About Three Dots and a Dash

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Three Dots and a Dash
Three Dots and a Dash

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (48)
Special Occasion (47)
Late-night Find (42)
See All
Good for Groups (41)
Hot Spot (38)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time coming here after wo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time coming here after work, but the service was slow. Not very attentive. It took a long while to get the drinks we ordered. Please improve your version of the "Pena colada". It would be great if it tasted more authentic. Regardless, it's always fun hitting up this spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The cocktails and ambiance can not be be ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The cocktails and ambiance can not be beat. Fun and funky. Apps were good but small so order several.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always recommend making a reservation ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I always recommend making a reservation for 3 Dots & a Dash because if not you can feel very cramped at the bar and there is very little to safely put down your drink. The drinks are amazing concoctions - the downside to having a table is not being able to stand at the bar at watch all the amazing work that goes into making your drink happen. We tried the food for the first time on this go around and were pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was awesome! We were celebrat ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our server was awesome! We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and she shaped our drink straws into hearts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loveeeeeeee this place!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loveeeeeeee this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Drinks!! It was a wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fantastic Drinks!! It was a wonderful place and a definite party place hidden in the heart of Chicago. Food, drinks, and service were superb!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun place to go for special occasions, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A fun place to go for special occasions, birthdays, or just a get together for friends, Fun and interesting decor. Drinks are on the pricey side, but decorative and tasty.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was amazing!!! My friends and I loved th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Was amazing!!!

My friends and I loved that place and I recommended a lot

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance. Great for date night. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great ambiance. Great for date night. The mood is everything. Drinks are to die for. Overall great place for a date or a night of drinks

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

Great little spot for starting the night ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great little spot for starting the night out or ending it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time coming here. Such a trendy f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Second time coming here. Such a trendy fun place. PuPu platter is perfect for 2-3 to share. Drinks are amazing and service is great! My favorite place to have drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's must that anyone at least go for t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It's must that anyone at least go for the experience. Whether you're by yourself or not

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive for very small drinks. A ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very expensive for very small drinks. And none of us thought ours tasted very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Way overpriced, food not that good, drin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Way overpriced, food not that good, drinks avarage, there are other great places in Chicago, this is definetely not one of them, don't waste your time and money

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I was a little disappointed. Went here f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I was a little disappointed. Went here for the first time to celebrate two family members birthdays. We had 7 people. Seating was pretty tight. Drinks were way smaller than they looked in the menu and they weren't very good. The price was way too much for what you get. The food was o.k. but nothing spectacular. Just appetizers so don't expect full meals. Probably would not return but glad we went once to see what it was like.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I was celebrating my birthday and made a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday and made a reservation for 8 people. When I arrived, I was seated in a small booth that fit 6 people if you squeezed in very tightly (i.e., no room to move) with a table that was rather small for a party of my size.

A couple of my friends had a last-minute change in plans and mentioned to me they could make it. So, I promptly asked my server whether we could be moved to a bigger booth/area to accommodate our party. She said she would ask the manager whether that was possible. However, I never heard back until my friends actually arrived and pulled up an extra chair while we proceeded to squeeze in a 7th person in our booth.

A few minutes later, a man appeared at our table who didn't introduce himself but rather awkwardly said they needed to move the extra chair back to the table we borrowed it from since there needed to be a walkway in between tables. We courteously obliged as he also was looking into whether it was possible to move us to a bigger booth.

When he returned, he informed us that they couldn't find a bigger booth so they had to split our party across separate tables. Again, we agreed to do so since there seemed to be no alternative even though we saw a booth that could clearly fit us across the room (on the other side in the corner) that had a reserved sign on it but hadn't been occupied since we arrived at 5:45pm and left around 9:45pm.

Clearly, no effort was made to accommodate our larger party size which not only couldn't fit in the small booth but also didn't have enough table space (even when we were a part of 8) for both food and drink orders.

I understand trying to squeeze in larger parties on busy nights but when half the space is empty, our experience was simply inexcusable and marred my birthday celebration. We even saw a couple who were seated in a booth area that could have easily accommodated all of us.

I'm a LEYE silver card member who will never return nor condone this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

