About Three Flags Tavern

4940 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 3pm - 10pm

Friday: 3pm - 11pm

Saturday: 10am - 11pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Sunday: 10am - 9pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Oyster Hour Specials 3pm - 6pm Monday through Friday

Bar open to close

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 669-9222

Website:
http://www.threeflagstavern.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).

Executive Chef:
John O'Brien

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Three Flags Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Neighborhood Gem
St. Louis
Contemporary American
St. Louis
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Southwest Garden ›

Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great local restaurant with fanta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

What a great local restaurant with fantastic food. Staff is knowledgeable and upbeat. Love dining here

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our overall experience at 3 Flags Tavern ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our overall experience at 3 Flags Tavern was very good. The only negative was the noise level was a bit loud. We will be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When it comes to service, this staff wen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

When it comes to service, this staff went above and beyond to make sure our party enjoyed our evening. They pay close attention to detail and it did not go overlooked. Thank you, Three Flags Tavern Staff! We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers (tacos and lobster beignets) ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Appetizers (tacos and lobster beignets) were fantastic. I got the shrimp étouffée, which was quite good but had a little more of the cheddar grits and less of the roux than I would have preferred. My wife's brisket burger, ordered medium, was raw inside. The server noticed it and asked if she would like a new burger. My wife said yes. The owner bought her a drink as an apology, and also came and talked to us at the end of our meal. Very nice. The meal was more expensive than we usually go for—but we had a $100 gift certificate. Total bill was $80 (included two drinks), and we were allowed to tip with the gift certificate as well, which was nice; some places won't let you do that.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chef is innovative. We had sea bass ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

The chef is innovative. We had sea bass there on Friday. The dish was among the best we'd had in a long time. A wonderful blend of flavors, innovative use of fresh vegetables, not overloaded with cream and butter. Really delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Three Flags. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Three Flags. Very inventive takes on burgers, steaks, and salads. The fish is the finest quality I have had in St. Louis. Some real gems on the wine list, too. Ask for Adrian, a superb server.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Andrew was a great server. He is very ni ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Andrew was a great server. He is very nice and described all of the options very well. Food came out hot from kitchen in timely manner and was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had concert tickets so we arrived rig ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had concert tickets so we arrived right at 5:00pm when they reopened. Prompt service, excellent appetizers and dinner. Will definitely go again.

Jim

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Full disclosure: we love Three Flags. Bu ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Full disclosure: we love Three Flags. But you have to have more than a welcoming environment and staff to merit return visits. The food is the star here, and this visit did not disappoint. I opted for their signature fried chicken with housemade biscuits, pickles, and bacon-sautéed kale. But my companions opted for the sea bass special, perfectly prepared and served over a corn sous vide, blistered tomatoes, and sautéed spinach. 3F does NOT rest on its laurels and simply serve the same good things over and over. That's the mark of a great restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to return the food twice- never done ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had to return the food twice- never done that before but it was BAD. Waiter was a bit smart Alec but after he tasted he was apologetic. The wine list was good and dessert was also good. Service was slow and several in our party were upset by waiter's attitude. He did not tell the prices of the specials and offered a "good value" Pinot Noir that was $180. Overall disappointed because our first trip there had been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Shrimp etouffee and grits-delicious! Gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Shrimp etouffee and grits-delicious! Great service. Restaurant only half full but pretty loud. Portions on the smaller side but delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Trout made me sick not fresh. And i di ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Trout made me sick not fresh. And i dine 3 times, a week . Maybe ok for fries

and burgers not fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Lobster beignets, Connecticut lobster ro ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lobster beignets, Connecticut lobster roll, and a fabulous burger along with a delicious rose' - who could ask for anything more? Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Had a wonderful ev ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Everything was great. Had a wonderful evening with friends. Food and service was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Flags is always a high-quality exp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Three Flags is always a high-quality experience, but this night had a special oomph thanks to a dinner special lamb burger. Lamb gets dry real quick, but this burger was thick and juicy and bursting with flavor. Topped with a rich sauce and pickled zucchini (instead of pickles from cucumbers) plus a housemade bun, AND fries with special cumin catchup, it was a standout.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took a group of friends out to brunch ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took a group of friends out to brunch and we had the best time! Our server was outstanding, the ambiance was lovely, and the food was incredible.

We started with beignets, poutine, and the melon salad, and for entrees had the steak and eggs, benedict, and the American breakfast

