About The Wine Bistro - Clintonville

4416 N. High St.
Columbus, OH 43214
View Larger Map

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at retail or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Henderson and High St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 262-4416

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Public Transit:
City Bus Line

Executive Chef:
Dustin Norris

Private Party Facilities:
In our tasting room we can accommodate up to 12 guests for a more intimate and private event

Private Party Contact:
Akisha Moore: 6142624416x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Wine Bistro - Clintonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our celebration of our daught ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our celebration of our daughter's birthday. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name ssys it all. It's a wonderful p ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The name ssys it all. It's a wonderful place to have wine. The food is definitely secondary to their wine offering. If you love wine like i do, then this place is a wonderful way to sample wines from all over the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This is a place I would bring my out of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a place I would bring my out of town friends to to show what Columbus has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience! We had a gues ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a great experience! We had a guest with dietary restrictions and they were very accomodating. Am grateful to have this option in our neighborhood!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom Truffle Bruschetta. If you orde ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Mushroom Truffle Bruschetta. If you order just one item, order the brucshetta. It's that good. The lemon chicken angel hair pasta did not disappoint. Light, flavorful, tastes like summer. Wines o'plenty, pick what you like or your server will help. Chocolate Grenache was rich and creamy. A little noisy after 7pm but it was Friday night and the Bistro was hopping. Will return, fun place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mixed drinks are not their long suit - s ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Mixed drinks are not their long suit - stick with wine.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

appetizers were superb. beef on my main ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

appetizers were superb. beef on my main dish salad was tough and over done. fine service and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food seemed to be overly fatty. I w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food seemed to be overly fatty. I was trying to strain the butter off of my seafood and felt fat after eating it. My wife had a salad and was peeling huge amounts of ranch dressing off of it. Also, the price seemed about $20 more than it should have been considering everything.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We really enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We really enjoyed our dining experience last Saturday at the Wine Clintonville. The fried green tomatoes were excellent, as well as the shrimp and risotto and crab cakes. The wine our server suggested was really good and our server was exceptional - both friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at the Clintonville Wine Bis ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We've eaten at the Clintonville Wine Bistro a number of times and always enjoy it. This time we sat outside on a pleasant evening and just had wine and an appetizer. I like that they change their wine menu seasonally and I got their new Orvieto white which was light, fruity, and perfect for a warm summer evening. We got the meat and cheese appetizer board with warm bread and olives - very satisfying. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joanna was our sever and she was excelle ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Joanna was our sever and she was excellent !! Food and wine fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ok, so we tried it...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This place has a split personality. It does not know whether to be fancy or casual. It does not succeed at either. The food was palatable and the portions were not overwhelming, but the prices were not proportional to the value. The desserts were very disappointing. The servers were inexperienced and in need of training, but trying hard with what little experience they had. I'd go back if I had to, but there are other venues that do it better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A Friday night experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is defintely a place to try if you like fine wines, good food and great service! However, if you are dining inside on a Friday night, the crowd can be quite loud and boisterous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful place but my flat bread pizza ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful place but my flat bread pizza was a bit hard in spots. Wait staff is very friendly and the place again is very pretty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Always a good experience

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I've never been disappointed at the Wine Bistro in Clintonville. The service there is friendly and helpful, and the food is always delicious. Great for a date, or for a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to take a special friend

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The beverages were tops, chop - chop salad was so good, flatbread and sandwiches were great.

40 something ladies were having a birthday party, so was a bit noisy. My guest wants to go backwith her friends.

I consider Wine Bistro one of my favorite places. Prices were on the less expensive side. Great value.

Rick

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

only for wine drinkers

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Wine Bistro needs a proper bar. Out of 3 of us, only 1 drinks wine. That left the 2 of us wondering what to drink. We had the choice of Watershed vodka and gin. Because it's so botanical and strong they are not great options for mixed drinks. The beer selection was horrible. All local craft bottles and cans. What's wrong with really good German or Belgian beers. Just because it's local doesn't mean it's good.

I highly suggest the craft beer menu add ABV %.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Reservations and Patience Required

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food and excellent wine selection. Kitchen was very slow, server let us know the progress, but kitchen should be prepared for the dinner service. Go, be patient , enjoy an extra glass of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Botched Reservation

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had made a reservation through Open Table for 5 people, but the day before our reservation we found that three more people wanted to attend. I thought it would be better to call the restaurant personally to see if we could change our reservation from 5 to 8 people. The person I talked to at Wine Bistro said that was no problem. Thinking all had been taken care of, our party of 8 arrived and was told that our reservation was only for 5. Three of our friends ended up leaving because we could not all be accommodated. I would probably not go back. Also, the place is very noisy and nearly impossible to carry on a conversation at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I love its atmosphere!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

To tell the truth, I had been a little bit worried about its quality of service and food because many reviewers complained about them before I arrived there. However, once I arrived at this fabulous restaurant, I just forgot about all negative things, but only positive things remained! It was great place to try out variety of wines with reasonable prices and atmosphere is just great! One thing that I was a little bit disappointed with was food. Well, food was not really amazing though, I could enjoy it. So, please, just try it out! Then you would love it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food good drink

