About The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar

3500 South Harbor Boulevard
Oxnard, CA 93035
View Larger Map

We are committed to offering our customers classically inspired dishes, prepared using only the finest quality ingredients available locally, from the bounty of the Oxnard Plain and its coastal waters.

We invite you to experience our relaxed- casually elegant atmosphere, with sweeping views of the Channel Islands Harbor. We are sure you'll love what you'll find at the water's edge.....

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday Through Thursday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am - 6:00pm
Monday: Closed

Lunch menu served Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 am to 4:00
Dinner Menu served Tuesday through Saturday 4:00 pm to closing

Farmers Brunch: served Sundays 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday Dinner Specials: 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Cabezone Circle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 985-4677

Website:
http://www.thewatersiderestaurantandwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking at The Marine Emporium Landing

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining At The Waterside Restaurant And Wine Bar. Private casually upscale dining in the Channel Islands Harbor

Private Party Contact:
Maria Buenger: 8555590983

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Ventura County
Best Restaurants in Oxnard ›

Scenic View (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Casual (3)
Waterfront (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Live Music (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there to celebrate my wife's birthd ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went there to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was easy to book online. Great location with engaging harbor views. Loved dining outside. Lunch was excellent. The service was exceptional. Worth the hours drive to dine there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My halibut was very dry, as well as my h ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My halibut was very dry, as well as my husbands. Was over cooked . The other food items we had were just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

A picture perfect setting was had on the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

A picture perfect setting was had on the dockside patio on Sunday evening, matched by an excellent meal, nice pours of spirits, and a wonderful wait staff. The live music ranged from Gary & the Pacemakers to the Moody Blues. Wow - looking forward to next Saturday evening on the dockside patio again.

Steve Chase

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually ate twice at the Waterside ov ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I actually ate twice at the Waterside over the weekend. Friday night group of us met there for dinner. The wine choices we excellent and the dinner options even better. Sunday I went for brunch with a smaller group. The crab Benedict was amazing. The bottomless Mimosas were delicious!

I definitely will go back again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening! We were greeted by a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent evening! We were greeted by a sweet Labrador at the door. We reserved a table for 5 and got seated right away on the patio. We grabbed a game of Uno and played while we listened to great local music. The food was delicious. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a table reserved for us so we did ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a table reserved for us so we didn't have to wait and that was nice. However the table was against the wall that was only about 4 feet wide so we did not have a view of the marina like every other table in the place did. This was part of the reason for going there. The filet was really good. The burger had a strong cheese on it and I love cheese, but I was actually trying to scrape it off because that was all I could taste. It took away from the dish. The service was good. We were along the main walkway through the place so a lot people were hitting our chairs with their arms. Maybe that table should be removed from that area to avoid this. Would go again but sit on the patio, that would be worth the wait.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best thing that ever happened to the har ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best thing that ever happened to the harbor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The corn chowder was great, and the band ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The corn chowder was great, and the band was awesome too!!! Wish they had a better fish selection.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

It was one of the most unprofessional,ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was one of the most unprofessional,horrible dinning experiences I have ever had I've never felt discriminate against but this time I did it just seemed weird that 2 couples came after us and got their food and drinks before we us long story short we got there at 6:57 pm left the restaurant at 7:50 without eating DON'T GO TO THIS PLACE IF YOU LOOK DIFFERENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was really excellent. I will go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was really excellent. I will go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here several times before an ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have been here several times before and had very good luck however this time the service was incredibly slow and the food was okay but not great. Maybe there was some sort of problem that night but I'm glad that this wasn't my first time or I wouldn't be returning.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

What's wrong with the owner? We've been ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

What's wrong with the owner?

We've been there 4-5 times and each time the owner acts like he's never seen us before and always tries to give us the worst table in the place. Beautiful restaurant, with amazing views, but I'd rather give my money to someone who isn't so arrogant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Mostly a beach neighborhood bar and rest ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mostly a beach neighborhood bar and restaurant. Nice view of the harbor. Service is nice and personable. Food is just ok.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Adorable little find in Oxnard. The serv ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Adorable little find in Oxnard. The service was great. Cannot beat the view of the harbor. We were a little early and the host wast able to seat us right away. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

What a great way to spend a Sunday after ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon, sitting outside with a view of the harbor. Great food, music and a friendly staff only made our day better. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a true gem for afternoon lunch o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a true gem for afternoon lunch or for that special gathering.

The ownership truly deserves to be recognized for getting the quality staff that now is in place.

