Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (45)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Historic (28)
See All
Fireplace (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Cozy (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Fun (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Live Sports (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Scenic View (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was very slow and inattentive. One persons order requests were not met and one ordered item was not even brought out until we reminded them it had been ordered. To their credit we were not charged for the late arriving item. The food overall was okay. We will try again and hope for better results because the atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So improved over its first year, we went two nights in a row! Virtually everything we all ordered was delicious and well prepared. Seafood was fresh , as a Marylander I am going to judge crabmeat, and theirs was perfect on the Cobb seafood salad- large sweet lumps and generously dispersed. Shrimp was also perfect. Cheeseburger- cooked perfectly to my taste, thick and outstanding. Organic Scottish Salmon- perfection with Watermelon Salsa that I'm now obsessed with. Rockfish was excellent - but not fabulous. Most impressed with sides- Spaghetti Squash, Risotta, HUGE steak fries! Not the typical American Fare but not too foodie/gourmet that it loses comfort food standing. I have dietary restrictions-no dairy, no gluten, no spiciness- and I was able to find ample selections. Our vegetarian also found choices that were satisfying!
Lite fare to full entrees fit all budgets.
And Graeters Black Raspberry Ice Cream! Now if they carry other Graeter flavors, I'll add a star! Lovely bar, modern sun room and historical stone rooms with fireplaces match every mood.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vegan, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have eaten at the Valley Inn many times. This last visit was a disappointment. The manager was basically unpleasant (even though we had a reservation). Choices for wine by the glass are slim and over-priced. Ordered the steak salad - medium. Came very rare and with three small slices. Not worth the price tag. Server was attentive and friendly. Place is always busy so it fills a neighborhood need but it could be much, much better. My advice: go for a drink...

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a gift card. In all my years of dining out, using a gift card, no restaurant has ever refused to allow any balance on the gift card to be used for or towards the tip. The purchaser paid a sum of money for the gift card and it should be able to be used for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We wanted a quick bite before the snow was supposed to come down hard, and it worked well for us, even though the snow was far lighter than had been predicted. The waitress was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Valley Inn is always worth the visit. Excellent food served in a handsome venue.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Usually good for lunch, disappointing for Sunday brunch. Stick with the sandwiches and salads, and skip the breakfast food.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I wasn't really impressed by The Valley Inn. My husband and I went out for a quiet date night. I made a reservation and we arrived a few minutes early. Went to the bar for a cocktail, but weren't able to get the bartender's attention before we were taken to our table for two, in the middle of a room of loud foursomes and several empty tables that would have been much less closed and much cozier. We were the only table in the middle of the room, so it was pretty uncomfortable and made actually talking to each other nearly impossible. However, I could have easily involved myself in our neighboring tables' conversation, since they were in closer proximity to me than my husband.
Food was good, not great. Appetizer was huge and our entrees were brought when we were not through with the app. So our tiny table was very crowded as well. Our waiter, although very nice, never brought the water that I requested and left us between drinks for a verrrrry long time.
Overall, I wasn't impressed. Unfortunately for us, as we still have a pretty hefty gift card balance to use. Oh well. Maybe it'll be better if we try again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

very poor service. Waiter mixed order and had to wait 30 minutes for a glass of water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good decent but we waited a long long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our server, Taneeka, was fantastic. The atmosphere is nice. I did not love the salad I got - the Field and Stream Chef Salad. The flavors didn't meld together and there were WAY too many olives. The lobster burrito was a hit - spicy with a lot of tortilla chips on the side. Would recommend for lunch. Lots of choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always enjoy a visit to Valley Inn. Atmosphere is wonderful with the equestrian theme and the fire in the fireplace. Food, as usual, was wonderful. Only down-side for this visit was the service...our server kept "disappearing" and wasn't very responsive to drink refills, requests for condiments, etc. Otherwise, a very nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Met daughter and new boyfriend there for dinner - nice décor - quiet enough to have a conversation. Great service and food :) While a little pricey it was well worth it - will definitely do again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We usually are seated promptly every time we come, service is great and I love the diverse menu. The salads are fresh as well as seafood everytime. The only dish I have ever had that was subpar was the grilled oysters. Small oysters with too much breading for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Parmesan crusted rockfish special was one of my best meals ever. Calamari is excellent - clearly not frozen. Our server was sweet but overwhemed and disapeared on us for long periods of time. Our meal was over for at least 15 minutes before dessert menu offered, then disappeared again. It's on the pricey side for mid-upscale. including the cocktails. Atmosphere is lively. It is a welcome option in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

