Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.47mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About The Veranda

Recognized as "Best Locally Owned Restaurant," “Best Steaks" and "Best Blue Plate," we are located just minutes away from the Mississippi State University campus. Our menu focuses on classic American cooking with a touch of Southern inspiration and fresh ingredients, prepared by the Best Chefs in the Golden Triangle.

208 Lincoln Green
Starkville, MS 39759
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Locksley Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 323-1231

Website:
http://www.verandastarkville.com/

Catering:
The Veranda offers great menu options for offsite catering. Give us a call and let the Veranda cater your next meeting or special event.

Executive Chef:
Jay Yates

Private Party Facilities:
The Veranda offers two spacious private dining areas to meet all your special needs. From Rehearsal Dinners to Corporate meetings, we can accommodate your every need.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Veranda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.9

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

In town for first week of school at Mississippi State. Found this quaint spot. Great food and excellent service. Semi casual. Specialty drink were very good. Could improve on stocked liquor, but overall a great experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Salads were awesome, appetizers good, main course was just average. A little overpriced for the quality.

Decent wine list but overall a limit bar selection. Dom Perignon $365 a bottle - really?

Starkville needs to step it up!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The Veranda is a nice place to have a business lunch or dinner. The food is tasty and the service is pretty good. Try the cheese logs or the duck!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Delicious. The crispy duck was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great meal. Wish we had asked to sit in the restaurant rather than the nice reserved booth in the bar. Not really too loud but a little distracting. Watching them make those great drinks, like my outstanding Old Fashion, was hard not to watch. Had the Surf and Turf. Would definitely recommend it. The gorgonzolla salad was a real surprise as was the lobster bisque. We will eat there again. Our waitress Hanna was great!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 7, 2017

My significant other and I went to the Veranda for his birthday. While I would have enjoyed them having a dessert menu rather than telling us what they have, the food was FANTASTIC. They had a porterhouse lamb chop special that was well worth it. They have a lot of gorgonzola on the menu which we both found odd but it was all delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our time at the Veranda was beyond perfect. From the sweet welcome to our wonderful waiter, Claude, to the special accommodations given to us for our bachelorette dinner, we had a wonderful time. I will recommend this place to anyone seeking to enjoy a special occasion or just a dinner to get away.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Cozy, Late-night Find, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Have been to the Veranda a dozen times over the past few years. Service and food has always been good. This night however, service still good, food however, was just average. Response around the table (9 people).....food was "ok".....not fabulous, not great, just ok. We arrived at 5 pm and the restaurant was not busy yet...so it must have been just an off night.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great service and great food. My favyplace to eat a steak. Kids have a great menu to choose from. Been there for anniversary, husbands birthday and recently Mother's Day dinner. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Catfish special was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 5, 2017

It was an uncrowded Wednesday.
Service was incredibly slow.
It took 2 1/2 hours for salad and entree.
The food wasn't bad, but I'll never go back due to service.
I would encourage all who read this to stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service was very good. The ambiance was very bright for a date and at 8pm. That being the only downfall though. Great dinner overall.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our first time to The Veranda, but it won't be our last! We enjoyed every part of our meal, from the unique appetizers to homemade salad dressings, to fabulous filet mignon to delicious homemade blackberry cobbler. We were in town to visit our college student so and wanted to take him out for a special evening. It was special!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Birthday party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Fried green tomatoes are as good as they get.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very nice place and good food. I would recommend this restaurant for anybody and for any occasion. Great location as well.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food service and ambience were all excellent. The swordfish was outstanding and while I usually don't eat Brussels sprouts, the Veranda did an outstanding job of making an inedible vegetable almost palatable.
The only fly in the salad dressing so to speak is the parking which is a long hike if you do not luck out and get one of the few close in spaces.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Slightly disappointing. Menu items were too pricey. Food arrived lukewarm. Flavors were creative and yummy. Our server Fred was very good. We will try it again one day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our second time eating here. Food is consistently excellent. Lots of food, fresh and cooked to perfection. Service is excellent. We had a time constraint and they turned us around quickly with no loss of food perfection.
Highly recommend this gem!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The restaurant needs to do something to have hot water in their bathrooms to wash your hands.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent meal, and great selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was absolutely excellent! The service was very prompt. a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious food! The only thing is the waiter could have been better... (maybe a bad day?)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Just passing through Starkville tonight and found The Veranda on Open Table. It was unimpressive upon arrival--the hostess was on the phone with her back to the door, so there was no welcome. I decided to check out the bar for seating options. I noticed an unpleasant odor in the bar area--a sour smell like the carpet had one too many spills without cleaning. I decided to sit in the dinning room. When I returned to the hostess, she was still on the phone with her back to me, so I waited. Eventually, she got off the phone and I was seated. This is when the service greatly improved; my server, Logan, was knowledgeable, attentive, and professional. He basically saved the evening as far as service--he was excellent. The food was tasty, and because it was a very slow evening--the place was almost empty, which made it very quite. Will definitely come again next time I'm in Starkville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The ambiance and the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have no complaints. Everything and everyone was wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a nice place to dine; however, there was no seasoning to my food. I ordered the catfish meal. The food was bland and tasted like it was washed and fried. I would recommend to others I just did not like my food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Only issue we had from our last dining experience was that the broccoli was very cold. We did tell our waitress and was given a new batch of hot broccoli.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Usually a very good place to eat. Not as good this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our whole group of 7 agreed the food was average, if not below average. For the quality, we felt the food was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Shrimp and grits is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food at the veranda was fabulous. We had the amazing appetizer spring rolls. They were the best spring rolls I have ever eaten. We got there surf and turf for dinner. The steak was okay and the shrimp was great but spicy. I also had the bacon and corn risotto and the Gorgonzola mashed potatoes. They were each wonderful in their own way. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 17, 2016

The atmosphere was excellent and our waiter was very knowledgeable, patient, and helpful about answering all of our questions. Their overall service really turned a special occasion into a wonderful evening. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our table was ready upon our arrival and we both had the special salmon dinner with crab meat and grilled shrimp. The meal was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family (party of 9) chose the Veranda largely due to the variety of its menu (we had vegan, vegetarian and food allergy considerations). The restaurant accommodated all of our food allergy requirements, which was greatly appreciated; however, for the price, I expected higher quality food. I had read mixed reviews, so I wasn't expecting greatness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious food with a variety of choices and great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was very tasty. Great menu of Foodie style meals. Blackened catfish was not very spicy. Kids meal was over priced in my opinion (spent $7 for pasta and a drink). Server was not very personable or attentive. I would go again, but not for a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 2, 2016

The staff was excellent- accommodated our large group. Casual, consistent dining. Well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were very pleased with the food and service. My wife and I have very little time just for us ,so this was our date night , dinner and a movie. I wholeheartedly recommend The Veranda for anyone who apreciates good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 29, 2016

We enjoyed the Veranda very much. Our food was delicious. Our server was very patient-especially since we had 4 kids with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.