Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 130 times today

Three Dots and a Dash

4.7
669 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Polynesian
Top Tags:
  • Fun
  • Handcrafted Cocktails
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Polynesian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 2:00 pm - 3:00 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 610-4220
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hubbard
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

View Private Dining Details
What 669 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.8
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

A great time as always.
Had a group of 7, with 5 girls taking an Uber to avoid walking in heels, which was running super late as it was Saturday, but the great staff had no issues holding the table for us till they arrived.
Drinks were strong and tasted great as always.
Great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Loved the atmosphere and the beverages

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I had heard about this tiki bar through Yelp and I knew I had to go. Don’t make a mistake and think you can come here without the reservation. It’s necessary! The food we had was on par with the amazing cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

So much fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

A little tricky to find but worth the effort! Fun spot to grab a drink and enjoy the tiki atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Set up a birthday party reservation for 12 people from 6:30pm on a Wednesday. It was everyone's first time, and the tiki theme really brought fun to the event. Service was helpful and kind every time I had questions while arranging and during the dinner and drinks. Cocktails strong and good value. Very good service and suggest arriving early in the evening on a weekday, as it get far more crowded around 9pm and probably on weekends. Highly recommend as a party place for cocktails and special occasions with a little flair.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent cocktails , superb presentation, very efficient Team . Loved the place

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were forced to give up our table after only 90 minutes even though we were still ordering drinks. My reservation did not mention this at all. I find this unacceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is the coolest bar I have ever been to. The atmosphere was energetic, the music was great, and the drinks were amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Fun bar with a great theme and fantastic drinks! If you're with a group of people the group drinks are well worth it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Delicious drinks, fun atmosphere, great for groups (with a reservation). My second trip to TTAAD was just as great as the first. Drinks are on point and really fun, if a bit expensive, but that's to be expected because River North. This time we got the appetizer platter, and it did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

This was a date night for my husband and I. The lightening is very dark so it definitely set the mood. We like tiki bars so this was right up our alley. We made a reservation and I called to say we would be 8 minutes late and they were very accommodating and moved our reservation to 4:15. When we arrived we were seated right away. The drinks were rum punches that you would get when you go to a resort. They had all the pomp and circumstance with flowers and fruit and a cute glass. I would of had to have at least 4 or 5 to feel a buzz though. The food presentation was cute. We ordered the Platter and it was enough for two with egg rolls, shrimp, meatballs and other finger foods. It’s not a place to go if your looking for a meal. I would say if you were going to have cute drinks with a great atmosphere definitely go here. It’s probably a one hit and quit place for me. I would prob return if I had out of town guest and I wanted to show them something different.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Wonderful ambience and waitress was fabulous. The hostess at the front desk was beyond rude, however. I've worked several fine-dining establishments and understand that a certain amount of tables can only be seated by reservation and/or need to remain open for overflow, but the bar had JUST opened (seriously, no more than 20 minutes prior) and she was saying it was an hour long wait unless we had a reservation. We instantly went on OpenTable and saw multiple reservations available. We made a reservation for fifteen minutes later, and she still told us it would be a wait beyond that. Finally a manager realized we were just waiting around even though we had the reservation and half the establishment was unseated. He took us straight to our table while she continued doing the exact same thing to another reservation that arrived. Normally I'd side with the hostess and know how being in that position goes and trying to stick to the rules, but this was absurd. Even during our entire time there, several tables went unseated. There was plenty of space.

Besides that, the cocktails were great and we loved looking around! Don't know why we received the hostess service we did, hope it doesn't go unnoticed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The drinks are hella good and will knock your socks off.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Extremely disappointed by our most recent visit. We have been coming here since the place opened. The service was terrible. Our waitress essentially ignored us. We were there for two hours and we saw our waitress three times. The last time was to track her down for the bill. We noticed that younger customers were receiving prompt service. Seriously considering never returning. Too bad!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I was there with friends to celebrate my birthday. The drinks were delicious and came in fun cups. It’s dark when you first get in there but your eyes adjust quickly. Service was a little slow but we weren’t in a hurry so it was fine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Fun, energetic place to go for a drink and apps. Dark inside but fits the theme. Drinks were pricy but really only need 1! Watch out for the double skull cocktails, they are truly as strong as they say :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Drinks were amazing .. food caught me off .. I thought it would be like bar food .. hell no .. food was great !! Great place to get drinks and a small bite to eat before you go to dinner or after dinner drinks ..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Nice place for Polynesian drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Everything g about Three dots and a dash was so cool from the decor, dishes, music, finishing touches on the food even the clothes the wait staff wore! Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Definitely coming back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Very cool place! A little hard to find at first because it’s a speakeasy, but once you do you’re going to love it. The ambiance and drinks are great. Fun place to share large drinks with friends. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

What an absolute disappointment. The short version: if you’re looking for an authentic tiki bar experience with great drinks, great service, and a great atmosphere...look elsewhere.

