Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.93mi
  4. Distance: 1.21mi

About The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Westerville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

1750 W. Lane Ave
Columbus, OH 43221
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Northwest Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 485-1750

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the lot behind the restaurant with access from Chester Rd and Brandon Rd. There is also additional parking after 6 pm in the Jack Seibert Jeweler's lot across the street. Street parking on Lane Ave is available any time except Monday-Friday from 4 pm-6 pm.

Executive Chef:
Dean Wirick

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tasting Room is an intimate private dining room for up to 12 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keli Flanagan: (614) 485-1750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Casual (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort by
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2017

The food was very good. I love the veal meatball. That is my all time go to favorite. Their flatbread pizzas are also very good. MY husband likes their vodka penne. They have a good house wine plus a wide selection of others. Bartender is new or doesn't really know a mixed drink and they offer quite a few on happy hour. I got charged full price(should have been$5.00 happy hour) for one at $15.00 and it was ice and very little alcohol. Stay clear of mixed drinks. We had a new waitress so that dampened the experience. Our bill was wrong. We ordered pizzas during happy hour with happy hour menu in hand & she brought out full size order and charged full price. We love this place and will be back. Their happy hour is really great with a nice selection of foods to try if you haven't been there before.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Even with the dinner reservation we waited over 25 minutes for our table. The waitress then took 15+ minutes to open our wine and get our glasses. The food was great but the service was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Made reservation and was seated quickly. Friend and I started with 2 salads and ordered 2 small entrees to follow. Salads took 25 minutes to come out. I had to ask our waitress for water on multiple occasions. Entrees came out 25 minutes after salads - incredibly slow service for a Wednesday night. Will not be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Service was slow and the restaurant has a sewer /natural gas smell that is very strong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Our party of 5 had a wonderful experience at The Wine Bistro. As always, the food and service were wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The food and atmosphere were good but the service was spotty at best. I had initially wanted a flight of wine and our waiter told me they didn’t have enough wine glasses to do that. I then ordered a vodka tonic and did not get the lime I requested twice. The table of six+ next to us ordered several flights of wine about 20 minutes after this. Our waiter did not offer us water or cocktail refills . It was very difficult to get his attention and then get him to follow up. It took 20 minutes to get our bill after asking for it. I was very disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We come to Columbus to visit our daughter, son in law, and baby granddaughter. We've been here twice now and will be back again. It's a great casual spot. Excellent menu and overall experience. Most recent dinner we were served by Daimeer who knew how to do her job well. Look up their menu and I'm sure you'll go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Loved it! My Husband & I celebrated our 1 year wedding aniversary here. We wanted to go somewhere different and do something different. So we did a wine tasting. So good. Neither of us know anything about wine but our server was extremely patient and helpful. He even customized a tasting for me. Food was delicious. A little pricy but delicious. You can also purchase wine. They have a lot to choose from. We plan to go back. Over all it was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

My family went to this restaurant because of the high reviews. I am very surprised how it was rated because we had a horrible experience. When we arrived the restaurant was pretty empty. It still took several minutes before they could figure out where to seat us even though we had a reservation. The waiter came over after a few minutes and seemed annoyed that we weren't ready to order our dinner. He was about to walk away when I had to stop him and ask if I could at least place a drink order. I was shocked that this place is called The Wine Bistro and the wine menu is very slim. The waiter didn't seem to know much about the wine selection that there was.

It took about 25 minutes for the food to come. The restaurant was maybe 1/4 way full so we were shocked it took that long. The waiter was never around for us to ask where it was. When the food came my daughter's plate did not sit flat in the table. It was s wobbly dish. She had the penne alla vodka with chicken. There was barely any chicken in it. It was also cold so my daughter told the waiter. He stuck his finger in it to check it out. She called him out on this and told him she wanted a whole new dish. I couldn't believe he actually had to check for himself. He had the nerve to say it wasn't that cold. My husband got a burger and asked for it medium rare. It came medium well he didn't send it back because it took long to get it in the first place. I got a chicken dish that was way too salty but I also didn't want to wait forever to get another dish. I was also surprised about the size of the dishes. All of the orders came out on plates the size of appetizer plates. Definitely not worth the money.

