About Timmer's Resort

5151 Timmer
West Bend, WI 53095
View Larger Map

Come and visit this beautiful historic landmark! Built in 1880 Timmer's Resort was totally remodeled in 2008 to restore the original charm of this lakeside dining and cabin resort. Our beautiful lodge has fire places in each dining room as well as beautiful views of Big Cedar Lake and its surrounding pines and native foliage. Our classic menu offers homemade goodness. Salads, Sandwiches, Seafood, Aged Steaks, Ribs along with our signature dishes Chicken Wellington & Citrus Crusted Salmon! You will discover our homemade desserts are sure to please. Our wine list is strong with California and US wines that will please any wine aficionado. Summer months you will want to enjoy our outdoor dining patio..It's everyone's favorite! Let us share our love of true Wisconsin hospitality with you. Timmer’s offers live music on the weekends for your entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy and discover Timmer’s!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm *Friday Dinner 4:00pm-10:00pm, First come first serve.

Cross Street:
Hwy NN

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 338-7710

Website:
http://www.timmersresort.net/

Catering:
Let Timmer's cater your event!

Executive Chef:
John Grasso

Private Party Facilities:
At Timmer's we specialize in making your event memorable. We have the Parlor that will handle 35 guests for a sit down dinner. The main dinning room can handle 75 guests for a sit down dinner and our bar can handle 50 guests for a cocktail and appetizer party. In the summer our outdoor grounds will make your party or wedding a very special event. WE have a tent that will accommodate up to 200 and another tent that will accommodate 100 people. We can have an event as casual as a pig roast to a carpeted and chandelier tent event. Your desires will be our goals.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Bellehumeur: 262-338-7710

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Breast With Cherry Bourbon Glaze
  • Shrimp And Scallop Mac And Cheese With Lemom Grilled Asparagus
  • Pepperella Rolls
Duck Breast With Cherry Bourbon Glaze
Shrimp And Scallop Mac And Cheese With Lemom Grilled Asparagus
Pepperella Rolls

Timmer's Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Great for Brunch
Wisconsin
Outdoor Dining
Wisconsin
7 More
Scenic View
Wisconsin
American
Wisconsin
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Great for Brunch
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in West Bend ›

scenic view (33)
special occasion (27)
great for brunch (23)
See All
great for outdoor dining (19)
neighborhood gem (15)
fit for foodies (12)
good for groups (12)
romantic (10)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All four of us selected something differ ...

Dined 4 days ago

All four of us selected something different from the menu and we were all very pleased with the meal. Everyone we met provided exceptional service and were very friendly. When we inquired about reserving rooms at the resort, we were told there is a five year waiting list! This place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Brunch was fantastic. The right amou ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Brunch was fantastic. The right amount of options too in my opinion. Not too many to choose from, but enough to want to have a good variety.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Timmer's a few times. Alw ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been to Timmer's a few times. Always a great experience. From the bar to the food. All good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

What an enjoyable evening. I ordered the ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

What an enjoyable evening. I ordered the soft shell crab and it was outstanding. The grouper special was delicious and our friends ribeye steak was great. To top off this tasty evening we shared the bread pudding.....yummy!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, arrived a little early, happy ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

As always, arrived a little early, happy hour at the bar, under $20 for 3 drinks including 2 calls. Food included 2 apps, mussels in white wine and escargot, both of which were excellent. Dinners for all 3 exceeded expectations, which were very high. Service was great, and desert and ice cream drinks topped off the night. Would (and do) recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special dinner

Dined on June 1, 2016

The walleye was the best I have had - service was great and so was the atmosphere. Easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An Historic Dinner

Dined on May 31, 2016

We reunited with an old friend from high school for dinner. Timmer's was perfect for bringing our past into the present in an atmosphere that is both historic and vibrantly today. Everyone loved their food choices - we chose the daily special grouper, the Walleye and the Salmon. Our hostess and waitresses were gracious and patient as we had a hard time focusing on the menu because of the joy of our reunion. The evening was a total success! Thank you Timmer's.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our family has dined at Timmers for several special occasion brunches. The restaurant really knows how to prepare food for large groups and how to keep it warm without getting dry or tough. The view of the lake is so relaxing, the grounds are impeccably maintained. Overall, it is one of the best dining experiences we have had.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

