About Timmer's Resort

5151 Timmer
West Bend, WI 53095
View Larger Map

Come and visit this beautiful historic landmark! Built in 1880 Timmer's Resort was totally remodeled in 2008 to restore the original charm of this lakeside dining and cabin resort. Our beautiful lodge has fire places in each dining room as well as beautiful views of Big Cedar Lake and its surrounding pines and native foliage. Our classic menu offers homemade goodness. Salads, Sandwiches, Seafood, Aged Steaks, Ribs along with our signature dishes Chicken Wellington & Citrus Crusted Salmon! You will discover our homemade desserts are sure to please. Our wine list is strong with California and US wines that will please any wine aficionado. Summer months you will want to enjoy our outdoor dining patio..It's everyone's favorite! Let us share our love of true Wisconsin hospitality with you. Timmer’s offers live music on the weekends for your entertainment. We welcome you to enjoy and discover Timmer’s!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm *Friday Dinner 4:00pm-10:00pm, First come first serve.

Cross Street:
Hwy NN

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 338-7710

Website:
http://www.timmersresort.net/

Catering:
Let Timmer's cater your event!

Executive Chef:
John Grasso

Private Party Facilities:
At Timmer's we specialize in making your event memorable. We have the Parlor that will handle 35 guests for a sit down dinner. The main dinning room can handle 75 guests for a sit down dinner and our bar can handle 50 guests for a cocktail and appetizer party. In the summer our outdoor grounds will make your party or wedding a very special event. WE have a tent that will accommodate up to 200 and another tent that will accommodate 100 people. We can have an event as casual as a pig roast to a carpeted and chandelier tent event. Your desires will be our goals.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Bellehumeur: 262-338-7710

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Breast With Cherry Bourbon Glaze
  • Shrimp And Scallop Mac And Cheese With Lemom Grilled Asparagus
  • Pepperella Rolls
Duck Breast With Cherry Bourbon Glaze
Shrimp And Scallop Mac And Cheese With Lemom Grilled Asparagus
Pepperella Rolls

Timmer's Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Outdoor Dining
Wisconsin
Scenic View
Wisconsin
5 More
American
Wisconsin
Best Ambiance
Milwaukee
Outdoor Dining
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
American
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in West Bend ›

Scenic View (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Great for Brunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (16)
Kid-friendly (12)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Walleye was excellent The Walleye wa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Walleye was excellent The Walleye was excellent

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Impressed mysister-in-law who ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! Impressed mysister-in-law who was visiting from LA. Reminded her of camp. Even roasted marshmellos with chocolate - s'mores on firepit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated out annivers ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I celebrated out anniversary at Timmer's and it will be our new favorite place to go! The service, food, and atmosphere were outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great menu without the rush to move tabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great menu without the rush to move tables! Great place to catch up and enjoy the beautiful view before or after your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Timmers was a great place! Sat outside ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Timmers was a great place! Sat outside for drinks and inside for dinner. Food was great and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The live music, fabulous food, awesome s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The live music, fabulous food, awesome service and great atmosphere can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience all around! Will be goi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great experience all around! Will be going back very soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timmer's is always an enjoyable experien ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Timmer's is always an enjoyable experience. The food, scenery, and overall great service is exceptional. The restaurant's jewel is Fran, the manager, who keeps things moving along. Her personality and "know-all" is perfect to keep this restaurant/resort a high quality favorite dining setting. Residents of Big Cedar Lake are fortunate to have this facility on their banks. Be sure to try the calamari Parmesan. Mouth watering and delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience! Will definitely ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great dining experience! Will definitely return. Food and service were awesome!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were early and as a surprise friends ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were early and as a surprise friends met us for a drink. We wanted a table for dinner outside on the patio. Fran accommodated our unexpected 'happy hour' and kept our table open for dinner and made sure a server was there for us also outside for drinks. This to me was the ultimate show of customer service. It was a birthday celebration that was memorable. I have been Timmers several times and will continue to have dinner/lunch there. Again. ..cudos to Fran for taking the extra step. It was so much appreciated. Carole Riegert

