About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday 5:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m. Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: 2154683040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Penne Prince Igor
Ravioli Tita Ruffo
Tortelloni Bellini
Tartufo
Arugula Salad
Chicken Parmesan De Luca
Calamari Fritti
Lobster Ravioli
Ultimate Warm Chocolate Cake
lasagna
Bread & Basil Olive Oil
Ca' La Bionda Valpolicella
Caprese Salad
Espresso
Pasta
Molten Chocolate Cake
veal medallions
Tiramisu
Cannoli
Prince Igor
Mussels Marinara
Veal Scallopine Al Limone
Canneloni Stuffed With Spinach Mackarel And Ricotta Served With Rosemary Flavored Seafood Cream Sauce
Coke
Hazelnut Mousse
Fried Smelt
Beet salad with goat cheese
Cocktails
Tosca

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
4 More
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
Best Value
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in South Philly ›

Special Occasion (138)
Neighborhood Gem (109)
Romantic (105)
See All
Good for Groups (78)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (24)
Kid-friendly (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved this place. Great talent good food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Loved this place. Great talent good food. Had never gone before and wasn't expecting to hear such fantastic opera. Will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go for out of town guests Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Must go for out of town guests

Food was great and really friendly "philly " atmosphere

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here - amazing. Everything. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Second time here - amazing. Everything. Food, service, singing. Phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience was superb. Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

The whole experience was superb. Food was excellent as was the staff. The entertainment was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Victor is a true Philly original. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Cafe Victor is a true Philly original. The Italian food is excellent, and everything stops approximately every 15 minutes, and the staff sing opera. It's great that the customers respect the singers, and everyone is quiet and listens to the music. Don 't go if you're in a hurry. You need to just relax, enjoy the food and enjoy the music. It's a great place for a special occasion or a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff was fantastic. Not only d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The wait staff was fantastic. Not only did ours make great recommendations and serve us perfectly she sang two opera songs. What a voice! Then I told her we had a birthday and recent marriage to celebrate. One waiter then sang a romantic tune and then 8 servers came over with a candle in a slice of cake and sang happy birthday in harmony. Awesome. And oh by the way the food was great and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must in Philadelphia. Super f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a must in Philadelphia. Super friendly staff. Classically trained singing staff. Really fun. Great dining experience all around!

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a great neighborhood gem and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a great neighborhood gem and we are so glad we found it! The food was excellent and it was such a great experience. All of the aria was great and we saw at least 6 different ones while we were there. The service was mediocre but it's to be expected since the waitress/waiters are also performers. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Opera singers were outstanding A real tr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Opera singers were outstanding

A real treat for a night of dining out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We took our friend there for her birthda ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took our friend there for her birthday. It was her first time and she loved it.

the singing was grand as always, and the service was impeccable. Everyone who likes opera should go at least once. If you don't like opera go anyway, it will be a great time. Arias between courses, what's not to like?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We're not from Philly, hotel recommended ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We're not from Philly, hotel recommended and we're so glad they did. The minute we walked upstairs to the bar and found something of a favorite aunt's parlor in the 50s, we knew it was special.

Food was delicious, server a bit scattered, but adorably apologetic. All the wait staff are singers and the quick bits of live music during dinner was memorable.

Just go. Wish it were in my own neighborhood!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my first time to Victor's in ma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my first time to Victor's in many, many years. It did not disappoint. It was the first time for two members in our group and they said they would return. Love the valet service

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitresses andstaff arefabulous. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The waitresses andstaff arefabulous. The singing is terrific. They need to work on the quality of food. For the price quality of food missing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal and ambiance. Wonderful singe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great meal and ambiance. Wonderful singers. Very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited for an anniversary celebratio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We visited for an anniversary celebration before going to the Wells Fargo Center for a concert. What a treat this was! Truly a special place. Perfect for celebrations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for the Streisand show. What a f ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

In town for the Streisand show. What a fabulous restaurant, great service from Evan, the Caprese salad, the fig and prosciutto salad, the braciole and the dido and Aeneas entrees were outstanding. Dessert was panna cotta and cannoli with expertly brewed cappuccinos.

All of the wait staff sang arias from Puccini and other operas with obvious trained voices. It was a true show with one if the best Italian meals I've had anywhere including Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We remembered Victor from a visit to Phi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We remembered Victor from a visit to Philly more than 10 years ago. In town for a chemists' national meeting, we had the opportunity to introduce a spouse to the experience. We came for the opera and were pleased that the cuisine exceeded expectations. Great fun and food - what's not to enjoy.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was great !!!!!!!! from service to food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was great !!!!!!!! from service to food ........ HOPE TO GET BACK SOON !!!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a good friend in Philly. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Recommended by a good friend in Philly. The food was very good, but the opera singers were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at Victor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Victor Café. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the staff made us feel very special. The food was outstanding from appetizers to dessert. I highly recommend Victor's Café. Can't wait to go back. The bill was very reasonable which included cocktails before dinner and a bottle of wine during dinner. Very reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very unique experience with the opera si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very unique experience with the opera singing wait staff! I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Everything was wonderful. Loved the sing ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Loved the singers who were beautifully trained and lots of fun.

