Permanently Closed - Three Flags Tavern

4.3
353 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Great for Outdoor Dining

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Permanently closed.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 669-9222
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John O'Brien
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kingshighway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).
Additional
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 353 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on March 25, 2017

When I tried to call the restaurant 2 hours before my reservation to change the number of diners, phone disconnected! Learned online that the restaurant was permanently closed. Very unprofessional of the restaurant owners and of Open Table not to inform reservation holders!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 8, 2017

We booked the reservation with Open Table, had it confirmed, and when we showed up the restaurant had closed!!!! There was a note in the window from some law firm. Good of them to let their customers' know. We had an out of town visitor and it was embarrassing. We decided to try Atlas when we couldn't go to Three Flags, only to discover that it too had recently closed. Our visitor now wonders about St. Louis. We finally went to Lorenzo's and had a very good meal.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 7, 2017

Had a reservation, confirmed for 6:30 P.M. March 7. Was taking an 86 year old woman to dinner.
Used Uber for her convenience. She is alert and a restaurant connesiur often arranging for groups of 20 or more for dinner. Imagine my consternation to arrive on time to find the restaurant closed and dark with no notice on the door!
Thank God the Uber Driver waited for us and helped us find another restaurant in a different locality.
There was no attempt made for an explanation even though my telephone number was on file.
What happened?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2017

Kevin gave us great service. Our American breakfast was perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

As usual, our experience was first-rate. This is at least the 8th time my husband and I have dined at Three Flags, and we have never been disappointed. My husband enjoyed the succulent fried chicken (a regular menu item, one he has ordered before), and I ordered the scallop special. I order scallops often when dining out, and can tell you that there are many ways to fail in preparing them. Three Flags' plate was beautiful to look at, but even better tasting. The flavors of the perfectly seared scallops were artfully balanced by a zucchini and butternut squash sauce, and both were enhanced by the small bed of barley risotto on which they rested. The portion size was exactly right, leaving me satisfied but not overly stuffed. The field green salad and carnitas tacos were great choices for starters -- we will definitely order them both again. Our server was attentive and friendly, but not invasive, and our water glasses were never empty. Overall, an A+ experience again at Three Flags Tavern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

3 Flags Tavern sets the bar for outstanding food in St Louis. Their weekend brunch is outstanding and I cannot recommend the Crab stuffed Eggs Benedict highly enough. Lunch or dinner you will not be disappointed. Make this your next lunch or dinner outing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived 10 minutes before the official opening, though there were people on the patio and at the bar. The hostess checked us in, then left. I had to find her ten minutes later and ask why we were not seated. Once we got to our table the waitress came over and took our order, they did not have the beer that was on the menu.

Our burgers were just "ok", nothing special. It was very disappointing, bad service and poor food. I do not plan to go back . Very overpriced!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. I'd recommend the fried chicken. The ambiance is good for a date or night out with friends.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2017

We arrived at 7:00 for a 7:30 reservation. They were able to seat us right away. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. Food was good, could have used more flavor. I had trout and my date had the pork chop.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to Three Flags many times, but must admit I was very disappointed in part of my meal this past Sunday. The lobster beignets were outstanding, as always, but then we ordered three burgers and one lobster roll. All were dry, overcooked, perhaps sitting under a heat lamp too long. I'm sure this was a one off since we are always very happy with our meal there. The young lady who served us was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2017

Fried chicken was delicious and freshly cooked, great service and comfortable setting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2017

A good friend recommended this restaurant and gave high praises for it. It definitely lived up to the hype he made of it! We will definitely be back! Great food, character and history of restaurant and awww some staff!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2017

Three Flags was terrific- the food was excellent and they were so helpful. They held our table and let us order as we were driving to them!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was spectacular from allowing us to move tables because it was so cold, to every single bite of the Duck L'orange small plate special, to Lydia, the knowledgeable sweet and just-attentive-enough server.
I can honestly say, I nearly ordered a second duck dish because I didn't want to ever be without that flavor again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Great menu, and Jason was an excellent server. The handcrafted cocktails are fabulous. Food was prepared perfectly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

I was in the mood for a good burger, and 3FT delivered in spades. Thick and juicy, with well-chosen accents, a superb housemade bun, plus excellent fries with a spicy housemade cumin ketchup. The friendly and attentive service is just "gravy" on a excellent meal in a comforting environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2016

I love this spot, and need to go much more often! Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2016

The service , which was not the waitresses fault, was pretty bad. We ordered drinks and it took about 25 minutes before they arrived. After that it improved. My meal was almost inedible. It was shrimp etouffe and the shrimp still had shells and heads on, which usually no big deal, but it was in grits so it was impossible the get the meat out. The flavor of this dish was good. The rest of my party enjoyed there food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 26, 2016

