Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

MRKTMRKT
(178)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 5 times today
Tzin Wine & TapasTzin Wine & Tapas
(917)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 10 times today
The MarcThe Marc
(1673)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 16 times today
SelectSelect
(45)
$$$$
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 3 times today
Wildflower GrillWildflower Grill
(1435)
$$$$
Wild Game | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 14 times today
Khazana - Fine Indian CuisineKhazana - Fine Indian Cuisine
(226)
$$$$
Indian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 1 time today
The Free Press BistroThe Free Press Bistro
(41)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Edmonton, Edmonton
Sabor RestaurantSabor Restaurant
(1667)
$$$$
Seafood | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 11 times today
Characters Fine DiningCharacters Fine Dining
(665)
$$$$
Canadian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 7 times today
The Creperie EdmontonThe Creperie Edmonton
(1007)
$$$$
French | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 8 times today
The Hat Resto PubThe Hat Resto Pub
(150)
$$$$
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 1 time today
Riz Asian KitchenRiz Asian Kitchen
(14)
$$$$
Global, International | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 3 times today
The Needle Vinyl TavernThe Needle Vinyl Tavern
(10)
$$$$
American | Edmonton, Edmonton
Allegro Italian Kitchen - DowntownAllegro Italian Kitchen - Downtown
(170)
$$$$
Italian | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 6 times today
Pampa Brazilian SteakhousePampa Brazilian Steakhouse
(3243)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Edmonton, Edmonton
Booked 34 times today

About The Wine Room

10525 Jasper Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T5J 1Z4
View Larger Map

Wine bar in downtown Edmonton featuring 24 wines by the ounce or by the glass, plus many more by the bottle.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday: 4:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 756-7666

Website:
http://www.thewineroom.ca/

Sort By:
S
77 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I would recommend it 7 Ravens.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2016

I would recommend it 7 Ravens. Good wine and great charcuterie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

NYE. Best night of the year!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I came in for NYE. It was our first time to the wine room and we were blown away. Was probably the best night out of 2015. Great wine. Great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we heard that this was considered t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 20, 2015

When we heard that this was considered the number 1 wine bar in Edmonton, we were excited to meet with friends and see for ourselves. Whereas the wine was wonderful and the charcuterie was tasty, the server's lack of wine knowledge and palpable disinterest really marred the reputation of this place and could have contributed to a disappointing experience; it's far from the number 1 wine bar it's made to seem, online. Thank goodness we were with wonderful company. That alone made for an enjoyable evening. To us, it seemed that the server couldn't care less about us, nor the job, and was more interested in the young brunette coworker. I've never had to wait so long for a plate of fine cuisine, let alone one of charcuterie - slices of deli, some fruit and nuts, pickles, and chunks of cheese; good quality food, certainly not requiring labour-intensive prep, nor warranting a nearly 30 minute wait, however. To think gratuity was included in the price made it feel like highway robbery; rewarding lack-lustre service with a tip not worthy of the mediocre service had us feeling insulted and ripped-off. The Wine Room is too pretentious for its own good. We won't return. Do yourselves a favour. Invite friends over, have them bring some wine, go to the Italian Centre Shop to buy your own charcuterie, breads and crackers, and keep the money you saved doing so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Amazing, but don't go hungry.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 22, 2015

The Wine Room has so much to offer someone looking for a unique venue for a special occasion or for a night out with a special someone. It was cozy, intimate, and offered considerable privacy for those tables that likely wanted that. The staff that served us was knowledgeable, charming, and responsive. I had a great evening overall. But I left hungry. They do not offer meals, per se, or dessert. If you want charcuterie, you will be very happy. If you want a steak, go somewhere else.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Still a gem

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 21, 2015

I have loved this place since it's quiet opening and it's still my go-to for great wine and conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What a hidden gem. It seems weird to us ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2015

What a hidden gem.

