About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (42)
Historic (24)
Bar Seating (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for a Date (23)
Fireplace (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Fun (19)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Romantic (8)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Sports (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Parmesan crusted rockfish special was one of my best meals ever. Calamari is excellent - clearly not frozen. Our server was sweet but overwhemed and disapeared on us for long periods of time. Our meal was over for at least 15 minutes before dessert menu offered, then disappeared again. It's on the pricey side for mid-upscale. including the cocktails. Atmosphere is lively. It is a welcome option in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

very enjoyable experience. Lunch with friends on the porch. Pete the waiter was VERY attentive and polite. We will come again.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Met friends for lunch. This was our first visit for all of us. THe atmosphere is very, very nice. The menu was varied; plenty of choices. My crab cake was excellent; it was about 4 oz. and came with a small side of coleslaw (also very good.) But at $18 it was way overpriced. The hot turkey sandwich with gravy was another selection. It was...meh. The creme brulee I ordered was devoid of flavor, and grainy. The last selection was a the chicken tortilla soup. It was very good. Except for the crabcake, all lunch selections were reasonably priced. The $8 creme brulee would have been a huge disappointment at $1.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and a warm, inviting atmosphere. Reasonable prices for a restaurant of this type.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valley Inn is consistently delicious I eat there often.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a great disappointment! The service was slow, the menu was very limited - the restaurant does not serve lunch on Sunday, only brunch, up to the dinner time. The food was tasteless. I would not come there again, and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outside of where we were initially sat (tiny table right in the middle of all the traffic and at first the hostess didn't feel like moving us to a different table that didn't give the feeling I was going to be trampled during the meal), the service was great. The food was amazing, start to finish. Food came out quickly and we shared every plate. Would suggest to any friends, just make sure you request a booth or table that is not in the main walkway.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A regular stomping ground for us. Had friends in town for the Loyola /UVA lacrosse game. Food, service, and price all above average. Think country club quality food and atmosphere without the huge upfront fee and monthly minimums.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good was great. Our server, Gavin was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have eaten at the Valley Inn many times and have enjoyed it. We chose that restaurant to take out of town guests to on Saturday evening. When we arrived we were told that Open Table had overbooked, and we ended up having to eat in the bar with loud televisions and music ( we were accommodated when we asked to have music adjusted). Needless to say, it was a big disappointment. Whoever was responsible for the glitch, something needs to get fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is very good, but no bread with a salad? No green tea? No choices but potato chips with sandwiches? Little garnish on Bloody Marys?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's a great new/old restaurant.

Would have given the food a 5.

But the hamburger ordered as medium came out medium well to well.

And.

Shrimp tacos. Great taste. Two shrimp?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

50% off on Mondays hamb ergers is a wonderful deal

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

After reading other reviews, we were prepared for potential parking issues, but were pleasantly surprised that we found a spot without trouble. The service was good, but the food was very average - except for the ice cream which was fabulous! The noise level was almost intolerable. We might try to return for lunch to get more black raspberry ice cream, but definitely not for dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We enjoyed everything about it. We were seated on time for our reservation, even though the place was very busy. The service and food was very good. I would certainly go back there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

always solid and reliable, great to have in neighborhood.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful establishment with a wonderful ambiance. I would certainly recommend this place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was great when it first opened. The food has gone down and the prices have gone up. 3 tacos with 1 shrimp per taco for $15? Gnocchi overload in a bad vodka sauce...the 7 dollar fries were sadly the high poinnt of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food is always consistently good. Service is always good

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We sat at the bar, which had a great football crowd. Great menu selection, beer and wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The swordfish special was spectacular! My husband commented that it may have been a little overcooked, but it was just to my liking. Meatball appetizer was delicious (and not greasy, as so many are). Wine prices were reasonable. The crab imperial was perfect.

Our server was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. He seemed busy, but none of his tables wanted for anything. I appreciate a server who can handle a busy station with finesse! Courses were timed very well and we didn't wait long for anything. All in all, we had a wonderful experience and we WILL be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good. Not great but okay. A little pricey for the amount of food. Service was very good. Drinks were nice. Love the fact that prosecco is on tap! Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Classic Maryland-style food with a few modern touches. The seafood here is really excellent. The bacon wrapped scallops were sweet and clean tasting with a nicely caramelized exterior. My wife had the seafood chopped salad, which was extremely fresh and packed with high quality shrimp and crab. Great selection of ber on tap as well. Decor was warm and rustic. Service was very friendly and efficient. Overall, a very nice casual alternative to the Oregon Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The menus were dirty, ragged around the edges, and the size of the crab cake was very small. Love the place, but starting to see cracks in the seams of a new place that has become so popular. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Funny thing about this place. Their inattention to detail and hygiene does not seem to be important to them. We were there years ago within three weeks of their initial opening and I pointed out to the waitress that the menu was stained with food to which she replied, "Oh they're all like that." Fast forward three years and nothing has changed in that regard. There was actual food stuck to the menu and the wine list was tattered with spilled food/drink. Why would an establishment of this caliber want to present such a poor impression right off the bat with filthy menus? The place certainly is popular though. The parking lot was full and most of the dining rooms were very loud. The food was excellent but portions were not on equal footing. My husband's pork chop and sweet potato/cabbage dinner was huge. My crab imperial was comparatively small but very tasty. Overall the experience was good except for the loud noise and the dirty menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Honored reservation on arrival.

