Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - The Wellington

4.3
430 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The Wellington is an intimate supper club in Mission Hills with a menu full of responsibly-grown ingredients and an emphasis on steak. Pair that with a craft cocktail--the Wellington is known around town for shaking a fabulous martini. And, yes, we are famous for Beef Wellington which you may now order in advance to bake at home.

Chef Karrie Hills' approach to modern steak house cuisine pays tribute to the local artisans, responsible ranchers and hard-working farmers. Owners Trish and Tom Watlington maintain a seasonal garden full of produce for the Wellington and sister restaurant The Red Door. Definitely make reservations in advance as our restaurant is on the small side. We hope to see you soon.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
WED - THUR : 5pm - 9:30pm
FRI - SAT : 5pm - 10pm
SUN - TUE : Closed for Regular Dinner Service - Open as Event Space
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 295-6001
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Karrie Hills
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Falcon
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking available at US Bank after 6 pm. Public parking lot at the NW corner of Falcon and W Washington.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
LIVE ON THURSDAYS:
Enjoy another dimension to dining with live music for your pleasure

FEAT. Sarah Maisel on Jazz uke & Paul Tillery on stand-up base
7pm-9pm

Reservations are strongly recommended.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
SPECIAL EVENTS & UNIQUE OCCASIONS

Catering & Events are opportunities for us to work closely with our guests & occasions for us to share our dedication to celebration in exciting new ways.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 430 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

Found out that this place will be a tapas bar. Last nigh to be open . They need to have a Wellington Wednesday. Food, service, and staff are great. Keep the tradition going.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2016

Mediocre food with a high price tag. We ate here on a weeknight for dinner. We started with the $19 charcuterie board which was a huge disappointment. The bread was stale and the sausage portion was small and underwhelming in taste. Add 3 small pickles, a strawberry, and 4 blueberries and that was the $19 charcuterie board. Onto the entrees which ranged from $29 to $40 -- none of which wowed any of us. The fish (halibut) was overcooked, the ribeye was extremely fatty, the beef wellington and filet mignon were okay. We did not have dessert and we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2016

We were very impressed with the quality of the service and food. We were a little shocked at how dark it was, but once our eyes adjusted, it wasn't too bad. It is a very small restaurant , 10 tables and 5 barstools, so make reservations! We watched them have to turn away several walk-ins.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2016

Had an amazing dinner. Small and intimate

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2016

The food, service and ambiance of The Wellington has always exceeded our expectations. The food, service, ambiance and proximity has made this our favorite SD dining experience. Thank you for so many wonderful dinners. Whether gathering with good friends, or out for a romantic meal, The Wellington has always been number 1.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is Too dark, too over priced, too little selection of food, poor choice of appetizers & drinks. We went for the Beef Wellington, it was small & cost more than their website said. The meager veggies were not cooked well, carrots, which I'm not fond of, were crisp instead of steamed correctly. To see the menu you had to use your cell phone! I expected way more for the prices they charge. Not a window in the place. I could have chosen the Red Door, their sister restaurant & next door, but they don't have Beef Wellington. Just needs more light, more selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2016

Was not really sure what The Wellington was going to be. The menu was simple and pricey. Despite being a steak and martinis place, the menu had only two drinks that could be considered one. That said all cares went away after the first bite - amazing. One of the best steaks in SD, if not the best. The sides and app were also very tasty. Even the dinner bread was light, warm and flavorful. The price puts it outside of "hey let's get dinner" but certainly for a nice night out, The Wellington delivers.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2016

It was almost to dark to see the menu. Food was pricey, but I was willing to pay that for a good beef Wellington, unfortunately it was not good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2016

The service and cocktails were excellent. However, the food portions were almost comically small for the price. If you go, bring your wallet, a flashlight to see the menu, and just stick to having appetizers....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2016

We visited The Wellington again for my wife's birthday after having previously enjoyed ourselves for our Anniversary the previous year. The menu is focused (small) as we remembered, but was missing some of the items that were there the previous year without notable replacements. For a steak-centric restaurant I'm surprised at the dearth of potato side dish offerings and missed the Lyonnaise potatoes that used to be on the menu. The smaller cedar plank ribeye that was previously part of the standard menu was also missing. On the plus side, the cocktails are always delicious and the peanut butter bomb dessert is amazing!!! A wonderful special occasion ambiance, but not the same value as other fine dining options at this price-point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2016

Most everything was top shelf except their signature dish; The beef wellington was not very good...the beef was soft and mushy and did not have good flavor. That said, my wife's seafood dish was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent Foods, service, drinks, elegance, and best of all grand and delicious desserts! We had a lovely time

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Great food and service. Cool atmosphere. A hidden gem

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2016

While it takes a while for your eyes to adjust to the low light, this is an awesome, small place to have a romantic meal and enjoy some quiet conversation and awesome food. Of course, they're known for their steak, but everything we've tried here has been great, and leave room for dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent service and Wellington Steak. Loved the baked Mac and cheese also.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Very disappointed that, with the limited menu, they were out of items but did not inform us until we went to order it. This happened with several food and drink items. Glasses set empty on our table, cheese plate was very pedestrian, service was inattentive. Too many other great restaurants in town to return or recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2016

Four of my managers and I went there for dinner and to discuss business on a Wednesday evening. It is a very nice small, quite and comfortable restaurant so the ambiance was excellent for our dinner meeting. The service was excellent but my only disappointment was the food.
The wine was good and priced reasonable and the deserts were excellent. Having said that, we arrived at 6:00pm and were the last ones to leave which was after 10:00pm so the evening was a success.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 27, 2016

