Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About The Valley Inn

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (44)
Casual (39)
Great for Lunch (37)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Comfort Food (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Special Occasion (21)
Happy Hour (18)
Fun (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Cozy (15)
Business Meals (14)
Quick Bite (13)
Historic (13)
People Watching (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Fireplace (6)
Seasonal (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was too loud. We couldn't hear any conversation without leaning in and speaking louder than we would ever want. Had been here once before with the same problem. Decided to try one more time due to location. It was a mistake. Food was OK. Service was OK. Saw a few inebriated patrons walking to their cars to drive home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our original seating was in the enclosed patio which we found too noisy. We requested a quieter area, and got it. The food was very good and served in portions that were not too large. Doggie boxes were not needed, for which we were thankful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great service and ambiance. We were disappointed that the ice cream machine was not working on a 90 degree evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The food was good. The waitress was attentive and helpful. The table was not located in a desirable place - it was like eating in a busy hallway with staff and other diners constantly brushing closely by our table. The noise level was very loud from many people (customers and staff) talking loudly. At the end of our meal, we discussed our concerns regarding our dining experience with the manager. The manager seemed rather inattentive and not particularly concerned about our concerns.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Four of us got together for a friends' lunch. Two of us had "small" salads and two the grilled cheese w/tomato sandwiches.

We all loved our lunches. The small salads were like large salads elsewhere. The seafood cob and house salad w/breast of chicken were both considered excellent --- as were the grilled cheese sandwiches.

We ate in the bar, which was very pleasant and our server was perfect. He seemed to anticipate any need we might have.

The dinning room was very formal, in a comfortable way. You could pick the Valley Inn for a formal or informal occasion and know you would be pleased with your visit.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food here was good but this restaurant seems to have an identity problem. Do they want to be fine dining or a bar with loud music? The band thankfully left halfway through our meal but they were awful! Service was attentive but not hovering.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Lovely evening to dine outside. Live music was good but we should have chosen a table a little farther away from the speakers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The Valley Inn is a consistently great spot for dining and for the indoor or outdoor bar scene. The clientele is a mix of young, middle aged and older folks. Fun atmosphere with consistently good food and service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Upon their opening, we often ate at the Valley Inn and enjoyed it. As it has grown and gained popularity the food and the service has suffered. The last 3 times I have been there convinced me I will not be back. Restaurant 101 to me is that I should not have to ask for a water refill. That is the norm there...no refills unless asked for. My salad had undercooked grilled chicken which totally ruined my appetite. And the other night I ordered a shrimp salad sandwich which was tasteless. No old bay, no seasonings and again I had to ask for a water refill each time. I don't understand the popularity of it but my meals have been mediocre at best. Too many other great restaurants to waste my money there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great historic spot for casual dining. New patio and bar make outdoor dining and hanging out with friends on warmer nights very enjoyable.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food is always dependably good. The restaurant has a steeplechase theme, which is perfect for the setting in Baltimore's horse country. The outdoor dining areas are very nice. The only criticism I have is that the service can be a bit slow on busy dining days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was good. Service was mediocre at best. Would probably go again but would be looking for improvements

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We love the Valley Inn and have always had great service and quality food. The food was horrible this visit and the service was so slow. Our waitress was very kind but food and drinks took forever.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Went here spur of the moment. Beginning to think of this as our go-to spot. Always a pleasure

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The staff was pleasant and friendly. The food is very good. Had a great lunch with my friend. Had shrimp salad on a bed of lettuce with tomato.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Cute cute cute little out of the way place.
Loved the raw bar.
The guys working the raw bar were great. Very cool atmosphere.
Dining room is pretty neat with an equestrian vibe. I had a pretty good seafood salad. Bonus points for having 1000 Island dressing on the menu.
Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The steak salad was and is always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

My mother and her 5 friends had a wonderful experience at the Valley Inn. They will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Extensive menu including lite fare, sandwiches and full size entrees, locally sourced, lower carb options

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to celebrate Father's Day on Sunday. I think it was the hottest day of the season and we were seated outside. This was not a good beginning. Our waitress was delightful and accommodating. Our food was ok and took a long time because the kitchen was backed up. Our waitress continued to keep us updated on the status of the food order. I've heard good things about this restaurant but did not find it to be my experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had a nice brunch but there were some negatives. The wait time between ordering and receiving food was quite long - not a big deal when we are a big group and having fun talking to each other, but I would be wary to bring my family for a regular week-night dinner when we are hungry.

Lack of any children's menu items is also a minus for me. The waitress even said the kitchen wouldn't separate one order of pancakes onto two different plates for my kids. We had to do this ourselves at the table. Very annoying. Most other restaurants will accommodate this kind of request.

