Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar

We are committed to offering our customers classically inspired dishes, prepared using only the finest quality ingredients available locally, from the bounty of the Oxnard Plain and its coastal waters.

We invite you to experience our relaxed- casually elegant atmosphere, with sweeping views of the Channel Islands Harbor. We are sure you'll love what you'll find at the water's edge.....

3500 South Harbor Boulevard
Oxnard, CA 93035
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday Through Thursday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am - 6:00pm
Monday: Closed

Lunch menu served Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 am to 4:00
Dinner Menu served Tuesday through Saturday 4:00 pm to closing

Farmers Brunch: served Sundays 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday Dinner Specials: 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Cabezone Circle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 985-4677

Website:
http://www.thewatersiderestaurantandwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking at The Marine Emporium Landing

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining At The Waterside Restaurant And Wine Bar. Private casually upscale dining in the Channel Islands Harbor

Private Party Contact:
Maria Buenger: (855) 559-0983

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Scenic View (15)
Fun (14)
See All
Live Music (13)
Waterfront (13)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Healthy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Made reservation for outside shade. Was seated in the sun. Very cramped where seated. Nice live music, but too loud for our taste. Not the fault of the restaurant, just our mood on a Sunday morning. Moved inside. Breakfast was very slow to arrive and was cold when we finally got it. Everyone at the restaurant was having a good time. Just the wrong venue for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Excellent ambience and dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We arrived at 7PM and sat in the bar watching the World Series on a large screen over the bar.
Fun atmosphere, great cute waitress, really good music on the patio too. We'll go back

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

The band was good..location is fabulous..
Food not so good and tiny menu list. Service extremely slooowwwwww.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We really love this place. The food is good but we love to come out and listen to the music, that's our priority!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Took two guests. Upon leaving, one said she had out of town guests arriving the next day and planned to take them to Waterside

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

a tad too expensive for what the portions were. but the music was great and the service was good. it is right on the water so you get a nice view. they allow dogs on the patio.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Live Sports, Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had dinner on a night when there were two women singers. It was loud and the behavior low class. If you like getting drunk and listening to singing and seductive behavior, then this would be your place. The food was okay. I had shrimp scampi which I would say, as someone already said, was more like shrimp Alfredo. My partner was sick the next day from the entree salad he had. We would not return here. It could be good...should be good (pretty good location)...but it wasn't. We'd love to see them take the reviews seriously and clean up their act all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We have enjoyed both of our visits to the Waterside - good food, good live music, friendly staff, and love their pet friendly patio.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Always love the food. Love the cocktails. Love the music. Love the location. Service is spotty.

Wait staff needs to be assigned to a more compact area. Out waitress was serving tables all over the place, but due to her table spread, she was not able to keep a proper eye on drinks, refills, etc.

Took overly long to get drink orders taken, and then for the drinks to show up. Suggest a drink runner/ or have bus staff back fill on drink service, especially for non alcoholic. Even took a while to get a couple of waters.

Front of the house never seems to know what is going on... lots of empty tables, yet they turn away guests by telling them overly long wait times. We reserved on open table, and first they were going to seat us right away, but then said we needed to wait until a table opened up (even though there were LOTS of empty tables, inside and outside). They didn't ask which we preferred, in or out. The additional wait wasn't very long, but it is off putting to our guests.

All of these issues seem to be management/ training issues, not staff issues. The intent of the staff is well intended, they are cheerful, and hardworking people... just lacking in training/organization/systems in place to make their jobs easier, and the restaurant more profitable.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Limited menu on a "Sunday Brunch", long waits for service and food was mediocre. Place sits next to a Marina so view is nice and they played live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Pet friendly patio. Slow service, but didn't rush for the table after.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Waterside is an amazing experience. Sunday Brunch is phenomenal especially the food and service. The entertainment was awesome with the perfect accent to match the meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This restaurant had very good food. However we had the worst experience in customer service I have ever experienced. We were visiting from out of town. Stopped by for dinner with out reservations. We were told the wait was 30-45 minutes and went to wait in the bar. We sat down at a table we thought was the bar, but the hostess came over and told us the table was for reservations. We got up went up to bar and I thought to try OpenTable. It was 7:45. We were able to get a reservation for 8:00. The table we had set at was still open. There was outside seating. We walked by the hostess to go outside. She said we couldn't. We told her we had a reservation for 8:00. She said to come back at 8:00. We did and she sat us at the same table that had remained open since 7:30. She was very rude. So ,though their food was very good. We would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

This is the best place ever to casually kick back and listen to live music.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This is a great place to relax and enjoy the harbor view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great place, Gastro-pub meets wine bar on the water-front. Doesn't get any better than that! Read reviews were service was slow, ok I get it, its a busy place but really where are you going in a hurry? You are setting on an open-air waterfront patio, watching 200K sailboats go by and listening to good music what's your hurry? This isn't a place for those who feel compelled to be demanding, so sit back and chill. Pet a nearby dog and let the island breezes take you away.
Wine, cocktails, appetizers and really good comfort food and most nights really good music is a great therapy, much cheaper and for me, my wife and friends.
Food very Good, check
Wine, great Oregon Pinot for a fair price, check
Trip-tip barbecue dinner for $12.00, double check
and a 16 oz rib-eye.....life is good. to full to fill out surveys!
Oh yes I forgot, the chocolate panacotta that made the girls happy! Triple check!
Love this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The restaurant is great with great food. The problem is the service. We had to wait 30min just to get waters and place a drink order and that was only because I had to go find the manager/owner and tell her we needed service that we finally got served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great location, excellent service and a relaxing location with good music selection. Limited lunch menus as compared to dinner menus but the food is great. Next time will go for dinner to try more food variety

