Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

The Vineyard Restaurant

4.6
281 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Authentic
  • Good for a Date
Serving exquisitely prepared South Central Italian cuisine, The Vineyard offers a culinary escape to the Campania region of Italy courtesy of Pietro DiMatteo and his family. Savor dishes featuring the freshest and highest quality ingredients, including mozzarella made by hand and meat butchered by Pietro on site. Desserts ranging from Italian cheesecake, Tiramasu, and a sinfully decadent Chocolate Chocolate Cake are prepared fresh daily by Maria DiMatteo. With a full-service bar with a list of imported wines to impress even the most discriminating oenophile, The Vineyard welcomes discriminating palates and dietary needs of all kinds. Gluten-free and wheat pasta as well as vegetarian dishes are available. We look forward to seeing you at dinner tonight and wish you bon appetito!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(610) 867-2441
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Pietro DiMatteo
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Delaware Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available in private lot; overflow parking is available on the street adjacent to the restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Talented accordion player Nick Franco serenades diners 6:00-9:00 PM Friday evenings.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 281 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.1
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great food as always! Nice bottles of wine & great service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Food is awesome! Would definitely recommend. Very noisy when we were there on a Saturday night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My husband and I drove out to Bethlehem from Blue Bell; approx. an hour away; to go to the Sands casino for my birthday Sat night. After reading reviews on restaurants for over 2 hours and not seeing many good comments for the restaurants in the actual casino itself; I came across the Vineyard restaurant reviews and made my choice based off of those and we were not disappointed. I read the cook should be famous for his brown sauce and that is so true. The home made ricotta cheese was wonderful as well; we will definitely come back to this restaurant possibly with friends next time. Highly recommended. Little hole in the wall Italian restaurants are the best and this is one for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Meal and staff were exceptional. Everything cooked to order with no issues.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 29, 2018

While the food and service were good, the prices were higher than expected for a non-gourmet Italian restaurant. Plus charging for each glass of iced tea, seemed a bit too much. To his credit, the waiter warned us of the additional cost. Food selections were fne and the ambience pleasing and quiet at the early hour (4:30) we reserved.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This was our first time and we look forward to returning soon. The food was excellent and authentic as was the service (Bill). We highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Delicious veal entrees, fresh salad and good portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Best Italian restaurant in town.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The Vineyard has old world, grandma charm. The food is the focus and if you enjoy traditional Italian food done right, with knowledgeable servers, this is the place for you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Whenever we are in Bethlehem we try to eat at The Vineyard. The food, especially the veal, is outstanding and the service is good. This visit our waiter, Bill, was attentive, helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is casual but the food is fine dining!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The Vineyard Restaurant remains a special place in the Lehigh Valley for great Italian food. The menu is wonderful and the dishes live up to expectations. When you add to that the great value you just can't beat this place. We love the roasted green peppers, the sliced tomato salad, the chicken or veal pizzaiola, and the mussels marinara.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Amazing dinner!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We've been dining at the Vineyard for 25 yrs & never been disappointed ! The owner-chef prepares delicious Italian dishes from family recipes from scratch using fresh ingredients . Especially love the appetizers, veal dishes & Zuppa de mare.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

Best italisn in town with the best service .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Absolutely love this place one of the best restaurants in the vally..There food never disappoints. Great proportions. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Older decor but not a problem since they obviously focus on food and service. Apps, drinks, desserts and entrees and the bill was still under $100. Authentic Italian food, will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Friendly server. Cozy atmosphere. Restaurant was willing to accommodate request. Will return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

The food is excellent! Homemade cakes are, too. Service is honest and good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Best Italian in LV

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Best true Italian in the valley.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

First time there and really appreciated the authentic Italian experience. Reminded me of an Italian restaurant that I went to in Brooklyn years ago. Our server was very punctual, kind and courteous. He had a great personality and did a great job. Our meal came with garlic bread served warm to the table. Entrees were delicious! Bring your appetite!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Although the first time I visited this restaurant, I thought the throwback decorating was a bit charming, this time it just felt old. The floor, and my chair, actually moved up and down, as did my partner's, whenever anyone walked by. It was really annoying after a while. I would go back but never would want to be seated at that table again. I had the eggplant rollatini which was pretty good. A bit too much cheese and sauce for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food and service were incredible. I’ll be returning ASAP

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Best italian in Lehigh Valley, bar none. Been there atleast 20 times and always great. Veal is top notch and the homemade chocolate cake and cannolis are amazing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2018

First time looking for a good italian place since we just moved to the area. We had reservations for 4 at 8pm on a saturday night. place was very crowded. hostest was not friendly at all actually looked very depressed as did many of the waiters/waitresses. seated in basement in about 10 mins. service was VERY VERY SLOW waited about 20 mins for water and drinks, 40 min for salad and bread, 1 hour 15 mins for dinner. waiter did not come back to check for refills or remove dirty plates until dinner was served. luckily the food was good, but not worth the long wait.. Don't order any mixed cocktails either they are watered down. I may come back for the food but not on a weekend. the most disturbing part was when we sat down and older couple was leaving and walking a dog up the stairs!!! we couldn't believe we say a dog in the restaurant!! this was NOT a service dog this was a little shiz suh or something. I made a comment to the waiter and he said he didn't even know the dog was there! I'm no health inspector but I'm pretty sure you can't bring your dogs to dinner!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 20, 2018