It seems weird to use that term for a place that is on Jasper Avenue but it is true. It is right next to Pub 1905 and in fact shares the same door. The inside is dark, by design, and resembles a wine cellar.

The wine is sold by the bottle or the ounce and the server (Kenny) well versed in the wines and helped us with our selections. We did the wine by the ounce which is the more expensive way but we weren't there to guzzle as much as we could.

The charcuterie was amazing maybe the best plate I have had. The portions seem like they will be expensive but are great value as they come with more than just the item.

All in all it is a great place for many different wines and different plates. The portions are not big but quality rains supreme.

Will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic time

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 14, 2015

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and service. I realize it is called the Wine Room but to not offer anything to drink other than wine was a bit of a turn off. My wife does not drink wine as it tends to give her headaches. I asked the waiter what alternatives there were and he said water. I thought he was joking, he wasn't. The place is attached to pub and I was told they have the same owner so why not make an arrangement. the pub staff was running the food for the wine room so I'm sure it wouldn't have been much trouble to work something out. Other than that it was amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone and will be back myself.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and attentive service. We enjo ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Excellent and attentive service. We enjoyed all go the corses we ordered and the wine that we choose to go with them. Having the tablet was a fun alternative to a paper menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious as usual

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Second time at The Wine Room and just as delicious as the first. Went with a girlfriend this time and we let the server choose our wines and had the chef make up a special platter for us. The charcuterie board was a work of art and soooo delicious. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing selection of meats and cheese ma ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Amazing selection of meats and cheese made for a great meal. Tons of wine to sample by the ounce. We had a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Long overdue for Edmonton!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Having lived in Kelowna wine and charcuterie were a standard choice for a girls night out. Edmonton is really lacking in that scene so it's wonderful to see it finally available. The price points were slightly higher than other places I frequent (eg $44 for two meat and two cheeses and decent wines averaged $3-$4/ounce). Having the ipad to explore food and drink options was great. It would be awesome to see more BC wine and maybe a sparkling wine available by the ounce. I will definitely return next time I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Quaint ....but fun.

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 20, 2015

Nice place, under a 'wine themed' decor. I liked it, as im a wine connoisseur this was a good start. Great selection of wines, but price point was silly for some of the older vintages. I get that a 98' Penfolds is great...$2000-3000... thats plain dumb. Thats for rubes, that are just short of brains, and not of money. All side, I'd come back with a friend (gal), and make it a starting point or night cap...

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Amazing, But Expensive

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 19, 2015

I liked this place a lot. Food is meant more for sharing. We had the escargots, which were amazing. A touch of curry gave them an updated twist. We also shared a charcuterie board, which was nicely presented. We felt the food was a bit pricey, but in line with the quality. Our only complaint was the wine. They had lots of choice, but their cheapest bottles were starting at about $60 and going upward from there quickly. It would be nice to have a few more reasonably priced options. However, if you have been searching for a place in Edmonton that sells a few bottles for over $1000 (NOT a typo) then here's your place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Best new addition in Edmont ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 5, 2015

Outstanding. Best new addition in Edmonton in years. Wonderful ambience. Outstanding wine list and cheese and charcuterie is excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One tiny drink each

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 29, 2015

We went there for our anniversary, they have a huge wine list and charcuterie so we thought we'd enjoy it. The dimly lit environment did grow on me after we'd been there a while, the gratuitous pricing for the food did not.

There are so many options, which is great, but you must browse them on an iPad that only shows 3 items at a time, which is frustrating.

