About The Worthington Inn

649 High Street
Columbus, OH 43085
View Larger Map

Thank you for selecting The Worthington Inn! A reminder that special event and holiday reservations may not be available online. Please call the restaurant in this circumstance.

Nestled in the heart of Olde Worthington and a Columbus Top 10 Restaurant since 2004, the Worthington Inn offers the legacy and charm of a 19th century Victorian inn with a dining experience that is anything but old-fashioned. Chef Mike Water's commitment to sourcing only the freshest ingredients from local farmers results in a truly unique and mouth-watering menu you won't find anywhere else in Columbus. The Worthington Inn also offers an award-winning wine list with a range of wines that compliment our cuisine for all budgets.

The Worthington Inn is open everyday of the week, including our famous Farmer's Market Breakfast on Saturday mornings during the summer.

PATIO SEATING


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
CLOSED SUNDAY EVENING

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday-Friday 3:00pm-6:00pm

WEEKEND BRUNCH FEATURING A 15-TOPPING BLOODY MARY BAR
Farmer's Market Saturday 9:00am-3:00pm
Sunday 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
New England Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 885-2600

Website:
http://www.worthingtoninn.com/

Catering:


Parking Details:
Public parking lot located behind building. On-street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Mike Waters

Private Party Facilities:
Events at The Worthington Inn offer the legacy and charm of a 19th century Victorian inn paired with our award-winning menus for a uniquely special day.

The Worthington Inn boasts five unique private rooms that can accommodate parties of 10-100. Private Events at The Worthington Inn are perfect for celebrating any occasion, but especially wedding ceremonies and receptions, engagement parties, birthday celebrations, bridal party luncheons, anniversary parties, and baby and bridal showers.

Private Party Contact:
AnnaBell Kinsel: 6148852600x214

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Worthington Inn offers a variety of special events including First Wednesday Wine Dinners and seasonal and holiday events. RESERVATIONS FOR THESE EVENTS MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE ONLINE. Please call the restaurant to make your reservation in these circumstances.

Restaurant Photos

The Worthington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (43)
neighborhood gem (41)
See All
romantic (40)
great for brunch (26)
great for lunch (18)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (10)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
Sort By:
Newest
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place! Can't go wrong going ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We love this place! Can't go wrong going here. Sitting outside is an awesome experience as well

food4
ambience5
service5

Very well run restaurant. Great ambiance ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very well run restaurant. Great ambiance, good service and delicious food.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

NO for Sunday Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to the Worthington Inn many times for dinner and lunch and have always been very happy with the food and the service. Sunday brunch however (first time) was not a good experience. We made a reservation for 10, but when we arrived it appeared no-one was ready to go to work. When the waitress approached us she said she didn't know the specials for the day. We asked her to let us know once she knew them. In fairness to her we asked for a few minutes to decide 2 times after we learned what the specials were. ~ 10 minutes later, she returned to the table to get our order. I asked if I could get plain eggs benedict and she pretty rudely cut me off and said " we only serve whats on the menu" . That's perfectly OK, but she seemed irritated with me for asking I think. My husband agreed and wanted to say something but I stopped him. I also mentioned that I would want a Mimosa once I had ordered but she never followed through on that, instead I elected to get OJ and it was pretty bad. With all the great fresh squeezed brands out there not sure why the Inn serves something that cheap and bitter/sour. (The french toast was terrific though. )The service just wasn't that great - there was only 1 other table with patrons and they were waited on by a different person. Overall we were kind of disappointed - I would definitely not recommend for breakfast.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Exceptional pricing, unexceptional food ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great wait staff, but the $30/40 entrees are good, just not $30/40 good. Lunch is a better experience here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We went for brunch and the menu selectio ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We went for brunch and the menu selection is very limited. The food was expensive and not memorable. Though the servers were friendly we waited an extremely long time for everything; drinks, food, checks.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

outside--a little loud

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the outside seating--however, it's on a busy street and this particular Saturday night was exceptionally loud!! Food, good and service good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love restaurant Week

