About The Wine Bistro - Clintonville

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at retail or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

4416 N. High St.
Columbus, OH 43214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Henderson and High St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 262-4416

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Public Transit:
City Bus Line

Executive Chef:
Dustin Norris

Private Party Facilities:
In our tasting room we can accommodate up to 12 guests for a more intimate and private event

Private Party Contact:
Akisha Moore: (614) 262-4416

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Wine Bistro - Clintonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (10)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Private Room (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great Place to go for fresh food and wonderful wine selections. Just had a great time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our group of 4 ladies have been here several times and always enjoy this restaurant. There is a good wine list, and two of us enjoyed a flight of red wines. One friend ordered the Mediterranean popcorn appetizer to share with our party. Two of us ordered a mixed greens salad. I added the caramelized salmon to the salad and enjoyed every bite! One of the ladies always orders an appetizer meatball to accompany her salad. We had good service from the wait staff and plan to return again soon.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time here. Food and service were excellent! Highly recommend. Looking forward to going again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good wine selection, great charcuterrie and cheese boards and popcorn that is out of this world! It has really enhanced the neighborhood and is a favorite. So glad it is there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was wonderful, we were greeted with a smile and our server very helpful. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the environment! Love the selection of wines. Food is delicious and unique. The evening we were there the special was beef stroganoff and it was excellent. Also had the Caesar salad and it was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 6, 2017

After I got seated, and was asked what drink would I order, I asked the attendant to please return in 2 mins to take my order.

I didn't see her again or anyone else for over 13mins.

Was the restaurant busy that day? NO. It was on a Monday.

I and my colleague got up and left the restaurant for another restaurant.

And as we left, no one asked us why we were leaving or have we been attended to. Never again will I patronize this place or even recommend it. It's appalling.

Perhaps, I may have been treated this way cos of my race. This is deplorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Portion size was great, wine was wonderful and dessert was amazing. I will go back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Amazing!! I oved the food, service, and the Manager Chip!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Been going to the Wine Bistro since it opened in this location and have not had a bad experience. The food is a bit pricy but is delicious without being overly fussy. The service has always been good and if I give a random-word description and price for wine, they always seem to nail what I'm looking for. I've been to this location twice since being diagnosed with celiac disease. I talked to the manager the first time prior to coming in and was assured that I would be taken care of. That promise has been kept on both occasions since then. Both times our server has been Craig. He never made me feel as if my diet restrictions were odd or an inconvenience. He made both wine and food suggestions that were spot on and even made adjustments where necessary. If I asked about certain gluten free options, his answers were precise and non-judgmental. I have always left happy and I've never been sick afterwards. I not only feel safe eating at the Wine Bistro but I feel like I can trust the people who work there...especially Craig!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

A great place to meet up with friends to catch up. Great food, nice wine selection and terrific service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great casual dining. Loved the flights of wine and the wine shop. Took home a few bottles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food, service, wine, even beer selection were excellent. When I made the reservation, the only times available were 4pm, and 8pm. We went at 4, and I was a but frustrated that when we left at 6, the restaurant was mostly empty. Restaurant was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome! Good wine selections, good food...no complaints...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Do not go to the Wine Bistro if you want to use a VISA Gift card!

The food was wonderful, the service was great. It was a wedding anniversary celebration with a sibling who was married in the same month as I was. When I went to pay the bill, I was told that I could not use a Visa Gift Card because, "their system is not able to process a Visa Gift Card."

I am still a bit teed, but I will go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Always great food and service! The patio is awesome!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food was disappointing. Chicken scalipini was over cooked and under seasoned. Dinner for 3 people was over $150. I won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good food and service. Visited twice, a Friday evening and a Sunday lunch. Only disappointment was that neither time did they have anybody playing their piano.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

While and drink are great here. I am sensitive to the attitudes of the manager and the wait staff to their customers and themselves. Chip has done a good job selecting a team that seem to get along and work together during crushes. Joe and Christina and Tanisha(sp) really work hard as I noticed the rest of the crew when I was there. Sorry, I don't know all the names. Always a pleasure eating here. I am running through the menu!

Thanks.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is a regular date-night spot and also a favorite for laid-back girls night. I've never had anything I didn't like to eat: flatbreads, lettuce wraps, salads, fondue, everything is tasty. Millions of wine options if you want to buy a bottle; but plenty of options by the class, including tasting flgihts. Really nice decor/atmosphere; call it "eclectic rustic". I never hesitate to recommend the Wine Bistro in my neighborhood.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Came this particular evening to celebrate with some girlfriends. Our server, JoAnna, was the best!!!!!! She was very attentive and friendly. JoAnnas service made the experience perfect!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed our celebration of our daughter's birthday. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The name ssys it all. It's a wonderful place to have wine. The food is definitely secondary to their wine offering. If you love wine like i do, then this place is a wonderful way to sample wines from all over the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a place I would bring my out of town friends to to show what Columbus has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a great experience! We had a guest with dietary restrictions and they were very accomodating. Am grateful to have this option in our neighborhood!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Mushroom Truffle Bruschetta. If you order just one item, order the brucshetta. It's that good. The lemon chicken angel hair pasta did not disappoint. Light, flavorful, tastes like summer. Wines o'plenty, pick what you like or your server will help. Chocolate Grenache was rich and creamy. A little noisy after 7pm but it was Friday night and the Bistro was hopping. Will return, fun place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Mixed drinks are not their long suit - stick with wine.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2016

