About The Wine Bistro - Worthington

8231 N High St
Columbus, OH 43235
View Larger Map

Marsha Ballman, GM
The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00 - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Rt 23 and Highbluffs

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 436-4000

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking

Executive Chef:
Chef Josh Hartman

Private Party Facilities:
We offer private dining in our Reserve room for groups of 20-40 guests. Additionally we have a private dining room in the Bistro that will accommodate from 8-10 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Lyndie Franks lyndie.franks@winebistrocolumbus.com: (614) 436-4000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Wine Bistro - Worthington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Valentine's Day special menu was gre ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

The Valentine's Day special menu was great! Good dinner😌

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

This was so good! I have a gluten allerg ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

This was so good! I have a gluten allergy and I didn't feel deprived. I had the shrimp and creamy risotto. Went with my husband on Valentine's Day. Romantic and cozy. Loved it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our "third" time going to the w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our "third" time going to the wine bistro, and it's always great. We love the wine selection and the whole idea behind choosing your own wine, and the layout and atmosphere of the place. However, I was a little taken back when after our salads arrived, the server asked us "what did you order again...I forgot." Really? You don't write those things down? Oh well, other than that, we really loved our early Valentines day/my birthday celebration at this restaurant. I ordered the seafood fettucine, and my husband ordered the shrimp risotto. Both were really tasty, and our wine selection was spot on. I highly recommend this place, and I always request it for my birthday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great overall experience. Large group wa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great overall experience. Large group was handled easily with reservation. Food was great as well as our service. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Service was ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Service was excellent and visit by the manager was delightful!

Tags: , Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the wine Bistro! It was well wo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We loved the wine Bistro! It was well worth the 30 minute drive and their popped corn was to die for 😍 Everything they serve is homemade and everything we had was delicious! Great wine selections as well. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Modern Decor, , Private Room, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Tapas, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! They've done a great ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great experience! They've done a great job decorating! You'd never know you were in a strip mall. Food (Winery Salad & salmon)was delicious! great service! I'll definitely go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

TERRIBLE!!! We had a 5:45 reservation, o ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

TERRIBLE!!! We had a 5:45 reservation, ordered as quickly as we could (had a concert to attend) and our food came out right before 7:00. I had the salad with steak, which was chewy and literally had chunks of garlic in the salad. Manager apologized and gave us a gift card. Still not enough to give this place 5 stars. Very disappointed in the quality of food and management decisions as our waitress was also trying to bartend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was very good. We explained wha ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Service was very good. We explained what type of wine we liked and our waitress/ server brought back 3 samples to try. We liked all 3. Ordered Antipasto platter which was very good and the Lettuce wraps which were very good. Went for dinner on a Tuesday Night when the corking fee is waived so all wine was $8 less than marked. Overall, very comfortable, cozy, clean and a great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went during restaurant week. Food was gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went during restaurant week. Food was great, but two of the items we ordered they had to come back and tell us they ran out of them. Kinda bummed about that. They did comp is a dessert though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a 6:30 reservation for 3 during Rest ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Had a 6:30 reservation for 3 during Restaurant Week. While we were seated immediately, we were clearly seated at a table that they keep in the back for such occasion like Restaurant Week to pack in more patrons. This was clear because our table and chairs bore no resemblance to any of the other tables/chairs in the building. Not only was the table placed in the main traffic pattern causing everyone leaving to bump into the back of my chair, the table was wobbly as were the 2nd rate high top stools they found in the basement.

When the table next to us left (prior to us ordering), we asked our waitress if we could move to that table. Her response?: No. when asked why, she said "Its Restaurant Weeks and it is reserved."

OK we thought. A little rude, but there must be a reservation for 4 coming in (our substandard table was a round high top that was cramped for 3 people). Well of course, within 10 minutes a party of.....3 was seated at that table. The same result occurred with the 2nd table that vacated nearby. Yet again another party of 3 was seated.

To make matters worse, our waitress disappeared. While she did take our order, the next time we saw her was to deliver the check. The waiter that was clearly covering for the woeful deficiencies of our waitress did the best he could to cover far more than his own territory, but there was only so much he could do.

The food was OK, but not great. However it took way too long to be delivered to our table.

While all of this might simply be a product of Restaurant Week, the whole point of Restaurant Week is to showcase your food and service. It is not supposed to be an opportunity to pack in extra tables and treat your patrons as if they are a nuisance.

It will be a while before we go back, and even then, it will likely be to a different location. One thing is for sure, we will never go back during Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was absolutely delicious. Our w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious. Our wine was pretty tasty too! The maple burbon pudding for dessert is a must have! YUM!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had a great experience for restaurant we ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had a great experience for restaurant week and my birthday. Service was great, the food was tasty, and the wine and cocktails were excellent.

Tags: Private Room, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time selecting our wine w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great time selecting our wine with the staff and received great recommendations. The food was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food. Nice selection of cocktails ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food. Nice selection of cocktails and excellent range of wine options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Been to 4 of 5 in Columbus. I really enj ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Been to 4 of 5 in Columbus. I really enjoy the subdued ambience. Friendly and efficient service. Selective wine list or for retail sale to drink at table with corkage fee. Appetizers, flat breads, soups, desserts were all delicious. A bit pricey, but not outrageously so. I'll definitely go back to try the other fare. I would recommend printing suggested wine pairings with menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My favorite place! Great wine and great ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My favorite place! Great wine and great food in a beautiful atmosphere. Service is top notch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great. My girlfrien ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food and service was great. My girlfriend and I both got flights and all the wine was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friend and I met for dinner at Wine B ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My friend and I met for dinner at Wine Bistro on Saturday night, and as always it was fantastic! We were pleased to see our favorite server, Amanda, was working that night. She is always friendly and takes very good care of us. Amanda is also quite knowledgeable of the wine offerings and her recommendations are always spot on! We had a great time and will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Tapas, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The sound system was irritating and our ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The sound system was irritating and our server immediately turned it off so we could hear each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute place, well decorated. Our waitstaf ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Cute place, well decorated. Our waitstaff was very nice and prompt. "What's my blend" wine flight was interesting. Food was mediocre at best. Our bill wasn't cheap by any means, slightly over priced for what it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Our server was very knowledgeable about ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our server was very knowledgeable about wine and was terrific. The shrimp and risotto was excellent. My wife ask that the Cajun spices be withheld and she enjoyed it as well. I always am able to find a great bottle of wine on the second shelf. Please keep the Secret Cellars Cabernet in stock. It is a great mid-priced cabernet! Great place to have a quiet conversation!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food wasn't as good as it's been in the ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food wasn't as good as it's been in the past

