About Three Dots and a Dash

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Three Dots and a Dash, Chicago, IL

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Fun (25)
Hot Spot (24)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Authentic (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Tapas (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is bar that reminds you what is impor ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

It is bar that reminds you what is important in life. I will return just for it. Plus I collect tiki mugs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun place! We went on a Saturday ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

What a fun place! We went on a Saturday night and really enjoyed the cool, tropical island vibe and strong tiki drinks. First off, we had a reservation for 4 at 7pm and arrived a little early. They were very accommodating and seated us at a nice corner booth almost immediately. Our waitress was exceptional and did a good job bringing our drinks quickly and accurately throughout the night. This place has an absolutely killer rum list and the drinks, all of which come served in an interesting tiki type mug, are strong and tasty (Try the Painkiller!). Around 8pm the place was completely packed, make no mistake this is definitely a River North hot spot! With that said, it'd be wise to have a reservation as the line to get in can get long as the night goes on, and once you're in the standing only around the bar can get cramped. Also, be careful at this place! Like I mentioned, the drinks are strong and expensive! I think this place is an excellent place to grab a drink after dinner or even to start the night at but not to spend hours on end at. At basically $15 bucks per drink, it can get rather expensive. Also, while the Polynesian vibe and surroundings are pretty sweet, this place is in the basement so there isn't any natural light (which could be a good thing or a bad thing lol). Overall, this place is a lot of fun. Go check it out, but just be careful or you just might wake up like me the next morning with an empty wallet and a killer rum headache lol!

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very much enjotyed celebrating friends b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Very much enjotyed celebrating friends birthday here. Always a crown pleaser

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for my birthday and it was tons of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for my birthday and it was tons of fun. It's a bit pricey but great for a special occasion with friends. Highly recommended!

Tags: Late-night Find, Authentic, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$40 w/tip for 2 drink I didn't preview t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

$40 w/tip for 2 drink I didn't preview the menu :(

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Delicious and lethal drinks.. Small tast ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious and lethal drinks.. Small tasty plates. Service was very fast and polite, never felt rushed. A great place to get drinks and enjoy a little bit of the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The ambiance, food, and drink were all g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The ambiance, food, and drink were all great. Our cocktails were delicious and we tried nearly all the food options. Everything was great.

The service, however, was a little odd. I checked in once our party was complete (we were dining with eight). Somehow, they seated another party at our table and implied that party had signed in under my name. I was also told it could be due to my complicated reservation (I reserved through Open Table over a month in advance with no changes).

In any event, once we were seated with drinks all was well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

If you're in Chicago visiting or live he ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

If you're in Chicago visiting or live here and haven't checked this place out make it a point to spend an evening here. You won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there after the Hawks game for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went there after the Hawks game for our son's birthday. Had a good time. It has a Hawaiian theme and a large menu of Hawaiian themed drinks. The service was excellent. Our waitress was great in helping to select drinks. The drinks were very strong. The music was strange but I'd rather it be Hawaiian to help with the whole feel of the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Fun place to visit once. I will definite ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fun place to visit once. I will definitely take out if town guests here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulously fun! The total super-sexy tik ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fabulously fun! The total super-sexy tiki bar experience, from the be-yond cocktail list to the on-point yet tasteful island decor to the mid-century tropical jazzy music. The island inspired food was a nice accompaniment, but the mixed drinks are truly the stars. A very fun and memorable (if you don't drink too much) night out!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and wonderful staff.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great atmosphere and wonderful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a great place for fun tropical cock ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It's a great place for fun tropical cocktails! Drinks may be pricey but worth it for the groovy presentation in a tiki bar setting.

The drinks are strong, so I always get some appetizers too. The Thai fried chicken is good, not heavily breaded and nice quality meat. Service has always been nice, not rushed.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Three dots and a dash is a great place t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Three dots and a dash is a great place to have drinks and catch up with friends. It's a little tricky to find as the entrance is not on Clark but rather the alley behind Clark. Really creative drinks. Not too much choice for food - bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The drinks are deliciuous but on the pri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The drinks are deliciuous but on the pricy side. Food is mediocre at best (except for the tuna poke which was great).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

While the atmosphere is really fantastic ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

While the atmosphere is really fantastic for a tiki bar the prices are INSANE for what you get. The drinks are truly just there to get you drunk. When 8 people comment on how bad they are, but keep drinking them anyway this place certainly knows how to get people drunk in stupid ways... and then hustle them out the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

I had a reservation for a Friday at 5:30 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I had a reservation for a Friday at 5:30. I was very eager to get out and try this place, me and a significant other had a work Christmas party this weekend and were staying in a hotel for the weekend to spend some time out and about. This was our first stop to kick off the weekend. I tried for about 2 weeks trying to get a reservation constantly searching for an open spot to become available.

It started out well, we were impressed by the decor, enjoyed the theme and the ambiance. Our intent was to get a drink and a quick appetizer before heading over to zoo lights. We got to our reservation 30minutes early and they still had a table for us. Someone came and served us water and let us know our waiter would be with us soon. It was all downhill from there...

We waited 15+ minutes with nobody addressing us. Our table was in the middle of the room right near the entryway to the dinning/lounge area. About 3-4 girls were huddled around the computer to the right of the bar near the bigger group area. During our time not one of them came to address us. We saw another group or 2 come in and get seated a few tables over who were promptly greeted by a waiter to take their order.

