About The Wine Bistro - Worthington

8231 N High St
Columbus, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Marsha Ballman, GM
The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Rt 23 and Highbluffs

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 436-4000

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Josh Hartman

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining in our Reserve room for groups of 20-40 guests. Additionally we have a private dining room in the Bistro that will accommodate from 8-10 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Lyndie Franks lyndie.franks@winebistrocolumbus.com: 6144364000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Wine Bistro - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
9 More
Best Value
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Overall
Columbus
Best Food
Columbus
Best Ambiance
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
Contemporary American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Worthington ›

notable wine list (23)
fit for foodies (14)
special occasion (14)
See All
good for groups (14)
romantic (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amy was so wonderful!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amy was so wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience, just sad it ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience, just sad it's taken me so long to try! I will be returning for the risotto next time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Wine Bistro is a beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The Wine Bistro is a beautiful restaurant. It is comfortable and inviting. Our server Dylan was easy going, yet knowledgeable about the food and wine offerings.

My complaint lies mainly with the protein portion of our meals.

My Spaghetti and Veal Meatball was not hot when delivered to our table. Dylan took it back to the kitchen and by the time it was returned to me, my parents had finished eating. It took over twenty minutes.

The Spaghetti was cooked al dente, but the sauce was very spicy due to containing crushed red pepper, which was not described in the menu. (I do not care for spicy food and would not have ordered it if the menu had included crushed red pepper in its description.) The Meatball was flavorful, but it had a lot of breading mixed with the meat.

I shared part of my parents' meals while waiting for my Spaghetti. My father's Short Ribs were not good. The meat was dry, chewy and very salty. But the accompanying Risotto was excellent. Hot and creamy with just the perfect amount of mushrooms. My mother's Chicken Saltimbocca was very thin, dry and not tender at all.

My mother had the Winery salad before dinner and she loved it. It was flavorful and fresh. My Chop Chop salad was good. My father's soup was good, albeit not as hearty as one expects a French Onion soup to be, but it was good.

The food was expensive, but had it been great, I would have never thought about the price.

The wine prices are very reasonable, especially for happy hour.

The glassware and silverware are of the best quality and enhanced our experience. The ambience of the restaurant is rich with dark woods, quality furnishings and beautiful fixtures.

I would definitely go back to the Wine Bistro for a glass of wine and some Tuscan popcorn.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an absolute gem of a place! Ha ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was an absolute gem of a place! Have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while and am very pleased that we finally got to try it out! The service was excellent and we were well attended to. There were so many good choices on the menu, we had a difficult time deciding! The atmosphere was perfect for our lunch with friends! We did not get to look at the wine list, but the bottles on the shelves were enough to make we want to return and try one of the selections there! Definitely would recommend this location!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, drink and service. Fr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always great food, drink and service. Fried green tomatoes on summer menu are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always.

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and the short rib r ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great wine selection and the short rib risotto was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here every month for a book club. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

We go here every month for a book club. They have nice little locations in the restaurant tucked away for such occasions. Some food is pricey, but the salads are well-priced and good. Menu and wine selections are changed frequently. Next menu change is Memorial Day weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to the Wine Bistro for Mother's Day this year. Our server, Amy, was very kind, checked on us often and was great about explaining how things works as well as suggesting things when we asked. Overall we had a great time and would certainly return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service is always great. We enjoy searching the shelves for a great bottle of wine. We tried an appetizer this time and I would highly recommend the crab cakes. We then split a mozzarella fresco toasted flatbread. The balsamic glaze gives it a lot of flavor. We each had a salad, one chop chop and one Caesar, both very good. Overall, a very nice experience.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the cheese board and crab cakes, ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had the cheese board and crab cakes, then I had the salmon for dinner, very good. My wife had the short ribs which was fabulous. The waitress did a excellent job selecting wine pairings with each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great option

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The Wine Bistro is a reliable, neighborhood option when looking for a place to spend some grownup time with friends. Nice food options for a meal or a snack with build your own flights of wine as well as other fantastic options for the person who doesn't prefer wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best onion soup in town.

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Best onion soup in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have dined here several times. Easy a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We have dined here several times. Easy access wonderful wine choices great atmosphere we plan on returning soon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prefect place for date night and a bottl ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Prefect place for date night and a bottle of wine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my birthday, awesome ambiance

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

We ordered champagne in advance to make sure that firstly they had what we wanted and then that it was chilled. If your looking for a special small group setting then the back room is amazing and perfect for a more private get together. Our server was attentive but not intrusive a perfect balance.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best French onion soup in town. We ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The best French onion soup in town. We have become regulars at the Bistro because of that soup. Just about everything is good, but the soup is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Surprise!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This place was a pleasant surprise! Great service by Amanda, excellent wine, ordered vegan off the menu (yum) and had a very nice time with friends! Adorable and comfortable decor - just a really wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Braised short ribs and mushroom risotto ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Braised short ribs and mushroom risotto was excellent. Flatbreads were also good. The wine flights are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service. Great wine l ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good food and service. Great wine list, we have been able to eat at all of the Wine Bistro's in Columbus. One of our favorite places to go.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food with great wine prices

