About The Winery Restaurant

The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!

642 Main Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 242-4100

Website:
http://www.winery-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.

Public Transit:
In front of the building on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Jim Keith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (25)
See All
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Business Meals (19)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Historic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

The winery has such good ambiance and the food was excellent.the people were very friendly and helpful.great place to eat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated my wife's birthday there. The restaurant has nice ambiance - exactly what you expect for a restaurant called "the Winery". The food and wine list, as well as the cocktails were made with local ingredients. The have a patio for those who wish to dine outside. We chose inside due to the temperatures that day. Inside we sat in a very quiet area where we could enjoy the meal, and converse without being interrupted. Our server was very good, and knowledgeable.

We will come back the next time we are in the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

It's simple. The winery is consistently excellent. My first dinner there was 16 years ago, it was outstanding. Have gone many times since and it is outstanding every single time. When I want a nice night out at an upscale restaurant, with excellent food and amazing food, The Winery is always at the top of the list.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Brooke did a wonderful and thorough job as our server. Very sweet and professional.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful. Awesome staff. Incredible food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

First time, recommended by friends. One of the nicest restaurants we have been to in the area. Food, service, ambiance well above average. We'll be back..

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food was awesome. Can go to the Winery anytime and know the food will not disappoint!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Steaks were cooked perfectly and were very tasty. Specialty martinis were fabulous. It was quiet and made it easy to hold a conversation. It's not inexpensive but worth it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went to this restaurant while visiting family in the area. I live in a city known for great restaurants, and was pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu, the quality of the food, and the extensive wine list. Our food was cooked perfectly, and portions were generous.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. I must say I was dissapointed that salads no longer served with meals but must be ordered extra. Also they used to serve incredible brad and we were not served any bread with our meal. For the increase in prices salad and bread should come with the meal

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

First meal at The Winery in many years. I was thrilled to see the restaurant has maintained fine quality dining while also providing some updated cuisine. The staff was superb in caring for us. We will return and recommend to friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fabulous, planning another 'date' night at this great facility

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I took my wife for our 15th anniversary, we had been here when we first got together and hadn't been back since. The food was great, the cocktails were very good, and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. The noise level was very low and we were able to have a nice conversation. I hope to have a date night here again soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our meal was an extremely enjoyable experience. The menu and nightly specials were all tempting. My husband had a filet and I order scallops from the appetizer menu plus added veggies. Both were outstanding. The wine list was varied and affordable. Our waitress was knowledgable and attentive. Just before dessert a party of 14 was seated in her section. The manager came over to introduce himself and tell us not to be concerned about the large party. He would personally be sure we had the attention we deserved. Now that is something we have never experienced and truly appreciated. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As usual, our visit to The Winery was stellar! It is our favorite restaurant ANYWHERE, & we applaud Steve Thoms on leading/training his wait staff beautifully. He even serves his patrons sometimes, & ALWAYS comes to each table at least once to welcome his guests, making us all feel very special. We don't live in Grand Junction, but whenever we are there shopping or attending a movie, we plan to have dinner there, & have NEVER been disappointed! Obviously, we highly recommend this fine restaurant to everyone. We were there celebrating our anniversary, but we don't need a special occasion at all! As to "Molecular Gastronomy", I have no idea how much scientific research Steve & his staff are conducting along these lines, so you'll have to ask them! :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Mobile)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We go to the Winery almost weekly. The service is always great . They always have very good specials and their menu has a great variety of very tasty dishes from steak, fish and chicken. Steve the owner is always on top of excellent customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful evening. Visited based on hotel staff recommendation.

The entire Winery team was awesome from hostess to our wait person, Brooke. Especially enjoyed the visit from the manager, who my Manhattan, which was excellent. The warm spinach salad was excellent as we're our filet and rib eye. The cheesecake was a great finish. We will return!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service was great, food was good and cooked to order. Large portions it would be good to split. I really liked the flavor of the potatoes and how they cook crispy bacon around my salmon dish was quite special. I wish they had seated us away from a view of the bathrooms since we were on of the first tables seated on an off night. But other than that last item the experience was very nice.
Good wine selection too

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have had many delicious meals at the winery over the years and this one was no exception. However, coming from the San Francisco Bay area, I continue to be surprised at how expensive it is there, considering it is in Grand Junction! I am also surprised that after several decades, there have been few upgrades in the interior which is rather dark inside. However, if you want good food in Grand Junction and can afford their prices, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My daughter graduated from college and we went there to celebrate. It was a very nice time and we loved the food, the drinks, the waiter, and the whole atmosphere. It is definitely worth a trip there and the $. Thanks for helping us celebrate this milestone in style. P.S. The chocolate mousse dessert shared by all four of us was the best we have ever tasted.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My wife and I were there for our anniversary. We both got the filet, and were not dissapointed. So tender and flavor to die for! The sides and salads were excellent as well. Great service too. Wil, our server, was awesome! For that special occasion, The Winery is THE place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I took my wife there for our 22nd anniversary. What great service and food.! The owner actually let my wife wait in the back while i went to get the car because it was raining. I would highly recommend the Winery for any occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lovely ambience on the patio. Service and food was great,

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We are always happy with our experience here. The service is always good with attentive servers. Good sized portions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious food in a cozy and elegant setting. We enjoyed dining on the patio. Impeccable service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We love the Winery for Special Occasions. You can dress up or go casual it's just that kind of place. We have been a number of times and have never been disappointed. Great food and the service is excellent. All the staff are friendly and I just can't say enough good things about this place. We love the atmosphere which is a big plus for us when dining out. I highly recommend that you go if you've never been.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 3, 2017

When we are in Grand Junction we make a point to have a meal at The Winery.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good but over priced. Nice area and good wine list. Food was good but over priced. Wine was over priced also . We found better places to eat in Grand Junction.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Very nice restaurant with good ambience and excellent food with aesthetic presentation!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at The Winery Restaurant as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. We have been there before, and it was once again a delightful experience. The food was excellent, the service friendly and professional, and we appreciated the personal attention of the owner. All around, a wonderful dining experience. We wil certainly return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The chicken was dry and the presentation was lacking. For the price, I would have expected so much more. I had BBQ chicken the next night that was better. I'm sorry, I would not recommend this restaraunt.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service, food, atmosphere was outstanding -the best of everything!
Loved that it's a quieter place and that you can have a conversation - our meal was wonderful and we had a very attentive server, and the manager welcomed us - it was a very enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed our 40th anniversary dinner great place to eat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I had an excellent dining experience. I was very impressed with the great service. Everyone was very attentive! The food was delicious and I couldn't be happier!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

First time dining here. Food was very good, atmosphere nice. Good Service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I wanted this place to be good, and it was decent, but my experience wasn't stellar.

The food was cooked pretty well but the steak was very underseasoned.

The server, while trying his best, just couldn't get it together.

There are other spots in Junction I would choose over this.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing amazing amazing. Main Street has some very good, long standing food establishments, none come close to The Winery. This place is so well put together, a wonderful experience. Words fail me.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent cocktails, appetizers, entrees and dessert. Specials were awesome. Appreciated the thoughtful wine pairings with each menu item.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our meal was really out standing. We'll always come back. Thank you for the desert. It was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Enjoyed another meal at The Winery. The Italian margarita is really good. The menu is varied with good choices and tempting appetizers and salads. Our table was private and quiet enough to enjoy our conversation. This restaurant is one of the best on the Western Slope.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.