About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and DInner: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Fish & Chips
Spinach Salad
Toscana Pizza
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Prawns
Mango Habernero Margarita
Grapefruit Greyhound
Ahi Tuna Salad
Lamb Shank With Chimichuri Veggies And Garlic Potatoes
California Rolls
The Tavern Burger
Oven Baked Pretzels With Ipa Cheese Fondue
Chicken Strips
Scotch Eggs
Grilled Romaine And Steak Salad
Pepporoni, Italian Sausage, Prosciutto Pizza
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Italian Pepperoni & Four Cheese Pizza
Caeser Salad
Pub Chip Nachos
Spicy Tuna Roll
Baja Fish Tacos
Newcastle BBQ Chicken Pizza
Flat Iron Steak With Gorgonzola
I.P.A. Beer Battered Fish & Chips
rueben sliders
Bleu Cheese Bacon Burger
Grilled Pear & Prosciutto Flatbread
nw pub burger
St. Louis-style Ribs
Guiness Onion Soup
Beer Steamed Shrimp
White Cheddar Bbq Burger
Happy Caesar
Shrimp And Butternut Squash Risotto
Crab And Salmon Cakes
Nachos
Mint Mojito
Chicken Caprese Sandwich
Reuben Sliders
Pork Tenderloin
edamame
Scotch Eggs Non-Happy Hour
Pub Nachos Non-Happy Hour
Blue Cheese Chicken Sandwich
Pulled Pork Sandwich

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Portland / Oregon
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
5 More
Best Service
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
Best Value
Westside
Great for Lunch
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Tigard ›

Great for Lunch (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for Groups (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Romantic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the food was good. The table servi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

While the food was good. The table service was slow, we waited almost 30 min to get food and they brought out adult food before they brought out kids meals. That never goes well when service is slow. We also made a reservation via open table and were seated 20 min after our reserved time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding Gastro-pub! The Sonoran Chic ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding Gastro-pub! The Sonoran Chicken Enchilada Stack was very flavorful and had me wishing I had a bigger stomach for more. Service was very attentive without being pushy or intrusive. Great place, I'll be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thirsty Lion Pub and Grill is my go to l ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Thirsty Lion Pub and Grill is my go to location for a business lunch. The staff is very courteous and provides service quickly and efficiently. Add in that they have some very tasty healthy options like multiple hand-made salad options as well as some creative soup and sandwich choices and it is a perfect place for a quick meeting.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seasonal, food and beverage option ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great seasonal, food and beverage options, great service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overdressed salad. Servers were all wear ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Overdressed salad. Servers were all wearing very short dresses some of which were also low cut in the front. Way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great place to take my 21 year old grand ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great place to take my 21 year old granddaughter. Food was great and a good place to eat and visit!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to change to pick up, and the staff ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had to change to pick up, and the staff was friendly and nice looking place. Got the order of chicken fingers in less than 10 min and food temp was great. Didn't really like the flavor of breading or the sauces. Also would have been nice to have a side of fries. Cool looking place to.watch games or drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

This was my second time here and was imp ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my second time here and was impressed both times by their burgers. The meat was reall good, and they were well crafted. The service was minimal...the waiter got us our drinks, ordered our food, brought us a box, and gave us the check. He was friendly but I usually appreciate them checking in more often to ask how the food is and to refill waters. Granted they were pretty busy. Overall though, an excellent restaurant and good food. Will definitely come back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is our go to for a quick lunch or d ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is our go to for a quick lunch or dinner. Super casual and food is always good. This Sunday we sat at the bar and the bartender Ashlie was really great. She was really personable and great at her job.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great atmosphere and great se ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food, great atmosphere and great service! They were very customer focused let us sit in booth instead of at table. Server was nice and knowledgeable about menu items. He had great recommendations and was helpful. Love the pizza and pizza stove you can taste freshness.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to have lunch with friends. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great place to have lunch with friends. Good food, service and ambience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No booth avail. Screaming children seate ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

No booth avail. Screaming children seated so close. Food was good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Our dinner was pretty tasty. We made re ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dinner was pretty tasty. We made reservations and they got us in quick. Service was excellent even though the place was packed. It is noisy but that's the type of restaurant it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a little too noisy to have much o ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was a little too noisy to have much of a conversation, but the food was good. The entrees came out before the appetizers which was a little annoying

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

I sat on the patio and quickly received ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I sat on the patio and quickly received the most delicious kale/chicken/quinoa salad ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy. We were seated in the bar ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very noisy. We were seated in the bar (not very romantic). Waitress seemed distracted. Food was ok, but portions seemed small for the price. Check out the living wage surcharge on your bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our trusty Lion

