Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.45mi

About Thistle Lodge Restaurant

Grand Views... Rave Reviews. At the Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, delicious cuisine is served in a historical heirloom setting overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Swaying palms and gently breaking waves further set the scene for romance.

2255 West Gulf Drive
Sanibel, FL 33597
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Casa Ybel Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(239) 472-9200

Website:
http://www.thistlelodge.com/

Entertainment:
Thistle Lodge provides live Jazz entertainment on Friday nights and Piano on Saturday nights. We also have Sunday Jazz during brunch.

Executive Chef:
John Wolff

Private Party Facilities:
Casa Ybel Resort, along with Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant, has been hosting weddings and events for over 100 years. Overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, and situated on 23 acres of pristine private beach, Casa Ybel Resort is the perfect place to host your event!

Private Party Contact:
Jessica Pasek: (239) 472-0693 ext. 1351

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thistle Lodge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (41)
Waterfront (37)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Romantic (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Historic (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Live Music (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
728 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

The Thistle is a great restaurant for a special occasion. With a great view of the water and terrific service and excellent specialty drinks, it was the perfect place to celebrate a friends' milestone birthday. We had a lovely meal and the service was great. I LOVED the seafood trio of shrimp, sea bass and scallops. It was a perfectly balanced and light meal with great sauce, perfect basmati and vegetables that were spot on.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Were denied seating at preferred table with a view in an otherwise empty dining room. Explained that it was kept open should a party of four walk in (we had made reservation). Subsequently, given to a party of two (like us) .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

First of all, Thistle Lodge has a gorgeous view of the gulf! The restaurant itself has such history and it's beautiful. The food is always delicious, you can count on it. The steak was chard on the outside and juicy on the inside. Red fish cooked to perfection. We did share the key lime pie and it was homemade and fabulous!!! Service is top notch! I highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was the best restaurant in which we ate on vacation. The seafood was perfectly and creatively prepared as were all the vegetable accompaniments. The ambiance was perfect, with wonderful views, especially at sunset. The service was friendly and professional, consistent with high-end restaurant in a resort area. We ate in a couple of other restaurants on Sanibel that appeared to be slightly less expensive, but when we compared the quality of the food, the Thistle beat them all for value.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great location overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Get there before dark so you can enjoy the view out the windows facing the beach across the lawn. No view of the sunset as the lodge faces too much to the south. Restored historic location with lots of ambiance. Very good wine list and craft beer too. Good selection of wine by the glass. Full bar for cocktails. Our waitress was very attentive and the service matched the location and meal. Lobster bisque was really good and we had the sea bass, scallop and prawn trio. Presentation was excellent. Key lime pie was authentic and the apple crisp was a good combo with the cinnamon gelato and bold coffee. Wonderful evening and a great place to be.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sunday brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My fiancé and I feel in love with the place from the time that we stepped in the door! The atmosphere was very cozy and romantic. Fantastic food! Cannot say enough great things about our waiter, Richard! We will definitely request one of his tables next time! Loved discussing cigars and bourbon with him! We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Delicious food romantic atmosphere great waiter staff waterfront dining in Sunset To die for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Love the location and view. Our Waitress, Rosie, was fantastic, very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Food was outstanding too. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had not been to The Thistle Inn for about 12 years so we were looking forward to our return, however, were disappointed with the final outcome. Richard, our server was congenial and knowledgeable and an excellent server. The dishes we ordered, especially given the price point was disappointing. The portions on my Seafood Trio were small, the fish watery and unflavorable, a clump of plain white rice as the 'starch' and the bok choy/carrot mix was plain, no seasoning, and the carrots were hard as a rock...had to use a knife to cut them into pieces. My husband's rack of lamb was half done perfectly and half overdone. The Caesar salad was tasty and great dressing and the lobster bisque was very good. Wine choices were excellent. It was just disappointing to have a mediocre meal for such a pricey charge and the dining room could use some updating!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was terrible service was bad, very over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The best lamb I've ever had!!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My $46 ribeye had no flavor. I think they just put their sauce on it and didn't season it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Thistle Inn has been our favorite for years -food, service, view!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As always, the food was great as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We wanted to have lunch by the water. It is not very close to the beach. You can spot water in the distance and some people are walking around in swim suits but they go to Coconuts the casual outdoor dining spot outside. Neither is real beach-side dining.
We had wanated to eat outdoors, but the outdoor dining would not have been good at all: Too near the pool (casual Coconuts is also right there with a simple 8 item menu) and screaming kids, so we opted to eat inside. The room was OK. It was not at all busy (7 people total including us) when we were there so the room was pleasantly quiet: not so sure that would be the case if it had more people in it. The menu was very limited on a Sunday to a brunch menu only. I ordered breakfast (eggs) and my husband ordered a pasta lunch item with spicy shrimp. The food was good, although not what I was expecting to order that day. The service was good, but as I said practically no one was there so it should be good.
Would I go back? Probably not. We had a dinner meal elsewhere nearby later in the day and it was far better, and in a place with more atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Special occasion birthday dinner for eight people. Ambience and view (waterfront golf of Mexico) were excellent to spectacular.

