About Three Flags Tavern

4940 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 3pm - 10pm

Friday: 3pm - 11pm

Saturday: 10am - 11pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Sunday: 10am - 9pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Oyster Hour Specials 3pm - 6pm Monday through Friday

Bar open to close

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 669-9222

Website:
http://www.threeflagstavern.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).

Executive Chef:
John O'Brien

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Three Flags Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Southwest Garden ›

fit for foodies (53)
neighborhood gem (50)
special occasion (30)
See All
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for brunch (22)
good for groups (21)
romantic (18)
notable wine list (12)
great for lunch (11)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu, excellent preparation and pr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great menu, excellent preparation and presentation, fine friendly service. Lobster beignets are delicious. Overall welcome addition to the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A most enjoyable dining experience! From ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A most enjoyable dining experience! From the specials to the wine list, it was a delicious meal! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrating good times lol

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Bouillabaisse and escargot on special were TO DIE FOR. Beautiful dark wood interiors with a cozy, inviting bar. A good mix of mod and trad. The shrimp and grits were aMaZiNg! Wine and drinks were above par and as for the Hemingway cocktail, sign me up for 2 ;-) The neighborhood has such a quaint, "urban" vibe to it. The bathrooms were immaculate (no gloryholes). Word to the wise, get before it's gone. Toodles!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great surprise brunch for Mothers Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I tried this for Mothers Day and we were so pleasantly surprised by a wonderful wine and beer list, cantaloupe salad and Crab Benedict and the famous burger. Needless to say we loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Good

Dined on May 8, 2016

I love Three Flags Tavern! This is the third special occasion I've celebrated here, and it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Shrimp and grits

Dined on May 1, 2016

My only complaint was the heads being left on the shrimp. I feel that this is just a pointless effort to make the dish look cool to pretentious foodie types. It serves no purpose. The dish itself was delicious though.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another incredible meal.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been in St. Louis for just over two weeks and have eaten here three times. Twice for dinner and once for brunch. This place rocks! We brought another couple with us the last time and they agreed. This has to go on my top 10 list in St. Louis - which is difficult when you think about the sheer number of restaurants in this city. The owners are incredibly nice and the chef is incredibly talented. You will not be disappointed. The appetizer tacos are wonderful - I've had the fish special once and the trout on the menu once - both were excellent. The most wonderful part is we can walk here! The only complaint I can possibly think of is the bartender could be a little more personable - but we will continue to make this one of our regular places when we are in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good dine!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Lobster beignets - need I say more? Amazing. Mixed green salad perfect with such a nice dressing, honey dijon vinaigrette, we love it. The burger is delicious, and of course, although we didn't order it this time, don't miss the Connecticut lobster roll!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a Thursday. The staff was was ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was a Thursday. The staff was was very pleasant and worked well as a team. When one person became swamped with a big table, another person filled in the gaps. The oysters Rockefeller were delicious. I also loved the mashed potatoes and lobster roll ... Yummmm. The flourless chocolate cake wasn't too bad either. Enjoyable, tasty meal!

food5
ambience5
service4

The food is always amazing! Mussels are ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food is always amazing! Mussels are the best in the city. Server was great, but I think she needed more help. She was very apologetic for any wait we incurred and more than made up for it! One of my favorite places in all of Stl!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on April 13, 2016

We have been to Three Flags numerous times and the experience always exceeds expectations. Carefully prepared food, excellent drinks, superb service. We highly recommend Three Flags.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Service and food excellent. One entree came out wrong and was immediately corrected. Very knowledgable and friendly staff. Even a Monday night was memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant dining experience

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Menu was interesting, food was well prepared and served timely. Bar drinks and wine both very good. Pretty much you can't go wrong!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our mothers out to dinner for th ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We took our mothers out to dinner for their birthdays. The staff was very welcoming. We enjoyed our drinks and wine. The Beef Wellington and pork loin were exceptional. I look forward to returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good choice for Saturday Brunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

Took my daughters and their boyfriends here for brunch this past Saturday. Food and service very good. I'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

awesome monday option

Dined on March 21, 2016

many good restaurants in st. louis are closed on mondays, so we were pleased to find three flags tavern an exception. it's a great place for a special dinner. plan some time--we had concert tickets and had to rush a bit toward the end. the wait for the freshly prepared food is worth it, though.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Three Flags is a consistently great expe ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Three Flags is a consistently great experience - the ambiance of a cozy neighborhood tavern layered with stellar good. My burger and fries were perfection, and the fried pickles were hot and crisp. A juicy time was had by all!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wednesday Treat

Dined on March 3, 2016

We went on a Wednesday for happy hour oysters, which were fresh and lovely, and discovered to our pleasure it was Whiskey Wednesday -- bonus! After happy hour we had an amazing dinner. My friend's scallops with andouille sausage and grits made the rest of us jealous! The brisket burger was definitely a step up from a regular restaurant burger and cooked perfectly. Great service from our bartender and waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Valentine Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great surprise for my wife of someplace off our beaten path. It was a snow covered morning but the place was full which tells me we were In the right place. Mimosa her Bloody Mary him Beignets Omelet him Duck Confi Hash her Coffees

