About The Whitney

4421 Woodward Ave
Detroit, MI 48201
View Larger Map

The Whitney is Detroit's most Romantic Restaurant. Housed in a historic 52 room 1890's mansion on Woodward Avenue in the heart of Detroit's cultural district. Elegant Sunday Brunch with endless Mimosas Sunday Morning. The Whitney also serves a Luxurious four course "High Tea" Monday through Friday. Live Entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Call for Ghost Hunting Dinners and Special Events.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Hours: High Tea Monday - Friday at 2:00 by call-in reservation only. Saturday at 1:00 Dinner: Monday through Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am - 2:00pm, Sunday Dinner 4:00pm - 8:00pm Ghostbar open seven days a week at 4:30 Live Entertainment Friday & Saturday 9:30-midnight. Garden open Memorial Day - Labor Day.

Cross Street:
Canfield Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(313) 832-5700

Website:
http://www.thewhitneydetroit.com/

Entertainment:
The Whitney offers live entertainment in The Ghostbar Thursday - Saturday nights. Live pianist nightly and during Sunday brunch.

Catering:
Info@thewhitney.com

Parking Details:
Valet $7.00 Gratuities are appreciated. During M1 construction, we recommend accessing the Whitney from M-10 the Lodge Freeway. Exit at Forrest/Warren, take a left on Forrest ( left turn onto Forrest from center lane). Take Forrest 1/4 mile to Woodward,Right on Woodward. The Whitney is 1/10 of a mile down Woodward on the right.

Executive Chef:
Thomas Phelps

Private Party Facilities:
The Whitney sustains an extensive and impressive resume for private dining events which includes hosting classically themed weddings, corporate occasions and any number of other, miscellaneous, intimate parties. Private Rooms for Bridal and Baby Showers, Breakfast meetings, Business and Rehearsal Dinners are available.

Private Party Contact:
Samantha Cesarz: 3138325700x208

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Whitney hosts interesting variety of special events throughout the year. Breakfast with Santa, High Tea, monthly Paranormal Dinners, and Garden Parties, just to name a few. Visit our website for more details.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Make Dad's Day! Special Edition Father's Day Brunch 10:30-2, includes special gift for Dad, carved Prime Rib and Lamb and Short Ribs. $49 for adults, $19 for kids 10 & under

The Whitney Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Romantic
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Special Occasion
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
4 More
Best Ambiance
Detroit
Romantic
Detroit
Special Occasion
Detroit
American
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Detroit ›

special occasion (157)
romantic (130)
neighborhood gem (72)
See All
great for brunch (70)
fit for foodies (51)
good for groups (43)
scenic view (37)
notable wine list (32)
great for lunch (21)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
hot spot (13)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best Sunday brunch ever.. ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Hands down the best Sunday brunch ever....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

I took my 86 year old mother to a downtown church, the Whitney for Sunday Brunch, and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra for a 2:30 show. She said it was one of the best days of her life.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Whitmey to celebrate our ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to the Whitmey to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything was very good. Staff was very attentive . Seemed to truly care that you enjoyed your experience. Loved the little touches like the menu that was printed with "Happy 30th Anniversary" on it. Would definitely return!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was exquisite, the service impe ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

the food was exquisite, the service impeccable and the server, Candace, was truly special. We go every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and it's a very special place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch at Whitney

Dined on May 15, 2016

The Whitney is a ascetically beautiful restaurant. The entire building is available for wandering around in and it is gorgeous. The service was excellent. Most of the food was very good. We did tell our waiter that the shrimp and grits were a big disappointment. The dish had absolutely no flavor of any kind. The rest of the food, including the desserts were very good.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great experience to go to the W ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a great experience to go to the Whitney for Sunday Brunch. The food selection and quality was excellent. The atmosphere of the Whitney makes the whole experience memorable. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our Visit

