About Thomsons

700 Centre Street SE
Calgary, AB T2G5P6
View Larger Map

The newly renovated Thomsons has returned to the Calgary's diverse culinary scene as one of the top spots to experience fresh, locally sourced, contemporary Canadian Cuisine,situated in a space that showcases Calgary's historic architechture and imagery of traditional western ranching lifestyle.

We're located in the heart of downtown Calgary - steps from theatres, the philharmonic, galleries and shopping. As we're in the midst of the business centre, we're within easy reach for business lunches or casual meetings.

In addition to the renovations, Thomsons is returning with a new feature ' #FreeRangeCulinary'. Thomsons unveils an inspirationally driven menu that uses local and sustainable product with new, original dinner menu showcased each week. Thomsons menus are designed to encourage the natural creativity of our culinary team, and inspire 'free-range' in our kitchens.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Sunday: 6:30am - 10:00am, Monday - Saturday: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 1:30pm

Cross Street:
Stephen Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 717-1234

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/thomsons/

Entertainment:


Catering:
For all your Catering needs, please contact our Catering Department. Our Team of professional Catering managers will assist you to create memorable events.

Parking Details:
Full Service Valet or Self Parking available. Diners will have Self Parking Validated.

Public Transit:
Calgary Transit LRT stop directly beside our property.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca House

Private Party Facilities:
Thomsons provides an excellent setting for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Amrut Misra: 4035374446x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thomsons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Great for Brunch
Calgary
1 More
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for lunch (43)
good for groups (37)
great for brunch (34)
See All
special occasion (33)
fit for foodies (32)
romantic (22)
kid-friendly (17)
notable wine list (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Before theater dinner

Dined on May 3, 2016

Warm even, burgers at an outdoor table. Limited menu but the food was good

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast at Thomson's

Dined on May 1, 2016

I took the family for an early Mother's Day brunch/breakfast... the food was great, good value for the selection. They ask you for your order of eggs benny, waffles, etc at your table and bring it to you while you get the rest of your breakfast items yourself. We went at 9:30 on a Sunday morning.. it was not busy or crowded and was very relaxing. The scrambles eggs were awesome... not those powdered eggs you get at some places... they were very tasty.... free range(?) The has browns were real diced potatoes hand made and delicious. The meal came with excellent coffee and orange juice... the full deal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Lamb Shanks and Steak

Dined on April 30, 2016

Meats were cooked perfectly, and the lamb was very tender. Food was a bit slow coming out, but understandable considering the quality. Very well paired with fresh steamed vegetable and mashed potatoes and a flavorful cherry au jus on the lamb. Complimentary bread was a savory sour dough, and dried fruit and nut whole wheat. Server, Nick, was excellent and offered perfect beer pairing suggestions. Didn't have enough room for dessert, but came back the following evening to try the delicious salted caramel filled chocolate lava cake and some cocktails. All togther a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for Brunch

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch at Thomsons! Very good selection and the staff was amazing. Book for Mother's Day early!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Underwhelming but okay

Dined on April 17, 2016

Definitely buffet style food. Food quality was pretty average. Selection was good. Service was mediocre. Atmosphere was nice, although chairs were loud on wood floors. For the $/quality, probably won't come back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Service

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

You really can't go wrong here. The food and service is always great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best breakfast in town!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

The best breakfast in town!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Service

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

You can't go wrong here. The food and service is great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch- will come again. Food was ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great brunch- will come again. Food was great- come early as it does get busy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

You really can't go wrong here. The service and food is always great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local food

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great locally sourced food, great taste. Wait staff informative and knowledgable. Great flavours

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Had an absolutely fantastic dinner here during the Big Taste (I think this is what they called it). One of the best entrees i've had at a restaurant for years (and I eat out a lot with constant travel). Don't let the fact that this restaurant is in a hotel scare you off. It is always good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the brunch!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Love the brunch!

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing service and delicious food! Grea ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing service and delicious food! Great portion sizes

food5
ambience5
service5

Best breakfast buffet

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

Best breakfast buffet

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

As always the food and service here is amazing. You really can't go wrong.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The meal as always was excellent! Servi ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The meal as always was excellent! Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great locally sorced food and Service

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

The food and service was amazing. I never have a negative experience when I come here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Service

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

The locally sourced food is top notch. The service is amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

