About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: 2394720693x1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lobster - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Lobster Bisque - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Key Lime Cheesecake - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Warm Granny Smith Apple Crisp - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Lobster And Crab Stuffed Pompano - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Sea Bass, Scallop And Prawn Trio - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Bruleed Gorgonzola Steak And Lobster Tail - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL

Report a photo problem

Lobster - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Lobster Bisque - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Key Lime Cheesecake - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Warm Granny Smith Apple Crisp - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Lobster And Crab Stuffed Pompano - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Sea Bass, Scallop And Prawn Trio - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Bruleed Gorgonzola Steak And Lobster Tail - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Waterfront (21)
See All
Quiet Conversation (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Historic (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Private Room (4)
Live Music (4)
Authentic (4)
Fireplace (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hostess was a snob sarcasstic and rolled ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Hostess was a snob sarcasstic and rolled her eyes when a question was asked. The waiter never came back and asked how our meal was which was horrible not exactly what I wanted considering I specifically asked about that menu item. The picture is misleading (thinking you can see the beach while your eating) but when you look out the window at night your looking at yourself . I will not be back. Sanibel offers a lot of restaurants and this will not be my choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice atmosphere, but food was just avera ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Nice atmosphere, but food was just average. Portions were huge and a lot of our meal was wasted.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Charming Restaurant with great food. Nic ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Charming Restaurant with great food. Nice view of the ocean.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was especially nice to m ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant was especially nice to my sister for her birthday. They gave her a personally signed greeting card and a delicious dessert. It was a wonderful place to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food just wasn't good, across the bo ...

 
·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food just wasn't good, across the board. Disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We ordered a variety of appetizers - all ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ordered a variety of appetizers - all were spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Slow service at lunch time but good if y ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Slow service at lunch time but good if you are relaxing on vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great traditional atmosphere

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great traditional atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish! Service great! Food delivery a l ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delish! Service great! Food delivery a little slow but all in all great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful resort but not the place to go ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Beautiful resort but not the place to go for Christmas dinner. $%0 per person for a buffet which ran out of some of their food, and our reservations for for 7:15!

Goof place for a NON-Special occasion meal. The person taking our reservation should have told us it was a buffet ONLY night.

Overall my wife and I were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was perfect. Lentil soup had ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Everything was perfect. Lentil soup had so much flavor. App scallops were outstanding. We shared a burger and quesadilla. So much, so good we had it for dinner.

Absolutely beautiful setting.

Hostess Megan and serverTara were friendly yet professional.

Can't wait to return

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Historic, , Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely and delicious meal ungracious sur ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Lovely and delicious meal ungracious surroundings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice menu and good service. A bit pricey ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Nice menu and good service. A bit pricey--even for Sanibel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A beautiful setting with below-average f ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

A beautiful setting with below-average food. A player piano that loudly drowned out any conversation. Prices that were totally unjustified. Will never return!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Impeccable service, gourmet food , spe ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Impeccable service, gourmet food , spectacular presentation, very fine dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If a person turns down the position

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

If a person turns down the position

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food of a high standard We enjoyed our e ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food of a high standard

We enjoyed our evening and plan to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I eat here regularly duri ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I eat here regularly during our vacations and tried the Thanksgiving buffet for the first time. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of offerings. The raw bar included oysters, crab legs, mussels, and clams in addition to the standard cocktail shrimp, and the traditional Thanksgiving turkey and sides were great, particularly the stuffed dark meat. The value was amazing at under $50 per person!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving meal. Bu ...

 
·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving meal. Buffet with a wide choice of both hot and cold, regularly replenished, well presented.

All staff friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived, had a first drink and ordere ...

 
·Dined on November 23, 2016

We arrived, had a first drink and ordered our dinner within 15 minutes. In another 15 minutes the appetizer arrived, and we ordered a second drink. We then waited over an hour for the main course, and eventually the house comped us another drink. The waitress was obviously distressed for us as we waited, and it certainly wasn't her fault. My husband chose a $39 Scallop/Prawn and something platter. The scallops were as if the chef had taken Costco's jumbo scallop and sliced it in half. The overcooked. A terrible value along with a terrible wait. We live on Sanibel and were looking for something special for a special anniversary. It didn't happen at The Thistle, and we won't be giving it another opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

A fabulous evening with fabulous food as ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

