Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Whitney

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Hours: Serving Breakfast & Lunch everyday 9:00 - 1:30, High Tea: Everyday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 4:30- 6:30, and all evening Sunday. Prime Rib Lunch & Dinner available in The Woodward Room daily by phone-in reservation only.

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
We offer private dining options for groups from 10 - 200. Cocktail parties, afternoon Tea Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Brunches, Garden ceremonies are just a few of the options. Call 313-832-5700 for information and details.

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 before 4:30 and $7.00 in the evening. Gratuities are appreciated. There is a $5 self parking lot across Woodward, and some limited street parking along Canfield.

Public Transit:
The M1 Rail will be running soon, with a stop on the corner of Woodward and Canfield.

Executive Chef:
Paul Jackman, Pastry Chef: Eric Bunge

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz, Katie Laughton: (313) 832-5700 ext. 208

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Camille's Ordeal, Tea with Santa, Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (124)
Historic (118)
Romantic (118)
See All
Good for a Date (112)
Good for Anniversaries (112)
Quiet Conversation (78)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Pre/post Theatre (70)
Cozy (63)
Worth the Drive (61)
Fireplace (60)
Great for Brunch (54)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Afternoon Tea (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Authentic (36)
Business Meals (35)
Private Room (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Good for Groups (29)
Live Music (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Fun (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Bar Seating (19)
People Watching (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Scenic View (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Afternoon Coffee (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Healthy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Casual (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Family Style (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (2)
Dancing (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Interesting restaurant in an old lumber baron home. Beautiful artwork and woodwork. Food was ok- service in bar area very slow. Our waitress, Jessie was very friendly. Ate in the Woodward room, went downstairs for dessert. Lots of dessert choices.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding service. Good explanation of good options. Well presented options. Incredible venue.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely LOVE the Whitney. Although there is an extensive menu, I was disappointed the Sunday Brunch Buffet has been changed to a plated selection. The buffet offered such a variety of items, it enabled you to try things you may not normally consider ordering. Some buffet items are no longer available (even as a plated selection). It was truly second to none! Please consider bringing back the the Sunday Brunch Buffet. Overall... Love, Love, Love the Whitney.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent restaurant...brought our children for their fathers birthday celebration. The food was amazing and they were so kind to our kids. We love this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Location is great
The Moscow mules we ordered were fantastic and the best part of the night.

Soup and salad were good but main entrees were subpar ...
Beef Weelington was not good at all, and my girlfriends filet came out cold ....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an absolutely wonderful time.
Loved our waitress
Food was amazing
Loved having a personalized menu we got to keep
Piano player is PHENOMENAL - truly enjoyed his music during dinner
Enjoyed the tour
Will definitely come back for more special occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Glen was an exceptional waiter/server. He was pleasant, polite and personable. His recommendations were excellent and his knowledge of the wine list and history of the Whitney dwelling was very impressive. We were very happy with our dining experience and will request his services when we return. The food was delicious with very generous servings.

Even the valet service/staff was polite and professional.

Thank you for personalizing the menus for John on his birthday. Attention to detail was appreciated.

Sincerely, Janet

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

My overall experience was excellent hadn't been there in 20 years still feel as good planning to go back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

The food's good but not great, and it costs a bit too much, but dining in a robber baron's villa is worth it. There's an odd and endearing disconnect between dining under tapestries (etc) and being handed a paper bag with ground coffee packed in a paper bag and saran wrap and a styrofoam shell with a slice of unbaked cheese bread before you leave. Go for the Sunday brunch, which is fabulous, and try to nab a seat on the veranda in summer.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic...couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our anniversary :)

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is great reasonably priced for a fine dining establishment every meal comes with a guided tour of the Whitney The Waitresses are very knowledgeable the house is steeped in history it's definitely worth the trip highly recommended

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

The experience at the Whitney was weird. The atmosphere was lovely and the mansion is beautiful, but the afternoon tea service was bizarrely restrictive. The tea began with a server informing the table next to us that they would not be able to order champagne until exactly 2pm because tea did not begin until then. There were zero menu options, just a pre-arranged menu of scones, soup, sandwiches, and dessert, and each course was announced to the room as a whole instead of individual service. The food was all right, but certainly nothing to justify the lack of variety. Ultimately, it was too stifling for luxury, and I will not be back.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Whitney was a great experience. The building was beautiful and the food was extravagant. A special place to spend our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant is in a historic home with a lot of original furnishings. Its like going back in time to a long gone era of rich Detroit er's who lived & worked in Downtown Detroit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time. Fantastic food and our waiter Daniel, was great! We will be back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was amazing. The staff was also kind and courteous to my mother and I. My mother is handicapped and the staff paid special attention to her as she moved from her walker to the chair. The service was great as well. I want to go back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary. Dante was our waiter. He was excellent. He took care of all our needs and was very courteous. And, of course, the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I took my family here for Mother's Day and we had a wonderful experience! My parents called me the next day to thank me again and said that Mother's Day will go down in history as one of the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a very nice Mother's Day brunch. The food and service was outstanding. I enjoyed not having a buffet. The menu for a Sunday brunch offered a lot of choices.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The Whitney is, and will continue to be, a staple and standard of upscale dining in Detroit.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

