About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: 3016636968x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Asparagus Salad
Roast Suckling Pig
Charcuterie plate
Mashed Potatoes
Oysters
Coconut Panacotta With Cilantro Sorbet
Sunday Brunch
Little Big Grape Flight
cheese & charcuterie plate
Fried Green Tomatoes
Market Beef- Ribeye
That's So Paso Wine Flight
Steak
Prosciutto and Melon Salad
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich
Quiche of the day with salad
Bacon Corn Chowder
Cape Cod style shrimp salad
roasted chicken breast
Angus Burger
White Asparagus Salad
Sirloin
suckling pig
Sunflower Risotto
Kale Salad With Prosciutto
Marinated Olives

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
American
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Maryland - DC Suburbs
5 More
Best Food
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Maryland - DC Suburbs
American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Frederick ›

fit for foodies (96)
notable wine list (91)
great for outdoor dining (80)
See All
special occasion (77)
neighborhood gem (68)
scenic view (58)
good for groups (46)
romantic (42)
great for brunch (39)
great for lunch (39)
hot spot (38)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (16)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was an excellent meal with superb s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined a day ago

This was an excellent meal with superb staff. Everything was delicious. We will certainly return and tell all our friends about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience with daughter and s ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyable experience with daughter and son-in-law. Noisy on arrival but quieter later. Food was very good. Would certainly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Frederick's top restaurants since ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of Frederick's top restaurants since its inception. Beautiful creek-side setting (and interior decor), an inviting & exciting menu at all times of day (brunch, lunch & dinner), and a superbly trained & considerate staff. A real gem in a crown of fine dining in Frederick.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant with great food topped ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great restaurant with great food topped off by even better service! Made reservation noting it was my wife and I's anniversary. Upon arriving we were greeted and seated immediately and provided complimentary glasses of champagne. Location along the Carroll Creek park made for a pleasant view.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is second time dining at the Wine K ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is second time dining at the Wine Kitchen and I was not disappointed. From the service. the wine to the fresh and perfectly executed menu, I am in love. Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great! I believe we had a new s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was great! I believe we had a new server. She was very nice, but service was a little slower than previous visits. My only real complaint is that in the winter the place is too cold and in the summer it is too warm. For the level of dining, I would expect better temp control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We stopped at the wine kitchen one night ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We stopped at the wine kitchen one night just for a drink with our friends who had never been there before. Right after we left we made plans to come back for a nice dinner.

We were lucky to get a spot outside with an umbrella over looking the creek. The food, atmosphere and service was wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great place. Awesome lunch specia ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Really great place. Awesome lunch specials. Pricey but not bad.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was top notch. Our server ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our experience was top notch. Our server, Jason, went above and beyond . food was outstanding

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine is always excellent! M ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and wine is always excellent! My only complaint is where we were seated. Every time I have reserved using Open Table at Wine Kitchen, we are seated in the very back of the restaurant, at a small table in between two other small tables, in an alcove facing a wall. It's miserable. It is so noisy the server had to yell at me so I could hear him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Excellent meal with many good choices. L ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent meal with many good choices. Looking forward to going back again to try something else.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little disappointing. I've always been ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

A little disappointing. I've always been pleased here in the past but the food wasn't up to par, filet was overcooked, cola-marinated steak just so-so, service more perfunctory than good. I'll certainly give them another chance but perhaps lower my expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was all excellent – as usual. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was all excellent – as usual. We were the only customers sitting inside the restaurant as it was a lovely day and many others were outside. Our waitress provided decent service (courses were well timed, etc.) she seem to be annoyed at having to wait on us. Never smiled, never offered a kind word. Practically rolled her eyes in annoyance when we asked a question. We will be back as we love the location & menu but hope for better service next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Sunday brunch at one of our favorites. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch at one of our favorites. Opted to dine inside this time although outside looked delightful overlooking the creek. My wife started with fried green tomatoes, always a hit and then had the usual, quiche, this time a shitaki/ spinach delight, very creative. I had a new item, the Cobb Salad. Somewhat deconstructed, a beautifully subtle vinaigrette, great bib lettuce, blue cheese, tomatoes and more..... Nicely done! I followed with tuna tartar mini tacos, one of my favorites, never disappoints. I finished with the steak and eggs, unbelievably well done, not the steak which was medium rare, but the presentation and taste. The duck fat fries are so good! To the management, chef, kitchen and wait staff, great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience dining at win ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall a great experience dining at wine kitchen. The food was great and wine flights were fun and very good. Service was unfortunately bad except for hostess who was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Great meal. Awesome drinks. Top notch se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great meal. Awesome drinks. Top notch service- thanks Joe! Will be back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for our anniversary and were del ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We went for our anniversary and were delighted by the really delicious dinner. We had the charcuterie and cheese to start and they wee amazing, but the special rib eye was by far the best I have had... Even better than the high end steak houses. Will be back again very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent and the waiter's r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Service was excellent and the waiter's recommendations were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The tuna tartar tacos were very small, b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The tuna tartar tacos were very small, but also very delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the wine kitchen. Food is always ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love the wine kitchen. Food is always good, drinks and wine are wonderful and the location is heavenly,

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My friend and I had a lovely lunch on Sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My friend and I had a lovely lunch on Saturday, sitting on the patio overlooking the canal. This is our favorite Frederick lunch spot and we always enjoy our meal. We had excellent service on Saturday with Jasen who was always there for us but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

6/24/2016 Friday ; very good food, servi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

6/24/2016 Friday ; very good food, service, and

Atmosphere. Noise was slightly above average.