The only thing that came quickly was the bill. The waiter didn't even ask if we wanted dessert. It felt as if he just wanted to get us out of there. I come to Columbus a lot and have always found the food to be great. This restaurant is definitely taken off the list for future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2017

A very comfortable place...staff friendly and overall tremendous choices of wine. I like the fact the wine is priced not on a tremendous mark up, but on a corkage fee. Example I can buy the same wine at Kroger for approx. the same price. Add $8.00 for corkage fee and thats the cost. Most restaurants will mark up wine 2-3 x cost. The food choice is very great and very tasty ... Thumbs up for sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 21, 2017

My girlfriend and I both enjoyed our experience and love the wine flights. Also, the decor and atomosphere was amazing!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 20, 2017

First time to The Wine Bistro and I will definitely go back. The food was delicious and the wine selection fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Super cute restaurant with an amazing wine list. The menu is simple but has enough good options that I would definitely like to come back and try them all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We are always pleased with this restaurant and how inviting the staff is!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The crab cakes were delicious! the accompanying salad...not so much. It consisted of lovely greens, radishes and too much oil.
The service was great. The sangria was "WOW".

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food and service, as always. We have eaten both outside and inside. We like outside a little better on a nice evening, but tables outside up quickly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Doesn't get better than this! Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Always a wonderful meal and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I wanted to really like this place but there were 2 pretty significant flaws: We ate on the patio but they had no lights out there so we ate in semi-darkness. Two, our server had too many tables and seemed a bit overwhelmed. Fix these, and they have a 4.5 - 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had our pick of tables inside or on the patio. We chose inside and the atmosphere was great!
Staff where all very helpful and knowledgable on Wines. We were meeting friends and were able to chat and relax. No rushing through dinner. Dinner was delishous. Portion sizes were resonable, not to large or to small. Go, try and have fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Walkable dining in the heart of UA! Always good ~ ever time! Great patio seating!

Tags: Tapas, Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Love going here with other couples - always great quality food and super service. Naturally the wine choices are impeccable.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wine bistro is my favorite restaurant but the last few times I've been to this location (UA only) it has been lacking. The server was very attentive to one table he had (but completely forgot about ours), and he forgot to bring out part of our appetizer before the main course came out. For what you pay I just hoped for better service! The food was execellent as always though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The delivery of the food to my party was too slow given the restaurant was empty most of the time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best meal and service I have had in years. After dinner I had to mention that to the manager because it was such a great experience. The short ribs are to die for. TONYCIA is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Restaurant week was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service was poor. Wait person had to come back to our table because she forgot what we ordered. Sailed was good, snap peas on the main course were tough with strings. Wait person delivered the wrong desert. Wait person walked by our table and dropped the bill without a word. No manager visible. No one ever asked how our food was. No one said thank you at the end or invited us back. This restaurant is not up to the quality we would expect for a $ 70 meal. Will never return even though we are just a few miles away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We really liked Wine Bistro in Clintonville, but it closed recently so we decided to try the Lane Avenue location. Felt very similar, although not as cozy, and the food and wine were as good. We enjoyed the meal and two wine flights, including the seasonal crab cake salad and Restaurant Week salad/short rib/key lime pie.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Lovely dinner, the place was a bit packed since it was restaurant week but our waitress did a lovely job. One of our favorite places to go for an impromptu date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great time with friends. Waitress was outstanding. Wish I could remember her name. She had braids. Don't lose her !

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We enjoyed our evening at the Wine Bistro. We had been regular diners at the Clintonville Wine Bistro and miss it. We hope this one continues to be successful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Our group of friends takes turns hosting a monthly wine get-together and this was perfect. We usually host at our houses, but I opted for a restaurant since I have a sleeping baby at home now. We had a great time.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The wine bistro in Upper Arlington is now my new favorite restaurant. We had shrimp and risotto, oven fired penne and the prosciutto and arugula flatbread and everything was incredibly delicious! The service was wonderful, atmosphere was so unique and beautiful. Wine list was great and had something for everyone on there! I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Late-night Find, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. The food was good (shrimp risotto). The wine choices were good. Sat outside which was comfortable, but noisy from traffic at rush hour. I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Always have a great selection of appetizers/small plates to begin your meal.
Can't beat the no corkage fee on Mondays and Tuesdays, plus a great wine selection.
Nice variety of entrees and flatbreads and service was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Wonderful! Everything was great, will definitely be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had the perfect evening at Wine Bistro out on the patio. Service was great, food was good, and this place is always one of my favorites.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Had a great birthday celebration for lunch at the Wine Bistro! Fabulous and friendly service and the food was delicious!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fantastic service. Great food and awesome wine selection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great patio to sit out and enjoy nice weather. Obviously a large wine selection with easy/quick chilling options when picking off their shelves

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.