Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Fun (28)
See All
Happy Hour (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Great Beer (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for a Date (18)
People Watching (17)
Live Sports (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Healthy (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Romantic (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
890 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The waitress was nice however she didn't come take our order until 15 minutes after we got there. We ask for a refill and she forgot until we caught her as she was walking by. She did come back to check on us after our food was serviced it was close to when everyone was done. Just not very attentive to customers. It was busy but her area was not full, so I just felt that she could have done a better, waitressing myself for 7yrs I feel she just wasn't really into what she was doing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We pretty much have had most of the menu items. On this occasion, we both had the shrimp Thai noodle salad. It was one of the items recently added from the seasonal to the regular menu it was done just right. Service was attentive without being intrusive as we were meeting to discuss some next year projects

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food is nearly always very good. Has a nice beer selection (and full bar) and a varied menu. Food is much better than typical bar food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great food! Favorite things, Pizza, chicken tenders and so much beer on tap.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This was my 18th dinner at the TL and it was perfect--as always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The Thirsty Lion always has good food, good drinks, lots of menu choices and sports on screens.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Adding 2% to the check does not in fact maintain value in your menu prices; it adds 2% to all of them.

Service charges simply mask an increase in prices. Stop being underhanded, and raise the menu prices for crying out loud!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Best outside seating in the area. Great for a cold beverage during summer season.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very good! The outdoor seating is awesome in the summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

food wasn't as good as it normally is so was a bit disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Casual place, good food and selection of beer. Had a good time with friends

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We have eaten here many many times as we live nearby. Have to say that while we still go here the food has gone down hill which is why the 3 stars. Not one thing to put my finger on except lack of consistency. An example is tempura green beans. We have had these a lot. This was the first time they were so greasy batter wouldn't stick. We sent back next batch marginally better. Can say they were never this bad

This goes for some of our other regular favorites. Sometimes seems to depend on who the cook is that night. Service however has almost always been very good to outstanding. This restaurant needs to up there game with their regular customers who notice when food is not right . This includes the nightly soup specials as well

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Made a reservation and still had to wait 25 to 20 minutes...it was busy, though. Loved the food and drinks. Will definitely be going again. It is on the pricier side.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good menu, something for everyone. Really luke the blood orange margarita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Consistently great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Service and food were great

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We enjoyed our meals, everyone ordered something different and all was good. Waited a while for service. Had to request water and and 2nd round of drinks. Very loud group celebrating next to us made conversation difficult.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Booked ahead, seated quickly. Appetizers came quickly, but then waited 30-40 minutes for mains. Server kept saying dinner was close, they'd had a big table in... yet folk around us, who arrived after us, were served before us.
When dinner came, my daughters order was wrong.
Food OK and good beer, but a huge disappointment that spoilt our day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What I love about this restaurant is the the varied cuisine meets the needs of very different eaters - picky eaters, gourmets, vegetarians, burger lovers, you name it - they've got it and it is all delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Had reservations but seated 20 min early no problem. Wanted to chat and imbibe. The waiteress took the hint; she kept our drinks from going dry and was there to take our food order when we were ready. She didnt hurry us as we took our sweet time along with after dinner drinks too. Food was pretty good. Good portions. Price was ok. All in, it was a good experience on this night at the Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

No happy hour on holidays! But our server was very nice and so were all the other staff! Food was mediocre (artichoke dip and bread was delicious though!), the lion lemonade was fantastic, overall a cute place to get some food for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always a great dinner option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the wait staff was excellent! I recommend this restaurant for pretty much any occasion. We went for Mother's Day for the seafood paella.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Accommodated our large group of 9 and seated us right on time for our reservation.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. Everything was awesome. Robyn W. Was an ecellent server.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first time back to Thirsty Lion in quite some time because we moved to Bend. We had a great time. The food and drinks were spectacular. We hope to be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Was able to make a reservation through Open Table and arrive within an hour. Food was great, service and experience was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The table service was very good but the host service was poor. Even though we had reservations and checked in 15 minutes before our reservation, we were seated at our table 30 minutes after our reservation time; really put a damper on our birthday celebration. No apologies offered, either.

Front host staff seemed to be more focused on how they looked rather than welcoming guests and serving them well. Front host staff attire inappropriately immodest for this modern family pub environment...a real turn off.

Blew it at first greeting.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The menu at Thirsty Lion is perfect for a nice lunch. They have a diverse menu and everything I've had there has been fresh and of high quality. I usually go to the Thirsty Lion in Hillsboro because it's close to my home and usually for a casual dinner. I keep returning to this small chain because it fits for a lot of occasions and it works with my busy lifestyle.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

When we feel like something really tasty, and are not in a rush, this is our go-to spot. Outdoor seating is fantastic, although it's not guaranteed. If you want to sit outside, book a table and then request outdoor when you arrive. You'll have to wqait another 10-15 minutes but it's worth it.
The steaks here are perfect, and the scotch eggs are the best in town.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Thirsty Lion. I recommend the bacon wrapped dates for an appetizer..they were outstanding! The menu is not large, but the food is solid. Our dessert was the seasonal choice and it was the highlight of the meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

You can make reservations here on OpenTable, but you'll still wait for a table. We were 10 mins early and they said 'oh good that helps when people are early.' But we didn't get seated for another 20-25 minutes, well past our reservation time. There is always a wait here, but the open table reservation should help eliminate the long wait times. It does not. Hard with 2 kids to wait that long and with a reservation, it shouldn't be that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Made Open Table reservation and arrived early to see if early seating was possible. No luck and we waited 45 minutes to be seated. Why do Open Table?

Place was louder than normal and service a bit slower than usual. Take some of the hostess that walk around and make them servers when the place is busy

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food and service. Noise level extremely high. Waited 20 minutes even with a reservation. Food is well worth the wait.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We ate here with friends prior to going to the Broadway Rose Theatre. Excellent choice all around. Very convenient, great atmosphere, lovely patio dining, exceptional food, drinks and service!! Just couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Have been here many times. Only problem is you are never quite sure what you are going to get. Service is almost always at least good if not very good. Where things get Chancy is the food. Sometimes excellent and some times mediocre depending on who is in the kitchen that day. This latest visit was just such an example . The SW Thai soup a Thursday staple and something we almost always order when there on a Thursday. This can be pleasantly spicy ( excellent combination ) or just a soup with overpowering peppers . The Paella on the menu is another item that I have stopped ordering as seafood can be lacking and taste can be off. Need more Kitchen Consistancy

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of the better options in the Beaverton/Tigard area for casual dining. Vibrant and noisy but it works if you don't need a quiet place to discuss business. Outdoor seating option is great on nice sunny days and management seems to understand how to staff busy times to assure good service. Easy in/out location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had the paella and Thai salad. Deleting cious. Beer was fresh and my daughter had a cocktail she enjoyed. She had the cheesecake and said it was great. Very lively place on Saturday night. I definitely suggest making a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

While the food was excellent and the staff extremely helpful, we would probably not go back again because of the volume of the music. We were there to celebrate a college grad with family members we do not get to see often and the music was so loud that we could not hear each other unless we shouted across the table. This was even after the kind staff moved us to a table that was quieter than where we were first seated. This must not be a revelation to anyone running this restaurant or your review choices on the noise level would not be "quiet, moderate, ENERGETIC" rather than " too dang loud".

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.