Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Whitney

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Hours: Serving Breakfast & Lunch everyday 9:00 - 1:30, High Tea: Everyday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 4:30- 6:30, and all evening Sunday. Prime Rib Lunch & Dinner available in The Woodward Room daily by phone-in reservation only.

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
We offer private dining options for groups from 10 - 200. Cocktail parties, afternoon Tea Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Brunches, Garden ceremonies are just a few of the options. Call 313-832-5700 for information and details.

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 before 4:30 and $7.00 in the evening. Gratuities are appreciated. There is a $5 self parking lot across Woodward, and some limited street parking along Canfield.

Public Transit:
The Qline is operating with a stop on the corner of Woodward and Canfield, connecting south to The Fox, Ford Field, Little Caesars Arena and the DSO. It also connects north to West Grand Boulevard with a short stroll to The Fisher.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Natasha Vitti, Pastry Chef: Eric Bunge

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Tea with Santa, Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Romantic (80)
See All
Good for a Date (72)
Worth the Drive (53)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Great for Brunch (37)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Cozy (33)
Authentic (29)
Afternoon Tea (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Fun (18)
Scenic View (17)
Live Music (16)
Bar Seating (13)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Seasonal (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Casual (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2685 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 21 hours ago

This is precisely the right place to go for a special occasion. They made us feel like VIPs. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing night. Would have given 5 stars in every category but there were a few glitches. The waitress was a little mechanical and lacked warmth, in addition to spilling water on my son's seat when refilling his glass (luckily he wasn't seated at the time). The amuse-bouche lacked flavor as did the saffron risotto. But everything else was superb, from soup to salad to fish to beef to sides. And the ambience was incomparable. Had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was lovely! Pre-theater dining at the best. Piano player was fabulous.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I heard a lot about The Whitney and was not disappointed. I can’t wait to return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Business guest from out of town, excellent service, the food was very good. Ambiance is great, they maintain the property very well. Guest from England was very well impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

We went before seeing Andrew Lloyd Webber's, Love Never Dies ( which was AMAZING!!) and chose items off of the early bird menus! Everything was delicious and the service was on par! I highly recommend! I never knew about the early dining option!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The staff was incredibly friendly. My filet and the white chocolate strawberry torte was delicious!! Made our anniversary feel extra special. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I can't imagine a more beautiful restaurant! My twin sister and I celebrated our birthday on a Saturday evening and had the best time! The Whitney is a destination!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Went for our 13th Anniversary. Had a wonderful time, great dinner, knowledgeable tour guide and the desert was fabulous. Will defiantly go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Our visit was fantastic with seeing the old house and ambience, food was good, however, no vegetarian options other than one tofu dish, hate tofu, and no willingness to make something simple off menu... that was dissapointing and not very customer focused. They can do better than that.

And not sure about the "bus tour" people showing up late during dessert... it was overly crowded for the dinner guests and annoying to get through the hallways with so many people and in flip flops?? I don't think so.... I don't think that is the kind of ambience you are going for, might want to rethink that.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Fantastic!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Although my date had been to The Whitney before, this was my first time. We were both more than pleased. Waiter Will took great care of us, the food was well-presented and delicious. We'll go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Beautiful building with so much history. Service was excellent. Had a complimentary tour of the building after dinner. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Everything was good. Nothing was excellent, but would give it another try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great ambiance, fun to explore. Great history and our waiter gave us some interesting historical facts

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Wow! You know how to put it together! Fantastic food. Excellent wait staff (thank you Paul) a very pleasant , wonderful evening. Will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Beautiful atmosphere, very accommodating. The food is always delicious. If you have food restrictions just tell the wait staff the chef is very knowledgeable and will accommodate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Brunch was great, service was excellent. The overall atmosphere was great with the exception of the nasty looking carpet in the room where we dined.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing service! Atmosphere is top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I dined here for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. The staff made us feel like we were the only diners there that evening. The chef, our server Josh, and the manager each added something special to our experience. The bartender made me a specialty cocktail that was not on the menu and nailed it! The food was outstanding. We shared the lump crab cake to start. I had seafood sautee and my husband had the duck breast. We've been to many pricey restaurants and are often disappointed with the meal. Not here! We also enjoyed the pianist during dinner and the tour afterward. Delicious desserts on the second floor and nightcaps on the third floor. It was truly a special evening. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Elegant and quiet compared with several newly-opened and popular restaurants in Detroit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Food was not hot and when serving lobster tail should have been asked if we would have liked it served in or out of shell.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Celebrating our 15th Anniversary. Service was excellent. Food good. We took the tour, but the man took too long explaining things and was repeating himself. Tour shouldn't take more than 15-20 minutes. It was quiet and not busy on a Thursday night.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 27, 2017