Dined on April 13, 2016

Went for restaurant week and loved it. My wife had trout and I had the beef entree. All the food was good and we really like the fixed price menu for Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Happy Meal"

Dined on April 12, 2016

This was a last minute decision to go out Tuesday night and try one of the restaurants participating in Dine Originals Week. Our $35 3-course meal at The Worthington Inn was perfection. I had the rainbow trout with spring vegetables and stewed tomatoes , a cold cucumber soup and strawberry shortcake. The shortcake was pistachio. I also tasted the salad, which was outstanding. Can you tell we were happy? Really the freshest trout ever. Thank you to our server and the chef at Worthington Inn for a most memorable meal. Barb

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. Service great as al ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Food was very good. Service great as always.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Awfuel experience

Dined on April 9, 2016

We didn't receive our food until more than an hour and a half after we ordered. Our server was nonexistent and no one updated us on what was going on. My wife finally had to go up to the hostess and say something and at that point they sent out a manager. She said she apologizes and there was a private party downstairs that "caused us to get lost in the shuffle." "They were going through some management changes that also caused this." We were offered free desert for the troubles. In my opinion, the entire meal should of been comped. We are new to Columbus and would never recommend this place. We NEVER ever complain and this was a 1st. Awful experience all around expect for the bar area. The bartender did a good job prior to us taking our seat.

food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for the personal attention from y ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Thanks for the personal attention from your new GM! He made us feel like celebrities! Korean-marinated ribeye was incredibly delicious and made better by the perfect root veggies and other veggies. Put it on the menu! Thanks to all!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great but getting worn

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, but decor could use a little face lift. All of the woodwork needs to be sanded and restained, decorations and cloth items need to be cleaned/refreshed, and bars in the meeting rooms should be cleaned out and restained.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a cut above

Dined on March 12, 2016

We certainly aren't regulars, but we go there enough to recognize that every dish, including sides, is a little extra special. My roast duck was superb, and the whole-grain risotto side was an unexpected treat. It also came with roasted winter veggies, which were done just right. My wife ordered the restaurant's Beef Worthington. She likes her beef well-done. Some places can't or won't cook meat acceptably well-done, but she was quite satisfied. It's usually not as noisy as we experienced, but we were next to a table of folks who were greeting other they knew. Not obnoxious, just noticeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

The food always is tops. Beats the Refec ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

The food always is tops. Beats the Refectory hands down and should be rated as the best in Columbus.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Favorite Restaurant of Ours

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We've eaten at The Worthington Inn many times, because it's one of our very favorites. This past Saturday evening, we enjoyed one of the very best meals we've ever eaten there! It was fabulous overall -- from the appetizer (sautéed shrimp etc.!) to the salad (arugula with grilled pear, blue cheese, and a wonderful dressing) and then the entrée, which was perfectly cooked salmon (medium rare-push) and melted in our mouths.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Came to Worthington Inn with a couple friends to celebrate an accomplishment. Everything here is always high quality...the food, the drinks, the desserts, the service. You just can't beat this place, I've never been even mildly disappointed here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere!! Had ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!! Hadn't been here in years and I'm sorry it took me so long to go back.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delightful Post Valentine Day Dinner

Dined on February 17, 2016

I thought two weeks in advance of Valentine's Day was enough for a dinner reservation, but everything was booked, so we ended up having a delightful dinner the following Tuesday. The Worthington Inn is a historic Victorian architecture Inn and the perfect destination for a romantic dinner. We started with a very tangy calamari appetizer with Thai sweet chili and Napa slaw. My wife had pumpkin ravioli with broccoli raab and charred leek, while I had seared scallops with Yukon potato puree, oyster mushrooms, and oxtail vinaigrette. Both were scrumptious and enticingly presented. The only slight negative was the wait between ordering and arrival of the dishes, but well worth the wait. Service was very good