We tried an 8 year old zin, which was ok. After 15 minutes in the place, we'd had enough so we went online and reserved ourselves a table at another restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Hidden gem in Edmonton!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2015

This place was fantastic! and it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing experience

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 12, 2015

I haven't been to a wine bar before, and I really enjoyed this unique and tasty experience. The chacuterie plate was exceptional, and beautifully displayed. Our server was very knowledgeable about the different wines and choices offered. All in all, a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot in downtown Edmonton!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 26, 2015

I've been to The Wine Room a few times and I always enjoy it. The staff are knowledgable and interested in good wine. Wine by the ounce makes it easy to find a good wine at every price point. I felt bad for the staff on Saturday night, since they had to deal with two very loud groups of 20-something's and the acoustics of the place means that sound travels all over the place. Not the staff's fault; they did their best to move them along. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place is awesome

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 26, 2015

I really enjoyed it, not going to lie I think the group I went with was a little to rowdy for that place but I would go back with a quieter bunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic Getaway

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 30, 2015

If you're looking for a quiet spot to take your significant other or join a couple for a great evening - put the Wine Room on your list. Great wine list, phenomenal cheese and meats and service the is attentive.

Worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Wine Bar, Very Napa-esque

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 23, 2015

So far this has been the only place that has reminded me of my trip to Napa/Sonoma valley. The focus is the extensive wine selection (no high-balls or beers, wine only) with an excellent selection of charcuterie and "small plates". This is a fantastic place for deep conversations or intimate visiting. Wine is purchased by the ounce or by the bottle which makes it optimal for tasting a bit of this, a bit of that, and then committing to your favourite for a full glass (or bottle). The small plates are wonderful for sharing and the charcuterie is excellent. All items are of the highest quality, full of flavour and wonderfully displayed. Staff are knowledgeable and I have never received a recommend from them I didn't like.

I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Stopped here with girlfriends for after theatre wine and snacks. Because kettle popcorn and melted Brie with balsamic glaze is fantastic with wine! We ordered a bottle of the wine that was recommended that was great at a reasonable price point. Moved on to sample from the enomatic system for the next around. Overall is still one of my favourite places to go and tuck into a booth, drink wine and get lost in conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Beautiful Evening

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Food was absolutely delicious. We had mussels in coconut curry sauce and it was delectable! I absolutely wanted to lick out the bowl!! Finished off with a charcuterie board with two meats and cheeses. Board was beautifully arranged, like a work of art. In addition to the meats and cheeses, It included nuts, fresh fruit and many different kinds of crackers and bread.

Our server Brian was welcoming, attentive and great company throughout the evening.

Extensive wine selection. Can order by the ounce allowing you to try a variety of different wines, or by the bottle.

The restaurant is quite small but each space is intimate. Wonderful atmosphere - romantic and dreamy. Love the finishings.

Overall a beautiful evening. Will most definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Wines were excellent and food ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Loved it. Wines were excellent and food was awesome. We will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 18, 2015

This was a last minute find, and was not disappointing! This was a hidden gem.

The atmosphere was very intimate and lovely. The wine and food was delicious.

Staff could have done better on assisting us with the wine choices, and not giving us the cheque before asking if we were finished.

But overall great place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Obviously a niche kind of place, they do ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 12, 2015

Obviously a niche kind of place, they don't have any specials and the waiter couldn't reccomend a good wine for our tastes. It was extremely dark which I suppose is nice for the kind of romantic ambiance but I couldn't even see my friends faces... overall kind of tasty and great wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Still my favorite place

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 3, 2015

It's my little secret - I want this place to stay around but I also love that I can get a table on short notice. Every time I go, I feel like I am in some little bar in France, not Edmonton. They have the best charcuterie board in the entire city, with a great selection of meats and cheeses and offered with beautifully selected fruits, nuts and breads. Top that off knowledgeable service, a diverse selection of wine by regions and price points and you better make sure you have a cab ride home lined up!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had wine and some appetizers: the pop ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 21, 2015

We had wine and some appetizers: the popcorn and brie was amazing! What an ingenious combo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very romantic setting and love the enoma ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 21, 2015

