About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday 5:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m. Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: 2154683040

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Tita Ruffo
Penne Prince Igor
Tortelloni Bellini
Arugula Salad
Tartufo
Chicken Parmesan De Luca
Calamari Fritti
Caprese Salad
Lobster Ravioli
Bread & Basil Olive Oil
lasagna
Ultimate Warm Chocolate Cake
Ca' La Bionda Valpolicella
Espresso
Pasta
veal medallions
Molten Chocolate Cake
Mussels Marinara
Prince Igor
Veal Scallopine Al Limone
Tiramisu
Cannoli
Canneloni Stuffed With Spinach Mackarel And Ricotta Served With Rosemary Flavored Seafood Cream Sauce
Coke
Hazelnut Mousse
Fried Smelt
Beet salad with goat cheese
Tosca
Cocktails

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
3 More
Best Value
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in South Philly ›

special occasion (150)
neighborhood gem (120)
romantic (112)
See All
good for groups (88)
fit for foodies (66)
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (23)
kid-friendly (18)
late-night find (15)
great for lunch (11)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Friends took my husband and I for his bi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Friends took my husband and I for his birthday, so I cannot comment on the bill nor the value. It was very enjoyable, and the staff was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This Philadelphia classic is an old time ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

This Philadelphia classic is an old time favorite of visitors and locals. The waitstaff sings while the diners enjoy typical italian fare. It has been a favorite in Philly for over 80 years. The hearty food is typical of the era from which it came but the daily specials are new and exciting. Don't miss this restaurant but be sure to make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely singing voices...not too many or ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely singing voices...not too many or too long...perfect. food very good. Would love to see gluten free pasta on the menu too!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Music, Bad Service Waiter should st ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Good Music, Bad Service

Waiter should stick to singing

Messed up order

Was too busy singing to check on how kitchen messed up the orders. Wrong salad, wrong side dish, and poor food. No follow up and we got tired of waiting for him to come back and fix it.

We also had to move out of our seat three times as the table next to us was too close and they had no room to get to their seats without us getting up to let them in.

Beyond the singing waiters, this place had nothing to offer. What a disaster!

If you want singing, go see a show. If you want service, don't go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Loved it so much the first time we came ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Loved it so much the first time we came back with friends who are now huge fans. We will be back. We especially love the upstairs lounge where we sat on the gorgeous comfy setee's and enjoyed after dinner drinks, great music and conversation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been here in years. Took some o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had not been here in years. Took some out-of-town guests for a unique Philadelphia experience. Everyone loved it. We wanted to go back again the next night!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very romantic celebration, the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had a very romantic celebration, the food was very good we will return again and again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

ThisplaceisamazingItwasatreattonotonlyea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

ThisplaceisamazingItwasatreattonotonlyeatgreatfoodbuttheserversbeingoperasignersaswellwasadelightfulsurpriseThankYouForAWonderfulTime

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such an amazing experience! I do have to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Such an amazing experience! I do have to say if you don't appreciate the art and depth behind opera, do not come to this place. All the staff on the floor are classically trained opera singers and they sing every 15-20 minutes. I LOVED it. The voices were so beautiful and they get really into it. The service was fantastic and food was delicious. It was also one of the owners birthdays so they brought out a cake and sang to him and his guests actually started passing out the cake to everyone! It was just a very warm, positive experience. And the upstairs bar is so cool! Highly recommended, well done Victor Cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kaitlyn was very attentive and treated m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Kaitlyn was very attentive and treated my friend exteremely well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Victor was amazing. A good friend hi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Victor was amazing. A good friend highly endorsed the restaurant both for their food and the wait staff periodically perform an opera aria. The food was excellent and the aria's were absolutely wonderful - and we're NOT opera fans - in fact have never attended an opera. A unique experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Reserved same night and they were quick ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Reserved same night and they were quick to respond when we requested early arrival. Entertaining environment with talented waitstaff who also sing. Ordered the Fra Diavolo and it was hot and spicy! Delicious food. Looking forward to my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been recommending The Victor sinc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I have been recommending The Victor since I first enjoyed it several years ago. I will no longer do so. While the voices were still wonderful, the food was tasteless, the service was inattentive and unenthusiastic.

This was my "go to" restaurant when in Philly. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

This was not just a nice dinner, it was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was not just a nice dinner, it was a fantastic dining experience. The atmosphere, service, and food were all top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Victor Cafe is a must for me wheneve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The Victor Cafe is a must for me whenever I visit Philadelphia. I love the singing waiters and waitresses - and am grateful for such excellent entertainment. This trip I learned of the association of the Victor Cafe with the Rocky movies. What a great story! Now I must see those movies again!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unlike any other! The Victor Cafe was am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Unlike any other! The Victor Cafe was amazing. Authentic feel and the entire staff sings opera while you eat. It's out of this world. Will be back many more times!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm from Italy, i knew this restaurant o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I'm from Italy, i knew this restaurant only for movies Rocky Balboa and Creed but i'm very happy to had dinner here because this location is "magic". Food, singers, ambiance, All the One

