About The Worthington Inn

649 High Street
Columbus, OH 43085
View Larger Map

Thank you for selecting The Worthington Inn! A reminder that special event and holiday reservations may not be available online. Please call the restaurant in this circumstance.

Nestled in the heart of Olde Worthington and a Columbus Top 10 Restaurant since 2004, the Worthington Inn offers the legacy and charm of a 19th century Victorian inn with a dining experience that is anything but old-fashioned. Chef Mike Water's commitment to sourcing only the freshest ingredients from local farmers results in a truly unique and mouth-watering menu you won't find anywhere else in Columbus. The Worthington Inn also offers an award-winning wine list with a range of wines that compliment our cuisine for all budgets.

The Worthington Inn is open everyday of the week, including our famous Farmer's Market Breakfast on Saturday mornings during the summer.

PATIO SEATING


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH:
Monday-Friday 11:00am-3:00pm

DINNER:
Monday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:00pm
CLOSED SUNDAY EVENING

HAPPY HOUR:
Monday-Friday 3:00pm-6:00pm

WEEKEND BRUNCH FEATURING A 15-TOPPING BLOODY MARY BAR
Farmer's Market Saturday 9:00am-3:00pm
Sunday 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
New England Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 885-2600

Website:
http://www.worthingtoninn.com/

Catering:


Parking Details:
Public parking lot located behind building. On-street parking also available.

Executive Chef:
Mike Waters

Private Party Facilities:
Events at The Worthington Inn offer the legacy and charm of a 19th century Victorian inn paired with our award-winning menus for a uniquely special day.

The Worthington Inn boasts five unique private rooms that can accommodate parties of 10-100. Private Events at The Worthington Inn are perfect for celebrating any occasion, but especially wedding ceremonies and receptions, engagement parties, birthday celebrations, bridal party luncheons, anniversary parties, and baby and bridal showers.

Private Party Contact:
AnnaBell Kinsel: 6148852600x214

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Worthington Inn offers a variety of special events including First Wednesday Wine Dinners and seasonal and holiday events. RESERVATIONS FOR THESE EVENTS MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE ONLINE. Please call the restaurant to make your reservation in these circumstances.

Restaurant Photos

  • Bloody Mary
  • Handmade Butternut Squash And Goat Cheese Ravioli, Mushroom-Leek Ragu, Black Truffle-Champagne Cream
  • Jumbo Lump Crab Cake, Creole Butter, Spicy Tomato-Herb Basmati Rice, French Green Beans
  • Tempura Battered Fried Lake Erie Walleye Sandwich
Bloody Mary
Handmade Butternut Squash And Goat Cheese Ravioli, Mushroom-Leek Ragu, Black Truffle-Champagne Cream
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake, Creole Butter, Spicy Tomato-Herb Basmati Rice, French Green Beans
Tempura Battered Fried Lake Erie Walleye Sandwich

The Worthington Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (28)
neighborhood gem (25)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
romantic (16)
great for brunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
great for lunch (12)
good for groups (10)
notable wine list (10)
vibrant bar scene (3)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall I was slightly disappointed with ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overall I was slightly disappointed with my experience at the Worthington Inn. While the service was good, the food was a slight disappointment. The smoked chicken gnocchi was something of a disappointment, the chicken was hard and dry, and the veggies seemed not cooked very well. The gnocchi were ok with nothing special about them. The strawberry pistachio shortcake didn't come with much strawberries, there wasn't anything remarkable about the dessert. Its possible this was just an off night with the kitchen, I would have to go again to be sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

food presentation was ok ,taste palatabl ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

food presentation was ok ,taste palatable, expected more. The fact that one could not reserve an outdoor table was disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

After being a fan of this restaurant for ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

After being a fan of this restaurant for its great food and service, plus pleasant dining environment, we were disappointed on this occasion. My wife's crab cakes were mostly filling and no crab lumps; whatever vegetables accompanied the dish were bitter and the fingerling potatoes not crispy. My dish of chicken was OK, but not spectacular. Desert was good. No more wine discount night. Service slow and impersonal. Sorry to have to say it but there are many other better choices available in Columbus. Maybe it's because the focus will be the bar, which they are in the process of expanding. No more "fit for foodies"

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Table service on the patio was slow. The ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Table service on the patio was slow. The Mimosa special, Bottle of Champagne and carafe OJ for $25 is an excellent deal. Food, as always, was very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Many good constant staples, with some ne ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Many good constant staples, with some new menu items. Generally fairly good value for upscale fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We were disappointed not to be dining on ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were disappointed not to be dining on the patio, but due to an event on High Street - and a live band - it was just not going to be the relaxing evening we planned.

