Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: (239) 472-0693 ext. 1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Scenic View (29)
Waterfront (27)
See All
Romantic (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Historic (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Live Music (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fireplace (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
680 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

For 14 years, we've gone to the same 7 wonderful restaurants for dinner each week we are on Sanibel. This year we decided to try a couple of different ones. Thistle is now on our favorites list!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The ambiance is a beautiful setting near the beach with a water view. The service was excellent. Ask for Rosie We had a soft shell crab special appetizer done in a sauté style. The lobster bisque was great. The seafood trio includes Chilean sea bass done broiled The special pompano was grilled over delicious risotto All the food was the best we had during our stay on Sanibel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fish special was excellent. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very short staffed. Food not prepared as described on menu-ex: macadamia crusted Mahi mahi lacked the nuts and very dry. Mussels appetizer lacked the toast and were ultra salty. (Neighboring table ordered mussels also and his dish DID include the customary bread) Dinner menu folder contained brunch menu. We were given one desert menu for the table because "that's all the desert menus we have"
Neighboring table to my left missing an entree. Neighboring table to right missing appetizer.
We were told manager too busy to come speak with us "that's the way it is in busy season" he relayed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The restaurant is upscale dining but can be casual too. Great menu. Can eat inside or outside overlooking the water or the pool. The service was fabulous and great place for some exceptional seafood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I have already given a wonderful review to this restaurant, because we ate there on two evenings.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We were so pleased with Thistle LOdge we ate there a second time. the staff was propfessional and very curteous. Special thanks to hostess Meghan for all of her help with a personal situation. We are very much looking forward to dining there again when we return next year. Rtuhann Manas

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lovely brunch Sun 5 March. Sitting right at the front w wonderful view of the beach - the(rough!) sea. Rosie was great - dry sense of humour to manage 3 Europeans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Thistle was a nice spot. The food was very good as was the service. It's still pricey for what it is, but considering the location on Sanibel it is about on point for being an up scale restaurant. We enjoyed the meal and recommend it if you never have been.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was looking for a place to celebrate a life event with family and this was perfect. Elegant but not stuffy. All food was divine - and at a reasonable price. Great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First class food with view of the Gulf.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised by the old school Florida charm.
The atmosphere is charming, the food amazing and the service was good too.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The only problem was the computer was acting up and we had to wait forever to get our check. Our waitress was almost in tears.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We had selected the Thistle Lodge for our final dinner before leaving for home, based on reviews on TripAdvisor. We were disappointed in the service because our server greeted us, took the drink order, and then didn't reappear. We stopped another server and he took over and everything then went smoothly. The food was good but the overall experience was diminished because of the delay in service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great, at least mine was. I had the pompano fish which was very rich and tasty. My moms wasn't as good she had the mahi mahi and felt it was a little dry. It's a pricy place so if your food is good you won't mind but if it's dry then you may not be as happy.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Service was o.k. but would have liked the waiter to check our table more often as I had to get up and find him for extra sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

excellent as always, its our go-to fine dining choice in Sanibel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was well prepared and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The dinning room was a bit dated. The piano player was. It very good and he singing was distracting from the meal. Overall we enjoyed our dinner and the view was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

First time that we found a Fodors 'picks' to be over rated. The view of the beach was spectacular. The food was over priced and basic. Not creative for our 'foodie' tastes. Service was attentive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Views were incredible! Ambience, service, food and wine were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

A perfect place for a quiet, romantic dinner. Delicious food and drinks and great service. My only criticism would be that for a restaurant on the beach, we sat in an area with windows that were mirrors and it wasn't clear where the beach was. It was nighttime, but it didn't seem like it had a water view.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This a lovely, sophisticated spot, beautifully situated, with large windows facing a lovely garden with palm trees and the beach beyond. Service is attentive, the menu is attractive with fresh and appealing options. The prices are very appealing given the quality of the setting, the food and the service. We go back for lunch whenever we are on Sanibel Island and are never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Incredible aa always. What would a trip be without Sunday brunch at the Thistle Lodge!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We went to celebrate our 39 wedding anniversary. The setting was perfect with live beautiful music,candle lights, wonderful food and excellent service. It was abit pricey but worth it

