Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

The Veranda

4.5
92 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Good for Birthdays
Recognized as "Best Locally Owned Restaurant," “Best Steaks" and "Best Blue Plate," we are located just minutes away from the Mississippi State University campus. Our menu focuses on classic American cooking with a touch of Southern inspiration and fresh ingredients, prepared by the Best Chefs in the Golden Triangle.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(662) 323-1231
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jay Yates
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
The Veranda offers two spacious private dining areas to meet all your special needs. From Rehearsal Dinners to Corporate meetings, we can accommodate your every need.
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
The Veranda offers great menu options for offsite catering. Give us a call and let the Veranda cater your next meeting or special event.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Locksley Way
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on June 12, 2018

We had a very enjoyable evening. The only negative from me was that we had a large group of 12 and it took forever to get our food. Other than that, great night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Our meal was excellent . Ordered a second round of the fried green tomato appetizer because the first one was so good ! The duck entree was fantastic ! Love this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

The service was initially slow, but I suspect due to a changeover of server. The menu looked good, and our meals were OK but not as 'fine dining' as we had hoped. Nice selection of cocktails on the menu and very fairly priced overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great atmosphere, food was amazing, and service was fast and perfect. The waiter answered all our questions in great detail.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Crispy duck was perfect and our server was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Wonderful meal at The Veranda while in Starkville! Great service, ambience and delicious food! Definitely worth a visit!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Enjoyed the Lobster Bisque, Stuffed Fried Green Tomato appetizer and the Prosecco cocktail I had was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Wife said her crabcakes were great....I got a ribeye, ok, but not great. We eat here several times each year. Haven't ordered the ribeye recently because the one I ordered several years ago was a bit disappointing also. The potato side was delicious. We will be back, but not for the steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

You can count on the Veranda for good food and a great experience. This has become our favorite restaurant innStarkville and especially like that they are taking reservations!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food quality was super and delivered faster than expected

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We are regular customers of the Veranda and generally have very good food experience. On this particular Saturday, the kitchen was not at its best. Six people in our party with consistent below average reviews on the entrees from everyone. Particularly disappointed in the veal marsala special they were serving. The veal was below average and the pasta may have been the worst fettucini alfredo I have ever had. Wet limp noodles with very little flavor. Expect a lot better for a “special” menu item.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Everything was perfect from the hostess to the food. My husband and I will definitely be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Fabulous in every way. Note my daughter has soy and dairy allergies. They were perfect in providing options in every category; appetizers, salad, entre, dessert. Instead of saying the typical one at a time, "Let me check. Yes, that has soy/dairy"- with no other assistance. Food was hot, very tasty, and the service was quick and pleasant. Loved this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Not one to write reviews but the food was really good and the booths are fairly private, which is good for a date. My bill came to $95 for a dinner for 2 plus some alcohol, if that's useful for anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great service and excellent food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Busy night for Valentines Day. There were many open tables in the restaurant when we arrived on time for our reservation. We were given a large table to share in the bar with whoever was next to be seated. They did not seat someone there when we opposed. With a reservation we should have had a table in the restaurant that is quiet & quaint . We mentioned that and were told this was all they could do. The bar was noisy. Service and food were excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Very impressed with the great service and food. Had the filet and it was amazing and the mashed potatoes were gooud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Six friends for dinner on a Saturday night and everyone was happy with their entrees. Service was good although it appeared that our server had several other large tables and that
seemed to slow him down some on water refills and additional wine and drink orders. Overall, the Veranda is still one of the best places to dine in StarkVegas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Excellent in all respects. Always enjoy my visits!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2018

We had a wonderful waiter & the food was really good except our entree risotto was cold! We sent it back & the staff did apologize & they made it right with our appetizer being free & they brought us a free dessert. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The grilled salmon was delicious and cooked just right! Very enjoyable indeed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We had a good experience - tried the crab claws which were very good and the apple martini which was divine! The only negative was that the waiter was very slow and dinner took almost 2 hours

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Very pleasant staff. Steak special with Cajun option was exceptional, the filet was perfectly prepared. The shrimp in my shrimp and grits were perfect, the gravy may have had a touch too much salt. Desserts, awww! No bread pudding. We passed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

In town for first week of school at Mississippi State. Found this quaint spot. Great food and excellent service. Semi casual. Specialty drink were very good. Could improve on stocked liquor, but overall a great experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Salads were awesome, appetizers good, main course was just average. A little overpriced for the quality.

Decent wine list but overall a limit bar selection. Dom Perignon $365 a bottle - really?

Starkville needs to step it up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 12, 2017

The Veranda is a nice place to have a business lunch or dinner. The food is tasty and the service is pretty good. Try the cheese logs or the duck!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious. The crispy duck was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Great meal. Wish we had asked to sit in the restaurant rather than the nice reserved booth in the bar. Not really too loud but a little distracting. Watching them make those great drinks, like my outstanding Old Fashion, was hard not to watch. Had the Surf and Turf. Would definitely recommend it. The gorgonzolla salad was a real surprise as was the lobster bisque. We will eat there again. Our waitress Hanna was great!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2017

My significant other and I went to the Veranda for his birthday. While I would have enjoyed them having a dessert menu rather than telling us what they have, the food was FANTASTIC. They had a porterhouse lamb chop special that was well worth it. They have a lot of gorgonzola on the menu which we both found odd but it was all delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Our time at the Veranda was beyond perfect. From the sweet welcome to our wonderful waiter, Claude, to the special accommodations given to us for our bachelorette dinner, we had a wonderful time. I will recommend this place to anyone seeking to enjoy a special occasion or just a dinner to get away.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Have been to the Veranda a dozen times over the past few years. Service and food has always been good. This night however, service still good, food however, was just average. Response around the table (9 people).....food was "ok".....not fabulous, not great, just ok. We arrived at 5 pm and the restaurant was not busy yet...so it must have been just an off night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and great food. My favyplace to eat a steak. Kids have a great menu to choose from. Been there for anniversary, husbands birthday and recently Mother's Day dinner. Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Catfish special was delicious!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 5, 2017

It was an uncrowded Wednesday.
Service was incredibly slow.
It took 2 1/2 hours for salad and entree.
The food wasn't bad, but I'll never go back due to service.
I would encourage all who read this to stay away.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service was very good. The ambiance was very bright for a date and at 8pm. That being the only downfall though. Great dinner overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first time to The Veranda, but it won't be our last! We enjoyed every part of our meal, from the unique appetizers to homemade salad dressings, to fabulous filet mignon to delicious homemade blackberry cobbler. We were in town to visit our college student so and wanted to take him out for a special evening. It was special!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Birthday party!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Fried green tomatoes are as good as they get.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice place and good food. I would recommend this restaurant for anybody and for any occasion. Great location as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Food service and ambience were all excellent. The swordfish was outstanding and while I usually don't eat Brussels sprouts, the Veranda did an outstanding job of making an inedible vegetable almost palatable.
The only fly in the salad dressing so to speak is the parking which is a long hike if you do not luck out and get one of the few close in spaces.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3

Tweets by The Veranda