About Thomsons

700 Centre Street SE
Calgary, AB T2G5P6
View Larger Map

Thomsons is one of the top spots to experience fresh, locally sourced, contemporary Canadian Cuisine. Situated in a space that showcases Calgary's historic architecture and imagery of traditional western ranching lifestyle.

We're located in the heart of downtown Calgary - steps from theatres, the philharmonic, galleries and shopping. As we're in the midst of the business center, we're within easy reach for business lunches or casual meetings.

Thomsons is featuring #FreeRangeCulinary' which unveils an inspirationally driven menu that uses local and sustainable product. Thomsons menus are designed to encourage the natural creativity of our culinary team, and inspire 'free-range' in our kitchens.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Brunch 10:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner - Closed

MONDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Lunch 11:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner - Closed

TUESDAY - FRIDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Lunch 11:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner 5pm - 9pm

SATURDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 12:00pm
Lunch - Closed
Dinner 5pm – 9pm

Cross Street:
Stephen Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 717-1234 ext. 4500

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/thomsons/

Entertainment:


Catering:
For all your Catering needs, please contact our Catering Department. Our Team of professional Catering managers will assist you to create memorable events.

Parking Details:
Full Service Valet or Self Parking available. Diners will have Self Parking Validated.

Public Transit:
Calgary Transit LRT stop directly beside our property.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca House

Private Party Facilities:
Thomsons provides an excellent setting for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Amrut Misra: 4035374446x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thomsons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Historic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The breakfast prices are unreasonable an ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The breakfast prices are unreasonable and I expect get paid because tourists don't know what their other local options are. $25 for the breakfast buffet is an insult and will likely prevent me from returning. I can leave the table at Cora's (which is only a couple of blocks away) stuffed for $15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

The staff was very efficient and attenti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff was very efficient and attentive. They kept the water and coffee cups full and removed the used dishes promptly, as well as replenishing the utensils. It was a birthday celebration for one of my friends and the staff somehow knew and brought a dessert with a candle in it and they all sang "Happy Birthday" to her. We moved to the lounge, where two of us ordered prosecca but, by mistake, we were brought Mimosas. The waiter realized the mistake before he reached us but served one of us her wine and took the mimosas back. He returned with the proseccas and then later returned with the mimosas, on the house. He was ver attentive and friendly. One of my friends knew him and his family from many years before. All in all, we enjoyed the day and Thomsons was a perfect choice of venue.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great brunch! Full breakfast with waffl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch!

Full breakfast with waffles, pancakes and eggs bennedict made to order. Roast beef, shrimp, salads, sliced cold cuts, soup, asian dumplings, nice array of desserts!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, great food and ambiance ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Amazing service, great food and ambiance! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Accommodated our request for a lounge se ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Accommodated our request for a lounge seat to watch the World Series. Very friendly server. We returned after our CPO concert to the lounge and the same server took great care of us. Food was very well prepared and presented as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch was featured an absolutely ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch was featured an absolutely wondeful food selection and service. A tremendous value in the heart of DT Calgary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love going to Thomsons for Sunday Brun ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love going to Thomsons for Sunday Brunch. I love the atmosphere and the food choices. It's not just pancakes and eggs. There was a person in our group who was on a special diet and even she made a comment about the variety and quality of food. $34 is a bit pricey, but still well worth it for a great selection and quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Have not found a breakfast/brunch place ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Have not found a breakfast/brunch place in Calgary that we like better than Thomsons at the Hyatt. The staff are all so welcoming and friendly. The brunch and breakfast buffet items are all top quality. You can tell that everyone takes pride in what they do.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not care for the Wrap this time. to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Did not care for the Wrap this time. to mushy and doey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality of service seems to have decline ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Quality of service seems to have declined. After food was served the waiter did not check back with us until everyone had finished their meals.

Food quality:

hamburger patty was similar to a frozen, president's choice patty

fake bacon bits in caesar salad, (but the chicken was tasty and moist)

most of our table was poured 1/2 cup of coffee and charged $4.00/cup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

There for brunch. Great value at $34 for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

There for brunch.

