About Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square

10205 SW Washington Square Rd
Tigard, OR 97223
View Larger Map

Our mission is to evolve the gastropub business by combining the traditional values of European and American pubs, to create a place where friends and family can celebrate life and enjoy handcrafted food, beers and cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and DInner: Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 12:00am, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Greenburg

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 352-4030

Website:
http://www.thirstyliongastropub.com/

Entertainment:
Sports, music, videos and more.

Parking Details:
Ample.

Public Transit:
TriMet serves the Washington Square Mall area.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Dean

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square
Fish & Chips
Toscana Pizza
Spinach Salad
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Barbecue Prawns
Mango Habernero Margarita
Grapefruit Greyhound
Ahi Tuna Salad
Scotch Eggs
Lamb Shank With Chimichuri Veggies And Garlic Potatoes
Chicken Strips
Italian Pepperoni & Four Cheese Pizza
Caeser Salad
California Rolls
The Tavern Burger
Oven Baked Pretzels With Ipa Cheese Fondue
Grilled Romaine And Steak Salad
Pepporoni, Italian Sausage, Prosciutto Pizza
Strawberry Rhubarb Cheesecake
Spicy Tuna Roll
Pub Chip Nachos
Baja Fish Tacos
Newcastle BBQ Chicken Pizza
Flat Iron Steak With Gorgonzola
I.P.A. Beer Battered Fish & Chips
rueben sliders
Bleu Cheese Bacon Burger
Grilled Pear & Prosciutto Flatbread
nw pub burger
Beer Steamed Shrimp
Guiness Onion Soup
St. Louis-style Ribs
White Cheddar Bbq Burger
Happy Caesar
Shrimp And Butternut Squash Risotto
Nachos
Crab And Salmon Cakes
Mint Mojito
Chicken Caprese Sandwich
Pork Tenderloin
Reuben Sliders
edamame
Scotch Eggs Non-Happy Hour
Pub Nachos Non-Happy Hour
Pulled Pork Sandwich
Blue Cheese Chicken Sandwich

Thirsty Lion Pub & Grill – Washington Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
Best Service
Westside
2 More
Best Value
Westside
Most Booked
Westside
Best Restaurants in Tigard ›

good for groups (47)
great for lunch (45)
great for outdoor dining (38)
See All
hot spot (26)
fit for foodies (22)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (21)
neighborhood gem (20)
kid-friendly (20)
special occasion (15)
great for brunch (8)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
675 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Business lunch for six. Plenty of large ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Business lunch for six. Plenty of large tables outdoors for groups, good energy with room to get in and out. Great service and food!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great location for good food and excelle ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great location for good food and excellent service! We recently met here for an after-work gathering and meal. The staff was extremely friendly and the food selection and quality was exceptional. The food and drink menus offered a wide variety, something for everyone.

Will be sure to include this location on my "To-Do" list when returning to the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I go to Thirsty Lion quit ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I go to Thirsty Lion quite a bit and I must say, this visit was very lacking. I had to wait over 20 minutes for a refill on my iced tea. I ordered the Romano Herb Crusted Chicken and one of the pieces had absolutely NO breading on it at all and was extremely tough and tasted like it was a bland piece of boiled chicken. My husband had the sea scallops and was very disappointed that for $21 he got 4 scallops and some rice. No sauce, nothing. The waiter came over after 45 minutes to see how we were doing, never asked how our food was but could clearly see we didn't eat any of it. Was very disappointed in our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Table was ready when we arrived. Sever w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Table was ready when we arrived. Sever was friendly & attentive the whole visit. Food was cooked perfectly, drinks from the bar came to the table quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE this place!!! Always great service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

LOVE this place!!! Always great service and food :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time at Thirsty. Food is ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Always a great time at Thirsty. Food is very good. Bacon wrapped dates are a must. The burgers are to die for and the enchilada stack was better than I expected and I expected a lot. Add to that their VERY extensive beer list and craft cocktails and it's always a winner. One of my favorite spots in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food as usual .strongly recomm ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food as usual .strongly recommended . A lots of beer selection

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was super slow, never cleared al ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was super slow, never cleared all of our plates when we were done, and just so slow!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The and atmosphere and service are aweso ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The and atmosphere and service are awesome. I like the upscale pub vibe. The food is always fantastic. I have eaten here several times and have never had anything mediocre.

