About The Veranda Restaurant

220 Grand Tradition Way
Fallbrook, CA 92028
View Larger Map

While dining at the most atmospheric restaurant in Fallbrook, you can gaze at our sparkling lake and gorgeous grounds while enjoying a delicious meal prepared with seasonal produce from our on-site vegetable and fruit gardens. We offer patio heaters during the winter months and fans during the warmer months. Reservations are recommended. Enjoy a stroll through our many gardens before or after you dine at The Veranda.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Mission Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 728-6466

Website:
http://www.grandtraditiongardens.com/restaurant/the-veranda

Parking Details:
The Veranda Restaurant offers free parking located directly on our property.

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramos

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

The Veranda Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

5.0

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
13 More
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Californian
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Service
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Best Value
North San Diego
Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Californian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Fallbrook ›

Romantic (23)
Scenic View (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best kept secret in Fallbrook! This pla ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best kept secret in Fallbrook! This place is amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a brunch reservation for our firs ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I made a brunch reservation for our first visit to The Veranda because I wanted a nice place to celebrate with my family. All seating is outside overlooking the pristine heart-shaped lake and immaculate grounds. When you arrive at the Beverly Mansion, the signs indicate that you should walk to the left around the building to enter the restaurant. My one suggestion would be to allow people the opportunity to walk in through the front doors because it felt like we were walking in through the back entrance (which I guess we were), but what made me uncomfortable was having to stand there while waiting to be seated, with the people eating at their tables right there in front of you. I think this is done to avoid running into any pre-wedding stuff that may be taking place inside the mansion. There is a sign that says, "Please wait to be seated", but we still started to question if we were in the right place after a couple of minutes of waiting. Plus, it's just awkward standing there with everyone eating so close by (not to mention it gets really hot if you have to wait on the stairs because there's another party ahead of you). I noticed another couple after us double checking the sign as well, wondering if they were in the right place to be seated. Remember that if you plan to dine here - be patient, you ARE in the right place! LOL

Once we were seated, everything was great! My husband LOVED the Wellington Benedict, and my kids were happy with the French Toast, Bagels with Lox, and I enjoyed the breakfast burrito. Our server Nicolas, was great, and the music added a nice touch! We added on the garden tickets to our bill so we could walk off some of that food before going home! Overall, a very relaxing ambience between the restaurant, gardens, and waterfalls to celebrate our special event. I only wish they served dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, scenic restaurant! Overlooks ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Beautiful, scenic restaurant! Overlooks a lake and vast garden area. Food was a great value, too. Wonderful for an intimate lunch with your loved one.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was wonderful. It had d ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

This restaurant was wonderful. It had delicious food, the service was excellent and the setting was beautiful.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love eating at the Veranda and then t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We love eating at the Veranda and then taking a walk through the gardens after. The food is delicious and the presentation is beautiful!! It's like having a beautiful meal in the quiet beauty of amazing gardens!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scenic surrounding beauty exceeded m ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The scenic surrounding beauty exceeded my expectations! It didn't even look like dry California.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting with a view of the sma ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful setting with a view of the small lake. Food and presentation was outstanding and reasonably priced.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breathtaking setting, amazing food and a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Breathtaking setting, amazing food and attentive service! This is the second year I've come for my birthday brunch and both times have exceeded my expectations!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this restaurant! Hope to go there ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved this restaurant! Hope to go there again soon. The food was really good and the service was excellent! The view of the Lake and grounds was so beautiful! Can't say enough about the Veranda.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Handicap parking sign on the right shoul ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Handicap parking sign on the right should include the info RAMP. We parked next to the tent>no clear signage as to best approach to porch; my husband had to haul his walker up the steps to access porch. An exhausting beginning for one with COPD. Please mark the easiest ramped or no-steps access to Veranda and the gardens. Thank you for honoring our request to be seated away from groups. Our Midwestern guests were refreshed by the ambience of the gardens. Staff were kind to reserve desserts for us to enjoy later at the Orchid Bar seating.

The chocolate cake was outstanding. The bread pudding was dry and inedible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The Veranda Restaurant was perfect for a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The Veranda Restaurant was perfect for a special Birthday with friends. The table setting, white linen tablecloth & fresh flowers were beautiful, along with the terrific picturesque view of the lake and garden. The service was superb. The food was excellent, and we loved the drink selection. Something for everyone. I will definitely be returning very soon.