very enjoyable experience. Lunch with friends on the porch. Pete the waiter was VERY attentive and polite. We will come again.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Met friends for lunch. This was our first visit for all of us. THe atmosphere is very, very nice. The menu was varied; plenty of choices. My crab cake was excellent; it was about 4 oz. and came with a small side of coleslaw (also very good.) But at $18 it was way overpriced. The hot turkey sandwich with gravy was another selection. It was...meh. The creme brulee I ordered was devoid of flavor, and grainy. The last selection was a the chicken tortilla soup. It was very good. Except for the crabcake, all lunch selections were reasonably priced. The $8 creme brulee would have been a huge disappointment at $1.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and a warm, inviting atmosphere. Reasonable prices for a restaurant of this type.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valley Inn is consistently delicious I eat there often.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a great disappointment! The service was slow, the menu was very limited - the restaurant does not serve lunch on Sunday, only brunch, up to the dinner time. The food was tasteless. I would not come there again, and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outside of where we were initially sat (tiny table right in the middle of all the traffic and at first the hostess didn't feel like moving us to a different table that didn't give the feeling I was going to be trampled during the meal), the service was great. The food was amazing, start to finish. Food came out quickly and we shared every plate. Would suggest to any friends, just make sure you request a booth or table that is not in the main walkway.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A regular stomping ground for us. Had friends in town for the Loyola /UVA lacrosse game. Food, service, and price all above average. Think country club quality food and atmosphere without the huge upfront fee and monthly minimums.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good was great. Our server, Gavin was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have eaten at the Valley Inn many times and have enjoyed it. We chose that restaurant to take out of town guests to on Saturday evening. When we arrived we were told that Open Table had overbooked, and we ended up having to eat in the bar with loud televisions and music ( we were accommodated when we asked to have music adjusted). Needless to say, it was a big disappointment. Whoever was responsible for the glitch, something needs to get fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is very good, but no bread with a salad? No green tea? No choices but potato chips with sandwiches? Little garnish on Bloody Marys?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's a great new/old restaurant.

Would have given the food a 5.

But the hamburger ordered as medium came out medium well to well.

And.

Shrimp tacos. Great taste. Two shrimp?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

50% off on Mondays hamb ergers is a wonderful deal

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

After reading other reviews, we were prepared for potential parking issues, but were pleasantly surprised that we found a spot without trouble. The service was good, but the food was very average - except for the ice cream which was fabulous! The noise level was almost intolerable. We might try to return for lunch to get more black raspberry ice cream, but definitely not for dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant. We enjoyed everything about it. We were seated on time for our reservation, even though the place was very busy. The service and food was very good. I would certainly go back there again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

always solid and reliable, great to have in neighborhood.

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Beautiful establishment with a wonderful ambiance. I would certainly recommend this place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

It was great when it first opened. The food has gone down and the prices have gone up. 3 tacos with 1 shrimp per taco for $15? Gnocchi overload in a bad vodka sauce...the 7 dollar fries were sadly the high poinnt of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Food is always consistently good. Service is always good

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We sat at the bar, which had a great football crowd. Great menu selection, beer and wine list.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The swordfish special was spectacular! My husband commented that it may have been a little overcooked, but it was just to my liking. Meatball appetizer was delicious (and not greasy, as so many are). Wine prices were reasonable. The crab imperial was perfect.

Our server was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. He seemed busy, but none of his tables wanted for anything. I appreciate a server who can handle a busy station with finesse! Courses were timed very well and we didn't wait long for anything. All in all, we had a wonderful experience and we WILL be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good. Not great but okay. A little pricey for the amount of food. Service was very good. Drinks were nice. Love the fact that prosecco is on tap! Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Classic Maryland-style food with a few modern touches. The seafood here is really excellent. The bacon wrapped scallops were sweet and clean tasting with a nicely caramelized exterior. My wife had the seafood chopped salad, which was extremely fresh and packed with high quality shrimp and crab. Great selection of ber on tap as well. Decor was warm and rustic. Service was very friendly and efficient. Overall, a very nice casual alternative to the Oregon Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The menus were dirty, ragged around the edges, and the size of the crab cake was very small. Love the place, but starting to see cracks in the seams of a new place that has become so popular. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Funny thing about this place. Their inattention to detail and hygiene does not seem to be important to them. We were there years ago within three weeks of their initial opening and I pointed out to the waitress that the menu was stained with food to which she replied, "Oh they're all like that." Fast forward three years and nothing has changed in that regard. There was actual food stuck to the menu and the wine list was tattered with spilled food/drink. Why would an establishment of this caliber want to present such a poor impression right off the bat with filthy menus? The place certainly is popular though. The parking lot was full and most of the dining rooms were very loud. The food was excellent but portions were not on equal footing. My husband's pork chop and sweet potato/cabbage dinner was huge. My crab imperial was comparatively small but very tasty. Overall the experience was good except for the loud noise and the dirty menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Honored reservation on arrival.
Food was very tasty and coffee was good
Wait staff was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.