Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Victor Cafe

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week by talented professionals as well as students.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Cocktail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (115)
Live Music (103)
Good for a Date (99)
See All
Good for Birthdays (95)
Neighborhood Gem (94)
Fun (91)
Romantic (91)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Authentic (71)
Worth the Drive (67)
Cozy (44)
Good for Groups (41)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Casual (31)
Notable Wine List (29)
People Watching (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (14)
Historic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first visit to the Victor Cafe and I will definitely be back. The food was outstanding and the service was fantastic, a little slow at times but it was a Saturday night and they were very busy. But the singing by the wait staff just made the night perfect, the way that they tell you about the song before they sing with a little bit of humor at times was just great. Everyone in there has an amazing voice. I had a beet salad with gorgonzola cheese that was delicious, their homemade bread with the dipping oil was also a nice touch. To top it all off, they all gathered around me and sang Happy Birthday to me like it has never been sung to me before.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The singing is amazing and the waiters/singers are wonderful. The food is average but you don't necessarily go there for the food. We loved the upstairs lounge which reminded us of an old time brothel. Very cute!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Kaitlyn was wonderful. This has always been my favorite restaurant (and we always bring out of town guests here) and we took my in-laws there for the first time and they LOVED it. It really made their trip to Philly worthwhile. A requested arias was even performed/sang for my mother-in-law. It brought tears to her eyes. Thank you Kaitlyn for making our/her night!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

What a great place! Even though we expected it to be wonderful, it was above our expectations. Great atmosphere, stylish interior, food as tasty, as it can be. And REAL Opera singers, that do their magic right in front of you!!! Wanna go there again, and not once.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The Victor Cafe was perfect in every way. The food was amazing, the staff was attentive and friendly and the music was superb!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I took a friend for his birthday since he has a lifelong love of music. It was the perfect way to celebrate. The staff is friendly, competent, and they can sing. Perfect. The food was good and the bartender made great cocktails.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Super bonne ambiance. Tres different des restos que l'on connait. L'opera est super

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The Victor Cafe was a recommendation by another friend. Definitely worth the experience and the food. I would go again.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Enjoyed the evening. Great Speakeasy in the 2nd floor. Bartender was very busy. The wait staff all sing opera so their rendition of Happy Birthday is superb.
We had at least 6 -7 sing a particular song.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A terrific experience at The Victor Cafe once again! Well worth the drive from South Jersey. The bartender at the lounge bar, John, was terrific, even providing us with a history of The Victor Café. Our server, Shanley, was outstanding! She was sweet and very attentive and what a beautiful voice she has. Kudos to John, Shanley and to the entire staff at The Victor Café.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was my first visit back in about 35 years...and was as pleasantly impressed as I'd been years ago. The food is authentic Italian (this is South Philly after all!) and the added entertainment from the Opera students is quite impressive. Our friends were awed and said they'd have a hard time topping this for our next night out!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Soyons clair, si vous souhaitez sortir de l'ordinaire des restaurants peu chers, ou BCBG, trendy et autres tendances, alors venez-vous faire plaisir en cet endroit sorti du temps...

Une cuisine italienne délicieuse et fabuleuse, un service attentionné et efficace, une ambiance sans pareille, avec une surprise que je vous laisse découvrir, mais qui, à elle seule, vaut le déplacement...

Beaucoup viennent pour le resto de Rocky, dont il ne reste aucune trace, tous repartent avec les yeux brillants, emplis d'images, de sons, et de saveurs...

Si c'est votre anniversaire, et/ou de mariage, faites le savoir à l'arrivée...

Prix: $$$ sur $$$$$

Bien à vous et viva l'amore...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My wife and I had not been to Victor for more than 21 years, before we were married. We have lived in DC for the last 16 years. We went to celebrate our 21st anniversary and our visit exceeded our expectations. We knew that the staff all sang opera (or in one case a selection from My Fair Lady), and they were all terrific. Our server, whose name I don't have in front of me (but who comes from Havertown and went to Temple University) was terrific. She was attentive but not intrusive and genuinely seemed to enjoy making our visit memorable. The icing on the cake was our dessert that we ordered, an awesome zambaglione, she topped with a candle, called the room's attention to our anniversary, and played an Al Jolson waltz, inviting us to take the floor, which we did.

My experience with Victor both past and present as to cuisine is mixed. My wife had a seafood picante which she really liked. We enjoyed an excellent Italian wine, wonderful caprese, and the incredible dessert. My veal picante had a bit less flavor than I would have liked but was still very good. Another nice touch was lots of Italian bread with the requisite oil with basil for dipping, but also butter for the oddballs like me who prefer it.

All in all it was a very memorable evening, thanks to our wonderful server and the overall ambience. We look forward to returning. Another note is that prices were reasonable. Most entrees were in the low $20's and even the best steak was only about $36. We appreciated the specials, which included our dessert. This is a wonderful place to let your thoughts wander across the sea to Italy, to enjoy your meal slowly in the Italian way, and if you just happen to go on your anniversary, drop a hint and enjoy an anniversary waltz.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great 👍
Finally made it there
The food was tasty and the singers were amazing

