About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

Restaurant Photos

  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD
  • The Valley Inn - Brooklandville, Lutherville, MD

Report a photo problem

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (39)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Fireplace (19)
Historic (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Cozy (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Sports (3)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The swordfish special was spectacular! M ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 17 hours ago

The swordfish special was spectacular! My husband commented that it may have been a little overcooked, but it was just to my liking. Meatball appetizer was delicious (and not greasy, as so many are). Wine prices were reasonable. The crab imperial was perfect.

Our server was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. He seemed busy, but none of his tables wanted for anything. I appreciate a server who can handle a busy station with finesse! Courses were timed very well and we didn't wait long for anything. All in all, we had a wonderful experience and we WILL be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Not great but okay. A lit ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good. Not great but okay. A little pricey for the amount of food. Service was very good. Drinks were nice. Love the fact that prosecco is on tap! Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Funny thing about this place. Their inat ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Funny thing about this place. Their inattention to detail and hygiene does not seem to be important to them. We were there years ago within three weeks of their initial opening and I pointed out to the waitress that the menu was stained with food to which she replied, "Oh they're all like that." Fast forward three years and nothing has changed in that regard. There was actual food stuck to the menu and the wine list was tattered with spilled food/drink. Why would an establishment of this caliber want to present such a poor impression right off the bat with filthy menus? The place certainly is popular though. The parking lot was full and most of the dining rooms were very loud. The food was excellent but portions were not on equal footing. My husband's pork chop and sweet potato/cabbage dinner was huge. My crab imperial was comparatively small but very tasty. Overall the experience was good except for the loud noise and the dirty menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Honored reservation on arrival. Food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Honored reservation on arrival.

Food was very tasty and coffee was good

Wait staff was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

In the words of my wife, "that was the b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

In the words of my wife, "that was the best entree I've ever had" (grilled rockfish and asparagus over crab risotto with tomatoes and beurre blanc). I had it too and agree, perfectly prepared, a nice portion, and delicious combination of tastes! Our grilled avocado boat with spicy shrimp and mango salsa was a delicious starter and you just can't beat Graeter's Black Raspberry chip ice cream for dessert. The food was truly wonderful. Our service was efficient and friendly while to the point and unobtrusive. There are a variety of seating areas, we sat in a relatively quiet corner and enjoyed the view of the dining room. I hear the outdoor patio is great though with temperatures below freezing, we did not give it a try. We will definitely be back and it will be hard to order something different next time. Enjoy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed every ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed everything about the facility; from atmosphere and decor, to food and service and the overall value. We are planning to return

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been to Valley Inn on noisy crowded ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've been to Valley Inn on noisy crowded nights but this visit, on a very wet and nasty January 3rd

lunch hour was quiet. We had a room and waiter almost to ourselves and it was a real treat! Everything was delicious and although I know this meal was a bit unusual we will certainly be back. You can count on the Valley Inn for consisent good meals and a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Valley Inn has become a hot spot. A ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The Valley Inn has become a hot spot. Along with some excellent dishes, the atmosphere is cozy and warm and attractive. The parking lot is usually overflowing. This is the place to see and be seen!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wife's birthday

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wife's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love, love this place! Warm atmosphere w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love, love this place! Warm atmosphere with excellent menu.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gavin is awesome and he and the rest of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Gavin is awesome and he and the rest of the staff made my Mother's birthday wonderful!! Thank you so much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed early dinner. Server seemed ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very relaxed early dinner. Server seemed poorly trained and did not provide info on Specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great meal. Server was very attentive

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal. Server was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good atmosphere but consistently underwh ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good atmosphere but consistently underwhelming food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

For whatever reason, the hostesses at Va ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For whatever reason, the hostesses at Valley Inn always seem clueless and unhelpful. We made our reservation on open table and requested a booth in the bar if one was available. When we checked in, I noticed there were two empty booths in the bar but the hostess immediately took us to a small table for two in the dining room that stuck out into the aisle. We asked about the booth and she said they never look at the special request on online reservations and that the two booths were reserved for people who called in their reservation. Sure enough, when we left one of the booths was still empty. I don't get it. We go here often because it's close to our home, but the hostesses need to be trained to be more customer friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Apps were small but food and drinks were ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Apps were small but food and drinks were good. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Went for lunch on a busy day week-before ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went for lunch on a busy day week-before-Christmas. As busy as it was the service was punctual and the food was delicious! We shared the Lobster finger appetizer which was excellent! The shrimp salad and Cobb salad were excellent as well. The room was a little loud but festive and very enjoyable!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Valley Inn, an extremely popular pla ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Valley Inn, an extremely popular place, continues to draw us in! We love the 1/2 price hamburger night (Monday) and there are a few dishes that I love.

This restaurant is convenient, attractive, popular, and has great food!

