About The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge

73 111 EL PASEO STE:103
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Awarded "Best Sushi" 2012, 2013 & 2015

Chic. Modern. Sophisticated. But also casual and friendly. The Venue is the cool hot spot on El Paseo, popular with locals, out-of-town visitors and food critics who serve up rave reviews. The Venue is artful, from its sleek décor to the original, ever-evolving menu, enthusiastically created by owner/chef Engin Onural. "This is my art," he shares. "Each plate is a painting, but I use fish instead of paint."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Ocotillo and Sage

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-1500

Website:
http://www.thevenuepalmdesert.com/

Catering:
We will be happy to assist you with your catering needs small to large. Please contact manager or email info@thevenuepalmdesert.com

Parking Details:
Street parking available on El Paseo and we also have private parking lot in the back side of the property.

Executive Chef:
Engin Onural

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

50% Off Select Wines

Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. First bottle full price & second bottle equal/lower value will be 50% off. Special valid May 3, 2016 - May 31, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate your father with award winning creative sushi and excellent sake selection...
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM

The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (19)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for outdoor dining (9)
See All
hot spot (8)
special occasion (8)
romantic (7)
good for groups (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we love Venue

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the finest restaurants in the desert; Engin is a superb chef that brings sushi to the next level. We are huge fans of Venue!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great service

food5
ambience5
service5

Sergio was fantastic as our server! We ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Sergio was fantastic as our server! We loved the langostino roll and the beautiful sashimi platter. Excellent and fresh!!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great sushi

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is my go to sushi place while in Palm Desert. The sushi is always fresh, the drinks are great, and the waiters are fun and friendly! The place is a bit on the small side but that is what I love about it, gives your experience a very personal vibe!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The best sushi anywhere.

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The best sushi anywhere.

food5
ambience5
service5

We chose the chef's tasting ($75 each). ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

We chose the chef's tasting ($75 each). A wonderful experience

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Sushi

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Can't go wrong. Been here many times and never disappointed. Venue roll is always a must!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Sushi and Appetizers!!! More t ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Delicious Sushi and Appetizers!!! More than just Sushi!!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The best sushi ever!

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The sushi is the best I've ever had. The salmon melts in your mouth and tastes unlike any salmon I've ever tasted. They have a variety of rolls to choose. They have unlimited "bubbles" which is a sparkling wine and you can have as much as you can drink for one price. Terrific and friendly waiters. All around wonderful dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service4

Major attitude of front personnel. Ser ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Major attitude of front personnel. Sergio a waiter is very good. Chefs are excellent. Front person not so good

food5
ambience5
service5

We are from out of town and seasoned sus ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We are from out of town and seasoned sushi-eaters. I was blown away by the creativity of the menu and the unique specialty rolls. Amazing ingredients & spices. We are told the head chef/owner is from Turkey and you can see a hint of the Mediterranean flavors in certain dishes. Best sushi I've ever had. Ah-mazing.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Terrific!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

If you like good sushi, this is the place. More Japanese than many Japanese restaurants. Good saki bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna is the best in the desert. Terrifi ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Tuna is the best in the desert. Terrific friendly staff. Great food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Very welcoming staff ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent service. Very welcoming staff. Great food

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best sushi anywhere! Freshest seafood, ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Best sushi anywhere! Freshest seafood, light, wonderful tempura! Always consistent highest quality! Venue Roll is a "must try". My fav!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Friendly owner - Omakase execution not so much

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Our dinner at Venue could be summed up by a famous Chanel quote: "Before you walk out the door, look in the mirror and take one thing off." We dined on a quiet night and decided on the Omakase dinner ($75 pp). While all portions were generous, their "innovative" take on sushi fell short. The plating was confusing – most came dressed with a lovely orchid blossom, while nice to look at were unnecessary. All I kept thinking was what a shame such beautiful flowers met a useless end. Please, no more stuff on plates you can’t eat!! Food: Lovely clean tuna was pile on with feta cheese, eel sauce, cilantro some sort of cream. My plate also had extra chunks of chopped tuna which someone clearly scraped off the edge of my plate before putting in front of me. What was essentially a dynamite roll was doused in a very sweet honey sauce which over powered the entire dish. While the escolar (aka Butter fish) was the tastiest (minimal non-intrusive dressing) it was put on a fruit jelly disc which was impossible to take off the plate cleanly with chopsticks and did not add to the dish. I can’t recall each of the other courses exactly – but every fish put in front of us was buried under too many flavours. The highlight of the meal was the dessert. A wonderful and refreshing Coconut Yuzu sorbet (even with the large orchid in a small fish bowl). The chef / owner was very nice as was our server – the guilt abounds writing this review. But at $75USD – expectations were set high. Perhaps we should have just ordered off menu sushi. If you are looking for an proper upscale sushi Omakase find another place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous sushi, great service. We have ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fabulous sushi, great service. We have dinner here whenever we visit Palm Desert. This restaurant is a can't miss!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing tuna on tortilla crackers. Warm ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing tuna on tortilla crackers. Warm salted edamame. Amazing service too!!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Sushi ever

Dined on March 5, 2016

The Ahi Tuna Tostada appetizer was crunchy and flavorful. Spicy edamame was great and different. Sushi was spectacular. Rice Vodka cocktails were light and refreshing. They had pillows and blankets on the outdoor chairs. Very pleasant evening. I will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A little off the game

