Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.10mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge

Awarded "Best Sushi" 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016 & 2017

Chic. Modern. Sophisticated. But also casual and friendly. The Venue is the cool hot spot on El Paseo, popular with locals, out-of-town visitors and food critics who serve up rave reviews. The Venue is artful, from its sleek décor to the original, ever-evolving menu, enthusiastically created by owner/chef Engin Onural. "This is my art," he shares. "Each plate is a painting, but I use fish instead of paint."

73 111 EL PASEO STE:103
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Contemporary Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Ocotillo and Sage

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-1500

Website:
http://www.thevenuepalmdesert.com/

Catering:
We will be happy to assist you with your catering needs small to large. Please contact manager or email info@thevenuepalmdesert.com

Parking Details:
Street parking available on El Paseo and we also have private parking lot in the back side of the property.

Executive Chef:
Engin Onural

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM

The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (9)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance is lovely, it's quiet, the food is beautiful and so delicious. The fish tastes fresh and the sauces are unique and modern. The service is exceptional and the staff were very patient with my persnickety questions. We went for our anniversary and they surprised us with a scrumptious raspberry sorbet. ❤️'S all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our first time here. Very good food and service. A little pricey

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The Venue is the best sushi in the Coachella Valley. And I should know...I lived all over the country including Manhattan for over a decade. Try the tasting menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I like the restaurant place and the staffs are so friendly.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food and fun atmosphere. Might have been a waiter short, service a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great place, excellent sushi! Only odd part of our time there was that there were no other people on a Friday night at 730pm. Good for us though! Again, excellent sushi, creative rolls.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Still the best sushi in the valley. In addition to the normal menu selection Chief Engen
makes some creative and tasty specialty rolls. It you are looking for volume go to All You Can Eat Sushi, it you want great sushi stop in at Venue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Total evening was wonderful, we had the honor of Yessica to make our dinner perfect!
Her service and recommendations were spot on!
Food was fantastic

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The best sushi restaurant ever. Fabulous food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

It was great - they should have cocktails, though

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is our family go to for ANY special occasion. The staff are always friendly and knowledgeable of the food served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food and service. Had a wonderful time with our kids while on vacation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We showed up for our 9p reservation early and were seated at 8:55p. We ordered right away and received our order at 10:30p!! An hour and a half later! Waiter checked up on us only once during this whole wait. The kitchen was extremely slow and backed up. The restaurant didn't even seem that busy because there were plenty of empty tables around us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food here was really good but the service and timing of everything sucked! We had a reservation at 7:30 and arrived at 7:34. Although we were seated at 7:45 and ordered our food right after, we didn't get our food until 9:50. Almost 2 hours later!!! It was ridiculous. And it was not even that crowded. Our waiter did give us free champagne and some edamame for the hassle but never came out and apologized or even mentioned the wait. WE had to bring all of it up to the staff who kept insisting that it was because of how busy they were (they were not crowded at all).

I'll never go back there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Fabulous food. We had the Omakase 7 course dinner. Absolutely devine. Simmi the head waiter was delightful. We had a fabulous sake. The Denshin Haru Junmai Ginjo Nama sake Incredible. Our second experience at this fabulous restaurant.
Highly recommend this experience. Everything is super including the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Service was excellent. Very friendly. Specialty rolls were delicious. Awesome presentation.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on May 5, 2017

日本人の口に合うかと言いますと、微妙。でも、アメリカで寿司を食べるのだから充分許せる範囲。
寿司屋らしからぬ素敵な雰囲気に満足しています。来年も行くかも♪

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

To start, we had a reservation for 7pm on a Friday night. When we arrived, there were only about 4 tables that were filled, yet the hostess greeted us by telling us there was another reservation for our table at 8:30 so we needed to be done by 8:20. I have never heard that from a hostess before! Once we were seated, we sat for 15 minutes without anyone coming to our table to welcome us, bring us water, or simply acknowledge our presence. I went back to the hostess to complain, she apologized, spoke to our waiter, and then I watched him disappear into the kitchen. We waited another 5 minutes before he came to our table. While the sushi was fresh and tasty, the service was so bad, I cannot recommend this place and will never go there again. I can get good sushi in lots of other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Just consistently excellent sushi! Every time I go back, the food is superb. The wait staff and friendly and incredibly helpful. My guest left a pair of glasses behind and I got a phone call within 3 minutes of departing saying, "We have these for you. They'll be safe." It's just the small details that always make it a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I brought my wife and her best friend here for their birthdays. The food was amazing and the service was very good. Overall it made the occasion very special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very good rolls, and appetizers. Some great non-traditional rolls that are amazing. Ko-Ko roll, Venue Roll and Experiment Roll are really really good. Not cheap but worth it. We took our kids, wouldn't recommend kids, but they were accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Don't believe the hype. 1 sushi chef. 2 waiters. Full restaurant. (They must have seen the ad in local PS magazine like we did). Wanted to order more sushi after our first round but decided to ask for the check and go up the street because from the look of other hungry diners we had a long wait. Table of 6 in big booth near window left after waiting 15 mins to order. They were quite vocal. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great place to eat. The food was great especially the spicy tuna tostada and the Venue roll. Service was charming and helpful. We learned something new about sake. Highly recommend the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We have enjoyed the Venue twice and the food was perfect on both occasions. The chef was very accommodating of dietary restrictions and food allergies in our group, altering and suggesting menu items. We will definitely return the next time we are in the desert and highly recommend you give them a try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic, Vegan, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We saw some bad reviews on this place before booking; but seeing that almost every other place on El Paseo is either a steakhouse or American style restaurant, and one can get tired of that, we thought we would try some sushi.

