About Timmer's Resort

5151 Timmer
West Bend, WI 53095
View Larger Map

Come and visit this beautiful historic landmark! Built in 1880 Timmer's Resort was totally remodeled in 2008 to restore the original charm of this lakeside dining and cabin resort. Our beautiful lodge has fire places in each dining room as well as beautiful views of Big Cedar Lake and its surrounding pines and native foliage. Our classic menu offers homemade goodness. Salads, Sandwiches, Seafood, Aged Steaks, Ribs along with our signature dishes Chicken Wellington & Citrus Crusted Salmon! You will discover our homemade desserts are sure to please. Our wine list is strong with California and US wines that will please any wine aficionado. Summer months you will want to enjoy our outdoor dining patio..It's everyone's favorite! Let us share our love of true Wisconsin hospitality with you. Timmer’s offers live music on the weekends for your entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy and discover Timmer’s!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm *Friday Dinner 4:00pm-10:00pm, First come first serve.

Cross Street:
Hwy NN

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 338-7710

Website:
http://www.timmersresort.net/

Catering:
Let Timmer's cater your event!

Executive Chef:
John Grasso

Private Party Facilities:
At Timmer's we specialize in making your event memorable. We have the Parlor that will handle 35 guests for a sit down dinner. The main dinning room can handle 75 guests for a sit down dinner and our bar can handle 50 guests for a cocktail and appetizer party. In the summer our outdoor grounds will make your party or wedding a very special event. WE have a tent that will accommodate up to 200 and another tent that will accommodate 100 people. We can have an event as casual as a pig roast to a carpeted and chandelier tent event. Your desires will be our goals.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Bellehumeur: 262-338-7710

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Breast With Cherry Bourbon Glaze - Timmer's Resort, West Bend, WI
  • Shrimp And Scallop Mac And Cheese With Lemom Grilled Asparagus - Timmer's Resort, West Bend, WI
  • Pepperella Rolls - Timmer's Resort, West Bend, WI
Duck Breast With Cherry Bourbon Glaze - Timmer's Resort, West Bend, WI
Shrimp And Scallop Mac And Cheese With Lemom Grilled Asparagus - Timmer's Resort, West Bend, WI
Pepperella Rolls - Timmer's Resort, West Bend, WI

Timmer's Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Milwaukee
4 More
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Best Value
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in West Bend ›

Scenic View (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
See All
Fireplace (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Cozy (15)
Waterfront (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Historic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful brunch at Timmer's this past w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful brunch at Timmer's this past weekend. Everything was fresh, colorful and delicious. The fireplace and scenery were beautiful and welcoming. The staff was wonderful...very attentive. We will definitely return for another meal soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us were at Timmer's for the Tha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Three of us were at Timmer's for the Thanksgiving Day Buffet. We had one person who was disabled and the hostess and waitress immediately tended to our situation by seating us closer to the doorway which was so appreciated. The ambiance, good nature of all the staff contributed to a relaxed, unrushed dinner. The food on the buffet was fresh and top quality. We have raved about going back for a "dinner" again and have spoken highly about the food and wait staff to our family and friends since our Buffet Thanksgiving meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Family Style, Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't say enough positive about it! It ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Can't say enough positive about it! It was fabulous!!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd year running that we've gone to Timm ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

3rd year running that we've gone to Timmers for Thanksgiving Dinner and--as the two previous times--highly pleased! As we left the restaurant, we wondered if we could book it already for next year. We saw a number of different family types there--including large families with children, couples, groups of 3 or 4 etc. Very Hospitable and food was wonderful.

`

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a very quiet and pe ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I had a very quiet and peaceful evening together. The food was great, lobster special including soup, potato and vegetables. The bread pudding was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for brunch to celebrate Th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were there for brunch to celebrate Thanksgiving with family the week before the holiday. This was a great way to enjoy the time with family and not have to cook and clean up... Great value and good food

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did not check online reservations a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

They did not check online reservations and so did not have our reservation. Had to wait 45 minutes for a table in the bar. A bit noisy. Scallops had something hard and crunchy in them- not good. Steak was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It's been years since I've been back to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It's been years since I've been back to Timmers. Beautiful location lakeside, wonderful warm updated dining room (fireplace!), great food and terrific service. What's not to like?