Service was very good, food was outstanding. Various members of our party ordered beef, appetizers and seafood. All were outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Came on a Monday just off season. Food ok. Service was terrible. Expensive. I wouldn't go back. Very obvious staff does not get along - not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Awful service and food. Tent blocking view of water. Escargot were essentially just bread crumbs and tasteless. Mussels had too much garlic and sauce was so tasteless didn't even dip bread. Entree took over 45 minutes, so we canceled and left. Very disappointing

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very disappointing. Would not recommended. Food was underseasoned, bland and risotto was dry - tasted like plain white rice. Two meals were so bad tgey were taken off our bill. Save your $. Too many other great restaurants on Sanibel.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very disappointed - we have eaten at Thistle Lodge years ago whenever we visited the area and LOVED it. The place has changed- service was weak and the food was fair!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Have stayed at Casa Ybel for years but haven't eaten here in a long time. Very surprised how wonderful it was. Food, wine, service, view. Pretty pricey. We had Kevin for our waiter who also works at Coconuts, the poolside restaurant. Such a nice guy!! And a great waiter. Had the fresh ahi tuna. Wow it was good. So ample could have easily shared.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Thistle Lodge remains one of Sanibel's most attractive restaurants with killer views. However, the food is inconsistent as is the Greeter and Server. Hard to recommend for fine dining, but the view makes up for the quality of the food and service!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

On Vacation out for our last night. Great night out!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was a beautiful location. Service was wonderful. Food was ok.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 22, 2017

It was our 50th anniversary, the lodge gave us a very nice card with the staff's names on it. We had a table by the window overlooking the water. It was beautiful. We had drinks that were very good. Our waiter made them for us. We asked for some recommendations and he offered some and they were right on. Everyone loved the meal, my friend did have a slight problem with the chicken as it was a little dry. The rest of us were very happy. Our son recommended this restaurant and he was right on. Thanks for a wonderful anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love Thistle Lodge. We vacation in Sanibel twice a year..and we always hit this place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Beautiful view, very good food, very attentive service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Had the fish special - pompano - and it was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Nice location and decor. Food was sub-par (especially for the price). Service languished, with the awkward excuse that the day before had been very busy so everybody on the staff was tired.

At least we got the food we asked for, while the table next to us wasn't so lucky - they only got some of the dishes they ordered (Ordered three salads, got one right, one wrong, one not at all, issue was never corrected; Ordered steak medium got it well done; Ordered one seafood dish got a different one).

By the end of the meal we were trading hints about where else to go for dinner the next day.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Dishes are prepared with an extra special touch and combination of ingredients giving them a unique flavor. Attention to gluten-free selections and preparation are appreciated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This place was clearly not prepared for the Easter crowd. Horrible parking, no valet, rude/uninterested hosts. Finally after waiting in a line for our 1 pm reservation, we were given a terrible table right next to the door to outside, which people kept slamming as they walked in. We didn't even eat - we left right away. Ruined our Easter Sunday plans. Not a good place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved everything about the restaurant - food, drinks, service and live music! Would definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

DisPpinting. Previous visit was great. Ordered off daily special
Menu. Service was very slow and food was mediocre

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating a special occasion with a great dinner. Everything at Thislte was perfect: the food, the service, the ambiance, the view, everything! We especially appreciated the good service provided by Rosie and her team. Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Slow service, meciocre food, high priced, generally pretty disappointing

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love the restaurant, great view n great food!! Come every year

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great place really good food and great service! Love the ambiance of beach view dinning

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were very disappointed with the service, the small portion size, the wine selection and quality of food versus cost. Extremely overpriced for what you get. The waiter recommended a Chardonnay (Butter) that was $15/glass and it was horrible!! We had to ask if bread came with our dinner. The blackened soft shell crab appetizers were drenched in spices that we couldn't enjoy the crab. The entree we shared had only 1 scallop, 2 shrimp and small portion of fish for $36!! We wanted to LOVE this restaurant because of its location and history. There were only 4 or 5 full tables of patrons and it is spring break. Unfortunately we won't return. Too many other fabulous Sanibel restaurants to enjoy.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.