Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge

Awarded "Best Sushi" 2012, 2013 & 2015

Chic. Modern. Sophisticated. But also casual and friendly. The Venue is the cool hot spot on El Paseo, popular with locals, out-of-town visitors and food critics who serve up rave reviews. The Venue is artful, from its sleek décor to the original, ever-evolving menu, enthusiastically created by owner/chef Engin Onural. "This is my art," he shares. "Each plate is a painting, but I use fish instead of paint."

73 111 EL PASEO STE:103
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Ocotillo and Sage

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-1500

Website:
http://www.thevenuepalmdesert.com/

Catering:
We will be happy to assist you with your catering needs small to large. Please contact manager or email info@thevenuepalmdesert.com

Parking Details:
Street parking available on El Paseo and we also have private parking lot in the back side of the property.

Executive Chef:
Engin Onural

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM

The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Modern Decor (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Better than Matsuhisa, LA, Nobu NY San Diego Milan and Bento Box, Wilmington NC.
Freshest most innovative Sushi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were extremely disappointed in the service at your restaurant the evening of March 17th. The food service was very very slow and on two occasions waiters stopped by out table of 4 and said that they would check on our food. Neither time did they return and give us an update. The third time I asked one of the waiters what the problem was and his response was "We have a lot of people here that are hungry. Period". I took that response to be that it was the customer's fault and that had we not been there maybe the problem wouldn't be as bad. I've been in the restaurant business and any issues that ever arose were never the fault of the customer.

When the food finally arrived it was tasty however the spicy tuna roll would not hold together and it was impossible to eat without using your hands as it fell apart.

We will do our best to solve your "too busy to handle the customers" problem in the future as we will not return. There are many fine restaurants to have to wait an unreasonable amount of time to receive our food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious! We did family style and shared so many yummy treats! My standout was the Venue Roll...so good! The flavors all mixed perfectly. Service was friendly and relaxed, we were able to enjoy a leisurely dinner and good friends. This is a great spot, we shall return shortly.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Service was really confused and erratic

Timing of the courses was inconsistent

Food was fine but nothing special as compared to Vancouver sushi restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love their soju and sake selections. Perfect for my favorite sashimi platter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Fabulouzeverything waz grwat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great cuisine! Compliments to the chef!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

