Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel

Enjoy a causal or business lunch with us at TJ’s Lunch Room and Bistro. TJ’s is focused with you in mind; enjoy a causal get together with friends or a quiet business lunch where you can get work done and enjoy delicious cuisine. Enjoy dinner service in a contemporary bistro but historic setting. TJ’s is a Southern Bistro featuring fresh local flair including seasonal items such as southern shrimp and grits and fried green tomatoes with hand pulled mozzarella. Enjoy the view and grandeur of the rotunda while you dine. Beverage service includes a focus on craft breweries, hand-made cocktails and a rustic wine list. We are committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainably harvested seafood wherever possible.

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Mon - Fri: 6:30am - 10:00am; Sat: 7:00am - 11:00am;

Sun: 7:00am - 12:00pm

LUNCH: Mon - Fri: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Sat: 11:30am - 2:00pm


BRUNCH: Sunday seatings: 10:30am, 11:00am, 1:00pm, 1:30pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4609

Website:
http://www.jeffersonhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Ehemann

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

TJ's at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Historic (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
See All
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Live Music (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Usually very good service but it was Mother's Day & we had to waive down the staff for coffee refills. Staff was friendly but over stretched! Won't go for brunch on a holiday but will go back.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The lunch portions were very small for the money. We ordered from the lunch selections, not small plate. Crabcake ws small, steak frites for $20 was overcookedand on a lunch plate of fries. No greens or veggies included. Food took iver 30 min to arrive and the resteraunt ws not full. Waitress was very sweet and did a great job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our service was fantastic, thanks to Rachel. Overall a wonderful lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Called TJ'S to let them know that we were celebrating the 80th birthday of my friend and asked them to make it special for her. There was nothing special except for a pink striped child's birthday candle in her dessert. Come on TJ'S, you should be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Enjoyed the experience, but service was slow (not enough waiters), and the pulled pork sandwich was as dry as the Gobi. Terrible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing. I've lived in Richmond for a few years now. The Jefferson's champagne brunch is legendary and for good reason! The food is delicious. The ambiance is sophisticated, historic, and unparalleled in Richmond. Excellent food, unlimited champagne and a great atmosphere. I absolutely can't wait to go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Family Style, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Historic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food and server were great! I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was not crowded, quiet. Wait staff were excellent. Iliza was a very pleasant young lady. We enjoyed her service immensely. The food was marvelous. I enjoyed the comfortable chairs.
I love The Jefferson! My youngest daughter was married there 4/13. I celebrated my birthday there during Sunday brunch 2/26/17. We all had so much excellent food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My daughter and my favorite quiet get-together in an upscale gorgeous historic location!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Such wonderful salads and your choice of grilled or blacked chicken or fish or fried oysters -- delicious fresh ingredients and delicious dressings. The atmosphere is lovely and you can actually hear your dining companion and carry on a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Have dined here before! This was not our best experience. Cold fried oysters on a caesar salad - really? that wasn't the only thing.. just a little disappointed but will come again but probably not on business. As it turned out the looooong lunch was a good thing for visiting with my associate. we were not in a hurry that day. Thank you for opportunity to vent.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had an absolutely fabulous experience at The Jefferson. The brunch was incredible and very good value for money. Would and have highly recommended the brunch. Variety of food and quality excellent. Service impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful waiter and delicious food in a quiet atmosphere

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent service overall. Best in Richmond! I recommend highly.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my mom to TJs for lunch and really enjoyed the ambiance and good. We sat in the lounge and had a great view of the foyer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wonderful experience for Sunday brunch. Food was great, service was super!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic dining experience. Food, price, ambiance, service and value are top notch. Absolutely will return again. Waiter was attentive but not hovering. Food was magnificent and came out in excellent intervals. My party did not feel pushed in spite of our business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

There was really very little meat on your red meat sandwich.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful. Food was delicious. Waiting in omelet line was little lengthy, but Omelet was good and cooks were so accommodating and extremely pleasant.
Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We attended the Sunday brunch. The atmosphere, service and food were excellent. Definitely will do this again. The only problem, I was completely full after the first plate, a well prepared custom omelet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Never disappointed. A great place to have a quiet business lunch (or breakfast) meeting. Great food, good service, wonderful setting.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always come back to TJ's even though we always say we are going some place else next time. Love the atmosphere and the service we receive every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was quite good, the service was great! We wanted gourmet Southern comfort food and they delivered. Waitstaff was very attentive, professional, and personable. The hotel itself is beautiful and elegant but the dining room is a little plain as far as ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Good traditional soup, salad and sandwiches in a pleasant dining room that allows a leisurely meal with conversation with friends or colleagues. Very pleasant but unobtrusive yet helpful service. No fuss. White tablecloths. Reasonable prices given the well-known location. Easy parking...valet, lot and even on Main Street with easy access to rear entrance. A good way to enjoy the Jefferson if you are passing through Richmond.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Had a wonderful time- lunch menu was boring. And all sandwiches mainly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Memorable experience. Food, service, ambiance was outstanding.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service 😊 Best brunch in Richmond Virginia

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food and service were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice lunch or dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences, I have ever had. The service was impeccable and the ambiance was spectacular. What a wonderful way to start the New Year!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our bridge group met for lunch on New Years Eve. Everything we had was delicious - would not change a thing. We look forward to coming again next year.

Tags: Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very good restaurant in the historic Jefferson Hotel. Especially nice during the Christmas Season when the hotel lobby is decorated for the holidays. Reasonably priced for lunch with a limited number of entrees. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The luncheon menu was less than exciting! My salad was okay, but nothing to rave about. My friends thought the food was so-so. Nice ambiance and good service, but just passable food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very busy during holiday season. Long waits so reservations are a must. Service not as attentive this time as in previous visits. Had to gather the attention of the waiter to request coffee and water refills rather than being offered without prompting. Hotel decorations make the venue special. Great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 16th wedding anniversary. I wanted to surprise her with something special as each year within a marriage is a gift from the Lord. I have been wanting to take her to TJ's at the Jefferson Hotel for several years now but things have happened within our family not to be able to go. We were able to go this year and it was amazing. We were thankful to go and see the beauty of the Christmas decorations. We enjoyed the food and the ability to talk and to prepare for 2017 for our family. We have suggested this time to our friends and family members for them to visit and enjoy the beauty of the Jefferson Hotel during the Christmas Season. We are thankful to the Lord, Jesus Christ, for this time that we were able to experience on December 22, 2016

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food is exceptional with friendly and professional services. A tremendous improvement from a year ago! We'll done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Over priced and the service was terrible. I will not go back

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

Went to TJ's for my birthday lunch and it was really wonderful all the way around. Excellent service and really nice ambience. The seasonal meal that I ordered was delicious (butternut squash soup and a salad with root vegetables). Since it was near the holidays, you need to make reservations in advance.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed our time at TJs. The food was excellent and they were generous portions. Everything was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Our waiter was very helpful and engaging. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My friend and I have our annual Christmas lunch at TJ's to exchange gifts each year. Have been doing so for 15 years!

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We came for dinner and to view the Christmas decorations. The meal was great and Jonathan was such a great waiter.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.