Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, and Rated #1 in NYS and Mid Atlantic States by Conde Nast Readers Choice Award, 2016. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Seventeen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: (518) 302-3000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Scenic View (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Waterfront (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Fireplace (9)
Historic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall Delicious-the appetizer, the foie gras was nicely complemented by the strawberries with rhubarb. The ceaser salad was wonderful. The salmon was good. The service was superb. Highly recommend the View - as the view was beautiful as well.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

This was the second time that my wife and I held our anniversary celebration at the View and we were more than satisfied. The food was excellent and the chef went out of his way to make our evening one we will long remember. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our waitress was excellent. She did not hover but was attentive to our needs. We just can't say enough about how well treated we were. Thanks to everyone at The View.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food at a great location. Piano music in the background and a great view of Mirror Lake. Somewhat pricey but exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at The View and it could not have been a more perfect evening. Service was impeccable and each course of our meal was wonderful. There was honestly not a thing I would change. When our desert came out they spelled out "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate. A wonderful way to end our night. We could not have left more satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Both me and my girlfriend had incredible Mothers Day Brunch today the food was absolutely delicious and the service impeccable . Our table overlooked Mirror Lake and the scenery was breathtaking . We will be returning again . Best restaurant in the area by far .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Fireplace, Cozy, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service and attention to detail were outstanding. The food was very creative and delicious. My salmon was PERFECTLY prepared, which is hard to find. My wife had the pork tenderloin - again, very well prepared. You know great care was taken for the whole dining experience. The prices were what we expected to pay and we will continue to support The View.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We came for the view & were disappointed in the food.
The view was nice as is the vast restaurant.
2of the 4 appetizers were ok. Foie gras mousse WAY over salted & the romain heart salad had way to mush lemon rather that caesar dressing. The onion soup on the other hand was one of the best along with the apple & rutabaga soup.
The chicken with truffle & foie gras stuffing was just a roasted chicken, NO foie gras & the mildest of any truffle taste. The prime beef fillet, which was a very small filet mignon was ok with a nice medley of veggies. The roasted duck breast was very good but the gnocchi did not wow any of us.
Overall a pleasant expensive experience with LOTS of room for
improvement !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Une très belle soirée. Un service très attentionné, très bons plats, une vue superbe sur le lac Mirror. Les prix pour une telle qualité demeurent raisonnables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our food was excellent. We both loved it. One of the best meals I've had. Service was excellent, & we got some wonderful tastings from the chef! It was a bit pricey, though. I might save it more for special occasions in the future. My husband said he was hungry by bedtime, but I loved it! Thanks so much!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary . Everything was wonderful from the staff to the food and ambiance as well as the special touch for our dessert. We had a very enjoyable romantic evening. We would recommend The View to anyone planning a trip to the Lake Placid area.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful experience and fabulous evening meal at The View at Mirror Lake Inn. Great location! Service was fantastic, and the waitstaff and sommelier were attentive and made excellent recommendations. The food was presented in a lovely manner and was delicious. I will definitely return on our next trip to Lake Placid.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service. The pork belly appetizer is just fabulous. Clearly one of the top restaurants in Lake Placid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Staying in Lake Placid for a few days, not knowing that we would get 40"of snow on our second day and have to stay put (ever so beautiful) for a couple of days, so it was LOVELY to finally get out and about to The View;such a treat! A good selection and preparation of some special dishes; a superb wine list ( a REALLY nice selection of some half bottles) and service of the highest quality; looking forward to returning to Lake Placid AND The View .....sooner than later!!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our first time to the View. Wonderful setting, great menu and terrific service. A little pricey but that's what we expected. A delightful evening in every sense. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Amazing! Everything was perfect. From appetizer to dessert and in between impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience. Everyone was so nice. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. It was my birthday and they took a picture of my group that they printed in a cardboard frame. Nicely done!

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A diamond in Lake Placid! We were there recently to celebrate my husband's birthday and the experience was sublime. The Bar is a lively, cozy and fun place to hang out, make new friends and hear great live music. The dining room is adjacent and very nicely appointed (great view and also a fireplace!) Service and food were EXCELLENT! Would certainly recommend to others and hope to dine here again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My husband and I loved this restaurant. Great food, good service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was my 70th birthday and my daughter treated me to an overnight. The massage was a surprise and so well worth the money. The ambiance was terrific, along with the view. The room was cozy and roomy. The location is perfect for all seasons and lots to entertain families. I will definitely be back..

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to Mirror Lake for Valentine's Day and was blown away! The meal, service, and atmosphere were exceptional! There is no doubt we will return! Highly recommend this restaurant for upscale dining and special occasions!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the best meals I've had! Lamb was tender and the flavors were incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unbelievable dining experience! I had a filet you could cut with a spooo . The food was divine. The service was too notch. I wish I lived closer so that we could eat there once a month. Absolutely divine!

