About The Whitney

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant Sunday Brunch with endless Mimosas Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "High Tea" Monday through Friday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours: High Tea Tuesday - Friday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Saturday at 1:00 Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm, Sunday Dinner 4:00pm - 8:00pm Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. Garden open Memorial Day - Labor Day. $29 Early Evening Menu available Tuesday - Friday 5:00 - 6:30, and all evening Sunday

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
Info@thewhitney.com

Parking Details:
Valet $7.00 Gratuities are appreciated. During M1 construction, we recommend accessing the Whitney from M-10 the Lodge Freeway. Exit at Forrest/Warren, take a left on Forrest ( left turn onto Forrest from center lane). Take Forrest 1/4 mile to Woodward,Right on Woodward. The Whitney is 1/10 of a mile down Woodward on the right.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Phelps

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz: 3138325700x208

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Breakfast with Santa, High Tea, monthly Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Restaurant Photos

The Whitney Salad
Duet Miniatures
Crispy Fried Lake Perch
Sunday morning brunch
Tea & Assorted Pastries
Vanilla Creme Brule
Trio Sampler
Tomato Tarte Tatin
Potato Osso Bucco
Chocolate Ugli Cake
Calamari
Shitake Mushroom Soup
10 oz. New York Steak
Hot Tea
Sunday Brunch
Bottomless Mimosa (Sunday Brunch)
Brunch Buffet Plate With Salad, Home Fries, Bacon, Shrimp & Grits
Grilled Prime Rib
Sorbet
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp
Flash Fried Calamari
Duck Confit
The Whitney Cheesecake
Baby Spinach Salad With Salmon
Bananas In Double Cream
Ratatouille Vegetable Sandwich
Chorizo-Stuffed Quail
Lobster Crepes
flat iron steak
18 Oz Bone In Rib Eye
The Whitney Carrot Cake
Beggars Purse
Pork medallions

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Great for Brunch
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
5 More
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (131)
romantic (99)
great for brunch (70)
See All
neighborhood gem (65)
fit for foodies (44)
good for groups (42)
scenic view (26)
great for lunch (22)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (14)
hot spot (10)
great for outdoor dining (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1995 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Terrible service, raced through the medi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Terrible service, raced through the mediocre meal , this place has a fine dining building and prices but everything else needs to catch up . Sprite and raspberry sorbet to refresh ones palette????!!!!

food3
ambience4
service4

Hadn't been in years, I'd forgotten how ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Hadn't been in years, I'd forgotten how lovely it was.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The special occasion was Father's Day Br ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The special occasion was Father's Day Brunch. My wife and I had a 12:30 reservation. We arrived a little early yet we were promptly seated, next to the window as we requested. Our server was Ahmed. He is friendly, with an easy smile, and knows the menu well. He acknowledged that he had waited on us before and seemed pleased to see us. He was attentive and even brought a coffee to go just before we left. I will certainly ask for him again the next time we dine there. This visit was our third to the Whitney and each time was better than the last. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

the beef ribs were cooked too long and ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

the beef ribs were cooked too long and dried out.. the grits weren't really warm/hot

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a wonderful time and although we ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time and although we wanted to come for lunch, they only had "high tea" available on Saturday afternoon. The service was slow and that may have been attributed to the wedding taking place on the first floor. Beautiful setting and wonderful ambiance. They allowed us to wander a little and explore on the second and third floors. We were overall very happy with the day.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful space with wonderful food and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Beautiful space with wonderful food and incredible service. The dessert parlour was a perfect ending to our dinner. I look forward to going back to experience the Ghost Bar.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for High Tea, could not have been b ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Went for High Tea, could not have been better. Elegant, great ambiance and interesting tour of the home. Food and service both excellent. Can't wait to return for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whitney is a Detroit Gem - Great din ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The Whitney is a Detroit Gem - Great dining, great service, great music! This is a truly memorable dining experience !!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Customer Service and Outstandi ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent Customer Service and Outstanding Lobster Tail!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant in one of the most be ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

A great restaurant in one of the most beautiful buildings in Detroit. The food is excellent, and the staff is professional and attentive. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time with anniversary dinner. Max, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great time with anniversary dinner. Max, our server was great, food was very good, setting iconic. Only negatives was temperature (warm), and amazing piano player played really LOUD. Needed to be background music, not a rock concert. Dessert bar feedback. Amazingly good desserts.Negatives - really warm room temperature, and our server was awful. Twice I asked for a coffee refill and she forgot. Delivered desserts, never came back to check on us, no coffee with my dessert. I asked for the manager who switched us to Omar, who was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Whitney is a very nice place to go for t ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Whitney is a very nice place to go for that special occasion. Beautiful old mansion with a long deep history. Perfect place to enjoy your event. Valet parking very convenient. Women's rest room needs updating, piano music a bit to loud.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Majestic

