About The Wine Kitchen on the Creek

50 Carroll Creek Way
Frederick, MD 21701
View Larger Map

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek is a restaurant – wine bar featuring all that is good about food and wine, and specializing in what is great about sharing them together with friends and family. Our Seasonal American Bistro Menu prepared by chef Jeff Beard highlights the bountiful resources found in and around our region. Our mission is to search out the highest quality, freshest, most delicious ingredients, and prepare them in their most honest form. Eat, simply. We search high and low to find outstanding wines that are true representations of their place and varietal, then pour them for you. Drink, simply.
The Wine Kitchen on the Creek offers sublime ambiance in a relaxed and casual environment where we take our food and drink just seriously enough to make it fun for you the customer. We open our kitchen to you to come and enjoy our food and hospitality.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm (Seriously Delicious Sunday Brunch form 11am - 3pm)

Cross Street:
Take a right off Market St. onto Carroll Creek Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 663-6968

Website:
http://www.thewinekitchen.com/

Catering:
We are able to offer small-scale catering with appropriate notice. Please contact John McCain or Mary Downs at 301.663.6968 to inquire about potential catering opportunities.

Parking Details:
There is a parking garage at the end of Carroll Creek Way on the left hand side. Just before you take a left into the parking garage on Carroll Creek Way you will see two doors on your right below the number 50. Once you park use these doors to take the elevator up one floor, exit out the front of the lobby and take left and our door is directly on your left. There is also on street metered parking along Market St. and Patrick St. which are the two closest streets to our location.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Beard

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private dining room that will comfortably seat 22 guests. We offer a variety of menus for our Private Dining Room and can accommodate special guest requests.

Private Party Contact:
Mary Downs: 3016636968x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Winemaker's Dinners, Beer Dinners, Holiday Paired Menus, Local and Community Events.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us for Father's Day Brunch!
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Tue - Thu 4:30PM - 5:30PM

Fri 4:30PM - 5:15PM 8:45PM - 9:45PM

Sat 4:30PM - 5:15PM 9:00PM - 9:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Kitchen on the Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Overall
Maryland - DC Suburbs
4 More
Best Food
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Service
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Maryland - DC Suburbs
American
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Frederick ›

fit for foodies (134)
notable wine list (129)
special occasion (102)
See All
neighborhood gem (84)
great for outdoor dining (71)
scenic view (64)
romantic (59)
great for brunch (51)
good for groups (47)
great for lunch (44)
hot spot (39)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (17)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

First time at the Wine Kitchen and we at ...

Dined 2 days ago

First time at the Wine Kitchen and we ate outside along the creek. The ambience was perfect and the food was on point. The mac and cheese was to die for and the mixed olives were briney and delixous served with zesty marinated lemon peel. On Tuesdays, all sampling flights (3 flights) are only $9. I will definitely come back.

food4
ambience4
service4

The wine flights were great.

Dined 5 days ago

The wine flights were great.

food5
ambience1
service3

Seating is awful. This is the second tim ...

Dined 5 days ago

Seating is awful. This is the second time I have eaten here and asked to be moved. The restaurant was not at all full and wouldn't take us to another table, even though keep in mind the entire time we were there at least 5-8 tables were open. You are practically eating on the table next to yours, and no conversation is unheard. Food is great! I'll probably go back but be very specific about seating when I make a reservation.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of our best dining experi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely one of our best dining experiences Wait staff was outstanding. Food was perfect 5 stars

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We chose The Wine Kitchen on the Creek b ...

Dined 7 days ago

We chose The Wine Kitchen on the Creek based on good ratings on several internet sites and were not disappointed. Sit outdoors if the weather's nice and tables are available - you'll have a lovely view of the "creek" and on Thursday nights, 5-8pm during the summer, an added bonus is enjoying the music from "Alive @ 5" without paying the cover charge. We started our meal with the roasted nuts and olives which were delicious and just the right amount to whet our appetites. For entrees we ordered the scallops and short ribs, both of which were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The house salad of mixed greens with a balsamic vinaigrette is not on the menu, you have to ask for it, and I'm so glad we did. The mixture of greens included some that I couldn't identify but was scrumptious - not your standard mixed greens in a cello bag from any grocery store. We had a few minor service hiccups - long wait between ordering and arrival of food, salads served before the appetizers - but nothing that ruined a lovely evening. We'll go back to The Wine Kitchen again I'm sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always. Enjoy dining outside-- ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great as always. Enjoy dining outside--always something special on the menu