An okay lunch, but not worth the price IMO

Dined on February 23, 2016

I went for lunch with my Aunt and was greeted by prompt, friendly service. Our waiter recited the specials to us and brought us the correct order: I got the half-sandwich special with soup and salad, and my Aunt got the steak sandwich and fries with a couple modifications for her diet. I was underwhelmed by the half sandwich (more like a quarter sandwich?) but the soup and salad were tasty...not loaded with dressing, which I appreciate! My Aunt mentioned her steak was rather salty but the huge fries were amazing (and they were!). Overall, it was a decent lunch but nothing special. It cost us a pretty penny, too...mine was $18 and my Aunt's was $20. To be honest, I would have rather paid $25 and gone to one of the restaurants downtown that offers a three course express lunch instead. Better value. I would have given our server 5 stars if it weren't for one thing: his timing and ability to read the table was not ideal. My Aunt and I were having an visibly emotional conversation (involving tears and Kleenex!), and that seemed to be his cue to come interrupt and ask us if we wanted refills on our sodas. I would have appreciated some privacy in the moment. And he appeared to be very eager to clear our plates before we were done eating, despite the restaurant having plenty of open tables...what was the hurry? Everything else was great besides these two points.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food is as expected from a hotel brunch buffet.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food is as you would expect from a hotel brunch buffet. Service was friendly and available as needed. Environment nothing special...a little dated. Large space, so ideal for larger groups.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service was amazing

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

The service is a step above! The locally sourced food is spot on!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It used to be our favourite place...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My family and I have a long history of going to Thomsons for breakfast. This might be the last time. The buffet is minimal, the service was very poor - our server was so busy helping with setting up the brunch we never saw him. It the later brunch is of more importance than eliminate the breakfast brunch ...but don't do one well and the other poorly. The price has not been reduced - only the service and value. I can't in good conscience recommend this as the place to go which is unfortunate as I usually recommend the hotel and the breakfast to my friends and family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good value for the $. Food was tasty.

Dined on February 12, 2016

We were there for Teachers Convention, and appreciated the $5 off the lunch buffet. We got a choice of 2 soups, 3 salads, 3 pastas, and a dessert/fresh fruit table. Food was great, and service was great.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable Experience

Dined on February 12, 2016

Very much enjoy of evening out at Thomsons. Please tell meal with great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Probably the best hotel restaurant I've ...

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Probably the best hotel restaurant I've ever been to. Consistently good food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was prompt, lunch was good, ambi ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Service was prompt, lunch was good, ambience active but quiet

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Rushed and no ambience

Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was excellent! Everything else, not so much. Service was rushed - and for no reason that I could see. Room only 1/2 full. Ordered the 3-course winter special and it was great. Ordered a beer before dinner and still had 2 ounces left when dessert came! Experience was OK at best.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch with friends

Dined on January 31, 2016

Brunch with my best friend and her daughter was fun. The variety was very good. It should be noted that my friend is a great lover of eggs benedict which she found out has to be special ordered. That came as a bit of a surprise as it is listed on the brunch menu. However, the eggs came quickly and she was very please with them. She also got a lovely big slice of roast beef . I got several little slices and I had to push the server to continue slicing. We had different chefs and oviously they had different ideas of what constitues a serving. However, I did get a fair sized portion after pushing a bit. The original server assigned to our table seemed to be blind to us until we were told that our table was being looked after by another (the hostess got it wrong) She was attentive without being obtrustive. Overall, it was good food and not so noisy or busy that we could not enjoy a good visit.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Dino was fantastic!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Dino was fantastic!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Partner Strategic Dynamics Calgary/Scottsdale

Dined on January 29, 2016

I use have business lunches here often as it is consistent and fast. The dinning space is large and confidential discussion are easy to have.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So great. Love this place!

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

This restaurant is amazing. The service and the locally sourced food... God what more can I say!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-symphony dining

Dined on January 23, 2016

We always eat here before going to the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra concert. Service and food has always been great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It would have been nice if waiter would ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

It would have been nice if waiter would come around to check, sooner, after the food was served. As I wanted some more condiments for my burger. By the time, he came around, I was 3/4 way eating through my burger, already

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Been a while, now I know what I was missing!

Dined on January 22, 2016

Not one to visit downtown often, and even more rarely for lunch, but couldn't resist the suggestion to re-visit Thomsons at The Hyatt; no disappointments, staff humour still there, food quality and service also at or above expectations. Go there and enjoy!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing! Not your typical hotel restaurant.

Dined on January 22, 2016

We booked dinner here before a play and so happy with our choice. We shared two appies then had salad and a main. From beginning to end our service and food experience was fantastic. Great wine list, food was delicious and service was great. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and Dining Experience

Dined on January 15, 2016

The restaurant is located inside the Hyatt Hotel which has a very unique and comfortable feeling. The front of house staff are very friendly which set a great mood for the night. Parking is complimentary when eating at the restaurant or lounge and the heated parkade entrance is located on the driveway in front of the hotel for easy access. The hostess and server greeted us with warm smiles and our orders were taken professionally and promptly. We had the salmon, tenderloin steak, duck and chicken risotto which were all cooked perfectly to our requests. If you are looking for a fine dining experience, Thomsons is a great choice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and the service was outst ...

Dined on January 9, 2016

Fantastic food and the service was outstanding the pork dish was absolutely delicious

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Lunch spot

Dined on January 1, 2016

Thomson's was a new place to try. It was a New Year's day lunch that was really enjoyable. The waiter was very attentive and the food was good. Our party enjoyed the meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch place`

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food, great location and being able to make a BRUNCH reservation is fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.