MOTHERS DAY AT TIMMERS

Dined on May 8, 2016

Timmer is a very nice restaurant. Hostess always friendly. Bar is very nice, but need better wines available, champagne, Asti, some sweeter wines. Fish Fry here is awesome. Brunch was ok. Could not believe they had like Hostess little donuts out for Mothes Day, a lot of store bought deserts, and then a couple of homemade. But all and all we do like Timmers and outside patio is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice rustic decor, beautiful fieldstone ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Nice rustic decor, beautiful fieldstone fireplace. Friendly staff, good food and very clean. Nice lake setting with outdoor seating area, perfect for when the weather warms up. Brunch was delicious, nice selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I now drive 2 1/2 hours to dine here...that good

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Went here once with the family for brunch - first time. Was so wowed I met up with a family member - no brainer to dine here. I am from Chicago so the drive is a little long, but the experience as a whole package is fantastic. Would I drive some place to eat if it had just one great aspect? No. However, since this has the whole package - I would come back again and again - even if it takes me a couple of hours.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A Great Find!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I recently met my parents at Timmer's Resort for dinner. We selected this spot for dinner because of location, it was about halfway between my parent's home and ours. Previous to finding TImmer's Resort online, I had never hear of, or had the restaurant recommended to me. It was chosen site-unseen from web reviews and their website. I must say, it was a nice find. The facility, location and ambiance are all great. Their website actually undersells how nice the restaurant it. The photos on their website don't really do it justice. I was expecting an old traditional Wisconsin supper club that had seen one too many seasons without an upgrade. I was wrong. The dining room is warm and inviting with a large stone fireplace in the center. The food was pretty good, although for the premium price I would have expected a little better attention to detail for my entree'. My dish came with overcooked pasta, which was just kind of pushed off to the side of the plate with a sad little drizzle of sauce on it. My only gripe really, otherwise dinner was spot-on. (In fairness to the waitstaff and chef, I didn't complain about the pasta at the time, and did not give them an opportunity to correct the error during service.) Everyone else in our group enjoyed their dinners (steak, salmon, walleye), and we split several desserts. All were very good. I can't wait to visit in the warmer months to take advantage of their great outdoor patio with vies of Big Cedar Lake.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

We met some friends at Timmer's for Sunday Brunch. The y had wonderful made to order omelets and many other nice selections. Great fresh fruit. Wonderful service. Very cost effective. Lovely atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Applause Applause

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

First time for Easter brunch with my obnoxious family. Staff was incredible - food was wonderful - I think I may have had the best egg white omelette ever - the entire place was a retreat unto its own - would love to come by during the summer - must be beautiful (no wonder there is a 6 year waiting list on the cabins!!).

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3

Very good Sunday brunch. Overall I woul ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good Sunday brunch. Overall I would recommend giving it a try. Service was just ok but it was a busy Easter Day. Great selection of food but for price normal drinks should have been included.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Brunch

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had never been to Timmer's for brunch before, but we always enjoy dinner there. Our brunch was very good, and a very good value. Also loved the Bloody Mary's! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best walleye dinner ever.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The best walleye dinner ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fantastic!!

Dined on February 21, 2016

As always, food and service was fantastic! My #1 Sunday brunch place, hands down!! Have never been disappointed at Timmer's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious romantic dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Truly enjoyed our dinner at Timmers. The restaurant is cozy and warm with an updated rustic feel. Great place to go for a romantic dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved it!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Found on Open Table for a Valentine's dinner. It was EXACTLY what we needed. Great atmosphere, great food, and wonderful service. We will be bringing other friends and family back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timmer's Warm and Charming

Dined on February 13, 2016

Valentine's dinner was delightful on a Saturday night. Timmer's was decorated for the occasion and a warm fire was blazing. Waitress and hostess very nice, I enjoyed my New York strip steak and my husband really liked the filet. Relaxing and charming.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great ambiance. The prime ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and great ambiance. The prime rib was cooked to perection and melted in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love Timmer's!

Dined on January 9, 2016

As always, we enjoyed our dinner at Timmer's. Probably because we reserved at 5 p.m., we got a great table right at the fireplace. Also, it was not crowded at that time--by the time we left, they started to get busier. The setting of the restaurant and the atmosphere is just lovely. We enjoyed the salmon and Canadian walleye. We shared the turtle cheesecake for dessert--all excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent New Year's Eve dinner!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent service and food for a busy evening! Great ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Supper

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great atmosphere and food was excellent. We'll be back again.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the Drive

Dined on December 30, 2015

Happened upon this place after a stop at Cabela's and was very pleased. The restaurant is a bit off the beaten path but not so far that you might get worried you won't find your way back to the interstate without google maps. The atmosphere was very warm and romantic. The food was spectacular and far exceeded the value of much larger more expensive chain restaurants. I had the scallops and my husband had the pork chop and both were phenomenal. We will absolutely plan on coming here for dinner again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Brunch

Dined on December 27, 2015

Very poor selection for the cost of the brunch. We have had a larger variety the time we were their. The chicken was very greasy and where you had the omelet table was to close to the main entrance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atomosphere, incredible dining experience!