Price is slightly higher than average. Overall a

Very good place to dine. Jim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this place! We were down town on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I love this place! We were down town on a night when there was music. I can't wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing better than the outstandi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The only thing better than the outstanding quality of food and outstanding quality of wine, was the outstanding quality of service. This place is a gem and will be on my "go to" list for any occasion from Friday evening "casual date night" with hubby to a gathering with the girls to a formal dinner with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

LOVE Wine Kitchen on the canal in old to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

LOVE Wine Kitchen on the canal in old town Frederick, MD. Can' t wait to come back again for dinner and again for brunch, and want to bring good friends with us!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started off with delicious wine and a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We started off with delicious wine and appetizers delivered by our fabulous server, Jason. The menu was diverse and offered many different options. The wine list was fun and organized into about 8-10 groupings which could be ordered as tastings. My fiance and I opted for two each and completely enjoyed them. My halibut dish was good but the flavor of the ramp gribiche was not the best accompaniment. Fiance had the 24 hour glazed beef short rib which was delectable in its simplicity. I am planning to visit again soon for brunch or lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very small portion sizes. Food was excel ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very small portion sizes. Food was excellent but I went home & ate a snack. Spent 120 on 2 people.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

As always, the Wine Kitchen did not fail ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

As always, the Wine Kitchen did not fail us for a great evening and great food and great service (Angela and Victoria treated us royally). The wine selection is always superb and I also noticed (although did not partake) of flights of whiskeys and Scotches for sampling (a great way to make decisions on your preference). I also used the local Wifi for the first time this visit (in this case to do some extra research on wines). Overall a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience! Beautiful ...

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent dining experience! Beautiful preparation and amazing taste combinations in a lovely setting on Carroll Creek. A must visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service are consistently good. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food and service are consistently good. I have not had a bad meal yet, but prices seem a bit high compared to similar restaurants.

Watermelon Gazpacho was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wine Kitchen continues to be one of my f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wine Kitchen continues to be one of my favorites. We were welcomed warmly, seated quickly and with a smile, and surprised with sparkling wine after I mentioned it being a small occasion. Food was amazing, and the wine and attentive service were perfect. I'll be back a hundred times!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this restaurant! The meals are a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We love this restaurant! The meals are always great! Nice selection & well prepared! Very friendly servers!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife & I have lived in Frederick for ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife & I have lived in Frederick for about 4 years, and while we have had some good dining experiences, The Wine Kitchen surpassed all of them. It was a great celebratory evening with my daughter and her husband that came over from Oakton, VA, to visit. Of note, we want to thank the staff and especially Jason for a super evening; he did a great job representing Wine Kitchen & we'll be back thanks to him! The food was the best we've had in Frederick for a long time! Thank you Jason & Wine Kitchen!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty but Fell Short

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I arrived on time for a 6pm dinner last Tuesday. Although there were a lot of personnel scurrying around doing other things, not one of them acknowledged me at the front desk. Finally the bartender told me someone would be with me shortly. After being seated, I ordered the brined chicken. The waitress came back after a few minutes to tell me that they were all out. Seriously? At 6pm on a Tuesday? All out of an entree? So I ordered the scallops. There were three. For $23. I guess I paid for the beautiful presentation. The dessert was quite good however.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love Tuesdays for their $9 flights (all) ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Love Tuesdays for their $9 flights (all). I akways over the "Roll out the Red Carpet " which never disappoints. The buttermilk fried Calamari is excellent. Also the Hanger Steak and frites was cooked to perfection (medium rare to my liking). All meals are great. Thoroughly enjoy happy hour and discount drinks and 1/2 price bar menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid B

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This is my second time at the Wine Kitchen. I do not like the table set ups. Too close together, and if you are in the back, you have no view. The only other comment is that our waiter did not know the wines on the list. He didn't send someone over who did know, but just got answers and relayed them. Not what you'd expect for a restaurant with "WINE" in their name. Now, onto the good news. The Paso Robles meritage we selected was outstanding. So were my oysters and my friend's green goddess dressed salad. The duck breast was I N C R E D I B L E. I was worried at first because it was so thick. But it was tender, perfectly cooked and beautifully seasoned. My friend's soft shell crab special was also a hit. Food and wine get an A. Other aspects reduce the overall grade to a B.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

It was a fabulous experience. The wine r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

It was a fabulous experience. The wine recommendation from the server (Westwood Mourvedre) was superb. They get to try new wines, so she was knowledgeable. The meals (the duck and the rabbit leg) were excellent; unfortunately, because the restaurant was so nice, we couldn't lick the plate clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time at the Wine Kitchen and we at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

First time at the Wine Kitchen and we ate outside along the creek. The ambience was perfect and the food was on point. The mac and cheese was to die for and the mixed olives were briney and delixous served with zesty marinated lemon peel. On Tuesdays, all sampling flights (3 flights) are only $9. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The wine flights were great.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The wine flights were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Seating is awful. This is the second tim ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Seating is awful. This is the second time I have eaten here and asked to be moved. The restaurant was not at all full and wouldn't take us to another table, even though keep in mind the entire time we were there at least 5-8 tables were open. You are practically eating on the table next to yours, and no conversation is unheard. Food is great! I'll probably go back but be very specific about seating when I make a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.