About The Wine Bistro - Worthington

Marsha Ballman, GM
The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

8231 N High St
Columbus, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Rt 23 and Highbluffs

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 436-4000

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Josh Hartman

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining in our Reserve room for groups of 20-40 guests. Additionally we have a private dining room in the Bistro that will accommodate from 8-10 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Lyndie Franks lyndie.franks@winebistrocolumbus.com: (614) 436-4000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Bistro - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

I was really saddened when I learned of the Clintonville location's closing but was totally satisfied with our experience at the Worthington location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Excellent choice for friends gathering or couples night out. Great ambiance, great service, menu items delicious and tons of wine choices!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Nice place for a dinner or lunch. Extensive wine offerings. Very good service. I would go back. The food was also very good. Easy to get to from the north side of C,Bus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Great wine selection and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Restaurant week visit and so enjoyed the Bistro salad, salmon with sticky rice and Maple bread pudding. House Chardonnay good but dry and crisp.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The place was pretty empty, 1 large group and a few couples. They kept seating everyone on top of one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

It's restaurant week and I am on vacation. I reviewed all of the menus and The Wine Bistro had something in each course that I knew I would enjoy. My husband tried two of the craft beers, got the veal meatball, shrimp with citrus risotto, and key lime pie. I got the rustic tomato bisque, the short braised rib with carrots, and mushroom risotto,and the bourbon pecan bread pudding. I have posted my pictures on Facebook and gave me y review on Yelp. I enjoyed my experience at The Wine Bistro more than I did at The Refectory.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great for Restaurant week - good food and service, worth the visit.. thankyou.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent evening we had a great time, thank you! Will come back again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fun night out with friends and out-of-town guests!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The food is outstanding and the servers are always so nice.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing service followed with fantastic food. A great place for a lingering dinner with friends that offers many wines to explore and enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Was able to sit outside. Even with being close to the main road (23) it was not really nosy. Good choices. Wine a little expensive for the amount served. Need larger bowl wine glasses to serve red wine.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had Amy as our waitress and she was wonderful...attentive but not pushy. We always like to surprise friends with this neighborhood gem! Food was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was impeccable. Our server, Greta, was outstanding and so helpful. All of our meals were delicious. The wine we chose was very good and then at the end of the meal when we asked about Ports, they allowed us to sample before we bought a glass. We ended up buying a bottle of Tawny Port.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Another great meal at The Wine Bistro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went for the wine selection which was great. Food was good too. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We love the Wine Bistro and go as often as we can and when we go we ALWAYS order the cheese fondue trio. This day was one of the worst that we have had. It was overcooked! The flatbreads were great. I am glad this was not our first time ordering because if it was, it might be the last. We were there on a Friday afternoon and it was fairly busy and there was only one waitress who you could tell was stressed. She did well trying to keep up with everyone and overall did a good job.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Met another couple for dinner and for their first time meeting! :) Food was amazing we ordered mushroom bruschetta, a cheese fondue type dip, antipasto salad and a Margarita pizza ( sorry for the misspelling!) . A bottle of red and a bottle of white, too!

Took only one star off the service and it had NOTHING to do with our server, Meghan. Which BTW, she was AMAZING! Very knowledgeable with suggesting ideas on wine and food. Very polished. She helped us pace ourselves on wine selection and food and still was very attentive in helping us out when we needed H20 refills. We appreciated her hospitality. The one off star came from when we checked in for our date upon walk into the Bistro. We had a 630 reservation on 4/20 and when I was the first to arrive in our no greeting, no welcome barely an acknowledgment. I shared our party name and not even a smile. Not sure why but to be fair she was helpful in asking if we wanted a high table or low table and let me pick our table for our party. Perhaps it was a bad moment for her - maybe got a rough text minutes before I arrived. Not sure - it was a bit disappointing considering the greet sets the tone for the experience. Fortunately, it was quickly turned around when Meghan came to introduce herself and provide our service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Never fails to impress. Food always a delight wine is well matched. Service is attentive not overbearing. Never rushed to eat

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tapas, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was not able to have brunch at Wine Bistro : I tried for an hour to cancel reservation but phone kept ringing for minutes wuthout an answer. Either 614-436-4000 is no longer active or the service staff ignored the call.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 11, 2017

I brought an out of town friend to the Wine Bistro. She loved it. The food was delicious and the wine was excellent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Love this place! Always a relaxed atmosphere with great service, great wine recommendations and very good food.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 4, 2017

