Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

The Red DoorThe Red Door
(820)
Contemporary American | Mission Hills, San Diego
Reserve Now
Harley Gray Kitchen & BarHarley Gray Kitchen & Bar
(96)
Contemporary American | Mission Hills, San Diego
Reserve Now
Farmer's Bottega RestaurantFarmer's Bottega Restaurant
(173)
American | Mission Hills, San Diego
Reserve Now
Café BleuCafé Bleu
(528)
Contemporary French | Mission Hills, San Diego
Reserve Now
The Patio on GoldfinchThe Patio on Goldfinch
(515)
Contemporary American | Mission Hills, San Diego
Reserve Now
Brooklyn Girl EateryBrooklyn Girl Eatery
(819)
American | Mission Hills, San Diego
Reserve Now
Ortega's  A Mexican BistroOrtega's A Mexican Bistro
(492)
Mexican | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
Charisma Cucina ItalianaCharisma Cucina Italiana
(28)
Italian | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
Au RevoirAu Revoir
(185)
French | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
La Bonne TableLa Bonne Table
(130)
French | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
Busalacchi's A Modo MioBusalacchi's A Modo Mio
(570)
Italian | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
Afghanistan Khyber PassAfghanistan Khyber Pass
(48)
Afghan | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
100 Wines Kitchen100 Wines Kitchen
(37)
French American | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
Huapangos Mexican CuisineHuapangos Mexican Cuisine
(2)
Mexican | Hillcrest, San Diego
Reserve Now
Benihana - San DiegoBenihana - San Diego
(1377)
Japanese | Mission Valley, San Diego
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - The Wellington

729 W. Washington St.
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The Wellington is an intimate supper club in Mission Hills with a menu full of responsibly-grown ingredients and an emphasis on steak. Pair that with a craft cocktail--the Wellington is known around town for shaking a fabulous martini. And, yes, we are famous for Beef Wellington which you may now order in advance to bake at home.

Chef Karrie Hills' approach to modern steak house cuisine pays tribute to the local artisans, responsible ranchers and hard-working farmers. Owners Trish and Tom Watlington maintain a seasonal garden full of produce for the Wellington and sister restaurant The Red Door. Definitely make reservations in advance as our restaurant is on the small side. We hope to see you soon.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
WED - THUR : 5pm - 9:30pm
FRI - SAT : 5pm - 10pm
SUN - TUE : Closed for Regular Dinner Service - Open as Event Space

Cross Street:
Falcon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 295-6001

Website:
http://www.thewellingtonsd.com/

Entertainment:
LIVE ON THURSDAYS:
Enjoy another dimension to dining with live music for your pleasure

FEAT. Sarah Maisel on Jazz uke & Paul Tillery on stand-up base
7pm-9pm

Reservations are strongly recommended.

Parking Details:
Free parking available at US Bank after 6 pm. Public parking lot at the NW corner of Falcon and W Washington.

Executive Chef:
Karrie Hills

Private Party Facilities:
SPECIAL EVENTS & UNIQUE OCCASIONS

The Wellington has been a long time advocate of group behavior. Dining is one of them. Catering & Events are opportunities for us to work closely with our guests & occasions for us to share our dedication to celebration in exciting new ways.

WHEN DINING OUT, EXPECT MORE THAN JUST A MENU, DINE FOR THE EXPERIENCE

To Inquire, Contact:

Event Co-Ordinator: Kelsey Doonan
Email: kelsey@thereddoorsd.com

Private Party Contact:
Kelsey Doonan, Event Coordinator: 8889863561

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
SPECIAL EVENTS & UNIQUE OCCASIONS

Catering & Events are opportunities for us to work closely with our guests & occasions for us to share our dedication to celebration in exciting new ways.

The Wellington - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Found out that this place will be a ta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Found out that this place will be a tapas bar. Last nigh to be open . They need to have a Wellington Wednesday. Food, service, and staff are great. Keep the tradition going.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre food with a high price tag. We ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Mediocre food with a high price tag. We ate here on a weeknight for dinner. We started with the $19 charcuterie board which was a huge disappointment. The bread was stale and the sausage portion was small and underwhelming in taste. Add 3 small pickles, a strawberry, and 4 blueberries and that was the $19 charcuterie board. Onto the entrees which ranged from $29 to $40 -- none of which wowed any of us. The fish (halibut) was overcooked, the ribeye was extremely fatty, the beef wellington and filet mignon were okay. We did not have dessert and we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were very impressed with the quality ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We were very impressed with the quality of the service and food. We were a little shocked at how dark it was, but once our eyes adjusted, it wasn't too bad. It is a very small restaurant , 10 tables and 5 barstools, so make reservations! We watched them have to turn away several walk-ins.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing dinner. Small and intimat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Had an amazing dinner. Small and intimate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, what a fantastic dining experience.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food, service and ambiance of The Wellington has always exceeded our expectations. The food, service, ambiance and proximity has made this our favorite SD dining experience. Thank you for so many wonderful dinners. Whether gathering with good friends, or out for a romantic meal, The Wellington has always been number 1.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a good choice

