Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.29mi
  4. Distance: 0.32mi

About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, and Rated #1 in NYS and Mid Atlantic States by Conde Nast Readers Choice Award, 2016. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Seventeen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: (518) 302-3000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Enjoy our Easter Brunch Buffet, serving 11:30-2:00. Adult Bloody Mary Bar, Children build their own Easter baskets, live piano music. Buffet offerings include House Cured Harmony Hills Ham, Traditional Eggs Benedict, freshly carved Roasted Prime Rib, Omlette and waffle station and much more.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (19)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fireplace (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Waterfront (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Historic (9)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Organic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tapas (1)
Fun (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful experience and fabulous evening meal at The View at Mirror Lake Inn. Great location! Service was fantastic, and the waitstaff and sommelier were attentive and made excellent recommendations. The food was presented in a lovely manner and was delicious. I will definitely return on our next trip to Lake Placid.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful food, atmosphere, and service. The pork belly appetizer is just fabulous. Clearly one of the top restaurants in Lake Placid.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Staying in Lake Placid for a few days, not knowing that we would get 40"of snow on our second day and have to stay put (ever so beautiful) for a couple of days, so it was LOVELY to finally get out and about to The View;such a treat! A good selection and preparation of some special dishes; a superb wine list ( a REALLY nice selection of some half bottles) and service of the highest quality; looking forward to returning to Lake Placid AND The View .....sooner than later!!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our first time to the View. Wonderful setting, great menu and terrific service. A little pricey but that's what we expected. A delightful evening in every sense. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Amazing! Everything was perfect. From appetizer to dessert and in between impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great experience. Everyone was so nice. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly. It was my birthday and they took a picture of my group that they printed in a cardboard frame. Nicely done!

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My husband and I loved this restaurant. Great food, good service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 27, 2017

It was my 70th birthday and my daughter treated me to an overnight. The massage was a surprise and so well worth the money. The ambiance was terrific, along with the view. The room was cozy and roomy. The location is perfect for all seasons and lots to entertain families. I will definitely be back..

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went to Mirror Lake for Valentine's Day and was blown away! The meal, service, and atmosphere were exceptional! There is no doubt we will return! Highly recommend this restaurant for upscale dining and special occasions!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the best meals I've had! Lamb was tender and the flavors were incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unbelievable dining experience! I had a filet you could cut with a spooo . The food was divine. The service was too notch. I wish I lived closer so that we could eat there once a month. Absolutely divine!

