About The Wellington

729 W. Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

The Wellington is an intimate supper club in Mission Hills with a menu full of responsibly-grown ingredients and an emphasis on steak. Pair that with a craft cocktail--the Wellington is known around town for shaking a fabulous martini. And, yes, we are famous for Beef Wellington which you may now order in advance to bake at home.

Chef Karrie Hills' approach to modern steak house cuisine pays tribute to the local artisans, responsible ranchers and hard-working farmers. Owners Trish and Tom Watlington maintain a seasonal garden full of produce for the Wellington and sister restaurant The Red Door. Definitely make reservations in advance as our restaurant is on the small side. We hope to see you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
WED - THUR : 5pm - 9:30pm
FRI - SAT : 5pm - 10pm
SUN - TUE : Closed for Regular Dinner Service - Open as Event Space

Cross Street:
Falcon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 295-6001

Website:
http://www.thewellingtonsd.com/

Entertainment:
LIVE ON THURSDAYS:
Enjoy another dimension to dining with live music for your pleasure

FEAT. Sarah Maisel on Jazz uke & Paul Tillery on stand-up base
7pm-9pm

Reservations are strongly recommended.

Parking Details:
Free parking available at US Bank after 6 pm. Public parking lot at the NW corner of Falcon and W Washington.

Executive Chef:
Karrie Hills

Private Party Facilities:
SPECIAL EVENTS & UNIQUE OCCASIONS

The Wellington has been a long time advocate of group behavior. Dining is one of them. Catering & Events are opportunities for us to work closely with our guests & occasions for us to share our dedication to celebration in exciting new ways.

WHEN DINING OUT, EXPECT MORE THAN JUST A MENU, DINE FOR THE EXPERIENCE

To Inquire, Contact:

Event Co-Ordinator: Kelsey Doonan
Email: kelsey@thereddoorsd.com

Private Party Contact:
Kelsey Doonan, Event Coordinator: 8889863561

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL EVENTS & UNIQUE OCCASIONS

Catering & Events are opportunities for us to work closely with our guests & occasions for us to share our dedication to celebration in exciting new ways.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Wellington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Steakhouse
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Mission Hills ›

romantic (26)
special occasion (22)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
fit for foodies (17)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Not a good choice

Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant is Too dark, too over priced, too little selection of food, poor choice of appetizers & drinks. We went for the Beef Wellington, it was small & cost more than their website said. The meager veggies were not cooked well, carrots, which I'm not fond of, were crisp instead of steamed correctly. To see the menu you had to use your cell phone! I expected way more for the prices they charge. Not a window in the place. I could have chosen the Red Door, their sister restaurant & next door, but they don't have Beef Wellington. Just needs more light, more selections.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Old World Charm with Modern Twist

Dined on April 23, 2016

Was not really sure what The Wellington was going to be. The menu was simple and pricey. Despite being a steak and martinis place, the menu had only two drinks that could be considered one. That said all cares went away after the first bite - amazing. One of the best steaks in SD, if not the best. The sides and app were also very tasty. Even the dinner bread was light, warm and flavorful. The price puts it outside of "hey let's get dinner" but certainly for a nice night out, The Wellington delivers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Dark, Food not great

Dined on April 17, 2016

It was almost to dark to see the menu. Food was pricey, but I was willing to pay that for a good beef Wellington, unfortunately it was not good.

food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Overpriced ambiance

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service and cocktails were excellent. However, the food portions were almost comically small for the price. If you go, bring your wallet, a flashlight to see the menu, and just stick to having appetizers....

food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Small menu gets even smaller

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We visited The Wellington again for my wife's birthday after having previously enjoyed ourselves for our Anniversary the previous year. The menu is focused (small) as we remembered, but was missing some of the items that were there the previous year without notable replacements. For a steak-centric restaurant I'm surprised at the dearth of potato side dish offerings and missed the Lyonnaise potatoes that used to be on the menu. The smaller cedar plank ribeye that was previously part of the standard menu was also missing. On the plus side, the cocktails are always delicious and the peanut butter bomb dessert is amazing!!! A wonderful special occasion ambiance, but not the same value as other fine dining options at this price-point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Signature dish lacking in flavor

Dined on April 9, 2016

Most everything was top shelf except their signature dish; The beef wellington was not very good...the beef was soft and mushy and did not have good flavor. That said, my wife's seafood dish was excellent.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Foods, service, drinks, elegan ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent Foods, service, drinks, elegance, and best of all grand and delicious desserts! We had a lovely time

