Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room

For more than 40 years, the Westgate's Sunday Brunch has been a San Diego tradition. Enjoy lively music while sampling a feast of the freshest seafood, gourmet cuisine, bountiful fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries as well as traditional breakfast favorites. Accompany your meal with our full beverage and dessert bar.

$59 per person, Children under the age of 12, $29

1055 Second Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 238-1818

Website:
http://www.westgatehotel.com/

Parking Details:
We offer 24 hour valet parking for hotel and dining guests.The Westgate Room and the Sunday Brunch validate parking for two hours at a charge of $3.00. Special event and Holiday parking rates may apply.

Directions to Hotel Parking:

Please proceed to end of Second Avenue and turn right immediately before trolley tracks, ignoring the "Left turn only" signs (it is OK to turn right if turning into the hotel). Proceed down the ramp to the valet desk

Executive Chef:
Fabrice Hardel

Private Party Facilities:
For a detailed description of all available private dining facilities please contact our Catering Sales Manager Anna Geiss Travis.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Geiss Travis: (619) 557-3722

Additional:
Banquet, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are joining us for our Mother's Day Brunch please note the following: Credit card guarentee is required with a 72 hour cancellation policy. Guest will be charged 50% of reservation if they are outside of the policy. We require that guests arrive within 15 minutes of their reservation, arriving outside of this time frame will result in automatic cancellation of reservation. Valet parking is available at the special event rate of $8.00. We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

The Westgate will be offering Mother’s Day Champagne Brunch! Served in the hotel’s beautiful Fontainebleau and Versailles Salons, brunch will feature made to-order-omelets, fresh seafood, gourmet plates, carving and crepe stations, baked breads $89 ++ Adults $35++ for children under 12

The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Romantic (11)
See All
Good for Birthdays (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Live Music (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Historic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Honestly the food was exceptional as always. We were here for Easter Brunch. The issue I have is with the overall experience and atmosphere. At this price, you expect to have an overall experience, not be on folding tables and rented chairs with food on the ground from prior services. While I understand the need to service large number of guests on a popular day, they need to remember that people are paying top dollar and are expecting more than folding tables and temp chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday Brunch was very expensive but worth it if one has the means.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is amazing...........and the service is delightful. We love to go here on special occasions, it does not disappoint. Great brunch with abundant choices of beverages (champagne, Bloody Mary's 7/or Margarita's.)

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a wonderful special occasion treat. Very expensive....but worth it for the special occasion. Everything is always perfect....a guaranteed grand performance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A wonderful place to have Easter Sunday Brunch with the family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Attended Easter Brunch with my 4-year-old daughter. She had a blast, met the Easter Bunny, and there were plenty of food options for kids. The service at the buffet was incredibly attentive and friendly. The hotel is just beautiful and you feel you've been whisked away to another place.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Brunch at the Westgate Le Fontainebleau room was top notch and very outstanding. I have dined here before and will do so again. It is very classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was perfect, the variety of food is outstanding, from appetizers to desert.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my first time and definitely won't be the last. I had heard that your brunch was really good. My family and I were there this past Sunday 3/12/2017, and it was excellent. Everything from the dining room décor, to the very friendly staff, to the food. It was beautifully set up and tasted excellent. Thank you for making our day a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A lovely place to celebrate my son's 50th birthday. Beautiful surroundings for a great brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch was simply amazing!!! Will definitely do it again some day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always love the brunch here, in my view, it is probably the best in San Diego. Strangely, though, this time, the bacon, out of all the beautiful, exquisitely put together dishes, was soggy, and the made to order omelette was mediocre! Everything else was truly wonderful, so it was a shame that these two simple items let the rest down.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was so exiting to try their dessert.
But It was not enough cold all of the cake...
Mousse cake was room temperature so texture is weird.
I hope that was keep fresh cold then 10 times better i think.
Cause flavor was great.
Service was so kind and nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch at the Westgate Hotel was wonderful. The food was varied, plentiful, and well presented; and the service was outstanding. Of course, the venue is lovely!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. Jose and Gilberto are absolute pros and made our experience magically during both our Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch. We would definitely attend again.
The only thing to note and some of the food was cold. Tasty but cold.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have enjoyed this brunch at least twice a year for a few years now. The service is always flawless. The decor is beautiful. The food is bountiful. I'm a huge fan of the fresh shucked oysters, and I am thrilled to see that they have decided to keep a dedicated "shucker" at the seafood station. On our first visit to this brunch there were oysters that sat there (on ice) for 4 hours. Yuck. That has been remedied. I noticed that the eggs Benedict station has been curtailed to just traditional EB. On our last visit they had several different variations (my favorite involves a layer of crab meat and a lemon hollandaise), but those variations were nowhere to be found this year. The desserts are lovely. I love the caviar. The fresh cut sashimi station is not to be missed! This year's brunch also featured cleverly sliced crab legs/claws. The meat was much easier to get out of the shell than previous years. Great job! My only complaints: a sudden apparent change in the price of the brunch as well as the price of the valet parking. I called about 4 weeks ahead to verify the price $55/person, but the price seems to have been raised since then. Our bill with tax (not including tip) was around $128 for two. The valet validation no longer covers the full brunch hours and the man at the valet desk was extremely snide. I don't think he realized that we patron the brunch and the hotel often enough to know the ropes. Parking came out to $24 (NOT including tip)!!! The last time we came we spent about 5 hours at brunch and paid around $9 for parking. I'm pretty sure the entire day parking rate is around $36 (again, we stay at the hotel several times a year), so $24 for 4-5 hours seems steep. Cap it off with a valet attendant that seemed to want to put us in "our place", we left this delicious brunch with a bad taste in our mouths.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. Lots of choices, seafood, meats, cheese to many to mention. We will certainly return. I almost forgot, the service was outstanding !!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the best kept secret in San Diego. A great Brunch, first class all the way. The Desserts are fantastic too. Richard Wycoff