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The restaurant is Too dark, too over priced, too little selection of food, poor choice of appetizers & drinks. We went for the Beef Wellington, it was small & cost more than their website said. The meager veggies were not cooked well, carrots, which I'm not fond of, were crisp instead of steamed correctly. To see the menu you had to use your cell phone! I expected way more for the prices they charge. Not a window in the place. I could have chosen the Red Door, their sister restaurant & next door, but they don't have Beef Wellington. Just needs more light, more selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Old World Charm with Modern Twist

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Was not really sure what The Wellington was going to be. The menu was simple and pricey. Despite being a steak and martinis place, the menu had only two drinks that could be considered one. That said all cares went away after the first bite - amazing. One of the best steaks in SD, if not the best. The sides and app were also very tasty. Even the dinner bread was light, warm and flavorful. The price puts it outside of "hey let's get dinner" but certainly for a nice night out, The Wellington delivers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dark, Food not great

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

It was almost to dark to see the menu. Food was pricey, but I was willing to pay that for a good beef Wellington, unfortunately it was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Overpriced ambiance

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service and cocktails were excellent. However, the food portions were almost comically small for the price. If you go, bring your wallet, a flashlight to see the menu, and just stick to having appetizers....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Small menu gets even smaller

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We visited The Wellington again for my wife's birthday after having previously enjoyed ourselves for our Anniversary the previous year. The menu is focused (small) as we remembered, but was missing some of the items that were there the previous year without notable replacements. For a steak-centric restaurant I'm surprised at the dearth of potato side dish offerings and missed the Lyonnaise potatoes that used to be on the menu. The smaller cedar plank ribeye that was previously part of the standard menu was also missing. On the plus side, the cocktails are always delicious and the peanut butter bomb dessert is amazing!!! A wonderful special occasion ambiance, but not the same value as other fine dining options at this price-point.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Signature dish lacking in flavor

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Most everything was top shelf except their signature dish; The beef wellington was not very good...the beef was soft and mushy and did not have good flavor. That said, my wife's seafood dish was excellent.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Foods, service, drinks, elegan ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent Foods, service, drinks, elegance, and best of all grand and delicious desserts! We had a lovely time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Cool atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food and service. Cool atmosphere. A hidden gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great romantic spot

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

While it takes a while for your eyes to adjust to the low light, this is an awesome, small place to have a romantic meal and enjoy some quiet conversation and awesome food. Of course, they're known for their steak, but everything we've tried here has been great, and leave room for dessert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and Wellington Steak. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent service and Wellington Steak. Loved the baked Mac and cheese also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, disappointing

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Very disappointed that, with the limited menu, they were out of items but did not inform us until we went to order it. This happened with several food and drink items. Glasses set empty on our table, cheese plate was very pedestrian, service was inattentive. Too many other great restaurants in town to return or recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A very quit, comfortable restaurant

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Four of my managers and I went there for dinner and to discuss business on a Wednesday evening. It is a very nice small, quite and comfortable restaurant so the ambiance was excellent for our dinner meeting. The service was excellent but my only disappointment was the food.

The wine was good and priced reasonable and the deserts were excellent. Having said that, we arrived at 6:00pm and were the last ones to leave which was after 10:00pm so the evening was a success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food, Great Service!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Very small, intimate restaurant with great service and food. The Wellington was excellent, as was the gnocchi. Highly recommend for small intimate gatherings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance. A treat

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food and ambiance. A treat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Service!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at The Wellington, a cozy little place on Washington street. The food was outstanding, the cocktails were delicious, and our waitress, Kelsey was a lot of fun. I had the signature dish and it was amazing! I highly recommend The Wellington to others who might be looking for a quiet, romantic place to take your significant other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unique small dining area. I love th ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very unique small dining area. I love the Frank Sinatra vibe, good music & decor. The food & service is superb. My husband enjoyed his steak & loved the chimichurri sauce with it. I enjoyed my beef wellington. The gouda mac & cheese is so good! We finished it off with banana cream pie drizzled with chocolate & carmel. It was super tasty & more than enough to share. Highly recommended for a special occasion, but with only about 10 tables, make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Small and Quiet

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Very nice meal, very small and quiet. This is a great find in San Diego.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfect Food, Perfect Evening

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Can there be a better Beef Wellington than that served at The Wellington? I doubt it. All three of us ordered it and enjoyed every bite. High quality tender beef, finely chopped mushrooms, and a flaky crust. One of us deliberately saved part to reheat the next day, and the house had a delicious aroma of mushrooms and herbs.