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were able to get a table for two at 8 o'clock on a Saturday night which I thought would be hard for a place with a menu as good as advertised. Everything was spot on and delicious and I love the amount of wine they have on the shelves to choose from.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall enjoyable. Flavors good. Some ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall enjoyable. Flavors good. Some work needed on basic service protocol. Appetizer and starters, salad and soup came out at same time. Dishes were not cleared in timely manner, dinner served before starters cleared. Waiter seemed to be serving the entire restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Best onion soup in town

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Food is really good and innovative. Meatball appetizer and the baked brie are terrific. We really enjoyed the glazed salmon entrée. Can't go there without ordering the onion soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointing service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

My 2 friends and I decided to check out the Wine Bistro-Worthington this past Saturday. Wine was good, dessert was FABULOUS but the service was TERRIBLE. Our waitress seemed to ignore us all night. She didn't refill waters, didn't come back to check if we wanted to order something else, forgot to add stuff on our bill and then after we had paid, came back and added stuff on. Just poor service. So unimpressed and doubt I will go back to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

It was good

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The service was a little slow with re-filling cocktails, but the food was very solid, and the dessert was terrific.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Relaxed yet eclectic atmosphere. Very friendly.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Great place to chill and relax with friends or family. Excellent service. Knowledgeable staff with an extensive wine selection. Our son was visiting from out of town and we went to the Wine Bistro for dinner. It was the perfect atmosphere for both younger and older crowds. He loved the décor and the food. They also have a small lounge section which is a great spot if you simply want to have a conversation while eating an appetizer and sipping a glass of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Week Visit

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

I'm a frequent visitor to the Clintonville Bistro. Same great service, same wonderful wine options, same delicious food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Soups and flatbread to die for

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The French onion soup is the best in town. The appetizers are all wonderful especially the veal meatball and the baked brie. We love the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Girls Night Out

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

The Wine Bistro is a great gathering place to meet with friends, have some good food and wine and chit chat.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for groups!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

We have 8-10 women who meet every month at the Wine Bistro. We love Tuesday nights because there is no corking fee and the staff are quite friendly and know our favorite wine and have it chilling for us when we arrive. I'm so glad we picked the Worthington Wine Bistro for our monthly gathering.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cant Wait to Go Back!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was amazing! The Truffled Mushroom Bruschetta is to die for! Already planning my next trip in!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great NewYears Eve

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We are very happy we chose to go to Wine Bistro for New Years Eve. They offered their normal great menu. Not over crowded for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The ginger glazed salmon with rice and s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The ginger glazed salmon with rice and snow peas is excellent. Buy your wine by the bottle. The mark-up is lower than other restaurants. A bottle of Smith & Hook Cabernet cost me $20 at Anderson's and cost me $30 at The Wine Bistro plus $8 corkage fee. The Caesar salad was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The food in general was tasteless. The Big Red wine flight was flat and did not represent what I would consider to be classified as Big Red.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great find!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

This was an amazing find!! The food was awesome, the wine selection was immense, and the ambiance was cozy and romantic. We will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beware of Sunday evenings!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

First food for some of the party great! Wine choices superb!! Just don't make a reservation for 10 at 7:00 p.m when they closed at 8:00 p.m. I did call ahead to check. Was ASSURED it would fine given it was the holiday and the private room (with a $200 food and drink minimum), we would be accommodated, even after 8 p.m. Two of the entrees were not prepared correctly, and sent back to be corrected and the kitchen CLOSED! So $289 in about an hour - party over out of time!! Very disappointed!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

Date night out

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

We were both in the mood for some good wine and good food and since I had been to the Wine Bistro in UA, I knew it was the perfect spot to get out and have some good wine and ambiance! All of our expectations were met and we would definitely go back :)

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere for group get togethers ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Great atmosphere for group get togethers. We enjoyed it so much we are going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and well served

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Four of us shared two starters: naan with hummus and crab cakes. The crab cakes were very good, the naan ok. All enjoyed the entrees: two ginger salmon, one chicken saltimbocca, one shrimp with risotto. We also enjoyed wine flights: a white flight and two different red flights. The server's timing was very good, allowing us time to enjoy the starters and converse, with entrees following soon but at a comfortable pace. First time there for three of the four of us. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The chef should be proud. Wonderful flav ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The chef should be proud. Wonderful flavors in the food. The waitstaff is knowledgable about wine and had some lovely suggestions. Great gluten-free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.