About The Victor Cafe

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday 5:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m. Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: 2154683040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Penne Prince Igor
Ravioli Tita Ruffo
Tortelloni Bellini
Tartufo
Arugula Salad
Chicken Parmesan De Luca
Calamari Fritti
Lobster Ravioli
Ultimate Warm Chocolate Cake
lasagna
Bread & Basil Olive Oil
Ca' La Bionda Valpolicella
Caprese Salad
Espresso
Pasta
Molten Chocolate Cake
veal medallions
Tiramisu
Cannoli
Prince Igor
Mussels Marinara
Veal Scallopine Al Limone
Canneloni Stuffed With Spinach Mackarel And Ricotta Served With Rosemary Flavored Seafood Cream Sauce
Coke
Hazelnut Mousse
Fried Smelt
Beet salad with goat cheese
Cocktails
Tosca

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
Philadelphia
3 More
Best Ambiance
Philadelphia
Romantic
Philadelphia
Special Occasion
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in South Philly ›

Special Occasion (142)
Romantic (113)
Neighborhood Gem (112)
See All
Good for Groups (76)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (32)
Live Music (30)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Kid-friendly (21)
Fun (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (17)
Historic (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Late-night Find (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (10)
Casual (9)
Family Style (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Scenic View (5)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice place. Good opera singers and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice place. Good opera singers and good food and service?

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a onderful experience. Spectacula ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a onderful experience. Spectacular singers seem also to be well trainer waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding! Everything is great - exce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding! Everything is great - except - you always run out of Clams Casino - my favorite!!

Will definitely return soon with more family members - as we are always raving about your restaurant!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best recommendation EVER! ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was the best recommendation EVER! We were in town for a conference and asked the hotel concierge for a recommendation with good food, good wine and good atmosphere. This was his first choice. I love the history, the servers were entertaining, talented, friendly and fun. I had tears in my eyes after one song and the next was giggling. The talent blew me away and everyone loved working there. BRAVO!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Victor Cafe on Philly vacation a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Visited Victor Cafe on Philly vacation and everything was outstanding. Delicious appetizers, entrees, & desserts, lovely atmosphere, beautiful opera arias. Excellent service and good value. Highly recommend the Victor Cafe.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My very favorite dining experience-ever! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

My very favorite dining experience-ever! Was there 20 years ago and was just as blown away and thrilled with all facets again-fabulous!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Upstairs Lounge decor wreaks of ambi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Upstairs Lounge decor wreaks of ambiance ~ subtle lighting, comfy furniture and a Full Bar, complete with a singing bartender! We arrived earlier than our reservation and we were seated at a table PRONTO! Very accommodating. The homemade Pesto was so delicious, as was the homemade bread! Fresh! Fresh! Fresh! Loved the singing servers! Victor Cafe is a restaurant on our "keeper" list!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chicken picatta and cannelloni were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The chicken picatta and cannelloni were delicious. Calamari very crisp. Great service and loved the singing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

of course the service is impeccable and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

of course the service is impeccable and fun! if you love classical music (operatic arias specifically), this place is perfect. they sing every 20 minutes. the feel of the restaurant is a classic Italian "mom and pop" so if you're looking for new age ambiance, this isn't it. this is classic Italian roots historical spot, also the backdrop for Adrian's restaurant from the later Rocky movies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely amazing experience ! excellen ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Absolutely amazing experience ! excellent food, staff, atmosphere. Highly recommend to everyone and every occasion :)

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. It was like going to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was excellent. It was like going to see dinner and a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Victors exceeded all expectations. We h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Victors exceeded all expectations. We had marvelous time and food! Will return again when back in philly, PA again

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was great! Somehow stumbled a ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This place was great! Somehow stumbled across this gem on Open Table. The food was great, but the experience was even better. Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So much fun seeing you waiter sing opera ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

So much fun seeing you waiter sing opera. Food is wonderful too

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!! Would definitely go back agai ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Amazing!! Would definitely go back again. Great memories !!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. Music is opera arias the wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food. Music is opera arias the waitstaff sing. Which was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You would think that with the great perf ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

You would think that with the great performances and wonderful ambiance, they could get by with lackluster food - but the amazing thing is that the food is good too! Makes for a magical dinner experience!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Been going to Victors for at least 40 ye ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Been going to Victors for at least 40 years. It never disappoints. Great place to bring the family to introduce them to opera. And we love the food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Family Style, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A really fun evening with great singers. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