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

First time diners for Valentines Day. We ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

First time diners for Valentines Day. We were seated at a table that was at the bottom of a weird staircase with very poor lighting. Ordered the squash soup and my hubby ordered calamari which were served 10 minutes apart. Neither were what we considered anything special. I also ordered the warm spinach salad that was made with very tough spinach and had a strange tasting bacon. Nothing in the salad was "warm". My hubby had the chicken which was one piece of baked and one piece of fried. He didn't care for the taste of either and left most of it on his plate. I'll chalk this up to the Valentines Day rush. Maybe on a different day the experience would have been better.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Bruschetta I've ever had

Dined on February 14, 2016

You absolutely must come and try brunch here. It's a delicious restaurant, and I will definitely be bringing future dates here- the food is fantastic, and the ambiance is wonderful. It's bad luck if you get seated next to loud white girls that have no respect for the dining area, but that's out of the restaurant's control. Great food, great service, highly recommend for dates!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our party of four went to celebrate Valentine's Day. We all enjoyed our entrees and felt that the service was excellent. The food was pricey and this is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars across the board. Portions were moderate. My husband and I had water, salad, and an entree and our bill came to $100. Our table was situated in a lovely room with a fireplace view. This is a nice restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The waffle had an awesome whipped cream ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The waffle had an awesome whipped cream with vanilla that brought the whole thing together.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening as always!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Worthington Inn rarely disappoints! So much better than a high end chain.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

great food-poor service

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was awesome. The service was lacking. Server did not even greet us , just handed us menus. She did not tell us about the specials, until we had to ask after overhearing another server explain them to their table. Did not pay attention to cocktail refills or even if we were enjoying ourselves. Being in the business for a long time, I was very disappointed in the service. Kudos to the chef. But wow, where is the service???

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Everything!

Dined on February 5, 2016

My wife and I stopped at The Worthington Inn for dinner and we were blown away with how fantastic the food was. Everything we had was delicious - butternut squash soup, Caesar salad, grilled shrimp with polenta and tasso ham appetizer were all outstanding. Service and atmosphere were excellent as well. I liked the craft beer selection as well. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Again a special luncheon with a great fr ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Again a special luncheon with a great friend! Food was excellent!

food5
ambience4
service5

We loved our dinner at yhe Worthington I ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We loved our dinner at yhe Worthington Inn. The service was really good, the food was delicious and the wine was terrific. Thanks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING CHEF!!

Dined on January 17, 2016

We have been to the Worthington Inn many times, but our favorite menu is the brunch menu. The goat cheese bruschetta is the best I've ever had. You have to try this brunch, but make reservations because it was packed!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First Visit- Will be Back

Dined on January 17, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday. We ordered the bruschetta appetizer (which was fantastic), the beef Worthington, and the vegetable dinner. Everything was fresh, the meat was cooked to our specifications, and we left feeling that we got good value. I also noticed the owner walking around and talking to people which I thought was a nice touch. Will be going back in the future.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

We come here when we want to have a nice quiet dinner - food and service never disappoint. Restaurant transitioned to a new chef with absolutely no effect on the food quality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worthington Inn First Visit

Dined on January 2, 2016

We have known about the Worthington Inn for quite a while but have never been there. This was our 30th wedding anniversary dinner and I will preface my review of the WI with our recent experiences at other Columbus high end restaurants, including those with "celebrity" restauranteer owners, which have varied from disappointing to dismal in either service, food, atmosphere or any of the above-to the point that we have greatly reduced our dining out. HOWEVER, the Worthington Inn was a delight in every respect. Every dish was perfectly conceived and prepared. Service was attentive and unobtrusive; we neither lacked for anything nor were we unnecessarily interrupted-the server kept herself aware of our table without being in our face every few minutes. The kitchen staff obviously is skilled, trained and attentive to detail in the preparation and presentation of food. The lighting is subdued but adequate to read the menu. That, and the low noise level made the ambience perfect for dinner. All in all, this restaurant is so very much better than the trendy spots that try so terribly hard to be the "in" place to go. We are going to try brunch next.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

