About The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room

1055 Second Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

For more than 40 years, the Westgate's Sunday Brunch has been a San Diego tradition. Enjoy lively music while sampling a feast of the freshest seafood, gourmet cuisine, bountiful fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries as well as traditional breakfast favorites. Accompany your meal with our full beverage and dessert bar.

$45 per person, Children under the age of 12, $29

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 238-1818

Website:
http://www.westgatehotel.com/

Parking Details:
We offer 24 hour valet parking for hotel and dining guests.The Westgate Room and the Sunday Brunch validate parking for two hours at a charge of $3.00. Special event and Holiday parking rates may apply.

Directions to Hotel Parking:

Please proceed to end of Second Avenue and turn right immediately before trolley tracks, ignoring the "Left turn only" signs (it is OK to turn right if turning into the hotel). Proceed down the ramp to the valet desk

Executive Chef:
Fabrice Hardel

Private Party Facilities:
For a detailed description of all available private dining facilities please contact our Catering Sales Manager Anna Geiss Travis.

Private Party Contact:
Anna Geiss Travis: 6195573722

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are joining us for our Mother's Day Brunch please note the following: Credit card guarentee is required with a 72 hour cancellation policy. Guest will be charged 50% of reservation if they are outside of the policy. We require that guests arrive within 15 minutes of their reservation, arriving outside of this time frame will result in automatic cancellation of reservation. Valet parking is available at the special event rate of $8.00. We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

Restaurant Photos

The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
San Diego
Contemporary American
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
3 More
Great for Brunch
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Contemporary American
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

great for brunch (36)
special occasion (31)
romantic (17)
See All
good for groups (16)
fit for foodies (11)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was in town for a business conference ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I was in town for a business conference and had invited an old friend who lives in San Diego out for brunch. We chose the Westgate due to reviews and also the proximity to our hotel (US Grant). The food was plentiful, varied and of good quality. Our server was great. Very professional and helpful without being intrusive. We stayed a bit longer because we were catching up with my friend and I never felt rushed or felt that they were anxious to clear our table. Unfortunately there was a glitch in their computer systems which resulted in our getting charged for brunch for 6 instead of for 3 people. It had something to do with the codes being left in the system from Mother's Day. The server apologized profusely and said that he didn't have the permissions to make the change but the manager did so he asked her to help. She immediately blamed the server and pointed the finger at him saying he should have fixed it or let her know sooner. Whether she was correct or not it left a really bad taste with us that her immediate reaction was to blame an employee instead of just apologizing and fixing the problem. When we return to San Diego we will not be returning to this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Loved the brunch on Mother's Day. Reall ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Loved the brunch on Mother's Day. Really special for my 98 year old mother who enjoyed the champagne and the piano. Service could have been better. We did not get to see our server for a long time and had to wave her down to get some coffee (that was served too cold).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

For me not the best Mother's Day brunch ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

For me not the best Mother's Day brunch in town. That for me is still La Valencia in LaJolla. The ambiance was wonderful and we happened to be in one of the prettier rooms - there were three. One would have been even nicer and one disappointing. I had also read that they serve Bellinis of all kinds I'm a review somewhere and was disappointed when mine was made with peach schnapps versus nectar. Service was lovely, although we weren't told to go right to the buffet at our leisure so we did wait a bit for someone to come to the table after we sat down. When we realized no one was coming, we got up and got started. Very elegant and old fashioned feel. Nice change of pace. And sooo much food. Wow.

food2
ambience2
service4
value1

We had to stay in line fit 15 minutes. T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had to stay in line fit 15 minutes. The oysters were warm. The caviar was not really caviar. It was a hoax for that kind of money we were paying.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mothers Day Brunch. The food selection was everything one could ask for, from sushi to stone crab to prime beef--far to many things to mention, including 10 to 15 dessert options. The organization for a very busy day was excellent as well, with good service and no sense of being hurried in any way. The pianist was, as usual, a wonderful touch. We have dined here several times, and it is always the best

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Ok brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought the price was expensive. I'd rather go elsewhere that have crab legs for $79. Normally, $50 but since it was Mother's Day, that raised up their price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best Sunday brunch in the S ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Probably the best Sunday brunch in the San Diego area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Brunch

Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch on Sunday was very good and a lot of fun. The fellows handling the drinks in the little room off to the side of the hostess were the best. They kept trying to convince me to have a drink whilst I waited for my friends to arrive until I finally gave in. There was a little trouble getting drinks refilled or getting tea once in the dining room. However, the overall experience was great and I look forward to going back for another brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a "must do" for visitors and locals

Dined on April 17, 2016

Some may be put off by the price for "breakfast", but this isn't pancakes and eggs! We were escorted to our table promptly at our reservation time. Sarah Hafner had helped us with our reservation change a few days earlier and was able to accommodate our special request, even sending me a confirmation email. I was impressed by the personal, caring customer service. As soon as we sat down and got comfortable, our waiters (there were three, and a buser!) came by to get our beverage requests and poured champagne and mimosas. The coffee is strong but not bitter or burnt tasting, and was always hot. Important if you need coffee early in the day. The food selection in the buffet area is always impressive. Since you're in SD, sample all of the seafood being displayed. The omelet station has every ingredient you can think of. The hot food items were actually hot, but not dried out or unattended as others have suggested. The extent and variety are impressive. The dessert table had some really interesting plates. One is a cocoanut mousse/merangue that had a great light tropical flavor. I also had a made-to-order banana crepe that was worth the cost of the buffet alone! Three hours of food, drink and good company in an elegant, Old World setting, with a wait staff and kitchen who care deeply about what they do made for an unforgettable brunch. This is a "must do" in SD, for visitors and locals alike.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

what a jewel hidden at the Westgate hotel !!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

the moment i walked in we had fantastic service from all of the staff the food was out of this world, i work for British Airways and will be recommending this to all my fellow work colleagues it was a fantastic Sunday Brunch the best that i have ever been to, well done to all the staff who worked the socks off will be going back again and again from London UK

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant

Dined on April 3, 2016

After having celebrated a decades birthday here with fine linen, silver and china here, I'm looking for another reason to return soon to the Sunday brunch at the Westgate. Although the tables are a bit tight, as others have noted, this repast has traditional favorites as well as sushi, kale salad with pine nuts, caviar, smoked salmon, oyster shooters, and endless champagne. Since a chocolate cake with rasperries and white shavings was served with 2 singing waiters, I need to return to try their chocolate fountain and other desserts. A truly enjoyable fine dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Lovely place but cold food for Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Beautiful rooms and elegant dining, but sadly many of the hot items were cold. Last year's lamb was excellent but this year it was just okay. No mint jelly or a sauce for the lamb. Many dishes to choose from but not enough breakfast items, for my family. Love to see a cheese fondue like the hotel del coronado. Excellent price for the brunch! Nice staff too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Beware of holidays and the overflow.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Even though we had reservations for over 3 weeks, when we arrived, they acted like our table wasn't ready. We were initially escorted into the main dining room, then abruptly turned around and told to wait for the manager. Then were lead all the way around the dining room and into a hallway where they had set up extra tables. They made us sit in the hallway!!! Right next to the restrooms. It was horrible!! And the service was poor as well.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Grate food selection and a grate service

Dined on March 27, 2016

the champagne was very good and sushi is delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our family enjoyed the variety offered at the Sunday brunch. We celebrated Easter here and we were impressed. The ambiance is opulent. There was a huge amount of people there for the brunch but it never felt crowded or loud. The staff was friendly and patient with the kids. The food was high quality and too many different things to mention. Lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Brunch in SD

Dined on March 13, 2016

I have been to this brunch three times and each time surpasses the First Will definitely be back

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

If you want to relax and enjoy a Sunday ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

If you want to relax and enjoy a Sunday of indulging in food, drink and live piano music, this is the brunch to choose.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great despite the increase in price

Dined on February 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the new selections they had as well as the made to order food. I can understand the increase in price as well as including belinis in the included drinks with your meal. Sad to see some items go such as the lamb, but the salmon was a nice tasty change.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

The food was ok

Dined on February 14, 2016

Much of the food in the warming trays was not even warm enough. It needed a microwave.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

