About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday 5:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m. Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: 2154683040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Penne Prince Igor - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Ravioli Tita Ruffo - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tortelloni Bellini - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tartufo - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Arugula Salad - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Parmesan De Luca - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Calamari Fritti - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Ravioli - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Ultimate Warm Chocolate Cake - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
lasagna - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Bread & Basil Olive Oil - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Ca' La Bionda Valpolicella - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Caprese Salad - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Espresso - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Pasta - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Molten Chocolate Cake - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
veal medallions - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tiramisu - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Cannoli - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Prince Igor - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Mussels Marinara - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Veal Scallopine Al Limone - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Canneloni Stuffed With Spinach Mackarel And Ricotta Served With Rosemary Flavored Seafood Cream Sauce - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Coke - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Hazelnut Mousse - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Fried Smelt - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Beet salad with goat cheese - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Cocktails - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA
Tosca - The Victor Cafe, Philadelphia, PA

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
3 More
Best Value
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in South Philly ›

Special Occasion (110)
Live Music (97)
Romantic (89)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (88)
Good for a Date (81)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Fun (70)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Historic (61)
Authentic (55)
Worth the Drive (49)
Good for Groups (37)
Cozy (34)
Comfort Food (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Casual (22)
Outstanding Value (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
People Watching (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Family Style (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Scenic View (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tremendous authentic Italian with incred ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Tremendous authentic Italian with incredible ambiance. The operatic wait staff is incredibly talented, with service and even moreso with voice. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in Phila ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant in Philadelphia. The music is just wonderful and the wait staff are great and the food is good. We just love it- thank you!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent and the service w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The meal was excellent and the service was attentive

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very fun dining experience. All servers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very fun dining experience. All servers are trained opera singers and perform about every 20 minutes. Beautiful, powerful voices. Authentic Italian food, the fried smelts are a must!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took my parents to Victor Cafe for di ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We took my parents to Victor Cafe for dinner. They loved it, both the music and the traditional Italian food. We all were really stuffed on the way home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

So much fun and the food was delicious. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

So much fun and the food was delicious. Our waitress was very nice and had a beautiful voice.

Don't listen to opera much, but totally enjoyed the arias and other tidbits of music. Loved that each singer told about what she/he was about to sing.

I don't think you could leave without being amused.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the opera arias very much! Th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoyed the opera arias very much! The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. These talented young people are amazing! I highly recommend this place for a unique dining and music experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A trip to the Victor Cafe is a special o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

A trip to the Victor Cafe is a special occasion even for those who do not love music. We had a mixed group with many who did not realize they were opera lovers. All loved the evening. The food was creative. My salad superb.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I had not been to Victor Cafe in decades ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had not been to Victor Cafe in decades but was happy to share it with my husband when we were visiting Philadelphia. It is charming with the wait staff singing arias and art songs. And the food was delicious. It's a gem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We spent thanksgiving here and it was ve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We spent thanksgiving here and it was very memorable!!!

What a great place

99 years and counting!!!!

A must GO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is simply a must if you are in Phil ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is simply a must if you are in Philadelphia. The food is great, the welcome really friendly, but - and this is the whole point - the phenomenally talented staff sing operatic arias every 20 minutes. They are brilliant and make a meal here an occasion. We enjoyed Thanksgiving here and will remember it forever. Indeed we are already planning a return trip to Philly, just to go to Cafe Victor. Magic.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very impressive! Can't wait to go back. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very impressive! Can't wait to go back. The food was awesome, the ambiance was great and we loved the singing. I highly recommend this place for any special occasion. Thrilled that we just moved to the neighborhood, it will become one of our favorite spots!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am from Philadelphia, enjoy authentic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I am from Philadelphia, enjoy authentic cultural experiences, attend opera, and enjoy dining with family and friends. So what could be better?

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Authentic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended. The Victor Cafe is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Highly recommended. The Victor Cafe is a one-of-a-kind restaurant that is not to be missed by anyone visiting Philadelphia. It is tucked away on a narrow street in South Philly.

The Food and service are outstanding and the ambiance is genuinely unique. A feature that sets Victor apart is the wait staff who are also aspiring opera singers. In addition to serving your table they also sing operatic solos which are one of the high points of any dinner.

Victors was also featured in the movie Creed. The painting on the back wall was commissioned for the movie and remains in the restaurant to this day. In the movie, Victors was called Adrians.

Also not to be overlooked is the upstairs bar. The sitting area is a nicely appointed and a very relaxing venue for after dinner drinks and conversation.

My wife and I make a point of dining at the Victor Cafe every time we are in Philly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Magical - What a great experience ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Simply Magical - What a great experience - I want to extend my gratitude to all the staff in particular our server Luciana for her outstanding service and grace. Not to mention all the talent from all the staff!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't been to the Victor Cafe in a dec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Haven't been to the Victor Cafe in a decade, so pleased to know it hasn't changed at all. One of my 10 favorite restaurants in the world! Great food, and a unique enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great 'old school' Italian and that is a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great 'old school' Italian and that is a compliment. The food, the atmosphere and most notably, the service is fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A unique experience. Ambiance is great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A unique experience. Ambiance is great for the musicians among us. Hearty food ideal for pre-marathon meal, but menu features much more than pasta . Would definitely revisit and have already recommended to a friend.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Live Music, Family Style, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Victor Café is our favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Victor Café is our favorite restaurant. We are never disappointed by the food, service and atmosphere. Thank you for a beautiful evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Historic, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed this small intimate se ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We really enjoyed this small intimate setting with lots of history--a fun time!

