About Three Dots and a Dash

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Good for Groups (34)
See All
Hot Spot (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Late-night Find (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Happy Hour (23)
Romantic (19)
Cozy (16)
People Watching (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Authentic (11)
Casual (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quick Bite (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tapas (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

So much fine! Creative cocktails, pupu platter served with flames on the platter, so exciting!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This place is cool for a young crowd, just not for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

What can I say... total sensory overload, I a great way. Best overall Tiki bar we have ever visited. Three Dots was so worth the 2 hour flight from Florida. The bar, the staff and the cocktails were perfect. Please do not over look the appetizers, The spicy chicken was to die for. Can not wait to make the trip back during the summer when it is not snowing and freezing cold. Kuddos to the entire 3 Dots staff for a perfect evening out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 10, 2018

Absolutely love this place! Amazing drinks served in unique cups and glasses, super strong but they taste great so they go down pretty easily! You’d never find it unless you knew it was there, which makes for a really good atmosphere inside.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Three Dots and a Dash never disappoints. Went early on a Sunday evening after a Blackhawks game- not as loud as a late night, great for conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Three Dots and a Dash is amazing! Not only are the drinks one-of-a-kind, but the service is as well. A slightly larger party needed a space, so the hostess politely asked us to move. Our party certainly did not mind changing tables - but the venue threw in a free shot for the entire party of 8 as a "thank you" for our moving anyways!

The drinks are a sight, and the flavors do not disappoint! MUST TRY.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great Night Of Drinking Rum Infused Cocktails and Date Night With My Bride!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

It was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Heat was on full blast because the waitresses are wearing skimpy clothes. We were all sweating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Great to escape the nasty Chicago winter blues! Great drinks & service!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The first time my husband and I came to Three dots and a Dash we were impressed. We keep coming back every trip to Chicago and we have never been disappointed! Everything is awesome-good drinks in a creative and fun environment. You cant go wrong!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2017

When I think of a speakeasy, this really isn't what I picture and that's awesome. Three Dots is a polynesian tiki bar with really good food and delicious fish bowl drinks. We got one with dry ice wafting out under it! Service was also really good. We didn't have to worry about asking for anything because they were paying attention to our table. As for food, I was there with and group and so we got the pu pu platter. It came with coconut shrimp, which was my favorite. I'd totally come back here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Great drinks served in a fun, unique way. The atmosphere was really creative and interesting too. Perfect place to go if you're looking for something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Birthday celebration- waitress was cold and didn’t wish us a happy birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 22, 2017

Fun bar! The drinks were very unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Not recommended for business type setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

I've been to Three Dots and a Dash multiple times, but I have to say I was quite disappointed this last time. I made a reservation for 8, and we were seated 5-10 minutes after arrival. Unfortunately, the table we were sat at was not large enough for 8 people, so 2 members of my party had to stand. They recently changed their menu, and don't have any of the fun/delicious drinks from before. I ordered the Crocodile Tuesday, and it was disgusting. It literally tasted like a bad combination of rubbing alcohol and Nyquil. My boyfriend ordered the pandon pain killer, and that was pretty good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Awful experience. The manager was not accomodating at all, and very rude, arrogant and argumentative. I went there with a few friends to have a few drinks for my birthday, and made a couple reservations for 8 people. The table that I was assigned could barely fit 5. Also, he put the rest of the group on the other side of the restaurant when there were tables available right next to us, saying that there were some rules and logistics that would get messed up. He never put the customer first, and kept saying no to everything, without letting any of us speak. I wouldn’t recommend the place, especially if you have to deal with such an awful manager with no people skills. We were very disappointed, because we had heard so many good things about this place, and it ended up being a very awkward experience for me and my friends.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Great staff, atmosphere and cocktails! From the moment you enter the door, the experience is second to none!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great place to meet friends for fun drinks. Cool vibe and imaginative drinks with a fun atmosphere. Make sure to plan way in advance for a reservation for a table.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great atmosphere with unique drinks and theme. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

My friends and I had such a great time with this place. This was my second time at this venue, first time for a birthday party. At first my table was given out because we showed up a little late because they do have a 15 minute window for you to make your reservation. I however talk to the manager because I called ahead of time letting them know that my party and I were going to be late because of a slow Uber driver and they made it up to us very quickly. The manager greeted us at the table after we were seated and he offered us a complimentry group drink for our wait. ( It was $65 for that!) I did have a group of 8 but they have tables that can seat up to 40 guests comfortably. Plan ahead of time because tables do get reserved frequently!
We started off with a giant conch that serves 6 to 8 people, over $100 for this group drink. They serve these group drinks with giant straws for every person in your group. We ordered the Poopoo platter as well. It is a mixture of all of the appetizers that they have at the place. All the food was very good, my guess were super entertained. If you are planning to go to any upscale spot that has amazing drinks and a small food selection this is the place to go! I will always tell my friends about this place and I will be back again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

