Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Gyu-Kaku - Sherman OaksGyu-Kaku - Sherman Oaks
(531)
$$$$
Japanese | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 18 times today
Le Petit RestaurantLe Petit Restaurant
(150)
$$$$
French | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 11 times today
Cafe Bizou - Sherman OaksCafe Bizou - Sherman Oaks
(1883)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 40 times today
Panzanella RistorantePanzanella Ristorante
(794)
$$$$
Italian | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 19 times today
Anejo Cantina & GrillAnejo Cantina & Grill
(115)
$$$$
Mexican | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 3 times today
Hamburger Hamlet - Sherman OaksHamburger Hamlet - Sherman Oaks
(100)
$$$$
American | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
The BellwetherThe Bellwether
(356)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 39 times today
La CavaLa Cava
(202)
$$$$
Italian | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 6 times today
Bollywood Indian RestaurantBollywood Indian Restaurant
(5)
$$$$
Indian | Studio City, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Mistral - Sherman OaksMistral - Sherman Oaks
(546)
$$$$
French | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 16 times today
Benihana - EncinoBenihana - Encino
(1029)
$$$$
Japanese | Encino, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 69 times today
Boneyard BistroBoneyard Bistro
(497)
$$$$
Barbecue | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 7 times today
Valley Inn Restaurant and Martini BarValley Inn Restaurant and Martini Bar
(112)
$$$$
American | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 2 times today
La FriteLa Frite
(18)
$$$$
French | Sherman Oaks, San Fernando Valley / Valencia
Booked 3 times today
SHU - Sushi House UnicoSHU - Sushi House Unico
(191)
$$$$
Sushi | Bel-Air, Westside
Booked 18 times today

About Tipple & Brine

14633 Ventura Blvd.
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
View Larger Map

Featuring small plates for sharing, Tipple & Brine offers a diverse menu with dishes to satisfy every palate. As this restaurant serves upscale seafood, some items on the menu include fried octopus, mussels and oysters. The menu also changes often to accommodate fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Its sophisticated, chic décor makes Tipple & Brine an ideal place for date night or special celebrations such as birthdays and anniversaries. To complement meals and help guests relax, the menu includes an array of alcoholic beverages such as craft cocktails, beers and wines. Tipple & Brine also hosts a weekday happy hour offering special drinks and appetizers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm; Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Van Nuys Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(818) 528-2550

Website:
http://tippleandbrine.com/

Executive Chef:
Michael Williams

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Hamachi - Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Halibut With Lentils - Tipple & Brine, Sherman Oaks, CA
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Favorite Neighborhood Joint

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2015

I love T&B for cocktails and great food...Equally fun with friends and for husband date nights....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't waste your Brine...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 16, 2015

Don't waste your money, although the restaurant has very good service and we had a great waiter, the restaurant isn't worth your time. Three items-- including the only beef item wasn't available for our reservation at 7:30pm (on a Tuesday). Not sure how their menu is different from many other trendy/pub restaurants-more of the same-old-same-old, except no burger option--that's distinguishable I guess. What does distinguish it from other restaurants is the poor quality of the food and prices that don't match the ambience or the hype. A great restaurant does it all well -service, ambience, and the food- and here the potential exists, but this restaurant hasn't built its foundation on serving great tasting/quality food, so ultimately the restaurant fails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Sea Urchin toast...if you dine at Tipple ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2015

Sea Urchin toast...if you dine at Tipple and Brine you MUST order that. Had friends in town and ordered 4 after the first bite. Also some of the freshest oysters around. Staff is amazing and attentive. Tipple and Brine is a great addition to Sherman Oaks and Ventura Blvd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only The Young

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2015

I don't like to compete with the music when talking to dinner companions.