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our trusty Lion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love this place! We always have a great ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this place! We always have a great time and wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was exceptional from Jonathan an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was exceptional from Jonathan and the food matched the service. The specials had several items you do not see everyday and Jonathan was knowledgeable about the specials and had opinions on those he had tasted so he was able to strongly recommend what he like. We will be back largely due to the service but the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and drinks were excellent. ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was good and drinks were excellent. Great outside seating for happy hour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Would be nice if you had a non - kid are ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Would be nice if you had a non - kid area!!! Parents no longer know how to respect the dining value of others ...even near the bar.!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

I met my husband here five years ago and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I met my husband here five years ago and we got married almost a year and half ago. We have been here for every day dining as well as our annual anniversary and many birthdays. You cannot beat this place especially in "the burbs". It is sometimes hard to get a table without a reservation but the service, food, and atmosphere are always worth it. I would recommend it any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delicious lunch to celebrate my ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We had a delicious lunch to celebrate my friends birthday. We both ordered the curry chicken soup and a salad. The soup was full of fresh vegetables and seasoned perfectly. Both salads (different types) were amazingly delicious and the portions were perfect. At the end of the meal they brought the birthday girl a yummy hot fudge sundae. The ice cream was creamy and the fudge smooth and delicious. My girl friend called the next day to say she couldn't stop thinking about the salad it was so GOOD! Thanks for a great place to celebrate. Service was awesome as well. Friendly and courteous wait staff. Made it extra special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good never disappointed . Recomme ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always good never disappointed . Recommend for family

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Thirsty Lion has a great seasonal menu, ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Thirsty Lion has a great seasonal menu, and the regular menu has much variety. I really like the beer selection as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Business lunch for six. Plenty of large ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Business lunch for six. Plenty of large tables outdoors for groups, good energy with room to get in and out. Great service and food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location for good food and excelle ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great location for good food and excellent service! We recently met here for an after-work gathering and meal. The staff was extremely friendly and the food selection and quality was exceptional. The food and drink menus offered a wide variety, something for everyone.

Will be sure to include this location on my "To-Do" list when returning to the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I go to Thirsty Lion quit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I go to Thirsty Lion quite a bit and I must say, this visit was very lacking. I had to wait over 20 minutes for a refill on my iced tea. I ordered the Romano Herb Crusted Chicken and one of the pieces had absolutely NO breading on it at all and was extremely tough and tasted like it was a bland piece of boiled chicken. My husband had the sea scallops and was very disappointed that for $21 he got 4 scallops and some rice. No sauce, nothing. The waiter came over after 45 minutes to see how we were doing, never asked how our food was but could clearly see we didn't eat any of it. Was very disappointed in our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Table was ready when we arrived. Sever w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived. Sever was friendly & attentive the whole visit. Food was cooked perfectly, drinks from the bar came to the table quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE this place!!! Always great service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

LOVE this place!!! Always great service and food :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time at Thirsty. Food is ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Always a great time at Thirsty. Food is very good. Bacon wrapped dates are a must. The burgers are to die for and the enchilada stack was better than I expected and I expected a lot. Add to that their VERY extensive beer list and craft cocktails and it's always a winner. One of my favorite spots in the area.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food as usual .strongly recomm ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food as usual .strongly recommended . A lots of beer selection

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was super slow, never cleared al ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was super slow, never cleared all of our plates when we were done, and just so slow!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The and atmosphere and service are aweso ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The and atmosphere and service are awesome. I like the upscale pub vibe. The food is always fantastic. I have eaten here several times and have never had anything mediocre.

The patio dining with giant firepit is supreme in the summer. There are 52 beers on tap. It's a great place for group events, dates, and casual dining. Also, the mini skirts and attractive staff add to the atmosphere.

The only deterrent I have is that it is not great for kids late night. They have louder music and music videos playing that can be too mature for kids at that time. It's more of a bar vibe after 8 pm or so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is always good and service gr ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is always good and service great. I recommend making a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our book club met on Tuesday night and t ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our book club met on Tuesday night and there were 9 of us. Our server was great and the food and drinks were excellent. I had to knock down the overall score because a manager approached our table and asked us to relocate to a bar area table after we had finished eating because he had a large party coming in and needed our table. If you are going to ask 9 people to relocate then sweeten the deal- coffee and dessert on the house!?! Otherwise- not cool to ask us to move when the majority of our group had ordered dinner and drinks. We won't be coming to Thirsty Lion again for book club. DOINK!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thirsty Lion has an excellent food selec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Thirsty Lion has an excellent food selection with weekly/seasonal specials. Additionally their beer and wine list is extensive. Restaurant is more bar like feel with TVs showing sports events. Atmosphere is lively and can be a bit noisy so not a good place for a quiet meeting but great place to go unwind and have fun.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. Cool vibe. Great place for d ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food. Cool vibe. Great place for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very Accommodating

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The staff at Thirsty Lion were very professional and accommodating when more people showed up than had been confirmed in our reservation. We had a great time and will definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.