About The Winery Restaurant

642 Main Street
Grand Junction, CO 81501
View Larger Map

The Winery Restaurant has been an icon among western Colorado restaurants for over 35 years. The restaurant makes its home in a 95 year old building that used to house a horse drawn fire station. A gas lamp lit, grapevine canopied alley frames this romantic location perfectly. The beautifully remodeled building contains flowered stain glass windows, barn wood and bricks.

Steve Thoms acquired the restaurant in late June of 2004 after taking a couple of years off from his previous restaurant. His mission at he Winery is simple: Show the restaurant and its patrons the attention that they deserve. Use only top quality ingredients, and establish The Winery as the premiere restaurant in the Grand Junction area.

The Winery provides a variety of steaks, chicken, pork and fresh seafood specials nightly in an atmosphere that can not be rivaled anywhere!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - Close

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 242-4100

Website:
http://www.winery-restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Located in the Historic Downtown Shopping District; enjoy one of the nation's premiere art on the corner programs, street fairs and entertainers on Main Street!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on Main Street or the is a very large parking lot behind our restaurant on Rood Ave. (one block to the north) Park there and look for the building that is covered in grapevines.

Public Transit:
In front of the building on Main Street.

Executive Chef:
Jim Keith

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

The Winery Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Grand Junction / Western
Best Restaurants in Grand Junction ›

special occasion (23)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (11)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (4)
good for groups (3)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorites, always worth the mo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One of my favorites, always worth the money. Would recommend any time.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and had a very special evening together at this wonderful restaurant. It is a bit expensive for our income (we're both retired and on Social Security), but was well worth it. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Ambience, Average Food

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves on our anniversary and picked the Winery as the place to do just that. We had passed by the patio and admired the looks of the food before but had never dined there. The service was good; friendly and efficient and answered our questions. Neither of us had tried a 28 day dry aged steak before so that's what my husband ordered; the Kansas City cut for $65. It was a beautiful cut of meat and cooked exactly as he ordered (medium rare) but the taste was definitely lacking in flavor and maybe it's a trait of dry aged meat, but it was a bit on the chewy side. We could have made 4 steaks of equal quality and superior taste for the cost of that one. I ordered the salmon Alfredo and it was also good, but not worth the $25 flavor wise. It's a beautiful restaurant and everyone was polite. :) But all-in-all, I think they've overpriced their meals just for the sake of being fancy; the taste of the food did not measure up.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was fantastic. Wort ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. Worth every penny.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience!

Dined on March 29, 2016

Every time we are in Grand Junction, we eat here at least once. The service is outstanding. We love eating on their small, intimate patio during the summer. I wish they had a few more vegetarian options but I can always find something wonderful! My husband loves the steaks as well as the salmon. They have a new espresso machine that makes the experience just that much better!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over 40 Years of Excellence!

Dined on March 22, 2016

We have been dining at The Winery since 1973. It is still the BEST place in town for a special occasion dinner. Food, service, and ambience all remain excellent. It's our 1st choice for fine dining in our hometown of Grand Junction. Always has been and always will be!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on March 7, 2016

It was our Anniversary! Great ambiance! Spectacular scallops!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good, not great

Dined on February 18, 2016

Took some folks to The Winery for a business dinner recently based on hotel recommendation. Have to say I was disappointed in my meal based on the price. Appetizers were good (bacon wrapped shrimp), salad was good, but the steak left a lot to be desired. Not much taste and nothing special. Not good when you are supposed to be a high end steakhouse. Frankly, I had better steaks at Texas Roadhouse and places like that. At least you know what you are getting for the price.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience3
service4

An off night for the aged T Bone steak. ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

An off night for the aged T Bone steak. No flavor and instead of melted blue cheese I got dry dust of cheese.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Lacking...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We were pretty disappointed this visit. Valentine's Day dinner for me and wife and they ran out of Kansas City cut steaks??? Valentines Day desert a pound cake with mousse for $15 was 2 single cakes the size of a candy bar and not very good at all. Asked to speak to owner but he was out after surgery as per our waiter. Really, to drop $200 on dinner and wish you went to Outback or Texas Roadhouse instead really is a disappointment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, food

Dined on February 15, 2016

The ambiance was perfect for our Valentine's date night. The food was too notch and our waiter Clinton was very attentive

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

While the food was tasty, I have gotten ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

While the food was tasty, I have gotten as good, if not better, food for a lot less at other restaurants. I live closer to a resort area and can get food as good for a lot less. I ate at a restaurant in Vegas for about the same price and the food was much better and the service was extraordinary. They couldn't do enough for you. I had heard good things about The Winery however, I was somewhat disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time Diner

