About The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington

1750 W. Lane Ave
Columbus, OH 43221
View Larger Map

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday. Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house. We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Northwest Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 485-1750

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the lot behind the restaurant with access from Chester Rd and Brandon Rd. There is also additional parking after 6 pm in the Jack Seibert Jeweler's lot across the street. Street parking on Lane Ave is available any time except Monday-Friday from 4 pm-6 pm.

Executive Chef:
Dean Wirick

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tasting Room is an intimate private dining room for up to 12 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keli Flanagan: 6144851750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (26)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Romantic (9)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great would go back. The w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great would go back. The wine selection was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have eaten there twice in ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I have eaten there twice in mid-afternoon, and enjoyed the salads and wine. We went for dinner last Saturday night. Excellent service, good wine selections, good salads. But the fried green tomatoes were all breading and sauce, and the skirt steak was inferior to what I cook on my grill. Overall, a pleasant night, with slightly disappointing food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet and bleu flatbread was amazing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The filet and bleu flatbread was amazing! The flavors blended together so well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group was from out of town. I resear ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our group was from out of town. I researched to find a nice restaurant near Upper Arlington. I picked The Wine Bistro. I loved it - and so did the other four people in our group! Actually, I am coming back to Columbus in a week and will be having lunch there again before going to a play in downtown Columbus. It was wonderful, and our service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delightful! The patio was a nice ar ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very delightful! The patio was a nice area to enjoy dinner and wine. The overall appetizers, food, and wine paired nicely and was delectable. The overall wine bottle selection inside was also a nice touch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a get together with old friends, six ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a get together with old friends, six people total, and had made reservations. I was so pleased that we were placed in a room off the main dining area that allowed us a more quiet environment to catch up on each other's lives. The food was great as was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine and atmosphere were great - but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The wine and atmosphere were great - but the food was lacking. I would return for drinks and apetizers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first visit and we thorough ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. Food was delicious! We had the trio of cheeses and it was a great appetizer. Our server was a young girl who, for her age, was extremely knowledgeable and professional. She was an absolute pleasure. I don't believe she will be there when we return, as she is moving out of state.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu with lots of choices. Our wai ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great menu with lots of choices. Our waiter was outstanding. He knew the wines very well and his recommendation was exactly what we wanted. The food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner with out of town guests. We ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had dinner with out of town guests. We went to the Wine Bistro because it's on of my favorite places close to home. The service was excellent as was the food. My guests were very impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unusually slow--possibly due ...

vip
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was unusually slow--possibly due to miscommunication with server. Seated by very loud diners, which made talk with my own table difficult.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Oh my goodness... We had such a wonderfu ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Oh my goodness... We had such a wonderful lunch on the Wine Bistro patio. The weather was perfect and the food was the ideal accompaniment. The number of patrons was low - apparently because it was Father's Day. I guess we all go out for Mother's Day but grill out for Father's Day? At any rate, I had the steak and blue flatbread - always a yum! And my son and niece had the seasonal Vintage Chicken salad. My dear husband had the Caesar Salad with chicken. All meals were fabulous and our server was wonderful. My niece is heading to Peru, and our server chimed in politely after hearing a bit of our conversation about his joy in traveling there. If we didn't need to head off to visit other family members, I bet we would have stayed longer, possibly enjoying the key lime pie that sounded oh so tempting or maybe a cocktail or glass of white wine...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was nice the food was not as good as ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was nice the food was not as good as it was the last time I went . The filet on the flatbread pizza was full of fat and it was snappy and unappealing to eat but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice tapas and salads paired with a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice tapas and salads paired with a decent bottle of wine, $100 with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a relaxed lunch and grea ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place for a relaxed lunch and great glass of wine. Great relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not sure I would recommend

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our main complaint is the restaurant staff were not attentive to us. We had to sit in the overflow seating (large community table near the bar) because the bar seating was full. We put our name in for patio table via open table yet they did not have one for us when we arrived. It was a 7:45 reservation. We were not greeted with water or menus for more than 10 minutes after being seated and had to ask the host for those items and for a server. The host seemed confused... Around 8:10 our server finally came over to take an order and the host came at the same time stating our patio table was ready. We went outside but quickly decided to go back inside as the patio was loud and the seating was terribly uncomfortable. We ended up back at the community table again and had to wait several more minutes for our drinks. We only ordered a cheese tray which took over 20 minutes to arrive and not sure why since nothing was cooked on the tray... We asked where the cheese tray was after waiting a reasonable amount of time and they just said they were really busy due to the patio being open that night. Not sure what that had to do with the cheese tray? Needless to say, we won't be coming back and wouldn't recommend it either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

