About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday 5:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m. Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: 2154683040

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Value
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
4 More
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
Best Value
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in South Philly ›

special occasion (166)
neighborhood gem (135)
romantic (134)
See All
good for groups (81)
fit for foodies (77)
notable wine list (40)
hot spot (30)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (12)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, service excellent a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious, service excellent and opera singers were amazing. Will be returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be missed

Dined on May 22, 2016

Quaint old school vibe Italian. Food was a cut above average, but the singing was amazing. I would go back if they were serving peanut butter and jelly ! Waitstaff were friendly and professional. Our server Jennli (sorry if that was misspelled), is ridiculously talented and charming. Everyone who sang was just great. Can not wait to go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a cool experience. I had friends i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Such a cool experience. I had friends in Philly from out of state (NC) so I wanted to do all authentic Philadelphia things mostly for the weekend. This hit the spot. How neat was it, the restaurant décor was so South Philly, the singers were awesome and the food was pretty good too. Mine was OK, but my friend's cannonelli was SO GOOD. just

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is incredible. The service is ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is incredible. The service is on point. And what can I say about the singing-- ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Totally Enjoyable

Dined on May 21, 2016

OMG! I don't know when I've enjoyed dining out this much. The food was very good, the service was very good, and the singing servers were spectacular. I had mentioned that it was my sister's birthday and a group of servers sang an operatic version of "Happy Birthday" that she absolutely loved. The whole experience was totally enjoyable and I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had reservations for 6 O'clock, and e ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had reservations for 6 O'clock, and even though we got there a bit early we were able to be seated immediately. We dined on the upper level and were impressed by the singers ability, as well as them being able to include both rooms as they performed. Seems like any table is a good one. My wife had the Prince Igor (Penne in vodka blush sauce with salmon and asparagus, topped with caviar) and it was both unusual, delicious and plentiful! I had the linguini with white clam sauce, it was flavorful, but a bit light on the clams. Overall it was a wonderful evening for a reasonable price considering both food and wonderful dining entertainment! I shouldn't forget to mention the valet parking, a wonderful service on a rainy night in a crowded neighborhood.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Victor Cafe is such a unique experie ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Victor Cafe is such a unique experience. You're just not going out to dinner , you're going out for a dining experience. On this occasion we had two people over the age of 86 and the staff could not have been more accommodating and attentive. It's worth the travel if you are outside of the Philadelphia area and a must-go for those close by.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot! Don't miss this place.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great spot! Don't miss this place.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love Victor Cafe. Went with a friend a f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love Victor Cafe. Went with a friend a few years ago... had to bring my sisters back! Ambiance is wonderfully fun--especially for those who have an appreciation for music. Great "experience" restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd seen the clip on channel 3 some week ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I'd seen the clip on channel 3 some weeks ago and immediately booked a reservation...I've rarely been so well entertained...the service was excellent...the overall ambiance is excellent...the operatic quality of all your servers was so impressive...both as servers and operatic singers...so, I'm hooked on Victor...I'll b back on June 1st with more friends...three plus me this time...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

The pros: the singing was wonderful, the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The pros: the singing was wonderful, the chicken was tender, the dessert was good, the noise level was reasonable The cons: I asked about an alternative to pasta and was offered vegetables in sauce or oven roasted. I chose oven roasted. My entire meal came out soaking in butter sauce. My husband's pasta dish was also about 2 inches deep in butter sauce. Although the vegetables were crunchy I specifically did not ask for butter sauce and they were swimming in it. We were not offered bread ( had to ask for it) and our waiter never asked if we wanted coffee. Won't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Table for two on second level. Perfect ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Table for two on second level. Perfect Dinner: split arugula salad, I had homemade filled cannolieini best I ever had Veal dish for hubby... Enjoyed favor but wasn't very warm Bread pudding. Rich, filling but yummy Singing was lovely Come early to enjoy your meal and singers. We arrived at 5:30 and the pace was perfect. By the time we left at 7:30, it was getting very busy. Thanks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Singers were awesome!!! Food was great, ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Singers were awesome!!! Food was great, service was excellent!! Super fun place!!!

food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was very disappointing. Entree was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Entree was cold. Fortunately the performance and service made up for it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a fun place to dine. Waitors an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a fun place to dine. Waitors and Waitresses sing short opera pieces throughout the experience. The food is good but not extraordinary. Its a very good place to come with a group because of the varied menu and entertainment. I had the seafood risotto which was underseasoned and more like a soup than a risotto. It was overpriced at $32. There were many choices that were less expensive and may have been a better value.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic and jenelli was great. All of ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic and jenelli was great. All of the staff was warm and friendly from the moment we walked in. Can't wait to share it with more people...thanks!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our second visit and it was outstanding!

Dined on May 10, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 3 year wedding anniversary and Victor's did not disappoint. We had one of the best two tops in the house and it was busy for a Tuesday night. The table was perfect to see all the opera singers performances. The food is wonderful! I cook all the time and know quality food. Everything was beyond our expectation from appetizer wine(fair priced good quality bottles) entree to dessert. We were curious to see how it would stand up to our first visit which was on a Saturday night. Our second visit was even better than the first. I highly recommend Victor's and can't wait to go back. Whoever is cooking in the kitchen needs to hold cooking classes I would love to know some "Italian Mama" cooking secrets!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on May 8, 2016

