About Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn

136 East Francis Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

A Classic Menu with a Local Twist. Our culinary team, led by award-winning Executive Chef Travis Brust, has created a menu inspired by the rich food history of the Inn and complimented by the food art of today featuring seasonal Virginia bounty. The menu features classic favorites, as well as avant-garde selections that will satisfy the most discerning foodies. Be sure to join us on Saturday evenings for light piano music 6-7 p.m. and a live band and dancing 7-10 p.m.

All guests dining in the Regency Room are asked to honor the following dress standard:
Dinner is Business Casual.
Slacks and collared shirts. Jackets and ties are optional.
Breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea is Resort Casual.
Denim, walking shorts and T-shirts for men and similar attire for women is appropriate.
Terrace Room dress standard is Resort Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
The Regency Room will be closed January 2nd and remains close until the Williamsburg Inn hotel reopens in April.

Normal Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Sun-Sat 7:30-10 a.m.
Dinner Wed-Sat 6-9 p.m.



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/resort-restaurants/terrace-room/

Executive Chef:
Travis Brust

Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (23)
Live Music (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Historic (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Dancing (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

dinner on new years eve was moved from r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

dinner on new years eve was moved from regency to Rockefeller room

Food was far inferior to what we have been accustomed to at the Inn.

Service was polite, but not polished at all.

the evening ended up being nothing special.

the evening before we dined in the Tavern Room at the Inn. Our waitress was not what we have been accustomed to there. It took 30 minutes before she took our drink order and it wasn't even busy...........she had her coat on, ready to leave for the night, before we finished signing our bill.

All in all, our visit this time was disappointing. It has been sooooo GOOD in the past, that's why we have returned again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Was a great way to spend New Years eve. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was a great way to spend New Years eve. Service was outstanding as was the food. Expensive so not something would do everyday but a nice way to celebrate the end and beginning of the year...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a delicious meal in the Regency R ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a delicious meal in the Regency Room enhanced by lovely live piano music.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Very nice but not awesome. I expected a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very nice but not awesome. I expected a bit more from the Williamsburg Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This the third year we have dined at the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This the third year we have dined at the Regency Room for a post Christmas get together with old friends. The food, service and ambiance is superb. A real five star experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twelve of us, 3 generations, gathered in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Twelve of us, 3 generations, gathered in Williamsburg to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Because if three little ones ages 4-9, we had 6:30 reservations. No cocktails were ordered in the interest of time. No orders taken for some time. No food was seen until 8 PM!!! One and a half hours from our arrival. Unbelievable! And even then it was only because we finally asked that regardless of adult meals to PLEASE serve the children. Such a disappointment for an elegant setting on a very special day. Serious reorganization is needed during the winter hiatus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Food & service were substandard for this ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food & service were substandard for this level of dining.

We & our friends were very disappointed with our overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Celebrated our anniversary....and the Re ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary....and the Regency Room again did not fail to impress. This is a gem in Williamsburg! Highly recommend for any occasion but it's special for those special occasions....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Christmas season dinner with our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Family Christmas season dinner with our children and 3 grandchildren. They had a wonderful children's menu and the grand kids started off with Shirley Temples and ended the dinner with banana splits - they loved it. Everyone enjoyed their dinner and the service was first class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a wonderful anniversar ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful anniversary and birthday dinner at the Regency Room. My wife and I were married on her birthday, so each year it is a special occasion to be well celebrated. The Regency Room helped us do just that. The staff welcomed us warmly and congratulated us on our anniversary and my wife's birthday. They seated us in a cozy table for two next to a window which looked out into an atrium. We chose the chef's tasting menu and were not disappointed. The timing of the servings was perfect, and the serving sizes were just right. We enjoy doing chef's tasting menus when at all possible since we get to experience the best the chef has to offer, and we seldom leave any restaurant feeling too full. That was our experience at the Regency Room as well. At the end of the meal our kind attendant served us two extra plates of chocolates, with Happy Anniversary and Happy Birthday written in chocolate. We had a great time!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our 45th anniversary and w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We celebrated our 45th anniversary and we could not have asked for anything better. We loved the pianist and he played several of our songs. Everything about the restaurant was terrific. We especially enjoyed the relaxed paced of the dinner!

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant dining. Wonderful service and mu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Elegant dining. Wonderful service and music. We thought we found our new special place, but understand that new management id's going to destroy the elegance and ambience

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a huge disappointment. There were 5 ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 10, 2016

What a huge disappointment. There were 5 of us in the party, and 4 of us chose to order the 7-course meal for $125.00. Look, we spend a lot of time in France. So while we understand the concept of nouvelle cuisine, our main course took up about one-tenth of the dinner plate. Never seen anything so absurd. The chocolate shuffle dessert was boggy and dense. Yuck. Overall the food was average at best. Our bill was nearly $1,000. As we walked into the restaurant, we had heard another couple say, "We will never come back to this restaurant again." Now we understand exactly what they meant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very elegant, piano music, great food, e ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very elegant, piano music, great food, excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mostly a wonderful experience. We were d ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Mostly a wonderful experience. We were disappointed with the relaxed dress code. Coat and tie not required anymore. The wine list is outrageously priced. The service was near perfect, no one brought bread. All in all, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant, classy, warm, and a true "five ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Elegant, classy, warm, and a true "five star" dining experience. A more than friendly staff, equally matched by the excellent cuisine. If you're traveling to Williamsburg, this is by far, your best dining option!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the overall dining experi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Unfortunately the overall dining experience has not kept up with the price. We have dined here several times in the past , with the fondest of memories , however , we were quite disappointed this weekend. The food remains excellent though we felt rushed through dinner and the ambiance was dull and the service rather perfunctory. We understand changes are to come and they truly need it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

