About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: 2394720693x1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lobster - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Lobster Bisque - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Key Lime Cheesecake - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Warm Granny Smith Apple Crisp - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Lobster And Crab Stuffed Pompano - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Sea Bass, Scallop And Prawn Trio - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
  • Bruleed Gorgonzola Steak And Lobster Tail - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Lobster - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Lobster Bisque - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Key Lime Cheesecake - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Warm Granny Smith Apple Crisp - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Lobster And Crab Stuffed Pompano - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Sea Bass, Scallop And Prawn Trio - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL
Bruleed Gorgonzola Steak And Lobster Tail - Thistle Lodge Restaurant, Sanibel, FL

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Southwest Florida
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Southwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
2 More
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Sanibel ›

Scenic View (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Waterfront (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Historic (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Authentic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (3)
Live Music (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Impeccable service, gourmet food , spe ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Impeccable service, gourmet food , spectacular presentation, very fine dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If a person turns down the position

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

If a person turns down the position

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food of a high standard We enjoyed our e ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

Food of a high standard

We enjoyed our evening and plan to return

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I eat here regularly duri ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I eat here regularly during our vacations and tried the Thanksgiving buffet for the first time. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of offerings. The raw bar included oysters, crab legs, mussels, and clams in addition to the standard cocktail shrimp, and the traditional Thanksgiving turkey and sides were great, particularly the stuffed dark meat. The value was amazing at under $50 per person!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving meal. Bu ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving meal. Buffet with a wide choice of both hot and cold, regularly replenished, well presented.

All staff friendly and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We arrived, had a first drink and ordere ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We arrived, had a first drink and ordered our dinner within 15 minutes. In another 15 minutes the appetizer arrived, and we ordered a second drink. We then waited over an hour for the main course, and eventually the house comped us another drink. The waitress was obviously distressed for us as we waited, and it certainly wasn't her fault. My husband chose a $39 Scallop/Prawn and something platter. The scallops were as if the chef had taken Costco's jumbo scallop and sliced it in half. The overcooked. A terrible value along with a terrible wait. We live on Sanibel and were looking for something special for a special anniversary. It didn't happen at The Thistle, and we won't be giving it another opportunity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

A fabulous evening with fabulous food as ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A fabulous evening with fabulous food as usual. We've been dining at the Thistle Lodge for over 30 years and have always had a great dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last minute decision to go out for lunch ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Last minute decision to go out for lunch and it was great. I had the battered grouper and it was light and flaky and nicely crispy. His club sandwich was huge and we ended up with some leftovers. Beer was a little pricey but again the restaurant is in a condo setting so kind of expected. Would definitely go again if in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was great. We were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food and service was great. We were able to dine outside in a quiet and comfortable atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner with another couple. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went to dinner with another couple. We both had 2 for 1 dinner ($20 max value) coupons from the local Sanibel Chamber of Commerce. The restaurant gladly and graciously accepted both of them. (sometimes restaurants only accept one coupon per table, and we spent over $100 after deducting the coupon per couple anyway). Although this sounds like an oxymoron the atmosphere is casual, comfortable, romantic, old school, historical building, elegance - right on the beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Our waitress was friendly, knowledgable, and just pleasant to talk to. The menu had a large variety of items, including steaks and seafood. I could not make my decision between Asian Braised Short Ribs of Beef or Pork Osso Bucco. Luckily, they were out of Short Ribs so Osso Bucco it was. Delicious meat falling off the bone. Great Lamb Lollipop appetizers, Lobster Bisque soup and wonderful Creme Brulee and Apple Crisp with ice cream deserts. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first time to visit Thistle L ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was our first time to visit Thistle Lodge and we had such a lovely experience. We were celebrating a birthday and went for lunch. What a beautiful view from the dining room. Our service was terrific, but, because of a medical reason, what my husband really wanted, he couldn't order, our server came back to our table and said the chef would be happy to prepare the dish so that my husband could have what he really wanted. Full marks on all accounts and the Bloody Mary's were great!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was great we all loved it we enjoye ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2016

it was great we all loved it we enjoyed the moment and would return when in Sanibel

