About The Veranda Restaurant

220 Grand Tradition Way
Fallbrook, CA 92028
View Larger Map

While dining at the most atmospheric restaurant in Fallbrook, you can gaze at our sparkling lake and gorgeous grounds while enjoying a delicious meal prepared with seasonal produce from our on-site vegetable and fruit gardens. We offer patio heaters during the winter months and fans during the warmer months. Reservations are recommended. Enjoy a stroll through our many gardens before or after you dine at The Veranda.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Mission Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 728-6466

Website:
http://www.grandtraditiongardens.com/restaurant/the-veranda

Parking Details:
The Veranda Restaurant offers free parking located directly on our property.

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramos

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Veranda Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

5.0

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
Great for Lunch
San Diego
15 More
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Californian
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Best Value
North San Diego
Great for Lunch
North San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
North San Diego
Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Romantic
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Californian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Fallbrook ›

Scenic View (62)
Special Occasion (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
See All
Great for Lunch (49)
Great for Brunch (43)
Romantic (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful! We went for Sunday brunch an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful! We went for Sunday brunch and it was great food, great views, and wonderful environment. We ordered 2 starters(beignets and meat/cheese plate) to share and there was enough for 4 people. The actual entrees were well portioned and very tasty. We two special requests for modifications and they were more than happy to accommodate. We went at 9:15 and the sun was very hot, we had to move over a little.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Out of town friends introduced me to The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Out of town friends introduced me to The Grand Tradition Veranda Restaurant last year. Three of my local friends finally agreed on a date for us to enjoy lunch and the beautiful scenery last week. They couldn't thank me enough for suggesting the Veranda for lunch. And, they want to come back soon to enjoy all over again. It was a beautiful day and everyone agreed that the food was delicious, the service was perfect, and the flowers were exquisite. Thank You.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good and interesting. Spectacu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good and interesting. Spectacular setting. Service very nice but a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

You will not be disappointed in this lov ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

You will not be disappointed in this lovely and unique dining experience. Go early and stroll the gardens before lunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our server was great! Yummy bloody mary, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our server was great! Yummy bloody mary, and mimosas! Food was very fresh & flavorful. Serene setting . Great brunch spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and it wa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and it was the perfect place for us to go. Service was wonderful and the view was beyond beautiful. We also enjoyed the walking tour. I have been there 2 other times with different friends and it was great each time. We all will return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time here, I brought ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was my second time here, I brought my sister who was visiting from Chicago IL. Also my daughter and friends. I consider this lunch here as a special place in my week with my sister. My sister loved the tour of the garden & topped with lunch. Our waiter was very nice and helpful. He patiently answered all our questions and was very attentive, he patiently waited since we were the last to leave. I have recommended to many of my friends who want to have a special place to take family and friends. Love it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is beautiful. And the food is ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place is beautiful. And the food is delicious. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food at The Veranda were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service and food at The Veranda were very good. It is worth the drive to walk around the beautiful gardens and see the water falls.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very hot day on the patio, but ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a very hot day on the patio, but our server and the food made it all worthwhile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very hot day so be sure to make ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a very hot day so be sure to make a reservation after 10:30. After that the sun is not shining on the veranda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You know you in a special place the minu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

