About Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro

0315 Sw Montgomery Suite 340
Portland, OR 97201
View Larger Map

Focusing on local cuisine, wine and spirits. Thirst is the perfect place to relax and unwind on the Willamette and soak in views of the River Place Marina. All of our rooms feature floor to ceiling windows. And during summer months our patio seats 125. We serve full entrees and smaller plates / appetizers for pairing and sharing. Our menu is made from scratch and usues local ingredients. 90% of our menu is Gluten-free! We change our menu based on the season. We even harvest our own garden on Sauvee Island during the summer. We scour the Pacific NW for new and interesting wines and change our wine menu frequently. We are very selective about what we serve at Thirst and only serve wines that best represent the wonderful wines of the Pacific NW. We have over 30 wines by the glass and 100+ we serve by the bottle. Our private dining rooms are free and can host all kinds of events. Business Meetings, Receptions, Parties, Finners, Wedding-related and family celebrations! Book yours today

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday & Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm HAPPY HOUR Tuesday - Sunday 3- 6 pm TASTING ROOM: Featuring 18 wines - Open Wednesday - Sunday 1 - 7 pm. Nominal fee refunded with purchase. Staffed with Wine Experts.

Cross Street:
SW River Dr.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 295-2747

Website:
http://www.thirstwinebar.com/

Entertainment:
The Esplanade best people watching in the city! We also occasionally feature live music - check website for schedule. regon. Wine COuntry in the City! Free Wine Tasting and Nominal Tasting fee refunded with purchase.

Catering:
Thirst can cater with at least 3 days notice.

Parking Details:
There are many public parking spaces in the area. The most reasonable one is beneath The Strand Condominiums. Most are less than $6 after 5 pm

Public Transit:
Street Car: will bring right down to the waterfront, get off at "RiverPlace". Bus: The 35 will take you from down town to the SW waterfront. Get off at River Pkwy & River Dr (Stop ID: 13180)

Executive Chef:
Leslie Palmer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Thirsty Tuesday - $44 for TWO People. From Chef's Choice Menu - Appetizer to Share, Entree for each, Dessert to Share and a bottle of wine! Can't beat that! FREE Wine Tastings: Thursdays 5-8 pm. Thirst sponsors wineries or hosts theme nights (Red Blends, Pinot Battle, Female Wine Makers). See schedule on our website

Restaurant Photos

  • charcuterie
  • Wine
charcuterie
Wine

Private Dining

Two private event spaces right on the Willamette River. We do not charge for space and have reasonable food and beverage minimums. We have two private party rooms and also can host buy outs. Owned by a professional event planner - 20+ years of experience. Scratch-made Pacific NW food & great wines.

Thirst Wine Bar & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.2

ambience

4.0

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

45% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
228 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awful experience on a Sunday night. Appa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Awful experience on a Sunday night. Apparently this place doesn't know how to (a) staff properly and (b) provision their kitchen to provide the marquis items listed on their menu. This was my wife's choice for our second anniversary...and what a horrible choice. Arrived at 6:20 p.m. for our 6:30 reservation and were seated, but largely unattended for :!5 minutes. They were out of our appetizers of choice, substitutes arrived after a very long wait. Entrees arrived after a 1-hour 40-minute wait, and because they had run out of polenta, the meal was unsatisfactory. Sent it all back and asked to be cashed out. The servers were not on their game. Slow to attend to anyone. If this is the norm...and I hope to God for their sake it is NOT...this place has no business being in business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food service was extremely slow. It was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food service was extremely slow. It was a quiet evening and the long wait for appetizers almost ruined our night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had by far the worst service we had e ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had by far the worst service we had ever experienced. It was too bad because the food was good. Not recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

My mom-in-law was coming to visit for th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My mom-in-law was coming to visit for the first time. I went online and reviewed the menu for Thirst to make sure I (vegan) would have food options. I also saw that they had Happy hour specials from 3-6p. Based on this info I made a reservation via Open table for 5:45p. We arrived and it took a couple minutes for the two waiters and ?manager? to break off a conversation and get us seated. It took several more minutes for our waiter to arrive and drop off menus at which point I asked about the Happy hour, only to be told that because of a special event occurring downtown, they didn't have happy hour (not consistent w/ web site). We said okay and looked at the menu which was different and smaller than their online menu. It also lacked the identifiers of what was vegan. After another wait, the server returned and I asked what food items were vegan. He didn't seem to know and said that their really wasn't anything on the menu. When I pointed out that the hummus and olive appetizers might be vegan and asked about the gazpacho he started to clue in. The rest of the dinner was similarly poor serviced. The food was decent but not great, and certainly not worth the "special event menu" pricing. The best part, by far, was the river view. My recommendation: Call and double check about happy hour and don't spend extra for dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

