Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Casual (30)
See All
Fun (30)
Bar Seating (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Live Sports (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Comfort Food (21)
People Watching (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (15)
Kid-friendly (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quick Bite (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Wood Oven (7)
Family Style (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Romantic (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Cozy (2)
Tapas (2)
Authentic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service! Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Booked ahead, seated quickly. Appetizers came quickly, but then waited 30-40 minutes for mains. Server kept saying dinner was close, they'd had a big table in... yet folk around us, who arrived after us, were served before us.
When dinner came, my daughters order was wrong.
Food OK and good beer, but a huge disappointment that spoilt our day.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What I love about this restaurant is the the varied cuisine meets the needs of very different eaters - picky eaters, gourmets, vegetarians, burger lovers, you name it - they've got it and it is all delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Had reservations but seated 20 min early no problem. Wanted to chat and imbibe. The waiteress took the hint; she kept our drinks from going dry and was there to take our food order when we were ready. She didnt hurry us as we took our sweet time along with after dinner drinks too. Food was pretty good. Good portions. Price was ok. All in, it was a good experience on this night at the Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

No happy hour on holidays! But our server was very nice and so were all the other staff! Food was mediocre (artichoke dip and bread was delicious though!), the lion lemonade was fantastic, overall a cute place to get some food for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always a great dinner option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch. Everything was awesome. Robyn W. Was an ecellent server.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Accommodated our large group of 9 and seated us right on time for our reservation.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Live Sports, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was our first time back to Thirsty Lion in quite some time because we moved to Bend. We had a great time. The food and drinks were spectacular. We hope to be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Was able to make a reservation through Open Table and arrive within an hour. Food was great, service and experience was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The table service was very good but the host service was poor. Even though we had reservations and checked in 15 minutes before our reservation, we were seated at our table 30 minutes after our reservation time; really put a damper on our birthday celebration. No apologies offered, either.

Front host staff seemed to be more focused on how they looked rather than welcoming guests and serving them well. Front host staff attire inappropriately immodest for this modern family pub environment...a real turn off.

Blew it at first greeting.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The menu at Thirsty Lion is perfect for a nice lunch. They have a diverse menu and everything I've had there has been fresh and of high quality. I usually go to the Thirsty Lion in Hillsboro because it's close to my home and usually for a casual dinner. I keep returning to this small chain because it fits for a lot of occasions and it works with my busy lifestyle.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 8, 2017

When we feel like something really tasty, and are not in a rush, this is our go-to spot. Outdoor seating is fantastic, although it's not guaranteed. If you want to sit outside, book a table and then request outdoor when you arrive. You'll have to wqait another 10-15 minutes but it's worth it.
The steaks here are perfect, and the scotch eggs are the best in town.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Thirsty Lion. I recommend the bacon wrapped dates for an appetizer..they were outstanding! The menu is not large, but the food is solid. Our dessert was the seasonal choice and it was the highlight of the meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

You can make reservations here on OpenTable, but you'll still wait for a table. We were 10 mins early and they said 'oh good that helps when people are early.' But we didn't get seated for another 20-25 minutes, well past our reservation time. There is always a wait here, but the open table reservation should help eliminate the long wait times. It does not. Hard with 2 kids to wait that long and with a reservation, it shouldn't be that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Made Open Table reservation and arrived early to see if early seating was possible. No luck and we waited 45 minutes to be seated. Why do Open Table?

Place was louder than normal and service a bit slower than usual. Take some of the hostess that walk around and make them servers when the place is busy

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service. Noise level extremely high. Waited 20 minutes even with a reservation. Food is well worth the wait.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We ate here with friends prior to going to the Broadway Rose Theatre. Excellent choice all around. Very convenient, great atmosphere, lovely patio dining, exceptional food, drinks and service!! Just couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Have been here many times. Only problem is you are never quite sure what you are going to get. Service is almost always at least good if not very good. Where things get Chancy is the food. Sometimes excellent and some times mediocre depending on who is in the kitchen that day. This latest visit was just such an example . The SW Thai soup a Thursday staple and something we almost always order when there on a Thursday. This can be pleasantly spicy ( excellent combination ) or just a soup with overpowering peppers . The Paella on the menu is another item that I have stopped ordering as seafood can be lacking and taste can be off. Need more Kitchen Consistancy