I was very disappointed. We went for the fried chicken but it was really not good. Way too salty and not at al crispy. A nice ambiance and ok service. One and done.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing food and fabulous service! A hidden treasure. Definitely will go back lots!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2016

Lobster beignets and warm mushroom salad are exquisite. All of the entrees were delicious. The burger and the pork stood out! Great wine selection and interesting cocktails. We went based on the Ian Froeb review and we're very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

Creative menu and great atmosphere. Wait staff was attentive and very knowledgeable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2016

Great unique food. oysters are great. Had a pork chop that was out of this world.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food. We had oysters, pulled brisket burgers and very good halibut. Really full but still managed to eat flourless chocolate cake and cheesecake. All delicious. We ranged in age from 8 to 76 at the table and all had a great time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 13, 2016

2 of us had the lobster roll which wasn't huge but was packed full of lobster and very tasty. My son had fried chicken which he didn't care for but I thought was fine, it wasn't a heavy batter and the breast and thigh were boneless so different than usual.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 5, 2016

Thx owner and staff were lovely. She explained the history of The Three Flags in detail. Really interesting. My husband had the lamb chops. He lived his meal. I and one other guest had the lobster roll. There was something t

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Absolutely loved it. The service and food were exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals - the fried chicken, brisket burger, and shrimp e'touffe were outstanding. Our server was pleasant and recommended a mixed tequila-based cocktail that was tasty. We had an issue, however, with our payment which has caused a banking issue with one member of our party that has now run three days. Overall, I strongly recommend Three Flags Tavern for anyone seeking an affordable but eclectic dining experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2016

Feels like 3 flags went to 2. Worst meal we have had there. Two fish dishes that were salty, over cooked and just off.
Great mushroom salad. Nice cocktail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2016

Always great! Had family in from the East Coast and both styles of lobster rolls were delicious and deemed "legit" by some tough critics. The tacos, mushroom salad & mussels were great starters for the table. And those who didn't go for lobster, were so happy with brisket burgers, steaks and fried chicken, kids included. Everything done well with a friendly wait staff in a great atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2016

The trout entre & mushroom salad were delish! Also enjoyed the hot bread. My husband had the eggplant curry & he enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 13, 2016

Very relaxing environment for brunch. Nice menu selections. good service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 12, 2016

I love this restaurant. I have always enjoyed creative delicious food at this little gem. Saturday night however I was disappointed. The steak Diane was tough and the sauce was not what I am used to with this preparation. The potato croquette was very salty and I usually love this side. Salad was excellent and so was dessert. Our waiter was over-bearing we felt rushed through the whole meal. I will return to eat here because any place can have an off-night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

Just had an awesome dinner here. Friendly staff, amazing appetizers, salads, entrees and drinks.

We started with wings, both had salads, we had the pork tenderloin and the burger as entrees.

Great drinks. Highly recommend the Hemingway Daiquiri.

Surprisingly great experience.

Very interesting menu, attached as a pic..

Check it out. Very nice and cozy venue...probably only about 12 tables. Plus the bar area.

We typically go to Frazer's and this was a nice alternative. Really enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

Cocktails, dinner and dessert were all wonderful. I would recommend it to just about anyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2016

had the fried chicken...very good although skimpy on the sides

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 4, 2016

We love this restaurant but had a disappointing experience on Friday. It was primarily due to the service. Typically we are served by one of two female servers both of whom are delightful. Friday it was a male who was not interested in our party at all. His indifference set the tone for the evening. Three of the four of us had a fair meal while one was delicious. This is also unusual. We usually have excellent food and service and that is why we keep returning.
We will return but perhaps not as quickly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 1, 2016

We really like Three Flags and have been there several times. The food is creative, very good and they have a good assortment of local craft beer. We ate there most recently on a Tuesday and it was very quiet , probably only 4 tables. The service was so incredibly slow that we missed our speaker series. The food was great but no idea how hard it was to cook 3 salads , a burger, a steak and some small plates as entrees. We just gave up on making our seats and stayed and enjoyed dessert . We still love this neighborhood restaurant. It was the first time we dined there that the owner wasn't there checking in with everyone. Maybe that was the issue. They also have a great patio and a great brunch. Just don't be in a hurry.....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 30, 2016

Wish that we would have come earlier to see the place full. Can't wait to come back again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Staff was very good. Had the Red Snapper, it was very average and not enough food. Wish it would have had a side dish included for the price.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9