About Three Dots and a Dash

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Three Dots and a Dash, Chicago, IL
Three Dots and a Dash, Chicago, IL

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Hot Spot (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fun (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Romantic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
Private Room (5)
Tapas (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you like sweet fruity drinks you will ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

If you like sweet fruity drinks you will love this place! The drinks seem to be the focal point....the food was delicious but a very limited menu. We were there on a Sunday evening so it was quiet but I bet the bar would be fun for happy hour or a Friday or Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the way of getting inside...dark a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the way of getting inside...dark alley, blue light, stairs into a basement...great tropical atmosphere, lively. If you're looking for gourmet, look elsewhere. Basically appetizers and drinks here. But fun, fun!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Three Dots and a Dash consistently prove ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash consistently proves itself to be a great place to meet up with friends. The entrance is located on the alley directly east of Clark between Hubbard and Illinois; you'll see a tiki torch and there will likely be a bouncer outside. Fridays and Saturdays are typically crowded, so I would definitely recommend making reservations far in advance. If you decide to go after work on a weekday, however, I think you'll be fine with just walking in.

Although Three Dots and a Dash is known for their specialty themed cocktails, your friends who may not be into drinking or are unable to drink alcohol due to health reasons can still have a great time with non-alcoholic versions of their cocktails, which by the way are still super tasty (especially the Aloha Felicia, if you like coconut!). The drinks are a bit pricey, but are rightfully potent, and are relatively reasonable for a speakeasy in River North.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was tasty. The ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent service. Food was tasty. The tikki vibe feels like you were transported back to Hawaii. Would highly recommend and definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leider kam der anhekündigte DJ nicht

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Leider kam der anhekündigte DJ nicht

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The drinks were amazing the setting very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The drinks were amazing the setting very inviting relaxed environment service very good i will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food was OK, nothing special. Drink ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was OK, nothing special. Drinks were realty excellent compared to competition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

good time, not the best service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

good time, not the best service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Three Dots and a Dash is a fun, energeti ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash is a fun, energetic, bar with great ambiance. It is tucked away in an alley, away from the bustling streets of River North. As you descend the long set of stairs into the front entrance, you are transported from cold, windy Chicago to Polynesia. The drinks were fruity and fun. My friends and I split a drink (I can't recall the name) that came in a diver's submersion-type helmet with dry ice spilling over the side. It tasted very sweet but was satisfying. Overall, the place is a bit pricey (but what isn't in River North), but the atmosphere is worth the extra buck.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great place to meet friends for a drink, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place to meet friends for a drink, but their food is worth serious note!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place for drinks! Food was just ok ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great place for drinks! Food was just ok but you do not go there to eat but drink amazing rum and mixed cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The big draw is the side entrance and c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The big draw is the side entrance and cool underground space. It immediately gives it an exclusive & mysterious feel. The drinks are why you're there- fun flavors and exotic presentations. Definitely Instagram worthy. The food was just mediocre; we had the rangoon and duck wraps. Unfortunately our service was just sub-par. You could tell our server had been repeating herself all day and wasn't interested in doing it again. Thankfully the menu has descriptions for each item. It would be a fun spot for a date or night with friends. Overall, pretty good!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Incredible atmosphere, drinks, and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Incredible atmosphere, drinks, and service. Would recommend to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three Dots and a Dash was fun and intima ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash was fun and intimate. Drinks were amazing, favorite bar. Location excellent, somewhat hidden down the alley without name or address which only made it more special. Excellent service. Atmosphere friendly with patrons obviously enjoying themselves. Will definitely recommend and return to meet up here and relax with close friends. Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time! Drinks and ambiance we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Had a great time! Drinks and ambiance were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We love starting our evening at Three Do ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love starting our evening at Three Dots and a Dash. Fun cocktails and yummy appetizers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I had a great time and so did m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall I had a great time and so did my friends. My only caution, unless you are willing to spend lots of money to get a private table, I wouldn't recommend this place for more than 8 people. I had a party of about 11 people, and the staff set us up in a nice area that was big enough to seat all my guest, even though I didn't reserve that space, I was lucky that happened because otherwise my tables would of been separate. the drinks were interesting and some were good, The service was okay, our waitress seemed annoyed and busy, when one of my friends asked what's good on the menu for drinks she didn't take the time to go through the drinks and just blurted out the first thing she think of. Other than that the vibe was nice and I would go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a great experience at Three Dots ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a great experience at Three Dots and a Dash! I like interesting cocktails and they did not let me down. You can even buy the mugs, which are custom designed. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly. The food was delicious. The decor is fabulous too! This place has a very vintage glam vibe. I will definitely be back the next time I am in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coustmer service was horrible!! They gav ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Coustmer service was horrible!! They gave away my table after only being a minute late for my reservation. Our watiress was lovley, but I was basically talked to like I was a child (twice) when I had a extra guest join our table . They made such a big deal about giving us a extra chair, and I was flat out spoken to extremely rudely!! If I was just spoken to with a little more respect I might not have been so annoyed with the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

