About The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room

1055 Second Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

For more than 40 years, the Westgate's Sunday Brunch has been a San Diego tradition. Enjoy lively music while sampling a feast of the freshest seafood, gourmet cuisine, bountiful fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries as well as traditional breakfast favorites. Accompany your meal with our full beverage and dessert bar.

$55 per person, Children under the age of 12, $29

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 238-1818

Website:
http://www.westgatehotel.com/

Parking Details:
We offer 24 hour valet parking for hotel and dining guests.The Westgate Room and the Sunday Brunch validate parking for two hours at a charge of $3.00. Special event and Holiday parking rates may apply.

Directions to Hotel Parking:

Please proceed to end of Second Avenue and turn right immediately before trolley tracks, ignoring the "Left turn only" signs (it is OK to turn right if turning into the hotel). Proceed down the ramp to the valet desk

Executive Chef:
Fabrice Hardel

Private Party Facilities:
For a detailed description of all available private dining facilities please contact our Catering Sales Manager Anna Geiss Travis.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Geiss Travis: 6195573722

Additional:
Banquet, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are joining us for our Mother's Day Brunch please note the following: Credit card guarentee is required with a 72 hour cancellation policy. Guest will be charged 50% of reservation if they are outside of the policy. We require that guests arrive within 15 minutes of their reservation, arriving outside of this time frame will result in automatic cancellation of reservation. Valet parking is available at the special event rate of $8.00. We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

Restaurant Photos

  • Big Eye Yellow Fin Tuna Sashimi
Big Eye Yellow Fin Tuna Sashimi

The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Contemporary American
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
2 More
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Contemporary American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Great for Brunch (28)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Live Music (2)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely the best. Food, location serv ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely the best. Food, location service Always when in San Diego

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is elegant. The food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The atmosphere is elegant. The food was mainly very good, but there was too much sea food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant old world French atmosphere. Won ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Elegant old world French atmosphere. Wonderful selection of food stations offering small single dishes to choose from for a two bite taste. Quiet dining rooms and excellent service with attentive waiters. Would highly recommend as an upscale brunch dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful experience all around. The f ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A wonderful experience all around. The food was excellent to say the least! A gourmet brunch at almost half the cost of the Hotel Del(The only other gourmet brunch I am aware of here in San Diego). Service was also very good as Juan our server went out of his way a few times for us. We will most definitely be going back!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to go to the Westgate brunch on ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We used to go to the Westgate brunch on specials ocassions and a friend was completing 50 things to do in San Diego and we decided to join.. It did not disappoint. More options than before for all tastes and more family friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful One of the best brunches ever!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful

One of the best brunches ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff at Le Fountainbleu was wonderf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The staff at Le Fountainbleu was wonderful and attentive. They were great with the kids as well as the entire table. They also made a fuss over our Anniversary couple (completely unasked) -- Thank you! If that wasn't enough the food was varied and amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When we arrived the main room was virtua ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

When we arrived the main room was virtually empty and they wanted to seat us in one of the side rooms but we asked to be in the main room the host made us then wait in the bar area for a few minutes while he said he was shuffling people around to see if he could get us a seat in the the main room. During the hour and a half we were there having brunch only four other parties came to sit in the main room and there were about 10 tables for two open the entire time we were there, or more. I think it's interesting that they would try to lessen our experience for people that aren't even there for a $110 breakfast-- also he say us literally right by the piano it was kind of like a rude way of saying that he didn't want to put us in the main room--we couldn't even hear each other talk. When we left all of the tables for two that were in great locations were still empty and have not had anyone in them the whole time we were there so there was no reason for any of this. I'll definitely talk to the manager the next time I make a reservation and ensure proper seating. I want to also say that I made a reservation ahead of time and were not a walk in. He said, "I have to move around some reservations" and treated us like we were a walk in. But frankly even if we were walking we still should've been given the best table for two in the house because we were there--and again any reservations he had must not have been for our seating because they never showed. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I expected more based on the cost of thi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I expected more based on the cost of this brunch. I was disappointed with the quality of food. Many of the seafood items were plated and sitting in rows on the table. There was no ice under them. I picked up a dish with two slices of ahi tuna, but the ahi was dry when I ate it. I also wondered how long it had been sitting out at room temperature. While their spread was large, and they certainly had yummy desserts, I don't plan on paying $50 for brunch here again when I thought the best part of the meal was my bananas foster and mixed berry crepe.

It is great that drinks are unlimited - margaritas, mimosas, and bloody Mary's - all were yummy. The servers were very attentive and were quick to clear plates and refill champagne.

