Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.91mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.91mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.91mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.76mi
  2. Distance: 0.91mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.35mi

About The Vineyard Restaurant

Serving exquisitely prepared South Central Italian cuisine, The Vineyard offers a culinary escape to the Campania region of Italy courtesy of Pietro DiMatteo and his family. Savor dishes featuring the freshest and highest quality ingredients, including mozzarella made by hand and meat butchered by Pietro on site. Desserts ranging from Italian cheesecake, Tiramasu, and a sinfully decadent Chocolate Chocolate Cake are prepared fresh daily by Maria DiMatteo. With a full-service bar with a list of imported wines to impress even the most discriminating oenophile, The Vineyard welcomes discriminating palates and dietary needs of all kinds. Gluten-free and wheat pasta as well as vegetarian dishes are available. We look forward to seeing you at dinner tonight and wish you bon appetito!

605 Fiot Street
Bethlehem, PA 18015
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Delaware Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 867-2441

Website:
http://www.vineyardrestaurant.net/

Entertainment:
Talented accordion player Nick Franco serenades diners 6:00-9:00 PM Friday evenings.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in private lot; overflow parking is available on the street adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Pietro DiMatteo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Vineyard Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (18)
Casual (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (9)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort by
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Service was great. Food is delicious!! Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Italian food!! Always good eating. Don't pass this place up!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2018

A classic neighborhood Italian restaurant. You have one in your town. Wonderful service and a real desire to please, but the food is utterly mediocre. In many ways indicative of the flaws of Open Table where the quality bar is very much a function of the local audience. In other words, if you don't know any better you would consider this good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We have been here before and each time we have been impressed. The food is excellent and the service is great. We can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We've been going to The Vineyard for over 20 years. I love how they are consistent with all their dishes and the quality and taste is as outstanding today, as it was 20 years ago. Please don't change a thing...except PLEASE bring back the accordion music on Friday nights!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a NYE dinner here and the food was terrific! The veal dishes were incredible. My veal marsala could be the benchmark for how the dish should be made. A desert of tartufu, even on a really cold night, was a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Most of the food was very good other than the clams way too small the wind was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2017

I LOVE this restaurant! Besides the amazing food, I love the atmosphere which hasn't changed over time. Everything about The Vineyard reminds me of Italy...from the wall murals to the vines hanging overhead to the music...it's the whole experience! My Veal Sorrentina was excellent as always; my dinner partner had a salmon special which was out of this world. Even the broccoli was perfectly cooked. We always get the cold antipasti because we love it so much.
For me, going there gives me a comfortable feeling plus I know the food and service will be excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 24, 2017

A night out with a family of 5. Our reservation was for 6pm, we got seated immediately. Service started slow, we ordered, our salad came out at 730pm, yes 90 minutes for a small plate of greens. Our meal followed at 8pm, approximately 2 hours later. Chicken franchese was very small, looked like 4 chicken fingers with sauce on top. Steak came out with a side of broccoli, actually one stalk of broccoli, we all had a good laugh at this, at this point we were a little delirious from hunger. Never got refills all evening on drinks. The ambiance was ridiculous, looked like folding tables with table clothes and the chair looked like something from a diner or one you rent for a wedding. Walls covered with tacky artificial leaves and flowers. Our bill was $160 no alcohol or appetizers. Very expensive, small servings and the ambiance was horrible. It was so cold in there we all had to keep our coats on. Just a terrible experience. Will not be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for over 20 years. This has been the worst experience I have ever had there. It was Christmas Eve and very busy. First we waited for 2 hours for our food and then my Mom and I always get the Veal Parmesan, which is out of this world. Well the veal wasn't even breaded, there were hard pieces of meat on my Mom's... It was totally unacceptable. I told our waitress, whom felt so bad, that I wanted to speak to the manager. The manager never came to our table, just took the food off of our bill and that was that! Very poor planning on the restaurants part for a Christmas Eve dinner. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

I had the veal Marcela... One of my favorite dishes eaten at many restaurants...the veal was good but the sauce was as thick as brown gravy ... Maybe its just your way but it's wrong.... Asked for 3 cherries in my disorona on the rocks.... Got one.... Saw our waiter 2x..., asked and reserved upstairs... Got downstairs... Load and no ambiance .... Your place was recommended... The must of had a better experience...not worth the $140 with tip... Thanks for asking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2017

We wouldn't have even found this restaurant without OpenTable. We were visiting Bethlehem as a "Christmas City" and went to the fabulous Chriskindlmarkt. So many people had the same idea, so we needed a dinner reservation. What a find!!! The food was extraordinarily good. My wife and I had two different veal dishes that were out of this world. We sampled each other's choice and we both love both main dishes. I have to say the pasta "sides" were also really good, not just the pasta with bland marinara sauce most places serve. We split a tartufo dessert and it was far above par. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive without being pesty. They were there any time they were needed. The bill was surprisingly low for the food experience we enjoyed. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Excellent staff - stayed open late for us .. loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

This was a special dinner for 3 friends celebrating the Xmas season as well as December Birthday and general catching up. The food was delicious; it is the only restaurant where I would order veal as it melts in one's mouth. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional.
Each of us enjoyed our dinner choices. We were not rushed and had a great time catching up on everything since we last were together. This is my favorite Italian restaurant in the area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2017

This was our second time there. Food good and value is great. If you go, ask for an upstairs table. Much nicer. We were seated downstairs and there was no ambience and there were 5 women there who were extremely loud. Upstairs is 100% better room! People there are really friendly and nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The Vineyard is a cozy, authentic Italian restaurant with no pretense. Just super food and service at every visit!
The pasta and fish dishes are wonderful... but there is nowhere that offers Veal dishes that are quite as good. ... even in NYC. If you enjoy Ceasar salad prepared fresh and to order... the best around!

