About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

Restaurant Photos

  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lutherville ›

Casual (38)
Great for Lunch (36)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Cozy (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Fireplace (13)
Historic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (12)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (10)
People Watching (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Authentic (6)
Scenic View (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Sports (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not accommodating- very rigid. Would not ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined a day ago

Not accommodating- very rigid. Would not split salad. Would not give two different scoops of ice cream in their sundae. Do not give dessert for special occasions. Will put candle in dessert you order.

Six people probably not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Seafood salad was good - not great - and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Seafood salad was good - not great - and expensive at $22. Would have enjoyed greens other than iceberg lettuce, and more seafood. There were just a couple of shrimp and a bit of crab meat.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our go-to place regularly! There are qu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Our go-to place regularly! There are quite a few items that I love to order at The Valley Inn. I really enjoy dining here and will return often.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the crab soup with the Cobb Sa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the crab soup with the Cobb Salad. Both were delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time at The Valley Inn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was my first time at The Valley Inn and It was lovely. Our waiter was very attentive we had our drinks delivered immediately and had time to chat in between courses very leisurely and we liked that. The food was superb and the desserts to die for. We will definitely be back and I'm already spreading the word into Pennsylvania.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Spicy, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices are way too high for what you get ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Prices are way too high for what you get. Dining area much too noisy for a conversation without shouting. Food nothing special, especially for what they charge. Service was ok, not great. Took a while for simple request, like water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The woman who served us was the sweetest ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The woman who served us was the sweetest thing that could be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and friendly greetings, follow ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent and friendly greetings, followed by excellent service, great salads, and a reasonable tab at the end. This was a business lunch and the setting was perfect. I will be back. Thanks to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The re ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The renewed surroundings are nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A nice varied menu. I had the burger - i ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A nice varied menu. I had the burger - it was cooked the way I liked and excellent taste & quality!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful lunch at The Valley Inn. Every ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful lunch at The Valley Inn. Everyone enjoyed our food, hot turkey sandwich, Cloak and Dagger and grilled cheese, and the service was great. Even got to meet Brooks Robinson, who was also having lunch here. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room was very crowded and noi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The dining room was very crowded and noisy. The service was slow probably due to the number of guests. The food was very disappointing. I ordered a grilled cheese with bacon and tomato. My sandwich came with NO CHEESE. I sent it back. The other guest also ordered a grilled cheese sandwich, it was not very good, but at least they had cheese.

We had been there two weeks ago and had a very good experience. It was not as crowded. I suspect the kitchen and staff were not ready to handle over a certain # of guests. They need to work on this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The Valley Inn is one of my go-to restau ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Valley Inn is one of my go-to restaurants. I stick to my favorites when I am there--the steak salad and the burgers are great!

The place is always hopping; it is casual but not too casual. They offer plenty of seating options due to a recent expansion.

This restaurant is a wonderful neighborhood place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely atmosphere. Great service. Good f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Lovely atmosphere. Great service.

Good food. I will go again and tell my friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was friendly, but clueless. I h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Waitress was friendly, but clueless. I had to ask her to remove empty glasses and plates from our small, two-person table. Raw and grilled oysters were fresh and delicious. Risotto that came with both entrees was too tight and cold. Ambiance was tasteful, but carpeting has to go...yuck! Bar area looked lively. Nice place for lite fare and a cocktail. Overall, a little pricey for what you get.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My wife and I needed some cheering up af ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I needed some cheering up after a close friend's memorial service at St. David's Church in Roland Park. The meal, ambiance, and service were all excellent. We will return when in Baltimore again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Questions abound. Why would a knowledgea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Questions abound. Why would a knowledgeable owner curate a respectable wine list and pour into thick rimmed, stemless, hi-ball glasses? What experienced chef serves gumbo that have shrimp with shells on the tails? Food is neighborhood at best with fine dining prices. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed with the hostess staff. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Disappointed with the hostess staff. The three young women need to step up their customer service. You meet them first and they need to be more attentive and friendly. Not a big deal and it's all about training and mentoring.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great experience. Jackie is a wonderful ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great experience. Jackie is a wonderful server. She was polite, efficient and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Business Meals, People Watching, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and excellent service!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Delicious and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good choice for everyday dining. Smaller ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Good choice for everyday dining. Smaller rooms keep the noise level down. Great neighborhood dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All new, updated decor. Very comfortable ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

All new, updated decor. Very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Great food! Huge portions. It was a little too chilly to eat outside but they have a fabulous outdoor patio. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first experience at the Val ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first experience at the Valley Inn. Everything was great except....the waiter was a little abrupt and we just didn't feel like we got decent service. He never came to refill our waters...we had to grab him twice for that. We needed extra napkins and had to track him down for that. He forgot to tell us the specials, until after we ordered (and my friend asked, by the way, do you have any specials?). I know he was very busy, but he should have been a little more attentive to us. Also, My friend asked the hostess if Sharon was working (Sharon is a friend of his). She said yes and would get her, but never did.

