About Thomsons

700 Centre Street SE
Calgary, AB T2G5P6
View Larger Map

Thomsons is one of the top spots to experience fresh, locally sourced, contemporary Canadian Cuisine. Situated in a space that showcases Calgary's historic architecture and imagery of traditional western ranching lifestyle.

We're located in the heart of downtown Calgary - steps from theatres, the philharmonic, galleries and shopping. As we're in the midst of the business center, we're within easy reach for business lunches or casual meetings.

Thomsons is featuring #FreeRangeCulinary' which unveils an inspirationally driven menu that uses local and sustainable product. Thomsons menus are designed to encourage the natural creativity of our culinary team, and inspire 'free-range' in our kitchens.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
SUNDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Brunch 10:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner - Closed

MONDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Lunch 11:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner - Closed

TUESDAY - FRIDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 10:30am
Lunch 11:30am – 1:30pm
Dinner 5pm - 9pm

SATURDAY
Breakfast 6:30am – 12:00pm (breakfast buffet)
Breakfast 6:30am - 11:00am (ala carte)

Lunch - Closed
Dinner 5pm – 9pm

Cross Street:
Stephen Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 717-1234 ext. 4500

Website:
http://hyatthotels.hyatt.com/corporate/restaurants/Thomsons/en/Home.html

Entertainment:


Catering:
For all your Catering needs, please contact our Catering Department. Our Team of professional Catering managers will assist you to create memorable events.

Parking Details:
Full Service Valet or Self Parking available. Diners will have Self Parking Validated.

Public Transit:
Calgary Transit LRT stop directly beside our property.

Executive Chef:
Hideyuki Hirooka

Private Party Facilities:
Thomsons provides an excellent setting for any occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Amrut Misra: (403) 537-4446

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thomsons Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Romantic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was amazing, we had the maple brussel sprouts and the polenta. If you're not a fan of brussel sprouts, you will be after these ones.

Tags: Fun, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always solid food and service. It is a consistent place for business lunches.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Really glad I chose Thompsons for Valentine's Day supper this year. Great food. Great attentive service. Thank you so much for making it a very special evening and thanks again for the lovely rose too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great Brunch! Lots of food, well prepared and displayed. Really almost cant believe all that for $35. full breakfast cold food, fruit parfaits, vegan food, eggs, wafles pancakes made to order. carved beef, shrimp, cold cuts, salads, small dimsum, soups,desserts and candy, crazy Lit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Oddly - the server does not know how to open and present wine for tasting!

We do like the convenience and the quality of food for before CPO concerts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good business lunch. Very friendly service, maybe a bit slow. Good food. Nice wine list by the glass, notable Canadian selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Much better food this time than I remember from years ago. Big improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting Calgary from the UK, we took friends for brunch here. There is so much selection everyone could find plenty to like. The food is beautifully presented and the service good; our juice and coffee were constantly refilled. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 5, 2017

If anyone is even considering Thomson's take a chance and go to it! My family and I (which was 5 people) got an easy reservation which was not needed as it wasn't busy in the dinning room at all, and we absolutely loved it. First of all, it is in the Hyatt which has gorgeous art pieces everywhere, including the restaurant. The service was fantastic and they were always there to fill water and get you anything you needed. It was quiet so anyone who may have some issues hearing it would be a perfect location. The food for the money was fabulous and the wine was delicious and they had a great selection. Take a chance at this hotel restaurant, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Nice location in Hyatt with great quality food and service. Good for business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a wonderful meal before we went to Pops Show at Jack Singer

