Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 5/23
Time
11:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar

3.8
196 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Live Music
  • Waterfront
  • Casual
We are committed to offering our customers classically inspired dishes, prepared using only the finest quality ingredients available locally, from the bounty of the Oxnard Plain and its coastal waters.

We invite you to experience our relaxed- casually elegant atmosphere, with sweeping views of the Channel Islands Harbor. We are sure you'll love what you'll find at The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar.....
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday Through Thursday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am - 6:00pm
Monday: Closed

Lunch menu served Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 am to 4:00
Dinner Menu served Tuesday through Saturday 4:00 pm to closing

Farmers Brunch: served Sundays 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday Dinner Specials: 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 985-4677
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private Dining at The Waterside Restaurant And Wine Bar. Private casually upscale dining in the Channel Islands Harbor.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Tony Dybeku: (855) 559-0983
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Cabezone Circle
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of public parking at The Marine Emporium Landing
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 196 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.5
food
3.7
service
4.0
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Moderate
45% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

We came for the band, and were not disappointed! However, the quantity of the plated foods we ordered did not equate with their incongruous prices. "Entrees" were the size we'd expect of an appetizer portion! (Yet they were $20+ per dish!) The service was good (Jayson was our primary server); however, when we ordered a creme brulee dessert, the guy who delivered it inquired if we'd like utensils! I had to restrain myself from telling my daughter to lick the bowl like some of the canines on the patio! I was told there are new owners/management. Please heed the comments from your social media feeds and address these issues. Overall, there's a great product here, but fine tuning is needed. But the band last Saturday WAS finely in tune! We'll return, and hope the portions are more in line with their prices.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The Mother's Day Buffet was undesirable. Limited choice of entrees for $39.99. Poorly displayed and not very well prepared. Seating was too close to main entrance, creating a draft. Manager was gracious and understanding, offered a drink to compensate for refusing to dine at the buffet. We declined the offer and left abruptly to seek another restaurant, never to return there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I was looking for casual but nice place near the water that would satisfy a vegetarian, carnivore, and elderly Mom. Waterside fit the bill. We also had the benefit of live upbeat music and a rather creative menu. All a pleasant surprise - we will be back. It was worked out for us because it was just around the corner from a local small theater called the Elite Theater. Check them both out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We both had fresh fish entrees - well prepared and nicely presented. Corn chowder was a disappointment (thin and watery, too sweet and no corn in evidence), when we didn't finish it and told the wait staff, they removed it from our bill and did it without "attitude". Service was excellent and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Exceillent

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We have been here several times before (but not recently) and enjoyed our dining experience but today was quite different. We had a reservation for an inside table but when we arrived, the hostess gave the last inside table to a party without a reservation. The hostess then blamed it on open table saying that our reservation didn’t specify a table preference. When I corrected her, she apologized and had her manager, Melanie come over to help us. Unfortunately there were no tables available so we sat at the large community table as we waited for a table to open up. Although Melanie stated it shouldn’t be more than 20 minutes, we gave up after 40 minutes and simply ate at the community table. Melanie was apologetic and promised to take care of us (which we assumed meant an adjustment to our bill). 20 minutes later, the manager Tony came by (now an hour since we had arrived) and said he had heard there was a “little” problem with our reservation. When I explained to him what had happened, he too blamed it on open table. He took no responsibility for the mistake but thought his belated presence was enough to make it right. When we got the check, there was no adjustment to our bill. We flagged Melanie down and she said she would take care of it (although clearly they had assumed we would just pay the bill as is). When Melanie returned, there was a 10% discount which frankly was insulting. The one saving grace was our server, Maddie. She was outstanding and expressed sincere apologies for how we had been treated. She also indicated that she had lobbied for a bigger discount but Tony wouldn’t authorize it. Tony could take a lesson on customer relations from Maddie. To add insult to injury, the food was mediocre at best. There is a reason this restaurant now has a 3.9 rating. Stay away!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The restaurant was disappointing at best. The food was bland, and it took close to an hour to get our food once we ordered. They made mistakes on two of our orders. The service was poor also. We went for Sunday brunch and got bottomless mimosas. They barely came around and we had to ask for refills every time. I would not recommend this place. The best thing about it is the view of the harbor, however, I would suggest going somewhere else for the same view

