About Three Dots and a Dash

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (46)
Fun (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
See All
Good for Groups (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Hot Spot (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Late-night Find (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (13)
Cozy (11)
People Watching (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Tapas (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

They change the drink menu a bit. I really wish they left dead reckoning as a cocktail choice but besides that this is still my favorite place to hangout in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very fun night - good drinks (but ALOT of ice for such expensive drinks) and food was great. Service was attentive and informative - was helpful in finding drinks that each person would like. Fun for special girls night out - not something I would do on a regular basis due to the cost. We had reservations and had to call and change to a later time and they were very accommodating and our table was ready when we arrived.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really fun spot to enjoy drinks and friends! The ambiance is super fun, very campy and really makes you forget how cold it might be outside. Food is just okay, but the drinks are fun and delicious.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great atmosphere. Maybe could add a few items to the menu

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very interesting cocktails! Great group atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A premiere Tiki Bar experience! The venue was our destination for our road trip from Grand Rapids and it did not disappoint. Marykate's service was extremely attentive and joyful on the Saturday before St. Patrick's Day, and she gave excellent recommendations to our vintage Hawaiian shirt-clad party of four (we were not wearing green). The cocktails amazed us: the flavors, the potency and the outstanding presentation vessels and garniture were well thought out and mixed with care. Thank you barkeeps! We shall likely return to Three Dots & a Dash on all subsequent visits to Chicago!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome! Such a fun experience. The drinks were great and the atmosphere is unlike anything I've seen for a bar.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Hidden paradise. I love the dim of the lights to the mixing of carribbean rums ❤

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The drinks were good but expensive. I wish there was a larger food menu to choose from rather than just 10 items. And, the host needed an attitude adjustment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Drinks seemed watery and missing complex and layered flavors. New drink menu and execution of the cocktails was disappointing. Tried four different drinks and all failed to deliver as in years past. Food was great though.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Drinks are pricey, but delicious and fun! Worth it for a date night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Went here for my birthday had so much fun the drinks are great food not all that but overall it was nice

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Dancing, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 25, 2017

They really pulled off the "Tiki" theme. The drinks were all great and the service was great. We stopped in for happy hour and shared a "PuPu Platter".

It's located in an ally and isn't easy to find but it was worth the extra effort.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was so much more than having a meal with friends! From the elaborate drinks to the delicious food and fun atmosphere, this was truly a one-of-a-kind experience!! Had a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were there celebrating a birthday which meant nothing special. Also, the door guy in the alley was very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Such a fun atmosphere! I have already recommended it to 3 people! It was hard to find the entrance though since it is poorly lit and in an alley-- although once inside that factor added to the "secret" ambiance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Tapas, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place to grab a drink. Fun, quick service. Drinks are around $14 a piece, average for the Chicago area however the quality is above average for the area. Definitely need a reservation, unless you don't kind waiting in line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time there. It was pretty much everything we had heard and read about. The Tiki decor was definitely over the top, as were the Tiki cocktails, though the latter were a bit watered down. There were two of us, we each had (3) cocktails each, and though we felt a bit tipsy afterward, we were far from drunk. Though that was not our intentions, the description on the menu stating some of the drinks were "strong" may have been a bit of a stretch. At least the ones we had were not so much. As expected, the presentation of the cocktails and the mugs were 'Tiki Fabulous'. The food was nothing special, and in fact seems to be more of an after-thought. The Pu Pu platter was typical, to the point of boring, but there again, most go for the cocktails and the ambiance, and not the food, hence the very limited food items. The side-street and basement location is part of the allure I suppose, though I'm thinking that the location was chosen due to the low rent at that time. Though now that 'Lettuce' owns it, I'm sure that's all changed. The 'Pirates Of The Caribbean' theme and related kitsch, made me feel like I was stuck in a Disney ride for adults. I'm thinking the owners spent much time 'researching' at Mouse-World and/or at tiki bars, before deciding to open the 'Dash'. Though we that said, they have obviously been very successful, especially since it's now owned by Lettuce Entertain You, which by the way just happens to be my favorite restaurant group in the world. A word of warning, as one might expect in a place like this, the average age was 20 something's, packed with couples, singles, and 'hopefuls', both male and female. Being the only (obvious) older, gay couple there at the time and seated at the bar, it did feel a bit strange, though that was not the fault of the establishment, nor it's patrons. I'd go back, but only with a group, and definitely with younger people as chaperones.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service. Great drinks. Great atmosphere. Eat a full meal before you go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing! The drinks are spectacular and worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very dissatisfying, not accommodating what so ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere! Incredible cocktails, attentive staff, cool place to bring out of town guestsvisitors or dates!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tapas, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Tiki tiki! Super fun atmosphere and delicious drinks! A little pricey for drinks, ~$15 each, but super unique. I would love to go back! I lived the island vibe and beachy vibe music