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First visit to this establishment and i must say that the food selection and presentation was very good. Their level of service left much to be desired. They asked if we wanted bread, after taking our order, to which we declined. Yet, just prior to our meals arriving our server delivered us the bread and then moments later it was removed by another server. Our server did NOT return after the first few bites to inquire on our impression of our meals.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love the brunch here!! It is the same atmosphere as other 5 star locations with better food and more options for the cost.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Not much to say beyond superb! If you HAVE to go downtown, then compensate for that misery by dining at Thomsons!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Our steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went there for New Year Eve dinner. The waiter was absolutely experienced and respectful. Food was perfect. I got Irish coffee for desert which was the best I have ever had. I got a white wine and my husband got a red one. Both were awesome. Also, the restaurant is really kid's friendly.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Thomson's had an amazing New Years Eve dinner special. Avacado and pistachio salad to start, Prime rib and prawns with mashed potatoes and veggies for the main and a delicious white chocolate and pomegranate dessert. Plus champagne all for $65 a person. My parents and I really enjoyed our dinner! Best prime rib we have ever had! Service was great! We will come back soon for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent New Years menu. Excellent, knowledgeable and friendly but not intrusive waiter and Chef's serving staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner menu and service was great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. Great menu. Food was was great. Wait staff were busy with the number of tables they were working. Our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. In a restaurant of this calibre you shouldn't have to ask for another drink.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 17, 2016

It can tell that Thomsons always ensure the high standard of good and services. Nick is one of the outstanding servers.

Tags: Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My niece and I have been coming to Thomsons for our Christmas brunch. There are plenty of options for both of us. Look forward to it every year.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Recently had Sunday brunch and was overall happy with the meal. Attentive servers are always checking on you and making sure your coffee and juice is topped up. Very good brunch selection ranging from usual breakfast to the more luncheon variety. Only complaint is food is not hot enough .... eggs, bacon etc were lukewarm... Did not see covers on these dishes ... maybe that would help.. Love the candy selection in the dessert section.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wasn't very happy with the location of our table. There was a lot of traffic by staff and customers alike and we had to move our seats to make way for them, every time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The breakfast prices are unreasonable and I expect get paid because tourists don't know what their other local options are. $25 for the breakfast buffet is an insult and will likely prevent me from returning. I can leave the table at Cora's (which is only a couple of blocks away) stuffed for $15.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The staff was very efficient and attentive. They kept the water and coffee cups full and removed the used dishes promptly, as well as replenishing the utensils. It was a birthday celebration for one of my friends and the staff somehow knew and brought a dessert with a candle in it and they all sang "Happy Birthday" to her. We moved to the lounge, where two of us ordered prosecca but, by mistake, we were brought Mimosas. The waiter realized the mistake before he reached us but served one of us her wine and took the mimosas back. He returned with the proseccas and then later returned with the mimosas, on the house. He was ver attentive and friendly. One of my friends knew him and his family from many years before. All in all, we enjoyed the day and Thomsons was a perfect choice of venue.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great brunch!

Full breakfast with waffles, pancakes and eggs bennedict made to order. Roast beef, shrimp, salads, sliced cold cuts, soup, asian dumplings, nice array of desserts!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Amazing service, great food and ambiance! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Accommodated our request for a lounge seat to watch the World Series. Very friendly server. We returned after our CPO concert to the lounge and the same server took great care of us. Food was very well prepared and presented as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Sunday brunch was featured an absolutely wondeful food selection and service. A tremendous value in the heart of DT Calgary.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I love going to Thomsons for Sunday Brunch. I love the atmosphere and the food choices. It's not just pancakes and eggs. There was a person in our group who was on a special diet and even she made a comment about the variety and quality of food. $34 is a bit pricey, but still well worth it for a great selection and quality.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Have not found a breakfast/brunch place in Calgary that we like better than Thomsons at the Hyatt. The staff are all so welcoming and friendly. The brunch and breakfast buffet items are all top quality. You can tell that everyone takes pride in what they do.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The sandwich/soup/salad trio was no longer available on the lunch menu which was disappointing. I ordered the cobb salad instead and it was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Did not care for the Wrap this time. to mushy and doey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Quality of service seems to have declined. After food was served the waiter did not check back with us until everyone had finished their meals.

Food quality:

hamburger patty was similar to a frozen, president's choice patty

fake bacon bits in caesar salad, (but the chicken was tasty and moist)

most of our table was poured 1/2 cup of coffee and charged $4.00/cup

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

There for brunch.

