About Three Flags Tavern

4940 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 3pm - 10pm

Friday: 3pm - 11pm

Saturday: 10am - 11pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Sunday: 10am - 9pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Oyster Hour Specials 3pm - 6pm Monday through Friday

Bar open to close

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 669-9222

Website:
http://www.threeflagstavern.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).

Executive Chef:
John O'Brien

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Three Flags Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Southwest Garden ›

Neighborhood Gem (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Historic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Met some friends for brunch at Three Fla ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 2 days ago

Met some friends for brunch at Three Flags last Sunday and was thoroughly impressed. Ordered the beignets and the dutch baby to start, both were amazing, although the dutch baby was a standout. What is it? Its a sweet savory popover served with syrup and it is awesome. For my meal I had the Benedict which is presented simply (and perfectly) with a small side of fruit. The food was cooked to perfection and the drinks were hand crafted and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very noisy, slow service and ok food. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very noisy, slow service and ok food. So noisy could not hear and we were only a party of four.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was great. Very disappointed though ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was great. Very disappointed though after waiting 70 minutes after ordering to receive our food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

We enjoyed the restaurant, including the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant, including the food, drinks, service and venue. The owner introduced herself and clearly was mindful of every aspect of her customers' experience.

We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was a little slow and there were ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was a little slow and there were not many people there. My wife got the burger and it was very good. I got the ribeye and it was a little over cooked and the potatoes that came with were barely edible. Tasted only salt. If I go back I will do the burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our meal was absolutely spectacular!! As ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our meal was absolutely spectacular!! As a matter of fact, when our server inquired if everything was okay, I responded that she should tell the chef "HOLY S#!T...this has been the best combination of flavors that I have had in a very long time!!" We ordered the specials and we so far passed impressed!!! Keep it up Three Flags...you are getting noticed!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time and was disappoint ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was our 3rd time and was disappointing. It is hard enough to get a reservation and when you finally get one, that is not at 5:00 or 9:00, should be happy. We were greeted warmly and decided to sit in the bar because it was quiet and a bit more casual and we generally find the service better than in the dining room. We were greeted by the bartender who was great but started us off with a list of ALL THE ITEMS THEY WERE OUT OF. The list was considerable, and I would say it was nearly 20% of the already small menu. That was disappointing and set an overall mood for the evening. The burger, eggs and tacos were all fair - not that good and for the price not much of a value. The service was good however, I will would be hesitant to go back considering there are so many great restaurants in St. Louis.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Horrendous service. Everyone was stresse ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Horrendous service. Everyone was stressed out and making the table very uncomfortable. Took over an hour to get appetizers. Food had little flavor. Disappointing night. Will never go back. I bet they are out of business within 6 months. Something seems wrong at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellant and interesting menu - snapper ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellant and interesting menu - snapper with summr coulee was very good!

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food choices all very well prepared, pre ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food choices all very well prepared, presented and well enjoyed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Exceptional service and the food is outs ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Exceptional service and the food is outstanding! Thank you for a great experience. Class of 85'

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great local restaurant with fanta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

What a great local restaurant with fantastic food. Staff is knowledgeable and upbeat. Love dining here

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our overall experience at 3 Flags Tavern ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our overall experience at 3 Flags Tavern was very good. The only negative was the noise level was a bit loud. We will be going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

When it comes to service, this staff wen ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

When it comes to service, this staff went above and beyond to make sure our party enjoyed our evening. They pay close attention to detail and it did not go overlooked. Thank you, Three Flags Tavern Staff! We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers (tacos and lobster beignets) ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Appetizers (tacos and lobster beignets) were fantastic. I got the shrimp étouffée, which was quite good but had a little more of the cheddar grits and less of the roux than I would have preferred. My wife's brisket burger, ordered medium, was raw inside. The server noticed it and asked if she would like a new burger. My wife said yes. The owner bought her a drink as an apology, and also came and talked to us at the end of our meal. Very nice. The meal was more expensive than we usually go for—but we had a $100 gift certificate. Total bill was $80 (included two drinks), and we were allowed to tip with the gift certificate as well, which was nice; some places won't let you do that.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The chef is innovative. We had sea bass ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The chef is innovative. We had sea bass there on Friday. The dish was among the best we'd had in a long time. A wonderful blend of flavors, innovative use of fresh vegetables, not overloaded with cream and butter. Really delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at Three Flags. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Three Flags. Very inventive takes on burgers, steaks, and salads. The fish is the finest quality I have had in St. Louis. Some real gems on the wine list, too. Ask for Adrian, a superb server.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Andrew was a great server. He is very ni ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Andrew was a great server. He is very nice and described all of the options very well. Food came out hot from kitchen in timely manner and was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had concert tickets so we arrived rig ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had concert tickets so we arrived right at 5:00pm when they reopened. Prompt service, excellent appetizers and dinner. Will definitely go again.

