About The Whitney

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant Sunday Brunch with endless Mimosas Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "High Tea" Monday through Friday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours: High Tea Tuesday - Friday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Saturday at 1:00 Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm, Sunday Dinner 4:00pm - 8:00pm Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. Garden open Memorial Day - Labor Day. $29 Early Evening Menu available Tuesday - Friday 5:00 - 6:30, and all evening Sunday

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
Info@thewhitney.com

Parking Details:
Valet $7.00 Gratuities are appreciated. During M1 construction, we recommend accessing the Whitney from M-10 the Lodge Freeway. Exit at Forrest/Warren, take a left on Forrest ( left turn onto Forrest from center lane). Take Forrest 1/4 mile to Woodward,Right on Woodward. The Whitney is 1/10 of a mile down Woodward on the right.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Phelps

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz: 3138325700x208

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Breakfast with Santa, High Tea, monthly Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Restaurant Photos

The Whitney Salad
Duet Miniatures
Crispy Fried Lake Perch
Sunday morning brunch
Tea & Assorted Pastries
Vanilla Creme Brule
Trio Sampler
Tomato Tarte Tatin
Potato Osso Bucco
Chocolate Ugli Cake
Calamari
Shitake Mushroom Soup
10 oz. New York Steak
Hot Tea
Sunday Brunch
Bottomless Mimosa (Sunday Brunch)
Brunch Buffet Plate With Salad, Home Fries, Bacon, Shrimp & Grits
Grilled Prime Rib
Sorbet
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp
Flash Fried Calamari
Duck Confit
The Whitney Cheesecake
Baby Spinach Salad With Salmon
Bananas In Double Cream
Ratatouille Vegetable Sandwich
Chorizo-Stuffed Quail
Lobster Crepes
flat iron steak
18 Oz Bone In Rib Eye
The Whitney Carrot Cake
Beggars Purse
Pork medallions

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
6 More
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (119)
romantic (86)
great for brunch (59)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
fit for foodies (43)
good for groups (34)
scenic view (25)
great for lunch (21)
notable wine list (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
late-night find (13)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had really high expectations because ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had really high expectations because it was rated #1 by Hour magazine for best romantic restaurant. We were seated extremely close to a table where there was a very LOUD guy eating. We got to hear he and his dates whole conversation. The hostess knew this was a special occasion. I don't know why she seated us there. It certainly wasn't for the view. Although we had a window seat the only thing we could see was the Woodward construction. Our food was good, but not hot. It had been sitting in the window for a while. Not what we expected, certainly not for that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Service was above and beyond. Early din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was above and beyond. Early dinner menu was a great value and had a good variety. Food was excellent. There is nothing like The Whitney for ambience and class.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually arrived to my reservations a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I actually arrived to my reservations a bit late. Reservation were for 2pm and I got to the Resturant around 2:20. I was willing to try the brunch anyway. I went to the restroom and notice there wasn't any soap. I then came out ask and employee for some soap. It took them 10 Minutes to return w/o any and then someone came over with some hand sanizter. I took it however I really want to wish my hands. Then the other two people in my party it took then 10 minutes to be seated. We ended up living going to another Resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was just fair. It took a con ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was just fair. It took a conversation with another wait staff to discover that there was a way to get a tour of the house . We ordered flaming deserts that were flambéd out in the hallway and not at the table. The bananas foster were just melted ice cream over bananas. It was very disappointing to find people in shorts and flip flops. The Whitney has lost some of its class and glamour.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Formal dining room is not the best envir ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Formal dining room is not the best environment for a date night dinner. Room felt dark and was too quiet (lack of patrons). Entree quality was not equal to price of the meal. Maybe we ordered the wrong things, but they were slightly underwhelming. Lobster Mac and cheese was good, but could have used more lobster.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for a combined anniversary and b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for a combined anniversary and birthday party. Service was outstanding and very friendly. The dinner was served promptly and tasted divine!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting with a lot of history to m ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great setting with a lot of history to make this a great place to make memories. Wish it was less expensive or food was better so I'd want to go more.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and your choice of entertainment, The Brunswick Brawlers, was out of sight!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whitney used to be an exclusive loca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Whitney used to be an exclusive location for a special occasion. It has gone down in quality since changing owners. I don't think I'll be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Truly a place for a special occasion! Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Truly a place for a special occasion! The building is beautiful and the food was great. I particularly enjoyed the beef Wellington - don't see this dish very often, and the execution here was perfect. Service was attentive and gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel, our waiter was nothing short of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Daniel, our waiter was nothing short of perfection. He was knowledgeable, kind, and was trying really hard to create an atmosphere where memories could be made. Unfortunately, the energy and the food were disappointing. The potential to be great was there, but the ingredients tasted old. The lobster tail was way over salted (and I love salt) and chewy. The beef was beautifully cooked, but the fish was nothing special. The wine was excellent, but besides our waiter Daniel, and of course the mansion itself, the rest of the staff (the Maiter D') seemed disinterested and even a bit annoyed that he had to acknowledge our presence. He also seemed upset when we told him that we had changed our minds are were not going to have dessert upstairs. In retrospect, perhaps making a reservation on a Sunday was a mistake. There were not many guests, and I got the distinct feeling, from everyone except Daniel and the other female server, that they did not want to be there. Perhaps we will try again, but would never risk taking a group.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Jd heard all good things, I have to say ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Jd heard all good things, I have to say it exceeded our expectations on every level. Our waiter was great and the piano was wonderful. The food amazing, perfection with the salmon and roast beef and the desserts to die for. Top Notch.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined out doors on a beautiful day. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We dined out doors on a beautiful day. The musical entertainment could have been better.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant especially if you l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant especially if you like old historical buildings like me. They had no chicken meals on the menu so the waiter asked the chef if he could make me a chicken meal and he did. That made me very happy since I don't eat seafood or steak. Our waiter was very nice and attentive. Only dissapointment..... $28 for 2 pieces of chicken, mashed potatoes and a few broccoli florets. A little overpriced restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for that speccial occa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place to go for that speccial occasion. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect setting for any celebration or ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A perfect setting for any celebration or just because you're hungry. The desert bar to the omelette station and from the delecious prime rib and beyond. There is something for all ages and the surroundings of one of Detroit's most iconic buildings adds a feeling of wonder as you eat and socialize.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal with very attentive service ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great meal with very attentive service in a beautiful historic mansion. The chocolate cake was to die for!! We were pleasantly surprised to get a tour of the mansion after dinner. Be sure to visit the Whitney soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Be prepared for a $7 valet charge upon a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Be prepared for a $7 valet charge upon arrival, then a tip to retrieve your vehicle. Though the restaurant was very elegant with a piano player. They have early bird specials before 6:30pm, which are fabulous, and not an arm and leg. The outside seating looked very romantic, nested in the well groomed gardens.