The food was mediocre. I hadn’t ate before arriving , what a mistake that was. The food is more of appetizers. The drinks 🍹 were ok. Our waitress offered my guy a drink that should have tasted like pineapple but sadly was more of a lemon taste. I advised my waitress that i didn’t care for cinnamon but she offered me a drink wit cinnamon sticks in it. My gosh was it horrible.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Continues to be one of the best places in Chicago! Food and drinks are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Overpriced Food & Drinks

Great atmosphere & music, but there is very little alcohol in the over-priced tiki drinks. We paid $25 for a shared drink that maybe had 16 oz of drink!

The "food" is just very pricey bar snacks. They are definitely not a restaurant.

Once was enough. $200 including tip for five tiki drinks, one soda, & the app platter. We could have had a great steak dinner for that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2017

It was ok! Our waitress did her best but seemed overwhelmed. We had people in from out of town. They were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Mysterious entry leads you to an amazing surprise! Restaurant has fantastic ambiance! Eclectic design and the best exotic rum drinks! Totally just a drink and appetizer place. Not meant to have dinner there. Totally fun, great service, and wonderful experience! We would definitely be going back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2017

The service was impeccable, and still couldn’t match the quality of the drinks. What a fun place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Definitely fell short of my expectations this time. Food not cooked thoroughly even after asking them to cook it “well done” and “extra crispy”.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Just okay. Been coming to this place from the beginning and the food is not the same. Loaded with oil. Drinks were great but not certain if it is worth the cost.

Tags: Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Drinks were phenomenal and presentation was on point. Would definitely recommend to others visiting the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2017

It has a unique atmosphere with amazing drink options. I made reservations for a table months ago, the only issue is, I would recommend requesting a booth. We(2) sat at a 4 top table close to the bar and everyone kept putting their drinks on our table. It was incredibly annoying, the staff made attempts to move people but somewhat unsuccessfully. I would also suggest playing more than just 90's hip hop music!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Went here to get the treasure chest but decided to try a bunch of different drinks first. But we will b back at another time for the treasure. We had a reservation which I booked way far in advance, I highly recommend doing this. We got there 930pm and a line was already formed down the alley in between the velvet ropes. We had a perfect round booth so we could see everything. Noise level was perfect , loud as any bar would be on a sat night music was a nice mix a little something for everyone and it was set to a perfect volume where u still could talk to each other. Service was superb our waitress was very sweet and we never felt rushed. She always seemed to know when we needed another round. Drinks came quickly for the amount of people in the place.Every drink we had was perfect!!!! I can’t wait to go back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

We had a great time at Three Dots and a Dash! My group went there as a themed evening before heading to Escape to Margaritaville, the Jimmy Buffett musical. Like any Lettuce Entertain You restaurant, they went above and beyond to accommodate someone in the group who has very restrictive dietary needs (breastfeeding and the baby has stomach issues with soy, dairy, egg, shellfish, etc). She is fine just getting by with what she can and won't complain, but they went out of their way to make sure she had something to eat and made a special sauce for her as well.

The drinks were great as well as the atmosphere. I highly recommend Three Dots and a Dash if you're looking for a fun night out. Just make sure to make a reservation because there is always a line outside!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We came to Chicago to visit all the tiki bars there and Three Dots did not disappoint. We had made reservations quite awhile before our trip which turned out to be a good move. It was very crowded on a Saturday night, but everyone was there to have a good time and enjoy the fun drinks. I was surprised that a drink is not included with the purchase of a mug, but as long as people (like me) are buying the mugs, why would they bother. The new menu was beautiful, but really only a limited choice of food items.

Tags: Fun, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

If you are not a rum aficionado you will be after coming here. The waitstaff is great. The drinks are generous and inventive. The small plates accentuate the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Super noisy place with average (at best) drinks. Interesting decor and nice drink presentation but not worth the time, money, and calories.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fun meeting frinds but hard to get tables together..... ask for big booth!! it’s under another restaurant so need to enter via alley andNO SIGN seen( fortunately cabbie knew )

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Love the drinks! Food was a bust!!! A/C was blowing directly on us it was extremely uncomfortable. Nice vibe wish there was a better food menu.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Three Dots was by far my favorite part of our trip. I would recommend it to anyone, but especially tiki lovers. The food, service and drinks were all fantastic. The 70s music took us right back to when tiki bars were all the rage.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Authentic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.