Dined on June 10, 2016

I LOVE this restaurant. We spent 4 hours there! Dining, a tour and late night cocktails upstairs. Should have had my wedding there! It's a little eerie, which makes it even cooler!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful and Amazing Food

Dined on June 7, 2016

This was my first visit to the Whitney and to Detroit. It is a beautifully built 1800 home, the history of the building alone was amazing, but it gets even better. We went as a team outing and managed to get the most amazing waiter, Daniel. He took such great care of us and made suggestions for our meal choices. I was go glad that we did the food was amazing. At Daniel's suggestion I had the Beef Wellington, the steak was perfectly cooked and the steak was amazing. My friends all had the Filet and they all said it was equally amazing. T We finished off our evening with a tour of the mansion, with no ghost in site. Daniel explained the rooms, the finishes and teaching us about the Tiffany glass that was installed by Tiffany himself. I cant wait to come back to Detroit and eat there again. Thank you for an amazing evening, with amazing service and for my part great company. Thank you The Whitney

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating

Dined on June 5, 2016

My family and I enjoyed our time at the Whitney. We plan to return to take a tour and enjoy brunch. This is a jewel in our great city of Detroit and everyone should experience the Whitney at least once.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The brunch was very good-a lot of option ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The brunch was very good-a lot of options. Our waiter, Eric, was funny, informative, and overall cool. The live music fit the motif (piano and jazz guitar). The Ghost Bar upstairs was very neat. The bartender was awesome. Try the Absinthe!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A good brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Decent food, nothing truly exceptional, but everything was above average. The price was a bit on the high side but not by much considering the quality of the food and the unlimited mimosas.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

I have taken my wife to The Whitney on 3 separate occasions (2 times for dinner and once for drinks/dessert at the Ghost Bar on the 3rd floor.) Each time the service and food was impeccable. The staff is exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly. Our waitress, Shawn, was great and was able to tell us about some of the history behind The Whitney in addition to knowing every detail about the menu. I loved the 22 oz. bone-in rib-eye cooked medium rare (it was PERFECT). My wife enjoyed the twin lobster tails. The jalapeno sweet corn and asparagus spears were terrific. The wine selection was top notch and the pre-dinner cocktails were delicious. I look forward to returning and trying more of their signature dishes. I would not recommend this as a "kid-friendly" restaurant as it is certainly NOT a fast dining experience. Expect to spend 2+ hours for dinner and some more time if you hit the dessert lounge on the second floor. The only drawback is the price, but at the end of the day, you get what you pay for. What we got was an awesome evening out and a special anniversary dinner. I highly recommend The Whitney for those special occasion meals as well as for anyone just looking for a high-class night on the town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My wife and I went here for our 5 year a ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I went here for our 5 year anniversary dinner. The building was beautiful, but the food was just "ok". My wife had had the filet and lobster and commented that it "wasnt anything special" and "could have gotten the same taste and quality at Outback". I had the Pork Shank. The meat was prepared correctly, but had very little flavor. For the price, the food was terrible. My wife and I will NOT be returning here again.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

"Early evening menu" is a joke!

Dined on May 22, 2016

The "early evening menu" was a major disappointment. We ordered the filet medium-rare, it came well done and dry. Sent it back and the next one came slightly pink. The "grilled tomato" was cold and NOT grilled. There were no "crispy fried onions" on top. It felt like a "left-overs" dinner. Then, upstairs for dessert -- the flaming bananas foster was not flaming and looked like it had been prepared an hour earlier, and the charge was $16 (the menu says $12). Our "special occasion" was not very special!

food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best Sunday brunch ever.. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Hands down the best Sunday brunch ever....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

I took my 86 year old mother to a downtown church, the Whitney for Sunday Brunch, and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra for a 2:30 show. She said it was one of the best days of her life.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Whitmey to celebrate our ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Whitmey to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything was very good. Staff was very attentive . Seemed to truly care that you enjoyed your experience. Loved the little touches like the menu that was printed with "Happy 30th Anniversary" on it. Would definitely return!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was exquisite, the service impe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

the food was exquisite, the service impeccable and the server, Candace, was truly special. We go every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it's a very special place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at Whitney

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Whitney is a ascetically beautiful restaurant. The entire building is available for wandering around in and it is gorgeous. The service was excellent. Most of the food was very good. We did tell our waiter that the shrimp and grits were a big disappointment. The dish had absolutely no flavor of any kind. The rest of the food, including the desserts were very good.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great experience to go to the W ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a great experience to go to the Whitney for Sunday Brunch. The food selection and quality was excellent. The atmosphere of the Whitney makes the whole experience memorable. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Visit

