Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 1.14mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About The Victor Cafe

The Victor Café is an Italian restaurant that cultivates old traditions and seamlessly blends them with new ones. With classic Italian dishes and unforgettable live music, we invite you to join us for many enjoyable evenings for years to come.

1303 Dickinson Street
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Monday-Thursday 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

Friday 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Saturday 4:30 p.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 468-3040

Website:
http://www.victorcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Live opera seven nights a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking costs $12. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Broad Street Subway (Orange Line) - Tasker/Morris Station

Private Party Facilities:
Victor Cafe contains a grouping of intimate dining rooms which offer seating for a maximum of 135 people. Inquiries for smaller groups are also welcome. Special events may be booked for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Coctail hours with hot and cold butlered hors d'oeuvre may be arranged. We believe you will find the Victor Cafe a most unique dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
The Distefano Family: (215) 468-3040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties larger than 10, please inquire within.

The Victor Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (95)
Special Occasion (94)
Good for a Date (92)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (90)
Romantic (86)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Good for Anniversaries (82)
Fun (78)
Historic (72)
Authentic (64)
Worth the Drive (60)
Good for Groups (42)
Cozy (40)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Outstanding Value (25)
Notable Wine List (18)
Casual (17)
People Watching (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Family Style (14)
Hot Spot (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a fun experience with operatic waiting staff. Need to stick to performing operatic arias though - hits from Broadway shows are NOT the reason people dine here. Wine list modest in range and price. Classic Italian dishes, but not quite as cooked by Nonna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

What a gem. I will go here every time I am in philly!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

this was our first time at Victor Cafe, and we really enjoyed it. The singing was fantastic, and so nice that the singers were very personable and walked through the tables while they sang. Food was delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

An a amazing experience everything was beautiful. From the fabulous wait staff to there beautiful voices it's not eery day you get to experience this

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We love this restaurant. We have been going there for years but haven't been for a while and were favorably impressed with the food which was wonderful - and a big improvement on our last visit several years ago. Love the waiters/waitresses - they are all remarkably talented and hearing them break into an operatic aria is such a treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

An outstanding dinning experience. I feel in love the minute we walked in the door. We wish we arrived earlier to enjoy a drink in their upstairs bar. Excellent service and the opera the servers sang was amazing. If I ever find myself back in Philadelphia I hope I will have a chance to go back to this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, good ambience, excellent opera performers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a WONDERFUL experience taking my boyfriend and my mom to The Victor Cafe. Old School Italian American restaurant that is about to turn 100 years old! Dinner and a show- the Waitstaff are very talented !

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

We took 2 out of town friends to dinner on a Friday night. The service was prompt and attentive, and all 4 of our food orders were excellent. The singing interludes were fun and our friends had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Simply superb! Food, service, singers and price all great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

A perfect place for date night. The atmosphere combined with the live music is really hard to beat. I didn't tell my date what the restaurant was like just that it was an Italian restaurant. So when the singing started I could tell she was surprised and by her face that this was a great choice.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was the second year I took my mom here for her birthday following the Flower Show. I did not think they could top last year, which was a total surprise for my mom. I was incorrect. They absolutely pay attention to requests. Our server, Courtney, sang my mom's favorite aria O Mio Babino Caro...and it brought us to tears. The entire staff then sang an operatic Happy Birthday when presenting her with her Tiramisu. The talent is amazing. The food is spectacular. We ordered the arugula salad, the beet salad, the crab ravioli, the chicken Tosca, the tiramisu and the bread pudding. We were tempted to keep ordering food just to justify occupying a table to stay for more song. Love this place!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We went to The Victor Cafe for my boyfriends birthday. We heard about it from friends who have gone before. The whole experience of live Opera while enjoying an authentic Italian dish was even better then we thought it would be! We love to travel, this place is by far one of the coolest restaurant experience we ever had out of all places we travel too!! I would highly recommend going here to anyone, we can't wait to go back and feel like we are eating in Italy again. All the singers are truly talented, hearing them sing was breath taking!! Overall amazing!

