About The White Buffalo Club

160 West Gill Avenue
Jackson, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Cellars at The White Buffalo Club offers the only New York style ambiance seven days a week in its USDA Prime beef steakhouse. Excellent drinks and service bolster the most versatile menu in town that boasts fresh seafood entrees, excellent salads and appetizers, as well as its staple, sizzling prime steak. Not to be missed, with over 1,100 bottles of wine in house, is a wine experience carefully designed to match the award winning menu. Two blocks off town square on the corner of Millward and Gill. Private dining and large groups available upon request. Reservations recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Millward

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 734-4900

Website:
http://www.whitebuffaloclub.com/dining.html

Public Transit:
Local town shuttle stop one block from the front door, accessing all of Jackson, plus quick service to Teton Village and back.

Executive Chef:
Will Gahagan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Tue - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 9:15PM

Private Dining

The White Buffalo Club has three private dining options; the main restaurant seating up to 40 ppl, elegant private room seating up to 20 ppl, or both options together seating maximum of 60 ppl.

The White Buffalo Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Special Occasion
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (15)
romantic (13)
See All
neighborhood gem (9)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Celebration on Friday the 13th

Dined on May 14, 2016

Nice wine list! Stuffed dates seemed a bit over cooked or cooked and reheated. Caesar salad with anchovies was shared. Tasty dressing! Beef filet cooked to perfection but one 8 ounce piece of meat served on a platter without a garnish seemed stark. Shared brussel sprouts that were seasoned perfectly and had bacon bits...very delicious. The halibut was good but lacked flavor. A little disappointed as we have eaten there before and loved everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have become a bit disappointed with a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We have become a bit disappointed with a few of the Jackson restaurants and no longer recommend many. We have never been disappointed with the White Buffalo and find it to be our favorite restaurant. Our only wish is that you would offer more items for desert, not just the one item.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Jackson locals

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had never been here before so decided to give it a try. Turned out to be a good choice as we had an excellent meal well served. Despite it being their last night for the season staff was engaged and into it. They were short some items but Chef Will called us earlier to tip us off, a thoughtful touch. Steaks and sides were first class and well proportioned. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Was Dinner Worh It?

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great as usual. 2 for 1 deal was inticing. Waitress overcharged bill by $20. Pointed out difference, bill was changed but they already billed credit card. Voided incorrect charge then recharged. Forgot to give me my card back. Details, details, details. C'mon really.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not Wonderful

Dined on April 8, 2016

The first turn-off was the hostess who greeted us as if we were carrying the plague virus, possibly because we had a new borne in a small carseat with us. Haughty and indifferent is NOT the way a hostess should behave. Second turn-off was the fact that not one, not two, not three, but MOST of the menu items were not available. No fish, no chicken, no bison. You could have beefsteak or a shrimp dish for entree. If hostess had told us this before we were seated we would have said, "gee, that is too bad" and left for another venue. On the positive side, the filet was delicious and cocktails were good...but most of us did not want to have steak for dinner. Also, our waitress was very helpful, nice and very apologetic about the lack of dinner items. If it was not for the 2 entrees for price of one deal, we would not have chosen to go here as it is very expensive relative to other dining options (of which there are many) in Jackson. Strongly recommend Rendevous Bistro or the Kitchen over this place.

food5
ambience4
service3

Food was excellent but the service was n ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was excellent but the service was not.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Steak was amazing. Small, quiet and ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The Steak was amazing. Small, quiet and comfortable. Excellent wait staff. Great place for a romantic evening out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meat in Jackson! Great drinks and s ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Best meat in Jackson! Great drinks and sides are terrific too. Waitress and chef remembered us from last year's vacation. Love this place and will be back the next time in Jackson.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious steaks!

Dined on March 15, 2016

The steaks were absolutely phenomenal, both the beef and bison. The service was prompt and courteous from the time we arrived, as our hostess/waitress took our coats and seated us. Cocktails were quite nicely mixed and delivered quickly. The steaks were perfect, exactly as ordered. The only side we got was asparagus. The place was very quiet, maybe only one other table seated, although it was a Monday night. Perhaps if the prices were a bit lower, or a side or two were included, the restaurant would be busier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best kept secrets in Jackson. ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

One of the best kept secrets in Jackson. The food was excellent, the service was great and they have a darn good wine list. Can't wait to go back next time I'm in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

