About The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge

73 111 EL PASEO STE:103
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Awarded "Best Sushi" 2012, 2013 & 2015

Chic. Modern. Sophisticated. But also casual and friendly. The Venue is the cool hot spot on El Paseo, popular with locals, out-of-town visitors and food critics who serve up rave reviews. The Venue is artful, from its sleek décor to the original, ever-evolving menu, enthusiastically created by owner/chef Engin Onural. "This is my art," he shares. "Each plate is a painting, but I use fish instead of paint."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Ocotillo and Sage

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-1500

Website:
http://www.thevenuepalmdesert.com/

Catering:
We will be happy to assist you with your catering needs small to large. Please contact manager or email info@thevenuepalmdesert.com

Parking Details:
Street parking available on El Paseo and we also have private parking lot in the back side of the property.

Executive Chef:
Engin Onural

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM

The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Probably the best sushi I've have in the ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Probably the best sushi I've have in the Palm Desert area. Pricey but I think worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fairly "modern" Japanese restaurant an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A fairly "modern" Japanese restaurant and thoroughly in tune with the neighborhood and the community.

Good food, excellent wait staff.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated right away, food was exce ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were seated right away, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service.

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The edamame and miso soup starters were ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The edamame and miso soup starters were wxcelwnt. sushi (specialty rolls) were creative , very fresh and flavorful.

The prices are on the high side - dinner for 2 with

Drinks $120.

The high glass tables and open decor wasnt very cosy And the restaurant was drafty so

By end of dinner my

Feet were frozen!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The sushi was really excellent. The serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The sushi was really excellent. The service was attentive but the timing of the dishes was definitely off. We had requested the sampler dish with two extra tuna added. The tuna arrived before we finished our warm miso soup but the main dish arrived well after our friend's dishes. Very odd. I think that other patrons have had similar experiences. Prices were very high at $70 for two, excluding alcohol. Still, a good experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The place was significantly understaffed ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The place was significantly understaffed, and the waiters made tons of mistakes. The food was very good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

This is one of the best sushi restaurant ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is one of the best sushi restaurants I have been to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific food. Great service.

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Terrific food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality of fish, creative roll ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent quality of fish, creative rolls, fine dining experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Organic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family came here for a last minute Chris ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Family came here for a last minute Christmas Eve dinner - my in-laws said they enjoyed but we were all starving afterwards. The server didn't even know that yellow tail was hamachi; menu was so limited and they weren't able to deviate from the menu.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We always enjoy our time at Venue...qual ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We always enjoy our time at Venue...quality plus and far superior to most valley restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant had good reviews but I c ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This restaurant had good reviews but I cannot recommend it for couples. It is very noisy and small.

Although it was not busy when came in, a large group arrived later and then we were ignored. We had to ask what happened to our food after sitting for a long time. The server inquired and then we got our food but it was hastily prepared and not good. I sent it back. The server was very nice and they gave us each a half glass of bubbly on the house and offered us a discount coupon

But as tourists we had no use for a discount in a return visit. Can't fault the sever, but this is a pet peeve of mine. Singles and couples take a back seat to groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Great ambiance and delicious food! I alw ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great ambiance and delicious food! I always enjoy the Venue for special occasions & getting together with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Great sushi accommodated our picky daugh ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great sushi accommodated our picky daughter. Chris the server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing! Great location to cele ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was amazing! Great location to celebrate! Service was superior! Will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at this venue was outstandin ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service at this venue was outstanding. It was all about the guest. The food was current,interesting and delicious. everyone was friendly and happy . The servers all had a smile on there faces and were happy to answer any questions or change up any ingredient.

Make sure you make a reservation this place will be booked in high season!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place! Great, great service a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Loved this place! Great, great service and wonderful food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining here! Make sure you say h ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We love dining here! Make sure you say hi to Sergio, he is a rockstar! Can't say enough good things about this place and the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cool place with a hip vibe. Very k ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Very cool place with a hip vibe. Very knowledgeable servers. Excellent quality fish in the sampler platter we had. Cucumber salad also very tasty. I great find. It would get a Michelin Star if it were in London, Paris or some other major City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lucky is an excellent waiter. Food is de ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Lucky is an excellent waiter. Food is delicious. Presentation beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Another great evening with friends enjoy ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Another great evening with friends enjoying the best sushi in the desert!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fab! This was our first time here and wo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Fab! This was our first time here and won't be the last! Standouts for us were the stuffed mushrooms, ahi tostada, Venue roll...all super delicious and such fresh fish! Service was easy and friendly. We will be back soon!!! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. Chris, our server ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was amazing. Chris, our server is awesome! He had great recommendations and a wonderful personality. Between the food and Chris, we will be back one more time before we head home.

