Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (45)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Comfort Food (29)
See All
Historic (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
Bar Seating (28)
Cozy (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Fireplace (21)
Fun (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Business Meals (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quick Bite (13)
People Watching (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Seasonal (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (5)
Scenic View (5)
Live Sports (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

First time that I have ever been to Valley Inn. Great place. Food was good. Place had a lot of character to it. Service was good--waiter was extremely friendly. Prices were very high for the portions. That was the only turn off. But I would go back there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The service was amazing - loved the waitperson. The small house salad I ordered was huge and delicious. The crab cakes needs a bit more flavor and the crab meat wasn't as firm as I like. I would also prefer the cole slaw to be chopped a bit smaller.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The burgers at Valley Inn are delicious as are the salads

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We had a reservation but were in a very loud space.
The server was inexperienced. We sat with dirty dishes in front of us for 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our server Cassie (sp?) was amazing. Hope we get her again next time we come in. Has chicken noodle soup, chicken tortilla soup, gnocchi, and shrimp tacos and all were very good! Will be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I enjoyed the chopped seafood salad very much and finished my lunch with a shared treat of chocolate dipped strawberries. It was a celebratory occasion (belated Mother's Day)and the dessert was perfect-whipped cream and salted pretzels on the side. Nature abounds and the water garden was a nice touch, so if the day is pleasant, be sure to sit outside.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The quality of the food was average with the service being fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 13, 2017

loud as previous reported; it was friday nite but they need to work on noise dampening in the dining area to bring up to the standard set by other factors of the inn.
wine list is a joke, right?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Overcrowded. Poor parking. Slow service and mediocre food for cost.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent evening! Very engaging staff AND fabulous food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The nachos, which we requested have no olives, arrived with a slip of paper on top that said "no olives" and tons of olives.
It was taken off our bill

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Sat on enclosed porch - very noisy but enjoyable
Disappointed no moscato wine

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was great. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great crab imperial, excellent cocktails, terrific service

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent seafood Cobb salad - just right for lunch with a friend.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Good atmosphere and service. Food is reliable. Bar can be noisy but rest is fine. Looking forward to dining outside.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Horrible service. Had to go look for our waitress then Took an hour to get our food. They were totally unapologetic. Horrible service and mediocre food. Bad attitude s and unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Had a nice Sat night dinner for 2. Service was perfect. Dinning room was cocy but getting very noisey when we left
House salad was great and the steamed shrimp were hugh but very tender.
Clam chowder was a looser even after a good recommendation; more like potato soup.
Beef enchilada was very dry; side sauces were no help.
Should have better menu for inside dining.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Poor VI! A victim of their own success. After a truly unsafe parking odyssey, I and another party thought we had made a reservation for the patio, both of us were told otherwise sort of rudely. We got a table inside where it's loud. Server friendly but undertrained and impossible to find for items I requested st the moment of ordering. Food bland. Overall experience pitiful. I'm sure they don't care because every lonely hearted ex fraternity boy and sorority girl are on the patio but we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Clam chowder was really not good. Did not taste like clam chowder. Disappointing.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Four of us had dinner on a Monday night. One had a burger (half price) and three of us had the special softcrab. All of the meals were excellent! Server was knowledgeable and accommodating. Great evening!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I recommend this restaurant for "bar seating", because that is where they tried to "push us off" to. Had reservations for dinner. Special occasion. They take us into the bar area to be seated. I said I had intended to dine in the dining area. They took us to the most awkward table (one that really shouldn't exist) in the dining area. Must have been "punishment" for not accepting bar area seating. (It's against a wall at the end of a group of elevated booths, seems very out of place- this must be "the undesirables" table). Overall- nice dining room, food was good, service was very good. But not in a hurry to return and once again be seated at the "punishment" table.
(previous visit they seated us at the same exact table).

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I had reservations for 7:15pm last Friday. We arrived at 7:00pm and drove around the parking lot for over 15 minutes. We were unable to find a parking space so we left. Management needs to do a better job with managing reservations and parking. It was extremely disappointing because The Valley Inn had become a favorite of ours. I don't know if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Good times with friends from Boston however we had dinner in the enclosed porch. Sounds like an Ideal setting however the biggest draw back is that the enclosure captures every noise and voice in the room resulting in an acoustical nightmare!! it was so loud that it was close to impossible to hear the person sitting next to you making conversation very difficult will not ever sit out in the enclosure again. Food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service was excellent, our server was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, much better than last time. New menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

While we like the decor and ambiance and our waitress was gracious, we had one in our party who is gluten and dairy free. There are very few options for that diet on the menu and the kitchen refused to change anything. This is no longer an unusual request and the Valley Inn needs to have a few options or at least be a little more accommodating. There is no reason they can't substitute olive oil for butter on a steak for someone who is allergic to dairy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 18, 2017

