About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, and Rated #1 in NYS and Mid Atlantic States by Conde Nast Readers Choice Award, 2016. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Seventeen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: 5183023000x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Halibut - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Housemade Pork Pate - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Duck - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Amuse Bouche - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Caesar Salad - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
roasted pear and parsnip soup - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Duck Confit With Black Truffle Risotto - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
House Salad - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Beef Carpaccio - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Yuuum. - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Scallops - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Cheese Platter - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY
Pea Soup - The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, Lake Placid, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Scenic View
New York / Tri-State Area
Special Occasion
New York / Tri-State Area
7 More
Best Service
Upstate New York
Best Ambiance
Upstate New York
Fit for Foodies
Upstate New York
Romantic
Upstate New York
Scenic View
Upstate New York
Special Occasion
Upstate New York
Contemporary American
Upstate New York
Best Restaurants in Lake Placid ›

Special Occasion (18)
Scenic View (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Waterfront (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fireplace (3)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were awestruck by the Christmas decor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We were awestruck by the Christmas decor throughout the lobby and dining rooms! Service was attentive and professional (and friendly!) Entrees (scallops and halibut) were beautifully presented with wonderfully seasoned vegetables.Impressive wine list with some reasonably priced Italians from the north and south.All in all a perfect dining experience and a good value for the considerable expense.We can't wait to return!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, had crab cakes, po ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, had crab cakes, pork belly for apps.,

Duck breast special w/ side of foie gras , excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal, great service. This is a won ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great meal, great service. This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was beautiful. View was magn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. View was magnificent. Service was excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fabulous. This is an upscale ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Dinner was fabulous. This is an upscale restaurant with no pretensions. Casual attire is okay with collared shirts for men. Service was impeccable. Worth a splurge every now and then. Spectacular view of Mirror Lake.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant restaurant from view to menu - s ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Elegant restaurant from view to menu - service is top shelve

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant located in a beauti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good restaurant located in a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Placid.

Prices are on the higher side but provide value for the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous presentation and even better de ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Gorgeous presentation and even better delivery. This restaurant does not disappoint. Loved everything about this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was truly outstanding. Perfectl ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was truly outstanding. Perfectly cooked. Delicious. Excellent wine list, although South America was not well represented. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing, and didn't try to keep pouring our wine, a pet hate of mine. The meal was punctuated with delicious amuse-bouches and palate cleansers. Coffee was delicous after dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Do not think it is worth the price that ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Do not think it is worth the price that they get for their product. It is fine dining but the cuisine offered is most definitely overpriced. I was not impressed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

One of the most spectacular dinners I've ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the most spectacular dinners I've had in a while. Everything about The View is outstanding. Our server was extraordinarily attentive, the food was delicious, and the view of Mirror Lake was fantastic. We wished we could have eaten there more than once so we could try the various dishes. In particular, the applewood smoked trout was divine. Perfectly prepared and each bite tasted better than the one before. I highly recommend The View!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food cooked to perfection. Appreciate th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food cooked to perfection. Appreciate the commitment to local farms. Menu wasn't the most exciting. Appreciate the clear stance on silencing cell phones.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning ambience, terrific service and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stunning ambience, terrific service and outstanding cuisine. This is likely one of very few fine dining establishments in the Lake Placid region, and is conveniently located to everywhere in the main part of the village. Take time to tour the gardens and grounds. We had three meals there over two days. Buffet breakfast is also outstanding, with the tastiest fresh squeezed orange juice and best French toast ever!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melissa was wonderful as our server- she ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Melissa was wonderful as our server- she was friendly and helpful. We shared the striped bass and rib eye steak specials to get a surf and turf combo and we were not disappointed. The food and the presentation were great. They even threw in some little pastries for us to have with our cappuccino and espresso since we were celebrating a birthday. Would definitely go back someday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant with unique recipes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant with unique recipes. My chicken breast was the best I've ever tasted. The staff went out of its way to mark the occasion, and treated us to a photo, which we really enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mirror Lake Inn restaurant was to commem ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Mirror Lake Inn restaurant was to commemorate my wife's parents honeymooning there some 70 +- yrs ago. Very nice. Not much parking.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food. Creative, perfectly se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Phenomenal food. Creative, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked, and amazing. Quiet, rustic, ambiance. Great view. Wonderful service. Not to stuffy and not too casual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely serene atmosphere. Emily was atte ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Lovely serene atmosphere. Emily was attentive and professional. Very nice experience for the entire family. Food was quite good. Potato leek soup was the best I've tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great,very friendly,high professional st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great,very friendly,high professional staff, exceptionally delicious food,little snacks-surprises between dishes,very good wine. It was worth every penny. Highly recommended this place. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to treat ourselves to the fin ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 18, 2016

We decided to treat ourselves to the finest dining in Lake Placid during a weekend getaway. We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding as was the service and the ambiance. I will definitely be back during our next visit to LP. The View certainly ranks up in my top 3 dining experiences EVER!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The evening was one where everything wen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The evening was one where everything went well except for one thing, and of course, that is the one thing that you tend to remember. They ask us if we would wait for a window table and we naturally said yes as the view is not to be missed. Matt, the bartender, was very accommodating. In hardly no time at all we were seated. The wine list is extensive and we settled on a Burce Pinot Noir which took forever and then we were informed after about 20 minutes that they were our of it. We then order a Kenez Pinot and after another 20 minutes they apologized again, but they replaced with another Kenez of an earlier and better vintage. With that over, it was great. Outstanding food. Good service. You should go. You will not be disappointed, unless of course they are out of the wine you want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service but we found it had a very limited selection of entrees. The menu was exceptionally expensive given L.A. And Manhattan prices we often pay. Would have to re-consider going back. The restaurant was very quiet for a summer /in season night, we can see why!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best meal in Lake Placid! A delightful ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best meal in Lake Placid! A delightful experience - start to finish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was such a wonderful venue for my hus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