Food: to start we had the stuffed avocado and salmon hamachi.

Rolls: the venue roll, baby langoustine, fish and chips

Everything was phenomenal!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere and location. Fish was v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice atmosphere and location. Fish was very fresh, however, they need to perfect sushi rice… It was far from it (not sticky and too hard, just regular white rice). Good sake varieties and great customer service. A bit too pricey for sushi rolls…

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I would usually give great service revie ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I would usually give great service reviews but we had reservations and asked to sit in the booth. We were told that they had another group coming and they were giving them the booth....through our whole dinner, nobody ever came and sat at the booth! We were never asked if we still wanted the booth....they gave us a hard time about sitting there....we did not like our seats! Not happy!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We found this Japanese restaurant disapp ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We found this Japanese restaurant disappointing. It was not busy and on a Thursday evening. The service was extremely slow and not attentive. We ordered a nice bottle of cold sake and by the time our fist dish arrived (about 25/30 min) we had almost finished it. The appetizers were spicy tuna cocktail and agedashi tofu. The salmon carpaccio wasn't carpaccio at all because it was thick pieces of what I would call sashimi. It was inedible. Very chewy, not properly sliced and tasted very fishy. We could not eat it and when the waiter took it away he wasn't the least concerned that we didn't eat any of it. Unfortunately the same went for the salmon sushi. I would never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The service is incredible!!! They really ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service is incredible!!! They really do a great job!! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered appetizers. The food was not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We ordered appetizers. The food was not very good. The service was so bad that we just got the check and left. We didn't even order sushi. So many waiter, so few tables, but somehow no one could get around to take our order. We were even at the counter. Thumbs down. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was pricey and okay. Seems like emp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was pricey and okay. Seems like emphasis is on specialty rolls. Their stuffed avocado was the best thing we had.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Fabulous sushi with a creative affair. W ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous sushi with a creative affair. We always enjoy visiting The Venue every time we are in the desert.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Innovation and highest ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this place. Innovation and highest quality sushi and sashimi. Warm, attentive, sincere service. Great sultry atmosphere. Love this place! Regulars.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was special: food, service a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was special: food, service and ambiance. Great!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent in every way. Very sophistica ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent in every way. Very sophisticated food and wonderful service. Will return very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at this little gem and it was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 18, 2016

First time at this little gem and it was excellent. Although it is not a big restaurant the ambiance and location (sits back off of El Paseo) is excellent. The food was presented beautifully and the service was superb...especially our server, Sergio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't catch waiters name, taller, young ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Didn't catch waiters name, taller, younger of the 2. Forgot salads, slow service. The other shorter, slightly older waiter stepped in and removed our plates, he showed much more enthusiasm, wishing he had been our server. Food excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The best sushi ever. It has spoiled me ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 17, 2016

The best sushi ever. It has spoiled me for any place else.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Sushi In The Desert By Far!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Pretty solid sushi place in Palm Desert. Small space inside kind of noisy hard to talk If it wasn't 110 degrees outside we would of sat on patio Note to self def come back in season. Cocktail and wine Menu cocktails were good they don't have full liquor license but they did a nice job with soju and agave wine drinks mine being Tranquility. great sake list several Chardonnay's with a couple pino Grigios I opted for the Sophia rose Food wise the soy beans (Edamame) spicy was good the veg egg rolls were cold in the middle on the first bite, I

Mentioned to the sever and he took it away and have them remade. Much better the second time and the arugula salad that came with was excellent . Miso soup delish

sushi wise we have the el paseo roll with soft shell crab

The Experiment

Snow crab, mango, avocado and cucumber topped with tuna, thin slices of jalapeno, cilantro and yuzu aioli

Mediterranean

Spicy albacore, tempura asparagus and avocado topped with Mediterranean salsa, feta cheese and micro greens

FISH & CHIPS

Tempura style white fish and avocado topped with thin slices of jalapeño, spicy aioli and micro cilantro served with Asian seasoned fries all were excellent but the chips for the fish and chip roll the fries were under cooked all I all a great sushi spot the service was exceptional. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.