Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

The Winery Restaurant

4.6
460 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(970) 242-4100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jim Keith
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
7th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
In front of the building on Main Street.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 460 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food but pricey.
Atmosphere is the best in town

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Liked the restaurant the food was good and service was OK but we made the mistake of eating outside with a band no more that 50 feet away, would not do that again!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We often go to the Winery to celebrate our birthdays or other special occasion. We love it, and the food is always excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

One of the steaks was way overdone. By the time we received another one everyone had finished except for the one with the replacement steak. No discount or extra offered just the full bill. Usually we really like this establishment but our attendant didn't seem too interested in making it a pleasant experience.

Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The Winery has an extensive wine list and the menu features traditional favorites. BUT, the menu includes numerous hard to find items. Many tempting choices. We had a delicious macadamia encrusted Brie and bacon wrapped scallops as appetizers. FANTASTIC! Dinner was the Mother’s Day special lamb shank. Tender and tasty! Our waiter, Jake, was informative, attentive without being intrusive - first class service. He also managed to replicate a peach bilini with the prosecco that we had. Well done. We could not have asked for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. We hadn't been for a couple of years as the last time there it wasn't worth the $$. This turned out to be a great experience. The food was excellent, and staff was attentive and nice and we ate on the patio, which was really nice because we could hold a conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent fillet and lamb!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent find - was on a business trip and searched for a local restaurant - would and will return when I am in the area again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The food was great. I recommend for all your dining pleasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great restaurant and the staff was wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Dining at the Winery for my sixth time found it as remembered. The noise level for this size of restaurant as very, very low. The food presentation was a delight to the eyes. The paired wine perfectly set off the main course. Our server was polite and did not interrupt when she saw we were conversing. The Owner/Manager made a point to stop by the table twice to check on the quality of the service and food. Truly a wonderful dining experience to have again and refer to others without any qualifications.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

It was my wife's birthday and we were in Grand Junction to celebrate so I made reservations at the Winery. Our waiter, Paul, was pleasant and very knowledgeable about the meals and wines. I particularly liked the wine pairing suggestions for the meals on the menu. I had the suggested wine with my filet mignon and it was excellent. Both of our meals were very good and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her birthday celebration at the Winery.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Absolutely wonderful. What a great evening. Awesome appetizers. Great specialty drinks. Had the Old Fashioned that was so flavorful. All steaks cooked to perfection. The desserts were even as good as the meal. Our waitress, Kristin, was very friendly and made sure our individual meals were tinned perfectly. Definitely will be back. Awesome place and well worth the cost.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Have dined here several times since moving to the area. All were great. Very expensive so we go normally for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I’ve been going to the winery since they opened ! Excellent restaurant With Excellent food , excellent service, and great atmosphere! Thank You

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

What a wonderful place to take a beautiful wife on our anniversary. The people, atmosphere, and the food were outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food & service were excellent. A bit pricey; however, it was a special celebration. We will go again for a special dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We always love going here. This time was for our 30th Anniversary! Great Service. The owner stopped by our table and chatted. They arranged for some roses for our table. Waitress was very good. We went early so was very quiet. For app, we had the toasted macadamia nut encrusted brie; Wow! I had the blue cheese encrusted fillet and my wife had the NY strip. Both were excellent. The only off note was the pilaf; not the best. But overall, a wonderful night for us!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Excellent dinner. Grass fed filet was very good. High end wine list. Pricey but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

This was one of th3 best meals I’ve had in years own in a very long time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Quality of food did not match the price paid. Waiter was appeared to new or inexperienced. Did not know or advised of the house specials had to ask after hearing another waiter talking about it. Had to ask for bread and butter. Meal was warm not hot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

We were celebrating our sixtieth wedding anniversary. We had another couple with us and we all enjoyed the evening very much. The food was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The ambience was also very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Food was excellent at The Winery but expensive for Grand Junction. 4 people total with tip came to about $315. Everyone had a steak dinner (7 drinks among 8 people) and the steaks were cooked perfectly. Salad was not included but should have been for the price. Wine was pricey. Waitress was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Excellent food; expensive, but I can overlook that when the food is excellent. We got sat next to the kitchen so there were staff parading by us, which was a bit unnecessary since the restaurant wasn't full. I should have said something!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

This is one of our favorite places for special occasions. The service ous stellar and the food amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We dined at the Winery to celebrate our anniversary. The food, wine and service was above the standard at many restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

I had not visited in about 15 years. It was exceptional as always. Mushrooms are a must have!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Fiance and I went while I was in town for a conference. We were expecting a hefty tab but when the check came it was a bit more than we anticipated. I ordered the unlisted Kansas City Strip which came with a side of cooked vegetables and their 3 cheese au gratin potatoes, the steak was perfect and melted in your mouth. She ordered the Tournaedoes and Scallops which came with the same vegetables and a compliment of mashed potatoes, I personally wasn't a fan of the gravy sauce they put on the steak but the scallops were delicious. Their signature dessert "The Palisade" is a delicious mountain of chocolate, heavily consider sharing the plate and it will save you a little and you will still leave satisfied.

Make sure you have a couple c-notes to drop when the check comes though... the ambiance, service and food all comes at a price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Owner came and said hello. Very knowledgeable staff. I’ll come back for sure.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Definitely would have the blackened salmon daily special everyday, it was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

We celebrated our anniversary at this quiet, upscale restaurant with excellent service, excellent food choices, great tasting meals and an overall wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 10, 2018

Over priced, $9.00 for a 3.00 salad. no potato with meal. salad was extra?? great meal but out of my budget for what was served.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2018

We have dined at the Winery for special occasions for the past 30 years, the food is always exceptional, the portions most adequate. That said it’s still a special occasion place because of the quiet ambience and prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve dinner. The owner was having a bad night and our server was obviously distracted by something. We ordered an appetizer and when asked about the main course, I asked that he give us some time to enjoy our drinks. He boldly stated that he wouldn't serve all of our food at the same time. Salads came out wrong and he failed to submit our entire order to the kitchen, so the lobster tail was not served with the steak. This is unusual, as we have dined here often and service is usually impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The Winery never disappoints. I’m a creature of habit but always order something different every time I come here. The stuffed chicken breasts, need roulades with scallops, sea bass, their amazing steaks - it’s just to die for with an equally to die for wine list!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Every entree was just delicious. Most elegant dining in our town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

After a bit of a rocky start the restaurant staff provided a great experience. The food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

We enjoyed an evening with our business partners for Christmas.
The food was amazing and the service was excellent!
Thank you for never disappointing us!
The Winery is the best restaurant in western Colorado!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2017

We are regular visitors to the area and we always scheduled dinner at the Winery. Food is excellent, the service attentive andfriendly, and the setting is excellent. It is one of our very favorite restaurants, and we will always return when in Grand Junctin agian.

A great place for a delightful dinner and evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

Very professional, courteous , order-to-table time rate, and perfectly cooked.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12