Jim

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Full disclosure: we love Three Flags. Bu ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Full disclosure: we love Three Flags. But you have to have more than a welcoming environment and staff to merit return visits. The food is the star here, and this visit did not disappoint. I opted for their signature fried chicken with housemade biscuits, pickles, and bacon-sautéed kale. But my companions opted for the sea bass special, perfectly prepared and served over a corn sous vide, blistered tomatoes, and sautéed spinach. 3F does NOT rest on its laurels and simply serve the same good things over and over. That's the mark of a great restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had to return the food twice- never done ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Had to return the food twice- never done that before but it was BAD. Waiter was a bit smart Alec but after he tasted he was apologetic. The wine list was good and dessert was also good. Service was slow and several in our party were upset by waiter's attitude. He did not tell the prices of the specials and offered a "good value" Pinot Noir that was $180. Overall disappointed because our first trip there had been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Shrimp etouffee and grits-delicious! Gr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Shrimp etouffee and grits-delicious! Great service. Restaurant only half full but pretty loud. Portions on the smaller side but delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Trout made me sick not fresh. And i di ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Trout made me sick not fresh. And i dine 3 times, a week . Maybe ok for fries

and burgers not fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Lobster beignets, Connecticut lobster ro ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lobster beignets, Connecticut lobster roll, and a fabulous burger along with a delicious rose' - who could ask for anything more? Always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. Had a wonderful ev ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Everything was great. Had a wonderful evening with friends. Food and service was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Flags is always a high-quality exp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Three Flags is always a high-quality experience, but this night had a special oomph thanks to a dinner special lamb burger. Lamb gets dry real quick, but this burger was thick and juicy and bursting with flavor. Topped with a rich sauce and pickled zucchini (instead of pickles from cucumbers) plus a housemade bun, AND fries with special cumin catchup, it was a standout.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I took a group of friends out to brunch ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I took a group of friends out to brunch and we had the best time! Our server was outstanding, the ambiance was lovely, and the food was incredible.

We started with beignets, poutine, and the melon salad, and for entrees had the steak and eggs, benedict, and the American breakfast

10/10 will go again... SOON!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here three times, twice for ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have been here three times, twice for brunch and once for dinner. The food was good the other evening. The Shrimp and Grits was a winner, but our thought was, why only a little bit of grits? The beer and wine selections are a great surprise. The burgers are huge if you're a hunger you one!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I received an email around 4:00 on Sunda ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I received an email around 4:00 on Sunday stating that you were open from 5:00-9:00 but closed on Monday. I quickly made a reservation on Open Table and we were seated by 5:30. An excellent spontaneous meal with good service as well. A great Ribeye steak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Tuesday evening and it was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We went on a Tuesday evening and it was not crowded at all which was a pleasant surprise. We ordered the chicken wings as an appetizer. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. She suggested a couple of the specials, I ordered the ribeye rubbed with a coffee and chocolate mix and my wife got the Cornish hen. Both items were excellent and cooked to perfection. Unfortunately we did not save room for dessert but there is always next time! The menu is not large but it is diverse and there really is something for everyone. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second time here for brunch, and everyth ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here for brunch, and everything was delicious again. Our group stayed with the menu items although the specials were tempting. Our favorites include the burger, omelet of the day, french toast which is so crispy outside yet custardy inside, beignets, and the biscuit with devonshire cream and pineapple jam is divine. Excellent bloody mary's and mimosas. Julia is a superb server. We were happy to be greeted this time by a manager at the host stand rather than ignored and treated rudely by the surly female bartender who was front of house on our last visit. We almost walked out because of that bartender on our first time here. Glad we didn't because the food is outstanding and the wait staff impeccable. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was probably the 4th time we have b ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was probably the 4th time we have been there. I must say it was not as up to par as the others. I did notice the owner was not there so maybe that had something to do with it. I also think they need more waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Chicken wings and pickled deviled eggs w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Chicken wings and pickled deviled eggs were excellent. They had a scallops special which was to die for. Cocktails were the best! Everyone was happy with their orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I really like 3 Flags - the food is very ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I really like 3 Flags - the food is very good, the menu is not very big but nicely varied. I enjoyed the mussels and others said they liked the lobster beignets. The special salad and the cauliflower dish were both wonderful! The only complaint is it is noisy inside (all hard surfaces so sounds of clatter & chatter is not absorbed) and service is nice but a wee bit on the slow side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome brunch experience! Can't wait to ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome brunch experience! Can't wait to get back to try drinks and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and service. The chef made an off the item for our youth guest

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

On our last day in St. Louis, we had mid ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

On our last day in St. Louis, we had midafternoon Sunday brunch at the Three Flags Tavern. We found the restaurant and a parking place without too much trouble. It wasn’t very busy. Nevertheless, the service was agonizingly slow. The brunch menu was standard and we both had the omelets, which were quite good. There’s an outdoor patio (where we did not sit, preferring to be inside) which looked like it had a few more people and a bar that looks like it’s a happening place in the evenings. We’re sure the restaurant is a better option for dinner and we’ll try it for that the next time we’re in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trout Good but smaller portion than wha ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Trout

Good but smaller portion than what I remember

Acoustics make it hard to hear

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.