About Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn

136 East Francis Street
Williamsburg, VA 23185
View Larger Map

A Classic Menu with a Local Twist. Our culinary team, led by award-winning Executive Chef Travis Brust, has created a menu inspired by the rich food history of the Inn and complimented by the food art of today featuring seasonal Virginia bounty. The menu features classic favorites, as well as avant-garde selections that will satisfy the most discerning foodies. Be sure to join us on Saturday evenings for light piano music 6-7 p.m. and a live band and dancing 7-10 p.m.

All guests dining in the Regency Room are asked to honor the following dress standard:
Dinner is Business Casual.
Slacks and collared shirts. Jackets and ties are optional.
Breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea is Resort Casual.
Denim, walking shorts and T-shirts for men and similar attire for women is appropriate.
Terrace Room dress standard is Resort Casual.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Sun-Sat 7:30-10 a.m.
Dinner Wed-Sat 6-9 p.m.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(855) 546-7748

Website:
http://www.colonialwilliamsburg.com/do/restaurants/resort-restaurants/terrace-room/

Executive Chef:
Travis Brust

Regency Room at The Williamsburg Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Virginia
Romantic
Virginia
7 More
Special Occasion
Virginia
Best Overall
Williamsburg
Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Service
Williamsburg
Best Ambiance
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg

Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Live Music (18)
Historic (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Dancing (9)
Authentic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food at ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the ambiance and the food at the Inn. Only complaint is the service was very slow. Probably due to maintaining a relaxing dining experience but over 2 hours was a little too long. It was not very busy but as mentioned I think they try to not rush you out.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A taste of heaven. I had a most pleasu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A taste of heaven. I had a most pleasurable dinner here. Delicious food, attentive, understated wait staff, luxurious ambianice. Heavenly!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One mod those opportunities you take adv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One mod those opportunities you take advantage of when you can, and it did not disappoint. Everything was exceptional from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I were engaged there and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My husband and I were engaged there and have been married for 13 years. We decided to have a date night there while in Williamsburg. The food was absolutely exquisite and the service exceptional. Mr. Polk was quite the waiter that night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an iconic American dining experi ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is an iconic American dining experience in a beautiful setting. George was very kind and focused on making our evening a pleasure - which he did!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

We had a wonderful evening on Saturday n ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful evening on Saturday night. They have a piano player when we were there 6-7 and at 7pm a 3 piece group played great music to dance to, casual mood music not rock and roll. It was a wonderful evening except for the sidecar martini I ordered. The drink taste was great but they don't know how to fill a martini glass up. Even after my wife mentioned this they brought a very small amount out less than a 1/2 shot of mixer. I recommend you pass on the mixed drinks.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Dancing, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very sorry to hear that this classic and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Very sorry to hear that this classic and well-known restaurant will be "going away" in favor of more casual dining. This trend is unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the tasting menu. One of the best m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had the tasting menu. One of the best meals we have had in a long time! Very special atmosphere-candlelight, piano player, beautiful place settings and decor. Perfect birthday dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We know that this restaurant is in for a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We know that this restaurant is in for a big change in the not-too-distant future and it's probably time to move on but my wife and I will cherish the memories of some very pleasant evenings in this dining room. The gracious hospitality, unhurried dining experience and warmth of the staff are a relic of a bygone age which we will sadly miss.

We wish everyone well with the future state and offer enormous thanks for the past.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overpriced. Average food . Ordered cha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Overpriced. Average food . Ordered champagne and had to wait for it to be chilled. Bread consisted of one small roll per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Prices keep rising while food was not as ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Prices keep rising while food was not as good as previous times...no longer worth the 40-minute ride. Particularly wanted to dance during dinner, asked for a 7 PM reservation; was told the first available was 8PM. When we arrived at 8, the restaurant was less than half full. Very disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was very good and the live j ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was very good and the live jazz band added to the ambience.

We had steak and my Wife's was not done to her liking and mine was barely warm. On the second try my Wife's meal was good and my steak was still barely warm. When spending this much money for a night out at a nice restaurant I expect my food to be hot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu less than what was expected / prici ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Menu less than what was expected / pricing a bit high for what was provided

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

regency room was outstanding in service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

regency room was outstanding in service and food quality. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten in the Regency dining room ma ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Have eaten in the Regency dining room many times but not for several years. My wife and I were very disappointed to see how much downhill people dining with such casual attire. In fact we were shocked to see the dress of diners eating dinner. We will eat elsewhere next time we visit our beloved Williamsburg.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

outstanding! oustanding! outstanding! wh ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

outstanding! oustanding! outstanding! what more can I say

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 53rd wedding anniversary. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

It was our 53rd wedding anniversary. We had previously visited the Open Table for our 8th (in 1971) and 49th (in 2012 where we met then Sen. Kerry) anniversary dinners. We have always considered this a special place unlike any other restaurant we visit (I even wear a tie). The matre' d met and called us by name and congratulating us on our anniversary. He and the waiter were attentive without being obtrusive. The piano player played a request (Moonlight in Vermont) which is special to my wife, who was born there and where we were married. All in all a delightful experience, and if we can, we will return there.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service in an elegant ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very good food and service in an elegant dining room but the prices will require you to take out a second mortgage in order to pay for it. The food, while very good, doesnt merit the prices charged.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Dancing, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

If you want to experience what true fine ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

If you want to experience what true fine dining is, then visit the Regency Inn. Chef Travis Brust is a award wining executive chef and the experience he creates is nothing short of amazing. He is a true artist. The entire team was kind and attentive. I can't wait to go back and add another life memory from Chef Brust and his team at the Regency Inn. Bravo!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Dancing, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making our evening special ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Thank you for making our evening special. The food was incredible & the service was spot-on.

