About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

Restaurant Photos

  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville
The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Baltimore Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lutherville ›

Neighborhood Gem (85)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Great for Lunch (66)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (44)
Good for Groups (41)
Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Scenic View (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Romantic (12)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Good for a Date (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of our favorite places--nice atmosph ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined a day ago

One of our favorite places--nice atmosphere; good food; burger night great! I love the steak salad and actually ordered it instead of a burger on Monday night!

This place is extremely popular--the huge parking lot is almost always packed! From relative obscurity for many years The Valley Inn has been reborn into a destination restaurant. Its location is also convenient from a number of neighborhoods in the north part of Baltimore County.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great dinner there but something h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great dinner there but something has to be done about the parking situation. Can't understand why there is no valet parking. At 6pm on a Thursday there was nowhere to park. People were parked illegally everywhere because that was the only option. Put a damper on an otherwise great dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been back multiple times. We have ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We've been back multiple times. We have been visiting on Mondays especially due to the 1/2 burger night. I feel that the burger is the best in town and for $6.00 it is a great value.

My other favorite, the steak salad, would also bring me back regularly.

There have been many upgrades and improvements to the restaurant. It is always busy and the large parking lot is always packed!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food continues to be just fair. The dini ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food continues to be just fair. The dining experience is made less enjoyable by the skimpy outfits wore by the waitresses and hostesses. They look so sloppy and inappropriate for a nice restaurant. This is not a bar downtown where that could be expected. I am fine with casual, but they look like they are chilling out on the beach or at a bar. Our server was nice enough but made several errors.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Family birthday get-together for 10 adul ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Family birthday get-together for 10 adults. Plenty of parking. Excellent flexibility (we had to add two from initial reservation). Caught our attention due to Restaurant Week offers, but only one in our party opted for the US$35 prix-fixe special (crab cakes) - everyone else took more ambitious selections, and everyone was very happy. I like the ambiance, the decor and the proximity to the 695 beltway. Might try the outdoor patio next time (was too hot in August, plus thunderstorm hit soon after we were seated). I had been here many times over a decade ago, and I understand this is now under new management. First-rate total experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good, but high noise level took ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Overall good, but high noise level took enjoyment out of the dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

food and drinks were okay. Were seated ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

food and drinks were okay. Were seated in a booth in the main room next to a screaming child -- not a good way to start dinner. Our waiter seemed to get lost at times. Meal and driner were okay nothing great. Next time, we'll try doing lunch. Would go back again. Should have an adults only room. Noise level even without the child was way too loud.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

I want to like this place.... The food ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I want to like this place.... The food was good (crab cakes, grouper); everyone in our foursome was happy with the food itself.... but... to swap out the cole slaw for french fries was $4. Really ? This is not Mel's Diner ! We paid $250 for 4 diners. That and the fact that the a/c wasn't working well and it was over 80 degrees in the bar where they sat us. Dining companions say they wont go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

They MUST address the poor air conditi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

They MUST address the poor air conditioning. It's Baltimore for goodness sake. Two times this summer it's been very uncomfortable- in 2 different locations of the restaurant . Was given the same exact story when I inquired the 2nd time #baloney. Kept my menu as a fan. Our server, Cameron was fantastic & our meal was good. On a different evening we met a group in the outdoor area and it was fantastic. Great atmosphere & good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We live close to the Valley Inn; I think ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We live close to the Valley Inn; I think they are somewhat p[ricey for what they offer. Their hamburgers were realy great right after they re-opened, but they are not great any more. When my crab cake came with cole slaw which I do not eat, and I asked if I could substitute something else, I was told no. I got some really good brussel sprouts, but for eight or nine dollars--not real value there. The waiter was fine--did not check to see if I wanted more coffee until after we got the check. What can I say. I am glad it is there to give Tark's some competition, and if one likes a sports bar, this one is seemingly great. As I said, they are a bit too pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Valley burger excellent

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Valley burger excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely meal on the porch which ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had a lovely meal on the porch which is great-beautiful view yet inside

Good-not great service

Excellent food served hot

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I didn't enjoy my food. The crab soup w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I didn't enjoy my food. The crab soup was very peppery, but without the complex taste of an "Old Bay" type seasoning. It had very little crab meat or taste. I had the special fish for Restaurant week. The fish was dry, without seasoning, and presented over a mish-mash of 2 overcooked vegetables. Everything was heaped, one on top of the other, with no ability to separate them. The bread pudding with ice cream was very good. The fly in the iced tea was inexcusable. The bathroom appears to be from the 60's, and that may have been the last time it was cleaned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Very nice lunch.