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We have dined here many times and will continue to return here. The food is always and I mean always excellent. I have dined at numerous other Italian restaurants and none have come close to the Vineyard. The service and food are always fantastic .
I have seen some reviews that some would like to see updates to the décor inside, to me don't change anything it is what gives the charm and atmosphere. The menu has many selections from which to choose if you don't find what you like here perhaps you never will. To the owners and staff KEEP UPTHE GOOD WORK!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The veal dishes are wonderful. They had a burrata special that was great and I would recommend the mozzarella en carosa

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Pete, Maria, and Bill Sheehan are all wonderful hosts. The food is consistently delicious, even after 30+ years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent food, but bad service. Our server was more worried about catching up with a friend than waiting her tables. She was forgetful and not professional. We will go back for the food but will request a certain server.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Our food was good. It was all a bit sloppy as it was busy due to Lehigh’s Parent Weekend. Even though our server messed up a few things, she was sweet enough that it didn’t matter. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Everything was delicious. Because of the attention to preparation, the timing to get get food took longer than anticipated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

After we finally found The Vineyard boy was it worth the search! Jen was our waitress and she was awesome even though they were packed for parent's weekend at Lehigh. They accomodated my father who walks with a cane and the food was to die for. All fresh and handmade - even the salad dressing was delicious. The veal parmigiana was huge and amazing and my son loved the lasagna. Will definitely go back on my next trip to Lehigh!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent good and lots of it. We enjoyed everything we ordered. Service was very attentive and helpful. Can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Really amazing meal, great reasonably priced wine list, fantastic service. All around excellent Italian in a funky relaxed atmosphere. No pretension here, so ignore the outside and the decor, just enjoy the exceptional food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We are regulars.Great food and service and reasonable prices. Menu is also extensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great Food and reasonable prices What more do you want?

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Always great! Would be right at home in NYC (I used to work there). This now our go-to Italian restaurant.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

As my husband and I walked in, I was a little skeptical. But the reviews I had read were rave reviews and I had remembered that one person mentioned something about the outside and the inside decor. Well, it didn't take long for my husband and I to become pleasantly surprised. The staff is extremely friendly. The service is wonderful. The clientele was a bit older than us, but they seemed like regulars who have been enjoying this place for years - which is always a good sign. My husband enjoyed the shrimp fra diavolo (quite spicy) and I the shrimp oreganato for our appetizers. He had the chicken francese which he is still raving about 2 days later. I very much enjoyed the veal marsala (super tender). We shared the brownie bottom cheesecake. And we were quite pleased with the wine selection. Yes, this restaurant has an older feel to it, but the delicious homemade food along with the decor makes you feel like you are enjoying a wonderful meal at your Italian grandmother's home she worked on preparing with love.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Jennifer, our server (2nd time) was/is great. Very friendly and knowledgeable. If possible, we will request her on our next visit.
John & JoAnn Coppola

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

excellent Italian in the middle of a residential area !

we shall return !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We loved the local neighborhood feel. It was our first visit. The service added to the feel. The food was very good and we are looking forward to bringing our family. We have added it to our list of restaurants to visit when we do not want to cook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food and the service are always fantastic! My wife and I had an excellent meal. I highly recommend the shrimp oreganato appetizer.
We both can’t wait until we go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was excellent! This is a true neighborhood gem with fresh authentic food.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is definitely a neighborhood gem. An unassuming front. The food is excellent. Fresh ingredients. The waitress was very good. All in all a great place with fresh prepared food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was great as usual. Top shelf veal. My wife's veal marsala was delicious. My veal calabrese was tasty and spicy. Veal so tender you could cut it with your fork. Accompanied with a nice tossed salad and house dressing, garlic bread and side of spaghetti. Great service topped off the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Vineyard is a south Bethlehem treasure, and has been for decades. They continue to do what they have done for so many years, which is serve large portions of delicious, consistently prepared Italian-American food. Their eggplant parmigiana is legendary, and even my mother admits it's as good as hers, and I agree. Order a carafe of the house montepulciano, the mozzeralla in carozza, the eggplant parm, the linguine alle vongole or penne with broccoli, and few things in life get better.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a great meal & the service was wonderful! It was very affordable!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

As always, the Vineyard was excellent. It's hard to go there and not just order the veal Parmesan. We stretched out and had different meals and found them all to be delicious as well .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.