Dined on February 14, 2016

There aren't any find dining establishments in rand Junction, so my husband and I constantly try to find one. I read reviews on The Winery, and made the decision to check them out for our 18th Anniversary, which is Valentines Day. We made reservations, ofcourse, and upon entering loved the location, and the ambiance inside. It was very quiet when we first sat down, and our waiter was a nice, polite, young man. The long stem roses they provided at the door was a nice treat. Some of the reviews had mentioned dry chicken, so we stayed away from that. However, we had the cheese sampler, and really enjoyed it. I do not drink alot of wine, but the waiter was able to bring me a glass that suited perfectly what I described to him. He even wrote it down for me to buy a bottle at the winery later :) One of the specials was a 22 oz tbone that had been aged, which they suggested splitting, and they were wonderful in providing us both with the sides instead of just one side and making us split that as well. It was perfectly cooked and juicy. The vegetables were also perfectly cooked, crispy, with just the right amount of seasoning. As we were deciding on what desert to take home with us, they just happened to bring us The Palisade (OMGoodness)!!! for our anniversary. It was amazing! I would definitely go back here for another special evening, and found this restaurant to be far superior than other "fine dining" establishments in Grand Junction.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Extremely disappointing

Dined on February 7, 2016

Twelve of us planned an 80th birthday dinner and The Winery put us in a small room where there was another large party--probably 20. It was so loud we couldn't even celebrate. The food was TOO EXPENSIVE - $750 - and very salty. The shrimp tasted like it came from the freezer. The 'special' was medallions of tenderloin that were grisly. Will not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Company Party

Dined on January 31, 2016

Everyone (9) enjoyed there food. Service was good. Had a good time. We will plan another meal there as a group.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Pleasant dining

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food is very good. They have a nice mix of fish options. Service can carry a bit, however Steve makes sure to check on every table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on January 18, 2016

This was our first time at the Winery. The food was wonderful and we had great service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, perfect service.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great meal, perfect service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

48th Years

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great service and really great entrees. I was pleased to see so many young people in the restaurant. Management and Hostess were very much intune to our special occasion. Well worth the drive to Grand Junction.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place we found to eat in Grand Junction -

Dined on January 11, 2016

We will visit. Again when traveling thru Grand Junction

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Steak gone wild

Dined on December 29, 2015

I didn't like the steak. Dry and fatty. Not worth 50 dollars

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

First time...going back!!

Dined on December 24, 2015

First time...going back!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a birthday celebration!

Dined on December 10, 2015

A relaxing setting and a great place to enjoy company and conversation. Excellent food and service. Nothing better in GJ!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good and a suggestion or two

Dined on December 3, 2015

Clearly, the ambience and food are great. However, I do not want to be best buddies with the wait staff, so please don't try to pry personal information out of me. Also, at the best restaurant in town, the waiters should know that those who have been properly educated put their knife and fork together when finished. It ruins an evening to be asked "are you done sir?" when I have clearly indicated by the placement of my utensils that I am done. Food was tasty, and decor is nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food...

Dined on November 13, 2015

Not to sound like a martyr but... I have not been out anywhere except Doctors visits since my double mastectomy in July and the numerous Chemo treatments since. So when my husband asked me where I wanted to go for my Birthday I said "the Winery" of course. My husband had the special - filet with crostini - it was wonderful. I had the chicken stuffed with some kind of cheese, I ate the cheese out of the middle but the chicken was awful. I should have known better than to order chicken because usually it seems to be dry, but figured the quality would be great at the Winery. Sorry to say I was disappointed. In addition - the mixed vegies where cooked nicely but way too much oregano or something that just ruined the vegies. I hate to complain - I really do. With all of that said I guess the next visit will be with the type of food choice more thought out. The service was great and I did have the Cream Brule gratis, it was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The best place in Grand Junction, Colorado

Dined on November 13, 2015

We have been faithful patrons at the Winery. It is a gem of a restaurant--always good food and good service. It is by far the most romantic restaurant in town, and it is quiet and easy to carry on a conversation with a group. I would highly recommend this restaurant over any other for a nice dinner out, a romantic dining experience, and good food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4

Just don't order the Veal!

Dined on November 8, 2015

I'll start by saying the Wine Restaurant has been my favorite restaurant, however last experience wasn't as good. One of the dishes we ordered, the Veil, was absolutely awful. It tasted like pepper, garlic and oil! We also ordered a steak that was fantastic. When I explained to the waiter that the Veal was not good, he merely said I'm sorry, and did not offer anything else or to take off the bill. I was very surprised it was handled this way. The wine was excellent, and of course the Paradise chocolate desert was fabulous, steak wonderful, however I was surprised and disappointed about the Veal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

TheWinery in GrandJunction

Dined on November 8, 2015

Downtown favorite where you enter via a charming alleyway with great outdoor seating. Rustic interior with exposed brick walls a wood beams followed by white table cloth service with a view to the kitchen . Above average food from a wide ranging menu. Definitely worth a revisit

