About The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington

1750 W. Lane Ave
Columbus, OH 43221
View Larger Map

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at near state minimum or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Northwest Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 485-1750

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
We offer parking in the lot behind the restaurant with access from Chester Rd and Brandon Rd. There is also additional parking after 6 pm in the Jack Seibert Jeweler's lot across the street. Street parking on Lane Ave is available any time except Monday-Friday from 4 pm-6 pm.

Executive Chef:
Dean Wirick

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tasting Room is an intimate private dining room for up to 12 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Keli Flanagan: 6144851750x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Wine Bistro - Upper Arlington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friendly service and delicious food. Lov ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Friendly service and delicious food. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot to meet friends. Wine/beer/co ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great spot to meet friends. Wine/beer/cocktail selection made everyone happy. lots of food choices also made it easy to pleaae our group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Greeter was rude but server was amazing. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Greeter was rude but server was amazing. He suggested the new penne and it was great!! The wine pours were very good also

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and wine selection. Our s ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food and wine selection. Our server was professional, knowledgeable, and provided excellent service.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful lunch menu, good service.

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful lunch menu, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Six of us had a delightful night, great ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Six of us had a delightful night, great food, great atmosphere, Cat our server was helpful and assisted us with selecting menu and drink items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service!! A little pri ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food, great service!! A little pricey, but worth every dollar. I will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Spicy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I assume this was an "off" night for thi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I assume this was an "off" night for this popular restaurant. We were not well served, nor informed, and it was a exercise in frustration for us and, I assume, for the staff. I have not had such an experience anywhere before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Love the ambiance, and the food is even ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Love the ambiance, and the food is even more satisfying. A real gem, especially for gluten free diners. No worries and lots of accommodation. One of my new favorites

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my first time dining at The Wine ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was my first time dining at The Wine Bistro. The weather was great on Saturday night and I was very pleased to sit outside. The menu was great, the prices are fair, and the food was good. I was however very underwhelmed with the service. Our waiter was somewhat too casual, forgetful, and rushed despite there being only 4 or 5 parties in the whole place at the time. I had to ask for water 3 times before he brought it. Additionally, my date and I were the only ones sitting outside on their large patio. When a second party asked to dine outside, they sat them at the table directly next to us, while the whole outdoor area was vacant. We felt like we had to whisper the rest of our meal because the other group was right on top of us. The food was great, but the experience was not very comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I have been to a lot of great restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have been to a lot of great restaurants and I can honestly say this was some of the best food I have ever had! Not only was the food outstanding, the service was also impeccable. I will be absolutely returning and would highly recommend the Wine Bistro to anyone and everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, waitress got 2 of th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Terrible service, waitress got 2 of the orders wrong. Prices are too high. Flat bread pizza crust was like cardboard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The food was great would go back. The w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was great would go back. The wine selection was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have eaten there twice in ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I have eaten there twice in mid-afternoon, and enjoyed the salads and wine. We went for dinner last Saturday night. Excellent service, good wine selections, good salads. But the fried green tomatoes were all breading and sauce, and the skirt steak was inferior to what I cook on my grill. Overall, a pleasant night, with slightly disappointing food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The filet and bleu flatbread was amazing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The filet and bleu flatbread was amazing! The flavors blended together so well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our group was from out of town. I resear ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our group was from out of town. I researched to find a nice restaurant near Upper Arlington. I picked The Wine Bistro. I loved it - and so did the other four people in our group! Actually, I am coming back to Columbus in a week and will be having lunch there again before going to a play in downtown Columbus. It was wonderful, and our service was great.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delightful! The patio was a nice ar ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Very delightful! The patio was a nice area to enjoy dinner and wine. The overall appetizers, food, and wine paired nicely and was delectable. The overall wine bottle selection inside was also a nice touch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Had a get together with old friends, six ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a get together with old friends, six people total, and had made reservations. I was so pleased that we were placed in a room off the main dining area that allowed us a more quiet environment to catch up on each other's lives. The food was great as was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine and atmosphere were great - but ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The wine and atmosphere were great - but the food was lacking. I would return for drinks and apetizers.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first visit and we thorough ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed everything. Food was delicious! We had the trio of cheeses and it was a great appetizer. Our server was a young girl who, for her age, was extremely knowledgeable and professional. She was an absolute pleasure. I don't believe she will be there when we return, as she is moving out of state.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu with lots of choices. Our wai ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great menu with lots of choices. Our waiter was outstanding. He knew the wines very well and his recommendation was exactly what we wanted. The food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner with out of town guests. We ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had dinner with out of town guests. We went to the Wine Bistro because it's on of my favorite places close to home. The service was excellent as was the food. My guests were very impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unusually slow--possibly due ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was unusually slow--possibly due to miscommunication with server. Seated by very loud diners, which made talk with my own table difficult.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Oh my goodness... We had such a wonderfu ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Oh my goodness... We had such a wonderful lunch on the Wine Bistro patio. The weather was perfect and the food was the ideal accompaniment. The number of patrons was low - apparently because it was Father's Day. I guess we all go out for Mother's Day but grill out for Father's Day? At any rate, I had the steak and blue flatbread - always a yum! And my son and niece had the seasonal Vintage Chicken salad. My dear husband had the Caesar Salad with chicken. All meals were fabulous and our server was wonderful. My niece is heading to Peru, and our server chimed in politely after hearing a bit of our conversation about his joy in traveling there. If we didn't need to head off to visit other family members, I bet we would have stayed longer, possibly enjoying the key lime pie that sounded oh so tempting or maybe a cocktail or glass of white wine...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was nice the food was not as good as ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was nice the food was not as good as it was the last time I went . The filet on the flatbread pizza was full of fat and it was snappy and unappealing to eat but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice tapas and salads paired with a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Very nice tapas and salads paired with a decent bottle of wine, $100 with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for a relaxed lunch and grea ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place for a relaxed lunch and great glass of wine. Great relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not sure I would recommend