The patio dining with giant firepit is supreme in the summer. There are 52 beers on tap. It's a great place for group events, dates, and casual dining. Also, the mini skirts and attractive staff add to the atmosphere.

The only deterrent I have is that it is not great for kids late night. They have louder music and music videos playing that can be too mature for kids at that time. It's more of a bar vibe after 8 pm or so.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is always good and service gr ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This place is always good and service great. I recommend making a reservation.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our book club met on Tuesday night and t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our book club met on Tuesday night and there were 9 of us. Our server was great and the food and drinks were excellent. I had to knock down the overall score because a manager approached our table and asked us to relocate to a bar area table after we had finished eating because he had a large party coming in and needed our table. If you are going to ask 9 people to relocate then sweeten the deal- coffee and dessert on the house!?! Otherwise- not cool to ask us to move when the majority of our group had ordered dinner and drinks. We won't be coming to Thirsty Lion again for book club. DOINK!

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thirsty Lion has an excellent food selec ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Thirsty Lion has an excellent food selection with weekly/seasonal specials. Additionally their beer and wine list is extensive. Restaurant is more bar like feel with TVs showing sports events. Atmosphere is lively and can be a bit noisy so not a good place for a quiet meeting but great place to go unwind and have fun.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. Cool vibe. Great place for d ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food. Cool vibe. Great place for drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very Accommodating

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The staff at Thirsty Lion were very professional and accommodating when more people showed up than had been confirmed in our reservation. We had a great time and will definitely come again.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beet, Chicken, and Gorgonzola salad was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Beet, Chicken, and Gorgonzola salad was so fresh, cold, arugula was crisp- combination of red and sweet beets with the hazelnuts was truly delectable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Patio

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This location has a great patio for outside seating and is a go to spot during Summer.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great at the beginning, but ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Service was great at the beginning, but after we got our food and finished eating, they were too quick to give us the check - didn't ask if we were done or wanted dessert or even clear the table before the check was given to us. The restaurant wasn't that busy so it didn't make sense. Food was good though! Salmon was cooked perfectly and had great seasonings and the perfect amount of char. The bronzed salmon with mango quinoa on the seasonal menu was spectacular. Not as fond of the risotto but the salmon with it was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Not very consistent. We eat here alot. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Not very consistent. We eat here alot. This time we had 2 small children with us. Ordered their meals first. They came in a timely manner but we're barely warm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Roaring Good Time

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love this place! Being able to make a reservation for a group is wonderful. The food and service is always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had happy hour burger sliders, Califo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had happy hour burger sliders, California roll and calamari, all were amazing! Definitely impressed by the sushi too! We'll certainly be back again! Also, glad we made a reservation, thanks open table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious but loud

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very good food but loud. Hard to have a conversation with anyone other than the person right next to you. Fabulous food though.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed good food good beer s ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Never disappointed good food good beer selection.alway recommend this place

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always enjoy our meals at Thirsty Lion. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always enjoy our meals at Thirsty Lion. Not a pizza place but nonetheless has some of the best pizza crust we've tasted!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came to your restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came to your restaurant to celebrate Mother's Day. It was a wonderful experience. The staff and my family made me feel special. Thank you!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We needed a quick place on Mother's Day ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We needed a quick place on Mother's Day between church and a theater performance we needed to make. They took reservations, got us in immediately, and our order came incredibly fast. Our server was very nice and perfectly attentive. We do always find the Thirsty Lion noisier than we would prefer. And they got backlogged in the dishroom so our extra scoop of ice cream took forever to get to the table and when it came it was in a hot dish. But overall the food was quite good, presentation also nice and service was great. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Mother's Day Table for Eight