I come here often and I ALWAYS have an a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I come here often and I ALWAYS have an amazing time. Their drinks are absolutely delicious (strong too ;]) and the food is fantastic. Impeccable service and atmosphere. A must try in river north.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Cozy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My kind of place! Polynesian theme with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

My kind of place! Polynesian theme with awesome food and people!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING PLACE! It was a great ambiance w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

AMAZING PLACE! It was a great ambiance with dimmed lights but candles and uplighting. Food was amazing and the drinks were great as well! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had friends in from NY and wanted to tre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Had friends in from NY and wanted to treat them to something beyond their expectations. They were questioning my thinking as I took them down the alley but once inside they were giddy with excitement. Great drinks, food, and atmosphere! They can't wait to come back and dine here again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome Thai chicken was Fye an ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Food was awesome Thai chicken was Fye and I love the Alhola Felicia

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is fun place to get together with f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This is fun place to get together with friends. We ordered the Pu-Pu platter which was really very good. It contained a variety of bite size appetizers that accompanied the our drinks very well. (The drinks are bite size too and also very good.) Our waitress knew the menu very well and made some great suggestions. If you are entertaining out of town guest they well really enjoy the atmosphere. We would return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Definitely too pricy for what they offer ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Definitely too pricy for what they offer. Ambiance is great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Best place ever!I stop in whenever I vis ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Best place ever!I stop in whenever I visit Chicago

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Dots and a Dash is always a fun ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash is always a fun experience. The cocktails are not only visually appealing but also delicious and the appetizers are great. A place that visitors to Chicago need to see!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious appetizer platter, perfect for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious appetizer platter, perfect for sharing. Cocktail drinks were made to perfection.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating very comfy, food was okay, cockt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Seating very comfy, food was okay, cocktails really good, service was okay. But we had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great bar! Highly recommended, especiall ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great bar! Highly recommended, especially for a date night.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with the host st ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I was very disappointed with the host staff. They said I had missed by reservation when the door was marked 5pm open. We ate at RPM Italian another Lettuce Rest than came straight over.. She was rude when seating us as well, as if we were bothering her

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

Great atmosphere. Once I notified the ba ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great atmosphere. Once I notified the bartender of my allergy to almonds, a heightened sense of alarm took over. They would not serve us the spring rolls on the pu pu platter because they had peanuts in them (I'm not allergic to peanuts), instead asking us to double-up on one of the other offerings. When we told our server that I can eat peanuts she wouldn't go back to the kitchen to request the spring rolls on our behalf because of the "nut allergy" at our table. Initially they would not even bring peanut sauce to the table, however after asking 3 times it arrived. I understand that my almond allergy affected some of my drink choices but it should not have affected our meal. It was embarrassing. Next time, assume that the 60 year old woman knows what she can eat, the kitchen should not dictate my food choices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I suggest making reservations. The bar w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I suggest making reservations. The bar was packed and were lucky to have our own table. Our server was great and we ordered four different drinks! Such a fun place and the drinks are strong.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicago has some of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Chicago has some of the best restaurants in the country, but every time I'm in town I try to carve out one night just to grab a couple drinks here. I love this place!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is an experience and the drin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This place is an experience and the drink are an adventure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We had a great time coming here after wo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a great time coming here after work, but the service was slow. Not very attentive. It took a long while to get the drinks we ordered. Please improve your version of the "Pena colada". It would be great if it tasted more authentic. Regardless, it's always fun hitting up this spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The cocktails and ambiance can not be be ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The cocktails and ambiance can not be beat. Fun and funky. Apps were good but small so order several.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always recommend making a reservation ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I always recommend making a reservation for 3 Dots & a Dash because if not you can feel very cramped at the bar and there is very little to safely put down your drink. The drinks are amazing concoctions - the downside to having a table is not being able to stand at the bar at watch all the amazing work that goes into making your drink happen. We tried the food for the first time on this go around and were pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was awesome! We were celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our server was awesome! We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and she shaped our drink straws into hearts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.