About The Veranda Restaurant

220 Grand Tradition Way
Fallbrook, CA 92028
View Larger Map

While dining at the most atmospheric restaurant in Fallbrook, you can gaze at our sparkling lake and gorgeous grounds while enjoying a delicious meal prepared with seasonal produce from our on-site vegetable and fruit gardens. We offer patio heaters during the winter months and fans during the warmer months. Reservations are recommended. Enjoy a stroll through our many gardens before or after you dine at The Veranda.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, American, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Mission Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 728-6466

Website:
http://www.grandtraditiongardens.com/restaurant/the-veranda

Parking Details:
The Veranda Restaurant offers free parking located directly on our property.

Executive Chef:
Luis Ramos

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

The Veranda Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
Great for Brunch
San Diego
15 More
Great for Lunch
San Diego
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Californian
San Diego
Best Overall
North San Diego
Best Ambiance
North San Diego
Best Value
North San Diego
Great for Lunch
North San Diego
Outdoor Dining
North San Diego
Romantic
North San Diego
Scenic View
North San Diego
Special Occasion
North San Diego
Californian
North San Diego
Best Restaurants in Fallbrook ›

scenic view (52)
great for outdoor dining (50)
special occasion (44)
See All
great for lunch (39)
great for brunch (33)
romantic (32)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (19)
fit for foodies (16)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, great service!!!! Wait s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, great service!!!! Wait staff very professional and courteous.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

I'm a vegetarian so before making the re ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

I'm a vegetarian so before making the reservation I checked the menu online and there was some salads, one sandwich, and a veggie burger. Not the best selection, but passable. Arrived for our reservation a few weeks later and no veggie burger, just the one sandwich and a couple of salads. Was told they took the veggie burger off the menu the week before. The server was pretty ambivalent that I didn't want the sandwich and begrudgingly ordered a salad. An excellent server would have tried a little harder. Ideally she would have told the manager who would have come to the table to see if they could find something, but I doubt it even occurred to the server to try. Salad was okay, I'm just not a salad person.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Veranda Restaurant at the Grand Trad ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The Veranda Restaurant at the Grand Tradition in Fallbrook is one of our very favorite places to dine. It's everything a fine restaurant should be, beautiful setting, perfect service and food. Make an effort to go there. Just remember to book ahead for Sunday Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

The experience was wonderful. I just mo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The experience was wonderful. I just moved here in Fallbrook so it was nice to visit Grand Trandition for the first time with my out of state guests. The food was great.. However, the men were served first and the ladies waited a bit for their ceasar salad entrees. We thought that was different because ladies are usually served first in a nice restaurant. Had to ask several times for more coffee. The cocktails were very popular at the table and nice! We will enjoy another visit in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful staff, food venue. Went early ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful staff, food venue. Went early Saturday , nice and quiet

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time here but not our last. B ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first time here but not our last. Beautiful setting great service and food quality. Price is near what you pay in major chain restaurant's but served with full linen table setting by a well trained staff. A real find today for us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved sunday brunch, the egg burito was ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved sunday brunch, the egg burito was big enough for two people, and full of fluffy scrambled eggs and yummy local avocados. Our server was very attentive and helpful with one of our guest that is gluten free. The meal, service and view made for a fabulous start to our Sunday afternoon. Thank you Grand Traditions, we will definitely be back and recommend you to friends and family.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great get together for my mother and sister.

Dined on May 21, 2016

My mother has been in cancer treatment for the past year and half. She has not been dressed up and out to a fancy place for a long time. She has been under the weather with no motivation. When I mentioned the Grand Tradition she was excited to attend, her oldest daughter got married there 30 years ago. We had a terrific time with laughter and good food. We strolled the gardens that was very serene. Since we have going she wants to do more and visit places. It has helped her a great deal to know she can dress up and look beautiful even after you have been through a lot.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful scenic location. I felt lik ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A beautiful scenic location. I felt like I had been transported to an island paradise. A wonderful place to spend the day. The food and service was wonderful. I would highly recommend to friends and family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem

Dined on May 21, 2016

It's hard to get a reservation, as they only serve a small number of guests for brunch, but it is worth the wait. Food was presented artfully, with a good selection and reasonably priced! The views from the veranda are beautiful as every table has a view of the lake and gardens. And after eating, you can stroll through the gardens for $2 and work off your meal. Gardens are unbelievably maintained and there is a lake and many waterfalls. A must see!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Consistently good

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our 4th visit to The Veranda Restaurant at the Grand Traditions Estate and Gardens. In addition to scrumptious breakfast menu items, attentive service and a pleasant outdoor setting, the Veranda offers stunning views of the lake and manicured grounds below the restaurant terrace. A wonderful venue for first-timers or out of town visitors and well worth the trip to Fallbrook.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everthing was EXCELLENT as usual! It was ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Everthing was EXCELLENT as usual! It was a beautiful day and Crystal, our server, was wonderful and took our picture.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place to have lunch and wander ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Beautiful place to have lunch and wander the trails afterwards. The only down side is the lack of availability.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have come to the Grand Tradition as a special treat or group outing on several occasions. We have never been disappointed. The food is excellent and you could not do better for atmosphere and service. We recommend it to friends and groups looking for some place special. After you finish your dining don't forget to tour the gardens.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything great but the food is just ho hum.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Forth time for lunch. Veranda has it all but the most important--the food! Service, ambiance, were great. Value is good also. But the food has always been just okay. With all the other good things about the Veranda it is hard to put my finger on the problem with the food but maybe a trained chef would know? The temperature, spicing, combination of ingredients? I don't know but I eat many business lunches all over southern California so I think I have many occasions to compare. The closest comparison I can make to the Veranda (a place they might want to emulate) is the The Ivy in West L.A.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for any occaison