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Needed a place that would take a party of eight and Thirsty Lion came to the rescue. Seated and drink order taken our server was quick to expedite our order. I ordered the NW Pub Burger with fries. The gorgonzola infused burger was 1/2 pound cooked perfectly and topped with a grilled onion, maple pepper bacon, white cheddar, arugula and a horseradish cream. This burger was tasty, filling and only rang the register at 13.95. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal and Mother's Day was a complete success. When in Beaverton we always visit the Thirsty Lion.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great evening on the patio.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was great, however the pace of service was pretty slow. We waited a long time for food and drink refills. Nice patio.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Thirsty Lion rarely, if ever, disappoints

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Never say never, but Thirsty Lion rarely disappoints. It is a good spot for meeting friends or family, whether for happy hour or dinner. And always the option of watching a game in the background. The entire restaurant allows happy hour, and is very kid friendly. The food is solid, nothing out of the ordinary, but it is consistent and they are willing to work with special requests. This most recent visit was more of the same. I booked through Open Table and my profile outlines "window table if available". I was taken to a lovely large table in the corner of the room. I was meeting my parents and they were very impressed w/the table :). Not to mention, we needed to space to do some artwork so it worked out perfectly. Our server was extremely friendly and accommodating as well. He knew the perfect balance of checking on just enough while leaving us alone to talk, eat & drink :). I look forward to my next visit at one of the 3 Thirsty Lions in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always Consistently Good

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Had a great lunch at Thirsty Lion. Service and food are consistently good. Great drink selection and always good energy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Condescending?

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I asked the waitress if there was a house Chardonnay and she said there was not so I asked which Chardonnay would be a good choice. The waitress told me they were all about the same but the prices were from $6 to $9 a glass. I asked if the lower priced wine was good and she responded with, "I guess." I had her bring it and it was awful, had a bite to it and was very sweet. So, I asked for the next glass to be the Kendall-Jackson wine because the first was not to my liking (or anyone else's at the table). She said, "What did you expect for $6?" I was shocked, she was rude and condescending. We all gasped at the table and I did not say another word. She spent most of her time trying to accommodate the guys at the table anyway so I guess I was not important. Put a bit of a damper on the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food but very noise

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Good food but very noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

good place to eat.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. food is good and service is excellent

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Spot

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food and the server was on top of getting our drinks and food out quickly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Holiday special was horrible and didn't ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Holiday special was horrible and didn't get utensils till we ask for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

A Favorite

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I really like the Thirsty Lion at Washington Square. Done & done.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation Useless

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Was very frustrated with the host for the evening. I booked a reservation about 15 minutes before we arrived and it said 7pm. Upon arrival at 701pm, we were told that we'd have to wait until a table opened and we'd be waiting behind those who didn't have a reservation. I explained to the host that if you can't honor the reservation time, don't allow it to be scheduled. Other restaurants block time if they can't honor the reservation. I was extremely disappointed we had to wait almost 20 minutes.

Net of the issue, I wasn't satisfied with the host and reservation policy, food was great, just host didn't honor the reservation window.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Way too loud. If you are going to add gi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Way too loud. If you are going to add giant chunks of garlic to a pizza, make sure it is roasted properly. Undercooked garlic does not taste good in half inch pieces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Great menu. Only thing to know is seats ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Great menu. Only thing to know is seats are close, and gets a bit loud. If that's ok, then this is a great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood fixture

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We go here fairly often as it is less than 5 min. from our house. Service is always very good. Food quality can vary vary from week to week from the kitchen and who is cooking. Sometimes it is spot on sometime not. This would probably not be noticed except with as often as we eat here, we get some of the same things and they can be really good or mediocre.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.