Dined on December 24, 2015

We love going out to dinner at Timmer's! The atomosphere is so cozy and relaxed, the employees are so nice! I always feel like it is a treat when we book a reservation there. We went there to celebrate my birthday, it was fabulous! The food was delicious! It was the highlight of the day! I will recommend Timmer's to anyone. We are planning to come back and bring friends there for dinner. It is a wonderful dining experience! The sea scallops with asparagus risotto was incredible, thumbs up to the chef!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service, atmosphere!

Dined on December 24, 2015

Dinner for three. Started with a round of drinks at the bar, then appetizers and dinner. Bartender knew what he was doing, very professional. Had Prince Edward Island mussels (outstanding, must-try), calamari (very good), and Edamame pot stickers (also good) for appetizers. Entrees included a large salad (fresh), 17 oz. 2-bone pork chop (terrific) and 6 oz. medium rare filet mignon with mushrooms. Filet was cooked perfectly, but I would only give it a grade of B for flavor and texture. No complaints, but I've had better, albeit at a much higher price. Smashed red potatoes and vegetable sides were fresh and tasty. Loved the carrot balls! Lexie, our server, was excellent. Highly recommend Timmer's, we'll be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Make a trip to Timmers every time we are ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Make a trip to Timmers every time we are back in WI! It was a perfect date night. Food and service were excellent. Love the fireplace!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Dined on November 28, 2015

We went here for my 21st. I wanted something unique, cozy, and special. This place surpassed my expectations! The ambience was the best part--we sat next to an open fire. Loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All of the help from the server to the c ...

Dined on November 26, 2015

All of the help from the server to the chef were all very friendly to us. The food for the Thanksgiving Buffet was spectacular - the choices available were numerous and it was all tasty. We will definitely be back to enjoy the ambiance, bar, fireplace setting, along with the great tasting food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving Brunch

Dined on November 26, 2015

Wonderful food. I would definitely recommend Timmer's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Thanksgiving Buffet

Dined on November 26, 2015

This is the second year in a row that my husband and I celebrated Thanksgiving at Timmers and we plan to go again next year. The staff and servers were friendly, attentive, and hard-working. The food was excellent and varied. If you wanted to sample everything it would take 3 full plates.....but two was enough for us. In addition to the traditional turkey, they also had a carving station with beef which we both enjoyed. When it came time for desert, we were already full, but took some anyway. Our choice were pumpkin pie, a pecan pie-type bar, and an apple crumb bar. (If pecan pie or desert options are a must have, this may not be the place for you, but we survived fine).

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantically Relaxed Hideaway

Dined on November 22, 2015

From the ambiance of a warm bar to the English hearth dining room, this is an experience in country culinary charm. May we suggest that you placed this on your agenda to experience many times over.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Family gathering

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

We had a delightful family gathering for dinner at Timmers on a Tuesday night. The service was excellent and took special care of our party of seven plus one child. Everyone raved about their entree selection and the two that ordered the beet salad were especially pleased with it. We were very happy we selected Timmers for our rendezvous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Our hostess was exceptional. Stayed on ...

Dined on October 22, 2015

Our hostess was exceptional. Stayed on top of our needs knowing it was my birthday. I did not expect a delicious free dessert. The walleye was the best since shore lunch in Canada and my husbands prime rib sandwich was very satisfying. Grew up on the lake but have not been to Timmer's in years. Well worth the trip. Go enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Sunday brunch

Dined on October 18, 2015

Took my twin daughters and their families here for Sunday brunch. Atmosphere was very nice and the food was good. They had a chef that would make you any omelette or style of eggs that you wish! My omelette was delicious. They also had some wonderful desserts. If there was a downside, it would be that the selection of food for the brunch was not very large.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night!!

Dined on September 29, 2015

We had a wonderful meal with good friends. Everything was top notch and delicious. All loved their dinners! Our server was excellent and friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Fun with friends

Dined on September 16, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner with good friends. The meals were enjoyed by all. The only problem in the entire night was the waitress. She seemed very hassled and rushed except for when it was time to pay the bill and she was nowhere around. We think she had too many tables to wait on since there was a big crowd outside that she was waitressing. Maybe the problem was not enough help. We are returning again next week with different friends so we will see how it goes. We love the restaurant and the food is delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.