About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: 2394720693x1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lobster
  • Lobster Bisque
  • Key Lime Cheesecake
  • Warm Granny Smith Apple Crisp
  • Lobster And Crab Stuffed Pompano
  • Sea Bass, Scallop And Prawn Trio
  • Bruleed Gorgonzola Steak And Lobster Tail
Lobster
Lobster Bisque
Key Lime Cheesecake
Warm Granny Smith Apple Crisp
Lobster And Crab Stuffed Pompano
Sea Bass, Scallop And Prawn Trio
Bruleed Gorgonzola Steak And Lobster Tail

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Southwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Romantic
Ft. Myers
1 More
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Waterfront (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Casual (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I just returned from dinner ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I just returned from dinner at the Thistle Lodge Restaurant. What a wonderful experience. Our waitress, Natalie, was spot on with the service. She was courteous, prompt and very engaging. The food was wonderful and I would highly recommend this restaurant to others staying in the Captiva/Sanibel area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Loved the a ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent service and food. Loved the ambience of the historic building and the view.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I loved the historical feel of The Thist ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I loved the historical feel of The Thistle Lodge. Great decor and ambiance. The food was outstanding too. I was there celebrating a special occasion and I have a severe food allergy. Not only did they take my allergy very seriously, but they also went out of there way to recognize me on my birthday.

The only downside was that they seemed to wind down early and we felt like we were keeping the staff when they wanted to go (we were the last table), so we didn't order dessert and I wish we had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely experience from the welc ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a lovely experience from the welcome by the host to the beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico and an entertaining server. The food was delicious and abundant, overall a very pleasant evening,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We stumbled upon the Thistle Lodge and f ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We stumbled upon the Thistle Lodge and found it fabulous. The waiter's suggestion the Ahi Tuna Taco was right on the mark. It was outstanding. The next time we are in the area, we will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the greeting at rec ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the greeting at reception and the overall service in this "fine dining" establishment. We return every year for the last 6 yrs (maybe more) for our anniversary. This year was a BIG one so we really wanted a romantic evening but instead it lacked everything it should have been. The receptionist greeted us with a ho-hum attitude as if we bothered her because we showed up early, one other couple was in the place and she sat us next to the stairs instead of a window seat as we had requested in our Open table reservation. Next, the server Dan wasn't engaged in an enthusiastic way when showing us the menu, nor did he point out anything specific that could be tempting to our palette. There was no attempt to highlight our evening in any way. The lobster bisque is truly delicious but both my husbands surf n turf (at $60.!) and my trio (seabass/2shrimp/1scallop) were less than delicious and had more veggies on the plate than the main part of the meal. We shared the salted caramel cheesecake which was rich and thick but its doubtful we'll be returning for just the soup and dessert.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

While this restaurant is beachfront, the ...

vip
·Dined on August 12, 2016

While this restaurant is beachfront, there are only a handful of tables that are along the window.. and the never smiling hostess will never go out of her way to put you there...even when you book ahead. The food is good, not great. During the season I'm sure it's worse but we have yet to go during that time period. Very disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful setting. Great service.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Beautiful setting. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We regularly enjoy the food, view and am ...

vip
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We regularly enjoy the food, view and ambiance of The Thistle Lodge. Great service, food and presentations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was not busy so when we were there ar ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was not busy so when we were there are waiter was very attentive and funny. Food came out quickly and as expected.

We enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were looking forward to a nice meal b ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were looking forward to a nice meal by the water. The dining room was not busy at all when we arrived. When seated, we were seated in the corner while there were plenty of open tables by the window. After an extremely long wait, the waitress arrived to take our drink order. She was not welcoming at all and almost rude. The drinks took forever to arrive. Eventually, our order was taken for our meal. My wife enjoyed her scallops and my steak did not have much flavor.

We were hoping for a better experience and it did not happen. Also, I tripped on the uneven flooring while leaving our table. Immediately afterwards, the piano player says over the microphone, "Have a nice trip. See you in the fall." Nice guy. That was the perfect ending to a really bad evening at the Thistle Lodge.

We went to The Sandbar the night before and it was 1000% better. We should have went there again instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great restaurant for a special occasion. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great restaurant for a special occasion. We we're celebrating a retirement and an anniversary. We were seated in an octagonal room with a view of the beach. Rosie, our server, provided wonderful service throughout the evening. She recommended the scallops which were excellent. All of our food was quite tasty. The night was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were gracious as we dined with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The staff were gracious as we dined with an infant for our anniversary. Our only complaint was that the room where we were seated was warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

A beautiful restaurant with a great atmo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

A beautiful restaurant with a great atmosphere especially for romance. Prompt and friendly service and good quality food

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Payed $16 for a Walmart cheese and crack ...

 
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Payed $16 for a Walmart cheese and crackers tray. Not what I would expect from a fine dining restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

The lighting was bright, room was noisy, ...