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Our first visit for dinner at The Wine Bistro at Henderson and High was pleasantly delightful. The atmosphere was so comfortable. Our server, Joe, put us at ease with the menu, answered questions and was prompt in delivering beverages and taking our order. The manager visited our table a couple times making us feel important. Three of us ordered three different choices all of which were absolutely delicious. The piano was playing in the background which made for a happy time. We will be back for sure. I would recommend the salad with added salmon. I ate it all...YUM.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & wide choice of beverage.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food & wide choice of beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

O verall our experience was good and the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

O verall our experience was good and the food was excellent. What we were displeased with

was the $8 corkage fee on a bottle of wine we purchased with dinner. While there was a notice on the table about free corkage certain days, it was not made clear there was a usual fee on the other days. Not a pleasant surprise. Have never heard of corkage fee with wine purchased on site

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Love this place!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner out at the Wine Bistro was thoroughly enjoyable. The service was

excellent but not obtrusive; the food was delicious, and the wine was superior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and dinner!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We were lucky enough to get to celebrate Valentine's Day a little early this year and chose to head to the Wine Bistro in Clintonville. The atmosphere, service and food were great. It's a nice romantic spot with good energy. Although the restaurant was crowded, the space still felt intimate So glad this restaurant is in the neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was quite scarce, had to ask ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Our server was quite scarce, had to ask for a second glass of wine (at a Wine Bistro) and a refill on my water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Sumptous Surprise

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Though I worked in the Clintonville area until recently, I never dined at the Wine Bistro which I regret because had I dined there, I definitely would have been a repeat customer !

Began at the bar and had a great Pinot Noir and shared a flatbread with Harvati, prosciutto and thinly sliced pears....so good.

Dined there during Restaurant Week and had a 5:30pm seating. Started with the European red wine flight and enjoyed all three selections. From their Restaurant Week choices, we chose the Winery salad, shared the Shrimp & Risotto and Chicken Saltimbocca and finished with their Maple Bourbon Bread pudding.

From start to finish it was absolutely delicious - Really high quality, flavorful and expertly seasoned food.

Lastly, the service from the time we entered, while at the bar and during our meal was perfect. All staff were warm and inviting.

Special thanks to the gentleman who served us. He was knowledgeable of the food and wine, very pleasant and personable and gave us just the right amount of attention.

We plan to return soon and can't wait to enjoy their outside seating this summer.

Much thanks to the Wine Bistro for a very enjoyable dining experience !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week and were really pleased with our evening. We were seated right away and though our server had way too many tables (definitely not his fault!), he was good about checking in as often as he could. All three dishes were great and I enjoyed my wine flight, which had an adorable presentation. I would definitely go back--apparently corking fees are waived Mondays and Tuesdays (and maybe Sundays?). Good to know. Very cool ambiance, good service, tasty food, delicious wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

I went to The Wine Bistro Clintonville with a small group of friends (total of 4 people) looking to experience a new restaurant for restaurant week. We were really disappointed with the service. Our waiter was extremely flat and borderline rude during our whole time there. We understood he was probably overwhelmed since it was busy for restaurant week, but the level of his rudeness was unwarranted . The food was great, but our experience overall fell short.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Loved it!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

This was our first visit but we will definitely be back. The atmosphere was perfect, the staff was nice and very informative and the food and wine were great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was greeted at the door by I believe the ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

Was greeted at the door by I believe the manager. He was super friendly and seated me immediately even though I was a half hour early for my reservation. The wait staff was very friendly and great at giving suggestions on drinks and food. Had a great time and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Week Win

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Came here for Restaurant Week and loved it. The atmosphere is lovely; the noise level was very comfortable. The food was great - sometimes I'm worried about getting lesser food for Restaurant Week, but all three courses were outstanding. I look forward to trying this place again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Took my husband for his birthday and had a great experience once again. They were short staffed but worked quickly to take care of everyone. There was a huge group celebrating a birthday as well, which probably made the noise level higher than my last experience.

The French onion soup is amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Lot of Birthday Fun

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Six of us celebrated a birthday and we had such a good time. We sat at the high top table behind the host stand and enjoyed every minute. The food was well prepared; we shared a good many of the dishes and the service was attentive. The wine was reasonably priced and very good. All six of us had wonderful time and I highly recommend this place. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch with a co-worker. Lovely ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Went for lunch with a co-worker. Lovely, quiet, and a wonderful lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised by the food (flatbr ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

Pleasantly surprised by the food (flatbreads were great), nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent experience! Server was very he ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Excellent experience! Server was very helpful and entire staff was very friendly. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing service

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

The last three visits have resulted in increasingly slow service. I don't believe it is the fault of staff waiting on tables; it seems to be a kitchen problem. Well over 45 minutes from time of order to when we received our dinner. Two of the three times we recently went the staff waiting tables seemed to be overwhelmed with the number of tables they had to wait on. Getting water refilled was a long wait; especially frustrating when that is all that we were drinking.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great spot!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on December 10, 2015

Fun get together ... good food and wine for a group of friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.