About Three Dots and a Dash

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Fun (41)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
See All
Hot Spot (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Happy Hour (23)
Late-night Find (18)
Casual (13)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Cozy (8)
People Watching (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tapas (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Dancing (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Such a fun atmosphere! I have already recommended it to 3 people! It was hard to find the entrance though since it is poorly lit and in an alley-- although once inside that factor added to the "secret" ambiance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Tapas, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to grab a drink. Fun, quick service. Drinks are around $14 a piece, average for the Chicago area however the quality is above average for the area. Definitely need a reservation, unless you don't kind waiting in line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

First time there. It was pretty much everything we had heard and read about. The Tiki decor was definitely over the top, as were the Tiki cocktails, though the latter were a bit watered down. There were two of us, we each had (3) cocktails each, and though we felt a bit tipsy afterward, we were far from drunk. Though that was not our intentions, the description on the menu stating some of the drinks were "strong" may have been a bit of a stretch. At least the ones we had were not so much. As expected, the presentation of the cocktails and the mugs were 'Tiki Fabulous'. The food was nothing special, and in fact seems to be more of an after-thought. The Pu Pu platter was typical, to the point of boring, but there again, most go for the cocktails and the ambiance, and not the food, hence the very limited food items. The side-street and basement location is part of the allure I suppose, though I'm thinking that the location was chosen due to the low rent at that time. Though now that 'Lettuce' owns it, I'm sure that's all changed. The 'Pirates Of The Caribbean' theme and related kitsch, made me feel like I was stuck in a Disney ride for adults. I'm thinking the owners spent much time 'researching' at Mouse-World and/or at tiki bars, before deciding to open the 'Dash'. Though we that said, they have obviously been very successful, especially since it's now owned by Lettuce Entertain You, which by the way just happens to be my favorite restaurant group in the world. A word of warning, as one might expect in a place like this, the average age was 20 something's, packed with couples, singles, and 'hopefuls', both male and female. Being the only (obvious) older, gay couple there at the time and seated at the bar, it did feel a bit strange, though that was not the fault of the establishment, nor it's patrons. I'd go back, but only with a group, and definitely with younger people as chaperones.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Great drinks. Great atmosphere. Eat a full meal before you go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing! The drinks are spectacular and worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very dissatisfying, not accommodating what so ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere! Incredible cocktails, attentive staff, cool place to bring out of town guestsvisitors or dates!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tapas, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tiki tiki! Super fun atmosphere and delicious drinks! A little pricey for drinks, ~$15 each, but super unique. I would love to go back! I lived the island vibe and beachy vibe music

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Such aFun way to get a taste of and feel the warmth of The Tropics 🍹

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic tiki drinks, but each time I come back this place veers more into the Chuck-E-Cheese of tiki territory. The decor is great, and the drinks are made well, but the staff are indifferent if not rude, and the music seems to take a turn for the worse after about 7pm (they should stick to 1950s/60s exotica). As the hours go on, expect more river north "bros" and fewer actual tikiphiles. It's worth a visit, but go early.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Three Dots is the perfect spot for a date or get-together with friends. The drinks are strong and delicious - you definitely get what you pay for. The ambiance is a lot of fun and I plan to revisit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

