About Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn

136 East Francis Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

A Classic Menu with a Local Twist. Our culinary team, led by award-winning Executive Chef Travis Brust, has created a menu inspired by the rich food history of the Inn and complimented by the food art of today featuring seasonal Virginia bounty. The menu features classic favorites, as well as avant-garde selections that will satisfy the most discerning foodies. Be sure to join us on Saturday evenings for light piano music 6-7 p.m. and a live band and dancing 7-10 p.m.

All guests dining in the Regency Room are asked to honor the following dress standard:
Dinner is Business Casual.
Slacks and collared shirts. Jackets and ties are optional.
Breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea is Resort Casual.
Denim, walking shorts and T-shirts for men and similar attire for women is appropriate.
Terrace Room dress standard is Resort Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Sun-Sat 7:30-10 a.m.
Dinner Wed-Sat 6-9 p.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/resort-restaurants/terrace-room/

Executive Chef:
Travis Brust

Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
7 More
Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
Fit for Foodies
Williamsburg
Romantic
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (10)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Historic (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Dancing (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were celebrating our anniversary at t ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary at the inn because we had our wedding dinner there 16 yrs earlier. We've been a few times over the years and the cuisine/service has ebbed and flowed between good and ok. Our Saturday evening dinner proved to be the bet experience we've had there since our wedding. The service was excellent and the cuisine was inventive and delicious. Nice band you could dance to ( soft not loud or invasive to conversation). A little pricey but worth it. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Regency is a wonderful restaurant. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Regency is a wonderful restaurant. The service is impeccable and the food marvelous.

You cannot go wrong here.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Dancing, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my parents 60th wedd ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were celebrating my parents 60th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect evening. The food was outstanding, service was exceptional, the dining room was beautiful... They congratulated my parents for this special occasion, which was very kind and thoughtful. It was a truly special evening in an exceptional restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely over the top outstanding - - ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely over the top outstanding - - everything from the impeccable service, the atmosphere, and superb (simply superb!) food. Nothing lacks here nor needs to be changed, a complete gem from top to bottom.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We so enjoyed our dinner...special thank ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We so enjoyed our dinner...special thanks to our waiter George who made it even more special with his friendly, efficient manner. Lucky, lucky us. Visiting for two nights...perfect ending to a terrific getaway.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very historic but dining room dated. Fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very historic but dining room dated. Food was nothing special, not nearly as good as I recall from years ago. Service was excellent. Pianist was very good, but I still remember their having a harpist years ago, which was a very special experience and memory.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We found the menu quite limited. More pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We found the menu quite limited. More problematic was that the value simply wasn't there. I got the filet - $54 and it was no more than 5-6 oz. The starch consisted of five potato slices smaller than a french fry. This for the same pricing one pays at the best NY or Chicago steak houses. We went home hungry. No wonder the dining room was almost empty. Too sad - 10 years ago the place was packed! I will say that the hotel's GM was quite responsive to my comments the next day and promised to share them with the chef and others.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We celebrated a significant anniversary, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We celebrated a significant anniversary, and found it very romantic. Only about six tables were filled on a Wednesday evening. Thus, the noise level was nonexistent, allowing us to enjoy the pianist play of older show tunes and standards.

The service was quite refined. We are not oenophiles and were gratified that the server did not react in a haughty way when we simply ordered two glasses of non-exalted red wine. We were seated by a window and enjoyed the views of the hotel grounds.

The lobster bisque and Crabmeat Randolph were both enjoyable, as were the breads, the sorbet and complimentary appetizer (gravlox that evening). The filet of beef was memorable; the braised short rib less so, but still excellent.

Note that this restaurant only serves dinner Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How great to go to a place where people ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

How great to go to a place where people dress up for dinner, service and food is impeccable, the pianist played wonderfully, and the pace was great! It was a very special evening as we were celebrating our anniversary. The Regency Room at the Inn made it another moment to remember. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an anniversary dinner which was ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner which was made very special by the service, ambiance, and the exceptional dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a pricey dinner. Not exactly worth ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is a pricey dinner. Not exactly worth the price but it was a fun evening. I probably won't go back simply because for the cost. I did not leave feeling it was a 4 star experience.

The service was excellent and they were highly attentive.

The main course, filet of beef for my boyfriend, duck for me, were both delicious. The appetizer, Caesar salad was underwhelming. For the price, I had higher expectations but then again it was just a salad. My date had the lobster bisque. It was good but not spectacular. Both not worth the price though.

