About The Veranda

208 Lincoln Green
Starkville, MS 39759
View Larger Map

Recognized as "Best Locally Owned Restaurant," “Best Steaks" and "Best Blue Plate," we are located just minutes away from the Mississippi State University campus. Our menu focuses on classic American cooking with a touch of Southern inspiration and fresh ingredients, prepared by the Best Chefs in the Golden Triangle.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm, Thursday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Locksley Way

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(662) 323-1231

Website:
http://www.verandastarkville.com/

Catering:
The Veranda offers great menu options for offsite catering. Give us a call and let the Veranda cater your next meeting or special event.

Executive Chef:
Jay Yates

Private Party Facilities:
The Veranda offers two spacious private dining areas to meet all your special needs. From Rehearsal Dinners to Corporate meetings, we can accommodate your every need.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Veranda Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
North Mississippi
Best Restaurants in Starkville ›

Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Only issue we had from our last dining e ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 4 days ago

Only issue we had from our last dining experience was that the broccoli was very cold. We did tell our waitress and was given a new batch of hot broccoli.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually a very good place to eat. Not as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Usually a very good place to eat. Not as good this time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Our whole group of 7 agreed the food was ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our whole group of 7 agreed the food was average, if not below average. For the quality, we felt the food was overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Shrimp and grits is very good.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Shrimp and grits is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food at the veranda was fabulous. We ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food at the veranda was fabulous. We had the amazing appetizer spring rolls. They were the best spring rolls I have ever eaten. We got there surf and turf for dinner. The steak was okay and the shrimp was great but spicy. I also had the bacon and corn risotto and the Gorgonzola mashed potatoes. They were each wonderful in their own way. The service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The atmosphere was excellent and our wai ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The atmosphere was excellent and our waiter was very knowledgeable, patient, and helpful about answering all of our questions. Their overall service really turned a special occasion into a wonderful evening. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready upon our arrival and ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our table was ready upon our arrival and we both had the special salmon dinner with crab meat and grilled shrimp. The meal was delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family (party of 9) chose the Veranda ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My family (party of 9) chose the Veranda largely due to the variety of its menu (we had vegan, vegetarian and food allergy considerations). The restaurant accommodated all of our food allergy requirements, which was greatly appreciated; however, for the price, I expected higher quality food. I had read mixed reviews, so I wasn't expecting greatness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious food with a variety of choices ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Delicious food with a variety of choices and great service

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was very tasty. Great menu of F ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was very tasty. Great menu of Foodie style meals. Blackened catfish was not very spicy. Kids meal was over priced in my opinion (spent $7 for pasta and a drink). Server was not very personable or attentive. I would go again, but not for a while.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

everyday dining

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The staff was excellent- accommodated our large group. Casual, consistent dining. Well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with the food and s ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were very pleased with the food and service. My wife and I have very little time just for us ,so this was our date night , dinner and a movie. I wholeheartedly recommend The Veranda for anyone who apreciates good food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Couples night out

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed the Veranda very much. Our food was delicious. Our server was very patient-especially since we had 4 kids with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Veranda was a nice experience in Starkville

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The Veranda is in the top 3 restaurants in Starkville. In fact, it may very well be the best. We occasionally go to Starkville to visit our son at MS State. We like good food, so we always are trying the best restaurants in the area. We usually eat in Columbus, but this time we stayed in Starkville.

We really enjoyed our visit to The Veranda. The restaurant was full when we went the last weekend of February. We enjoyed the food and our table was waiting on us with our OpenTable reservations, even though the place was packed with a one-hour wait for walk-ins. The bar had a great band (a couple of guys playing guitar and singing) and we really enjoyed them. Our only complaint was the noise level, as they placed our group at a table in the bar next to the band for dinner and we couldn't really hear each other while the band was playing.

We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We eat here a lot for lunch and love it, on the other hand our dinner was not enjoyable. It took 50 minutes for the waiter to bring my husbands beverage. We were served our salad only a couple of minutes minutes before they brought our entree so we ate the entree first. My steak was not cooked well and was sent back therefore my husbands food got cold because he wanted to wait until mine was brought back so we could eat together.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Good date night

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is a great restaurant. We don't go here often, but it is great for special occasions, such a Valentine's Day, or a random Date Night. The food is wonderful, and the drinks are very good, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Starkville Dining

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

Cuisine that will delight your palate. Veranda is certainly a area must for good dining !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Was a little disappointed that I had to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Was a little disappointed that I had to wait 35 minutes to be seated even with a reservation. Dan was a great server and the foot was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

Booked this place for my birthday, and it was wonderful. The food and the service were both excellent. Zero complaints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bad food

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 16, 2015

Chicken Parmesan was okay, but the mahi mahi was hardly edible. Service was fine. My first time there, but I may try it again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

The unique dishes. The bacon wrapped shr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

The unique dishes. The bacon wrapped shrimp were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Veranda experience

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 4, 2015

The veranda is a great place for a romantic date or just to hang out with some friends at the bar. The service is amazing and the food is outstanding. You will pay a pretty penny by the end of the night but it is definitely worth it. The veranda chicken and the pork tenderloin taste delicious. The pepper jack cheese logs are the best appetizer you will ever get.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kelly Harrison

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

Enjoyed our visit. The server was friendly and the food was great. We were in town to visit our daughter who attends college at MSU and we were able to make reservations easily and get right in even though we arrived a little early. The dinner was perfect, and we had a great booth where we were able to enjoy great conversation. Will go back again next time we are in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for parents weekend, very overrated ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

Went for parents weekend, very overrated.

