About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: 3016636968x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Asparagus Salad
Roast Suckling Pig
Charcuterie plate
Mashed Potatoes
Oysters
Coconut Panacotta With Cilantro Sorbet
Sunday Brunch
That's So Paso Wine Flight
Fried Green Tomatoes
cheese & charcuterie plate
Market Beef- Ribeye
Little Big Grape Flight
roasted chicken breast
Steak
Prosciutto and Melon Salad
Bacon Corn Chowder
Cape Cod style shrimp salad
Quiche of the day with salad
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich
White Asparagus Salad
Angus Burger
Sirloin
Sunflower Risotto
suckling pig
Kale Salad With Prosciutto
Marinated Olives

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Tue - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Fri 4:30PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 9:45PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
American
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Maryland - DC Suburbs
5 More
Best Food
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Outdoor Dining
Maryland - DC Suburbs
American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Frederick ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (101)
Notable Wine List (93)
Fit for Foodies (92)
See All
Special Occasion (79)
Scenic View (66)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Groups (57)
Great for Lunch (53)
Romantic (47)
Great for Brunch (42)
Hot Spot (38)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Late-night Find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1006 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love all the wine kitchens. Great food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love all the wine kitchens. Great food and service. The food is fresh and simple, yet adventurous at the same time. I love that they have wine flights, plus the wines always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My significant other & I love this place ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

My significant other & I love this place. The food is always delicious and the service is amazing! We highly recommend (and the guests we took with us loved it as well.) Rave reviews from all!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best duck I've ever had! We went for o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best duck I've ever had! We went for our anniversary and were impressed by the quality and care taken with both the food and drink. My wife had the sirloin and it was impressive. It was a memorable evening. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very impressed with how the kitche ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was very impressed with how the kitchen handled my dissatisfaction with my meal. Right away they replaced my order with my request and were very apologetic. I was very pleased with my new order. The service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful but the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was wonderful but the service was very slow. Seemed to me that the wait staff was not on their best the night we were there. Very good restaurant but people will shy away from coming back if the service is not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Outstanding restaurant. The service was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exquisite! We had the Halib ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was exquisite! We had the Halibut, also the Chicken, the Beet Salad, Mussels, and a Chocolate dessert. The accompaniments for the entrees were novel and so delicious. This is the perfect place to try something different, including drinks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience at The Wine Kitchen! Fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great experience at The Wine Kitchen! Food was very good and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always, we love the Wine Kitche ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great as always, we love the Wine Kitchen on the Creek! This time, the food was a little saltier than usual, and our water glasses didn't stay full like they normally do. Minor points though, and this continues to be our go-to spot in Frederick. Service is top-notch, the Chef is creative and consistent, and the wine list is diverse and priced fairly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fabulous!!!!!! Morgan w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was fabulous!!!!!! Morgan was our waitress and she is a true gem! Don't miss out on thus neighborhood foodie place!

The wine is worth trying and don't forget to buy a bottle for home! The discount is awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and wine list. Very frien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food and wine list. Very friendly staff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

While it was pouring rain outside, we po ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

While it was pouring rain outside, we poured wine and enjoyed a fantastic meal inside! Great food and great service :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal. The servers all took care ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing meal. The servers all took care of our table and made sure my grandmother felt like a VIP on her birthday. Everyone was helpful and every course was outstanding. The menu has a great variety and the wine list is diverse and allows flights from all over. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of 4 for our first visit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a party of 4 for our first visit to The Wine Kitchen. We were surprised at the level of excellent quality, fresh, creative dishes in this local restaurant on the canal. The service was outstanding, and we complimented the chef and staff afterwards.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Beet salad was amazing, but my halibut w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Beet salad was amazing, but my halibut was very dry and the vegetable uncooked. It did not live up to expectations in the slightest. Ambiance is very nice, but busy. Unfortunately, it was so hot out that we could not dine outside but the set up is extremely nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Consistently superior service, once agai ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently superior service, once again, exceeded expectations! They even served us outdoors during an extremely hot and humid evening. The mussels appetizer was delicious - ask for extra bread for dipping in the delicious sauce. Our server proactively offered us extra bread. The short ribs really are amazing, so tender and tasty. Outdoor seating is delightful with shade from trees and umbrellas and a wonderful view of a small waterway/creek. Easy, short walk to all the shopping in downtown Frederick - only one or two blocks away. Top notch once again!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I have been to Wine Kitchen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Second time I have been to Wine Kitchen and it was amazing both times. I had the Duck, it was phenomenal and my wife had the filet which was cooked to perfection and was truly melt in the mouth good! It is pricey, but well worth the cost. If you are looking for a nice place with amazing food, and a small but very good wine list; where you can fit in whether you are suited-up or hitting the town casual, this is the place.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was wonderful. Great place to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Great place to dine. Definitely a must see while in Frederick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great. The food and wine menu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was great. The food and wine menu provided options at many different price ranges. Service was excellent. It was too hot to sit outside, but outdoor dining on the creek looked like a great option.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to dine at The Wine Ki ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at The Wine Kitchen on he Creek. Every member of our group thoroughly enjoyed their food: Philly cheesesteak fries, shrimp & grits, WK pastrami sandwich, mushroom strudel, banana pave, peach pie. All were terrific!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, particularly the the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was very good, particularly the the beet salad, however the portions were small. We notified restaurant in advance that we were coming to celebrate a milestone birthday, the restaurant did have "Happy Birthday" written on menu, which was a nice touch, however there was no complimentary dessert....not even a complimentary candle! Also bread is not served unless you ask for it. Not sure we will return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