You know you in a special place the minute you pull into the driveway. What a gem! The views and gardens are breathtaking. The food is fresh and fantastic, reasonably priced.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed food, dining ambiance, and relax ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed food, dining ambiance, and relaxed time with friends. Service is great. Gardens are a real treat; everything is immaculate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ONLY reason I didn't give it 5 stars ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ONLY reason I didn't give it 5 stars across the board was that we were initially seated right next to a group of 4 whose conversation was somewhat loud. There were several tables open and we didn't quite understand with only 3 tables being occupied why we were seated next to this group. We asked our waitress if we could move over a few tables and she was very accommodating!! After that it was amazingly relaxing and wonderful!! My second time there for brunch and LOVE this place!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good, not great. The ambian ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food is good, not great. The ambiance is very special which makes it worthwhile. The gardens are spectacular. The service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A beautiful atmosphere ! The waiter, Nic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A beautiful atmosphere ! The waiter, Nicholas and Cortland were attentive and friendly. Food was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch. Great service. Great food. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great lunch. Great service. Great food. Coudn' be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting for a relaxing aftern ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful setting for a relaxing afternoon lunch. Gardens are beautiful to enjoy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food, great service!!!! Wait s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food, great service!!!! Wait staff very professional and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a vegetarian so before making the re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I'm a vegetarian so before making the reservation I checked the menu online and there was some salads, one sandwich, and a veggie burger. Not the best selection, but passable. Arrived for our reservation a few weeks later and no veggie burger, just the one sandwich and a couple of salads. Was told they took the veggie burger off the menu the week before. The server was pretty ambivalent that I didn't want the sandwich and begrudgingly ordered a salad. An excellent server would have tried a little harder. Ideally she would have told the manager who would have come to the table to see if they could find something, but I doubt it even occurred to the server to try. Salad was okay, I'm just not a salad person.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

The Veranda Restaurant at the Grand Trad ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The Veranda Restaurant at the Grand Tradition in Fallbrook is one of our very favorite places to dine. It's everything a fine restaurant should be, beautiful setting, perfect service and food. Make an effort to go there. Just remember to book ahead for Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was wonderful. I just mo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The experience was wonderful. I just moved here in Fallbrook so it was nice to visit Grand Trandition for the first time with my out of state guests. The food was great.. However, the men were served first and the ladies waited a bit for their ceasar salad entrees. We thought that was different because ladies are usually served first in a nice restaurant. Had to ask several times for more coffee. The cocktails were very popular at the table and nice!

We will enjoy another visit in the future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Wonderful staff, food venue. Went early ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful staff, food venue. Went early Saturday , nice and quiet

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here but not our last. B ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first time here but not our last. Beautiful setting great service and food quality. Price is near what you pay in major chain restaurant's but served with full linen table setting by a well trained staff. A real find today for us.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved sunday brunch, the egg burito was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved sunday brunch, the egg burito was big enough for two people, and full of fluffy scrambled eggs and yummy local avocados. Our server was very attentive and helpful with one of our guest that is gluten free. The meal, service and view made for a fabulous start to our Sunday afternoon. Thank you Grand Traditions, we will definitely be back and recommend you to friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great get together for my mother and sister.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My mother has been in cancer treatment for the past year and half. She has not been dressed up and out to a fancy place for a long time. She has been under the weather with no motivation. When I mentioned the Grand Tradition she was excited to attend, her oldest daughter got married there 30 years ago. We had a terrific time with laughter and good food. We strolled the gardens that was very serene. Since we have going she wants to do more and visit places. It has helped her a great deal to know she can dress up and look beautiful even after you have been through a lot.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful scenic location. I felt lik ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A beautiful scenic location. I felt like I had been transported to an island paradise. A wonderful place to spend the day. The food and service was wonderful. I would highly recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

It's hard to get a reservation, as they only serve a small number of guests for brunch, but it is worth the wait. Food was presented artfully, with a good selection and reasonably priced! The views from the veranda are beautiful as every table has a view of the lake and gardens. And after eating, you can stroll through the gardens for $2 and work off your meal. Gardens are unbelievably maintained and there is a lake and many waterfalls. A must see!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our 4th visit to The Veranda Restaurant at the Grand Traditions Estate and Gardens. In addition to scrumptious breakfast menu items, attentive service and a pleasant outdoor setting, the Veranda offers stunning views of the lake and manicured grounds below the restaurant terrace. A wonderful venue for first-timers or out of town visitors and well worth the trip to Fallbrook.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Everthing was EXCELLENT as usual! It was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everthing was EXCELLENT as usual! It was a beautiful day and Crystal, our server, was wonderful and took our picture.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place to have lunch and wander ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Beautiful place to have lunch and wander the trails afterwards. The only down side is the lack of availability.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have come to the Grand Tradition as a special treat or group outing on several occasions. We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and you could not do better for atmosphere and service. We recommend it to friends and groups looking for some place special. After you finish your dining don't forget to tour the gardens.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything great but the food is just ho hum.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Forth time for lunch. Veranda has it all but the most important--the food!

