Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

4.8
554 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, and Rated #1 in NYS and Mid Atlantic States by Conde Nast Readers Choice Award, 2017. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Eighteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm - 8:00pm Friday/Saturday: 5:30-9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(518) 302-3000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jarrad Lang
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Interlaken Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 554 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Fabulous meal but would expect nothing less from a fine dining restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Un repas succulent, une ambiance chaleureuse, une vue magnifique. Trois ingrédients qui ont fait de notre soirée un succès sur toute la ligne.

Il faut bien entendu s’attendre à débourser quelques dollars...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We came to celebrate Mother’s Day. We had a delicious dinner, which was beautifully executed. The live piano performance was a lovely touch. The intermezzos and complementary homemade truffles and mints were special surprises. Our waitress Mariah was very professional and kind. We will definitely come back during the winter time. Thank you for a memorable first visit! :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We had a lovely dining experience at the View. The food was delicious, the ambiance was wonderful and our server (Celine) was charming. We enjoyed everything about our meal here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very impressed with attentive and friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

We had a beautiful evening at The View! We did the four course tasting menu with wine pairings and everything was perfect. It is an incredible experience to dine here and we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The maître d' Zachary was very pleasant and though we were early he checked to see if our table was ready and then showed us to our table. Our waitress Mariah was amazing and helped both my husband and I on our selection. The smoked trout was quite pleasing and just enough for us to share as a 1st course. I chose the foie gras which was delicate and melted in the mouth. The Halibut was the best I’ve ever had. My husband chose the scallop as his 2nd and with Mariah’s suggestion he had the lamb cheeks and was not disappointed. Thank you for such a wonderful experience and we will dine here again upon our return to Lake Placid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

If your looking for a memorable meal with your significant other or another couple, The View is worth every penny! The food quality, the service and the atmosphere offer all you could ask for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Booked for birthday dinner. Service was attentive, food amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Good food but very pricey

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We always enjoy dining at The View. The food is exceptional, full of flavor and cooked perfectly. The wait staff is friendly and helpful and not at all over bearing. Definitely the perfect place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Despite the “no cell phones” policy, and the fact that we were there at 8 pm, a woman at one of the only 2 other tables in the restaurant had a FaceTime chat during her dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

They have a very noisy pump that probably pumps waste water into a neighboring drain and we were seated at a table near it. That, combined with the Eastern European music detracted significantly from the experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

My husband and I are frequent business travelers but rarely ever travel together. We had the opportunity to spend a night away together and ventured to Lake Placid on a snowy late winter evening. The View was highly recommend by trusted friends and family so, we choose this venue for our night out.
The night started with a couple of classic whiskey cocktails that the bartender made flawlessly. We enjoyed them in the study overlooking Mirror Lake.
The host found us in the study and escorted us to our table at our reservation time, and was amazingly friendly and kind. Our waitress was training a new employee and they both were knowledgeable, accommodating to special requests and extremely sweet. The sommelier perfectly paired wines with all four courses of our meal and even got us to enjoy new wines that we would not have traditionally gravitated towards. The night was finished with a gluttonous array of deserts and a photo to commemorate the occasion. Everything was flawless from start to finish!
Our favorite courses of the night were the smoked trout with trout caviar and the lamb cheeks (the chef was very accommodating to my request to swap fingerling potatoes in place of the saffron couscous served with the cheeks on the menu)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We took our children here to celebrate my husband's birthday. The atmosphere was nice, but a little stuffy for the mountain/lake surroundings. The waiter was very nice, however overall service was terrible. It took an hour to get our first course once seated. Fortunately we were not in a hurry, but we got one apology from the waiter and then he never mentioned again anything about such a long wait between courses. There was as much as 30 minutes between courses which really broke the rhythm of the wine pairings and food experience. The food was very good, but did not stand out in any special way from other fine dining restaurants. The sommelier did a very nice job choosing wines for each course. Added touches for a special occasion included a group photo which is printed and given to you and a chocolate "happy birthday" on your dessert plate - both nice touches. Just wish the dinner didn't take 3 1/2 hours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

From start to finish, the experience was wonderful! We are frequent guests at The View and each time they go above and beyond expectation. The staff are highly professional, the menu and wine selection outstanding, and the service cannot be surpassed. The best dining experience in Lake Placid, by far.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Beautiful setting, exquisitely prepared meal, and attentive servers. A special treat for us during our first trip to Lake Placid. Our seating overlooked a light snowfall illuminated by the pretty lights on the trees outside on a wintry evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