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

The sushi wasn't quite up to par this time around. Rolls weren't as tight as they normally are and quality overall was a little off. We love the place but it was a bit of a miss today.

food5
ambience5
service5

The evening was perfect. Food, service, ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The evening was perfect. Food, service, ambiance and our experience was perfect!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great sushi in the desert

Dined on February 10, 2016

Being from Vancouver, BC with tons of sushi restaurants, we were a little leery about going out for sushi in the desert. After reading reviews on Open Table, Venue looked like the best choice. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were amazed at how good the specialty rolls were. Just fabulous! The decor is very nice, and the service was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

becoming average

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

The 5 times before that we have come here it was exceptional. The presentations are still outstanding. But with a very limited wine list and and typical sushi/makki, if you're not ordering one of the house special rolls you having a pretty ordinary experience.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great little find.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great place and really good sushi. Good wine list and great service. You will enjoy this place.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fresh sushi. Fabulous service ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent fresh sushi. Fabulous service. Can't wait to go back!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service!

Dined on January 25, 2016

We had been here once before and the waiter remembered us and what we had to drink! Beautiful presentation of the food which tastes fantastic. Will return many times

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sushi in the desert

Dined on January 24, 2016

We have been looking for great sushi in the desert and we liked The Venue sushi and rolls quite a bit. The presentation and quality of the fish were great. We also liked the all you can drink bubbles. A tad pricey, but worth it for a special meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Sushi in Coachella Valley

Dined on January 22, 2016

We love this place. The food, the service and the overall experience here are always the best. It is our regular treat upon any visit to El Paseo. Every member of the staff is professional and friendly. Love the Spicy Tuna Tostadas!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great sushi. Sat at the bar and had some ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

Great sushi. Sat at the bar and had some fantastic portions. Will make this a go to when in town again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time and a Great Time!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Wonderful staff! Was greater by Kathy with a smile and took care of us. Food is great and perfect dinner right before the New Years. Thank you again to everyone who made our dinner night the best :) Thank you from Kenneth and Michole

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Venue. The best sushi in the valley ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Love Venue. The best sushi in the valley with consistently excellent service. Lucky, the manager, was our server this evening and he was great as always. Personable, knowledgeable about the menu, and attentive. Thanks again for everything. (We brought our friends with us and it was their first time at Venue. They raved!)

food5
ambience3
service1
value3

New Years Eve unpleasantness

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

This is a great sushi bar. The Shisido peppers are a must but everything is great. However service is typicaly slow especially considering the relatively small seating footprint. We will keep coming back for the great food but I have to say that a recent experience was really off-putting. On New Years Eve we were cautioned upon being seated at our 5:30 PM reservation time that it's a busy night ahead and they will want to have our table open again in a reasonable timeframe. Good grief! Who needs that kind of pressure at the get-go? Hopefully next time a more user friendly server.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Definitely not a top ten opentable restaurant.

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

We made reservations but Venue didn't have a table for us, so we had to wait. When we finally got a table, the staff took forever to take our order and following that, we waited just shy of an hour to receive our food. Albeit the sushi rolls we ate were fairly good, this meal was not worth the wait nor the cost of eating a few good rolls. We question why this restaurant is listed as one of Palm Desert's top ten restaurants when we've gone to many better ones on El Paseo and had amazing experiences. Venue was a disappointment.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb sushi

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

Unbelievable peppers and incredible langoustine roll.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

Wednesday Dec 23 2015

Dined on December 24, 2015

We had a party of 7 and were seated promptly . Our waitress was good, but the service for our meal was extremely slow . It took over an hour and 15 min to get the roll made with Kobe steak. Everything was delicious , just so slow that it was tedious waiting for our food, even with cocktails In addition we sat next to the door to outside which was open on a cool night. Our waitress did apologize for the delay in our food being served. I've been here before and the service was excellent Thank you T.T.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful presentation

Dined on December 9, 2015

Beautiful presentation, and delicious. Best sushi we have had in a long time. Must visit

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

creative ,amazing ,delicious ,fresh outs ...

vip
Dined on November 30, 2015

creative ,amazing ,delicious ,fresh outstanding ! one of my favorites.

food5
ambience3
service4

Much smaller than I anticipated. Server ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

Much smaller than I anticipated. Server was very friendly, but forgot our sodas a few times. Food was a bit slow to come out but it all tasted fantastic. California Dreamin' was my favorite. Ice water had a funky taste, none of us felt safe drinking it. No refills on soda?? And almost $4 each time?? Not acceptable. Especially when he brought the glass only 2/3 full. Weird. Not many good non-alcoholic choices. Venuetini was good though.

food5
ambience5
service5

Venue is a great spot for sushi in the desert

Dined on November 5, 2015

The chef has an interesting flavor twist on his sushi, which was very fresh. The staff was attentive and helpful. We will be back and next time try the chef's tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

A Dining Must In The Desert!

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

Great food, great service, in an intimate but vibrant setting. Owner and executive chef, Engin Onural, is truly a genius at creating a unique dining experience. The Venue serves only the freshest fish with an inspired flair. We never miss an opportunity to visit this wonderful restaurant when we are in the Palm Desert area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.