About The White Buffalo Club

Cellars at The White Buffalo Club offers the only New York style ambiance seven days a week in its USDA Prime beef steakhouse. Excellent drinks and service bolster the most versatile menu in town that boasts fresh seafood entrees, excellent salads and appetizers, as well as its staple, sizzling prime steak. Not to be missed, with over 1,100 bottles of wine in house, is a wine experience carefully designed to match the award winning menu. Two blocks off town square on the corner of Millward and Gill. Private dining and large groups available upon request. Reservations recommended.

160 West Gill Avenue
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm daily

Pre-fixed menu on December 24th and 31st.

Cross Street:
Millward

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-4900

Website:
http://www.whitebuffaloclub.com/dining.html

Public Transit:
Local town shuttle stop one block from the front door, accessing all of Jackson, plus quick service to Teton Village and back.

Executive Chef:
Will Gahagan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • The White Buffalo Club, Jackson, WY

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Private Dining

The White Buffalo Club has three private dining options; the main restaurant seating up to 40 ppl, elegant private room seating up to 20 ppl, or both options together seating maximum of 60 ppl.

The White Buffalo Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Business Meals (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
279 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and great service. The steaks ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food and great service. The steaks are amazing. A bit pricey for an every day dinner, but fine for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had dinner on New Years Eve and they ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had dinner on New Years Eve and they had a five course dinner for $125/pp. The food was okay but for 250 plus tip I would have expected a dinner that would be very memorable and this was not. Tried too hard to be over the top with the food and I believe it didn't work especially the pigeon course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Everything was excellent and the food wa ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was excellent and the food was delicious. Except the noise level was deafening!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening enjoying each ot ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a lovely evening enjoying each others' company and excellent food. The service was very good. Would have rated outstanding if our waiter could have been just a bit more mindful, i.e, plz pause before reciting specials to allow one of the 3 in our small party to disengage from conversation with a friend at the table next to us, and plz do not clear an unfinished plate away even after I'd specifically asked to keep it.

These were the only exceptions to a most delightful experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food! You won't be disappointe ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food nice atmosphere. Only complai ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great food nice atmosphere. Only complaint is tables very close together.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is way overpriced for the foo ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This place is way overpriced for the food quantity. It was ok but not spectacular! The service was exceptional and the servers were kind and knowledgeable. Even if you have stupid money spend it somewhere else. If they up their quantities to meet the price expectation it would be a better option! Food was good but you need to order every course to be satisfied! Deserts were awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

The new menu is very bland and my steak ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The new menu is very bland and my steak was barely warm and served on a cold plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

A great place for a very enjoyable dinin ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

A great place for a very enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and the food was well ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent service and the food was well prepared with an amazing selection. Definitely a worthwhile experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We believe the WBC has the best steak in ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We believe the WBC has the best steak in the valley. Service was good but not to the level we have experienced before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We were so looking forward to our visit ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were so looking forward to our visit back however there are new chefs and new menu. So we left after drinks. Menu now is some Asian inspired thing you may find in San Fran not a traditional steakhouse anymore. No mores wedge salad and Mac. I didn't eat so can't really knock it ,just not what I wanted when I come to Wyoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

I was disappointed in the decline in foo ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I was disappointed in the decline in food quality since

I was there last, I believe there were some menu changes in the mean time. Food was slow, steak was ok but not as good as usual, which has always been amazing. Oysters were disappointing, I have had far better at other Restuarant's in the area. The meal wasn't terrible but for the price I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This restaurant was recommended by a fri ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a friend, but we were disappointed with our experience. The food was good, but we waited a long time between the three courses we ordered. Our entree course arrived 2 hours after our 8:00 reservation time. By then we had finished our bottle of wine and were no longer hungry. We told the waiter we thought the wait was too long. He apologized and said the kitchen got backed up by a large party. Not our problem. It would have been nice if they had offered a complimentary dessert or glass of wine. By then we were just ready to finish our meal and leave, but the offer would have been an appropriate and appreciated gesture.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The white buffalo had always had one of ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The white buffalo had always had one of the best steaks in town. My wife and I were excited to see the menu diversified with an emphasis on creative, technique driven fine dining. Each dish we ordered was well thought out from flavor combinations to presentation. Easily one of the better dinners I've had in Jackson. I'm excited to see where Joel Hammond takes this restaurant.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an absolutely fantastic dinner here. ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had an absolutely fantastic dinner here. Loved the new menu and the staff was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Jackso ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Jackson Hole. It may have been the best meal I have ever eaten - the new menu is absolutely phenomenal and unlike anything else in the area.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but we really miss the old me ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Good food, but we really miss the old menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wife and I stayed at Buffalo club in Apr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wife and I stayed at Buffalo club in April this year before buying house. Now that we moved here full time, we decided to try the dining experience. Our steaks and sides were cooked to perfection. Wait staff were friendly, informative and attentive. We had the steamed muscles appetizer, which was awesome too. We ate so much food we were unable to try deserts. Parking was easy (on street) and free (no valet necessary).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! We had just gotten into town on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Amazing! We had just gotten into town on a Sunday evening and had a late 8:45pm reservation... not many other diners and we were so thrilled at our amazing find in this restaurant. Service was good and the food was the best we've had in at least a year... we expected it to be good but it went far beyond that. We had the steelhead and halibut and both were prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious steak, best I've ever had. Goi ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious steak, best I've ever had. Going to bathroom is really odd because the hotel gym is between restaurant and the facilities.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service were good - seating not ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food and service were good - seating not so much. seemed to crowd 90% of diners into one corner