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food is great and lovely presentation. View from the veranda is beautiful. Service is excellent. Great ladies day out/

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

lovely brunch with peaceful views of wel ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

lovely brunch with peaceful views of well landscaped grounds and a beautiful lake. Food was well prepared.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Eh

Dined on April 23, 2016

The view is breathtakingly beautiful! However the only thing that could've been better was service. I can't emphasize enough how bad the service was! I called and requested for a big table to accommodate a large group and they were unable to fulfill the request because it "required for more tables to be pushed together." Fair enough reasoning because I was thinking this restaurant would have been busy especially on a weekend. BUT the entire duration of my lunch (2 hours!) nobody sat next to our table or the one next to that! It was disappointing that they weren't able to accommodate my request especially when I've booked my wedding venue here. Bummer! I sat next to the narrow pathway where there was a lot of active traffic due to the servers coming in and out to place and bring customers their orders. It would've been nice if their pathway was a bit bigger so I didn't have to uncomfortably sit all the way in to get out of their way. My party and I ordered from their lunch menu. Their menu had a variety of delicious options but consisted of salads, sandwiches, and soups. From our initial (reserved) seating of 10:30, our waitress took our order around 10:50. My party ordered sandwiches while I ordered cup of soup (as a personal appetizer because I was starving!) and a sandwich. My soup should've been served first however I had to remind my waitress a few times requesting the status of my soup. I was served my soup approximately around 11:30 and the rest of the food wasn't served until 11:45 (I get my potatoes could've taken a while to cook but really?! An hour+?!) We were hangry (hungry+angry) that the food took this long, very much so, that the view couldn't distract and save this restaurant from their service. This restaurant is lucky I booked my wedding here otherwise I would never come back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Gift Card

Dined on April 22, 2016

My gift card was for my birthday. I invited two friends to join me to celebrate. When the bill was presented, I placed the gift card on the bill. The manager of the restaurant came over and said he'd never seen this. I had to pay the $110. tab....for my birthday. I contacted your company and am STILL waiting for a reply on how I am to get reimbursed. Not a good way to expand your business. I called my son and he was of the impression that the gift card was from the Grand Tradition itself. Looks like you hijacked the web site. I am Mary Froese. my Gifty Code is DKOYUT.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fallbrook's Finest

Dined on April 17, 2016

We love the Veranda Restaurant, and we love to take visiting guests for the unique dining experience and spectacular gardens.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebration Highlight

Dined on February 27, 2016

I surprised my wife by taking her to The Veranda Restaurant to celebrate the 34th anniversary of our first date together. Our friends had recently hosted a wedding for their daughter at The Grand Tradition and rented out The Veranda Restaurant. They recommended us having brunch their to begin our romantic weekend. The grounds are immaculate and we felt like we were in the floral gardens of Disneyland. Plenty of places to walk around and view the large lake and grass area. Tropical gardens surround one side of the grounds with cascading waterfalls. A very peaceful and beautiful place ! The food was incredible, well designed menu, and excellent presentation. A beautiful well kept facility that receives nothing less than 5 stars. In fact, this place deserves 6 stars !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

cabomom

Dined on February 24, 2016

Lovely out door restaurant. only reason I gave noise level moderate is that they were working in the gardens with a tractor that particular day. I have been there before and everything is lovely and normally no noise factor.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Serene

Dined on February 17, 2016

The gardens are beautiful especially this time of the year. The food is exceptional and the outdoor seating is breathtaking.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great good, better view!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Stumbled into this gem as an out-of-towner on vacation at the wineries up in Temecula. Wife said it might have been the highlight of our trip, after enjoying brunch and a stroll through the grounds.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Brunch for Great Prices and Amazing View

Dined on January 23, 2016

My fiance and I love going to Grand Tradition for a Saturday or Sunday brunch. You need to make sure you make reservations in advanced as their veranda books up quickly. It is a lovely patio/deck overlooking a beautiful heart shaped lake surrounded by greenery. It is also a wedding venue where my fiance and I are getting married. We have been to brunch at least 5 times since we booked the site. Its quite, has a great view, the prices I would say are comparable if not cheaper than your average breakfast/brunch location.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was delicious and presented beautifully

Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was delicious and presented beautifully. Excellent value and lovely ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambiance spoiled by slow service and more.