A bit pricey, but overall a wonderful atmosphere! Down to their drinks, food, tiki themed decorations - absolutely unique and such good vibes. I had the big kahuna burger - which I'm actually glad wasn't as big as I expected - and OMG it was savory and delicious!!! 100% coming back soon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Place was great! Understandably it is a Hawaiian themed spot, but I feel like the music may have dampered the mood just a teeny tiny bit. Was almost putting me to sleep. It's definitely one of the coolest designed spots in the area, and their drinks are so creative and fun! Going back without a doubt!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent! Had an 8 pm reservation and were seated within minutes of arrival. Greeted by manager/owner. Wait staff -friendly and attentive but not cloying. Food and drinks came quickly and were delicious. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The atmosphere is definitely unique and enjoyable, from the alleyway entrance to the tiki themed interior. I thought the drinks were good, and there were creative and unique options. I did feel that the price was steep for the quality of the drink, but I think that criticism could be made of virtually anywhere in River North. It's a fun environment for many occasions, a date, first stop for a night out, or Friday cocktail after work.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved it! We drove a little over an hour to get here and it was totally worth it! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a birthday to celebrate, and Three Dots & a Dash was the perfect place for us! We came on a Wednesday happy hour time, and had no problems with our reservation or getting seated. We loved the creative cocktails and trying the various flavors. The few snacks we got to help tide us over on more drinks were delicious too! Service was prompt and friendly!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great place to celebrate for my birthday l. The waitress was a little slow with giving us are good and drinks. I also think people there should be s bit more friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Such a cool Tiki bar. You feel like you stepped into another world

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved our GNO at Three Dots and a Dash! We shared a rum based cocktail that arrived in a flaming glass scull with straws. Individual cocktails were also fun. The food is tiki bar basic, but works to absorb some of the alcohol! Service was great and the whole vibe and energy of the place was hopping.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went there with my husband - great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It is bar that reminds you what is important in life. I will return just for it. Plus I collect tiki mugs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

What a fun place! We went on a Saturday night and really enjoyed the cool, tropical island vibe and strong tiki drinks. First off, we had a reservation for 4 at 7pm and arrived a little early. They were very accommodating and seated us at a nice corner booth almost immediately. Our waitress was exceptional and did a good job bringing our drinks quickly and accurately throughout the night. This place has an absolutely killer rum list and the drinks, all of which come served in an interesting tiki type mug, are strong and tasty (Try the Painkiller!). Around 8pm the place was completely packed, make no mistake this is definitely a River North hot spot! With that said, it'd be wise to have a reservation as the line to get in can get long as the night goes on, and once you're in the standing only around the bar can get cramped. Also, be careful at this place! Like I mentioned, the drinks are strong and expensive! I think this place is an excellent place to grab a drink after dinner or even to start the night at but not to spend hours on end at. At basically $15 bucks per drink, it can get rather expensive. Also, while the Polynesian vibe and surroundings are pretty sweet, this place is in the basement so there isn't any natural light (which could be a good thing or a bad thing lol). Overall, this place is a lot of fun. Go check it out, but just be careful or you just might wake up like me the next morning with an empty wallet and a killer rum headache lol!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very much enjotyed celebrating friends birthday here. Always a crown pleaser

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for my birthday and it was tons of fun. It's a bit pricey but great for a special occasion with friends. Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

$40 w/tip for 2 drink I didn't preview the menu :(

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious and lethal drinks.. Small tasty plates. Service was very fast and polite, never felt rushed. A great place to get drinks and enjoy a little bit of the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The ambiance, food, and drink were all great. Our cocktails were delicious and we tried nearly all the food options. Everything was great.

The service, however, was a little odd. I checked in once our party was complete (we were dining with eight). Somehow, they seated another party at our table and implied that party had signed in under my name. I was also told it could be due to my complicated reservation (I reserved through Open Table over a month in advance with no changes).

In any event, once we were seated with drinks all was well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you're in Chicago visiting or live here and haven't checked this place out make it a point to spend an evening here. You won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went there after the Hawks game for our son's birthday. Had a good time. It has a Hawaiian theme and a large menu of Hawaiian themed drinks. The service was excellent. Our waitress was great in helping to select drinks. The drinks were very strong. The music was strange but I'd rather it be Hawaiian to help with the whole feel of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fun place to visit once. I will definitely take out if town guests here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulously fun! The total super-sexy tiki bar experience, from the be-yond cocktail list to the on-point yet tasteful island decor to the mid-century tropical jazzy music. The island inspired food was a nice accompaniment, but the mixed drinks are truly the stars. A very fun and memorable (if you don't drink too much) night out!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Holiday cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It's a great place for fun tropical cocktails! Drinks may be pricey but worth it for the groovy presentation in a tiki bar setting.