It was such a wonderful venue for my husband's special birthday celebration. He loved it; I loved it and everyone was super friendly and made his day. Superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My girlfriend and I ate here to celebrat ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 4, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate here to celebrate her birthday. The bottom line is I wouldn't visit here again. The food was good (not great), the view was fine (likely better at their more casual Cottage restaurant), service was mediocre, and the prices were horribly inflated. Even before the wine, the appetizers and entrees cost $110. The portion sizes were only slightly larger than what I've had in multi-course tasting menus. We started with the crab-cake (me) and the romaine salad (her). The crab-cake was well seasoned but no larger than 2 inches across. The romaine hearts salad consisted of olive oil, a subtle Parmesan aioli and half a quail egg. There was nothing special about either of these starters except the price ($16 for the crab-cake, $15 for the romaine hearts). For our entrees, we chose the Alaskan wild salmon ($40 evening special) and the scallops ($37). The salmon was a small (~4-5 oz) filet that was dry and overcooked, although the bok choy was tasty. The scallops were perfectly seared in a bacon and shallot jam that was amazing. The downside was there were only 3 relatively small scallops. We were served an amuse bouche and an intermezzo, both of which were well done. We skipped dessert. The atmosphere is very nice. The staff were friendly, but not the most attentive. We were only served bread once and we poured our own wine all evening. Food presentation was good, although there were some technical flaws. Their wine list was balanced and I give them credit for going well beyond the typical listings of California chardonnays and cabs and having an interesting selection of French, Italian, and South American offerings. I expect to easily pay $250+ for fine dining, but this was definitely not worth the value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Was not much of a view of the lake, as ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Was not much of a view of the lake, as the

Trees have to be trimmed and the music should have a been a pianist.

Also the price was too much for what you got.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

If you love perfectly prepared creative ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2016

If you love perfectly prepared creative food in the most scenic of locations overlooking the lake and mountains then you will love The View Restaurant at Mirror Lake. The service was on par with the overall experience(attentive and welcoming). This is one restaurant you do not want to miss if you travel to Lake Placid.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful old setting, polished decor, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful old setting, polished decor, and well-prepared food. But then there's the service: the staff tries too hard and spoils the meal. They are trained and polite, the “perfect” and “wonderful” feels robotic after three courses.

Sorry

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a fantastic meal. Over the top servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Had a fantastic meal. Over the top service as well. The view could not have been better to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luxurious fine dining overlooking the la ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Luxurious fine dining overlooking the lake. The View Restaurant is one of the top fine dining establishments we have ever been too. From the moment you step inside you will be treated like royalty - absolutely excellent service. They sure know how to plate the food & prepared perfectly! Amazing drinks! Oh - try to save room for dessert - absolutely delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the View Restaurant to celebr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2016

We went to the View Restaurant to celebrate my birthday and it was a wonderful and enjoyable event. The bartender made a special "cocktail" just for me, the food was superb, and the setting was very nice. The pace was a bit slow, but since we weren't in any hurry it didn't bother us. Overall we had a wonderful time and will try it again the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Had the Alaskan halibut - amazing. One o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Had the Alaskan halibut - amazing. One of the best halibut dishes I've ever had. Service is fantastic from start to finish. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant and inn

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great restaurant to kick off the summer season. Some new staff in learning curve but great nevertheless . Great views. Porch room under renovations and was closed during our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at The View. From start to a "surprise " finish our dining experience was nothing less than perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The View Is Great But The Ambiance is Greater

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2016

We were staying at the Inn so we went to their restaurant for dinner. We had been there several years ago and remembered it fondly - it has maintained its ambiance. The service was friendly and very attentive. The menu is small but offers enough variety to cover most diners. The food was excellent, fresh and generally locally sourced and creatively prepared and presented. Watching the lake change from daylight to night provided a great background to a most pleasant dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I couldn't think of a better dining facility to enjoy a Mother's Day brunch. The food is always amazing, the staff couldn't be any friendlier, and were very accommodating for our toddler. With my work schedule I don't get always get special occasions off, so this was great for my family! We can't wait for the next brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant is the best. I give it five stars. Hope to return this summer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place to celebrate

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I ate at The View Restaurant for our first anniversary. We enjoyed all of our courses and the wine we ordered with dinner - everything was well seasoned and delicious. For dessert they brought us out a plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate and gave us a framed photo they took of us as a keepsake. We had an amazing experience and really felt well taken care of. It was a great place to dine for the occasion, and the photo will always be a reminder of the great experience we had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice , quiet. Nice for an anniversa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Very nice , quiet. Nice for an anniversary. It would be nice if they had a larger menu. Only a few items

To choose from. Not suitable for young children. Awesome service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything about The View is wonderful. Food was prepared nicely. Very good wine list and the service was perfect. Not intrusive but very attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.