Lunch was delightful and we loved it

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been eating at this restaurant fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I have been eating at this restaurant for over 35 years stopped in this year to have a nice meal food was way below par the service was at a snails pace. There was no manager on site the food had mold on it my wife became very ill and ended up with food poisoning from this restaurant.Beautiful location kitchen staff and wait staff are way below par for the prices they charge on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Absolutely serene, beautiful, amazing fo ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely serene, beautiful, amazing food, speciality drinks and service that is uber individualized to your needs. If you want pampered and spoiled this is the spot. Thistle Lodge is unmatched, period.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at th ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Thistle Lodge in 1991 and went back in 2016 to celebrate our 50th. The staff treated us as though we were regulars and celebrated with us. Our son had contacted them in advance to request some special services and they complied with enthusiasm. They ended our meal with a complimentary dessert.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

After mentioning to Rosie our waitress t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 28, 2016

After mentioning to Rosie our waitress that it was our anniversary she brought us 2 complimentary glasses of champagne & then a candlelit brownie sundae! Your extra touches added to the ambiance & delicious food!

Tags: Dancing, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful atmosphere for a quiet dinner. ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere for a quiet dinner. Has many small room spaces. Food was fantastic and service was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Setting...Attentive Service...Gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Elegant Setting...Attentive Service...Great local fish (grouper)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice quiet dinner. It was a Monday nigh ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Nice quiet dinner. It was a Monday night so there was no one there. The food was good and service was nice as well. A bit pricey but it was a special night out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

tremendous view, terrific food, and Dani ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

tremendous view, terrific food, and Daniel was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the cocktails, food and histori ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We loved the cocktails, food and historic ambiance!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to the Thistle ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our second visit to the Thistle Lodge this year and we enjoyed our meals immensely! Blaise had the octopus appetizer and Karen had the lobster bisque and both were outstanding. We both had the blackened snapper for our entrees and it was superb! The wine list is excellent but we ordered the peartinis for our cocktails and they were perfect. We were seated with a fantastic view of the Gulf with the sun setting. The waitress and other staff attending our table were very accommodating and pleasant. We live in Ft. Myers and do not eat out on Sanibel often (Blaise loves to cook and is quite the gourmet chef so we don't eat out frequently) but when we do want to drive out to the Island, we will be making reservations for the Thistle Lodge as it has become our favorite restaurant in the area. We highly recommend it!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our seventh visit to the restau ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This was our seventh visit to the restaurant and as always it was a great experience. Service was excellent as well as the food. The food is a little pricey but combined with the atmosphere and scenic gulf view it's worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely loved our dining experienc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We absolutely loved our dining experience. Fantastic service, food was amazing and the view is perfection. Please don't miss this opportunity next time you are in Sanibel, FL. We will be back with our next trip, without a doubt.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I win a gift certificate, so a friend an ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I win a gift certificate, so a friend and I had dinner. Seated in turret room inside with Vegitation blocking our view.

Outstanding service & good food; but pricey!

Would do this on only a special occasion

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was terrible. After 20 min ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was terrible. After 20 mins having finished appetizers I had to remove the dishes from table. My date also sat for 30 mins with no refill on her tea. Ordered a yellowfin tuna dish that medium rare that arrived an hour later and the tuna was brown in color no pink or red. It was cooked medium rare the fish looked and smelled very old. I sent it back and no one came to talk to me. Not a kitchen supervisor nor a manager. Will never return to this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Thistle Lodge is the perfect Florida fin ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Thistle Lodge is the perfect Florida fine dining experience. The food is excellent and the service is as well. The property is worth visiting just to see the views of the gulf and to feel the old Florida charm. The wine list compliments the menu. All around love dining here.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was very nice and very attent ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server was very nice and very attentive but very hard to understand. She told us the specials for the night but missed half of them. The only reason we found out was because we needed the chef to come out and explain something because of a food allergy. Food was bland and none in our party of 3 thought it lived up to the high ratings we saw on line. Maybe it was just a bad night.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

