Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Whitney

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Hours: Serving Breakfast & Lunch everyday 9:00 - 1:30, High Tea: Everyday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 4:30- 6:30, and all evening Sunday. Prime Rib Lunch & Dinner available in The Woodward Room daily by phone-in reservation only.

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
We offer private dining options for groups from 10 - 200. Cocktail parties, afternoon Tea Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Brunches, Garden ceremonies are just a few of the options. Call 313-832-5700 for information and details.

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 before 4:30 and $7.00 in the evening. Gratuities are appreciated. There is a $5 self parking lot across Woodward, and some limited street parking along Canfield.

Public Transit:
The M1 Rail will be running soon, with a stop on the corner of Woodward and Canfield.

Executive Chef:
Paul Jackman, Pastry Chef: Eric Bunge

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz, Katie Laughton: (313) 832-5700 ext. 208

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Camille's Ordeal, Tea with Santa, Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Bring the whole family to celebrate Mom's special day. Special gift for Mom during Brunch hours. We will be serving special Holiday Menus for both Brunch and Dinner. Menus are available for viewing at thewhitney . com

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (127)
Romantic (124)
Historic (124)
See All
Good for a Date (115)
Good for Anniversaries (108)
Pre/post Theatre (89)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Quiet Conversation (68)
Fireplace (67)
Cozy (66)
Worth the Drive (62)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Notable Wine List (43)
Great for Brunch (42)
Private Room (37)
Business Meals (36)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Authentic (35)
Afternoon Tea (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Groups (24)
Fun (24)
Bar Seating (24)
Live Music (24)
Great for Lunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Happy Hour (15)
People Watching (15)
Scenic View (14)
Afternoon Coffee (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Healthy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Family Style (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Dancing (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 12 hours ago

Great atmosphere. Food just okay for the price. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic place and wonderful,but so expensive, we can't invited all my friends there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect perfect food staff everything perfect

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Top notch food. Beautiful architecture, week cared for.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great! Very accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The noise level surprised me. Between the music (which was totally not needed) and the conversations, it was very loud. I think if the music was eliminated, it may have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I can't say enough good things about our Easter dining experience. Everything was perfect. I loved the smooth way we went from parking to being shown to our table with no hassle or waiting. One complaint: our room was a little too warm.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I went for Easter dinner. The food was great. It is what I call THE happy meal. I sincerely enjoyed it. Eating the food made me happy - really happy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the food and everything was very nice, but I'm not sure the meal was worth $44.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have been to the Whitney many times. This was the first time I went to the Sunday brunch. It was excellent as was the service from Anne, who is the best waitress in Detroit

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The plated brunch was fantastic. The food was delicious and a good variety with-in the entire menu, from the starter to dessert courses. The room my family and I were seated became a bit warm, but our server tried what he could to make us all comfortable by opening a window. Overall, we had a great time and enjoyed our food and service from The Whitney during brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dinner at the Whitney was a wonderful experience. The ambiance and beauty of the restaurant cannot be over-stated. The service and food were outstanding and we felt both welcomed and pampered.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Candace, Professor Jim and the rest of the staff at The Whitney made our birthday celebration truly memorable. We cherish the amazing staff and look forward to our future dining experiences

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I am in a hurry so I will keep this short. When you combine the history and beauty of The Whitney, with the food, it is a fantastic dining experience. Ending the meal upstairs in the Ghost bar only makes it better. What a great way to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday. It is a very special place, and hopefully always will be.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Such an amazing experience. We had a great time walking around the mansion and the food was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We dined here for my wife's birthday on a Thursday evening. The place is a beautiful historic mansion located right on Woodward Avenue. The service was very good. The cocktails were excellent. The food was also very good. My only complaint was that the food portion that I got was less than as described. I ordered a chef's plate with a lobster tail that was supposed to be 8 oz but was closer to a 4 oz. It was very good just not enough of it.

My wife loved her filet and someone else had the white fish that I wished I would have ordered. We will be back for sure. Awesome experience overall.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 11, 2017

They personalized the menu's to say "Happy 18th Birthday Amanda" at the top for my daughters birthday dinner- it was a nice surprise and added touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I'm sorry they changed their brunch forma ffrom buffet to off the menu. We had one gluten free and one vegan in the group . Choices, while there for both, were very limited. Hard to beat for atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We absolutely loved our brunch at the Whitney. So beautiful !😃