However, we still had great service, good beverages, and superior food. It was an excellent experience, and I'm guessing we will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited for an early brunch on Father's ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Visited for an early brunch on Father's Day. although the restaurant wasn't crowded at that time, our service was very slow and mostly absent. We waited 10 minutes just to have our beverage refreshed. I noted similar issues with diners around us.

That being said, this is a lovely restaurant. The food was fresh and thoughtfully prepared. A restaurant of this caliber should make sure that their staff is sufficient to handle the tables assigned to them.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

First time here! Great old school atmosphere and great service. Each room in the house is different, classical 1800's decor, and beautiful. Great food as well!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Worthington Inn

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As a resident of Worthington, I can only hope that this place stays open for the sake of the history of the area. But they need some serious updates to the ambiance and also the wait staff needs to step up the service game, because if not, the resturant days are numbered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Lost hostess

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We came in the front door. No one greeted us. I saw the sign that directed us to the pub for a hostess to seat us.

I could not find the hostess. I stood there until somebody asked where we would like to sit.

After eating I found the hostess and told her we had a reservation through Open Table and to please indicate that we did eat at Worthington Inn. I know you need feed back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love this place! Can't go wrong going ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We love this place! Can't go wrong going here. Sitting outside is an awesome experience as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very well run restaurant. Great ambiance ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very well run restaurant. Great ambiance, good service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

NO for Sunday Brunch

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to the Worthington Inn many times for dinner and lunch and have always been very happy with the food and the service. Sunday brunch however (first time) was not a good experience. We made a reservation for 10, but when we arrived it appeared no-one was ready to go to work. When the waitress approached us she said she didn't know the specials for the day. We asked her to let us know once she knew them. In fairness to her we asked for a few minutes to decide 2 times after we learned what the specials were. ~ 10 minutes later, she returned to the table to get our order. I asked if I could get plain eggs benedict and she pretty rudely cut me off and said " we only serve whats on the menu" . That's perfectly OK, but she seemed irritated with me for asking I think. My husband agreed and wanted to say something but I stopped him. I also mentioned that I would want a Mimosa once I had ordered but she never followed through on that, instead I elected to get OJ and it was pretty bad. With all the great fresh squeezed brands out there not sure why the Inn serves something that cheap and bitter/sour. (The french toast was terrific though. )The service just wasn't that great - there was only 1 other table with patrons and they were waited on by a different person. Overall we were kind of disappointed - I would definitely not recommend for breakfast.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Exceptional pricing, unexceptional food ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great wait staff, but the $30/40 entrees are good, just not $30/40 good. Lunch is a better experience here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

We went for brunch and the menu selectio ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We went for brunch and the menu selection is very limited. The food was expensive and not memorable. Though the servers were friendly we waited an extremely long time for everything; drinks, food, checks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

outside--a little loud

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the outside seating--however, it's on a busy street and this particular Saturday night

was exceptionally loud!! Food, good and service good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love restaurant Week

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Went for restaurant week and loved it. My wife had trout and I had the beef entree. All the food was good and we really like the fixed price menu for Restaurant Week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

"Happy Meal"

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

This was a last minute decision to go out Tuesday night and try one of the restaurants participating in Dine Originals Week. Our $35 3-course meal at The Worthington Inn was perfection. I had the rainbow trout with spring vegetables and stewed tomatoes , a cold cucumber soup and strawberry shortcake. The shortcake was pistachio. I also tasted the salad, which was outstanding. Can you tell we were happy? Really the freshest trout ever. Thank you to our server and the chef at Worthington Inn for a most memorable meal. Barb

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service great as al ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Food was very good.

Service great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awfuel experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We didn't receive our food until more than an hour and a half after we ordered. Our server was nonexistent and no one updated us on what was going on. My wife finally had to go up to the hostess and say something and at that point they sent out a manager. She said she apologizes and there was a private party downstairs that "caused us to get lost in the shuffle." "They were going through some management changes that also caused this." We were offered free desert for the troubles. In my opinion, the entire meal should of been comped. We are new to Columbus and would never recommend this place. We NEVER ever complain and this was a 1st. Awful experience all around expect for the bar area. The bartender did a good job prior to us taking our seat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Thanks for the personal attention from y ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Thanks for the personal attention from your new GM! He made us feel like celebrities! Korean-marinated ribeye was incredibly delicious and made better by the perfect root veggies and other veggies. Put it on the menu! Thanks to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great but getting worn

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great food, great ambiance, but decor could use a little face lift. All of the woodwork needs to be sanded and restained, decorations and cloth items need to be cleaned/refreshed, and bars in the meeting rooms should be cleaned out and restained.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a cut above