appetizers were superb. beef on my main dish salad was tough and over done. fine service and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food seemed to be overly fatty. I was trying to strain the butter off of my seafood and felt fat after eating it. My wife had a salad and was peeling huge amounts of ranch dressing off of it. Also, the price seemed about $20 more than it should have been considering everything.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We really enjoyed our dining experience last Saturday at the Wine Clintonville. The fried green tomatoes were excellent, as well as the shrimp and risotto and crab cakes. The wine our server suggested was really good and our server was exceptional - both friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We've eaten at the Clintonville Wine Bistro a number of times and always enjoy it. This time we sat outside on a pleasant evening and just had wine and an appetizer. I like that they change their wine menu seasonally and I got their new Orvieto white which was light, fruity, and perfect for a warm summer evening. We got the meat and cheese appetizer board with warm bread and olives - very satisfying. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Joanna was our sever and she was excellent !! Food and wine fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This place has a split personality. It does not know whether to be fancy or casual. It does not succeed at either. The food was palatable and the portions were not overwhelming, but the prices were not proportional to the value. The desserts were very disappointing. The servers were inexperienced and in need of training, but trying hard with what little experience they had. I'd go back if I had to, but there are other venues that do it better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is defintely a place to try if you like fine wines, good food and great service! However, if you are dining inside on a Friday night, the crowd can be quite loud and boisterous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Vegetarian option, but no real vegan options unless you are willing to just eat salad. Nice outdoor seating. Great wine selection.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful place but my flat bread pizza was a bit hard in spots. Wait staff is very friendly and the place again is very pretty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2016

I've never been disappointed at the Wine Bistro in Clintonville. The service there is friendly and helpful, and the food is always delicious. Great for a date, or for a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The beverages were tops, chop - chop salad was so good, flatbread and sandwiches were great.

40 something ladies were having a birthday party, so was a bit noisy. My guest wants to go backwith her friends.

I consider Wine Bistro one of my favorite places. Prices were on the less expensive side. Great value.

Rick

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Wine Bistro needs a proper bar. Out of 3 of us, only 1 drinks wine. That left the 2 of us wondering what to drink. We had the choice of Watershed vodka and gin. Because it's so botanical and strong they are not great options for mixed drinks. The beer selection was horrible. All local craft bottles and cans. What's wrong with really good German or Belgian beers. Just because it's local doesn't mean it's good.

I highly suggest the craft beer menu add ABV %.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food and excellent wine selection. Kitchen was very slow, server let us know the progress, but kitchen should be prepared for the dinner service. Go, be patient , enjoy an extra glass of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had made a reservation through Open Table for 5 people, but the day before our reservation we found that three more people wanted to attend. I thought it would be better to call the restaurant personally to see if we could change our reservation from 5 to 8 people. The person I talked to at Wine Bistro said that was no problem. Thinking all had been taken care of, our party of 8 arrived and was told that our reservation was only for 5. Three of our friends ended up leaving because we could not all be accommodated. I would probably not go back. Also, the place is very noisy and nearly impossible to carry on a conversation at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2016

To tell the truth, I had been a little bit worried about its quality of service and food because many reviewers complained about them before I arrived there. However, once I arrived at this fabulous restaurant, I just forgot about all negative things, but only positive things remained! It was great place to try out variety of wines with reasonable prices and atmosphere is just great! One thing that I was a little bit disappointed with was food. Well, food was not really amazing though, I could enjoy it. So, please, just try it out! Then you would love it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Our first visit for dinner at The Wine Bistro at Henderson and High was pleasantly delightful. The atmosphere was so comfortable. Our server, Joe, put us at ease with the menu, answered questions and was prompt in delivering beverages and taking our order. The manager visited our table a couple times making us feel important. Three of us ordered three different choices all of which were absolutely delicious. The piano was playing in the background which made for a happy time. We will be back for sure. I would recommend the salad with added salmon. I ate it all...YUM.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food & wide choice of beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2016

O verall our experience was good and the food was excellent. What we were displeased with

was the $8 corkage fee on a bottle of wine we purchased with dinner. While there was a notice on the table about free corkage certain days, it was not made clear there was a usual fee on the other days. Not a pleasant surprise. Have never heard of corkage fee with wine purchased on site

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner out at the Wine Bistro was thoroughly enjoyable. The service was

excellent but not obtrusive; the food was delicious, and the wine was superior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We were lucky enough to get to celebrate Valentine's Day a little early this year and chose to head to the Wine Bistro in Clintonville. The atmosphere, service and food were great. It's a nice romantic spot with good energy. Although the restaurant was crowded, the space still felt intimate So glad this restaurant is in the neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.