About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

Restaurant Photos

  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lutherville ›

Neighborhood Gem (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
Great for Lunch (55)
See All
Good for Groups (35)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Special Occasion (25)
Hot Spot (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Romantic (16)
Scenic View (12)
Casual (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fireplace (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Fun (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Historic (4)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Disappointed.. Didn't expect to spend $1 ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

Disappointed.. Didn't expect to spend $15 on 3 small shrimp tacos that had 1 shrimp on each and the shrimp was spilt to make it look like it was bigger.

Nachos were good. Ordered dressing on the side for my salad but it was put on the salad. Didn't want to wait for it to be remade took a long time to begin with they brought the wrong salad the first time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Parking was horrendous and unsafe! The ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Parking was horrendous and unsafe! The restaurant had booked a private party resulting in no parking spaces for those in the restaurant. We parked 1/4 mile away and had to walk up Falls Road in traffic to get to the restaurant. Never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I really like this restaurant, but this ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

I really like this restaurant, but this time was short staffed and the place was full. Waited a long time for our food.

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We return often to The Valley Inn. Ther ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We return often to The Valley Inn. There are some great selections on the menu and some below par items which I stay away from.

The 1/2 burger night draws us back every Monday. It's the best burger around for only $6.00!

I'll be back, writing again about The Valley Inn. What a convenient and attractive dining option!

The outside seating area has grown and changed over the last year. There are lots of options and the place is happening!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been to the Valley Inn twice. Was n ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Have been to the Valley Inn twice. Was not impressed with the food either time. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Really beautiful and updated outdoor are ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really beautiful and updated outdoor area. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will be back. It was a couples get together and everyone's food was awesome. A few kinks need working out as the place is fairly new. The bartender or waiter had a difficult time understanding the drink order of a dirty grey goose martini. The drink came sweet. Then it came clear. The waiter was very attentive and got some olive juice to add to the martini the second time to make it dirty. The other glitch was the computer lost the dinner order and it had to be resubmitted, so the wait was pretty long. It would have been nice to have been offered some crackers and cheese or dinner bread. We were starving!!

Once we got our food it was really flavorful, and everyone was happy.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

First visit to The Valley Inn. We came f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

First visit to The Valley Inn. We came for lunch and it was wonderful. Great lunch menu...we will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent. Howeve ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food and service were excellent. However, the hot fudge sundae we ordered for desert had only about a tablespoon of ice cream and a cup of whipped cream. To their credit, they took it off our bill, but this was a disappointment. Otherwise, the food, service, and ambiance on our several visits have always been great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The new rooms inside and the porch outsi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The new rooms inside and the porch outside are very nice. The wait staff are very helpful and cheerful. The limited menu, however, never seems to change, and I was told no substitutions can be made (i.e. for prosciutto on a salad) nor will a customer be charged less if a salad listed with meat is ordered without the meat. Crabcake was good, but shrimp salad needed more spices - was very bland. Clam chowder was much too salty. Seafood salad had only 3-4 small shrimp and no other seafood was detected, but very nice raspberry yogurt dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The maitre d walked us past 9 empty boot ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The maitre d walked us past 9 empty booths to a table in the very back of the room. Looking across the mostly empty room, I asked if we could be seated at a booth. He sighed, and moved our menus over 1 table to a booth; now in the back corner. I said to him "we can take a smaller booth, not so far back here". He replied that those were reserved. Of course I too had a reservation. I asked him what made some reservations different than others. He walked away without replying. Throughout my entire lunch, several of the "reserved" booths remained empty. The optics of seating the only African-American patrons in the entire establishment in the back corner and refusing to give them a better table should not be lost on anyone and was not lost on me. . I typically sit in the bar area for lunch meetings but brought my mom in this time as I had been telling her how lovely the place was and how good the food was. Instead, The Valley Inn has lost a customer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

