Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, and Rated #1 in NYS and Mid Atlantic States by Conde Nast Readers Choice Award, 2016. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Seventeen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: (518) 302-3000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (16)
Waterfront (16)
Romantic (15)
See All
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for a Date (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Historic (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Always a pleasure to dine here during our stay at Mirror Lake Inn! Food is wonderful and our server Siena was lovely!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 7 days ago

In memory of our parents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We had dinner at The View to celebrate our recent marriage days ago. The View exceeded all of our expectations! The food was simply amazing and the setting was beautiful. The service was top notch and the staff really did go the extra mile to make our experience special. We will certainly be coming back next year!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A lovely dining experience for our honeymoon. We had a beautiful meal served by outstanding servers Sienna and Nikola and Bojan. Thank you for making our final meal of the week so wonderful!!
Kevin & Yvonne

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The perfect place for your special occasion. They go above and beyond expectations with all of extra special touches. Oh, and the food was excellent too. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Five star service, five star menu, known for great cuisine and wine list. Perfect antidote for buggy mountain walks and run ins with indigenous people.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Lamb cheeks were exceptional and service was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The View was simply amazing! It was one of the top five meals that I have ever had and I have traveled quite a bit - very impressive restaurant! They got it all right.....beautiful setting, excellent service and fresh, local, creative cuisine (and they could accommodate gluten free needs). The lamb entree was honestly the best lamb dish I have ever had and I order it frequently. It is an expensive meal but I think of it like a night a entertainment......well worth it!

Tags: Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were kind of expecting a plush but culinarily overrated experience. So wrong. The food was really very good and the service excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A beautiful place with Great food and presentation. Overly accommodating service that was attentive and well paced. If you have an opportunity to visit and dine. Don't mss it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is a high-end restaurant with a mature clientele and superb service. You will spend a fortune and it will be worth it. Indulge yourself and enjoy the moment...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great menu. Super Waite staff. Amazing wine list. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This is a lovely restaurant with an incredible view; we were there for sunset, and the change of light was so relaxing. The service is impeccable, and the food was excellent - with the exception of one of our desserts, strawberries with ice cream, whipped cream, olive oil cake, and balsamic. The vinegar was over powering; perhaps if they used chocolate balsamic it would work. Otherwise, my steak was a perfectly cooked piece of prime meat, and the vegetable medley was probably the best I've ever had in a restaurant .My friend had a marvelous crab cake - very little filler and large pieces of crab . The seating areas are well-spaced creating a feeling of privacy. Overall, we rated it on par with Wheatly (in Lenox,MA) and the former L'Espinasse at the St. Regis (NYC). That is to say that this restaurant is well-worth the trip. Not only are you served an amuse bouche, you will also receive a palette cleanser, homemade passion fruit sorbet. They still have REAL candles on the table - very romantic ambiance and setting overlooking Mirror Lake.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The server was exceptional, very pleasant and very engaging with patrons in the room

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Had a beautiful experience on our honeymoon. Ben the waiter was fantastic, the food was delectable and not as pricey as we thought. And the view by the windows was exemplary. We loved it so much we even stayed at the bar afterwards for a nightcap.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the greatest dining experiences I've ever had.. Period

