About The Winery Restaurant

642 Main Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
View Larger Map

The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 242-4100

Website:
http://www.winery-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.

Public Transit:
In front of the building on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Jim Keith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The Winery Restaurant, Grand Junction, CO
  • The Winery Restaurant, Grand Junction, CO
  • The Winery Restaurant, Grand Junction, CO
The Winery Restaurant, Grand Junction, CO
The Winery Restaurant, Grand Junction, CO
The Winery Restaurant, Grand Junction, CO

The Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Denver / Colorado
Romantic
Denver / Colorado
Most Booked
Grand Junction / Western
Best Restaurants in Grand Junction ›

Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A lovely and historic spot in downtown G ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

A lovely and historic spot in downtown Grand Junction ! We enjoyed our 27th anniversary dinner together here and we were very pleased with the exceptional service from all the staff, especially Aaron ! He was prompt and present when needed but not too much so, which is always appreciated. We were glad that it was a quiet night there and we were able to have a nice conversation without any loud groups distracting us, so we enjoyed our time there very much and definitely plan to go back again, especially when entertaining out-of-town guests ! The wine list is extensive with good choices for every palate, and we appreciated that our good local Colorado wines were well represented !

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty but expensive. I felt it was over ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Tasty but expensive. I felt it was over priced but it was pretty good. Not worth 40 a plate. Overall, pretty good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great spot for date night. Food and wine ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great spot for date night. Food and wine are excellent, setting was quiet, which we enjoyed. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Winery is a great restaurant. You wi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Winery is a great restaurant. You will not be disappointed. Consistently awesome food and service. The staff is very knowledgeable of the menu and wine list. Feel confident when you ask for their opinion, you won't be let down. A++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner served us to assist his waiter ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The owner served us to assist his waiter and he was a pleasure. The food was very good. I've been there once before and it's been consistent good. Not inexpensive for GJ but worthwhile. We'll go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Winery has had a great reputation fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The Winery has had a great reputation for decades: excellent steaks, service and salad! My wife and I spent our 30th Aniversary there for dinner. The mushrooms were too hot with white pepper. The shrimp was over cooked and the tempura batter was not light or flakey. The wine was overpriced but was needed given the aforementioned. To their credit the service was great! Next time it will be the steak or the special only. Too bad.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A wonderful experience. A great selectio ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

A wonderful experience. A great selection of foods and wines and a great and attentive staff. Highly recommend the Winery!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My birthday dinner at the Winery was exc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My birthday dinner at the Winery was excellent! Steaks were cooked perfectly, shallot mashed potatoes suggested by the waiter were very yummy. Palisade peach crumble for dessert was made from local peaches and topped with Tahitian vanilla ice cream; it was great ! Our server was pleasant and attentive. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for a romantic, well prepared meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We make it a point to dine here every ti ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We make it a point to dine here every time we are in Grand Junction. The food is a reason to make a detour just to visit the Winery. It lives up to its reputation for a romantic, exceptional meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was very nice. Loved the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice. Loved the brick interior, and the large old wooden doors. The steak, however, was not a prime steak. It was a choice cut. Not what I would have expected for $40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Excellent choice for special occasions - ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent choice for special occasions - food is always excellent, wine list is extensive although somewhat pricey (ie. nearly triple local liquor stores prices). Nevertheless, we keep returning............

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We visit here once a year during the Win ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We visit here once a year during the Wine Fest. We are looking for good food and a good wine pairing with a local Colorado Wine and are never disappointed.

The service is always quite good. The chef is willing to accommodate some variations in the menu.

The location is very convenient to downtown and an easy walk from downtown hotels.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We dined on the patio, very nice atmosph ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We dined on the patio, very nice atmosphere although small. Food was good and so was the service. Nothing super special but excellent for Grand Junction.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server, Ben, was excellent, quick wi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our server, Ben, was excellent, quick witted, and able, with seeming authenticity, laugh at an old man's jokes. That's rare. He was also a good server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fantastic. We we're celebrati ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Dinner was fantastic. We we're celebrating our 9 year anniversary. Menu is very diverse with lots of choices. Ben is a great waiter. We enjoyed the whole evening. Thanks; we'll be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant on Main Street. Nice p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great restaurant on Main Street. Nice patio seating and food is very good. A little pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Winery made celebrating our annivers ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Winery made celebrating our anniversary wonderful. From the cocktails, to the salads and the entrees (salmon, filet), everything was excellent. Service was just right.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The bleu cheese encrusted filet was abso ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The bleu cheese encrusted filet was absolutely the best meat I have ever had. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and we love the Winery. Our meals were superb, the service was outstanding (Thanks Ben!) and the ambience perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted to discover The Winery ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were delighted to discover The Winery and dined there three nights we were in Grand Junction. The food was marvelous. My only quibble is we asked for zero fat and naked fish due to 7 cardiac procedures in the past 12 months and each night we had an issue from bacon on the salmon to peanuts on Mahi Mahi to sour cream on beans the third night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Our waiter was really great. Attentive a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our waiter was really great. Attentive and great about allowing us time to savor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Winery is a lovely restaurant locate ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The Winery is a lovely restaurant located on (historic) Main St. In Grand Junction, CO. We walked to it from our hotel (the Hampton Inn). The interior was furnished as if it was a large log cabin, but with all the modern amenities. The food was really good! I would recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Husband and I had a very enjoyable leisu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Husband and I had a very enjoyable leisurely evening. We wanted to go to a nice place for dinner that was a special night of celebration. The Winery fit and exceeded our expectations with great food and a fabulous staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Live in NJ and when ever I n Colorado tr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Live in NJ and when ever I n Colorado try to visit the Winery because it is a gem!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was great, but it w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food and service was great, but it was a bit pricey so that's why I would only go here for a special occasion. We had two entrees and two salads and the bill with tip was $100.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Loved the ambiance of the restraunt and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Loved the ambiance of the restraunt and the service was wounderful as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, friendly people all. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent service, friendly people all. Food was delicious.