Very small, intimate restaurant with great service and food. The Wellington was excellent, as was the gnocchi. Highly recommend for small intimate gatherings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2016

Great food and ambiance. A treat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at The Wellington, a cozy little place on Washington street. The food was outstanding, the cocktails were delicious, and our waitress, Kelsey was a lot of fun. I had the signature dish and it was amazing! I highly recommend The Wellington to others who might be looking for a quiet, romantic place to take your significant other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Very unique small dining area. I love the Frank Sinatra vibe, good music & decor. The food & service is superb. My husband enjoyed his steak & loved the chimichurri sauce with it. I enjoyed my beef wellington. The gouda mac & cheese is so good! We finished it off with banana cream pie drizzled with chocolate & carmel. It was super tasty & more than enough to share. Highly recommended for a special occasion, but with only about 10 tables, make reservations.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Very nice meal, very small and quiet. This is a great find in San Diego.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2016

Can there be a better Beef Wellington than that served at The Wellington? I doubt it. All three of us ordered it and enjoyed every bite. High quality tender beef, finely chopped mushrooms, and a flaky crust. One of us deliberately saved part to reheat the next day, and the house had a delicious aroma of mushrooms and herbs.
We also had the Kale Caesar -- always great at Wellington or Red Door -- and a variety of flavorful desserts (chocolate won).
We will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2016

Never been there so restaurant week gave us the opportunity to try the place out and we really enjoyed the food the service and the martinis.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2016

This is the type of place you want to take someone and impress them. It's very small, low light, and beautiful interior. The service is wonderful. You won't get huge portions that you maybe used to. The quality of food is what you're paying for and it is amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2016

The food was delicious! The waiters/waitresses were very prompt with removing our plates shortly after finishing our dishes and always made sure we had whatever we needed (water, drinks, etc.) My boyfriend and I absolutely loved the "Welly" ,the braised short ribs were so tender, and the risotto with the short ribs were to die for! Would definitely recommend friends coming here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Great ambience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 15, 2016

We used to LOVE Wellington. We went after not being for a long time. Unfortunately it isn't as great as it used to be. The people are very nice but food went downhill. It was ok but for those prices we probably won't return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 15, 2016

We chose this place due to it serving steak Wellington everyday. Very small place, if I'm counting right about 11-12 tables not including the bar space with an additional 5 chairs. We had a reservation, I'm thinking it's probably a good idea any night you go. I loved its size due to the wait staff only had a few tables and it was more romantic this way. The food was priced right for a higher end steak resturant. I loved the food, however my boyfriend found some of our selections bland. I prefer less seasoning than he, so there's that. I thought the Steak Wellington was great. And the banana cream pie was also a win for myself! We took our own wine and they had a corking fee of $20 which is pretty basic in SD. Being a wine snob that he is, the BF thought the wines were a bit overpriced for what they were, pretty basic selection. Over all I enjoyed it and will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2015

Overall, the experience was good. The food was very good and the service, while not particularly fast, was very warm and friendly. My only observation is that the restaurant looks very dated. It's very dark and just appears kind of old. I think a little facelift would go a long way in improving the ambiance. But particularly if you like Beef Wellington which can be pretty hard to find, it's certainly worth a visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 12, 2015

The steaks here are less than acceptable for what should be served at this price point. Wonderful martini's at small bar. That is the only reason you would go here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2015

little to dark to read menu, need flashlight app on phone

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2015

Small, secret and special

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2015

If I had not looked for something special on line, we'd have missed this place.
It was perfect! Dining is close, but not intrusive, romantic, but active.
The staff were all anyone could expect, excellent.
I have already recommended it to my family/friends.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 13, 2015

I've been to the Wellington in the past for birthdays and Valentine.s day. It's cozy and intimate. The food has always been very good. This past visit was rather disappointing. The service was great, our waiter was attentive and curteous. It was the food that was the let down. The steaks were thin, palm sized and very low quality. We stared at our plates for a moment in disbelief. The prices were the same, the sacrifice came down to quality. Can't promise I will return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 10, 2015

The "signature" Beef Wellington my wife ordered was the worst "steak" she has ever had. Don't believe for a minute that it was prime beef. Not even sure that it was a filet mignon. Very tough, chewy and filled with hard gristle. Very over-cooked. At most, there were two-three bites of chewable meat.
Waiter "forgot" our pre-dinner drinks-had to remind him. We felt very rushed with courses arriving almost before prior course plates were cleared.
We went for a special occasion-60th B-day dinner-what a disappointment. Would never go there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2015

It's a wonderful place, delicious food, and a great place for a special occasion like a romantic dinner. My only complaint, and it's a very small one, is that it is so dark inside that I can't even read the menu.- several times, and will go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 2, 2015

Love this place. Been dining here for years now - always fabulous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2015

We had a phenomenal experience during Restaurant Week! The ambiance is beautiful and we loved each course, the lasagna blew our mind and the beef Wellington was so tender it melted in our mouth. Service was wonderful, Kelcey was so attentive and fun, she positively added to the experience. We will be back, and Kelcey made some great recommendations for The Red Door to try next. Special thanks to chef Miguel for coming to our table, we were truly delighted. ~Anna & Caleb

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2015

The wellington is a very small place. Ten tables top, and are too close together. The food was not worth the price that we paid for. I feel I could have made something better at home for the amount of money I spent on a dinner for two. We were fine that we tried this place out but will not be going back at any point in our lives.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11