Dined on May 15, 2016

This Sunday Brunch was our second visit to The Whitney. In both cases, we were extremely satisfied with the meal, ambiance and service. The first time we dined there, we were celebrating our 49th wedding. I don't remember telling anyone that but the staff treated us like royalty. It was truly an incredible experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was excellent and the unlimited M ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was excellent and the unlimited Mimosa's were the perfect compliment!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Whitney for a 40th birthd ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to The Whitney for a 40th birthday dinner for two. I really wanted to like this place as it was our first time dinning and our close friends rave about the brunch. I must admit that the service here is exceptional. The waitress paid attention to every detail while we were there. Chef even sent several complimentary items to our table. However, we were beyond severely disappointment with the food. The steak lacked seasoning and had absolutely no taste. The lobster tail was every bit of 2oz. Corn was over cooked and buttered. And the mashed potatoes were entirely too thin. The bone-in pork flank was sourly flavored and lacked presentation. Appeared as tho the rice and vegetables were just tossed on the plate. Sadly, I prefer the taste of Logan's Steakhouse. Definitely not worth the $150.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The same as it ever was!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I first went to the Whitney 25 years ago for a special occasion. I was looking forward to seeing what had happened between then and now. The answer is "Not much"! Which is fantastic. This place is a magnificent venue for dinner, brunch or just dessert and a drink. The menu has changed, but still offers a fabulous mouth watering variety of dishes. Our server's name was Calvin and he was a wonderful guy. It helped that he was from Mississippi, as we had just returned from spending a year there ourselves. Very chatty and pleasant and was the perfect gentleman throughout the evening. Really enjoyed chatting with him. We both decided to share a hot platter as a starter which included crab cakes, eggplant bruschetta and the most delicious calamari we have had outside if France. My wife chose the Baked Sea Bass and it was probably the best seafood both of us have ever experienced. Simply superb and the chef outdid himself with this. Cooked to absolute perfection. I chose the filet and lobster and again....superb. The steak could not have been cooked better and melted in the mouth. The lobster just as good. We had a reasonable Malbec for wine and then went upstairs for the dessert. This was probably the biggest disappointment of the evening. The waiter was a little surely and did not seem at all interested in us. We ordered the lemon cake and the Pecan pie. Both were very ordinary and the Pecan pie had way too many nuts and virtually no pie! The lemon cake was yellow!!! Could have bought this from anywhere. Overall a lovely evening. We will do something different with the dessert next time, but the charm and ambiance of the Whitney is alive and well and we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Mother's Day with my lovely m ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Celebrated Mother's Day with my lovely mom. We both had this on our "bucket list". A wonderful experience for all of us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time. Our waiter was awes ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great time. Our waiter was awesome. He did a great job. Please thank him again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

In all fairness, we were late for our re ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

In all fairness, we were late for our reservation. We ordered off the theater menu, we were never asked how we wanted our steak, it was well done.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Whitney is breathtaking, from the ma ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Whitney is breathtaking, from the mansion, to the servers, to the food, and not to mention a whole floor dedicated to desserts. I wish I could have tried everyone of them

food5
ambience5
service4

Sea bass was wonderful. ..staff knowledg ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sea bass was wonderful. ..staff knowledgeable. Experience as expected.

food3
ambience1
service1

Service was terrible.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was terrible.

food5
ambience5
service5

The converted mansion and live piano mus ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The converted mansion and live piano music made for some very cool ambiance. A bit uppity but never anything but polite. Wait staff was great, food was good, prices we very expensive (as advertised.) All in all, not a place I'd go every night but great for a special occasion.

food4
ambience4
service1

Very unprofessional and inexperienced se ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Very unprofessional and inexperienced server. Could not open a bottle of wine. Was generally very unsophisticated and really did not fit the image of the Whitney.

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Not happy on this occasion.

Dined on May 6, 2016

I have been to this restaurant for the last three years, I love the setting of the restaurant, but I was definitely not happy with this visit for our 27 th anniversary. When we arrived the hostess asked what was the occasion? I said Anniversary, she then switched menus and said congrats. If you have a regular waiter or waitress ask for them because ours was horrible. Dante who was busy is one of the best waiters. I regret he wasn't able to assist us. No offer of a champagne toast and the waiter sure didn't offer. $116 bill and one hour later my wife and I was out the door. I felt the food was overpriced . I may pick another restaurant next time.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellence

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was great, the staff was unbelievable, the ambiance was excellent. I enjoyed it all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.