Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About The Valley Inn

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (56)
Casual (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
See All
Great for Lunch (37)
Good for Groups (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for a Date (28)
Comfort Food (27)
Happy Hour (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Fun (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Quick Bite (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Cozy (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
People Watching (12)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Romantic (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great Beer (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Live Sports (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Lunch was very good. Our only complaint was a persistent bee as we ate outside.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

I enjoyed the Valley Inn. I had not been there since it had been redecorated, and under new ownership and management. The ambiance clubby, with booths, wood paneling and horsey items. It felt very comfortable.The menu had lots of nice options, from full dinners to lite fair. I opted for the steak salad, which was good. It could have had a little bit more blue cheese, and a bit more steak to make it even better. One of our party had the t-bone steak, which was enormous, and cooked to perfection. He demolished it, so I didn't need to ask if he liked it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Myself and three friends had dinner at the Valley Inn last Saturday evening. We went early, 5:45PM before the crowd. Believe me, by 6:30 the people were pouring in the door! Beautiful Ambiance warm, inviting and comfortable. Service very good and food excellent! I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

First time dining at The Valley inn. Beautiful setting. We were seated on the porch so fairly quiet. Wonderful service with enthusiastic waiter Mark who made terrific suggestions for each course. Each were winners. Ahi tuna tostadas and calamari for appetizers, small chopped salad for myself and rockfish for my husband for main courses and shared ice cream sandwich for dessert. Will definitely return to try out other items on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed lunch and catching up with a good friend. We both had the smaller crab cobb salad which was delicious and a plentiful portion...can't actually imagine a full size! We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to the Valley Inn numerous times, and the food has always been excellent. The space outside is very pleasant on a nice evening. Unfortunately, the food last night was not very good. This was a huge surprise. Maybe a backup chef or something? Very much not up to the usual standard. Will make me reconsider choosing Valley Inn for a quick casual dinner - there are many other excellent choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very disappointed in their "jumbo lump" crab cake. It was small and didn't look like a jumbo lump crab cake.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Needed a place to have a late lunch with friends and family. We had beem here before and knew the menu would fit the varied tastes of everyone coming. It was great and our server was wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Always enjoy going to The Valley Inn! Refinement and civility prevail without stuffiness. The menu is interesting, varied, and creative. The service is always first class. We two sat in a booth in the bar on a not-so-busy Monday for lunch. Perfect ambiance with no problem conversing amid an agreeable noise level. On this occasion, it was quiet. Best to make a reservation, even at lunch, because it seems usually to be busy for both lunch and dinner. Bon Appetit!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We sat outside and it was beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The fried deviled eggs are amazing as well as the chargrilled oysters!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

While the food was good and the service good too, the noise level throughout the restaurant was prohibitive for conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was very good. The service was prompt. The waitress was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Loved loved loved the steel drum duo on the back patio. I felt like we were on vacation!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was average. Outside was very nice. They had music, beanbag throw, nice patio, heat lamps.
They had a lite fare menu -sandwiches that were less than $20.00. Sides are extra so it brings it up to about $20.00 per meal.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always live The Valley Inn especially with its new look. The fried oysters, raging and burgers are fabulous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Another great time with family and love the atmosphere and that we have this neighborhood gem!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Good as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The hamburger is fabulous as is the steak and seafood salad

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a great night out on the veranda last night next to the waterfall. Prime spot! Food was fantastic, server was awesome! We didn't feel rushed at all and enjoyed a great long meal. Only thing I will say is that the bottles of wine are too pricey- even the stuff that sells for 13.99 at the store was over 45 dollars- wish there was some easier selections for wine so you didn't have to spend so much but- I'm sure the bar has better selections? Cocktails (seasonal libations) were amazing!!! Overall we enjoyed our night and I forgot how good this place really is. It's on the radar again as a place we will begin to visit more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I had mixed experiences with Valley Inn when it first re-opened but have enjoyed every meal there this past year. Excellent salads, seafood and steak with diverse choices. Good for every occasion from casual to celebratory. Comfort food with just enough creative dishes. Most palates' needs will be met. Nothing WOW but we always leave satisfied.
And the best mint julep!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great service but food is decent. Some things are great and some are below average. Good place for an easy night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Consistently amazing restaurant--my favorite. Lots of original takes on traditional Maryland/East Coast dishes. Quality food, drinks, great service, great environment. The perfect restaurant for a Marylander and horse person. Diehard regular since Ted Bauer reopened it! The scallops and rockfish are too good to pass up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2017

My husband and I have eaten here on plenty of occasions but for some reason, the other evening was a total bust. We ate outside and it wasn't that crowded being a Tuesday evening but some citronella candles on the table would've been great to keep the pesky bugs at bay. The arugula prosciutto salad was decent, but not nearly as good as it has been in the past and we order it almost every time. We also ordered the chargrilled oysters which I was very excited about but there was so much cheese on the top baked completely over the oysters that that was all you tasted. The shrimp tacos were awful. The chips on the plate were stale and the nachos were cold. There was so much of that sauce on top, and it was sickly sweet. We planned on ordering more food after the initial apps but decided not to since it was just a really off night apparently.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Very reliable and pleasant. Always enjoy the food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Always good food and great atmosphere. A little noisy but that is because it is busy! If you want a quiet romantic place this is not it unless you go during off peak times. Beautiful new outdoor area also.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

would love to be offered a seat in a different area - always the same spot off the original dining room. Tables were open and not sure why we were seated at this little table for 2.

