About The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar

3500 South Harbor Boulevard
Oxnard, CA 93035
View Larger Map

We are committed to offering our customers classically inspired dishes, prepared using only the finest quality ingredients available locally, from the bounty of the Oxnard Plain and its coastal waters.

We invite you to experience our relaxed- casually elegant atmosphere, with sweeping views of the Channel Islands Harbor. We are sure you'll love what you'll find at the water's edge.....

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday Through Thursday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am - 6:00pm
Monday: Closed

Lunch menu served Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 am to 4:00
Dinner Menu served Tuesday through Saturday 4:00 pm to closing

Farmers Brunch: served Sundays 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday Dinner Specials: 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Cabezone Circle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 985-4677

Website:
http://www.thewatersiderestaurantandwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking at The Marine Emporium Landing

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining At The Waterside Restaurant And Wine Bar. Private casually upscale dining in the Channel Islands Harbor

Private Party Contact:
Maria Buenger: (855) 559-0983

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (8)
Scenic View (6)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Live Music (6)
Fun (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Casual (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We all liked our food very much ... I think we just caught them on the wrong night with several large parties. I think we waited 45 minutes for our entree's. I'm glad that the table bread was good to help tide me over!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waitress was suburb. Spent time helping us select our meal and recommended an option not on the menu. Food was well prepared and tasty. We'll be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were at the Waterside for West Coast New Years Eve celebration. Started at 9:30 pm, with five-course prix fixe menu (so yummy) and plenty of good liquor options and fantastic live music. We sat out on the patio (with gas heaters going full-blast it was plenty comfortable). Between the music, the festive decorations and the lively other diners, it was a great way to welcome in the new year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for the NYE late seating and were seated prior to our reservation time. Great service, exceptional food and awesome entertainment. Thanks to everyone for a memorable New Year's celebration.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Molecular Gastronomy, Private Room, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Live Music, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Waterfront, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great night out for new years eve. We were worried about the weather, but everything turned out great. The food and the entertainment were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waterside restaurant had friendly staff and flavorful food.

They did have a NYE pre-fixe dinner menu - total of 5 courses!

Lots of food and even a glass of champagne with party favors and hats!

Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with wonderful staff. Food selection and quality was great.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We wanted to see the boat/holiday light parade. When I called, I was informed that it would not be that visible from an interior window seat. So, I ask about the exterior and was told it would be the same problem, but the person neglected to say that there was a band outside... and mentioned that it might be too cold, but failed to inform me that the patio is enclosed with plexiglass. Sadly, I made the reservation for the inside, which by comparison was really pretty dull. There were no available outside seats.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The cheese tray appetizer was fantastic! Great food, excellent ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Nice times at the harbor for the family before the annual boat parade. Will be back for date night with my wife!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar is always great, and the Sunday farmer's market brunch was no exception. Fresh ingredients from the farmer's market next door combined with chef quality presentation and prep are a real treat. Love the dog-friendly patio too, with live music. A bit loud outside, but if that is a problem, tables are available inside as well. Reservations are recommended as this place has been near capacity each time we have been there.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was ok nothing spectacular. Also a little bit on the pricey side glad I went but will not come back any time soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We've been here a few times and the best part is the live entertainment, the view, the music. They need to work on the food and wine list. Plus, $12 for a glass of Hess Chardonnay?? Pretty pricey for a pretty inexpensive, but, good wine! Especially in the harbor🤔

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We chose Waterside because we were staying across the harbor and it was close by. Good choice. It was a pleasant evening and we were seated outside. The tables are nothing fancy, it's a bit cluttered on the patio, and the propane heaters they had going were probably not necessary, and with one not offering complete combustion added that natural gas smell. The menu is rather limited but there were two specials, which we opted for, one a spicy linguini with shrimp and the other a scallop dish, they were cooked just right. There was a "band" playing, two guys with a guitar and drum set and a laptop providing backing, their set including mostly late 60s and early 70s standards (Van Morrison, etc) which were appropriate for the demographic that night. We stayed for a couple glasses of wine from a fairly extensive list featuring many local choices. Dog friendly, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We frequent the Waterside Restaurant & Wine Bar often, and just held a winemaker dinner there for approximately 32 guests - it was wonderful. Food/wine pairing, staff, chef. Everyone enjoyed the evening and meal. Menu's are great, wonderful service and always a nice band to enjoy vs being annoyed by.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Disabled Access, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We made reservations in advance and asked to be outside, but it was very windy, so they put us in the back area with windows on 2 sides. It was very nice and quiet. Food was great. Server did great job. There were 6 of us ladies celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very enjoyable Sunday brunch. Nice ambiance, service & music. Will definitely return.

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Bad service in a stuffy room. Could not hear beautiful Celtic music. Could not get hot water for tea tho bar drinks readily available. Too bad. Only ok for brunch outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We had hopeful expectations this restaurant would fulfill our dining experience since we were celebrating our 47th wedding anniversary. The place was pretty much empty ...some people at the bar and one table outside. The bartender said just sit anywhere so we found a place to sit.

The waiter was funny and helped us relax a bit before ordering a martini and a cab - both very good.

We each then ordered the 13oz Rib-eye steak and GOT SOMETHING ELSE...(we both eat allot of rib-eye). The steak was at best a sirloin tip and was from 1/4" to 1/2" thick... lots of gristle and fat - I kid you not. To make things worse, it laid on top of our mashed potatoes that quickly turned to a soupy sloppy mess!

