About The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge

Awarded "Best Sushi" 2012, 2013 & 2015

Chic. Modern. Sophisticated. But also casual and friendly. The Venue is the cool hot spot on El Paseo, popular with locals, out-of-town visitors and food critics who serve up rave reviews. The Venue is artful, from its sleek décor to the original, ever-evolving menu, enthusiastically created by owner/chef Engin Onural. "This is my art," he shares. "Each plate is a painting, but I use fish instead of paint."

73 111 EL PASEO STE:103
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Ocotillo and Sage

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-1500

Website:
http://www.thevenuepalmdesert.com/

Catering:
We will be happy to assist you with your catering needs small to large. Please contact manager or email info@thevenuepalmdesert.com

Parking Details:
Street parking available on El Paseo and we also have private parking lot in the back side of the property.

Executive Chef:
Engin Onural

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM

The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Modern Decor (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We shared a 16-piece sushi platter. It w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

We shared a 16-piece sushi platter. It was beautifully presented, and it was more than we could eat. The ambiance was very chic and the servers were friendly and efficient. We will definitely go back and try one of the rolls which we were too full to order. Also, they gave us a 15% coupon for our next visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Saturday night and Restaurant was very f ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Saturday night and Restaurant was very full...wanted to do the taking fixed menu but we were told the restaurant was too busy and the sushi chef's could not keep up. Service was very slow but the Rolls were very imaginative and tasty. Was disappointed they basically only carried standard nigiri sushi....no uni or Aji etc.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Fabulous food and atmosphere. Horrific ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fabulous food and atmosphere. Horrific poor service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Kinda of hard to find off El Paseo! Exce ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Kinda of hard to find off El Paseo! Excellent food and presentation. The staff was in need of training as we had to ask for water 3 times, we asked for the check 3 times and it took 15 minutes and there were not that many customers. But the food presentation and taste was incredible and will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my second time here and was sti ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was my second time here and was still fantastic as ever. Expensive but it's a well worth pay because the sushi is so dang good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our 1st time at this restaurant. Excelle ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our 1st time at this restaurant. Excellent ambiance and the food was delicious. Seemed like their service and their kitchen was a just a bit off as food wasn't presented in a timely manner, and they didn't following our request of having sauce put on the side instead on on the food . However I will say once we let them know of the issues (which I won't go into detail ), they were very accommodating and attentive and tried their best to make up for it. Worth giving it a try if you haven't been there before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have visited the Venue on many occasi ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We have visited the Venue on many occasions (about 6 times a year), and we are never disappointed. Consistently very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and amazing service. Staff w ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Staff was very friendly and helpful with menu and suggesting other options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Service and food is always grea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome! Service and food is always great. Definitely like to bring my family here when they're in town. Thank you guys!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveling to Palm Desert for a conferenc ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Traveling to Palm Desert for a conference. Saw this had great reviews on Yelp and OT. Wow!!! Did not disappoint! Service was over the top...not in a pushy way, but really pleasant and helpful (since I was by myself).

Food...off the charts! Check out the Tuna Tostadas! What was so great about the food...it was inventive and creative, but not complex. Put our sushi places at home to shame...fish had so much flavor and great texture. I will definitely be back if I get to Palm Springs area again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Probably the best sushi I've have in the ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Probably the best sushi I've have in the Palm Desert area. Pricey but I think worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic menu with unique and delicious ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic menu with unique and delicious food. Traditional sushi is available, but they have created some amazing renditions of their own! Staff is incredibly attentive and knowledgeable about recommendations and all items. Thank you for the amazing experience. We already have 2 future reservations set up. Can't wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fairly "modern" Japanese restaurant an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A fairly "modern" Japanese restaurant and thoroughly in tune with the neighborhood and the community.

Good food, excellent wait staff.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated right away, food was exce ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated right away, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service.

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The edamame and miso soup starters were ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The edamame and miso soup starters were wxcelwnt. sushi (specialty rolls) were creative , very fresh and flavorful.

The prices are on the high side - dinner for 2 with

Drinks $120.

