Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Thomsons

Thomsons is one of the top spots to experience fresh, locally sourced, contemporary Canadian Cuisine. Situated in a space that showcases Calgary's historic architecture and imagery of traditional western ranching lifestyle.

We're located in the heart of downtown Calgary - steps from theatres, the philharmonic, galleries and shopping. As we're in the midst of the business center, we're within easy reach for business lunches or casual meetings.

Thomsons is featuring #FreeRangeCulinary' which unveils an inspirationally driven menu that uses local and sustainable product. Thomsons menus are designed to encourage the natural creativity of our culinary team, and inspire 'free-range' in our kitchens.

700 Centre Street SE
Calgary, AB T2G5P6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Sun | 6:30am – 10:30am (ala carte & buffet)
Mon – Fri | 6:30am – 11:00am (ala carte & buffet)
Sat | 6:30am – 11:00am (ala carte) & 6:30am – Noon (buffet)

Brunch
Sun | 10:30am – 2:00pm

Lunch
Mon – Fri | 11.00am - 2:00pm
Sat | 11.00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
Closed

Cross Street:
Stephen Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 717-1234 ext. 4500

Website:
http://hyatthotels.hyatt.com/corporate/restaurants/Thomsons/en/Home.html

Entertainment:


Catering:
For all your Catering needs, please contact our Catering Department. Our Team of professional Catering managers will assist you to create memorable events.

Parking Details:
Full Service Valet or Self Parking available. Diners will have Self Parking Validated.

Public Transit:
Calgary Transit LRT stop directly beside our property.

Executive Chef:
Hideyuki Hirooka

Private Party Facilities:
Thomsons provides an excellent setting for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Amrut Misra: (403) 537-4446

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thomsons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Family Style (4)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
759 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is average. Too pricy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great service and very accommodating on food allergies requests. It's nice to have a selection that is more than just salad.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The brunch was very good. There was a HUGE variety of food to choose from. If you didn't want just breakfast, there was a whole area dedicated to non-breakfast items, like a charcuterie board, salads, soups, dumplings, kabobs, seafood, dessert, etc. The coffee is a bit too strong here, so just be prepared.

My only complaint, our server was not very attentive. We had to flag him down several times just to clear plates and refill water. He was friendly though.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our food was amazing, we had the maple brussel sprouts and the polenta. If you're not a fan of brussel sprouts, you will be after these ones.

Tags: Fun, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always solid food and service. It is a consistent place for business lunches.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really glad I chose Thompsons for Valentine's Day supper this year. Great food. Great attentive service. Thank you so much for making it a very special evening and thanks again for the lovely rose too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Brunch! Lots of food, well prepared and displayed. Really almost cant believe all that for $35. full breakfast cold food, fruit parfaits, vegan food, eggs, wafles pancakes made to order. carved beef, shrimp, cold cuts, salads, small dimsum, soups,desserts and candy, crazy Lit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Oddly - the server does not know how to open and present wine for tasting!
We do like the convenience and the quality of food for before CPO concerts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good business lunch. Very friendly service, maybe a bit slow. Good food. Nice wine list by the glass, notable Canadian selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Much better food this time than I remember from years ago. Big improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting Calgary from the UK, we took friends for brunch here. There is so much selection everyone could find plenty to like. The food is beautifully presented and the service good; our juice and coffee were constantly refilled. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

If anyone is even considering Thomson's take a chance and go to it! My family and I (which was 5 people) got an easy reservation which was not needed as it wasn't busy in the dinning room at all, and we absolutely loved it. First of all, it is in the Hyatt which has gorgeous art pieces everywhere, including the restaurant. The service was fantastic and they were always there to fill water and get you anything you needed. It was quiet so anyone who may have some issues hearing it would be a perfect location. The food for the money was fabulous and the wine was delicious and they had a great selection. Take a chance at this hotel restaurant, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice location in Hyatt with great quality food and service. Good for business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a wonderful meal before we went to Pops Show at Jack Singer

