HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Wine Bistro - Clintonville

4.4
273 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Notable Wine List (500)
  • Neighborhood Gem (368)
  • Special Occasion (268)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The Wine Bistro, with four Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Westerville, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at retail or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(614) 262-4416
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dustin Norris
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
In our tasting room we can accommodate up to 12 guests for a more intimate and private event
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Akisha Moore: (614) 262-4416
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Henderson and High St
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On site parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
City Bus Line
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 273 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4  based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipOpenTable Diner (Naples)
3.0  Dined on May 20, 2017

Hors d'oeuvre offered on the menu was not available due to "transition". Baked brie was pretty good. Entrees were rudely slammed onto the table by server. Wine ordered from the menu was indifferent but inexpensive. Entrees were uninspired. The table top itself was sticky.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on May 19, 2017

Such a great experience! Fabulous wine and food. Server Craig was very knowledgeable and made our evening great. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
4.0  Dined on May 15, 2017

This was our favorite of the Wine Bistros, diet enough for conversation and congeniality to take place with good service, a pleasant ambiance, and a quite a varied wine selection. It had become a regular stop for us and our friends, so we will miss it. The other Wine Bistro we'd tried was not so congenial, so we're looking for other venues.
Sayonara, Clintonville Bistro.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on May 7, 2017

We went following daughter's graduation. We were seated right at our reservation time and service was excellent. The menu isn't huge but offers something for everyone. Wine selections were good and affordable. Our entrees were all delicious, but the fondue appetizer was a bit lackluster. Overall it was a great experience and I will return.

Report
Helpful
CT23 (Philadelphia)
4.0  Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service were great, however the noise level was not. We were on a date and were seated at a small table between 2 larger groups and could hardly hear each other talking. It was not the atmosphere/evening we were looking for to enjoy our bottle of wine.

Report
Helpful
Cindilou (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on April 29, 2017

Food is always delicious and the hostess very accommodating. And our server "Marc Anthony" was fabulous. Explained menu and suggested wines, service was great. Will visit again and will ask for "Marc" for sure.

Report
Helpful
wshi (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on April 29, 2017

Usually the food is good, this time mine was just OK.
There was way too much garlic and it blew out my taste buds and ruined the rest of my meal and evening. BTW, this is a meal I get quite often at The Wine Bistro so I know whereof I speak.
Also, there are bread plates on every table but you always have to ask for the bread.
I still enjoy the place and will go back. :-)

Report
Helpful
KnightDiver (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on April 22, 2017

Todd the bartender was attentive and prompt. The food was good and the drinks were better.

Report
Helpful
vipWinedownwednesday (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful experience. Sat on the patio and did a few flights of red wine. Snacked on a meat and cheese appetizer. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on April 12, 2017

Always enjoy lunch at the bistro. The food is good and the service friendly and efficient. As a bistro, the limited menu generally dictates how often we go, but everything is delicious.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on April 7, 2017

Great spot, fantastic wine selection, easy to get a table on weekends through Opentable

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on April 7, 2017

Great experience, wonderful wine selection on the shelves, phenomenal service!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I went for wine and dessert, so we cannot comment on the main menu, but the atmosphere was great for an evening together without the kids so we could talk and enjoy time together sipping on wine. Unlike some places their "by the glass" wine selection offered a large selection. Although we didn't have anything on the main menu, the the food at the surrounding tables looked very good. This was a great find.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on March 17, 2017

We had great food, cheerful servers and lovely ambiance.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on March 15, 2017

Best onion soup in town!

Report
Helpful
LarryA (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food and wine at a reasonable price. Nice neighborhood find for a couples night out.

Report
Helpful
joanpo (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on March 6, 2017

Our go-to Clintonville neighborhood place. Creative, tasty, great menu. Love the funky decor. Terrific service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service! Great food! My wife and I went for our date night (we don't get many). We had recently had multiple bad service experiences elsewhere, so this was a welcome change.

Report
Helpful
vipmpmenjoys (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 19, 2017

Great Place to go for fresh food and wonderful wine selections. Just had a great time.

Report
Helpful
TropicBon (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2017

Our group of 4 ladies have been here several times and always enjoy this restaurant. There is a good wine list, and two of us enjoyed a flight of red wines. One friend ordered the Mediterranean popcorn appetizer to share with our party. Two of us ordered a mixed greens salad. I added the caramelized salmon to the salad and enjoyed every bite! One of the ladies always orders an appetizer meatball to accompany her salad. We had good service from the wait staff and plan to return again soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

First time here. Food and service were excellent! Highly recommend. Looking forward to going again soon!

Report
Helpful
LDiner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Good wine selection, great charcuterrie and cheese boards and popcorn that is out of this world! It has really enhanced the neighborhood and is a favorite. So glad it is there!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was wonderful, we were greeted with a smile and our server very helpful. The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
DLaz (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2017

Love the environment! Love the selection of wines. Food is delicious and unique. The evening we were there the special was beef stroganoff and it was excellent. Also had the Caesar salad and it was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
1.0  Dined on February 6, 2017

After I got seated, and was asked what drink would I order, I asked the attendant to please return in 2 mins to take my order.
I didn't see her again or anyone else for over 13mins.
Was the restaurant busy that day? NO. It was on a Monday.
I and my colleague got up and left the restaurant for another restaurant.
And as we left, no one asked us why we were leaving or have we been attended to. Never again will I patronize this place or even recommend it. It's appalling.
Perhaps, I may have been treated this way cos of my race. This is deplorable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Mexico)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2017

Portion size was great, wine was wonderful and dessert was amazing. I will go back

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2017

Amazing!! I oved the food, service, and the Manager Chip!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on January 6, 2017

Been going to the Wine Bistro since it opened in this location and have not had a bad experience. The food is a bit pricy but is delicious without being overly fussy. The service has always been good and if I give a random-word description and price for wine, they always seem to nail what I'm looking for. I've been to this location twice since being diagnosed with celiac disease. I talked to the manager the first time prior to coming in and was assured that I would be taken care of. That promise has been kept on both occasions since then. Both times our server has been Craig. He never made me feel as if my diet restrictions were odd or an inconvenience. He made both wine and food suggestions that were spot on and even made adjustments where necessary. If I asked about certain gluten free options, his answers were precise and non-judgmental. I have always left happy and I've never been sick afterwards. I not only feel safe eating at the Wine Bistro but I feel like I can trust the people who work there...especially Craig!

Report
Helpful
Musiclover (Columbus)
5.0  Dined on December 27, 2016

A great place to meet up with friends to catch up. Great food, nice wine selection and terrific service!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10