Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.77mi

About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 11:00am, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Great Beer (29)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Fun (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Live Sports (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Business Meals (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Family Style (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Romantic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
833 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Had great service. Very friendly and got our drinks and food quickly for a busy Saturday night. Menu has a variety of options. Our party all had something different...burger, tacos, steak, salmon. Everything was delicious. Especially liked the Calamari appetizer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

The reservation process through the opentable web site was a pleasant experience. Dinning experience was slightly not as great , mainly because our waitress was not in a great work mood that evening.
She did not pay attention to us after she took our orders, we had to wait more then 10 minutes for the beers after the meals were served(We asked her and she answered from a distance said the bartend was busy!), she put the dessert menu down on the table without saying a word in the middle of our meal time , she only returned one time asking if we wanted to order the dessert. Not much eye contact no smile.
First time we were disappointed by the service quality at Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

I was happy that I made a reservation as the wait was 30-45 minutes even for 2 people. I have gone to this location before and enjoyed the food and environment. It's a little loud at times, but if you've been there before, it just the atmosphere. I was seated within 5 minutes of arriving, given great service, and the food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good to great food with great service and a cool atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Business Meals, Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

good like always! Beaverton doesn't have enough places like this. Good food and cocktails, fun atmosphere and sports to keep the guys entertained.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Just average. It was ok not great but not bad. Food was the same

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was good, but we had to wait over an hour and watch the tables who got sat after us get their food a good 20 minutes before us. It wasn't worth waiting that long on. It was like our table was invisible, in fact I'm pretty sure the reason our food took so long was because they brought it to the wrong table. We watched who I think was the manager bring out our appetizer look around for our table then go back into the restaurant for a good 5 minutes before bringing it back out and getting it to us. Waitress was nice, not her fault they were so disorganized. She checked on our food several times.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We loved our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

With such an expansive menu with tastes for any palate in your group and the beer selection to boot, you just can't beat The Thirsty Lion for Westside fun.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Live Sports, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I done here at least once a week. Great service by a friendly staff. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Food is consistently very good. Great place for lunch with clients.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Decent food, but was terrible for our large business luncheon.
Restaurant had the music so loud, we were all horse in the voice after being there just 45 minutes.
The loud music made the entire place too loud.
They need a private room for large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Will definitely come here again.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food consistently good. Staff are friendly and fun. Our go to spot for great burgers and beer!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill at Washington Square features great upscale pub food, large draft beer selection and tasty cocktails. The waitstaff is very attentive and the environment is comfortably modern yet it feels cozy (it's a little dim on the inside) though a touch noisy. Definitely will be back again and again.

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have been going to this restaurant since it opened, and had always enjoyed it in the beginning for its consistency. While the food can be very good more often than not it is mediocre. I have been there for dinner one night and lunch with clients the next day and the same dish is like night and day

Service is usually spot on and has not changed since it opened. Most all the waitresses are at least very good with some being outstanding, but management definitely needs to do so work in the kitchen

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Thirsty Lion is consistent with a diverse menu. The salads and burgers are great! They have a good beer selection as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Good bar friendly food and drinks with a pub atmosphere. The food is of a good variety and the service is excellent.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Staff was excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Restaraunt called to confirm our group of 8 reservation and to ask if we wanted a high or low table. Noted we had 3 birthdays to celebrate, brought us yummy hot fudge sundaes. The salmon was awesome. Great service by all! We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We made a reservation but got forgotten for a short while on a busy Saturday night. When notified, the staff immediately took care of it, gave us a great seat, apologized and offered free dessert or appetizer. A manager then checked in once we were seated. All is forgiven:). Good job Thirsty Lion.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I really like coming here. Love happy hour . I meet up with my friends here often. This is the second time I have used open table arrived and have no table. Showing hostess my reservation she still makes me wait.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Pulled Pork was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went for a birthday party for my mother. Thirsty lion always has good food and great service. The only downside is that the restaurant is a little loud for older folks.
Great menu, great seasonal specials.

Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waitress did not wait to hear what we had to say, she was brusque, never smiled and obviously wanted us fed and out. One of us at the table had to ask for another glass of wine by stopping the waitress. It was not a great, friendly place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service, appetizers delicious, staff is super friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great service. Good location for business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Overall the experience at Thirsty Lion was very good. The wait time was annoying, because we had a reservation. But it was Valentine's Day, so the increase in guests was understandable. I would've preferred that the restaurant would've not stacked the reservations right on top of each other. Our wait staff was great, so were the hostesses at check in. We were brought cocktails while we were waiting to be seated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I made a reservation for Valentine's Day . When I got there my table was not ready. I had to wait for 15 minutes, then they seated me at a table with 2 people that we did not know!!!! It was very uncomfortable. They were clearly trying to make as much money as they could on that night and did not care that they were inconveniencing their customers. It was very busy so the service was very slow. We saw our waitress every 15 to 20 minutes. We finally had enough and when our appetizer arrived, 45 minutes late, I asked the manager to change my order and make it To Go. He asked if it was their fault and I said Yes. He said the service/wait time and I said Yes. He apologized and comped half our meal. Normally I enjoy going to The Thirsty Lion, but not this time. They were taking reservations so they clearly had control over how many customers they could serve, so I do not understand them making people who do not know each other share tables. That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard of.

I would not recommend going there on holidays or major sporting events as they clearly are not staffed to handle the customers in a timely manner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, but loud dining. Sports bar and tvs. Good service and variety of beers, wines, and cocktails.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

They failed to list on the menu that the vegetables had bacon in them! Had to send my food back due to a food allergy. This could have been avoided had they listed bacon in the dish description. Also my husbands food grew cold while he waited to eat for my dish to come back out. No compensation was offered due to this inconvenience.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made a reservation for Valentine's Day, they offered a special Top Sirloin dish which was reasonably prices and delicious. I'm a huge music fan at any time of the day, but on this particular night the music could have been turned down a micro-smidge. I was sitting just a few feet across from my friend and we had to lean in and talk a little louder just to hear each other (maybe we were under a speaker or something). Overall, a great place that I really enjoy going to.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a treat to dine at Thirsty Lion. Using Open Table makes is so convenient.

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Business Meals, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

They had just run out of scotch eggs before we got there. Other than that, everything was excellent, as always.

Tags: Live Sports, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great staff, managers present on the floor which is always a big deal for me. Friendly, engaging employees, great restaurant and bar.
Go There!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I'm only a "once-every-few-months" customer (rarely eat out), but never disappointed in their service and food. Sometimes I wish they weren't so busy, but that's a testament to their establishment.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were there for dinner with another couple. Soooo happy we had a reservation as we bypassed the wait at the door. Food was good and service was very good even being they were busy. A little noisey but manageable.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I have been here twice now and both times the food was excellent and the service was great! I would definitely recommend a reservation for weekends though. Always busy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waitress great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful to get a table within minutes of arriving. Food and service were great. A little noisy but great times and games on every tv!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The Food was food, not anything to write about. Calamari was squishy, Fish tacos were tasty spicy, but more cabbage than fish for cabbage spent.

But the Service was done as a Team with many people covering the table very efficiently. Our server was good but the support she had, (another server checking on drinks, someone else bringing out the food hot, and someone else refilled water) made the overall service very good. We were well taken care of.

The restaurant was loud and crowded. It had the right amount of quality screens for sports.

Had I ordered something else it might have been a better experience overall. I would try it again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.