About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: 3016636968x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Asparagus Salad
Roast Suckling Pig
Charcuterie plate
Mashed Potatoes
Oysters
Coconut Panacotta With Cilantro Sorbet
Sunday Brunch
That's So Paso Wine Flight
Fried Green Tomatoes
cheese & charcuterie plate
Market Beef- Ribeye
Little Big Grape Flight
roasted chicken breast
Steak
Prosciutto and Melon Salad
Bacon Corn Chowder
Cape Cod style shrimp salad
Quiche of the day with salad
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich
White Asparagus Salad
Angus Burger
Sirloin
Sunflower Risotto
suckling pig
Kale Salad With Prosciutto
Marinated Olives

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Tue - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Fri 4:30PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 9:45PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
American
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Maryland - DC Suburbs
4 More
Best Food
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Maryland - DC Suburbs
American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Frederick ›

Fit for Foodies (91)
Great for Outdoor Dining (90)
Notable Wine List (90)
See All
Special Occasion (73)
Scenic View (58)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Romantic (53)
Great for Lunch (50)
Good for Groups (48)
Great for Brunch (41)
Hot Spot (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Kid-friendly (25)
Local Ingredients (13)
Waterfront (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Private Room (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1033 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was very poor and inexcusable. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very poor and inexcusable. It took almost 2 hours for the entrees to be served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

My husband and I always have always had ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I always have always had a great experience at The Wine Kitchen. Good variety of food and wine options, though my husband went for the McCallan 12 this time! We will be back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with quality ingredients. Ove ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food with quality ingredients. Overall fun vibe. Wine flights are a good value.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

the "C"Team was in the kitchen.. Not up ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

the "C"Team was in the kitchen.. Not up to there excellent standards at all. Prep, Quality and presentation was Very POOR. Wait staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Other than being a bit hard to find (per ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Other than being a bit hard to find (perhaps add a sign on the outside of the brick building?), it was a wonderful experience. The outside seating was perfect.... just what we were looking for in a reunion with old friends. Wine, food, beer was all great. Just a lovely experience. Thank you !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Historic, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The waitress was great! Everything else ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The waitress was great! Everything else was good too. Beautiful day to enjoy brunch outside.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got seating outside, as I preferred. In ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Got seating outside, as I preferred. Inside was very nice, too. The service was excellent. Wine flight (3 tastes) were amply poured and delicious. Food was picture worthy and very favorable. Best ingredients!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was perfect. I sat outside enjoyi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Brunch was perfect. I sat outside enjoying the lotus and water lilies, watching people walk by. I started with olives and the Cobb salad. The olives were so good and the Cobb salad just right. I opted for the Maryland Benedict. The egg was perfectly poached, the corn biscuit and ham pairing withe the crab, it was incredible. With this I also got the summer soliloquy wine flight, which was very good. But the best part was dessert. I got the wine and chocolate flight. The two wines went very well with the chocolate, with my favorite being the dulce de leche truffle and the Porto.

So yes, I plan on going back. It was a perfect late summer Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went there for our anniver ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with a couple of glasses of complimentary champagne to celebrate the occasion. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience but went down to four stars for a few items because it wasn't quite as amazing as our first experience there last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great menu, both food and bar. Fun space ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great menu, both food and bar. Fun space - too hot for us to sit outside, but we will definitely be back to sit by the canal on a nice evening. Service was terrific - attentive but not over-bearing. Food was delicious. Great find!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious! Sometimes we just sit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always delicious! Sometimes we just sit at the bar and enjoy wine and cheese other times we get an entree in the dining area. My favorites are the duck breast, New York strip and the wahoo when available. Service is always top notch too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the wine table. We were a grou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We loved the wine table. We were a group of nine friends reunion for lunch. Loved the food and location. The staff were so nice to put us in the wine room so we could talk and here each other We will definitely be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always have magnificent food at the Wine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always have magnificent food at the Wine Kitchen. The bar was behind but the waitress compensated for the delay in receiving our drinks

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Really delicious, unusual preparations. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Really delicious, unusual preparations. Very busy and vibrant environment. Indoors and outdoors seating. Highly recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappointed here.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Never disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part of the visit: the French p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The best part of the visit: the French press coffee and sitting outside, by the canal. The food was lackluster - the frittata was tasteless, enlivened slightly by the salsa. Shrimp and grits, slightly better.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

One of our favorite places for a great m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite places for a great meal in a relaxing atmosphere. Eating outdoors next to the water is like a mini vacation!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Some dishes were bette ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great experience. Some dishes were better than others.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was tasty. Nice selection of wines ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food was tasty. Nice selection of wines and spirits. Not enough variety since they were out of chicken and menu tends on the heavy side. . Too many servers to our table- I counted 5- makes for a disjointed experience. Open kitchen concept is fine but was too loud with pots be pans banging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great place along river with outdoor sea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great place along river with outdoor seating. Tuesday is flight night where any selected flight is only $9. Roll Out the Red Carpet flight is my favorite. Great food too including a gyro burger and buttermilk crusted Calamari. Always a pleasant time! Bar is always energetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular! I recommend the brunch in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Spectacular! I recommend the brunch in particular! A wonderful menu and try for outside seating on the creek if the weather permits!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A very disappointing visit to The Wine K ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

A very disappointing visit to The Wine Kitchen. This was our 3rd or 4th visit, and probably our last. The place is always "Energetic" and good for groups, which is one of the reasons we decided to visit. The food was very underwhelming. The tuna tartar app was so small, our entire table broke out in laughter when it was served. The short ribs were tough and the swordfish was very small and very dry/overcooked. The drink pours followed the same theme - small! Carrol Creek is a great success for Frederick, and there are many other dining options for us to go back to The Wine Kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I work in the culinary field---so my foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I work in the culinary field---so my food review may be more critical than others.