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is beautiful.....enjoyed walking down ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is beautiful.....enjoyed walking down by the lake with a drink in hand. Two of the party had ribeyes & we were both disappointed.....very chewy....neither of us finished ours. Staff was wonderful so we will be back to try again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome service, great wait staff. Food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Awesome service, great wait staff. Food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous dinner with friends on Sa ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a fabulous dinner with friends on Sat night. Wish we could have been outside but Fran put us in a great place and totally enjoyed the evening! Attentive staff, water filled frequently and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service. Food took forever. Sal ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terrible service. Food took forever. Salad came after 10 minutes. Soup 5 minutes later (with dirty silverware). Entrees 25 minutes after that. I called to find out if anything special could be done for a birthday. They said that they can bring out a slice of cake. She asked if I wanted it to be a surprise and I said yes so she was going to put it into open table so that they could tell our server. When we got there we were at the host stand waiting-there were 2 ladies in front of us. They were going outside so the woman taking them asked if we did to. I said yes please I have a reservation for Leah. She said that's fine I just don't want to make another trip back in.. I'm going to take you out all at once. So they never even checked the reservation. The cake was never brought out and when she asked how our food was I brought it up. She was so rude said that's why I need to make sure and mention it again. I said I tried to go by our reservation but she didn't want to make another trip back. It wasn't about the cake but the lady didn't want to understand. We won't be going back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We stopped in for brunch last Sunday. Th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We stopped in for brunch last Sunday. This place has great food in a historic location. The brunch has perfectly prepared food selections. While you might not have as many food choices as other brunches - everything offered is first rate. They also have a made-to-order omelette bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation which was ready for ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a reservation which was ready for us when we arrived. We decided however,to wait for outdoor seating since it was a beautiful night. We had to wait 1 1/2 hours but we had a drink outside and just enjoyed the ambiance. Food was excellent and we never felt rushed even though it was nearing closing time for the dining room.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at Timmers outdoor dining area ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We dined at Timmers outdoor dining area for our Saturday night date night. The food, service and view were top notch! We had the Calamarie appetizer which just melts in your mouth and the lemon butter sauce makes my mouth water still. Our steaks ere perfectly grilled and delicious. The outdoor patio dining offers a spectacular view of the lake!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the walleye and the grouper. Both ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the walleye and the grouper. Both were terrific. Service was great. This is one of our favorite spots.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is lively and friendly. T ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The atmosphere is lively and friendly. The food is outstanding....the calamari appetizer is delicious and of the 5 of us we ordered 3 parmesan encrusted grouper dinners and 2 soft shell crab dinners.....all were superb! The softshell crab was the best I've ever eaten. Thanks for a truly enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Was my first time at timmers and was gre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Was my first time at timmers and was greatly pleased with the entire experience. My brother and family from california were in town for his baby son's baptism and his daughter's golden third birthday. Very special day with other out of town family so a mini reunion as well. Everyone loved the delicious brunch and top notch service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Timmers with some good friend ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Timmers with some good friends on a beautiful summer evening, and although the outdoor seating was taken, they accommodated our request to dine outside and outfitted a picnic table with white tablecloths and a beautiful candle. It created beautiful ambiance as the sun was setting over the lake, and the food and service were both outstanding. We are looking forward to going back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has been a favorite for years ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This place has been a favorite for years; we come often with friends. Today was perfect weather, reservations well in advance and seated on the patio. We were celebrating an anniversary with our in-laws (and embarrassingly so, this was their 1st time visiting, per our recommendation), and dinner out sans children. Although I wasn't thrilled with not getting drinks for about twenty min, what really affected our experience was when the manager came to our table and asked us to leave "because we have a ten-top waiting". I was appalled; we had only been seated for a total of 1.5 hrs (including twenty min of waiting for drinks), ordered drinks, salads, entrees, and desserts for each person spending well over $200, my drink wasn't even finished, I just sat my spoon down from dessert, and we're asked to give up our table (when others were empty) to accommodate someone else who apparently deserved the seats more than us?! Normally, we easily spend a comfortable 1.75-2 hrs dining with all courses. We were not overstaying our table by any means. Before our dessert even came out, the manager was telling this large party (where I could clearly see and hear) that we "will just be a few more minutes and they could have our table". Obviously, she planned to use our table before our food was even served, and then to embarrass us, along with our guests by asking us to leave, it was simply shocking. I responded back with "we will leave when I finish my drink, as planned." She said quickly "well there are some chairs down on the lawn if you'd like to finish up there." Really?! Treatment like this will be the ticket for us not returning and we've been loyal for years - recommending and buying gift cards for family/friends. Very disappointed with the way we were treated, and assuming that our business as locals wasn't as valued as vacationers. Great food attracts costumers; great service keeps them returning. I have never felt so little at a restaurant as she made us feel.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Awesome food and atmosphere!the scenery ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Awesome food and atmosphere!the scenery is gorgeous.would definitely recommend this place to any body for nearly any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Timmer's has become one of our favorite ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Timmer's has become one of our favorite restaurants! The drinks, food & service are always excellent, and the ambiance of an old time lake resort is wonderful. A little off the beaten path, but well worth a trip.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All four of us selected something differ ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