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

One of the better options in the Beaverton/Tigard area for casual dining. Vibrant and noisy but it works if you don't need a quiet place to discuss business. Outdoor seating option is great on nice sunny days and management seems to understand how to staff busy times to assure good service. Easy in/out location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had the paella and Thai salad. Deleting cious. Beer was fresh and my daughter had a cocktail she enjoyed. She had the cheesecake and said it was great. Very lively place on Saturday night. I definitely suggest making a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

While the food was excellent and the staff extremely helpful, we would probably not go back again because of the volume of the music. We were there to celebrate a college grad with family members we do not get to see often and the music was so loud that we could not hear each other unless we shouted across the table. This was even after the kind staff moved us to a table that was quieter than where we were first seated. This must not be a revelation to anyone running this restaurant or your review choices on the noise level would not be "quiet, moderate, ENERGETIC" rather than " too dang loud".

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This experience DID NOT live up to the usual experience we have at this restaurant. We were seated in the most awkward two-person table that I've ever seen. The back wall to one of your booths makes for a very uncomfortable table placement.

We were essentially forgotten/abandoned by our waiter. Refills for iced tea were not provided. I had to stand up and flag down the manager to get our check and to-go boxes. Our waiter seemed over-seated and not capable of keeping the pace. We did not visit at a peak hour and the restaurant was NOT full. No real justification for what we experienced today. It was rough.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, People Watching, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Thirsty Lion is one of our favorites as there are delicious options for both me and my wife; I am a vegetarian and she has food allergies. There is usually a bit of a wait when we go at peak time in the evening, but it is worth it as the service is always great. Hosts and servers are attentive and friendly, drinks refilled promptly, and food is always surprisingly quick for how busy they are. This visit I was on crutches and appreciated the staff's extra attention to my needs, opening doors and asking about my seating needs. Never disappointed here!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Good place to eat. A bit louder than I would have liked for a first date.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Lively and popular place for lunch with a reservation recommended to assure you can get in and out in a timely manner. Service is consistent and reliable and the menu has several great options...they also offer a seasonal menu that keeps things fresh!

Casual and comfortable...one of the better westside options.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This is our go to place when we have friends visiting. The food and drinks were great. Our server, for whatever reason, was very inattentive. Never got refills, slow bussing etc. We will go back of course. Hoping tonight was an "off night".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Love thirsty lion and the Washington square location is the best. The food is always amazing, service is great

Tags: Great Beer, Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our go-to pub place. Food & service always good.
GREAT that they are now on Open Table!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Kinda pricey but have a good happy hour menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love the place and food but music is always too loud and makes it difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We visit Thirsty Lion frequently, it is our "go to" restaurant. This particular visit the service was very slow, we normally can count on great service. Our initial wait to be acknowledged by our waitress was at least 10 minutes or more before our drink orders were taken. Then another long wait before she came back to take our food order, so long that I noticed 3 tables seated after us had received their food before us. Then the rest of our visit she was hardly seen. This was frustrating because we usually receive excellent service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came with a large group for Easter. Service was excellent, food was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Club sandwich, bacon was raw. I have had many times before and it was not good. I don't know if they have a new cook but quality is not as good as it has been. Maybe just the wrong time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

It's a great late night place to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had great service. Very friendly and got our drinks and food quickly for a busy Saturday night. Menu has a variety of options. Our party all had something different...burger, tacos, steak, salmon. Everything was delicious. Especially liked the Calamari appetizer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The reservation process through the opentable web site was a pleasant experience. Dinning experience was slightly not as great , mainly because our waitress was not in a great work mood that evening.
She did not pay attention to us after she took our orders, we had to wait more then 10 minutes for the beers after the meals were served(We asked her and she answered from a distance said the bartend was busy!), she put the dessert menu down on the table without saying a word in the middle of our meal time , she only returned one time asking if we wanted to order the dessert. Not much eye contact no smile.
First time we were disappointed by the service quality at Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I was happy that I made a reservation as the wait was 30-45 minutes even for 2 people. I have gone to this location before and enjoyed the food and environment. It's a little loud at times, but if you've been there before, it just the atmosphere. I was seated within 5 minutes of arriving, given great service, and the food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Always good to great food with great service and a cool atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Business Meals, Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

good like always! Beaverton doesn't have enough places like this. Good food and cocktails, fun atmosphere and sports to keep the guys entertained.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.