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Cool atmosphere. ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food and service. Cool atmosphere. A hidden gem

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great romantic spot

Dined on March 26, 2016

While it takes a while for your eyes to adjust to the low light, this is an awesome, small place to have a romantic meal and enjoy some quiet conversation and awesome food. Of course, they're known for their steak, but everything we've tried here has been great, and leave room for dessert!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and Wellington Steak. ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent service and Wellington Steak. Loved the baked Mac and cheese also.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Overall, disappointing

Dined on March 6, 2016

Very disappointed that, with the limited menu, they were out of items but did not inform us until we went to order it. This happened with several food and drink items. Glasses set empty on our table, cheese plate was very pedestrian, service was inattentive. Too many other great restaurants in town to return or recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A very quit, comfortable restaurant

Dined on March 3, 2016

Four of my managers and I went there for dinner and to discuss business on a Wednesday evening. It is a very nice small, quite and comfortable restaurant so the ambiance was excellent for our dinner meeting. The service was excellent but my only disappointment was the food. The wine was good and priced reasonable and the deserts were excellent. Having said that, we arrived at 6:00pm and were the last ones to leave which was after 10:00pm so the evening was a success.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very small, intimate restaurant with great service and food. The Wellington was excellent, as was the gnocchi. Highly recommend for small intimate gatherings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance. A treat

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food and ambiance. A treat

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at The Wellington, a cozy little place on Washington street. The food was outstanding, the cocktails were delicious, and our waitress, Kelsey was a lot of fun. I had the signature dish and it was amazing! I highly recommend The Wellington to others who might be looking for a quiet, romantic place to take your significant other.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Very unique small dining area. I love th ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Very unique small dining area. I love the Frank Sinatra vibe, good music & decor. The food & service is superb. My husband enjoyed his steak & loved the chimichurri sauce with it. I enjoyed my beef wellington. The gouda mac & cheese is so good! We finished it off with banana cream pie drizzled with chocolate & carmel. It was super tasty & more than enough to share. Highly recommended for a special occasion, but with only about 10 tables, make reservations.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small and Quiet

Dined on January 31, 2016

Very nice meal, very small and quiet. This is a great find in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Food, Perfect Evening

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Can there be a better Beef Wellington than that served at The Wellington? I doubt it. All three of us ordered it and enjoyed every bite. High quality tender beef, finely chopped mushrooms, and a flaky crust. One of us deliberately saved part to reheat the next day, and the house had a delicious aroma of mushrooms and herbs. We also had the Kale Caesar -- always great at Wellington or Red Door -- and a variety of flavorful desserts (chocolate won). We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our first visit

Dined on January 22, 2016

Never been there so restaurant week gave us the opportunity to try the place out and we really enjoyed the food the service and the martinis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

swanky and intimate

Dined on January 22, 2016

This is the type of place you want to take someone and impress them. It's very small, low light, and beautiful interior. The service is wonderful. You won't get huge portions that you maybe used to. The quality of food is what you're paying for and it is amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious! The waiters/wait ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

The food was delicious! The waiters/waitresses were very prompt with removing our plates shortly after finishing our dishes and always made sure we had whatever we needed (water, drinks, etc.) My boyfriend and I absolutely loved the "Welly" ,the braised short ribs were so tender, and the risotto with the short ribs were to die for! Would definitely recommend friends coming here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambience!

Dined on January 18, 2016

Great ambience!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Used to be better :(

Dined on January 16, 2016

We used to LOVE Wellington. We went after not being for a long time. Unfortunately it isn't as great as it used to be. The people are very nice but food went downhill. It was ok but for those prices we probably won't return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Wellington

Dined on January 16, 2016

We chose this place due to it serving steak Wellington everyday. Very small place, if I'm counting right about 11-12 tables not including the bar space with an additional 5 chairs. We had a reservation, I'm thinking it's probably a good idea any night you go. I loved its size due to the wait staff only had a few tables and it was more romantic this way. The food was priced right for a higher end steak resturant. I loved the food, however my boyfriend found some of our selections bland. I prefer less seasoning than he, so there's that. I thought the Steak Wellington was great. And the banana cream pie was also a win for myself! We took our own wine and they had a corking fee of $20 which is pretty basic in SD. Being a wine snob that he is, the BF thought the wines were a bit overpriced for what they were, pretty basic selection. Over all I enjoyed it and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Tasty dinner

