About The Winery Restaurant

642 Main Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
View Larger Map

The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 242-4100

Website:
http://www.winery-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.

Public Transit:
In front of the building on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Jim Keith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • The Winery Restaurant
  • The Winery Restaurant
  • The Winery Restaurant
The Winery Restaurant
The Winery Restaurant
The Winery Restaurant

The Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Grand Junction / Western
Best Restaurants in Grand Junction ›

special occasion (28)
romantic (20)
notable wine list (12)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, friendly people all. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, friendly people all. Food was delicious.

Our favorite eating restaurant for any occasion.

This one was for our 30th anniversary.

Thank you all for a memorable evening out.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on Sunday night, not many custo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We dined on Sunday night, not many customers in the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The Winery has always been a gem in the ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Winery has always been a gem in the heart of downtown . The noise level grew as a large party,that included teenage girls, grew more intimate groups sitting in the same room. My recommendation is that when a large group comes in to seat them away from the more intimate groups. Also, our server was more friendly when the check came. Before that he was professional but not warm and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good as usual. There were some rec ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very good as usual. There were some recent changes to the menu so that made it a little interesting but overall is was still great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was reasonable for the price, in a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was reasonable for the price, in a nice dining atmosphere. Fantastic wine list with many local Colorado wines. Excellent desert. The only downside was that the service was not at the level of price for the meal. At $80-$100 per person for a meal, you should feel doted upon. I've had better attention at box restaurants. For 3/4 of the meal I sat with an empty wine glass and was never offered another (ordered a single glass of wine). This may have been just our young waitress. I would be willing to try it again sometime.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

My husband and I ALWAYS reserve "The Win ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I ALWAYS reserve "The Winery" for very special occasions (Birthdays, Anniversarys). The food and service are always impecable, but it is also somewhat pricy. We

recently celebrated his birthday with out-of-town family and paid nearly $300.00 for 4 of us with alcoholic beverages and desert. Again, a lovely place with amazing food and service...just $$$$$.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Grand Junction for a business ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We were in Grand Junction for a business conference. Three of us were looking for somewhere to have dinner, a local that happened to be in our hotel recommended the Winery. We enjoyed it very much, the atmosphere was quite, but food was delicious and our server John was terrific. They offer a great patio but Grand Junction was having record breaking heat 104 degree's so we were not able to use it. I would definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the staff was outstanding. We told them ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

the staff was outstanding. We told them we were in a bit of a hurry and they accelerated the tempo of the meal perfectly to have us out and on our way without having a sacrifice a great dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had our parent's 60th wedding anniver ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had our parent's 60th wedding anniversary celebration at The Winery. The entire evening was outstanding. The food was delicious! The staff was excellent in accommodating our family and helped to make this a memorable, enjoyable experience for all of us. Thank you so very much!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neat place for an evening out. Intimate ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Neat place for an evening out. Intimate setting or outside in fresh air. Service was very good as were wine and dinner selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pricey for what you get

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our experience was, to say the least, disappointing. At over $100 for two you would expect better. Our meal was prepared in a timely manner and 50% of what we ordered was flavorful. However, the Au Gratin potatoes and vegetables were over cooked and mushy. The cheese plate was good but the bread consisted of two hard rolls. On the bright side, the service was very good and our dinner was quickly delivered. Perhaps a little to quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Friday night date spot!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great spot for Friday night date night! Food was excellent, wine selections were excellent and the service was very solicitous. Always enjoy going to the Winery for special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorites, always worth the mo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorites, always worth the money. Would recommend any time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Evening

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and had a very special evening together at this wonderful restaurant. It is a bit expensive for our income (we're both retired and on Social Security), but was well worth it.

Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Ambience, Average Food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves on our anniversary and picked the Winery as the place to do just that. We had passed by the patio and admired the looks of the food before but had never dined there.

The service was good; friendly and efficient and answered our questions. Neither of us had tried a 28 day dry aged steak before so that's what my husband ordered; the Kansas City cut for $65. It was a beautiful cut of meat and cooked exactly as he ordered (medium rare) but the taste was definitely lacking in flavor and maybe it's a trait of dry aged meat, but it was a bit on the chewy side. We could have made 4 steaks of equal quality and superior taste for the cost of that one.

I ordered the salmon Alfredo and it was also good, but not worth the $25 flavor wise.

It's a beautiful restaurant and everyone was polite. :) But all-in-all, I think they've overpriced their meals just for the sake of being fancy; the taste of the food did not measure up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food and service was fantastic. Wort ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. Worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Every time we are in Grand Junction, we eat here at least once. The service is outstanding. We love eating on their small, intimate patio during the summer. I wish they had a few more vegetarian options but I can always find something wonderful! My husband loves the steaks as well as the salmon. They have a new espresso machine that makes the experience just that much better!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over 40 Years of Excellence!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We have been dining at The Winery since 1973. It is still the BEST place in town for a special occasion dinner. Food, service, and ambience all remain excellent. It's our 1st choice for fine dining in our hometown of Grand Junction. Always has been and always will be!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

It was our Anniversary! Great ambiance! Spectacular scallops!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good, not great

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Took some folks to The Winery for a business dinner recently based on hotel recommendation. Have to say I was disappointed in my meal based on the price. Appetizers were good (bacon wrapped shrimp), salad was good, but the steak left a lot to be desired. Not much taste and nothing special. Not good when you are supposed to be a high end steakhouse. Frankly, I had better steaks at Texas Roadhouse and places like that. At least you know what you are getting for the price.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

An off night for the aged T Bone steak. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