After booking a reservation for 2 on a Wednesday night at 7pm we got a call from the restaurant saying that all they had seating for that night was the patio (too cold and nobody sitting outside) or the sushi bar. The sushi bar seating was crowded and the stools were very heavy and not comfortable. The server was not very friendly and it seemed we had multiple servers as whoever was available brought our meals and no commentary about our orders. Food was okay, but we have had better sushi at more reasonable prices even at Ra a chain restaurant. The Venue would not be on our list to recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Small, cozy place. Outstanding, attentive service and lots of creative sushi options with their twist. A bit pricey, but was expecting to pay a little extra for anything on El Paseo.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Waiter gave us very poor service. VERY slow, even to taking our initial order. He introduced himself then left. Eventually returned to take our drink order which took forever to deliver. Food delivery was even slower. The food was good but not worth the wait. Wouldn't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We live in Palm Springs and were excited to take our adult kids to Venue in Palm Desert for their birthdays. What a huge disappointment. We were seated promptly but waited over 25 minutes before our waiter appeared at the table. We had some questions which he said he would take to the chef, then he never returned with the answers. 40 minutes in he finally came back and took our drinks/appetizer orders. The pre-poured sake and bottle arrived but unfortunately one of the glasses had lipstick on it. We noticed that the appetizer plates were greasy too. The beverages server took the dirty full sake glass away but was unwilling to bring us a replacement. He was dismissive and uncourteous. Finally we flagged down a server (ours was no where in sight), and she said she would alert our waiter. He finally came back and replaced restaurant opened bottle of sake with another, but still made no attempt to take our order. We had been seated for close to an hour holding Venue's huge, awkward clipboard menus. At that point, we agreed that we were not enjoying ourselves and would end our supposed festive evening at Venue and go elsewhere. Too bad I cannot give zero stars for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic food and service. The cuisine is fresh and inspiring with amazing flavors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We shared a 16-piece sushi platter. It was beautifully presented, and it was more than we could eat. The ambiance was very chic and the servers were friendly and efficient. We will definitely go back and try one of the rolls which we were too full to order. Also, they gave us a 15% coupon for our next visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Saturday night and Restaurant was very full...wanted to do the taking fixed menu but we were told the restaurant was too busy and the sushi chef's could not keep up. Service was very slow but the Rolls were very imaginative and tasty. Was disappointed they basically only carried standard nigiri sushi....no uni or Aji etc.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous food and atmosphere. Horrific poor service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Kinda of hard to find off El Paseo! Excellent food and presentation. The staff was in need of training as we had to ask for water 3 times, we asked for the check 3 times and it took 15 minutes and there were not that many customers. But the food presentation and taste was incredible and will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my second time here and was still fantastic as ever. Expensive but it's a well worth pay because the sushi is so dang good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our 1st time at this restaurant. Excellent ambiance and the food was delicious. Seemed like their service and their kitchen was a just a bit off as food wasn't presented in a timely manner, and they didn't following our request of having sauce put on the side instead on on the food . However I will say once we let them know of the issues (which I won't go into detail ), they were very accommodating and attentive and tried their best to make up for it. Worth giving it a try if you haven't been there before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We have visited the Venue on many occasions (about 6 times a year), and we are never disappointed. Consistently very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Staff was very friendly and helpful with menu and suggesting other options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome! Service and food is always great. Definitely like to bring my family here when they're in town. Thank you guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Traveling to Palm Desert for a conference. Saw this had great reviews on Yelp and OT. Wow!!! Did not disappoint! Service was over the top...not in a pushy way, but really pleasant and helpful (since I was by myself).
Food...off the charts! Check out the Tuna Tostadas! What was so great about the food...it was inventive and creative, but not complex. Put our sushi places at home to shame...fish had so much flavor and great texture. I will definitely be back if I get to Palm Springs area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Probably the best sushi I've have in the Palm Desert area. Pricey but I think worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic menu with unique and delicious food. Traditional sushi is available, but they have created some amazing renditions of their own! Staff is incredibly attentive and knowledgeable about recommendations and all items. Thank you for the amazing experience. We already have 2 future reservations set up. Can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A fairly "modern" Japanese restaurant and thoroughly in tune with the neighborhood and the community.
Good food, excellent wait staff.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated right away, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The edamame and miso soup starters were wxcelwnt. sushi (specialty rolls) were creative , very fresh and flavorful.
The prices are on the high side - dinner for 2 with
Drinks $120.
The high glass tables and open decor wasnt very cosy And the restaurant was drafty so
By end of dinner my
Feet were frozen!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The sushi was really excellent. The service was attentive but the timing of the dishes was definitely off. We had requested the sampler dish with two extra tuna added. The tuna arrived before we finished our warm miso soup but the main dish arrived well after our friend's dishes. Very odd. I think that other patrons have had similar experiences. Prices were very high at $70 for two, excluding alcohol. Still, a good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The place was significantly understaffed, and the waiters made tons of mistakes. The food was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is one of the best sushi restaurants I have been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Terrific food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent quality of fish, creative rolls, fine dining experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Family came here for a last minute Christmas Eve dinner - my in-laws said they enjoyed but we were all starving afterwards. The server didn't even know that yellow tail was hamachi; menu was so limited and they weren't able to deviate from the menu.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We always enjoy our time at Venue...quality plus and far superior to most valley restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This restaurant had good reviews but I cannot recommend it for couples. It is very noisy and small.
Although it was not busy when came in, a large group arrived later and then we were ignored. We had to ask what happened to our food after sitting for a long time. The server inquired and then we got our food but it was hastily prepared and not good. I sent it back. The server was very nice and they gave us each a half glass of bubbly on the house and offered us a discount coupon
But as tourists we had no use for a discount in a return visit. Can't fault the sever, but this is a pet peeve of mine. Singles and couples take a back seat to groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious food! I always enjoy the Venue for special occasions & getting together with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great sushi accommodated our picky daughter. Chris the server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was amazing! Great location to celebrate! Service was superior! Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.