We had no one busing our table. We had so many glasses that were never cleared off. Waitress was excellent but forgot we needed forks when she cleared our appetizers. I went over to another table and took care of it.

Other than that, it was fun and we enjoyed the restaurant week menu Love to know what's the deal with being seated in the main dining room?

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 18, 2017

It was very very loud. Too loud to enjoy conversation with my friend. I could not hear her. It was so bad that I had to request to be reseated in an area less noisy. Once moved, it was much more enjoyable. The food was okay. I have had more flavorful food. The service was very good. I definitely cannot say anything negative. They were very understanding about the noise level and very acommodating in moving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We live not far from the Valley Inn, and as long as we can sit far from the noisy bar, it is fine for a quick supper. The decor is a bit forced horsey set, but so obviously reproduction that it really does not work well for the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sunday evening dinner on the patio. We asked to turn music down and they were able to do that for speakers around our table. Very nice atmosphere. Kids played bocce ball while adults talked. Great service. Good food for a reasonable price.

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We took our family including two children to brunch to celebrate a family birthday - everyone enjoyed the food, the setting and the ambiance.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

we have been coming here for a long time. I had 6:15 reservations and asked to be seated in the bar. The hostess took us right to the dining room without mentioning our request. We asked her if we could sit in the bar and she told us she would take a look. She sat us at a high top table with backless chairs. There were tables marked reserved and others not marked. We asked if we could sit at a booth and were told it was reserved. Really> No sign or anything and the restaurant pretty empty at that time. Anyway, she wouldn't move us. I am 60 and sitting in a backless chair is very uncomfortable. Server and food were good. The hostesses are VERY young and should be trained better on customer service as I found her to be very unaccommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great Neighborhood Gem!! Will definitely be back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We decided to try the Valley Inn for restaurant week and were unfortunately left with wishing we chose a different establishment. Early in the evening we received a text stating our table was ready. We traveled 25/30 minutes to dine at this location so we were pleasantly surprised to be seated promptly. Yet after sitting down to our table we had a brief hello from our server and then waited over 20 mins for drinks. We had to ask another server to place our food order as we were all hungry and left w/wondering when we'd eat. Although our server tried to keep the night light with witty one liners and numerous apologies on how busy the restaurant was, we felt quite ignored. Other tables who were seated well after ours - ordered, ate and left long before us. The food was ok, my husband did enjoy his steak yet the bill in our opinion a bit high for being narrowed down to an all inclusive menu for restaurant week. The dessert was also just ok. We loved the ambiance yet unfortunately do not think we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always a nice dining experience. This place is an attractive place with good food; we visit regularly and will return frequently. The burgers are great; a personal favorite is the steak salad.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We all ordered burgers, which were delicious, and the accompanying fries were also very good. One person in our party substituted a vegetable for the fries, however, and the upcharge was $4, which I thought was steep for a swap. This is a great place for lunch or a casual dinner, though, and I'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I really don't care what the other reviews say. We have been there a few times and the experience has always been top notch. Tonight we had the restaurant week special, the Bronzino and it, along with the soup and sides, was simply amazing. Probably the best, and we highly recommend it, is the house salad. What a gem of a salad. Its got everything you would want, plus bacon, feta, and we believe a bit of reggiano. Finally, if you get the fries, get the basically pot roast gravy on the side. Wow...we are "foodies" and pay for good food and we will pay again for it, here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We sat outside. We were seated quickly and teh food and services were great! Based on how many cars were in the parking lot I thought things would be slow but they weren't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A local staple. Always good (not great) food and service. Consistent for a casual night out.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Sports, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Overall it was pleasant and my husband enjoyed his tuna, which was seared perfectly. There is a fabulous outdoor patio/bar that is lovely. One thing that annoyed me was that they did not offer any bread/butter for dinner. I thought that was a bit odd considering that other nice restaurants such as Oregon Grille and Milton Inn automatically provide bread. This would not prevent me from going there again, because it is a lovely restaurant and food is good; i just wanted to provide his suggestion to their management. Also go their for brunch... good menu and not as expensive as dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.