Tags: Historic, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Truly one of the most incredible restaurants in the world!! Not only is the Italian food here of a world-class caliber, but the unique aspect of Opera performances by the restaurant staff is amazing. Finally, the overall ambiance and decor of Victor Cafe truly makes it a wonderful, unique and "must-go-to" restaurant in Philadelphia.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful, special night with family from out of town!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I visited the Victor Cafe while on a pleasure trip to Philly. It was recommended by a friend who had enjoyed the ambiance of this restaurant several years ago. We were ushered to a very small table in the front of the restaurant which should be reserved for anyone of short stature. The hostess graciously moved us, upon request, to a more suitable location. The food was delicious and the atmosphere fun and happy. Waiters and waitresses entertained us with their superb voices. Even though opera is not my favorite entertainment, this was thoroughly enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Such a wonderful experience! The wait staff is surprisingly talented, what a treat! Can't wait to return with family and friends 😍😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, great staff, and heavenly voices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Dinner was excellent. The singing is just wonderful. Will definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful experience for all...terrific dinner, ambience, opera

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great dining experience st reasonable prices. Our server Caitlin was terrific with the best singing voice in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food (Italian, both Northern and Traditional) was excellent and the prices for pastas and appetizers were reasonable. Steaks are pricey but given the quality of what we ordered, I'll bet they are outstanding.
But the real treat: all of the waitstaff are classically trained opera singers. About every 15-20 minutes one or two or a group will ring a bell, describe an opera piece and then sing it. ABSOLUTELY amazing! during the hour or so we were there the four pieces were just outstanding.
We were visiting Philadelphia, so I'm afraid I'll never go back but I'm tempted to return just for the Victor Cafe.
Cost for two people, including one drink apiece, appetizers, pasta entrees, one dessert to share, coffee and 20% tip was just around $125.00. Not bad for the quality of the meal and the ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Victor Cafe was absolutely fabulous. All of the staff are professionally trained opera singers and perform every 20 minutes during the meal. Amazing homemade Italian dishes. Highly recommend the cannelloni!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We love Victor's Cafe. The service is wonderful & the ambiance can't be beat. You would think they didn't have to have great food with the entertainment, but it's delicious too. They provide a warm & wonderful atmosphere. My daughters & I always look forward to coming

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful. Living in western Pennsylvania, I haven't been here for 30 years and it still remains cultural, delicious food, ambiance and educational. I will return sooner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

always a treat to go into the city to Victor cafe, especially when you take someone that has never experienced it !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing, amazing, amazing. The food, the singing, the service, and the intimate setting set this restaurant a part from the rest. I took my grandmother here for her birthday. She loved it. Our waitress, Janelly, was very knowledgeable about the menu and Victor's rich history. She made it very comfortable for us firsttimers. Toward the end of our dining experience the wait staff sang "Happy Birthday" to my grandmother. It left me speechless.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Another superb experience! Food and wine were top shelf. Singers and music outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Awesome!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

had a wonderful time. opera singing was spectacular

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Loved the restaurant! The food, drinks and staff were all excellent! The Opera was so beautiful and fit the ambiance of the restaurant. The bar on the second floor is lit with candles and a great place to have a drink before dinner. Many there celebrating birthdays and anniversaries and all were recognized by staff.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wonderful experience. Restaurant called to confirm reservation and asked if it was a special occasion. They made a birthday dinner an event with operatic rendition of happy birthday. Truly memorable experience. Great service and incredible wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wonderful singing by waitstaff! The ambiance is great! The food was an excellent menu, all very well prepared. The service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 2, 2017

De l'opéra par les serveurs et serveuses à tous les 15 min!
Un vrai souper / spectacle !!!
Quelles voix ils ont ces serveurs
Un incontournable à Philadelphie
Expérience assez unique qu'on va se souvenir longtemps
Faut y aller même si l'endroit est un peu à l'écart

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great experience with my daughter. The food and service was great. We especially loved the various Opera Arias presented by the staff. This is a fun and wonderful restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went here for one reason only...I'm a huge Sylvester Stallone fan and this restaurant was ADRIAN'S in the movie Rocky Balboa. But this place is VICTORIOUS in its' own right because the atmosphere, the talented opera singing staff and the food are all jaw dropping. This was one of the best nights of my life....This hidden city gem is small but FABULOUS!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Simply AMAZING. !!!! It had a been a few years since I had been to victors,, growing up in the city , we took for granted that there were so many great restaurants to visit. So, revisiting this famous establishment after so many years just proved SOME THINGS NEVER CHANGE. !!! Buonissimo !!!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Terrific experience. At the Victor Cafe, your meal is accompanied by Opera, sung well by a very talented wait staff. The food was very good to excellent and I considered it a very good value. They provide valet parking for $12 dollars. I lucked out and found a spot on the street about a block away. I was lucky. I would suggest adding the Valet parking into your budget.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

FUN!!! Delicious food, entertaining! Loved every minute!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.