35 th anniversary

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my first time here. It was a pleasant dining experience. The staff was friendly and so were the patrons. The food was amazing. Definitely get the Nacho Tower!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was not impressed with the food. Shrimp salad was bland. Crab soup was good. I liked the atmosphere more than the food

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We asked to move to a different table, it was no problem! We asked for a high back seat again no problem! Food was prepared perfect! The waiter was great! Always enjoy when I come here! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food here is usually very good and I looked forward to returning for lunch. But today was disappointing. The chicken tortilla soup was more like thick chili than soup. The avocado BLT was served without any mayo and the bread was dry. Maybe I just ordered wrong. Will definitely go back, just will order differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been coming to the Valley Inn since it opened. Almost always we have been very pleased, both with the service and the food.
On this occasion our waiter, Keisue, was brusque and impatient, to to point of being rude. He got so close to my face so I could smell his breath. Uncomfortably close.
He Slammed our drinks on the table. (this should have been a clue to us how the evening was going to go).
He banged the appetizer plates down, and when the main course came I thought the plates were going to break.
We asked for breadsticks - we really like them here. Every other table got breadsticks. We asked twice and got none. He disappeared until the end of the meal.
We went to the bar to order drinks and speak to the manager. The manager gave us no resolution, or even "I'll look into it."
While we have really enjoyed dining here in the past, we will definitely rethink our options in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Although the food was as food as usual, our service was somewhat slow. That was apparently due to how busy the restaurant was. Since it was that busy, the noise level was even more than "energetic". It was difficult to hear the person sitting next to you. The experience would probably have been much better at a time when the restaurant was not so crowded.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Valley Inn is a nice place but the food is just average. The Caesar salad had an odd taste. My wife and I each had the crab cakes. For $32 bucks you get two rather small crab cakes with relatively small chunks of crab. There are many places around with better value crab cakes. I will admit the taste was good but lacked the lovely sweetness of good fresh jumbo lump. My son had a lobster dish. The cole slaw was very good and fresh. The fries were good but not great. I think for the price they could go for two sides as do most restaurants.

The amount of Lobster was again not generous and the accompaniments weren't enough for a 28 year old young man. He had an order of Brussels sprouts which were tasty.

All in all a high priced meal that didn't quite live up to the high end price. The restaurant is pretty new and is doing a great business but as we all know, establishments that don't offer good value (high prices are ok if one feels they are getting a meal that lives up to the price) eventually suffer. The lack of a nearby upscale bar scene competitor though will help the Valley Inn.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've been wanting to try this since it reopened, and chose it as the place to celebrate my birthday. It's a sprawling, clubby sort of place. I enjoyed a chopped seafood salad. My Rockfish with risotto was excellent. However, my husband's roasted chicken was dry. There is no excuse for that anywhere, but especially not at this price. The factor that will keep up from returning for a second visit: the noise level was unbearable. The place was packed so apparently they have no motivation to address these issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was very slow and inattentive. One persons order requests were not met and one ordered item was not even brought out until we reminded them it had been ordered. To their credit we were not charged for the late arriving item. The food overall was okay. We will try again and hope for better results because the atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So improved over its first year, we went two nights in a row! Virtually everything we all ordered was delicious and well prepared. Seafood was fresh , as a Marylander I am going to judge crabmeat, and theirs was perfect on the Cobb seafood salad- large sweet lumps and generously dispersed. Shrimp was also perfect. Cheeseburger- cooked perfectly to my taste, thick and outstanding. Organic Scottish Salmon- perfection with Watermelon Salsa that I'm now obsessed with. Rockfish was excellent - but not fabulous. Most impressed with sides- Spaghetti Squash, Risotta, HUGE steak fries! Not the typical American Fare but not too foodie/gourmet that it loses comfort food standing. I have dietary restrictions-no dairy, no gluten, no spiciness- and I was able to find ample selections. Our vegetarian also found choices that were satisfying!
Lite fare to full entrees fit all budgets.
And Graeters Black Raspberry Ice Cream! Now if they carry other Graeter flavors, I'll add a star! Lovely bar, modern sun room and historical stone rooms with fireplaces match every mood.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vegan, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have eaten at the Valley Inn many times. This last visit was a disappointment. The manager was basically unpleasant (even though we had a reservation). Choices for wine by the glass are slim and over-priced. Ordered the steak salad - medium. Came very rare and with three small slices. Not worth the price tag. Server was attentive and friendly. Place is always busy so it fills a neighborhood need but it could be much, much better. My advice: go for a drink...

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a gift card. In all my years of dining out, using a gift card, no restaurant has ever refused to allow any balance on the gift card to be used for or towards the tip. The purchaser paid a sum of money for the gift card and it should be able to be used for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We wanted a quick bite before the snow was supposed to come down hard, and it worked well for us, even though the snow was far lighter than had been predicted. The waitress was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.