Overall it was great. Service was timely and polite. Sushi was above average. Overall happy.

Tags: Vegan, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Service was slow. Sushi wasn't anything special. Tuna tostada app was the best dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very disappointed. Service was poor and manager nor the servers even cared. Our server even defended the poor service by saying it was only 29 minutes since you ordered your first sushi roll. Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Awesome sushi! Very fresh and very innovative. The unlimited bubbles (all the champagne you can drink) for $16 is a great value. We loved the stuffed avocado appetizer as well as the mochi for dessert. Sushi rolls were exceptional. Would definitely recommend and go again. A little pricey though.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Better than Matsuhisa, LA, Nobu NY San Diego Milan and Bento Box, Wilmington NC.
Freshest most innovative Sushi.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were extremely disappointed in the service at your restaurant the evening of March 17th. The food service was very very slow and on two occasions waiters stopped by out table of 4 and said that they would check on our food. Neither time did they return and give us an update. The third time I asked one of the waiters what the problem was and his response was "We have a lot of people here that are hungry. Period". I took that response to be that it was the customer's fault and that had we not been there maybe the problem wouldn't be as bad. I've been in the restaurant business and any issues that ever arose were never the fault of the customer.

When the food finally arrived it was tasty however the spicy tuna roll would not hold together and it was impossible to eat without using your hands as it fell apart.

We will do our best to solve your "too busy to handle the customers" problem in the future as we will not return. There are many fine restaurants to have to wait an unreasonable amount of time to receive our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Delicious! We did family style and shared so many yummy treats! My standout was the Venue Roll...so good! The flavors all mixed perfectly. Service was friendly and relaxed, we were able to enjoy a leisurely dinner and good friends. This is a great spot, we shall return shortly.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Service was really confused and erratic

Timing of the courses was inconsistent

Food was fine but nothing special as compared to Vancouver sushi restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I love their soju and sake selections. Perfect for my favorite sashimi platter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulouzeverything waz grwat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing rolls!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great cuisine! Compliments to the chef!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

After booking a reservation for 2 on a Wednesday night at 7pm we got a call from the restaurant saying that all they had seating for that night was the patio (too cold and nobody sitting outside) or the sushi bar. The sushi bar seating was crowded and the stools were very heavy and not comfortable. The server was not very friendly and it seemed we had multiple servers as whoever was available brought our meals and no commentary about our orders. Food was okay, but we have had better sushi at more reasonable prices even at Ra a chain restaurant. The Venue would not be on our list to recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Small, cozy place. Outstanding, attentive service and lots of creative sushi options with their twist. A bit pricey, but was expecting to pay a little extra for anything on El Paseo.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Waiter gave us very poor service. VERY slow, even to taking our initial order. He introduced himself then left. Eventually returned to take our drink order which took forever to deliver. Food delivery was even slower. The food was good but not worth the wait. Wouldn't go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We live in Palm Springs and were excited to take our adult kids to Venue in Palm Desert for their birthdays. What a huge disappointment. We were seated promptly but waited over 25 minutes before our waiter appeared at the table. We had some questions which he said he would take to the chef, then he never returned with the answers. 40 minutes in he finally came back and took our drinks/appetizer orders. The pre-poured sake and bottle arrived but unfortunately one of the glasses had lipstick on it. We noticed that the appetizer plates were greasy too. The beverages server took the dirty full sake glass away but was unwilling to bring us a replacement. He was dismissive and uncourteous. Finally we flagged down a server (ours was no where in sight), and she said she would alert our waiter. He finally came back and replaced restaurant opened bottle of sake with another, but still made no attempt to take our order. We had been seated for close to an hour holding Venue's huge, awkward clipboard menus. At that point, we agreed that we were not enjoying ourselves and would end our supposed festive evening at Venue and go elsewhere. Too bad I cannot give zero stars for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.