Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Whitney

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Hours: Serving Breakfast & Lunch everyday 9:00 - 1:30, High Tea: Everyday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 4:30- 6:30, and all evening Sunday. Prime Rib Lunch & Dinner available in The Woodward Room daily by phone-in reservation only.

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
We offer private dining options for groups from 10 - 200. Cocktail parties, afternoon Tea Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Brunches, Garden ceremonies are just a few of the options. Call 313-832-5700 for information and details.

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 before 4:30 and $7.00 in the evening. Gratuities are appreciated. There is a $5 self parking lot across Woodward, and some limited street parking along Canfield.

Public Transit:
The M1 Rail will be running soon, with a stop on the corner of Woodward and Canfield.

Executive Chef:
Paul Jackman, Pastry Chef: Eric Bunge

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz, Katie Laughton: (313) 832-5700 ext. 208

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Camille's Ordeal, Tea with Santa, Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (115)
Romantic (98)
Good for Anniversaries (94)
See All
Good for a Date (90)
Historic (83)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Quiet Conversation (65)
Pre/post Theatre (63)
Worth the Drive (58)
Cozy (48)
Great for Brunch (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fireplace (39)
Afternoon Tea (39)
Business Meals (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Notable Wine List (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Authentic (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Live Music (24)
Private Room (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Scenic View (23)
Fun (22)
People Watching (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Healthy (13)
Afternoon Coffee (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

I had bought the Groupon, loved it! My only complaint is that we came for lunch. 12:30pm. We could only choose from the breakfast menu. It was still great just not what we came for.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful location, delicious food, and fabulous service!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and our server was awesome. It was my husband's birthday and our party had a great time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating Father's Day. It was lovely. Live pianist. Will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place. Only draw-back is the piano player plays the instrument too loud, especially considering the acoustics of the first floor dining parlor!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal and service was fantastic - Very enjoyable

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The Whitney really is an iconic representation at every level. The staff went out of their way to provide us with a first class fine dining experience. Each room has its own classic ambiance. We enjoyed the library room for ourselves. Thank you for making my birthday truly happy!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and wonderful service! We will be back !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Used a Groupon for brunch and champagne tour of the building. It was a good value, bringing the cost of brunch down by $15 each and providing a free champagne tour. The champagne, Andre, was not what I expected - they could definitely provide a better beverage. But the tour was great fun and brunch was good, if cheese-laden. Next time I will ask the kitchen to go light on the cheese - way too much and too heavy for the meal (omelette and potatoes). But my special request for an egg white omelette was fulfilled with no problem, which I appreciated. All in all, a fun experience in a beautiful setting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The best place to build memories. Our son choose "The Whitney" and booked us to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and it is really an amazing experience and to top it all, he paid for everything.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Graduation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I brought my husband and mother here on a Friday for dinner at 5:30pm. I had a choice between dinner and early evening menus. The early evening menu had great options with great prices. Our waiter was very friendly and gave us a wonderful dinner experience. We took a guided tour of the building following our dinner. Very interesting history, beautiful architecture. I'm so grateful that this structure has been cared for and preserved for our city to enjoy. What a gem.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I made reservations weeks in advance to celebrate our 36th anniversary. We arrived very early and were graciously seated at a wonderful table near the window where we could see pedestrian traffic, Hop Cat and the Q-line. The Whitney is a very lovely and historic building known for its superb food, beautiful architecture and elegant ambiance. I am VERY sorry to say we experienced very little ambiance. It was more like Playland at McDonalds. There was an extremely loud, very inebriated woman seated with a group of about 8 at a table at the far side of the room from us. I can only imagine how excruciating it was for people seated near her. She basically hollered and hooted throughout our entire meal. The only time it was quiet was when she went out to smoke and immediately after she broke her wine glass. Management did not step in to remedy the noisy situation. We requested a tour of the building, which it says on the web site can be arranged if you ask at the beginning of your service. We asked at the beginning and again at the end right after we paid our bill. Our server said to, "give him a moment and he would facilitate that." Twelve minutes later we were still waiting. We simply left. We had originally intended to go have a drink in the Ghost bar too but, were disinclined after the mediocre service. The food was delicious, the piano player was wonderful and what I saw of the building was gorgeous however, we simply felt like a number and that shouldn't happen at a place like the Whitney when you are celebrating such an occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I had a great time! It was my first time and I could not have imagined a better experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was a special birthday brunch for my husband and I...the first time we've been to the Whitney for brunch. It was amazing! Our server was so friendly and attentive and the food, as usual, was delicious. It was really nice to be able to see the place with daylight, the ambiance was different and just as beautiful. They only recently opened for weekday brunch, and I highly recommend it. They had special brunch cocktails and the prices for the meal were really reasonable; if you have the chance to go for brunch, take it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was tasty and well presented; the staff were welcoming and provided for a great leisurely meal; the setting is classic, beautiful; the piano player was awesome. Certainly recommend the lump crab cakes, the lobster bisque, seafood sauté...and the bread was amazing! A great anniversary dinner!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fabulous place to enjoy good food and the company of great friends who also appreciate the historical ambiance in a luxurious setting. We have wanted to experience the Whitney for a long time, and now that we have we will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Delightful and delicious. Perfect spot for lunch after the coffee concert

