About Three Dots and a Dash

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (60)
Fun (53)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
See All
Bar Seating (42)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Late-night Find (38)
Special Occasion (35)
Happy Hour (27)
Casual (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
People Watching (10)
Tapas (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Private Room (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The exclusivity of this place makes it so fun. Drinks are fruity and beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Good/strong drinks! Everyone was nice which is a plus... I loved it!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the ambiance and music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The drinks and service we great. As always.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Awesome ambiance and drinks The food was great I loved it I will go back soon

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was great and worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great spot! The food was delicious, drinks were strong and great customer service. Def going again!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always a good time at Three Dots. The ambiance is great for business dinners as well as casual. The drinks are all exotic and the food is great. It feels like you're not in the heart of chicago but on an island.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

You pay for the ambience and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Came for drinks and was deeply impressed! Everyone tried something different and we loved every drink! Some drinks were more pricey than others, but this is certainly worth the experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always a great fun place to grab drinks, the staff is always friendly and the atmosphere is always lively. Beware on a Friday or Saturday night there's always a line outside and it's always crowded inside, but once you can get past the crowds, always a fun place to drink with friends. Have only had a few different appetizers, but always a hit (coconut shrimp - yummy)

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Birthday celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Had a blast! Service was awesome and the food and drinks were amazing. My only complaint was that I was told I only had 2 hours when I got there. That would have been nice to know a few hours earlier with the confirmation phone call, so I could have planned my night better. I came from an hour and a half away and planned on spending more time there. Great place though!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great atmosphere. Fun. Great group outing. Wonderful place to celebrate a birthday or any kind of celebration.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Disabled Access, Private Room, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I love Three Dots and a Dash! This was my second time visiting and i love their ambience it is like a hidden Chicago gem! Love their cocktails and food! The reason I don't give them 5 stars is because of the service, our server was missing and it was hard at times to be found. We felt rushed and unwanted by the end. Afterall, this is a lounge where people gather to socialize and have a great cocktail, being rushed was just something that we weren't expecting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My partner is not a fan of hard liquors such as scotch so I wanted to take her to a cocktail place that serves her palette. I found this tiki bar while searching on Yelp. It sounded good and the food also seemed nice. I was not wrong. The drinks were amazing. The use of coconut creme in cocktails, I would have imagined that they would taste so good. The coconut shrimps and crab rangoon was amazing. The wheat puffed chips came with very little guacamole but was nice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Ton of fun! Awesome ambiance and delicious cocktails! Unfortunately our waitress was very rude, and they were not upfront about the inability to split the check, but wouldn't keep us from going back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Cool atmosphere but pretty awful service and super limited menu...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Such a fun spot for a drink or ten - super kitsch but a great counterpart to bars and restaurants that take themselves too seriously. The service is friendly and lively, and the snacks are very delicious and go well with the fruity, rum-forward drinks. Great for groups looking to get a shared drink in the most absurd and hilarious manner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I loved this place!!! It felt awesome going inside, as the entrance is in the alley, it felt like a lucrative "secret club" we were about to discover!! MAKE RESERVATIONS!!! It is busy!!!! We went at about 830pm.
Drinks can be "pricey" at about $15 each, but they are STRONG!!! I only needed to order 2! Technically, only needed one!! It's really neat, because they have skulls next to the drinks that are considered "extra strong", so of course, I chose those ones!
They have a small food menu, but we had spring rolls and coconut shrimp, which were both beyond amazing. Not ideal if you want a full meal, more like appetizers, but they do have a burger if I recall correctly.
The waitresses and bartenders are dressed in Hawaiian, not to mention the whole place looks amazing with Hawaiian decor. Very cool place!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great place to hangout and drinks that are a experience unto themselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

They change the drink menu a bit. I really wish they left dead reckoning as a cocktail choice but besides that this is still my favorite place to hangout in