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Wish there were more outdoor heaters. It got very cold outside an just not enough heaters to go around.
People sitting at fire pit got one and another table had 2 heaters. They were not that accommodating in getting us a heater.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Our service was very slow to cook over an hour for food that shouldn't have taken that long. The wine bottles were very overpriced for their size. I didn't understand the weight staffs uniform they didn't go with the Ambiance of the restaurant I felt like they should have been either more boat like with polos and khakis or more upscale. The food was good but the portions were very small and the dessert was good except for one of them they didn't have.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

My two friends and I all had the portabella burger with our choice of side salad. We all agreed mushroom burger didn't have much flavor and was dry...also cold. Salad didn't taste fresh. Best part of the meal was dessert...tira misou, which was the only choice being offered. I thought there should have been more choices, especially since we were there on Valentine's Day. I've been to Waterside before and enjoyed the food, but was disappointed in the meal this time. Waitress was very sweet, but I won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

As usual, the food and service was excellent. We always enjoy the weekend entertainment, even when it’s a bit cold outside they have plenty of outdoor heaters. It’s a great little place with a nice view of the harbor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

It was wonderful listening to the music.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Alyssa was terrific. Had a great evening.
Good food and view. We will be back to try brunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Entertainment and ambiance were very good. The chicken dish we had was overcooked and not very tasty.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 5, 2017

Made reservation for outside shade. Was seated in the sun. Very cramped where seated. Nice live music, but too loud for our taste. Not the fault of the restaurant, just our mood on a Sunday morning. Moved inside. Breakfast was very slow to arrive and was cold when we finally got it. Everyone at the restaurant was having a good time. Just the wrong venue for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Excellent ambience and dining

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

We arrived at 7PM and sat in the bar watching the World Series on a large screen over the bar.
Fun atmosphere, great cute waitress, really good music on the patio too. We'll go back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 21, 2017

The band was good..location is fabulous..
Food not so good and tiny menu list. Service extremely slooowwwwww.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

We really love this place. The food is good but we love to come out and listen to the music, that's our priority!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Took two guests. Upon leaving, one said she had out of town guests arriving the next day and planned to take them to Waterside

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 17, 2017

a tad too expensive for what the portions were. but the music was great and the service was good. it is right on the water so you get a nice view. they allow dogs on the patio.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 10, 2017

We had dinner on a night when there were two women singers. It was loud and the behavior low class. If you like getting drunk and listening to singing and seductive behavior, then this would be your place. The food was okay. I had shrimp scampi which I would say, as someone already said, was more like shrimp Alfredo. My partner was sick the next day from the entree salad he had. We would not return here. It could be good...should be good (pretty good location)...but it wasn't. We'd love to see them take the reviews seriously and clean up their act all the way around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

We have enjoyed both of our visits to the Waterside - good food, good live music, friendly staff, and love their pet friendly patio.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2017

Always love the food. Love the cocktails. Love the music. Love the location. Service is spotty.

Wait staff needs to be assigned to a more compact area. Out waitress was serving tables all over the place, but due to her table spread, she was not able to keep a proper eye on drinks, refills, etc.

Took overly long to get drink orders taken, and then for the drinks to show up. Suggest a drink runner/ or have bus staff back fill on drink service, especially for non alcoholic. Even took a while to get a couple of waters.

Front of the house never seems to know what is going on... lots of empty tables, yet they turn away guests by telling them overly long wait times. We reserved on open table, and first they were going to seat us right away, but then said we needed to wait until a table opened up (even though there were LOTS of empty tables, inside and outside). They didn't ask which we preferred, in or out. The additional wait wasn't very long, but it is off putting to our guests.