Service poor, hot food delivered cold, steak was if same quality as Sizzler Steak House

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

excellent menu

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and it was excellent. We had a reservation and we're seated promptly. Food and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience! Wonderful staff!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

We always go for our anniversary every year, and everytime it is great! We went last week and it was just as good as I rememberded. Everyone was friendly. Our server Was amazing. As was the food. The scoobie snacks are a hit as is the creme brûlée. A romantic atmosphere in the dining area that made our night even better. Overall great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fillet was a bad cut of meat and not wel ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

Fillet was a bad cut of meat and not well prepared. Potatoes were cold. Dessert was Ok. First and last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Patient server

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 27, 2014

The Nashville contingent of the family (including myself) came in town the day before Thanksgiving. Our Starkville cousins and grandmother joined us for a late dinner at The Veranda. Half our our party showed up 30 minutes late and brought two extra folks. Our server was gracious the entire time, especially when our sarcasm/snarkiness levels hit the roof (a common theme for our family get-togethers). Thanks for rolling with the punches!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Absolutely Delicious

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

I ordered the surf and turf and I mean it was absolutely amazing. The filet was cooked perfect, the lobster tail was seasoned to perfection. I recommend this place to anyone who visits from out of town. Get the gumbo nachos...yes I said gumbo nachos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just OK

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

Food and service were just ok. We hadn't eaten here in some time and decided to give it a try again. For the price there are better placed to eat in Starkvile. It was nice for a change of pace, but we only go to Starkville a couple timed a year to visit put son at MSU And will probably not go bac.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great birthday dining!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 13, 2014

We went to the Veranda for my birthday dinner and had a party of 8. It was a great dining experience--the food and wine were great!! I would definitely recommend the Veranda to all visiting Starkville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Father's Day Lunch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 15, 2014

We each ordered different selections and everyone was very pleased with the portions and the flavors. We also enjoyed two appetizers. Service was excellent and the setting is clean, light and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was, as expected, delicious. I've ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

Food was, as expected, delicious. I've eaten several times in the past and will continue eating there when I'm in town. We had a group of eight and they were extremely accommodating. Thanks,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Gathering

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 2, 2014

Once a year my sisters and I travel to a common location for our "girls only" luncheon. We have settled on the Veranda as a delightful and accommodating spot. The booths make for the privacy we need, and the service staff never rushes us through our two-hour meal!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 2, 2014

This was a very enjoyable restaurant. Three us of dined and all enjoyed their food and the service was very good. Definitely will go again and recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food; poor seating

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 23, 2014

We had a wonderful meal to eat, every course. Our big disappointment was that I had made a reservation for our Anniversary, and noted that this was our very first time to eat there, yet we were seated in probably the only booth where you're closely and directly exposed to the noise from the kitchen. And, while our waitress was very courteous and mostly attentive, it took several minutes for us to receive our to-go boxes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

One of Starkville's Best

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 17, 2014

I visited this place for the first time with my long time girlfriend. I got the filet steak and she the salmon. Both of these dishes were delicious. The food was very high quality and full of flavor, the classy presentation of everything with a slight southern vibe was very well executed. The hostess and servers were all pleasant and took care of everything with no problems. An outstanding restaurant in Starkville that fits many occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Excellent

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 9, 2014

This was my second year anniversary with my girlfriend when we decided to go to the Veranda in Starkville. The food was amazing as well as the service! The amazing thing about this experience was that somebody had paid for our meal!! Out waitress was incredible and lively! I would recommend this place for friends in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Experience at the Veranda

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on February 8, 2014

We really enjoy everything about this restaurant. Will visit again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe another time...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 18, 2013

Our first visit to Veranda was based on a recommendation from friends. The waiter was very good and attentive, explaining the specials and getting the drinks and appetizers quickly. I was torn between the salmon dinner and my favorite Shrimp and Grits. My spouse ordered the chicken pasta. Well, I should have ordered the salmon. As soon as the Shrimp and Grits arrived, I knew I was doomed. The plate was filled with a sauce, that I am sure must have been mentioned on the menu, but one that I found thick and gooey. The grits were fried grit wedges and the shrimp was, well, mealy. The spring rolls were great, though, and I was glad to see Kendall Jackson Chardonnay on the wine list. Chicken pasta was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.