About Three Flags Tavern

4940 Southwest Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Bringing the finer points of hospitality together with the unique history and culture of St. Louis.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Thursday: 3pm - 10pm

Friday: 3pm - 11pm

Saturday: 10am - 11pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Sunday: 10am - 9pm (Brunch from 10am - 3pm)

Oyster Hour Specials 3pm - 6pm Monday through Friday

Bar open to close

Cross Street:
Kingshighway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 669-9222

Website:
http://www.threeflagstavern.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may also park in the BMO Harris Bank lot next door to Three Flags Tavern (east of our patio).

Executive Chef:
John O'Brien

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Three Flags Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Neighborhood Gem
St. Louis
Contemporary American
St. Louis
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Southwest Garden ›

neighborhood gem (49)
fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (29)
See All
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for brunch (21)
good for groups (17)
romantic (11)
great for lunch (10)
notable wine list (8)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

We went on a Tuesday evening and it was ...

Dined 6 days ago

We went on a Tuesday evening and it was not crowded at all which was a pleasant surprise. We ordered the chicken wings as an appetizer. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. She suggested a couple of the specials, I ordered the ribeye rubbed with a coffee and chocolate mix and my wife got the Cornish hen. Both items were excellent and cooked to perfection. Unfortunately we did not save room for dessert but there is always next time! The menu is not large but it is diverse and there really is something for everyone. I highly recommend this place!

food5
ambience4
service5

Second time here for brunch, and everyth ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Second time here for brunch, and everything was delicious again. Our group stayed with the menu items although the specials were tempting. Our favorites include the burger, omelet of the day, french toast which is so crispy outside yet custardy inside, beignets, and the biscuit with devonshire cream and pineapple jam is divine. Excellent bloody mary's and mimosas. Julia is a superb server. We were happy to be greeted this time by a manager at the host stand rather than ignored and treated rudely by the surly female bartender who was front of house on our last visit. We almost walked out because of that bartender on our first time here. Glad we didn't because the food is outstanding and the wait staff impeccable. Highly recommend!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was probably the 4th time we have b ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was probably the 4th time we have been there. I must say it was not as up to par as the others. I did notice the owner was not there so maybe that had something to do with it. I also think they need more waitstaff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chicken wings and pickled deviled eggs w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Chicken wings and pickled deviled eggs were excellent. They had a scallops special which was to die for. Cocktails were the best! Everyone was happy with their orders.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I really like 3 Flags - the food is very ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I really like 3 Flags - the food is very good, the menu is not very big but nicely varied. I enjoyed the mussels and others said they liked the lobster beignets. The special salad and the cauliflower dish were both wonderful! The only complaint is it is noisy inside (all hard surfaces so sounds of clatter & chatter is not absorbed) and service is nice but a wee bit on the slow side.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome brunch experience! Can't wait to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Awesome brunch experience! Can't wait to get back to try drinks and dinner.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place.

Dined on June 8, 2016

We really enjoyed the food and service. The chef made an off the item for our youth guest

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was p ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Everything, and I mean EVERYTHING, was perfect.

food3
ambience4
service5

Trout Good but smaller portion than wha ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Trout Good but smaller portion than what I remember Acoustics make it hard to hear

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal at 3 Flags yet!

Dined on May 28, 2016

I've eaten here several times but this was our best meal so far. An incredible duck confit appetizer on a sweet potato pancake, tasty cheese selections and the best soft shell crabs I've had in years combined for a delicious meal. I love this place for the relaxed ambiance and now will be back more frequently. Kudos to the chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu, excellent preparation and pr ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great menu, excellent preparation and presentation, fine friendly service. Lobster beignets are delicious. Overall welcome addition to the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A most enjoyable dining experience! From ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

A most enjoyable dining experience! From the specials to the wine list, it was a delicious meal! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrating good times lol

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Bouillabaisse and escargot on special were TO DIE FOR. Beautiful dark wood interiors with a cozy, inviting bar. A good mix of mod and trad. The shrimp and grits were aMaZiNg! Wine and drinks were above par and as for the Hemingway cocktail, sign me up for 2 ;-) The neighborhood has such a quaint, "urban" vibe to it. The bathrooms were immaculate (no gloryholes). Word to the wise, get before it's gone. Toodles!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great surprise brunch for Mothers Day!

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I tried this for Mothers Day and we were so pleasantly surprised by a wonderful wine and beer list, cantaloupe salad and Crab Benedict and the famous burger. Needless to say we loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Good

Dined on May 8, 2016

I love Three Flags Tavern! This is the third special occasion I've celebrated here, and it never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Shrimp and grits

Dined on May 1, 2016

My only complaint was the heads being left on the shrimp. I feel that this is just a pointless effort to make the dish look cool to pretentious foodie types. It serves no purpose. The dish itself was delicious though.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another incredible meal.