A fabulous evening with fabulous food as usual. We've been dining at the Thistle Lodge for over 30 years and have always had a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last minute decision to go out for lunch ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Last minute decision to go out for lunch and it was great. I had the battered grouper and it was light and flaky and nicely crispy. His club sandwich was huge and we ended up with some leftovers. Beer was a little pricey but again the restaurant is in a condo setting so kind of expected. Would definitely go again if in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. We were ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food and service was great. We were able to dine outside in a quiet and comfortable atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner with another couple. ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went to dinner with another couple. We both had 2 for 1 dinner ($20 max value) coupons from the local Sanibel Chamber of Commerce. The restaurant gladly and graciously accepted both of them. (sometimes restaurants only accept one coupon per table, and we spent over $100 after deducting the coupon per couple anyway). Although this sounds like an oxymoron the atmosphere is casual, comfortable, romantic, old school, historical building, elegance - right on the beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Our waitress was friendly, knowledgable, and just pleasant to talk to. The menu had a large variety of items, including steaks and seafood. I could not make my decision between Asian Braised Short Ribs of Beef or Pork Osso Bucco. Luckily, they were out of Short Ribs so Osso Bucco it was. Delicious meat falling off the bone. Great Lamb Lollipop appetizers, Lobster Bisque soup and wonderful Creme Brulee and Apple Crisp with ice cream deserts. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time to visit Thistle L ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first time to visit Thistle Lodge and we had such a lovely experience. We were celebrating a birthday and went for lunch. What a beautiful view from the dining room. Our service was terrific, but, because of a medical reason, what my husband really wanted, he couldn't order, our server came back to our table and said the chef would be happy to prepare the dish so that my husband could have what he really wanted. Full marks on all accounts and the Bloody Mary's were great!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the most beautiful restaurants in ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

One of the most beautiful restaurants in Florida. Food,ambiance,and service was absolutely superb.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

it was great we all loved it we enjoye ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

it was great we all loved it we enjoyed the moment and would return when in Sanibel

Lunch was delightful and we loved it

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been eating at this restaurant fo ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

I have been eating at this restaurant for over 35 years stopped in this year to have a nice meal food was way below par the service was at a snails pace. There was no manager on site the food had mold on it my wife became very ill and ended up with food poisoning from this restaurant.Beautiful location kitchen staff and wait staff are way below par for the prices they charge on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Absolutely serene, beautiful, amazing fo ...

 
·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely serene, beautiful, amazing food, speciality drinks and service that is uber individualized to your needs. If you want pampered and spoiled this is the spot. Thistle Lodge is unmatched, period.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at th ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Thistle Lodge in 1991 and went back in 2016 to celebrate our 50th. The staff treated us as though we were regulars and celebrated with us. Our son had contacted them in advance to request some special services and they complied with enthusiasm. They ended our meal with a complimentary dessert.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

After mentioning to Rosie our waitress t ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

After mentioning to Rosie our waitress that it was our anniversary she brought us 2 complimentary glasses of champagne & then a candlelit brownie sundae! Your extra touches added to the ambiance & delicious food!

Tags: Dancing, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere for a quiet dinner. ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere for a quiet dinner. Has many small room spaces. Food was fantastic and service was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Setting...Attentive Service...Gr ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Elegant Setting...Attentive Service...Great local fish (grouper)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice quiet dinner. It was a Monday nigh ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Nice quiet dinner. It was a Monday night so there was no one there. The food was good and service was nice as well. A bit pricey but it was a special night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

tremendous view, terrific food, and Dani ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

tremendous view, terrific food, and Daniel was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the cocktails, food and histori ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved the cocktails, food and historic ambiance!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to the Thistle ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our second visit to the Thistle Lodge this year and we enjoyed our meals immensely! Blaise had the octopus appetizer and Karen had the lobster bisque and both were outstanding. We both had the blackened snapper for our entrees and it was superb! The wine list is excellent but we ordered the peartinis for our cocktails and they were perfect. We were seated with a fantastic view of the Gulf with the sun setting. The waitress and other staff attending our table were very accommodating and pleasant. We live in Ft. Myers and do not eat out on Sanibel often (Blaise loves to cook and is quite the gourmet chef so we don't eat out frequently) but when we do want to drive out to the Island, we will be making reservations for the Thistle Lodge as it has become our favorite restaurant in the area. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our seventh visit to the restau ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our seventh visit to the restaurant and as always it was a great experience. Service was excellent as well as the food. The food is a little pricey but combined with the atmosphere and scenic gulf view it's worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our dining experienc ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

We absolutely loved our dining experience. Fantastic service, food was amazing and the view is perfection. Please don't miss this opportunity next time you are in Sanibel, FL. We will be back with our next trip, without a doubt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I win a gift certificate, so a friend an ...

 
·Dined on October 19, 2016

I win a gift certificate, so a friend and I had dinner. Seated in turret room inside with Vegitation blocking our view.

Outstanding service & good food; but pricey!

Would do this on only a special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.