Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Victor Cafe

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week by talented professionals as well as students.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Cocktail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (104)
Good for a Date (104)
Special Occasion (102)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (92)
Romantic (91)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Good for Birthdays (83)
Historic (82)
Fun (77)
Authentic (63)
Worth the Drive (61)
Cozy (43)
Good for Groups (37)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Outstanding Value (19)
Comfort Food (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (15)
People Watching (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good and enjoyed by both parties. Will come again

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful local Italian restaurant where all wait staff are opera singers and stop to sing every 20 minutes. Wonderful voices. A great evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

As always, a delicious meal and wonderful entertainment! Took my 10 year old daughter and she was so impressed with the Opera performances!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Incredible opera performances by all the waitstaff. Not to me missed in Philly! And the food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter dinner at Victor Café last weekend and it was a truly wonderful experience.
All of the wait staff are opera singers and around every 20 minutes one of them rings a bell and explains what they are about to sing.....incredibly moving ! The food was terrific and there is an amazing cozy cool lounge upstairs. I would for sure recommend this place for dates or a special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful and worth a try. How can you miss with opera and Italian dining. The food was delicious and the atmosphere is great. Impress your date with a little opera. It's not quiet and a bell rings about every 10 minutes and someone sings. If it's your waiter/waitress be prepared for a slowdown in service as she leaves to sing...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

All around great restaurant. Fabulous singers who double as wait staff

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Even if you are not a Rocky fan or into opera singing, this place offer some awesome authentic Italian food. All the servers are professional opera singers so opera singing while you eat is not a gimmick. They truly put on a show for you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing experience in the heart of South Philly! Great Italian dishes, unique ambience and opera sang live every 20 minutes by the talented and very nice waiting staff!!!
Our family had one of the best nights out together ever! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Brava to Breena who made my daughter's birthday so special! The beautifully sung (and explained arias) and wonderful meal made for an unforgettable night. One suggestion, the only gluten free options on the menu were an entire fish, which the kitchen would not fillet, or risotto. Although the kitchen did modify a chicken dish, it would be nice to have had just one "regular" choice on the menu. Highly recommend!
Choice

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was above average Italian . Every 20 mins or so one of the waiters/waitresses sing an aria and some had amazing voices . Cool atmosphere and the small dining area can get loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Consistently solid and entertaining. Always a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Five ladies went for a bIrThDaY and I didn't tell them about the history or the singing waiters. They were pleasantly surprised and the meal and desserts were excellent. They all want to return with atheir spouses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The experience is unforgettable. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the cafe and the menu. The opera singing was unbelievable! Loved every minute! Must go!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everyone was very friendly, food was delicious, the singing was top notch!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The staff was very friendly and the service was considered very good. There were no issues with the food and I do not believe any scraps were left on the plates. The signing was exceptional. Very enjoyable dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had a great experience. Was on a first date and she enjoyed as well. Well most definitely be back

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food was fabulous, server was very attentive and the entertainment is simply the best!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I went to this restaurant to experience how the Rocky movie was. The places was lovely. I liked that the waiter and waitress sung opera while you dine. The food came out fast and was good. Overall it was a lovey experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome place! Great food and wonderful entertainment.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Live Music, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great time, food, service, music, ambiance. Will be returning many times

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The opera singing is very impressive, but it was slightly more frequent than "once every 15-20min" and at times a bit disruptive to conversations.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great place, we enjoyed everything
From the opera singing to the food.
Shame Rocky wasnt working (we really went because its Adriens restaurant in the films)

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 30, 2017

If you like an aria of opera about every 15 minutes while you dine, this is the place. The waiters and waitresses all take their turn and you won't be disappointed. The food is excellent and the prices are good for the atmosphere. It's in the middle of a high density neighborhood and best to pay the $12 to valet. It's doubtful you can find any parking. The place has been there's 100 years and still run by descendants of the founder. Read the menu for the details.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a great experience at Victor Cafe. The food is fresh, made to order and delicious. They have a lovely wine list and delicious artisan cocktails. The singers provide lovely entertainment. It's great for small intimate dinners and family/friend gatherings. You won't be disappointed in this neighborhood gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had not been the Victor Cafe in a long time and decided on this spot for dinner with a visiting relative. It was a good choice. The food was very good and the waitstaff singing opera every fifteen minutes made it special - but still allowed for conversation in between the arias. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Live opera dining mere feet from your table! It was amazing. The food was very good. The atmosphere was enjoyable- two quaint old brownstones converted to dining rooms for restaurant. Interesting memorabilia on the walls from over a hundred years of opera and music, even a signed poster from Sylvester Stallone. A great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Interesting historic restaurant in Philadelphia. Very original entertainment. Excellent choice to bring friends or business colleagues. Note: Seating is very tight, tables and chairs are historic as well and are tiny. The food makes up for it, very nice Italian cuisine which will hold up to foodie standards.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We brought new friends, who are also relatively new to Philadelphia and had not spent much time in South Philadelphia. They were very pleased with the experience and we had a good time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I went to this place for the first time many years ago and I loved it. I try to go every time I am in Philly. This time I wanted to bring my boyfriend who does not like opera, but I wanted him to have the experience and he loved it. We had to wait a long time to be seated, but it's worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Evening was excellent, table, and service were great, food was magnificent, and the entertainment was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Make sure they "check you in". We arrived 10 minutes before our 6:30 pm reservation and were told "we aren't ready for you yet, go to the upstairs bar and we will come get you when your table is ready. After an hour we went downstairs to check on our table, and the very same person who sent us upstairs said "oh, we didn't know you were here".
They did give us a free dessert as compensation.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We have been to the Victor Café several times in the past and wanted to share the unique experience with friends of ours. Needless to say, they loved it! My only wish is that it were closer as we live in Cape May. We will certainly be back sooner rather than later, maybe for my birthday in May. LOVED how they sang Happy Birthday to several tables in our vicinity!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent dinner and loved the opera.our food was fantastic and the service was great

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I have come to this restaurant annually for 15 years, usually meeting family residing in Phila; I presently live in Williamsburg Va. The atmosphere is all about great vocal music of a classical nature, all of the staff are students or graduates of music schools/programs in the Phila area - and they perform during the wonderful meal. The food is flavored by the Italian culture of the neighborhood in which it resides. The food is freshly prepared and simply outstanding. This restaurants ranks in the top 10 restaurants for overall dining experience that I have experienced in my life. It is not just a great dining experience; it is a classical and classy entertainment experience. I will continue to return every time I visit Philadelphia.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Delicious dining, interesting cocktails, and of course great opera voices singing right next to you! My husband got the most stirring rendition of "Happy Birthday" that I've ever heard. My brother's bronzino was the most yummy thing, although my chicken tosca was wonderful. I didn't taste the other orders (ravioli, veal piccata and salmon), but everyone said they were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Always a fun experience with operatic waiting staff. Need to stick to performing operatic arias though - hits from Broadway shows are NOT the reason people dine here. Wine list modest in range and price. Classic Italian dishes, but not quite as cooked by Nonna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2017

What a gem. I will go here every time I am in philly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

this was our first time at Victor Cafe, and we really enjoyed it. The singing was fantastic, and so nice that the singers were very personable and walked through the tables while they sang. Food was delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

An a amazing experience everything was beautiful. From the fabulous wait staff to there beautiful voices it's not eery day you get to experience this

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.