About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, and Rated #1 in NYS and Mid Atlantic States by Conde Nast Readers Choice Award, 2016. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Seventeen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: (518) 302-3000

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (14)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Scenic View (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Fireplace (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Waterfront (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to Mirror Lake for Valentine's Day ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Mirror Lake for Valentine's Day and was blown away! The meal, service, and atmosphere were exceptional! There is no doubt we will return! Highly recommend this restaurant for upscale dining and special occasions!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've had! Lamb was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best meals I've had! Lamb was tender and the flavors were incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unbelievable dining experience! I had a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Unbelievable dining experience! I had a filet you could cut with a spooo . The food was divine. The service was too notch. I wish I lived closer so that we could eat there once a month. Absolutely divine!

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend The View to any ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I would highly recommend The View to anyone visiting the Lake Placid area. My husband and I could not have enjoyed our evening more. Everything was absolutely perfect from beginning to end...the food, the service, the cocktails, the ambiance, etc. We enjoy fine dining frequently and both agreed that we can't recall ever having such a wonderful experience. It was the perfect way to end our vacation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon our arrival my wife and I were gree ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Upon our arrival my wife and I were greeted very warmly by the staff,they had taken note of our special request ( our honeymoon ). Sarah our waitress was exceptional, knowledgeable and very courteous. We were given IMHO the best seat in the house and the food certainly did not disappoint. All in all a great first time experience, we will certainly return to The View in the near future. We would recommend this restaurant experience as one of the highlights of our trip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dinner here. My fian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner here. My fianceé took me her as a celebration for my birthday. We shared the foie gras appetizer, wonderful. She had the Duck special and I had the Fish special. Both were amazing. For dessert , Pumpkin Cheesecake and Espresso. Of course a good bottle of wine with dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We both raved about our dinners at the V ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We both raved about our dinners at the View. Megan, our server, was the only server we have ever had who greeted us by our names! It made us feel at home. The surprise courses were most enjoyable. My husband's duck and my scallops were delicious. The Chai creme brûlée was lovely. Kudos to the chef and everyone we met at the Inn. Also the grounds with the lights were beautiful.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very cozy and quite. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The restaurant was very cozy and quite. The service was outstanding and the food was really delish! I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting lake placid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, fantastic service, but n ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic food, fantastic service, but not worth the price. We stayed at the Mirror Lake Inn for my fiancee's 30th birthday and upon arrival there had been a chimney fire in the left lobby. This set the tone for the rest of our stay at the Inn, as the fire was barely addressed upon check-in and we were not proactively accommodated after checking in. This impacted our time at the restaurants, as the back doors to the restaurant were open throughout the entire dining experience, with guests of all ages passing through the middle of the restaurant consistently. All in all, The View and the Mirror Lake Inn did not meet the expectations we had of a four diamond hotel/restaurant, especially after numerous recommendations from trusted, long-time friends/patrons on the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

Outstanding cuisine, cocktails and servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, cocktails and service. One of the best dining experiences we have ever had.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying in Lake Placid over a ho ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were staying in Lake Placid over a holiday break between Christmas and New Year's for a 4-day ski vacation. On our last night we ate at The View - as a special pre-New Year's celebration. The restaurant is elegant, the staff incredibly courteous and professional, and the view is exquisite. The food was excellent (the filet mignon med/rare melted in your mouth), and the wine list was decent. But it's rather pricey for the fare. We had a reservation for 8:30 and I called to see about changing to an earlier time. Not only was the hostess very accommodating, but we got a table overlooking the lake. If you're looking for ambiance and and elegant dining, here's the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went here as a special treat while st ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went here as a special treat while staying in lake placid. It was worth it! The special little surprises through out the course great. Was very much fine dining without the stabbing cost of fine dinning. Don't get me wrong, it is not an cheap meal, but the food was of the highest quality and the service made it that much more enjoyable. We went for an early dinner (6 pm) and were one of very few dinners at the time, however closer to 7 the dining room filled up. While technically not water front, it does offer some great views of mirror lake from its large windows. Highly recommend trying this restaurant if you are in the mood for an it if pampering and looking for wonderfully platted and tasting dishes. I also can't say enough of the staff who made sure our dining experience was one to remember. One more fun thing, they had a pianist playing through out the dinner. Very relaxing and elegant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, , Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very limited menu, food was good but we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very limited menu, food was good but we expected better based on reviews. Beautiful dinning room in Mirror lake Inn.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Way overpriced my husband was starving w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Way overpriced my husband was starving when we returned to the hotel!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Beautiful dining room, great view, and s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Beautiful dining room, great view, and superb service. The View is top notch and always a special treat. Especially lovely at Christmas time!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's is easily the best meal we had whil ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

