About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: (239) 472-0693 ext. 1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Waterfront (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Historic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Live Music (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was a little spotty, had to ask ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was a little spotty, had to ask for bread three times, but the food was spectacular and the ambience very nice with a piano player in the background. Was on vacation but would certainly come back or recommend to anyone in the area

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is such a beautiful old Florida bui ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

This is such a beautiful old Florida building, it is fun for fine dining. The food is good--not outstanding and therefore, overpriced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Overall a fabulous dining experience as ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall a fabulous dining experience as always. Food, service and beverages all top notch. Our only gray experience this trip was after having made our reservation a month in advance for Valentine's Day dinner they didn't have a table for us. Ultimately we were seated a half hour later.

Terrific dinner though as usual. We'll definitely be back and would most highly recommend the Thistle Lodge.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a romantic atmosphere Valentine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for a romantic atmosphere Valentine dinner. Our waiter acted like he was serving a group of tables in a chucky cheese birthday party for 10 year olds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We attempted to have dinner at the Thist ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

We attempted to have dinner at the Thistle Lodge on Valentine's Day. As traffic was much slower than expected, I called the retaurant en route to advise them we would be late for our reservation and was told it woud be OK. I was courteously greeted when I arrived and told I could wait at the bar until a table become available or be immediately seated at the "overflow" room upstairs. We elected to be seated there. About 10 minutes later another couple was also seated upstairs in the "overflow" room but they left after about 10 minutes when no server ever appeared and I coud hear them complain quite loudly to the hostess about the poor service. I went down to ask when a server would appear and was told "soon". After about another 10 minutes my wife and I elected to leave as we had now waited 30 minutes with no water or drink offering at all in the "overflow" room. Everyone appered quite busy downstairs and clearly they did not have enough staff to serve the "overflow room" and it should have never been an option.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Our server, Rosie, is always very effici ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server, Rosie, is always very efficient, knowledgeable, friendy, and welcoming. Food is excellent and the drinks are perfect especially the lemon drop martini. This is my favorite restaurant in the Fort Myers area.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on winter vacation and stopped f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were on winter vacation and stopped for Sunday brunch. Very good blackened grouper on Caesar salad. Dressing on the side so not over dressed as can happen. Wide range of omelette ingredients to have made the way you want. White sangria was large and delicious. Great selection of other egg dishes.

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome venue, food presentation, servic ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome venue, food presentation, service and value!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved our visits to Thist ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have always loved our visits to Thistle Lodge. Our service was great, our good was just not up to par this visit. The seafood tower, hog fish and steak were all just mediocre. Not sure what happened this visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had it all..... helpful ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This restaurant had it all..... helpful and nice hostess, good server, great food. We sat inside by the windows with a wonderful view of the gulf. One thing I did not care for was the player piano in the background. Would prefer some nice music instead. The lunch menu was reasonable with a lot of choices. I would return to this restaurant again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious. Tables in our room w ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was delicious. Tables in our room were uncomfortably close

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

There were four of us and I am vegan. T ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

There were four of us and I am vegan. The vegan had a bad experience. The other three had a good meal. For myself, there was little to choose from except a cold appetizer. All the pastas contained eggs and the rice had butter. No baked potatoes- my usual fall-back. The potatoes and sweet potatoes were mashed with milk. The waitress was going to make up a full dinner out of this appetizer and make it warm. It came out as one appetizer and was cold. There was a significant communication gap. I speak English. I asked to see the chef but was told he was too busy. I asked for it to be warmed up but was told that it could not be warmed. There was absolutely no attempt at accommodation.

When we left I complained to the hostess. She had the chef come out(after a five minute wait and as I was leaving) and he did sincerely apologize. He advised calling ahead in the future. I politely advised him to better communicate with his staff. There was no offer to comp any of the meal. I went home and got something to eat.

I did have a very good vegan meal at this restaurant about a year ago. This one was definitely not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Lovely ambiance, good service, special p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Lovely ambiance, good service, special place -- great experience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had another wonderful time! Richard ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had another wonderful time! Richard was a fantastic server and we will continue to request seating in his area. Thanks once again for a delicious dinner!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere with outstanding li ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere with outstanding live piano. This guy was terrific and added great ambiance to a beautiful restaurant. However, at night there is no view; it's like looking into a mirror. My entree, a wonderfully fresh snapper, was a large portion. My wife's seafood trio was somewhat small: a small piece of sea bass, one prawn and one scallop. This menu item is for those wanting a small, light entree. Soup was excellent as well as a very delicious escargot. Key Lime pie was nothing special but the chocolate coconut mouse/cake was large and excellent. A rather pricey but nice night on Sanibel. We would go back. But don't go for the view unless I assume that you're going for the sunset. Service somewhat slow. But we enjoyed the live piano while waiting.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

When making a reservation online, I requ ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 2, 2017

When making a reservation online, I requested a romantic spot and was pleased when we arrived to find our own private Idaho on the terrace. It was a little chilly outside, but our server lit up the space heater which created a very warm and toasty ambiance. The food was incredible, we both had the Crab Cake appetizer and Macadamia crusted Mahi Mahi with the pineapple compote....it was amazing! Thank you to Megan for taking the extra step in customer service and for making it a memorable evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was very friendly and profess ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our server was very friendly and professional. The food was tasty but unimpressive. The player piano providing ambient music would have been a lovely touch, except that the playing was surprisingly poor, almost amusingly so. The bar deserves mention for mixing very good old fashioneds and sidecars, but I'm not sure I'd return on my own dime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was my 1st time dining at Thistle Lod ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was my 1st time dining at Thistle Lodge. Menu was extensive and had too many great options to pick from.