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I would highly recommend The View to anyone visiting the Lake Placid area. My husband and I could not have enjoyed our evening more. Everything was absolutely perfect from beginning to end...the food, the service, the cocktails, the ambiance, etc. We enjoy fine dining frequently and both agreed that we can't recall ever having such a wonderful experience. It was the perfect way to end our vacation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Upon our arrival my wife and I were greeted very warmly by the staff,they had taken note of our special request ( our honeymoon ). Sarah our waitress was exceptional, knowledgeable and very courteous. We were given IMHO the best seat in the house and the food certainly did not disappoint. All in all a great first time experience, we will certainly return to The View in the near future. We would recommend this restaurant experience as one of the highlights of our trip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. My fianceé took me her as a celebration for my birthday. We shared the foie gras appetizer, wonderful. She had the Duck special and I had the Fish special. Both were amazing. For dessert , Pumpkin Cheesecake and Espresso. Of course a good bottle of wine with dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We both raved about our dinners at the View. Megan, our server, was the only server we have ever had who greeted us by our names! It made us feel at home. The surprise courses were most enjoyable. My husband's duck and my scallops were delicious. The Chai creme brûlée was lovely. Kudos to the chef and everyone we met at the Inn. Also the grounds with the lights were beautiful.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant was very cozy and quite. The service was outstanding and the food was really delish! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting lake placid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service, but not worth the price. We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for my fiancee's 30th birthday and upon arrival there had been a chimney fire in the left lobby. This set the tone for the rest of our stay at the Inn, as the fire was barely addressed upon check-in and we were not proactively accommodated after checking in. This impacted our time at the restaurants, as the back doors to the restaurant were open throughout the entire dining experience, with guests of all ages passing through the middle of the restaurant consistently. All in all, The View and the Mirror Lake Inn did not meet the expectations we had of a four diamond hotel/restaurant, especially after numerous recommendations from trusted, long-time friends/patrons on the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, cocktails and service. One of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were staying in Lake Placid over a holiday break between Christmas and New Year's for a 4-day ski vacation. On our last night we ate at The View - as a special pre-New Year's celebration. The restaurant is elegant, the staff incredibly courteous and professional, and the view is exquisite. The food was excellent (the filet mignon med/rare melted in your mouth), and the wine list was decent. But it's rather pricey for the fare. We had a reservation for 8:30 and I called to see about changing to an earlier time. Not only was the hostess very accommodating, but we got a table overlooking the lake. If you're looking for ambiance and and elegant dining, here's the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went here as a special treat while staying in lake placid. It was worth it! The special little surprises through out the course great. Was very much fine dining without the stabbing cost of fine dinning. Don't get me wrong, it is not an cheap meal, but the food was of the highest quality and the service made it that much more enjoyable. We went for an early dinner (6 pm) and were one of very few dinners at the time, however closer to 7 the dining room filled up. While technically not water front, it does offer some great views of mirror lake from its large windows. Highly recommend trying this restaurant if you are in the mood for an it if pampering and looking for wonderfully platted and tasting dishes. I also can't say enough of the staff who made sure our dining experience was one to remember. One more fun thing, they had a pianist playing through out the dinner. Very relaxing and elegant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very limited menu, food was good but we expected better based on reviews. Beautiful dinning room in Mirror lake Inn.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Way overpriced my husband was starving when we returned to the hotel!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Beautiful dining room, great view, and superb service. The View is top notch and always a special treat. Especially lovely at Christmas time!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It's is easily the best meal we had while in Lake Placid on a vacation weekend, up from Manhattan. The combination of open lakeside view, excellent food, and attentive staff made for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have stayed at the Mirror Lake inn numerous times and always look forward to a return. We love the view restaurant - everything about the place: the ambiance (fire place), service, food, decor, noise level (quiet), large windows that allow such a pretty view no matter the time of year, and the overall feeling we have when we dine there is just incredible and I pray that for years to come we are lucky enough to continue and visit the area, and the fabulous Mirror lake inn and it's view restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were awestruck by the Christmas decor throughout the lobby and dining rooms! Service was attentive and professional (and friendly!) Entrees (scallops and halibut) were beautifully presented with wonderfully seasoned vegetables.Impressive wine list with some reasonably priced Italians from the north and south.All in all a perfect dining experience and a good value for the considerable expense.We can't wait to return!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, had crab cakes, pork belly for apps.,
Duck breast special w/ side of foie gras , excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great meal, great service. This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. View was magnificent. Service was excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Dinner was fabulous. This is an upscale restaurant with no pretensions. Casual attire is okay with collared shirts for men. Service was impeccable. Worth a splurge every now and then. Spectacular view of Mirror Lake.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Elegant restaurant from view to menu - service is top shelve

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good restaurant located in a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Placid.
Prices are on the higher side but provide value for the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Gorgeous presentation and even better delivery. This restaurant does not disappoint. Loved everything about this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was truly outstanding. Perfectly cooked. Delicious. Excellent wine list, although South America was not well represented. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing, and didn't try to keep pouring our wine, a pet hate of mine. The meal was punctuated with delicious amuse-bouches and palate cleansers. Coffee was delicous after dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Do not think it is worth the price that they get for their product. It is fine dining but the cuisine offered is most definitely overpriced. I was not impressed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the most spectacular dinners I've had in a while. Everything about The View is outstanding. Our server was extraordinarily attentive, the food was delicious, and the view of Mirror Lake was fantastic. We wished we could have eaten there more than once so we could try the various dishes. In particular, the applewood smoked trout was divine. Perfectly prepared and each bite tasted better than the one before. I highly recommend The View!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food cooked to perfection. Appreciate the commitment to local farms. Menu wasn't the most exciting. Appreciate the clear stance on silencing cell phones.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stunning ambience, terrific service and outstanding cuisine. This is likely one of very few fine dining establishments in the Lake Placid region, and is conveniently located to everywhere in the main part of the village. Take time to tour the gardens and grounds. We had three meals there over two days. Buffet breakfast is also outstanding, with the tastiest fresh squeezed orange juice and best French toast ever!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Melissa was wonderful as our server- she was friendly and helpful. We shared the striped bass and rib eye steak specials to get a surf and turf combo and we were not disappointed. The food and the presentation were great. They even threw in some little pastries for us to have with our cappuccino and espresso since we were celebrating a birthday. Would definitely go back someday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant with unique recipes. My chicken breast was the best I've ever tasted. The staff went out of its way to mark the occasion, and treated us to a photo, which we really enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.