About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Lion - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Old Fashioned - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Pear Pomegranate Cooler - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Spinach Salad - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Fish & Chips - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Toscana Pizza - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Seared Ahi Tuna - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Prawns - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Mango Habernero Margarita - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Grapefruit Greyhound - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
California Rolls - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
The Tavern Burger - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Oven Baked Pretzels With Ipa Cheese Fondue  - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Chicken Strips - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Scotch Eggs - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Grilled Romaine And Steak Salad - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Pepporoni, Italian Sausage, Prosciutto Pizza - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Ahi Tuna Salad - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Italian Pepperoni & Four Cheese Pizza - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Caeser Salad - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Pub Chip Nachos - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Spicy Tuna Roll - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Baja Fish Tacos - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Newcastle BBQ Chicken Pizza - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Flat Iron Steak With Gorgonzola - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
I.P.A. Beer Battered Fish & Chips - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
rueben sliders - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Bleu Cheese Bacon Burger - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Grilled Pear & Prosciutto Flatbread - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
nw pub burger - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Lamb Shank With Chimichuri Veggies And Garlic Potatoes - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
St. Louis-style Ribs - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Guiness Onion Soup - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Beer Steamed Shrimp - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
White Cheddar Bbq Burger - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Happy Caesar - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Shrimp And Butternut Squash Risotto - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Crab And Salmon Cakes - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Nachos - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Mint Mojito - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Chicken Caprese Sandwich - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Reuben Sliders - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Pork Tenderloin - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
edamame - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Scotch Eggs Non-Happy Hour - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Pub Nachos Non-Happy Hour - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Blue Cheese Chicken Sandwich - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR
Pulled Pork Sandwich - Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square, Tigard, OR

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for Valentines Day as we feature a special menu with items like Bronzed Mahi Mahi, Grilled Ribeye Steak and Peppercorn Beef Tenderloin Tips. Make your reservations today!

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (28)
Casual (27)
Bar Seating (26)
See All
Fun (26)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great Beer (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Live Sports (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Family Style (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Authentic (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Cozy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is great with a very good selection ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is great with a very good selection to choose from. Reasonable pricing. Good for watching sports while dining. Gets a little noisy though for trying to talk.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

As always.....good food and good service

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

As always.....good food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good with great variety on ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Consistently good with great variety on menu. I really like the salads. The burgers are some of the best in town. Something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

General Manager Michael took good care o ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

General Manager Michael took good care of me and my family (party of 8) during a snowy night with limited staff. He was very hands on and the entire night was so re-memorable that we went back the next day!!! Can't wait to have a Thirsty Lion in Austin Texas to frequent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. Our favorite place.Alw ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Our favorite place.Always a great experience. We will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tomato Basil soup and Salmon Risotto are ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Tomato Basil soup and Salmon Risotto are awesome!

Excellent, professional wait staff.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant close to ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant close to home. It's always busy, but service is always great. Food is good and they have a good wine and beer list.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful ambiance and food. This is ou ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and food. This is our go-to place for dates and family dinners! The staff is always nice and the drinks are fantastic.

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early New Year's Eve dinner. Excellent ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Early New Year's Eve dinner. Excellent as usual! Best burgers in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thirsty Lion is one of our favorites how ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Thirsty Lion is one of our favorites however we were there for a football game. Website promotes place to come for "football games" even to the degree they offer great drinks. Unfortunately, this is not the case - we would NEVER come to Thirsty Lion for football games. Thumbs up for any other time. Great disappointment for the game - we left after one drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Had reservation but still had to wait 10 ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had reservation but still had to wait 10 minutes for table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was very busy there but we were seate ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was very busy there but we were seated on time per our reservation. Never felt rushed even though when we left we realized how many people were waiting for a table

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. My friend was runni ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a great time. My friend was running late and my server made sure I was constantly doing ok. I never once waited for her to come to the table even though it was very busy. The food tasted great. This is 1 of my favorite places to eat and just have a good time. This time was nothing different.

Tags: Great Beer, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went specifically to get some good bu ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went specifically to get some good burgers and fries and were very pleased with both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a very nice restaurant good fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant good food And we got in very quickly on a very busy night however, we chose it to visit with friends and it was way too loud. The music was blaring like it was a nightclub

I have been here during lunch and it's been very nice but dinner time, if you want to have a conversation, this is not the place to go.