I thought our service could have been better. Our dining waitress was nothing but an order taker. We were 1/2 way thru dinner and she brings us our bread, mentioning that it was just baked. Okay, if that's so, why wasn't it hot?

I over heard one of the other waitresses, explaining the history of the mansion, which was interesting. She even took 2 separate parties of customers on a tour. Our waitress didn't say boo or offer any knowledge about the place.

The grand finale was when we went upstairs for dessert and ordered a warm Grand Marnier. Now a waiter brings a flaming drink back to the table (impressive), unable to snuff the fire out. He's blowing on the drink (yuck). Still the fire refuses to extinguish. He leaves and returns, setting the now extinguished drink in front of my boyfriend. My boyfriends picks up the glass to take a sip and burns his fingers (better those than his lips). He immediately submerged his fingers in the glass of ice water that was sitting on the table. The waiter now apologies and brings us 2 mini tortes.

The Whitney is gorgeous with the turn of the century ambiance. Food was delicious. Some servers are better than others. We just happened to get 2 bad ones, in one night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Great food (cornish hens) and desserts. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food (cornish hens) and desserts. The reopened dessert bar on the second floor is great. Try any of the flaming desserts, they're super decadent and to die for. Good absinthe selection at the bar as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, raced through the medi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Terrible service, raced through the mediocre meal , this place has a fine dining building and prices but everything else needs to catch up . Sprite and raspberry sorbet to refresh ones palette????!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Hadn't been in years, I'd forgotten how ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hadn't been in years, I'd forgotten how lovely it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The special occasion was Father's Day Br ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The special occasion was Father's Day Brunch. My wife and I had a 12:30 reservation. We arrived a little early yet we were promptly seated, next to the window as we requested. Our server was Ahmed. He is friendly, with an easy smile, and knows the menu well. He acknowledged that he had waited on us before and seemed pleased to see us. He was attentive and even brought a coffee to go just before we left. I will certainly ask for him again the next time we dine there.