It was a great experience overall. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. We were there for a honeymoon dinner and they made us feel extra special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Service and staff was amazing!! Savannah and Eli ❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The food and the view at this restaurant are the best in the area. If you have one special night to spend eating elegant food while visiting Lake Placid, this should be the place. The view is as exceptional as the dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Wine pairing was fantastic and more than what I expected
Great service from Restaurant manager and his knowledge of wine to the region and the overall pairing to the food
Thoroughly recommend this

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We had a great experience and it was our wedding anniversary and The View made it a special occasion for us The service was excellent as well as the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

While in lake placid to celebrate my birthday we are at the view. The meal was delicious, the staff was friendly and very attentive to our needs. Looking forward to our next visit. Donna

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

lovely pot and very fine food with a casual upstate feeling

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Went for a girls night out to celebrate our birthdays ... everything was phenomenal!! From the holiday decorations, the fresh snow, the general decor, the service, the food....our server Katie was so attentive, helpful and lovely to converse with. The food was to die for. Everything tasted amazing and was cooked to perfection! We ended with three desserts to share, all decorated with Happy Birthday messages and we were each given a souvenir picture of the three of us in a little frame to take home. Would definitely go back to this restaurant. We also sat at the bar at Taste Bistro before dinner and the service there was excellent as well. Definitely recommend both places.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 27, 2017

This restaurant had an amazing view and great service but the food was not worth the value. I had the Vegetable Gnocchi which was pesto gnocchi served with steamed vegetables. I was very disappointed at the main entree options and expected more for the price of each dish.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Kind of stuffy and old fashioned. Menu a bit boring. Service and wine outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

What a treat! 4 diamond service and lovely atmosphere makes this restaurant a standout. The food was exquisite and we can't wait to enjoy it again when we are in Lake Placid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Best Salmon dish I’ve ever had. Exceptional service and ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Astonishingly pleased, the food was excellent - Thank You for helping us celebrate our engagement!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We have been there annually for several years..usually food is very good..was disappointed with choices and found it was quite pricey for quality and quantity..ordered a cappuccino that was warm coffee with milk
The bistro was very good as always..we will return to Mirror Lake Inn hopefully next year..looking forward to a different dining experience at The View

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2017

Lovely spot for a special occasion. Great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Service was exceptional, and the appetizers and dessert were also fantastic. We weren't really blown away with our entrees. They were not bad but weren't anything special. We had eaten at Interlaken Inn the night before and thought the food there was AMAZING! SO pretty much were a little disappointed when the food at the highly rated view restaurant wasn't as good as our dinner the night before!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Incredible view and food. Limited menu and $90-$100 per person is standard. But the food is great and presentation neat. Wait staff want you to enjoy and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Couldn’t eat here every week but for special trips nothing is finer in Lake Placid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

An absolute exceptional dining experience. From a beautiful inn overlooking a lake with exceptional service to food that was done with excellence, this restaurant is truly a gem. Every item that was ordered was perfectly prepared. The service was perfect and my wife and I can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 17, 2017

Extraordinary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 12, 2017

The View is, no holds barred, one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. We were warmly received, introduced to our wait staff, having been lead to our table. The dining area is enchanting with beautiful, crisp, clean settings throughout and wonderful views of the surrounding mountains and Mirror Lake. Our waiter was informative, upbeat and attentive but never intrusive. Our sommelier, Justin, did more than just purvey some great choices to match our courses, but was an informative and enjoyable guide throughout our dinner. The menu is broken down into three courses, not including desert and there was a very good variety in each, some of which highlighted local fare, and were so denoted. Many items , such as Romaine Hearts (Caesar Salad) and Maine Lobster (half lobster tail with side of knuckle meat salad) that were lovely re-imaginings of classic riffs, taken to new levels. Everything was luxurious but nothing was heavy. Some of the entrees, such as the lamb cheeks, were new to me and beautifully balanced in terms of the saucing and sides. All in all a truly wonderful experience that we cannot recommend highly enough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Five plus stars. From the service to the food to the ambiance.., a must when in the Placid area.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Not what we expected. Our prior meal there was delicious. Tonight's was only fair.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn