Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Waterfront (18)
See All
Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Diner was ok in a lovely old style restaurant.
I was disappointed that a menu item that was listed on their website was not available. The item has been off the menu since February. The restaurant didn’t bother updating the web site.!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Formal (for Sanibel) dining atmosphere. Enjoyed our meal. Authentic seafood for both of us, well prepared.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Can only say great things about our experience - great service, wonderful food and atmosphere. My husband had the Lobster Bisque and mussels, I had the cannelloni with bolgonese and Caesar salad, friends had the scallops topped with crab/lobster & cannelloni with Alfredo and topped with seafood.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A fairly inventive menu. It was executed in a "midwestern" manner--ie not much spice, but leaned on sweetness to overcome an ok dish. We had the pomano, which came with a slightly sweet glaze--completely unnecessary for a great fish. We also had steak, which had a syrupy sweet glaze that overpowered a middling thin cut of ribeye. quantities are generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great service. Great meal. Quiet atmosphere. Always a pleasure to eat at the Thistle Lodge Restaurant. Rosie is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great atmosphere! Very relaxing! Delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2017

One of the best restaurants I have ever eaten
The food, the service, the experience is first class fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The Thistle was a lovely way for us to spend our last night on Sanibel, and the end of "birthday month". The staff could not have been friendlier or more attentive. Our food was excellent and the piano music was very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Charming, elegant restaurant with helpful staff and great food.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Outstanding restaurant, best in Lee county. I recommend it to all my friends, my 9th visit. Absolutely exquisite food and beverage, wonderful location. The service is impeccable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Expensive restaurant in a seaside city. But there were details with the food that were let downs. For instance package mashed potatoes and undercooked wild rice. Seafood was good steak disappointing

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a delicious, wonderful dinner with ocean view! We can't wait to return!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always great! Excellent food, service and views. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Came back twice within a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had a lovely evening with my son. Delicious creatively prepared local seafood, and impeccable friendly service from Mario.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent meal - great views of the gulf!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Mario was a great waiter. The value was excellent with a view of the beach. Linen tablecloths and napkins. We really enjoyed it.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The restaurant was ok. Lobster bisque was delicious as was the pear martini. Main entree of stuffed chicken was bland. Short ribs were good but the side of whipped potatoes did not taste homemade. Disappointed by broken espresso machine and no chocolate truffles for dessert even though they were on the menu.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

We were on vacation and came to Thistle Lodge to celebrate my wife's birthday on July 18th. Got there a little early but Joselee the hostess sat us immediately. The restaurant is warm and inviting with beautiful views of the Gulf. The attention we received was perfect without being intrusive. Deborah, our waitperson was knowledgeable and suggestive with the right choices. Deborah along with Mario and Anna made us feel as though we were the only guests for the evening. The dishes prepared by Omar and Martin were fantastic, the visual presentation and the flavors were exactly as the menu said. Being in the wine business I am always looking for a selection with wines I don't sell. The Thistle Lodge has a great international selection in every price range. We will make plans to dine here again on our next visit to Sanibel and recommend Thistle to people seeking good food in a beautiful location.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. Lovely home built in the early 1900s. Very relaxed atmosphere

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We dined there on7/11/17 for lunch. The view and the food were wonderful. One of the best parts of our experience was the service provided by Jason. Jason was attentive and served as the host, waiter, and bartender. He worked very hard and is an asset to the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The restaurant surpassed expectations which were high. Service could not be more accommodating or professional. The food was expertly and creatively prepared and excellent. The alfredo sauce and blackened chicken was a culinary masterpiece. The ambience is charming, romantic and the view spectacular. This restaurant is a classic with contemporary appeal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Was our fourth time at the Thistle Lodge, as we always come on our trips to Sanibel. Food was very good. Our waitress, Rosie, was overly chatty with us as especially other tables, leading to delays in getting drinks, food, bill, etc. we missed the sunset on our last night of the trip due to this.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The dining room at Thistle Lodge is lovely, with beautiful views of the ocean. The menu has an interesting selection of starters and entrees and there are daily special offerings as well. The lobster bisque was excellent as was the beachfront salad. We had the pompano special for our entree. It was good but not great. It was a little fishy tasting and the vegetables were cold. Our biggest disappointment was how quickly everything was served. The soup and salad were brought out at the same time and our entrees were served immediately after our soup and salad. It all felt very rushed and not at all the leisurely dining experience we were expecting.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at this restaurant once before , it was very good. Last night we took family to share the Sanibel experience. The mussels were very good , the fish and scallops were very over cooked, to the point of being dry and tasteless. The yellowtail , had the appearance of a mutton snapper, and also extremely over cooked . We passed on dessert after hearing the table beside us not enjoying the dessert they had ordered . The service was OK, but not worth coming back . Very Disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