This was the perfect place for a date ni ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was the perfect place for a date night out! The atmosphere is great with bottles of wine lining the walls and the mismatched tables and chairs that all fit together just right. The service was impeccable and the food delicious! We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool place. Wine racks line nearly ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Very cool place. Wine racks line nearly every wall from the floor to just within reach with wines you browse and select to have with dinner. Food was excellent and affordable. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating my Mother's birthday ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were celebrating my Mother's birthday and mine . Our waitress was awesome :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The servers are always good and food as ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The servers are always good and food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Maybe I was expecting more that what thi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Maybe I was expecting more that what this restaurant offers. The wine was good, but a little over priced. The food selection was not very good. My date got the lemon chicken with pasta. the chicken was like chicken tenders, and the pasta has no seasoning. I has the Italian Panini. It was like a half sandwich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Wine is fine

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Had a return visit to the Wine Bistro in Upper Arlington. with a friend who had not been before. Everyone found food to their liking and the win selection was excellent, especially since on Tuesdays one can by wine by the bottle as state minimum prices for consumption on site. A nice casual place to go locally with good food and a very nice wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the flatbreads, especially the seas ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Love the flatbreads, especially the seasonal bbq chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to wine bistro in Clintonville ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I've been to wine bistro in Clintonville and it's always been amazing but at upper Arlington different story. We gave ourselves (5 of us) 2 hours to eat so we could leave for a concert. It took 15 minutes to get waters and all of the appetizers came out like 30 minutes after we ordered them and then my appetizer came out after everyone finished theirs. The Caesar Salad at Clintonville is really great. The one at upper Arlington was so bad I couldn't finish it and I usually eat everything I order even if I don't like it. The dressing was so watered down I was kind of in disbelief you could mess up a Caesar salad... I even brought it home to see if my boyfriend would like it and he immediately threw it away. Our meals came out an HOUR AND A HALF AFTER Appetizers. Needless to say we missed the first hour of our concert. VERY understaffed so I understand it's not the servers fault. Our server had reminded us that their kitchen was very small so it was going to be another 20 minutes (ended up being 45 mins later) but it was not busy at all so many tables were open so I couldn't even imagine what would happen if it was busy. Definitely never coming back to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great for a special night!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

At the last minute, we were able to get away from the house, and decided on Wine Bistro. Our waitress (Audrey) was friendly and knowledgeable about the food/drink menu. Wine Bistro is ALWAYS a great time.

Our only complaint is that we think some of the prices have gone up in the past year (e.g., the popcorn). We always enjoyed that we could get a pre-dinner snack (popcorn) for under $5 (I thin it was once $4, but I can't be certain), and now it's $6 which then is comparable to most other appetizers at other restaurants.

Still a great place for a meal, but just getting more expensive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to this locati ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our second visit to this location. Food was prepared as expected. Service was wonderful. Wine choices were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The white truffle oil mushrooms brushett ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The white truffle oil mushrooms brushetta was an amazing appetizer with our delicious red wine... Either the Oberon or Abstract, go can't go wrong!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The flatbread, crab cakes and chop chop ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The flatbread, crab cakes and chop chop salad were all very good. Service was pretty slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lovely place for dinner with friends!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Lovely place for dinner with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for winies

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The bottle selection of wines is outstanding. Place can get very noisy in the early to mid evening times. Food good but not outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food, perfectly portioned entr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Delicious food, perfectly portioned entrees and great wine to go with! Also reasonably priced. We loved the atmosphere and the feeling of being tucked away among shelves fill of wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Pleasant atmosphere, good food and service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Enjoy meeting friends for dinner at Wine Bistro as there is a warm and relaxed atmosphere that is conductive to good conversation over a few glasses of wine and good food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely place and great prices!! Celebra ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Lovely place and great prices!! Celebrated Valentine's Day and birthday there. Love it! Food is amazing wine is even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Phenomenal Wine Selection!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Loved it! We went to The Wine Bistro for the first time with good friends of ours. The food was excellent -- personally, I had the Butcher's Choice (hanger steak), and it was amazing. The wine selection was superb, and bottle prices were very reasonable. Service was also outstanding! If there was one piece of constructive criticism I could offer, it would be that the tables are crammed together very tight in the UA location. I kept banging chairs with the guy behind me the whole meal, and I felt like I had hug the table to preserve space. Otherwise, an outstanding experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved picking out my wine from the shelv ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Loved picking out my wine from the shelves throughout the bistro...unique...each bottle has a price tag and you bring it back to the table for your server to open for a $8 cork fee. Highly recommend the popcorn appetizers!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've never had a bad meal here...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my mother here after seeing a ballet and it was amazing. I haven't seen my mother finish an entire plate in years, but there was nothing left of her short ribs and risotto so I knew she loved it. I was lucky to get the two bites she shared! Great place for dinner with girlfriends or your honey. You can't really go wrong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine selection

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Great food and wine selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of choices for dining - from great ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Lots of choices for dining - from great appetizers to full course meals. Go to place for lots of occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unpretentious Food, Excellently Prepared

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I am a big fan of Wine Bistro, even though I have generally partaken of their fine cocktails, not their amazing collection of wine. I am a fan, however, because this restaurant follows an example I wish many others in Columbus would follow. The menu has enough variety to be interesting, without being too adventurous. The payoff is that I have never ordered anything that was not cooked and served more or less perfectly. The waitstaff is attentive without being overbearing. In short, this is a lovely place for dinner out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.