It was a beautiful home and now a beautiful restaurant. Annie was a great server and took us on a tour which we really enjoyed. The service was exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere in a beautiful mansion for brunch. Attentive service that never crossed over to being pushy. Didn't take the tour, but we did a self-guided walk through of the building. I will definitely go back the next time I'm in Detroit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a wonderful day! Have always wanted to come to the Whitney!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Spent our anniversary here and they treated us exceptionally. Excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Friendly, professional staff, excellent food and beverages, beautiful atmosphere. All in all a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We are ordered mainly seafood, calamari was very good as well as the shrimp cocktail, these were the staters and appetizers, but when we went to the main course, the food felt heavy, and we couldn't complete our dishes so we took them with us, that been said, we couldn't order desert because the main course was heavy, the service was excellent, and the place was beautiful, the place is mainly for taking picture in your anniversary or any other occasions, but sure not for dining in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 19, 2017

We love to come to the Whitney for events like birthday's, anniversaries and other family celebrations! We even enjoyed the Whitney on Thanksgiving about 4 or so years back - always a charming place for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I love this restaurant. The employees are great and very knowledgeable. The piano player is great. It's nice to hear a song that you know played in a piano version while conversing with the people at your table (friends, family, whoever). I have been here twice for my wedding anniversary. This time, we brought another couple with us. Next year, we will be adding more couples to the reservation. The food is excellent. The atmosphere is stunning. This restaurant has a lot of history. I plan on coming back to this restaurant as often as I can and for many years to come.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We went for my wife's birthday, food was great!! Service was even better we will be back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Pomo grant tea was good as well as the scones. The soup was okay but the salad flavorless. The three tiered finger foods were not good. Sandwiches had stale bread and the pastries seemed like they were were straight from the freezer. The chocolate finger cake was satisfactory but the raspberry tart was not good at all. I'm glad I made the visit for the ambiance but I would not return because of the quality ( or lack of) the food. I'm sorry but these are my true feelings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We met for brunch at noon on Saturday. The Whitney was booked later in the day for a wedding, which may have made it even quieter. The food was wonderful and our server was not only very attentive but also very informative, with a great working knowledge of the history of the building, as well as the food and drink selections available. The entire experience was wonderful and is always highly recommended by me.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Take the tour first! Great history, and overall a wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Second time we have celebrated our anniversary at the Whitney. Started with a martini in the Ghost Bar, then moved down to the restaurant, where we were seated in a beautiful room. The food we ordered was excellent and our server was exceptional. We were surprised and very pleased when our server brought out complimentary desserts for our anniversary. Only one downside to mention. As a wearer of hearing aids, I found the piano music, although beautiful, a little too loud, which made it difficult for me to hear my wife or our server.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Came here to celebrate my birthday. They wrote happy Birthday on our menus and later the menus were wrapped in a ribbon and given to us. This was very special and unique ..I've never seen that done at another restaurant. The server was very friendly, polite and professional. The atmosphere was amazing...lovedthe piano playing in the background. Very romantic and perfect for a date or special occasion. We really enjoyed our dinner! The food was delicious as well. I got the salmon which came with just a few vegetables so I do wish that they enrich this dish a little more. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife and I had just visited The Whitney through a Detroit Athletic Club tour of the mansion. We decided that we would make a reservation for our 18 wedding anniversary. We had one of the most incredible experiences. The management team along with our waitress Candice was impecable. They made our night one to remember. We started in the Ghost bar with pre drinks then moved down to the main floor for an incredible dinner experience. Candice went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. After dinner we were going to go out on the town in Detroit and listen to music. Instead we joined a tour of the mansion and returned to the Ghost bar where there was music playing with one of the most incredible piano players we have ever heard. We finished out our evening with after dinner drinks and great music. Again the management and the bar staff were unbeliable. I look forward to returning to The Whitney soon. Thank you for making our anniversary so memorable

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Live Music, Business Meals, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was excellent...the setting is very romantic...and the dessert parlor just topped it off...overall it was a great experience and I would recommend The Whitney to my friends to dine at

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We had a really nice evening. Dinner & tour. Piano player was friendly, although most of his music had the same intro, but overall good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.