About The Whitney

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours: High Tea: Monday - Friday at 2:00; Saturday & Sunday at 1:00 by call-in reservation only. Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-1:30. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:30am - 1:30pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 5:00 - 6:30, and all evening Sunday

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
Info@thewhitney.com

Parking Details:
Valet $7.00 Gratuities are appreciated. During M1 construction, we recommend accessing the Whitney from M-10 the Lodge Freeway. Exit at Forrest/Warren, take a left on Forrest ( left turn onto Forrest from center lane). Take Forrest 1/4 mile to Woodward,Right on Woodward. The Whitney is 1/10 of a mile down Woodward on the right.

Executive Chef:
Paul Jackman

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz: 3138325700x208

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Breakfast with Santa, High Tea, monthly Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Restaurant Photos

The Whitney, Detroit, MI
The Whitney, Detroit, MI
The Whitney Salad - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Duet Miniatures - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Crispy Fried Lake Perch - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Sunday morning brunch - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Tea & Assorted Pastries - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Trio Sampler - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Vanilla Creme Brule - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Potato Osso Bucco - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Chocolate Ugli Cake - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Tomato Tarte Tatin - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
10 oz. New York Steak - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Calamari - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Shitake Mushroom Soup - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Hot Tea - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Bottomless Mimosa (Sunday Brunch) - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Sunday Brunch - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Brunch Buffet Plate With Salad, Home Fries, Bacon, Shrimp & Grits - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Sorbet - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Grilled Prime Rib - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
The Whitney Cheesecake - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Duck Confit - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Flash Fried Calamari - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Baby Spinach Salad With Salmon - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Bananas In Double Cream - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Ratatouille Vegetable Sandwich - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
The Whitney Carrot Cake - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Chorizo-Stuffed Quail - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Lobster Crepes - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
18 Oz Bone In Rib Eye - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Beggars Purse - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
flat iron steak - The Whitney, Detroit, MI
Pork medallions - The Whitney, Detroit, MI

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate the New Year at The Iconic Whitney. Special four course limited Dinner Menu available on line. Dancing on in the second floor ballroom after 10:00. Champagne and party favors at midnight. Regular dining menu or Woodward Room feature not available on New Year's Eve..

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
3 More
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Special Occasion (77)
Romantic (74)
Historic (69)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Good for a Date (46)
Worth the Drive (41)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Cozy (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Afternoon Tea (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Business Meals (19)
Authentic (17)
Private Room (16)
Scenic View (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fireplace (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Live Music (12)
Fun (9)
Seasonal (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
2131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My mother has always wanted to dine at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

My mother has always wanted to dine at The Whitney, so for her 60th birthday celebration, what else were we supposed to do! Two people in the party had the Beef Wellington and both proclaimed it was the most delicious thing they have ever tasted - melting in their mouth. Additionally, the filet mignon was very well seasoned and succulent as was the Salmon resting on a bed of rice. The server was very professional yet had a personality and, although minor to some, very conscious of where he placed his hand on your drinking glass. I had the vegetarian option which was a Tofu Portobello Tower which had very simple ingredients and not a huge bold flavour (which is why I have given The Whitney 4 stars opposed to 5). The meal was a nice portion, not very large, but it was very simple. Very simple ingredients, nothing outstanding. I did not eat this dish and think, I will remember this in 50 years (this is the only reason I have given the Whitney 3/5 stars for Value). The rest of the party, on the other hand, did feel they would remember this meal. So yes, if you eat meat and enjoy a quaint historical atmosphere, please do yourself a favour and dine here at least once in your life.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was amazing. House wines by the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was amazing. House wines by the glass were delicious and paired wonderfully with my beef wellington. The puff pastry around the beef wellington was buttery and crispy. The steak itself was so tender that it could have been cut with a fork. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance and old world feel. The ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Great ambiance and old world feel. The food is fantastic and the service is great. The time from walk in to walk out is very reasonable for a lunch with business colleagues for such great, special order food.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, service, and value. Will ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, service, and value. Will return in near future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent Sunday brunch. I wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

We had an excellent Sunday brunch. I was glad to see The Whitney go back to a sit-down brunch rather than a buffet. The atmosphere is very historic and lends to a great dining experience. There are many menu options for a Sunday brunch. Looking forward to a return soon.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time celebrating my birthday ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time celebrating my birthday! The Whitney was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The music{piano} was so relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening. Began at the bar - excell ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great evening. Began at the bar - excellent cocktail - bartender is always great. Had a great meal (shrimp cocktail appetizer is my favorite). Finished our evening in the dessert parlor with a tour by our waiter. Lovely Christmas decorations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made my reservation and noted that it ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

I made my reservation and noted that it was my friend's 60th birthday celebration. Imagine our surprise when the menus handed to us included the caption Happy 60th birthday on the top. What a lovely surprise and delight. Our waiter, Daniel, was quite attentive and patient. His initial greeting was a birthday greeting for my friend. It made her feel very special and contributed to a wonderful, relaxed evening with great food and drink and encouraged conversation. Thank you for such special treatment. I will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Whitney is always a special place to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The Whitney is always a special place to visit. The dinner prior to going to the DSO was perfect for starting a great evening. The restaurant should be considered when you have guests in Detroit. Brunch on Sunday will have your guests singing your praises and telling their friends of their wonderful visit to our city. The food is great and memorable from the fresh raw bar to the main entrees and carved beef. A visit to Mr. Whitney's library for the special desserts will immediately make you forget your diet. This restaurant should be on your regular dinning out schedule.