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellant service. Perfectly cooked fo ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellant service. Perfectly cooked food.

Great salads and appetizers. Cozy and dark, a very classy

space. You can actually carry on a conversation here.

Our waiter and bartender were both knowledgable and

attentive, and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was nice as it was not cr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The atmosphere was nice as it was not crowded. The food was good, but choices few. The wait / bar staff were very courteous. The value for cost in our mind was poor. With all the choices in the area, it is doubtful we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

First time at the White Buffalo and with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

First time at the White Buffalo and without a doubt, best steak in Jackson.

My 8 oz fillet was cooked to perfection. I could have cut it with a fork. Side dish of mushrooms and onions also perfect.

I'll definitely be back with family and friends who visit us in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food!!! Great steaks! We wil ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Wonderful food!!! Great steaks! We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is consistently understaffed ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The service is consistently understaffed the many times I have dined at the White Buffalo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We always ask the locals when we visit a ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We always ask the locals when we visit a place where they like to eat. A lady that works at Trailside Gallery, said WB was one of her favorite places to dine. The bacon wrapped date appetizer was amazing. We each had the halibut and it was perfect. The bread is also delicious. The desserts are made in house. The restaurant only holds 45, which keeps it small and intimate, as well as quiet. Everything gets 5 stars!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best meal we had in Jackson ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was the best meal we had in Jackson. We are big fans of many of the restaurants in Jackson, but this was by far the best prepared and serviced meal of our couple week stay!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always busy. Hard to find a parking plac ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Always busy. Hard to find a parking place. Good food setbice a little spotty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was very good. There was a party of ten that were overly loud and obnoxious. When asked to be a little less loud. One of the women said that they want to be obnoxious. For a small space it was difficult to have an enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The White Buffalo Club is in our top 3 f ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The White Buffalo Club is in our top 3 favorite restaurants and always a must go to when in JH. The staff is always wonderful and the food devine. The ambience is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar was right in our face and VERY L ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The bar was right in our face and VERY LOUD

The female that waited on us was SO slow she should be working at something else

But the filet was really good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Amazing food, some of the worst service ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food, some of the worst service we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Server was awful, literally awful. man ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Server was awful, literally awful. manager should contact me

I won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

White Buffalo served us the best steaks ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 7, 2016

White Buffalo served us the best steaks we've ever had! Everything we ordered was fantastic- even the mac and cheese was made with al dente macaroni. Seriously a memorable meal, tops for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We entered the restaurant and they was n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We entered the restaurant and they was no hostess so the waiter was doing both jobs. Their sign board said their drink special was roasted peaches and jalapeño margarita. The waiter said they didn't have it because they were out of peaches in the bar. But the kitchen had peaches but couldn't use. I then ordered a margarita with a splash of OJ. he said they didn't have orange juice. Then he said they were out of mix so he would made a different one for me. My husband ordered the pork chop he said it was good. I ordered wedge salad and soup of the day. It was ok. The service was mediocre. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A bit of a disappointing experience in l ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2016

A bit of a disappointing experience in light of the good ratings others have given. Maybe it was just a bad night. Why? The "tower wedge" wasn't a wedge or a tower at all but a tiny mound of lettuce with some blue cheese and bacon. But their first attempt had rust-colored lettuce on the bottom, meaning it was past its expiration date. The sliders were plain, unimaginative, but my burger was great. The service was friendly and reasonable quick. The couple sitting next to us, however, got tired of waiting for service and took off before ordering. Overall, with so many great restaurants in Jackson Hole, this one will need to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Went because it is only restaurant in JH ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went because it is only restaurant in JH that serves Prime Beef ...

It was just ok !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food is good, restaurant is too dark as ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is good, restaurant is too dark as it is in the basement and there are no windows. No ambiance, toilet and space near the restaurant not clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.