About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: 5183023000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Halibut
Housemade Pork Pate
Duck
Scallops
Cheese Platter
House Salad
Pea Soup
Beef Carpaccio
Yuuum.
Amuse Bouche
Caesar Salad
roasted pear and parsnip soup
Duck Confit With Black Truffle Risotto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New York / Tri-State Area
Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Scenic View
New York / Tri-State Area
6 More
Best Food
Upstate New York
Best Ambiance
Upstate New York
Notable Wine List
Upstate New York
Romantic
Upstate New York
Scenic View
Upstate New York
Special Occasion
Upstate New York
Best Restaurants in Lake Placid ›

scenic view (29)
special occasion (28)
romantic (26)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (3)
good for groups (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
408 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We decided to treat ourselves to the fin ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 6 days ago

We decided to treat ourselves to the finest dining in Lake Placid during a weekend getaway. We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding as was the service and the ambiance. I will definitely be back during our next visit to LP. The View certainly ranks up in my top 3 dining experiences EVER!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening was one where everything wen ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The evening was one where everything went well except for one thing, and of course, that is the one thing that you tend to remember. They ask us if we would wait for a window table and we naturally said yes as the view is not to be missed. Matt, the bartender, was very accommodating. In hardly no time at all we were seated. The wine list is extensive and we settled on a Burce Pinot Noir which took forever and then we were informed after about 20 minutes that they were our of it. We then order a Kenez Pinot and after another 20 minutes they apologized again, but they replaced with another Kenez of an earlier and better vintage. With that over, it was great. Outstanding food. Good service. You should go. You will not be disappointed, unless of course they are out of the wine you want.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service but we found it had a very limited selection of entrees. The menu was exceptionally expensive given L.A. And Manhattan prices we often pay. Would have to re-consider going back. The restaurant was very quiet for a summer /in season night, we can see why!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best meal in Lake Placid! A delightful ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best meal in Lake Placid! A delightful experience - start to finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was such a wonderful venue for my hus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was such a wonderful venue for my husband's special birthday celebration. He loved it; I loved it and everyone was super friendly and made his day. Superb!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I ate here to celebrat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate here to celebrate her birthday. The bottom line is I wouldn't visit here again. The food was good (not great), the view was fine (likely better at their more casual Cottage restaurant), service was mediocre, and the prices were horribly inflated. Even before the wine, the appetizers and entrees cost $110. The portion sizes were only slightly larger than what I've had in multi-course tasting menus. We started with the crab-cake (me) and the romaine salad (her). The crab-cake was well seasoned but no larger than 2 inches across. The romaine hearts salad consisted of olive oil, a subtle Parmesan aioli and half a quail egg. There was nothing special about either of these starters except the price ($16 for the crab-cake, $15 for the romaine hearts). For our entrees, we chose the Alaskan wild salmon ($40 evening special) and the scallops ($37). The salmon was a small (~4-5 oz) filet that was dry and overcooked, although the bok choy was tasty. The scallops were perfectly seared in a bacon and shallot jam that was amazing. The downside was there were only 3 relatively small scallops. We were served an amuse bouche and an intermezzo, both of which were well done. We skipped dessert. The atmosphere is very nice. The staff were friendly, but not the most attentive. We were only served bread once and we poured our own wine all evening. Food presentation was good, although there were some technical flaws. Their wine list was balanced and I give them credit for going well beyond the typical listings of California chardonnays and cabs and having an interesting selection of French, Italian, and South American offerings. I expect to easily pay $250+ for fine dining, but this was definitely not worth the value.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Was not much of a view of the lake, as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Was not much of a view of the lake, as the

Trees have to be trimmed and the music should have a been a pianist.

Also the price was too much for what you got.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

If you love perfectly prepared creative ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

If you love perfectly prepared creative food in the most scenic of locations overlooking the lake and mountains then you will love The View Restaurant at Mirror Lake. The service was on par with the overall experience(attentive and welcoming). This is one restaurant you do not want to miss if you travel to Lake Placid.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful old setting, polished decor, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful old setting, polished decor, and well-prepared food. But then there's the service: the staff tries too hard and spoils the meal. They are trained and polite, the “perfect” and “wonderful” feels robotic after three courses.

Sorry

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a fantastic meal. Over the top servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a fantastic meal. Over the top service as well. The view could not have been better to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luxurious fine dining overlooking the la ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Luxurious fine dining overlooking the lake. The View Restaurant is one of the top fine dining establishments we have ever been too. From the moment you step inside you will be treated like royalty - absolutely excellent service. They sure know how to plate the food & prepared perfectly! Amazing drinks! Oh - try to save room for dessert - absolutely delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the View Restaurant to celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We went to the View Restaurant to celebrate my birthday and it was a wonderful and enjoyable event. The bartender made a special "cocktail" just for me, the food was superb, and the setting was very nice. The pace was a bit slow, but since we weren't in any hurry it didn't bother us. Overall we had a wonderful time and will try it again the next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had the Alaskan halibut - amazing. One o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Had the Alaskan halibut - amazing. One of the best halibut dishes I've ever had. Service is fantastic from start to finish. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant and inn

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great restaurant to kick off the summer season. Some new staff in learning curve but great nevertheless . Great views. Porch room under renovations and was closed during our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at The View. From start to a "surprise " finish our dining experience was nothing less than perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The View Is Great But The Ambiance is Greater