This was our first visit to the Whitney during the Holidays and it is decorated beautifully. Thanks to the hostess who greeted us to our server Amy and the piano player who was outstanding. A special thanks to the chef and all the staff who make the Whitney a very special venue among many in the City of Detroit. Some of the dinner guests arrived walking down Woodward Ave. Priceless.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect locale for our Thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Perfect locale for our Thanksgiving dinner. Incredibly friendly service. We felt right at home. Wonderful family atmosphere. A fine blend of classy ambience and comfortable, not overly formal service and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Family Style, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Thanksgiving dinner (Our fam ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner (Our families are out of state and every year since we moved her we try a new high-end restaurant for Thanksgiving dinner). The ambiance was lovely and the host was very kind. Our server was not very attentive and was not familiar with the menu. We chose the thanksgiving dinner course and it was less than mediocre. The turkey was dry they didn't give us very much gravy and the sides were pretty standard, nothing special. The desert trio was the best part. It was fun to try, but we probably won't be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Lovely just Lovely Our waitress Mandy w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Lovely just Lovely

Our waitress Mandy was a charm!!

Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was wonderful! The food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our dinner was wonderful! The food was delicious and the service beyond exceptional! A must place to dine at!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner with my elderly moth ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner with my elderly mother was excellent. The setting is elegant and fascinating, and the food was terrific. She really enjoyed the piano accompaniment. The best part was the service. Our waiter was attentive, entertaining, and accommodating. He took extra special care of my mother and her requests.

Tags: Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was amazing. The early dinner speci ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was amazing. The early dinner specials were an excellent deal!! Service was slow for a restaurant that had only 5 tables full at the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Absolutely Amazing!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Absolutely Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance of the home, itself, can't ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The ambiance of the home, itself, can't be beat. It's beautiful. We had the "early dinner." The food was ok. A cheese-type of bread was served with our soup/salad and I have to say..."it was soggy."

The service for our 3rd floor dessert course, was outstanding.

Being as this was my first time here, I'm glad I can now say; "I ate at The Whitney." I'll move on.

Tags: Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Very Disappointing! We have been going ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Very Disappointing!

We have been going to the Whitney for years. We do the Brunch once a month and do celebration dinners a few times a year at the Whitney.

We had been bragging about the Whitney to a couple of our friends forever and were finally able to arrange a get together for Brunch Last Sunday.

The hostess at reception was not very hospitable. We were placed at a table in the passageway which was a very inconvenient location and the noise level was very high as well. We noticed a table for 4 in the white room next door and kindly requested the hostess for a relocation. That would have a been perfect spot for us to enjoy the venue, the ambiance and the meal . She bluntly said its reserved for 5 people and she cant move us - Sorry .

We were surprised to hear that, since the table could only accommodate 4 people but didn't want to challenge her. 10 mins later, we noticed the table was now assigned to a couple. We felt lied to and didn't appreciate the attitude of the hostess. To make the morning worse,our waitress didn't introduce her self, didn't explain the new menu and was very abrupt. It really felt like a different place. Maybe we got used to the exceptional service we used to receive.

Our friends who were visiting from Toronto had the same impression and we left that afternoon with a bad taste.

We used to visit the Whitney because of the experience and the exceptional service but since we received none of that this time around and felt embarrassed in front our friends, it is very unlikely that we will ever re-visit the Whitney again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Whitney is such a wonderful place! M ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Whitney is such a wonderful place! My husband and I took his mother there for her 71st Birthday, it was on her bucket list. The service was great and food was delicious. Just being there put you in a great mood. They even custom made the menus to say "Happy 71st Birthday." It was a great experience and hope to go back one day!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time but not the Last... The Food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time but not the Last... The Food and Service were GREAT. We enjoyed the historic Ove once and the food was great, also the choices for dinning. We will be telling friends and family about a the Whitney.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable meal in a grand old home. Grea ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Memorable meal in a grand old home. Great food, excellent wait staff

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food Great environment Great serv ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food

Great environment

Great service (Anne)

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

So - I had this amazing dessert - every ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

So - I had this amazing dessert - everything else pales in my memory in comparison.... I was this remarkable chocolate mousse tart with fresh strawberries and bananas and a ganache coating. It was wonderful. Up until the dessert - I thought the baked potato soup was going to be my favorite part of the meal. Nope - dessert was even better!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great Except my wife's di ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was great

Except my wife's dinner was cold however the staff jumped through hoops to make things right

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place, but the food was just s ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful place, but the food was just so so!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Great experience as usual. Love the hist ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great experience as usual. Love the history and the ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. 4 stars only because deser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing food. 4 stars only because deserts are not worth saving room for. Better eat an appetizer and a main course.