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Thursday prime rib special was outst ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Thursday prime rib special was outstanding! The prime was done exactly as ordered, tender and flavorful. The schaum torte was wonderful, as always. Our waitress, Bonnie was efficient, and friendly . We love the atmosphere and the location. We will return again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was disappointed with everything but the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Was disappointed with everything but the food. Appetizers were great, our prime rib sandwiches were wonderful, onion soup had only thyme flavor which was unusual for onion soup. They took the soup off our bill. Drinks were made well. Problems we encountered for our 7pm reservation were: no one at the hostess counter for 5 minutes as we walked from counter to bar to dining room entrance, etc. Finally we were seated, drink order taken but food order not taken for at least 15 minutes. Were delivered one roll after done with our appetizer and then about 10 minutes later were given 2 freshly baked ones with our sandwiches. Very noisy, difficult to have a conversation. When reservation made had requested something be brought out for my husband's Birthday but no piece of cake or anything brought out. 5 other people were given a treat with a candle but not us. Decided not to even bring it up, paid the bill and left. Not sure that we would be returning due to the negatives.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value4

Wonderful late morning brunch with frien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful late morning brunch with friends. Bloody Mary's well presented. Enjoyed our walk around the property and lake. Great friendly staff and brunch priced right! We will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and a super bar with great dr ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Great food and a super bar with great drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleasant dinner spot to reconnect w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very pleasant dinner spot to reconnect with good friends. Ambiance, food and beverages all top notch. Service staff is very pleasant and attentive. Main courses are a bit pricy but all and all, worth the drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Prime Rib was some of the best I've ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Prime Rib was some of the best I've had; just the right amount with almost no waste. It was cooked to perfection, tasty and tender. Also, the asparagus soup was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Some years ago, Timmer's Resort's bar an ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Some years ago, Timmer's Resort's bar and restaurant were expanded and modernized from a classic Wisconsin lodge and supper club into a more upscale dining and drinking establishment.

Our experience with Timmer's goes back more than 50 years to when we lived in the area, when the menu was Friday fish fries and Sunday 'after church' comfort food dinners. We happened to be attending a mid-week get-together in nearby West Bend, so we made reservations on a delightful Tuesday night for dinner. Drinks were hearty, the service in the dining room was cheerful and prompt, and the food was fresh, inviting and tasted to order. And a bonus: a great after-dinner walk around what still seems a throwback North Woods resort of quaint cabins and home nestled on the Big Cedar Lake shoreline.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

VERY FRIENDLY WELCOME AND THE WAIT STAFF ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2016

VERY FRIENDLY WELCOME AND THE WAIT STAFF WAS ALSO VERY FRIENDLY,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It is our #1 spot for special occasions. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It is our #1 spot for special occasions. The wait staff is prompt and courteous. They made a fuss for our anniversary which was flattering. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding dinner with servic ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner with service to match. The atmosphere was lively but not distracting and we could carry on a conversation without effort. It was too hot to eat outside but we walked along the waterfront prior to our meal and enjoyed the view. Definitely would return. It was great to see our old friend Fran. She adds the perfect touch to the restaurant-as we knew she would.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food wonderful lake side set ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Exceptional food wonderful lake side setting casual elegance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location with a view. Service was ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great location with a view. Service was well above average.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at Timmers about a half dozen ti ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We dine at Timmers about a half dozen times a year - the setting is great and excellent in the summer when you can enjoy a cocktail outside while overlooking the lake - Timmers does have a large outside dinning area but we prefer to eat inside which is a great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and so was the se ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was excellent and so was the service, hostess, waitress and bartender!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Walleye was excellent The Walleye wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The Walleye was excellent The Walleye was excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Impressed mysister-in-law who ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent! Impressed mysister-in-law who was visiting from LA. Reminded her of camp. Even roasted marshmellos with chocolate - s'mores on firepit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated out annivers ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 22, 2016

