About The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

77 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
View Larger Map

The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine, utilizing locally sourced ingredients. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Sixteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. Both Restaurants are perfect for that "special occasion".

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am - 10:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Interlaken Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 302-3000

Website:
http://mirrorlakeinn.com/

Entertainment:
Taste Bistro & Bar- Friday evenings enjoy live music, 7:30-10:30PM

Catering:
Contact our Group Sales Department for private events.

Parking Details:
Limited hotel parking primarily for house guests is available. Additionally street parking is in close proximity to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jarrad Lang

Private Party Facilities:
Multiple venues are available for private parties from 8 to 100 guests. Groups over 20 are encouraged to work through the properties group sales office.

Private Party Contact:
Katie Welch: 5183023000x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Halibut
Housemade Pork Pate
Duck
Scallops
Cheese Platter
House Salad
Pea Soup
Beef Carpaccio
Yuuum.
Amuse Bouche
Caesar Salad
roasted pear and parsnip soup
Duck Confit With Black Truffle Risotto

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM 8:30PM - 8:30PM

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New York / Tri-State Area
Scenic View
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Upstate New York
5 More
Best Service
Upstate New York
Best Ambiance
Upstate New York
Notable Wine List
Upstate New York
Romantic
Upstate New York
Scenic View
Upstate New York
Best Restaurants in Lake Placid ›

scenic view (30)
special occasion (29)
romantic (28)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (2)
good for groups (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful old setting, polished decor, a ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful old setting, polished decor, and well-prepared food. But then there's the service: the staff tries too hard and spoils the meal. They are trained and polite, the “perfect” and “wonderful” feels robotic after three courses. Sorry

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fantastic meal. Over the top servi ...

Dined 7 days ago

Had a fantastic meal. Over the top service as well. The view could not have been better to celebrate my husband's birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luxurious fine dining overlooking the la ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Luxurious fine dining overlooking the lake. The View Restaurant is one of the top fine dining establishments we have ever been too. From the moment you step inside you will be treated like royalty - absolutely excellent service. They sure know how to plate the food & prepared perfectly! Amazing drinks! Oh - try to save room for dessert - absolutely delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We went to the View Restaurant to celebr ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We went to the View Restaurant to celebrate my birthday and it was a wonderful and enjoyable event. The bartender made a special "cocktail" just for me, the food was superb, and the setting was very nice. The pace was a bit slow, but since we weren't in any hurry it didn't bother us. Overall we had a wonderful time and will try it again the next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the Alaskan halibut - amazing. One o ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Had the Alaskan halibut - amazing. One of the best halibut dishes I've ever had. Service is fantastic from start to finish. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great restaurant and inn

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great restaurant to kick off the summer season. Some new staff in learning curve but great nevertheless . Great views. Porch room under renovations and was closed during our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on June 3, 2016

My husband and I celebrated my birthday at The View. From start to a "surprise " finish our dining experience was nothing less than perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The View Is Great But The Ambiance is Greater

Dined on May 18, 2016

We were staying at the Inn so we went to their restaurant for dinner. We had been there several years ago and remembered it fondly - it has maintained its ambiance. The service was friendly and very attentive. The menu is small but offers enough variety to cover most diners. The food was excellent, fresh and generally locally sourced and creatively prepared and presented. Watching the lake change from daylight to night provided a great background to a most pleasant dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I couldn't think of a better dining facility to enjoy a Mother's Day brunch. The food is always amazing, the staff couldn't be any friendlier, and were very accommodating for our toddler. With my work schedule I don't get always get special occasions off, so this was great for my family! We can't wait for the next brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The very best

Dined on May 6, 2016

This restaurant is the best. I give it five stars. Hope to return this summer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful place to celebrate

