About The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge

73 111 EL PASEO STE:103
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Awarded "Best Sushi" 2012, 2013 & 2015

Chic. Modern. Sophisticated. But also casual and friendly. The Venue is the cool hot spot on El Paseo, popular with locals, out-of-town visitors and food critics who serve up rave reviews. The Venue is artful, from its sleek décor to the original, ever-evolving menu, enthusiastically created by owner/chef Engin Onural. "This is my art," he shares. "Each plate is a painting, but I use fish instead of paint."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Ocotillo and Sage

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 346-1500

Website:
http://www.thevenuepalmdesert.com/

Catering:
We will be happy to assist you with your catering needs small to large. Please contact manager or email info@thevenuepalmdesert.com

Parking Details:
Street parking available on El Paseo and we also have private parking lot in the back side of the property.

Executive Chef:
Engin Onural

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Venue Roll
Omakase Sashimi
Uni
Coconut Ice Cream With Spanish Squid Ink
Escolar Sashimi With Piquillo Puree
Scallops In Shell With Piquante Peppers
Salmon Sashimi
Omakase
Venue Sampler
Wahoo Sashimi
Creme Brulee
Scallops In The Shell
Tuna tataki
Sushi Borritto
Sunchoke Soup
Sunchoke
Handroll
Salmon Tartare
The Venue Bowl
Spider With Saffron Aioli
California Dreamin'
Scallops
Coconut Shrimp
Chicken Karaage
giant clam sashimi
Zucchini Blossoms
Dried Shiitake Mushrooms
Spicy Salmon Poke
Kobe Beef Meat Balls
Eggplant Tuna Poke
Koko
Smoked salmon
Veggie Paradise
Shishito Peppers
Avocado Mango Maki Roll
Bosphorus
Omakase Carpaccio
Green Tea Cheesecake With Hibiscus Drizzle
King Kong Roll
Mochi
Cucumber Avocado Roll
Sashimi Platter

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:15PM

The Venue Sushi Bar & Sake Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Special Occasion (7)
See All
Hot Spot (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We found this Japanese restaurant disapp ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

We found this Japanese restaurant disappointing. It was not busy and on a Thursday evening. The service was extremely slow and not attentive. We ordered a nice bottle of cold sake and by the time our fist dish arrived (about 25/30 min) we had almost finished it. The appetizers were spicy tuna cocktail and agedashi tofu. The salmon carpaccio wasn't carpaccio at all because it was thick pieces of what I would call sashimi. It was inedible. Very chewy, not properly sliced and tasted very fishy. We could not eat it and when the waiter took it away he wasn't the least concerned that we didn't eat any of it. Unfortunately the same went for the salmon sushi. I would never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

The service is incredible!!! They really ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The service is incredible!!! They really do a great job!! Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered appetizers. The food was not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We ordered appetizers. The food was not very good. The service was so bad that we just got the check and left. We didn't even order sushi. So many waiter, so few tables, but somehow no one could get around to take our order. We were even at the counter. Thumbs down. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was pricey and okay. Seems like emp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was pricey and okay. Seems like emphasis is on specialty rolls. Their stuffed avocado was the best thing we had.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Fabulous sushi with a creative affair. W ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fabulous sushi with a creative affair. We always enjoy visiting The Venue every time we are in the desert.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place. Innovation and highest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Love this place. Innovation and highest quality sushi and sashimi. Warm, attentive, sincere service. Great sultry atmosphere. Love this place! Regulars.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was special: food, service a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was special: food, service and ambiance. Great!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent in every way. Very sophistica ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent in every way. Very sophisticated food and wonderful service. Will return very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time at this little gem and it was ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

First time at this little gem and it was excellent. Although it is not a big restaurant the ambiance and location (sits back off of El Paseo) is excellent. The food was presented beautifully and the service was superb...especially our server, Sergio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't catch waiters name, taller, young ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Didn't catch waiters name, taller, younger of the 2. Forgot salads, slow service. The other shorter, slightly older waiter stepped in and removed our plates, he showed much more enthusiasm, wishing he had been our server. Food excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

The best sushi ever. It has spoiled me ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The best sushi ever. It has spoiled me for any place else.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Sushi In The Desert By Far!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Pretty solid sushi place in Palm Desert. Small space inside kind of noisy hard to talk If it wasn't 110 degrees outside we would of sat on patio Note to self def come back in season. Cocktail and wine Menu cocktails were good they don't have full liquor license but they did a nice job with soju and agave wine drinks mine being Tranquility. great sake list several Chardonnay's with a couple pino Grigios I opted for the Sophia rose Food wise the soy beans (Edamame) spicy was good the veg egg rolls were cold in the middle on the first bite, I

Mentioned to the sever and he took it away and have them remade. Much better the second time and the arugula salad that came with was excellent . Miso soup delish

sushi wise we have the el paseo roll with soft shell crab

The Experiment

Snow crab, mango, avocado and cucumber topped with tuna, thin slices of jalapeno, cilantro and yuzu aioli

Mediterranean

Spicy albacore, tempura asparagus and avocado topped with Mediterranean salsa, feta cheese and micro greens

FISH & CHIPS

Tempura style white fish and avocado topped with thin slices of jalapeño, spicy aioli and micro cilantro served with Asian seasoned fries all were excellent but the chips for the fish and chip roll the fries were under cooked all I all a great sushi spot the service was exceptional. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