Tags: Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Traditionally we go with friends to your ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Traditionally we go with friends to your restaurant for the holidays. It was very nice as usual but we felt a bit rushed. We were not asked if we would like another drink, just dropped off the bill.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was delicious as usual. Great servi ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. Great service, we will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The music at this restaurant/gastro pub ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The music at this restaurant/gastro pub is OUT OF CONTROL. And not in a good way...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is a great place for a lunch meetin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is a great place for a lunch meeting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Service was great and so was the food. L ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was great and so was the food. Love their new hummus plate. Tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Though we were seated 20 minutes late fo ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Though we were seated 20 minutes late for our reservation, we informed our server of our time crunch and the food came out super promptly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I work very close to rhis establishment ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I work very close to rhis establishment and come here often. I met a friend for happy hour this time and he wanted a booth so he had me reserve through OpenTable. Which, of course, worked superbly. Our waitress was very patient with my friend and me. We couldn't decide on a beer especially since they changed their happy hour prices. But we eventually came to a decision and it was fine. The beers and food came out quickly. The fries are a great value, even at $4.95 for happy hour (they used to be $3.95 not long ago). Definitely try the beer cheese fondue pretzel. And their burgers, if you're in the mood to splurge on a beefy sandwich, do not disappoint.

One thing to note: they recently began charging a (roughly) two percent surcharge for a "living wage".

I will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable meal with family and friends. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Enjoyable meal with family and friends. Friendly, professional staff; meal was great! Would have liked to see a side / pre-dinner salad with entrée's (steak). overall, great meal / experience. Would definitely return. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always have the salmon. Very good !!

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always have the salmon. Very good !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was out of this world good! We ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was out of this world good! We were so surprised at how delicious the food was. Totally not expecting how good it was!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Everyone eager ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food and service. Everyone eager to please

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for a casual dinner after ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We came here for a casual dinner after a long day's work. The online reservation system made finding a table easy and quick. The food is excellent and they provide a variety of unique dishes that will please most everyone's palate. I highly recommend the Thirsty Lion!

Tags: Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love you guys!! Thanks for another great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love you guys!! Thanks for another great night!👏👏👏

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Hello- I was pleasantly surprised to see ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Hello- I was pleasantly surprised to see the servers in pants!!! They looked so much more comfortable and confident! I didn't see one server awkwardly pulling down there short skirt! Thank you!

The food was awesome I had the peppercorn burger special it was awesome! The happy hour appetizers we're delicious my daughter even ate the green beans and loved them. Our server was great a really hard worker with a great personality! Fast service on top of our drink needs. I love the fact we can put in reservations makes it so much easier with a five year old! Good job you guys should teach a class on running restaurants! Seriously!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thirsty Lion was able to accommodate a l ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Thirsty Lion was able to accommodate a last minute reservation on a Friday for a business lunch meeting. We entered and were quickly shown to our seats. The service was excellent and the food was served promptly and everything tasted great. The environment is intentionally noisy…so it can be hard to carry on a conversation, but we were satisfied with the overall experience.

Thanks again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the restaurant, but handicapped sp ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Love the restaurant, but handicapped spots are too far from front door. Too noisy. Food/drink/service outstanding. Reserved tables on time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great restaurant with quality food and a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great restaurant with quality food and a super friendly staff.

Highly recommend.

Tags: , Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Good for groups ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and food. Good for groups but I would suggest reservations even on a Tuesday night.

Tags: Happy Hour, , Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff, food was prepared well and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great staff, food was prepared well and exceeded my expectation.

Great spot for lunch, dinner or happy hour.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server great. Food great. Slow getting f ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Server great. Food great. Slow getting food out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were not able to make a reservation f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We were not able to make a reservation for 12 noon because the restaurant was full, so adjusted our reservation time to 11:30, thinking this would be a quick in and out lunch. However, we did not order until after 12:15 and did not get served until almost 12:45. This was definitely not a quick lunch meeting as we planned.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our waitress was a gem!!! She made sure ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waitress was a gem!!! She made sure our drinks were always full and empty dishes taken away!!! Service was the best!!!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always happy with preparation and taste ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always happy with preparation and taste of food. Never been disappointed. Friendly, attentive and always accomodating waiter/waitress staff.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came in with 4 girlfriends for a casual ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came in with 4 girlfriends for a casual birthday dinner. We had a reservation but didn't want to sit at a pub table. It only took them a couple minutes to get a regulars table set up. After that everything was wonderful, service was friendly and fast, food was excellent as always and overall we had a good time. Thank you thirsty lion

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Quick Bite, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Salmon, Brussels sprouts great. My frie ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Salmon, Brussels sprouts great. My friend had pork loin with cherry bbq sauce - outstanding!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.