About The Winery Restaurant

The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!

642 Main Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 242-4100

Website:
http://www.winery-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.

Public Transit:
In front of the building on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Jim Keith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

We planned a very special evening to celebrate an important day. We were given several very strong recommendations to dine here for special occasions. The place was nice but after waiting 1-1/2 hours for our food to arrive we were long past hungry and did not take but a bit of our entree. Nice place if you prepare by eating somewhere else prior to hold off your hunger while waiting for your meal to be served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Gute Küche. Unamerikanische Portionen. Dessert hat noch Platz. Haben uns mit einem 60isten Geburtstag angemeldet. Schade, das Restaurant hat nicht mal ein Dessert dem Geburtstagskind offeriert. Wir haben USD 600 liegen lassen....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best steak I've had in a long time, great feel in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Sometimes you just order the wrong thing, but both my husband and my orders were disappointing. And they were expensive too. I ordered the lamb chop special. It came with gloppy cream sauce, breaded zucchini and potatoes. If I ate all that fattening food I'd be sick. The lamb was so tough it was inedible. My husband ordered the mixed grill. The scallops were mushy but his steak was good at least. So, I thought I'll just skip my dinner and have ice cream for dessert. Well, two scoops cost $11. No thanks. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We went to the Winery to celebrate our anniversary. Everything was perfect. The Hostess, our wait staff, the meal and preparation. It all combined for a great evening. Even the owner stopped by our table two or three times to check on things. Highly recommend the Winery.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Our server, Will, was excellent!!! My husband ordered the monster (30 oz) T-Bone without asking the price.. $60 !.it was pricey, but did not taste extraordinary... it was ok...I had the mixed grill, sea scallops & beef tournedos, (sp.?) which was Ok, the scallops were probably bay scallops, small guys... I really think that business would be better if their pricing on entrees was re-worked. The restaurant is nice, good decor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A perfect ending to a busy week. We went with a friend/colleague from Kenya who had never been there before. He was impressed with the atmosphere, the service and the food. We had a quiet corner where we could enjoy the meal and the conversation. Perfect! Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We love The Winery. Everything went well. The food was excellent. The table ideal. Service was very good if a touch slow but perhaps that was not the servers doing? The only negative was there was table that came in after us a short distance away that were inappropriately rowdy and loud as if they thought they were at Country Jam. Not The Winery's fault these people showed up. We attend the winery on rare special occasions, like an anniversary, to actually get away from that kind of behavior though. We do feel it was bad enough that the server or management should have tended to matter. (maybe they did after we left?)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I was looking for a restaurant to go along with our weekend in Palisade wine country and the ambiance of this restaurant fit that perfectly. We made a reservation and were seated immediately upon arrival, granted the place was mostly empty at 8:30 on a Saturday night. The service was excellent and the entire waitstaff was friendly and attentive. The wine and drink list were not only extensive, but included a lot of local wines and liquors which was nice to see. The menu included a lot of local ingredients as well, and for the most part was well prepared, most notably the appetizers. For our entrees my fiance and I both ordered steaks, her the filet and me the porterhouse, which was a special of theirs for the evening. Despite ordering the filet medium and the porterhouse medium rare, I'm not sure if the waitress noted them incorrectly or the chef cooked them incorrectly, but the filet came out medium rare and the porterhouse medium. She was fine with the filet as it was and really enjoyed it. As for the porterhouse, it was overcooked and there was no sear on it so it was definitely a let down and the low point of the meal for me. We shared a dessert and a specialty coffee after, both of which were delicious and a good close to the meal. I would definitely go back and recommend this restaurant to friends, I would just avoid the steaks next time because they can't seem to cook them correctly. Everything else was well worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have always wanted to eat at The Winery. It was nothing short of amazing! From drinks to dinner and fantastic dessert with coffee-the food is so flavorful. Each and every bite delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great Place. Everyone is always pleasant. Food great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have celebrated our birthdays at the Winery for over 10 years. The food is always delicious, especially the complimentary dessert, the chocolate mousse thingy. And being able to make reservations on-line is very convenient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great place for dinner for any occasion. The owner is personable and very engaged which is welcomed. My porterhouse special was not a good steak...and then on top of that, it was overcooked but I was there for a business meal with a client in their home town so I chose not to voice my disapproval. My associate's filet was overcooked. The appetizer, encrusted brie, was awesome as well vegetables with dinner. I would try again but was disappointed in this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The Winery has always been my go-to place for special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Steals cooked perfectly. Waitress friendly and well rehearsed on menu and specials. A wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Cocktails and appetizers, are a must. Roxanne, the bartender. Very attentive. We had great food and conversation and it is a must every time I'm in town

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food is always exquisitely prepared. The specials are truly special! We enjoyed a quiet evening with great food. Service was a bit slow, especially waiting for the bill. And there seemed to be a mix up regarding the appropriate charges for our table. But all was cleared up shortly and we will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This restaurant is really nice. Terrific ambiance, very friendly staff great food, very nice wine list. You really couldn't want for anything.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The winery has such good ambiance and the food was excellent.the people were very friendly and helpful.great place to eat.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday there. The restaurant has nice ambiance - exactly what you expect for a restaurant called "the Winery". The food and wine list, as well as the cocktails were made with local ingredients. The have a patio for those who wish to dine outside. We chose inside due to the temperatures that day. Inside we sat in a very quiet area where we could enjoy the meal, and converse without being interrupted. Our server was very good, and knowledgeable.