They sat us at a table that was in a tig ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

They sat us at a table that was in a tight uncomfortable spot. They moved us without question and were gracious about it. The lollipop roll was awesome. We will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi and ambience just a little p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Great sushi and ambience just a little pricey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Convenient location right on El Paseo. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Convenient location right on El Paseo. Service and food were both outstanding. "Venue" roll was excellent as well as the sampler platter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

we love Venue

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the finest restaurants in the desert; Engin is a superb chef that brings sushi to the next level. We are huge fans of Venue!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best tasting food around, sushi and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The best tasting food around, sushi and sashimi is incredible. Nice twist on lots of dishes. Great sake love it. Eat here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sergio was fantastic as our server! We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Sergio was fantastic as our server! We loved the langostino roll and the beautiful sashimi platter. Excellent and fresh!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is my go to sushi place while in Palm Desert. The sushi is always fresh, the drinks are great, and the waiters are fun and friendly! The place is a bit on the small side but that is what I love about it, gives your experience a very personal vibe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best sushi anywhere.

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The best sushi anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose the chef's tasting ($75 each). ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We chose the chef's tasting ($75 each). A wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sushi

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Can't go wrong. Been here many times and never disappointed. Venue roll is always a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Sushi and Appetizers!!! More t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Delicious Sushi and Appetizers!!!

More than just Sushi!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best sushi ever!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The sushi is the best I've ever had. The salmon melts in your mouth and tastes unlike any salmon I've ever tasted. They have a variety of rolls to choose. They have unlimited "bubbles" which is a sparkling wine and you can have as much as you can drink for one price.

Terrific and friendly waiters. All around wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Major attitude of front personnel. Ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Major attitude of front personnel. Sergio a waiter is very good. Chefs are excellent. Front person not so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

We are from out of town and seasoned sus ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We are from out of town and seasoned sushi-eaters. I was blown away by the creativity of the menu and the unique specialty rolls. Amazing ingredients & spices. We are told the head chef/owner is from Turkey and you can see a hint of the Mediterranean flavors in certain dishes. Best sushi I've ever had. Ah-mazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

If you like good sushi, this is the place. More Japanese than many Japanese restaurants. Good saki bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Tuna is the best in the desert. Terrifi ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Tuna is the best in the desert. Terrific friendly staff. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service. Very welcoming staff ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent service. Very welcoming staff. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best sushi anywhere! Freshest seafood, ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Best sushi anywhere! Freshest seafood, light, wonderful tempura! Always consistent highest quality! Venue Roll is a "must try". My fav!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Friendly owner - Omakase execution not so much

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Our dinner at Venue could be summed up by a famous Chanel quote: "Before you walk out the door, look in the mirror and take one thing off." We dined on a quiet night and decided on the Omakase dinner ($75 pp). While all portions were generous, their "innovative" take on sushi fell short. The plating was confusing – most came dressed with a lovely orchid blossom, while nice to look at were unnecessary. All I kept thinking was what a shame such beautiful flowers met a useless end. Please, no more stuff on plates you can’t eat!!

Food: Lovely clean tuna was pile on with feta cheese, eel sauce, cilantro some sort of cream. My plate also had extra chunks of chopped tuna which someone clearly scraped off the edge of my plate before putting in front of me. What was essentially a dynamite roll was doused in a very sweet honey sauce which over powered the entire dish. While the escolar (aka Butter fish) was the tastiest (minimal non-intrusive dressing) it was put on a fruit jelly disc which was impossible to take off the plate cleanly with chopsticks and did not add to the dish. I can’t recall each of the other courses exactly – but every fish put in front of us was buried under too many flavours. The highlight of the meal was the dessert. A wonderful and refreshing Coconut Yuzu sorbet (even with the large orchid in a small fish bowl).

The chef / owner was very nice as was our server – the guilt abounds writing this review. But at $75USD – expectations were set high. Perhaps we should have just ordered off menu sushi. If you are looking for an proper upscale sushi Omakase find another place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Fabulous sushi, great service. We have ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Fabulous sushi, great service. We have dinner here whenever we visit Palm Desert. This restaurant is a can't miss!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing tuna on tortilla crackers. Warm ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing tuna on tortilla crackers. Warm salted edamame. Amazing service too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sushi ever

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The Ahi Tuna Tostada appetizer was crunchy and flavorful. Spicy edamame was great and different. Sushi was spectacular. Rice Vodka cocktails were light and refreshing. They had pillows and blankets on the outdoor chairs. Very pleasant evening. I will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A little off the game

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The sushi wasn't quite up to par this time around. Rolls weren't as tight as they normally are and quality overall was a little off. We love the place but it was a bit of a miss today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The evening was perfect. Food, service, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The evening was perfect. Food, service, ambiance and our experience was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great sushi in the desert

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Being from Vancouver, BC with tons of sushi restaurants, we were a little leery about going out for sushi in the desert. After reading reviews on Open Table, Venue looked like the best choice. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were amazed at how good the specialty rolls were. Just fabulous! The decor is very nice, and the service was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

becoming average

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The 5 times before that we have come here it was exceptional. The presentations are still outstanding. But with a very limited wine list and and typical sushi/makki, if you're not ordering one of the house special rolls you having a pretty ordinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.