About Three Flags Tavern

4940 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 3pm - Midnight

Friday: 3pm - 1am

Saturday: 10am - 1am (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Sunday: 10am - 11pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Oyster Hour Specials 3pm - 6pm Monday through Friday

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 669-9222

Website:
http://www.threeflagstavern.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).

Executive Chef:
John O'Brien

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Three Flags Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Casual (9)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Historic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. I'd recommend the fried chic ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. I'd recommend the fried chicken. The ambiance is good for a date or night out with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived at 7:00 for a 7:30 reservatio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We arrived at 7:00 for a 7:30 reservation. They were able to seat us right away. Our server was friendly and knowledgable. Food was good, could have used more flavor. I had trout and my date had the pork chop.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Three Flags many times, b ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I have been to Three Flags many times, but must admit I was very disappointed in part of my meal this past Sunday. The lobster beignets were outstanding, as always, but then we ordered three burgers and one lobster roll. All were dry, overcooked, perhaps sitting under a heat lamp too long. I'm sure this was a one off since we are always very happy with our meal there. The young lady who served us was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fried chicken was delicious and freshly ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fried chicken was delicious and freshly cooked, great service and comfortable setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A good friend recommended this restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 12, 2017

A good friend recommended this restaurant and gave high praises for it. It definitely lived up to the hype he made of it! We will definitely be back! Great food, character and history of restaurant and awww some staff!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Flags was terrific- the food was e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Three Flags was terrific- the food was excellent and they were so helpful. They held our table and let us order as we were driving to them!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was spectacular from allowing ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everything was spectacular from allowing us to move tables because it was so cold, to every single bite of the Duck L'orange small plate special, to Lydia, the knowledgeable sweet and just-attentive-enough server.

I can honestly say, I nearly ordered a second duck dish because I didn't want to ever be without that flavor again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu, and Jason was an excellent s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great menu, and Jason was an excellent server. The handcrafted cocktails are fabulous. Food was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in the mood for a good burger, and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was in the mood for a good burger, and 3FT delivered in spades. Thick and juicy, with well-chosen accents, a superb housemade bun, plus excellent fries with a spicy housemade cumin ketchup. The friendly and attentive service is just "gravy" on a excellent meal in a comforting environment.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this spot, and need to go much mo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I love this spot, and need to go much more often! Great food, great service.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service , which was not the waitress ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service , which was not the waitresses fault, was pretty bad. We ordered drinks and it took about 25 minutes before they arrived. After that it improved. My meal was almost inedible. It was shrimp etouffe and the shrimp still had shells and heads on, which usually no big deal, but it was in grits so it was impossible the get the meat out. The flavor of this dish was good. The rest of my party enjoyed there food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I was very disappointed. We went for the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I was very disappointed. We went for the fried chicken but it was really not good. Way too salty and not at al crispy. A nice ambiance and ok service. One and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food and fabulous service! A hi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing food and fabulous service! A hidden treasure. Definitely will go back lots!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster beignets and warm mushroom salad ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Lobster beignets and warm mushroom salad are exquisite. All of the entrees were delicious. The burger and the pork stood out! Great wine selection and interesting cocktails. We went based on the Ian Froeb review and we're very pleased.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative menu and great atmosphere. Wai ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Creative menu and great atmosphere. Wait staff was attentive and very knowledgeable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great unique food. oysters are great. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great unique food. oysters are great. Had a pork chop that was out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food. We had oysters, pulled b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Excellent food. We had oysters, pulled brisket burgers and very good halibut. Really full but still managed to eat flourless chocolate cake and cheesecake. All delicious. We ranged in age from 8 to 76 at the table and all had a great time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 of us had the lobster roll which wasn' ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

2 of us had the lobster roll which wasn't huge but was packed full of lobster and very tasty. My son had fried chicken which he didn't care for but I thought was fine, it wasn't a heavy batter and the breast and thigh were boneless so different than usual.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Thx owner and staff were lovely. She exp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Thx owner and staff were lovely. She explained the history of The Three Flags in detail. Really interesting. My husband had the lamb chops. He lived his meal. I and one other guest had the lobster roll. There was something t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely loved it. The service and foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Absolutely loved it. The service and food were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals - the fr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals - the fried chicken, brisket burger, and shrimp e'touffe were outstanding. Our server was pleasant and recommended a mixed tequila-based cocktail that was tasty. We had an issue, however, with our payment which has caused a banking issue with one member of our party that has now run three days. Overall, I strongly recommend Three Flags Tavern for anyone seeking an affordable but eclectic dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Feels like 3 flags went to 2. Worst meal ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Feels like 3 flags went to 2. Worst meal we have had there. Two fish dishes that were salty, over cooked and just off.