The food was great, everything was hot and perfect....the only problem was the service, which could use some improvement!

Thank you,

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful evening and the food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful evening and the food was excellent! Once the Friday crowd started to thin out, the noise level went considerably down. The service was attentive and prompt. All in all, a rewarding experience and we will recommend particularly on less busy week nights.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Valley Inn is a very good restaurant wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Valley Inn is a very good restaurant with generally excellent service. I particularly like, and regularly order, the seafood chopped salad, and then the Graeter's Black Raspberry Choc Chip ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, grest food, justan al ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Excellent service, grest food, justan all around enjoyable dinner. Busy, but not noisy. Wonderful wood paneling with a 'horsey decor' - jockeys and country atmosphere.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is consistently good. We do al ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food is consistently good. We do always order lighter fare, though. Love the shrimp salad, the chicken salad. My husband loves their burgers. I do wish they had bread instead of breadsticks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Valley Inn really let us down last n ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Valley Inn really let us down last night. The food was, except for my meal, only fair and tasteless. The service was slow and the server was less than good. - slow to take care of us and never cleared most of the empty appetizer plates until after our entrees were finished.

I hope that last night's dining experience was an aberration since our prior dinner at The Valley Inn was very good in every respect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

This is one of our go-to restaurants for ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is one of our go-to restaurants for dining with friends. The menu has a good range of offerings and price points, and the food is always excellent (best Maryland crab soup in town).

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Although the food was good, the food is ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Although the food was good, the food is very overpriced and the portions are not consistent. I ordered meatloaf, and although it was delicious, the serving was very small. The soup prices are very high....$11 for a bowl of clam chowder or crab soup.....that is crazy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was erratic! My husband had th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was erratic! My husband had the bolonese which was quite good! My crab cake was only fair! We had excellent service and it is a pleasant place to eat! The outdoor area is INCREDIBLE and the parking lot huge!

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was quite surprised at how good the fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was quite surprised at how good the food was with some of the reviews I read about it. I would highly recommend this restaurant to my friends and family. It had a great atmosphere and we walked outside to see the beautifully decorated outside. If it was warmer my wife and I would have eaten outside. We did go outside to the awesome bar that had heaters. Booked dinner reservations with friends two weeks from now. I do not know the owner and was not paid to write this review.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Friday night, very crowded parking lot. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Friday night, very crowded parking lot. Our reservation was for 6:15 and were seated immediately. Service was good while the tables were less than half full but as the room filled, the server had a difficult time keeping up. The noise level was way too loud. The food was excellent. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice location. The change in ownership ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Nice location. The change in ownership has really upped this Greenspring Valley staple. Good food. Good vibe. Good service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Sports, Scenic View, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very much enjoy this spot as a central l ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Very much enjoy this spot as a central lunch place between city and county. Especially in warmer weather, the patio is open and is a delightful spot for a meal. Food is solid and generally service is warm and attentive. Plenty of parking and great environment seal the deal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

1/2 $ burger night Monday good value

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2016

1/2 $ burger night Monday good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place with great food. The only sm ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great place with great food. The only small complaint I have has to do with the physical menus, which where sticky and food stained.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointed. Were seated outside ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very disappointed. Were seated outside when it was cold. If in the summer or warm weather that would have been fine.Asked for an inside table and told no room. There were several tables of four available. No consideration for wishes. Arrived before reservation so that is not an excuse. In past very pleased, but this time not. Glad it wasn't first experience. Probably would not go back.

Food was ok. Crab soup,very little crab. Rest of food ok. Have had better there. Wine was mixed up and had to be exchanged.

Our whole party of four was disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value4

We dined at lunchtime on a Monday. The f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We dined at lunchtime on a Monday. The food was just ok. Service and overall atmosphere were good. Overall not a bad experience but not a great one either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

A very enjoyable experience. Would cert ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A very enjoyable experience. Would certainly go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.