About Three Flags Tavern

4940 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 3pm - Midnight

Friday: 3pm - 1am

Saturday: 10am - 1am (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Sunday: 10am - 11pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Oyster Hour Specials 3pm - 6pm Monday through Friday

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 669-9222

Website:
http://www.threeflagstavern.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).

Executive Chef:
John O'Brien

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Three Flags Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
St. Louis
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Southwest Garden ›

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Romantic (15)
Casual (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Historic (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thx owner and staff were lovely. She exp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Thx owner and staff were lovely. She explained the history of The Three Flags in detail. Really interesting. My husband had the lamb chops. He lived his meal. I and one other guest had the lobster roll. There was something t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely loved it. The service and foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely loved it. The service and food were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals - the fr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals - the fried chicken, brisket burger, and shrimp e'touffe were outstanding. Our server was pleasant and recommended a mixed tequila-based cocktail that was tasty. We had an issue, however, with our payment which has caused a banking issue with one member of our party that has now run three days. Overall, I strongly recommend Three Flags Tavern for anyone seeking an affordable but eclectic dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Feels like 3 flags went to 2. Worst meal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Feels like 3 flags went to 2. Worst meal we have had there. Two fish dishes that were salty, over cooked and just off.

Great mushroom salad. Nice cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great! Had family in from the Ea ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always great! Had family in from the East Coast and both styles of lobster rolls were delicious and deemed "legit" by some tough critics. The tacos, mushroom salad & mussels were great starters for the table. And those who didn't go for lobster, were so happy with brisket burgers, steaks and fried chicken, kids included. Everything done well with a friendly wait staff in a great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The trout entre & mushroom salad were de ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The trout entre & mushroom salad were delish! Also enjoyed the hot bread. My husband had the eggplant curry & he enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very relaxing environment for brunch. Ni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very relaxing environment for brunch. Nice menu selections. good service

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. I have always en ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I love this restaurant. I have always enjoyed creative delicious food at this little gem. Saturday night however I was disappointed. The steak Diane was tough and the sauce was not what I am used to with this preparation. The potato croquette was very salty and I usually love this side. Salad was excellent and so was dessert. Our waiter was over-bearing we felt rushed through the whole meal. I will return to eat here because any place can have an off-night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Just had an awesome dinner here. Friendl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Just had an awesome dinner here. Friendly staff, amazing appetizers, salads, entrees and drinks.

We started with wings, both had salads, we had the pork tenderloin and the burger as entrees.

Great drinks. Highly recommend the Hemingway Daiquiri.

Surprisingly great experience.

Very interesting menu, attached as a pic..

Check it out. Very nice and cozy venue...probably only about 12 tables. Plus the bar area.

We typically go to Frazer's and this was a nice alternative. Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cocktails, dinner and dessert were all w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cocktails, dinner and dessert were all wonderful. I would recommend it to just about anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

had the fried chicken...very good althou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

had the fried chicken...very good although skimpy on the sides

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love this restaurant but had a disapp ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love this restaurant but had a disappointing experience on Friday. It was primarily due to the service. Typically we are served by one of two female servers both of whom are delightful. Friday it was a male who was not interested in our party at all. His indifference set the tone for the evening. Three of the four of us had a fair meal while one was delicious. This is also unusual. We usually have excellent food and service and that is why we keep returning.

We will return but perhaps not as quickly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

We really like Three Flags and have been ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We really like Three Flags and have been there several times. The food is creative, very good and they have a good assortment of local craft beer. We ate there most recently on a Tuesday and it was very quiet , probably only 4 tables. The service was so incredibly slow that we missed our speaker series. The food was great but no idea how hard it was to cook 3 salads , a burger, a steak and some small plates as entrees. We just gave up on making our seats and stayed and enjoyed dessert . We still love this neighborhood restaurant. It was the first time we dined there that the owner wasn't there checking in with everyone. Maybe that was the issue. They also have a great patio and a great brunch. Just don't be in a hurry.....