This is my favorite restaurant. The gul ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant. The gulf views are amazing, the menu is interesting and the food is outstanding. Sunday Brunch, Dinner and Lunch are all recommended. It is worth the drive over to Sanibel. This is "old" Florida charm at its best. Love the bar!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The Scallops tasted like rubber. The lob ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The Scallops tasted like rubber. The lobster bisque was over salted! The jasmine rice that was served with the scallops was hard and barely cooked! The only thing that was good was the service although the complaint of the horrible food was dismissed! Would never go back to the Thistle Lodge! Disgusting food, definitely needs a new chef! Yuck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

My wife and I just returned from dinner ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I just returned from dinner at the Thistle Lodge Restaurant. What a wonderful experience. Our waitress, Natalie, was spot on with the service. She was courteous, prompt and very engaging. The food was wonderful and I would highly recommend this restaurant to others staying in the Captiva/Sanibel area.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. Loved the a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent service and food. Loved the ambience of the historic building and the view.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I loved the historical feel of The Thist ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I loved the historical feel of The Thistle Lodge. Great decor and ambiance. The food was outstanding too. I was there celebrating a special occasion and I have a severe food allergy. Not only did they take my allergy very seriously, but they also went out of there way to recognize me on my birthday.

The only downside was that they seemed to wind down early and we felt like we were keeping the staff when they wanted to go (we were the last table), so we didn't order dessert and I wish we had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Real Treat for a Couple of Neapolitans ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 13, 2016

A Real Treat for a Couple of Neapolitans!! That's what our visit to Thistle Lodge was for us recently. We decided to have a quiet dinner by the Gulf and chose a perfect day for that. We lulled over cocktails - a manhatten with bitters and a cosmopolitan, perfectly made withe fresh lime juice. The food was wonderful - haddock for my wife and duck for me, each prepared with care and nicely presented. No room for dessert but the experience more than fulfilled that need.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely experience from the welc ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a lovely experience from the welcome by the host to the beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico and an entertaining server. The food was delicious and abundant, overall a very pleasant evening,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We stumbled upon the Thistle Lodge and f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We stumbled upon the Thistle Lodge and found it fabulous. The waiter's suggestion the Ahi Tuna Taco was right on the mark. It was outstanding. The next time we are in the area, we will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in the greeting at rec ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very disappointed in the greeting at reception and the overall service in this "fine dining" establishment. We return every year for the last 6 yrs (maybe more) for our anniversary. This year was a BIG one so we really wanted a romantic evening but instead it lacked everything it should have been. The receptionist greeted us with a ho-hum attitude as if we bothered her because we showed up early, one other couple was in the place and she sat us next to the stairs instead of a window seat as we had requested in our Open table reservation. Next, the server Dan wasn't engaged in an enthusiastic way when showing us the menu, nor did he point out anything specific that could be tempting to our palette. There was no attempt to highlight our evening in any way. The lobster bisque is truly delicious but both my husbands surf n turf (at $60.!) and my trio (seabass/2shrimp/1scallop) were less than delicious and had more veggies on the plate than the main part of the meal. We shared the salted caramel cheesecake which was rich and thick but its doubtful we'll be returning for just the soup and dessert.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

While this restaurant is beachfront, the ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 12, 2016

While this restaurant is beachfront, there are only a handful of tables that are along the window.. and the never smiling hostess will never go out of her way to put you there...even when you book ahead. The food is good, not great. During the season I'm sure it's worse but we have yet to go during that time period. Very disappointing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Beautiful setting. Great service.

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Beautiful setting. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was too pricey for what we got. Nothi ...

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was too pricey for what we got. Nothing spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.