A really fun evening with great singers. And the food was good too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place. Great talent good food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Loved this place. Great talent good food. Had never gone before and wasn't expecting to hear such fantastic opera. Will definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go for out of town guests Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Must go for out of town guests

Food was great and really friendly "philly " atmosphere

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here - amazing. Everything. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Second time here - amazing. Everything. Food, service, singing. Phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The whole experience was superb. Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The whole experience was superb. Food was excellent as was the staff. The entertainment was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cafe Victor is a true Philly original. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Cafe Victor is a true Philly original. The Italian food is excellent, and everything stops approximately every 15 minutes, and the staff sing opera. It's great that the customers respect the singers, and everyone is quiet and listens to the music. Don 't go if you're in a hurry. You need to just relax, enjoy the food and enjoy the music. It's a great place for a special occasion or a romantic dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff was fantastic. Not only d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The wait staff was fantastic. Not only did ours make great recommendations and serve us perfectly she sang two opera songs. What a voice! Then I told her we had a birthday and recent marriage to celebrate. One waiter then sang a romantic tune and then 8 servers came over with a candle in a slice of cake and sang happy birthday in harmony. Awesome. And oh by the way the food was great and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must in Philadelphia. Super f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a must in Philadelphia. Super friendly staff. Classically trained singing staff. Really fun. Great dining experience all around!

Tags: Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a great neighborhood gem and we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was a great neighborhood gem and we are so glad we found it! The food was excellent and it was such a great experience. All of the aria was great and we saw at least 6 different ones while we were there. The service was mediocre but it's to be expected since the waitress/waiters are also performers. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Opera singers were outstanding A real tr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Opera singers were outstanding

A real treat for a night of dining out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We took our friend there for her birthda ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We took our friend there for her birthday. It was her first time and she loved it.

the singing was grand as always, and the service was impeccable. Everyone who likes opera should go at least once. If you don't like opera go anyway, it will be a great time. Arias between courses, what's not to like?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We're not from Philly, hotel recommended ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We're not from Philly, hotel recommended and we're so glad they did. The minute we walked upstairs to the bar and found something of a favorite aunt's parlor in the 50s, we knew it was special.

Food was delicious, server a bit scattered, but adorably apologetic. All the wait staff are singers and the quick bits of live music during dinner was memorable.

Just go. Wish it were in my own neighborhood!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my first time to Victor's in ma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was my first time to Victor's in many, many years. It did not disappoint. It was the first time for two members in our group and they said they would return. Love the valet service

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitresses andstaff arefabulous. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The waitresses andstaff arefabulous. The singing is terrific. They need to work on the quality of food. For the price quality of food missing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal and ambiance. Wonderful singe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great meal and ambiance. Wonderful singers. Very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visited for an anniversary celebratio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We visited for an anniversary celebration before going to the Wells Fargo Center for a concert. What a treat this was! Truly a special place. Perfect for celebrations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

In town for the Streisand show. What a f ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

In town for the Streisand show. What a fabulous restaurant, great service from Evan, the Caprese salad, the fig and prosciutto salad, the braciole and the dido and Aeneas entrees were outstanding. Dessert was panna cotta and cannoli with expertly brewed cappuccinos.

All of the wait staff sang arias from Puccini and other operas with obvious trained voices. It was a true show with one if the best Italian meals I've had anywhere including Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We remembered Victor from a visit to Phi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We remembered Victor from a visit to Philly more than 10 years ago. In town for a chemists' national meeting, we had the opportunity to introduce a spouse to the experience. We came for the opera and were pleased that the cuisine exceeded expectations. Great fun and food - what's not to enjoy.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was great !!!!!!!! from service to food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Was great !!!!!!!! from service to food ........ HOPE TO GET BACK SOON !!!!!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by a good friend in Philly. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Recommended by a good friend in Philly. The food was very good, but the opera singers were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at Victor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Victor Café. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the staff made us feel very special. The food was outstanding from appetizers to dessert. I highly recommend Victor's Café. Can't wait to go back. The bill was very reasonable which included cocktails before dinner and a bottle of wine during dinner. Very reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very unique experience with the opera si ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very unique experience with the opera singing wait staff! I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.