Great mushroom salad. Nice cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The trout entre & mushroom salad were de ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The trout entre & mushroom salad were delish! Also enjoyed the hot bread. My husband had the eggplant curry & he enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very relaxing environment for brunch. Ni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very relaxing environment for brunch. Nice menu selections. good service

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. I have always en ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I love this restaurant. I have always enjoyed creative delicious food at this little gem. Saturday night however I was disappointed. The steak Diane was tough and the sauce was not what I am used to with this preparation. The potato croquette was very salty and I usually love this side. Salad was excellent and so was dessert. Our waiter was over-bearing we felt rushed through the whole meal. I will return to eat here because any place can have an off-night

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Just had an awesome dinner here. Friendl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Just had an awesome dinner here. Friendly staff, amazing appetizers, salads, entrees and drinks.

We started with wings, both had salads, we had the pork tenderloin and the burger as entrees.

Great drinks. Highly recommend the Hemingway Daiquiri.

Surprisingly great experience.

Very interesting menu, attached as a pic..

Check it out. Very nice and cozy venue...probably only about 12 tables. Plus the bar area.

We typically go to Frazer's and this was a nice alternative. Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cocktails, dinner and dessert were all w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cocktails, dinner and dessert were all wonderful. I would recommend it to just about anyone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

had the fried chicken...very good althou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

had the fried chicken...very good although skimpy on the sides

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love this restaurant but had a disapp ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love this restaurant but had a disappointing experience on Friday. It was primarily due to the service. Typically we are served by one of two female servers both of whom are delightful. Friday it was a male who was not interested in our party at all. His indifference set the tone for the evening. Three of the four of us had a fair meal while one was delicious. This is also unusual. We usually have excellent food and service and that is why we keep returning.

We will return but perhaps not as quickly.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

We really like Three Flags and have been ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We really like Three Flags and have been there several times. The food is creative, very good and they have a good assortment of local craft beer. We ate there most recently on a Tuesday and it was very quiet , probably only 4 tables. The service was so incredibly slow that we missed our speaker series. The food was great but no idea how hard it was to cook 3 salads , a burger, a steak and some small plates as entrees. We just gave up on making our seats and stayed and enjoyed dessert . We still love this neighborhood restaurant. It was the first time we dined there that the owner wasn't there checking in with everyone. Maybe that was the issue. They also have a great patio and a great brunch. Just don't be in a hurry.....

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wish that we would have come earlier to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wish that we would have come earlier to see the place full. Can't wait to come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Staff was very good. Had the Red Snappe ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Staff was very good. Had the Red Snapper, it was very average and not enough food. Wish it would have had a side dish included for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing food and service. Always a plea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Amazing food and service. Always a pleasure. My husband had the cheese board, and I had their soup. The only thing better than the food might have been the over all ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good and enjoyable as usual. Wait ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very good and enjoyable as usual. Wait staff excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful brunch - great burgers, eggs B ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful brunch - great burgers, eggs Benedict with crab, beautiful & unique melon salad. Upscale ambience with a very friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our waiter was wonderful! Great menu an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful! Great menu and always love hearing the daily specials!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, , Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Rock solid. Great food always and a very ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Rock solid. Great food always and a very unpretentious staff. They really care about what they put on the plate and want you to be comfortable dining there.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster roll was excellent. We has a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The lobster roll was excellent. We has a lovely meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I took my husband here for his birthday! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday! I gave him the option of either steak or cheese, and he said, "Why not both?!" - He LOVES cheese. He had the cheese board, I had the Steak Diane, and we were in heaven! We washed it down with Busch and 4 Roses, and it was a perfect birthday dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood spot. Variety of cho ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great neighborhood spot. Variety of choices on menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.