About Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn

136 East Francis Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

A Classic Menu with a Local Twist. Our culinary team, led by award-winning Executive Chef Travis Brust, has created a menu inspired by the rich food history of the Inn and complimented by the food art of today featuring seasonal Virginia bounty. The menu features classic favorites, as well as avant-garde selections that will satisfy the most discerning foodies. Be sure to join us on Saturday evenings for light piano music 6-7 p.m. and a live band and dancing 7-10 p.m.

All guests dining in the Regency Room are asked to honor the following dress standard:
Dinner is Business Casual.
Slacks and collared shirts. Jackets and ties are optional.
Breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea is Resort Casual.
Denim, walking shorts and T-shirts for men and similar attire for women is appropriate.
Terrace Room dress standard is Resort Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Sun-Sat 7:30-10 a.m.
Dinner Wed-Sat 6-9 p.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/resort-restaurants/terrace-room/

Executive Chef:
Travis Brust

Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
5 More
Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg

special occasion (29)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (14)
See All
scenic view (9)
fit for foodies (8)
great for brunch (6)
good for groups (4)
Sort By:
Newest
116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A special treat is high tea at the Inn. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A special treat is high tea at the Inn. Pricey, but you will be pampered. Great for mothers and daughters especially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The following is taken from our Trip Adv ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The following is taken from our Trip Advisor submittal...

Saw a new feature at the Inn's webpage, the Regency Room's early bird dining 3 course meal serving from 4:30 to 5:30 (PM). We were warmly greeted by the maitre d', then escorted to our window side table. We received pretzel rolls accompanied by a dish of whipped butter. In a few moments, Darrick, our evenings server, arrived welcoming us to the dining room. Handing us two simple, but expertly organized and illustrated menus, we browsed the evening's menu choices. As usual, beverage orders were taken first and quickly fulfilled. My wife and I chose salads for the 1st course. I chose salmon for the entrée, my wife the pork tenderloin. The salads were a mix of greens, pear slivers, caramelized pecans, a smattering of goat cheese, with raspberry balsamic reduction drizzled on the plate. Fresh and flavorful! The salmon arrived beautifully presented, perfectly cooked (glazed with a buttery flavor) sitting atop a delicious combination of cooked very small potatoes (the snap experienced biting into the potato was a surprise but a nice touch and delicious), asparagus, walnut pieces, corn and small cooked tomatoes (they really squirt when you bite them). My wife's pork tenderloin was served sitting on the orzo pasta, squash, tomato accompaniment with a grilled bread medallion completing the presentation. The pork was tender and tasty, and the pasta combination delicious and cooked perfectly. Our course 3 dessert choices; lemon cloud for my wife, ice cream for me. Lemon cloud is a dish with tart lemon curd on bottom, topped with whipped cream, blueberries and 1 (tuile cookie). She thoroughly enjoyed the combination and delicious end to her meal. My butter pecan ice cream was creamy and rich. Our service was perfect with Darrick checking on us just enough and expressing his sincere interest in our enjoying our experience. He even brought us a small gift, Happy Anniversary in chocolate script with 2 truffles.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unbelievable experience. Great in every ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Unbelievable experience. Great in every way. We have been here three times over the years, and were not disappointed any time. This visit we had the Tasting Menu. Wow! Every course was wonderful. For the Fromage and Dessert courses, we clearly received the menu sizes, not the tasting menu amounts. Very tasty and imaginative. Our server was attentive, but not hovering. She did a great job and was helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, creative entrees in a opulent ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful, creative entrees in a opulent and beautiful dining room. Grand piano playing during dinner enhanced the meal and was a nice treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not fantastic -- g ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good but not fantastic -- got off to a bad start with server's maybe not being informed that we were at our table and waiting for 10 minutes -- ultimately things improved and server removed cost of two Manhattans from our bill -- have eaten at this restaurant in various renditions numerous times over the years, altho haven't been there for several years -- believe it to be overpriced and I would choose another Williamsburg restaurant the next time I am there -- $50-some dollars for a beef entree is just wrong -- shared my experience with others I ran into and was given suggestions for restaurants that would be good current substitutes. FYI Last week had dinner at 2941 in Falls Church - better experience and less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My husband and I were celebrating our 53 ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 53d wedding anniversary with our dearest friends last Saturday evening (June 11, 2016). We had given a dinner party in the Regency Room in 2013 with several family members and friends to celebrate our 50th anniversary, and everything was perfect. Last Saturday George was our waiter, and the service was superb. The food was exquisite, the music lovely, and the ambience delightful. It is so nice to find a dining room where the majority of diners are dressed for a special occasion (jackets and ties for men, "dressy" dresses for women). So many restaurants have eliminated a dress code, but we believe that a special occasion should require a special level of dress for both men and women. We are already planning our 54th anniversary dinner with the same couple next year and are looking forward to it enormously. We hope that The Regency Room will maintain its outstanding quality in every way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dated, dated, dated. Beautiful room but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Dated, dated, dated. Beautiful room but the food just average (time to update that menu!) and server just seemed defeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Another great meal at the Williamsburg Inn!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had dinner for our 27th wedding anniversary and it was awesome. The food and the service were both terrific. Everything from the salads to dessert was fantastic!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor Afternoon Tea Experience