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Frederick!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent meal , service and the Sangria is fantastic !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always enjoy our visits to the Wine Kitc ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Always enjoy our visits to the Wine Kitchen. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

I did submit a review but the page went ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I did submit a review but the page went unresponsive. Could not capture it and am not going to re-enter it again.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose the Wine Kitchen on a Thursday ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We chose the Wine Kitchen on a Thursday afternoon because it was the first Alive-at-Five of the season. The plan was excellent. We had great music, great food, good service and a great time overall. It turns out that the Wine Kitchen does not require reservations for the outdoor seating but we were glad to have the reservations regardless.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have a fantastic lunch here last week ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We have a fantastic lunch here last week. Food was delicious. We can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

A lovely place for brunch! We were visi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

A lovely place for brunch! We were visiting from or of town and found this spot through Open Table...and boy am I glad we did! Fantastic! Service was a bit on the slow side, but it was Mother's Day so that might have something to do with it. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic meal here. Had the rabbit, delicious!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the best meal I have had in Frederick in the last couple of years. Executive Chef Jeff Beard has really upped the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Early Mother's Day Lu ch

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first time at The Wine Kitchen and we really enjoyed it. We sat where we could see food coming right out of the kitchen and the plates were beautiful. We decided to start with the fried green tomatoes and we all loved them. The lamb sandwich special was delicious too! I would like to go back in the evening and try their dinner menu and wine. The service was good, but not great. We changed waiters part way through and overall waited a bit too long for general service. We would certainly go back though!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Personally attentive service throughout ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Personally attentive service throughout the whole restaurant made our anniversary very memorable. Food presentation was excellent as well as quality and creativity. Thoroughly enjoyed

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant we have been to in the l ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Best restaurant we have been to in the last few years. It was my wife's birthday and the waiter actually put a menu down with "Happy Birthday" on the top. The food was spectacular as was the wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A gourmet gem

Dined on April 30, 2016

First time there. Perfect place for a girl's night out. Fantastic food and wines!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic reason to visit Frederick

Dined on April 30, 2016

My husband and I took a day trip to Frederick for our anniversary. The area is charming and The Wine Kitchen was the perfect ending to a great day. Our server went above and beyond to share details regarding the food and suggest wine pairings. The restaurant also provided 'Happy Anniversary' menus and sparkling wine for a toast. I could not have chosen a better place to celebrate our anniversary and I can't wait to share this gem with family and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New and Delicious Take on Standards

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary on a weekday evening and everything was just wonderful including the caring, pleasant, knowledgeable service we've come to expect. Though we eat out frequently, I never order chicken at dinner, but this chicken was exceptional with the persimmon garnish. My husband had the duck which he absolutely loved. Even the coffee cheese cake was prepared in a manner that was novel.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on April 24, 2016

We celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary with dinner at the Wine Cellar, we reserved our table on line and noted this was the occasion. We were greeted at the door with a "Happy Anniversary" then were served a glass of sparkling wine (champagne) at our table. The staff was wonderful and friendly, they gave great recommendations. Enjoyed Wild Boar and Vegetable Pave. This was a bit of a splurge financially for us, but was a great enjoyable and memorable evening. We skipped the costly dessert for ice cream around the corner, but it did sound wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice find in Fredrick

Dined on April 24, 2016

We havent ever been to Fredrick but wanted to take a nice Sunday drive for dinner. Found this place and took a chance. We were well rewarded. The downtown is very lovely and seems vibrant and on its way up. The restaurant is located beside the creek that runs through the town Ambience is casual with indoor and outdoor dining. The staff and service were very good and enthusiastic sbout the wines that are the heart of the experience. The food was very good I particularly liked the tuna tartare tacos as hors doerves. Prices were very reasonable. We had a nice walk through town before returning to Baltimore

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Brunch...a little disappointing

Dined on April 24, 2016

TWK has lots of ambience. The food was a little disappointing. The portions are small. The prices are high. The hamburger wasn't cooked properly ( they did take it off the bill). We were disappointed because they were out of two things on the brunch menu by 1:30 pm. The service was adequate, although they very polite. Honestly, I don't think we will go back there, again.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Not up to usual level

