About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and DInner: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Fish & Chips
Spinach Salad
Toscana Pizza
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Prawns
Mango Habernero Margarita
Grapefruit Greyhound
Ahi Tuna Salad
Lamb Shank With Chimichuri Veggies And Garlic Potatoes
Scotch Eggs
Chicken Strips
Italian Pepperoni & Four Cheese Pizza
Caeser Salad
California Rolls
The Tavern Burger
Oven Baked Pretzels With Ipa Cheese Fondue
Grilled Romaine And Steak Salad
Pepporoni, Italian Sausage, Prosciutto Pizza
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Pub Chip Nachos
Spicy Tuna Roll
Baja Fish Tacos
Newcastle BBQ Chicken Pizza
Flat Iron Steak With Gorgonzola
I.P.A. Beer Battered Fish & Chips
rueben sliders
Bleu Cheese Bacon Burger
Grilled Pear & Prosciutto Flatbread
nw pub burger
St. Louis-style Ribs
Guiness Onion Soup
Beer Steamed Shrimp
White Cheddar Bbq Burger
Happy Caesar
Shrimp And Butternut Squash Risotto
Crab And Salmon Cakes
Nachos
Mint Mojito
Chicken Caprese Sandwich
Reuben Sliders
Pork Tenderloin
edamame
Scotch Eggs Non-Happy Hour
Pub Nachos Non-Happy Hour
Blue Cheese Chicken Sandwich
Pulled Pork Sandwich

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
2 More
Best Value
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Tigard ›

Great for Lunch (47)
Good for Groups (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Late-night Find (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Brunch (8)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to have lunch with friends. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to have lunch with friends. Good food, service and ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No booth avail. Screaming children seate ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

No booth avail. Screaming children seated so close. Food was good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Our dinner was pretty tasty. We made re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dinner was pretty tasty. We made reservations and they got us in quick. Service was excellent even though the place was packed. It is noisy but that's the type of restaurant it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a little too noisy to have much o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was a little too noisy to have much of a conversation, but the food was good. The entrees came out before the appetizers which was a little annoying

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I sat on the patio and quickly received ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I sat on the patio and quickly received the most delicious kale/chicken/quinoa salad ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy. We were seated in the bar ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very noisy. We were seated in the bar (not very romantic). Waitress seemed distracted. Food was ok, but portions seemed small for the price. Check out the living wage surcharge on your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our trusty Lion

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our trusty Lion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love this place! We always have a great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this place! We always have a great time and wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was exceptional from Jonathan an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was exceptional from Jonathan and the food matched the service. The specials had several items you do not see everyday and Jonathan was knowledgeable about the specials and had opinions on those he had tasted so he was able to strongly recommend what he like. We will be back largely due to the service but the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and drinks were excellent. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was good and drinks were excellent. Great outside seating for happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Would be nice if you had a non - kid are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Would be nice if you had a non - kid area!!! Parents no longer know how to respect the dining value of others ...even near the bar.!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I met my husband here five years ago and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I met my husband here five years ago and we got married almost a year and half ago. We have been here for every day dining as well as our annual anniversary and many birthdays. You cannot beat this place especially in "the burbs". It is sometimes hard to get a table without a reservation but the service, food, and atmosphere are always worth it. I would recommend it any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delicious lunch to celebrate my ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a delicious lunch to celebrate my friends birthday. We both ordered the curry chicken soup and a salad. The soup was full of fresh vegetables and seasoned perfectly. Both salads (different types) were amazingly delicious and the portions were perfect. At the end of the meal they brought the birthday girl a yummy hot fudge sundae. The ice cream was creamy and the fudge smooth and delicious. My girl friend called the next day to say she couldn't stop thinking about the salad it was so GOOD! Thanks for a great place to celebrate. Service was awesome as well. Friendly and courteous wait staff. Made it extra special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good never disappointed . Recomme ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always good never disappointed . Recommend for family

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Thirsty Lion has a great seasonal menu, ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thirsty Lion has a great seasonal menu, and the regular menu has much variety. I really like the beer selection as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Business lunch for six. Plenty of large ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Business lunch for six. Plenty of large tables outdoors for groups, good energy with room to get in and out. Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location for good food and excelle ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great location for good food and excellent service! We recently met here for an after-work gathering and meal. The staff was extremely friendly and the food selection and quality was exceptional. The food and drink menus offered a wide variety, something for everyone.

