Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Whitney

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours: High Tea: Monday - Friday at 2:00; Saturday & Sunday at 1:00 by call-in reservation only. Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-1:30. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm Brunch: Saturday and Sunday 10:30am - 1:30pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 5:00 - 6:30, and all evening Sunday

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
We offer private dining options for groups from 10 - 200. Cocktail parties, afternoon Tea Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Brunches, Garden ceremonies are just a few of the options. Call 313-832-5700 for information and details.

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 before 4:30 and $7.00 in the evening. Gratuities are appreciated. There is a $5 self parking lot across Woodward, and some limited street parking along Canfield.

Public Transit:
The M1 Rail will be running soon, with a stop on the corner of Woodward and Canfield.

Executive Chef:
Paul Jackman, Pastry Chef: Eric Bunge

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz, Katie Laughton: (313) 832-5700 ext. 208

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Camille's Ordeal, Tea with Santa, Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Bring the whole family to celebrate the season. Special visit from The Easter Bunny during Brunch hours. We will be serving special Holiday Menus for both Brunch and Dinner. Menus are available for viewing at thewhitney . com

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Bring the whole family to celebrate Mom's special day. Special gift for Mom during Brunch hours. We will be serving special Holiday Menus for both Brunch and Dinner. Menus are available for viewing at thewhitney . com

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (142)
Romantic (141)
Historic (140)
See All
Good for a Date (118)
Good for Anniversaries (117)
Pre/post Theatre (87)
Quiet Conversation (71)
Worth the Drive (71)
Cozy (69)
Fireplace (69)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Notable Wine List (47)
Great for Brunch (44)
Authentic (43)
Private Room (40)
Afternoon Tea (37)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Business Meals (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Live Music (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Fun (22)
Afternoon Coffee (18)
Scenic View (18)
Happy Hour (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
People Watching (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Family Style (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (8)
Healthy (8)
Casual (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Dancing (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice, but a little pricey. If I were to go again, I would sit in the ghost bar and order off that menu.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Stopped by for lunch with my wife. We love historic places and the Whitney certainly did not disappoint us. The meal was wonderful as was the service. After we took a tour with our waitress who was very knowledgeable of the Whitney family, the architecture and it's succession of owners. We are most certainly are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend & I enjoyed our meals (I had brunch, she had the crab cakes) however I was served a souplate of sweet cream & 4 small strawberries as my appetizer & disappointed with my pastry as I was told caramel cream & received lemon. That was fine as the other was delicious but that pastry shell needed work. Now, if you're going to seat people next to a beautiful window, at least have that glass shining, not dingy. I still love this grand place ~

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Fun, Happy Hour, Dancing, Quick Bite, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice variety, good quality as we've come to expect. A little pricey but stilll enjoyable for special occasions

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food and the service was excellent. We had drinks at the bar before and then dinner downstairs after.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

For our anniversary I suprised my wife by having a romantic dinner at The Withney. We were thrilled beyond our personal expectations. The food was great. After dinner, we received a private tour of the building. Following the tour we enjoyed the deserts. We didn't want the night to end.

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I took my mom for brunch on Sunday for her birthday. I made a small note of the occasion when I made the reservation and to my surprise, not only did the host wish her a "happy birthday" upon our arrival, but so did our waitress, and they had a personalized menu for her saying "Happy 74th Birthday"! Our experience was wonderful, from start to finish~~the service was impeccable, the food was delicious and I simply can't say enough great things about The Whitney! We will definitely be back and I'm spreading the word about this fabulous downtown gem! I highly recommend for any special occasion...they sure made us feel special!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great Evening while taking my significant other out for her birthday. Food was amazing and the service was unbelievable. Keep on Keeping on...You all are doing GREAT! See you soon!!

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Elegant atmosphere. Clearly striving to be top notch but service and management lacking. Appeared as if many people were dining on a groupon - wearng jeans and leggings. Not what it used to be. Overpriced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had amazing service and the food was delicious. Couldn't ask for a better dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love love The Whitney, been there several times with different people and occasions and each time I find something new about the place. Can't wait to come in the summer for outdoor cocktails, dinner and possibly live music👍

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our visit was for a business dinner and the food and setting were very good. Our waiter was outstanding and his quips on the history of the Whitney were entertaining and informative. I would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our server was Glen, he was awesome! We loved how he told us the history of the Whitney as he served the courses. I will ask for him again. Plus I loved his bow tie!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Staff were polite and friendly. The food was amazing! It was a very personal dining experience. 5 stars!!!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Beautiful experience to dine at the Whitney looking forward going back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Your brunch was not up to the standards we expected no real flavor and not for that price.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was expecting all you could eat brunch, was disappointed in new brunch menu

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is one of the most romantic places in Detroit. The multiple fireplaces and historic mansion atmosphere paired perfectly with the incredible menu. Our waitress (Candice) helped make our evening truly special with her knowledge of the menu and the unique history of the mansion. After diner we headed upstairs for Bananas Foster in the dessert area and were blown away. We are already planning our next visit to this great restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beautiful old mansion ambiance. Great for the special occasion for someone special. The staff were very attentive and were very knowledgeable of the food and drink menus. Chef likes everything a little on the salty side so ask them to back off on the salt if you don't like it salty. Bring your wallet!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I took my Mom here for brunch for her 70th Birthday. We have been trying to come to the Whitney for a while, but hadn't had the chance until now. It wasn't a disappointment! Atmosphere was amazing and everyone was so accommodating and nice. Our waiter Sean was very informative, attentive, and personable. He even took us on a quick tour. We're coming back for tea/mimosas and bringing some friends