Service, ambiance, were great. Value is good also. But the food has always been just okay.

With all the other good things about the Veranda it is hard to put my finger on the problem with the food but maybe a trained chef would know? The temperature, spicing, combination of ingredients? I don't know but I eat many business lunches all over southern California so I think I have many occasions to compare. The closest comparison I can make to the Veranda (a place they might want to emulate) is the The Ivy in West L.A.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for any occaison

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food is great and lovely presentation. View from the veranda is beautiful.

Service is excellent. Great ladies day out/

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lovely brunch with peaceful views of wel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

lovely brunch with peaceful views of well landscaped grounds and a beautiful lake. Food was well prepared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Eh

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The view is breathtakingly beautiful! However the only thing that could've been better was service. I can't emphasize enough how bad the service was! I called and requested for a big table to accommodate a large group and they were unable to fulfill the request because it "required for more tables to be pushed together." Fair enough reasoning because I was thinking this restaurant would have been busy especially on a weekend. BUT the entire duration of my lunch (2 hours!) nobody sat next to our table or the one next to that! It was disappointing that they weren't able to accommodate my request especially when I've booked my wedding venue here. Bummer!

I sat next to the narrow pathway where there was a lot of active traffic due to the servers coming in and out to place and bring customers their orders. It would've been nice if their pathway was a bit bigger so I didn't have to uncomfortably sit all the way in to get out of their way.

My party and I ordered from their lunch menu. Their menu had a variety of delicious options but consisted of salads, sandwiches, and soups. From our initial (reserved) seating of 10:30, our waitress took our order around 10:50. My party ordered sandwiches while I ordered cup of soup (as a personal appetizer because I was starving!) and a sandwich. My soup should've been served first however I had to remind my waitress a few times requesting the status of my soup. I was served my soup approximately around 11:30 and the rest of the food wasn't served until 11:45 (I get my potatoes could've taken a while to cook but really?! An hour+?!) We were hangry (hungry+angry) that the food took this long, very much so, that the view couldn't distract and save this restaurant from their service.

This restaurant is lucky I booked my wedding here otherwise I would never come back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

My Gift Card

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

My gift card was for my birthday. I invited two friends to join me to celebrate. When the bill was presented, I placed the gift card on the bill. The manager of the restaurant came over and said he'd never seen this. I had to pay the $110. tab....for my birthday. I contacted your company and am STILL waiting for a reply on how I am to get reimbursed. Not a good way to expand your business. I called my son and he was of the impression that the gift card was from the Grand Tradition itself. Looks like you hijacked the web site. I am Mary Froese. my Gifty Code is DKOYUT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fallbrook's Finest

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We love the Veranda Restaurant, and we love to take visiting guests for the unique dining experience and spectacular gardens.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration Highlight

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I surprised my wife by taking her to The Veranda Restaurant to celebrate the 34th anniversary of our first date together. Our friends had recently hosted a wedding for their daughter at The Grand Tradition and rented out The Veranda Restaurant. They recommended us having brunch their to begin our romantic weekend. The grounds are immaculate and we felt like we were in the floral gardens of Disneyland. Plenty of places to walk around and view the large lake and grass area. Tropical gardens surround one side of the grounds with cascading waterfalls. A very peaceful and beautiful place ! The food was incredible, well designed menu, and excellent presentation. A beautiful well kept facility that receives nothing less than 5 stars. In fact, this place deserves 6 stars !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

cabomom

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Lovely out door restaurant. only reason I gave noise level moderate is that they were working in the gardens with a tractor that particular day. I have been there before and everything is lovely and normally no noise factor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.