Great value at $34 for all they have. Full breakfast with smoked salmon, eggs benedict, waffles and pancakes made on request so they are always fresh. roast beef, dimsum, salads, sliced cold cuts, great selection of desserts and candies for the kids! great place to spoil yourself and family!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Historic, Family Style, Cozy, Bar Seating, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Thomson's for their Sunday Br ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to Thomson's for their Sunday Brunch buffet. It was for a birthday celebration. From being seated, our waiter was inattentive and often nowhere to be seen. Any requests for drinks or refills we had to hunt him down to ask and even then his response was very slow. Orders for waffles, pancakes, and Eggs Benedict had to be made through waiter. I was waiting over half an hour for 3 small pancakes. When we saw our waiter talking for over 15 mins and hugging people at another table, I went to find acting manager to complain. Even though the service was slightly better afterwards, the waiter's rude and unfriendly attitude continued.

Food quality was good, but disappointed with selection. There needed to be a fruit platter , not just melon. A raw veggie with dip plate and salad options would be other suggestions. Not a lot of options for vegetarians.

Home made hash browns were just halved small potatoes. Not what I would call hash browns. Omelet line was slow, as was getting orders for pancakes etc. The brewed coffee was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

As always, the brunch at Thomsons was ex ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As always, the brunch at Thomsons was exceptional. The food was great and the service fantastic. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 6 pm for 4. We ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a reservation for 6 pm for 4. We were sat and ignored for 15 minutes. Did not even see a server and people after us were served. We got up and walked out and no one even noticed!! The service at Milestones was way better than here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Having not dined at Thomsons in just ove ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Having not dined at Thomsons in just over a year, I had high hopes for our dinner this evening. Previous experiences were decent and with the current state of the Calgary economy, I had expected restaurants of this calibre to have stepped up their game to provide the best possible service.

Sadly, not only was I disappointed, but I was in awe as to how this train-wreck of a dining experience unfolded and continued to get worse at every turn.

Right from the start, Nick, our waiter rubbed me the wrong way as he reacted and looked at me dismissively, almost with contempt, that I would order something other than an alcoholic beverage.

From ignoring me when I informed him of my allergies and then subsequently screwing up my order to getting annoyed at me when I let him know that the order was wrong, things just got worse as our dining experience unfolded. The kitchen overcooked my guest's steak and Nick informed him that it would take at least a half hour to get a new one. My guest simply told him to take it away as we did not have the time to wait that long for a replacement. Nick assured us that it would be taken off the bill.

Finally, when the bill arrived, sure enough, the steak was not removed. When I flagged Nick down to tell him, he again seemed annoyed that I would bring this to his attention.

Throughout these multiple mishaps, no effort was made by the manager to check in with us or apologize for the multiple mixups we encountered.

Overall, one of our worst dining experiences in recent memory and would definitely not recommend Thompson's for the mediocre quality food and substandard service. There are much better restaurants for you to spend your hard earned money at that deserve your business in this economic downturn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

My friend and I had a lovely supper befo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My friend and I had a lovely supper before we went to an event at Jack Singer. The free parking is a real plus. Our waitress on Friday night was very helpful and cheery

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there for thanksgiving dinner with f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Was there for thanksgiving dinner with family. Good crowd, menu was very nice with a local free range turkey menu item. Server was attentive and knowledgeable, food was hot, plated well and quick.

They even had Flapper Pie!

Overall a great Thanksgiving!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. Our server wa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was excellent. Our server was very polite and always ensuring that are drinks were topped up and take an initiative to have conversation with us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful date night here, the foo ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had a wonderful date night here, the food is excellent as always, and so is the service. I come here often for lunch during the week with my assistant and clients. Never had any issues and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for lunch , Food is good ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went there for lunch ,

Food is good , but service is bad

Waiter or waitress didn't care of Customer

We need ask them for new forks for dessert

And we can't find anyone around 5 min

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Everything was excellent , the service a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything was excellent , the service an the portions an the professionalism from our waiter Nick .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the if not the best Sunda ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is one of the if not the best Sunday Brunch Spread in Calgary! Not sure why I don't see more news from food media on this place.