All of these issues seem to be management/ training issues, not staff issues. The intent of the staff is well intended, they are cheerful, and hardworking people... just lacking in training/organization/systems in place to make their jobs easier, and the restaurant more profitable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 27, 2017

Limited menu on a "Sunday Brunch", long waits for service and food was mediocre. Place sits next to a Marina so view is nice and they played live music.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Pet friendly patio. Slow service, but didn't rush for the table after.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

The Waterside is an amazing experience. Sunday Brunch is phenomenal especially the food and service. The entertainment was awesome with the perfect accent to match the meal

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 18, 2017

This restaurant had very good food. However we had the worst experience in customer service I have ever experienced. We were visiting from out of town. Stopped by for dinner with out reservations. We were told the wait was 30-45 minutes and went to wait in the bar. We sat down at a table we thought was the bar, but the hostess came over and told us the table was for reservations. We got up went up to bar and I thought to try OpenTable. It was 7:45. We were able to get a reservation for 8:00. The table we had set at was still open. There was outside seating. We walked by the hostess to go outside. She said we couldn't. We told her we had a reservation for 8:00. She said to come back at 8:00. We did and she sat us at the same table that had remained open since 7:30. She was very rude. So ,though their food was very good. We would not go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2017

This is the best place ever to casually kick back and listen to live music.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2017

This is a great place to relax and enjoy the harbor view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place, Gastro-pub meets wine bar on the water-front. Doesn't get any better than that! Read reviews were service was slow, ok I get it, its a busy place but really where are you going in a hurry? You are setting on an open-air waterfront patio, watching 200K sailboats go by and listening to good music what's your hurry? This isn't a place for those who feel compelled to be demanding, so sit back and chill. Pet a nearby dog and let the island breezes take you away.
Wine, cocktails, appetizers and really good comfort food and most nights really good music is a great therapy, much cheaper and for me, my wife and friends.
Food very Good, check
Wine, great Oregon Pinot for a fair price, check
Trip-tip barbecue dinner for $12.00, double check
and a 16 oz rib-eye.....life is good. to full to fill out surveys!
Oh yes I forgot, the chocolate panacotta that made the girls happy! Triple check!
Love this place!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant is great with great food. The problem is the service. We had to wait 30min just to get waters and place a drink order and that was only because I had to go find the manager/owner and tell her we needed service that we finally got served.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Great location, excellent service and a relaxing location with good music selection. Limited lunch menus as compared to dinner menus but the food is great. Next time will go for dinner to try more food variety

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 30, 2017

The food is delicious, however the volume of the live music was so loud that my father asked me for cotton balls for his ears. Very uncomfortable to sit there for the full meal and hear such loud music. That is my Only complaint

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 22, 2017

As much as we enjoy this restaurant, the music is so loud, we can not have a conversation with other couples. We enjoy the groups just not so loud

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Unfortunately the waiter didn't know the ingredients in the Kansas barbecue sauce and told us that it was more of a sweet based barbecue sauce. when it arrived the meat looked nice and big, however the sauce was so hot my kids and my husband's mouth started to get hot and burning it's was a very spicy BBQ sauce. Both meals were wasted after trying to get through 3 bones they were unable to eat the rest . When we told the waiter he said would you like me to get you a glass of milk...,, rather than take responsibility for not knowing the ingredients and causing a lot of discomfort, so worried about the size of his check he forgot to remember that tips are based on service not the percentage of the total bill! I still left him an 18% tip that he did not deserve. When we got home my sons and husband had to have medicine to calm down the throat, and the lips they felt like they had ballooned up. The waiter should understand that people have allergies and issues when I eat certain types food we did explain this to him before he served as the meal. The waiter did not deliver what was promised you're responsible for our experience and you should've at least offered the price of the meal or one of them or free dessert. Don't think we will be back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service was excellent beautiful setting outside near the harbor. Went mainly for the music but it was way too loud and annoying. Single female guitarist just ruined all my favorite songs. But I will go back as they change their music frequently

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

The Waterside never disappoints. The food was delicious and the waitress pleasant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 6, 2017

This is our favorite place to eat in Oxnard. Nothing beats the view and happy hour specials!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5