All four of us selected something different from the menu and we were all very pleased with the meal. Everyone we met provided exceptional service and were very friendly. When we inquired about reserving rooms at the resort, we were told there is a five year waiting list! This place is a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are summer residents in this area acr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We are summer residents in this area across the lake from Timmer's and I must say the food was always good but I do feel it has improved tremendously! I had the scallops with asparagus risotto and it was delicious. Perfectly seared scallops atop creamy tasty risotto. The out door patio is great and the firepit with complimentary smores is fun. We will definitely return to Timmer's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Brunch was fantastic. The right amou ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The Brunch was fantastic. The right amount of options too in my opinion. Not too many to choose from, but enough to want to have a good variety.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been to Timmer's a few times. Alw ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been to Timmer's a few times. Always a great experience. From the bar to the food. All good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an enjoyable evening. I ordered the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What an enjoyable evening. I ordered the soft shell crab and it was outstanding. The grouper special was delicious and our friends ribeye steak was great. To top off this tasty evening we shared the bread pudding.....yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, arrived a little early, happy ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

As always, arrived a little early, happy hour at the bar, under $20 for 3 drinks including 2 calls. Food included 2 apps, mussels in white wine and escargot, both of which were excellent. Dinners for all 3 exceeded expectations, which were very high. Service was great, and desert and ice cream drinks topped off the night. Would (and do) recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The walleye was the best I have had - service was great and so was the atmosphere. Easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An Historic Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We reunited with an old friend from high school for dinner. Timmer's was perfect for bringing our past into the present in an atmosphere that is both historic and vibrantly today. Everyone loved their food choices - we chose the daily special grouper, the Walleye and the Salmon. Our hostess and waitresses were gracious and patient as we had a hard time focusing on the menu because of the joy of our reunion. The evening was a total success! Thank you Timmer's.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our family has dined at Timmers for several special occasion brunches. The restaurant really knows how to prepare food for large groups and how to keep it warm without getting dry or tough. The view of the lake is so relaxing, the grounds are impeccably maintained. Overall, it is one of the best dining experiences we have had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

MOTHERS DAY AT TIMMERS

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Timmer is a very nice restaurant. Hostess always friendly. Bar is very nice, but need better wines available, champagne, Asti, some sweeter wines. Fish Fry here is awesome. Brunch was ok. Could not believe they had like Hostess little donuts out for Mothes Day, a lot of store bought deserts, and then a couple of homemade. But all and all we do like Timmers and outside patio is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Nice rustic decor, beautiful fieldstone ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Nice rustic decor, beautiful fieldstone fireplace. Friendly staff, good food and very clean. Nice lake setting with outdoor seating area, perfect for when the weather warms up.

Brunch was delicious, nice selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I now drive 2 1/2 hours to dine here...that good

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Went here once with the family for brunch - first time. Was so wowed I met up with a family member - no brainer to dine here. I am from Chicago so the drive is a little long, but the experience as a whole package is fantastic. Would I drive some place to eat if it had just one great aspect? No. However, since this has the whole package - I would come back again and again - even if it takes me a couple of hours.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Find!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I recently met my parents at Timmer's Resort for dinner. We selected this spot for dinner because of location, it was about halfway between my parent's home and ours. Previous to finding TImmer's Resort online, I had never hear of, or had the restaurant recommended to me. It was chosen site-unseen from web reviews and their website. I must say, it was a nice find.

The facility, location and ambiance are all great. Their website actually undersells how nice the restaurant it. The photos on their website don't really do it justice. I was expecting an old traditional Wisconsin supper club that had seen one too many seasons without an upgrade. I was wrong. The dining room is warm and inviting with a large stone fireplace in the center.

The food was pretty good, although for the premium price I would have expected a little better attention to detail for my entree'. My dish came with overcooked pasta, which was just kind of pushed off to the side of the plate with a sad little drizzle of sauce on it. My only gripe really, otherwise dinner was spot-on. (In fairness to the waitstaff and chef, I didn't complain about the pasta at the time, and did not give them an opportunity to correct the error during service.)

Everyone else in our group enjoyed their dinners (steak, salmon, walleye), and we split several desserts. All were very good.

I can't wait to visit in the warmer months to take advantage of their great outdoor patio with vies of Big Cedar Lake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We met some friends at Timmer's for Sunday Brunch. The y had wonderful made to order omelets and many other nice selections. Great fresh fruit. Wonderful service. Very cost effective. Lovely atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Applause Applause

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

First time for Easter brunch with my obnoxious family. Staff was incredible - food was wonderful - I think I may have had the best egg white omelette ever - the entire place was a retreat unto its own - would love to come by during the summer - must be beautiful (no wonder there is a 6 year waiting list on the cabins!!).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Sunday brunch. Overall I woul ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good Sunday brunch. Overall I would recommend giving it a try. Service was just ok but it was a busy Easter Day. Great selection of food but for price normal drinks should have been included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.