Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

4.5
1051 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Gastro Pub
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Great for Lunch
  • Happy Hour
Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 352-4030
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kevin Dean
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Greenburg
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Sports, music, videos and more.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1051 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Always delicious food, warm and well prepared. Amazing beer & wine selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

I always enjoy sitting in Nick Webb's section. Attentive and personable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Food & service as usual was excellent.
We frequent Thirsty Lion because the food is always good. They have a menu that offers lots of food and drink (especially beer) selections. There’s always good sports broadcasts on their tv screens.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Overall everything was fine noise level was high as usual. Food was good service was fine. Nothing over-the-top but good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

It’s a fun place to go with ordinary food made fun.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Good food, great beer choices, full bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Go here alot and as I have said before sometimes spot on sometimes not. This time my Banh Mi sandwich was drowning in oil. Overall taste was good but roll fell completely apart. Suggest a hardier roll or better yet less oil and sauce

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Tasty, as per usual. The patio was a lot less noisy than inside, so we could actually talk without yelling to be heard.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great dinner for my father’s birthday! Excellent food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Service and servers were attentive,liked how different workers got to attend us. Birthday and mother’s day treats were fun and was super sweet to get ! Different food choices was a plus got to try new things . Definitely come back !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Server Nick was awesome, very friendly constantly checking to see if we needed anything. More people like that are needed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Do NOT get the brownie for dessert. We ordered 1 to take home. It would have been great but was not close to being cooked all the way. It was a huge disappointment. Especially because my salad was disappointing too. I had been looking forward to having dessert for Mothers day. We went for Mothers Day lunch. Service was good. The little Mothers Day gift was nice, what mom doesn't love chocolate!
I think everyone really loved their food except me. Mine was not bad but I ordered the Chicken Cesar Salad and the lettuce was good, dressing was good ( a lot of places can not get the dressing right but you did) . I was just disappointed to get cold chicken on it. I eat a lot of Chicken Cesar Salad and was expwcting fresh just cooked chicken on it. I just brought the chicken home to our dogs. We had a vegan eater who loved his Artichoke plate. My husband said his burger and fries were great. My Mother in law absolutely raved about her steak. She did say the asparagus was not quite cooked all the way. Overall it was a very good meal for everyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was fantastic from start to finish. I traveled a lot for business and have eaten at 5 star as well as Michelin restaurants. On that scale this was at least a 3 star bordering on 4. The wait staff were very attentive. My wife is still talking about it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my husband here to dinner for his birthday. The food was delicious, and our server was amazing, it was a bit chilly, but overall a fantastic experience. We'll definitely go back sometime.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Really good food with a large number of Asian inspired dishes. But there is something on the menu for everyone. The service was outstanding!

My only complaint would be the 2% optional surcharge on all orders for employee wages and benefits. This should be built into the menu and gives me the impression that employee wages and benefits are below standard. I opted to have the 2% surcharge removed and I gave it directly to my server!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The service at the front has increasingly gone down hill the last couple months. We go once a week to Thirsty Lion and each week the greeters is worse than the week before. The waiters and waitresses still have good service but the front and wait times even with a reservation is HORRIBLE. And couldn’t get a managers attention to even discuss.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We went to Thirsty Lion to celebrate my husband’s 40th birthday with the family. Great time, great food and great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We were seated really right away. The waitress was very nice and quite attentive. The manager, Thomas, came by to make sure our meal and service was good. I think that was a great touch! He is very nice and every time we have been there he has always greeted us and talked to us to make sure everything was good. Wonderful as usual!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

While we have been here many times we decided to try some new things not tried before. The salmon cakes were blah neither good nor bad just nothing to write home about. The Korean Chicken and veg was better, but the chicken was way over cooked due to the small size of the pieces. Also they were mostly breading. The veg with this dish were the highlight fresh, crisp and not drowning in sauce.

We would suggest on the Korean chicken using larger pieces that way less chance to over cook and not just eating all breading. Would probably not try this dish again w/o the changes. As far as the salmon cake there is something definitely missing taste wise

On an up note Hailey our waitress was very good and attentive w/o hovering

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

great food ,staff was very pleasant,loved the sitting out side

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

For this occasion at the Tigard location - lunch with this friend - not a good experience. No handicap parking, curb to manage at entrance was a problem and too noisy to have a conversation. Food was tasty. Don’t remember the noise being a problem at previous visits nor was handicap access noticed or needed on those occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We Love this place! It’s always consistent, from food to service, you can’t go wrong!

Delicious deserts and drinks!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The wait staff was excellent.
Fish and chips always great.
Brussels Sprout w/chicken salad is a favorite.
Glad I made a reservation. Got right in. I heard most people had to wait 1/2 hour plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very good!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We eat here regularly and we generally have a very good experience, at least a four star. This time all our meals were served except my wife’s. We flagged down our waitress and she went to check on it. It apparently got lost somewhere. She was having only the simple flatbread. It took 20 minutes to get it out! The waitress did offer a comp soup or small salad but since my wife thought her order would be out quickly she skipped the offer. We felt like no one was really taking ownership to get her order out quickly. She was not comped at all on her meal. Bad form all around. We are hoping this is a one-off bad experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

I highly recommend making a reservation and if it isn't raining, sit outside! It was a rare hot April day and the inside was actually warmer than the outside. Also the noise level inside was ridiculously loud (good God we Americans really are loud), so we opted to sit outside on the patio. The veggie burger and cheeseburger were really good, and the hot fudge sundae was outstanding. We will definitely be back to try that filet mignon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Thirsty Lion continues to be a reliably comfortable place to enjoy interesting, above-average, not-just-like-everywhere-else meals. The service is also usually a cut above. At this meal, requests for small details (cheese left off a grilled sandwich, salad dressing on the side) were all taken care of exactly as asked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Took my son. Good for families. He loved the mac and cheese! Good service. A little loud. Recommend a reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food was adequate. The place was noisy and service was a little slow.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Even with our Open Table reservation we had to wait 15 minutes to get seated. Took 20 minutes to get water and wine. Our entrees ( 2 seasonal entrees were delicious!) arrived BEFORE our beverages. DOINK! Thirsty Lion really needs to get an extra bartender for busy Friday nights. It was nice that Thirsty Lion took wine off of our bill to compensate. Would not go back for a relaxing date night on a Friday night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We showed up for our online reservation and were told by the hostess that she couldn't find it.
I showed her the Open Table confirmation, and we were still turned away. We won't be going back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

One of my favorite restaurants!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Thank you guys for amazing night as usual!! Love you guys!! 😘😘😘

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 13, 2018

I have written about this place several times some good some mediocre. On this visit the food was very good and the service was also very good. We liked several items off the new spring menu. The Ban Mi was excellent and the pad Thai was very good . Both had excellent flavor. If they can keep up this consistency we will be back more than occasionally.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This place was just too load and packed. Had a reservation and it still took an extra 20 minutes to get a table and the table I got was open the whole time. Must not have had enough workers to fill all the tables. Food was pretty good but I would not recommend the place if you want to have a conversation. Really loud and busy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Be prepared for loud. It was very noisy when we ate there. The salads tasted good but had small portions. My husband did not feel full afterwards

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Thirsty Lion has a diverse menu that has something for everyone. The food and service are consistently great. I really like the Ahi Tuna Salad and the beer selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 29, 2018

One of our local go-to locations for good food. The music was a bit loud this visit, but still good experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27