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our main complaint is the restaurant staff were not attentive to us. We had to sit in the overflow seating (large community table near the bar) because the bar seating was full. We put our name in for patio table via open table yet they did not have one for us when we arrived. It was a 7:45 reservation. We were not greeted with water or menus for more than 10 minutes after being seated and had to ask the host for those items and for a server. The host seemed confused... Around 8:10 our server finally came over to take an order and the host came at the same time stating our patio table was ready. We went outside but quickly decided to go back inside as the patio was loud and the seating was terribly uncomfortable. We ended up back at the community table again and had to wait several more minutes for our drinks. We only ordered a cheese tray which took over 20 minutes to arrive and not sure why since nothing was cooked on the tray... We asked where the cheese tray was after waiting a reasonable amount of time and they just said they were really busy due to the patio being open that night. Not sure what that had to do with the cheese tray? Needless to say, we won't be coming back and wouldn't recommend it either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food, service and wine

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Good food, service and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was the perfect place for a date ni ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was the perfect place for a date night out! The atmosphere is great with bottles of wine lining the walls and the mismatched tables and chairs that all fit together just right. The service was impeccable and the food delicious! We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool place. Wine racks line nearly ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Very cool place. Wine racks line nearly every wall from the floor to just within reach with wines you browse and select to have with dinner. Food was excellent and affordable. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were celebrating my Mother's birthday ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2016

We were celebrating my Mother's birthday and mine . Our waitress was awesome :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The servers are always good and food as ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 16, 2016

The servers are always good and food as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Maybe I was expecting more that what thi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Maybe I was expecting more that what this restaurant offers. The wine was good, but a little over priced. The food selection was not very good. My date got the lemon chicken with pasta. the chicken was like chicken tenders, and the pasta has no seasoning. I has the Italian Panini. It was like a half sandwich.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Wine is fine

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Had a return visit to the Wine Bistro in Upper Arlington. with a friend who had not been before. Everyone found food to their liking and the win selection was excellent, especially since on Tuesdays one can by wine by the bottle as state minimum prices for consumption on site. A nice casual place to go locally with good food and a very nice wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the flatbreads, especially the seas ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 2, 2016

Love the flatbreads, especially the seasonal bbq chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been to wine bistro in Clintonville ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2016

I've been to wine bistro in Clintonville and it's always been amazing but at upper Arlington different story. We gave ourselves (5 of us) 2 hours to eat so we could leave for a concert. It took 15 minutes to get waters and all of the appetizers came out like 30 minutes after we ordered them and then my appetizer came out after everyone finished theirs. The Caesar Salad at Clintonville is really great. The one at upper Arlington was so bad I couldn't finish it and I usually eat everything I order even if I don't like it. The dressing was so watered down I was kind of in disbelief you could mess up a Caesar salad... I even brought it home to see if my boyfriend would like it and he immediately threw it away. Our meals came out an HOUR AND A HALF AFTER Appetizers. Needless to say we missed the first hour of our concert. VERY understaffed so I understand it's not the servers fault. Our server had reminded us that their kitchen was very small so it was going to be another 20 minutes (ended up being 45 mins later) but it was not busy at all so many tables were open so I couldn't even imagine what would happen if it was busy. Definitely never coming back to that location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great for a special night!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 25, 2016

At the last minute, we were able to get away from the house, and decided on Wine Bistro. Our waitress (Audrey) was friendly and knowledgeable about the food/drink menu. Wine Bistro is ALWAYS a great time.

Our only complaint is that we think some of the prices have gone up in the past year (e.g., the popcorn). We always enjoyed that we could get a pre-dinner snack (popcorn) for under $5 (I thin it was once $4, but I can't be certain), and now it's $6 which then is comparable to most other appetizers at other restaurants.

Still a great place for a meal, but just getting more expensive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second visit to this locati ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 24, 2016

This was our second visit to this location. Food was prepared as expected. Service was wonderful. Wine choices were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.