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Philadelphia for a convention ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were in Philadelphia for a convention. My dad told me about this restaurant that he visited many years ago. It is still amazing - good food, wonderful singing, great service, cozy.. can't wait to come back next time in Philadelphia!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The talent of the staff was extraordinar ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The talent of the staff was extraordinary. What an experience! The icing on the proverbial cake was the quality of the food and the cost. Plus amazing wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiters and Waitresses sing opera for cu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Waiters and Waitresses sing opera for customers during diner. Some of the staff have excellent voices. While the food is good, it is the opera and music that make the visit to Victor's and exceptional experience.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Victor café was a ton of fun. Great food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Victor café was a ton of fun. Great food and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to any friend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a fun night out! All of the wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It was a fun night out! All of the wait staff are trained Opera singers. Great food with great music!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fabulous food, fabulous service, fabulous singing! What a great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a delight all around! The very ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was a delight all around! The very unassuming wait staff break into the most fabulous opera every 15 minutes or so. They are incredibly talented, devoted and just wonderful!

The food was EXCELLENT! Highly recommend everything!

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night Out Been to the Victor, now ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great Night Out

Been to the Victor, now, about 8 or 10 times over the years. Sometimes you have to wait for your table. But, that's OK. The upstairs bar is so pleasant that you may not ever get downstairs. The food is reliable traditional Italian-American well executed and has improved over the last few years. But, the highlight is the operatic talents of the wait staff. Every 15 min or so they ring a bell. The place gets quiet and one of the wait staff presents a piece of classical opera or, occasionally, something from a Broadway musical.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good, great service, and wonderful enter ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good, great service, and wonderful entertainment made a very special evening!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

After coming to the Victor Cafe many tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

After coming to the Victor Cafe many times with my wife, she chose it as her restaurant of choice for her 50th birthday. I made reservations online and noted it was her birthday. I followed with a phone call to remind them it was a special occasion and I wanted her to have the happy birthday aria before I gave her a very special gift. The person on the phone was not all that friendly stating "yes, we already know, it's written on your reservation", etc. Not a big deal to me I was just happy that they had the request.

The server comes to take our dessert order, I ready my camera under the table to video her expression, and the servers comes back and places the two cannoli and coffee in front of us and says enjoy. I stopped her, asked where the song was? She said no one told her, and that she would get someone to talk to me. My wife was disappointed but kept smiling, I didn't. We waited nearly 30 minutes for someone to come, the entire time listening to no less than three happy birthday arias at the tables around us. I realized as we were finally approached, it was the host, who was just walking around singing with the ensemble. Ok, I understand you sing with the others, but maybe a response to me prior to that would be appropriate? Maybe not sing a few birthday songs and tend to the person waiting patiently for you? She said it was her mistake in a half hearted apology and she'd like to offer our desserts comped. I was beside myself. First, I know that if it's your birthday they bring you out a cannoli anyway, so I was being comped for my cannoli at 6.00. That was the we'll make it right solution? It was an insult and was treated as such. So now the annoyance on the phone with the "we already know sir", stings more. It ruined the evening, her 50th and I left with 6 extra dollars in my pocket. Poor customer care. Be apologetic, don't be insulting. And maybe, just maybe, sing to the lady wearing a tiara... it's probably her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was excellent. I am not an opera fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was excellent. I am not an opera fan but the arias were beautiful. My entire group of six enjoyed the evening and will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and service are superb. Excitin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food and service are superb. Exciting to have staff break into operatic song.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Authentic, Hot Spot, Historic, Live Music, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had so much fun at Victor Cafe this p ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had so much fun at Victor Cafe this past Saturday night. We went with friends to dinner and were not sure what to expect. What a nice experience we had. Food was great, the entertainment was festive and enjoyable, and overall the atmosphere made you feel happy!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived early and were directed to th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We arrived early and were directed to the upstairs bar, where there was a comfortable atmosphere and well prepared cocktails. Once seated in the dining room, there was quite a bit of background noise, but not enough to dampen the enjoyment of the wide ranging arias. These are very talented singers. The food was delivered in a timely fashion and the Italian dishes, specials and everyday menu items were very well prepared. We are already planning a return visit.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique experience for opera arias and go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Unique experience for opera arias and good food. Good value for a pleasant dinner.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The second floor has a great waiting roo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The second floor has a great waiting room with a bar. The ambiance of the whole place is great and this is by far my favorite restaurant! The music is a gem and the food delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I was pleasantly surprised by the ambian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance of the victor café. The singing was a real treat. The food was amazing and the wait staff were friendly. They new their stuff too. Meals were suggested and were spot on. I will defiantly visit again.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Opera sung with joy by wait staff while ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Opera sung with joy by wait staff while enjoying dinner. Great fun.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Victor Cafe was a wonderful experien ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The Victor Cafe was a wonderful experience. Thoroughly enjoying even though I am not an opera buff. The food was fantastic!! I look forward to brining "out of Towners" there!

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, wonderful entertainment, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fabulous food, wonderful entertainment, we loved the singing servers!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.