What a beautiful restaurant! I can't believe I've lived in the Detroit Metro Area my whole life and have just now dined. The eggplant bruschetta, saffron risotto and beef Wellington were phenomenal. Great drinks, great ambiance and excellent service. While a bit steep in price, it felt worth it! Can't wait to come back in the summer and see the gardens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The potatoes were terrible. Over priced for what u receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Only issue we had here was that we were originally seated in a corner area of the first room right by the hostess/front door area. Probably shouldn't do that for someone's 5th Anniversary reservation is my only advice to the owners. The issue was taken care of. We got moved to a window table with a nice view of the gardens. Otherwise everything else about our experience was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I took my mother out for an early Mother's Day brunch and we were not disappointed. The food was amazing and the service was excellent. Our server, Shawn, made our expierience memorable and gave my mother service fit for a queen. Our meals came out timely with the courses evenly spaced; not only did it look appetizing, it tasted like it was handmade just for us. We had no complaints and will definitely be back for another event in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The ambiance was amazing and the food was delicious! For some reason, the wait staff was not so friendly this time, which put a slight damper on our apecial occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The service was lacking. We waited a long time for our drinks and then my plate arrived luke warm and the "melted cheese" had already firmed up and was more like a crust on my hash browns. The omelet was very delicious, but if it had been served when it was hot, it would have been much more enjoyable. We were celebrating a college graduation and had brunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We celebrated our 36th anniversary with friends while visiting Detroit, and The Whitney made it incredibly fun and memorable. Thanks for making us feel VERY special!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Live Music, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Outstanding service from beginning to end, and no leftovers (the food demanded to be eaten). Plus, they have a separate "Dessert Parlor" upstairs ... very nice!

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Graduation

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I truly enjoyed their new menu, so many choices. Our waiter Ahmed was awesome. It was very quiet in early morning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Home town Gem that everyone should experience atleast once if nearby or visiting. Staff was friendly and helpful with everything requested of them. Food was on point.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Went for dessert and your.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

One of the most enjoyable anniversary dinners I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Highly recommend the tour and dessert parlor!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We took our friend here for his birthday. One party and redress then bone in ribeye that came WAY overdone. Sent it back and second time the stake was WAY underdone (blue in the middle) ...the manager took it back and the same stake that she cut into before came back this time charred. When tasted it had no seasoning to it. We were embarrassed to even complain about it the third time ...she just didn't eat. My husbands mashed potatoes were cold...I mean lumpy and cold. You can tell it was reheated not too fresh. I ordered wedge salad and the lettuce was old and wilted on the outside. I could only eat some from the center. The portions are huge so if you want a lot of poorly cooked and bland tasting American fare than this place is for you. Overall I would never go back here. Not sure where these reviews come from but other than he historic building this place is pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our service for brunch was impeccable! There are few places where you can tell the staff enjoys what they do and has a passion for making people happy. We came in for a birthday and to kick-start our Kentucky Derby celebration and we couldn't have asked for anything more! I will most definitely be coming back again! The food was absolutely delicious as well! I will be dreaming of the calamari and smoked salmon until we return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Restaurant was a little cold, my wife kept her coat on during most of the diner. Other than that, the food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing, historic Detroit building. Hostess was welcoming, and was completely familiar with our reservation and our seating request. She even called us by name. Waiter was decent, but not quite the attentive, efficient server that would be expected at a place like the Whitney. We had to ask for both coffee and water refills, scones were to come with the 3 course brunch and did not arrive until we asked for them. The food itself was excellent, generous, served at the proper temperature and plated beautifully. The ambiance is wonderful, and this is a perfect place to take an out of town guest, celebrate a special occasion, or simply treat yourself.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great Food and Great Service in a historic home.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A great spot along Woodward. Pleasant atmosphere, especially with the piano music provided which enhanced the relaxed feeling while enjoying the service and delightful meal. The Dessert room was done well and the desserts were very good. I would recommend it highly to all who wish to spend time in our great city of Detroit.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.