HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Three Flags Tavern

4.3
353 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies (499)
  • Neighborhood Gem (457)
  • Great for Outdoor Dining (253)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Permanently closed.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 669-9222
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John O'Brien
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Kingshighway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).
Additional
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 353 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3  based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipKaty (St. Louis)
1.0  Dined on March 25, 2017

When I tried to call the restaurant 2 hours before my reservation to change the number of diners, phone disconnected! Learned online that the restaurant was permanently closed. Very unprofessional of the restaurant owners and of Open Table not to inform reservation holders!

Report
Helpful
Duke (St. Louis)
1.0  Dined on March 8, 2017

We booked the reservation with Open Table, had it confirmed, and when we showed up the restaurant had closed!!!! There was a note in the window from some law firm. Good of them to let their customers' know. We had an out of town visitor and it was embarrassing. We decided to try Atlas when we couldn't go to Three Flags, only to discover that it too had recently closed. Our visitor now wonders about St. Louis. We finally went to Lorenzo's and had a very good meal.

Report
Helpful
donaldschnellmann (St. Louis)
1.0  Dined on March 7, 2017

Had a reservation, confirmed for 6:30 P.M. March 7. Was taking an 86 year old woman to dinner.
Used Uber for her convenience. She is alert and a restaurant connesiur often arranging for groups of 20 or more for dinner. Imagine my consternation to arrive on time to find the restaurant closed and dark with no notice on the door!
Thank God the Uber Driver waited for us and helped us find another restaurant in a different locality.
There was no attempt made for an explanation even though my telephone number was on file.
What happened?

Report
Helpful
bdec (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on March 5, 2017

Kevin gave us great service. Our American breakfast was perfect!

Report
Helpful
SheilaOstl (Oklahoma City)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2017

As usual, our experience was first-rate. This is at least the 8th time my husband and I have dined at Three Flags, and we have never been disappointed. My husband enjoyed the succulent fried chicken (a regular menu item, one he has ordered before), and I ordered the scallop special. I order scallops often when dining out, and can tell you that there are many ways to fail in preparing them. Three Flags' plate was beautiful to look at, but even better tasting. The flavors of the perfectly seared scallops were artfully balanced by a zucchini and butternut squash sauce, and both were enhanced by the small bed of barley risotto on which they rested. The portion size was exactly right, leaving me satisfied but not overly stuffed. The field green salad and carnitas tacos were great choices for starters -- we will definitely order them both again. Our server was attentive and friendly, but not invasive, and our water glasses were never empty. Overall, an A+ experience again at Three Flags Tavern.

Report
Helpful
stlmharts (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2017

3 Flags Tavern sets the bar for outstanding food in St Louis. Their weekend brunch is outstanding and I cannot recommend the Crab stuffed Eggs Benedict highly enough. Lunch or dinner you will not be disappointed. Make this your next lunch or dinner outing.

Report
Helpful
vipJerry (St. Louis)
2.0  Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived 10 minutes before the official opening, though there were people on the patio and at the bar. The hostess checked us in, then left. I had to find her ten minutes later and ask why we were not seated. Once we got to our table the waitress came over and took our order, they did not have the beer that was on the menu.

Our burgers were just "ok", nothing special. It was very disappointing, bad service and poor food. I do not plan to go back . Very overpriced!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. I'd recommend the fried chicken. The ambiance is good for a date or night out with friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2017

We arrived at 7:00 for a 7:30 reservation. They were able to seat us right away. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. Food was good, could have used more flavor. I had trout and my date had the pork chop.

Report
Helpful
vipmariek (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to Three Flags many times, but must admit I was very disappointed in part of my meal this past Sunday. The lobster beignets were outstanding, as always, but then we ordered three burgers and one lobster roll. All were dry, overcooked, perhaps sitting under a heat lamp too long. I'm sure this was a one off since we are always very happy with our meal there. The young lady who served us was great.

Report
Helpful
vipRita (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on January 12, 2017

Fried chicken was delicious and freshly cooked, great service and comfortable setting

Report
Helpful
FaithKremer2011 (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on January 11, 2017

A good friend recommended this restaurant and gave high praises for it. It definitely lived up to the hype he made of it! We will definitely be back! Great food, character and history of restaurant and awww some staff!!

Report
Helpful
CarolineK (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 10, 2017

Three Flags was terrific- the food was excellent and they were so helpful. They held our table and let us order as we were driving to them!

Report
Helpful
dmr6268 (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was spectacular from allowing us to move tables because it was so cold, to every single bite of the Duck L'orange small plate special, to Lydia, the knowledgeable sweet and just-attentive-enough server.
I can honestly say, I nearly ordered a second duck dish because I didn't want to ever be without that flavor again!

Report
Helpful
bdec (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

Great menu, and Jason was an excellent server. The handcrafted cocktails are fabulous. Food was prepared perfectly.

Report
Helpful
vipBraseGiganti (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

I was in the mood for a good burger, and 3FT delivered in spades. Thick and juicy, with well-chosen accents, a superb housemade bun, plus excellent fries with a spicy housemade cumin ketchup. The friendly and attentive service is just "gravy" on a excellent meal in a comforting environment.

Report
Helpful
twistedthreads (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 29, 2016

I love this spot, and need to go much more often! Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
vipjerseyg (New York Area)
3.0  Dined on December 26, 2016

The service , which was not the waitresses fault, was pretty bad. We ordered drinks and it took about 25 minutes before they arrived. After that it improved. My meal was almost inedible. It was shrimp etouffe and the shrimp still had shells and heads on, which usually no big deal, but it was in grits so it was impossible the get the meat out. The flavor of this dish was good. The rest of my party enjoyed there food.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on December 26, 2016

I was very disappointed. We went for the fried chicken but it was really not good. Way too salty and not at al crispy. A nice ambiance and ok service. One and done.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing food and fabulous service! A hidden treasure. Definitely will go back lots!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18