Great food! lots of choice, made to order egg benedict, pancakes, waffles etc all included in price!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Restaurant w ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Restaurant was noisier than expected due to a large rambunctious party at the next table. I highly recommend the seafood salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great selection, food was always hot and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great selection, food was always hot and fresh, absolutely delicious. Highly recommend the made to order eggs Benedict and the dim sum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Mom, daughter (7yrs old) and I went f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My Mom, daughter (7yrs old) and I went for Sunday brunch. The selection was extensive and all delicious. We left completely stuffed. I can not comment on the value as we had a gift certificate to pay for our meals. The decor and ambiance is great. The service was good. You are able to order eggs benedict, waffles, pancakes, and eggs from the server on top of everything else in the buffet style brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and service always excellent! zzzz ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food and service always excellent! zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there fro brunch. great selection of ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was there fro brunch. great selection of food! like the dimsum dumplings!

Beef was cooked medium rare which I like. Service was attentive, price for brunch is great value in Calgary.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good and the service ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is always good and the service outstanding - they always make you feel welcome

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had salmon and it was quite good! The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had salmon and it was quite good! The overall quantity was a bit small, but very tasty... Will definitely be back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic. Great meal offeri ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was fantastic. Great meal offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Many business lunch spots are pretty lou ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Many business lunch spots are pretty loud and busy, this restaurant has a nice ambiance, noise level is low so our group can actually enjoy our conversion without needing to shout over each other's shoulder.

Food was good and fresh, and our waiter was very dedicated and caring.

The walk to and from the restaurant on Stephen Avenue was very pleasant too.

Overall it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for hosting a business ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great restaurant for hosting a business meal. Good food, great service and very accessible location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service was okay to ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was very good. Service was okay to good. Good atmosphere for a business lunch

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We decided to have breakfast here for Fa ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We decided to have breakfast here for Father's Day, since fewer restaurants seem to offer buffets for Father's Day (Mother's Day... that's a whole different story).

A very tasty selection of fresh items, along with Eggs Benedict, pancakes and waffles available by order (no extra charge). Plenty of fresh orange juice and coffee. The scrambled eggs were quite fresh and appeared to be made in smaller batches to maintain the quality (you ALL know how bad scrambled eggs created en mass can be!). Some nice bacon and non-greasy sausages, along with some of the most unique French toast we'd ever tasted... it almost had a pound cake-like quality to it... absolutely delicious. The service was courteous and friendly. We've been here a few times and Thomson's has yet to disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have (now) enjoyed brunch twice at Th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have (now) enjoyed brunch twice at Thomsons and the experience was wonderful both times. We would certainly return. The staff was attentive, professional and helpful, the food excellent and we would gladly return. As a customer service provider in a retail setting downtown I have been happy to refer our customers, especially tourists staying downtown, to Thomsons for brunch or any meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected to have a larger buffet spread ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Expected to have a larger buffet spread when we came for breakfast on Friday! (Especially given the price is $24). Left slightly disappointed. I've been here for the Sunday brunch, so was expecting something similar. The wait staff were excellent, courteous and always attentive to our needs! That was a plus point. Unfortunately I can't remember the names. But those working on June 10th around 9am. Also, the girl who manned the omelette station was so friendly and polite. The omelette was excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We have been to brunch several times. Gr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been to brunch several times. Great variety, and lots and lots of food for your $34. Our waiter was nice and attentive to our daughter, but the food and drinks that we had to order (mimosas and pancakes/eggs Benedict) were very slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overrated

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Auto 18% gratuity for large parties but service was terrible. Reservations were made and restaurant was quiet upon arrival but we still waited 15-min to be seated. Waiter didn't ask in advance if separate bills needed, so at the end of the meal, he advised it was our fault for not notifying him we needed separate bills and delayed payment as the large party was forced to all pay on one bill. Waiter never refilled juices or coffee or asked if we needed anything. Food was fine but for the price, was no different in quality than Denny's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Brunch keeps getting better!

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch jow has dimsum dumplings!

Beef was great! Service from Joseph was awesome! Knows what we want before we asked!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our brunch

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice location and the food was very good. It is pricy. I was surprised to see the Sunday brunch cost to be considerably higher than from a few months ago, especially considering the down market in Calgary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.