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were expecting the usual high end afternoon tea as it is served in England. So - very disappointed with it. It was pretty pricey for what we received. Room looked lovely when we arrived - no one else was there. We were served a glass of champagne and a 3 tiered tray with the food. Tea sandwiches - 3 per person were terrible. Where was the serving cart where we got to make our own selection? Small round with smoked salmon (ok), deviled ham (awful) and cucumber (insignificant). We asked for another glass of champagne but that is an additional charge. Scones and desserts were good but nothing special. We've been to London so know what afternoon tea should be. This is not worth the $$$$ spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Special Place for a Special Time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The menu is well thought out and absolutely delicious! Enjoy, but the price makes it for special occassions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dining experience.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Superb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant features one of the fine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant features one of the finest chefs in Virginia. If you are looking for a superior fine dining experience, look no further.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was on my own for the evening after my ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was on my own for the evening after my son's graduation. I've eaten here before and have never been disappointed. Service was excellent, food fantastic, and the music was lovely. Can't ask for more from a restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was impeccable. Te food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

the service was impeccable. Te food was prepared very well. WIll revisit when in the area.h

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day evening. Life piano music w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day evening. Life piano music was wonderful. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service, lovely ambience, good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Attentive service, lovely ambience, good food. Menu somewhat limited.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had high hopes for the Regency Room. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had high hopes for the Regency Room. But regrettably the food is mediocre (especially at these prices). The service is awkward: The waiters fawn over you, but the wine we ordered never arrived, and there was far too much waiting time in between courses. A dull, undistinguished, wholly disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Spectacular Dining Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

What a treat. Service was outstanding, the room beautiful and the food unbelievable. There are very few places that do it so well. As my 16 year old said, he had never been to such a wonderful restaurant because it wasn't just great food, it was an experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food not as expected

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was slow, wait staff seemed over worked and/or under-staffed. Steak was good, but braised beef rib was dry and nothing more than a pot roast on top of mashed potatoes and some brocoli...disappointing considering 1 appetizer (shared), 2 meals, 1/2 bottle wine, and 1 desert (shared) cost almost $200 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Dining Experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had fish and filet of tenderloin. Each was cooked to perfection and was knock your socks off great! Charles was our waiter (ask for him) and he was perfect. Knows all the right things to talk about and never once waited for any requests. Seems like he knows what you want before you even ask him for something. Service was instant and the dining lasted for about 2 hours. Wish it would have never ended. This is pure old fashion southern hospitality and fine dining rolled into one. The wine list is incredible. Can't wait for the next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious & Special Dining Experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Three of us went for dinner on a Sat. night to celebrate a birthday. The music was very enjoyable and festive. My lobster bisque was disappointing. I was expecting a white cream base, but it wasn't and there was very little lobster. It reminded me of a butternut soup in taste and color. The Crabmeat Randolph was divine. Lots of crab, very tasty. The filet was not as delicate as I would have expected for the price. It was on the chewy side. Cream Brulee was tasty, but nothing special. Our CA wine was superb, but it was marked up over triple what it can be purchased for at a store. For the price, Fat Canary offers better tasting option at more reasonable prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful brunch in the Regency Room. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and the music added to a lovely atmosphere and time.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere; great food; lovely ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere; great food; lovely live music; unpolished service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great formal dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

A warm,friendly, and elegant place to have a memorable dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Band

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

The band is very good and there is a quite reasonable dance floor.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best thing in Williamsburg, RIP.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The place was packed (plus an overflow room) for New Year's Eve. The food was the best we've enjoyed there in 22 years, and was equal to the best we've had in anywhere in the world. The Regency Room's executive chef Travis Brust is now absolutely on par with Alain Ducasse (the latter being one of only two chefs worldwide to hold 21 Michelin stars throughout his career). Too bad the former will only be open for 6 out of 12 months from now on, with a "popularized" menu. Congratulations, CW, you've just admitted you have no idea how to monetize success. And proven once again, that history does repeat itself here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regency Room joy during the holidays.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Always enjoy dining at the Inn during the holiday season. Great Christmas atmosphere, exceptional service and tasty food make it an annual must in Williamsburg!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grand service, delicious food, stuffy atmosphere