My wife and enjoy Wine Bistro. We love the meatball and they have the best Flatbread. Of course, their wine choices are the best too. Tracy, our server was terrific. She was very friendly and fun. We highly recommend Wine Bistro.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Two problems and a quibble with this visit. First, as with many places where tables are close together, one noisy group can make all the others louder and louder. This happened to us. Second, there service was a problem. We ordered salads to be followed by hot entrees. The entrees arrived, however, when only halfway through the salads. The waitress just shoved them alongside our salad plates without asking if we wanted them to be held in the kitchen. Inevitably they were cold by the time we got to them, which spoilt the food. A minor quibble: One thing I like about this chain is the choice of wines on the shelves. Unfortunately the wines I like were inaccessible because a large group was seated at a table immediately in front of the wines and they were already eating. I was not going to ask them to move out of the way so this time, I had to choose wines that were not from my favorite area.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We absolutely love this location. The staff was so accommodating for our group. We have been here many times and cannot begin to express our gratitude for their consistent outstanding customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It's a really great place!! My husband and I have been there for a few times. A nice atmosphere, great service and yammi food. We love this spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Wonderful experience---the ambience is nice---very comfortable. Our server was great---wish I could remember her name...pretty, short hair---sold us a fabulous bottle of proseco. Two old friends catching up---did not feel rushed at all...even though we sat for hours. Shared wonderful food and wine. Highly recommend! Oh!....and Mon and Tues bottles of wine are state minimum priced!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Valentine's Day special menu was great! Good dinner😌

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We love the Wine Bistro in Worthington! The ambiance suggests something more upscale and intimate, but the prices are really very reasonable. I've always been happy with my food (I like the steak salad, French onion soup and all the flatbreads)...my bf loves the braised beef short ribs! They have a nice wine list, and also have beer and cocktails available. This is one of our Go-to's when we're looking for a nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was so good! I have a gluten allergy and I didn't feel deprived. I had the shrimp and creamy risotto. Went with my husband on Valentine's Day. Romantic and cozy. Loved it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was our "third" time going to the wine bistro, and it's always great. We love the wine selection and the whole idea behind choosing your own wine, and the layout and atmosphere of the place. However, I was a little taken back when after our salads arrived, the server asked us "what did you order again...I forgot." Really? You don't write those things down? Oh well, other than that, we really loved our early Valentines day/my birthday celebration at this restaurant. I ordered the seafood fettucine, and my husband ordered the shrimp risotto. Both were really tasty, and our wine selection was spot on. I highly recommend this place, and I always request it for my birthday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great overall experience. Large group was handled easily with reservation. Food was great as well as our service. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Service was excellent and visit by the manager was delightful!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We loved the wine Bistro! It was well worth the 30 minute drive and their popped corn was to die for 😍 Everything they serve is homemade and everything we had was delicious! Great wine selections as well. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tapas, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great experience! They've done a great job decorating! You'd never know you were in a strip mall. Food (Winery Salad & salmon)was delicious! great service! I'll definitely go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

TERRIBLE!!! We had a 5:45 reservation, ordered as quickly as we could (had a concert to attend) and our food came out right before 7:00. I had the salad with steak, which was chewy and literally had chunks of garlic in the salad. Manager apologized and gave us a gift card. Still not enough to give this place 5 stars. Very disappointed in the quality of food and management decisions as our waitress was also trying to bartend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Service was very good. We explained what type of wine we liked and our waitress/ server brought back 3 samples to try. We liked all 3. Ordered Antipasto platter which was very good and the Lettuce wraps which were very good. Went for dinner on a Tuesday Night when the corking fee is waived so all wine was $8 less than marked. Overall, very comfortable, cozy, clean and a great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went during restaurant week. Food was great, but two of the items we ordered they had to come back and tell us they ran out of them. Kinda bummed about that. They did comp is a dessert though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Had a 6:30 reservation for 3 during Restaurant Week. While we were seated immediately, we were clearly seated at a table that they keep in the back for such occasion like Restaurant Week to pack in more patrons. This was clear because our table and chairs bore no resemblance to any of the other tables/chairs in the building. Not only was the table placed in the main traffic pattern causing everyone leaving to bump into the back of my chair, the table was wobbly as were the 2nd rate high top stools they found in the basement.

When the table next to us left (prior to us ordering), we asked our waitress if we could move to that table. Her response?: No. when asked why, she said "Its Restaurant Weeks and it is reserved."

OK we thought. A little rude, but there must be a reservation for 4 coming in (our substandard table was a round high top that was cramped for 3 people). Well of course, within 10 minutes a party of.....3 was seated at that table. The same result occurred with the 2nd table that vacated nearby. Yet again another party of 3 was seated.

To make matters worse, our waitress disappeared. While she did take our order, the next time we saw her was to deliver the check. The waiter that was clearly covering for the woeful deficiencies of our waitress did the best he could to cover far more than his own territory, but there was only so much he could do.

The food was OK, but not great. However it took way too long to be delivered to our table.

While all of this might simply be a product of Restaurant Week, the whole point of Restaurant Week is to showcase your food and service. It is not supposed to be an opportunity to pack in extra tables and treat your patrons as if they are a nuisance.

It will be a while before we go back, and even then, it will likely be to a different location. One thing is for sure, we will never go back during Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.