A couple of friends visiting from NJ wan ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A couple of friends visiting from NJ wanted to try this spot, and the ambiance was great! The DJ was playing great music and the low-lighting and Polynesian décor made you feel like you stepped off the Chicago streets into an Hawaiian retreat! We ordered the Diver Down drink for $85 that was supposed to serve 4-5 people and with three of us we thought we'd get a fun experience and a cocktail and a half a piece, but NO, so much ice reduced the drink to barely one a person!! We ordered individual cocktails after that and they had a much better alcohol % so next time I would just get two individual cocktails and save $20/pp! We ordered the pu-pu platter which is very heavy and everything is friend but tasty. It's kind of like a backyard bbq menu so not a fancy spot for dinner. Recommend for a fun vibe and start to the night, but not so much for the food or larger cocktail offerings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was one of the most unique places t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was one of the most unique places that I have been to in a long time. The service was excellent. Our server took her time going over the extensive drink menu with us. The vibe was great, from the lighting to the music everything made you feel relaxed. A "must do" when visiting Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Three dots & a dash hits the nail on the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Three dots & a dash hits the nail on the head with what they are doing. The servers/host/bussers work like a well oiled machine. Always prompt to refill our water and check in with us, with out being overbearing. Made reservations for a Monday night & glad I did seeing how at 10pm they were at an hour wait. The drinks were marvelous & the music was at the perfect level. A great atmosphere for great memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I LOVE THE PLACE FROM THE AMBIANCE TO TH ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I LOVE THE PLACE FROM THE AMBIANCE TO THE DECOR AND DRINK OFFERINGS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, a little gem. We went for m ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place, a little gem. We went for my girlfriends birthday. Noise level was a little much and lighting was a little dark, but we loved the drinks even if they were outrageously priced, they were good and quite strong. The alley you enter wasn't as bad as people made it out to be.. Our waitress was delightful!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three Dots and a Dash was exactly as awe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash was exactly as awesome as I expected it to be. I had heard about it a year or two ago, and had dreamt of visiting this tiki bar. I've loved the idea of tiki bars since I was a kid in 1970s. Three Dots and a Dash nails the concept with an updated yet retro flare. It's a bit pricy, but it's one of those places that everyone should visit at least once.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambience, fun drinks and very good ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great ambience, fun drinks and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Felt like I was in Disneyworld.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I went there with another couple that was visiting from San Francisco. It's just another themed restaurant by "Lettuce Entertain You". Im not knocking LEYE b/c they have some decent restaurants but they're mostly good themes w/average food. The "Polynesian" drinks are overpriced and the food is below average. There is something that doesnt mesh about big corporate trying to create a cool, hip spot, w/an alley entrance ( If you want that type of NYC meatpacking experience then head to the west loop). The place looks like you just stepped into Disneyworld and is more suitable for tourists then locals. The doorman was cool b/c we had a reservation, but the host was a young kid w/an attitude. They sat us right in the walkway of the entrance. I asked if we could be relocated if anything opened up and he responded with basically "Its not going to happen". I've owned a couple of restaurants in the city and I know how to treat people. We ate, had a couple of drinks and I just wanted to leave b/c I was so turned off by the place. Took my friend's out the next night to the rooftop of the London House and STK and the food was amazing at both places.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My reservation was at 1045 when my party and I arrived we had to wait nothing was open. We waited 10 mins finally i went to ask the host much longer . He was so rude and seemed annoyed that i even asked. 5 mins after a girl who was a host as well approached us and let us know we were alomst going to be seated she was super kind and helpful unlike the other guy

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Fun place!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Drinks were expensive and I'm not too interested in rum, but the whole atmosphere was really cool and fun! Certainly worth going for a different scene.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Creative drinks, cozy and not too dark l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Creative drinks, cozy and not too dark lighting, and attentive service. Would have liked more food options as I do not like seafood or fried food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This place was everything I thought it w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This place was everything I thought it would be. The food was delicious, drinks were perfect and the ambience was well themed. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous time

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Fabulous time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing drinks, pretty much anything you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing drinks, pretty much anything you choose. Great atmosphere as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem, Really Hidden

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Once your in the place is amazing, but the entrance is in the alley so finding it takes a moment.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awsome. The drinks were r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

This place was awsome. The drinks were really good. The wait staff is nice and have great recommendations. The Thai fried chicken and pork belly buns were so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice surprise

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised and would definitely go again. Service was very personal and prompt. Food was very good, and drinks very good

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, awesome!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I come to Three Dots fairly regularly, but this night was special. I just graduated that morning with my MBA and brought along my mom, brother, and husband to celebrate. I posted a photo on Instagram and mentioned in the caption that I was celebrating my MBA graduation, and not even 2 minutes later, Kurt, one of the managers, came over and offered to buy me a drink! I have always loved this bar but that was just the icing on the cake. Easily the coolest, most unique bar in Chicago, especially for rum-lovers like me!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Our group that started as 6 people grew to 16. The staff were accommodating and arranged to move our group to a side table, with interconnect! Our group had a wonderful time, I hope that we did not cause too much of a ruckus. The Zombie drink is worth every dollar, maybe next time we will upgrade to the scuba diver or even the treasure chest! Favorite drinks of the night were: Jet Pilot, Pain Killer, and Mai Thai, in that order.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and drinks. Awesome date ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great ambiance and drinks. Awesome date spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Very cool spot for pre/post dinner drink ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very cool spot for pre/post dinner drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Killer craft drinks, yummy bites

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The food is always delicious, the drinks are sweet & strong, and the service is personable. If you love those things... go, you won't regret it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a cool hidden apot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The drinks are all so amazing it's hard to chose! The food is unique and also great.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overrated

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Cute place but food was burned. The cocktails look better in pictures and they all taste pretty much the same. Presentation is nice but the overall experience is less than satisfactory.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.