Dined on December 18, 2015

Overall, the experience was good. The food was very good and the service, while not particularly fast, was very warm and friendly. My only observation is that the restaurant looks very dated. It's very dark and just appears kind of old. I think a little facelift would go a long way in improving the ambiance. But particularly if you like Beef Wellington which can be pretty hard to find, it's certainly worth a visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience5
service3

Great Martini

Dined on December 13, 2015

The steaks here are less than acceptable for what should be served at this price point. Wonderful martini's at small bar. That is the only reason you would go here.

food4
ambience4
service4

service great, food great,

Dined on November 28, 2015

little to dark to read menu, need flashlight app on phone

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Small, secret and special

Dined on November 22, 2015

Small, secret and special

food5
ambience5
service5

What a place to renew our relationship!

Dined on November 22, 2015

If I had not looked for something special on line, we'd have missed this place. It was perfect! Dining is close, but not intrusive, romantic, but active. The staff were all anyone could expect, excellent. I have already recommended it to my family/friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Not what it used to be

Dined on November 14, 2015

I've been to the Wellington in the past for birthdays and Valentine.s day. It's cozy and intimate. The food has always been very good. This past visit was rather disappointing. The service was great, our waiter was attentive and curteous. It was the food that was the let down. The steaks were thin, palm sized and very low quality. We stared at our plates for a moment in disbelief. The prices were the same, the sacrifice came down to quality. Can't promise I will return.

Tags: late-night find
food1
ambience4
service1

Extremely disappointed

Dined on October 11, 2015

The "signature" Beef Wellington my wife ordered was the worst "steak" she has ever had. Don't believe for a minute that it was prime beef. Not even sure that it was a filet mignon. Very tough, chewy and filled with hard gristle. Very over-cooked. At most, there were two-three bites of chewable meat. Waiter "forgot" our pre-dinner drinks-had to remind him. We felt very rushed with courses arriving almost before prior course plates were cleared. We went for a special occasion-60th B-day dinner-what a disappointment. Would never go there again.

food5
ambience3
service5

Many many pluses, only one minus

Dined on October 4, 2015

It's a wonderful place, delicious food, and a great place for a special occasion like a romantic dinner. My only complaint, and it's a very small one, is that it is so dark inside that I can't even read the menu.- several times, and will go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Been dining here for ye ...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Love this place. Been dining here for years now - always fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a phenomenal experience during Re ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

We had a phenomenal experience during Restaurant Week! The ambiance is beautiful and we loved each course, the lasagna blew our mind and the beef Wellington was so tender it melted in our mouth. Service was wonderful, Kelcey was so attentive and fun, she positively added to the experience. We will be back, and Kelcey made some great recommendations for The Red Door to try next. Special thanks to chef Miguel for coming to our table, we were truly delighted. ~Anna & Caleb

food1
ambience4
service3

The Wellington

Dined on September 24, 2015

The wellington is a very small place. Ten tables top, and are too close together. The food was not worth the price that we paid for. I feel I could have made something better at home for the amount of money I spent on a dinner for two. We were fine that we tried this place out but will not be going back at any point in our lives.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

SDRW Experience

Dined on September 23, 2015

Well-timed courses, professional and courteous wait staff. Small room and cozy atmosphere made it easy to have intimate conversation. Lighting was very dim (not a bad thing).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

Probably wouldn't go back.

Dined on September 23, 2015

We found the service lacking. Kind of annoying that the staff chatted amongst themselves behind the bar while patrons were seated and waiting a long time to even be greeted by their waiter or waitress, let alone take their order.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was friendly and professional ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Our server was friendly and professional. Food was outstanding. They made our special night even more special. We will definitely be back and recmend this ace to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food.

Dined on September 13, 2015

Excellent service and food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!

Dined on September 12, 2015

Came here for our 5 yr anniversary. They sat us in a cozy corner and gave us complimentary champagne. Our server was very attentive and offered his advice on wine. Filet mignon was like butter, just light and delicate, melts in your mouth. The Wellington was not my favorite. The flavor profiles were there but the beef itself was tuff. Not sure if that's how it was suppose to be. We ordered dessert and a night cap. What a great ending. Ambiance was perfectly romantic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.