Food very good but too noisy for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

A good bet in the valley

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2015

Respectable food (and drink) with solid service and ambience has made this my go-to place in the valley on a variety of occasions. No regrets to date, so kudos to the T&B team!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Extremely impressed with my weeknight here!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2015

I loved my experience. The food was perfection and the service was above any expectation. (I spent time in fine dining as a server, so expectations are high.) The marrow was savory and buttery, the beef tender and flavorful. Every dish was creatively crafted and presented, prepared with ideal temps and textures. The Brussels sprouts were firm, but even, with delightful caramelized outer leaves. The drinks delicious, unique and not skimpy, even at happy hour. The oysters were firm and full with no grit at all, and garnished with traditional toppings in a nuanced presentation. The atmosphere is comfortable, with a rustic class that is cool, but not pretentious. It was easy to talk and we lived our in-set window seating. We have decided to make this a regular destination. I strongly recommend Tipple & Brine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Going downhill

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2015

This was my second visit here. I enjoyed the first and felt the food was well prepared and conceptually quite interesting. Now it seems boring and overpriced. The oysters and the beer were great. Everything else, hamachi, octopus, swordfish was not worthy of the tariff and strangely tasteless. Something has definitely changed in the kitchen. Also the noise level without great food had become pretty obnoxious. But lots of pretty girls.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Can't wait to go back!!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2015

From the moment we walked in we knew it was going to be a positive first time experience. The hostess was so friendly and welcoming and there was an overall good vibe that transcended the entire restaurant. Music may be too loud for some but I loved the energy and great music choices. It has a great gastropub, rustic decor that that feels warm and inviting. The drinks are to die for! Our waitress was great at making recommendations -the whiskey jalapeno cocktail (Honey Badger) was unbelievable! All ingredients and mixes are fresh-nothing premixed. Stand outs are the oysters- presentation is lovely and oysters were fresh and a good selection. We were also really impressed with the brussell sprouts which we opted for no bacon and they were still so full of flavor- mushroom toast was unreal and save room for the best carrot cake you'll ever have in your life!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No reason to return!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2015

Though the Thai Curry flavor Mussels were fabulous, everything else about Tipple and Brine is not. The music is way too loud to be able to carry on any meaningful conversation. The service was very slow. Took forever to get the bread we requested. Coffee took even longer. Didn't arrive until we were almost finished with our desert.

The Flat Iron Steak was tough and tasteless. Not at all the birthday dinner celebration we had hoped for.

Wouldn't recommend it, and I doubt we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A Real Find

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Good food in a great atmosphere with a fantastic wait staff. Throw in a few signature drinks and a good variety of beers on tap and what more can you ask. It's a great place to go in Sherman Oaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was out third or fourth time at T&B ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2015

This was out third or fourth time at T&B, and never fails to impress. Wonderful craft cocktails, delicious oysters, shared plates... a solid option for mid-Valley date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Get the Brussel sprouts ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Love this place. Get the Brussel sprouts and mushroom toast. Also the honey badger drink is hot and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nothing really stood out to either if us ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Nothing really stood out to either if us. The menu was just okay. The mussels were great. Lived the non-alcoholic drinks available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Really a bar that serves food

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2015

Very poor management! We asked several times to turn down the speakers - no luck. With some songs we couldn't even hear each other. The table next to us also complained. Even for a bar this is violently loud.

Avoid, avoid, avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

A neighbor

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2015

Went on Halloween and earlyish so was tamer than last time. Sat at open sidewalk side of the restaurant and was some quieter. Food is consistently great for a neighborhood place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good drinks and food!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Two words: Uni Toast! Another bonus word: Oysters! I always get an eastside (cocktail). Their service is always very attentive too. I am glad they switched chefs because I think the updated menu is an improvement :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Tipple & Brine - a great neighborhood find

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2015

A fun vibe with excellent food, delicious cocktails, attentive staff and cool atmosphere. We'll definitely be back. Especially as it's in the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

small but excellent happy hour menu

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2015

This is a tapas style eatery. We started with a dozen chef's choice $1 oysters, which were perfect in size. Med to small, not the big gutty ones. Happy hours toasts - Wild Mushroom and Uni were amazing. So flavorful and a great deal at $5. The items off the menu were also very good, but a bit pricey ($15-20). The Thai mussels were fantastic, and authentically seasoned. The only let down was something like octopus meatballs. I was expecting something similar to Japanese Takoyaki, but instead it was very odd texture like mushy balls of meat that were VERY salty. We parked across the street in a structure, and got a validation with a post-meal stop at Starbucks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Uni Toast & Hammersley

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2015

I come here for the uni toast, hammersley oysters, and old fashioneds. Great service, lovely patio seating, and the food is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

so so

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 11, 2015

Salad was very expensive and ridiculously small. Very very loud. Main course ok but there are better places to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Turn it down/speed it up

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2015

I picked Tipple & Brine on a whim. It was a Friday at 8:00. Though only 60% full, the noise was deafening. Turn down the music! My date and I gave up in our attempt to communicate.