Our server charged us for 4 people, reversed the charge, then charged us for 2. So instead of spending the expected $108, we left the restaurant with a $324 charge on our debit card which, "should be credited in around three business days." This was very frustrating. We didn't want to make a scene, so we left quietly, but this is an extremely careless error to make as a server...especially when I'm paying $50/person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place! Definitely one of the b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place! Definitely one of the best places for brunch in San Diego. The seafood selection was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Westgate was elegantly del ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

As always the Westgate was elegantly delightful with a wide range of small plates, a seafood bar, caviar, fish, fowl, and meat mains, omelette station, chocolate fountain, and endless champagne. The only disappointment was that no small cake arrived to celebrate my husband's birthday although I had included this information on the Open Table reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the service (frequent ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the service (frequent champagne, water and coffee refills) and the live piano music. There was a great variety of foods available for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best brunches we have every h ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best brunches we have every had. A lot of seafood, both cold and hot preparations, including sushi and caviar. Desserts were out of this world. They made fresh baby donuts with a variety of dipping sauces.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended sunday brunch with li ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Highly recommended sunday brunch with live piano playing entertaining. Superb seafood and excellent services. Will be back whenever in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were married at The Westgate and hadn ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were married at The Westgate and hadn't been back since. So it was cool to have brunch in the same room, 15 years later! And it didn't disappoint--everything was tasty and the presentation was especially lovely. It was a little chaotic and crowded due to it being a brunch holiday (Father's Day) but the staff was gracious and we didn't have to wait long. Our table was lovely and the service was attentive. We loved everything we tried. Sadly, we are not seafood fans, but I think the brunch would be even more delightful for those who are--it all seemed to be very high quality with a lot of variety.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Simply one of the best classic brunches ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Simply one of the best classic brunches in America. The food is out of this world, the live piano fantastic and the stated elegance of the dining room and table is an art unto itself GO

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The brunch was amazing! Everything could ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch was amazing! Everything could possibly want. Everyone very nice service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best brunch in San Diego!

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The brunch at the Westgate was the best brunch that I have had in the four years that I've lived in San Diego! The buffet is extensive - I mean extensive! Fresh made-to-order sushi, oyster shooters, delicious prime rib, awesome cheese and meat boards, fresh ceviche, and a chocolate fountain! The small desserts were perfect for tasting them all :) And, the most important part, bottomless mimosas, margaritas and bloody marys! We have found our Sunday brunch place :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in town for a business conference ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I was in town for a business conference and had invited an old friend who lives in San Diego out for brunch. We chose the Westgate due to reviews and also the proximity to our hotel (US Grant). The food was plentiful, varied and of good quality. Our server was great. Very professional and helpful without being intrusive. We stayed a bit longer because we were catching up with my friend and I never felt rushed or felt that they were anxious to clear our table.

Unfortunately there was a glitch in their computer systems which resulted in our getting charged for brunch for 6 instead of for 3 people. It had something to do with the codes being left in the system from Mother's Day. The server apologized profusely and said that he didn't have the permissions to make the change but the manager did so he asked her to help. She immediately blamed the server and pointed the finger at him saying he should have fixed it or let her know sooner.

Whether she was correct or not it left a really bad taste with us that her immediate reaction was to blame an employee instead of just apologizing and fixing the problem. When we return to San Diego we will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved the brunch on Mother's Day. Reall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the brunch on Mother's Day. Really special for my 98 year old mother who enjoyed the champagne and the piano. Service could have been better. We did not get to see our server for a long time and had to wave her down to get some coffee (that was served too cold).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

For me not the best Mother's Day brunch ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

For me not the best Mother's Day brunch in town. That for me is still La Valencia in LaJolla. The ambiance was wonderful and we happened to be in one of the prettier rooms - there were three. One would have been even nicer and one disappointing. I had also read that they serve Bellinis of all kinds I'm a review somewhere and was disappointed when mine was made with peach schnapps versus nectar. Service was lovely, although we weren't told to go right to the buffet at our leisure so we did wait a bit for someone to come to the table after we sat down. When we realized no one was coming, we got up and got started. Very elegant and old fashioned feel. Nice change of pace. And sooo much food. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had to stay in line fit 15 minutes. T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to stay in line fit 15 minutes. The oysters were warm. The caviar was not really caviar. It was a hoax for that kind of money we were paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. The food selection was everything one could ask for, from sushi to stone crab to prime beef--far to many things to mention, including 10 to 15 dessert options. The organization for a very busy day was excellent as well, with good service and no sense of being hurried in any way. The pianist was, as usual, a wonderful touch. We have dined here several times, and it is always the best

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok brunch.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought the price was expensive. I'd rather go elsewhere that have crab legs for $79. Normally, $50 but since it was Mother's Day, that raised up their price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Probably the best Sunday brunch in the S ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the best Sunday brunch in the San Diego area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch on Sunday was very good and a lot of fun. The fellows handling the drinks in the little room off to the side of the hostess were the best. They kept trying to convince me to have a drink whilst I waited for my friends to arrive until I finally gave in. There was a little trouble getting drinks refilled or getting tea once in the dining room. However, the overall experience was great and I look forward to going back for another brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a "must do" for visitors and locals

