About The Whitney

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant Sunday Brunch with endless Mimosas Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "High Tea" Monday through Friday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours: High Tea Tuesday - Friday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Saturday at 1:00 Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm, Sunday Dinner 4:00pm - 8:00pm Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. Garden open Memorial Day - Labor Day. $29 Early Evening Menu available Tuesday - Friday 5:00 - 6:30, and all evening Sunday

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
Info@thewhitney.com

Parking Details:
Valet $7.00 Gratuities are appreciated. During M1 construction, we recommend accessing the Whitney from M-10 the Lodge Freeway. Exit at Forrest/Warren, take a left on Forrest ( left turn onto Forrest from center lane). Take Forrest 1/4 mile to Woodward,Right on Woodward. The Whitney is 1/10 of a mile down Woodward on the right.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Phelps

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz: 3138325700x208

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Breakfast with Santa, High Tea, monthly Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Restaurant Photos

The Whitney Salad
Duet Miniatures
Crispy Fried Lake Perch
Sunday morning brunch
Tea & Assorted Pastries
Trio Sampler
Vanilla Creme Brule
Potato Osso Bucco
Chocolate Ugli Cake
Tomato Tarte Tatin
10 oz. New York Steak
Calamari
Shitake Mushroom Soup
Hot Tea
Bottomless Mimosa (Sunday Brunch)
Sunday Brunch
Brunch Buffet Plate With Salad, Home Fries, Bacon, Shrimp & Grits
Sorbet
Grilled Prime Rib
Chopped Salad With Chilled Shrimp
The Whitney Cheesecake
Duck Confit
Flash Fried Calamari
Baby Spinach Salad With Salmon
Bananas In Double Cream
Ratatouille Vegetable Sandwich
The Whitney Carrot Cake
Chorizo-Stuffed Quail
Lobster Crepes
18 Oz Bone In Rib Eye
Beggars Purse
flat iron steak
Pork medallions

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
5 More
American
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

Special Occasion (109)
Romantic (83)
Great for Brunch (57)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Good for Groups (32)
Scenic View (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent im going back on ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent im going back on 8-26-16 to try The Beef Wellington

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best part of our experience was the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The best part of our experience was the waiter. He did an excellent job at serving us and explaining some of the history of the restaurant. He even took us on a tour so we could get a better sense of the history. He represented your establishment very well. The swordfish was excellent, however, the tenderloin tower was not so good. I would like to see more affordable items to choose from.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomenal food, exceptional service, ab ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Phenomenal food, exceptional service, absolutely lovely atmosphere. Truly a hidden gem. Perfect for a celebration or a romantic evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Downstairs food and service was awesome. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Downstairs food and service was awesome. Very well presented dishes and attentive service. Our waitress really helped to make our Anniversary special. The chef sent out complementary appetizers, and the clam chowder was excellent as was the wedge salad and white fish. After dinner, the second floor dessert level was less attentive. Our waitress was friendly, but was busy with other tables and the wait time was long. Also, when we ordered Bananas Foster, it was not explained to us that the dish was not prepared table-side as was expected. Half the enjoyment of this dish is to view the preparation. She did give us some complementary coffee and scones and a tour of the "Ghost Bar". Over all, we had a wonderful experience and the building itself is worth the trip.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was not worth it for the price. Ver ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was not worth it for the price. Very small portions of the steak and lobster. Swordfish was very good. Coke was flat and bad tasting. Our waitress was very nice and pleasant. The House itself was a nice treat to walk through. Though seeing mops and mop buckets in bathrooms was not a sight you would expect to see in a dining mansion open for public viewing. Valet parking was not worth it as the valet boys stand in their stand waiting for you to come to them. Our car was 10 feet away under the canopy and yet we still paid and tipped them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The Whitney is a beautiful historic resi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Whitney is a beautiful historic residence. Everyone seemed to enjoy working there and the service was excellent. Our server David was very kind, informative and gave us a wonderful informative tour of the Whitney.