White Buffalo rocks!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Although the restaurant and bar were fairly empty for a Saturday night (it was after 9), the food and service were terrific. I have to say that the bone-in bison ribeye was one of the best steaks I've had anywhere. Absolutely delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our new favorite place!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Ever since we moved from Tx. to Wy. we have been very disappointed with every steak we've ordered. Finally, we've discovered an awesome place to enjoy a great meal. The Buffalo ribeye was the best I've ever had. Also, the fried brussel sprouts, baby spinach & sauteed mushrooms/onions were perfect as a side dish. Service was outstanding with a nice quiet atmosphere. The menu is limited, but if they can make each dish to perfection why bother with a bunch of mediocre meals. The perfect place for a special occasion. Highly recommended! we will return as soon as possible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great cocktails and beef

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Best steaks in town -great place for excellent food, service to take out of town guests- eat at a leisurely pace

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on February 12, 2016

We were staying at the White Buffalo Club for our trip to Jackson Hole, so we decided to dine in the restaurant one night, and we also went for Happy Hour one day after skiing. The food, drinks and service were all excellent. The small plates we had during Happy Hour (crab cakes and Prime Beef Remington) were outstanding, and it was nice to get the Happy Hour special price. For dinner, my husband had the New York Strip and absolutely loved it. I had the arugula and spinach salad and the scallops, and both were phenomenal. It was definitely a bit of a splurge to eat there, but it was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Ambience

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

If you are looking for a quiet dinner opportunity, which the prices certainly suggest, be aware that there is a flat screen TV behind the bar which is inescapable. We happened to be there the night of the Super Bowl, having selected the restaurant for (I hoped) a nice, quiet dinner. Although there is an adjoining room with a TV and food service, the TV in the dining room was on and several folks were there and somewhat animated - which gave us a sports bar experience that is not what the White Buffalo advertises and certainly was not what I was looking for. So be aware of the possibility. Other times I've been there it wasn't an issue, but that's probably luck of the draw.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not so much...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

I used to love this place, and reviewed it accordingly. Over the years I think it has lost its luster; most notably on this last visit was a different (and much smaller portion size) scallop appetizer, not nearly as wonderful a preparation. Also our dining partner's steak was cooked to medium, not rare as requested. Too bad...

food5
ambience5
service4

One of the best steaks I have ever had. ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

One of the best steaks I have ever had. Huge side dishes and fresh crab make it perfect

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Intimate spot, attention to most of the details

Dined on January 29, 2016

When we arrived we found a nice intimate spot for dinner. We understood why the restaurant was booked with the small amount of seats which was complemented by the attention to detail with the food because of the size. We were distracted by the TV at the bar. With the intimate setting, even the reflection was off setting. The buffalo ribeye was spot on and absolutely delicious. Accompanied by a hidden gem on the wine list the dinner was very memorable despite the distracting glow.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quiet and Intimate

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended and we were very pleased. The food was excellent as was the service. Only strange thing was the veggies had lot of pepper on them but other than that it was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

White Buffalo

Dined on January 9, 2016

This experience was very disappointing . We ate there in 2015 on Halloween and it was very good. It was busy then but the food and service were excellent. This time however they were not busy and perhaps understaffed and both the food and service were awful. We would never go back or recommend to any of our friends. Jackson has too many good restaurants to put up with that kind of experience .

food5
ambience4
service5

The steaks were outstanding as usual! We ...

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

The steaks were outstanding as usual! We split the 12 oz ribeye, which was plenty for both of us. It was not too busy, so the noise level was minimal. Overall, we enjoyed everything. The beignets are always a hit! Cozy place for the winter!

food1
ambience1
service1

We were seated quickly, but that is wher ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

We were seated quickly, but that is where the good service ended. It took almost 10 minutes for the waitress to come take our drink order. Once she did this, it took about 5 minutes for her to come back and tell us that they were out of tomato juice for my bloody mary. A few minutes later red wine was brought out for my huaband (he ordered beer). This was remedied, and then she came back to take our order....another 5 minutes passed and she came back to tell us that they were out of buffalo ribeye (the name of the place is The White BUFFALO!!) We asked for the check for our beer so we could go elsewhere and were asked "are you sure?".....We were sure. If you're thinking of going here, just keep walking about 1/2 a block around the corner and go to the Blue Lion. They had excellent drinks, excellent service, and excellent food.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Generally excellent

Dined on January 1, 2016

We will return. We don't normally choose a specialty steak house but had heard good things about this one. The entrees were carefully prepared and as near perfect as ever experienced. The side dishes perfectly appropriate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Food, Iffy Service

Dined on December 26, 2015

The steak was delicious! And I can't complain about the Mac-n-Cheese. Unfortunately, after we ordered we found out that they ran out of mashed potatoes and to to top it off, the desserts I had arranged to celebrate my parent's wedding anniversary were forgotten. I arranged them the night before, reminded the server once we ordered, and when it came time for the big finish--nothing. It was very disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on December 26, 2015

This is a fabulous restaurant. It is by far my favorite. The food is delicious and the service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Inconsistent and Heartbreaking

Dined on December 26, 2015

I had read inconsistent reviews and now I know why, but I really wanted to like this place. The ambience is nice with a comfortable lodge-type feeling. The bar TV dominates the little cellar restaurant, but we did mind that. We ate at the first seating on Christmas Eve. The restaurant was not busy, and the staff was not overwhelmed. While our wait person was amiable and professional, she failed to follow-up with us on the quality of our food. We all ordered medium rare and the steaks were all over the place from rare to medium. The brussel sprouts were inedible. We all love brussels sprouts and ordered two servings. The wait staff failed to ask us why both bowls were untouched. After dinner, the chef came by and inquired as to the qualify of our meal. When one person explained to him that the steaks were not cooked correctly and the brussel sprouts were terrible, the chef nodded and wished us a Merry Christmas. It's almost as if he did not hear the comments. I expect more from an establishment that represents itself as a steakhouse, and at a minimum, the chef should have apologized for the inconsistencies. The bar was also inconsistent. Don't order a Manhattan. Very disappointing.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience!

Dined on December 17, 2015

Highly recommend the filet and the Mac and cheese. Seating capacity of 42 so I highly recommend reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

We went with friends for dinner at the White Buffalo and had an amazing meal. The steaks were great and the salads were really fun. The Wedge tower is totally unique. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Filet fantastic.

Dined on October 31, 2015

Filet fantastic.

food4
ambience2
service2

Order the steak

Dined on October 31, 2015

The WBC has excellent food, drinks, and wine list. Order the steak. You won't be sorry. This, coming from an almost always non-meat eater.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Pleasant Evening

Dined on October 29, 2015

Off season, so there much conviviality among the locals making for a pleasant evening. The food was hit and miss. Excellent beef tenderloin, a New York strip with no flavor and an unusual caesar salad dressing.

food2
ambience4
service2

Small and intimate. Small plates.

Dined on October 24, 2015

Fish was dry. Staff looked like they just finished hiking. Good food, but very small plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food3
ambience3
service3

Overblown Hype!

Dined on October 23, 2015

As my grading of The White Buffalo indicates, I was not impressed. Situated in the basement of a boutique hotel, my initial take was that the restaurant needed a lighting engineer. After the server turned up the lights, we could read the menu but were not impressed. The offerings are limited if you do not come for prime beef. This is the specialty of the house; but, it is not advertised as such. The member of our party that has dietary restrictions ordered a rib-eye; it should not have been labelled as prime. Another member declared the caesar salad: "Strange!" All in all, I wished we had gone elsewhere.

food5
ambience3
service5

Good Deal-Bad Deal

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

Currently an off season 2 for 1 entree deal is going on. Good Deal! If you use the 2 for 1 deal, an automatic mandatory 22% tip is added on. Bad Deal! As usual, however, the steaks were excellent, as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service5

Bad Dinner

vip
Dined on September 30, 2015

3rd time was not good, was great 1st two visits. Go early, at 6:30 the noise was very loud. My side car martini was more like a whiskey sour? The appetizers - scallops and beet salad - were great as was the NY strip. My ribeye was so bad I could not cut around the marble to eat it. So sad. But they did not charge me for it, a very nice gustier.

food5
ambience5
service5

quaint and quiet

Dined on September 28, 2015

The steaks are excellent! Chef Will and his team take their time to prepare every plate. Not pretentious and careful attention to detail is what you will find

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

This steakhouse seems to be very popular ...

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

This steakhouse seems to be very popular and busy. Our Cesar salad was very tasty. My wife enjoyed the Alaskan Halibut. We ordered a baked potato but it came out 5 minutes after our main course was delivered. The potato was undercooked and we were offered mashed potatoes instead, which was basic. My steak had good flavor, yet it didn't impress. For $45 I would have expected a thicker cut and an amazing ribeye. Ruth's Chris style steakhouses are much better and cheaper. Our desserts were good, and the coffee cup was large. If in town the next time I'd think twice before returning.

food4
ambience4
service3

The service was very cold. Our waiter w ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

The service was very cold. Our waiter was fine, but it was clear he didn't want to work or be at the restaurant that night. He might have said 3 words to us the entire evening.

food1
ambience1
service2

Too noisey....Hard surface floors, mirro ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Too noisey....Hard surface floors, mirrors and ceiling created chaotic ambiance. Air conditioning so high that wine glasses were swinging. Left after initial drink and went to Jackson Hotel. Wonderful meal and great service at Jackson Hotel. Recommend Jackson Hotel highly!

food5
ambience4
service5

Nice little gem.

Dined on September 13, 2015

Provided excellent service with great food. Definitely would dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.