It's is easily the best meal we had while in Lake Placid on a vacation weekend, up from Manhattan. The combination of open lakeside view, excellent food, and attentive staff made for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have stayed at the Mirror Lake inn nu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We have stayed at the Mirror Lake inn numerous times and always look forward to a return. We love the view restaurant - everything about the place: the ambiance (fire place), service, food, decor, noise level (quiet), large windows that allow such a pretty view no matter the time of year, and the overall feeling we have when we dine there is just incredible and I pray that for years to come we are lucky enough to continue and visit the area, and the fabulous Mirror lake inn and it's view restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were awestruck by the Christmas decor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We were awestruck by the Christmas decor throughout the lobby and dining rooms! Service was attentive and professional (and friendly!) Entrees (scallops and halibut) were beautifully presented with wonderfully seasoned vegetables.Impressive wine list with some reasonably priced Italians from the north and south.All in all a perfect dining experience and a good value for the considerable expense.We can't wait to return!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant, had crab cakes, po ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, had crab cakes, pork belly for apps.,

Duck breast special w/ side of foie gras , excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal, great service. This is a won ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great meal, great service. This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant was beautiful. View was magn ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Restaurant was beautiful. View was magnificent. Service was excellent. Food was delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fabulous. This is an upscale ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Dinner was fabulous. This is an upscale restaurant with no pretensions. Casual attire is okay with collared shirts for men. Service was impeccable. Worth a splurge every now and then. Spectacular view of Mirror Lake.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant restaurant from view to menu - s ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Elegant restaurant from view to menu - service is top shelve

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant located in a beauti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good restaurant located in a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Placid.

Prices are on the higher side but provide value for the money.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gorgeous presentation and even better de ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Gorgeous presentation and even better delivery. This restaurant does not disappoint. Loved everything about this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was truly outstanding. Perfectl ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The food was truly outstanding. Perfectly cooked. Delicious. Excellent wine list, although South America was not well represented. Waiter was attentive but not overbearing, and didn't try to keep pouring our wine, a pet hate of mine. The meal was punctuated with delicious amuse-bouches and palate cleansers. Coffee was delicous after dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Do not think it is worth the price that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Do not think it is worth the price that they get for their product. It is fine dining but the cuisine offered is most definitely overpriced. I was not impressed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

One of the most spectacular dinners I've ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2016

One of the most spectacular dinners I've had in a while. Everything about The View is outstanding. Our server was extraordinarily attentive, the food was delicious, and the view of Mirror Lake was fantastic. We wished we could have eaten there more than once so we could try the various dishes. In particular, the applewood smoked trout was divine. Perfectly prepared and each bite tasted better than the one before. I highly recommend The View!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food cooked to perfection. Appreciate th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food cooked to perfection. Appreciate the commitment to local farms. Menu wasn't the most exciting. Appreciate the clear stance on silencing cell phones.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning ambience, terrific service and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stunning ambience, terrific service and outstanding cuisine. This is likely one of very few fine dining establishments in the Lake Placid region, and is conveniently located to everywhere in the main part of the village. Take time to tour the gardens and grounds. We had three meals there over two days. Buffet breakfast is also outstanding, with the tastiest fresh squeezed orange juice and best French toast ever!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Melissa was wonderful as our server- she ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Melissa was wonderful as our server- she was friendly and helpful. We shared the striped bass and rib eye steak specials to get a surf and turf combo and we were not disappointed. The food and the presentation were great. They even threw in some little pastries for us to have with our cappuccino and espresso since we were celebrating a birthday. Would definitely go back someday.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant with unique recipes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent restaurant with unique recipes. My chicken breast was the best I've ever tasted. The staff went out of its way to mark the occasion, and treated us to a photo, which we really enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mirror Lake Inn restaurant was to commem ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Mirror Lake Inn restaurant was to commemorate my wife's parents honeymooning there some 70 +- yrs ago. Very nice. Not much parking.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food. Creative, perfectly se ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Phenomenal food. Creative, perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked, and amazing. Quiet, rustic, ambiance. Great view. Wonderful service. Not to stuffy and not too casual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely serene atmosphere. Emily was atte ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Lovely serene atmosphere. Emily was attentive and professional. Very nice experience for the entire family. Food was quite good. Potato leek soup was the best I've tried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great,very friendly,high professional st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great,very friendly,high professional staff, exceptionally delicious food,little snacks-surprises between dishes,very good wine. It was worth every penny. Highly recommended this place. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to treat ourselves to the fin ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 18, 2016

We decided to treat ourselves to the finest dining in Lake Placid during a weekend getaway. We were not disappointed. The food was outstanding as was the service and the ambiance. I will definitely be back during our next visit to LP. The View certainly ranks up in my top 3 dining experiences EVER!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service but we found it had a very limited selection of entrees. The menu was exceptionally expensive given L.A. And Manhattan prices we often pay. Would have to re-consider going back. The restaurant was very quiet for a summer /in season night, we can see why!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The evening was one where everything wen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 11, 2016

The evening was one where everything went well except for one thing, and of course, that is the one thing that you tend to remember. They ask us if we would wait for a window table and we naturally said yes as the view is not to be missed. Matt, the bartender, was very accommodating. In hardly no time at all we were seated. The wine list is extensive and we settled on a Burce Pinot Noir which took forever and then we were informed after about 20 minutes that they were our of it. We then order a Kenez Pinot and after another 20 minutes they apologized again, but they replaced with another Kenez of an earlier and better vintage. With that over, it was great. Outstanding food. Good service. You should go. You will not be disappointed, unless of course they are out of the wine you want.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best meal in Lake Placid! A delightful ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Best meal in Lake Placid! A delightful experience - start to finish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.