The service was slow and bordering on inattentive.

My date liked her fish, my chicken was acceptable.

Not offering espresso and related drinks is an odd choice.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

excellent

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 10, 2015

excellent food and service; bar is a cool spot as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Smaller portions does not = better food

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2015

We started with the olives and oysters, both wonderful. The Chef's Choice oysters were perfect. Generous amount of olives. As we progressed through the menu, the items decreased in size. These were the fig salad, Sea Bass entree and Curry Mussels. All very tasty, however, stretch the boundaries a little, like a bistro, and serve up appropriate portions.

Great re-do of the old space!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 4, 2015

It was just the wife and I for a nice little birthday dinner. Food was great! Ambience was great. Drinks were super tasty. I'm for sure going back. We shared a bunch of small plates. Fried Zuchinni, Beets & Burrata, Mussels in a Green Curry Broth, Brussel Sprouts and Manhattans oh my.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 3, 2015

This place has great atmosphere & decor, and the service is fantastic (although our waiter couldn't tell me much about the oysters). The cocktails are worth getting. As far as food, most of it was good. We ordered a dozen oysters, half of which was good, the other half not so good (can't remember their names). The mushroom toast was fabulous. The fig salad was disappointing--a very small portion & just ok flavor. The sea bass was delicious. Overall a great experience, though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Solid and fun

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2015

Nice special yet type of place you can go to regularly. Fun menu. Good choices without a large menu. Great looking room. So comfortable. Great layout. Super nice service. Cocktails done right, great craft beer list, this place put me in a good mood. You can't go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great pub spot

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 13, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinner and birthday/anniversary celebration there. My husband & I enjoy seafood and it's nice to find a place in the valley. Our daughter who likes seafood, but not fish put together a satisfying dinner of sides. I was particularly happy because when I made our Open Table reservation, I put in a request for a birthday surprise for my husband and our waiter brought us a complimentary slice of their famous carrot cake (the best I've ever had!) with a candle, without me having to mention it to him. We always go out to celebrate birthdays and other occasions and I have often put in special requests in the Open Table reservation, got to the restaurant and no one seemed to have read the request. Kudos to Tipple & Brine!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The ambiance was awesome and so was the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2015

The ambiance was awesome and so was the entire set up. The owner certainly put much thought into this establishment. The music was perfect. The food was also pretty good. The one and only main issue we experienced was the poor service. It was nearly 7 minutes after we were seated that the waitress came over. We ordered two drinks and that also took nearly 7 minutes. The waitress was friendly but lacked experience. We might return again but probably not. There's just no tolerance in us for poor service, and especially when a restaurant is 50% occupied. We really wanted this place to be higher caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Nite out

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Overall... Too dark- can't see what your eating. Perhaps that's why the portions are bite size. However, good for drinks and small bites.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

4th or 5th time that I've had dinner the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2015

4th or 5th time that I've had dinner there. Kinda 'meh' - had the seafood stew tonight - sauce too thick, mussels so tiny,almost non- existent, shrimp - tasteless - 2slabs of toast on top made it look like a TV Commerical for a fast food burger joint $ 26. WAY overpriced for just so/so food - all 5 entrees are about the same price. Martini up - 'Luke cold" & served in a martini glass that could double as a cup for sherbet at a Marriot Hotel

Appetizers to share - olives, Brussels sprouts and tuna - ok - but nothing to back for.

Noise level - (music) - obscenely loud. Server volunteered & said they glued the volume control, so they can't lower it - others apparently feel the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

One of my new favorite local spots!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2015

Love the menu, the cocktails and selection of beers...The best kale salad around (saying a lot since everyone has kale salad!)...fresh variety of oysters and great background music...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2015

Such amazing food AND service. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

hip place for the valley!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Fun atmosphere, nice decor. I like that they have an outdoor Patino facing Ventura Bkvd to people watch. Our waitress was amazing, gave great advice on the food and how much to order. The bar service at the table was a bit slow waiting about 15-20 each time to get drinks. Appetizers were yummy. My friend and I shared the short ribs for dinner which were good, not great...a bit dry and whatever the potatoes or veggies that were served with it were a bit hard. Presentation of food was also great! Would definitely go back s d try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing date spot

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 18, 2015

I found this restaurant on open table and suggested it to my boyfriend on a Monday. We were pleasantly surprised with the $1 oyster Monday option and the extensive wine list! He had the chicken entree and I had the catch of the day and the oysters were amazing! It was incredible and our server was so sweet. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Six visits to Tipple & Brine and I keep ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2015

Six visits to Tipple & Brine and I keep always wanting to bring new people here !

