About The White Buffalo Club

160 West Gill Avenue
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Cellars at The White Buffalo Club offers the only New York style ambiance seven days a week in its USDA Prime beef steakhouse. Excellent drinks and service bolster the most versatile menu in town that boasts fresh seafood entrees, excellent salads and appetizers, as well as its staple, sizzling prime steak. Not to be missed, with over 1,100 bottles of wine in house, is a wine experience carefully designed to match the award winning menu. Two blocks off town square on the corner of Millward and Gill. Private dining and large groups available upon request. Reservations recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Millward

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-4900

Website:
http://www.whitebuffaloclub.com/dining.html

Public Transit:
Local town shuttle stop one block from the front door, accessing all of Jackson, plus quick service to Teton Village and back.

Executive Chef:
Will Gahagan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Private Dining

The White Buffalo Club has three private dining options; the main restaurant seating up to 40 ppl, elegant private room seating up to 20 ppl, or both options together seating maximum of 60 ppl.

The White Buffalo Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Value
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
3 More
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Value
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is good, restaurant is too dark as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food is good, restaurant is too dark as it is in the basement and there are no windows. No ambiance, toilet and space near the restaurant not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great staff and food was excellent

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great staff and food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service, will come ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food and great service, will come back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Only our steaks were good! Appetizers of ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Only our steaks were good! Appetizers of bacon wrapped dates were burnt and hard as rocks. Sent them back and waiter brought out another plate exactly the same way. Never ate them and was still charged. Brussels sprouts leaves not cleaned and ends untrimmed and served burnt. Leaves were black and the consistency of a greasy potato chip. No one seemed to care about the quality of product or satisfaction of the customer. Managers response was "We're all human, we all make mistakes." Never apologized just charged full price for a VERY disappointing meal. Very apathetic attitude by manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The bartender/manager Adrienne, was outs ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The bartender/manager Adrienne, was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent, first ones to arr ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service was excellent, first ones to arrive so restaurant was empty. Server was friendly and knowledgeable. Bacon wrapped dates were outstanding, as were the Cheddar Grits. My Filet was melt-in-your mouth perfect, but spouse's halibut was even better if possible. (I tasted, pure envy) Pricey meal but very very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food in a very frendly comfortable ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food in a very frendly comfortable place. The restaurant is easy to reach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Jackson Hole. Food a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best restaurant in Jackson Hole. Food and service are consistently fabulous and atmosphere is elegant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was cooked perfectly and one o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The steak was cooked perfectly and one of the best I have ever had. We are from the SF/Napa area and enjoy a good meal and everything we had was delicious. Kudos to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Grits in the world. Followed close ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Best Grits in the world. Followed closely by all cuts of meat. Great great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal was delightful...however, four ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The meal was delightful...however, four of the five of had filets medium rare, we received two end cuts, one approx. 3" in height and one 2" in height...there was a lack of consistency. We also ordered High Water Vodka, which is made in Jackson which they didn't carry....three of the five ordered High Water. One ordered a virgin mary...no tomato juice. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It seams the hotels in town don't seem t ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It seams the hotels in town don't seem to recommend or know much about this restaurant but it's really good. I had the wedge salad and the Bison ribeye and it was delicious! We also had a fillet that was wonderful. Mac and cheese just so so. The server was super knowledgeable. By far the best food we had in the area. By the way, they are the only restaurant in town with Prime meat. The restaurant does seam to get a much older and established crowd but don't let that scare you off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Smoke alarm went off many tines which wa ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Smoke alarm went off many tines which was very inconsiderate. We have always had a great experience here so we brought 5 guests from out of town - food was still outstanding but our waiter was not engaged and the alarm was annoying