If you love Brunch/ Seafood this is a good choice

Dined on February 14, 2016

The dining room was old school beautiful, the buffet for the most part was very good. It might not be the best choice if you don't care for seafood as those items were the best. Our service suffered that day. Our server was extremely unattentive. He let my champagne glass go completely empty every time and I had to ask and wait for several minutes for a refill. We also sat there for 10 minutes before greeted. Not a great start, however I hear that usually the service is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I had never been to this hotel nor had e ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had never been to this hotel nor had experienced the food. The timeless European decor and antique ambience was wonderful. Staff was incredible and I could go on and on about the amazing food. What I lived must was the presentation of the buffet and food. This chef knows his stuff. With mist items in individual ramekins or bowls, little food could ever be wasted and it really gave guests the opportunity to try everything. I am now intrigued by their bar where they have award winning mixologists. I will definitely be back and recommend this to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Truly enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was amazing. Loved it! Brunch will never be the same anywhere else. Very classy and delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Bad experience!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have been to the Le Fontainebleau Room many times over the past 40 years, and the experience has always been wonderful. Not so this past Sunday (14Feb16). To start with, as my party and I got off the elevator there was an overwhelming smell of seafood. It was very off putting. Secondly, after I made the reservation on Open Table, I followed up with a phone call to the Westgate Hotel. At that time I specifically asked to NOT be seated in the ball room. Sure enough, we were placed in the VERY noisy ball room. Had we known that was going to be the case we would have gone elsewhere. Thirdly, some of the food items were delicious, while some of the food items were not, for instance: the wedge salad was wilted, the Asian dumplings were hard, and the coffee was luke warm. The Westgate can do better--MUCH better. Also, the service was substandard. When you have to chase down the server to remove dinner plates so we could then bring dessert plates to the table--totally unacceptable. It took 15 minutes to finally have the dinner plates removed from the table.

food5
ambience5
service3

Delightful brunch. Coffee and water coul ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Delightful brunch. Coffee and water could have been filled more often, but otherwise good service. The open table profile states that valet parking is $3 for the first two hours. That's not the case. Please correct the error.

food4
ambience5
service5

Piano player was very nice but the music ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Piano player was very nice but the music was way to loud for the room. Sitting at a table anywhere in the room when the pianist was playing I found conversation to be difficult.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

amazing food and atmosphere! Sushi bar ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

amazing food and atmosphere! Sushi bar and fresh seafood was great. Crepe station was delicious. Great place to bring someone for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Every time we are visited Westgate restaurant we had a great time, food and service Thank you all for taking care of this place. Seem you soon, Will & family

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was wonderful food in a wonderful setting. Although $50 might seem like a lot for brunch, the champagne or mimosas are included and you can eat enough to forgo another meal. While there are some breakfast type items such as omelets, the majority of the buffet is lunch or dinner menu items such as seafood, roasts, casseroles, salads and deserts. Focusing on these items really makes the meal a financial bargain. All of the food was of high quality and delicious. The piano music in the background was lovely and relaxing. The waiter was attentive and kept our champagne glasses full.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best you will find

Dined on January 3, 2016

I've recommended this brunch for years. The Del and all the rest don't hold a candle to this brunch. The value far succeeds and of the others. The group I was with went to the Arvari and said it was no where near this brunch at double the cost. The service was also top notch. We never had to ask for anything. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's brunch

Dined on January 1, 2016

After reading positive and negative reviews about the Westgate Sunday brunch, we decided to try for ourselves with the New Year's day brunch. After talking to a few of the employees working the brunch, we were assured that the New Year's brunch was the same as what is served on Sundays. We were the first ones to arrive for an 11:00 opening(20 min. early), and the hostess was very friendly and informed us that they were still setting it up. This gave us a little time to walk around the hotel and explore. When we returned we were seated immediately to a comfortable table. We had assumed that this might be a little dressy but we did see several other guests in everything from quite dressy all the way to jeans and shorts. Of course this is pretty typical of California dining at almost everywhere you go. The price of the brunch on this day was $69 each. We have dined at a lot of Sunday brunches, everything from the ones at $10-15 on up to the ones at $100-125. We felt this brunch pricing was pretty much in line. With brunches you have to take it as an entire experience, not just the food. At the Westgate, the food is truly gourmet style as opposed to a large insert of filler food. Here there was an omelet station, meat carving station, crepe station and sushi station. Very good! When I go to a brunch I try lots of things and everything we had was tasty, some things more than others but that also has to do with individual tastes. However, the one and only negative thing we experienced was, the lack of the food being hot. Part of this may be because we were the first people there as they opened. They set up all the food in advance and much of it had cooled down waiting for the opening. As the first foods are taken, and they start to bring out the next batch, there was more hot food at that time. Too bad it couldn't also have been hot earlier. Other than that, we enjoyed our brunch very much and would go back for the Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always my favorite brunch in San Diego. ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Always my favorite brunch in San Diego. Love the presentation of small dishes and cups. Yum.

