About The Vineyard Restaurant

605 Fiot Street
Bethlehem, PA 18015
View Larger Map

Serving exquisitely prepared South Central Italian cuisine, The Vineyard offers a culinary escape to the Campania region of Italy courtesy of Pietro DiMatteo and his family. Savor dishes featuring the freshest and highest quality ingredients, including mozzarella made by hand and meat butchered by Pietro on site. Desserts ranging from Italian cheesecake, Tiramasu, and a sinfully decadent Chocolate Chocolate Cake are prepared fresh daily by Maria DiMatteo. With a full-service bar with a list of imported wines to impress even the most discriminating oenophile, The Vineyard welcomes discriminating palates and dietary needs of all kinds. Gluten-free and wheat pasta as well as vegetarian dishes are available. We look forward to seeing you at dinner tonight and wish you bon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Delaware Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 867-2441

Website:
http://www.vineyardrestaurant.net/

Entertainment:
Talented accordion player Nick Franco serenades diners 6:00-9:00 PM Friday evenings.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in private lot; overflow parking is available on the street adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Pietro DiMatteo

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

The Vineyard Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Lehigh Valley
Best Food
Lehigh Valley
2 More
Best Service
Lehigh Valley
Best Value
Lehigh Valley
Best Restaurants in Bethlehem ›

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
See All
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Cozy (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good, service was good decor wa ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good, service was good decor was dated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best italian food in the lehigh valley b ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Best italian food in the lehigh valley by far. Great service and desserts are awesome as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been going to the Vineyard for 20 ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I have been going to the Vineyard for 20+ years. It is comforting to always find it the same. The atmosphere is relaxing and the food is delicious! My husband lived in Rome for three years and finds the food to be authentic. We live in Ohio now but make a point to return to the Vineyard each time we return to PA.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food in a casual atmosphere

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food in a casual atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find! Food was wonderful and nice ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great find! Food was wonderful and nice atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dining experience at The Vineyard is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our dining experience at The Vineyard is always excellent! It's a great place to take our out of town guests. The food is always amazing! Our server was great also. We have had him several times and he is amazing. He is server #10. Thank you for another wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the Vineyard! Our friend is Ita ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love the Vineyard! Our friend is Italian and loves veal dishes especially! She said it's the among the best veal she's ever had! Great menu, great service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my go to place for an exceptiona ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is my go to place for an exceptional dinner, and they never let me down!! Best Italian in the valley by far..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. This place is a hidden gem. G ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic. This place is a hidden gem. Great authentic Italian food. Great waiter and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good food and the staff was very fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very good food and the staff was very friendly. I would go back again and take some friends. We are going back there for are rehearsals dinner in April

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was ok - nothing special ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 16, 2016

This restaurant was ok - nothing special here. The food tasted good, but I though the atmosphere was dreary. We made reservations at this place and our table was in the basement. It looked like we were in a banquet hall with about 10 tables (all the same size). No decor, quiet and a little creepy. Would definitely try a different restaurant if I come back to this city.

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was very good with many healthy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was very good with many healthy choices. I'd especially recommend the veal dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The best kept Italian restaurant secret ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The best kept Italian restaurant secret around. Looking forward to many more visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time only this restau ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is the second time only this restaurant was available on Open Table during a big university weekend. So, we went.

Don't get me wrong, the food is above average, but there is nothing special here. It's hard to get past the dingy, musty, old decor. Every now and then a business has to invest in new digs. It is well past time they take out a loan and improve the physical plant.

This is a neighborhood restaurant. Pretty much a checkered table cloth Italian, service was good, not elegant. Some dishes were left on the table and not cleared for dessert.

The experience is like going to a neighborhood diner. The good news, for those that have a tight budget, it is relatively inexpensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great food and great service. We went th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food and great service. We went there for family weekend at Lehigh. We all enjoyed it and would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am new to the area and found it on Ope ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I am new to the area and found it on Open Table. Went by reviews, When I drove up I was not sure as from the outside it looked sketchy. Don't let that deter you.

The people are really friendly and the food delicious. I was very happy with my meal and the experience.

