About Thomsons

700 Centre Street SE
Calgary, AB T2G5P6
View Larger Map

Thomsons is one of the top spots to experience fresh, locally sourced, contemporary Canadian Cuisine. Situated in a space that showcases Calgary's historic architecture and imagery of traditional western ranching lifestyle.

We're located in the heart of downtown Calgary - steps from theatres, the philharmonic, galleries and shopping. As we're in the midst of the business center, we're within easy reach for business lunches or casual meetings.

Thomsons is featuring #FreeRangeCulinary' which unveils an inspirationally driven menu that uses local and sustainable product. Thomsons menus are designed to encourage the natural creativity of our culinary team, and inspire 'free-range' in our kitchens.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Brunch 10:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner - Closed

MONDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Lunch 11:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner - Closed

TUESDAY - FRIDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Lunch 11:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner 5pm - 9pm

SATURDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 12:00pm
Lunch - Closed
Dinner 5pm – 9pm

Cross Street:
Stephen Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 717-1234 ext. 4500

Website:
http://www.hyatt.com/gallery/thomsons/

Entertainment:


Catering:
For all your Catering needs, please contact our Catering Department. Our Team of professional Catering managers will assist you to create memorable events.

Parking Details:
Full Service Valet or Self Parking available. Diners will have Self Parking Validated.

Public Transit:
Calgary Transit LRT stop directly beside our property.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca House

Private Party Facilities:
Thomsons provides an excellent setting for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Amrut Misra: 4035374446x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thomsons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Great for Brunch (26)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of the if not the best Sunda ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is one of the if not the best Sunday Brunch Spread in Calgary! Not sure why I don't see more news from food media on this place.

Great food! lots of choice, made to order egg benedict, pancakes, waffles etc all included in price!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Restaurant w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Restaurant was noisier than expected due to a large rambunctious party at the next table. I highly recommend the seafood salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great selection, food was always hot and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great selection, food was always hot and fresh, absolutely delicious. Highly recommend the made to order eggs Benedict and the dim sum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Mom, daughter (7yrs old) and I went f ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My Mom, daughter (7yrs old) and I went for Sunday brunch. The selection was extensive and all delicious. We left completely stuffed. I can not comment on the value as we had a gift certificate to pay for our meals. The decor and ambiance is great. The service was good. You are able to order eggs benedict, waffles, pancakes, and eggs from the server on top of everything else in the buffet style brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food and service always excellent! zzzz ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food and service always excellent! zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was there fro brunch. great selection of ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Was there fro brunch. great selection of food! like the dimsum dumplings!

Beef was cooked medium rare which I like. Service was attentive, price for brunch is great value in Calgary.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good and the service ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is always good and the service outstanding - they always make you feel welcome

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had salmon and it was quite good! The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had salmon and it was quite good! The overall quantity was a bit small, but very tasty... Will definitely be back..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic. Great meal offeri ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was fantastic. Great meal offering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Many business lunch spots are pretty lou ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Many business lunch spots are pretty loud and busy, this restaurant has a nice ambiance, noise level is low so our group can actually enjoy our conversion without needing to shout over each other's shoulder.

Food was good and fresh, and our waiter was very dedicated and caring.

The walk to and from the restaurant on Stephen Avenue was very pleasant too.

Overall it was an excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant for hosting a business ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great restaurant for hosting a business meal. Good food, great service and very accessible location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service was okay to ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was very good. Service was okay to good. Good atmosphere for a business lunch

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We decided to have breakfast here for Fa ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We decided to have breakfast here for Father's Day, since fewer restaurants seem to offer buffets for Father's Day (Mother's Day... that's a whole different story).

A very tasty selection of fresh items, along with Eggs Benedict, pancakes and waffles available by order (no extra charge). Plenty of fresh orange juice and coffee. The scrambled eggs were quite fresh and appeared to be made in smaller batches to maintain the quality (you ALL know how bad scrambled eggs created en mass can be!). Some nice bacon and non-greasy sausages, along with some of the most unique French toast we'd ever tasted... it almost had a pound cake-like quality to it... absolutely delicious. The service was courteous and friendly. We've been here a few times and Thomson's has yet to disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have (now) enjoyed brunch twice at Th ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have (now) enjoyed brunch twice at Thomsons and the experience was wonderful both times. We would certainly return. The staff was attentive, professional and helpful, the food excellent and we would gladly return. As a customer service provider in a retail setting downtown I have been happy to refer our customers, especially tourists staying downtown, to Thomsons for brunch or any meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected to have a larger buffet spread ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Expected to have a larger buffet spread when we came for breakfast on Friday! (Especially given the price is $24). Left slightly disappointed. I've been here for the Sunday brunch, so was expecting something similar. The wait staff were excellent, courteous and always attentive to our needs! That was a plus point. Unfortunately I can't remember the names. But those working on June 10th around 9am. Also, the girl who manned the omelette station was so friendly and polite. The omelette was excellent too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We have been to brunch several times. Gr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We have been to brunch several times. Great variety, and lots and lots of food for your $34. Our waiter was nice and attentive to our daughter, but the food and drinks that we had to order (mimosas and pancakes/eggs Benedict) were very slow.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overrated