The menu, the crafted cocktails, the service and the craft bartenders - all of these make up a well-run neighborhood establishment which transports you to another to a feeling of being on holiday once you are inside and sharing oysters and fine whiskey drinks !!

Some of our favorites are :

Start with a dozen assorted oysters - ask for what the recommended choices are of the day

Sea Urchin Toast

Brussels sprouts

Fried octopus

Roasted beets

Bone marrow

Kale salad

Crispy bacon toast

Oyster shooters - the Red Devil

All these plates are perfectly portioned to share up to 3-4 people.

To drink we like the Scottish Opera and Mo Fashioned and the Honey Badger.

I haven't gotten to any main dishes because I am obsessed with sharing all the small plates

Our first experience here was phenomenal- Roscoe made us fantastic drinks while we waited briefly for our table and was friendly and talked to us about the restaurant. Friday night we went and brought a friend and had the same fabulous time. The staff has the service down and are all friendly and prompt. I cannot wait to go back !! We just had a birthday dinner here for eight and all our guests were raving! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and Foodie

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2015

Love this place. Good food and good ambiance. Oyster shooters are awesome and Octopus is divine. The service is always friendly and makes for a cool dinner in a funky Steampunk environment. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great tasting food and drinks!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2015

Unique and smooth cocktails. Excellent tasting appetizers, especially brussel sprouts and salmon tartar. Really enjoyed the short rib main entree. Can't wait to try other items on the menu!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2015

Cool place, very interesting and delicious dishes, friendly, hip staff, beautiful layout. Our only criticism was that when we ordered drinks, they would always take 15 minutes to get to us. We eventually moved to the bar to circumvent. Maybe hire another barkeep?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My friend and I went here for the DineLA ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2015

My friend and I went here for the DineLA menu.

The place is kind of dark because the only windows are the front ones facing the street, but where we were seated was right by the windows so there was enough light in which to see my friend and the food.

The parking was fairly easy. There is a lot where you can valet your car and around the corner, there was some metered street parking.

For the starter, I had the octopus salad. Very delicious and pretty big for a small plate place. My friend had the hamachi crudo, which he ate in all of 1 minute, but he enjoyed everything in that minute. :)

We did order one thing off the regular menu because it was a cheaper price due to Happy Hour, which was the bacon toast. Buttery crispy bread with burrata and bacon. Very tasty although I like my toast a bit more crispy than they do apparently.

For the main, I had the yellow corn agnolotti. Pasta was cooked perfectly and the sweet corn taste really came through. The "star of the dish" though was the cream sauce. If I could've licked the bowl clean, I would've. I almost asked for a spoon so I could finish eating it like a soup because the fork wasn't working well, but I decided against it. My friend had the roasted chicken for his main. It was tasty and the sauce was spicy, even for him, and he likes spicy.

Dessert for me was the carrot cake and for him the chocolate creameaux (sp?). I always make fun of food tv judges who complain about a dessert being too sweet because I'm thinking "duh. it's dessert. it's supposed to be sweet." and then I found myself telling my friend the same thing. The carrot cake was VERY sweet. However, I figured out it was mainly because of the frosting and the glaze on top. Once I scrapped that off and was left with the carrot cake, it was just perfect. My friend's chocolate dish was less sweet but yummy and very rich.

Overall, I'd eat here again for sure. The regular menu had some dishes I really wanted to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Tipple and Brine

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2015

Great room with a relaxed but energetic feel. Three of us had the tender, small roasted chicken, which was amazing. The halibut was a bit overcooked and dry, but fresh and on a delicious bed of black lentils. The octopus salad was wonderful, and the romaine salad salty thanks to the sliced olives, which I loved. I would definitely recommend this and try it again. No one was in the mood for oysters on this occasion, but we are planning on trying them next time. But don't go expecting a bargain. It's on the pricey side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.