I was one of Valley Inn's biggest fans w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I was one of Valley Inn's biggest fans when they first reopened but now ... I'll be taking a long break from frequenting this establishment. Nachos = good. Special of the day, Prime Rib = inedible. SALTY, thin cut of meat, and overcooked. Both of us returned our orders. Seafood Cobb which is ... was ... one of my favorites, was chopped up so finely you needed a spoon to eat it. Very slow bar service. A totally bad experience for what was supposed to be a happy birthday celebration.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Fabulous meal but the service dampered ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Fabulous meal but the service dampered the evening. Had to ask for my waiter twice. Crabcakes were fantastic as were the avocado appetizers! And a very good wine list and wine by the glass. I'll definitely go back but hope for better service .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Cozy, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The service was horrible!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The service was horrible!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Waiter JT friendly and very knowledgeabl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Waiter JT friendly and very knowledgeable about the Inns history.

We were pleased to say hello to the manager, Chris Pehlke, a longtime family friend

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid performer for lunch. Plenty of par ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Solid performer for lunch. Plenty of parking and a good central location for meeting people. The menu has lots of choices, nothing too fancy, all solid. Service is excellent and people are friendly and professional. seafood cobb salad is my favorite but burgers, crab cake, lobster burrito and other items are good too. Very accommodating as they make me my own dressing for the cobb salad when I request it. Also beautiful outdoor spaces!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time even though the noise l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Had a great time even though the noise level was HIGH in the bar area. Nachos were excellent but the crab cake platter was way too expensive for the size of the crab cakes; then to make matters worse, French fries were a la carte. Very good, but a la carte. Will continue to frequent the restaurant but still hoping to find a time that's not so crowded/noisy. We have over-60 year old ears! :)

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Casual, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I have left so many very good reviews fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I have left so many very good reviews for the Valley Inn that I see no need to do so again in any detail. We had another very good dinner this time, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was mediocre. Burgers were ok. S ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Service was mediocre. Burgers were ok. Somewhat disappointing considering the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The waiter& overall experience was excel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The waiter& overall experience was excellent. We sat outside & the ambience was fantastic. Food was dalicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a neighborhood restaurant conveniently l ...

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

a neighborhood restaurant conveniently located some of the help have attitude but otherwise enjoyable!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

SERVICE WAS POOR,FORGETFUL AND SLOW. STE ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

SERVICE WAS POOR,FORGETFUL AND SLOW.

STEAK WAY OVERCOOKED,

VERY PRICEY

THEY NEED SOME HELP WITH THEIR WAIT STAFF.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved our brunch at the Valley Inn! The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved our brunch at the Valley Inn! The only tiny weirdness was that there were two different stereo systems playing different music while we were sitting on the porch... The clashing was distracting. But the food was very good with an interesting range of options, the service was great, and the restaurant has a really neat history to it. We were impressed by all the space, and we want to come back to try the cool outdoor bar!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Lunch for a friends l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a wonderful Lunch for a friends lunch. Our waiter was attentive and never pushy. Very enjoyable

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have been to The Valley Inn numerous t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

I have been to The Valley Inn numerous times for brunch, lunch and dinner. This last time I strongly felt that my $18 lunch entree was very overpriced for the quantity of food. Because I didn't want to cause attention to this with my friends that day, I called afterwards and spoke with the manager on duty. He was, to say the least, politely rude to me and offered no solution other than to say he would speak to the owner and the chef because the food is supposed to be weighed prior to cooking/serving. The food was delicious but was not worth the cost. I left hungry!! I am so very disappointed with The Valley Inn. I don't believe I have ever written any kind of review but I am now because of the non-caring attitude of the manager with whom I spoke on the telephone. Shame on The Valley Inn!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

This was another great dinner at Valley ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was another great dinner at Valley Inn. See my other positive reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The chopped seafood Cobb is always my fa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The chopped seafood Cobb is always my favorite. A great setting for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Parking was impossible. Service was ina ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Parking was impossible. Service was inattentive. Food when it finally arrived was good. Dessert took forever. I think they had to bake one of the items. They should have informed us of the delay.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Very nice setting outside.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very nice setting outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Brie CheeseBurger is the best in tow ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The Brie CheeseBurger is the best in town! We order it "medium" and it is done to perfection!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite places--nice atmosph ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

One of our favorite places--nice atmosphere; good food; burger night great! I love the steak salad and actually ordered it instead of a burger on Monday night!