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I ate at The View Restaurant for our first anniversary. We enjoyed all of our courses and the wine we ordered with dinner - everything was well seasoned and delicious. For dessert they brought us out a plate with Happy Anniversary written in chocolate and gave us a framed photo they took of us as a keepsake. We had an amazing experience and really felt well taken care of. It was a great place to dine for the occasion, and the photo will always be a reminder of the great experience we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice , quiet. Nice for an anniversa ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Very nice , quiet. Nice for an anniversary. It would be nice if they had a larger menu. Only a few items To choose from. Not suitable for young children. Awesome service

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything about The View is wonderful. Food was prepared nicely. Very good wine list and the service was perfect. Not intrusive but very attentive. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

pricey but well worth it

Dined on April 15, 2016

The View is very fine dining in a setting that is still something a notch below business casual. We all had jeans on and it was no problem. We had 3 filets, a duck special, and the cod .. Plus a few apps. Everything was outstanding and the temperature on the filets was perfect. I believe our waitress's name was Christine and she was super friendly and patient with our group. Its a tad pricey there, especially for the area, but hey it's worth it still I think. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was excellent, service excellent - you can not beat the view - very quiet - it was a Sunday night - off season. We will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went with another couple to celebrate birthdays; we were looking for something special and with nice atmosphere. Our friends had been to The View in years past and assured us we would not be disappointed--well, we were certainly not disappointed! Our experience was amazing. The food was exceptional and presented beautifully. The servers were ultra polite and attentive (but not overly so), and the atmosphere was lovely. The meals were on the expensive side, but for our special occasion - and based on the wonderful meals we had - it was worth it. We will return to The View.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal at the View. The se ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a great meal at the View. The service was excellent as was the food. We had the two specials of the evening duck and salmon both were awesome.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Dinner

Dined on March 17, 2016

Although my filet was a choice cut of beef, it was over seasoned - salty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dine at The View whenever we are in L ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We dine at The View whenever we are in Lake Placid and we have never been disappointed. The food is outstanding and the service is prompt, professional and most of all friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

high end dining that felt of a local restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

The hostess, wait staff and other employees were very professional. A great wine list and the food was outstanding with several courses. Pricing was moderate to high but well worth the price. We felt a bit crowded as more guests arrived and the noise level increase. A good night out overall.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

This was our best meal in Lake Placcid. We felt that the quality, taste, and combinations on this menu, although limited, were very good. We had a delicious and romantic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occassion

Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I came here for my birthday dinner with another couple. The atmosphere was great, quiet and intimate. The food was superb, worth the expensive price tag in my opinion. For dessert, "Happy Birthday" was written on the plate and the waitress offered to take our picture, which she then printed out and provided us with copies. Wonderful food, wonderful service, definitely a memorable dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not worth the money

Dined on February 5, 2016

I had no problem spending the money to eat at such a nice restaurant, but I won't be going back. The food was good just wasn't worth the money. I will also not recommend this to my friends and family.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had a great time at the View and the food was quite good. Joni made my wife feel very special by decorating her bread pudding and taking a birthday photo. The only criticism I can offer is that they let dishes linger on the table a bit longer before clearing them. We had also come for brunch with our children and they made sure the kids got what they wanted.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

An Adirondack Gem

Dined on January 28, 2016

I had excellent time . The food was delicious and the server was friendly and extremely helpful . She genuinely seemed to enjoy her job and though the atmosphere is very elegant it was not stuffy in any way . It was a magical night for myself and my love !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wounderful

Dined on January 15, 2016

When I need to feel special and be pampered this is where I go. I have never been disappointed

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best filet of all time

Dined on January 15, 2016

This was hands down the best meal I've ever had. Can't wait to go back next time we visit Lake placid.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful Inn with Excellent Food

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

My family of 4 had a superb meal at The View this week. The favorite dinners were the Wagu Steak and Salmon dishes. We also had the Gnocchi and Cod dinners with not a morsel of food left on any plate. The food not only tasted great but was nicely prepared and presented. Our server, Alevie (sorry for the spelling but sounds like Olivey) was wonderful with her explanations, recommendations and great personality. Definitely request her, if at all possible. Due to not being very cold in Lake Placid for December/January, the restauarant wasn't very crowded. The view of Mirror Lake is probably great in the summer but still lovely with snow falling during our dinner. I highly recommend the dining here!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on December 30, 2015

Very nice dinner with family. I even got a birthday picture, so nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely wonderful evening celebrat ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

An absolutely wonderful evening celebration. Highly recommended and looking forward to our next visit.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent service and paid attention to details.