It was expensive. $150 for two of us on a Monday night.

Tags: Romance, Neighbourhood Gem, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a lovely time. Aside from being e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always a lovely time. Aside from being extremely talented, the staff is also very friendly and efficient. The upstairs lounge is still an overlooked gem to many, but at least it keeps it low key up there.

My only concern time and time again is that I don't think they should book parties over 6 people. Every time I have been there, the larger parties seem to have little interest in the performances and are often very noisy and distracting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place ever ... I wasnt sure my husb ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best place ever ... I wasnt sure my husband would like it but he loved it!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

So happy to finally dine at Victor Café. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

So happy to finally dine at Victor Café. I think I'm a decent cook myself, so I try and look for restaurants that have a little something special. This place is so delightful with it's fun and old style Italian feel. It was even better than I expected & pictures don't do it justice – you just have to go. The beautiful opera was a real treat and was not at all intrusive. Hubby and I also enjoyed the wonderful homemade Italian dishes. So yummy. Can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

it was a fun night. Service and meals we ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

it was a fun night. Service and meals were great. Singing was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food paired with great service and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food paired with great service and our waitress has a beautiful voice. All around memorable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was so glad this restaurant came up in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I was so glad this restaurant came up in my search. The live opera singing and food also the service will keep me coming back over, and over again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant was busy on a Monday even ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The restaurant was busy on a Monday evening. We had guests in from out of town and arrived early for our reservation. There was no problem and we were seated. Great dinner, great service and very good singers. We were never rushed and the server helped with substitutions where we needed them. Wonderful experience. You have to experience this restaurant. Also, parking was not a problem; we found a spot just a short three blocks away with no time limit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

A very warm and quaint dining establishm ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

A very warm and quaint dining establishment. Excellent food and beverages on the menu along with professional entertainment to enjoy throughout the evening. Menu prices are very reasonable with outstanding service from the Server staff who were very attentive but not overbearing as they waited on our table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as well as a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service as well as a truly gifted staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just to listen to the aspiring opera si ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just to listen to the aspiring opera singers and the music was worth the price of the meal. You go to Victor's Cafe not for the food but for the beautiful music song by such talent. This was truly a treat for my two granddaughters

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Great ambience, however, the food leaves ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great ambience, however, the food leaves much to be desired. It seems the chef is unaware of the term al dente. The pasta was soggy and the cream sauce very heavy.

The wine list was reasonably priced.

You come for the singing and that does't disappoint.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

All of the waiters and waitresses have h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

All of the waiters and waitresses have had opera voice training and take turns singing aria's from major operas when not waiting on your tables.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A unique and wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A unique and wonderful dining experience. Was recommended by a friend and it waseverything they prmised

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor's is a special restaurant. The se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Victor's is a special restaurant. The servers entertain the customers with opera selections. Our server, Courtney, was an especially accomplished classically-trained singer. She served us our food and then stood on the interior steps to amaze us with the quality of her voice. My significant other compared her to Clark Kent. She was a mild-mannered server until she took the stage and showed herself to be super-woman!

This South Philly neighborhood restaurant is almost 100 years old (begun in 1918) and is chock-ful of photos of early musicians plus a large statue of the RCA Victor dog. Along with being a piece of Philly history, the service is excellent and the food is filling and very good. We had the mussels appetizer and they were huge! The spaghetti with sausage and meatball was fresh and obviously everything was hand-crafted. Excellent prices on bottles of beer. Reservations are a must ... we asked for and received a lovely table close to the entertainment. You could tell that the restaurant has a following as they greeted many of their customers by name. We were lucky to find a place to park on the street; the alternative is $12 valet parking or using public transportation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely live opera that raises goose pimp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lovely live opera that raises goose pimples. Our daughter promised us it was wonderful and it was. Food lovely as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fun evening out for visitors from ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great fun evening out for visitors from India… The food was excellent (I highly recommend the ravioli with walnuts and cream sauce) and the waitstaff are excellent as both singers and as waiters. The price wasn't too bad either: for six people, we split for dishes, an appetizer, and a dessert, left feeling overly stuffed, and only paid about 200 bucks (including the beer and wine tab).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What a find! Great Italian food and terr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

What a find! Great Italian food and terrific atmosphere! I am NOT a fan of opera, BUT, I AM a fan of talented singers. How relaxing to find a restaurant with terrific food and great, but not overwhelming, entertainment!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was great. The service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The ambiance was great. The service was outstanding and the live performances were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.