Our favorite eating restaurant for any occasion.

This one was for our 30th anniversary.

Thank you all for a memorable evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on Sunday night, not many custo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We dined on Sunday night, not many customers in the restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The Winery has always been a gem in the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The Winery has always been a gem in the heart of downtown . The noise level grew as a large party,that included teenage girls, grew more intimate groups sitting in the same room. My recommendation is that when a large group comes in to seat them away from the more intimate groups. Also, our server was more friendly when the check came. Before that he was professional but not warm and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good as usual. There were some rec ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very good as usual. There were some recent changes to the menu so that made it a little interesting but overall is was still great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was reasonable for the price, in a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was reasonable for the price, in a nice dining atmosphere. Fantastic wine list with many local Colorado wines. Excellent desert. The only downside was that the service was not at the level of price for the meal. At $80-$100 per person for a meal, you should feel doted upon. I've had better attention at box restaurants. For 3/4 of the meal I sat with an empty wine glass and was never offered another (ordered a single glass of wine). This may have been just our young waitress. I would be willing to try it again sometime.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

My husband and I ALWAYS reserve "The Win ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I ALWAYS reserve "The Winery" for very special occasions (Birthdays, Anniversarys). The food and service are always impecable, but it is also somewhat pricy. We

recently celebrated his birthday with out-of-town family and paid nearly $300.00 for 4 of us with alcoholic beverages and desert. Again, a lovely place with amazing food and service...just $$$$$.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Grand Junction for a business ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were in Grand Junction for a business conference. Three of us were looking for somewhere to have dinner, a local that happened to be in our hotel recommended the Winery. We enjoyed it very much, the atmosphere was quite, but food was delicious and our server John was terrific. They offer a great patio but Grand Junction was having record breaking heat 104 degree's so we were not able to use it. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the staff was outstanding. We told them ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2016

the staff was outstanding. We told them we were in a bit of a hurry and they accelerated the tempo of the meal perfectly to have us out and on our way without having a sacrifice a great dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our parent's 60th wedding anniver ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had our parent's 60th wedding anniversary celebration at The Winery. The entire evening was outstanding. The food was delicious! The staff was excellent in accommodating our family and helped to make this a memorable, enjoyable experience for all of us. Thank you so very much!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neat place for an evening out. Intimate ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Neat place for an evening out. Intimate setting or outside in fresh air. Service was very good as were wine and dinner selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pricey for what you get

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our experience was, to say the least, disappointing. At over $100 for two you would expect better. Our meal was prepared in a timely manner and 50% of what we ordered was flavorful. However, the Au Gratin potatoes and vegetables were over cooked and mushy. The cheese plate was good but the bread consisted of two hard rolls. On the bright side, the service was very good and our dinner was quickly delivered. Perhaps a little to quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Friday night date spot!

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great spot for Friday night date night! Food was excellent, wine selections were excellent and the service was very solicitous. Always enjoy going to the Winery for special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorites, always worth the mo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorites, always worth the money. Would recommend any time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Evening

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and had a very special evening together at this wonderful restaurant. It is a bit expensive for our income (we're both retired and on Social Security), but was well worth it.

Thanks!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Ambience, Average Food

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves on our anniversary and picked the Winery as the place to do just that. We had passed by the patio and admired the looks of the food before but had never dined there.

The service was good; friendly and efficient and answered our questions. Neither of us had tried a 28 day dry aged steak before so that's what my husband ordered; the Kansas City cut for $65. It was a beautiful cut of meat and cooked exactly as he ordered (medium rare) but the taste was definitely lacking in flavor and maybe it's a trait of dry aged meat, but it was a bit on the chewy side. We could have made 4 steaks of equal quality and superior taste for the cost of that one.

I ordered the salmon Alfredo and it was also good, but not worth the $25 flavor wise.

It's a beautiful restaurant and everyone was polite. :) But all-in-all, I think they've overpriced their meals just for the sake of being fancy; the taste of the food did not measure up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.