The drink selection was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Loved this restaurant. Beautiful dining ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Loved this restaurant. Beautiful dining room and lovely piano music. The wait staff is very attentive. Food was excellent. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right in the heart of Colonial Williamsb ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Right in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg, afternoon tea at the Regency Room was a nice experience.

However, our scones were boarder line burned and looked like something you could buy from the grocery bakery. Also, most places give two flavors of scones per person, here we just got 2 of the same. Between the lemon filled fruit tart, lemon cake and lemon curd, our service was a bit heavy on the lemon. Some variety would have been nice. Our server sweet but we did have to wait a bit a few times to get refills as I believe she also had to work the other room. Our room however was not busy with only two other tables seated.

The tea selections were good and the ambiance is nice.

Overall it was a nice afternoon. The price is fair and includes a glass of champagne or cider.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A special treat is high tea at the Inn. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A special treat is high tea at the Inn. Pricey, but you will be pampered. Great for mothers and daughters especially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The following is taken from our Trip Adv ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The following is taken from our Trip Advisor submittal...

Saw a new feature at the Inn's webpage, the Regency Room's early bird dining 3 course meal serving from 4:30 to 5:30 (PM). We were warmly greeted by the maitre d', then escorted to our window side table. We received pretzel rolls accompanied by a dish of whipped butter. In a few moments, Darrick, our evenings server, arrived welcoming us to the dining room. Handing us two simple, but expertly organized and illustrated menus, we browsed the evening's menu choices. As usual, beverage orders were taken first and quickly fulfilled. My wife and I chose salads for the 1st course. I chose salmon for the entrée, my wife the pork tenderloin. The salads were a mix of greens, pear slivers, caramelized pecans, a smattering of goat cheese, with raspberry balsamic reduction drizzled on the plate. Fresh and flavorful! The salmon arrived beautifully presented, perfectly cooked (glazed with a buttery flavor) sitting atop a delicious combination of cooked very small potatoes (the snap experienced biting into the potato was a surprise but a nice touch and delicious), asparagus, walnut pieces, corn and small cooked tomatoes (they really squirt when you bite them). My wife's pork tenderloin was served sitting on the orzo pasta, squash, tomato accompaniment with a grilled bread medallion completing the presentation. The pork was tender and tasty, and the pasta combination delicious and cooked perfectly. Our course 3 dessert choices; lemon cloud for my wife, ice cream for me. Lemon cloud is a dish with tart lemon curd on bottom, topped with whipped cream, blueberries and 1 (tuile cookie). She thoroughly enjoyed the combination and delicious end to her meal. My butter pecan ice cream was creamy and rich. Our service was perfect with Darrick checking on us just enough and expressing his sincere interest in our enjoying our experience. He even brought us a small gift, Happy Anniversary in chocolate script with 2 truffles.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unbelievable experience. Great in every ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Unbelievable experience. Great in every way. We have been here three times over the years, and were not disappointed any time. This visit we had the Tasting Menu. Wow! Every course was wonderful. For the Fromage and Dessert courses, we clearly received the menu sizes, not the tasting menu amounts. Very tasty and imaginative. Our server was attentive, but not hovering. She did a great job and was helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful, creative entrees in a opulent ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Wonderful, creative entrees in a opulent and beautiful dining room. Grand piano playing during dinner enhanced the meal and was a nice treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but not fantastic -- g ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good but not fantastic -- got off to a bad start with server's maybe not being informed that we were at our table and waiting for 10 minutes -- ultimately things improved and server removed cost of two Manhattans from our bill -- have eaten at this restaurant in various renditions numerous times over the years, altho haven't been there for several years -- believe it to be overpriced and I would choose another Williamsburg restaurant the next time I am there -- $50-some dollars for a beef entree is just wrong -- shared my experience with others I ran into and was given suggestions for restaurants that would be good current substitutes. FYI Last week had dinner at 2941 in Falls Church - better experience and less expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

My husband and I were celebrating our 53 ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 53d wedding anniversary with our dearest friends last Saturday evening (June 11, 2016). We had given a dinner party in the Regency Room in 2013 with several family members and friends to celebrate our 50th anniversary, and everything was perfect. Last Saturday George was our waiter, and the service was superb. The food was exquisite, the music lovely, and the ambience delightful. It is so nice to find a dining room where the majority of diners are dressed for a special occasion (jackets and ties for men, "dressy" dresses for women). So many restaurants have eliminated a dress code, but we believe that a special occasion should require a special level of dress for both men and women. We are already planning our 54th anniversary dinner with the same couple next year and are looking forward to it enormously. We hope that The Regency Room will maintain its outstanding quality in every way.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dated, dated, dated. Beautiful room but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Dated, dated, dated. Beautiful room but the food just average (time to update that menu!) and server just seemed defeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Another great meal at the Williamsburg Inn!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had dinner for our 27th wedding anniversary and it was awesome. The food and the service were both terrific. Everything from the salads to dessert was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor Afternoon Tea Experience