Surprised management did not offer any form of recovery for the lackluster experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Food was great service was ok. Several i ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was great service was ok. Several intruputions from fire alarm going off. Very loud alarm sure broke or feeling for the place. It is in a basement which no matter how well decorated it is still a basement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We are regulars at the White Buffalo and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We are regulars at the White Buffalo and continue to go back because of the great food and attentive service. It's our favorite restaurant in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Intimate, superb dining experience for a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Intimate, superb dining experience for anniversary dinner. The jumbo scallops and steaks were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I've ever eaten!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We were staying at Jackson Lake Lodge and wanted to go somewhere different than the lodge restaurants. And we're so glad we did!! I've eaten at Ruth's Chris, Morton's and The Capital Grill in DC, and this place has them all beat! We started with The Prime Beef Remington, which is thinly sliced tenderloin with béarnaise and capers and it was amazing. Then the pear and arugula salad that was light and refreshing. But the best was saved for last! The NY strip was not only PERFECTLY prepared, but presented on a sizzling hot plate floating on melted butter and sprinkled with fresh parsley flakes. The brussel sprouts were an excellent compliment . Our server was totally professional but still fun and easy going. The chef came out to meet us and he was gracious and charming. I had a Grey Goose gimlet and it was superbly prepared with fresh limes and not lime juice from a bottle. The restaurant was so perfect that we decided to come spend our last night at the hotel, which unfortunately was not so perfect. We had to change rooms because the air conditioning was not working in the first room, then we were accosted by loud music with heavy baseline while we were trying to fall asleep, which ended only after several calls to the front desk. Both rooms were nicely decorated and had all the necessary conveniences with a nice balcony for morning coffee. Go enjoy the restaurant but you might want to stay elsewhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only thing this place lacks is a vie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The only thing this place lacks is a view.

The food, and service were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food with some unusual choice ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Incredible food with some unusual choices you don't get at other upscale restaurants. It was a wonderful experience and we'll definitely go back when we are in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebration on Friday the 13th

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice wine list! Stuffed dates seemed a bit over cooked or cooked and reheated. Caesar salad with anchovies was shared. Tasty dressing! Beef filet cooked to perfection but one 8 ounce piece of meat served on a platter without a garnish seemed stark. Shared brussel sprouts that were seasoned perfectly and had bacon bits...very delicious. The halibut was good but lacked flavor. A little disappointed as we have eaten there before and loved everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We have become a bit disappointed with a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We have become a bit disappointed with a few of the Jackson restaurants and no longer recommend many. We have never been disappointed with the White Buffalo and find it to be our favorite restaurant. Our only wish is that you would offer more items for desert, not just the one item.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jackson locals

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had never been here before so decided to give it a try. Turned out to be a good choice as we had an excellent meal well served. Despite it being their last night for the season staff was engaged and into it. They were short some items but Chef Will called us earlier to tip us off, a thoughtful touch. Steaks and sides were first class and well proportioned. We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Was Dinner Worh It?

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great as usual. 2 for 1 deal was inticing. Waitress overcharged bill by $20. Pointed out difference, bill was changed but they already billed credit card. Voided incorrect charge then recharged. Forgot to give me my card back. Details, details, details. C'mon really.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Not Wonderful

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The first turn-off was the hostess who greeted us as if we were carrying the plague virus, possibly because we had a new borne in a small carseat with us. Haughty and indifferent is NOT the way a hostess should behave. Second turn-off was the fact that not one, not two, not three, but MOST of the menu items were not available. No fish, no chicken, no bison. You could have beefsteak or a shrimp dish for entree. If hostess had told us this before we were seated we would have said, "gee, that is too bad" and left for another venue.

On the positive side, the filet was delicious and cocktails were good...but most of us did not want to have steak for dinner. Also, our waitress was very helpful, nice and very apologetic about the lack of dinner items.