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We certainly aren't regulars, but we go there enough to recognize that every dish, including sides, is a little extra special. My roast duck was superb, and the whole-grain risotto side was an unexpected treat. It also came with roasted winter veggies, which were done just right. My wife ordered the restaurant's Beef Worthington. She likes her beef well-done. Some places can't or won't cook meat acceptably well-done, but she was quite satisfied. It's usually not as noisy as we experienced, but we were next to a table of folks who were greeting other they knew. Not obnoxious, just noticeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food always is tops. Beats the Refec ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

The food always is tops. Beats the Refectory hands down and should be rated as the best in Columbus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A Favorite Restaurant of Ours

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We've eaten at The Worthington Inn many times, because it's one of our very favorites. This past Saturday evening, we enjoyed one of the very best meals we've ever eaten there! It was fabulous overall -- from the appetizer (sautéed shrimp etc.!) to the salad (arugula with grilled pear, blue cheese, and a wonderful dressing) and then the entrée, which was perfectly cooked salmon (medium rare-push) and melted in our mouths.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappointed

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Came to Worthington Inn with a couple friends to celebrate an accomplishment. Everything here is always high quality...the food, the drinks, the desserts, the service. You just can't beat this place, I've never been even mildly disappointed here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere!! Had ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere!! Hadn't been here in years and I'm sorry it took me so long to go back.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful Post Valentine Day Dinner

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I thought two weeks in advance of Valentine's Day was enough for a dinner reservation, but everything was booked, so we ended up having a delightful dinner the following Tuesday. The Worthington Inn is a historic Victorian architecture Inn and the perfect destination for a romantic dinner. We started with a very tangy calamari appetizer with Thai sweet chili and Napa slaw. My wife had pumpkin ravioli with broccoli raab and charred leek, while I had seared scallops with Yukon potato puree, oyster mushrooms, and oxtail vinaigrette. Both were scrumptious and enticingly presented. The only slight negative was the wait between ordering and arrival of the dishes, but well worth the wait. Service was very good

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time diners for Valentines Day. We ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First time diners for Valentines Day. We were seated at a table that was at the bottom of a weird staircase with very poor lighting. Ordered the squash soup and my hubby ordered calamari which were served 10 minutes apart. Neither were what we considered anything special. I also ordered the warm spinach salad that was made with very tough spinach and had a strange tasting bacon. Nothing in the salad was "warm". My hubby had the chicken which was one piece of baked and one piece of fried. He didn't care for the taste of either and left most of it on his plate. I'll chalk this up to the Valentines Day rush. Maybe on a different day the experience would have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Best Bruschetta I've ever had

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

You absolutely must come and try brunch here. It's a delicious restaurant, and I will definitely be bringing future dates here- the food is fantastic, and the ambiance is wonderful. It's bad luck if you get seated next to loud white girls that have no respect for the dining area, but that's out of the restaurant's control. Great food, great service, highly recommend for dates!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Classy experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our party of four went to celebrate Valentine's Day. We all enjoyed our entrees and felt that the service was excellent. The food was pricey and this is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars across the board. Portions were moderate. My husband and I had water, salad, and an entree and our bill came to $100. Our table was situated in a lovely room with a fireplace view. This is a nice restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The waffle had an awesome whipped cream ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The waffle had an awesome whipped cream with vanilla that brought the whole thing together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful evening as always!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Worthington Inn rarely disappoints! So much better than a high end chain.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great food-poor service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was awesome. The service was lacking. Server did not even greet us , just handed us menus. She did not tell us about the specials, until we had to ask after overhearing another server explain them to their table. Did not pay attention to cocktail refills or even if we were enjoying ourselves. Being in the business for a long time, I was very disappointed in the service. Kudos to the chef. But wow, where is the service???

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Outstanding Everything!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

My wife and I stopped at The Worthington Inn for dinner and we were blown away with how fantastic the food was. Everything we had was delicious - butternut squash soup, Caesar salad, grilled shrimp with polenta and tasso ham appetizer were all outstanding. Service and atmosphere were excellent as well. I liked the craft beer selection as well. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Again a special luncheon with a great fr ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

Again a special luncheon with a great friend! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our dinner at yhe Worthington I ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We loved our dinner at yhe Worthington Inn. The service was really good, the food was delicious and the wine was terrific. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

AMAZING CHEF!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We have been to the Worthington Inn many times, but our favorite menu is the brunch menu. The goat cheese bruschetta is the best I've ever had. You have to try this brunch, but make reservations because it was packed!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Visit- Will be Back

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I took my wife here for her birthday. We ordered the bruschetta appetizer (which was fantastic), the beef Worthington, and the vegetable dinner. Everything was fresh, the meat was cooked to our specifications, and we left feeling that we got good value. I also noticed the owner walking around and talking to people which I thought was a nice touch. Will be going back in the future.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always excellent

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

We come here when we want to have a nice quiet dinner - food and service never disappoint. Restaurant transitioned to a new chef with absolutely no effect on the food quality

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.