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Auto 18% gratuity for large parties but service was terrible. Reservations were made and restaurant was quiet upon arrival but we still waited 15-min to be seated. Waiter didn't ask in advance if separate bills needed, so at the end of the meal, he advised it was our fault for not notifying him we needed separate bills and delayed payment as the large party was forced to all pay on one bill. Waiter never refilled juices or coffee or asked if we needed anything. Food was fine but for the price, was no different in quality than Denny's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Brunch keeps getting better!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Brunch jow has dimsum dumplings!

Beef was great! Service from Joseph was awesome! Knows what we want before we asked!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our brunch

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice location and the food was very good. It is pricy. I was surprised to see the Sunday brunch cost to be considerably higher than from a few months ago, especially considering the down market in Calgary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Before theater dinner

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Warm even, burgers at an outdoor table. Limited menu but the food was good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Breakfast at Thomson's

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I took the family for an early Mother's Day brunch/breakfast... the food was great, good value for the selection. They ask you for your order of eggs benny, waffles, etc at your table and bring it to you while you get the rest of your breakfast items yourself.

We went at 9:30 on a Sunday morning.. it was not busy or crowded and was very relaxing. The scrambles eggs were awesome... not those powdered eggs you get at some places... they were very tasty.... free range(?) The has browns were real diced potatoes hand made and delicious.

The meal came with excellent coffee and orange juice... the full deal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Lamb Shanks and Steak

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Meats were cooked perfectly, and the lamb was very tender. Food was a bit slow coming out, but understandable considering the quality. Very well paired with fresh steamed vegetable and mashed potatoes and a flavorful cherry au jus on the lamb. Complimentary bread was a savory sour dough, and dried fruit and nut whole wheat. Server, Nick, was excellent and offered perfect beer pairing suggestions. Didn't have enough room for dessert, but came back the following evening to try the delicious salted caramel filled chocolate lava cake and some cocktails. All togther a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for Brunch

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed Sunday Brunch at Thomsons! Very good selection and the staff was amazing. Book for Mother's Day early!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Underwhelming but okay

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Definitely buffet style food. Food quality was pretty average. Selection was good. Service was mediocre. Atmosphere was nice, although chairs were loud on wood floors. For the $/quality, probably won't come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great Food and Service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

You really can't go wrong here. The food and service is always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best breakfast in town!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The best breakfast in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and Service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

You can't go wrong here. The food and service is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch- will come again. Food was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great brunch- will come again. Food was great- come early as it does get busy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

You really can't go wrong here. The service and food is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great locally sourced food, great taste.

Wait staff informative and knowledgable.

Great flavours

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Had an absolutely fantastic dinner here during the Big Taste (I think this is what they called it). One of the best entrees i've had at a restaurant for years (and I eat out a lot with constant travel). Don't let the fact that this restaurant is in a hotel scare you off. It is always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the brunch!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Love the brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and delicious food! Grea ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing service and delicious food! Great portion sizes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best breakfast buffet

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Best breakfast buffet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

As always the food and service here is amazing. You really can't go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal as always was excellent! Servi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The meal as always was excellent! Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great locally sorced food and Service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The food and service was amazing. I never have a negative experience when I come here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and Service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

The locally sourced food is top notch. The service is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An okay lunch, but not worth the price IMO

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

I went for lunch with my Aunt and was greeted by prompt, friendly service. Our waiter recited the specials to us and brought us the correct order: I got the half-sandwich special with soup and salad, and my Aunt got the steak sandwich and fries with a couple modifications for her diet. I was underwhelmed by the half sandwich (more like a quarter sandwich?) but the soup and salad were tasty...not loaded with dressing, which I appreciate! My Aunt mentioned her steak was rather salty but the huge fries were amazing (and they were!). Overall, it was a decent lunch but nothing special. It cost us a pretty penny, too...mine was $18 and my Aunt's was $20. To be honest, I would have rather paid $25 and gone to one of the restaurants downtown that offers a three course express lunch instead. Better value.

I would have given our server 5 stars if it weren't for one thing: his timing and ability to read the table was not ideal. My Aunt and I were having an visibly emotional conversation (involving tears and Kleenex!), and that seemed to be his cue to come interrupt and ask us if we wanted refills on our sodas. I would have appreciated some privacy in the moment. And he appeared to be very eager to clear our plates before we were done eating, despite the restaurant having plenty of open tables...what was the hurry? Everything else was great besides these two points.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food is as expected from a hotel brunch buffet.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Food is as you would expect from a hotel brunch buffet. Service was friendly and available as needed. Environment nothing special...a little dated. Large space, so ideal for larger groups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.