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I am confident that the Whitney was a place of grandeur back in the day, however, it seems to be a bit tired and lacking the opulence we were hoping for. The food was also underwhelming, for the description and price. Service was quite attentive, and we appreciate the effort that was given to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Whitney is a lovely restaurant, very elegant and stately. We went to the Whitney for brunch for a friend's 89th birthday. The problem, the food just wasn't that good which was a huge disappointment. Two out of three meals were sent back because they were cold (cold eggs, yuck). The chicken on the "Chicken and Waffles" was overcooked and dry and the waffles were bland. No complaints about the waiter who was very attentive. Since it is such a lovely beautiful restaurant I would go back and give them another try.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Amazing food and great ambience

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Loved the Sunday Brunch and a tour of the home. It was a great anniversary celebration.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

15 minutes after they opened, their parking gate was still closed. We had to circle the restaurant and call to ask where to park. We were told to come into a back entrance where we parked ourselves. We were still charged the full $7 for valet parking. The food was ok but not special. The chicken in the chicken and waffles was over cooked and dry. The server was nice and attentive, but when I pointed out that my glass was dirty, she poured my drink into another glass rather than bringing me a fresh drink and glass. The restaurant is exquisite, but the rest of the experience does not justify the price.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner window side, looking into the garden area. Service was top notch. We each had a filet mignon and shared crab legs, which were cut tableside and the meat removed. Just eat and enjoy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Whitney is an exquisite dining experience in the heart of Midtown Detroit. The beautiful mansion alone is worth the visit, but the food is equally delightful. The second floor has a separate dessert bar, which was simply wonderful. The dessert portions were extremely generous and the treats were sweet, but not overpowering. If you're just in the mood for a drink, The Ghost Bar, located on the third floor, is the perfect stop. And to top it off, the staff throughout the building are all incredibly polite and welcoming. I would recommend The Whitney to all.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

From the moment we walked in the door we had excellent service. Our waitress was very kind and hysterical! Our food was fabulous. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and very interesting.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was tasty but Luke warm!!!! Server was wonderful and accommodating. Overall would recommend for ambience but Not for 15 dollar a glass for wine. This is not Italy

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 23, 2017

The Whitney is such a gem of Detroit - from attentive service to superior food to its fascinating history in the city. You can always bank on The Whitney to deliver an unforgettable experience.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great meal, great vibe

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Afternoon tea was lovely in a lovely setting. We could have done without the tutorial that came with it because it was distracting.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Interesting restaurant in an old lumber baron home. Beautiful artwork and woodwork. Food was ok- service in bar area very slow. Our waitress, Jessie was very friendly. Ate in the Woodward room, went downstairs for dessert. Lots of dessert choices.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Outstanding service. Good explanation of good options. Well presented options. Incredible venue.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Absolutely LOVE the Whitney. Although there is an extensive menu, I was disappointed the Sunday Brunch Buffet has been changed to a plated selection. The buffet offered such a variety of items, it enabled you to try things you may not normally consider ordering. Some buffet items are no longer available (even as a plated selection). It was truly second to none! Please consider bringing back the the Sunday Brunch Buffet. Overall... Love, Love, Love the Whitney.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent restaurant...brought our children for their fathers birthday celebration. The food was amazing and they were so kind to our kids. We love this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Location is great
The Moscow mules we ordered were fantastic and the best part of the night.

Soup and salad were good but main entrees were subpar ...
Beef Weelington was not good at all, and my girlfriends filet came out cold ....

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Had an absolutely wonderful time.
Loved our waitress
Food was amazing
Loved having a personalized menu we got to keep
Piano player is PHENOMENAL - truly enjoyed his music during dinner
Enjoyed the tour
Will definitely come back for more special occasions

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Glen was an exceptional waiter/server. He was pleasant, polite and personable. His recommendations were excellent and his knowledge of the wine list and history of the Whitney dwelling was very impressive. We were very happy with our dining experience and will request his services when we return. The food was delicious with very generous servings.

Even the valet service/staff was polite and professional.

Thank you for personalizing the menus for John on his birthday. Attention to detail was appreciated.

Sincerely, Janet

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My overall experience was excellent hadn't been there in 20 years still feel as good planning to go back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food's good but not great, and it costs a bit too much, but dining in a robber baron's villa is worth it. There's an odd and endearing disconnect between dining under tapestries (etc) and being handed a paper bag with ground coffee packed in a paper bag and saran wrap and a styrofoam shell with a slice of unbaked cheese bread before you leave. Go for the Sunday brunch, which is fabulous, and try to nab a seat on the veranda in summer.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Fantastic...couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.