About The Vineyard Restaurant

605 Fiot Street
Bethlehem, PA 18015
View Larger Map

Serving exquisitely prepared South Central Italian cuisine, The Vineyard offers a culinary escape to the Campania region of Italy courtesy of Pietro DiMatteo and his family. Savor dishes featuring the freshest and highest quality ingredients, including mozzarella made by hand and meat butchered by Pietro on site. Desserts ranging from Italian cheesecake, Tiramasu, and a sinfully decadent Chocolate Chocolate Cake are prepared fresh daily by Maria DiMatteo. With a full-service bar with a list of imported wines to impress even the most discriminating oenophile, The Vineyard welcomes discriminating palates and dietary needs of all kinds. Gluten-free and wheat pasta as well as vegetarian dishes are available. We look forward to seeing you at dinner tonight and wish you bon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Delaware Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 867-2441

Website:
http://www.vineyardrestaurant.net/

Entertainment:
Talented accordion player Nick Franco serenades diners 6:00-9:00 PM Friday evenings.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in private lot; overflow parking is available on the street adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Pietro DiMatteo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Vineyard Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lehigh Valley
Best Food
Lehigh Valley
Best Service
Lehigh Valley
2 More
Best Value
Lehigh Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Lehigh Valley
Best Restaurants in Bethlehem ›

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Authentic (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined at the Vineyard early Saturday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We dined at the Vineyard early Saturday evening with company from out of state. Part of the group had more driving later that evening, hence the earlier time. This was the first time for the out of town group and they enjoyed the meal. The staff had a booster seat for the 1 + year old but he preferred mom and dad. He seemed to enjoy the food as well as watching all the people. We were able to enjoy a relaxing, delicious meal without being rushed. Our friend treated us as she wanted to celebrate my husband's birthday. Everything from the salad and soup to the chicken and veal dishes as well as the stuffed shells dish ending with desserts; at our table chocolate cake and tartuffos were most delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time here and I absolute ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was my first time here and I absolutely fell in love. Classic Italian food, quaint atmosphere and amazing service from Bill. I will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at the Vinyard in the past ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have eaten at the Vinyard in the past and the service, food, and surroundings were always to our likeing. It is certain we will return in the future.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at great prives...serbice was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food at great prives...serbice was excellent as was the food...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, good enough to compare with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, good enough to compare with most high scale restaurants. The waiter was a bit lax. Never asked if we wanted another drink and our water glasses were empty and were never refilled. But all in all we had an enjoyable time and good food.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Always a great meal and a relaxing dinin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always a great meal and a relaxing dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

With this visit the food took much longe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

With this visit the food took much longer to be served than a week ago

when I was last there. The food was still very good and I will go

there again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Have eaten there for special occasion fo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Have eaten there for special occasion for over 20 years! This visit however did not go well. Had reservations but had to wait 20 minutes for a table. The service was good but the quality of the food was poor - my favorite dish was horrible! Not sure if there is a new cook or cutting costs on food quality but will not be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Consistently spectacular!! Just go, you ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Consistently spectacular!! Just go, you won't be diappointed!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was all excellent. Don't miss ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was all excellent. Don't miss the Prosciutto wrapped in fresh

mozzarella with roasted red peppers appetizer. Awesome! Our waitress

was spot on with all recommendations right down to the wine choice of

Montepulciano D'Abruzzo. Excellent Red and totally complimented the

main entrees. The Shrimp Fra Diavolo was perfectly spiced, I'll get that

again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Veal anywhere. Pasta is homemade!!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best Veal anywhere. Pasta is homemade!!!! Drove an hour and twenty minutes to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beat Italian food outside of moms kitche ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beat Italian food outside of moms kitchen. Hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a classic family Italian restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a classic family Italian restaurant, with really good food prepared in very traditional ways. My wife had the cheese ravioli and it was very fresh with terrific marinara sauce. The mozzarella is made in-house and was delicious with sliced tomatoes and italian seasonings. Quality and quantity of everything was very good, including two cocktails from their extensive specialty menu. Total cost for two with cocktails, appetizers, entrees, and tip was $100. We've already recommended it to friends and will be going back soon. If you like classic Italian delivered in the old manner in a neighborhood setting, you should try it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Consistently fantastic authentic Italian ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently fantastic authentic Italian food. We've been coming here for years and have NEVER been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

parking is very bad not enough spaces, s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

parking is very bad not enough spaces, street parking hit and miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was great and the restaurant is ver ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great and the restaurant is very family oriented as well as run by a lovely family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great dinner, our server Matt was great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

great dinner, our server Matt was great , and knew when to be at the table to assist with our order

food was great, never a disappointment

will be back for more

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We've been coming here forever! We love ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We've been coming here forever! We love the family and the food. Our favorite place to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

neighborhood gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

food was flavorful, cooked to perfection. The wait staff was knowledgeable, and helpful.