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Whitney is a fantastic spot for special occasion dinners. The setting is perfect for any type of celebration or date. The setting is elegant, the food is delicious, and the service is spectacular. It has been a long standing go to place for a great meal in Detroit for years. Even as Detroit goes through its renaissance and new restaurants open all over the city it stands as the old guard benchmark that all the new places should aspire to become.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The restaurant is gorgeous and the service pleasant. The food is expensive and poorly prepared. I'd hoped for much more and was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered the duck which was very disappointing. Overall we had a very good experience. The ambiance is amazing. Definitely will go there again but will not order the duck!. My companion's food also I was told was not outstanding. Food should definitely be improved.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous dining experience...wonderful atmosphere, beautifully prepared food and impeccable service. We plan to return many times and wholeheartedly recommend The Whitney.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I have to say that this is definitely a special place and very historic. A must see. The food on the other hand was average. Beef Wellington was good but the potatoes under cooked and the carrots as well were under cooked. Not worth the price but nice to see. Could be better.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We expected the Whitney to be top notch in every way due to the reputation and the price. First of all I made a reservation and then was given a table that vibrated due to the boiler underneath and was told this happens at two tables in the restaurant. So while other tables were empty we were seated at this one and then couldn't move when we determined the problem. We were told we should put our order in because there was an event of 75 people upstairs and things could get bogged down. Now I expect if the Whitney reserves a whole floor for a preplanned party they should have the resources not to rush the rest of their guests. My husband martini on the rocks with a twist came in a margarita glass with no ice and no twist. One of our party ordered the seafood over orzo and said he wouldn't order it again. My husband's duck was tough. I thoroughly enjoyed the Beef Wellington and Crab tomato soup. The ambiance is stellar but food and service a bit disappointing.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was spot on, except the most important thing- the food. I ordered the bone-in ribeye and my wife had surf and turf (filet). I wanted rare and she wanted medium rare. Mine came medium well and hers was pretty much well done. When we told the server our meat was overcooked he politely gave us a lesson in how the meat was actually cooked the way we ordered it. For the price I expected they would promptly take it back and try again. Instead they brought a plate of fancy desserts at the end with their apologies. Others I talked with have not had that experience so we may try it again someday. The rest of the meal was well prepared.

I loved the decor, attention to detail, and service.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The Whitney is a unique setting and we had a delicious meal and were treated wonderfully

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went in for a birthday brunch with my wife, and the building was beautiful. Very historic, and fun fact, the restaurant has a paranormal aspect as well. Appearantly has been on ghost hunters in past seasons.

The food was very tasty. Hearty as well.
Service was great and very accommodating. The drinks we ordered (mimosa and Bloody Mary) were good as well.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We were celebrating birthdays. The architecture of the Whitney is absolutely beautiful. The staff is attentive. The salad, entree, and bread were outstanding. Good selection of red wines. Could have more of a selection of chardonnays. The crust on the chocolate mousse desert was too tough to eat. The waiter did not inform us about the dessert room upstairs. We took our own tour of the building and discovered the dessert room. Overall, it was a very special restaurant to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great experience. The ambience was like an invitation to stay longer. We are thinking about coming back once the gardens are open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place and fabulous service - love the upstairs for dessert and after dinner drinks - I took my boyfriend for his birthday before the symphony and he loved it - it's his favorite place - they even personalized his menu with his name and Happy Birthday! Highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Best Dinner I've had.
We both loved our dinner. She had lobster tails and I had the pork chop in pistachio honey glaze(wow!!!)

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing, and our service was top notch. I can see us returning many more times!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food and service were outstanding! Had not been there in a while, and pleasantly
surprised with the quality of service and food selections. Will definitely have dinner
there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food, especially the bean soup and Iris was a wonderful wait person

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food and service - we felt very 'special' the moment we arrived. Thanks for making my husband's birthday special with his name on the menu. The tour was really special - loved seeing and hearing a part of Detroit's history.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tapas, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Awesome historic Mansion.. a must see for any history buffs and/or folks that appreciate amazing architecture, art, and beautiful woodworking. Really enjoyed the piano music and great service. Be sure to ask to take the narrated tour.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I took my husband for a birthday lunch. Host was fabulous. Server was Great. HOWEVER, after lunch we went for the tour. before we left, we were told twice don't for get to come back for your Birthday Desert. BIRTHDAY DESERT> at most restaurants this means Complimentary. We were not very happy when we were presented with a bill for what we chose. We chose the fruit tart. Crust was very hard, and had a tuff time cutting it.

Stan and Rosemary Truskowski
3/28/2017

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Brought my wife there for her 40th birthday celebration. We love the Whitney! We go for special occasions and it NEVER disappoints. What we love about it is that we can take our time, enjoy the incredible food and not feel rushed to leave. The service is top notch and second to none. We are treated like VIP's for the entire 3 hour experience both during dinner and upstairs for dessert. The Whitney is our go to and will always be. The pride in what they do is on display at every turn. Thank you Whitney staff...especially server Anne!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The prime rib was outstanding! So wonderful to have a beautiful QUIET place to have a fabulous meal. The wine recommendation was perfect

Tags: Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.