If it was not for the 2 entrees for price of one deal, we would not have chosen to go here as it is very expensive relative to other dining options (of which there are many) in Jackson. Strongly recommend Rendevous Bistro or the Kitchen over this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was excellent but the service was n ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was excellent but the service was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The Steak was amazing. Small, quiet and ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Steak was amazing. Small, quiet and comfortable. Excellent wait staff. Great place for a romantic evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meat in Jackson! Great drinks and s ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Best meat in Jackson! Great drinks and sides are terrific too. Waitress and chef remembered us from last year's vacation. Love this place and will be back the next time in Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steaks!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The steaks were absolutely phenomenal, both the beef and bison. The service was prompt and courteous from the time we arrived, as our hostess/waitress took our coats and seated us. Cocktails were quite nicely mixed and delivered quickly. The steaks were perfect, exactly as ordered. The only side we got was asparagus. The place was very quiet, maybe only one other table seated, although it was a Monday night. Perhaps if the prices were a bit lower, or a side or two were included, the restaurant would be busier.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best kept secrets in Jackson. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

One of the best kept secrets in Jackson. The food was excellent, the service was great and they have a darn good wine list. Can't wait to go back next time I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

White Buffalo rocks!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Although the restaurant and bar were fairly empty for a Saturday night (it was after 9), the food and service were terrific. I have to say that the bone-in bison ribeye was one of the best steaks I've had anywhere. Absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new favorite place!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Ever since we moved from Tx. to Wy. we have been very disappointed with every steak we've ordered. Finally, we've discovered an awesome place to enjoy a great meal. The Buffalo ribeye was the best I've ever had. Also, the fried brussel sprouts, baby spinach & sauteed mushrooms/onions were perfect as a side dish. Service was outstanding with a nice quiet atmosphere. The menu is limited, but if they can make each dish to perfection why bother with a bunch of mediocre meals. The perfect place for a special occasion. Highly recommended! we will return as soon as possible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great cocktails and beef

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Best steaks in town -great place for excellent food, service to take out of town guests- eat at a leisurely pace

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We were staying at the White Buffalo Club for our trip to Jackson Hole, so we decided to dine in the restaurant one night, and we also went for Happy Hour one day after skiing. The food, drinks and service were all excellent. The small plates we had during Happy Hour (crab cakes and Prime Beef Remington) were outstanding, and it was nice to get the Happy Hour special price. For dinner, my husband had the New York Strip and absolutely loved it. I had the arugula and spinach salad and the scallops, and both were phenomenal. It was definitely a bit of a splurge to eat there, but it was worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambience

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet dinner opportunity, which the prices certainly suggest, be aware that there is a flat screen TV behind the bar which is inescapable. We happened to be there the night of the Super Bowl, having selected the restaurant for (I hoped) a nice, quiet dinner. Although there is an adjoining room with a TV and food service, the TV in the dining room was on and several folks were there and somewhat animated - which gave us a sports bar experience that is not what the White Buffalo advertises and certainly was not what I was looking for. So be aware of the possibility. Other times I've been there it wasn't an issue, but that's probably luck of the draw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Not so much...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I used to love this place, and reviewed it accordingly. Over the years I think it has lost its luster; most notably on this last visit was a different (and much smaller portion size) scallop appetizer, not nearly as wonderful a preparation. Also our dining partner's steak was cooked to medium, not rare as requested. Too bad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

One of the best steaks I have ever had. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

One of the best steaks I have ever had. Huge side dishes and fresh crab make it perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Intimate spot, attention to most of the details

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

When we arrived we found a nice intimate spot for dinner. We understood why the restaurant was booked with the small amount of seats which was complemented by the attention to detail with the food because of the size. We were distracted by the TV at the bar. With the intimate setting, even the reflection was off setting. The buffalo ribeye was spot on and absolutely delicious. Accompanied by a hidden gem on the wine list the dinner was very memorable despite the distracting glow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Quiet and Intimate

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended and we were very pleased. The food was excellent as was the service. Only strange thing was the veggies had lot of pepper on them but other than that it was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

White Buffalo

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This experience was very disappointing . We ate there in 2015 on Halloween and it was very good. It was busy then but the food and service were excellent. This time however they were not busy and perhaps understaffed and both the food and service were awful.

We would never go back or recommend to any of our friends.

Jackson has too many good restaurants to put up with that kind of experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.