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a fantastic dining experience. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was a fantastic dining experience. A perfect mix of conversation, ambiance, and music. Not the place if you just want conversation, but if you are looking for a mix, this can't be beat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience was great! I wen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The overall experience was great! I went with my two teenage children and they loved it! The food was among the best I have ever had. We were a little skeptical of the opera-theme (we are not opera fans), but it was a nice touch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant and unique atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and unique atmosphere! I am the third generation in my family to enjoy the food, ambience, and music at the Victor Café. Could eat here once per week if I lived in Philadelphia, but I do not. Eager for my next visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I highly recommend the Victor Cafe. The ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I highly recommend the Victor Cafe. The service was great and the food was incredible. We were all highly impressed with the opera singing and professionalism of the entire staff. They were all so talented. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, elegant, old-school Italian. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent, elegant, old-school Italian. Food was wonderful, service great. The opera singers are very talented. Great neighborhood gem!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here on Thursday, 7/7/2016. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were here on Thursday, 7/7/2016. The atmosphere, the service , drinks, food , entertainment, yes, entertainment was amazing. Food was delicious! For appetizer we had the fried smelts. For dinner we had a pasta with brachole, meatballs and sausages that was very tasty. The meat melted in your mouth. We also had the Pork Chop cooked on a brandy sauce with apples and garlic mashed potatoes that was to die for! Every 20 minutes a different waiter or waitress sang an opera song and this was a real treat. We had an amazing time. Dinner was excellent and entertainment too. Will definitely go back when in Philladelphia.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great presentation of Italian Culture ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A great presentation of Italian Culture and Heritage. The close seated environment has an effect of family and acceptance with all dining, yet an extreme reality of privacy. All of that coupled with an ambiance of a live Opera (actual performances every 15 min.) that soothes the atmosphere with poetic influences. A professionally conditioned staff and that was cordial and prompt during every visit. Everyone is seemingly robotic in their functions, as they operate in a well organized unit.

It's a great experience and as an Food Critic I give them 5 stars for a great service given. This is now one my favorite Philadelphia Restaurants to visit... as a matter of fact My Only being that I am a resident of New Jersey.

Jah Muhammad

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine in Philly! Went the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great place to dine in Philly! Went there because my son is a Rocky fan, and this is the location used for "Adrienne's" restaurant. However, it's much more. Really delicious, authentic Italian food. And the quality of the opera singing is truly high. Not just "waiter singers," but true singers. Fun, historic place, and beautiful lounge upstairs for couples. (But probably don't hear the singers up there.) Son said it was the best meatball he'd ever had. I agree.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is my third time this year at Victor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It is my third time this year at Victor Cafe and my family and I enjoy the place and the singing immensely, as well as the food

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

For music lovers, this was an awesome ex ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

For music lovers, this was an awesome experience! Our waitress was friendly, helpful and super talented!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. Food is good. Li ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love this restaurant. Food is good. Live music is excellent. Unic.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and fun experience. Our serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food and fun experience. Our server was very attentive to us; making sure our experience was the best. Thank you to Luciana(?) aka Lucy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an outstanding and entertaining din ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

What an outstanding and entertaining dining experience! Food was terrific, traditional southern Italian. The ambiance is wonderful, like an Italian restaurant from a 1950s movie with red & white table clothes and pictures on the wall. And then the opera singing staff. This is no amateur hour, these are trained singers who serenade the room. Overall - excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You guys are my favorite! Everything is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

You guys are my favorite! Everything is outstanding. I brought my elderly father there. Really the only improvement I might float is to lower the noise level when the singers aren't performing. It is hard to hear for older people in that space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice ambiance of old Italian rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Really nice ambiance of old Italian restaurant. Genuine. For opera lovers. Really great food and singing.

We have loved it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must try at least once place. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a must try at least once place. The food was pretty good. We really liked the seafood risotto. And the opera sinsing was very entertaining and great singers.

The tiramisu was okay.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!! Beautiful music and great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place!! Beautiful music and great food. Plus a hidden gem upstairs! The lounge on the second floor is amazing. Go there either before or after the meal for a cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an awesome experience. Enjoyed th ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was an awesome experience. Enjoyed the opera singing during meal. Never been to an opera but it was fun listening while you ate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the cozy atmosphere, the food and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Loved the cozy atmosphere, the food and the performances. Staff was very friendly and service timely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fabulous! We had the speci ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was fabulous! We had the specials, sole stuffed with crab and the veal chop. While both were amazing, the veal was not listed on the printed specials so we ordered not knowing it was $45!!! Good thing it was amazing as it probably was not twice as good as the sole.

The opera singers were just incredible. Overall it was a wonderful dinner with really cool entertainment all located in a very historic environment. Come early and have a drink upstairs before dinner. The bar should not be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was great! Great service, gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Everything was great! Great service, great food, and very nicely decorated. The music was loud and took some getting use too but I do enjoy classical and opera.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was Adrians in the Rocky ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This restaurant was Adrians in the Rocky film, same lay out and even had the painting of Apollo and Rocky on the back wall. The waiters all sing classical music between servings and our lovely, talented Patricia sang us a beautiful love song to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. A real gem of a restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was fantastic.

The servers singing every 20 minutes in opera gave me goose bumps. I would definitely go there again. Loved everything about it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.