 
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The lighting was bright, room was noisy, server had to be asked if there were any chef specials, and my husband's Mahi was extremely overcooked. We left disappointed as the setting is beautiful but the overall dining experience was fair at best. I would compare ThistleLodge to Mucky Duck or Bubble Room's prices without the quality or service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Have had a time share at Casa Ybel for 2 ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Have had a time share at Casa Ybel for 27 yrs and this was the first time eating in the main Resturant for one reason or another. Everything was perfect! Service, food, ambiance! Thank you for a wonderful dinning experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful location, nice menu. We both ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Beautiful location, nice menu. We both had a seafood entree and they were excellent. The water view is breathtaking. On our visit there was a destination wedding in progress on the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A "just ok dinner" not worth the price t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

A "just ok dinner" not worth the price tag. I ordered the special -- two lobster tails -- which were tasty but rather small. What was not small was the price tag for the entree -- $52, which the waitress failed to mention but highly recommended the dish while I was trying to make up my mind. I think it's reprehensible when they don't tell you the price. (You feel taken for a ride as the most expensive entrees on the menu are in the 30-40 range). The accompanying rice was tasteless and the broccoli overcooked and bland. The appetizer salad with gorgonzola, on the other hand, was nicely made and delicious. Creme brûlée for dessert was ok, nothing outstanding. View and ambiance is real nice and the staff friendly. However, the price paid vis-a-vis the food is not worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent experience, sit back relax and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent experience, sit back relax and enjoy the view and fresh seafood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience as ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience as we were celebrating with friends. It is a tradition for us to celebrate three birthdays and two anniversaries with a special dinner. The Thistle Lodge was a perfect venue with excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful meal with a fantastic view of ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Beautiful meal with a fantastic view of the beach. It was hot in the restaurant and we were told the ceiling fans would only make it worse? The temp inside was the only wrinkle on an otherwise flawless evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing first time experience!! Would de ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Amazing first time experience!! Would definitely recommend to anyone and would definitely go back!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the gorgeous, beautifully lan ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We enjoyed the gorgeous, beautifully landscaped view of the gulf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were spending Father's Day weekend in ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were spending Father's Day weekend in Captiva and I wanted a more upscale waterfront dining option than most of the island has to offer. This was exactly what I was looking for. My husband felt very special and the food was amazing. Everyone raved about their dishes, even the kids. The kids menu was also perfect. Not your typical Mac n cheese and hot dogs menu. My kids really enjoyed the cheese and crackers appetizer.

I had the macadamia encrusted magi mahi and my husband did the surf and turf. We didn't leave anything on our plates. Great wine selection too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location overlooking the beach on ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great location overlooking the beach on Sanibel. Decor was upscale for a beach resort. Very attentive waitstaff. Nice list for specialty cocktails and good wine list. Appetizers were very good in size and well prepared. Entrees were served promptly and were at temperature. Steak was cooked as requested. One of three lobster tails was over cooked. Desserts were very good and there was good variety. I definitely will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is great and so is the food and ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The view is great and so is the food and service! Best time to go is when the sun is out to enjoy the view.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A birthday dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Once again we were in Captiva for vacation to celebrate my husband's birthday. That means the Thistle Lodge for his celebration dinner. And as always, they were outstanding in service, ambiance, and, especially food. There was a card signed by all of the staff for my hubby and a brownie, ice cream, whipped cream and a candle for his complimentary birthday dessert. It was pretty wonderful. My oriental shortribs were a flavor like none other and my husband's pork "osso bucco" was just as flavorful. Both meats were "fall apart" tender. Natalie took great care of us. Thank you guys for being the highlight of our trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, excellent food, service and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent, excellent food, service and ambiance! What better place to watch the beach and sunset while dining on some excellent food on the island! We particularly enjoyed the freshly made bread, warm and service sliced with the knife in the center of the loaf -- very creative!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint with an Ocean View

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I are always looking for a hidden gem when it comes to dining while visiting the Fort Myers area and we came upon this one after doing some research. Cute little island resort with plenty of history, a beautiful view and very surprisingly good food. Our waitress was more than helpful and attentive. We had a very enjoyable meal only to be outdone by the great desert choices!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sanibel Charm

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is my 4th time vacationing in Sanibel. One of my favorites to dine is the Thistle Lodge. This is beach dining at its best. Our server, Dan, was very nice and remembered me from last year. The food is delicious and the drinks are wonderful. I truly love this place. Thanks to all for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Simply lovely! Beautiful table view, exc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Simply lovely! Beautiful table view, excellent server, and an amazing meal. There's a formidable wine list and save room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It has been a few years since we ate at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

It has been a few years since we ate at Thistle and we chose it for our 46th wedding anniversary

I was very disappointed in the deterioration of service and the food was just so so

I have removed it from my favorite list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We had Caesar salads and an order of Oct ...

vip
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We had Caesar salads and an order of Octopus. The salads arrived drenched in dressing so that much of the salad was inedible and the octopus arrived charred and burnt instead of grilled and tender. Was so disappointed with the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Excellent meal. We have eaten at many re ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent meal. We have eaten at many restaurants in Sanibel. This ranks at the top.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great black grouper and great service. T ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great black grouper and great service. This is a must and is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a Fair Restaurant

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Service was extremely slow, and the waiter never offered an explanation. We had to flag him down a few times before he paid any attention. We waited 45 minutes after placing our order - much too long.

The salmon and snapper (ordered by 2 of the group of 4) were good. The others had soft shell crabs. Mine were almost tasteless and cold to boot.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was delicious, seafood tower fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was delicious, seafood tower for 2 was perfect, the lobster bisque was the best I've ever had (and I'm from New England), great wine selection, keylime cheesecake was delightful. Best dinner on the island, set in a great atmosphere with live piano. Our waiter Chris was the best. I will be coming back the next time we visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow what a special Mother's day

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great meal, a fantastic Old Fashion made by Casey the bartender and a very romantic setting as we gazed out onto the Gulf of Mexico. We would definitely recommend the Ahai Tuna appetizer and the fresh fish special of the night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Thistle Lodge is quaint and reminds you ...

 
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Thistle Lodge is quaint and reminds you of the the past. While sitting and enjoying a wonderful meal and watching the waves roll in you can imagine all the grand ladies and gents strolling along the beach to take in some fresh air before enjoying their evening meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.