Deserts feel like in a diner.. it was very disappointing.

Otherwise everything is amazing about the place.

Servers great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been to a lot of rest ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I have been to a lot of resturants in the Detroit area and this was the best

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous decor, outstanding food, cockta ...

 
 (México)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Gorgeous decor, outstanding food, cocktails and extensive wine list. Great service. Iris was awesome!

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited this restaurant for our wedding ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Visited this restaurant for our wedding anniversary, early reservations (5:30 pm) so had the place to ourselves for a bit. Ambiance is, without question, awesome. This old mansion has a lot of style, was a pleasure to take it all in. Waiter (Max) was awesome too, if something was needed he was right there, but not overly intrusive. My wife and I ordered the Steak Tartare for a starter, this is where the questioning started. We have eaten this dish in many restaurants, but have never had it prepared as it was at The Whitney. Very chunky is the best way to describe it, not how we like our tartare for sure. There was one caper on the plate, the size of a grape, which meant you had to slice it. Just not our cup of tea, but we didn't let it discourage us. My wife ordered the 29-day dry aged 14 oz NY Strip, while I went with the 22 oz dry aged Ribeye. I have to tell you, neither steak was the quality that I would expect from a dry aged piece of beef. Sinewy, fatty, and just not that impressive for the price; the presentation was excellent though! In fact, I brought both home because we could not get through it all, and I had so much waste when I took the meat off the bone it was just disheartening. I would visit The Whitney again, but would definitely steer away from the dry aged steaks, the menu is definitely worth more exploration. Please don't take this review as gospel, my wife and I are very picky when it comes to dry aged beef, try for yourself and you be the judge.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Great service. Great amb ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Fantastic food. Great service. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sunday brunch at the Whitney was great. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Sunday brunch at the Whitney was great. The venue itself is stunning, so it's definitely worth a one-time visit at least. The menu was interesting and the dishes we ordered were very good, but if the menu doesn't rotate there weren't a ton of items we were interested in outside of what we ordered. Overall great experience, though!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I recommend to anyone to experience the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I recommend to anyone to experience the Whitney at least once. Service, food and ambience were just fabulous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made reservations for after the Satur ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We made reservations for after the Saturday matinee at the Fisher. We had never been to The Whitney before; but thought it would be a nice way to wrap up a nice day. We were not disappointed. Iris was wonderful with us, taking us on a mini tour before our food was ready and arranging for a full house tour afterward. The building is filled with history and the food was fantastic. We capped off the evening with decadent desserts & coffee on the second floor after our tour. It was a great experience from everyone in the place. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whitney was on my wife's bucket list ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The Whitney was on my wife's bucket list. At first I thought it was going to be a typical 'wife's dream while husband is dragged along' scenario, but the historic atmosphere, delicious food, and friendly yet professional bar and waitstaff won me over as well. Definitely recommend everyone visit the Whitney at least once in their life. It is an unforgettable Detroit experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our Anniversary, the food, se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Celebrated our Anniversary, the food, service were outstanding. Very romantic atmosphere was great with the piano playing in the background we were able to have a quit conversation. This not the first time at the Whitney, its always a great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was on my bucket list and having mo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was on my bucket list and having moved 190 miles away, I was thrilled to be able to enjoy brunch with my friends. I will be back for Tea as soon as possible.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch and I had only recent ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went for brunch and I had only recently been to the Whitney for a friend's birthday party. I brought a date for a Sunday brunch and the server (Daniel) remembered me from the weekend prior. It was not only great of him to recall who I was but Daniel even spoke of small details that stuck in his mind from that particular evening. How wonderful to have someone so friendly at the table.

The food portions were spot on and the brunch was stellar. I don't think I've tasted salmon this good before anywhere. My date Kimberly had the poached eggs and I had an omelette that was divine. To say that I could have died happy after this meal is an understatement.

I want to commend the staff and in particular our server Daniel for being so gracious, thoughtful and just an outstanding gentleman. Well done sir!! Bravo!!

I look forward to having brunch or perhaps dinner there again soon.

Also of note and special thanks to Troy up in the Ghost Bar for mixing The Duke Of Detroit for Kimberly. WoW!! What a great mixture and Troy is yet another terrific and wonderful man to have at the Whitney!!

Cheers!

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! We enjoyed the atmosph ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great experience! We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was incredible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed a Sunday Brunch. Great food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We enjoyed a Sunday Brunch. Great food and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.