Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.37mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Whitney

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant plated Brunch Saturday & Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "Afternoon High Tea" everyday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Friday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Prime Rib

Hours of Operation:
Hours: Serving Breakfast & Lunch everyday 9:00 - 1:30, High Tea: Everyday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Dinner: Monday through Saturday 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 4:00pm - 8:00pm, Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. $29.95 Early Evening Menu available Monday - Friday 4:30- 6:30, and all evening Sunday. Prime Rib Lunch & Dinner available in The Woodward Room daily by phone-in reservation only.

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
We offer private dining options for groups from 10 - 200. Cocktail parties, afternoon Tea Bridal Showers, Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Brunches, Garden ceremonies are just a few of the options. Call 313-832-5700 for information and details.

Parking Details:
Valet is $5 before 4:30 and $7.00 in the evening. Gratuities are appreciated. There is a $5 self parking lot across Woodward, and some limited street parking along Canfield.

Public Transit:
The Qline is operating at no charge util Labor Day with a stop on the corner of Woodward and Canfield.

Executive Chef:
Paul Jackman, Pastry Chef: Eric Bunge

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz, Katie Laughton: (313) 832-5700 ext. 208

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Camille's Ordeal, Tea with Santa, Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (99)
Good for Anniversaries (88)
Romantic (82)
See All
Good for a Date (78)
Quiet Conversation (64)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Worth the Drive (49)
Great for Brunch (45)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Afternoon Tea (39)
Cozy (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Historic (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Authentic (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Business Meals (23)
Scenic View (23)
Good for Groups (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Live Music (21)
Fun (19)
Fireplace (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
People Watching (11)
Afternoon Coffee (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (9)
Private Room (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This is our first time to The Whitney and it did not disappoint - for the most part. My wife and I both had the prime rib which was good but we both agree that we have had better. Outside of that the experience, the service and the drinks were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter was average. He spoke fast and not great eye contact. More of a causal dining waiter, not fine dining IMO. I ordered the filet medium rare, it was definitely medium- but I didn't send back, Med is fine. The filet sat on mashed potatoes and green beans. Both of which were slightly warm/cold, not hot and neither had any flavor. So bland and dry. The filet was amazing, but what filet isn't? The whole dish lacked detail. It was basic, literally no sauce or extra flavor.

The ambionce was ok. Cool old mansion but the old part was very obvious. As we walked through the floors I took note of one piece of decor, mid stairwell that has a solid 1/2 in of dust. Lots of old dust filled fake flowers. The carpet in our dining room was gross, stained, wrinkly in spots from being worn, etc. I was surprised it wasn't kept up more.

Overall it was just eh. My mother who is 70 LOVED it. She got the double lobster tails. Personally I was not impressed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time at The Whitney!
Such a historic home with history, charm and detail. Our server was just wonderful and the food was delightful. The only problem may have been how loud our own group was! We were having such a good time and hope that our laughter didn't disturb any other guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

The Whitney made our 15th weddung anniversary special. The food was great,the staff excellant and the food was awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The evening was tremendous our server Iris was spectacular her knowledge of the menu and the house back ground was a bonus to the excellent food. Our evening was fabulous the tour after dinner was an added bonus. We are looking forward to a return to the Whinty in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It was delightful for the eyes and tastebuds . Interesting tour, gorgeous mansion with rich woodwork and stain glass. Absolutely a beautiful home turned into a wonderful restaurant. Loved going there. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I chose the Whitney for our wedding anniversary dinner location this year. My wife, daughter and myself really enjoyed our dining experience. Our waiter was extremely attentive, polite and professional. The food was definitely worth the cost. I recommend the filet! I also appreciate the no cell phone policy in the dining room. After dinner we enjoyed dessert in the parlor. Valet parking was also reasonably priced. Fantastic all around experience and we will be returning in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food. Very good service. Live pianist. Great place to go if you want to be pampered during a meal. Great dessert.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Top shelf, ambience and atmosphere. Excellent for romantic dates or any special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our server, Candace, was awesome!! She was very friendly and helped guide us on our first visit to the Whitney. We will for sure revisit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a wonderful evening! Appetizers & dinner was outstanding, our waitress was excellent, & the pianist made the dining experience even more special. Definitely a special occasion destination since the alacarte menu & drinks are very pricey. The ghost bar after dinner is always a great experience, though again, very pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The entire experience was exceptional. The service was extremely professional, the timing of the food was perfect, and the food was well prepared and excellent. Additionally, bringing out of town guests made the history and the building itself a real 'wow factor'. It was a great evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

A trip back in Detroit history. What a glorious space. Wonderful service. We elected the Fixed Price menu, which is far more limited. The cornish game hen was a little sad, but the whitefish was very good. The biggest draw is the mansion itself. Very special. Service also was personal and attentive. Very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We loved our visit to the Whitney on a Sunday evening. The entrée specials for that day were terrific and very affordable. And it has outstanding ambiance, beauty and historical significance. Will be back again soon.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The brunch was phenomenal and so was the service. I would for anyone that wants great food, service and to experience a bit of Detroit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a great experience. We were warmly greeted. Our waitress was very informative and kind. We received our food and drinks within a timely manner. The food was delicious. I'd definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Still a great classic spot in Detroit that has endured all the added hype

