About The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room

For more than 40 years, the Westgate's Sunday Brunch has been a San Diego tradition. Enjoy lively music while sampling a feast of the freshest seafood, gourmet cuisine, bountiful fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries as well as traditional breakfast favorites. Accompany your meal with our full beverage and dessert bar.

$55 per person, Children under the age of 12, $29

1055 Second Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 238-1818

Website:
http://www.westgatehotel.com/

Parking Details:
We offer 24 hour valet parking for hotel and dining guests.The Westgate Room and the Sunday Brunch validate parking for two hours at a charge of $3.00. Special event and Holiday parking rates may apply.

Directions to Hotel Parking:

Please proceed to end of Second Avenue and turn right immediately before trolley tracks, ignoring the "Left turn only" signs (it is OK to turn right if turning into the hotel). Proceed down the ramp to the valet desk

Executive Chef:
Fabrice Hardel

Private Party Facilities:
For a detailed description of all available private dining facilities please contact our Catering Sales Manager Anna Geiss Travis.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Geiss Travis: (619) 557-3722

Additional:
Banquet, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are joining us for our Mother's Day Brunch please note the following: Credit card guarentee is required with a 72 hour cancellation policy. Guest will be charged 50% of reservation if they are outside of the policy. We require that guests arrive within 15 minutes of their reservation, arriving outside of this time frame will result in automatic cancellation of reservation. Valet parking is available at the special event rate of $8.00. We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
See All
Romantic (8)
Historic (7)
Live Music (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Cozy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was so exiting to try their dessert.

But It was not enough cold all of the cake...

Mousse cake was room temperature so texture is weird.

I hope that was keep fresh cold then 10 times better i think.

Cause flavor was great.

Service was so kind and nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch at the Westgate Hotel was wonderful. The food was varied, plentiful, and well presented; and the service was outstanding. Of course, the venue is lovely!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. Jose and Gilberto are absolute pros and made our experience magically during both our Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch. We would definitely attend again.

The only thing to note and some of the food was cold. Tasty but cold.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have enjoyed this brunch at least twice a year for a few years now. The service is always flawless. The decor is beautiful. The food is bountiful. I'm a huge fan of the fresh shucked oysters, and I am thrilled to see that they have decided to keep a dedicated "shucker" at the seafood station. On our first visit to this brunch there were oysters that sat there (on ice) for 4 hours. Yuck. That has been remedied. I noticed that the eggs Benedict station has been curtailed to just traditional EB. On our last visit they had several different variations (my favorite involves a layer of crab meat and a lemon hollandaise), but those variations were nowhere to be found this year. The desserts are lovely. I love the caviar. The fresh cut sashimi station is not to be missed! This year's brunch also featured cleverly sliced crab legs/claws. The meat was much easier to get out of the shell than previous years. Great job! My only complaints: a sudden apparent change in the price of the brunch as well as the price of the valet parking. I called about 4 weeks ahead to verify the price $55/person, but the price seems to have been raised since then. Our bill with tax (not including tip) was around $128 for two. The valet validation no longer covers the full brunch hours and the man at the valet desk was extremely snide. I don't think he realized that we patron the brunch and the hotel often enough to know the ropes. Parking came out to $24 (NOT including tip)!!! The last time we came we spent about 5 hours at brunch and paid around $9 for parking. I'm pretty sure the entire day parking rate is around $36 (again, we stay at the hotel several times a year), so $24 for 4-5 hours seems steep. Cap it off with a valet attendant that seemed to want to put us in "our place", we left this delicious brunch with a bad taste in our mouths.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. Lots of choices, seafood, meats, cheese to many to mention. We will certainly return. I almost forgot, the service was outstanding !!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the best kept secret in San Diego. A great Brunch, first class all the way. The Desserts are fantastic too. Richard Wycoff

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was excellent, the only notation I would make was that it was very cold in the area we were eating in.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Attended both their New Years Eve dinner event, "Night in Versailles" and brunch the next morning. Everything was exquisite - food, champagne, ambiance and service. Extraordinarily well done and looking forward to next year.