The service was excellent, the food was absolutely wonderful and the ambience was romantic. A young man was playing the piano and he played wonderfully. What a wonderful experience it was. If you have driven by the Whitney as I did many years ago and thought about going there, go. Even if it's just for dessert to try it, go. I recommend it for a wonderful experience and for food that you will never forget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose The Whitney for the history. It ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We chose The Whitney for the history. It is very beautiful. We did not have a chance for a tour, to see the bar area or have desert because we had a concert to go to but we will definitely go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible historic interior! Piano pla ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Incredible historic interior! Piano playing was too loud - had trouble hearing others at our table. Service was fantastic and the food was perfect! Just down Woodward Ave. from the Detroit Institute of Arts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Shawn was our waitress and did a wonderf ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Shawn was our waitress and did a wonderful job. The food was great and the atmosphere/ambiance terrific!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard of the Whitney on the radio ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had heard of the Whitney on the radio and was happy to find it rated as one of the top places to dine in Detroit. Was looking for a special experience for our 30 th Anniversary. We weren't disappointed. The beef Wellington was superb, and my wife's Cornish hen was outstanding. Great service by Iris, which included a tour and some history of the mansion, as well as by Omar who served us dessert in the 2 nd floor! I would recommend a visit if you are looking for great dinner and a wonderful experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time to the Whitney a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time to the Whitney and we will definitely be back! The staff is incredibly friendly, the restaurant/ house itself is gorgeous. There is a bar on the 3rd floor I would like to go back to!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in the music room. The server wa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were in the music room. The server was friendly and helpful with both the menu and with information about the residence.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to The Whitney for our 30th Wedding ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Went to The Whitney for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Valet, Hostess and Waiter were all attentive and made our experience delightful. Food was outstanding. Live Jazz Group just happened to be performing on the terrace, perfect for after dinner entertainment. Highly recommend this venue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! My waiter Ahmed w ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing! My waiter Ahmed was awesome and did everything he could to accommodate me party. He was very down to earth and not stuffy at all. The Host seemed very uncomfortable dealing with another race of people. The air conditioning in the first area wasn't working well and we had to be moved. I would have thought that he was in charge since our concerns were never addressed by a Manger. Overall, I would visit again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waiter David was awesome. The Red Ve ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our waiter David was awesome. The Red Velvet Pancakes are too die for! The choices for breakfast and lunch are plentiful. The employees at the stations are friendly and very helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

He had the Beef Wellington and loved it. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

He had the Beef Wellington and loved it. The server was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our waiter, Daniel, was awesome, friendl ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waiter, Daniel, was awesome, friendly knowledgeable on the food and wine list. Our dinners were outstanding. Daniel recommended a wine that was even better than the one I ordered. Wonderful atmosphere. Great evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was me and my significant others fi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was me and my significant others first time at the Whitney and it was just amazing ! From the time we walked in we were just in aww. Sonny was incredibly sweet and helpful in helping me surprise my date with a chocolate cake for dessert , felisha was very sweet also , I feel bad I didn't tip her enough the first time , but I'm not use to fancy restaurants so I'm glad my date fixed it I hope she knows my heart meant well ! The food was amazing , everyone even the pianist was nice . I can't wait to go back ! Hopefully he surprises me this time and this can be a yearly thing ! He has already talked about the Whitney and shared our 5 star all around experience on Facebook ! Wonderful ! Thank you all for everything !

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I haven't been to this gem s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My wife and I haven't been to this gem since 1986. We just got busy with careers and family. Came back after having talked about it to our kids, Christmas gift (note we were too busy up to this time to go!). This place is like dining in history, just amazing at how mansions looked years ago. So much to see just from sitting at our table. The wait staff was amazing, always tending to our needs. We actually got a few freebies and wow they were just so tasty. The main course was great, we each ordered a different one, the whitefish and the tenderloin, and both of them melted in our mouths. No shortcuts in any aspect of the meal. We then got a reservation and went up to the dessert room. The carrot cake was just to die for. Oh, apparently that had been the case for many years according to the ghostly history of the place. (We didn't see anything by the way, they must have been on vacation too!).

Overall, a piece of living history, a must see for locals and travelers alike.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants experience I ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of the best restaurants experience I ever had. It was our 34 wedding anniversary. I will be back in the near future. I thought it was too close to downtown Detroit but the neighbor hood was very clean and friendly. I was astonished.