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The experience at the Whitney was exceptional. Our waiter Daniel was hands on and attentive. I had not been there in awhile trying all the new other restaurants downtown and in mid-town, but The Whitney is tried and true with the menu, cocktails, and service! Our party of six was totally delighted and while there was a wedding on the premises it did not interfere with the attentive and timing of each of our courses! Can't wait to go back! I love good service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fabulous staff, outstanding food. The mansion is absolutely gorgeous , and you can have an optional tour. It is a must experience if you go to Detroit. It is fine dining and priced accordingly. Most enjoyable for our group of 5. Ages 21-58 everyone loved the experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 3, 2017

A very nice experience! The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The tour was interesting and informative. It was great learning about the history of the mansion. Brunch and tour is Perfect for a special afternoon outing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Highly recommend this for a great ladies tea, catching up with a friend or any special occasion! Food was outstanding and so was the service! Groupon was worthwhile also!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Me and my husband went for my birthday I absolutely enjoyed every minute of the date excellent service and the food was incredible.....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I really enjoyed the food it was my anniversary and the atmosphere in the garden was everything . The staff was very nice and professional

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Befitting a special day in a historic place in Detroit. Our family had a a quiet place to celebrate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We had an enjoyable experience at The Whitney. The beef Wellington was delicious. Our servers were attentive and personable. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was a rather long wait for the lunch entree. It was almost as if the waitress didn't put our order in or either forgot to pick it up in time. People that arrived much later than us were brought their food ahead of us. The manager came to our table and we shared that we were still waiting for our lunch entree. The waitress never came back to check on us or speak to any delays. The last thing that made us livid was the fact that an ant was crawling down my friend from Ohio's plate. We were initially impressed with the ambiance but were very furious about the service and the ant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Our server made our night. Very knowledgeable and bubbly! The food was amazing and the house was beautiful. We want to come back for a tour and visit some of the other events on different nights

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The atmosphere and the cuisine was exquisite. Friendly and professional waitstaff. I proposed to my now fiancé in the beautiful gardens so it is a night we will never forget.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

Daniel was a great waiter and bartender. My husband enjoyed celebrating his birthday at The Whitney.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Stoped in for lunch; Food and drinks were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 10, 2017

THE SERVICE WAS GREEEAT. MY HUSBANDS FIRST TIME AND HE ENJOY EVERY MOMENT THANK YOU

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great dining experience! One of a kind setting to celebrate any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing food and service. The Whitney is by far the best restaurant I have been too in the state of Michigan.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Awesome!! Very romantic dinner and cocktails in the ghost bar! Finished with dessert on 2nd floor! Celebrated 5th year anniversary! Wait staff was great! Daniel took very good care of us and was very personable. Take the tour and experience the full experience of the Whitney and the history of the mansion. I would highly recommend. This was the best night out to dinner I have had.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I don't even know where to begin. The Whitney is hands-down a "must visit" for anyone visiting the city for the first time and for special occasions. I went there for a date and they exceeded our expectations. The ghost tour, the dessert parlor, the extensive wine list, great cocktails and incredible dinner options make The Whitney my number one upscale restaurant in the city. Men don't need sports coats but it still drops old World charm, decadence, and luxury. Will definitely visit for tea and champagne hours.

Tags: Seasonal, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and had a wonderful time. Joshua, our server, was extremely friendly and thoughtful! He played a huge role in making our evening special and recommended dessert and a tour following dinner (we followed up on both recommendations and had a great time). There were vegetarian options for us that were delicious and filling, from starter to entree. Great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Best steak I've ever had, provided with the best service I've ever experienced. Worth every penny.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service is personable and upbeat. The chicken and waffle dish is the perfect combination of sweet and savory. Lovely Architecture. I recommend the tour. Table and chairs were nestled a tad tight in the corner for my party of three. An occasional must do for a 'Luxe Dining' in Detroit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Everyone who lives in the Detroit Metro Area should try this dining experience at least once! The Whitney is a gorgeous mansion from 1894, and it was so interesting to get a personal guided tour for a half hour before dinner. I recommend going up to the Ghost Bar for a pre-dinner drink, then going on the tour (every half hour), and then having dinner in one of the amazing dining rooms. Thought about enjoying an after dinner drink at the outside patio bar, but we'd had enough! We'll need to return for that! The food was very good, from the appetizers to the entrees to the delicious desserts. I even got a personalized menu with birthday greetings printed at the top for my 60th birthday, that I was able to take home. Great way to celebrate this milestone! Oh and go for their Witching Hour cocktail! I'm usually a wine and beer kind of gal, but this limoncello, vodka, raspberry drink was too tempting to resist!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had the early dinner. Very nice selections to choose from. Food was prepared very well. Ambience was wonderful. Very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.