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

1st time here, Will be coming back. Great vibe, love the theme, bar tenders know their stuff. Me & my group of friends have found our new hangout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Second time returning here. First time was for a bachelor party a while back and was a fun time. This time was for a date night before my wife and I's anniversary. Nice strong drinks! Great flavors and not too overwhelming. It's like a giant modern tiki party with awesome drinks - and I'm not even a huge rum fan. We didn't get food here though, not that it didn't look good. We just had our minds set on Big Star tacos so we Uber-ed over afterwards. The ambiance is nice- dimly lit and good spacing to walk to the bar or bathroom. I definitely recommend reservations if you are trying to make an evening out of it. You can easily hang out for 2-3 hours depending on your group. Service was fantastic for a big group and for just me and my wife. They seem to always be attentive without being pushy and intimidating. If you're planning a date night, I'd recommend the shareable two person drink (for $25) then get a single different afterwards. Try the something "itch" if you like a strong bourbon cocktail (its one of their strongest drinks) and their take on the pina colada is really good! And I'm not a fan of pina coladas either! The scene here is a mix of hipsters, young business people, couples/small groups, and girls night out. There were no loud and obnoxious drunkies which was nice (but I'm sure occasionally happens) but they had bouncers ready at the doors so I wouldn't be too concerned. All in all, this is a cool alley way-basement spot in a central location to many things downtown. If you're looking for a funky but fun spot, this place is definitely worth a try. Who knows, might be a back pocket spot for friends that visit in the future - I know it will be for me.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The cocktail was not really good, food was not bad, this place is just worth to be visited once.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very fun night - good drinks (but ALOT of ice for such expensive drinks) and food was great. Service was attentive and informative - was helpful in finding drinks that each person would like. Fun for special girls night out - not something I would do on a regular basis due to the cost. We had reservations and had to call and change to a later time and they were very accommodating and our table was ready when we arrived.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really fun spot to enjoy drinks and friends! The ambiance is super fun, very campy and really makes you forget how cold it might be outside. Food is just okay, but the drinks are fun and delicious.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great atmosphere. Maybe could add a few items to the menu

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very interesting cocktails! Great group atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 11, 2017

A premiere Tiki Bar experience! The venue was our destination for our road trip from Grand Rapids and it did not disappoint. Marykate's service was extremely attentive and joyful on the Saturday before St. Patrick's Day, and she gave excellent recommendations to our vintage Hawaiian shirt-clad party of four (we were not wearing green). The cocktails amazed us: the flavors, the potency and the outstanding presentation vessels and garniture were well thought out and mixed with care. Thank you barkeeps! We shall likely return to Three Dots & a Dash on all subsequent visits to Chicago!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome! Such a fun experience. The drinks were great and the atmosphere is unlike anything I've seen for a bar.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Hidden paradise. I love the dim of the lights to the mixing of carribbean rums ❤

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The drinks were good but expensive. I wish there was a larger food menu to choose from rather than just 10 items. And, the host needed an attitude adjustment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Drinks seemed watery and missing complex and layered flavors. New drink menu and execution of the cocktails was disappointing. Tried four different drinks and all failed to deliver as in years past. Food was great though.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Drinks are pricey, but delicious and fun! Worth it for a date night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Went here for my birthday had so much fun the drinks are great food not all that but overall it was nice

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Dancing, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 25, 2017

They really pulled off the "Tiki" theme. The drinks were all great and the service was great. We stopped in for happy hour and shared a "PuPu Platter".

It's located in an ally and isn't easy to find but it was worth the extra effort.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was so much more than having a meal with friends! From the elaborate drinks to the delicious food and fun atmosphere, this was truly a one-of-a-kind experience!! Had a great time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We were there celebrating a birthday which meant nothing special. Also, the door guy in the alley was very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Such a fun atmosphere! I have already recommended it to 3 people! It was hard to find the entrance though since it is poorly lit and in an alley-- although once inside that factor added to the "secret" ambiance!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Tapas, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.