The service was extremely slow and in th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was extremely slow and in the end the food was not worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

No better service anywhere!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Been to this place twice and I can honestly say that the wait service has been among the best I have ever experienced. The food is excellent. I will not only recommend this place to friends, I will be sure to make up excuses to take them there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fundraiser Dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Thirst was on the list of establishments donating a portion of the proceeds to Raphael House. It was a great reason to stop in to a place I'd been wanting to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Worst place ever!!!!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This place was way overpriced especially for happy hour and the portion sizes were a joke. The service was beyond slow. It was terrible. I don't see how they stay in business. I'll never be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Nice view, mediocre food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I had the Bistro Steak (from the March Dining Month menu). It was ok, but a bit tough and not especially good. In addition it had a pepper sauce which was not described in the menu. I have a low tolerance for pepper so that definitely diminished the pleasure.

The view of the marina was quite nice. The service was good.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

not impressed

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Went for the Portland Dining Month menu hoping to have the smashed potatoes and the bread pudding dessert. Neither were available. The shrimp bisque had way too much salt as did seemingly everything else, even the cheesecake. I had the steak, pretty tough, partner had the salmon, over cooked. We both had roasted, er... blackened, brussel sprouts. The desserts, I had cheesecake, my partner had creme brûlée, supposedly with Grand Marnier, were quite average. Service was slow, even on a mid-weekday. Overall, we were disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

would not recommend it

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

They were "out" of multiple menu items, server stating he "forgot to buy them at the store"; food was average at best; worst creme brulee I've ever had - it was lumpy and 'mealy'; wine pours were very skimpy and very expensive - paid $20 for a small glass of cab, checked online and average bottle price at retail was only $28. Hard to believe this spot has lasted for 10 years. I would not recommend it. Sure the view on the riverfront is nice, but ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I tried Thirst for Portland Monthly Dini ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I tried Thirst for Portland Monthly Dining and loved it! It was unexpectedly warm and sunny and everyone wanted to be on the riverfront, so it got crowded and Thirst was not prepared for that many people. Slowed down the service some, but the food was fantastic, the wine was well thought out, and the service was friendly and informed. I'd definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never disappointed at Thirst

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Invite husband's new boss to join us in a social setting. Started with baked Brie, (a must at Thirst) and a great Cabernet. We had the ahi with a side of shrimp bisque and "world famous" Brussel sprout salad. They had the duck with risotto. We ended the night with the Krum brûlée. All were fantastic. Service was paced nicely without being slow. Can't wait to go back and we will soon. YUM!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portland dining month entry....

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

I look forward to each March to check out new places & found this in the list of participating restaurants. Lovely location, good service. Food was bad (tough steak/dry duck confit/salty soup/weird textured crime brûlée). This is a supposed "wine bar" which surprised me: the wines we chose were actually nice, but over-priced, and there breadth of selection was small....

Won't go back or recommend.... There are too many good options in Portland!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food; lots of wine, not such great ambiance

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Nice small restaurant / bar / event space. There are not many tables and only two by the window. There was an event going on when we were there and lots of people coming and going to the bar, which is in the same small room as the restaurant. There was only one table that did not have people walking directly past it regularly. We chose the Portland Dining Month special menu. The food was good. For starters we had a nice salad and a lovely shrimp bisque. For an entree I had duck--rich and tasty meat; skin that was very fatty, not crispy as I would have preferred. My husband had seared Ahi--it was excellent. The desserts were not particularly memorable and no decaf coffee is available. If there were no event going on and cozy tables available for dinner in that same space, the ambiance would be considerably better. The service was very good, but overshadowed by the unappealing ambiance that we experienced. This was our first visit to this restaurant and we will choose another of the many great Portland restaurants next time we go out for dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

I'll start with the positive. Our server ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I'll start with the positive. Our server was fantastic. He tried so hard with what he was given. We had reservations at 730 on the third night of dining month. Upon arrival, he informs us they are out of the pork as one the entree choices on the pre fixe menu. We place orders for 4 steaks and one risotto. He comes back to inform us that they ran out of steaks and only had 2 left. In trying to please everyone who wanted steak, the server came up with idea to serve family style so we could all have some. We then ordered 2 risotto and the pork (they had pork but had run out of truffle polenta so it was served with potatoes) we waited almost and hour for our dinner. There was only one other table eating in the entire restaurant. When it finally came out it was cold. Everything The steak was supposed to medium rare and was medium to well. Obviously couldn't send back as there were no more steaks. They weren't even enough Brussels sprouts for us to have 2 each. The pork was heavily drenched in barbecue sauce. The risotto was like mush with hardly any mushrooms. Just a disappointing experience overall. Definitely would not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Violet2

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great setting, food, service, with nice staff. Have been to Thirst a number of times & will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Rude waitress with bad service left us sour

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

The bistro was empty, yet the service was horrible. The waitress stumbled through the specials, would stand over us after we asked for a few minutes to review the menu, took away the menus after we asked to keep a few on the table and just made the whole experience very unpleasant. While they have a good wine selection, their food is mediocre, and sadly, we expected a lot more out of this place. To top off this unpleasant experience, the waitress had the audacity to argue with one of our friends about another restaurant that our friend worked at, stating false claims and continuing to argue and try and make our friend look bad. When our friend tried to defend her employer, the waitress stated that she was wrong and kept rolling her eyes at our friend.