This visit was our third to the Whitney and each time was better than the last. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the beef ribs were cooked too long and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

the beef ribs were cooked too long and dried out.. the grits weren't really warm/hot

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a wonderful time and although we ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time and although we wanted to come for lunch, they only had "high tea" available on Saturday afternoon. The service was slow and that may have been attributed to the wedding taking place on the first floor. Beautiful setting and wonderful ambiance. They allowed us to wander a little and explore on the second and third floors. We were overall very happy with the day.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful space with wonderful food and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful space with wonderful food and incredible service. The dessert parlour was a perfect ending to our dinner. I look forward to going back to experience the Ghost Bar.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for High Tea, could not have been b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for High Tea, could not have been better. Elegant, great ambiance and interesting tour of the home. Food and service both excellent. Can't wait to return for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whitney is a Detroit Gem - Great din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The Whitney is a Detroit Gem - Great dining, great service, great music! This is a truly memorable dining experience !!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Customer Service and Outstandi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent Customer Service and Outstanding Lobster Tail!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great restaurant in one of the most be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A great restaurant in one of the most beautiful buildings in Detroit. The food is excellent, and the staff is professional and attentive. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time with anniversary dinner. Max, ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great time with anniversary dinner. Max, our server was great, food was very good, setting iconic. Only negatives was temperature (warm), and amazing piano player played really LOUD. Needed to be background music, not a rock concert.

Dessert bar feedback. Amazingly good desserts.Negatives - really warm room temperature, and our server was awful. Twice I asked for a coffee refill and she forgot. Delivered desserts, never came back to check on us, no coffee with my dessert. I asked for the manager who switched us to Omar, who was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Whitney is a very nice place to go for t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Whitney is a very nice place to go for that special occasion. Beautiful old mansion with a long deep history. Perfect place to enjoy your event. Valet parking very convenient. Women's rest room needs updating, piano music a bit to loud.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Majestic

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I LOVE this restaurant. We spent 4 hours there! Dining, a tour and late night cocktails upstairs. Should have had my wedding there!

It's a little eerie, which makes it even cooler!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and Amazing Food

 
·Dined on June 7, 2016

This was my first visit to the Whitney and to Detroit. It is a beautifully built 1800 home, the history of the building alone was amazing, but it gets even better.

We went as a team outing and managed to get the most amazing waiter, Daniel. He took such great care of us and made suggestions for our meal choices. I was go glad that we did the food was amazing.

At Daniel's suggestion I had the Beef Wellington, the steak was perfectly cooked and the steak was amazing. My friends all had the Filet and they all said it was equally amazing. T

We finished off our evening with a tour of the mansion, with no ghost in site. Daniel explained the rooms, the finishes and teaching us about the Tiffany glass that was installed by Tiffany himself.

I cant wait to come back to Detroit and eat there again. Thank you for an amazing evening, with amazing service and for my part great company. Thank you The Whitney

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our time at the Whitney. We plan to return to take a tour and enjoy brunch. This is a jewel in our great city of Detroit and everyone should experience the Whitney at least once.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was very good-a lot of option ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The brunch was very good-a lot of options. Our waiter, Eric, was funny, informative, and overall cool. The live music fit the motif (piano and jazz guitar). The Ghost Bar upstairs was very neat. The bartender was awesome. Try the Absinthe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A good brunch

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Decent food, nothing truly exceptional, but everything was above average. The price was a bit on the high side but not by much considering the quality of the food and the unlimited mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I have taken my wife to The Whitney on 3 separate occasions (2 times for dinner and once for drinks/dessert at the Ghost Bar on the 3rd floor.) Each time the service and food was impeccable. The staff is exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly. Our waitress, Shawn, was great and was able to tell us about some of the history behind The Whitney in addition to knowing every detail about the menu.

I loved the 22 oz. bone-in rib-eye cooked medium rare (it was PERFECT). My wife enjoyed the twin lobster tails. The jalapeno sweet corn and asparagus spears were terrific. The wine selection was top notch and the pre-dinner cocktails were delicious. I look forward to returning and trying more of their signature dishes.

I would not recommend this as a "kid-friendly" restaurant as it is certainly NOT a fast dining experience. Expect to spend 2+ hours for dinner and some more time if you hit the dessert lounge on the second floor. The only drawback is the price, but at the end of the day, you get what you pay for. What we got was an awesome evening out and a special anniversary dinner.

I highly recommend The Whitney for those special occasion meals as well as for anyone just looking for a high-class night on the town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I went here for our 5 year a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 5 year anniversary dinner. The building was beautiful, but the food was just "ok". My wife had had the filet and lobster and commented that it "wasnt anything special" and "could have gotten the same taste and quality at Outback". I had the Pork Shank. The meat was prepared correctly, but had very little flavor. For the price, the food was terrible. My wife and I will NOT be returning here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

"Early evening menu" is a joke!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The "early evening menu" was a major disappointment. We ordered the filet medium-rare, it came well done and dry. Sent it back and the next one came slightly pink. The "grilled tomato" was cold and NOT grilled. There were no "crispy fried onions" on top. It felt like a "left-overs" dinner. Then, upstairs for dessert -- the flaming bananas foster was not flaming and looked like it had been prepared an hour earlier, and the charge was $16 (the menu says $12). Our "special occasion" was not very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Hands down the best Sunday brunch ever.. ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Hands down the best Sunday brunch ever....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.