Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today
Special offers available. See details

Thistle Lodge Restaurant

4.1
903 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Fusion / Eclectic
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Waterfront
Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(239) 472-9200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Wolff
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
West Gulf Road
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

What 903 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Quiet
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 6 days ago

We had the reservation at 2:30pm. When we arrived there, the restaurant was closed and nobody helped us! I’ll never go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service great food great experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's Day Brunch. Quality of food and service was good. Location was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My husband surprised me, and booked the Thistle Lodge for Mother’s Day. Thistle Lodge is right on beach, so the view is beautiful. We were all anticipating their amazing brunch, but what a disappointment. For starters, there was nothing special for moms. No flowers on the table or any special cocktail such as a mimosa, nothing. We were all starving and headed right for the buffet. I absolutely love salads, but at their tiny buffet the only salad they offered was a basic one consisting of lettuce, tomato, cucumbers, onions, and croutons. How Boring. I went to get a bowl of the crab bisque, but they were out of spoons, then I proceeded to wait 15 minutes for a spoon. Now my soup was cold. We all got the crab claws of course, but struggled to open them since they didn’t offer a lobster fork or crackers to open, so we finally gave up. My boys didn’t eat much, and couldn’t find anything they really loved except the waffles and bacon. My husband and I got the lox, which happens to be our favorite, with all the toppings but where were the bagels???? No bagels, Seriously! And the only vegetable they displayed was a steamed and Soggy broccoli and cauliflower combo, maybe that’s their idea of gourmet- I guess you were suppose to pair that with their dried out wild rice. Last and not at all good, was the dessert table, an array of Pre-sliced pies, I’m assuming they had just thawed. I didn’t even bother.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Family get together. Great food, great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Excellent food and ambiance!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 27, 2018

My wife had the braised short ribs and it mostly fat, could not believe they served it that way.
Also to Octopus was under cooked and very little for the price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Ambiance and sophistication was outstanding. The Lobster Bisque and Pompano entree was excellent and perfectly cooked. The creme brulee was very good.
The yellow tail snapper unfortunately was over-cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Our waitress Rosie was exceptional. Food and sparkling wine were superb. Presentation of food was wonderful. Both entrees were flavorful, hot and we really enjoyed ourselves. Also loved the pianist in the dining area which added exceptional ambiance! Lovely place for our anniversary dinner!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Excellent meal and service. Nice view of the gulf and very pleasant evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Mario, Waiter/acting Manager was exceptional. He also showed us options for a family dinner for our 50th wedding anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here and had a delicious meal in a lovely setting. Special shout-out to our waiter, Mario, who was kind, attentive, personable, and well-informed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Would probably return. Pompano very good. Short rib acceptable, not superior. Server very attentive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Disappointing experience based on other reviews. Waitress told us special was broccoli cheese soup so we ordered and upon arrival it was actually cream of mushroom. When we told her she said oops my bad we never had cream of broccoli. We did eat some t reluctantly and she did not take off our bill. Also she r commended tuna over another fish. It wasn’t great and when We requested another fish she gave it to us but up charged us for side of risotto which came with Tina. We are happy to pay for a good meal but when we feel we’ve been railroaded our facility doesn’t address concerns it’s not good to pay. $200+ for dinner and leave unsatisfied.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We made 1:15pm reservations for Sunday brunch which was scheduled from 11:00am to 2:30pm. Other than the omelette which was well prepared, the remainder selection was poor, dried out from being heated too long and the selections were very limited given the price. Considering the cost was $29.99 per person it was hardly worth it. Will never go there for Sunday brunch again.
Other than the brunch, we have had good experience with having dinner here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Decent meal and service with a nice view of the beach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Good was excellent. Would definitely return. Might also be fun just to have snacks and drinks at cocktail hour.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

As always, Thistle Inn was delightful. Highly recommend the scallops with lobster. The grouper is another great option. Our waiter Lazlo was helpful, professional and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Historic gem on Sanibel. Fab wines. Approachable. Great for good conversations. Lovely setting and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Wonderful ocean views and very nice inside

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We chose this restaurant upon the suggestion of a local friend from Naples.
Unfortunately, I was underwhelmed with the experience.
While our server was excellent and very accommodating, the entrees were mediocre at best.
I ordered the Sea Bass, Scallop & Prawn Trio which consisted of a scallop, 2 small grilled shrimp, and the fish fillet. The shrimp were a huge disappointment as was the very plain scoop of white rice and vegetables (baby bok choy & carrot) the seafood was propped up on. There were 5 ‘baby carrots’ the kind you put in your child’s lunch bag ... no seasoning or slicing.
My other guests ordered the Lobster & Lump Crab “Diver” Scallops... again, mediocre at best. I hope for the sake I f future diners, that we just came on an ‘off’ night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great place for a 50th Birthday dinner with my family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Whenever we are on the west coast of Florida, we always go for dinner at the Thistle Lodge. The entrees are always interesting and fresh, and the lobster bisque is a must. We always feel well cared-for when we are there. Always a special visit