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food is delicious, however the volume of the live music was so loud that my father asked me for cotton balls for his ears. Very uncomfortable to sit there for the full meal and hear such loud music. That is my Only complaint

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As much as we enjoy this restaurant, the music is so loud, we can not have a conversation with other couples. We enjoy the groups just not so loud

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Unfortunately the waiter didn't know the ingredients in the Kansas barbecue sauce and told us that it was more of a sweet based barbecue sauce. when it arrived the meat looked nice and big, however the sauce was so hot my kids and my husband's mouth started to get hot and burning it's was a very spicy BBQ sauce. Both meals were wasted after trying to get through 3 bones they were unable to eat the rest . When we told the waiter he said would you like me to get you a glass of milk...,, rather than take responsibility for not knowing the ingredients and causing a lot of discomfort, so worried about the size of his check he forgot to remember that tips are based on service not the percentage of the total bill! I still left him an 18% tip that he did not deserve. When we got home my sons and husband had to have medicine to calm down the throat, and the lips they felt like they had ballooned up. The waiter should understand that people have allergies and issues when I eat certain types food we did explain this to him before he served as the meal. The waiter did not deliver what was promised you're responsible for our experience and you should've at least offered the price of the meal or one of them or free dessert. Don't think we will be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service was excellent beautiful setting outside near the harbor. Went mainly for the music but it was way too loud and annoying. Single female guitarist just ruined all my favorite songs. But I will go back as they change their music frequently

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Waterside never disappoints. The food was delicious and the waitress pleasant.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is our favorite place to eat in Oxnard. Nothing beats the view and happy hour specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Waterside is definitely a popular spot, and it is easy to see why. The patio is full of patrons with their puppy babies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed out dinner so much, we went back the next day for lunch. Loved the Duck Tacos and the burgers were delish! Enjoyed the live entertainment and the views. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everyone in our party enjoyed what they ordered. Service was excellent. View of the harbor was very nice. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Staff kinda rude. There was no RESTROOM!!!! Drinks delicious (10$ a drink). Food was ok, nothing special. Outside seating is nice and live music is nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Nice place for Happy hour. We sat outside and listened to the live band. Beautiful view of the marina. Food was good, we ordered off the happy hour menu and had lots to eat. Service and kitchen are VERY slow.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Steve and team made everything perfect as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been to the Waterside many times and gave always enjoyed it. This time not so much. Some of the food served was luke warm. It was hard to get condiments that were requested eith the dinner order. It was a busy night for the restaurant and the sraff may have been a little overwhelmed

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went to this restaurant not really knowing what to expect. The food was good, the service was bad. Employees have an opinion and there not afraid to speak up. In my opinion no one cares what you think. I'm here to be served and to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A favorite neighborhood haunt. Good bistro type food at reasonable prices and great wine selection. Went for Mothers Day brunch and had a good time but had to wait a bit longer than usual for our food. Worth the wait though; Surf and turf eggs Benedict with filet mignon and crab. Delicious! Great for Happy Hour or Sunday Brunch. Fun lively neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Probably worst food I have had in along time. Made reservations on line requesting patio seating because of the music on the patio. When we arrived we were told online reservations could not be seated on the patio. We then seated way in the back. Waitress was not very attentive. I had to flag here down several times. Menu selections were mediocre for Mothers Day brunch. We ordered eggs benedict, surf and turf benedict and a hamburger. We had to wait at least 45 minutes and two rounds of drinks before the food came. Eggs were cooked hard and had no sauce. The hamburger was well done despite being ordered medium rare. Food was tasteless. We complained to waitress and manager picked up our check. At that point it didn't matter because we didn't have anything to eat and it ruined Mothers Day. Had to go next door to Seafresh to eat. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great experience here last year for Mother's Day and unfortunately this year was a huge disappointment. They seated us inside when I had requested outside on my online reservation (apparently you had to call to get an outside table). Terrible service, a rude waitress, and the food took almost an hour to arrive after ordering. We were not the only table who experienced this. The manager was nice and gave us 30% off the bill, but by that point the meal was ruined. I understand it was a holiday but they were not short staffed and it should have run much smoother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good. Service was ok, but it was packed so I understand why there were delays. Overall I would say cool location, but not great food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. We sat inside which was nice. It wasn't too crowded. Waitress was attentive enough. However, it took a long time to get our food, and you could tell some of the dishes sat under a heat lamp for a while and were overcooked on top and cold throughout. We had to send two dishes (out of five) back, both of them the blueberry cheesecake pancakes on the special menu. One came back quickly. The other took a little longer. They brought out some complimentary potatoes while we waited. The remade food was much better. The other dishes were all just ok. Overall not bad but I'm not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was good not great. Best thing we ate was filet mignon tacos. Good happy hour. Service was s-l-o-w. We saw our server about every 30 minutes. 2 hour dinner and nothing unique was ordered. Didn't even have dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Made reservations weeks in advance for Easter Brunch for two people. We were seated in the back of the restaurant with no view. The lobster Benedict was very dry and the fruit didn't taste fresh. The flowing mimosas were great, as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.