While food was excellent - service was not. Table not ready for our reserved time. Rude older female bartender yelling "excuse me, excuse me" for us to get out of her way so she could get menu's (area where you have to wait for your table is small - have to move when someone else wants to come in the door) - there was no room at the bar to stand and have a drink. So we had to stand where we were and she made us feel like we were deliberately in her way. They seated us at a round table for six - even though there were just four of us, kind of awkward.
Our server was awful - long wait for drinks. Long wait for bread. Long wait for our meal. Asked for fresh pepper, never brought it. Ask for parmasean cheese for our pasta - never brought.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

My husband and I have been coming here for years. Our favorite thing about this restaurant is the consistency. Every meal that we have ever ordered is exactly like the one we ordered in the past. No surprises, no disasters in the kitchen or with the staff. The food is ALWAYS fresh and the veal dishes are to die for. Do yourself a favor and just go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Service was great. Food is delicious!! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Great Italian food!! Always good eating. Don't pass this place up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Excellent as usual.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

A classic neighborhood Italian restaurant. You have one in your town. Wonderful service and a real desire to please, but the food is utterly mediocre. In many ways indicative of the flaws of Open Table where the quality bar is very much a function of the local audience. In other words, if you don't know any better you would consider this good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2018

We have been here before and each time we have been impressed. The food is excellent and the service is great. We can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We've been going to The Vineyard for over 20 years. I love how they are consistent with all their dishes and the quality and taste is as outstanding today, as it was 20 years ago. Please don't change a thing...except PLEASE bring back the accordion music on Friday nights!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We had a NYE dinner here and the food was terrific! The veal dishes were incredible. My veal marsala could be the benchmark for how the dish should be made. A desert of tartufu, even on a really cold night, was a treat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Most of the food was very good other than the clams way too small the wind was terrible

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

I LOVE this restaurant! Besides the amazing food, I love the atmosphere which hasn't changed over time. Everything about The Vineyard reminds me of Italy...from the wall murals to the vines hanging overhead to the music...it's the whole experience! My Veal Sorrentina was excellent as always; my dinner partner had a salmon special which was out of this world. Even the broccoli was perfectly cooked. We always get the cold antipasti because we love it so much.
For me, going there gives me a comfortable feeling plus I know the food and service will be excellent!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 24, 2017

A night out with a family of 5. Our reservation was for 6pm, we got seated immediately. Service started slow, we ordered, our salad came out at 730pm, yes 90 minutes for a small plate of greens. Our meal followed at 8pm, approximately 2 hours later. Chicken franchese was very small, looked like 4 chicken fingers with sauce on top. Steak came out with a side of broccoli, actually one stalk of broccoli, we all had a good laugh at this, at this point we were a little delirious from hunger. Never got refills all evening on drinks. The ambiance was ridiculous, looked like folding tables with table clothes and the chair looked like something from a diner or one you rent for a wedding. Walls covered with tacky artificial leaves and flowers. Our bill was $160 no alcohol or appetizers. Very expensive, small servings and the ambiance was horrible. It was so cold in there we all had to keep our coats on. Just a terrible experience. Will not be going back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2017

I have been going to this restaurant for over 20 years. This has been the worst experience I have ever had there. It was Christmas Eve and very busy. First we waited for 2 hours for our food and then my Mom and I always get the Veal Parmesan, which is out of this world. Well the veal wasn't even breaded, there were hard pieces of meat on my Mom's... It was totally unacceptable. I told our waitress, whom felt so bad, that I wanted to speak to the manager. The manager never came to our table, just took the food off of our bill and that was that! Very poor planning on the restaurants part for a Christmas Eve dinner. Never again!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

I had the veal Marcela... One of my favorite dishes eaten at many restaurants...the veal was good but the sauce was as thick as brown gravy ... Maybe its just your way but it's wrong.... Asked for 3 cherries in my disorona on the rocks.... Got one.... Saw our waiter 2x..., asked and reserved upstairs... Got downstairs... Load and no ambiance .... Your place was recommended... The must of had a better experience...not worth the $140 with tip... Thanks for asking

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We wouldn't have even found this restaurant without OpenTable. We were visiting Bethlehem as a "Christmas City" and went to the fabulous Chriskindlmarkt. So many people had the same idea, so we needed a dinner reservation. What a find!!! The food was extraordinarily good. My wife and I had two different veal dishes that were out of this world. We sampled each other's choice and we both love both main dishes. I have to say the pasta "sides" were also really good, not just the pasta with bland marinara sauce most places serve. We split a tartufo dessert and it was far above par. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive without being pesty. They were there any time they were needed. The bill was surprisingly low for the food experience we enjoyed. We will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8