About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Penne Prince Igor - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Ravioli Tita Ruffo - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tortelloni Bellini - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tartufo - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Arugula Salad - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Parmesan De Luca - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Calamari Fritti - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Ravioli - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Ultimate Warm Chocolate Cake - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
lasagna - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Bread & Basil Olive Oil - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Ca' La Bionda Valpolicella - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Caprese Salad - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Espresso - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Pasta - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Molten Chocolate Cake - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
veal medallions - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tiramisu - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Cannoli - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Prince Igor - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Mussels Marinara - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Veal Scallopine Al Limone - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Canneloni Stuffed With Spinach Mackarel And Ricotta Served With Rosemary Flavored Seafood Cream Sauce - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Coke - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Hazelnut Mousse - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Fried Smelt - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Beet salad with goat cheese - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Cocktails - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tosca - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (98)
Special Occasion (89)
Neighborhood Gem (82)
See All
Good for Birthdays (76)
Fun (74)
Good for a Date (73)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Romantic (65)
Historic (63)
Authentic (60)
Worth the Drive (50)
Cozy (43)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Outstanding Value (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Comfort Food (19)
Casual (18)
People Watching (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Family Style (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Scenic View (8)
Seasonal (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Business Meals (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambiance and service are second to n ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 14 hours ago

The ambiance and service are second to none!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reunion of friend.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Reunion of friend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and nice sized portio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good and nice sized portions. The service was great and the talent event better! I brought my boyfriend, who is from Brazil, and he lovED it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the Victor Cafe served up tant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

As always the Victor Cafe served up tantalizing treats and a memorable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service combined with ope ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service combined with opera from the waitstaff and a very professionally done Haapy Birthday song to our grandaughter! A fun experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the staff was mag ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent and the staff was magnificent. They are all so talented and when your server starts to sing an short aria from Rigoletto or La Traviata, you are just blown away.

As far as the food, we had a group of four and we tried the veal, pasta, and the fish and everything was wonderful.

The space is very unique being two row homes converted to a resturant and having valet parking was a joy.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff at this restaurant are al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

The wait staff at this restaurant are all opera singers and they are excellent!! They ring a bell and one of them sings an aria every 15 minutes or so. The voices when I went were outstanding. Their service is also A+. Food is pretty good Italian food, certainly reasonable. But the reason to go is for the fabulous singing.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor's Cafe is a rare gem in Philadelp ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

Victor's Cafe is a rare gem in Philadelphia! We took our mother for her 85th birthday and everything was great. The food is delicious and the incredibly talented wait staff will impress you with their command of opera. It is a great way to impress an opera lover or to begin to share the opera culture with your children in small doses!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance was second to none. A date ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The ambiance was second to none. A date night with the wife turned into an evening we will never forget. Thank you for a beautiful night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a lovely time....the food was great, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Had a lovely time....the food was great, the opera singers were amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the victor cafe for my daught ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went to the victor cafe for my daughter and my husbands birthday. It was absolutely charming. The singers are both very talented and well trained, atmosphere is warm and inviting, we love the history written in the back of the menu. Food was good also, a few more choices would be nice. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Neighborhood gem/ delicious meals/ great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Neighborhood gem/ delicious meals/ great staff/ beautiful voices- a great evening!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at this restaurant and we had ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

First time at this restaurant and we had a great time. Went with my wife daughter and a friend. Food was very good as was the service. The Singing was fun and after dinner in the upstairs lounge, we had a nice private show of some Phantom songs. Give the place a try if you are in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, great atmosphere. Great place ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Good food, great atmosphere. Great place to take out of town visitors for a taste of South Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

From Australia. Beautiful restaurant. Se ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 4, 2017

From Australia. Beautiful restaurant. Sensational food and fantastic ambience and environment. Loved it