Rhonda Saunders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Day brunch for $90 per person certainly raises expectations. The facility is lovely. However, the overall experience was fair. The food was served in tiny proportions and sometimes felt more like eating dorm food. Sadly, only the well prepared banana fosters' chef was excellent. The service was just average, e.g. every time we left utensils on our plates and went back to the buffet, the plates were taken, but the utensils were not replaced unless we asked. We understand that this is an all day event, which may explain the deterioration in service. All in all we expected more from the Westgate.

Tags: Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ice Cream Station was a debacle. We stood in line for 15 minutes watching one server try to handle the long line. When a second server came to help, people who had been standing to the side slipped in before everyone else who had been waiting. Apparently there was now an "ice Cream only line" which no one standing in lien knew anything about. The server should have taken more control of the situation, served those who were standing in line first and directed those standing on the side lines to get in line like the rest of us. After standing in line 15 minutes, there was no more Egg Nog ice cream - the only reason we were in line. The overall experience was good but the ice cream station debacle left a bad taste and overall impression.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Crab claws much smaller than in past years. Roasted meats tough. Just not very interesting and certainly not worth $89 per person. Service not very good (all women at our table so that may have been a factor- our waiter seemed very attentive to the next table with a nuclear family.) We have enjoyed this buffet very much in past years so don't know why quality was so much lower but it was. We will take our yearly tradition elsewhere in the future.

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Christmas Day Brunch/Dinner !

We dine here frequently when in town for the Sunday Brunch which is in the same location.

Always above par staff, food, and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a reservation at 2 pm (on Christmas Day) and the hotel seated us until 2:40. Totally unacceptable. What is the point of having a reservation if they are going to seat us late?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was very good and sparkling wine was offered during wait. 30+ min wait past reservation time. Christmas buffet.. so staff seemed rushed. Our waiter was just ok

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I honestly wanted to be impressed and to celebrate "The Magic of Christmas", and the surroundings didn't disappoint. The service was a bit mediocre, but then I believe allowance must be made somewhat for the large crowd - although the restaurant has a responsibility to adjust their reservation policy for holiday crowds. The biggest disappointment however was the food, which ranged from mediocre to downright bad - especially for a restaurant that must maintain an epicurean reputation to support such an expense level. I couldn't find any "magic' about my experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been to both the regular Sunday brunch and the Thanksgiving brunch. Both are excellent. My only complaint is that the oysters, mussels and clams are opened and left out too long so they dry out. Other than that the food, service and ambiance are all lovely. I recommend this for a special occasion meal with family or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving menu. Rich buffet, a lot of alternatives to choose from, not limited to turkey only. Worth the price, given the quality of food, the service, the and ambiance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

expensive, probably the most expensive Sunday Brunch Buffet I've been to. But it was worth it. The food selection was outstanding. $55 per person, and don't go in with t shirt and jeans, cause everyone else were in dress shirts...

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the food at the brunch, but did not like the seating. I noticed when coming in that there was an available table for six in the main room, but we were secluded in a large empty room. Part of the experience is being able to meet family or friends around a nice atmosphere, but this was not what we got.

The service was very good, friendly with attention to every detail.

Leticia Tessada

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive and polite. However, the leg of lamb presentation was just the remnants of meat on the bone and the prime rib was a very small remainder. I don't consider this gracious dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely the best. Food, location service Always when in San Diego

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The atmosphere is elegant. The food was mainly very good, but there was too much sea food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Elegant old world French atmosphere. Wonderful selection of food stations offering small single dishes to choose from for a two bite taste. Quiet dining rooms and excellent service with attentive waiters. Would highly recommend as an upscale brunch dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A wonderful experience all around. The food was excellent to say the least! A gourmet brunch at almost half the cost of the Hotel Del(The only other gourmet brunch I am aware of here in San Diego). Service was also very good as Juan our server went out of his way a few times for us. We will most definitely be going back!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We used to go to the Westgate brunch on specials ocassions and a friend was completing 50 things to do in San Diego and we decided to join.. It did not disappoint. More options than before for all tastes and more family friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful

One of the best brunches ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The staff at Le Fountainbleu was wonderful and attentive. They were great with the kids as well as the entire table. They also made a fuss over our Anniversary couple (completely unasked) -- Thank you! If that wasn't enough the food was varied and amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

When we arrived the main room was virtually empty and they wanted to seat us in one of the side rooms but we asked to be in the main room the host made us then wait in the bar area for a few minutes while he said he was shuffling people around to see if he could get us a seat in the the main room. During the hour and a half we were there having brunch only four other parties came to sit in the main room and there were about 10 tables for two open the entire time we were there, or more. I think it's interesting that they would try to lessen our experience for people that aren't even there for a $110 breakfast-- also he say us literally right by the piano it was kind of like a rude way of saying that he didn't want to put us in the main room--we couldn't even hear each other talk. When we left all of the tables for two that were in great locations were still empty and have not had anyone in them the whole time we were there so there was no reason for any of this. I'll definitely talk to the manager the next time I make a reservation and ensure proper seating. I want to also say that I made a reservation ahead of time and were not a walk in. He said, "I have to move around some reservations" and treated us like we were a walk in. But frankly even if we were walking we still should've been given the best table for two in the house because we were there--and again any reservations he had must not have been for our seating because they never showed. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We have the Sunday Brunch at their property, Grand America, in Salt Lake City quite often and it is excellent. We thought this would be equally good, but it does not quite measure up. Buffet tables were messy, and food just wasn’t that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I expected more based on the cost of this brunch. I was disappointed with the quality of food. Many of the seafood items were plated and sitting in rows on the table. There was no ice under them. I picked up a dish with two slices of ahi tuna, but the ahi was dry when I ate it. I also wondered how long it had been sitting out at room temperature. While their spread was large, and they certainly had yummy desserts, I don't plan on paying $50 for brunch here again when I thought the best part of the meal was my bananas foster and mixed berry crepe.

It is great that drinks are unlimited - margaritas, mimosas, and bloody Mary's - all were yummy. The servers were very attentive and were quick to clear plates and refill champagne.

Our server charged us for 4 people, reversed the charge, then charged us for 2. So instead of spending the expected $108, we left the restaurant with a $324 charge on our debit card which, "should be credited in around three business days." This was very frustrating. We didn't want to make a scene, so we left quietly, but this is an extremely careless error to make as a server...especially when I'm paying $50/person.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place! Definitely one of the best places for brunch in San Diego. The seafood selection was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2016

As always the Westgate was elegantly delightful with a wide range of small plates, a seafood bar, caviar, fish, fowl, and meat mains, omelette station, chocolate fountain, and endless champagne. The only disappointment was that no small cake arrived to celebrate my husband's birthday although I had included this information on the Open Table reservation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We really enjoyed the service (frequent champagne, water and coffee refills) and the live piano music. There was a great variety of foods available for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of the best brunches we have every had. A lot of seafood, both cold and hot preparations, including sushi and caviar. Desserts were out of this world. They made fresh baby donuts with a variety of dipping sauces.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Highly recommended sunday brunch with live piano playing entertaining. Superb seafood and excellent services. Will be back whenever in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were married at The Westgate and hadn't been back since. So it was cool to have brunch in the same room, 15 years later! And it didn't disappoint--everything was tasty and the presentation was especially lovely. It was a little chaotic and crowded due to it being a brunch holiday (Father's Day) but the staff was gracious and we didn't have to wait long. Our table was lovely and the service was attentive. We loved everything we tried. Sadly, we are not seafood fans, but I think the brunch would be even more delightful for those who are--it all seemed to be very high quality with a lot of variety.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Simply one of the best classic brunches in America. The food is out of this world, the live piano fantastic and the stated elegance of the dining room and table is an art unto itself GO

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch was amazing! Everything could possibly want. Everyone very nice service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The brunch at the Westgate was the best brunch that I have had in the four years that I've lived in San Diego! The buffet is extensive - I mean extensive! Fresh made-to-order sushi, oyster shooters, delicious prime rib, awesome cheese and meat boards, fresh ceviche, and a chocolate fountain! The small desserts were perfect for tasting them all :) And, the most important part, bottomless mimosas, margaritas and bloody marys! We have found our Sunday brunch place :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I was in town for a business conference and had invited an old friend who lives in San Diego out for brunch. We chose the Westgate due to reviews and also the proximity to our hotel (US Grant). The food was plentiful, varied and of good quality. Our server was great. Very professional and helpful without being intrusive. We stayed a bit longer because we were catching up with my friend and I never felt rushed or felt that they were anxious to clear our table.

