Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room

For more than 40 years, the Westgate's Sunday Brunch has been a San Diego tradition. Enjoy lively music while sampling a feast of the freshest seafood, gourmet cuisine, bountiful fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries as well as traditional breakfast favorites. Accompany your meal with our full beverage and dessert bar.
$59 per person, Children ages 12- 6 $35.00 age 5 and under are free
(please note that special holiday prices will apply)

1055 Second Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, International, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 238-1818

Website:
http://www.westgatehotel.com/

Parking Details:
We offer 24 hour valet parking for hotel and dining guests.The Westgate Room and the Sunday Brunch validate parking for two hours at a charge of $3.00. Special event and Holiday parking rates may apply.

Directions to Hotel Parking:

Please proceed to end of Second Avenue and turn right immediately before trolley tracks, ignoring the "Left turn only" signs (it is OK to turn right if turning into the hotel). Proceed down the ramp to the valet desk

Executive Chef:
Fabrice Hardel

Private Party Facilities:
For a detailed description of all available private dining facilities please contact our Catering Sales Manager Lorena Ramirez

Private Party Contact:
Lorena Ramirez: (619) 288-1818

Additional:
Banquet, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are joining us for our Father's Day Brunch please note the following: Credit card guarantee is required with a 72 hour cancellation policy. Guest will be charged 50% of reservation if they are outside of the policy. We require that guests arrive within 15 minutes of their reservation, arriving outside of this time frame will result in automatic cancellation of reservation. Valet parking is available at the special event rate of $12.00. We look forward to welcoming you on Mother's Day!

The Westgate Hotel - Sunday Brunch & Le Fontainebleau Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (8)
See All
Sunday Lunch (8)
Romantic (7)
Live Music (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food, the piano music, the ambiance, it's all perfect. I wish I could go there every Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Awesome brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous Father's Day brunch

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Westgate is by far our favorite brunch in San Diego. But for father's day they went above and beyond. There were much more offerings of food and drink, including some craft beer. And, of course, live blues band. It would be awesome if they always had so many selections of brunch items and desserts (all those ice creams -- pistachio, yum). We hope they repeat this event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Man O Man! What an over the top brunch
I don't think that it could get any better
Superb service
Elegant setting
Wonderful food

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The Sunday brunch is outstanding, the service is always super, the selection on
the buffet is everchanging, being reinvented...always something new..

the price is kinda high, even so, I left a $12 tip, so that took the entire
Sunday brunch fare to $75 for ONE person...

I have been visiting this hotel for years. Still the Five star.. Hotel, in
a world of its own....the atmosphere is amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I just loving having brunch at the Westgate Hotel. I is very elegant, the service is really good, the Bloody Mary is my favorite and the atmosphere is wonderful. I recommend it to anyone who would like to enjoy wonderful food in an elegant atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always happy coming here for Sunday Brunch. The service is outstanding and the food is high quality. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Gilberto was outstanding! I loved his attitude and overall persona. He was very pleasant and made our brunch experience the best around. He was wonderful :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Similar average cafeteria quality food would be about $35.00 at like atmosphere. At $89.00 per person, they charged $54.00 too much. Additionally, they charged $12.00 for parking. There are lots of other places with better food atmosphere for less. Tables and chairs were the kinds you find at the golf tournament tent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall, the Westgate handled the large Mother's Day brunch influx well but the food was disappointing. Selection was good but Many dishes were cold. For $89 pp, you expect more. I have had brunch here before (on a regular Sunday) and food and service were better

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I wanted to take my grandmother somewhere special for Mother's Day and decided that the Westgate Brunch would be a great choice after reviewing several top Brunch lists for San Diego. Let me start by saying the service was great and the restaurant itself is aesthetically pleasing. That's where things start to go down hill. First off the Mother's Day Brunch is DOUBLE the price PER Person than the price listed on the westgate hotel website. The reason for this escapes me as the menu is exactly the same as the standard Brunch. Facing a roughly 200.00 bill for only 2 people for a Brunch is absolutely absurd. Exacerbating this issue is that the food is sub par, the main draw is the seafood table that is full of poorly made "sushi"rolls, the saltiest smoked salmon I've ever tasted and over cooked cocktail shrimp as well as some tiny watery crab claws. When you're paying 90.00 per person plus gratuity and parking you expect much more and sadly I was VERY disappointed. I would not reccomend this to anyone even for the standard 60 per person price, one of the most regretful dining experiences I've ever had. The aditional cost for Mother's Day was totally unwarranted and shady in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was "nice", but not spectacular. Tremendous assortment of great LOOKING options at the brunch. I tried far too many, but found most to be merely "okay".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'm not going to waste your time. It was awesome.

However, I have to type at least 50 characters

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service were really good, I just don't think it was worth the price. My bill on Mother's Day for 2 people ( my wife and me ) was just shy of 180.00. We did not order drinks or anthing extra. Thats ok, I knew the price ahead of time, I was just expecting something better .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Too spread out, the small portions, finding things I like, it was a bit disappointing for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Truly exquisite! The food was amazing as was the service. It was great to be seated and then have them tell us that they wanted us to take our time, there was no rush to get out of our table. The service was outstanding but not intrusive - the glasses were always full and plates always cleared but you didn't really notice it happening. All of the staff were so polite. The food was interesting and fun and there were so many choices. We are already planning our next visit!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Honestly the food was exceptional as always. We were here for Easter Brunch. The issue I have is with the overall experience and atmosphere. At this price, you expect to have an overall experience, not be on folding tables and rented chairs with food on the ground from prior services. While I understand the need to service large number of guests on a popular day, they need to remember that people are paying top dollar and are expecting more than folding tables and temp chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday Brunch was very expensive but worth it if one has the means.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is amazing...........and the service is delightful. We love to go here on special occasions, it does not disappoint. Great brunch with abundant choices of beverages (champagne, Bloody Mary's 7/or Margarita's.)