This place is extremely popular--the huge parking lot is almost always packed! From relative obscurity for many years The Valley Inn has been reborn into a destination restaurant. Its location is also convenient from a number of neighborhoods in the north part of Baltimore County.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great dinner there but something h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Had a great dinner there but something has to be done about the parking situation. Can't understand why there is no valet parking. At 6pm on a Thursday there was nowhere to park. People were parked illegally everywhere because that was the only option. Put a damper on an otherwise great dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been back multiple times. We have ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We've been back multiple times. We have been visiting on Mondays especially due to the 1/2 burger night. I feel that the burger is the best in town and for $6.00 it is a great value.

My other favorite, the steak salad, would also bring me back regularly.

There have been many upgrades and improvements to the restaurant. It is always busy and the large parking lot is always packed!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food continues to be just fair. The dini ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food continues to be just fair. The dining experience is made less enjoyable by the skimpy outfits wore by the waitresses and hostesses. They look so sloppy and inappropriate for a nice restaurant. This is not a bar downtown where that could be expected. I am fine with casual, but they look like they are chilling out on the beach or at a bar. Our server was nice enough but made several errors.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Family birthday get-together for 10 adul ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Family birthday get-together for 10 adults. Plenty of parking. Excellent flexibility (we had to add two from initial reservation). Caught our attention due to Restaurant Week offers, but only one in our party opted for the US$35 prix-fixe special (crab cakes) - everyone else took more ambitious selections, and everyone was very happy. I like the ambiance, the decor and the proximity to the 695 beltway. Might try the outdoor patio next time (was too hot in August, plus thunderstorm hit soon after we were seated). I had been here many times over a decade ago, and I understand this is now under new management. First-rate total experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good, but high noise level took ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall good, but high noise level took enjoyment out of the dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

food and drinks were okay. Were seated ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

food and drinks were okay. Were seated in a booth in the main room next to a screaming child -- not a good way to start dinner. Our waiter seemed to get lost at times. Meal and driner were okay nothing great. Next time, we'll try doing lunch. Would go back again. Should have an adults only room. Noise level even without the child was way too loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I want to like this place.... The food ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I want to like this place.... The food was good (crab cakes, grouper); everyone in our foursome was happy with the food itself.... but... to swap out the cole slaw for french fries was $4. Really ? This is not Mel's Diner ! We paid $250 for 4 diners. That and the fact that the a/c wasn't working well and it was over 80 degrees in the bar where they sat us. Dining companions say they wont go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

They MUST address the poor air conditi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They MUST address the poor air conditioning. It's Baltimore for goodness sake. Two times this summer it's been very uncomfortable- in 2 different locations of the restaurant . Was given the same exact story when I inquired the 2nd time #baloney. Kept my menu as a fan. Our server, Cameron was fantastic & our meal was good. On a different evening we met a group in the outdoor area and it was fantastic. Great atmosphere & good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We live close to the Valley Inn; I think ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We live close to the Valley Inn; I think they are somewhat p[ricey for what they offer. Their hamburgers were realy great right after they re-opened, but they are not great any more. When my crab cake came with cole slaw which I do not eat, and I asked if I could substitute something else, I was told no. I got some really good brussel sprouts, but for eight or nine dollars--not real value there. The waiter was fine--did not check to see if I wanted more coffee until after we got the check. What can I say. I am glad it is there to give Tark's some competition, and if one likes a sports bar, this one is seemingly great. As I said, they are a bit too pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Valley burger excellent

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Valley burger excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.