Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (27)
Happy Hour (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
See All
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
Great Beer (15)
Live Sports (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for a Date (12)
People Watching (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Seasonal (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
920 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and options for all dining options and desires

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Thai salad was a little over dressed but not drowning the salad. Chicken sandwich was very good, just not sure why this time of year serving anemic tomatoes. Server was not as attentive as most we have had the many times we have been here but was adequate

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Awesome. It's tough to go wrong with any dish. A family favorite!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was great as usual. My friend that went there with me for lunch was just unhappy that the Pulled Pork Sliders were gone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The Thirsty Lion is our local go-to restaurant. We enjoy the food - especially the seared ahi and specials, beer selection and prompt friendly service.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Twice now I've made a reservation, showed up a few minutes early, and then ended up waiting until 15 minutes after my reservation to be seated. What's the point of a reservation if they don't seat you? Not impressed. I ordered their pizza, and the cheese was not fully melted, and it tasted bland. Meh. Their location is central for my friends, and me, but I don't think we'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our favorite stop when we land in Portland and drive to Eugene!Great burgers and service is pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Burgers were fantastic. Beers were cold. Bar was hopping and great outdoor seating. It is busyband loud but that gives the restaurant energy. One weird thing though! When you get your bill you see a SERVICE FEE charge?! It was only 1.27 I think but I thought what the heck! I asked the server and she explained it was a fee they added because minimum wage went up. I thought I would rather they just raise the prices rather than charge a SERVICE FEE. I feel it's rather strange. That being said the food is great!

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The seared ahi salad is my go-to meal. It's always so tasty and big enough for leftovers!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This restaurant offers a lovely variety of options to meet the needs of every diner - from the gourmet to the burger lover - and every dish is exceptionally prepared. We love to bring friends here for special occasions - it is our go-to neighborhood restaurant. Great friendly service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Tasty, spicy chicken sandwich. Food is always good here. Best outside seating on the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Always good food & good service. Lots of good beer, burger and salad choices. Always sports events on screen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

1st time there and will definitely go again! Great food and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Live Sports, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Usually good service good food for price this time super slow fish tacos skimpy with fish but they did compensate us so made effort at least

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Everyone at the table ordered fish (cod) and chips. Our young grandson did too. We ended up with part cod and part calamari. We do not eat calamari and it ruined our dining experience to bite down on "rubber.". My daughter couldn't eat anything after that. She was charged for a salad she had ordered that she didn't eat because it came after the fish. I ordered an artichoke. The waitress was very nice. The manager came over and said it was just an error. She Took my new order and removed the original fish and chips from our ticket. Charged us for everything else. Even though my daughter was grossed out and I settled for an artichoke. I thought she'd Comp the artichoke since we all had calamari on our plates. My grandson got a new plate of cod. He almost wasn't going to eat at all either, but he ate a few bites. To us that "mistake" was gross. Anyway, that WAS our favorite place for fish and chips, but I'm not sure we will return. At least not to the Washington Square Location. I feel the problem was basically our problem to reorder or not eat at all and still get charged. The manager didn't take responsibility to make sure we were happy customers. We seldom eat any meat, and this was a rare outing for fish. Ruined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Service was very good. They have a nice wine selection also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our neighborhood "goto" for many good food choices.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food. Great Service. We always like to sit in Nick's section as he is handsome and gives great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Wow. We've been to TL many times and it's a busy, popular place so it can be hit or miss on both food and service but the staff is so great that it is always worth it; but NOT THIS TIME. The place was NOT crowded. It took over 45 minutes to get our food and ALL of the orders were cold. Only one in our party complained (the rest were so hungry we just ate it) and the manager took it off of our bill which was great. Since this was a birthday celebration they were generous enough to bring a free dessert to the birthday girl but it took another 30 minutes for it to get there. So, dinner took way longer than normal and pretty much messed up the rest of the evenings plans. Hate to leave a negative review but this time it was really bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great food and great service. I've never had a bad meal and have eaten
there many times.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I like the wide variety of menu items! The happy hour is one of my faves and they make a mean mojito!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was very disappointing. Not he same level as the Tannasborne location. The food was remade but still not good. Waitress was very nice and apologized over and over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food and service are great. If, however, you want a good conversation it is too noisy. We were in a booth for four and often had to repeat ourselves because we couldn't hear each other. Something needs to be done about the acoustics. Other than that, I would highly recommend Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Casual, Healthy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I love the variety of the menu. There is something for everyone. All of the food is great! And they take reservations which is a huge plus since this is a very busy restaurant!

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We had a very nice, efficient, accommodating waitress. Atmosphere was loud, but we were there at the height of the lunch hour. More booths would be nice, feels kind of like a cafeteria.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Met an old friend for lunch. We sat on the patio. We were offered ample time to visit and order. No pressure to hurry. We were there 3 hours and had a great time. Food /beverage selection was great and reasonably priced.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

It was the usually busy scene, but service was very slow this time. Waited a long time for drinks, and when they arrived one of the four drinks was missing -- had to remind server.
The food was good, but the appetizer of tempura green beans (which is usually great) was quite greasy. I prefer the Washington Square location has the service and food quality are generally much better than Tanasbourne, but concerned they are starting to slip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

our server Kristy was amazing, never wrote any of our order down drinks included, we had 5 people in our party; everything came like we ordered. Always a good meal and enjoyable.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food was average...pretty good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The waitress was nice however she didn't come take our order until 15 minutes after we got there. We ask for a refill and she forgot until we caught her as she was walking by. She did come back to check on us after our food was serviced it was close to when everyone was done. Just not very attentive to customers. It was busy but her area was not full, so I just felt that she could have done a better, waitressing myself for 7yrs I feel she just wasn't really into what she was doing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We pretty much have had most of the menu items. On this occasion, we both had the shrimp Thai noodle salad. It was one of the items recently added from the seasonal to the regular menu it was done just right. Service was attentive without being intrusive as we were meeting to discuss some next year projects

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food is nearly always very good. Has a nice beer selection (and full bar) and a varied menu. Food is much better than typical bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food! Favorite things, Pizza, chicken tenders and so much beer on tap.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This was my 18th dinner at the TL and it was perfect--as always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The Thirsty Lion always has good food, good drinks, lots of menu choices and sports on screens.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Adding 2% to the check does not in fact maintain value in your menu prices; it adds 2% to all of them.

Service charges simply mask an increase in prices. Stop being underhanded, and raise the menu prices for crying out loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Best outside seating in the area. Great for a cold beverage during summer season.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very good! The outdoor seating is awesome in the summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

food wasn't as good as it normally is so was a bit disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.