Unfortunately there was a glitch in their computer systems which resulted in our getting charged for brunch for 6 instead of for 3 people. It had something to do with the codes being left in the system from Mother's Day. The server apologized profusely and said that he didn't have the permissions to make the change but the manager did so he asked her to help. She immediately blamed the server and pointed the finger at him saying he should have fixed it or let her know sooner.

Whether she was correct or not it left a really bad taste with us that her immediate reaction was to blame an employee instead of just apologizing and fixing the problem. When we return to San Diego we will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the brunch on Mother's Day. Really special for my 98 year old mother who enjoyed the champagne and the piano. Service could have been better. We did not get to see our server for a long time and had to wave her down to get some coffee (that was served too cold).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

For me not the best Mother's Day brunch in town. That for me is still La Valencia in LaJolla. The ambiance was wonderful and we happened to be in one of the prettier rooms - there were three. One would have been even nicer and one disappointing. I had also read that they serve Bellinis of all kinds I'm a review somewhere and was disappointed when mine was made with peach schnapps versus nectar. Service was lovely, although we weren't told to go right to the buffet at our leisure so we did wait a bit for someone to come to the table after we sat down. When we realized no one was coming, we got up and got started. Very elegant and old fashioned feel. Nice change of pace. And sooo much food. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to stay in line fit 15 minutes. The oysters were warm. The caviar was not really caviar. It was a hoax for that kind of money we were paying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. The food selection was everything one could ask for, from sushi to stone crab to prime beef--far to many things to mention, including 10 to 15 dessert options. The organization for a very busy day was excellent as well, with good service and no sense of being hurried in any way. The pianist was, as usual, a wonderful touch. We have dined here several times, and it is always the best

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought the price was expensive. I'd rather go elsewhere that have crab legs for $79. Normally, $50 but since it was Mother's Day, that raised up their price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the best Sunday brunch in the San Diego area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Lovely ambiance I would recommended for a special occasion. Food decent but not that flavorfull

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch on Sunday was very good and a lot of fun. The fellows handling the drinks in the little room off to the side of the hostess were the best. They kept trying to convince me to have a drink whilst I waited for my friends to arrive until I finally gave in. There was a little trouble getting drinks refilled or getting tea once in the dining room. However, the overall experience was great and I look forward to going back for another brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Some may be put off by the price for "breakfast", but this isn't pancakes and eggs! We were escorted to our table promptly at our reservation time. Sarah Hafner had helped us with our reservation change a few days earlier and was able to accommodate our special request, even sending me a confirmation email. I was impressed by the personal, caring customer service. As soon as we sat down and got comfortable, our waiters (there were three, and a buser!) came by to get our beverage requests and poured champagne and mimosas. The coffee is strong but not bitter or burnt tasting, and was always hot. Important if you need coffee early in the day.

The food selection in the buffet area is always impressive. Since you're in SD, sample all of the seafood being displayed. The omelet station has every ingredient you can think of. The hot food items were actually hot, but not dried out or unattended as others have suggested. The extent and variety are impressive. The dessert table had some really interesting plates. One is a cocoanut mousse/merangue that had a great light tropical flavor. I also had a made-to-order banana crepe that was worth the cost of the buffet alone!

Three hours of food, drink and good company in an elegant, Old World setting, with a wait staff and kitchen who care deeply about what they do made for an unforgettable brunch. This is a "must do" in SD, for visitors and locals alike.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2016

the moment i walked in we had fantastic service from all of the staff the food was out of this world, i work for British Airways and will be recommending this to all my fellow work colleagues it was a fantastic Sunday Brunch the best that i have ever been to, well done to all the staff who worked the socks off will be going back again and again from London UK

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.