We also had the Kale Caesar -- always great at Wellington or Red Door -- and a variety of flavorful desserts (chocolate won).

We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our first visit

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Never been there so restaurant week gave us the opportunity to try the place out and we really enjoyed the food the service and the martinis.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

swanky and intimate

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

This is the type of place you want to take someone and impress them. It's very small, low light, and beautiful interior. The service is wonderful. You won't get huge portions that you maybe used to. The quality of food is what you're paying for and it is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious! The waiters/wait ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

The food was delicious! The waiters/waitresses were very prompt with removing our plates shortly after finishing our dishes and always made sure we had whatever we needed (water, drinks, etc.) My boyfriend and I absolutely loved the "Welly" ,the braised short ribs were so tender, and the risotto with the short ribs were to die for! Would definitely recommend friends coming here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great ambience!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

Great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Used to be better :(

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We used to LOVE Wellington. We went after not being for a long time. Unfortunately it isn't as great as it used to be. The people are very nice but food went downhill. It was ok but for those prices we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The Wellington

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We chose this place due to it serving steak Wellington everyday. Very small place, if I'm counting right about 11-12 tables not including the bar space with an additional 5 chairs. We had a reservation, I'm thinking it's probably a good idea any night you go. I loved its size due to the wait staff only had a few tables and it was more romantic this way. The food was priced right for a higher end steak resturant. I loved the food, however my boyfriend found some of our selections bland. I prefer less seasoning than he, so there's that. I thought the Steak Wellington was great. And the banana cream pie was also a win for myself! We took our own wine and they had a corking fee of $20 which is pretty basic in SD. Being a wine snob that he is, the BF thought the wines were a bit overpriced for what they were, pretty basic selection. Over all I enjoyed it and will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Overall, the experience was good. The food was very good and the service, while not particularly fast, was very warm and friendly. My only observation is that the restaurant looks very dated. It's very dark and just appears kind of old. I think a little facelift would go a long way in improving the ambiance. But particularly if you like Beef Wellington which can be pretty hard to find, it's certainly worth a visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Martini

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The steaks here are less than acceptable for what should be served at this price point. Wonderful martini's at small bar. That is the only reason you would go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

service great, food great,

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

little to dark to read menu, need flashlight app on phone

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Small, secret and special

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Small, secret and special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a place to renew our relationship!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

If I had not looked for something special on line, we'd have missed this place.

It was perfect! Dining is close, but not intrusive, romantic, but active.

The staff were all anyone could expect, excellent.

I have already recommended it to my family/friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

I've been to the Wellington in the past for birthdays and Valentine.s day. It's cozy and intimate. The food has always been very good. This past visit was rather disappointing. The service was great, our waiter was attentive and curteous. It was the food that was the let down. The steaks were thin, palm sized and very low quality. We stared at our plates for a moment in disbelief. The prices were the same, the sacrifice came down to quality. Can't promise I will return.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Extremely disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

The "signature" Beef Wellington my wife ordered was the worst "steak" she has ever had. Don't believe for a minute that it was prime beef. Not even sure that it was a filet mignon. Very tough, chewy and filled with hard gristle. Very over-cooked. At most, there were two-three bites of chewable meat.

Waiter "forgot" our pre-dinner drinks-had to remind him. We felt very rushed with courses arriving almost before prior course plates were cleared.

We went for a special occasion-60th B-day dinner-what a disappointment. Would never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Many many pluses, only one minus

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

It's a wonderful place, delicious food, and a great place for a special occasion like a romantic dinner. My only complaint, and it's a very small one, is that it is so dark inside that I can't even read the menu.- several times, and will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love this place. Been dining here for ye ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Love this place. Been dining here for years now - always fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a phenomenal experience during Re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

We had a phenomenal experience during Restaurant Week! The ambiance is beautiful and we loved each course, the lasagna blew our mind and the beef Wellington was so tender it melted in our mouth. Service was wonderful, Kelcey was so attentive and fun, she positively added to the experience. We will be back, and Kelcey made some great recommendations for The Red Door to try next. Special thanks to chef Miguel for coming to our table, we were truly delighted. ~Anna & Caleb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Wellington

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 24, 2015

The wellington is a very small place. Ten tables top, and are too close together. The food was not worth the price that we paid for. I feel I could have made something better at home for the amount of money I spent on a dinner for two. We were fine that we tried this place out but will not be going back at any point in our lives.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.