About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday 5:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m. Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: 2154683040

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Ravioli Tita Ruffo
Penne Prince Igor
Tortelloni Bellini
Arugula Salad
Tartufo
Chicken Parmesan De Luca
Calamari Fritti
Caprese Salad
Lobster Ravioli
Bread & Basil Olive Oil
lasagna
Ultimate Warm Chocolate Cake
Ca' La Bionda Valpolicella
Espresso
Pasta
veal medallions
Molten Chocolate Cake
Mussels Marinara
Prince Igor
Veal Scallopine Al Limone
Tiramisu
Cannoli
Canneloni Stuffed With Spinach Mackarel And Ricotta Served With Rosemary Flavored Seafood Cream Sauce
Coke
Hazelnut Mousse
Fried Smelt
Beet salad with goat cheese
Tosca
Cocktails

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Value
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
3 More
Best Value
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in South Philly ›

special occasion (152)
neighborhood gem (126)
romantic (116)
See All
good for groups (86)
fit for foodies (69)
notable wine list (36)
hot spot (31)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (12)
great for lunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

What an outstanding and entertaining din ...

Dined 2 days ago

What an outstanding and entertaining dining experience! Food was terrific, traditional southern Italian. The ambiance is wonderful, like an Italian restaurant from a 1950s movie with red & white table clothes and pictures on the wall. And then the opera singing staff. This is no amateur hour, these are trained singers who serenade the room. Overall - excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

You guys are my favorite! Everything is ...

Dined 4 days ago

You guys are my favorite! Everything is outstanding. I brought my elderly father there. Really the only improvement I might float is to lower the noise level when the singers aren't performing. It is hard to hear for older people in that space.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice ambiance of old Italian rest ...

Dined 5 days ago

Really nice ambiance of old Italian restaurant. Genuine. For opera lovers. Really great food and singing. We have loved it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must try at least once place. ...

Dined 5 days ago

This is a must try at least once place. The food was pretty good. We really liked the seafood risotto. And the opera sinsing was very entertaining and great singers. The tiramisu was okay.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!! Beautiful music and great ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place!! Beautiful music and great food. Plus a hidden gem upstairs! The lounge on the second floor is amazing. Go there either before or after the meal for a cocktail.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was an awesome experience. Enjoyed th ...

Dined 6 days ago

It was an awesome experience. Enjoyed the opera singing during meal. Never been to an opera but it was fun listening while you ate.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the cozy atmosphere, the food and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Loved the cozy atmosphere, the food and the performances. Staff was very friendly and service timely.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was fabulous! We had the speci ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The food was fabulous! We had the specials, sole stuffed with crab and the veal chop. While both were amazing, the veal was not listed on the printed specials so we ordered not knowing it was $45!!! Good thing it was amazing as it probably was not twice as good as the sole. The opera singers were just incredible. Overall it was a wonderful dinner with really cool entertainment all located in a very historic environment. Come early and have a drink upstairs before dinner. The bar should not be missed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great! Great service, gre ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great! Great service, great food, and very nicely decorated. The music was loud and took some getting use too but I do enjoy classical and opera.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful and the food w ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was wonderful and the food was fantastic. The servers singing every 20 minutes in opera gave me goose bumps. I would definitely go there again. Loved everything about it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant's staff are all opera si ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant's staff are all opera singers. Every 20 minutes one of them performs an aria. Most are really good. If you like opera, and your conversation can bear interruptions, it's fun, fun, fun. The food is good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

There is a reason Victor Cafe has been a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

There is a reason Victor Cafe has been around almost 100 years. You can expect good, solid Italian food with attentive service. The highlight, of course, is the beautiful voices of the waitstaff who serenade the diners every 15-20 minutes with arias from various operas. Even my two 20-ish children appreciated the music. If you want a real treat, go there to celebrate a birthday. You've never had "Happy Birthday" sung to you more memorably.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal, atmosphere and entertain ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent meal, atmosphere and entertainment. What voices the staff has!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Unique, charming, we took out of town gu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Unique, charming, we took out of town guests and they LOVED it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a FABULOUS time! Old World ambien ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a FABULOUS time! Old World ambience. Wonderful food. Amazing Servers. Attentive and efficient service from beautiful people who sing beautiful arias BEAUTIFULLY! I took my husband to The Victor Cafe as a surprise celebration of his birthday. We ordered 2 wines, I martini. We shared a perfect arugula salad and, later, a splendid homemade taramisu (with candle and group operatic happy birthday song). The marinara sauce of the Fra Diablo was Incredible! The delicious Chicken Piccatta was tender enough "to melt in your mouth." Our bill was only $110! Overall, this was a memorable joy for us both -- and - of course - we plan many return visits! Thanks, Victor's!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I went for a date on Fr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I went for a date on Friday night. It was lovely. I felt like I was on vacation or transported somewhere else. The ambiance and the singing is amazing. We shared a delicious salad to start and both had very good entrees. Dessert was very good as well. Highly recommend as a special night out.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good. The main take away i ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was very good. The main take away is that the waiters and waitresses sing opera. They each sing a solo, about every 15 minutes there's a song. Upstairs is a cool bar area.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful choice for a great m ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

This is a wonderful choice for a great meal and entertainment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SIng along

Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a fun time at Victors the food and service were very good and the prices were very reasonable. The singing made for a fun night.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

ok

Dined on June 2, 2016

At here with my son who is a massive Rocky fan. He absolutely loved everything about the place. I enjoyed the ambiance and friendliness of the staff. The food, American red-sauce "Italian" was nothing special- but again, my son thought it was great. The singing staff were great- if not a bit distracting. All in all, my son had a great time, which means I had a great time. Don't get there for the foodie factor, go for fun.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful unique experience. Loved heari ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful unique experience. Loved hearing the arias. The food was excellent as well.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute restaurant with great food and ambiance

Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant is cute with a local feeling. The food was good. Every 20 mins the servers sing an opera song. All of the servers are classically trained. You will need a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My son and I took my Mom for mothers day ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

My son and I took my Mom for mothers day and we had an time my 18 year son has asking to go back every since lol and my mom absolutely loved we back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, service excellent a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Food was delicious, service excellent and opera singers were amazing. Will be returning soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be missed

Dined on May 22, 2016

Quaint old school vibe Italian. Food was a cut above average, but the singing was amazing. I would go back if they were serving peanut butter and jelly ! Waitstaff were friendly and professional. Our server Jennli (sorry if that was misspelled), is ridiculously talented and charming. Everyone who sang was just great. Can not wait to go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Such a cool experience. I had friends i ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Such a cool experience. I had friends in Philly from out of state (NC) so I wanted to do all authentic Philadelphia things mostly for the weekend. This hit the spot. How neat was it, the restaurant décor was so South Philly, the singers were awesome and the food was pretty good too. Mine was OK, but my friend's cannonelli was SO GOOD. just

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is incredible. The service is ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food is incredible. The service is on point. And what can I say about the singing-- ABSOLUTELY AMAZING

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found The Victor Cafe just by going t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We found The Victor Cafe just by going to Open Table and seeing what was open the time we wanted to go to dinner and had a good rating. We are so excited that we chose to go there. Everything from the moment we walked in was great. We had no idea what to expect with the music but we loved it and not sure what we enjoyed more, the singing, the food, the atmosphere or just the great service of the staff. There was four of us that went and after dinner we went upstairs to the lounge and enjoyed some nice dessert and music. I also want to mention I have a gluten and dairy intolerance and they were extremely accommodating. It was a great night and I'm looking forward to the next dinner we have there!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Totally Enjoyable

Dined on May 21, 2016

OMG! I don't know when I've enjoyed dining out this much. The food was very good, the service was very good, and the singing servers were spectacular. I had mentioned that it was my sister's birthday and a group of servers sang an operatic version of "Happy Birthday" that she absolutely loved. The whole experience was totally enjoyable and I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had reservations for 6 O'clock, and e ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had reservations for 6 O'clock, and even though we got there a bit early we were able to be seated immediately. We dined on the upper level and were impressed by the singers ability, as well as them being able to include both rooms as they performed. Seems like any table is a good one. My wife had the Prince Igor (Penne in vodka blush sauce with salmon and asparagus, topped with caviar) and it was both unusual, delicious and plentiful! I had the linguini with white clam sauce, it was flavorful, but a bit light on the clams. Overall it was a wonderful evening for a reasonable price considering both food and wonderful dining entertainment! I shouldn't forget to mention the valet parking, a wonderful service on a rainy night in a crowded neighborhood.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Victor Cafe is such a unique experie ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Victor Cafe is such a unique experience. You're just not going out to dinner , you're going out for a dining experience. On this occasion we had two people over the age of 86 and the staff could not have been more accommodating and attentive. It's worth the travel if you are outside of the Philadelphia area and a must-go for those close by.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot! Don't miss this place.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great spot! Don't miss this place.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love Victor Cafe. Went with a friend a f ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love Victor Cafe. Went with a friend a few years ago... had to bring my sisters back! Ambiance is wonderfully fun--especially for those who have an appreciation for music. Great "experience" restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd seen the clip on channel 3 some week ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

I'd seen the clip on channel 3 some weeks ago and immediately booked a reservation...I've rarely been so well entertained...the service was excellent...the overall ambiance is excellent...the operatic quality of all your servers was so impressive...both as servers and operatic singers...so, I'm hooked on Victor...I'll b back on June 1st with more friends...three plus me this time...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I visited here with my friend. It was my ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

I visited here with my friend. It was my birthday night, and they sang Opera version of Birthday song. Their food was kind of unique which means its not common compared to the other restaurants, and their service as well. The servers who were singing opera was impressive. The price of the food was okay too. I would love to visit this place again!

food3
ambience3
service3

The pros: the singing was wonderful, the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The pros: the singing was wonderful, the chicken was tender, the dessert was good, the noise level was reasonable The cons: I asked about an alternative to pasta and was offered vegetables in sauce or oven roasted. I chose oven roasted. My entire meal came out soaking in butter sauce. My husband's pasta dish was also about 2 inches deep in butter sauce. Although the vegetables were crunchy I specifically did not ask for butter sauce and they were swimming in it. We were not offered bread ( had to ask for it) and our waiter never asked if we wanted coffee. Won't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Table for two on second level. Perfect ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Table for two on second level. Perfect Dinner: split arugula salad, I had homemade filled cannolieini best I ever had Veal dish for hubby... Enjoyed favor but wasn't very warm Bread pudding. Rich, filling but yummy Singing was lovely Come early to enjoy your meal and singers. We arrived at 5:30 and the pace was perfect. By the time we left at 7:30, it was getting very busy. Thanks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Singers were awesome!!! Food was great, ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Singers were awesome!!! Food was great, service was excellent!! Super fun place!!!

food2
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was very disappointing. Entree was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Entree was cold. Fortunately the performance and service made up for it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This is a fun place to dine. Waitors an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is a fun place to dine. Waitors and Waitresses sing short opera pieces throughout the experience. The food is good but not extraordinary. Its a very good place to come with a group because of the varied menu and entertainment. I had the seafood risotto which was underseasoned and more like a soup than a risotto. It was overpriced at $32. There were many choices that were less expensive and may have been a better value.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.