The Victor Cafe

4.8
2308 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Live Music
  • Good for a Date
The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

PLEASE NOTE: Multiple reservations made for the same party cannot be seated together. To book large parties that are not available by default on OpenTable, please contact the restaurant directly.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Seatings available:
Sundays 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday-Thursdays 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Fridays 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturdays 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Upstairs lounge and bar open Friday through Sunday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 468-3040
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Cocktail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Broad Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live opera seven nights a week by talented professionals as well as students.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine
What 2308 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.8
service
4.8
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The food, service, and singing was amazing. As Santa Fe NM Opera enthusiasts, my wife and I thoroughly lovey the exoerience!
Cudos to all who made our night wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Music + Food + Service = A truly wonderful experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I LOVED THIS PLACE! I mainly dined here for Adrian's Cafe in the Rocky franchise but after learning a little bit about the history of this place, it grew on me even more! It used to be a record store and famous singers would dine at this location. All the waiters are trained opera singers! I was able to hear 2 of the singers but what I heard was breathtaking, made me stop-eating-my-food great! My waiter, Tyler, was nice and helpful with my decision making in food and explained what was being offered to me! Great atmosphere as well. There were pictures all around of famous people and had an Italian ambiance. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The food and service are amazing! The upstairs lounge is a cool spot to hang out in before and/or after your meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

It was everything we hope for- the food was great the singing was impressive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Lucille (?) from Argentina, was fabulous. Both for her service and her stunning singing voice!! And the food was fabulous, and an especially excellent value given the talent that was lavishly on performance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

A tasty and entertaining experience. Friendly staff and good wine list.
Accommodating to different requests.
A place not to miss when in Philly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Amazing restaurant- the ambience, the opera singing, the food- everything was great! This time we even got a parking spot right across the street.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

From meeting in the bar for pre-dinner drinks to the meal to dessert.
With entertainment in between, excellent place. Food was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Loved every second

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Wow. We had such a wonderful, memorable evening. I left the comment "Celebrating a wedding engagement" on my Open Table reservation and said nothing more. The dining experience was just outstanding. When the desserts came there was a candle in my daughter's, along with a "Congratulations" from Aubrey. We all thought that was great. But then a waiter dedicated a love song to them. We were all holding back tears, it was so beautiful. Thank you so very much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great singing talent, attentive staff and good food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We were there to celebrate my daughter high school graduation. Food was delicious and very pleasant atmosphere. A lot of of historical pictures on walls. I have learned that Rachmaninov was there. I would recommend for every occasion and without any occasion. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Longtime Philly resident. Have been meaning to go here for years. Finally made it here with my wife and daughter who was in from out of town. The food was superb. I particularly loved the clams casino. The operatic entertainment was excellent.
I will be here again when my son and daughter in law are in from out of town in the next few weeks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We had a great night celebrating my dad’s birthday! He’s always wanted to go here and was not disappointed. Great food. Great service and amazing vocalists!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great service ,Good food.Nostalgic atmosphere.Terrific singers.Overall great experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

My wife, a Rocky fan, and I had gone for the experience and our first wedding anniversary. I didn't have any expectations, but was totally blown away by the atmosphere, food, and staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

There were several beautiful soprano arias sang during dinner; however, there was only one tenor aria. Overall, it was terrific. See you next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great night. Service was wonderful and the opera Aria’s were outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The food, atmosphere, service, and performances of wait staff was EXCELLENT. We couldn't have found a better place to fete my mother in law's "60th"Birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The best meal with entertainment in all of Philadelphia. And to think we wouldn’t have known a thing about it if it hadn’t been for our Uber driver the day before. Well done

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Honestly it was everything that I expected it to be after reading all of the wonderful reviews. The quality of the singing exceeding my expectations, and the ambiance was cozy and fitting, and the food was delicious and worth what I was paying. The two of us split an appetizer, two entrees, the lemon sorbet dessert, a cappuccino and an espresso. The total was about $91

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

First time visit , everything was excellent will be sure to return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

I live in NJ and when I come to Philly I always go to Victor's. I love the entertainment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Fabulous entertainment & delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Fantastic - this is a very special place. Perfect evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great night out with my wife and family. Excellent service and ambiance. Our server Rachel was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Old school, old school, old school. A classic South Philly italian, tucked into a residential neighborhood. Classic menu with some surprises (fried smelts!), and opera to boot. Much fun!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

A must do in philly , we had no clue what we were in for but it was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Amazing!!!
Every 15 minutes another member of the staff sings a beautiful aria! It’s so cool! The food is delicious 🤗

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

This was my first time. I highly recommend the restaurant for special occasions - especially birthdays. Food was great - Opera singing added to the special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

The opera singing was wonderful. And the food was excellent. The restaurant does not try to jst get people in with the singing.
My only complaint is the lack of frequency of the singing. It is advertised as every 15 to 20 minutes, and the average time between was closer to a bit more than 25 minutes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Victor Cafe is always a wonderful experience, great food and fabulous entertainment. Try to get there at least once a year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Truly a unique Philadelphia hidden treasure, although I hope you are an opera lover. The high energy singing wait staff are truly a treat, and sing without amplification, which is my definition of a singer. The place has been here forever, and I wish it another forever! Never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Have dined at the Victor Café several times. Always excellent. Love the exquisite Italian cuisine served with a side of opera. Outstanding talent of singers. I live in Georgia and visit once yearly in Philadelphia. The Victor Café has become a tradition for my "adopted family", the Catholic Sisters.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

For a century, patrons have been coming to The Victor Cafe to enjoy opera -- first as a gramophone shop and for the past 40 years for the singing waiters. An operatic solo every 20 minutes is wonderful, and the Italian specialties are perfectly prepared too. Generous entres, delicious wines, exciting performances -- and valet parking in this neighborhood gem. Make a reservation and come celebrate. It's hard to beat a small chorus of opera singers wishing you a "Happy Birthday" as it should be sung!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

The Victor Cafe is always a great night. The voices were amazing. Don't forget to visit the upstairs lounge, Adrian's. It's quaint and a great place to have a drink before or after dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed everything about this place...highly recommend going there. ..
We will be back again. ..
Thank you for a memorable evening <3
Gina and Jimmy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This is one of the most unique dining experiences I've ever had. Recommended by a friend, we made reservations and sat at a tiny little table in the back room on the ground floor. I was there with my aunt on a girl's getaway to Philly. The food was delicious - I had the crab stuffed ravioli with saffron cream sauce which was of course rich and comforting. We shared some crostini and a salad for appetizers as well. And I just had to take a cannoli to go, as I was too full to eat it there, but it made for a mighty tasty breakfast. The real draw and thing that will take this from just a great meal to an unforgettable experience was the opera. And when I say opera, I mean opera. The voices will bring tears to your eyes. And they are your servers so you have a good rapport with them already and then they just unexpectedly burst into this opera. Our server, Y'annelle was this amazing soprano and I'm not kidding - her voice is just so powerful, yet effortless. You're not allowed to film them at all while they are performing so this is just a memory I get to keep for myself, which kind of makes it nice too. They perform solos and together as a group. This is the one place I actually wouldn't mind being sung Happy Birthday to (and there were several). I don't know if this is just a place for them to make extra money while they are trying to make it as performers or what the deal on that is. And the place is bigger than you think it is too - there's a whole upstairs that is worth checking out. It's nestled in a cute little neighborhood, off the beaten path. A real gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Second visit and again not disappointed. The food is delicious and the wait staff is friendly and talented.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
58