About Three Dots and a Dash

A modern take on a classic tiki bar serving inspired cocktails.
Must be 21 years of age or older to enter.

435 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Polynesian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Friday: 4:00 pm - 2:00 am
Saturday: 4:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sunday: 5:00 pm - 2:00 am

Cross Street:
Hubbard

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 610-4220

Website:
http://threedotschicago.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Private Dining

A modern take on a classic Tiki bar serving inspired cocktails, Three Dots and a Dash is the perfect location for your private gathering. The unique libations and distinctly island decor create the perfect setting for a variety of events. Contact us for more information!

Three Dots and a Dash Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Fun (49)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Bar Seating (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Late-night Find (30)
Happy Hour (22)
Cozy (21)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
People Watching (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Authentic (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Private Room (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dancing (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food wasn't great:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I absolutely love 3 Dots. I make it a priority to come as often as possible. The drinks are outstanding and the atmosphere is unique and fun. I love everything about this bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Strong drinks are the way to my heart! Literally. Loved this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The only thing was it was very hard to find...it was kind of hidden down an alley. The overall atmosphere was great. I would go here again if visiting Chicago.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A hidden gem, Three Dots provides numerous tiki-inspired drinks at decent prices. While the food options are limited, that's not the real reason you come to this destination. Very cool, hip, and kind of hidden, Three Dots doesn't disappoint.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Had an amazing time my first time here. The drinks were great and pretty strong. I wish they had a better menu selection. Other than that, I would definitely return.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Loud, overpriced and glorified bar with average food. You do not get your values worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wish there was better music selection cute bar but the music felt like elevator music

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I wish I could've tried this place but they never let us in. One of us was under 21. The bouncer said the age limit was on their website (NO it isn't). OpenTable doesn't mention that either. He was so rude that it left us a bad impression of the restaurant. We will not go back to try some high priced cocktails Roka Akor was more than happy to take the 8 of us. Go there for great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Fun place for a party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great drinks and great food. Cute little hidden treasure! My new favorite spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The drinks were good as expected during our stay. It was my sisters 21st birthday so we started off with an $85.00 drink to share with our group of 5. We then ordered individual drinks as well as two food dishes. The thing we were dissapointed with was the service. We felt that our waitress could have been much more attentive and when given the friendly look to come over, to not just turn her head and act like she did not see us. We followed up our time at Three Dots and a Dash by going to Howl at the Moon. Our service there had been a thousand times better, and it had been a lot more packed there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I was celebrating my birthday with a group of friends, I made reservations for 8 including myself but apparently the booths weren't available.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We came in to celebrate our anniversary. We had our mind set on just having drinks. Drinks are pricey but definitely worth spending money on. We started out with the Lapu Lapu for 2 and although it was too much tangerine taste, it was still delicious. We then tried the Mai Tai & Rum barrel. Both were strong & great. Definitely recommend for a date night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is hands down my favorite place in the city. Every time I'm in town a make a reservation just to make sure I get in. MUST visit for anyone who has not been. LOVE IT.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

awesome atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I come to 3Dots a couple of times a year, and it's consistent in the quality of drinks and the level of service. We arrived for our 4pm reservation on Saturday and were greeted and seated promptly. For the record, they don't open the door a second before the clock strikes 4 which is fine with me but others in line behind me were complaining (senselessly.) The restaurant tables were all filled within 25-minutes and the bar stools were pretty much all occupied also. This, at 4:30 on a Saturday afternoon.

The menu has changed since the last time I was there, and it appears to be clearer about the potency of certain drinks. Quite frankly, the last time I was there the drinks seemed weak. This time they knocked us on our derrieres. I had the mai tai and it was great so I highly recommend it. Go for the drinks, but the food is not bad and it might sop up some of the rum. Everything is pricey but far from outrageous and well worth the prices.