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Absolutely breathtaking... It was everything I could have imagined and more. I went to a show later that evening and both of these events, the meal before and the show itself, they both stand as equally memorable and worth the entire trip.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Absolutely brilliant! Any rocky fan would love this place, be sure to check out the upstairs bar with all the rocky memorabilia. If you are not so much a rocky fan you should still check it out. The opera trained waiting staff are amazing! Service can be a little slow but with the singing you don't really notice and it's not necessarily a bad thing. We had a great night and enjoyed every minute.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place was outstanding. I'm no food critic and believe me I don't have a sophisticated palette. But, I enjoy my fair share of Italian fare, like the usual Maggiano's or Bucco Di Beppo, even Olive Garden.... Can't say I've had a bad meal at any of those places. But, the Victor Cafe took me right back to two weeks I spent traveling in Italy the food was like being back there. I can't say that about the others. It was authentic. Bravo Bravo

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a most pleasant surprise. I thought I was booking a very good South Philadelphia Italian restaurant and we got instead an excellent dining and entertainment experience. We rebook for later this month.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I have been going to Victors for over 30 years. Never, ever disappoints. I bring customers from around the world to Victors and they all look forward to Victors when they return to Philly. Great for date nights too. The décor, food and drinks are tops. But nothing beats the opera singers who also wait tables. They not only sing but also act out the scene. Great combination that makes everyone an opera lover. If you've never been to Victors, you must go once. After your first visit, you will be hooked.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Such an incredibly fun dinner experience with some of the most delicious Italian food ever. Everything we had from the bread to the saltimbocca was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Just delightful. Great food and drinks. All the waiters and bartenders are trained opera singers. During dinner we probably heard 5 solos including our waitress. I chose a glass of red wine that I ended up not liking. They replaced it with glass of a different red that I liked. No charge. The place has a great vibe. Inspiring. We will go back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

As always The Victor Cafe did not disappoint! My friends took me here for my birthday and we enjoyed delicious food whilst enjoying the laid back atmosphere. The highlight though is always the opera singing. Don't miss this dining treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great ambiance and amazing italian food, we went to take my parents there who were visiting from out of town! Had a wonderful time listening to the music and enjoying a delicious meal.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

One word, AMAZING! The food, the music, and the service were all excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great atmosphere, good music and good food. Excellent place to spend an evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

ONE of th best Italian restaurant in Philadelphia and the live Opra singing will give you chills a great evening

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Grandparents and grandchildren off for a special dinner after the art museum. The music a surprise for the musical teenagers. Mix it with excellent food and a truly great night had by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Amazing. The best meal I have ever had. The singing was so beautiful. Will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The Victor Cafe is unlike any dining experience that I have ever had. We chose The Victor as our final dinner for one reason and that was because it was the film location of Adrian's in the Rocky franchise. The food and wine selections were impressive but the highlight of the evening was definitely the talented waitstaff. Their voices, their service, and their personalities were second-to-none and their arias were simply amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was a perfect setting for our special day! Loved the singing and food was delicious! Will be returning for sure!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Go for the experience. The servers do a wonderful job with the Opera. The food was good. Unfortunately we were seated right next to the bus stand so there was a lot of noise from dishes being dropped in the bus pans.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

the food was great and the singing was wonderful; for a really unusual evening go to the Victor Cafe

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Amazing food, outstanding service and a great value. We were blown away by the opera singing, would never have guessed just how talented those staff folks are. Great night, great food, great fun. Don't miss it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have been there several times but it has been a while. Took my niece and her fiancé for a celebratory dinner. This isn't your normal place, it is truly an experience that all should try. Not everyone is into Opera and it isn't over done but a nice twist to a nice dinner out.

I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A very special dining experience. I came with my roommates as our last meal before we would end up on different continents. We mentioned this on our Open Table reservation and we're so glad we did. As we were leaving, the waiters sang a trio song that means "safe travels." We were pleasantly surprised - actually, ecstatic. Not to mention the food was good and the service was very attentive. We ordered the Prince Edward Island mussels in white wine, linguine with clams in spicy marinara sauce, linguine with clams in white wine sauce, and Prince Igor penne with salmon and caviar. Since I'm lactose-intolerant I was able to replace vodka blush sauce in the Prince Igor with marinara sauce. The restaurant also has vegan and gluten-free and is flexible for your dietary needs.

For dessert we had the moscato custard and warm chocolate cake with gelato. The moscato custard had an unexpected foamy texture, and encompassed that sweet, characteristic moscato flavor. The warm chocolate cake was comparable to a lava cake. Also, at $34 per person after tax and tip, this special experience was priced quite reasonably.

Be prepared for a relaxed and slow meal. We spent three hours here listening to the waiters sing arias and birthday songs. For one couple that was celebrating a wedding anniversary, Victor's has a tradition of playing an anniversary waltz song and inviting the couple to dance. So lovely and cute.

The second floor is also a cozy jazz lounge with a bar. Also, the restaurant has been around for almost 100 years and one woman celebrating her 90th birthday hadn't been here since the 1940s. I'll definitely be back for special occasions with special people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I have never had such an amazing experience in a restaurant before. The live music was amazing, the waiters were so friendly and good people to talk to. The food was something I never tried before but definitely will try again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We had a wonderful time. A truly unique experience. The music, food, and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Love opera? Love great food? This is the place for you! While you dine you get to hear the classically trained staff stop and sing for you while you dine on delicious Italian food.
This is a once in a lifetime place for a once in a lifetime experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great ambiance! Great food! We really enjoyed our early supper, especially listening to the operatic performances every 15 minutes or so. Highly recommend this little neighborhood gem to anyone looking for a unique dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Dinner was excellent. This was my third visit and it was perfect. Loved talking to the staff and learning what is next in their careers. Perfect place to get dinner and entertainment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.