About The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington

1750 W. Lane Ave
Columbus, OH 43221
View Larger Map

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday. Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house. We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Northwest Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 485-1750

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the lot behind the restaurant with access from Chester Rd and Brandon Rd. There is also additional parking after 6 pm in the Jack Seibert Jeweler's lot across the street. Street parking on Lane Ave is available any time except Monday-Friday from 4 pm-6 pm.

Executive Chef:
Dean Wirick

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tasting Room is an intimate private dining room for up to 12 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keli Flanagan: 6144851750

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Columbus
American
Columbus
Notable Wine List
Columbus
1 More
American
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Upper Arlington ›

notable wine list (48)
neighborhood gem (34)
fit for foodies (29)
See All
good for groups (27)
romantic (27)
special occasion (26)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating my Mother's birthday ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating my Mother's birthday and mine . Our waitress was awesome :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The servers are always good and food as ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The servers are always good and food as well.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Maybe I was expecting more that what thi ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Maybe I was expecting more that what this restaurant offers. The wine was good, but a little over priced. The food selection was not very good. My date got the lemon chicken with pasta. the chicken was like chicken tenders, and the pasta has no seasoning. I has the Italian Panini. It was like a half sandwich.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine is fine

Dined on May 3, 2016

Had a return visit to the Wine Bistro in Upper Arlington. with a friend who had not been before. Everyone found food to their liking and the win selection was excellent, especially since on Tuesdays one can by wine by the bottle as state minimum prices for consumption on site. A nice casual place to go locally with good food and a very nice wine selection.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the flatbreads, especially the seas ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Love the flatbreads, especially the seasonal bbq chicken

food3
ambience4
service2

I've been to wine bistro in Clintonville ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I've been to wine bistro in Clintonville and it's always been amazing but at upper Arlington different story. We gave ourselves (5 of us) 2 hours to eat so we could leave for a concert. It took 15 minutes to get waters and all of the appetizers came out like 30 minutes after we ordered them and then my appetizer came out after everyone finished theirs. The Caesar Salad at Clintonville is really great. The one at upper Arlington was so bad I couldn't finish it and I usually eat everything I order even if I don't like it. The dressing was so watered down I was kind of in disbelief you could mess up a Caesar salad... I even brought it home to see if my boyfriend would like it and he immediately threw it away. Our meals came out an HOUR AND A HALF AFTER Appetizers. Needless to say we missed the first hour of our concert. VERY understaffed so I understand it's not the servers fault. Our server had reminded us that their kitchen was very small so it was going to be another 20 minutes (ended up being 45 mins later) but it was not busy at all so many tables were open so I couldn't even imagine what would happen if it was busy. Definitely never coming back to that location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for a special night!

Dined on April 25, 2016

At the last minute, we were able to get away from the house, and decided on Wine Bistro. Our waitress (Audrey) was friendly and knowledgeable about the food/drink menu. Wine Bistro is ALWAYS a great time. Our only complaint is that we think some of the prices have gone up in the past year (e.g., the popcorn). We always enjoyed that we could get a pre-dinner snack (popcorn) for under $5 (I thin it was once $4, but I can't be certain), and now it's $6 which then is comparable to most other appetizers at other restaurants. Still a great place for a meal, but just getting more expensive!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our second visit to this locati ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our second visit to this location. Food was prepared as expected. Service was wonderful. Wine choices were really good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The white truffle oil mushrooms brushett ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The white truffle oil mushrooms brushetta was an amazing appetizer with our delicious red wine... Either the Oberon or Abstract, go can't go wrong!

food4
ambience4
service4

The flatbread, crab cakes and chop chop ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The flatbread, crab cakes and chop chop salad were all very good. Service was pretty slow.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place for dinner with friends!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Lovely place for dinner with friends!

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great for winies

Dined on April 7, 2016

The bottle selection of wines is outstanding. Place can get very noisy in the early to mid evening times. Food good but not outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, perfectly portioned entr ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Delicious food, perfectly portioned entrees and great wine to go with! Also reasonably priced. We loved the atmosphere and the feeling of being tucked away among shelves fill of wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant atmosphere, good food and service

Dined on March 25, 2016

Enjoy meeting friends for dinner at Wine Bistro as there is a warm and relaxed atmosphere that is conductive to good conversation over a few glasses of wine and good food

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place and great prices!! Celebra ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Lovely place and great prices!! Celebrated Valentine's Day and birthday there. Love it! Food is amazing wine is even better!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Phenomenal Wine Selection!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Loved it! We went to The Wine Bistro for the first time with good friends of ours. The food was excellent -- personally, I had the Butcher's Choice (hanger steak), and it was amazing. The wine selection was superb, and bottle prices were very reasonable. Service was also outstanding! If there was one piece of constructive criticism I could offer, it would be that the tables are crammed together very tight in the UA location. I kept banging chairs with the guy behind me the whole meal, and I felt like I had hug the table to preserve space. Otherwise, an outstanding experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved picking out my wine from the shelv ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

