Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.38mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar

We are committed to offering our customers classically inspired dishes, prepared using only the finest quality ingredients available locally, from the bounty of the Oxnard Plain and its coastal waters.

We invite you to experience our relaxed- casually elegant atmosphere, with sweeping views of the Channel Islands Harbor. We are sure you'll love what you'll find at the water's edge.....

3500 South Harbor Boulevard
Oxnard, CA 93035
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday Through Thursday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 11:30 am - 9:00 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am - 6:00pm
Monday: Closed

Lunch menu served Tuesday through Saturday 11:30 am to 4:00
Dinner Menu served Tuesday through Saturday 4:00 pm to closing

Farmers Brunch: served Sundays 10:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday Dinner Specials: 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm

Cross Street:
Cabezone Circle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 985-4677

Website:
http://www.thewatersiderestaurantandwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking at The Marine Emporium Landing

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining At The Waterside Restaurant And Wine Bar. Private casually upscale dining in the Channel Islands Harbor

Private Party Contact:
Maria Buenger: (855) 559-0983

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Scenic View (8)
See All
Waterfront (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Romantic (2)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

As much as we enjoy this restaurant, the music is so loud, we can not have a conversation with other couples. We enjoy the groups just not so loud

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately the waiter didn't know the ingredients in the Kansas barbecue sauce and told us that it was more of a sweet based barbecue sauce. when it arrived the meat looked nice and big, however the sauce was so hot my kids and my husband's mouth started to get hot and burning it's was a very spicy BBQ sauce. Both meals were wasted after trying to get through 3 bones they were unable to eat the rest . When we told the waiter he said would you like me to get you a glass of milk...,, rather than take responsibility for not knowing the ingredients and causing a lot of discomfort, so worried about the size of his check he forgot to remember that tips are based on service not the percentage of the total bill! I still left him an 18% tip that he did not deserve. When we got home my sons and husband had to have medicine to calm down the throat, and the lips they felt like they had ballooned up. The waiter should understand that people have allergies and issues when I eat certain types food we did explain this to him before he served as the meal. The waiter did not deliver what was promised you're responsible for our experience and you should've at least offered the price of the meal or one of them or free dessert. Don't think we will be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food and service was excellent beautiful setting outside near the harbor. Went mainly for the music but it was way too loud and annoying. Single female guitarist just ruined all my favorite songs. But I will go back as they change their music frequently

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The Waterside never disappoints. The food was delicious and the waitress pleasant.

Tags: Live Music, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is our favorite place to eat in Oxnard. Nothing beats the view and happy hour specials!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Waterside is definitely a popular spot, and it is easy to see why. The patio is full of patrons with their puppy babies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We enjoyed out dinner so much, we went back the next day for lunch. Loved the Duck Tacos and the burgers were delish! Enjoyed the live entertainment and the views. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everyone in our party enjoyed what they ordered. Service was excellent. View of the harbor was very nice. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Staff kinda rude. There was no RESTROOM!!!! Drinks delicious (10$ a drink). Food was ok, nothing special. Outside seating is nice and live music is nice.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Nice place for Happy hour. We sat outside and listened to the live band. Beautiful view of the marina. Food was good, we ordered off the happy hour menu and had lots to eat. Service and kitchen are VERY slow.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Steve and team made everything perfect as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I have been to the Waterside many times and gave always enjoyed it. This time not so much. Some of the food served was luke warm. It was hard to get condiments that were requested eith the dinner order. It was a busy night for the restaurant and the sraff may have been a little overwhelmed

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Went to this restaurant not really knowing what to expect. The food was good, the service was bad. Employees have an opinion and there not afraid to speak up. In my opinion no one cares what you think. I'm here to be served and to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A favorite neighborhood haunt. Good bistro type food at reasonable prices and great wine selection. Went for Mothers Day brunch and had a good time but had to wait a bit longer than usual for our food. Worth the wait though; Surf and turf eggs Benedict with filet mignon and crab. Delicious! Great for Happy Hour or Sunday Brunch. Fun lively neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Probably worst food I have had in along time. Made reservations on line requesting patio seating because of the music on the patio. When we arrived we were told online reservations could not be seated on the patio. We then seated way in the back. Waitress was not very attentive. I had to flag here down several times. Menu selections were mediocre for Mothers Day brunch. We ordered eggs benedict, surf and turf benedict and a hamburger. We had to wait at least 45 minutes and two rounds of drinks before the food came. Eggs were cooked hard and had no sauce. The hamburger was well done despite being ordered medium rare. Food was tasteless. We complained to waitress and manager picked up our check. At that point it didn't matter because we didn't have anything to eat and it ruined Mothers Day. Had to go next door to Seafresh to eat. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a great experience here last year for Mother's Day and unfortunately this year was a huge disappointment. They seated us inside when I had requested outside on my online reservation (apparently you had to call to get an outside table). Terrible service, a rude waitress, and the food took almost an hour to arrive after ordering. We were not the only table who experienced this. The manager was nice and gave us 30% off the bill, but by that point the meal was ruined. I understand it was a holiday but they were not short staffed and it should have run much smoother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was good. Service was ok, but it was packed so I understand why there were delays. Overall I would say cool location, but not great food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch. We sat inside which was nice. It wasn't too crowded. Waitress was attentive enough. However, it took a long time to get our food, and you could tell some of the dishes sat under a heat lamp for a while and were overcooked on top and cold throughout. We had to send two dishes (out of five) back, both of them the blueberry cheesecake pancakes on the special menu. One came back quickly. The other took a little longer. They brought out some complimentary potatoes while we waited. The remade food was much better. The other dishes were all just ok. Overall not bad but I'm not sure we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was good not great. Best thing we ate was filet mignon tacos. Good happy hour. Service was s-l-o-w. We saw our server about every 30 minutes. 2 hour dinner and nothing unique was ordered. Didn't even have dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Made reservations weeks in advance for Easter Brunch for two people. We were seated in the back of the restaurant with no view. The lobster Benedict was very dry and the fruit didn't taste fresh. The flowing mimosas were great, as well as the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything was great. Good wine, did the red and white flights. The hummus and tapenade were delicious. Had the ribs and chicken for entrees and both were tasty. The creme brûlée to finish off the night was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was wonderful! Being from Phoenix, I needed to see and hear the ocean and it was right there, without the sand!
Go! Enjoy yourself!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We all liked our food very much ... I think we just caught them on the wrong night with several large parties. I think we waited 45 minutes for our entree's. I'm glad that the table bread was good to help tide me over!