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was excellent, the only notation I would make was that it was very cold in the area we were eating in.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Attended both their New Years Eve dinner event, "Night in Versailles" and brunch the next morning. Everything was exquisite - food, champagne, ambiance and service. Extraordinarily well done and looking forward to next year.
Rhonda Saunders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas Day brunch for $90 per person certainly raises expectations. The facility is lovely. However, the overall experience was fair. The food was served in tiny proportions and sometimes felt more like eating dorm food. Sadly, only the well prepared banana fosters' chef was excellent. The service was just average, e.g. every time we left utensils on our plates and went back to the buffet, the plates were taken, but the utensils were not replaced unless we asked. We understand that this is an all day event, which may explain the deterioration in service. All in all we expected more from the Westgate.

Tags: Disabled Access, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ice Cream Station was a debacle. We stood in line for 15 minutes watching one server try to handle the long line. When a second server came to help, people who had been standing to the side slipped in before everyone else who had been waiting. Apparently there was now an "ice Cream only line" which no one standing in lien knew anything about. The server should have taken more control of the situation, served those who were standing in line first and directed those standing on the side lines to get in line like the rest of us. After standing in line 15 minutes, there was no more Egg Nog ice cream - the only reason we were in line. The overall experience was good but the ice cream station debacle left a bad taste and overall impression.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Crab claws much smaller than in past years. Roasted meats tough. Just not very interesting and certainly not worth $89 per person. Service not very good (all women at our table so that may have been a factor- our waiter seemed very attentive to the next table with a nuclear family.) We have enjoyed this buffet very much in past years so don't know why quality was so much lower but it was. We will take our yearly tradition elsewhere in the future.

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Christmas Day Brunch/Dinner !
We dine here frequently when in town for the Sunday Brunch which is in the same location.
Always above par staff, food, and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a reservation at 2 pm (on Christmas Day) and the hotel seated us until 2:40. Totally unacceptable. What is the point of having a reservation if they are going to seat us late?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was very good and sparkling wine was offered during wait. 30+ min wait past reservation time. Christmas buffet.. so staff seemed rushed. Our waiter was just ok

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I honestly wanted to be impressed and to celebrate "The Magic of Christmas", and the surroundings didn't disappoint. The service was a bit mediocre, but then I believe allowance must be made somewhat for the large crowd - although the restaurant has a responsibility to adjust their reservation policy for holiday crowds. The biggest disappointment however was the food, which ranged from mediocre to downright bad - especially for a restaurant that must maintain an epicurean reputation to support such an expense level. I couldn't find any "magic' about my experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been to both the regular Sunday brunch and the Thanksgiving brunch. Both are excellent. My only complaint is that the oysters, mussels and clams are opened and left out too long so they dry out. Other than that the food, service and ambiance are all lovely. I recommend this for a special occasion meal with family or friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving menu. Rich buffet, a lot of alternatives to choose from, not limited to turkey only. Worth the price, given the quality of food, the service, the and ambiance.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

expensive, probably the most expensive Sunday Brunch Buffet I've been to. But it was worth it. The food selection was outstanding. $55 per person, and don't go in with t shirt and jeans, cause everyone else were in dress shirts...

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the food at the brunch, but did not like the seating. I noticed when coming in that there was an available table for six in the main room, but we were secluded in a large empty room. Part of the experience is being able to meet family or friends around a nice atmosphere, but this was not what we got.
The service was very good, friendly with attention to every detail.

Leticia Tessada

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive and polite. However, the leg of lamb presentation was just the remnants of meat on the bone and the prime rib was a very small remainder. I don't consider this gracious dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely the best. Food, location service Always when in San Diego

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The atmosphere is elegant. The food was mainly very good, but there was too much sea food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Elegant old world French atmosphere. Wonderful selection of food stations offering small single dishes to choose from for a two bite taste. Quiet dining rooms and excellent service with attentive waiters. Would highly recommend as an upscale brunch dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A wonderful experience all around. The food was excellent to say the least! A gourmet brunch at almost half the cost of the Hotel Del(The only other gourmet brunch I am aware of here in San Diego). Service was also very good as Juan our server went out of his way a few times for us. We will most definitely be going back!

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We used to go to the Westgate brunch on specials ocassions and a friend was completing 50 things to do in San Diego and we decided to join.. It did not disappoint. More options than before for all tastes and more family friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We tried many brunch places in San Diego and this is the one we visit over and over again. All of the food is fresh and there are some excellent small bites of fish that I look for first. I also love the prime rib and lamb and the vegetables are cooked perfectly. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful
One of the best brunches ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The staff at Le Fountainbleu was wonderful and attentive. They were great with the kids as well as the entire table. They also made a fuss over our Anniversary couple (completely unasked) -- Thank you! If that wasn't enough the food was varied and amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.