Loved picking out my wine from the shelves throughout the bistro...unique...each bottle has a price tag and you bring it back to the table for your server to open for a $8 cork fee. Highly recommend the popcorn appetizers!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad meal here...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my mother here after seeing a ballet and it was amazing. I haven't seen my mother finish an entire plate in years, but there was nothing left of her short ribs and risotto so I knew she loved it. I was lucky to get the two bites she shared! Great place for dinner with girlfriends or your honey. You can't really go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lots of choices for dining - from great ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Lots of choices for dining - from great appetizers to full course meals. Go to place for lots of occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unpretentious Food, Excellently Prepared

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I am a big fan of Wine Bistro, even though I have generally partaken of their fine cocktails, not their amazing collection of wine. I am a fan, however, because this restaurant follows an example I wish many others in Columbus would follow. The menu has enough variety to be interesting, without being too adventurous. The payoff is that I have never ordered anything that was not cooked and served more or less perfectly. The waitstaff is attentive without being overbearing. In short, this is a lovely place for dinner out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wine bistro

Dined on January 29, 2016

Good time and place for meeting up with a couple friends. Food was good, drinks are expensive.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lively environment, Food pretty good, Service okay

Dined on January 24, 2016

We enjoyed the environment. It's lively, noisy, and fun, but we still could easily talk across the table. I loved the veal meatball appetizer! We came during restaurant week, but the restaurant week deal was no deal ( It cost the same as the regular menu). We received lack luster service. Maybe our server was tired from working restaurant week? Regardless, we had never been to this restaurant before and were hoping for a great experience and a new favorite place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine friendly

Dined on January 24, 2016

The wine bistro in Upper Arlington, OH is an inviting place to meet for wine available by the glass or bottle, or off the shelf with an $8 corkage fee. In addition to the excellent wine selections, the food is designed to be wine friendly as well. There is a nice selection of small plates and a nice, but reasonable selection of larger portion options. Their happy hour is especially a good deal. We went for their restaurant week special menu and were very pleased. We expect to return in the near future.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food rude waitress

Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was good but our waitress acted like waiting on someone was just beneath her. It ruined our experience and we will not be back

food4
ambience4
service4

Our waitress was very friendly and extre ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Our waitress was very friendly and extremely patient.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food; great ambiance

Dined on January 17, 2016

Delightful menu - don't miss the mushroom truffled bruschetta

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I'm here service, food, and w ...

Dined on December 22, 2015

Every time I'm here service, food, and wine selections get better. Fantastic for a business meeting or an intimate date.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic!

Dined on December 14, 2015

Everything was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

Dined on December 10, 2015

The food and wine selection was phenomenal. Went for a celebratory occasion with a friend and the atmosphere was vibrant, fun and beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Pre-Game Spot

vip
Dined on December 8, 2015

We think that The Wine Bistro is a great spot to go to before an OSU basketball game. It is right down the street from the arena and has a great menu. A bottle of wine, the meatball appetizer and a flat-bread works perfectly to get set for a fun game night. The service is great too. We don't worry that we miss the start of the game.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

5:30 on a Saturday night, no one was the ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

5:30 on a Saturday night, no one was there. So much for a reservation. The brie app was drenched in honey, ridiculous. It came with 3 pcs of bread. Asked for more, $1 extra. The comical part came when they served the meal with 3 pcs on the plate (without butter)! The asparagus and au graten potatoes were good. The chicken saltimbooca and hanger steak where disappointing. Wine is very over priced; couldn't tell the staff from shoppers at goodwill

food4
ambience4
service4

Interesting

Dined on November 12, 2015

My sister took me to the Wine Bistro in Arlington for my birthday. It was my first visit to a Wine Bistro but she had been to another one in the area. The food was good, the wine was good. We chose a bottle off the shelf. We felt it was loud though, hard to carry on a conversation. Just some one constructive comment....the wait staff needs to be wearing something other than t-shirts, most of them were too small and too tight. It seemed very unprofessional and out of place for a restaurant of this caliber. I will probably go back again though and take my husband.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always the place for business lunches an ...

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

Always the place for business lunches and happy hour in UA

food5
ambience5
service5

Fun night with friends

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

We were seated in the private room which was perfect. We could talk, enjoy great wine and food. Truly enjoyed the night!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! Server Diana was atte ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

Great experience! Server Diana was attentive and the cheese plate was out of this world

food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice as always. Sweet and knowled ...

Dined on October 12, 2015

Really nice as always. Sweet and knowledgeable staff. Good wine selection and no corkage fee on Monday!

food3
ambience4
service3

Fun place to meet friends on a nice day!

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We met some friends at the Wine Bistro and had a nice time. We had the crab sliders and the lobster and shrimp fettuccine which was good (a little price for the pasta). The salads were really big and looked great, except all of our food came out together except they forgot one of the meals (which they comped without us asking) but it seemed like the waitresses were switching or something and things got mixed up!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

A GREAT CELEBRATION!

Dined on October 10, 2015

We selected The Wine Bistro to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. That selection was incredible! We are thinking about making it our anniversary spot. The food was perfect. We selected the red sampler for our wine choice--it was wonderful! A visit to France, Spain & Italy--how could that be! We'll be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Good girls night spot!

Dined on October 10, 2015

Great spot for a girl's night. Shareable plates (order the hummus trio!) I also recommend the Juliet flatbread. The extensive wine list provides something new every time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time experience was fabulous

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

This was our first experience with this restaurant. The menu was varied and the group of us ordered several different aps and pizza. Both the sangria's and the martinis were good. Everything was on point and delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.