Will be sure to include this location on my "To-Do" list when returning to the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I go to Thirsty Lion quit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I go to Thirsty Lion quite a bit and I must say, this visit was very lacking. I had to wait over 20 minutes for a refill on my iced tea. I ordered the Romano Herb Crusted Chicken and one of the pieces had absolutely NO breading on it at all and was extremely tough and tasted like it was a bland piece of boiled chicken. My husband had the sea scallops and was very disappointed that for $21 he got 4 scallops and some rice. No sauce, nothing. The waiter came over after 45 minutes to see how we were doing, never asked how our food was but could clearly see we didn't eat any of it. Was very disappointed in our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Table was ready when we arrived. Sever w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived. Sever was friendly & attentive the whole visit. Food was cooked perfectly, drinks from the bar came to the table quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE this place!!! Always great service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

LOVE this place!!! Always great service and food :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time at Thirsty. Food is ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Always a great time at Thirsty. Food is very good. Bacon wrapped dates are a must. The burgers are to die for and the enchilada stack was better than I expected and I expected a lot. Add to that their VERY extensive beer list and craft cocktails and it's always a winner. One of my favorite spots in the area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food as usual .strongly recomm ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food as usual .strongly recommended . A lots of beer selection

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was super slow, never cleared al ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was super slow, never cleared all of our plates when we were done, and just so slow!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The and atmosphere and service are aweso ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The and atmosphere and service are awesome. I like the upscale pub vibe. The food is always fantastic. I have eaten here several times and have never had anything mediocre.

The patio dining with giant firepit is supreme in the summer. There are 52 beers on tap. It's a great place for group events, dates, and casual dining. Also, the mini skirts and attractive staff add to the atmosphere.

The only deterrent I have is that it is not great for kids late night. They have louder music and music videos playing that can be too mature for kids at that time. It's more of a bar vibe after 8 pm or so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is always good and service gr ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is always good and service great. I recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our book club met on Tuesday night and t ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our book club met on Tuesday night and there were 9 of us. Our server was great and the food and drinks were excellent. I had to knock down the overall score because a manager approached our table and asked us to relocate to a bar area table after we had finished eating because he had a large party coming in and needed our table. If you are going to ask 9 people to relocate then sweeten the deal- coffee and dessert on the house!?! Otherwise- not cool to ask us to move when the majority of our group had ordered dinner and drinks. We won't be coming to Thirsty Lion again for book club. DOINK!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thirsty Lion has an excellent food selec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Thirsty Lion has an excellent food selection with weekly/seasonal specials. Additionally their beer and wine list is extensive. Restaurant is more bar like feel with TVs showing sports events. Atmosphere is lively and can be a bit noisy so not a good place for a quiet meeting but great place to go unwind and have fun.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. Cool vibe. Great place for d ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food. Cool vibe. Great place for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very Accommodating

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The staff at Thirsty Lion were very professional and accommodating when more people showed up than had been confirmed in our reservation. We had a great time and will definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beet, Chicken, and Gorgonzola salad was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Beet, Chicken, and Gorgonzola salad was so fresh, cold, arugula was crisp- combination of red and sweet beets with the hazelnuts was truly delectable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Patio

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This location has a great patio for outside seating and is a go to spot during Summer.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great at the beginning, but ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Service was great at the beginning, but after we got our food and finished eating, they were too quick to give us the check - didn't ask if we were done or wanted dessert or even clear the table before the check was given to us. The restaurant wasn't that busy so it didn't make sense. Food was good though! Salmon was cooked perfectly and had great seasonings and the perfect amount of char. The bronzed salmon with mango quinoa on the seasonal menu was spectacular. Not as fond of the risotto but the salmon with it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Not very consistent. We eat here alot. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Not very consistent. We eat here alot. This time we had 2 small children with us. Ordered their meals first. They came in a timely manner but we're barely warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Roaring Good Time

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love this place! Being able to make a reservation for a group is wonderful. The food and service is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had happy hour burger sliders, Califo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had happy hour burger sliders, California roll and calamari, all were amazing! Definitely impressed by the sushi too! We'll certainly be back again! Also, glad we made a reservation, thanks open table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious but loud

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food but loud. Hard to have a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you. Fabulous food though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed good food good beer s ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Never disappointed good food good beer selection.alway recommend this place

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy our meals at Thirsty Lion. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always enjoy our meals at Thirsty Lion. Not a pizza place but nonetheless has some of the best pizza crust we've tasted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to your restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came to your restaurant to celebrate Mother's Day. It was a wonderful experience. The staff and my family made me feel special. Thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.