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Such aFun way to get a taste of and feel the warmth of The Tropics 🍹

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fantastic tiki drinks, but each time I come back this place veers more into the Chuck-E-Cheese of tiki territory. The decor is great, and the drinks are made well, but the staff are indifferent if not rude, and the music seems to take a turn for the worse after about 7pm (they should stick to 1950s/60s exotica). As the hours go on, expect more river north "bros" and fewer actual tikiphiles. It's worth a visit, but go early.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Three Dots is the perfect spot for a date or get-together with friends. The drinks are strong and delicious - you definitely get what you pay for. The ambiance is a lot of fun and I plan to revisit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

A bit pricey, but overall a wonderful atmosphere! Down to their drinks, food, tiki themed decorations - absolutely unique and such good vibes. I had the big kahuna burger - which I'm actually glad wasn't as big as I expected - and OMG it was savory and delicious!!! 100% coming back soon!

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Place was great! Understandably it is a Hawaiian themed spot, but I feel like the music may have dampered the mood just a teeny tiny bit. Was almost putting me to sleep. It's definitely one of the coolest designed spots in the area, and their drinks are so creative and fun! Going back without a doubt!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent! Had an 8 pm reservation and were seated within minutes of arrival. Greeted by manager/owner. Wait staff -friendly and attentive but not cloying. Food and drinks came quickly and were delicious. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The atmosphere is definitely unique and enjoyable, from the alleyway entrance to the tiki themed interior. I thought the drinks were good, and there were creative and unique options. I did feel that the price was steep for the quality of the drink, but I think that criticism could be made of virtually anywhere in River North. It's a fun environment for many occasions, a date, first stop for a night out, or Friday cocktail after work.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved it! We drove a little over an hour to get here and it was totally worth it! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a birthday to celebrate, and Three Dots & a Dash was the perfect place for us! We came on a Wednesday happy hour time, and had no problems with our reservation or getting seated. We loved the creative cocktails and trying the various flavors. The few snacks we got to help tide us over on more drinks were delicious too! Service was prompt and friendly!

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great place to celebrate for my birthday l. The waitress was a little slow with giving us are good and drinks. I also think people there should be s bit more friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Such a cool Tiki bar. You feel like you stepped into another world

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Tapas, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved our GNO at Three Dots and a Dash! We shared a rum based cocktail that arrived in a flaming glass scull with straws. Individual cocktails were also fun. The food is tiki bar basic, but works to absorb some of the alcohol! Service was great and the whole vibe and energy of the place was hopping.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Went there with my husband - great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It is bar that reminds you what is important in life. I will return just for it. Plus I collect tiki mugs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

What a fun place! We went on a Saturday night and really enjoyed the cool, tropical island vibe and strong tiki drinks. First off, we had a reservation for 4 at 7pm and arrived a little early. They were very accommodating and seated us at a nice corner booth almost immediately. Our waitress was exceptional and did a good job bringing our drinks quickly and accurately throughout the night. This place has an absolutely killer rum list and the drinks, all of which come served in an interesting tiki type mug, are strong and tasty (Try the Painkiller!). Around 8pm the place was completely packed, make no mistake this is definitely a River North hot spot! With that said, it'd be wise to have a reservation as the line to get in can get long as the night goes on, and once you're in the standing only around the bar can get cramped. Also, be careful at this place! Like I mentioned, the drinks are strong and expensive! I think this place is an excellent place to grab a drink after dinner or even to start the night at but not to spend hours on end at. At basically $15 bucks per drink, it can get rather expensive. Also, while the Polynesian vibe and surroundings are pretty sweet, this place is in the basement so there isn't any natural light (which could be a good thing or a bad thing lol). Overall, this place is a lot of fun. Go check it out, but just be careful or you just might wake up like me the next morning with an empty wallet and a killer rum headache lol!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very much enjotyed celebrating friends birthday here. Always a crown pleaser

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for my birthday and it was tons of fun. It's a bit pricey but great for a special occasion with friends. Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.