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Some may be put off by the price for "breakfast", but this isn't pancakes and eggs! We were escorted to our table promptly at our reservation time. Sarah Hafner had helped us with our reservation change a few days earlier and was able to accommodate our special request, even sending me a confirmation email. I was impressed by the personal, caring customer service. As soon as we sat down and got comfortable, our waiters (there were three, and a buser!) came by to get our beverage requests and poured champagne and mimosas. The coffee is strong but not bitter or burnt tasting, and was always hot. Important if you need coffee early in the day.

The food selection in the buffet area is always impressive. Since you're in SD, sample all of the seafood being displayed. The omelet station has every ingredient you can think of. The hot food items were actually hot, but not dried out or unattended as others have suggested. The extent and variety are impressive. The dessert table had some really interesting plates. One is a cocoanut mousse/merangue that had a great light tropical flavor. I also had a made-to-order banana crepe that was worth the cost of the buffet alone!

Three hours of food, drink and good company in an elegant, Old World setting, with a wait staff and kitchen who care deeply about what they do made for an unforgettable brunch. This is a "must do" in SD, for visitors and locals alike.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what a jewel hidden at the Westgate hotel !!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

the moment i walked in we had fantastic service from all of the staff the food was out of this world, i work for British Airways and will be recommending this to all my fellow work colleagues it was a fantastic Sunday Brunch the best that i have ever been to, well done to all the staff who worked the socks off will be going back again and again from London UK

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

After having celebrated a decades birthday here with fine linen, silver and china here, I'm looking for another reason to return soon to the Sunday brunch at the Westgate. Although the tables are a bit tight, as others have noted, this repast has traditional favorites as well as sushi, kale salad with pine nuts, caviar, smoked salmon, oyster shooters, and endless champagne. Since a chocolate cake with rasperries and white shavings was served with 2 singing waiters, I need to return to try their chocolate fountain and other desserts. A truly enjoyable fine dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place but cold food for Easter Brunch

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Beautiful rooms and elegant dining, but sadly many of the hot items were cold. Last year's lamb was excellent but this year it was just okay. No mint jelly or a sauce for the lamb. Many dishes to choose from but not enough breakfast items, for my family. Love to see a cheese fondue like the hotel del coronado. Excellent price for the brunch! Nice staff too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Beware of holidays and the overflow.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Even though we had reservations for over 3 weeks, when we arrived, they acted like our table wasn't ready. We were initially escorted into the main dining room, then abruptly turned around and told to wait for the manager. Then were lead all the way around the dining room and into a hallway where they had set up extra tables. They made us sit in the hallway!!! Right next to the restrooms. It was horrible!! And the service was poor as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Grate food selection and a grate service

 
 (Guadalajara)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

the champagne was very good and sushi is delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Easter

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoyed the variety offered at the Sunday brunch. We celebrated Easter here and we were impressed. The ambiance is opulent. There was a huge amount of people there for the brunch but it never felt crowded or loud. The staff was friendly and patient with the kids.

The food was high quality and too many different things to mention. Lovely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Brunch in SD

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I have been to this brunch three times and each time surpasses the First Will definitely be back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want to relax and enjoy a Sunday ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

If you want to relax and enjoy a Sunday of indulging in food, drink and live piano music, this is the brunch to choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great despite the increase in price

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the new selections they had as well as the made to order food. I can understand the increase in price as well as including belinis in the included drinks with your meal. Sad to see some items go such as the lamb, but the salmon was a nice tasty change.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was ok

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Much of the food in the warming trays was not even warm enough. It needed a microwave.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

If you love Brunch/ Seafood this is a good choice

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The dining room was old school beautiful, the buffet for the most part was very good. It might not be the best choice if you don't care for seafood as those items were the best. Our service suffered that day. Our server was extremely unattentive. He let my champagne glass go completely empty every time and I had to ask and wait for several minutes for a refill. We also sat there for 10 minutes before greeted. Not a great start, however I hear that usually the service is top notch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I had never been to this hotel nor had e ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I had never been to this hotel nor had experienced the food. The timeless European decor and antique ambience was wonderful. Staff was incredible and I could go on and on about the amazing food. What I lived must was the presentation of the buffet and food. This chef knows his stuff. With mist items in individual ramekins or bowls, little food could ever be wasted and it really gave guests the opportunity to try everything. I am now intrigued by their bar where they have award winning mixologists. I will definitely be back and recommend this to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Brunch!!!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Truly enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was amazing. Loved it! Brunch will never be the same anywhere else. Very classy and delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.