Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Victor Cafe

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week by talented professionals as well as students.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Cocktail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for a Date (93)
Live Music (93)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Fun (80)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Romantic (73)
Authentic (60)
Worth the Drive (55)
Cozy (40)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Good for Groups (31)
Casual (29)
Comfort Food (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
People Watching (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

The servers had the most amazing voices and were charming too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to take anyone new to Philadelphia. A unique experience. Always a hit

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great to come here. We come after work every time we are in Philadelphia. Great history too.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Such a unique and authentic experience. This was our second time and we can't get enough of this place. It is such a fun place to bring friends and family. The first time I went, my food was average, but the second time it was excellent. Either way, totally worth it for the fabulous experience. Highly recommended!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, awesome service, and loved the opera singing!

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Over rated
Who serves white wine without an ice bucket?? They do
Food overrated
Calamari was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

excelente restaurante , por fuera no parece gran cosa pero por dentro sorprende la comida y el ambiente muy acogedor! me encantó

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went for my mother’s 80th birthday and it was a fantastic experience. The food was good and made with quality ingredients. However, the live opera sung by the staff made it a special.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We had a great time!!!!!! great food great service great time

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great place, fantastic food, live opera singing by the servers, very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Fantastic experience! Loved the food and loved the opera! Cant't wait to go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Singing was superb. Food was much better than i remember years ago

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Exquisite cuisine, fabulous food, excellent service, and a gifted way staff serving up professional arias from beautiful operas every 20 minutes! A delightful surprise.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Very good food and wine, also the opera songs in between was great and professional done.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Lived in philly my whole life. Always wanted to go and finally did for my for my mother-in-laws 83 bday.
A great experience !
Would definitely recommend for romantic dinner or special occasion.
Great opportunity for tourist to get a feel for an authentic red gravy south philly restaurant experience with a twist of opera

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Victor Cafe is an experience! If you love Opera and Italian food, it's for you

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Live opera sung by classically trained wait staff makes this neighborhood Italian restaurant noteworthy and special. Food is also delicious.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

My husband and I went Saturday for a date night and at first we thought it was so loud. But then a waitress starting singing opera in the middle of the floor. We were amazed and continued to settle into the atmosphere.The food was really good, we really enjoyed the mussels, my arugula salad was kinda boring. I ordered the ravioli and loved it, my husband got the clams with white sauce and said the sauce was too citrusy. I think we will definitely go back, for the music and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Good food. Very talented singers. Everyone was so pleasant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and entertainment! Hope to return soon with more family and friends!
Thank you!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Lovely historic neighborhood Italian restaurant with operatic singers. Excellent wine list great food, love the whole fish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

It was a wonderful evening; good food, excellent service and electrifying entertainment!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Although the food and drinks are not so great, the ambiance and live opera singing allows you to overlook those small deficiencies. Definitely will continue to return

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Perhaps the best restaurant to celebrate a birthday or an anniversary. Please don't accept people with children, it's a nuisance when the singer are performing and the kids overpowering with the crying or raising their voices. Other Victor Cafe is the best!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I always love going to Victor Café. Took a few out of town business guests, and they LOVED it! And were raving about it the next day.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

First of all, the other reviewed were wrong. The scallops were perfectly cooked. The service was outstanding. My date was so surprised when our AWESOME server suddenly got up to sing. Their singing was nothing short of phenomenal. My date order a chicken dish. I orders shrimp and scallops over linguini. Pasta was perfectly prepared. Wine list was extensive (mostly Italian wines). Desert was great. Cannoli was crisp...perfect.

The decor has an ambiance of old world. Upstairs (where the bathrooms are) was a surprise. So warm and inviting. With a second bar and couches and fire place. I would definitely entertain business clients there, have a family night out, or a special occasion date. I loved it. And so did my difficult to impress date. Bravo!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

live opera from the waiting staff. Fantastic food

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I'm still astounded at the quality of service from genuine opera singers! Fantastic set-up with servers taking turns singing their favorites, singing the most amazing happy birthday chorus. And serving their tables. A bonus is sitting in the bar area upstairs and hearing them sing downstairs before or after dinner. One of my best restaurant experiences ever!

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Absoloutely tremendous atmosphere. A unique experience with wonderful food and service to accompany.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service was bad, singing was good. Frozen shrimp and tasteless sauce ruined the linguini special. Mussels in red sauce was dynamite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

This place was a great find for our weekend getaway to Philly. The wait staff was super-friendly and we LOVED the arias. They were also really patient with us and our two year old who was still learning dining and theatre etiquette. I had the ravioli, my husband had the chicken piccata, and our son had some penne. All the dishes were excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We went here for my son's birthday. Everything was wonderful except one thing...I made reservations through Open Table stating that we were celebrating my son's birthday in the special request box. I assumed the restaurant would know that. Apparently it is not relayed to the restaurant or was overlooked, therefore there was no singing Happy Birthday to my son when his dessert arrived. I was disappointed in that fact.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

This is a fascinating place. I love everything about it. The staff is wonderful and very talented. It's like be in someone's home. This was my third time there and each time I have brought someone with me who had never been there. The people I bring say they will tell others and come back. I will go again and again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quick Bite, Casual, People Watching, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Vegan, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

A lot of fun and a real treat. Give it a try for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Always a good meal with good service and the singing servers are phenomenal. Good place to take out of town business colleagues. Parking is always a challenge so just best the valet.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. Thoroughly enjoyed the waiters singing. Prices very reasonable. I would definitely go back and recommend this place to anyone!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

It was great! Already made another reservation to bring family. The singing was unbelievably good. Food good, service was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

outstanding !!! a must visit !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The "opera" entertainment was fabulous ! The staff were so congenial and service was prompt.
Food was ok. Valet parking was much appreciated ! Clean bathrooms-always a plus !

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Victor's does not disappoint. The food is excellent and presentation was just like a gourmet picture. The service was exceptional and the talent of the servers is equalled only by their attention to their customers. All in all a great evening.

Tags: Live Music, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.