About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (27)
Casual (27)
Happy Hour (22)
See All
Fun (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Great Beer (17)
Live Sports (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Business Meals (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Late-night Find (10)
People Watching (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Tapas (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 11 hours ago

Pulled Pork was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Our waitress did not wait to hear what we had to say, she was brusque, never smiled and obviously wanted us fed and out. One of us at the table had to ask for another glass of wine by stopping the waitress. It was not a great, friendly place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service, appetizers delicious, staff is super friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great service. Good location for business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I made a reservation for Valentine's Day . When I got there my table was not ready. I had to wait for 15 minutes, then they seated me at a table with 2 people that we did not know!!!! It was very uncomfortable. They were clearly trying to make as much money as they could on that night and did not care that they were inconveniencing their customers. It was very busy so the service was very slow. We saw our waitress every 15 to 20 minutes. We finally had enough and when our appetizer arrived, 45 minutes late, I asked the manager to change my order and make it To Go. He asked if it was their fault and I said Yes. He said the service/wait time and I said Yes. He apologized and comped half our meal. Normally I enjoy going to The Thirsty Lion, but not this time. They were taking reservations so they clearly had control over how many customers they could serve, so I do not understand them making people who do not know each other share tables. That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard of.

I would not recommend going there on holidays or major sporting events as they clearly are not staffed to handle the customers in a timely manner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall the experience at Thirsty Lion was very good. The wait time was annoying, because we had a reservation. But it was Valentine's Day, so the increase in guests was understandable. I would've preferred that the restaurant would've not stacked the reservations right on top of each other. Our wait staff was great, so were the hostesses at check in. We were brought cocktails while we were waiting to be seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, but loud dining. Sports bar and tvs. Good service and variety of beers, wines, and cocktails.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They failed to list on the menu that the vegetables had bacon in them! Had to send my food back due to a food allergy. This could have been avoided had they listed bacon in the dish description. Also my husbands food grew cold while he waited to eat for my dish to come back out. No compensation was offered due to this inconvenience.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation for Valentine's Day, they offered a special Top Sirloin dish which was reasonably prices and delicious. I'm a huge music fan at any time of the day, but on this particular night the music could have been turned down a micro-smidge. I was sitting just a few feet across from my friend and we had to lean in and talk a little louder just to hear each other (maybe we were under a speaker or something). Overall, a great place that I really enjoy going to.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Thirsty Lion. Using Open Table makes is so convenient.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

They had just run out of scotch eggs before we got there. Other than that, everything was excellent, as always.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great staff, managers present on the floor which is always a big deal for me. Friendly, engaging employees, great restaurant and bar.

Go There!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I'm only a "once-every-few-months" customer (rarely eat out), but never disappointed in their service and food. Sometimes I wish they weren't so busy, but that's a testament to their establishment.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were there for dinner with another couple. Soooo happy we had a reservation as we bypassed the wait at the door. Food was good and service was very good even being they were busy. A little noisey but manageable.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have been here twice now and both times the food was excellent and the service was great! I would definitely recommend a reservation for weekends though. Always busy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waitress great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful to get a table within minutes of arriving. Food and service were great. A little noisy but great times and games on every tv!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Food was food, not anything to write about. Calamari was squishy, Fish tacos were tasty spicy, but more cabbage than fish for cabbage spent.

But the Service was done as a Team with many people covering the table very efficiently. Our server was good but the support she had, (another server checking on drinks, someone else bringing out the food hot, and someone else refilled water) made the overall service very good. We were well taken care of.

The restaurant was loud and crowded. It had the right amount of quality screens for sports.

Had I ordered something else it might have been a better experience overall. I would try it again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Fun vibrant pub feel, great food

Tags: Late-night Find, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Waitress was at super friendly didn't ask how food was

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went to celebrate a birthday. Really fun environment and a great place to grab a bite and a beverage. The menu is very extensive. Wonderful drinks. Table server Sunny was just that, bright, cheerful and made the greatest recommendations. Food was very good and a nice portion size. Someone came by quietly checking to make sure thinks were ok. Very nice overall. Jobs well done Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Great Beer, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Good experience for the SW side for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We tried Thirsty Lion for the first time for my birthday dinner. We tried a couple times prior to have dinner but it was way too busy and we did not have reservations. Reservations are pretty much a must for dinner hours. All four of us ordered something different and we all loved our choices. Absolutely will go back again. Wonderful food! Quite noisy, but it is a pub atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It's so noisy I always cone away with a sore throat from having to talk so loud and a ringing in my ears.