First time in island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The hospitality was great and so was the food. I recommend the ribeye and crab legs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Mediocre food at a high price. Service and atmosphere very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The Thistle Lodge is an elegant yet casual setting for a wonderful meal. The view is unequalled on the island. The food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great experience at The Thistle Lodge! We ate Snapper, Pompano, and Mahi. It was all delicious! Great service in a beautiful restaurant! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Floor management was a miss. The team was overwhelmed due to over seating short staffed and lack of leadership. This is my favorite place in all Sanibel. Just hope I caught it in a bad evening.
Andrew

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had not been here for dinner in 10 years;however,that changed tonight and we loved it all.The service was impeccable and our seafood dishes were superb.Our two grandchildren joined us and I was very impressed with the quality of the children's menu.The ocean views are impressive.A friendly tip let them know if your party is all adults or with children.My daughter and husband are dining there tomorrow.If you are staying at Casa Ybel you qualify for a 10% discount,but be sure to present the card given to you on check in.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The Thistle is a great restaurant for a special occasion. With a great view of the water and terrific service and excellent specialty drinks, it was the perfect place to celebrate a friends' milestone birthday. We had a lovely meal and the service was great. I LOVED the seafood trio of shrimp, sea bass and scallops. It was a perfectly balanced and light meal with great sauce, perfect basmati and vegetables that were spot on.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Were denied seating at preferred table with a view in an otherwise empty dining room. Explained that it was kept open should a party of four walk in (we had made reservation). Subsequently, given to a party of two (like us) .

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

First of all, Thistle Lodge has a gorgeous view of the gulf! The restaurant itself has such history and it's beautiful. The food is always delicious, you can count on it. The steak was chard on the outside and juicy on the inside. Red fish cooked to perfection. We did share the key lime pie and it was homemade and fabulous!!! Service is top notch! I highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 5, 2017

My wife and I love Thistle Lodge. We make it a point to dine here while on Sanibel Island. It has never been loud or crowded. The service is terrific without the staff hovering and the food is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was the best restaurant in which we ate on vacation. The seafood was perfectly and creatively prepared as were all the vegetable accompaniments. The ambiance was perfect, with wonderful views, especially at sunset. The service was friendly and professional, consistent with high-end restaurant in a resort area. We ate in a couple of other restaurants on Sanibel that appeared to be slightly less expensive, but when we compared the quality of the food, the Thistle beat them all for value.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Get there before dark so you can enjoy the view out the windows facing the beach across the lawn. No view of the sunset as the lodge faces too much to the south. Restored historic location with lots of ambiance. Very good wine list and craft beer too. Good selection of wine by the glass. Full bar for cocktails. Our waitress was very attentive and the service matched the location and meal. Lobster bisque was really good and we had the sea bass, scallop and prawn trio. Presentation was excellent. Key lime pie was authentic and the apple crisp was a good combo with the cinnamon gelato and bold coffee. Wonderful evening and a great place to be.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My fiancé and I feel in love with the place from the time that we stepped in the door! The atmosphere was very cozy and romantic. Fantastic food! Cannot say enough great things about our waiter, Richard! We will definitely request one of his tables next time! Loved discussing cigars and bourbon with him! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.