Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Victor Cafe

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week by talented professionals as well as students.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Cocktail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (113)
Good for a Date (107)
Live Music (107)
See All
Good for Birthdays (92)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Romantic (87)
Neighborhood Gem (87)
Fun (80)
Worth the Drive (68)
Authentic (67)
Historic (63)
Cozy (47)
Good for Groups (35)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Comfort Food (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Casual (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
People Watching (14)
Business Meals (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Family Style (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

Meal was wonderful and service was spot on. I wasn't aware that when making a reservation, you need to specifically request "downstairs" if that is your wish. It's a much better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our 2nd visit to Victor Cafe. Understand we live over 200 miles and about 4 hours away, but this was for a 'Foodie Trip' to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary. As classical music lovers, and a long-time choral singer, I particularly appreciated the professional vocal talents of these moonlighting opera singers who likewise graciously waited at table. The space is intimate and our food was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous good authentic Italian food. Special atmosphere with entertaining waitstaff

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been to Victor's a number of times and it is always lovely. The food is delicious and the singers are amazing.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Loved the opera singing by wait staff! Incredible!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

You can't beat Victor Cafe for a fun night out. It's especially good for a first date or a situation where people don't know each other well, because you can discuss the singers and all the music memorabilia around you. Service is outstanding. Food is good, not incredible but solid, and the experience more than makes up for it. Glenside Gourmet

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My veal picatta was the best I've ever had. Better than in Italy! My wife loved the Linguine with calamari sauce and is still talking about it. The ice cream with mini cannoli was amazing. The baked clams casino not so good - a tad sandy. But our waiter was the best. And the art song she sang by Claude Debussy was beautiful and alone worth the visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

LOVED Victor Cafe!!
What a great place. Food was amazing, I had the tilapia with crab, my husband had a special meatballs, met spaghetti, our daughter had vege risotto and love it all. The wine was spectacular - tuscan red...and the music throughout dinner - singing waiters and waitresses, one was better than the next. The final desserts didnt dissappoint either - lemon sorbet and a cannoli our daughter would not let us taste! We will be back!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful experience. If you are a music lover, this place is a must. The food is terrific, but even better are the gorgeous arias performed by the servers. I got goosebumps more than once. If it's your birthday, they will sing to you opera style- very impressive. I noted in my OT reservation that it was our anniversary and they made an announcement to everyone around us and played the Anniversary Waltz in our honor. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Visited on Saturday 6-17-17 with my husband and parents to celebrate Father's Day. We arrived early for our reservation and enjoyed drinks in the upstairs cocktail lounge. It is beautiful and cozy as it is bathed in candlelight and has music playing. We heard a lot of great Sinatra songs. Dinner itself was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered. The singing wait staff is unique. Each of them had wonderful powerful voices. It basically is a dinner and opera all in one. I was is awe of the talent. I will be going back next time I am in Philly. I highly recommend the Victor Cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Victor Cafe is an old standby that is great for an introduction to opera and a decent Italian meal. For appetizers, the Caesar salad was very good, but the mussels in white wine were just fair. The veal Picatta was much better than the veal Saltimbocca. The warm chocolate cake with vanilla gelato was very good, however, the coffee was not served hot enough. Also, the Pinot Grigio was now a quality wine and should have been served colder. Overall, a nice evening with great entertainment, but just an average meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Unfortunately, from the beginning, there were a number of issues with the service that was received on our end. We were running late (accident on 95) and got to the restaurant. They stated they had called my phone, which I never got a call or message, and they had given away my table. We got seated at a table with a time limit on how long we could be there and made the most. This was not really an issue but it wasn't okay seeing as I actually never received a phone call.
When I booked the reservation on open table I stated that we were there for a birthday. When I confirmed the reservation with the restaurant they even explained to me what they would do for the birthday. Now when we were at the restaurant, I even made a point to confirm with the hostesses, prior to desert, that they had informed the waitress of the birthday and they stated they had. Deserts came out and there was no singing. This was so disappointing seeing as I was there for my mothers birthday and I wanted to night to be great and her to have a special day. I went to my waitress to see what had gone wrong, and as I was talking to her the hostess walked by. I made a point to say something to her and her responses was "ohhh yeah....".
This was beyond disappointing and I can say I will not be back here anytime in the near future. I had not been back here in a while and I wish I had not gone to celebrate my mothers birthday because this was a big let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excelente lugar! Muy bien ambientado y con muchos recuerdos de la película rocky!
Nunca olvidaremos este lugar!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food, great fun, great staff. Don't miss the upstairs bar!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I can't believe I've only just now, after 3 years living in Philly, discovered my favorite restaurant! I'm so disappointed I've been missing out! The Italian is phenomenal and the Opera singing wait staff even better!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The Victor Cafe is the ONLY restaurant I will bring up out of nowhere for my friends and family to hear about. Every 15 minutes or so you are serenaded by one of the employees, all of whom are classically trained singers. Its a simply magical experience! Fantastic for special occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Phenomenal! Delicious food served by incredibly talented artists !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Such a unique dining experience. The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was unlike any other restaurant I've been to in the city. A good choice for a date night or a small celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