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We were staying at the Inn so we went to their restaurant for dinner. We had been there several years ago and remembered it fondly - it has maintained its ambiance. The service was friendly and very attentive. The menu is small but offers enough variety to cover most diners. The food was excellent, fresh and generally locally sourced and creatively prepared and presented. Watching the lake change from daylight to night provided a great background to a most pleasant dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I couldn't think of a better dining facility to enjoy a Mother's Day brunch. The food is always amazing, the staff couldn't be any friendlier, and were very accommodating for our toddler. With my work schedule I don't get always get special occasions off, so this was great for my family! We can't wait for the next brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant is the best. I give it five stars. Hope to return this summer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place to celebrate

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I ate at The View Restaurant for our first anniversary. We enjoyed all of our courses and the wine we ordered with dinner - everything was well seasoned and delicious. For dessert they brought us out a plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate and gave us a framed photo they took of us as a keepsake. We had an amazing experience and really felt well taken care of. It was a great place to dine for the occasion, and the photo will always be a reminder of the great experience we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice , quiet. Nice for an anniversa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very nice , quiet. Nice for an anniversary. It would be nice if they had a larger menu. Only a few items

To choose from. Not suitable for young children. Awesome service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything about The View is wonderful. Food was prepared nicely. Very good wine list and the service was perfect. Not intrusive but very attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

pricey but well worth it

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The View is very fine dining in a setting that is still something a notch below business casual. We all had jeans on and it was no problem. We had 3 filets, a duck special, and the cod .. Plus a few apps. Everything was outstanding and the temperature on the filets was perfect. I believe our waitress's name was Christine and she was super friendly and patient with our group. Its a tad pricey there, especially for the area, but hey it's worth it still I think. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was excellent, service excellent - you can not beat the view - very quiet - it was a Sunday night - off season. We will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We went with another couple to celebrate birthdays; we were looking for something special and with nice atmosphere. Our friends had been to The View in years past and assured us we would not be disappointed--well, we were certainly not disappointed! Our experience was amazing. The food was exceptional and presented beautifully. The servers were ultra polite and attentive (but not overly so), and the atmosphere was lovely. The meals were on the expensive side, but for our special occasion - and based on the wonderful meals we had - it was worth it. We will return to The View.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great meal at the View. The se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a great meal at the View. The service was excellent as was the food. We had the two specials of the evening duck and salmon both were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Although my filet was a choice cut of beef, it was over seasoned - salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We dine at The View whenever we are in L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We dine at The View whenever we are in Lake Placid and we have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding and the service is prompt, professional and most of all friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

high end dining that felt of a local restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The hostess, wait staff and other employees were very professional. A great wine list and the food was outstanding with several courses. Pricing was moderate to high but well worth the price. We felt a bit crowded as more guests arrived and the noise level increase. A good night out overall.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

This was our best meal in Lake Placcid. We felt that the quality, taste, and combinations on this menu, although limited, were very good. We had a delicious and romantic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Special Occassion

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I came here for my birthday dinner with another couple. The atmosphere was great, quiet and intimate. The food was superb, worth the expensive price tag in my opinion. For dessert, "Happy Birthday" was written on the plate and the waitress offered to take our picture, which she then printed out and provided us with copies. Wonderful food, wonderful service, definitely a memorable dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the money

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I had no problem spending the money to eat at such a nice restaurant, but I won't be going back. The food was good just wasn't worth the money. I will also not recommend this to my friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Birthday Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We had a great time at the View and the food was quite good. Joni made my wife feel very special by decorating her bread pudding and taking a birthday photo. The only criticism I can offer is that they let dishes linger on the table a bit longer before clearing them. We had also come for brunch with our children and they made sure the kids got what they wanted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

An Adirondack Gem

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

I had excellent time . The food was delicious and the server was friendly and extremely helpful . She genuinely seemed to enjoy her job and though the atmosphere is very elegant it was not stuffy in any way . It was a magical night for myself and my love !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wounderful

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

When I need to feel special and be pampered this is where I go. I have never been disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best filet of all time

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

This was hands down the best meal I've ever had. Can't wait to go back next time we visit Lake placid.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Inn with Excellent Food

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

My family of 4 had a superb meal at The View this week. The favorite dinners were the Wagu Steak and Salmon dishes. We also had the Gnocchi and Cod dinners with not a morsel of food left on any plate. The food not only tasted great but was nicely prepared and presented. Our server, Alevie (sorry for the spelling but sounds like Olivey) was wonderful with her explanations, recommendations and great personality. Definitely request her, if at all possible. Due to not being very cold in Lake Placid for December/January, the restauarant wasn't very crowded. The view of Mirror Lake is probably great in the summer but still lovely with snow falling during our dinner. I highly recommend the dining here!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Birthday dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Very nice dinner with family. I even got a birthday picture, so nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

An absolutely wonderful evening celebrat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

An absolutely wonderful evening celebration. Highly recommended and looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and paid attention to details.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Really exceptional that they took a picture and printed it for us on the spot. It was for our German au pair (as it was her birthday) and they wrote happy birthday in German on the picture!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

classic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

classic elegance as may be expected at this landmark and did not disappoint; service polished but friendly. we will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.