor ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had a wonderful time- lunch menu was boring. And all sandwiches mainly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Memorable experience. Food, service, am ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Memorable experience. Food, service, ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: , Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service 😊 Best brunch in Ric ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service 😊 Best brunch in Richmond Virginia

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent. I ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best dining experien ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences, I have ever had. The service was impeccable and the ambiance was spectacular. What a wonderful way to start the New Year!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Our bridge group met for lunch on New Ye ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our bridge group met for lunch on New Years Eve. Everything we had was delicious - would not change a thing. We look forward to coming again next year.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant in the historic Jef ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good restaurant in the historic Jefferson Hotel. Especially nice during the Christmas Season when the hotel lobby is decorated for the holidays. Reasonably priced for lunch with a limited number of entrees. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The luncheon menu was less than exciting ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The luncheon menu was less than exciting! My salad was okay, but nothing to rave about. My friends thought the food was so-so. Nice ambiance and good service, but just passable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very busy during holiday season. Long wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very busy during holiday season. Long waits so reservations are a must. Service not as attentive this time as in previous visits. Had to gather the attention of the waiter to request coffee and water refills rather than being offered without prompting. Hotel decorations make the venue special. Great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our 16th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. I wanted to surprise her with something special as each year within a marriage is a gift from the Lord. I have been wanting to take her to TJ's at the Jefferson Hotel for several years now but things have happened within our family not to be able to go. We were able to go this year and it was amazing. We were thankful to go and see the beauty of the Christmas decorations. We enjoyed the food and the ability to talk and to prepare for 2017 for our family. We have suggested this time to our friends and family members for them to visit and enjoy the beauty of the Jefferson Hotel during the Christmas Season. We are thankful to the Lord, Jesus Christ, for this time that we were able to experience on December 22, 2016

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional with friendly an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is exceptional with friendly and professional services. A tremendous improvement from a year ago! We'll done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over priced and the service was terrible ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Over priced and the service was terrible. I will not go back

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We enjoyed our time at TJs. The food wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed our time at TJs. The food was excellent and they were generous portions. Everything was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Our waiter was very helpful and engaging. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I have our annual Christma ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My friend and I have our annual Christmas lunch at TJ's to exchange gifts each year. Have been doing so for 15 years!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for dinner and to view the Chris ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We came for dinner and to view the Christmas decorations. The meal was great and Jonathan was such a great waiter.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I meet my friends at TJs for special occ ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I meet my friends at TJs for special occasions. I've NEVER been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

TJ's rarely disappoints. Service is cris ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2016

TJ's rarely disappoints. Service is crisp, and menu offers good selection of classics and seasonal. It's a go-to place for those who are going places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wide choices of food, excellent quality ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wide choices of food, excellent quality and reasonable prices.

Christmas decorations, especially the gingerbread creation, are over the top! Great holiday tradition to have a meal there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Annual traditional Christmas Dinner with ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Annual traditional Christmas Dinner with friends! Such a beautiful old historical hotel! We love going to The Jefferson at Christmastime!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Had a casual dinner here during a busy h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Had a casual dinner here during a busy holiday Saturday. Lobby filled with people and families and private parties. Quiet corner and many large tables.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner before Elf. Arrived at 5 for 5:15 ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Dinner before Elf. Arrived at 5 for 5:15 reservations. Seated immediately. Salmon was the best I've ever had. Shared the Caesar Salad as it was quite large, very tasty as well. Christmas music was a bit too loud for intimate conversation. The waitress was ok , she forgot a few things that were requested but should have never been forgotten. She was pleasant. Expectations for a place like TJ's are a wee bit higher than Carrabba's. The quality of our food over road any down falls.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely breathtaking decor for Christ ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Absolutely breathtaking decor for Christmas! We truly enjoyed ourselves. The dining area was a bit closed off, I would have preferred to be in the open area near the bar. The food was good, but not exceptional.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

There were a few things that led to my r ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

There were a few things that led to my review. Just one example was one of our group ordered a brandy after dinner. The drink came "on the rocks"??? Obviously, she sent it back, and all they did was take the ice out and put it in a cold snifter. The food is always good, but the choice is limited. The manager came over to explain why we couldn't have separate checks. She was a bit condescending to a group of professional women who didn't need another lame excuse. One of our party was kind enough to pick up the check and we paid her.

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We really enjoyed a leisurely lunch at T ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We really enjoyed a leisurely lunch at TJs and the hotel decorated for the Holiday Season. The food was flavorful with larger portions than expected. Never thought a grilled cheese sandwich could taste SO good! The wait staff was pleasant and professional. Thank you for a wonderful time with friends and colleagues. Ya'll made me look good :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Late-night Find, Private Room, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very nice. We did order ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Everything was very nice. We did order the special Chicken Cordon Bleu but were not told

it would come as a sandwich. It was tasty but not what we were expecting. We paid

extra to have a side salad but the ingredients that were to be in the salad were very

scarce. Disappointing. Paying extra and not getting a side dish, I think the salad

should have been more plentiful.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We were four good friends having a Chris ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were four good friends having a Christmas celebration at our favorite restaurant. The decorations at Christmas time are fabulous. When one walks into the lobby is simply takes your breath away. We had reservations so we were quickly seated in the bar area overlooking the

lobby with its beautiful decorations. Our waiter was very attentive and saw to our every need.

The food was delicious ( especially the crabcakes ). We have plans to return during the New Year to have tea.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheddar grits with creole sauce and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The cheddar grits with creole sauce and blacked shrimp was superb. The grits are locally produced and are a bit bigger in size than what you may be used to. They are oh so good. Service is excellent and the selection of locally crafted beers was extensive. I had a seasonal amber brew that was bit hoppy but had a slightly sweet taste that lingered on the palate., Very good.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Cozy, Historic, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portion sizes are decent, would like a l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Portion sizes are decent, would like a little more for portion sizes. But overall a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

TJ's is always a treat. It's a good menu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

TJ's is always a treat. It's a good menu and changes seasonally with interesting new options. Service is excellent. Jacqui is a favorite.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were married at The Jefferson Hotel 2 ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We were married at The Jefferson Hotel 25 years ago. Still holds a special place in our hearts. Christmas decorations are beautiful. We had music thanks to a local school group. Great place for a holiday lunch. If it won't get you into the spirit, nothing will!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

TJs is one of my favorite lunch spot. My ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 29, 2016

TJs is one of my favorite lunch spot. My niece had never seen The Jefferson dressed up for Christmas so i wanted to share this fabulous Richmond tradition with her. My niece absolutely loved everything about all the Christmas decorations. The food was fabulous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was outstanding, had to be the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was outstanding, had to be the second best filet I have had in my life behind Statler Grill in NYC. The MR cook on it was perfect, the asparagus was also perfect with a slight crunch on the outside and softness on the inside.

Unfortunately the service was not as it should have been, it was only about a 6 out of 10 and it should have more along the lines of 8, 9 or 10 out of 10. Restaurant was not busy, yet we sat with empty drink glasses and were brought the wrong beverage and no steak knife was presented with filet, I had to ask for one. Lastly, after the meals were placed with us, service never checked back as to the cook of steak or the taste.

Overall very good, but would have rating as outstanding if service had been more up to par.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This was a very disappointing experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a very disappointing experience! The service was poor - our drinks arrived in shifts and most were not served until the first course arrived. The children were not given menus. The salad green were not chilled and the peanut soup needed to be sent back to be heated. The salmon was salty and the burgers were mediocre. On top of all the poor food and service they put a 20% gratuity.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.