My husband and I celebrated out anniversary at Timmer's and it will be our new favorite place to go! The service, food, and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great menu without the rush to move tabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great menu without the rush to move tables! Great place to catch up and enjoy the beautiful view before or after your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Timmers was a great place! Sat outside ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Timmers was a great place! Sat outside for drinks and inside for dinner. Food was great and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The live music, fabulous food, awesome s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The live music, fabulous food, awesome service and great atmosphere can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience all around! Will be goi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great experience all around! Will be going back very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timmer's is always an enjoyable experien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Timmer's is always an enjoyable experience. The food, scenery, and overall great service is exceptional. The restaurant's jewel is Fran, the manager, who keeps things moving along. Her personality and "know-all" is perfect to keep this restaurant/resort a high quality favorite dining setting. Residents of Big Cedar Lake are fortunate to have this facility on their banks. Be sure to try the calamari Parmesan. Mouth watering and delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience! Will definitely ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great dining experience! Will definitely return. Food and service were awesome!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were early and as a surprise friends ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were early and as a surprise friends met us for a drink. We wanted a table for dinner outside on the patio. Fran accommodated our unexpected 'happy hour' and kept our table open for dinner and made sure a server was there for us also outside for drinks. This to me was the ultimate show of customer service. It was a birthday celebration that was memorable. I have been Timmers several times and will continue to have dinner/lunch there. Again. ..cudos to Fran for taking the extra step. It was so much appreciated. Carole Riegert

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is beautiful.....enjoyed walking down ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is beautiful.....enjoyed walking down by the lake with a drink in hand. Two of the party had ribeyes & we were both disappointed.....very chewy....neither of us finished ours. Staff was wonderful so we will be back to try again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome service, great wait staff. Food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome service, great wait staff. Food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous dinner with friends on Sa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a fabulous dinner with friends on Sat night. Wish we could have been outside but Fran put us in a great place and totally enjoyed the evening! Attentive staff, water filled frequently and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Food took forever. Sal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible service. Food took forever. Salad came after 10 minutes. Soup 5 minutes later (with dirty silverware). Entrees 25 minutes after that. I called to find out if anything special could be done for a birthday. They said that they can bring out a slice of cake. She asked if I wanted it to be a surprise and I said yes so she was going to put it into open table so that they could tell our server. When we got there we were at the host stand waiting-there were 2 ladies in front of us. They were going outside so the woman taking them asked if we did to. I said yes please I have a reservation for Leah. She said that's fine I just don't want to make another trip back in.. I'm going to take you out all at once. So they never even checked the reservation. The cake was never brought out and when she asked how our food was I brought it up. She was so rude said that's why I need to make sure and mention it again. I said I tried to go by our reservation but she didn't want to make another trip back. It wasn't about the cake but the lady didn't want to understand. We won't be going back.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We stopped in for brunch last Sunday. Th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We stopped in for brunch last Sunday. This place has great food in a historic location. The brunch has perfectly prepared food selections. While you might not have as many food choices as other brunches - everything offered is first rate. They also have a made-to-order omelette bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation which was ready for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a reservation which was ready for us when we arrived. We decided however,to wait for outdoor seating since it was a beautiful night. We had to wait 1 1/2 hours but we had a drink outside and just enjoyed the ambiance. Food was excellent and we never felt rushed even though it was nearing closing time for the dining room.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at Timmers outdoor dining area ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We dined at Timmers outdoor dining area for our Saturday night date night. The food, service and view were top notch! We had the Calamarie appetizer which just melts in your mouth and the lemon butter sauce makes my mouth water still. Our steaks ere perfectly grilled and delicious. The outdoor patio dining offers a spectacular view of the lake!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the walleye and the grouper. Both ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the walleye and the grouper. Both were terrific. Service was great. This is one of our favorite spots.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.