The ambiance is great. The drinks, service and overall experience make it work the trip.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really creative drinks with a cool tiki vibe. Make reservations way in advance

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have been several times and always enjoy our visit. The low rating is because this time we had a larger group (8) so we made reservations 3 months in advance to ensure we could get a table. While we were seated and enjoyed ourselves, it was over a 20 minute wait for a reservation, when we were told it would only be 5 minutes. I understand this is a bar and that it is hard to predict when people will leave, but then don't take reservations. If you take them, then you should be able to honor them on schedule.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I love a good tiki bar. The drinks I had were terrible. Lapu lapu and a very gross zombie. Noise level through the roof. I don't like to give bad reviews but it was nasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Always one of our favorite places! I was upset that Bunny's banana drink is no longer on the menu.... REALLY?!?!?
😣 We LOVED the angler fish mug.. and wished it was available for purchase😯

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I took my girlfriend here as a surprise for her birthday. I surprised her by having her friends already at the bar waiting for us. The drinks are strong and reasonably priced. The ambiance is great for a night out. The staff was very friendly and even helped by decorating a plate of cupcakes that I brought in with candles for after our drinks. We all loved this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fun, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I've been to Three Dots for drinks before and just had to come back for date night. The food was delicious - things you can't find anywhere else, like a shrimp hot dog.! And drinks once again did not disappoint. The Pandan Pain Killer and the Old Fashioned (made with Eagle Rare 10 year) were to die for.! I'll definitely be coming back to explore more drinks and food items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The drinks are outstanding. We are reminded of the many Tiki bars of the 50s and 60s. The food, we had the multi sampler, was to forget and certainly not worth a repeat. It's the drink you're going to enjoy and worth coming to.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We were stuck in traffic despite our best efforts and late for our reservation which the host had cancelled. The staff was not courteous. We then had to wait for quite some time for a table with no room at the bar in the interim. Cocktails were $18 each for average drinks and appetizer food was also very average. Many better options on price, quality, & food for drinks in River North.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I was a bit high maintenance this evening and the were kind and accommodate me at every turn!

The drinks and pupu platter were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had a great experience and it was highly recommended to us and I will definitely recommend to others that go to Chicago !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This place so was so cool! The drinks were fun and tasted great! There is even one drink that you can share that is presented like an octopus with smoke coming out (dry ice is below the drink). There is a limited bar menu but the coconut shrimp was great!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We enjoyed the drinks and ambience here! The decoration here was very fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

An all around awesome place with amazing drinks along with an amazing staff to compliment it. I have been here 3 times now and will be back plenty more. It's easily become one of my favorite bars now.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Went to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. What a fun atmosphere with great service. Love the tasty cocktails and the Poo Poo platter was delish!! A definite "go back" place!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Possibly my favorite bar in the city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Was very loud, great if you are going to party. Was hot and stuffy and crowded, even with a reservation we were jostled into all night by people trying to get to the bar, all the large partys had booths along the wall, so again better for a big group.

They allowed no modification of the drinks, so stick to the menu. But the drinks are very pretty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Love 3 Dots! One of my fave spots. Great atmosphere, killer tiki vibe, and great tropical cocktails. Our server, Stefani was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always enjoy coming here! Menu has changed over time, but still high quality drinks, in a great Tiki atmosphere! I would recommend reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

A fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very fun spot, delicious cocktails and great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Birthday for my husband had a great time drinks amazing

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I took my sister here to celebrate her birthday with friends and was a tad underwhelmed. We had a reservation at 8pm, but our table was not ready for about 30-40 more minutes. The host did say we could wait at the bar but it was pretty crowded. Once we finally were in it seemed like the table was too small for the size group we had. It was super dark and our server was attentive and distant all in one. The drinks were pretty but just okay. Next time i'll be sure to get a drink with "skulls". Also, pass on the luau chips, but the chicken wings are good! I think overall my sister enjoyed it and it was a fun experience, but I don't have to go back anytime soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I think we ended up getting drinks that we did not order but they were still good.

I've been to this place a few times and the drink selection is decreasing by each visit. But the presentation is still great!

Otherwise a great place to hangout and relax.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.