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

While the food was amazing, the service was lacking this time around!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on May 26, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful. The view is priceless. But the most important feature of this place is the service. You will not lack anything. Our waitress Mariah and all the other serves pay close attention to detail... you never lack a full glass of water and they constantly check on you to see if you need anything else. The food is delicious. The menu has a good variety. The appetizer crab cake and the fried calamari was really good. The salad choice we had was very tasty. The duck special was really good and so was the lamb that my daughter ordered. The wine list is awesome and so are the cocktail menu. Highly recommend when visiting Lake Placid.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Overall Delicious-the appetizer, the foie gras was nicely complemented by the strawberries with rhubarb. The ceaser salad was wonderful. The salmon was good. The service was superb. Highly recommend the View - as the view was beautiful as well.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This was the second time that my wife and I held our anniversary celebration at the View and we were more than satisfied. The food was excellent and the chef went out of his way to make our evening one we will long remember. All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our waitress was excellent. She did not hover but was attentive to our needs. We just can't say enough about how well treated we were. Thanks to everyone at The View.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food at a great location. Piano music in the background and a great view of Mirror Lake. Somewhat pricey but exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at The View and it could not have been a more perfect evening. Service was impeccable and each course of our meal was wonderful. There was honestly not a thing I would change. When our desert came out they spelled out "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate. A wonderful way to end our night. We could not have left more satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Both me and my girlfriend had incredible Mothers Day Brunch today the food was absolutely delicious and the service impeccable . Our table overlooked Mirror Lake and the scenery was breathtaking . We will be returning again . Best restaurant in the area by far .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service and attention to detail were outstanding. The food was very creative and delicious. My salmon was PERFECTLY prepared, which is hard to find. My wife had the pork tenderloin - again, very well prepared. You know great care was taken for the whole dining experience. The prices were what we expected to pay and we will continue to support The View.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We came for the view & were disappointed in the food.
The view was nice as is the vast restaurant.
2of the 4 appetizers were ok. Foie gras mousse WAY over salted & the romain heart salad had way to mush lemon rather that caesar dressing. The onion soup on the other hand was one of the best along with the apple & rutabaga soup.
The chicken with truffle & foie gras stuffing was just a roasted chicken, NO foie gras & the mildest of any truffle taste. The prime beef fillet, which was a very small filet mignon was ok with a nice medley of veggies. The roasted duck breast was very good but the gnocchi did not wow any of us.
Overall a pleasant expensive experience with LOTS of room for
improvement !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Une très belle soirée. Un service très attentionné, très bons plats, une vue superbe sur le lac Mirror. Les prix pour une telle qualité demeurent raisonnables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our food was excellent. We both loved it. One of the best meals I've had. Service was excellent, & we got some wonderful tastings from the chef! It was a bit pricey, though. I might save it more for special occasions in the future. My husband said he was hungry by bedtime, but I loved it! Thanks so much!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary . Everything was wonderful from the staff to the food and ambiance as well as the special touch for our dessert. We had a very enjoyable romantic evening. We would recommend The View to anyone planning a trip to the Lake Placid area.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful experience and fabulous evening meal at The View at Mirror Lake Inn. Great location! Service was fantastic, and the waitstaff and sommelier were attentive and made excellent recommendations. The food was presented in a lovely manner and was delicious. I will definitely return on our next trip to Lake Placid.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service. The pork belly appetizer is just fabulous. Clearly one of the top restaurants in Lake Placid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Staying in Lake Placid for a few days, not knowing that we would get 40"of snow on our second day and have to stay put (ever so beautiful) for a couple of days, so it was LOVELY to finally get out and about to The View;such a treat! A good selection and preparation of some special dishes; a superb wine list ( a REALLY nice selection of some half bottles) and service of the highest quality; looking forward to returning to Lake Placid AND The View .....sooner than later!!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our first time to the View. Wonderful setting, great menu and terrific service. A little pricey but that's what we expected. A delightful evening in every sense. Highly recommended!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing! Everything was perfect. From appetizer to dessert and in between impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A diamond in Lake Placid! We were there recently to celebrate my husband's birthday and the experience was sublime. The Bar is a lively, cozy and fun place to hang out, make new friends and hear great live music. The dining room is adjacent and very nicely appointed (great view and also a fireplace!) Service and food were EXCELLENT! Would certainly recommend to others and hope to dine here again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great experience. Everyone was so nice. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. It was my birthday and they took a picture of my group that they printed in a cardboard frame. Nicely done!

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My husband and I loved this restaurant. Great food, good service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was my 70th birthday and my daughter treated me to an overnight. The massage was a surprise and so well worth the money. The ambiance was terrific, along with the view. The room was cozy and roomy. The location is perfect for all seasons and lots to entertain families. I will definitely be back..

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went to Mirror Lake for Valentine's Day and was blown away! The meal, service, and atmosphere were exceptional! There is no doubt we will return! Highly recommend this restaurant for upscale dining and special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best meals I've had! Lamb was tender and the flavors were incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unbelievable dining experience! I had a filet you could cut with a spooo . The food was divine. The service was too notch. I wish I lived closer so that we could eat there once a month. Absolutely divine!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.