Dined on April 24, 2016

I recommended to a friend who had never dined here that we go here for a mother/daughter brunch. I've eaten here multiple times in the past and the food/service were always top-notch. Unfortunately my friend's "hangover helper" entree came out overcooked (she had asked for medium rare and it was clearly well done). Our server, who had been slow to take our initial order, finally stopped by to check in (my friend had already taken a few bites of her food). When he asked how things were and she said the meat was overcooked, he simply said "I'm sorry". No offer to replace it (although by that point the 3 others in the group were well into their entrees). No free dessert or drink. No offering to take it off the bill (which took forever to come and shortened the free time we had to shop before our 4pm Weinberg show). If I could have found a manager I would have explained this situation but no one seemed to be on duty.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We went here for my birthday dinner. I really liked the way you could do a wine tasting with a set of three wines that are grouped together. Ambiance is nice and the food was fantastic! We were seated inside since it was still cold outside, but the seating outside overlooking the creek looked so nice. We will be back and maybe this time we will sit outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice evening ....

Dined on April 24, 2016

We enjoyed our wedding anniversary ... They made us feel special. Gave us champagne while we waited to be seated ... server mentioned our "special occasion".

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Not all it's hyped to be

Dined on April 23, 2016

Steaks both under and overdone Portion size of scallops was small

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Worst meal On 10 years.

Dined on April 21, 2016

Worst meal I have had in at least 10 years. Took one hour to get main course. Roasted cauliflower not roasted. Portions tiny. Buckwheat gnocchi nearly inedible. Wine awesome. Ambience lovely but food downright awful and pricey. Focaccia was soft warm white bread with butter on (which we got because we were starving.) what a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ladies day out

Dined on April 21, 2016

Four of us dined here for lunch, and each was very pleased with the food, wine, service, location and and ambiance. They have another location in Leesburg which we are anxious to try. We were told that the wine selection and menu is totally different there.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The menu is varied and creative. Our mea ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The menu is varied and creative. Our meals were delicious works of art. Servers are the best in Frederick. Expensive but worth it. Only wish they didn't run out of menu items so often.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The sirloin was not tender and the scall ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The sirloin was not tender and the scallops should come with a side dish. The fried green tomatoes was good but could have added a couple more slices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was packed early at 6pm. It' ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Restaurant was packed early at 6pm. It's Tuesday Wine Flight like night for $9. Love the Roll Out the Red Carpet. Great happy hour too. Love the steak frites cooked to perfection. Tried the Nashville Hot Chicken Steak Buns and were a great appetizer!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a very nice evening.

Dined on April 9, 2016

This was the second time we were there and enjoyed it very much. We plan to go back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excelent steak overdone but still delish

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food was fresh and delicious steak was over cooked but it was flavorful and juicy despite that. Have the charcuterie soo good. Did a good job adapting and advising on gluten free menu items. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing First Visit

Dined on April 8, 2016

This was our first visit and the result was disappointing. The food was Ok tasting, but the portion sizes were minuscule and the quality and taste not commensurate with the high price. Overall value for our money was low.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Again!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Once again the Wine Kitchen was perfection. The menu always delights, the services was great, wines are always a winner. Nothing to fix. Go and Enjoy!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding. We are regulars . Never had ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Outstanding. We are regulars . Never had a bad meal here. Some are truely remarkable .the duck is to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Captivating

Dined on March 30, 2016

This was my first dining experience at The Wine Kitchen ... it won't be my last! From the moment I walked in the door, I felt welcome. One of the servers greeted me and brought me a glass of water (unsolicited) while I waited for my date. I loved the ambiance -- simple but somehow chic. We were seated promptly and our server Tim took care of our every need for the next 3 hours. He provided us with a superb appetizer recommendation and was knowledgeable about all of the wines on the extensive wine list. My date and I both chose the rockfish over ravioli as the entree -- and we were both impressed by both the presentation and the flavor! There were many other appetizer and entree options that caught me eye -- I will be returning here soon to try them!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on March 29, 2016

My wife and I celebrated out 30th anniversary at the wine kitchen. We arrived early able to wait at the bar during happy hour. We will be back for that another time. We were promptly seated and showed the menus and told the days specials. I had the 16oz rib eye my wife the chef special 12oz N.Y. strip. Both were cooked to perfection,medium rare, the mashed potatoes and green beans were delicious as well. The wine selection I very good and reasonable priced.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great wines.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Waitstaff was attentive and friendly. I asked for time between courses and this was honored.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food! But most of all, we had a ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Awesome food! But most of all, we had a total dining experience with Jason!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.