Ty

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was hard to enjoy the bunch as it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was hard to enjoy the bunch as it was so hot and humid. Very poor air conditioning and no air circulation. We would have stay longer but could not stand the temperature. All the desserts melded as soon as you got them to the table could not even eat them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Unquestionanbly the best food, service a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Unquestionanbly the best food, service and ambience in Detroit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch is well worth the price.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The brunch is well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a family birthday at the W ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at the Whitney. The food was exceptional and the service was extremely attentive, in beautiful surroundings. It was a memorable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had really high expectations because ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had really high expectations because it was rated #1 by Hour magazine for best romantic restaurant. We were seated extremely close to a table where there was a very LOUD guy eating. We got to hear he and his dates whole conversation. The hostess knew this was a special occasion. I don't know why she seated us there. It certainly wasn't for the view. Although we had a window seat the only thing we could see was the Woodward construction. Our food was good, but not hot. It had been sitting in the window for a while. Not what we expected, certainly not for that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Service was above and beyond. Early din ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was above and beyond. Early dinner menu was a great value and had a good variety. Food was excellent. There is nothing like The Whitney for ambience and class.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually arrived to my reservations a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I actually arrived to my reservations a bit late. Reservation were for 2pm and I got to the Resturant around 2:20. I was willing to try the brunch anyway. I went to the restroom and notice there wasn't any soap. I then came out ask and employee for some soap. It took them 10 Minutes to return w/o any and then someone came over with some hand sanizter. I took it however I really want to wish my hands. Then the other two people in my party it took then 10 minutes to be seated. We ended up living going to another Resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The service was just fair. It took a con ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service was just fair. It took a conversation with another wait staff to discover that there was a way to get a tour of the house . We ordered flaming deserts that were flambéd out in the hallway and not at the table. The bananas foster were just melted ice cream over bananas. It was very disappointing to find people in shorts and flip flops. The Whitney has lost some of its class and glamour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Formal dining room is not the best envir ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Formal dining room is not the best environment for a date night dinner. Room felt dark and was too quiet (lack of patrons). Entree quality was not equal to price of the meal. Maybe we ordered the wrong things, but they were slightly underwhelming. Lobster Mac and cheese was good, but could have used more lobster.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went for a combined anniversary and b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for a combined anniversary and birthday party. Service was outstanding and very friendly. The dinner was served promptly and tasted divine!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting with a lot of history to m ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great setting with a lot of history to make this a great place to make memories. Wish it was less expensive or food was better so I'd want to go more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and your choice of entertainment, The Brunswick Brawlers, was out of sight!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Whitney used to be an exclusive loca ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Whitney used to be an exclusive location for a special occasion. It has gone down in quality since changing owners. I don't think I'll be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Truly a place for a special occasion! Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Truly a place for a special occasion! The building is beautiful and the food was great. I particularly enjoyed the beef Wellington - don't see this dish very often, and the execution here was perfect. Service was attentive and gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Daniel, our waiter was nothing short of ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Daniel, our waiter was nothing short of perfection. He was knowledgeable, kind, and was trying really hard to create an atmosphere where memories could be made. Unfortunately, the energy and the food were disappointing. The potential to be great was there, but the ingredients tasted old. The lobster tail was way over salted (and I love salt) and chewy. The beef was beautifully cooked, but the fish was nothing special. The wine was excellent, but besides our waiter Daniel, and of course the mansion itself, the rest of the staff (the Maiter D') seemed disinterested and even a bit annoyed that he had to acknowledge our presence. He also seemed upset when we told him that we had changed our minds are were not going to have dessert upstairs. In retrospect, perhaps making a reservation on a Sunday was a mistake. There were not many guests, and I got the distinct feeling, from everyone except Daniel and the other female server, that they did not want to be there. Perhaps we will try again, but would never risk taking a group.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Jd heard all good things, I have to say ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Jd heard all good things, I have to say it exceeded our expectations on every level. Our waiter was great and the piano was wonderful. The food amazing, perfection with the salmon and roast beef and the desserts to die for. Top Notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined out doors on a beautiful day. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We dined out doors on a beautiful day. The musical entertainment could have been better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant especially if you l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Beautiful restaurant especially if you like old historical buildings like me. They had no chicken meals on the menu so the waiter asked the chef if he could make me a chicken meal and he did. That made me very happy since I don't eat seafood or steak. Our waiter was very nice and attentive. Only dissapointment..... $28 for 2 pieces of chicken, mashed potatoes and a few broccoli florets. A little overpriced restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for that speccial occa ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place to go for that speccial occasion. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect setting for any celebration or ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

A perfect setting for any celebration or just because you're hungry. The desert bar to the omelette station and from the delecious prime rib and beyond. There is something for all ages and the surroundings of one of Detroit's most iconic buildings adds a feeling of wonder as you eat and socialize.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.