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Dancing, Fireplace, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was a little spotty, had to ask for bread three times, but the food was spectacular and the ambience very nice with a piano player in the background. Was on vacation but would certainly come back or recommend to anyone in the area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I liked the diversity of the staff here, quite unusual for Sanibel Island. The manager came over to check with us after the meal, which was a nice touch. The negative was that the restaurant was hard to locate within the development at night, with no lights or signs to point the way (Sanibel has strict lighting restrictions). We finally had to call the restaurant after wandering in the parking lot for a while trying to find it.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is such a beautiful old Florida building, it is fun for fine dining. The food is good--not outstanding and therefore, overpriced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall a fabulous dining experience as always. Food, service and beverages all top notch. Our only gray experience this trip was after having made our reservation a month in advance for Valentine's Day dinner they didn't have a table for us. Ultimately we were seated a half hour later.
Terrific dinner though as usual. We'll definitely be back and would most highly recommend the Thistle Lodge.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for a romantic atmosphere Valentine dinner. Our waiter acted like he was serving a group of tables in a chucky cheese birthday party for 10 year olds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We attempted to have dinner at the Thistle Lodge on Valentine's Day. As traffic was much slower than expected, I called the retaurant en route to advise them we would be late for our reservation and was told it woud be OK. I was courteously greeted when I arrived and told I could wait at the bar until a table become available or be immediately seated at the "overflow" room upstairs. We elected to be seated there. About 10 minutes later another couple was also seated upstairs in the "overflow" room but they left after about 10 minutes when no server ever appeared and I coud hear them complain quite loudly to the hostess about the poor service. I went down to ask when a server would appear and was told "soon". After about another 10 minutes my wife and I elected to leave as we had now waited 30 minutes with no water or drink offering at all in the "overflow" room. Everyone appered quite busy downstairs and clearly they did not have enough staff to serve the "overflow room" and it should have never been an option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our server, Rosie, is always very efficient, knowledgeable, friendy, and welcoming. Food is excellent and the drinks are perfect especially the lemon drop martini. This is my favorite restaurant in the Fort Myers area.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were on winter vacation and stopped for Sunday brunch. Very good blackened grouper on Caesar salad. Dressing on the side so not over dressed as can happen. Wide range of omelette ingredients to have made the way you want. White sangria was large and delicious. Great selection of other egg dishes.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome venue, food presentation, service and value!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have always loved our visits to Thistle Lodge. Our service was great, our good was just not up to par this visit. The seafood tower, hog fish and steak were all just mediocre. Not sure what happened this visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This restaurant had it all..... helpful and nice hostess, good server, great food. We sat inside by the windows with a wonderful view of the gulf. One thing I did not care for was the player piano in the background. Would prefer some nice music instead. The lunch menu was reasonable with a lot of choices. I would return to this restaurant again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was delicious. Tables in our room were uncomfortably close

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

There were four of us and I am vegan. The vegan had a bad experience. The other three had a good meal. For myself, there was little to choose from except a cold appetizer. All the pastas contained eggs and the rice had butter. No baked potatoes- my usual fall-back. The potatoes and sweet potatoes were mashed with milk. The waitress was going to make up a full dinner out of this appetizer and make it warm. It came out as one appetizer and was cold. There was a significant communication gap. I speak English. I asked to see the chef but was told he was too busy. I asked for it to be warmed up but was told that it could not be warmed. There was absolutely no attempt at accommodation.
When we left I complained to the hostess. She had the chef come out(after a five minute wait and as I was leaving) and he did sincerely apologize. He advised calling ahead in the future. I politely advised him to better communicate with his staff. There was no offer to comp any of the meal. I went home and got something to eat.
I did have a very good vegan meal at this restaurant about a year ago. This one was definitely not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely ambiance, good service, special place -- great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had another wonderful time! Richard was a fantastic server and we will continue to request seating in his area. Thanks once again for a delicious dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere with outstanding live piano. This guy was terrific and added great ambiance to a beautiful restaurant. However, at night there is no view; it's like looking into a mirror. My entree, a wonderfully fresh snapper, was a large portion. My wife's seafood trio was somewhat small: a small piece of sea bass, one prawn and one scallop. This menu item is for those wanting a small, light entree. Soup was excellent as well as a very delicious escargot. Key Lime pie was nothing special but the chocolate coconut mouse/cake was large and excellent. A rather pricey but nice night on Sanibel. We would go back. But don't go for the view unless I assume that you're going for the sunset. Service somewhat slow. But we enjoyed the live piano while waiting.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.