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Historic, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor Cafe has a long standing reputati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Victor Cafe has a long standing reputation for its waitstaff, who are aspiring opera singers, and who interrupt their serving duties to hold forth with operatic arias, and occasionally show tunes. In general, their food has been less than ideal, but the experience has always been worth it. We have been there many times, and I have to say that on this last visit, they really surpassed themselves. The food was excellent --I had the Chicken Tosca, others had the rack of lamb--and the singing was about the best I've heard in many years. All in all, it was a trip down memory lane that reminded me of how wonderful those classic opera arias are. The atmosphere is classic South Philly --friendly, hard to find parking (but they have a valet service). There is also something special about having "Happy Birthday" sung by a quartet of professional opera singers!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My gf and I had an amazing dinner here. ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My gf and I had an amazing dinner here. We're from Canada and having dinner at the Victor Cafe because of the Rocky/Creed movies was on our list of things to do. We left feeling as if it were so much more. Great food and service with some talented artists which provides for great entertainment. We'll definitely come back when we visit Philly again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was NYE. It was a amazing dinner. Our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was NYE. It was a amazing dinner. Our favorite restaurant when we come to Philadelphia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor Cafe is bright, cheerful, welcomi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Victor Cafe is bright, cheerful, welcoming restaurant with excellent, friendly service, wonderful singers, food with a great value. We enjoyed dining at the Victor Cafe and will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor cafe provided a memorable New Yea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Victor cafe provided a memorable New Years Eve for our group of 5. The food, service, and ambience was all top notch. I'm looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time, the ambiance supe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a wonderful time, the ambiance superb and our waitress Caityn was fantastic. The cannoli was the best ever

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner. Food, serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner. Food, service, ambience all wonderful as usual. Our favorite restaurant. Definitely recommend it for locals and visitors. Unforgettable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely evening with good servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a lovely evening with good service and good food. Note that you shouldn't even bother trying to park on your own. Use the valet and save some time.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great options and a great wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food, great options and a great wine list. The servers/performers were absolutely fantastic. What a great night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and entertainment, all in on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and entertainment, all in one place. The food and service were great. The opera performances (every 20 minutes ) were wonderful. Plus, fans of Rocky Balboa will enjoy the location!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Caesar salad is big enough to share. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Caesar salad is big enough to share. The dinner portions are moderate. The veal piccata and Panna Cotta for dessert was delicious!

We came for the singing and we were not disappointed. Wish we had spent some time in the upstairs lounge - really neat, like a movie set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our evening was perfect. The food and se ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our evening was perfect. The food and service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. What an amazing group of talented young opera singers. Their performances were breath taking.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the burrata cheese appetizer. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We ordered the burrata cheese appetizer. It's really delicious. My husband and son ordered pasta. I got a salmon special and my daughter ordered a salad. We all enjoyed our meal. The wait staff all sing opera. It's a really cool restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A progressive South Philly Italian menu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A progressive South Philly Italian menu with a thoughtfully assembled wine list consisting of many good value wines. That in of itself would be reason enough to dine, but the ongoing performances of arias by the wait staff make the overall dining experience something even more memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I love this restaurant. I ordered a gift ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I love this restaurant. I ordered a gift card on line, it showed up in the mail promptly, and elegantly presented, and from there on everything was excellent. The service from the waiter, the singing of all of the waiters, the food was excellent, the decor is fun and cozy, it is just a really neat place to go out, that is very different. We brought out of town guests and they loved it as well. I highly recommend this place, it get's better every time, if that is possible..

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always enjoyed VICTOR CAFE and l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have always enjoyed VICTOR CAFE and look forward to returning many times. Good value for the food and great singing from the wait-staff.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We purposely stayed in Philadelphia just ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We purposely stayed in Philadelphia just to go to this restaurant. The food, performances and ambiance exceeded are expectations. The staff is extremely talented. My husband is a huge Rocky fan and was impressed with the homage to the film even though the restaurant had been operating for many years before the film. So happy and grateful that places like this still operate with enthusiasm and tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and awesome entertainment!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great meal and awesome entertainment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great night, good food and entertainment

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great night, good food and entertainment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything! The food was great, t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Loved everything! The food was great, the service wonderful, and the entertainment fabulous. They offer valet parking so you don't worry about having to find a place to park. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We did our xmas party for a small office ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

We did our xmas party for a small office (4 of us). The food was good and the prices very reasonable considering the entertainment. The servers that sang had very good voices and it was really enjoyable and different then just listening to music in a restaurant. They sang about every 15 min. so their was plenty of time to talk in between and we looked forward to hearing each singer. It was also fun having a waiter that also sang opera. It was also nice to have valet parking in front.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Wonderful atmosphere and good warm talen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere and good warm talented staff. Parking is a bit if an issue if you don't like leaving keys but otherwise a wonderful dining experience with lots of history warmth and charm.

Lots of specials: )

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent atmosphere, perfect service, r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent atmosphere, perfect service, really great food, romantic and perfect for a date or special time with family and friends the singing was perfect. I will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value. Enjoyed our evening . Singi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great value. Enjoyed our evening . Singing was awesome. Went during the Holidays because my son was home but can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food, good portions, and g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Italian food, good portions, and great opera singing by the waiters and waitresses!! Relaxed dining, you are not rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.