We enjoy the wine kitchen- very nice decor, great - polite waiters, but the food has highs and lows.

The duck dish was fantastic! Cooked perfectly - med. rare. Loved the puree

We also had fish dish--fish a bit overcook-under seasoned and not sauced at all -very healthy but just need something more flavorful! Honestly quite a dry plate.

(The portion -esp. vegetables was very sparse for the cost--just a few mushrooms and small bits of the other garnishes -hardly added any flavor. )

We also ordered short ribs which were good-d but did not want just the plain green beans and roasted potatoes---we make those at home often--so we ask for mac-cheese which she had to pay extra for ;( no replacements!

Desserts-- Peach pie topping was cold- not much flavor--crust very dense/ tough- not flaky.

I am thinking it was not baked as a whole pie?

The black rice was a bit chewy - bland-- but the sorbets with it were wonderful!

Your food is beautiful--I just want more flavor - and in some dishes more food on my plate

for the price--- a 30$ dish can become about 36$ with tip percentage!

The watermelon gazpacho I had a few weeks ago at lunch was amazing!

We will be back--- the duck dish will be my order :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I love all the wine kitchens. Great food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love all the wine kitchens. Great food and service. The food is fresh and simple, yet adventurous at the same time. I love that they have wine flights, plus the wines always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My significant other & I love this place ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My significant other & I love this place. The food is always delicious and the service is amazing! We highly recommend (and the guests we took with us loved it as well.) Rave reviews from all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best duck I've ever had! We went for o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Best duck I've ever had! We went for our anniversary and were impressed by the quality and care taken with both the food and drink. My wife had the sirloin and it was impressive. It was a memorable evening. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very impressed with how the kitche ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was very impressed with how the kitchen handled my dissatisfaction with my meal. Right away they replaced my order with my request and were very apologetic. I was very pleased with my new order. The service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful but the service w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was wonderful but the service was very slow. Seemed to me that the wait staff was not on their best the night we were there. Very good restaurant but people will shy away from coming back if the service is not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Outstanding restaurant. The service was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exquisite! We had the Halib ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was exquisite! We had the Halibut, also the Chicken, the Beet Salad, Mussels, and a Chocolate dessert. The accompaniments for the entrees were novel and so delicious. This is the perfect place to try something different, including drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at The Wine Kitchen! Fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great experience at The Wine Kitchen! Food was very good and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always, we love the Wine Kitche ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great as always, we love the Wine Kitchen on the Creek! This time, the food was a little saltier than usual, and our water glasses didn't stay full like they normally do. Minor points though, and this continues to be our go-to spot in Frederick. Service is top-notch, the Chef is creative and consistent, and the wine list is diverse and priced fairly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous!!!!!! Morgan w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was fabulous!!!!!! Morgan was our waitress and she is a true gem! Don't miss out on thus neighborhood foodie place!

The wine is worth trying and don't forget to buy a bottle for home! The discount is awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine list. Very frien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food and wine list. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While it was pouring rain outside, we po ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

While it was pouring rain outside, we poured wine and enjoyed a fantastic meal inside! Great food and great service :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal. The servers all took care ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing meal. The servers all took care of our table and made sure my grandmother felt like a VIP on her birthday. Everyone was helpful and every course was outstanding. The menu has a great variety and the wine list is diverse and allows flights from all over. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 4 for our first visit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a party of 4 for our first visit to The Wine Kitchen. We were surprised at the level of excellent quality, fresh, creative dishes in this local restaurant on the canal. The service was outstanding, and we complimented the chef and staff afterwards.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Beet salad was amazing, but my halibut w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Beet salad was amazing, but my halibut was very dry and the vegetable uncooked. It did not live up to expectations in the slightest. Ambiance is very nice, but busy. Unfortunately, it was so hot out that we could not dine outside but the set up is extremely nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently superior service, once agai ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently superior service, once again, exceeded expectations! They even served us outdoors during an extremely hot and humid evening. The mussels appetizer was delicious - ask for extra bread for dipping in the delicious sauce. Our server proactively offered us extra bread. The short ribs really are amazing, so tender and tasty. Outdoor seating is delightful with shade from trees and umbrellas and a wonderful view of a small waterway/creek. Easy, short walk to all the shopping in downtown Frederick - only one or two blocks away. Top notch once again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I have been to Wine Kitchen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Second time I have been to Wine Kitchen and it was amazing both times. I had the Duck, it was phenomenal and my wife had the filet which was cooked to perfection and was truly melt in the mouth good! It is pricey, but well worth the cost. If you are looking for a nice place with amazing food, and a small but very good wine list; where you can fit in whether you are suited-up or hitting the town casual, this is the place.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.