Dined on May 15, 2016

This Sunday Brunch was our second visit to The Whitney. In both cases, we were extremely satisfied with the meal, ambiance and service. The first time we dined there, we were celebrating our 49th wedding. I don't remember telling anyone that but the staff treated us like royalty. It was truly an incredible experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch was excellent and the unlimited M ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Brunch was excellent and the unlimited Mimosa's were the perfect compliment!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to The Whitney for a 40th birthd ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We went to The Whitney for a 40th birthday dinner for two. I really wanted to like this place as it was our first time dinning and our close friends rave about the brunch. I must admit that the service here is exceptional. The waitress paid attention to every detail while we were there. Chef even sent several complimentary items to our table. However, we were beyond severely disappointment with the food. The steak lacked seasoning and had absolutely no taste. The lobster tail was every bit of 2oz. Corn was over cooked and buttered. And the mashed potatoes were entirely too thin. The bone-in pork flank was sourly flavored and lacked presentation. Appeared as tho the rice and vegetables were just tossed on the plate. Sadly, I prefer the taste of Logan's Steakhouse. Definitely not worth the $150.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The same as it ever was!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I first went to the Whitney 25 years ago for a special occasion. I was looking forward to seeing what had happened between then and now. The answer is "Not much"! Which is fantastic. This place is a magnificent venue for dinner, brunch or just dessert and a drink. The menu has changed, but still offers a fabulous mouth watering variety of dishes. Our server's name was Calvin and he was a wonderful guy. It helped that he was from Mississippi, as we had just returned from spending a year there ourselves. Very chatty and pleasant and was the perfect gentleman throughout the evening. Really enjoyed chatting with him. We both decided to share a hot platter as a starter which included crab cakes, eggplant bruschetta and the most delicious calamari we have had outside if France. My wife chose the Baked Sea Bass and it was probably the best seafood both of us have ever experienced. Simply superb and the chef outdid himself with this. Cooked to absolute perfection. I chose the filet and lobster and again....superb. The steak could not have been cooked better and melted in the mouth. The lobster just as good. We had a reasonable Malbec for wine and then went upstairs for the dessert. This was probably the biggest disappointment of the evening. The waiter was a little surely and did not seem at all interested in us. We ordered the lemon cake and the Pecan pie. Both were very ordinary and the Pecan pie had way too many nuts and virtually no pie! The lemon cake was yellow!!! Could have bought this from anywhere. Overall a lovely evening. We will do something different with the dessert next time, but the charm and ambiance of the Whitney is alive and well and we will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated Mother's Day with my lovely m ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Celebrated Mother's Day with my lovely mom. We both had this on our "bucket list". A wonderful experience for all of us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time. Our waiter was awes ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great time. Our waiter was awesome. He did a great job. Please thank him again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

In all fairness, we were late for our re ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

In all fairness, we were late for our reservation. We ordered off the theater menu, we were never asked how we wanted our steak, it was well done.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Whitney is breathtaking, from the ma ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Whitney is breathtaking, from the mansion, to the servers, to the food, and not to mention a whole floor dedicated to desserts. I wish I could have tried everyone of them

food5
ambience5
service4

Sea bass was wonderful. ..staff knowledg ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sea bass was wonderful. ..staff knowledgeable. Experience as expected.

food3
ambience1
service1

Service was terrible.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was terrible.

food5
ambience5
service5

The converted mansion and live piano mus ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The converted mansion and live piano music made for some very cool ambiance. A bit uppity but never anything but polite. Wait staff was great, food was good, prices we very expensive (as advertised.) All in all, not a place I'd go every night but great for a special occasion.

food4
ambience4
service1

Very unprofessional and inexperienced se ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Very unprofessional and inexperienced server. Could not open a bottle of wine. Was generally very unsophisticated and really did not fit the image of the Whitney.

food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Not happy on this occasion.

Dined on May 6, 2016

I have been to this restaurant for the last three years, I love the setting of the restaurant, but I was definitely not happy with this visit for our 27 th anniversary. When we arrived the hostess asked what was the occasion? I said Anniversary, she then switched menus and said congrats. If you have a regular waiter or waitress ask for them because ours was horrible. Dante who was busy is one of the best waiters. I regret he wasn't able to assist us. No offer of a champagne toast and the waiter sure didn't offer. $116 bill and one hour later my wife and I was out the door. I felt the food was overpriced . I may pick another restaurant next time.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellence

Dined on May 1, 2016

Everything was great, the staff was unbelievable, the ambiance was excellent. I enjoyed it all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Everytime

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Whitney Provides a memorable experience any time of the day. Brunch is beautiful, high tea, or dinner are fabulous. Happy hour in the Ghost Bar is the best kept secret, and on Tuesday nights they have music. We keep returning over and over and are never disappointed. The mansion is amazing and allegedly haunted. What a gem in downtown Detroit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great visit

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner before a show, Wedge Salad, Salmon and Pork Shank all excellent. Came back for Dessert in the dessert room ... terrific. Service from Leann (dining room) and Joshua (desserts) bot top notch. We'll be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st date since Baby #2 arrived

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a great time. Perfect for a fancy date night. We even got a tour and learned all about the house.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service OUTSTANDING