I will definitely return again and again!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

hamburgers were great (special Hamburger ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

hamburgers were great (special Hamburger night) we will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Would prefer a more fresh food focus and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Would prefer a more fresh food focus and a bit higher quality. Food prices were reasonable. Ambiance was great. We decided to be seated in the bar rather than the dining room as it was more festive for our December friend get together. Staff was accommodating and pleasant. Appetizer selection was varied and suitable for all palates. Good drink, wine, and beer selection. Looking forward to a return visit to enjoy the expansive patio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and son arrived home from colleg ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and son arrived home from college so our family headed out to this neighborhood regular for a bite to eat. It was packed on a Thursday with table after table of office Christmas parties. Regardless of the demands on the kitchen our food came out in a timely manner and hot. Everything was cooked properly. Our server was excellent. The Valley Inn is fully priced for above average food, but worth the visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Many visits to the Valley inn .Always go ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Many visits to the Valley inn .Always good.Nice atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Here for an Anniversary Dinner, the meal ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Here for an Anniversary Dinner, the meal was well prepared and well served. VI is on our list of good places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was disatisfied with the food I ordere ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I was disatisfied with the food I ordered. Crab cake called large, which was not, had no taste. Very bland. Cole slaw, served. with. It was mediocre at its best. Server offered to change meal with another choice and I had shrmp salad. I was not really happy with the taste if it. There again it was bland hostesses at froont door wetevery nnice and accomodating. Table waiter ,Ray, also did a fine job.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The serving of shrimp salad is plentiful ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The serving of shrimp salad is plentiful but the shrimp salad is very bland. Tastes more like shrimp and mayonnaise with no spice or old bay seasoning.

The cole slaw is tasty but the pieces are large and difficult to eat with a fork unless you cut it up which is not easy considering it is served in a little dish and not on the flat plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good lunch. Plenty of food

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very good lunch. Plenty of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

So have been here many times before but ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

So have been here many times before but never for brunch. And never again. Rail Bloody Mary's were too expensive to be so weak. The worse though was the eggs Benedict. Eggs overcooked, one small slice of Canadian bacon cut in half for each muffin and hardly any Hollandaise sauce so we asked for more. Bread for the others was ala carte , 3 bucks for a lame biscuit!

Too many really good brunches out there for less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We made a reservation for an annual holi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We made a reservation for an annual holiday dinner. We were seated in the bar bc there were no other accommodations in other parts of the restaurant. The drinks were boring and the food was lacking in taste. Our waitress had no recommendations and the quality of the dishes was below average. Our waitress was distracted. The ambience was terrible and we did not like sitting at a bar-height table. Before our meal was finished, the DJ started to play music so loud that we couldn't talk comfortably. We didn't realize that this arrangement our only option according to the hostess desk when we arrived. We will not be returning. All around disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

One can always depend on the Valley in f ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One can always depend on the Valley in for a good meals, excellent service and pleasant setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our salads were excellent, loaded with ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Our salads were excellent, loaded with seafood. Our server was attentive, but not overly so.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Back again! We visit The Valley Inn a l ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Back again!

We visit The Valley Inn a lot--good location; good food; good atmosphere. I especially like the hamburgers ad the Steak Salad.

We will be back as usual.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the third or fourth time I've be ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This is the third or fourth time I've been here. One time I had the Cobb Salad--very bland.

This time I had the avocado/bacon sandwich. The avocado was minuscule, but it was very much needed for moisture and as a creamy spread, because, although there was lots of nicely cooked bacon, the bread was like cardboard. It was even hard to cut with a knife.

But, it's a great location--so few places in this part of the world. But the food is really nothing special at all.

We were there for a very early lunch on a Monday; the noise level was fair. But I've been there other times when it was deafening.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not accommodating- very rigid. Would not ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Not accommodating- very rigid. Would not split salad. Would not give two different scoops of ice cream in their sundae. Do not give dessert for special occasions. Will put candle in dessert you order.

Six people probably not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Seafood salad was good - not great - and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Seafood salad was good - not great - and expensive at $22. Would have enjoyed greens other than iceberg lettuce, and more seafood. There were just a couple of shrimp and a bit of crab meat.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our go-to place regularly! There are qu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our go-to place regularly! There are quite a few items that I love to order at The Valley Inn. I really enjoy dining here and will return often.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the crab soup with the Cobb Sa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I ordered the crab soup with the Cobb Salad. Both were delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time at The Valley Inn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was my first time at The Valley Inn and It was lovely. Our waiter was very attentive we had our drinks delivered immediately and had time to chat in between courses very leisurely and we liked that. The food was superb and the desserts to die for. We will definitely be back and I'm already spreading the word into Pennsylvania.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Spicy, Historic, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices are way too high for what you get ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Prices are way too high for what you get. Dining area much too noisy for a conversation without shouting. Food nothing special, especially for what they charge. Service was ok, not great. Took a while for simple request, like water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The woman who served us was the sweetest ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The woman who served us was the sweetest thing that could be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and friendly greetings, follow ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent and friendly greetings, followed by excellent service, great salads, and a reasonable tab at the end. This was a business lunch and the setting was perfect. I will be back. Thanks to all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.