We will come back the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It's simple. The winery is consistently excellent. My first dinner there was 16 years ago, it was outstanding. Have gone many times since and it is outstanding every single time. When I want a nice night out at an upscale restaurant, with excellent food and amazing food, The Winery is always at the top of the list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Brooke did a wonderful and thorough job as our server. Very sweet and professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful. Awesome staff. Incredible food

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

First time, recommended by friends. One of the nicest restaurants we have been to in the area. Food, service, ambiance well above average. We'll be back..

Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The food was awesome. Can go to the Winery anytime and know the food will not disappoint!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Steaks were cooked perfectly and were very tasty. Specialty martinis were fabulous. It was quiet and made it easy to hold a conversation. It's not inexpensive but worth it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Went to this restaurant while visiting family in the area. I live in a city known for great restaurants, and was pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu, the quality of the food, and the extensive wine list. Our food was cooked perfectly, and portions were generous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. I must say I was dissapointed that salads no longer served with meals but must be ordered extra. Also they used to serve incredible brad and we were not served any bread with our meal. For the increase in prices salad and bread should come with the meal

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

First meal at The Winery in many years. I was thrilled to see the restaurant has maintained fine quality dining while also providing some updated cuisine. The staff was superb in caring for us. We will return and recommend to friends.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fabulous, planning another 'date' night at this great facility

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I took my wife for our 15th anniversary, we had been here when we first got together and hadn't been back since. The food was great, the cocktails were very good, and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. The noise level was very low and we were able to have a nice conversation. I hope to have a date night here again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Our meal was an extremely enjoyable experience. The menu and nightly specials were all tempting. My husband had a filet and I order scallops from the appetizer menu plus added veggies. Both were outstanding. The wine list was varied and affordable. Our waitress was knowledgable and attentive. Just before dessert a party of 14 was seated in her section. The manager came over to introduce himself and tell us not to be concerned about the large party. He would personally be sure we had the attention we deserved. Now that is something we have never experienced and truly appreciated. We will be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2017

As usual, our visit to The Winery was stellar! It is our favorite restaurant ANYWHERE, & we applaud Steve Thoms on leading/training his wait staff beautifully. He even serves his patrons sometimes, & ALWAYS comes to each table at least once to welcome his guests, making us all feel very special. We don't live in Grand Junction, but whenever we are there shopping or attending a movie, we plan to have dinner there, & have NEVER been disappointed! Obviously, we highly recommend this fine restaurant to everyone. We were there celebrating our anniversary, but we don't need a special occasion at all! As to "Molecular Gastronomy", I have no idea how much scientific research Steve & his staff are conducting along these lines, so you'll have to ask them! :)

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We go to the Winery almost weekly. The service is always great . They always have very good specials and their menu has a great variety of very tasty dishes from steak, fish and chicken. Steve the owner is always on top of excellent customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wonderful evening. Visited based on hotel staff recommendation.

The entire Winery team was awesome from hostess to our wait person, Brooke. Especially enjoyed the visit from the manager, who my Manhattan, which was excellent. The warm spinach salad was excellent as we're our filet and rib eye. The cheesecake was a great finish. We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Service was great, food was good and cooked to order. Large portions it would be good to split. I really liked the flavor of the potatoes and how they cook crispy bacon around my salmon dish was quite special. I wish they had seated us away from a view of the bathrooms since we were on of the first tables seated on an off night. But other than that last item the experience was very nice.
Good wine selection too

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've eaten there many times, and haven't had a bad meal yet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have had many delicious meals at the winery over the years and this one was no exception. However, coming from the San Francisco Bay area, I continue to be surprised at how expensive it is there, considering it is in Grand Junction! I am also surprised that after several decades, there have been few upgrades in the interior which is rather dark inside. However, if you want good food in Grand Junction and can afford their prices, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My daughter graduated from college and we went there to celebrate. It was a very nice time and we loved the food, the drinks, the waiter, and the whole atmosphere. It is definitely worth a trip there and the $. Thanks for helping us celebrate this milestone in style. P.S. The chocolate mousse dessert shared by all four of us was the best we have ever tasted.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I were there for our anniversary. We both got the filet, and were not dissapointed. So tender and flavor to die for! The sides and salads were excellent as well. Great service too. Wil, our server, was awesome! For that special occasion, The Winery is THE place!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.