Dined on April 30, 2016

We have been in St. Louis for just over two weeks and have eaten here three times. Twice for dinner and once for brunch. This place rocks! We brought another couple with us the last time and they agreed. This has to go on my top 10 list in St. Louis - which is difficult when you think about the sheer number of restaurants in this city. The owners are incredibly nice and the chef is incredibly talented. You will not be disappointed. The appetizer tacos are wonderful - I've had the fish special once and the trout on the menu once - both were excellent. The most wonderful part is we can walk here! The only complaint I can possibly think of is the bartender could be a little more personable - but we will continue to make this one of our regular places when we are in town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good dine!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Lobster beignets - need I say more? Amazing. Mixed green salad perfect with such a nice dressing, honey dijon vinaigrette, we love it. The burger is delicious, and of course, although we didn't order it this time, don't miss the Connecticut lobster roll!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a Thursday. The staff was was ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

This was a Thursday. The staff was was very pleasant and worked well as a team. When one person became swamped with a big table, another person filled in the gaps. The oysters Rockefeller were delicious. I also loved the mashed potatoes and lobster roll ... Yummmm. The flourless chocolate cake wasn't too bad either. Enjoyable, tasty meal!

food5
ambience5
service4

The food is always amazing! Mussels are ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food is always amazing! Mussels are the best in the city. Server was great, but I think she needed more help. She was very apologetic for any wait we incurred and more than made up for it! One of my favorite places in all of Stl!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!!

Dined on April 13, 2016

We have been to Three Flags numerous times and the experience always exceeds expectations. Carefully prepared food, excellent drinks, superb service. We highly recommend Three Flags.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Service and food excellent. One entree came out wrong and was immediately corrected. Very knowledgable and friendly staff. Even a Monday night was memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant dining experience

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Menu was interesting, food was well prepared and served timely. Bar drinks and wine both very good. Pretty much you can't go wrong!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our mothers out to dinner for th ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We took our mothers out to dinner for their birthdays. The staff was very welcoming. We enjoyed our drinks and wine. The Beef Wellington and pork loin were exceptional. I look forward to returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good choice for Saturday Brunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

Took my daughters and their boyfriends here for brunch this past Saturday. Food and service very good. I'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

awesome monday option

Dined on March 21, 2016

many good restaurants in st. louis are closed on mondays, so we were pleased to find three flags tavern an exception. it's a great place for a special dinner. plan some time--we had concert tickets and had to rush a bit toward the end. the wait for the freshly prepared food is worth it, though.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Three Flags is a consistently great expe ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Three Flags is a consistently great experience - the ambiance of a cozy neighborhood tavern layered with stellar good. My burger and fries were perfection, and the fried pickles were hot and crisp. A juicy time was had by all!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wednesday Treat

Dined on March 3, 2016

We went on a Wednesday for happy hour oysters, which were fresh and lovely, and discovered to our pleasure it was Whiskey Wednesday -- bonus! After happy hour we had an amazing dinner. My friend's scallops with andouille sausage and grits made the rest of us jealous! The brisket burger was definitely a step up from a regular restaurant burger and cooked perfectly. Great service from our bartender and waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Valentine Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a great surprise for my wife of someplace off our beaten path. It was a snow covered morning but the place was full which tells me we were In the right place. Mimosa her Bloody Mary him Beignets Omelet him Duck Confi Hash her Coffees

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner at Three Flags!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

My husband and I live close to Three Flags so we've been here several times. One reason we keep going back is because it's open on Mondays! I love the feel of this place right when you walk in. It's modern but cozy. They have a great wine and cocktail list. The menu is fantastic...I really feel like there's something for everyone and it changes enough to keep it interesting. Recent favorites have been the Beef Wellington (SO GOOD), potato crusted grouper, escargot appetizer, and the mussels. We will continue to go back here. HIGHLY recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Solid food and service

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Solid food and service

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool Vibe

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Very cool vibe at Three Flags. Had reservation and was seated right on time. {None of that "thanks for making a reservation but sit at the bar and we'll get to you when we can" nonsense.} Server was extremely friendly and knew the menu well. Dining room has a tasteful retro STL/historical theme. Food was high quality-- perhaps a little bland. Taco apps were a pleasant surprise. Wine list was a little ambitious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice neighborhood restaurant. Quirky men ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Nice neighborhood restaurant. Quirky menu but everything we ordered was very good. Limited by the glass wine list.

food5
ambience3
service5

Good food. Had to ask for bread. Could h ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Good food. Had to ask for bread. Could have been offered.

food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely Missouri Westward Expansion them ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Lovely Missouri Westward Expansion themed restaurant. Delicious food. Enjoyed brunch, as well. A little salty, though.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were first time visitors to Three Fla ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

We were first time visitors to Three Flags Tavern. There will definitely be a second visit. Service was excellent. The taco appetizer got us off to a good start as did the selection of specialty cocktails. Our entrees were also very good. The burger is huge and looked delicious. One of our party ordered the scallops and Andouille, which is a rather strange combination of flavors. Although it was quite tasty, that particular dish probably would not be ordered again as the Andouille overpowers the more delicate flavor of the scallops. All in all, It was a great first visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable evening

Dined on January 14, 2016

Food preparation and presentation were excellent; a somewhat limited but varied menu has broad appeal. A bit noisey in the main dining room, would probably asked to be seated in bar on our next visit. Waiter was attentive and well versed as to food preparation.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great wine, great service.

Dined on January 5, 2016

great food, great wine, great service. our second visit. Everything was as good as the first visit. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wine menu. The ambience is lovely. Just a nice, comfy, delicious experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on December 31, 2015

The food, wine, and service is excellent ! A great restaurant for date night .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delightful Dining Experience

Dined on December 31, 2015

We had dinner at 3 Flags Tavern on Dec. 30th and it was an excellent dinner with attentive and friendly service. We definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.