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wish that we would have come earlier to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wish that we would have come earlier to see the place full. Can't wait to come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Staff was very good. Had the Red Snappe ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Staff was very good. Had the Red Snapper, it was very average and not enough food. Wish it would have had a side dish included for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very good and enjoyable as usual. Wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very good and enjoyable as usual. Wait staff excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful brunch - great burgers, eggs B ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful brunch - great burgers, eggs Benedict with crab, beautiful & unique melon salad. Upscale ambience with a very friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waiter was wonderful! Great menu an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful! Great menu and always love hearing the daily specials!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Rock solid. Great food always and a very ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Rock solid. Great food always and a very unpretentious staff. They really care about what they put on the plate and want you to be comfortable dining there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster roll was excellent. We has a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The lobster roll was excellent. We has a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great neighborhood spot. Variety of cho ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great neighborhood spot. Variety of choices on menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Met some friends for brunch at Three Fla ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Met some friends for brunch at Three Flags last Sunday and was thoroughly impressed. Ordered the beignets and the dutch baby to start, both were amazing, although the dutch baby was a standout. What is it? Its a sweet savory popover served with syrup and it is awesome. For my meal I had the Benedict which is presented simply (and perfectly) with a small side of fruit. The food was cooked to perfection and the drinks were hand crafted and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very noisy, slow service and ok food. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very noisy, slow service and ok food. So noisy could not hear and we were only a party of four.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great. Very disappointed though ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great. Very disappointed though after waiting 70 minutes after ordering to receive our food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We enjoyed the restaurant, including the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant, including the food, drinks, service and venue. The owner introduced herself and clearly was mindful of every aspect of her customers' experience.

We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little slow and there were ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was a little slow and there were not many people there. My wife got the burger and it was very good. I got the ribeye and it was a little over cooked and the potatoes that came with were barely edible. Tasted only salt. If I go back I will do the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our meal was absolutely spectacular!! As ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our meal was absolutely spectacular!! As a matter of fact, when our server inquired if everything was okay, I responded that she should tell the chef "HOLY S#!T...this has been the best combination of flavors that I have had in a very long time!!" We ordered the specials and we so far passed impressed!!! Keep it up Three Flags...you are getting noticed!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time and was disappoint ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was our 3rd time and was disappointing. It is hard enough to get a reservation and when you finally get one, that is not at 5:00 or 9:00, should be happy. We were greeted warmly and decided to sit in the bar because it was quiet and a bit more casual and we generally find the service better than in the dining room. We were greeted by the bartender who was great but started us off with a list of ALL THE ITEMS THEY WERE OUT OF. The list was considerable, and I would say it was nearly 20% of the already small menu. That was disappointing and set an overall mood for the evening. The burger, eggs and tacos were all fair - not that good and for the price not much of a value. The service was good however, I will would be hesitant to go back considering there are so many great restaurants in St. Louis.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Horrendous service. Everyone was stresse ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Horrendous service. Everyone was stressed out and making the table very uncomfortable. Took over an hour to get appetizers. Food had little flavor. Disappointing night. Will never go back. I bet they are out of business within 6 months. Something seems wrong at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellant and interesting menu - snapper ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellant and interesting menu - snapper with summr coulee was very good!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food choices all very well prepared, pre ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food choices all very well prepared, presented and well enjoyed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Exceptional service and the food is outs ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional service and the food is outstanding! Thank you for a great experience. Class of 85'

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great local restaurant with fanta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

What a great local restaurant with fantastic food. Staff is knowledgeable and upbeat. Love dining here

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our overall experience at 3 Flags Tavern ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our overall experience at 3 Flags Tavern was very good. The only negative was the noise level was a bit loud. We will be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When it comes to service, this staff wen ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

When it comes to service, this staff went above and beyond to make sure our party enjoyed our evening. They pay close attention to detail and it did not go overlooked. Thank you, Three Flags Tavern Staff! We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers (tacos and lobster beignets) ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Appetizers (tacos and lobster beignets) were fantastic. I got the shrimp étouffée, which was quite good but had a little more of the cheddar grits and less of the roux than I would have preferred. My wife's brisket burger, ordered medium, was raw inside. The server noticed it and asked if she would like a new burger. My wife said yes. The owner bought her a drink as an apology, and also came and talked to us at the end of our meal. Very nice. The meal was more expensive than we usually go for—but we had a $100 gift certificate. Total bill was $80 (included two drinks), and we were allowed to tip with the gift certificate as well, which was nice; some places won't let you do that.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chef is innovative. We had sea bass ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The chef is innovative. We had sea bass there on Friday. The dish was among the best we'd had in a long time. A wonderful blend of flavors, innovative use of fresh vegetables, not overloaded with cream and butter. Really delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Three Flags. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Three Flags. Very inventive takes on burgers, steaks, and salads. The fish is the finest quality I have had in St. Louis. Some real gems on the wine list, too. Ask for Adrian, a superb server.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Andrew was a great server. He is very ni ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Andrew was a great server. He is very nice and described all of the options very well. Food came out hot from kitchen in timely manner and was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had concert tickets so we arrived rig ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had concert tickets so we arrived right at 5:00pm when they reopened. Prompt service, excellent appetizers and dinner. Will definitely go again.

Jim

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.