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First visit to this establishment and i must say that the food selection and presentation was very good. Their level of service left much to be desired. They asked if we wanted bread, after taking our order, to which we declined. Yet, just prior to our meals arriving our server delivered us the bread and then moments later it was removed by another server. Our server did NOT return after the first few bites to inquire on our impression of our meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love the brunch here!! It is the same atmosphere as other 5 star locations with better food and more options for the cost.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Not much to say beyond superb! If you HAVE to go downtown, then compensate for that misery by dining at Thomsons!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Our steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New Year Eve dinner. The waiter was absolutely experienced and respectful. Food was perfect. I got Irish coffee for desert which was the best I have ever had. I got a white wine and my husband got a red one. Both were awesome. Also, the restaurant is really kid's friendly.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thomson's had an amazing New Years Eve dinner special. Avacado and pistachio salad to start, Prime rib and prawns with mashed potatoes and veggies for the main and a delicious white chocolate and pomegranate dessert. Plus champagne all for $65 a person. My parents and I really enjoyed our dinner! Best prime rib we have ever had! Service was great! We will come back soon for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent New Years menu. Excellent, knowledgeable and friendly but not intrusive waiter and Chef's serving staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner menu and service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas get together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. Great menu. Food was was great. Wait staff were busy with the number of tables they were working. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. In a restaurant of this calibre you shouldn't have to ask for another drink.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It can tell that Thomsons always ensure the high standard of good and services. Nick is one of the outstanding servers.

Tags: Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My niece and I have been coming to Thomsons for our Christmas brunch. There are plenty of options for both of us. Look forward to it every year.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Recently had Sunday brunch and was overall happy with the meal. Attentive servers are always checking on you and making sure your coffee and juice is topped up. Very good brunch selection ranging from usual breakfast to the more luncheon variety. Only complaint is food is not hot enough .... eggs, bacon etc were lukewarm... Did not see covers on these dishes ... maybe that would help.. Love the candy selection in the dessert section.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wasn't very happy with the location of our table. There was a lot of traffic by staff and customers alike and we had to move our seats to make way for them, every time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The breakfast prices are unreasonable and I expect get paid because tourists don't know what their other local options are. $25 for the breakfast buffet is an insult and will likely prevent me from returning. I can leave the table at Cora's (which is only a couple of blocks away) stuffed for $15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff was very efficient and attentive. They kept the water and coffee cups full and removed the used dishes promptly, as well as replenishing the utensils. It was a birthday celebration for one of my friends and the staff somehow knew and brought a dessert with a candle in it and they all sang "Happy Birthday" to her. We moved to the lounge, where two of us ordered prosecca but, by mistake, we were brought Mimosas. The waiter realized the mistake before he reached us but served one of us her wine and took the mimosas back. He returned with the proseccas and then later returned with the mimosas, on the house. He was ver attentive and friendly. One of my friends knew him and his family from many years before. All in all, we enjoyed the day and Thomsons was a perfect choice of venue.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch!
Full breakfast with waffles, pancakes and eggs bennedict made to order. Roast beef, shrimp, salads, sliced cold cuts, soup, asian dumplings, nice array of desserts!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Amazing service, great food and ambiance! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Accommodated our request for a lounge seat to watch the World Series. Very friendly server. We returned after our CPO concert to the lounge and the same server took great care of us. Food was very well prepared and presented as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch was featured an absolutely wondeful food selection and service. A tremendous value in the heart of DT Calgary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love going to Thomsons for Sunday Brunch. I love the atmosphere and the food choices. It's not just pancakes and eggs. There was a person in our group who was on a special diet and even she made a comment about the variety and quality of food. $34 is a bit pricey, but still well worth it for a great selection and quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Have not found a breakfast/brunch place in Calgary that we like better than Thomsons at the Hyatt. The staff are all so welcoming and friendly. The brunch and breakfast buffet items are all top quality. You can tell that everyone takes pride in what they do.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The sandwich/soup/salad trio was no longer available on the lunch menu which was disappointing. I ordered the cobb salad instead and it was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Did not care for the Wrap this time. to mushy and doey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Quality of service seems to have declined. After food was served the waiter did not check back with us until everyone had finished their meals.

Food quality:
hamburger patty was similar to a frozen, president's choice patty
fake bacon bits in caesar salad, (but the chicken was tasty and moist)
most of our table was poured 1/2 cup of coffee and charged $4.00/cup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

There for brunch.
Great value at $34 for all they have. Full breakfast with smoked salmon, eggs benedict, waffles and pancakes made on request so they are always fresh. roast beef, dimsum, salads, sliced cold cuts, great selection of desserts and candies for the kids! great place to spoil yourself and family!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Historic, Family Style, Cozy, Bar Seating, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.