Its been several years since I visited The Victor. It did NOT disappoint! Love the lounge upstairs. I heard its been there several years now, but it tells you last time I was there.. Italian bread and pesto gives a warm feel but the real charm is the entertainment! One of them is better than the next. All crazy talented, humble and friendly. I was a regular there for years and moved out of the area. Glad I came back for a special occasion. If you dont like this place there is somethin wrong with you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing place with amazing singing as in ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing place with amazing singing as in opera.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great south philly gem - very authentic ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great south philly gem - very authentic cuisine. Service and talent of the staff is outstanding. Great for something different - not just a restaurant. It is worth going a little early prior to reservation to enjoy the upstairs lounge, when opened.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

make sure to order dessert.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was excellent and I like to break my neck trying to look at all the pictures on the wall. The singing was superb and make sure you hang on to our waitress......Caitlyn. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Fun

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to Victor's for a farewell dinner for a good friend who is moving. It is classic South Philly; the food was fantastic. Upstairs bar is a must-see. Go early and just relax in the upstairs lounge/bar while you wait for the table. Our bartender was extremely knowledgeable about the wines and made great suggestions. When we went downstairs, he was one of the singing waitstaff performers. All of the waitstaff/singers were incredible. Don't go if you don't want to stop your dinner and listen to heavenly music. It was such a treat and made the evening very special.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Very pleased with the ambiance of the cafe, but surprisingly disappointed with the food. Our appetizers were great but the meal itself left a lot to be desired. Vegetables just seem like they were blanched and not cooked thoroughly, but for my main course my date had chicken which was cold, and as for me my steak was not cooked to my specs. For the portion of the meal I thought it was pricey.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

The food is good, homey Italian. My h ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The food is good, homey Italian. My husband's pappardelle was delicious - he is still talking about it. But the best part of coming to Victor's is the singing. Our waitress was so amazing that we waited for one more aria from her before we left, even though we had been finished for some time!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great for special occasion

Dined on May 4, 2016

I took my daughter for her birthday. it was her first experience with Victors. she was blown over by the beautiful arias and the overall experience. food was very good, very flavorful and abundant. I would go back in a heart beat and she would too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on May 3, 2016

We had a great time in Victor Cafe. We really enjoyed the singing We would definitely recommend that place

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a Great Good Time

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The food's not bad. But, plenty of places in Philadelphia have better Italian-American fare. You go for the musical ambiance. The waitstaff give forth every 20 or so minutes with an assortment of your opera favorites. It's a very entertaining evening that leaves enough time "entre act" to enjoy the company of your fellow diners. This time I was there on a weeknight. It's a little more intimate - though it lacks the energy of the weekend crowd.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Victors is very special and a unique experience.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The servers are all talented operatic singers whose talents are a rare treat to hear. I will return to Victors whenever I am in Philadelphia. Be sure to remind the staff if there is a birthday in your party. You'll never hear "happy birthday" sung so beautifully. They even have some gluten free dishes. Loved the tomato and basil salad, braciole, and the lemon sorbet. I didn't know sorbet could be so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You must go here!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Seriously, this was one of my best dining experiences we had in a long-time. Everything was simply fantastic: the drinks we had in the upstairs lounge while waiting on our table (which was ready 5 minutes early on a Saturday night); the food (calamari and clams casino apps, various entrees, and desserts); old-school South Philly Italian restaurant atmosphere; and superb servers who just so happen to also sing opera. Truly loved this place and look forward to a future visit the next time we are in Philadelphia.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

You must go and try it out.

Dined on April 30, 2016

I took my beautiful date here and the waiters and waitresses were just amazing. They sing every 15 minutes and besides the romantic atmosphere the food was very good and pretty reasonable dollar wise. I highly recommend it if you want somewhere romantic to take someone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Some of the best Italian food I have eve ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Some of the best Italian food I have ever had ( and I'm Italian!). And the Opera singers were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bravo!

Dined on April 29, 2016

I love The Victor Cafe. The music was amazing as always and the food was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Taste For your Palate and Your Mind

Dined on April 29, 2016

The Victor Cafe provides a perfect dining experience to enjoy delicious Italian food and to listen to incredible opera from your wait staff. It is enchanting and delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taking friends & colleagues is a shared memory.

Dined on April 27, 2016

I have always taken friends and colleagues to Victor's Café as it is a shared experience that leave them with great memories. Most had never experienced singing waiters and waitresses from many different genres. The food is exceptional. The many pictures on the walls of past performers was a delight for us older individuals which brought back great memories from our childhood. Also, the row house brings a comfort to your surroundings. Irene Wells

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is delicious.

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food is delicious, the service is fast and efficient, the singing is beautiful and I enjoy it every time I go. Truth be told...they have the best pesto on earth, it should be packaged and sold.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was fabulous.

Dined on April 24, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Victor's for his birthday. I have been there several times, but this was his first time. The atmosphere was great. Our waitress could not have been nicer or more efficient. As usual, the singing was absolutely beautiful. He enjoyed it so much, and so did I. The food was delicious and not overpriced for what you get (including the entertainment).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant ever! The wait staff sin ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Best restaurant ever! The wait staff sing beautiful arias every 20 minutes!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely

Dined on April 23, 2016

The purpose of our visit was because of the famous Rocky films. For my husband's birthday, we took the trip to Philly to see the sites from the movies. This restaurant was amazing. The food was delicious, the wine menu was long, and the service was spectacular. And to put icing on the cake, the staff sung opera! I have never been to a restaurant where that was the norm. It truly was a unique experience, and they all sung beautifully. I would recommend for birthdays and anniversaries or a romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Never experienced anything like it! The food was amazing, but the servers/performers were outstanding! Very talented individuals.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on April 22, 2016

First time there. We were visiting from New Orleans. Would definitely visit again if back in Philadelphia

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.