Tags: Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still as nice as I remember. Great food, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Still as nice as I remember.

Great food, service and ambiance.

Expensive but a real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fodd arrived after 30 minute wait was co ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fodd arrived after 30 minute wait was cold, not even close to lukewarm. Sent food back and replacement arrived in5 minutes! No way could fish and manicotti be cooked that quickly. Obviously food had been cooked prior and sitting around until an order was received. Expected much better for the high prices

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

This is a traditional restaurant with an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is a traditional restaurant with an emphasis on great food, service and ambiance. It is pricy and not intended for kids. Overall a superbly outstanding experience!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food quality. Be ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding service and food quality. Beautiful surroundings. Will return again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for our wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We dined here for our wedding anniversary. It was the perfect setting for a quiet, personal dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The dinner itself was part of the entertainment. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

An outstanding restaurant experience! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

An outstanding restaurant experience!

We went for a (delayed) anniversary dinner. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to help us celebrate. Service was the best I have had - ever - and the food was delicious. The room was quiet enough for conversation even though it was three-quarters full and there was a great pianist. I highly recommend the Regency Room for special occasions!

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took advantage of the Pris Fixe early ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We took advantage of the Pris Fixe early bird dining, and our tab was well below what it would have been later in the evening. I believe that the food was every bit as good as it would have been from the full menu, and the staff could not have been nicer. They treated us just as well as they would have had we been paying three times as much for dinner. Their pianist began at 6:00. He provided great background music, and the setting was setting was just great. A very nice country club feel without being at all pretentious.

Tags: Local Ingredients
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary at t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary at the inn because we had our wedding dinner there 16 yrs earlier. We've been a few times over the years and the cuisine/service has ebbed and flowed between good and ok. Our Saturday evening dinner proved to be the bet experience we've had there since our wedding. The service was excellent and the cuisine was inventive and delicious. Nice band you could dance to ( soft not loud or invasive to conversation). A little pricey but worth it. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Historic
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Regency is a wonderful restaurant. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Regency is a wonderful restaurant. The service is impeccable and the food marvelous.

You cannot go wrong here.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Dancing, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating my parents 60th wedd ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were celebrating my parents 60th wedding anniversary and it was a perfect evening. The food was outstanding, service was exceptional, the dining room was beautiful... They congratulated my parents for this special occasion, which was very kind and thoughtful. It was a truly special evening in an exceptional restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely over the top outstanding - - ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Absolutely over the top outstanding - - everything from the impeccable service, the atmosphere, and superb (simply superb!) food. Nothing lacks here nor needs to be changed, a complete gem from top to bottom.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose the Regency Room to have dinner ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We chose the Regency Room to have dinner after our wedding ceremony. The staff went out of their way to make our dinner an event to remember. The soft piano music and elegant décor created just the right ambience for a celebration of a special occasion. Thank you for making our night so special.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We so enjoyed our dinner...special thank ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We so enjoyed our dinner...special thanks to our waiter George who made it even more special with his friendly, efficient manner. Lucky, lucky us. Visiting for two nights...perfect ending to a terrific getaway.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very historic but dining room dated. Fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very historic but dining room dated. Food was nothing special, not nearly as good as I recall from years ago. Service was excellent. Pianist was very good, but I still remember their having a harpist years ago, which was a very special experience and memory.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We found the menu quite limited. More pr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We found the menu quite limited. More problematic was that the value simply wasn't there. I got the filet - $54 and it was no more than 5-6 oz. The starch consisted of five potato slices smaller than a french fry. This for the same pricing one pays at the best NY or Chicago steak houses. We went home hungry. No wonder the dining room was almost empty. Too sad - 10 years ago the place was packed! I will say that the hotel's GM was quite responsive to my comments the next day and promised to share them with the chef and others.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

We celebrated a significant anniversary, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We celebrated a significant anniversary, and found it very romantic. Only about six tables were filled on a Wednesday evening. Thus, the noise level was nonexistent, allowing us to enjoy the pianist play of older show tunes and standards.

The service was quite refined. We are not oenophiles and were gratified that the server did not react in a haughty way when we simply ordered two glasses of non-exalted red wine. We were seated by a window and enjoyed the views of the hotel grounds.

The lobster bisque and Crabmeat Randolph were both enjoyable, as were the breads, the sorbet and complimentary appetizer (gravlox that evening). The filet of beef was memorable; the braised short rib less so, but still excellent.

Note that this restaurant only serves dinner Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How great to go to a place where people ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2016

How great to go to a place where people dress up for dinner, service and food is impeccable, the pianist played wonderfully, and the pace was great! It was a very special evening as we were celebrating our anniversary. The Regency Room at the Inn made it another moment to remember. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an anniversary dinner which was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner which was made very special by the service, ambiance, and the exceptional dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a pricey dinner. Not exactly worth ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2016

It is a pricey dinner. Not exactly worth the price but it was a fun evening. I probably won't go back simply because for the cost. I did not leave feeling it was a 4 star experience.

The service was excellent and they were highly attentive.

The main course, filet of beef for my boyfriend, duck for me, were both delicious. The appetizer, Caesar salad was underwhelming. For the price, I had higher expectations but then again it was just a salad. My date had the lobster bisque. It was good but not spectacular. Both not worth the price though.

The drink selection was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Loved this restaurant. Beautiful dining ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Loved this restaurant. Beautiful dining room and lovely piano music. The wait staff is very attentive. Food was excellent. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.