About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: 3016636968x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Asparagus Salad - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Roast Suckling Pig - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Charcuterie plate - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Mashed Potatoes - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Oysters - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Coconut Panacotta With Cilantro Sorbet - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Sunday Brunch - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
That's So Paso Wine Flight - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Fried Green Tomatoes - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
cheese & charcuterie plate - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Market Beef- Ribeye - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Little Big Grape Flight - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
roasted chicken breast - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Steak - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Prosciutto and Melon Salad - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Bacon Corn Chowder - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Cape Cod style shrimp salad - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Quiche of the day with salad - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Curry Chicken Salad Sandwich - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
White Asparagus Salad - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Angus Burger - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Sirloin - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Sunflower Risotto - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
suckling pig - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Kale Salad With Prosciutto - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD
Marinated Olives - The Wine Kitchen on the Creek, Frederick, MD

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Chef's 5-Course Taste of Tuscany Prix-Fixe Menu - $85. Optional Wine Pairing - $40.

Reservations Required

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Tue - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Fri 4:30PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 9:45PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Food
Maryland - DC Suburbs
2 More
Best Ambiance
Maryland - DC Suburbs
American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Frederick ›

Fit for Foodies (59)
Notable Wine List (57)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Local Ingredients (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Scenic View (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Waterfront (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Authentic (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Seasonal (16)
Fun (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Business Meals (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Private Room (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Healthy (10)
People Watching (9)
Fireplace (8)
Historic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Family Style (3)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1087 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As usual, TWK was a delight from start t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 18 hours ago

As usual, TWK was a delight from start to finish. Perfectly mixed cocktails, wonderful wine, excellent cheese plate, delicious boar shank, best chicken anywhere, yummy dessert, and best of all, the legendary WK service. Nothing stuffy or imposing, just well done and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you enjoy creative, attractive, mouth ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

If you enjoy creative, attractive, mouth-watering menu items along with the opportunity to sample a variety of wines, you will love the Wine Kitchen. A jewel of a spot right on Carroll Creek in historic downtown Frederick MD, the restaurant is invitingly cozy with expansive views of the promenade. The service is professional and friendly. I loved being able to sample 3 wines for the price of a glass. For a recent celebratory lunch, the mushroom pastry and salad couldn't have been tastier. The only problem was making a selection from all of the enticing menu offerings. So glad this gem is in my hometown!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, location, decor, service. WA ...

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, location, decor, service. WAY too loud on a Saturday night. Please fix the sound issue--loud does not mean hotspot especially when it detracts from personal conversation and overcomes the taste of the food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Private Room, Fun, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Casual, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Everything was great. The appetizer ahi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great. The appetizer ahi tacos are way to small. Should make 2-3 x the size. Otherwise not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food, Knowledgeable Service We ate ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great Food, Knowledgeable Service

We ate a number of appetizers before we made it to entrees. Everything was fresh and innovative. Wonderful beet salad, accompaniments to cheese plate were unique, wine flight was fun, and the scallops were cooked to perfection. Although we ate after dark, the view during daylight would be great, as the restaurant sits next to Caroll Creek. Noticed that there is outdoor seating for warmer weather. If you enjoy the wine, they have a good deal for purchasing a bottle to take home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent. Staff was attentiv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Staff was attentive and very pleasant. The manager could not have been nicer. In other words, " a be back". BTW, great special on wine purchases.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and knowledgeable wait st ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food and knowledgeable wait staff. Very interesting bar menu, including, obviously, wines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always outstanding. Love the cola marin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always outstanding. Love the cola marinated steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Never fails to live up to my expectation ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Never fails to live up to my expectations! Wait staff efficient but unobtrusive . Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary weekend in Frederick. Revie ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Anniversary weekend in Frederick. Reviews were good so we decided to give this restaurant a try. Everything we had was delicious and we really like the energy level (not too noisy, but alive). Service was attentive and helpful without being overbearing. We would go back next time we're in town!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food, outstanding service. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Outstanding food, outstanding service. We had the beet salad, scallops and swordfish, all top quality. My only quibble was the quantity was a bit small -- 3 scallops only, and the beet salad was excellent but small.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious! Always creative in pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always delicious! Always creative in presentation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great menu, difficult to discern ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Always great menu, difficult to discern favorite dish. We arrived later in the evening so missed the roasted Brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere was very nice. Food came out ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Atmosphere was very nice. Food came out in a timely manner, but not super fast so as to make you think it wasn't fresh. The burger was delicious-bacon jam topping was amazing and the black garlic aioli was phenomenal. As, too, was the squash tart. The mini pattypan squash and the mushrooms really set the dish over the edge. The wine list was extensive, with inexpensive wine flights to taste multiple wines. Overall, I can't wait to go back and try something different. Especially the desserts-black coconut rice pudding with kiwi ice cream and mango sorbet. Beautifully plated and absolutely delicious. I definitely want to try the rest of the desserts as well if they are going to be anywhere near as good as the rice pudding