Dined on January 8, 2016

We dined for lunch and as far as a scenic view and nice ambiance there are few places that might beat the Veranda. Unfortunately even a scenic view and good ambiance can't overcome slow service and mediocre food.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

away from home

Dined on January 8, 2016

The Veranda restaurant is located in a catering center. Thia is primarily a location for weddings. It is quite a distance from the freeway. They also added a service charge for walking around the garden area!!! Food was very good. Service was excellent. However, not worth the long drive.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Birthday celebration

Dined on December 16, 2015

I called the morning of the reservation to confirm and to ask if they did anything special for birthdays. Hostess said they did. The service was slow and the birthday was not acknowledged. I choose not to say anything because the ladies wanted to walk the gardens and we had sat long enough with 1/2 hour delay to be seated. I still would recommend the place because the view is so spectacular and the gardens are top class. The food was presented beautifully and was good but nothing extraordinary.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special place

Dined on December 12, 2015

Been here many times, and it only gets better. Actually, the food has greatly improved from months ago from good to great. It seem the menu has been changed a bit and for the better. The wellington eggs benedit is the best I've ever tasted. The prime rib sandwich is excellent too. The Bloody Mary had a strip bacon in it and it was awesome. The staff is always professional and congenial. And of course there is the view. A splendid lake surrounded by a beautiful manicured garden and lawn. I take only deserving people here.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elopement Celebration

Dined on December 6, 2015

The Grand Tradition Estate is hands down the best business for celebrations and dining. My husband and I are going to have a large wedding celebration on 10/31/16 at the estate. However, chose to elope on 10/31/15 in the gardens. We had our celebratory brunch after our vows, and it was a perfect choice. My husband and family look forward to every visit in the gardens or the restaurant. The food is beautifully presented and delicious. I am taking my mother for a visit on 1/30/16 so that we can dine and fantasize about the upcoming nuptials.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Brunch

Dined on October 25, 2015

Having paid for combined 3 weddings here, friends and us enjoyed a Sunday Brunch. A bit surprised it was menu based rather than buffet, but menu is fairly extensive. With there experience with weddings, their food preparation/presentation is outstanding. On a scale of 1-5 for quality of food items, I would rate them a 4. As for the atmosphere, extremely hard to beat the Viranda. Think they make a mistake charging paying customers who want to view the grounds, but that's their decision to make. If you have not seen their grounds, its worth the price ($7.50) of admission. Be sure to bring your camera.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Peace on the Veranda

Dined on October 17, 2015

I am so happy to have found this wonderful Restaurant and Garden last year and have invited almost all of my friends and family to share the experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Can't Beat the View

Dined on October 3, 2015

This is a beautiful place to enjoy an outdoor lunch. The food is great and very reasonably priced. I hope to come back here many times.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Truly Memorable Lunch

Dined on October 2, 2015

A beautiful spot for any occasion. Service, food, and location/scenery were all outstanding. While reservations require some advance planning (with only 10 tables), we've already made arrangements to return for Sunday brunch. I expect this will become one of our favorite lunch/brunch spots. It's certainly worth the drive from San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Lunch on veranda

Dined on September 16, 2015

My party of 3 was 10 minutes early for our 2:00 reservation and we still had to wait 20 minutes...then it turned out they only had a table for 2 ready because that's what I reserved. I pulled out my smartphone with copy of email confirmation to prove I had requested a table for 3. Only then did they apologize and said it was their mistake. Now I had to wait longer for a new table to be cleared and reset for us. The waitress was attentive but the sandwiches we had were just OK, nothing worth a 40 minute drive from San Diego. I was surprised that the menu only consisted of sandwiches with soup or salad, boring. Sitting on a veranda, overlooking a lovely landscape could be enhanced so much more by a deliciously, beautiful lunch. Then, they actually charge you $2.50 per person if you want to stroll thru the gardens after you eat! What nerve.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A Wonderland

Dined on September 3, 2015

Such a beautiful estate. Each section of garden was immaculate and the lake just so serene. Lunch was delicious and service superb. With each table having full view of the lake, couldn't ask for more, except would love them to have dinner also.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Setting

Dined on August 29, 2015

We made our reservation for the Veranda Restaurant for 11:30 a.m. so we could enjoy walking through all of the beautiful gardens before we sat down to eat. The reservation also entitled us to a $5.00 discount on the garden tickets. Superb views everywhere! Super friendly staff and tasty food made for a wonderful outing. We will be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Al Fresco Dining Only?

Dined on August 15, 2015

We had made our reservation long before the heat wave hit, and unbeknownst to us, The Veranda is just that--a veranda (i.e., patio). There were a couple of ceiling fans but not above all tables. Needless to say, it was quite warm on the veranda. Nevertheless, the view overlooking the grounds was spectacular, and the food was very nice. Ambience was slightly disturbed by a very loud group two tables away, laughing and talking at top decibels. Once they left, it was quiet and lovely. One comment: there were only about 10 tables (inside is apparently reserved for weddings and events). So reservations are sort of hard to come by. At least, that was my impression. Recommend for cooler days or early evening dining.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

God's Serenity Garden

Dined on August 8, 2015

Grand Tradition Estate is the most amazing place to eat and relax in the beautiful surroundings. The staff is incredible. Ask for Tina for your garden tour. She's absolutely delightful and very knowledgeable.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.