Great value at $34 for all they have. Full breakfast with smoked salmon, eggs benedict, waffles and pancakes made on request so they are always fresh. roast beef, dimsum, salads, sliced cold cuts, great selection of desserts and candies for the kids! great place to spoil yourself and family!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Historic, Family Style, Cozy, Bar Seating, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to Thomson's for their Sunday Brunch buffet. It was for a birthday celebration. From being seated, our waiter was inattentive and often nowhere to be seen. Any requests for drinks or refills we had to hunt him down to ask and even then his response was very slow. Orders for waffles, pancakes, and Eggs Benedict had to be made through waiter. I was waiting over half an hour for 3 small pancakes. When we saw our waiter talking for over 15 mins and hugging people at another table, I went to find acting manager to complain. Even though the service was slightly better afterwards, the waiter's rude and unfriendly attitude continued.

Food quality was good, but disappointed with selection. There needed to be a fruit platter , not just melon. A raw veggie with dip plate and salad options would be other suggestions. Not a lot of options for vegetarians.

Home made hash browns were just halved small potatoes. Not what I would call hash browns. Omelet line was slow, as was getting orders for pancakes etc. The brewed coffee was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As always, the brunch at Thomsons was exceptional. The food was great and the service fantastic. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a reservation for 6 pm for 4. We were sat and ignored for 15 minutes. Did not even see a server and people after us were served. We got up and walked out and no one even noticed!! The service at Milestones was way better than here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Having not dined at Thomsons in just over a year, I had high hopes for our dinner this evening. Previous experiences were decent and with the current state of the Calgary economy, I had expected restaurants of this calibre to have stepped up their game to provide the best possible service.

Sadly, not only was I disappointed, but I was in awe as to how this train-wreck of a dining experience unfolded and continued to get worse at every turn.

Right from the start, Nick, our waiter rubbed me the wrong way as he reacted and looked at me dismissively, almost with contempt, that I would order something other than an alcoholic beverage.

From ignoring me when I informed him of my allergies and then subsequently screwing up my order to getting annoyed at me when I let him know that the order was wrong, things just got worse as our dining experience unfolded. The kitchen overcooked my guest's steak and Nick informed him that it would take at least a half hour to get a new one. My guest simply told him to take it away as we did not have the time to wait that long for a replacement. Nick assured us that it would be taken off the bill.

Finally, when the bill arrived, sure enough, the steak was not removed. When I flagged Nick down to tell him, he again seemed annoyed that I would bring this to his attention.

Throughout these multiple mishaps, no effort was made by the manager to check in with us or apologize for the multiple mixups we encountered.

Overall, one of our worst dining experiences in recent memory and would definitely not recommend Thompson's for the mediocre quality food and substandard service. There are much better restaurants for you to spend your hard earned money at that deserve your business in this economic downturn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My friend and I had a lovely supper before we went to an event at Jack Singer. The free parking is a real plus. Our waitress on Friday night was very helpful and cheery

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Was there for thanksgiving dinner with family. Good crowd, menu was very nice with a local free range turkey menu item. Server was attentive and knowledgeable, food was hot, plated well and quick.

They even had Flapper Pie!

Overall a great Thanksgiving!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was excellent. Our server was very polite and always ensuring that are drinks were topped up and take an initiative to have conversation with us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Went out for dinner , an loved what we ordered . An was curious how the chef prepared our meal . He came out to explain how our supper was prepared .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had a wonderful date night here, the food is excellent as always, and so is the service. I come here often for lunch during the week with my assistant and clients. Never had any issues and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went there for lunch ,

Food is good , but service is bad

Waiter or waitress didn't care of Customer

We need ask them for new forks for dessert

And we can't find anyone around 5 min

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything was excellent , the service an the portions an the professionalism from our waiter Nick .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is one of the if not the best Sunday Brunch Spread in Calgary! Not sure why I don't see more news from food media on this place.

Great food! lots of choice, made to order egg benedict, pancakes, waffles etc all included in price!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Restaurant was noisier than expected due to a large rambunctious party at the next table. I highly recommend the seafood salad.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 14, 2016

My Mom, daughter (7yrs old) and I went for Sunday brunch. The selection was extensive and all delicious. We left completely stuffed. I can not comment on the value as we had a gift certificate to pay for our meals. The decor and ambiance is great. The service was good. You are able to order eggs benedict, waffles, pancakes, and eggs from the server on top of everything else in the buffet style brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.