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent! Wine Flight was Great! Real ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent! Wine Flight was Great! Really liked the Steak and appetizers...

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

On the day of our dinner, when the Wine ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

On the day of our dinner, when the Wine Kitchen staff person called to remind me of our OpenTable reservation and I confirmed it and mentioned the seating request I had included in our reservation, I had the distinct impression that our seating request was not given much thought. it's happened there before under the same circumstances and I suspect it was because we used Open Table instead of dealing with them directly. If we ever do go back, I will not use OpenTable, instead I will go into the restaurant personally and point to a line of tables and ask for when we might be able to firmly reserve any one of them for any dinner some time in the future; the date to be determined by when we can secure such a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Booked a reservation based on recommenda ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Booked a reservation based on recommendations from others that this was a great place with great food and beverage options.

Our service was good and they were especially attentive to an allergy concern. Friendly and enthusiastic. No issues here at all.

Wine selection is OK.

The real disappointment was the quality, preparation and presentation of the food. It was not good. The chicken dish was quite overcooked as was the fish dish. The fish presentation was especially weird. The fish and sides were perched on top of a generous smear of...something that looked unidentifiable. It was a paste/puree of a vegetable...I think. It didn't look appetizing and the taste matched the look.

They are not shy with the pricing of the food...hence the poor value score. All in all...a disappointing dining experience and I can't recommend them for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Dinner was wonderful, we had a filet, co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Dinner was wonderful, we had a filet, cooked to a perfect med-rare and lamb seasoned wonderfully. It was a great date night, and our server had nice recommendations and would request him in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great meal. Can certainly ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always, a great meal. Can certainly recommend the duck. Great service, nice folks, and always interesting choices on the menu. One of our faves!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fun, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Seasonal, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful, as was the service f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was wonderful, as was the service from Tim! He made recommendations for wine that proved to be great.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Authentic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Gail, was phenomenal. Our fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server, Gail, was phenomenal. Our food was good, as always, and we were blessed to have very nice weather so we were able to eat outside along beautiful Carroll Creek. Wine Kitchen continues to be our go to restaurant in Frederick. We also loved the new Little Italy wine flight!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation on line because we we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Made a reservation on line because we were visiting the area and didn't know where to go for dinner. The service was very good the waiter so accommodating, but the steak, at $41.00 , was so salty it was barely eatable. The mistake we made was not to send it back right away. We were just too hungry. Will not happen again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We chose the restaurant for a get-togeth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We chose the restaurant for a get-together of six friends. I had asked for a quieter table and we were seated in a semi-private room, which should have provided easier conversation. However, the acoustics were such that we could barely hear each other. The service was very slow - after 45 minutes we actually had to go find the waiter so we could place our orders. Once the food was served (approximately 1 1/2 hours after we were seated), the food and wine were very good, but we will not choose this restaurant again or recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Perfect for a girl's night dinner. Had t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Perfect for a girl's night dinner. Had the cod for the first time and can't wait to have it again.

A friend raved about the squash tart and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time on the creek!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Awesome time on the creek!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go here quite aften. Awesome food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We go here quite aften. Awesome food and great service and environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Healthy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location on Carroll Creek Linear P ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great location on Carroll Creek Linear Park. Great food. Great service. Dinner (with appetizer and wine) was $85 for two of us (+ tip), so I would expect both to be good. Love the descriptions that come with the wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fireplace, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We were fortunate to come early and were ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We were fortunate to come early and were able to get a corner table, which reduced the impact of the lack of sound-reducing features--it got pretty noisy with something of an echo. As one with hearing problems, I'd have had a hard time otherwise.