The drinks are strong, so I always get some appetizers too. The Thai fried chicken is good, not heavily breaded and nice quality meat. Service has always been nice, not rushed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Three dots and a dash is a great place to have drinks and catch up with friends. It's a little tricky to find as the entrance is not on Clark but rather the alley behind Clark. Really creative drinks. Not too much choice for food - bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The drinks are deliciuous but on the pricy side. Food is mediocre at best (except for the tuna poke which was great).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

While the atmosphere is really fantastic for a tiki bar the prices are INSANE for what you get. The drinks are truly just there to get you drunk. When 8 people comment on how bad they are, but keep drinking them anyway this place certainly knows how to get people drunk in stupid ways... and then hustle them out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had a reservation for a Friday at 5:30. I was very eager to get out and try this place, me and a significant other had a work Christmas party this weekend and were staying in a hotel for the weekend to spend some time out and about. This was our first stop to kick off the weekend. I tried for about 2 weeks trying to get a reservation constantly searching for an open spot to become available.

It started out well, we were impressed by the decor, enjoyed the theme and the ambiance. Our intent was to get a drink and a quick appetizer before heading over to zoo lights. We got to our reservation 30minutes early and they still had a table for us. Someone came and served us water and let us know our waiter would be with us soon. It was all downhill from there...

We waited 15+ minutes with nobody addressing us. Our table was in the middle of the room right near the entryway to the dinning/lounge area. About 3-4 girls were huddled around the computer to the right of the bar near the bigger group area. During our time not one of them came to address us. We saw another group or 2 come in and get seated a few tables over who were promptly greeted by a waiter to take their order.

After about 10 minutes in we had thought about just going to the bar to make our orders (maybe thats what your supposed to do?) but the spots filled up quickly ruling out that possibility. Eventually we decided to call it quits and just walked out without ordering. Rather than waste anymore of our free time waiting for a waiter that may never come, we decided to just get a head start on all the other activities planned for our weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The waitress refused to move us when we became a party of 9 instead of 8 despite open tables. Very frustrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Celebrated a big birthday with 8 girlfriends. It was a great experience. The waitress was GREAT! We started with the PUPU platter to see what we liked, then ordered food through out the 1.5 hours we sat and sipped delish drinks. This is a fun, different experience for friends who have done just about everything together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

How waitress was amazing! It was a friends birthday and she offered to take pictures and help us choose fun cocktails! We had such a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Had a fun time as usual at this fun spot to grab a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

If you like sweet fruity drinks you will love this place! The drinks seem to be the focal point....the food was delicious but a very limited menu. We were there on a Sunday evening so it was quiet but I bet the bar would be fun for happy hour or a Friday or Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the way of getting inside...dark alley, blue light, stairs into a basement...great tropical atmosphere, lively. If you're looking for gourmet, look elsewhere. Basically appetizers and drinks here. But fun, fun!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash consistently proves itself to be a great place to meet up with friends. The entrance is located on the alley directly east of Clark between Hubbard and Illinois; you'll see a tiki torch and there will likely be a bouncer outside. Fridays and Saturdays are typically crowded, so I would definitely recommend making reservations far in advance. If you decide to go after work on a weekday, however, I think you'll be fine with just walking in.

Although Three Dots and a Dash is known for their specialty themed cocktails, your friends who may not be into drinking or are unable to drink alcohol due to health reasons can still have a great time with non-alcoholic versions of their cocktails, which by the way are still super tasty (especially the Aloha Felicia, if you like coconut!). The drinks are a bit pricey, but are rightfully potent, and are relatively reasonable for a speakeasy in River North.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent service. Food was tasty. The tikki vibe feels like you were transported back to Hawaii. Would highly recommend and definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Leider kam der anhekündigte DJ nicht

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great spot for girls night out! The drinks were delicious as was the food. Service was a little slow, but the place was pretty busy and the atmosphere made up for it. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The drinks were amazing the setting very inviting relaxed environment service very good i will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.