First time, definitely not the last time ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

First time, definitely not the last time! Food was beautifully plated and tasted as good as it looked. Service was personable and mostly attentive. The entire staff was welcoming and friendly. Along and above Carroll Creek. Made for just a wonderful evening out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband's steak was under-cooked and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My husband's steak was under-cooked and his red wine was cold. In addition, the peach pie was served very cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding food and service. I had the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding food and service. I had the ribeye steak which was prepared to perfection. The entire experience was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Tim did an excellent job. He ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our server Tim did an excellent job. He was super nice, knowledgeable and energetic. He made my birthday celebration one to remember. He few years ago we did not have a great experience at The Wine Kitchen because of the experience we had with our server. Tim really changed my perception and has made us a fan! We will recommend you to everyone! Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a great experience - the servers ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was a great experience - the servers were all great and fun to talk to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was not busy when we were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The restaurant was not busy when we were there (it was a Thursday night at 8:00) and we were the waitress' only table (from what she told us.) She barely checked on us and everything we ordered took forever. I asked for my filet medium well and it came out very well done. I didn't even tell the waitress bc it had already taken so long at that point it wasn't worth it. We normally love the wine kitchen, but this experience was pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Unfortunately this trip to the Wine Kitc ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately this trip to the Wine Kitchen was a huge disappointment. We had friends come in from Oklahoma City and I couldn't wait to take them to one of our favorite restaurants here in Frederick. We had early reservations at 5:30 and the restaurant was not busy at all. We were seated right away but in the back of the restaurant near the restrooms instead of by a window or in the wine room. We ordered Cheese and Charcuterie as appetizers for the table which was good when it finally arrived however we only received one order of bread for the entire table and had to wait a significant amount of time between each refill. We then ordered the lamb saddle, the chicken and the rest of the table all had the hamburgers for main courses. In the mean time, a table of three sat down next to us; and then a table of five behind us, after almost an hour those two tables had finished their meals OF: steak, hamburger and other items we did not see but it was very noticeable the had received and finished their meals before ours arrived. The worse part was that no wait staff bothered to check on to see if we wanted drinks (which we did from the bar) or to let us know that there would be a wait on our food. Lastly, there was no apology for the lateness of the food. Each time our friends come to town we look forward to taking them to our favorite restaurant and this was not just a disappointment but an embarrassment. The Wine Kitchen has been one of our top 3 restaurants in Frederick but now not sure if we will be returning any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Our party of four all ordered different ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our party of four all ordered different things, so we got to see (and taste) a wide variety- everything was delicious, interesting, well presented. Prix fixe lunch was a great value. We will be back.

In good weather, the outdoor dining by the canal would be very appealing- the water lilies were impressive.

I'd have liked to have pictures of the menu items before/during ordering, and the description at hand when eating (should have brought a copy of the menu with me printed off the internet?) because I couldn't remember all the details.

Waitress was attentive to every request.

There was a very affordable lunch special (<$10) option.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went with high expectations and was not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went with high expectations and was not disappointed ! though we were more than 30 minutes late for our reservation we were met with a welcome smile and a table that was ready. Started the evening with a Cheese and meat plate the Pate was to "die" for! Entrees included the Halibut which was prepared tastefully fresh and moist, others in the party had the Scallops equally fine as was the Short Ribs entree. to cap the evening we had to try the desserts the tables favorite had to be the "Flight with Chocolate" the Port and Honey Wine was a delight. All in was a great evening the service was attentive without being intrusive. We all look forward to our next visit to the The Wine Kitchen

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was an excellent meal with superb s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was an excellent meal with superb staff. Everything was delicious. We will certainly return and tell all our friends about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable experience with daughter and s ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Enjoyable experience with daughter and son-in-law. Noisy on arrival but quieter later. Food was very good. Would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Frederick's top restaurants since ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of Frederick's top restaurants since its inception. Beautiful creek-side setting (and interior decor), an inviting & exciting menu at all times of day (brunch, lunch & dinner), and a superbly trained & considerate staff. A real gem in a crown of fine dining in Frederick.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant with great food topped ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great restaurant with great food topped off by even better service! Made reservation noting it was my wife and I's anniversary. Upon arriving we were greeted and seated immediately and provided complimentary glasses of champagne. Location along the Carroll Creek park made for a pleasant view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is second time dining at the Wine K ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is second time dining at the Wine Kitchen and I was not disappointed. From the service. the wine to the fresh and perfectly executed menu, I am in love. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was great! I believe we had a new s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was great! I believe we had a new server. She was very nice, but service was a little slower than previous visits. My only real complaint is that in the winter the place is too cold and in the summer it is too warm. For the level of dining, I would expect better temp control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We stopped at the wine kitchen one night ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We stopped at the wine kitchen one night just for a drink with our friends who had never been there before. Right after we left we made plans to come back for a nice dinner.

We were lucky to get a spot outside with an umbrella over looking the creek. The food, atmosphere and service was wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great place. Awesome lunch specia ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Really great place. Awesome lunch specials. Pricey but not bad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was top notch. Our server ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our experience was top notch. Our server, Jason, went above and beyond . food was outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine is always excellent! M ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and wine is always excellent! My only complaint is where we were seated. Every time I have reserved using Open Table at Wine Kitchen, we are seated in the very back of the restaurant, at a small table in between two other small tables, in an alcove facing a wall. It's miserable. It is so noisy the server had to yell at me so I could hear him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.