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We were expecting the usual high end afternoon tea as it is served in England. So - very disappointed with it. It was pretty pricey for what we received. Room looked lovely when we arrived - no one else was there. We were served a glass of champagne and a 3 tiered tray with the food. Tea sandwiches - 3 per person were terrible. Where was the serving cart where we got to make our own selection? Small round with smoked salmon (ok), deviled ham (awful) and cucumber (insignificant). We asked for another glass of champagne but that is an additional charge. Scones and desserts were good but nothing special. We've been to London so know what afternoon tea should be. This is not worth the $$$$ spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Special Place for a Special Time

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The menu is well thought out and absolutely delicious! Enjoy, but the price makes it for special occassions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dining experience.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Superb dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant features one of the fine ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This restaurant features one of the finest chefs in Virginia. If you are looking for a superior fine dining experience, look no further.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was on my own for the evening after my ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was on my own for the evening after my son's graduation. I've eaten here before and have never been disappointed. Service was excellent, food fantastic, and the music was lovely. Can't ask for more from a restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was impeccable. Te food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

the service was impeccable. Te food was prepared very well. WIll revisit when in the area.h

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day evening. Life piano music w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day evening. Life piano music was wonderful. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service, lovely ambience, good ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Attentive service, lovely ambience, good food. Menu somewhat limited.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had high hopes for the Regency Room. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had high hopes for the Regency Room. But regrettably the food is mediocre (especially at these prices). The service is awkward: The waiters fawn over you, but the wine we ordered never arrived, and there was far too much waiting time in between courses. A dull, undistinguished, wholly disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Spectacular Dining Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

What a treat. Service was outstanding, the room beautiful and the food unbelievable. There are very few places that do it so well. As my 16 year old said, he had never been to such a wonderful restaurant because it wasn't just great food, it was an experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food not as expected

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was slow, wait staff seemed over worked and/or under-staffed. Steak was good, but braised beef rib was dry and nothing more than a pot roast on top of mashed potatoes and some brocoli...disappointing considering 1 appetizer (shared), 2 meals, 1/2 bottle wine, and 1 desert (shared) cost almost $200 before tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Dining Experience

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had fish and filet of tenderloin. Each was cooked to perfection and was knock your socks off great! Charles was our waiter (ask for him) and he was perfect. Knows all the right things to talk about and never once waited for any requests. Seems like he knows what you want before you even ask him for something. Service was instant and the dining lasted for about 2 hours. Wish it would have never ended. This is pure old fashion southern hospitality and fine dining rolled into one. The wine list is incredible. Can't wait for the next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious & Special Dining Experience

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Three of us went for dinner on a Sat. night to celebrate a birthday. The music was very enjoyable and festive. My lobster bisque was disappointing. I was expecting a white cream base, but it wasn't and there was very little lobster. It reminded me of a butternut soup in taste and color. The Crabmeat Randolph was divine. Lots of crab, very tasty. The filet was not as delicate as I would have expected for the price. It was on the chewy side. Cream Brulee was tasty, but nothing special. Our CA wine was superb, but it was marked up over triple what it can be purchased for at a store. For the price, Fat Canary offers better tasting option at more reasonable prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a delightful brunch in the Regency Room. The food was delicious, the service was excellent and the music added to a lovely atmosphere and time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere; great food; lovely ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere; great food; lovely live music; unpolished service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great formal dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

A warm,friendly, and elegant place to have a memorable dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Band

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

The band is very good and there is a quite reasonable dance floor.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best thing in Williamsburg, RIP.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The place was packed (plus an overflow room) for New Year's Eve. The food was the best we've enjoyed there in 22 years, and was equal to the best we've had in anywhere in the world. The Regency Room's executive chef Travis Brust is now absolutely on par with Alain Ducasse (the latter being one of only two chefs worldwide to hold 21 Michelin stars throughout his career). Too bad the former will only be open for 6 out of 12 months from now on, with a "popularized" menu. Congratulations, CW, you've just admitted you have no idea how to monetize success. And proven once again, that history does repeat itself here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regency Room joy during the holidays.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Always enjoy dining at the Inn during the holiday season. Great Christmas atmosphere, exceptional service and tasty food make it an annual must in Williamsburg!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.