We will not be returning nor advising friends to visit this establishment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Simply Wonderful!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

This was quite simply the best dining experience I've had in quite some time. The level of service was outstanding, the food excellent, the servers knowledgeable about both the food being served and the bar. This is a place I will most certainly seek out when I am again in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place on the river. Great wine ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Wonderful place on the river. Great wine selection, wonderful food, and amazing service. Thank you so much for helping to make our first day in Portland wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, Great service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

What a gem! Wonderful food, friendly and efficient service and to cap it all a truly beautiful river view. Guaranteed we will revisit next time we are in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and view; good service lacking tonight

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

We had dinner at Thirst Fri. evening & since the weather was so nice, we had made a reservation asking for an outdoor table. One was reserved for us & we were quickly seated by friendly staff. We ordered several items including the shredded chicken sandwich which we were later told "was still being prepped" and not ready, so we switched to the pulled pork sandwich with carmelized onions added which was a great substitute. A very short time later (?15 minutes later), we heard our server tell the people at the next table that they had run out of the shredded chicken sandwiches- that didn't quite click at truthful as it would be hard to imagine that they had a run on the chicken that would cause them to run out so quickly with the number of people there! We shared a salad which the server said he would divide for us (he didn't-but that's neither here nor there) & the dip trio with thin sliced Grand Central bread. The artichoke dip & the crab dip were phenomenal! Our server brought extra bread when he noticed we were almost out & still had some of the delicious (!) dipping items left, but he never came back to refill our waters although it was a warm evening & I was only having water. We waited for 10-15 minutes, then called him over when he gave the couple next to us their bill. The food, the view of the river, & the people-watching here were outstanding! The service was only fair. Our server did tell us that he was doing several jobs that evening including bartending, & "liked to have a couple of tables for the extra money that tips brought him". We laughed after he left as so far the service hadn't been that great to expect a great tip! He was definitely a personable server & visited with us when he DID come around to check in on us. We also saw other Thirst staff (possibly from the wine area) sitting at a nearby table, & saw some of them help put up tables, but they didn't help with serving at the bistro. A little weird when our guy said he was so busy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great view of the docks when sitting at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

Great view of the docks when sitting at the outside tables. Perfect for a glass of wine and small plates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Good food, great wine, loud noise lever

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

The wine was great and the food was very good but my fathers salmon was over cooked and we both had the green beans that were totally undercooked.

The dinning area is small but well decorated but sound travels. There was a huge bachelorette party that was extremely loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Disappointed this time

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 4, 2015

I've really enjoyed Thirst in the past. What could be better than good wine, a flight of cheese and tasty ahi by the river? Well, this time I was disappointed. We waited a long time by the host station before anyone bothered to talk to us, then we were pointed to our table without being provided menus or a wine list. Service remained scattershot throughout the evening. And as much as I love their ahi, this time the last piece was so tough as to be inedible: a poor last impression of the meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

One of the best views in the city

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

We frequently choose Thirst on sunny days because of the view over the river, the people watching, and the great wine list. We happened to get there during happy hour which was great because of the price. We always say (tongue in cheek) if our liquor bill exceeds our food bill it was a good meal! I had a caesar salad which was crispy-fresh and the dressing was wonderful. My husband enjoyed his baked brie, apples, and bread. We shared a hummus plate. The hummus was so tasty that we ate ALL of it. I ordered my favorite Idilico, a white wine I drink only in summer. My husband enjoyed a Syrah. We were there, sitting outside for a couple of hours. It was a wonderful evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

food with a view

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

Dined outside, terrific food and marvelous view. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great communication prior to dinner date ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 23, 2015

Great communication prior to dinner date. We felt welcomed upon entering restaurant. Great service, food was prepared timely and it was excellent. We hope to return someday and have recommended this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing Dining Month Dinner

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

We were so looking forward to trying a new restaurant for Portland Dining Month. A wine bar with a nice menu, on the water. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing dinner.

The brie in pastry was a really nice start, my husband had the crab dip on what tasted like stale, sliced baguette slices. Not the best dip I've tasted, but not too bad.

