About Three Dots and a Dash

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Chicago / Illinois
Best Ambiance
Chicago
Vibrant Bar Scene
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

vibrant bar scene (63)
hot spot (55)
special occasion (55)
See All
late-night find (50)
good for groups (48)
romantic (25)
neighborhood gem (15)
fit for foodies (11)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5

Three dots & a dash hits the nail on the ...

Dined 3 days ago

Three dots & a dash hits the nail on the head with what they are doing. The servers/host/bussers work like a well oiled machine. Always prompt to refill our water and check in with us, with out being overbearing. Made reservations for a Monday night & glad I did seeing how at 10pm they were at an hour wait. The drinks were marvelous & the music was at the perfect level. A great atmosphere for great memories.

food5
ambience5
service5

I LOVE THE PLACE FROM THE AMBIANCE TO TH ...

Dined 6 days ago

I LOVE THE PLACE FROM THE AMBIANCE TO THE DECOR AND DRINK OFFERINGS

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, a little gem. We went for m ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place, a little gem. We went for my girlfriends birthday. Noise level was a little much and lighting was a little dark, but we loved the drinks even if they were outrageously priced, they were good and quite strong. The alley you enter wasn't as bad as people made it out to be.. Our waitress was delightful!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Three Dots and a Dash was exactly as awe ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash was exactly as awesome as I expected it to be. I had heard about it a year or two ago, and had dreamt of visiting this tiki bar. I've loved the idea of tiki bars since I was a kid in 1970s. Three Dots and a Dash nails the concept with an updated yet retro flare. It's a bit pricy, but it's one of those places that everyone should visit at least once.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience, fun drinks and very good ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great ambience, fun drinks and very good food.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Felt like I was in Disneyworld.

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I went there with another couple that was visiting from San Francisco. It's just another themed restaurant by "Lettuce Entertain You". Im not knocking LEYE b/c they have some decent restaurants but they're mostly good themes w/average food. The "Polynesian" drinks are overpriced and the food is below average. There is something that doesnt mesh about big corporate trying to create a cool, hip spot, w/an alley entrance ( If you want that type of NYC meatpacking experience then head to the west loop). The place looks like you just stepped into Disneyworld and is more suitable for tourists then locals. The doorman was cool b/c we had a reservation, but the host was a young kid w/an attitude. They sat us right in the walkway of the entrance. I asked if we could be relocated if anything opened up and he responded with basically "Its not going to happen". I've owned a couple of restaurants in the city and I know how to treat people. We ate, had a couple of drinks and I just wanted to leave b/c I was so turned off by the place. Took my friend's out the next night to the rooftop of the London House and STK and the food was amazing at both places.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service

Dined on June 5, 2016

My reservation was at 1045 when my party and I arrived we had to wait nothing was open. We waited 10 mins finally i went to ask the host much longer . He was so rude and seemed annoyed that i even asked. 5 mins after a girl who was a host as well approached us and let us know we were alomst going to be seated she was super kind and helpful unlike the other guy

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fun place!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Drinks were expensive and I'm not too interested in rum, but the whole atmosphere was really cool and fun! Certainly worth going for a different scene.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4

Creative drinks, cozy and not too dark l ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Creative drinks, cozy and not too dark lighting, and attentive service. Would have liked more food options as I do not like seafood or fried food.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place was everything I thought it w ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This place was everything I thought it would be. The food was delicious, drinks were perfect and the ambience was well themed. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous time

Dined on May 18, 2016

Fabulous time

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing drinks, pretty much anything you ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing drinks, pretty much anything you choose. Great atmosphere as well!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem, Really Hidden

Dined on May 11, 2016

Once your in the place is amazing, but the entrance is in the alley so finding it takes a moment.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awsome. The drinks were r ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

This place was awsome. The drinks were really good. The wait staff is nice and have great recommendations. The Thai fried chicken and pork belly buns were so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice surprise

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very pleasantly surprised and would definitely go again. Service was very personal and prompt. Food was very good, and drinks very good

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, awesome!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I come to Three Dots fairly regularly, but this night was special. I just graduated that morning with my MBA and brought along my mom, brother, and husband to celebrate. I posted a photo on Instagram and mentioned in the caption that I was celebrating my MBA graduation, and not even 2 minutes later, Kurt, one of the managers, came over and offered to buy me a drink! I have always loved this bar but that was just the icing on the cake. Easily the coolest, most unique bar in Chicago, especially for rum-lovers like me!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our group that started as 6 people grew to 16. The staff were accommodating and arranged to move our group to a side table, with interconnect! Our group had a wonderful time, I hope that we did not cause too much of a ruckus. The Zombie drink is worth every dollar, maybe next time we will upgrade to the scuba diver or even the treasure chest! Favorite drinks of the night were: Jet Pilot, Pain Killer, and Mai Thai, in that order.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service1

Great ambiance and drinks. Awesome date ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great ambiance and drinks. Awesome date spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Killer craft drinks, yummy bites

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food is always delicious, the drinks are sweet & strong, and the service is personable. If you love those things... go, you won't regret it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a cool hidden apot

Dined on April 27, 2016

The drinks are all so amazing it's hard to chose! The food is unique and also great.