10/10 will go again... SOON!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here three times, twice for ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been here three times, twice for brunch and once for dinner. The food was good the other evening. The Shrimp and Grits was a winner, but our thought was, why only a little bit of grits? The beer and wine selections are a great surprise. The burgers are huge if you're a hunger you one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I received an email around 4:00 on Sunda ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I received an email around 4:00 on Sunday stating that you were open from 5:00-9:00 but closed on Monday. I quickly made a reservation on Open Table and we were seated by 5:30. An excellent spontaneous meal with good service as well. A great Ribeye steak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Tuesday evening and it was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We went on a Tuesday evening and it was not crowded at all which was a pleasant surprise. We ordered the chicken wings as an appetizer. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. She suggested a couple of the specials, I ordered the ribeye rubbed with a coffee and chocolate mix and my wife got the Cornish hen. Both items were excellent and cooked to perfection. Unfortunately we did not save room for dessert but there is always next time! The menu is not large but it is diverse and there really is something for everyone. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second time here for brunch, and everyth ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here for brunch, and everything was delicious again. Our group stayed with the menu items although the specials were tempting. Our favorites include the burger, omelet of the day, french toast which is so crispy outside yet custardy inside, beignets, and the biscuit with devonshire cream and pineapple jam is divine. Excellent bloody mary's and mimosas. Julia is a superb server. We were happy to be greeted this time by a manager at the host stand rather than ignored and treated rudely by the surly female bartender who was front of house on our last visit. We almost walked out because of that bartender on our first time here. Glad we didn't because the food is outstanding and the wait staff impeccable. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was probably the 4th time we have b ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was probably the 4th time we have been there. I must say it was not as up to par as the others. I did notice the owner was not there so maybe that had something to do with it. I also think they need more waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Chicken wings and pickled deviled eggs w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chicken wings and pickled deviled eggs were excellent. They had a scallops special which was to die for. Cocktails were the best! Everyone was happy with their orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really like 3 Flags - the food is very ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I really like 3 Flags - the food is very good, the menu is not very big but nicely varied. I enjoyed the mussels and others said they liked the lobster beignets. The special salad and the cauliflower dish were both wonderful! The only complaint is it is noisy inside (all hard surfaces so sounds of clatter & chatter is not absorbed) and service is nice but a wee bit on the slow side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome brunch experience! Can't wait to ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome brunch experience! Can't wait to get back to try drinks and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and service. The chef made an off the item for our youth guest

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

On our last day in St. Louis, we had mid ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

On our last day in St. Louis, we had midafternoon Sunday brunch at the Three Flags Tavern. We found the restaurant and a parking place without too much trouble. It wasn’t very busy. Nevertheless, the service was agonizingly slow. The brunch menu was standard and we both had the omelets, which were quite good. There’s an outdoor patio (where we did not sit, preferring to be inside) which looked like it had a few more people and a bar that looks like it’s a happening place in the evenings. We’re sure the restaurant is a better option for dinner and we’ll try it for that the next time we’re in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trout Good but smaller portion than wha ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Trout

Good but smaller portion than what I remember

Acoustics make it hard to hear

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best meal at 3 Flags yet!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I've eaten here several times but this was our best meal so far. An incredible duck confit appetizer on a sweet potato pancake, tasty cheese selections and the best soft shell crabs I've had in years combined for a delicious meal. I love this place for the relaxed ambiance and now will be back more frequently. Kudos to the chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, excellent preparation and pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great menu, excellent preparation and presentation, fine friendly service. Lobster beignets are delicious. Overall welcome addition to the neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A most enjoyable dining experience! From ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A most enjoyable dining experience! From the specials to the wine list, it was a delicious meal! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating good times lol

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The Bouillabaisse and escargot on special were TO DIE FOR. Beautiful dark wood interiors with a cozy, inviting bar. A good mix of mod and trad. The shrimp and grits were aMaZiNg! Wine and drinks were above par and as for the Hemingway cocktail, sign me up for 2 ;-) The neighborhood has such a quaint, "urban" vibe to it. The bathrooms were immaculate (no gloryholes). Word to the wise, get before it's gone. Toodles!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great surprise brunch for Mothers Day!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I tried this for Mothers Day and we were so pleasantly surprised by a wonderful wine and beer list, cantaloupe salad and Crab Benedict and the famous burger. Needless to say we loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Good

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I love Three Flags Tavern! This is the third special occasion I've celebrated here, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Shrimp and grits

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My only complaint was the heads being left on the shrimp. I feel that this is just a pointless effort to make the dish look cool to pretentious foodie types. It serves no purpose. The dish itself was delicious though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Another incredible meal.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been in St. Louis for just over two weeks and have eaten here three times. Twice for dinner and once for brunch. This place rocks! We brought another couple with us the last time and they agreed. This has to go on my top 10 list in St. Louis - which is difficult when you think about the sheer number of restaurants in this city. The owners are incredibly nice and the chef is incredibly talented. You will not be disappointed. The appetizer tacos are wonderful - I've had the fish special once and the trout on the menu once - both were excellent. The most wonderful part is we can walk here! The only complaint I can possibly think of is the bartender could be a little more personable - but we will continue to make this one of our regular places when we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good dine!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Lobster beignets - need I say more? Amazing. Mixed green salad perfect with such a nice dressing, honey dijon vinaigrette, we love it. The burger is delicious, and of course, although we didn't order it this time, don't miss the Connecticut lobster roll!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a Thursday. The staff was was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

This was a Thursday. The staff was was very pleasant and worked well as a team. When one person became swamped with a big table, another person filled in the gaps. The oysters Rockefeller were delicious. I also loved the mashed potatoes and lobster roll ... Yummmm. The flourless chocolate cake wasn't too bad either. Enjoyable, tasty meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is always amazing! Mussels are ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food is always amazing! Mussels are the best in the city. Server was great, but I think she needed more help. She was very apologetic for any wait we incurred and more than made up for it! One of my favorite places in all of Stl!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.