food3
ambience2
service2

A pretty nice spread, but surroundings a ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

A pretty nice spread, but surroundings are old school elegant but quite worn. The place is tired!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

christmas day

Dined on December 25, 2015

Checkin was not very clear in the lobby, we had to go back down stairs to check in, our server Saied was not very attentive, when we was he kept trying to clear plates while we were eating, not just at our table, the food was ok, the hot items were barely warm, the desserts were great.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Memorable Event

Dined on December 25, 2015

My lady friend and I were here for Mothers' Day, and it was very elegant. Christmas was even better, since it was not as crowded. The food was, as usual, excellent. Westgate thinks of everything.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Christmas brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

Servings in ramekins is a great idea. Traffic pattern to buffet a little tight. Elevator situation not wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Christmas Brunch!

Dined on December 25, 2015

We went to The Westgate for Christmas brunch this year and were quite impressed. The hotel and the rooms the brunch were located in were gorgeous! There was a huge food selection and everything was delicious. We will be making this an annual event!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was not all hot. Went to 11:30 a m brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

11:30 a m brunch all food should had been piping hit and it was not, price was bit steep for quality

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Brunch like no other

Dined on December 25, 2015

We selected the Westgate for our annual Christmas Brunch this year and to put it mildly, this was the best ever! Everything was fantastic from top to bottom. Bravo!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Extremely Rude Buffet Manager Upon Arrival

Dined on December 20, 2015

I would like to preface this by saying I typically do not complain over restaurant experiences. However, this one really put me over the edge and really ruined my experience and vacation Sunday brunch. April, the Buffet manager who was checking guests in at the Buffet entrance, promptly asked us if we were staying in the hotel. I responded that we weren't and she sort of looking me up and down in a weird manner. I asked her if there was a problem, as I had made the reservation through Open Table. She then asked me if I could change my shoes before entering the restaurant. I said, "Um no, I walked over ten blocks to get here and that isn't possible." I was wearing a Banana Republic silk blouse, black jacket and pants with plain black tennies on. I was extremely well dressed, other than my sneakers. She said their policy was that everyone must wear their "Sunday Finest" as to not disrespect others. My boyfriend then stated that everyone's "Sunday Finest" is up to interpretation. I pointed out that their website, as well as Open Table states "Business Casual." If they have a strict no sneaker policy, than that should be stated clearly, as Business Casual to most people is dressing nicely, which I was. I was not in sandals or inappropriate clothing and there were many others with sneakers and sandals on. I can respect dress codes, but her tone with me was where I felt disrespected. She rudely then said that it was not her rule, but that she had to enforce it. Then she said that she would make an exception. Meanwhile, there is a line of other guests behind us listening to this entire embarrassing situation, where she made me feel completely inadequate to be there. After being seated, all I wanted to do was get over how rudely the whole ordeal felt but she continued to stand there and try to explain the rule to me and make a further scene. Get a hint and walk away if you want your guests to actually feel welcome after having to deal with such an unwelcoming experience.

food3
ambience3
service1

The regular Sunday brunch here is fabulo ...

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

The regular Sunday brunch here is fabulous, however the Thanksgiving buffet was disappointing in comparison. Service was nearly nonexistent, we had to get up from our table to find someone to order drinks and clear our plates. Many of the hot items were left out too long on the buffet and got cold. It was particularly offensive that we arrived on time for our reservation, were made to wait for over a half hour, and then were told in the middle of our meal that the buffet was closing and we had to leave. What an unfortunate way to end our experience. I certainly expected more from The Westgate.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.