About The Wine Bistro - Clintonville

4416 N. High St.
Columbus, OH 43214
View Larger Map

The Wine Bistro, with three Columbus, Ohio locations in Upper Arlington, Clintonville and Worthington, offers an exciting array of well-curated wines and a list of select craft beers. The menu features light and filling appetizers & small plates, soups, salads, flatbreads and entrees offered every day of the week for lunch and dinner. We open at 11:00 AM Mon-Sat and at Noon on Sunday.
Choose a table for two, a relaxed seat in the soft seating area, gather a group at one of the communal tables or in the private tasting room. Shop for wine priced at retail or pay a small corkage fee (waived on Mondays & Tuesdays) to enjoy your bottle in-house.
We look forward to exploring great wine and food with you soon...

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Henderson and High St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 262-4416

Website:
http://www.winebistrocolumbus.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Public Transit:
City Bus Line

Executive Chef:
Dustin Norris

Private Party Facilities:
In our tasting room we can accommodate up to 12 guests for a more intimate and private event

Private Party Contact:
Akisha Moore: 6142624416x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Wine Bistro - Clintonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
3 More
Best Service
Columbus
Best Value
Columbus
Special Occasion
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Clintonville ›

Notable Wine List (18)
Special Occasion (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome! Good wine selections, good foo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Awesome! Good wine selections, good food...no complaints...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Do not go to the Wine Bistro if you want ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Do not go to the Wine Bistro if you want to use a VISA Gift card!

The food was wonderful, the service was great. It was a wedding anniversary celebration with a sibling who was married in the same month as I was. When I went to pay the bill, I was told that I could not use a Visa Gift Card because, "their system is not able to process a Visa Gift Card."

I am still a bit teed, but I will go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great food and service! The patio ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Always great food and service! The patio is awesome!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was disappointing. Chicken sca ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food was disappointing. Chicken scalipini was over cooked and under seasoned. Dinner for 3 people was over $150. I won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good food and service. Visited twice, a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Good food and service. Visited twice, a Friday evening and a Sunday lunch. Only disappointment was that neither time did they have anybody playing their piano.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

While and drink are great here. I am sen ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 23, 2016

While and drink are great here. I am sensitive to the attitudes of the manager and the wait staff to their customers and themselves. Chip has done a good job selecting a team that seem to get along and work together during crushes. Joe and Christina and Tanisha(sp) really work hard as I noticed the rest of the crew when I was there. Sorry, I don't know all the names. Always a pleasure eating here. I am running through the menu!

Thanks.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a regular date-night spot and al ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is a regular date-night spot and also a favorite for laid-back girls night. I've never had anything I didn't like to eat: flatbreads, lettuce wraps, salads, fondue, everything is tasty. Millions of wine options if you want to buy a bottle; but plenty of options by the class, including tasting flgihts. Really nice decor/atmosphere; call it "eclectic rustic". I never hesitate to recommend the Wine Bistro in my neighborhood.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came this particular evening to celebrat ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Came this particular evening to celebrate with some girlfriends. Our server, JoAnna, was the best!!!!!! She was very attentive and friendly. JoAnnas service made the experience perfect!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our celebration of our daught ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed our celebration of our daughter's birthday. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The name ssys it all. It's a wonderful p ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The name ssys it all. It's a wonderful place to have wine. The food is definitely secondary to their wine offering. If you love wine like i do, then this place is a wonderful way to sample wines from all over the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This is a place I would bring my out of ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is a place I would bring my out of town friends to to show what Columbus has to offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience! We had a gues ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a great experience! We had a guest with dietary restrictions and they were very accomodating. Am grateful to have this option in our neighborhood!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mushroom Truffle Bruschetta. If you orde ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Mushroom Truffle Bruschetta. If you order just one item, order the brucshetta. It's that good. The lemon chicken angel hair pasta did not disappoint. Light, flavorful, tastes like summer. Wines o'plenty, pick what you like or your server will help. Chocolate Grenache was rich and creamy. A little noisy after 7pm but it was Friday night and the Bistro was hopping. Will return, fun place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mixed drinks are not their long suit - s ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Mixed drinks are not their long suit - stick with wine.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

appetizers were superb. beef on my main ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2016

appetizers were superb. beef on my main dish salad was tough and over done. fine service and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The food seemed to be overly fatty. I w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food seemed to be overly fatty. I was trying to strain the butter off of my seafood and felt fat after eating it. My wife had a salad and was peeling huge amounts of ranch dressing off of it. Also, the price seemed about $20 more than it should have been considering everything.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We really enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We really enjoyed our dining experience last Saturday at the Wine Clintonville. The fried green tomatoes were excellent, as well as the shrimp and risotto and crab cakes. The wine our server suggested was really good and our server was exceptional - both friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten at the Clintonville Wine Bis ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We've eaten at the Clintonville Wine Bistro a number of times and always enjoy it. This time we sat outside on a pleasant evening and just had wine and an appetizer. I like that they change their wine menu seasonally and I got their new Orvieto white which was light, fruity, and perfect for a warm summer evening. We got the meat and cheese appetizer board with warm bread and olives - very satisfying. Our server was knowledgeable, helpful and pleasant. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joanna was our sever and she was excelle ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Joanna was our sever and she was excellent !! Food and wine fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ok, so we tried it...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This place has a split personality. It does not know whether to be fancy or casual. It does not succeed at either. The food was palatable and the portions were not overwhelming, but the prices were not proportional to the value. The desserts were very disappointing. The servers were inexperienced and in need of training, but trying hard with what little experience they had. I'd go back if I had to, but there are other venues that do it better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A Friday night experience

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is defintely a place to try if you like fine wines, good food and great service! However, if you are dining inside on a Friday night, the crowd can be quite loud and boisterous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Vegetarian option, but no real vegan opt ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Vegetarian option, but no real vegan options unless you are willing to just eat salad. Nice outdoor seating. Great wine selection.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Beautiful place but my flat bread pizza ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful place but my flat bread pizza was a bit hard in spots. Wait staff is very friendly and the place again is very pretty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Favorite restaurant

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2016

Favorite restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good experience

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2016

I've never been disappointed at the Wine Bistro in Clintonville. The service there is friendly and helpful, and the food is always delicious. Great for a date, or for a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place to take a special friend

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The beverages were tops, chop - chop salad was so good, flatbread and sandwiches were great.