Being our anniversary, we finished eating, paid our bill and left very bummed out.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Went there to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was easy to book online. Great location with engaging harbor views. Loved dining outside. Lunch was excellent. The service was exceptional. Worth the hours drive to dine there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My halibut was very dry, as well as my husbands. Was over cooked . The other food items we had were just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 5, 2016

A picture perfect setting was had on the dockside patio on Sunday evening, matched by an excellent meal, nice pours of spirits, and a wonderful wait staff. The live music ranged from Gary & the Pacemakers to the Moody Blues. Wow - looking forward to next Saturday evening on the dockside patio again.

Steve Chase

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I actually ate twice at the Waterside over the weekend. Friday night group of us met there for dinner. The wine choices we excellent and the dinner options even better. Sunday I went for brunch with a smaller group. The crab Benedict was amazing. The bottomless Mimosas were delicious!

I definitely will go back again!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent evening! We were greeted by a sweet Labrador at the door. We reserved a table for 5 and got seated right away on the patio. We grabbed a game of Uno and played while we listened to great local music. The food was delicious. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a table reserved for us so we didn't have to wait and that was nice. However the table was against the wall that was only about 4 feet wide so we did not have a view of the marina like every other table in the place did. This was part of the reason for going there. The filet was really good. The burger had a strong cheese on it and I love cheese, but I was actually trying to scrape it off because that was all I could taste. It took away from the dish. The service was good. We were along the main walkway through the place so a lot people were hitting our chairs with their arms. Maybe that table should be removed from that area to avoid this. Would go again but sit on the patio, that would be worth the wait.

Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Best thing that ever happened to the harbor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The corn chowder was great, and the band was awesome too!!! Wish they had a better fish selection.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was one of the most unprofessional,horrible dinning experiences I have ever had I've never felt discriminate against but this time I did it just seemed weird that 2 couples came after us and got their food and drinks before we us long story short we got there at 6:57 pm left the restaurant at 7:50 without eating DON'T GO TO THIS PLACE IF YOU LOOK DIFFERENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was really excellent. I will go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have been here several times before and had very good luck however this time the service was incredibly slow and the food was okay but not great. Maybe there was some sort of problem that night but I'm glad that this wasn't my first time or I wouldn't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2016

What's wrong with the owner?

We've been there 4-5 times and each time the owner acts like he's never seen us before and always tries to give us the worst table in the place. Beautiful restaurant, with amazing views, but I'd rather give my money to someone who isn't so arrogant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Mostly a beach neighborhood bar and restaurant. Nice view of the harbor. Service is nice and personable. Food is just ok.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Adorable little find in Oxnard. The service was great. Cannot beat the view of the harbor. We were a little early and the host wast able to seat us right away. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon, sitting outside with a view of the harbor. Great food, music and a friendly staff only made our day better. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a true gem for afternoon lunch or for that special gathering.

The ownership truly deserves to be recognized for getting the quality staff that now is in place.

This staff and chef make this place go!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love live love this place! Such a friendly casual place to grab a bite or stay and enjoy the magic. One of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great meal and night. Isn't time trying this place and it was our anniversary. everything was tasty and well prepared... no food in a bag here... you could tell our dinner was made by a chef. Total cost was comparable to chain restaurant but the quality was far better. we will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Always enjoy great food & friendly service! Love the fact that Waterside has lovely view of harbor & patio is pet friendly! Also fantastic music! 😍 🌸 💕 🎧

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Could have way better food and service somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The family came up from the San Fernando Valley for Mother's Day. We started with really good blood orange Mimosas and the most amazing Spicy Bloody Mary's I have ever seen. Most of us had the Crab Benedict. Some said it was the best they had every had. One son had the Breakfast Sandwich and loved everything about it. Both sons are musicians and they thought the singer was really great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and I drove well over 79 miles, each way, to enjoy Mother's Day Brunch at the Waterside. As usual, the restaurant is always outstanding and our favorite choice above all others...anywhere! We come there as often as we can because the food, service, ambiance, warmth, menu variety, and wide range of refreshment items is not to be found anywhere else. The pricing is affordable too. You're doing a great job! Definitely keep it up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Inside is cozy and offers outside dining too. We were there on a Friday evening with live entertainment on the patio which greatly enhanced the experience. Good was good. Wait staff average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Waterside is a lovely restaurant and wine bar right on the harbor with great views. It is run very well by Steve and his wife is dog friendly a nice staff and music on the patio.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Waterside! Quick service & delicious food/drinks! Also enjoy dining outdoors - beautiful scenic view! Great music!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Always enjoy dining at Waterside Restaurant! Great people, ambiance, delicious food and drink - whether it's brunch, lunch or dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food during Easter Brunch was excellent, and the view of the Channel Islands Harbor was beautiful. Service was very good, although the seating was a bit tight between tables, which were a little closer together than I would have normally liked (that was probably the only downside of the experience). All in all, a wonderful experience for Easter Brunch that I would highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2016

We have been to the Waterside numerous times for dinner, and for a few of their "Wine Dinners". Our first love was the way we're were treated by the staff. Secondly, they modified the menu for us, and the food is fit for a persnickety foodie. Thirdly, it is dog friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Great place on the water. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2016

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar has inside and outside dining. Live music plays on the patio on the weekend. Great wine and beer selection. Delicious food items. I suggest the Mediterranean Salad, the iron skillet chicken, the baby back ribs, and really everything on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2016

This is a great place to go for lunch or after work. The food is good, the portions good and they do their best to make every comfortable and happy. The brinks are well made and the service is exceptional, especially considering how crowded it can become.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.