After about 10 minutes in we had thought about just going to the bar to make our orders (maybe thats what your supposed to do?) but the spots filled up quickly ruling out that possibility. Eventually we decided to call it quits and just walked out without ordering. Rather than waste anymore of our free time waiting for a waiter that may never come, we decided to just get a head start on all the other activities planned for our weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

The waitress refused to move us when we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The waitress refused to move us when we became a party of 9 instead of 8 despite open tables. Very frustrating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Celebrated a big birthday with 8 girlfri ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Celebrated a big birthday with 8 girlfriends. It was a great experience. The waitress was GREAT! We started with the PUPU platter to see what we liked, then ordered food through out the 1.5 hours we sat and sipped delish drinks. This is a fun, different experience for friends who have done just about everything together.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

How waitress was amazing! It was a frien ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

How waitress was amazing! It was a friends birthday and she offered to take pictures and help us choose fun cocktails! We had such a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a fun time as usual at this fun spot ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Had a fun time as usual at this fun spot to grab a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

If you like sweet fruity drinks you will ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2016

If you like sweet fruity drinks you will love this place! The drinks seem to be the focal point....the food was delicious but a very limited menu. We were there on a Sunday evening so it was quiet but I bet the bar would be fun for happy hour or a Friday or Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the way of getting inside...dark a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the way of getting inside...dark alley, blue light, stairs into a basement...great tropical atmosphere, lively. If you're looking for gourmet, look elsewhere. Basically appetizers and drinks here. But fun, fun!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Three Dots and a Dash consistently prove ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash consistently proves itself to be a great place to meet up with friends. The entrance is located on the alley directly east of Clark between Hubbard and Illinois; you'll see a tiki torch and there will likely be a bouncer outside. Fridays and Saturdays are typically crowded, so I would definitely recommend making reservations far in advance. If you decide to go after work on a weekday, however, I think you'll be fine with just walking in.

Although Three Dots and a Dash is known for their specialty themed cocktails, your friends who may not be into drinking or are unable to drink alcohol due to health reasons can still have a great time with non-alcoholic versions of their cocktails, which by the way are still super tasty (especially the Aloha Felicia, if you like coconut!). The drinks are a bit pricey, but are rightfully potent, and are relatively reasonable for a speakeasy in River North.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service. Food was tasty. The ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent service. Food was tasty. The tikki vibe feels like you were transported back to Hawaii. Would highly recommend and definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leider kam der anhekündigte DJ nicht

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Leider kam der anhekündigte DJ nicht

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great spot for girls night out! The drin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great spot for girls night out! The drinks were delicious as was the food. Service was a little slow, but the place was pretty busy and the atmosphere made up for it. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The drinks were amazing the setting very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The drinks were amazing the setting very inviting relaxed environment service very good i will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great place and great environment. I rea ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great place and great environment. I really liked this place. It was such a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was OK, nothing special. Drink ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was OK, nothing special. Drinks were realty excellent compared to competition

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

good time, not the best service

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

good time, not the best service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Three Dots and a Dash is a fun, energeti ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash is a fun, energetic, bar with great ambiance. It is tucked away in an alley, away from the bustling streets of River North. As you descend the long set of stairs into the front entrance, you are transported from cold, windy Chicago to Polynesia. The drinks were fruity and fun. My friends and I split a drink (I can't recall the name) that came in a diver's submersion-type helmet with dry ice spilling over the side. It tasted very sweet but was satisfying. Overall, the place is a bit pricey (but what isn't in River North), but the atmosphere is worth the extra buck.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great place to meet friends for a drink, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place to meet friends for a drink, but their food is worth serious note!

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great place for drinks! Food was just ok ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great place for drinks! Food was just ok but you do not go there to eat but drink amazing rum and mixed cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The big draw is the side entrance and c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The big draw is the side entrance and cool underground space. It immediately gives it an exclusive & mysterious feel. The drinks are why you're there- fun flavors and exotic presentations. Definitely Instagram worthy. The food was just mediocre; we had the rangoon and duck wraps. Unfortunately our service was just sub-par. You could tell our server had been repeating herself all day and wasn't interested in doing it again. Thankfully the menu has descriptions for each item. It would be a fun spot for a date or night with friends. Overall, pretty good!

Tags: Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Incredible atmosphere, drinks, and servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Incredible atmosphere, drinks, and service. Would recommend to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Three Dots and a Dash was fun and intima ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Three Dots and a Dash was fun and intimate. Drinks were amazing, favorite bar. Location excellent, somewhat hidden down the alley without name or address which only made it more special. Excellent service. Atmosphere friendly with patrons obviously enjoying themselves. Will definitely recommend and return to meet up here and relax with close friends. Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time! Drinks and ambiance we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Had a great time! Drinks and ambiance were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We love starting our evening at Three Do ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love starting our evening at Three Dots and a Dash. Fun cocktails and yummy appetizers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I had a great time and so did m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall I had a great time and so did my friends. My only caution, unless you are willing to spend lots of money to get a private table, I wouldn't recommend this place for more than 8 people. I had a party of about 11 people, and the staff set us up in a nice area that was big enough to seat all my guest, even though I didn't reserve that space, I was lucky that happened because otherwise my tables would of been separate. the drinks were interesting and some were good, The service was okay, our waitress seemed annoyed and busy, when one of my friends asked what's good on the menu for drinks she didn't take the time to go through the drinks and just blurted out the first thing she think of. Other than that the vibe was nice and I would go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.