40 something ladies were having a birthday party, so was a bit noisy. My guest wants to go backwith her friends.

I consider Wine Bistro one of my favorite places. Prices were on the less expensive side. Great value.

Rick

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

only for wine drinkers

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2016

The Wine Bistro needs a proper bar. Out of 3 of us, only 1 drinks wine. That left the 2 of us wondering what to drink. We had the choice of Watershed vodka and gin. Because it's so botanical and strong they are not great options for mixed drinks. The beer selection was horrible. All local craft bottles and cans. What's wrong with really good German or Belgian beers. Just because it's local doesn't mean it's good.

I highly suggest the craft beer menu add ABV %.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Reservations and Patience Required

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Good food and excellent wine selection. Kitchen was very slow, server let us know the progress, but kitchen should be prepared for the dinner service. Go, be patient , enjoy an extra glass of wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Botched Reservation

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We had made a reservation through Open Table for 5 people, but the day before our reservation we found that three more people wanted to attend. I thought it would be better to call the restaurant personally to see if we could change our reservation from 5 to 8 people. The person I talked to at Wine Bistro said that was no problem. Thinking all had been taken care of, our party of 8 arrived and was told that our reservation was only for 5. Three of our friends ended up leaving because we could not all be accommodated. I would probably not go back. Also, the place is very noisy and nearly impossible to carry on a conversation at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I love its atmosphere!

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2016

To tell the truth, I had been a little bit worried about its quality of service and food because many reviewers complained about them before I arrived there. However, once I arrived at this fabulous restaurant, I just forgot about all negative things, but only positive things remained! It was great place to try out variety of wines with reasonable prices and atmosphere is just great! One thing that I was a little bit disappointed with was food. Well, food was not really amazing though, I could enjoy it. So, please, just try it out! Then you would love it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food good drink

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 24, 2016

Our first visit for dinner at The Wine Bistro at Henderson and High was pleasantly delightful. The atmosphere was so comfortable. Our server, Joe, put us at ease with the menu, answered questions and was prompt in delivering beverages and taking our order. The manager visited our table a couple times making us feel important. Three of us ordered three different choices all of which were absolutely delicious. The piano was playing in the background which made for a happy time. We will be back for sure. I would recommend the salad with added salmon. I ate it all...YUM.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & wide choice of beverage.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food & wide choice of beverage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

O verall our experience was good and the ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2016

O verall our experience was good and the food was excellent. What we were displeased with

was the $8 corkage fee on a bottle of wine we purchased with dinner. While there was a notice on the table about free corkage certain days, it was not made clear there was a usual fee on the other days. Not a pleasant surprise. Have never heard of corkage fee with wine purchased on site

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Love this place!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner out at the Wine Bistro was thoroughly enjoyable. The service was

excellent but not obtrusive; the food was delicious, and the wine was superior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and dinner!

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We were lucky enough to get to celebrate Valentine's Day a little early this year and chose to head to the Wine Bistro in Clintonville. The atmosphere, service and food were great. It's a nice romantic spot with good energy. Although the restaurant was crowded, the space still felt intimate So glad this restaurant is in the neighborhood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was quite scarce, had to ask ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Our server was quite scarce, had to ask for a second glass of wine (at a Wine Bistro) and a refill on my water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Sumptous Surprise

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Though I worked in the Clintonville area until recently, I never dined at the Wine Bistro which I regret because had I dined there, I definitely would have been a repeat customer !

Began at the bar and had a great Pinot Noir and shared a flatbread with Harvati, prosciutto and thinly sliced pears....so good.

Dined there during Restaurant Week and had a 5:30pm seating. Started with the European red wine flight and enjoyed all three selections. From their Restaurant Week choices, we chose the Winery salad, shared the Shrimp & Risotto and Chicken Saltimbocca and finished with their Maple Bourbon Bread pudding.

From start to finish it was absolutely delicious - Really high quality, flavorful and expertly seasoned food.

Lastly, the service from the time we entered, while at the bar and during our meal was perfect. All staff were warm and inviting.

Special thanks to the gentleman who served us. He was knowledgeable of the food and wine, very pleasant and personable and gave us just the right amount of attention.

We plan to return soon and can't wait to enjoy their outside seating this summer.

Much thanks to the Wine Bistro for a very enjoyable dining experience !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week and were really pleased with our evening. We were seated right away and though our server had way too many tables (definitely not his fault!), he was good about checking in as often as he could. All three dishes were great and I enjoyed my wine flight, which had an adorable presentation. I would definitely go back--apparently corking fees are waived Mondays and Tuesdays (and maybe Sundays?). Good to know. Very cool ambiance, good service, tasty food, delicious wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2016

I went to The Wine Bistro Clintonville with a small group of friends (total of 4 people) looking to experience a new restaurant for restaurant week. We were really disappointed with the service. Our waiter was extremely flat and borderline rude during our whole time there. We understood he was probably overwhelmed since it was busy for restaurant week, but the level of his rudeness was unwarranted . The food was great, but our experience overall fell short.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.