Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Victor Cafe

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week by talented professionals as well as students.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Cocktail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (110)
Special Occasion (107)
Live Music (101)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (96)
Good for Birthdays (94)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Romantic (90)
Historic (82)
Fun (78)
Worth the Drive (72)
Authentic (59)
Good for Groups (42)
Cozy (41)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
People Watching (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Family Style (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Wonderful arias sung by the wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome and would come back again! Very unique concept and we were all comfortable at our table and beforehand in the upstairs bar! Spectacular!!!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

The Victor Cafe is my favorite restaurant on the planet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

As always the food was delicious! The atmosphere is eclectic and charming at the same time+! Love the blending of the operatic history with modern trends! A combination with the lovers of opera and those going for the entertainment and dining! Having celiac I was easily able to switch the pasta for the risotto! Victor's is one of our go to places!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Victor Cafe is a treasure but don't expect much from the food. It's pretty ordinary, old-fashioned Italian. That said, it's a delightful place. The wait staff is talented and considerate.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Victor Cafe is a excellent place to dine and enjoy as the waiters and waitress sing opera and explaining the background of the song they are singing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Nothing short of amazing! We can't wait to go back. The food was delicious, the staff was friendly and amazingly talented.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Victor's Cafe IS A MUST!!!! We had the best time and the servers/ singers were fantastic and the food was delicious. And we are big Rocky fans and we're able to take a lot of pictures!! A+++

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Victor Cafe was inviting and our server was amazing both as our server and a singer. We enjoyed all of the food that we got and the overall experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

opera singing wait staff is the main attraction. the actual dining is not exceptional

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Victor Cafe is always fabulous -- attentive service and service that sings and sings beautifully. The meals are delicious and the portions large.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What an awesome place. Rustic old place with the creeking floors, beautiful lounge and folks who know how to make you happy. Every person working there is an opera singer and it is amazing to hear. The food is delicious and the flavors are fine. Hope to go there again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We celebrated Mother's Day hetr and had an absolutely amazing experience! The service was attentive, the food was delicious, and the singing was spectacular. We would highly recommend the Victor Cafe for any occasion.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The best restaurant experience in Philadelphia. The food is excellently prepared, although not especially daring, although my wife thinks the chicken livers and pasta is nothing short of culinary heaven. Wonderful wine list and the desserts are perfect. But the real reasons to go are the wonderful wait staff and their wonderful voices--opera, occasional art songs, occasional Broadway chestnuts. Or maybe the real reason to go is that this is truly a neighborhood, family-type, restaurant, a type that they don't make anymore. Oh, and if the fish special is salmon, order it. And while I am recommending specific dishes, the panna cotta is velvet in the mouth, as perfect as that dessert gets. Finally, there is a good chance that if you go, you will see someone propose--it is just that kind of place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a wonderful experience... whether you like Opera or not! The singing, the food, the ambience! It was just so enjoyable! Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding food and service! Every waiter and waitress is a classically trained opera singer and each member of the staff performs every 20 mins. The decor and ambiance is cozy and authentic. A great date spot, or place to celebrate a special occasion. If you are absolutely starving this may not be your best option, as the performance do cute into the ordering/service time, but they are worth the time if you have it! Would definently recommend to my friends and family and will be visiting again in the future.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My parents and I had an exceptional experience at Victor's Cafe. I've never written an online review for a restaurant, but we were so impressed with the food and the service that I felt obligated to share this with others. I made our reservations online 3 days before our dinner. I was impressed when Sandra, one of the granddaughters of the founder, called me to confirm our booking -- and then chatted with me for 20 minutes about the restaurant, my graduation, my father's love for opera, the history, etc. She was wonderful! We were taking my Dad there for the first time as a surprise, since he LOVES opera music. The hostess and wait staff were extremely friendly from the start. They didn't mind that we were 10 minutes late. We ordered the veal saltimobocca, which was DELICIOUS, and fairly reasonably priced for the quality and experience (most entrees ranged in the mid-$20's). In the span of our 1.5 hours there, we heard 5 opera performances from the wait staff. All of them were exceptional, including a Puccini Aria that was my Dad's personal favorites. The only negative part of the whole experience was not due the restaurant's fault, but due to the diners sitting next to us, who ignored the staff's request to not videotape the singing, and had their cell phones up in the air the entire time. It was incredibly obnoxious. Please do not do this. It destroys the ambiance of the restaurant and the intimacy of the experience, and it's a rude to your fellow diners, who may not want to be recorded eating. Put down your phone and enjoy the moment!