1st time I was disappointed

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I have spent last 6 new year's at Worthington Inn. Loved the ambiance, service and quality food. This year not so hot. Scallops @$33 included only 3 regular size scallops. Deserts took half an hour and were bizarre. Won't be ushering in 2017 there.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Must for the Holidays

Dined on December 22, 2015

The Worthington Inn is an iconic part of the Old Worthington scene. It is a must for the Holiday season - the lights and old world vibe harken back to a simpler time and the meal is sure to impress. Don't forget to sample the specials - the wine list is to die for - and the service is impeccable (every fortune five hundred company should take a lesson from whomever hires their wait staff). If they are not too busy, ask for a brief mini tour of the building (and don't forget to ask about the ghost stories - although I have never witnessed anything).

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

really enjoyed it, its a classic destination

Dined on December 20, 2015

great food, good service, great atmosphere, the worthington inn is gem in cbus

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant for special occasions

Dined on December 20, 2015

A trip to The Worthington Inn at Christmas time has been a tradition for several years for my wife and myself. We have never been disappointed in any way. It really is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful, old fashioned service and great food.

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

I discovered the Worthington Inn after going to Worthington Market on Saturday mornings this summer. The old fashioned service and great food have brought us back time and time again. I have noticed that on the last two occasions (since the outdoor market ended for the year) that the service seems incredibly slow. Food is taking a lot longer to be brought out and whereas I used to have my coffee cup refilled several times during out meal, now I have to track down a server to get more if I am lucky. What used to be about an hour from start to finish is now taking two hours - which has been okay since its been a chance to catch up with friends but it's frustrating waiting for so long for food to arrive even though it is excellent when it does!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service2

What a Disappointment!

Dined on December 11, 2015

My friends and I have gone to the Inn every Christmas for a festive lunch for the last 10 years. Imagine our surprise when we went last week only to find the menu limited to sandwiches, salads and soups (at a very high price!). And the noise level was through the roof!!! So much for a lovely, festive lunch -- I could have gone to Panera. We won't be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

A Step Back In Time

Dined on November 23, 2015

The Worthington Inn has been a long standing local restaurant in Worthington. The Food is still good and the atmosphere is wonderful. I love sitting in different rooms in the big house. The food was very tasty and the service level was exceptional. We were there for a ladies lunch before Thanksgiving. We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed all of our choices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Dining

Dined on November 14, 2015

My daughter and I met a friend at the Worthington Bar, prior to going to our table for dinner. The bartender was great and I told my daughter that this was the bar that her Dad/my husband and his brother would disappear to when they got together! Our Monkfish was delicious and the golden beet salad was outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Perfect evening until...

Dined on November 14, 2015

My wife and I dined at Worthington Inn this past Saturday. We've lived in Columbus for several years and finally scheduled a reservation. The shrimp and beef carpaccio appetizers were excellent as were the salads, although they were a bit small for the $9 price tag. We ordered the duck and beef Worthington entrees and both were delicious and paired well with the Ridge Zinfandel we chose with the help of our waiter, who did a fine job all evening. Since we were both so full after such a delicious meal, we ordered a pecan pie dessert to go anticipating how good it would taste in a few hours. We arrived home and opened the dessert box a few hours later and to our surprise found the smallest, tiniest, thinnest and sorriest excuse for a $9 slice of pecan pie that either of us expected to experience. The pie's taste, texture etc was very good and a bit larger slice would have been nice considering the entire piece was about 3 average sized bites. After such a fantastic meal and service, the pecan pie left a negative impression to the extent that unfortunately I doubt we'll return. While we both recommend Worthington Inn, we most-definitely do not endorse a carry-out dessert.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.