vip
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Very nice lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sat outside which was nice, but very noi ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Sat outside which was nice, but very noisey. Food was ok, nothing special honestly so a bit disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

our group of Diva's gather about once a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

our group of Diva's gather about once a month, this was our second visit and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. We were again a little disappointed in not being able to get our separate checks. It makes the end of the evening so much easier when we can just pay for what we got instead of having to itemize the bill... Enjoyed and will probably go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The restaurant is pretty, the wait staff ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The restaurant is pretty, the wait staff attentive. Had a salad with salmon. The greens were fresh and salmon perfectly cooked. I would like to see a few more options on the wine list. It was very crowded on a Wednesday night. The huge parking lot was full and cars were circling waiting for diners to leave. Come early if you want a spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

nicely refurbished old inn but noisy. f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

nicely refurbished old inn but noisy. food was good but not special enough for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

First time visiting and I liked the over ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time visiting and I liked the overall decor and menu. Basic garden salad was really good, and small was very big! Had rockfish entree which was a little overcooked but the crab risotto was very tasty. My husband had seafood salad which was very good. Service was slow and server seems a little overwhelmed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Four of us had a 6:45 dinner on Friday, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Four of us had a 6:45 dinner on Friday, July 29. We each were familiar with Valley Inn, and we each enjoyed our dinner and overall experience -- once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Noise level in the dining room is pierci ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Noise level in the dining room is piercing!

Hard to hear our friends at the same table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Still another in a long chain of very go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Still another in a long chain of very good meals at Valley Inn. You must be absolutely bored at these reviews from me, by this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Over-hyped restaurant with little to off ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Over-hyped restaurant with little to offer but an interesting, old building. And one can't dine on a building...Our waitress was awful - late on delivering drinks and food, forgot a few things, too. And she was not busy while all of this occurred! My three companions and I agreed the food was nothing special. We went to the outdoor bar after dinner for a drink and the hostess staffing the area was just, plain rude. Service at the bar was poor, too.

Clearly the restaurant is riding the wave of being 'the' place to go but I won't go back. There are so many other restaurants in the nearby area that offer ambiance, great food, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I had the salmon with a watermelon salsa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I had the salmon with a watermelon salsa. Extremely small portion of fish and not appropriately priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Another in a chain of very good meals at ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Another in a chain of very good meals at the Valley Inn, at which I've dined countless times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Valley Inn is consistently good- whether ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Valley Inn is consistently good- whether one gets an entree, or just a burger or sandwich.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and drinks. Sat out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

As always great food and drinks. Sat outside on covered patio which was a perfect place to have dinner on a warm Saturday night. Temperature was well controlled even outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was very helpful in the dec ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The waitress was very helpful in the decision making. The food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to The Valley Inn around onc ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I have been to The Valley Inn around once a week. It's pleasant and comfortable, if a bit too crowded at mealtimes and week-end nights.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I eat out often and have never written a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I eat out often and have never written a negative review. Fish was terrible and we sent it back and asked for another dish. Manager refused to not charge us for the dish sent back (we had to pay for extra meal). Never sent a meal back at any other restaurant or had manager show us such poor customer service. First restaurant that I will not go back too at any time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

First time visiting...celebrating our br ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

First time visiting...celebrating our brother's our brother's birthday. We made an excellent choice! The crabcakes were delicious! We ate our lunch on the terrace, which was very pleasant. Our waitress was fantastic! We plan to return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful setting on the patio next to t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful setting on the patio next to the water fall. It did get very noisy at lunch time that day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Excellent ambience, very good food and g ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent ambience, very good food and good service; however, the noise level was too much for us to go back to anytime soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a very enjoyable evening and our ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a very enjoyable evening and our waitress, Jackie, was outstanding! The crabcakes were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server was terrific. We have had him ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our server was terrific. We have had him before and totally enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another very good dinner at Valley Inn. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another very good dinner at Valley Inn. I had the chopped sirloin burrito, which was very good. Most people get the terrific seafood chopped salad, which I also love. The Graeter's Raspberry Choc Chip Ice-cream is great, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very good. Service was inat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very good. Service was inattentive . When waiter came around he was good but didn't see him often. The dining room was too warm.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our Bloody Marys were beautifully garnis ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our Bloody Marys were beautifully garnished and our burgers were thick and cooked perfectly!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server brought wrong order for our guest ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Server brought wrong order for our guest. Sent back for correct order and didn't bring back till others were almost finished. No apology and order was STILL wrong!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Dined on a beautiful evening outside on ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Dined on a beautiful evening outside on the veranda. The fans kept us comfortable and the service was attentive. The food was disappointing -- my shrimp tacos had only two shrimp total and the tortilla chips as a side were definitely from a bag and lame. My husband's "sliders" were not a good value for $14 -- the fries were the frozen kind and only two sliders. But they tasted good enough. Our salad was ok -- we liked the sliced olives and it was a good size. The wings were the best thing we ate -- but, it's kinda hard to mess those up. In any case, we had high expectations and hopeful that our meal would be on par with Donna's or Johnny's but instead felt that the Valley Inn is a more the kind of place to bring the kids when we need a break from the kitchen.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.