What a great place. Unique opera singing staff that carries on the tradition of the original storefront theme. Authentic Italian cuisine and wine choices. The walls are covered with pictures of people you never knew! Highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My fiance, her roommate from college and myself went here for dinner on a Friday and it was GREAT!! The staff are extremely friendly, attentive, and excellent performers. The restaurant is very nice inside and I would recommend, before or after dinner, grabbing a few drinks at the candlelit lounge/bar on the second floor. Overall the experience was fantastic and we will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We wouldn't miss the opportunity to visit the Victor Café whenever we're in Philadelphia. We lived there for almost ten years and I never went until we moved to Wisconsin however it is now one of the events I look most forward to when we go on vacation and can get back to the city. Best for continued success.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The calamari appetizer was excellent. Roasted red pepper amd calamari was an excellent bite. The braciole was the best I ever had except for Vivian's (my gf). The meatball had perfect texture, the Italian sausage had a perfect amount of heat. The gravy was authentic. The custard for dessert was perfect. The arias were expertly sung and the employees could not have been nicer nor more responsive. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Cafe Victor was a delightful surprise to this thespian wannabe. Operatic pieces sung by the very talented waitstaff provided delightful moments throughout our dining experience. The entire staff from the hostess, the bartender, the waiters and management worked together to create a happy and memorable evening. The food (!) was tasty too!

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A tad pricey, but the Victor Cafe offers a unique experience. Everyone should go at least once.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great place to go. My kids loved it as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I had an amazing dinner and the music was beautiful. You dont want to miss this if you are in philly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I absolutely adored the Victor Cafe. A must stop when in Philly.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had family in from CA and my aunt discovered Victor Cafe a number years ago. I went once before with her but haven't been back since. I don't get the opportunity to get into Philly too often. It was really nice to rediscover again. Food, ambiance and service were great and the wait staff breaking out into tune throughout the dining experience is a real treat. Especially enjoyed listening to our waiter Steven! And for the first time, I found out there is a great bar/lounge on the third floor! Next time we will be sure to arrive early to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail! It feels like the Victor Cafe is a best kept secret but it has been around for a very long time --and I can see why!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Awesome. Best Italian meal I've had

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This is a true dining experience- delicious food with a few really breath-taking arias. It was the best dining experience that I've had all year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Live Music, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Always an outstanding meal, ambiance, super friendly and polite staff, upstairs bartender (John? So sorry!) extremely knowledgeable and helpful with wine selection and pairings (and he sang too!). Our server Iris was so friendly and helpful and made the whole night that much better....enjoyed watching her switch from gracious server to lovely opera singer! Such a neighborhood gem that I keep coming back to and bringing my NJ friends to experience my hometown charm! My boyfriend is already planning his father's bday dinner there this summer! Victor Cafe always delights the locals and the Shoobies! Thank you for another perfect night!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Incredible experience! Highly recommend coming here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Awesome night out! Authentic food and talented opera singers. A truly memorable Philly experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fantastic place for a meal..friendly staff..wonderful history and the owner let us in early and gave us the grand tour..food was top notch as was the service and the beautiful singers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Whenever I am in Philly I go to the Victor Cafe. The opera singing wait staff is wonderful and the linguine and clams (red sauce) is delicious. This place hasn't changed in the 30 years I have been going there and I hope it stays the same.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great Time! Food was fantastic. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 25, 2017

It's always a very special time at the Victor. However, I wish there were more vegan items on the menu. The food is always a bit disappointing to me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Food was delicious; singing was even better! Highly recommend this eclectic little place!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 23, 2017

what an amazing place. The food was great and the singing was perfect.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food. Wonderful arias sung by the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.