It was an all around pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vineyard restaurant continues to shine after

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

we come to the vineyard for the veal dishes .. they have incredible veal plain and simple ! we also enjoy the sleeper wines that Maria recommends .. most recently a delicious brunello ... also very much enjoy the shrimp diablo appetizer and the garlic bread ... it's a true family affair here and they do a great job !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

First time and they have set the bar ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time and they have set the bar very high. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian Food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We thoroughly enjoy our dining experiences at the Vineyard. Best Italian restaurant in the area in my opinion. It is the only restaurant where I will order veal. The food is excellently prepared and tasty. Desserts are also delicious. Good wine with dinner a plus. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff was very accomodating and frie ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The staff was very accomodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

More soup than sauce

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

While this restaurant characterizes itself as real Italian, it's not a place that an Italian would frequent. The atmosphere is fine: simple decor, adequate furniture, not unlike eating in someone's den. The service, too, is fine: easy-going wait staff, not overbearing in any way, food came out within a reasonable time frame. And the menu would be fine, too, if the food were better prepared. As we so often see at Italian restaurants, the portions are large. But as we so often see at Italian restaurants, the use of sauce is, to be kind, generous. To be less kind, the food is swimming in sauce. Chicken parmagiana is a piece of chicken that cannot be seen, since it is entirely submerged in the tomato sauce. The seafood linguini had so much white white sauce that, when all the food was eaten, there remained a half bowl of sauce (soup).

For food of this quality, there's no reason not to visit one of the large Italian chain restaurants and save considerably. Here, the prices are in keeping with a better restaurant in the Lehigh Valley. Unfortunately, the food can't keep up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fine Italian Dining

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The Vineyard has been a Lehigh Valley institution for many years and the quality of the cuisine has never been better. This is the place to go for top shelf veal dishes or Italian inspired seafood. It also has all the classic pasta and chicken dishes one would expect. Our last visit my wife and I both tried a veal dish. She got one of her favorites the Veal Saltimbocca while I went with the Veal Calabrase. The Saltimbocca with the spinach and prosciutto and the brown gravy with a dollop of marinara was delicious as always. My Calabrase is tender melt in your mouth veal with potatoes peppericini in a light brown sauce - just spectacular. They also have a nice wine list and a full service bar to make the special occasion jut right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had chicken Parmesan and chicken picc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had chicken Parmesan and chicken piccata. Generous portions. Good well and served with a side of pasta. Also enjoyed the barrata appetizer. Would definitely go again. The prices were very good we felt. Decor is old but goes with vineyard theme

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic dining experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Scrumptious, fresh, delicious,authentic and fantastic dining experience as always. My husband and I have been frequenting this establishment for many years and our experience is always the same.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

grutk

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Terrible service Waited over 1 hour for entre. Waiter did not know what he was doing. No refills Must have pulled all personnel for private party. Very loud. Menu is limited. 70's decor

Wanted to enjoy an evening with close friends. Disaster

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Place

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Have been there many times over the years and always great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Literally a Neighborhood Gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

The Vineyard is literally a neighborhood gem as it is located in an area where there no other restaurants close by. The veal dishes were outstanding as well as the freshly made antipasta appetizer. Great place for a group get together, special occasion or just a night out with your special someone. First visit to the Vineyard was back in 1975 and 40 years later continues to be a gem! Would highly recommend. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful hidden treasure

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

People always laugh when I tell them there's a great restaurant by 5 points on the south side but when they try it they always love it. The food and people are great. We've never had a bad meal here and will continue to go back. My favorite is the chicken capobianco and my husband loves the veal menu items stating you can't get better veal in the valley.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Surprisingly noisy! Otherwise good

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Surprisingly noisy! Otherwise good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I love the Shrimp Oreganato

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We have been here before in the past and we are never disappointed. I highly recommend getting somthing Fra Diavolo if you like it a bit spicy. If not then go for one of the francese dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

The Vineyard has the best veal dishes anywhere in the area and I have tried every Italian restaurant in Western NJ and Eastern PA. Not even close.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good food

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

The Vineyard has always been my husband's favorite restaurant. Its definitely a great restaurant with a quiet atmosphere. I wouldn't feel comfortable bringing our young children here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and nice ambiance.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Great food and a romantic atmosphere. I miss the accordian player. It really added to the evening to hear those romantic Italian songs and set this restaurant apart from the rest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

This place had delicious, authentic italian food! Very reasonably priced too for food and drinks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful find

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Dinner was delicious from beginning to end. Our waitress was pleasant and quite helpful explaining the wine list and not rushing us. The antipasto was perfect, salads very nice with just the right amount of dressing, the entries were marvelous - both specials, and the coffee and cannoli a great end to the evening. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night spot

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

The food here was excellent and decently priced. My boyfriend got a seafood/pasta platter which he very much enjoyed while I got a spinach stuffed chicken special which was FANTASTIC! I typically only finish half of a meal but it was so good that I finished the whole thing without even realizing. The portion sizes were large and they had a nice alcohol list. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a delicious hearty Italian meal. Our server was also very prompt and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.