Tags: late-night find
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Overrated

Dined on April 25, 2016

Cute place but food was burned. The cocktails look better in pictures and they all taste pretty much the same. Presentation is nice but the overall experience is less than satisfactory.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Had these reservations for 2 mo ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazing! Had these reservations for 2 months. The Zombie had WAY too much cinnamon in it, but the whole experience was amazing!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Place!

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a great time. It was my friend's birthday, so I took her out for the night. The server was excellent, the drinks were great. I was a little sad that they were rolling out a new menu and only about 1/3 of the drinks were available, but generally we had a wonderful time!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

I Love the decoration and the special drinks! The entrance makes you feel in a secret place which I loved it

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Kon Tiki Ports warmed over

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Food ok, but not great. Service was very good. But the restaurant is in a basement with the entrance off of an alley. There is no sign marking the entrance. You just have to know that it is there. To enter you go down a steep, dark stairway. But if you are "knee impaired" they are happy to take you down in the elevator. The decor looks like they bought the old Kon Tiki Ports stuff. This restaurant is not up to the usual Lettuce Entertain You standards.

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration was a hit! Mostly ...

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Birthday celebration was a hit! Mostly first timers, and we enjoyed the fun setting, delicious food, unique drinks and attentive staff.

food4
ambience5
service2

Service is slow. Food and drinks are gre ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Service is slow. Food and drinks are great.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Make a reservation early! Try all the drinks.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Over the top kitchy drinks with bananas make to look like dolphins or skulls full of red liquid and dry ice with straws at least two feet long. Fun drinks fun atmosphere. Get a reservation early and sit in a booth watching the hoards of people drink strong fruity concoctions. A great spot to feel like you're in the know and to get your tiki on.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Super cool vibe

Dined on April 8, 2016

Who doesn't love a tiki bar in the middle of Chicago? Great vibe, great drinks and great service! For a cold April day, it was the perfect place to dream of warmer days to come. Loved the drinks, the garnishes that came on the drinks were fun as well. Wish you could keep the glasses!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

So unique. So enjoyable. Best night ou ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

So unique. So enjoyable. Best night out in a long time because of this hidden gem. Made my younger coworkers jealous of my night

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Fun Atmosphere

Dined on April 3, 2016

Love the atmosphere! Decorated like a tiki bar and drinks are served in cool glasses with fresh flowers and fruit. The Mai Tai is delicious--highly recommend this drink. The only downside was the slow service. It took 30 minutes to get our check which seemed especially long for 7pm on a Sunday. Overall, would still come back and it was a cool experience!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

So awesome!!!

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

So awesome!!!

food4
ambience5
service5

❤️Love this place ❤️ good spot for drink ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

❤️Love this place ❤️ good spot for drinks and relaxing with friends

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super FUN, excellent DRINKS, GO!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

This is a Tiki themed speakeasy! You will find it down a back alley. As you enter you are welcomed by a wall of skulls illuminated by a blue light. We lived it so much we went twice on a 5 day visit to Chicago. The first time we sat at the bar the second time we had a reservation for a table! Both experiences are great! If you want to sit and enjoy w/ friends I would try to get a reservation! They have fun food and EXCELLENT drinks, served in amazing glasses! Go, you will enjoy it!

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to chill

Dined on February 29, 2016

Not a big fan of their drinks, since most of them have rum in it. But the food is good. I love how the bar is set up. Cool place

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Make sure to reserve

Dined on February 27, 2016

Overall 3 Dots is a good place for cocktails and some small bites. However I had a reservation for my group and when I arrived before my guests I was made to stand and wait until one other of my group arrived, that was about 15-20 minutes since they were stuck in traffic. When my guest got there we were shown to the reserved table which was empty and ready for us. I just don't understand why I couldn't sit at my reserved table to wait for my guests to arrive, that was really annoying. So make sure all or most of your party are there or they will make you wait.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Fun, but way overpriced

Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I had heard great things about ...- so we were really excited to go when we visited Chicago. We are big tiki fans and heard it was one of the best around. The decor was pretty nice, but could have been more fun and kitchy. The drinks were really good, but quite small for the price and mostly ice. Likewise, the coconut shrimp and spare ribs were amazing, but extremely small. 6 coconut shrimp and I'd estimate less than an ounce of beef! We thought we could make a meal of 2 appetizers, but we were still feeling hungry and debating about getting dinner somewhere else afterward. Our bill was about $70 after tip, which seems overpriced considering for what we got compared to other great places we've been to in Chicago. Definitely a strict drinks and appetizers place and a one visit only place for us!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

It was exactly what it's advertised to b ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was exactly what it's advertised to be. Amazing tiki drinks, and wonderful service. We followed our waitresses recs, and she was 100%right.

food4
ambience5
service5

Such an awesome place.... Truly transpor ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Such an awesome place.... Truly transports you to the islands and the drinks are so creative and delicious (and intoxicating.... Be careful!)

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to go!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great drinks but the menu is too limited. Need more choices! Had fun and will go again!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.