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I loved our server! She was divine, and very knowledgeable. The entire staff was amazing and I cannot wait to go back to try their Brunch! Definitely will be dining for dinner again as well! I recommend this for an evening night out or a girls brunch outing! The dessert room was my favorite ;)

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fantastic service from the moment we walked into the door.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had an outstanding dinner before the symphony. I had the "Early bird" dinner whitefish and it was perfect. My son had the swordfish; it was also outstanding. Leave at least 2 hours for dinner. We went up for dessert to the dessert bar. It was delicious, and we ordered 2 when we should have ordered one. We would have liked to stay at our original table, but sadly we couldn't get a full dessert menu there. Next time, we order the little desserts, one dessert, or no dessert. I did not like moving around. Our dinner waiter was outstanding. The dessert waitress was ok. We love the Whitney for pre-concert and special occasion dining.

Tags: Private Room, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was exceptionally prepared and delicious, from the chef's appetizer-a fried wanton with smoked salmon pate, right through the dessert we opted to take home. We had the shrimp cocktail and calamari appetizers, both delicious prepared perfectly. The calamari was so light and tender, could be the best I've ever had. Our main entrees were the Alaskan king crab with lobster tail, and the seafood sauté were delicious. The crab leg meat was removed table side by the waiter so no messy hands. There were four nice large leg pieces. The seafood sauté was crab, shrimp and scallops which were buttery soft and served over a bed of orzo nicely seasoned. They practically melted in your mouth. Wait staff was warm, friendly and highly knowledgeable about the food and its preparation. It is pricey but at the end there was nothing to complain about or wish it was different except the price. You could say quality and good service Is what you get at that price. Dante was our server. He did a great job and even told first hand stories about his own experiences regarding "ghosts" while working there. The Whitney is a beautiful old home with very elegant classic styling. It's a nice place for a special occasion. I'd eat there more regularly if price was no object. Looking forward to going back in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary our experience was so special we will never forget it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This whole experience was AWESOME!!!! It was our first time here, my wife's' birthday and our waiter treated her to feel special and the food was fabulous. We can't wait to come back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Healthy, Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The ambiance was wonderful as were the cocktails. The quality of the food was poor especially considering the expense.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Everytime I visit The Whitney, I am wowed by the attention to detail in both service and food. The servers are incredibly knowledgeable about the history of The Whitney and always offer great recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Whitney was beautiful and the service was excellent. We were disappointed that the Sunday Brunch was discontinued a few months ago. We attended the Sunday bunch multiple times and highly recommended it to family and friends. I agree that you want the class of the Whitney to remain and felt it was disappearing with the Sunday brunch. However we feel if you would strict enforce a dress code the class would remain. Many times we saw blue jeans and tee shirts and shorts allowed and that was disappointing.
This time the table we had the panio was so loud we could not even hear each other talk at the table. But we realize sometimes that happens.
I truly hope the Whitney goes back to the Sunday Brunch and enforce dress code. We truly loved it and hope to enjoy it again.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Terrific brunch menu, a lot of breakfast and lunch options. The shrimp and lobster own it was great, so were the chicken and waffles. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Nice restaurant with great service and ambiance. The food was ok. I ordered the swordfish and it was burnt so I had to send it back. The second one was very good.
I think you shouldn't have to pay $7 for valet parking given the overall price for the meal.
Overall good, but expensive for what you get.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was amazing! Loved the atmosphere. Can't forget to mention our server, Ahmed was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything from the service (our waiter David was awesome), food, and atmosphere was excellent. Some of the prices are a bit high but for a special occasions it is well worth it. The clam chowder was the best I have ever had (our waiter Told us it was phenomenal and he was not joking...if you have the opportunity definitely have it)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated as a special guest. The service was excellent, and the food was excellent. The building is something to see. I highly recommend the Whitney for that special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Toak my boyfriend to The Whitney for his 60th birthday. We had 8 people so they put us upstairs in our own room. It was lovely and special -- they even included his birthday on the menu!

Service was very nice and food was good. The crabcakes on the appetizer were a little too bready for me. Some people felt their beef/filet/steaks were a little overcooked. Boyfriend ordered the salmon, and he loved it. Two people added crab legs which was shelled tableside and was given a thumbs up. The desserts were the BEST!

One BIG disappointment was that I ordered a special birthday balloon bouquet delivered and the restaurant would not allow them in the room, it is their policy. Someone should have called me when they were delivered, so I could maybe have them sent to the house. But now YOU know, so you won't make the same mistake!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food and our server was outstanding. Price was high but, not unexpected. We received what we paid for. We will be back.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time and there will be more. I think I want my wedding there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

After the show dessert was a fantastic finish to a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my first experience and I fell in love! I will definitely be back! I loved everything about this place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had a wonderful experience celebrating a birthday. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.