About The Winery Restaurant

The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!

642 Main Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 242-4100

Website:
http://www.winery-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.

Public Transit:
In front of the building on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Jim Keith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Historic (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Good but over priced. Nice area and good wine list. Food was good but over priced. Wine was over priced also . We found better places to eat in Grand Junction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice restaurant with good ambience and excellent food with aesthetic presentation!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at The Winery Restaurant as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. We have been there before, and it was once again a delightful experience. The food was excellent, the service friendly and professional, and we appreciated the personal attention of the owner. All around, a wonderful dining experience. We wil certainly return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The chicken was dry and the presentation was lacking. For the price, I would have expected so much more. I had BBQ chicken the next night that was better. I'm sorry, I would not recommend this restaraunt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service, food, atmosphere was outstanding -the best of everything!
Loved that it's a quieter place and that you can have a conversation - our meal was wonderful and we had a very attentive server, and the manager welcomed us - it was a very enjoyable evening. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed our 40th anniversary dinner great place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I had an excellent dining experience. I was very impressed with the great service. Everyone was very attentive! The food was delicious and I couldn't be happier!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

First time dining here. Food was very good, atmosphere nice. Good Service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I wanted this place to be good, and it was decent, but my experience wasn't stellar.

The food was cooked pretty well but the steak was very underseasoned.

The server, while trying his best, just couldn't get it together.

There are other spots in Junction I would choose over this.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing amazing amazing. Main Street has some very good, long standing food establishments, none come close to The Winery. This place is so well put together, a wonderful experience. Words fail me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent cocktails, appetizers, entrees and dessert. Specials were awesome. Appreciated the thoughtful wine pairings with each menu item.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our meal was really out standing. We'll always come back. Thank you for the desert. It was wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Enjoyed another meal at The Winery. The Italian margarita is really good. The menu is varied with good choices and tempting appetizers and salads. Our table was private and quiet enough to enjoy our conversation. This restaurant is one of the best on the Western Slope.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Porterhouse was really fatty. Not worth $72. In the top 5 worst steaks I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always Steve and his staff deliver excellent service with a excellent meal in a atmosphere that is always pleasant and relaxing.
You get what you pay for in life and the Whinery delivers on all accounts.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Don't underestimate this restaurant. On par with similar restaurant s in major cities. Great steaks and local wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The dining experience was wonderful! The waiter and staff took really good care of us and the meal was outstanding. I love this restaurant for a nice quiet place to visit and enjoy the dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 2, 2017

we were quite excited about the reviews but the steaks were very poor quality - my husband and daughters boyfriend's porterhouse was very very chewy .We don't mind paying for good steak but this was quite disappointing and would not recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This place delivers 100% again and again! I must admit, there is one problem though, the steaks here have ruined it for me everywhere else. I keep trying to find a unique taste on my travels, like I find here, and I am always let down. The food, staff, ownership, are all absolutely the best out there!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is a great place for a romantic date night. The atmosphere was perfect and the food was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We love this restaurant; in fact, it is the only very nice restaurant in all of Grand Junction. It is definitely the place to go for a special occasion, or for a special date. The atmosphere is wonderful too

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful experience; great food, service, and ambiance

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We've been enjoying the Winery for decades and tonight was no different! Our steaks were so tender we really didn't need knives. The wine was amazing. Our server (Johnny) was delightful and so professional! Another win-win @ the Winery for us! Thank you all...

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was very good, very creative salad that was delicious. Mid-week, it was maybe 40% full, so we still felt we had some privacy and weren't crowded.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a great meal and service. Highly recommend!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great place for outstanding food and drink for special occasions. Pricey but certainly worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Nice Decor, Food was tasty and Service was great, but get ready to spend some big bucks. Menu prices are $$$$$

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We live in Denver which is 240 miles away but the experience and the food were so good it might be worth the drive occasionally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at The Winery. Perfect location, in the heart of downtown! We were warmly greeted and treated as if we were special guests. The food was the best Grand Junction has to offer. We enjoyed the Palisade dessert -- it is one not to be missed!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The atmosphere/ambiance here is lovely - quite possibly the best in Grand Junction. The server was a bit loud, and more obtrusive than I would have preferred.
My husband's scallop appetizer, and my lobster bisque were wonderful! The entrees were disappointing: my husband's pork was dry, and had no flavor. In my mixed grill, the tournedos - although cooked rare, as I requested - were drowned in sauce; the scallops had some sort of underdone breaded coating, not crispy, as I would have expected.
I would recommend the restaurant for the atmosphere, wine selection, appetizers and salads. We passed on dessert, so I can't say. . .
Also, don't wear an expensive coat - the coat closet is very small & furs and cashmeres get squeezed in by the nylon Michelin Man parkas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had not been to The Winery for a while (big mistake) and we were wowed all over again. Our server was excellent and the owner, Steve adds a great touch with his interaction with the patrons. The food was excellent and dessert to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

SmAll quantities(very small Sea Bass and salad). Very pricey for the amount of food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The fiance and I decided to have a Friday evening here, been to The Winery before. The food is always great, the atmosphere is the concern. An intoxicated women was in the dinning area we were in, felt like the restaurant didn't handle that the best. The restaurant didn't make you feel in place to much either.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Quit simply, the finest restaurant in Western Colorado, consistently for the last 40 years. Especially known by locals and business leaders for world-class steaks and fresh seafood, also features some great pork and chicken dishes, too. Appetizers are famous here, especially the sauteed mushrooms; also try the bacon wrapped scallops. First-class wine list, superb bar, great desserts, outdoor dining, cozy interior - everything needed for a perfect and memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

They do not take Open Table certificates! It seems to me that EVERY restaurant in your system should take the certificates!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fabulous filet cooked to perfection, salmon alfredo was great a little heavy on the smoke, Jaramie the bar maid was a hoot! We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a dinner party of 12, and with the reservation process so easy this made it a great place for my office to have our Christmas party.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A lovely and historic spot in downtown Grand Junction ! We enjoyed our 27th anniversary dinner together here and we were very pleased with the exceptional service from all the staff, especially Aaron ! He was prompt and present when needed but not too much so, which is always appreciated. We were glad that it was a quiet night there and we were able to have a nice conversation without any loud groups distracting us, so we enjoyed our time there very much and definitely plan to go back again, especially when entertaining out-of-town guests ! The wine list is extensive with good choices for every palate, and we appreciated that our good local Colorado wines were well represented !

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Tasty but expensive. I felt it was over priced but it was pretty good. Not worth 40 a plate. Overall, pretty good.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great spot for date night. Food and wine are excellent, setting was quiet, which we enjoyed. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.