An off night for the aged T Bone steak. No flavor and instead of melted blue cheese I got dry dust of cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Lacking...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We were pretty disappointed this visit. Valentine's Day dinner for me and wife and they ran out of Kansas City cut steaks??? Valentines Day desert a pound cake with mousse for $15 was 2 single cakes the size of a candy bar and not very good at all. Asked to speak to owner but he was out after surgery as per our waiter. Really, to drop $200 on dinner and wish you went to Outback or Texas Roadhouse instead really is a disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Service, food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The ambiance was perfect for our Valentine's date night. The food was too notch and our waiter Clinton was very attentive

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was tasty, I have gotten ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

While the food was tasty, I have gotten as good, if not better, food for a lot less at other restaurants. I live closer to a resort area and can get food as good for a lot less. I ate at a restaurant in Vegas for about the same price and the food was much better and the service was extraordinary. They couldn't do enough for you. I had heard good things about The Winery however, I was somewhat disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

First time Diner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

There aren't any find dining establishments in rand Junction, so my husband and I constantly try to find one. I read reviews on The Winery, and made the decision to check them out for our 18th Anniversary, which is Valentines Day. We made reservations, ofcourse, and upon entering loved the location, and the ambiance inside. It was very quiet when we first sat down, and our waiter was a nice, polite, young man.

The long stem roses they provided at the door was a nice treat. Some of the reviews had mentioned dry chicken, so we stayed away from that. However, we had the cheese sampler, and really enjoyed it.

I do not drink alot of wine, but the waiter was able to bring me a glass that suited perfectly what I described to him. He even wrote it down for me to buy a bottle at the winery later :)

One of the specials was a 22 oz tbone that had been aged, which they suggested splitting, and they were wonderful in providing us both with the sides instead of just one side and making us split that as well. It was perfectly cooked and juicy. The vegetables were also perfectly cooked, crispy, with just the right amount of seasoning.

As we were deciding on what desert to take home with us, they just happened to bring us The Palisade (OMGoodness)!!! for our anniversary. It was amazing!

I would definitely go back here for another special evening, and found this restaurant to be far superior than other "fine dining" establishments in Grand Junction.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely disappointing

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Twelve of us planned an 80th birthday dinner and The Winery put us in a small room where there was another large party--probably 20. It was so loud we couldn't even celebrate. The food was TOO EXPENSIVE - $750 - and very salty. The shrimp tasted like it came from the freezer. The 'special' was medallions of tenderloin that were grisly. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Company Party

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Everyone (9) enjoyed there food. Service was good. Had a good time. We will plan another meal there as a group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant dining

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Food is very good. They have a nice mix of fish options. Service can carry a bit, however Steve makes sure to check on every table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great find

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

This was our first time at the Winery. The food was wonderful and we had great service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, perfect service.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great meal, perfect service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

48th Years

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Great service and really great entrees. I was pleased to see so many young people in the restaurant. Management and Hostess were very much intune to our special occasion. Well worth the drive to Grand Junction.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best place we found to eat in Grand Junction -

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 11, 2016

We will visit. Again when traveling thru Grand Junction

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak gone wild

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

I didn't like the steak. Dry and fatty. Not worth 50 dollars

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

First time...going back!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

First time...going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a birthday celebration!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

A relaxing setting and a great place to enjoy company and conversation.

Excellent food and service. Nothing better in GJ!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and a suggestion or two

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

Clearly, the ambience and food are great. However, I do not want to be best buddies with the wait staff, so please don't try to pry personal information out of me. Also, at the best restaurant in town, the waiters should know that those who have been properly educated put their knife and fork together when finished. It ruins an evening to be asked "are you done sir?" when I have clearly indicated by the placement of my utensils that I am done.

Food was tasty, and decor is nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

Not to sound like a martyr but... I have not been out anywhere except Doctors visits since my double mastectomy in July and the numerous Chemo treatments since. So when my husband asked me where I wanted to go for my Birthday I said "the Winery" of course.

My husband had the special - filet with crostini - it was wonderful.

I had the chicken stuffed with some kind of cheese, I ate the cheese out of the middle but the chicken was awful. I should have known better than to order chicken because usually it seems to be dry, but figured the quality would be great at the Winery. Sorry to say I was disappointed.

In addition - the mixed vegies where cooked nicely but way too much oregano or something that just ruined the vegies.

I hate to complain - I really do. With all of that said I guess the next visit will be with the type of food choice more thought out.

The service was great and I did have the Cream Brule gratis, it was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The best place in Grand Junction, Colorado

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

We have been faithful patrons at the Winery. It is a gem of a restaurant--always good food and good service. It is by far the most romantic restaurant in town, and it is quiet and easy to carry on a conversation with a group. I would highly recommend this restaurant over any other for a nice dinner out, a romantic dining experience, and good food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Just don't order the Veal!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

I'll start by saying the Wine Restaurant has been my favorite restaurant, however last experience wasn't as good. One of the dishes we ordered, the Veil, was absolutely awful. It tasted like pepper, garlic and oil! We also ordered a steak that was fantastic. When I explained to the waiter that the Veal was not good, he merely said I'm sorry, and did not offer anything else or to take off the bill. I was very surprised it was handled this way.

The wine was excellent, and of course the Paradise chocolate desert was fabulous, steak wonderful, however I was surprised and disappointed about the Veal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

TheWinery in GrandJunction

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Downtown favorite where you enter via a charming alleyway with great outdoor seating. Rustic interior with exposed brick walls a wood beams followed by white table cloth service with a view to the kitchen . Above average food from a wide ranging menu. Definitely worth a revisit

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.