Patio was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was creative and delicious! The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was creative and delicious! The atmosphere is unique and very interesting. However, the arrogance of our server outweighed any positives of this restaurant. I booked the reservation to meet family and friends from 3 different areas, some out of state. The server, Amanda, was one of the most unpleasant and arrogant servers I've ever encountered - and I worked in hospitality! Several guests in my group noticed it and at one point even wanted to leave before ordering. We arrived for a 9:00 reservation on 8/26/16, she promptly reminded us that they closed at 11:00pm. Right off the bat we felt like we were an inconvenience to her. I picked up the $200 check and still have her a $40 tip that she didn't deserve. Again, working in hospitality I rarely never tip under 20%. I get it, sometimes you never know what people are dealing with, but we will NEVER be back. Sadly, the food was amazing. If the owner reads these reviews, you need to have a serious conversation with that snob of a waitress.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Amanda was our server, outstanding. The ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amanda was our server, outstanding. The food was good, my wife had a seafood dish that was great, I had chicken Saltmbcca and the chicken needed the fat trimmed before it was cooked.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Amy was so wonderful!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Amy was so wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience, just sad it ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience, just sad it's taken me so long to try! I will be returning for the risotto next time!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Wine Bistro is a beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2016

The Wine Bistro is a beautiful restaurant. It is comfortable and inviting. Our server Dylan was easy going, yet knowledgeable about the food and wine offerings.

My complaint lies mainly with the protein portion of our meals.

My Spaghetti and Veal Meatball was not hot when delivered to our table. Dylan took it back to the kitchen and by the time it was returned to me, my parents had finished eating. It took over twenty minutes.

The Spaghetti was cooked al dente, but the sauce was very spicy due to containing crushed red pepper, which was not described in the menu. (I do not care for spicy food and would not have ordered it if the menu had included crushed red pepper in its description.) The Meatball was flavorful, but it had a lot of breading mixed with the meat.

I shared part of my parents' meals while waiting for my Spaghetti. My father's Short Ribs were not good. The meat was dry, chewy and very salty. But the accompanying Risotto was excellent. Hot and creamy with just the perfect amount of mushrooms. My mother's Chicken Saltimbocca was very thin, dry and not tender at all.

My mother had the Winery salad before dinner and she loved it. It was flavorful and fresh. My Chop Chop salad was good. My father's soup was good, albeit not as hearty as one expects a French Onion soup to be, but it was good.

The food was expensive, but had it been great, I would have never thought about the price.

The wine prices are very reasonable, especially for happy hour.

The glassware and silverware are of the best quality and enhanced our experience. The ambience of the restaurant is rich with dark woods, quality furnishings and beautiful fixtures.

I would definitely go back to the Wine Bistro for a glass of wine and some Tuscan popcorn.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This was an absolute gem of a place! Ha ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was an absolute gem of a place! Have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while and am very pleased that we finally got to try it out! The service was excellent and we were well attended to. There were so many good choices on the menu, we had a difficult time deciding! The atmosphere was perfect for our lunch with friends! We did not get to look at the wine list, but the bottles on the shelves were enough to make we want to return and try one of the selections there! Definitely would recommend this location!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food, drink and service. Fr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always great food, drink and service. Fried green tomatoes on summer menu are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always.

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and the short rib r ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great wine selection and the short rib risotto was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go here every month for a book club. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2016

We go here every month for a book club. They have nice little locations in the restaurant tucked away for such occasions. Some food is pricey, but the salads are well-priced and good. Menu and wine selections are changed frequently. Next menu change is Memorial Day weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mother's Day

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to the Wine Bistro for Mother's Day this year. Our server, Amy, was very kind, checked on us often and was great about explaining how things works as well as suggesting things when we asked. Overall we had a great time and would certainly return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2016

The service is always great. We enjoy searching the shelves for a great bottle of wine. We tried an appetizer this time and I would highly recommend the crab cakes. We then split a mozzarella fresco toasted flatbread. The balsamic glaze gives it a lot of flavor. We each had a salad, one chop chop and one Caesar, both very good. Overall, a very nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the cheese board and crab cakes, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had the cheese board and crab cakes, then I had the salmon for dinner, very good. My wife had the short ribs which was fabulous. The waitress did a excellent job selecting wine pairings with each dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a great option

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The Wine Bistro is a reliable, neighborhood option when looking for a place to spend some grownup time with friends. Nice food options for a meal or a snack with build your own flights of wine as well as other fantastic options for the person who doesn't prefer wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best onion soup in town.

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 11, 2016

Best onion soup in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have dined here several times. Easy a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 10, 2016

We have dined here several times. Easy access wonderful wine choices great atmosphere we plan on returning soon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prefect place for date night and a bottl ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Prefect place for date night and a bottle of wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.