The menu was attractive and had many tempting possibilities. Overall the food was nicely done, except that almost everything was oversalted (saltiest olives I'd ever tasted, extra salt on the fried green tomatoes, and the salted caramel ice cream--well). The exception, oddly, was the floriana grits in my shrimp-and-grits, which seemed to have no salt at all--too bad, for they were an unusual variety and might have been very nice. (Though on request we were brought some salt, it was hard to put it on the grits without salting the shrimp too, which didn't need it.)

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome place incredible food and servic ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Awesome place incredible food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place always seems to have somethin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This place always seems to have something good. My husband is a huge fan of their pork chop, and they always have to have some variety of one whenever we go. I like the option of being able to have three partial glasses of wine for the price of one, which allows me to sample wines I might have otherwise been hesitant to try out. Definitely a good date night place!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The Wine Kitchen in Frederick is one of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Wine Kitchen in Frederick is one of our favorite restaurants!!! Great wine selection, food selection and presentation is excellent! It is a food venue that takes pride in the wait-staff - staff is well-trained, impeccably prepared, and always responsive! Moreover, its a great VALUE!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here to celebrate a birthday, servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Came here to celebrate a birthday, service was excellent throughout, food was delicious as was the wine flight. Noise level was a little high for a cozy dinner but once you adjust to it, it's fine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the food as usual and service wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Enjoyed the food as usual and service was great with everyone being appropriately attentive thru out. My first time trying the Swordfish which was moist & delicious. My husband had the Cod, which was a new addition to the menu and he loved it. Though menu isn't mind boggling extensive, it is nicely varied and it changes.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I chose Wine Kitchen for a r ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My wife and I chose Wine Kitchen for a rare date night, and we were not disappointed. We had the fried green tomato, Cobb salad, and marinated olives for appetizers, she had a flight of white wines and I tried a bourbon I hadn't seen before. For dinner she had the special that evening, a Pinot Noir poached cod, and I chose the 16oz dry aged ribeye with bone marrow butter. WOW!!!! Most delicious. To end it all we shared an apple pie and I chose to finish it off with a Pedro-Ximenez sherry. Chef Jeff Beard came out after dinner to ask us how everything was, and we couldn't hold back on the praise. Bravo!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Fun, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy the Wine Kitchen on the C ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I always enjoy the Wine Kitchen on the Creek. Staff is friendly, informative and energetic. On this particular occasion our party of 4 had a reservation at 7 PM on a Sat evening. When

I arrived about 10 min early They offered to seat me right away as our table was ready. I declined as I always feel uncomfortable occupying a table when it is just me. In hindsight I should have taken them up on the offer. I think the greeter got us confused with another party of 4 and sat the other party first. At about 7:20 the greeter stopped by to say they were just waiting for a party to leave, they had already paid their check. At 7:40 we were still waiting to be sat and they told us they would offer us a cheese plate as soon as we got sat. They did apologize many times. I think we ended up getting sat finally at about 8 PM...at a table that had been empty the entire time we waited. The cheese plate arrived very shortly thereafter and they comp'd us a couple of desserts too. Overall food and service were excellent we were just fortunate we didn't have anywhere to be after the dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I had lunch with three of my closer frie ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I had lunch with three of my closer friends, and we had a phenomenal time. We were seated outside on what must have been the nicest day of the month, and we were incredibly well attended to.

I HIGHLY encourage the charcuterie plate. Splitting between four people made for a phenomenal group appetizer, and the selections were phenomenal. Also, considering the high quality of the restaurant, the bill was not as large as you would have expected. 30-40 per person, and we had each ordered flights/whiskey/assorted drinks to go with our meals.

Overall, highly recommended. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LI duck was truly divine. Brined chicke ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

LI duck was truly divine. Brined chicken was savory, substantial and incredibly tender. Wine flight (Primal Reds) was very well balanced with much to say on the palate for each one.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit after having tr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This was our first visit after having tried and failed twice to get a table at this popular establishment. The four of us shared and split dishes so that we could sample as much as possible. Particular high marks go to the cheese and charcuterie samplers, as well as the chocolate flight and dessert wine flight at the end of the meal. Would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistent quality food.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Consistent quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.