Food was very tasty and coffee was good

Wait staff was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

In the words of my wife, "that was the best entree I've ever had" (grilled rockfish and asparagus over crab risotto with tomatoes and beurre blanc). I had it too and agree, perfectly prepared, a nice portion, and delicious combination of tastes! Our grilled avocado boat with spicy shrimp and mango salsa was a delicious starter and you just can't beat Graeter's Black Raspberry chip ice cream for dessert. The food was truly wonderful. Our service was efficient and friendly while to the point and unobtrusive. There are a variety of seating areas, we sat in a relatively quiet corner and enjoyed the view of the dining room. I hear the outdoor patio is great though with temperatures below freezing, we did not give it a try. We will definitely be back and it will be hard to order something different next time. Enjoy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everyone in our group of 6 enjoyed everything about the facility; from atmosphere and decor, to food and service and the overall value. We are planning to return

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've been to Valley Inn on noisy crowded nights but this visit, on a very wet and nasty January 3rd

lunch hour was quiet. We had a room and waiter almost to ourselves and it was a real treat! Everything was delicious and although I know this meal was a bit unusual we will certainly be back. You can count on the Valley Inn for consisent good meals and a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The Valley Inn has become a hot spot. Along with some excellent dishes, the atmosphere is cozy and warm and attractive. The parking lot is usually overflowing. This is the place to see and be seen!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wife's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Love, love this place! Warm atmosphere with excellent menu.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Gavin is awesome and he and the rest of the staff made my Mother's birthday wonderful!! Thank you so much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very relaxed early dinner. Server seemed poorly trained and did not provide info on Specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal. Server was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Good atmosphere but consistently underwhelming food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For whatever reason, the hostesses at Valley Inn always seem clueless and unhelpful. We made our reservation on open table and requested a booth in the bar if one was available. When we checked in, I noticed there were two empty booths in the bar but the hostess immediately took us to a small table for two in the dining room that stuck out into the aisle. We asked about the booth and she said they never look at the special request on online reservations and that the two booths were reserved for people who called in their reservation. Sure enough, when we left one of the booths was still empty. I don't get it. We go here often because it's close to our home, but the hostesses need to be trained to be more customer friendly.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Apps were small but food and drinks were good. I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went for lunch on a busy day week-before-Christmas. As busy as it was the service was punctual and the food was delicious! We shared the Lobster finger appetizer which was excellent! The shrimp salad and Cobb salad were excellent as well. The room was a little loud but festive and very enjoyable!

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The Valley Inn, an extremely popular place, continues to draw us in! We love the 1/2 price hamburger night (Monday) and there are a few dishes that I love.

This restaurant is convenient, attractive, popular, and has great food!

I will definitely return again and again!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

hamburgers were great (special Hamburger night) we will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Would prefer a more fresh food focus and a bit higher quality. Food prices were reasonable. Ambiance was great. We decided to be seated in the bar rather than the dining room as it was more festive for our December friend get together. Staff was accommodating and pleasant. Appetizer selection was varied and suitable for all palates. Good drink, wine, and beer selection. Looking forward to a return visit to enjoy the expansive patio.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and son arrived home from college so our family headed out to this neighborhood regular for a bite to eat. It was packed on a Thursday with table after table of office Christmas parties. Regardless of the demands on the kitchen our food came out in a timely manner and hot. Everything was cooked properly. Our server was excellent. The Valley Inn is fully priced for above average food, but worth the visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Many visits to the Valley inn .Always good.Nice atmosphere

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Here for an Anniversary Dinner, the meal was well prepared and well served. VI is on our list of good places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I was disatisfied with the food I ordered. Crab cake called large, which was not, had no taste. Very bland. Cole slaw, served. with. It was mediocre at its best. Server offered to change meal with another choice and I had shrmp salad. I was not really happy with the taste if it. There again it was bland hostesses at froont door wetevery nnice and accomodating. Table waiter ,Ray, also did a fine job.

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The serving of shrimp salad is plentiful but the shrimp salad is very bland. Tastes more like shrimp and mayonnaise with no spice or old bay seasoning.

The cole slaw is tasty but the pieces are large and difficult to eat with a fork unless you cut it up which is not easy considering it is served in a little dish and not on the flat plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very good lunch. Plenty of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

So have been here many times before but never for brunch. And never again. Rail Bloody Mary's were too expensive to be so weak. The worse though was the eggs Benedict. Eggs overcooked, one small slice of Canadian bacon cut in half for each muffin and hardly any Hollandaise sauce so we asked for more. Bread for the others was ala carte , 3 bucks for a lame biscuit!

Too many really good brunches out there for less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We made a reservation for an annual holiday dinner. We were seated in the bar bc there were no other accommodations in other parts of the restaurant. The drinks were boring and the food was lacking in taste. Our waitress had no recommendations and the quality of the dishes was below average. Our waitress was distracted. The ambience was terrible and we did not like sitting at a bar-height table. Before our meal was finished, the DJ started to play music so loud that we couldn't talk comfortably. We didn't realize that this arrangement our only option according to the hostess desk when we arrived. We will not be returning. All around disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.