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

The Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn defines fine dining in Williamsburg, Virginia. The service was unparalleled, with attentive yet unobtrusive care given to everyone at our table. Still, a very quiet environment with nary a musical note to be heard combined with traditional and uninspired decor to deliver a dining experience that could not be memorable for its setting. The meal, fortunately, was outstanding. We could not have asked for a more delicious vegetarian entrée than the kitchen delivered, and the fact that they did so without direction from us was fabulous. The special, a skirt steak with a pan-Asian twist, was delectable. The other mains we tried were great, too, and the special touches such as the pineapple sherbet or the salmon tartare were memorable. An evening at the Regency Room will be an evening well spent, but be sure to book your reservation at a time you know will have some live music to brighten things up a bit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We booked this for a graduation celebration. The atmosphere and live music were great. Service was far below par. The champagne we ordered as a cocktail arrived after we finished our salads, we seemed to be unable to attract the attention of he wine steward, and our mains must've been waiting for a while because when they came to the table the food was not hot. We had retuned here for this special night but based upon lousy service, we won't be back. For the price, there are many dining options in Williamsburg with much better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Wonderful atmosphere, inconstant food & service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

A pleasant evening with excellent piano music. My wife enjoyed a wonderful Halibut dinner. I wish I'd ordered something other than that schnitzel, however, as it wasn't anything special. The Lobster bisque had a really bad soapy, sour taste, we sent it back and decided to pass on soup. We appreciated that we weren't charged. Service by Don Meyer was inconsistent, and varied from non at all to overwhelming. It was a very relaxing evening so we weren't in a hurry.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent as usual!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

The most elegant of restaurants. Excellent food , service snd ambience!! Could not have been better for a Holiday family dinner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining; good food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

The restaurant is fine dining so unless you are prepared to spend at least $150-$200 for two people, this isn't the place for you. The food is excellent each time we go but this last time the service was not up to par in our opinion. The dining room is spacious so you won't have someone behind you banging the back of your chair when they go to get up. Also since the tables are spread far apart you can have an intimate conversation without having to yell to the other people at your table. The live piano music is wonderful, too.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The Regency Room at the Wmsbg. Inn is a treasure!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

As residents of Williamsburg, we appreciate that the Regency Room maintains a traditional ambiance and a disappearing level of service; it truly is a local treasure. We dined just after the fireworks on the night of Grand Illumination and our meal was a perfect finale to the evening. We arrived 45 minutes early but were seated quickly by two very gracious hostesses. We were immediately greeted at the table by our excellent waiter and later visited by the manager/sommelier to ensure the quality of our meals and wines. Dinner was delightful and the only reason for one less star for the food rating is that my dish was not as warm as was expected. A small concern overall for what was otherwise a fantastic evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overrated

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 7, 2015

My filet was ordered med well and I received it very red inside. It was also not at all tender. Had to send it back to be cooked more. My spouses dinner was just okay but not at all warm. For the money it certainly wasn't worth it. We've had much better meals at restaurants that charge half the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Excellent food & service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The menu has excellent variety, the food is gourmet quality, and Stuart is an outstanding server.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Very Special Restaurant

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

My husband and I have enjoyed many beautiful evenings in this restaurant during our visits to Colonial Williamsburg. The Regency Room is elegant, the service is impeccable and the food is wonderful. Despite its formal atmosphere it is very welcoming, thanks to the staff. Our waiter Don was friendly and a great ambassador for Colonial Williamsburg. This is an expensive evening out, but a perfect spot for special occasions and the increasingly rare elegant dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very disappointed

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Are food was so bland however the regency salad was a few pieces of lettuce and a pecan unbelievable for 15.00 dollars , the red cabbage was the best of all. The wiener schnitzel was like a hungry man TV dinner Luke warm with a few pieces of spatter .

Roll the taste of pretzel was cold .

I cannot believe you are a high end resturant and so glad we didn't take friends or family.

As soon as we left we went to dine else where because we were hungey sad after 124.00 dollars later.

My husband wanted so badly to address this issue that evening and I said no there's no point however now that you ask I am being totally honest, I feel cheated and had considered dining there for Christmas with family .

Even if you Compt us a dinner I imagine the food would be the same .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Nana

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The ambiance and service were good but the food was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Sophisticated Dining Worthy of a Bygone Era

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The Regency Room provides an opportunity for fine dining at a leisurely pace. The attention to details, service, and décor are of a level not easily found in other fine dining venues. Our compliments to Don and the entire service team for making our evening special.

The band adds a special touch on Saturday evenings for those who enjoy live music and the opportunity to do a bit of dancing.

Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service here is impeccable, and the ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

The service here is impeccable, and the food is creative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.