First time visiting, definitely will ret ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 2, 2016

First time visiting, definitely will return food and service fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food at the Inn. Only complaint is the service was very slow. Probably due to maintaining a relaxing dining experience but over 2 hours was a little too long. It was not very busy but as mentioned I think they try to not rush you out.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A taste of heaven. I had a most pleasu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A taste of heaven. I had a most pleasurable dinner here. Delicious food, attentive, understated wait staff, luxurious ambianice. Heavenly!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One mod those opportunities you take adv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One mod those opportunities you take advantage of when you can, and it did not disappoint. Everything was exceptional from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were engaged there and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I were engaged there and have been married for 13 years. We decided to have a date night there while in Williamsburg. The food was absolutely exquisite and the service exceptional. Mr. Polk was quite the waiter that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an iconic American dining experi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is an iconic American dining experience in a beautiful setting. George was very kind and focused on making our evening a pleasure - which he did!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a wonderful evening on Saturday n ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful evening on Saturday night. They have a piano player when we were there 6-7 and at 7pm a 3 piece group played great music to dance to, casual mood music not rock and roll. It was a wonderful evening except for the sidecar martini I ordered. The drink taste was great but they don't know how to fill a martini glass up. Even after my wife mentioned this they brought a very small amount out less than a 1/2 shot of mixer. I recommend you pass on the mixed drinks.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very sorry to hear that this classic and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very sorry to hear that this classic and well-known restaurant will be "going away" in favor of more casual dining. This trend is unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the tasting menu. One of the best m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had the tasting menu. One of the best meals we have had in a long time! Very special atmosphere-candlelight, piano player, beautiful place settings and decor. Perfect birthday dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We know that this restaurant is in for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We know that this restaurant is in for a big change in the not-too-distant future and it's probably time to move on but my wife and I will cherish the memories of some very pleasant evenings in this dining room. The gracious hospitality, unhurried dining experience and warmth of the staff are a relic of a bygone age which we will sadly miss.

We wish everyone well with the future state and offer enormous thanks for the past.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overpriced. Average food . Ordered cha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Overpriced. Average food . Ordered champagne and had to wait for it to be chilled. Bread consisted of one small roll per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Prices keep rising while food was not as ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Prices keep rising while food was not as good as previous times...no longer worth the 40-minute ride. Particularly wanted to dance during dinner, asked for a 7 PM reservation; was told the first available was 8PM. When we arrived at 8, the restaurant was less than half full. Very disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant is a "must see". The ex ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This restaurant is a "must see". The experience is unforgettable with good food, live music in an historic Inn and refined dancing. We ordered the tasting menu and were surprised at the variety of tastes provided. The raw scallops were too difficult to digest and we each tried, but stopped eating them. Maybe a warning should be provided that the tasting menu does have uncooked food. That would have helped so that we may be offered an alternative. Our waiter was absolutely excellent throughout the evening and due to the lengthy tasting menu, we saw people come, eat and go and continued enjoying the atmosphere and music throughout the evening. The Inn is a wonderful place to visit and I would never stay at the Inn without enjoying dinner at the Regency Restaurant.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good and the live j ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was very good and the live jazz band added to the ambience.

We had steak and my Wife's was not done to her liking and mine was barely warm. On the second try my Wife's meal was good and my steak was still barely warm. When spending this much money for a night out at a nice restaurant I expect my food to be hot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu less than what was expected / prici ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Menu less than what was expected / pricing a bit high for what was provided

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

regency room was outstanding in service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

regency room was outstanding in service and food quality. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten in the Regency dining room ma ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Have eaten in the Regency dining room many times but not for several years. My wife and I were very disappointed to see how much downhill people dining with such casual attire. In fact we were shocked to see the dress of diners eating dinner. We will eat elsewhere next time we visit our beloved Williamsburg.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

outstanding! oustanding! outstanding! wh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

outstanding! oustanding! outstanding! what more can I say

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 53rd wedding anniversary. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It was our 53rd wedding anniversary. We had previously visited the Open Table for our 8th (in 1971) and 49th (in 2012 where we met then Sen. Kerry) anniversary dinners. We have always considered this a special place unlike any other restaurant we visit (I even wear a tie). The matre' d met and called us by name and congratulating us on our anniversary. He and the waiter were attentive without being obtrusive. The piano player played a request (Moonlight in Vermont) which is special to my wife, who was born there and where we were married. All in all a delightful experience, and if we can, we will return there.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service in an elegant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very good food and service in an elegant dining room but the prices will require you to take out a second mortgage in order to pay for it. The food, while very good, doesnt merit the prices charged.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Dancing, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Thank you for making our evening special ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Thank you for making our evening special. The food was incredible & the service was spot-on.

Tags: Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want to experience what true fine ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

If you want to experience what true fine dining is, then visit the Regency Inn. Chef Travis Brust is a award wining executive chef and the experience he creates is nothing short of amazing. He is a true artist. The entire team was kind and attentive. I can't wait to go back and add another life memory from Chef Brust and his team at the Regency Inn. Bravo!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Dancing, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still as nice as I remember. Great food, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Still as nice as I remember.

Great food, service and ambiance.

Expensive but a real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.