About Three Dots and a Dash

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (44)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Hot Spot (37)
Good for Groups (32)
Bar Seating (26)
Late-night Find (22)
Happy Hour (20)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
People Watching (12)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tapas (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had an amazing time!!! Good vibes and great scenery. Drinks were very pretty but don't let that fool you they were amazing ­čśë

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Reunion with my cousin. While the hubs and I frequent all the time, he never has visited. Was well received!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Sometimes we get crappy service in the city but not so at this bar. Prices are what you would expect for the city (15-18 per drink). Our waitress explained her favorite cocktails and food items and was very attentive without being pushy. I would love to come back more often and bummed we waited so long to come here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Yeah.......it was ok..........nice atmosphere and cocktails great but not great if one of your party isnt a cocktail person. The food was tasty and interesting. The server was efficient and friendly.
Good for an hour and a couple of late cocktails. Liked it

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere, great service, and some of the best drinks I've had in a long time. Definitely the best in Chicago. I could drink The Saturn from a vat. Superb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This place is so much cooler than you think it will be! It's fun and tropical without being too kitschy. The drinks are delicious and strong - well worth it. The food is also really good, especially the Big Kahuna Burger. Definitely a great spot for a fun night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Can't fault much about this place at all. The recreation of a 50's/60's tiki bar is remarkable. Huge rum selection was amazing to see. I admire the bartenders patience and skills greatly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a blast here! Fun drinks with reservations equal a great time. The atmosphere is so much fun.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I had a great experience. I loved the ambiance and decor. I was very excited by the smoking drink and the firepit on my food platter

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great first tiki experience. Drinks were fantastic ... and strong, so be careful! We ordered the sampler platter and it was more than enough food for two. Everything was delicious. The whole experience was great fun!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Ah-mazing!!! Literally just made another reservation to come back!! It's that great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The place and service was great, we were a bit bunched up for 8 at a table. We made the best of it. A show would fit great for this place. Not fit for dinner, more of finger food.

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Usually have an amazing time here but our food was terrible. I asked for my chicken and meat to be well done and it comes out rubbery.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Always a great time! Always premo cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Do your homework before you come! Limited food menu and all the drinks are mostly rum based/island style and expensive. In a basement, dark (very dark) and if you like this then this is your type of place!

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We love Three Dots and a Dash! The food is on point, the drinks are strong, and the service is always great! My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and our waitress brought us complimentary shots that were delicious! Overall this is a great stop in river North!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This is always my go to in downtown river north. The staff knows what they're doing, and it's always consistent. Unfortunately every year the drink prices increase. What can you say, it's a world class bar!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great atmosphere. Service was very good. Food was good. Our group of 4 shared 2 menus and our waitress pointed out some of the more popular drinks but none of us noticed the drink menu way toward the back which had more classic island type drinks. Too bad because two of our group members were a little disappointed in their drink choices and may have had better luck with one of the drink choices from the back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

While slightly on the pricey side, everything we tried was tasty and we never felt rushed. We lingered and chatted for nearly three hours while enjoying the tiki theme and fun music.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Visiting Chicago and kept hearing about this place, so wanted to try it out. Was an excellent experience with a really fun atmosphere and delicious drinks. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My boyfriend's sister was in town and we brought her here to celebrate her birthday. The tiki bar vibe is so fun, and the drinks even more fun! So glad we made a reservation for 8pm because when we left around 10:30pm, there was a long time out the door. Definitely a popular place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Just the more unique and incredible place to celebrate a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

On arriving we loved the atmosphere and the variety of drinks! Our bar tender was amazing. However, the table service was very slow. The manager frequently stopped by to make sure we were taken care of, as we often had empty drinks. We eventually gave up on making another drink order and asked for the bill. We definitely would have stayed longer and spent more money if the service were better! The food was delicious but I wish there was a larger variety of food to order

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Absolutely loved this place! My friend and I are planning on going back repeatedly to go through the entire menu!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Three Dots and a Dash is a great place to go for drinks! The food was average, but the drinks were excellent. The ambience is nice as well. I'd like to return when the DJ aus set up.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The wait staff and bartenders are great and very friendly. The hostess and management goons are not. We asked to move people in our group from one table to a table next to us once the table opened up. The hostess was very rude to help us with this request and treated us as incompetent tourist. Very snobby. Then the management person did not understand that we would not be taking up an additional table, just wanted to switch. His only response was that we could do that if we "bought into a contract". Basically either greasing him to do it or agreeing to buy X dollars in drinks. They really put a damper on our overall experience.

We enjoyed the drinks and wait staff, but forget about working with management with any special requests.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food and drinks were great. Our server made me and our guestvfeel like she did not want to he there. It felt like she was rushing us to drink and it. That was disappointing, considering how nice the atmosphere is.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

College friends reunion in Chicago, It was a fun place to have drinks and an appetizer. Our server was very attentive and it was a fun atmosphere>

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

I made reservations, received an email confirmation then showed up and was told that my name was not in the system and that they could not sit me because they were full and that the only option I had was to go to the bar and order drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 31, 2017

One of my favorite spots to visit in Chicago. Great drinks and atmosphere!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We loved it so much we went back the next day! Such a great spot...(if you can find it)
Entrance is in an alley but it added to the mystique of the place. (Just look for the tiki torches).

The drinks are super fun and delicious. We weren't even hungry but their food looked good so we ordered the coconut shrimp and it was yummy. Great atmosphere, fun place to go on a date or with a group of friends. Staff was nice, fun and talked you through ordering the drink right for you.

We were there on a weekend night and it was packed and they had a DJ playing super loud music, being that we are older (in our 40's) we wanted to go back when it was a bit more relaxed. So we went Sunday night around 8pm and it wasn't too crowded and we really liked the softer island music they played Sunday night so we could talk and enjoy our cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Took my sister who was visiting here and it was a huge success. We shared the plater and it was a perfect and filling dish to sample! Loved the aloha Felicia and festive drinks :) great atmosphere and unique

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great Beer, Casual, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The atmosphere is awesome, makes you feel like you are somewhere super special--- not just a basement off the alley. Drinks were interesting yet super expensive. The only negative comment is the music was so loud I couldn't hear to talk to my friends. We had to talk at an uncomfortable level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Entire place smelled. Not musty smelling but something unpleasant. Impossible to have a conversation due to overall noise level. Drinks pictured with all kinds of cool garnish but didnt come with it. For a $30 drink I want it look just like the photo in the menu. Also, for a tiki bar it was very conservatively decorated, boringly so. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I made a reservation thru OpenTable but for some reason they did not have the reservation but they sat us but wasn't accommodating because I requested a corner table to be romantic instead we got sat in a high traffic area of the restaurant. Our server was not attentive for the price should have accommodated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Best Tiki Bar I have ever been to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Server was exceptional! Skull endorsed drinks delivered as advertised- strong and fun!
Only con is the spring rolls were super greasy. Everything else was great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food wasn't great:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I absolutely love 3 Dots. I make it a priority to come as often as possible. The drinks are outstanding and the atmosphere is unique and fun. I love everything about this bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was an extended family long weekend summer trip. We made reservations for 2 tables. Arrived and the 9 (not tiny people) of us were seated at a booth that at most should have 5-6 people. Other groups came in and were seated at larger booths when there were only 4 people. Felt sorry for the server and tipped her well but will never go back and don'y recommend the place. Unfriendly people at the door and the ones that crammed us in to the tiny booth.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.