The high glass tables and open decor wasnt very cosy And the restaurant was drafty so

By end of dinner my

Feet were frozen!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The sushi was really excellent. The serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The sushi was really excellent. The service was attentive but the timing of the dishes was definitely off. We had requested the sampler dish with two extra tuna added. The tuna arrived before we finished our warm miso soup but the main dish arrived well after our friend's dishes. Very odd. I think that other patrons have had similar experiences. Prices were very high at $70 for two, excluding alcohol. Still, a good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The place was significantly understaffed ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The place was significantly understaffed, and the waiters made tons of mistakes. The food was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

This is one of the best sushi restaurant ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is one of the best sushi restaurants I have been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food. Great service.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Terrific food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality of fish, creative roll ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent quality of fish, creative rolls, fine dining experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family came here for a last minute Chris ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Family came here for a last minute Christmas Eve dinner - my in-laws said they enjoyed but we were all starving afterwards. The server didn't even know that yellow tail was hamachi; menu was so limited and they weren't able to deviate from the menu.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy our time at Venue...qual ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We always enjoy our time at Venue...quality plus and far superior to most valley restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had good reviews but I c ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This restaurant had good reviews but I cannot recommend it for couples. It is very noisy and small.

Although it was not busy when came in, a large group arrived later and then we were ignored. We had to ask what happened to our food after sitting for a long time. The server inquired and then we got our food but it was hastily prepared and not good. I sent it back. The server was very nice and they gave us each a half glass of bubbly on the house and offered us a discount coupon

But as tourists we had no use for a discount in a return visit. Can't fault the sever, but this is a pet peeve of mine. Singles and couples take a back seat to groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Great ambiance and delicious food! I alw ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious food! I always enjoy the Venue for special occasions & getting together with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Great sushi accommodated our picky daugh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great sushi accommodated our picky daughter. Chris the server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing! Great location to cele ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was amazing! Great location to celebrate! Service was superior! Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at this venue was outstandin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service at this venue was outstanding. It was all about the guest. The food was current,interesting and delicious. everyone was friendly and happy . The servers all had a smile on there faces and were happy to answer any questions or change up any ingredient.

Make sure you make a reservation this place will be booked in high season!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! Great, great service a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Loved this place! Great, great service and wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining here! Make sure you say h ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love dining here! Make sure you say hi to Sergio, he is a rockstar! Can't say enough good things about this place and the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cool place with a hip vibe. Very k ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very cool place with a hip vibe. Very knowledgeable servers. Excellent quality fish in the sampler platter we had. Cucumber salad also very tasty. I great find. It would get a Michelin Star if it were in London, Paris or some other major City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucky is an excellent waiter. Food is de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Lucky is an excellent waiter. Food is delicious. Presentation beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another great evening with friends enjoy ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Another great evening with friends enjoying the best sushi in the desert!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fab! This was our first time here and wo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Fab! This was our first time here and won't be the last! Standouts for us were the stuffed mushrooms, ahi tostada, Venue roll...all super delicious and such fresh fish! Service was easy and friendly. We will be back soon!!! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. Chris, our server ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was amazing. Chris, our server is awesome! He had great recommendations and a wonderful personality. Between the food and Chris, we will be back one more time before we head home.

Food: to start we had the stuffed avocado and salmon hamachi.

Rolls: the venue roll, baby langoustine, fish and chips

Everything was phenomenal!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and location. Fish was v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice atmosphere and location. Fish was very fresh, however, they need to perfect sushi rice… It was far from it (not sticky and too hard, just regular white rice). Good sake varieties and great customer service. A bit too pricey for sushi rolls…

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I would usually give great service revie ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I would usually give great service reviews but we had reservations and asked to sit in the booth. We were told that they had another group coming and they were giving them the booth....through our whole dinner, nobody ever came and sat at the booth! We were never asked if we still wanted the booth....they gave us a hard time about sitting there....we did not like our seats! Not happy!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We found this Japanese restaurant disapp ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We found this Japanese restaurant disappointing. It was not busy and on a Thursday evening. The service was extremely slow and not attentive. We ordered a nice bottle of cold sake and by the time our fist dish arrived (about 25/30 min) we had almost finished it. The appetizers were spicy tuna cocktail and agedashi tofu. The salmon carpaccio wasn't carpaccio at all because it was thick pieces of what I would call sashimi. It was inedible. Very chewy, not properly sliced and tasted very fishy. We could not eat it and when the waiter took it away he wasn't the least concerned that we didn't eat any of it. Unfortunately the same went for the salmon sushi. I would never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The service is incredible!!! They really ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service is incredible!!! They really do a great job!! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.