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Three Flags!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

My husband and I live close to Three Flags so we've been here several times. One reason we keep going back is because it's open on Mondays! I love the feel of this place right when you walk in. It's modern but cozy. They have a great wine and cocktail list. The menu is fantastic...I really feel like there's something for everyone and it changes enough to keep it interesting. Recent favorites have been the Beef Wellington (SO GOOD), potato crusted grouper, escargot appetizer, and the mussels. We will continue to go back here. HIGHLY recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid food and service

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Solid food and service

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool Vibe

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Very cool vibe at Three Flags. Had reservation and was seated right on time. {None of that "thanks for making a reservation but sit at the bar and we'll get to you when we can" nonsense.} Server was extremely friendly and knew the menu well. Dining room has a tasteful retro STL/historical theme. Food was high quality-- perhaps a little bland. Taco apps were a pleasant surprise. Wine list was a little ambitious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice neighborhood restaurant. Quirky men ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Nice neighborhood restaurant. Quirky menu but everything we ordered was very good. Limited by the glass wine list.

food5
ambience3
service5

Good food. Had to ask for bread. Could h ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Good food. Had to ask for bread. Could have been offered.

food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely Missouri Westward Expansion them ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Lovely Missouri Westward Expansion themed restaurant. Delicious food. Enjoyed brunch, as well. A little salty, though.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were first time visitors to Three Fla ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

We were first time visitors to Three Flags Tavern. There will definitely be a second visit. Service was excellent. The taco appetizer got us off to a good start as did the selection of specialty cocktails. Our entrees were also very good. The burger is huge and looked delicious. One of our party ordered the scallops and Andouille, which is a rather strange combination of flavors. Although it was quite tasty, that particular dish probably would not be ordered again as the Andouille overpowers the more delicate flavor of the scallops. All in all, It was a great first visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on January 14, 2016

Food preparation and presentation were excellent; a somewhat limited but varied menu has broad appeal. A bit noisey in the main dining room, would probably asked to be seated in bar on our next visit. Waiter was attentive and well versed as to food preparation.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great wine, great service.

Dined on January 5, 2016

great food, great wine, great service. our second visit. Everything was as good as the first visit. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wine menu. The ambience is lovely. Just a nice, comfy, delicious experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food, wine, and service is excellent ! A great restaurant for date night .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delightful Dining Experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

We had dinner at 3 Flags Tavern on Dec. 30th and it was an excellent dinner with attentive and friendly service. We definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful knowledgeable service. Excelle ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Wonderful knowledgeable service. Excellent suggestions for wine pairing as well. Great choices on menu. Consistently delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on December 25, 2015

Enjoyed a wonderful meal as always. The pre fixed dinner with an Asian flare for Christmas Eve did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find for dinner

Dined on December 19, 2015

Very nice atmosphere and quick service. Food choices were unique and excellent. Reasonable wine prices and choices. Had the fried chicken; highly recommend this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

A disappointing experience at what used ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

A disappointing experience at what used to be a "go to" restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4

A great night out for dinner

Dined on December 6, 2015

A lovely evening, good cocktails, great food. The service was friendly, attentive and not annoying. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice experiment

Dined on December 5, 2015

I've heard of this restaurant but had not heard anything definitive. Food is better than average but selection is limited. Steak Frites was excellent. Pork specialty was overly greasy. Deviled eggs and French onion had mixed review among four of us. Love the atmosphere in the restaurant with the map and pics. Specialty drinks were original and fun. Unfortunately the bar on this evening was a little sleepy. I think we will all return but not in a hurry. I think this place is nice but needs a little oomph!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch

Dined on November 15, 2015

I've eaten dinner at Three Flags several times and finally got around to trying brunch. It was so good! We started with beignets and they were incredible. My American breakfast was prepared perfectly, the best hash browns I've ever had. My sister got the French breakfast and loved it. Friendly and efficient service. Brunch is just as amazing as their dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Our favorite spot.

Dined on November 14, 2015

This was our 4th visit in 6 months. We love the food and the service is friendly and informative. The menu changes with the season and the specials are worth a try (skate wings to die for). We wish they could do something about the noise level. We were seated next to a very HAPPY group and had a hard time having a conversation. Give it a try--you will return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

a very tasty time!

Dined on November 9, 2015

great food and wonderful service. most attentive and accommodating of our baby girl, which is a major plus when taking a six month old out to dine (she also delighted in tastes of our food, which admittedly did lead to clear frustration when she couldnt continue her culinary thrills sampling every plate in the room.) always a treat to dine at three flags! superb food. our waitress was just so awesome in terms of her knowledge of the menu and ability to guide us through our food choices, too...cant wait to see you guys again soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4

Liked the decor, kitchen needs work

Dined on November 8, 2015

I ordered the Spanish baked eggs and the hash browns. The beans were so underdone they were crunchy and the eggs were raw. The hash browns were overdone to the point of being mushy. The historical decor was great - very interesting. The kitchen needs work.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.