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Winery

Dined on October 28, 2015

This is the best restaurant in Grand Junction, for that special occasion, when money isn't an issue. The steak we had almost melted in our mouths. All of the food, wine and service was 5 star. MA Fruita, CO

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a special occasion

Dined on October 17, 2015

The prices are rather high for most people, so this is a great special occasion place. Lots of surf and turf, so if you're a vegetarian, this may not be the place for you. The bottle list looks to be pretty good, but the glass list is limited. The aged steak that I had was the perfect cut, and fantastically cooked. Desert was also quite good. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Tucked away but don't miss it!

vip
Dined on September 21, 2015

Great atmosphere. Good food. Excellent service. Pricey (appetizers for $20??!) Dinners, though, include salad, vegetable & starch. All worth it for the nice experience .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic meal, the service was ...

Dined on September 21, 2015

We had a fantastic meal, the service was very very good. The food was delusions and flavorful. We for sure be back. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great value great food great service. Th ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Great value great food great service. The winery restaurant is by far one of the most consistently good places in Grand Junction.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful find in Grand Junction

Dined on September 19, 2015

The service, food and ambiance were excellent!! I would highly recommend! Steve, the owner/host was most gracious and had a wonderful sense of humor!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loyal Fans for The Winery

Dined on September 14, 2015

Having moved from Grand Junction to Denver a few years ago, one very prominent thing that we miss is The Winery! While we have sampled much of the fare in Denver, we have yet to find a restaurant that compares to The Winery (Sorry, Denver!) Not only is the location right in the heart of a quaint down town, but the restaurant has a classic and rustic ambiance, a lovely staff, but hands-down the best food... ever. I guarantee diners will pay 1/3 more in Denver, be left wanting, and somewhat disappointed. The Winery has never let us down. Not a thing is left unseasoned or sub-par. Order anything-- I dare you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Winery

Dined on August 16, 2015

Over the decades the Winery has consistently been the best restaurant in Mesa county. Our last trip however, was a bit disappointing. The main courses ordered, came with the vegetable sides way under cooked, the salmon special very dried out, the special Kansas City NY Strips lacked the normal flavor and were cooked less than to perfection. Even the halibut piccata was dry. Certainly we will be back. Check this visit off to a bad day for the kitchen. I still would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the area. This last visit wasn't representative of out normal experience

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great again, except...

Dined on August 15, 2015

The Buffalo Shrimps are very spicy (hence the term "buffalo") but the waitress always says they can do a "light sauce" to make it mild and it never comes back mild, so spicy you have to drink like 5 glasses of water. Also the guitar player is annoying, bad music for a classy place to eat. I know the owner is trying to make it more attractive for patrons, but the food sells itself here, not that awful ear piercing guitar guy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive and worth it

Dined on August 15, 2015

On the more expensive end for Grand Junction, so probably just for special occasions for most. Great food, drinks, service, and quiet, romantic atmosphere. Portions are just about right. Not the double portions that require a doggy bag that most places give you now, and not the skimpy froo-froo nose in the air portions of some really fancy places either. The bacon wrapped scallops are amazing. The spinach salad is very, very good with the warm bacon dressing. We had a regular dish (New York Strip Steak) without any frills and it was all delicious. Steak was cooked just over the specified medium rare and very good. We also had a special - the Pacific snapper. It was very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Field to table, beautifully presented

Dined on August 11, 2015

First, I recommend that people new to Grand Junction plan to spend a while downtown before dinner at The Winery because this is a pretty downtown with shops and outdoor sculpture to see. As other reviews said, the entrance to The Winery is tucked into a brick alley right in downtown. The outdoor eating area is just above the alley, with several nice umbrella tables, vines adorning the brick walls of the building, and classical music quietly playing in the background. On the night we were there, the weather was pleasant and this was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a cocktail before dinner. There was a short list of very creative cocktails; I had a coconut margarita, which was a sweet margarita with toasted coconut on the rim. There was nice wine list that included both local and other domestic, international wines. We were treated to food that made the most of the local August harvest. An appetizer of broiled scallops wrapped in applewood smoked bacon had a warm peach/habanero sauce (local) that was delicious. The spinach salad (a salad comes with the entree, as does a seasonal vegetable) was so fresh, with shaved carrots, cherry tomatoes and a light vinaigrette on the side. My entree was pork tenderloin roasted with a cherry (local), thyme and balsamic sauce and stir fried (sugar snap peas and carrots. Again, a sauce made with local peaches was a wonderful accompaniment. My husband had roasted red peppers stuffed with a mushroom risotto that he liked very much. We didn't eat dessert, but there were some wonderful choices. We would definitely go back to The Winery when traveling to western Colorado again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Classic restaurant in Grand Junction

Dined on August 3, 2015

The food and service were wonderful. It is expensive, but for special occasions I think it is worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.