I'd ordered the salmon with wild rice and asparagus on the recommendation of our server. Definitely not the right choice. The plate was ice cold as was the wild rice. The salmon was so hard and dry I had to use a knife to cut, and the asparagus was overly salty. My husband ordered the steak, which looked wonderful and medium rare but was very tough and over salted. The plate was cold and alas, so were his potatoes.

For dessert, the crème brulee had a perfectly burnt top but was cold although very tasty. What was unusual were the cold craisins sprinkled on top. The craisins didn't add anything, and actually tasted terrible with the rich sweetness and creamy texture.

So, $29 each for dinner plus two $10 glasses of wine each, $100 plus tip and just not worth it. Our server seemed a little put out that we were there for dining month, even having explained how excited we were to try this new restaurant. Disappointing, won't be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good eats

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 12, 2015

Crab dip - amazing!

Brie puff pastry - amazing!

Salmon - amazing!

Steak - cut was decent but cooked perfectly

Creme brulee - very good and not too sweet

Chocolate brownie a la mode - ice cream was good but brownie was a bit too sweet. Also disappointed that the warm chocolate bread pudding that was on the menu was not available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dinner on the Willamette

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 11, 2015

Thirst is not a very large location but being on the riverside walk, a good menu and the relaxed atmosphere works. Matt our waiter was great. We ate the Dine out menu it and it was delicious. Multiple choices on the entrees.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food, but...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 5, 2015

Great food and drinks, but the service could have been better. We had to wait a while after being seated before even getting menus and water, then the wait for the drinks was long enough that I almost went to ask for them at the bar because I could see from the table that they were ready.. It was not busy when we went and its a small place besides. I'll wait for great food, no problem and I don't expect the kind of attention for a discount that maybe they'd give a full-paying customer, but 10-15 min for drinks when there are only 2 other tables in the place and 1 is only waiting for a check is a bit ridiculous, especially when they were sitting on the bar within a few minutes after ordering them...they could at least have given us the beer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Quiet, tasty food with a great view.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We found Thirst Wine Bar and Bistro on Trip Advisor for our Valentine's Dinner on our short trip to Portland. We enjoyed excellent service, delicious food and a spectacular harbor and river view. Our server's suggestions regarding the menu and wine were perfect. We were lucky to be seated in their room for private events - the bushes in front of the harbor view are lower here. Wonderful, relaxing, peaceful dinner with a view. We will be back next time we are in Portland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

These people really know their wines!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Reminds me of some really good European places. Very good list of wines, people there really know about pairing and the wines they have. Very nice view of the Portland Marina.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful and Delicious

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

I had a 4pm reservation for drinks and appetizers on Valentine's Day and we were one of the only people there tho it clearly was booked for the night. Our server was kind and funny. We ordered two excellent flights of wine and a delicious trio of dips served with warm rustic bread. Upon request we got some extra bread and we're able to peacefully enjoy a romantic start to our evening as we people watched and witnessed the setting sun on the portland riverside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent wine, but the food selection is meh.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

The wine list at Thirst is notable. Our waiter was wonderful, absolutely friendly, and new a lot about wine. The food, however, is not notable - especially for a vegetarian. I wish this place offered more for vegetarians than a salad, a loaf of bread, and some cheese. There is a stuffed portobello, but not worth it for a light bite with your glass at happy hour.

Go for a glass of wine with the view (especially in the summer).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Great view, but bad service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 8, 2014

Thirst is located on the harbor and if you sit outside, you have a great view of the river. Our server was new and clearly needs someone to teach him how to wait tables. We waited and waited for our drinks and when he brought out a charcuterie plate, he forgot the bread. No problem, right? Well, he never came back out to check on us, so we had to go in and find him and ask for bread. We also have to find him to get our check. It wasn't busy inside the restaurant and another server had the bulk of the tables outside, so really no excuse except poor training. We would have had 2 drinks and more food, but with all that waiting, it wasn't worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great evening

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

the weather was amazing, great for outdoor dining. Thirst is right on the water and, with the lights shining on the water later in the evening, it was a great atmosphere for a lovely evening. Food was good, service was great and the overall experience was excellence.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice Bistro on the river

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

I made a booking to sit outside and they had reserved a table behind some bushes that totally blocked the view. We were not too happy about this and they gave us a better table as soon as one became available. Outside on a wide walkway but this was not too noisy or disturbing. The food was good, tasty and plentiful. Wine list was not extensive but we managed to find something we liked.

The manager was friendly and helpful and our waiter treated us well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of my Portland favorites

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

Great food. Menu isn't extensive but unique and really delicious. Service is always excellent and on a nice day, eating outside with a view of the river is the place to sit. Fantastic wine selection! I eat here every trip to Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.