Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: (239) 472-0693 ext. 1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Waterfront (32)
Scenic View (31)
See All
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Historic (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Live Music (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Fun (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Love Thistle Lodge. We vacation in Sanibel twice a year..and we always hit this place.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful view, very good food, very attentive service.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the fish special - pompano - and it was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice location and decor. Food was sub-par (especially for the price). Service languished, with the awkward excuse that the day before had been very busy so everybody on the staff was tired.

At least we got the food we asked for, while the table next to us wasn't so lucky - they only got some of the dishes they ordered (Ordered three salads, got one right, one wrong, one not at all, issue was never corrected; Ordered steak medium got it well done; Ordered one seafood dish got a different one).

By the end of the meal we were trading hints about where else to go for dinner the next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Dishes are prepared with an extra special touch and combination of ingredients giving them a unique flavor. Attention to gluten-free selections and preparation are appreciated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This place was clearly not prepared for the Easter crowd. Horrible parking, no valet, rude/uninterested hosts. Finally after waiting in a line for our 1 pm reservation, we were given a terrible table right next to the door to outside, which people kept slamming as they walked in. We didn't even eat - we left right away. Ruined our Easter Sunday plans. Not a good place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved everything about the restaurant - food, drinks, service and live music! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

DisPpinting. Previous visit was great. Ordered off daily special
Menu. Service was very slow and food was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating a special occasion with a great dinner. Everything at Thislte was perfect: the food, the service, the ambiance, the view, everything! We especially appreciated the good service provided by Rosie and her team. Thank you!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Slow service, meciocre food, high priced, generally pretty disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love the restaurant, great view n great food!! Come every year

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great place really good food and great service! Love the ambiance of beach view dinning

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were very disappointed with the service, the small portion size, the wine selection and quality of food versus cost. Extremely overpriced for what you get. The waiter recommended a Chardonnay (Butter) that was $15/glass and it was horrible!! We had to ask if bread came with our dinner. The blackened soft shell crab appetizers were drenched in spices that we couldn't enjoy the crab. The entree we shared had only 1 scallop, 2 shrimp and small portion of fish for $36!! We wanted to LOVE this restaurant because of its location and history. There were only 4 or 5 full tables of patrons and it is spring break. Unfortunately we won't return. Too many other fabulous Sanibel restaurants to enjoy.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We had great time here with good friends . Food was excellent and ambiance was great. Our server was Rosalee and she was very helpful and helped us with selections. We are staying here so are planning to go back and try the bar menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Nice View. Had been there for lunch many times, would not go back for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Beautiful grounds and love the history!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

I always want to like the Thistle Lodge more than I do. The restaurant is in an historic building, and it is beautiful. The servers try hard. But the menu and the food are just okay; whereas the price point is very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It took a few moments for anyone to come to the front desk to seat us; server was prompt, but not overly friendly;prosecco was brought warm, but I was comped another glass of wine instead. Food was fab!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fabulous brunch....great ambiance.... beautiful setting ....historic building! Special!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful service and food at Thistle Lodge. The live entertainment creates a lovely atmosphere in such a beautiful dining room.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

For 14 years, we've gone to the same 7 wonderful restaurants for dinner each week we are on Sanibel. This year we decided to try a couple of different ones. Thistle is now on our favorites list!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The ambiance is a beautiful setting near the beach with a water view. The service was excellent. Ask for Rosie We had a soft shell crab special appetizer done in a sauté style. The lobster bisque was great. The seafood trio includes Chilean sea bass done broiled The special pompano was grilled over delicious risotto All the food was the best we had during our stay on Sanibel.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fish special was excellent. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Very short staffed. Food not prepared as described on menu-ex: macadamia crusted Mahi mahi lacked the nuts and very dry. Mussels appetizer lacked the toast and were ultra salty. (Neighboring table ordered mussels also and his dish DID include the customary bread) Dinner menu folder contained brunch menu. We were given one desert menu for the table because "that's all the desert menus we have"
Neighboring table to my left missing an entree. Neighboring table to right missing appetizer.
We were told manager too busy to come speak with us "that's the way it is in busy season" he relayed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The restaurant is upscale dining but can be casual too. Great menu. Can eat inside or outside overlooking the water or the pool. The service was fabulous and great place for some exceptional seafood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I have already given a wonderful review to this restaurant, because we ate there on two evenings.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We were so pleased with Thistle LOdge we ate there a second time. the staff was propfessional and very curteous. Special thanks to hostess Meghan for all of her help with a personal situation. We are very much looking forward to dining there again when we return next year. Rtuhann Manas

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lovely brunch Sun 5 March. Sitting right at the front w wonderful view of the beach - the(rough!) sea. Rosie was great - dry sense of humour to manage 3 Europeans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Thistle was a nice spot. The food was very good as was the service. It's still pricey for what it is, but considering the location on Sanibel it is about on point for being an up scale restaurant. We enjoyed the meal and recommend it if you never have been.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Was looking for a place to celebrate a life event with family and this was perfect. Elegant but not stuffy. All food was divine - and at a reasonable price. Great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First class food with view of the Gulf.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised by the old school Florida charm.
The atmosphere is charming, the food amazing and the service was good too.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The only problem was the computer was acting up and we had to wait forever to get our check. Our waitress was almost in tears.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We had selected the Thistle Lodge for our final dinner before leaving for home, based on reviews on TripAdvisor. We were disappointed in the service because our server greeted us, took the drink order, and then didn't reappear. We stopped another server and he took over and everything then went smoothly. The food was good but the overall experience was diminished because of the delay in service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was great, at least mine was. I had the pompano fish which was very rich and tasty. My moms wasn't as good she had the mahi mahi and felt it was a little dry. It's a pricy place so if your food is good you won't mind but if it's dry then you may not be as happy.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food. Service was o.k. but would have liked the waiter to check our table more often as I had to get up and find him for extra sauce.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

excellent as always, its our go-to fine dining choice in Sanibel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food was well prepared and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The dinning room was a bit dated. The piano player was. It very good and he singing was distracting from the meal. Overall we enjoyed our dinner and the view was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

First time that we found a Fodors 'picks' to be over rated. The view of the beach was spectacular. The food was over priced and basic. Not creative for our 'foodie' tastes. Service was attentive.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Views were incredible! Ambience, service, food and wine were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.