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our Service at the Whitney was OUTSTANDING. It began with the Gentleman who greeted us at the door to every single person along the way during our dining experience. We were treated like Royalty. Another outstanding observance was how everyone worked together like a Team and where one person started another person would just naturally take over to help the other person. I have been to a lot of Brunches and this one Tops the List with FOOD and SERVICE. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

ROBERT

Dined on April 16, 2016

Robert gave us a wonderful tour, we told him that it was our anniversary and when he started the tour (it was just us two and him), "Georgia On My Mind" started playing and that is actually our song! We are from Georgia and had never been to the Whitney, just heard that it was a Detroit staple. He realized it was our song before we had to say anything, excused himself for a moment, and returned with a corsage for my boyfriend to pin on me. It was so precious! Most definitely a moment to remember forever. He touched on the perfect highlights of the tour and helped make our evening extra special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was a special occasion for my parents (35th Anniversary) and I've never heard them compliment service, food and overall experience like they did from their experience at The Whitney. I wouldn't change a thing... thank you for making their experience so memorable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Dining Visit

Dined on April 16, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 49th wedding anniversary with a dinner at the Whitney . The visit was all for which we could have hope. The waitress, Laurie, fluttered around us like a butterfly. The meal and the ambiance were outstanding. The staff treated us like royalty. We will go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The staff were friendly, the food was de ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The staff were friendly, the food was delicious, but service was slow. It took nearly 2.5 hours for dinner and dessert (upstairs). We weren't planning on blowing our whole evening here, but that's what happened. I asked to jump in on a tour after our dinner ended, but the tour was just ending. No one offered to help set us up for a different time. After reading about the history of the building beforehand, I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to see much. I would recommend this to a friend, but I don't plan on dining here again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious dinner in a beautiful atmosphe ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious dinner in a beautiful atmosphere. Service was great. I did order my steak medium and had to send it back, when it came back it was closer to rare but I didn't send it back again. That was my only issue, other than that it was a wonderful dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere.

Dined on April 9, 2016

For a special occassion this is the place to go. Beautiful old building with all the fixtures you would expect from a century old building. From before dinner drinks at the bar on the 3rd level, dinner on the 1st floor, followed by a special coffee and dessert on the 2nd floor, everything was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Gorgeous space, great food!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We had great service. The bar has an awesome happy hour. Our dinner was fantastic and reasonably-priced. I love that there's an entire parlour/floor dedicated to dessert! Our server even offered tableside Spanish Coffee, of which I promptly took advantage.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Brunch was a special treat for my 8 ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The Brunch was a special treat for my 8 year old granddaughter. She had a wonderful time. She had previously researched the history of the Whitney!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The BEST brunch in town

Dined on April 3, 2016

My sisters and I took my mom here for her birthday. The brunch is outstanding and has an amazing selection of food. The service is fantastic and bottomless mimosas were great! The Whitney is definitely worth the price.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The bone in lamb chops melted in my mout ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The bone in lamb chops melted in my mouth! The service was outstanding. I honestly cannot put my experience in words. It was absolutely incredible! This is about my 6th time at the Whitney and this was by far the best experience I have ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place inside and out. The staf ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Beautiful place inside and out. The staff was great with lots of great historical stories, incredibly gorgeous with plenty of rooms for entertaining. Our first time at The Whitney was exceptional, we will definitely be back several times for many occasions and will bring plenty of family and friends along for there enjoyment. A priceless gem👍

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent Whitney

Dined on April 1, 2016

Dined again at a long-time friend, the Whitney. Always have wonderful service (Alex and Jen were outstanding) and Tony always takes care of all of the customers in a friendly, humble fashion. Twin lobster tails were amazing, as was the dessert bar. Highly recommend for any special occasion or just a night out on the town.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love piano music however, I'm glad we ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

I love piano music however, I'm glad we weren't Too close to it, it was a little loud. Great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole overall experience was outstan ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The whole overall experience was outstanding. The staff was perfectly attentive the ambiance was perfect for a holiday...the food was plated exceptionally and the whole experience leaves me with a very satisfied Easter...would absolutely recommend the Whitney to anyone looking for a very elegant upscale dining adventure. Kudos to the #Whitney 👌

food1
ambience4
service1

It too three hours for dinner then the f ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

It too three hours for dinner then the food was cold. They told us to go upstairs for dessert or was another 30 min

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible

Dined on March 26, 2016

I have wanted to visit the Whitney since I moved to Detroit in 2010. I finally got to go this past weekends and it was everything I dreamed it would be. The atmoshphere was incredible, the staff was amazing and went above and beyond to.make the experience magical to say the least. The home itself is incredible and makes you feel like you've stepped back in time. I cannot wait to visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.