Very romantic setting and love the enomatic line up. Great variety for vino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

cool find

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 12, 2015

We were wanting to have a business conversation and glass of wine. Started out at Tzin, but because they could only allow us a table for 1 hr, we found the wine bar online. What a pleasant surprise!!! Decor is great. Wine is great. Service was great. We weren't sure what/if we wanted to eat. So we asked if they would make us a cheese/meat/cracker nibble plate. They did. And it was amazing! Really. Everyone should check out the wine bar. Great place to bring a few friends. Have a nice glass of wine and good conversation! Thank you to the wine room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is quaint - I wouldn't re ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 8, 2015

The atmosphere is quaint - I wouldn't recommend going if you are hungry. But if you are heading out for a glass of wine and a few tapas - perfect little spot. But do take note, it is a little on the pricey side.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Something New to try on Jasper Ave

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 7, 2015

Went there based on OpenTable recommendation of what was close by. It has a very sultry feel to it when we walked in. I was with a friend and my first thought was :"Wow this is a very "romantic" spot" which was odd since we were not on a date but rather a 'let's catch up meeting'. That put aside, it's not a bad spot to be. Their wine list is pricey though, most of their bottle are in 80-100$ and that in itself is a little ridiculous. As for food, it's a charcutrie tip idea. You pick some cheeses, some meats and it comes on a very nice presentation board. It was really good. I would probably go back on a proper date with a romantic partner as the ambiance was very smooth and suggestive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's a must!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 28, 2015

First experience at the wine room was amazing! Our server was beyond helpful with the menu and his suggestions with food that paired well with our wine choice was bang on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey night out

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 31, 2015

Great wine list but highly priced. Most wines were only available by the bottle. We tried three small plates and really enjoyed them all. I thought these were reasonably priced. I found two of the three waiters we dealt with to be borderline rude. (One older gentleman waiter was very nice to us.) The other waiters made us feel like they couldn't wait to get us out the door (despite other tables available).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great night out

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the Wine Room. Get ambiance and decor. The service was great and the food was just right. Although the wine is a bit overpriced in my opinion, the service and decor compensate nicely. I would recommend giving the wine room a a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

You will not get a booth if you are only two,

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 1, 2015

Ordered escargots, cheese fondue.

Wine is expensive, ordered the cheapest Argentine wine ($49 ) said they were out.Ordered Chateau Therrien French Bordeau $59 /bottle,nice wine but expensive.

Escargots,large, tasty with herbs & mushrooms,nice bread for dipping.

Cheese fondue,small but adequate after all.Strong cheese, was hoping for gruyère/emmantel.

Again nice bread served with it.

Would like to go back for the smoked salmon to share, an some white wine you can order by the ounce.

Service was good and attentive.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food, so so service

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 23, 2014

Our server, although very knowledgeable, did over charge us a significant amount for the wine. Although he corrected the mistake promptly, it was something that should not happen. Also, the wine was marked up much more than any other similiar establishments. The food was amazing, but the value was simply not there regarding the prices for wine. Would not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

So Romantic!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here Saturday night to start off our date night and we were thoroughly impressed! The venue was quiet, secluded and really romantic. The service was impeccable! We had the chef hand pick the meats and cheeses for our charcuterie board and it was fantastic! Great wine selection too, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meeting up after work

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 8, 2014

The wine room is a hidden gem. Very small, so make reservations. It was perfect for sipping wine, nibbling and sharing great conversation. This place is not meant for dinner, but a sophisticated place to be with friends and relax. Beautiful decor and amazing service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very, very disappointing

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 2, 2014

We were 10 minutes early for our 9 p.m. reservation so we were seated at the bar. We ordered a glass each and were looking to order apps, but were totally ignored. By 9:30, our glasses had been empty for 25 minutes, our table had been given away and the three staff members all seemed surprised that we had been waiting for a table. No apology, no offer to put more wine in our glasses, just "well, it'll be a few minutes then". So, we just paid for our glasses and left. As a former server, there have been only two times in history where I have not left a tip. This was one of them, and it was absolutely warranted. The lovely server at Boston Pizza across the street, whose service put the Wine Room's to shame, got their share of the gratuity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.