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I would highly recommend The View to anyone visiting the Lake Placid area. My husband and I could not have enjoyed our evening more. Everything was absolutely perfect from beginning to end...the food, the service, the cocktails, the ambiance, etc. We enjoy fine dining frequently and both agreed that we can't recall ever having such a wonderful experience. It was the perfect way to end our vacation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Upon our arrival my wife and I were greeted very warmly by the staff,they had taken note of our special request ( our honeymoon ). Sarah our waitress was exceptional, knowledgeable and very courteous. We were given IMHO the best seat in the house and the food certainly did not disappoint. All in all a great first time experience, we will certainly return to The View in the near future. We would recommend this restaurant experience as one of the highlights of our trip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. My fianceé took me her as a celebration for my birthday. We shared the foie gras appetizer, wonderful. She had the Duck special and I had the Fish special. Both were amazing. For dessert , Pumpkin Cheesecake and Espresso. Of course a good bottle of wine with dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We both raved about our dinners at the View. Megan, our server, was the only server we have ever had who greeted us by our names! It made us feel at home. The surprise courses were most enjoyable. My husband's duck and my scallops were delicious. The Chai creme brûlée was lovely. Kudos to the chef and everyone we met at the Inn. Also the grounds with the lights were beautiful.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant was very cozy and quite. The service was outstanding and the food was really delish! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting lake placid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service, but not worth the price. We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for my fiancee's 30th birthday and upon arrival there had been a chimney fire in the left lobby. This set the tone for the rest of our stay at the Inn, as the fire was barely addressed upon check-in and we were not proactively accommodated after checking in. This impacted our time at the restaurants, as the back doors to the restaurant were open throughout the entire dining experience, with guests of all ages passing through the middle of the restaurant consistently. All in all, The View and the Mirror Lake Inn did not meet the expectations we had of a four diamond hotel/restaurant, especially after numerous recommendations from trusted, long-time friends/patrons on the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, cocktails and service. One of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were staying in Lake Placid over a holiday break between Christmas and New Year's for a 4-day ski vacation. On our last night we ate at The View - as a special pre-New Year's celebration. The restaurant is elegant, the staff incredibly courteous and professional, and the view is exquisite. The food was excellent (the filet mignon med/rare melted in your mouth), and the wine list was decent. But it's rather pricey for the fare. We had a reservation for 8:30 and I called to see about changing to an earlier time. Not only was the hostess very accommodating, but we got a table overlooking the lake. If you're looking for ambiance and and elegant dining, here's the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went here as a special treat while staying in lake placid. It was worth it! The special little surprises through out the course great. Was very much fine dining without the stabbing cost of fine dinning. Don't get me wrong, it is not an cheap meal, but the food was of the highest quality and the service made it that much more enjoyable. We went for an early dinner (6 pm) and were one of very few dinners at the time, however closer to 7 the dining room filled up. While technically not water front, it does offer some great views of mirror lake from its large windows. Highly recommend trying this restaurant if you are in the mood for an it if pampering and looking for wonderfully platted and tasting dishes. I also can't say enough of the staff who made sure our dining experience was one to remember. One more fun thing, they had a pianist playing through out the dinner. Very relaxing and elegant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very limited menu, food was good but we expected better based on reviews. Beautiful dinning room in Mirror lake Inn.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Way overpriced my husband was starving when we returned to the hotel!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Beautiful dining room, great view, and superb service. The View is top notch and always a special treat. Especially lovely at Christmas time!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It's is easily the best meal we had while in Lake Placid on a vacation weekend, up from Manhattan. The combination of open lakeside view, excellent food, and attentive staff made for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have stayed at the Mirror Lake inn numerous times and always look forward to a return. We love the view restaurant - everything about the place: the ambiance (fire place), service, food, decor, noise level (quiet), large windows that allow such a pretty view no matter the time of year, and the overall feeling we have when we dine there is just incredible and I pray that for years to come we are lucky enough to continue and visit the area, and the fabulous Mirror lake inn and it's view restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were awestruck by the Christmas decor throughout the lobby and dining rooms! Service was attentive and professional (and friendly!) Entrees (scallops and halibut) were beautifully presented with wonderfully seasoned vegetables.Impressive wine list with some reasonably priced Italians from the north and south.All in all a perfect dining experience and a good value for the considerable expense.We can't wait to return!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, had crab cakes, pork belly for apps.,
Duck breast special w/ side of foie gras , excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great meal, great service. This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. View was magnificent. Service was excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.