Will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Veal Marsala was on point, as was the ti ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Veal Marsala was on point, as was the tiramisu. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This restaurant serves authentic Italian ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This restaurant serves authentic Italian food in a fun atmosphere. The food is consistently fantastic each and every visit we have made over the past several years.the cold antipasto for an appetizer serves two. We love any of the veal dishes. The veal is hand butchered by the owner/chef and the freshness is apparent with the first bite. Desserts are made in house and are not to be missed. Seriously, just go. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dined at the Vineyard early Saturday ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We dined at the Vineyard early Saturday evening with company from out of state. Part of the group had more driving later that evening, hence the earlier time. This was the first time for the out of town group and they enjoyed the meal. The staff had a booster seat for the 1 + year old but he preferred mom and dad. He seemed to enjoy the food as well as watching all the people. We were able to enjoy a relaxing, delicious meal without being rushed. Our friend treated us as she wanted to celebrate my husband's birthday. Everything from the salad and soup to the chicken and veal dishes as well as the stuffed shells dish ending with desserts; at our table chocolate cake and tartuffos were most delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time here and I absolute ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It was my first time here and I absolutely fell in love. Classic Italian food, quaint atmosphere and amazing service from Bill. I will definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at the Vinyard in the past ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2016

We have eaten at the Vinyard in the past and the service, food, and surroundings were always to our likeing. It is certain we will return in the future.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at great prives...serbice was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food at great prives...serbice was excellent as was the food...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food, good enough to compare with ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food, good enough to compare with most high scale restaurants. The waiter was a bit lax. Never asked if we wanted another drink and our water glasses were empty and were never refilled. But all in all we had an enjoyable time and good food.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Always a great meal and a relaxing dinin ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always a great meal and a relaxing dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

With this visit the food took much longe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

With this visit the food took much longer to be served than a week ago

when I was last there. The food was still very good and I will go

there again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Have eaten there for special occasion fo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Have eaten there for special occasion for over 20 years! This visit however did not go well. Had reservations but had to wait 20 minutes for a table. The service was good but the quality of the food was poor - my favorite dish was horrible! Not sure if there is a new cook or cutting costs on food quality but will not be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Consistently spectacular!! Just go, you ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Consistently spectacular!! Just go, you won't be diappointed!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was all excellent. Don't miss ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was all excellent. Don't miss the Prosciutto wrapped in fresh

mozzarella with roasted red peppers appetizer. Awesome! Our waitress

was spot on with all recommendations right down to the wine choice of

Montepulciano D'Abruzzo. Excellent Red and totally complimented the

main entrees. The Shrimp Fra Diavolo was perfectly spiced, I'll get that

again for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Veal anywhere. Pasta is homemade!!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Best Veal anywhere. Pasta is homemade!!!! Drove an hour and twenty minutes to eat there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beat Italian food outside of moms kitche ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beat Italian food outside of moms kitchen. Hands down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a classic family Italian restaur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is a classic family Italian restaurant, with really good food prepared in very traditional ways. My wife had the cheese ravioli and it was very fresh with terrific marinara sauce. The mozzarella is made in-house and was delicious with sliced tomatoes and italian seasonings. Quality and quantity of everything was very good, including two cocktails from their extensive specialty menu. Total cost for two with cocktails, appetizers, entrees, and tip was $100. We've already recommended it to friends and will be going back soon. If you like classic Italian delivered in the old manner in a neighborhood setting, you should try it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Consistently fantastic authentic Italian ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Consistently fantastic authentic Italian food. We've been coming here for years and have NEVER been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

parking is very bad not enough spaces, s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2016

parking is very bad not enough spaces, street parking hit and miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was great and the restaurant is ver ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great and the restaurant is very family oriented as well as run by a lovely family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great dinner, our server Matt was great ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2016

great dinner, our server Matt was great , and knew when to be at the table to assist with our order

food was great, never a disappointment

will be back for more

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We've been coming here forever! We love ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We've been coming here forever! We love the family and the food. Our favorite place to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

neighborhood gem

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2016

food was flavorful, cooked to perfection. The wait staff was knowledgeable, and helpful.

It was an all around pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vineyard restaurant continues to shine after

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

we come to the vineyard for the veal dishes .. they have incredible veal plain and simple ! we also enjoy the sleeper wines that Maria recommends .. most recently a delicious brunello ... also very much enjoy the shrimp diablo appetizer and the garlic bread ... it's a true family affair here and they do a great job !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

First time and they have set the bar ver ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time and they have set the bar very high. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.