This staff and chef make this place go!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love live love this place! Such a frien ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love live love this place! Such a friendly casual place to grab a bite or stay and enjoy the magic. One of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great meal and night. Isn't time trying ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great meal and night. Isn't time trying this place and it was our anniversary. everything was tasty and well prepared... no food in a bag here... you could tell our dinner was made by a chef. Total cost was comparable to chain restaurant but the quality was far better. we will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy great food & friendly servi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always enjoy great food & friendly service! Love the fact that Waterside has lovely view of harbor & patio is pet friendly! Also fantastic music! 😍 🌸 💕 🎧

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could have way better food and service s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Could have way better food and service somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

WONDERFUL MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The family came up from the San Fernando Valley for Mother's Day. We started with really good blood orange Mimosas and the most amazing Spicy Bloody Mary's I have ever seen. Most of us had the Crab Benedict. Some said it was the best they had every had. One son had the Breakfast Sandwich and loved everything about it. Both sons are musicians and they thought the singer was really great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I drove well over 79 miles, each way, to enjoy Mother's Day Brunch at the Waterside. As usual, the restaurant is always outstanding and our favorite choice above all others...anywhere! We come there as often as we can because the food, service, ambiance, warmth, menu variety, and wide range of refreshment items is not to be found anywhere else. The pricing is affordable too. You're doing a great job! Definitely keep it up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inside is cozy and offers outside dining ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Inside is cozy and offers outside dining too. We were there on a Friday evening with live entertainment on the patio which greatly enhanced the experience. Good was good. Wait staff average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Waterside is a lovely restaurant and win ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Waterside is a lovely restaurant and wine bar right on the harbor with great views. It is run very well by Steve and his wife is dog friendly a nice staff and music on the patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Anne's Dinner April 24, 2016

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Waterside! Quick service & delicious food/drinks! Also enjoy dining outdoors - beautiful scenic view! Great music!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

April 21 lunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Waterside Restaurant! Great people, ambiance, delicious food and drink - whether it's brunch, lunch or dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch - Excellent food and beautiful view

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food during Easter Brunch was excellent, and the view of the Channel Islands Harbor was beautiful. Service was very good, although the seating was a bit tight between tables, which were a little closer together than I would have normally liked (that was probably the only downside of the experience). All in all, a wonderful experience for Easter Brunch that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our new favorite spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been to the Waterside numerous times for dinner, and for a few of their "Wine Dinners". Our first love was the way we're were treated by the staff. Secondly, they modified the menu for us, and the food is fit for a persnickety foodie. Thirdly, it is dog friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place on the water. Great food.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great place on the water. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The Waterside-truly next to the water!

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar has inside and outside dining. Live music plays on the patio on the weekend. Great wine and beer selection. Delicious food items. I suggest the Mediterranean Salad, the iron skillet chicken, the baby back ribs, and really everything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovrly Experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great ambiance and and good mood! Music great. Service is great with friendly staff. Menu options to satisfy most palates. Amount of food a tad underwhelming for the heartier appetite. Nice wine selection. Coils from bar are good! Overall---lovely for a date night. Caters to most adult age groups!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great food. Great entertainment.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The best prime rib ever! Service was slow, and they were "out of" several items that were on the menu. The place was packed. Truly loved the entertainment - Jodi Farrell and Jim Rankin were awesome! They were even asked to stay for an extra hour because of their talent! I hope they come back often.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

state preferences on reservation

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We frequent this restaurant for its great scenery and music at brunch on the patio. We made a reservation for brunch recently and were seated inside. When we asked about patio, they said they were all reserved and our reservation (made over Open Table) was for inside - even though there were open tables outside even when we finished. There was no choice presented on the reservation website - - - so take care when making a reservation to indicate your preference!!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent Neighborhood Gem

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

A great place, plain and simple. Owner-operated, friendly to a fault, an excellent and moderately-priced wine selection and bar, and well-thought out menus and execution in the kitchen. Simple. Casual. Fun. A no-brainer, really.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We tried several small dishes and all we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

We tried several small dishes and all were amazing! Shared a burger that was so fresh and tasty. Can't go wrong on any food... In the marina surrounded by boats, great music and the friendliest staff anywhere. Great place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Birthday Lunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Local to my neighborhood but I had never given it a try until my sister wanted to take me out for my birthday. Our server was lovely and attentive, the food was really great and the ambiance was very comfortable. I will be eating here again, and I highly recommend it for a medium-priced meal and very good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waterside is always great! Steve the ow ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Waterside is always great! Steve the owner is awesome, as is his pooch Roxy that greets you. Love Emmy who always takes great care of us. Going back for New Years, can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing gem at the end of the valley ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

An amazing gem at the end of the valleys. Nothing better than that patio, with nice pour from the bar, a wonderful meal and diverse, live music that gets your toes tapping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

romantic night away!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Very nice outdoor view / excellent customer service / great food and wine matching. I will definitely return for another date night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A lovely evening on the patio last Frida ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

A lovely evening on the patio last Friday evening, was made even better by the great service and fine music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.