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a wonderful special occasion treat. Very expensive....but worth it for the special occasion. Everything is always perfect....a guaranteed grand performance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A wonderful place to have Easter Sunday Brunch with the family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Attended Easter Brunch with my 4-year-old daughter. She had a blast, met the Easter Bunny, and there were plenty of food options for kids. The service at the buffet was incredibly attentive and friendly. The hotel is just beautiful and you feel you've been whisked away to another place.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Brunch at the Westgate Le Fontainebleau room was top notch and very outstanding. I have dined here before and will do so again. It is very classy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything was perfect, the variety of food is outstanding, from appetizers to desert.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was my first time and definitely won't be the last. I had heard that your brunch was really good. My family and I were there this past Sunday 3/12/2017, and it was excellent. Everything from the dining room décor, to the very friendly staff, to the food. It was beautifully set up and tasted excellent. Thank you for making our day a wonderful experience and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

A lovely place to celebrate my son's 50th birthday. Beautiful surroundings for a great brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch was simply amazing!!! Will definitely do it again some day!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Always love the brunch here, in my view, it is probably the best in San Diego. Strangely, though, this time, the bacon, out of all the beautiful, exquisitely put together dishes, was soggy, and the made to order omelette was mediocre! Everything else was truly wonderful, so it was a shame that these two simple items let the rest down.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I was so exiting to try their dessert.
But It was not enough cold all of the cake...
Mousse cake was room temperature so texture is weird.
I hope that was keep fresh cold then 10 times better i think.
Cause flavor was great.
Service was so kind and nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The Sunday brunch at the Westgate Hotel was wonderful. The food was varied, plentiful, and well presented; and the service was outstanding. Of course, the venue is lovely!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a wonderful experience. Jose and Gilberto are absolute pros and made our experience magically during both our Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch. We would definitely attend again.
The only thing to note and some of the food was cold. Tasty but cold.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have enjoyed this brunch at least twice a year for a few years now. The service is always flawless. The decor is beautiful. The food is bountiful. I'm a huge fan of the fresh shucked oysters, and I am thrilled to see that they have decided to keep a dedicated "shucker" at the seafood station. On our first visit to this brunch there were oysters that sat there (on ice) for 4 hours. Yuck. That has been remedied. I noticed that the eggs Benedict station has been curtailed to just traditional EB. On our last visit they had several different variations (my favorite involves a layer of crab meat and a lemon hollandaise), but those variations were nowhere to be found this year. The desserts are lovely. I love the caviar. The fresh cut sashimi station is not to be missed! This year's brunch also featured cleverly sliced crab legs/claws. The meat was much easier to get out of the shell than previous years. Great job! My only complaints: a sudden apparent change in the price of the brunch as well as the price of the valet parking. I called about 4 weeks ahead to verify the price $55/person, but the price seems to have been raised since then. Our bill with tax (not including tip) was around $128 for two. The valet validation no longer covers the full brunch hours and the man at the valet desk was extremely snide. I don't think he realized that we patron the brunch and the hotel often enough to know the ropes. Parking came out to $24 (NOT including tip)!!! The last time we came we spent about 5 hours at brunch and paid around $9 for parking. I'm pretty sure the entire day parking rate is around $36 (again, we stay at the hotel several times a year), so $24 for 4-5 hours seems steep. Cap it off with a valet attendant that seemed to want to put us in "our place", we left this delicious brunch with a bad taste in our mouths.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. Lots of choices, seafood, meats, cheese to many to mention. We will certainly return. I almost forgot, the service was outstanding !!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the best kept secret in San Diego. A great Brunch, first class all the way. The Desserts are fantastic too. Richard Wycoff

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was excellent, the only notation I would make was that it was very cold in the area we were eating in.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Attended both their New Years Eve dinner event, "Night in Versailles" and brunch the next morning. Everything was exquisite - food, champagne, ambiance and service. Extraordinarily well done and looking forward to next year.
Rhonda Saunders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Day brunch for $90 per person certainly raises expectations. The facility is lovely. However, the overall experience was fair. The food was served in tiny proportions and sometimes felt more like eating dorm food. Sadly, only the well prepared banana fosters' chef was excellent. The service was just average, e.g. every time we left utensils on our plates and went back to the buffet, the plates were taken, but the utensils were not replaced unless we asked. We understand that this is an all day event, which may explain the deterioration in service. All in all we expected more from the Westgate.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ice Cream Station was a debacle. We stood in line for 15 minutes watching one server try to handle the long line. When a second server came to help, people who had been standing to the side slipped in before everyone else who had been waiting. Apparently there was now an "ice Cream only line" which no one standing in lien knew anything about. The server should have taken more control of the situation, served those who were standing in line first and directed those standing on the side lines to get in line like the rest of us. After standing in line 15 minutes, there was no more Egg Nog ice cream - the only reason we were in line. The overall experience was good but the ice cream station debacle left a bad taste and overall impression.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Christmas Day Brunch/Dinner !
We dine here frequently when in town for the Sunday Brunch which is in the same location.
Always above par staff, food, and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.