With our appetizer we received a stack of dirty plates instead of clean ones...probably just an oversight but it was embarrassing for me to have my elderly father notice this on Father's Day.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Made a reservation for dinner for four late middle age adults at 8 PM. We were seated in the bar. I asked if it was loud and was told the "porch was probably louder" by the very young underdressed women at the desk.
Our server, Lauren, was sweet and we ordered drinks, salads and entrees. At 8:30 the noise started. There were music videos and a DJ blasting. We could not even hold a conversation. Management said they would turn it down but that only lasted for 10 minutes.
They should not be seating dinner guests in that bar unless they request it. They are catering to a young crowd that drinks and is not there for dinner. What a shame. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

From the very beginning everyone one seemed very confused trying to seat us took 3 try after leaving us stand in the middle of the restaurant while they tried to figure it out once seated it took a long time to get drinks and appetizer we then ordered dinner which took a long time also we ask if they forgot about us,when the food did arrive it was very disappointing I sent mine back that's how bad it was and didn't order a replacement meal and my husbands meal wasn't much better for now on we will stick to going to lunch here when the staff is not so overwhelmed!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Valley Inn has the kind of menu that we enjoy. You can order lite fare as well as a complete dinner. It tends to be very busy on the weekends and can be very noisy. The service is good and so is the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I reserved Valley Inn via Open Table and under notes section requested outdoor seating. I have done this at various restaurants and they always have honored whatever request I had in the note. However when I got to the valley inn the hostess informed me that she was told they shouldn't pay any attention to the notes on OpenTable and that the next time I should call ahead to request special seating. She said they just happened not to be that busy and she could see this outside. That was very misleading because it asks for special accommodations on the Open Door link. Also, when I asked if we could sit near the outside fountain she said those tables were reserved and the entire time we were there no one was seated at any of the tables near the fountain. Overall I was very disappointed in how we were greeted and were almost made to feel like we were being a pain rather than being open to our requests! Trust me -I am not a picky customer overall.

On the positive side our waiter was excellent and we tripped him accordingly. The food was good but not outstanding. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good drinks, slow service, noisy table despite reservations, crab imperial average at best.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good food, great service and friendly atmosphere. A perfect place to catch up with old friends.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 13, 2017

This was my first visit to The Valley Inn, and I liked everything about it. I'll definitely be back. The service was excellent, the rooms were attractive, and the lunch menu was extensive. The dining room we ate in was a bit noisy, but there was a table of 8 with what I imagine were work associates having fun, and they were the main contributors to the noise. My one recommendation would be to clean or replace the sticky menus.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I have finally learned my lesson on my last visit and won't be back to eat at the Valley Inn. We had a tight window between a graduation ceremony and an evening train departure. Since the location made sense, I threw caution to the wind and made a reservation several weeks ahead of the date in question. When we arrived, the only place they had available for us was outside in the 90+ degree heat. The hostesses were totally unconcerned about the situation and offered no apologies.

The food was, as always, indifferent. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass since I hadn't had it before, but it was as low on quality and high on price as most of their other offerings. Stick with the calamari to start and order a burger if you want to enjoy your food. Anything more complicated is likely to disappoint. The wine list also reflects the general sense that nobody associated with the place puts in much effort. They have some wines by the glass that are okay but hardly exciting. If you are looking for a bottle that is interesting and has been selected in order to pair well with something on the menu, you're better off going someplace else.

I really don't understand why the Valley Inn is as popular as it is. It is a good place to go for drinks because it is usually hopping, and lunch is okay if someone else is picking up the check, but every time I go there for dinner, I end up really regretting it. It is pretty clear that they are busy enough that they just don't care.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I was surprised the two young ladies working at the hostess stand did not walk us to our table where the other couple in our party was waiting. They told us go through 3 rooms. It was a disappointing way to start our evening. This is a large restaurant and it was difficult navigating around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went with a group and the service and food were both amazing! Portions could have been bigger, especially for the prices, so we'll be back when we're not quite as hungry.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I arrived 20 minutes and was seated promptly. The waitress was not in my section until after my guests arrived. There was another waitress who was serving in that section and she walked by my table several time during that period never offering a "hello" or "has someone assisted you?". Once our server arrived it was okay. She was kind to the elderly ladies I was with.
The food came in good timing and the martini's were terrific! I just find it unnerving that any service venue would let 20+ minutes go by without acknowledging a guest.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I really enjoyed the Valley Inn. The food was quite good. I had a shrimp salad sandwich which had large shrimp and was fresh. My husband had crab imperial and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere is definitely "Old Maryland". It was pretty crowded and they seem to have a regular crowd that goes there.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We have been regulars there as we live close by. The venue is outstanding. The landscaping and outside seating is very impressive. That, to me, is where it ends. We were seated promptly but given dirty menus( I mean food stains!) ..The menu has remained unchanged since the restaurant has opened and is becoming mundane. Perhaps rotating a seasonal menu might be considered? The Valley Inn is popular and is in a beautiful setting but the food is somewhat uninspired and average.( which is ok for an Inn) but please print new menus.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Perfectly perfect in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 4, 2017

outside terrace is lovely, music a great addition, love the cocktail menu

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Live Music, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We sat outside on the patio. It was delightful! Food and service were both wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Delicious food, great service, fun day. Thank you to Justin for his patience and his attention to us. We will be coming back to the Valley Inn.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food and service were quite good. We have two teenage boys and they both enjoyed the options on the brunch menu - we had meals ranging from omelettes to burgers, and all of the food was nicely presented and quite tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The steak was perfect, the food fabulous! The choice of presentation for chocolate covered strawberries was.....questionable but had us laughing all night long. (Seriously....I wish I could post a picture.) I would definitely go back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.