Good central meeting spot but the noise is something all 5 of us complaint about.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

It's a pub, so if you want pub food, you're set. They seated our party of 4 at a large table for 6 in the middle of the restaurant; it was so noisy that we couldn't even visit with each other.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is great with a very good selection to choose from. Reasonable pricing. Good for watching sports while dining. Gets a little noisy though for trying to talk.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always.....good food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Consistently good with great variety on menu. I really like the salads. The burgers are some of the best in town. Something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

General Manager Michael took good care of me and my family (party of 8) during a snowy night with limited staff. He was very hands on and the entire night was so re-memorable that we went back the next day!!! Can't wait to have a Thirsty Lion in Austin Texas to frequent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Our favorite place.Always a great experience. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a larger reservation of 12 that we made a few days in advance. We arrived to the reservation not being ready. You would wonder why I have such great reviews if the reservation wasn't ready and we wanted for 40 mins past the reservation time. Let me tell you. The manager in duty (don't remember his name) handle several "over the top" people very well, to say the least. I'm a big planner and like things to be as they're planned, and although the time frame was messed up, the manager did everything he could to make our experience still well; even after handling myself and my rude family.

I love thirsty lion has always been great and the manager on staff did very well at making our time and situation great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Tomato Basil soup and Salmon Risotto are awesome!

Excellent, professional wait staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant close to home. It's always busy, but service is always great. Food is good and they have a good wine and beer list.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and food. This is our go-to place for dates and family dinners! The staff is always nice and the drinks are fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Early New Year's Eve dinner. Excellent as usual! Best burgers in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Thirsty Lion is one of our favorites however we were there for a football game. Website promotes place to come for "football games" even to the degree they offer great drinks. Unfortunately, this is not the case - we would NEVER come to Thirsty Lion for football games. Thumbs up for any other time. Great disappointment for the game - we left after one drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had reservation but still had to wait 10 minutes for table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was very busy there but we were seated on time per our reservation. Never felt rushed even though when we left we realized how many people were waiting for a table

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a great time. My friend was running late and my server made sure I was constantly doing ok. I never once waited for her to come to the table even though it was very busy. The food tasted great. This is 1 of my favorite places to eat and just have a good time. This time was nothing different.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went specifically to get some good burgers and fries and were very pleased with both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant good food And we got in very quickly on a very busy night however, we chose it to visit with friends and it was way too loud. The music was blaring like it was a nightclub

I have been here during lunch and it's been very nice but dinner time, if you want to have a conversation, this is not the place to go.

Tags: Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Traditionally we go with friends to your restaurant for the holidays. It was very nice as usual but we felt a bit rushed. We were not asked if we would like another drink, just dropped off the bill.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. Great service, we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The music at this restaurant/gastro pub is OUT OF CONTROL. And not in a good way...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is a great place for a lunch meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was great and so was the food. Love their new hummus plate. Tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Though we were seated 20 minutes late for our reservation, we informed our server of our time crunch and the food came out super promptly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I work very close to rhis establishment and come here often. I met a friend for happy hour this time and he wanted a booth so he had me reserve through OpenTable. Which, of course, worked superbly. Our waitress was very patient with my friend and me. We couldn't decide on a beer especially since they changed their happy hour prices. But we eventually came to a decision and it was fine. The beers and food came out quickly. The fries are a great value, even at $4.95 for happy hour (they used to be $3.95 not long ago). Definitely try the beer cheese fondue pretzel. And their burgers, if you're in the mood to splurge on a beefy sandwich, do not disappoint.

One thing to note: they recently began charging a (roughly) two percent surcharge for a "living wage".

I will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyable meal with family and friends. Friendly, professional staff; meal was great! Would have liked to see a side / pre-dinner salad with entrée's (steak). overall, great meal / experience. Would definitely return. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always have the salmon. Very good !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.