Thanks for making a perfect Birthday outing! Loved it.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite spots. The su ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots. The surrounding are incomparable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always relaxing, good food, great ambian ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always relaxing, good food, great ambiance, nice scenery overlooking a hearth shaped lake. Don't forget to tour the gardens after you eat, easy walking and beautiful grounds.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Most beautiful setting you can find, on ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Most beautiful setting you can find, on a veranda, with paddle fans going looking out a very green lawn with blooming flowers onto a lake with a fountain in the middle

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. The presentation was beautiful to include edible flowers. The grounds are amazing and great fun to walk through after lunch. As a vegan I was disappointed to see the portobello mushroom sandwich left the menu. The only choice for Vegans or is a salad. There was a vegetarian sandwich that included cheese.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Two of us had to sit in the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great view. Two of us had to sit in the sun, though. We still enjoyed it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lunch was delicious and served in an app ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Lunch was delicious and served in an appetizing manner. The view of the grounds while dining was also delightful. Will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely lunch. Food was great. Sweet pota ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lovely lunch. Food was great. Sweet potato fries and Berry Lemon Marscapone cake were

To die for. Crystal was awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic lunch and a beautiful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a fantastic lunch and a beautiful view of the gardens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant .... My husband ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our favorite restaurant .... My husband was several times this past year in hospital and his first request was to make a reservation at the Veranda Restaurant. 👍🏻.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Veranda Restaurant is a class act. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The Veranda Restaurant is a class act. The setting is wonderful, a view of part of the estate, the heart shaped pool, fountain, and gazebo. The tables are set beautifully on the veranda, the food quality is excellent, and the presentation of the food is wonderful, complete with edible flowers on every dish. It is a great place to dine with a special someone or friends. It is a hidden gem in Fallbrook.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful! We went for Sunday brunch an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful! We went for Sunday brunch and it was great food, great views, and wonderful environment. We ordered 2 starters(beignets and meat/cheese plate) to share and there was enough for 4 people. The actual entrees were well portioned and very tasty. We two special requests for modifications and they were more than happy to accommodate. We went at 9:15 and the sun was very hot, we had to move over a little.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of town friends introduced me to The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Out of town friends introduced me to The Grand Tradition Veranda Restaurant last year. Three of my local friends finally agreed on a date for us to enjoy lunch and the beautiful scenery last week. They couldn't thank me enough for suggesting the Veranda for lunch. And, they want to come back soon to enjoy all over again. It was a beautiful day and everyone agreed that the food was delicious, the service was perfect, and the flowers were exquisite. Thank You.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and interesting. Spectacu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good and interesting. Spectacular setting. Service very nice but a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

You will not be disappointed in this lov ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 11, 2016

You will not be disappointed in this lovely and unique dining experience. Go early and stroll the gardens before lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server was great! Yummy bloody mary, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was great! Yummy bloody mary, and mimosas! Food was very fresh & flavorful. Serene setting . Great brunch spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and it wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and it was the perfect place for us to go. Service was wonderful and the view was beyond beautiful. We also enjoyed the walking tour. I have been there 2 other times with different friends and it was great each time. We all will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time here, I brought ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my second time here, I brought my sister who was visiting from Chicago IL. Also my daughter and friends. I consider this lunch here as a special place in my week with my sister. My sister loved the tour of the garden & topped with lunch. Our waiter was very nice and helpful. He patiently answered all our questions and was very attentive, he patiently waited since we were the last to leave. I have recommended to many of my friends who want to have a special place to take family and friends. Love it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is beautiful. And the food is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place is beautiful. And the food is delicious. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food at The Veranda were ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service and food at The Veranda were very good. It is worth the drive to walk around the beautiful gardens and see the water falls.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very hot day on the patio, but ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a very hot day on the patio, but our server and the food made it all worthwhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very hot day so be sure to make ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a very hot day so be sure to make a reservation after 10:30. After that the sun is not shining on the veranda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You know you in a special place the minu ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2016

You know you in a special place the minute you pull into the driveway. What a gem! The views and gardens are breathtaking. The food is fresh and fantastic, reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed food, dining ambiance, and relax ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed food, dining ambiance, and relaxed time with friends. Service is great. Gardens are a real treat; everything is immaculate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ONLY reason I didn't give it 5 stars ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ONLY reason I didn't give it 5 stars across the board was that we were initially seated right next to a group of 4 whose conversation was somewhat loud. There were several tables open and we didn't quite understand with only 3 tables being occupied why we were seated next to this group. We asked our waitress if we could move over a few tables and she was very accommodating!! After that it was amazingly relaxing and wonderful!! My second time there for brunch and LOVE this place!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good, not great. The ambian ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food is good, not great. The ambiance is very special which makes it worthwhile. The gardens are spectacular. The service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A beautiful atmosphere ! The waiter, Nic ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2016

A beautiful atmosphere ! The waiter, Nicholas and Cortland were attentive and friendly. Food was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch. Great service. Great food. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great lunch. Great service. Great food. Coudn' be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting for a relaxing aftern ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful setting for a relaxing afternoon lunch. Gardens are beautiful to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, great service!!!! Wait s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food, great service!!!! Wait staff very professional and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.