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our waitress was suburb. Spent time helping us select our meal and recommended an option not on the menu. Food was well prepared and tasty. We'll be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were there for the NYE late seating and were seated prior to our reservation time. Great service, exceptional food and awesome entertainment. Thanks to everyone for a memorable New Year's celebration.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Live Music, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Waterfront, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great night out for new years eve. We were worried about the weather, but everything turned out great. The food and the entertainment were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were at the Waterside for West Coast New Years Eve celebration. Started at 9:30 pm, with five-course prix fixe menu (so yummy) and plenty of good liquor options and fantastic live music. We sat out on the patio (with gas heaters going full-blast it was plenty comfortable). Between the music, the festive decorations and the lively other diners, it was a great way to welcome in the new year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waterside restaurant had friendly staff and flavorful food.
They did have a NYE pre-fixe dinner menu - total of 5 courses!
Lots of food and even a glass of champagne with party favors and hats!
Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding restaurant with wonderful staff. Food selection and quality was great.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We wanted to see the boat/holiday light parade. When I called, I was informed that it would not be that visible from an interior window seat. So, I ask about the exterior and was told it would be the same problem, but the person neglected to say that there was a band outside... and mentioned that it might be too cold, but failed to inform me that the patio is enclosed with plexiglass. Sadly, I made the reservation for the inside, which by comparison was really pretty dull. There were no available outside seats.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The cheese tray appetizer was fantastic! Great food, excellent ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Nice times at the harbor for the family before the annual boat parade. Will be back for date night with my wife!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waterside Restaurant and Wine Bar is always great, and the Sunday farmer's market brunch was no exception. Fresh ingredients from the farmer's market next door combined with chef quality presentation and prep are a real treat. Love the dog-friendly patio too, with live music. A bit loud outside, but if that is a problem, tables are available inside as well. Reservations are recommended as this place has been near capacity each time we have been there.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was ok nothing spectacular. Also a little bit on the pricey side glad I went but will not come back any time soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We've been here a few times and the best part is the live entertainment, the view, the music. They need to work on the food and wine list. Plus, $12 for a glass of Hess Chardonnay?? Pretty pricey for a pretty inexpensive, but, good wine! Especially in the harbor🤔

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Live Music, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We chose Waterside because we were staying across the harbor and it was close by. Good choice. It was a pleasant evening and we were seated outside. The tables are nothing fancy, it's a bit cluttered on the patio, and the propane heaters they had going were probably not necessary, and with one not offering complete combustion added that natural gas smell. The menu is rather limited but there were two specials, which we opted for, one a spicy linguini with shrimp and the other a scallop dish, they were cooked just right. There was a "band" playing, two guys with a guitar and drum set and a laptop providing backing, their set including mostly late 60s and early 70s standards (Van Morrison, etc) which were appropriate for the demographic that night. We stayed for a couple glasses of wine from a fairly extensive list featuring many local choices. Dog friendly, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We frequent the Waterside Restaurant & Wine Bar often, and just held a winemaker dinner there for approximately 32 guests - it was wonderful. Food/wine pairing, staff, chef. Everyone enjoyed the evening and meal. Menu's are great, wonderful service and always a nice band to enjoy vs being annoyed by.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We made reservations in advance and asked to be outside, but it was very windy, so they put us in the back area with windows on 2 sides. It was very nice and quiet. Food was great. Server did great job. There were 6 of us ladies celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very enjoyable Sunday brunch. Nice ambiance, service & music. Will definitely return.

Tags: Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Bad service in a stuffy room. Could not hear beautiful Celtic music. Could not get hot water for tea tho bar drinks readily available. Too bad. Only ok for brunch outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.