Aside from that, we absolutely can't wait to return! Thank you all!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I love Victor's! Great food, neigborhood charm, interesting history including as RCA Victor store and filming set in Rocky....plus a staff that clearly loves working there and sharing their opera singing talents. The singing is great and it is nice that it happens every 15 or 20 minutes so it doesnt interfere with conversation. One of my all time favorite places to eat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delightful experience: good food and service, and opera.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Love the Victor Cafe...from out of town. When we come to Philadelphia it's a most go to for us.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Took out-of-town clients for dinner, as I have before. A unique Philadelphia experiment, which they loved. Great food, great service, cost tables, great atmosphere- and the bursts of tremendous live singing. Can't beat it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My U of Pennsylvania friends and I have been coming here for years! We love the opera singing
Waitstaff...food is delicious...just a fun, memorable evening

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

In addition to the ambience, joyfullness, good food, I had the privilege of having a wonderful lady accompany me which was primary to my personal enjoyment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I chose Victor Cafe as a special place to celebrate our anniversary because we had not been there for quite a while but remembered having a wonderful meal here before. Victor Cafe is truly a gem, a step back in time, complete with memorabilia in an original Victrola shop and fabulous aspiring opera stars performing arias from the great operas. The food is equally fabulous. The crab stuffed ravioli in saffron sauce was a special...and it was very special! With each bite, a pause, to take in the flavor so as never to forget the silky decadence. The service was excellent with an attentive and talented staff. We both vowed not to wait so long between visits again.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We have been going to the Victor Cafe for 50 years and are never disappointed. We arrived early to have a glass of wine in the second floor candlelight lounge. It' lovely. Forget about on street parking and use Valet parking.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our sixteenth wedding anniversary. We were serenaded by the Waiter and publicly recognized. The music was great. The service was excellent. I do recommend it for Special occasions or for a just a night of good music with great dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We celebrated my Father's 80th Birthday and he couldn't have been happier. The service was terrific, the singing was amazing, and the food was delicious!

The staff even sang a beautiful Happy Birthday to him when dessert was served.

So happy, we'll have great memories of his special celebration.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our favorite spot in Philadelphia . The food is great and the singing staff outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We are two hours away. ( from the suburbs) and would go back any day anytime absolutely loved the food and the tableside singing was amazing !!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Well, I certainly did not grow up listening to opera...I was more an oldies, Motown, Jersey girl kind of music lover...Radio stations were set to Jerry Blavat shows!!! (and he is still going stronger than ever)...but give the VICTOR CAFE one try and you certainly will become fascinated with the music of opera and the experience that the VICTOR CAFE offers. Situated on a small side street in the midst of South Philadelphia, around the corner practically from the world renowned SAINT RITA OF CASCIA NATIONAL SHRINE, this restaurant is a precious jewel. Food choices range from the typical South Italian red sauce with bracciole to New York strip steak with fingerling potatoes. My choice for the evening was a scallop dish, advertised on the menu as a shrimp and scallop choice but as I have a shrimp allergy they gladly accommodated me by including only scallops--an excellent choice with leftovers to take home. The meal was ended with three desserts---yes for two of us---(hey, there is an advantage to skipping appetizers!!!) which were beyond fabulous. The courses of the meal were broken up with unbeatable opera snippets sung by the talented VICTOR CAFE waiters and waitresses. Our waitress, a lovely girl named CAITLYN, was one of the performers that evening and she did not fail to entertain with not only her beautiful voice; but, her theatrical ways. So even as a shot and beer person can appreciate a fine wine, non opera lovers will also quickly learn to appreciate the art of opera.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First time to Victors Cafe and it was worth it. Food was good, service was excellent, ambience was nice, great upstairs bar and lounge area, the opera singing just added to the overall experience!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fabulous dinner! Fabulous staff! Fabulous live opera! Thank you Victors!

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

LOVE this place! Had been here before on a first date, so we decided to take friends/family here from out of town because it's such a cool experience! Food is great, but what really makes it is the entertainment and ambiance! The waiters/waitresses are also opera singers (they're incredible!) not to mention the service there is always great. Don't forget to checkout the lounge area upstairs!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful! The panna cotta is so delicious, we continue to talk about it for weeks after. The singing was high caliber and entertaining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was awful. They blamed it on the bartender and staff singing which backed them up. This is their model. It's amazing they haven't figured it out yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful evening of classic Italian food, spot on service with an artistic twist, great wine and unique, historic ambiance!

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

BRAVI to the staff! Especially soprano Ms. Horwitz! Break a leg at the competition!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Thank you for the welcoming experience of good food, melodic songs and friendly staff!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The service was great, very informative and talented waitress. I will return to try other options on the menu. I couldn't decide but ended up getting the Veal Saltimbocco. It was terrific. The performances are awesome. It is truly a wonderful night out with great service, food and entertainment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.