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

My teenaged son and I loved our dinner at Thistle Lodge. The ambiance is charming and historic yet not dated and we enjoyed the gulf view. Our food was delicious and the service was friendly and prompt. Definitely a must for future trips to Sanibel!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

My husband and I both had the fresh fish which was great. His was blackened and mine had a little coconut curry broth and veggies. Both were excellent. The lobster bisque was awful...like glue. The view is beautiful but little things turned me off..the menus both the kids and adults were filthy and the window sils were dirty. With a little boost this place could be a go to place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Tanya was an amazing waitperson! She took our food allergy seriously and made sure we felt comfortable. That is worth more than anything. Plus, she made sure we had plenty of Alaskan King Crab legs during the buffet when we were the last people to leave.
The service here is quite impressive-with waitstaff bending backwards to help. The buffet was great.
Thank you, Tanya!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

First, we had no idea when we made the reservation on Open Table for Easter that it would be a buffet. We generally are not fans of buffets for all of the same reasons I will list here. The hot food was not hot. We like to eat a salad before our entree, so we went to the salad buffet first. There was hardly any lettuce, no cucumbers, very few shredded carrots and croutons and no labels on the dressings or two already assembled salads. There was no knife to cut the cheese on the cheese tray. I had the lamb for my entree and it was cold. By the we got up to get dessert there was very little left to choose from. All of this for $50 per person!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Excellent, as usual. We came for Easter brunch. Everything was fantastic.
We have dinner here often. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Chose the Thistle Lodge for a Saturday evening dinner over Easter weekend. Arrived almost 30 minutes early but was seated immediately; the restaurant was not too crowded at 7:45. Live piano set a nice tone for a relaxing, quiet evening. The decor is more of a timeless beach feel with contemporary accents - not stuffy while still being elevated. Decent wine list. Warm bread served promptly following cocktail/beverage order. Two guests enjoyed the soup of the day (beef vegetable) and lobster bisque. Entrees ordered: Local Pompano, blackened - excellent. Veal Tenderloin Milanese - good, perhaps a little underdeveloped. Grilled Vegetable Cannelloni - excellent, albeit perhaps too much sauce. Finished by splitting the coconut chocolate nougat crust mouse cake - unbelievably good - and espresso. Superb service the entire night. For a more special evening in the Fort Myers & Islands area, it's a great choice. Will return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We were able to order after 20 Minutes in the restaurant! Wine bottle was opened with a lot of "fingering" at the bottle neck. My wife's main was served when my empty starter plate was still on the table. Food quality was poor and service was unprofessional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The lollipop lamb chop app. is great even for dinner. The views are spectacular. They had some nice wine that was not over priced. I would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Beautiful property and setting. Service was excellent. We had short rib dinner which was excellent. Menu was not clear about what was included with entree so we ordered a side of veggies. Some vegetables came with dinner but extra sides were perfectly cooked so we were glad we ordered them. We never felt rushed to leave the table which, in Naples in season, was most appreciated. We would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The outside dining area was right next to the pool. I made a trip from Pine Island with my elderly father to have brunch, and then ate while staring at tourists in bathing suits and listening to families and kids. I expected tourists but also expected outdoor ocean view dining.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Beautiful setting. Apps were delicious
Entrees came over cooked and dry. Sent them back
Expected more from the restaurant.
No real attempt made to make things right. Response give half heartedly. Offer made by both manager and waiter to try most expensive special in place of over cooked meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Had to change rooms because one table was so loud - great water views

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Excellent food, an outstanding waiter. The lodge is first class. Will return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Open Table is a very bad service to use. They have a very bad privacy policy. The will exploit your personal information in every way they possibly can.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Excellent intimate dining experience. The service was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Thistle Lodge at The Casa Ybel Resort is a beautiful waterfront restaurant, worth the price. We had surf and turf, snapper and twin Maine lobster tails. The food was served in a timely manner, hot and fresh. The service was professional and personalized (Rosie is fantastic). The manager checked in with us briefly, which was much appreciated. Having a window seat looking out to the ocean is fantastic!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
23

Tweets by Thistle Lodge Restaurant