We arrived just before our reservation time and proceeded to wait another 25 minutes. Once we were finally seated, we found ourselves at a table in the thick of the standing room bar crowd made up of drunk white girls spilling their drinks every which way and helping themselves to the drinks at our table in order to take pictures for Instagram. There was no sense of personal space whatsoever.

The music was loud and totally out of place. Don’t think of this so much as a tiki bar. In all honesty, it’s a straight club – no different than any other. It’s so loud (rap/pop music) that you can barely hear yourself think.

We ordered a punch bowl to start, our expectations still high – after all, this is all about the drinks...right? The first drink, a punch bowl, arrived and we are still entirely convinced it was just juice. You couldn’t taste a single bit of alcohol in this thing.

Simultaneous to this, the standing room crowd had begun leaving their empty glasses and mugs on a small ledge next to our table and on the floor by our feet. This is a high traffic, crowded area. Not two minutes after I remarked this was a safety hazard, two of glasses fell to the floor and shattered glass on our legs and feet. I pleaded with the hostess to move us to another table, ANY other table and she huffed and rolled her eyes. She begrudgingly moved us to the table immediately next to ours.

We ordered several more drinks, each slightly better than the last. At least the individual drinks definitely had alcohol in them.

Between the abysmal service, awful seating, disrespectful crowd, and below par drinks (they really just don’t taste good)...I was beyond disappointed. I was totally ready to buy 2 or 3 mugs going into the evening. Instead, I left empty handed with a bad taste in my mouth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Had the best time here! Amazing drinks and so much fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

I was hosting a bachelor party and we had a TON of fun. The atmosphere was so fun and our waitress was amazing. She was well-knowledged and knew the menu well enough to suggest the perfect drink for all. We had some individual drinks and a shared one and all the drinks were delicious. Would definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great cocktails and amazing staff! We were 20 minutes late for our reservation but they were so nice about it and were able to seat us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Punch bowls are great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Super fun place to go with your pals!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great place to go with friends! I like having a table during busy hours because we didn’t have to wait in the line

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Loved the ambiance and that it felt like you were a VIP on the guest list just to get in! Drinks were just okay (I tried 2) but they have good french fries! Would go again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It’s a bit over priced and the waitress talked to us like we were twelve, but overall it’s a fun experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

All of my friends loved Three Dots. The waitress was great and very attentive. This is by far my favorite bar in Chicago.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 11, 2018

I had never dined here before and I will never return. I had LEYE gift cards and thought I'd venture into the city because they have much better selections of restaurants. The menu I saw on Open Table, had several other items on it that the restaurant doesn't offer. Even if the service was good, I wouldn't recommend this place for an actual meal. We asked a bus boy, who clearly spoke English, if he could take our picture really quick, and he responded, 'Yah...I have other things to do,' and walked away. We ordered the Bali Bali for our table, which looked amazing as it was coming out, and then our waitress spilled it all over one of the guests at our table. No apologies were offered by our server. The manager came over, gave his card, and offered to pay for the dry cleaning. It took 15 minutes to bring out another drink that was quickly consumed. When we received the bill, we were charged $85 for that drink. Someone came by the table when they saw our check book standing, but nothing inside of it. She asked if she could assist us, and I asked to speak with a mgr. The girl went back into the kitchen, and my boyfriend heard her say, 'someone else go deal with that table, I'm not dealing with her,' (me). VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!!! 20 minutes later, our server came over and informed us the mgr was dealing with an internal issue, and if she could help. I asked for them to remove the $85 drink since it was spilled all over and should have been removed from the beginning. The mgr finally appeared, and had removed the charge. Not realizing I was the one paying, he couldn't be bothered to apologize for the delay, or the drink mishap. I would never return to this place. I have family in this industry, and I also used to work in restaurants. Waiting 20 minutes for a mgr whose job is to make sure guests are happy, was unacceptable. The rude and unprofessional service, and way we were spoke to alone would be enough to never return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Arguably one of the most fun and unique cocktail lounges we’ve ever visited. We will DEFINITELY be back the next time we visit Chicago!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great place and unique atmosphere. Drinks were excellent. However the arrangement of tables were right in the middle of all the people standing at the bar. Felt very claustrophobic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great place good ambiance! Had an amazing time and the staff was really nice glad I spent my birthday there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The place is beautiful and the ambiance is great!
It's beautifully decorated, the servers all wear these beautiful Hawaii-like dresses!
The cocktails are awesome! They're almost artistic, served in beautiful mugs, with fire, lights, and the whole thing! They are also quite expensive though!
Food is alright, they only have snacks and finger food.
Service was great and always timed perfectly! Your server will always show up when you're ready for another drink.
I'd definitely recommend Three Dots and a Dash.
Oh, make sure you have reservations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

I love this place. Drinks are amazing. The food was also really good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Had a great time. Drinks were awesome and fun!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17

Tweets by Three Dots and a Dash