I finally settled on the tuna trio and then the scallops topped with crab and lobster. Absolutely delicious.

I would highly recommend this restaurant. Unfortunately it was dark when we were there so I feel we missed out on the beautiful setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our anniversary. Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We went to celebrate our anniversary. Our waitress was fine. My husband ordered the shrimp cocktail and salmon. He was disappointed in the presentation of the shrimp cocktail and his salmon was way over cooked. I odered a salad, which was fine and a vegetarian option. If you don't want meat and are selective about your seafood, your vegetarian options are really limited here. My entree tasted fine. It is overpriced but find a decent restaurant in Sanibel that isn't.

We would probably try other places before we would return again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We went for an anniversary dinner and we ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for an anniversary dinner and were greeted with a card signed by staff. I did request outside seating and did not press the point. We were seated in a round area at the top of the restaurant. My husband thought the area was crowded and the table was rather tiny. So small they had to remove the candle from the table to accommodate the appetizer plate.

The food was great and the desserts even better. I had the short ribs and they were excellent. He had a fish special and it was good as well. This is definitely a place to go for a special dinner not a casual night out. Server was very attentive and well informed about the menu options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostess was a snob sarcasstic and rolled ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Hostess was a snob sarcasstic and rolled her eyes when a question was asked. The waiter never came back and asked how our meal was which was horrible not exactly what I wanted considering I specifically asked about that menu item. The picture is misleading (thinking you can see the beach while your eating) but when you look out the window at night your looking at yourself . I will not be back. Sanibel offers a lot of restaurants and this will not be my choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice atmosphere, but food was just avera ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice atmosphere, but food was just average. Portions were huge and a lot of our meal was wasted.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Charming Restaurant with great food. Nic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Charming Restaurant with great food. Nice view of the ocean.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant was especially nice to m ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant was especially nice to my sister for her birthday. They gave her a personally signed greeting card and a delicious dessert. It was a wonderful place to celebrate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food just wasn't good, across the bo ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food just wasn't good, across the board. Disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We ordered a variety of appetizers - all ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ordered a variety of appetizers - all were spectacular!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Slow service at lunch time but good if y ...

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Slow service at lunch time but good if you are relaxing on vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great traditional atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great traditional atmosphere

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish! Service great! Food delivery a l ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delish! Service great! Food delivery a little slow but all in all great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful resort but not the place to go ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Beautiful resort but not the place to go for Christmas dinner. $%0 per person for a buffet which ran out of some of their food, and our reservations for for 7:15!

Goof place for a NON-Special occasion meal. The person taking our reservation should have told us it was a buffet ONLY night.

Overall my wife and I were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Everything was perfect. Lentil soup had ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Everything was perfect. Lentil soup had so much flavor. App scallops were outstanding. We shared a burger and quesadilla. So much, so good we had it for dinner.

Absolutely beautiful setting.

Hostess Megan and serverTara were friendly yet professional.

Can't wait to return

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Historic, , Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely and delicious meal ungracious sur ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Lovely and delicious meal ungracious surroundings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice menu and good service. A bit pricey ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Nice menu and good service. A bit pricey--even for Sanibel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A beautiful setting with below-average f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A beautiful setting with below-average food. A player piano that loudly drowned out any conversation. Prices that were totally unjustified. Will never return!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Impeccable service, gourmet food , spe ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Impeccable service, gourmet food , spectacular presentation, very fine dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If a person turns down the position

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

If a person turns down the position

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food of a high standard We enjoyed our e ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food of a high standard

We enjoyed our evening and plan to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I eat here regularly duri ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I eat here regularly during our vacations and tried the Thanksgiving buffet for the first time. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of offerings. The raw bar included oysters, crab legs, mussels, and clams in addition to the standard cocktail shrimp, and the traditional Thanksgiving turkey and sides were great, particularly the stuffed dark meat. The value was amazing at under $50 per person!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving meal. Bu ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving meal. Buffet with a wide choice of both hot and cold, regularly replenished, well presented.

All staff friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived, had a first drink and ordere ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We arrived, had a first drink and ordered our dinner within 15 minutes. In another 15 minutes the appetizer arrived, and we ordered a second drink. We then waited over an hour for the main course, and eventually the house comped us another drink. The waitress was obviously distressed for us as we waited, and it certainly wasn't her fault. My husband chose a $39 Scallop/Prawn and something platter. The scallops were as if the chef had taken Costco's jumbo scallop and sliced it in half. The overcooked. A terrible value along with a terrible wait. We live on Sanibel and were looking for something special for a special anniversary. It didn't happen at The Thistle, and we won't be giving it another opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.