Dined on November 29, 2015

Really exceptional that they took a picture and printed it for us on the spot. It was for our German au pair (as it was her birthday) and they wrote happy birthday in German on the picture!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

classic

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

classic elegance as may be expected at this landmark and did not disappoint; service polished but friendly. we will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Very great spot for a special occasion celebration

Dined on November 8, 2015

I celebrated my partner's birthday at this restaurant as part of our getaway trip in Lake Placid. The restaurant is conveniently located and has a very fitting ambiance for this celebration. The staff was very friendly and gave us little surprises here and there. I highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our family dinner. My husban ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

We enjoyed our family dinner. My husband ordered the Berkshire pork and it was amazing. I had the cod, which was a pretty big portion. It was flaky and flavorful. I took a few bites my husband's pork and it was flavorful and super tender. The staff were so attentive to our needs. The bread and sample apps really filled up our appetites.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A true gem in Lake Placid

vip
Dined on November 5, 2015

Dinner at the View in Mirror Lake Inn is a memorable experience, so don't miss it when you are in Lake Placid. The elegant dining room overlooking Mirror Lake is only surpassed by the food and service. This is a must when we are in the area. It should be on everyone's "bucket list".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent food in charming hotel

Dined on October 16, 2015

The sign for The View is a bit confusing in the dark...we ended u on the Cottage because the sign was outside in the other side of the road. It is actually in the main hotel. It was extremely comfortable, if a little old fashioned, but the food was excellent and the waitress and other staff very charming and helpful. We had a lovely evening and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Tags: child friendly, fit for foodies, romance, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been going there for 38 years and ...

Dined on October 15, 2015

We've been going there for 38 years and have had only one "not so incredible" experience. I consider it on the high end with respect to price so I'm very critical when I rate them. My job takes me all over North America and I will proclaim their one of the best. Availability around holidays is their only downside.

food5
ambience5
service5

The View @ The Mirror Lake Inn

Dined on October 11, 2015

We went to Lake Placid for our wedding anniversary and decided to finally try out The View. We have eaten at many fine restaurants however this was hands down the best overall experience. We had the Onion Soup and the Crab Cake as appetizers and the Prime Beef Filet as a main course. The entire meal and staff attention from beginning to end was fantastic. I will definitely be back for our next special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect fall escape

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

Started at the bar and enjoyed the ambiance with a live performance. The meal and service was exceptional, missed "the view" as late reservation, but still enjoyable. One of the nicer dining experiences in all of Lake Placid.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect for a special occasion

Dined on October 7, 2015

We celebrated our anniversary at the Mirror Lake Inn and had dinner at The View. I had requested a special table and they did seat us next to the fireplace in front of a window overlooking the lake. Our server was Allavie and she was knowledgeable and friendly. Dinner might have been a bit slower paced that we would have liked, but we had an early reservation and weren't in a rush. (As an aside, we made our reservation online and were only offered 5:30 and 8:30 p.m. even though the restaurant was essentially empty the first 45 minutes we were there...) The swordfish was out of this world! Presentation of each course was beautiful. Allavie knew it was our anniversary and took a picture of us during dessert which she presented to us in a paper Mirror Lake Inn frame at the end of our visit. Everyone wished us a happy anniversary as we left the restaurant which made us feel special. This was not a cheap night out... dinner for two, and I chose the "special", was $145 including our meal, a glass of wine for me and a brew for my husband, and dessert. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. I would not bring small children to this restaurant as the pace of service is somewhat slow and they would get bored. In fact... (and I have kids) I would not bring children to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.