Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About The Valley Inn - Brooklandville

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn - Brooklandville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (45)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Bar Seating (33)
See All
Historic (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Cozy (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Fireplace (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Fun (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Business Meals (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Quick Bite (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
People Watching (12)
Authentic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (5)
Scenic View (5)
Live Sports (5)
Healthy (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

I recommend this restaurant for "bar seating", because that is where they tried to "push us off" to. Had reservations for dinner. Special occasion. They take us into the bar area to be seated. I said I had intended to dine in the dining area. They took us to the most awkward table (one that really shouldn't exist) in the dining area. Must have been "punishment" for not accepting bar area seating. (It's against a wall at the end of a group of elevated booths, seems very out of place- this must be "the undesirables" table). Overall- nice dining room, food was good, service was very good. But not in a hurry to return and once again be seated at the "punishment" table.
(previous visit they seated us at the same exact table).

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 2 days ago

Good times with friends from Boston however we had dinner in the enclosed porch. Sounds like an Ideal setting however the biggest draw back is that the enclosure captures every noise and voice in the room resulting in an acoustical nightmare!! it was so loud that it was close to impossible to hear the person sitting next to you making conversation very difficult will not ever sit out in the enclosure again. Food and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent, our server was very friendly and helpful. Food was good, much better than last time. New menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

While we like the decor and ambiance and our waitress was gracious, we had one in our party who is gluten and dairy free. There are very few options for that diet on the menu and the kitchen refused to change anything. This is no longer an unusual request and the Valley Inn needs to have a few options or at least be a little more accommodating. There is no reason they can't substitute olive oil for butter on a steak for someone who is allergic to dairy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my first time here. It was a pleasant dining experience. The staff was friendly and so were the patrons. The food was amazing. Definitely get the Nacho Tower!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was not impressed with the food. Shrimp salad was bland. Crab soup was good. I liked the atmosphere more than the food

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We asked to move to a different table, it was no problem! We asked for a high back seat again no problem! Food was prepared perfect! The waiter was great! Always enjoy when I come here! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food here is usually very good and I looked forward to returning for lunch. But today was disappointing. The chicken tortilla soup was more like thick chili than soup. The avocado BLT was served without any mayo and the bread was dry. Maybe I just ordered wrong. Will definitely go back, just will order differently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have been coming to the Valley Inn since it opened. Almost always we have been very pleased, both with the service and the food.
On this occasion our waiter, Keisue, was brusque and impatient, to to point of being rude. He got so close to my face so I could smell his breath. Uncomfortably close.
He Slammed our drinks on the table. (this should have been a clue to us how the evening was going to go).
He banged the appetizer plates down, and when the main course came I thought the plates were going to break.
We asked for breadsticks - we really like them here. Every other table got breadsticks. We asked twice and got none. He disappeared until the end of the meal.
We went to the bar to order drinks and speak to the manager. The manager gave us no resolution, or even "I'll look into it."
While we have really enjoyed dining here in the past, we will definitely rethink our options in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Although the food was as food as usual, our service was somewhat slow. That was apparently due to how busy the restaurant was. Since it was that busy, the noise level was even more than "energetic". It was difficult to hear the person sitting next to you. The experience would probably have been much better at a time when the restaurant was not so crowded.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Valley Inn is a nice place but the food is just average. The Caesar salad had an odd taste. My wife and I each had the crab cakes. For $32 bucks you get two rather small crab cakes with relatively small chunks of crab. There are many places around with better value crab cakes. I will admit the taste was good but lacked the lovely sweetness of good fresh jumbo lump. My son had a lobster dish. The cole slaw was very good and fresh. The fries were good but not great. I think for the price they could go for two sides as do most restaurants.

The amount of Lobster was again not generous and the accompaniments weren't enough for a 28 year old young man. He had an order of Brussels sprouts which were tasty.

All in all a high priced meal that didn't quite live up to the high end price. The restaurant is pretty new and is doing a great business but as we all know, establishments that don't offer good value (high prices are ok if one feels they are getting a meal that lives up to the price) eventually suffer. The lack of a nearby upscale bar scene competitor though will help the Valley Inn.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've been wanting to try this since it reopened, and chose it as the place to celebrate my birthday. It's a sprawling, clubby sort of place. I enjoyed a chopped seafood salad. My Rockfish with risotto was excellent. However, my husband's roasted chicken was dry. There is no excuse for that anywhere, but especially not at this price. The factor that will keep up from returning for a second visit: the noise level was unbearable. The place was packed so apparently they have no motivation to address these issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our server was very slow and inattentive. One persons order requests were not met and one ordered item was not even brought out until we reminded them it had been ordered. To their credit we were not charged for the late arriving item. The food overall was okay. We will try again and hope for better results because the atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

So improved over its first year, we went two nights in a row! Virtually everything we all ordered was delicious and well prepared. Seafood was fresh , as a Marylander I am going to judge crabmeat, and theirs was perfect on the Cobb seafood salad- large sweet lumps and generously dispersed. Shrimp was also perfect. Cheeseburger- cooked perfectly to my taste, thick and outstanding. Organic Scottish Salmon- perfection with Watermelon Salsa that I'm now obsessed with. Rockfish was excellent - but not fabulous. Most impressed with sides- Spaghetti Squash, Risotta, HUGE steak fries! Not the typical American Fare but not too foodie/gourmet that it loses comfort food standing. I have dietary restrictions-no dairy, no gluten, no spiciness- and I was able to find ample selections. Our vegetarian also found choices that were satisfying!
Lite fare to full entrees fit all budgets.
And Graeters Black Raspberry Ice Cream! Now if they carry other Graeter flavors, I'll add a star! Lovely bar, modern sun room and historical stone rooms with fireplaces match every mood.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Vegan, Late-night Find, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have eaten at the Valley Inn many times. This last visit was a disappointment. The manager was basically unpleasant (even though we had a reservation). Choices for wine by the glass are slim and over-priced. Ordered the steak salad - medium. Came very rare and with three small slices. Not worth the price tag. Server was attentive and friendly. Place is always busy so it fills a neighborhood need but it could be much, much better. My advice: go for a drink...

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had a gift card. In all my years of dining out, using a gift card, no restaurant has ever refused to allow any balance on the gift card to be used for or towards the tip. The purchaser paid a sum of money for the gift card and it should be able to be used for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We wanted a quick bite before the snow was supposed to come down hard, and it worked well for us, even though the snow was far lighter than had been predicted. The waitress was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The Valley Inn is always worth the visit. Excellent food served in a handsome venue.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Usually good for lunch, disappointing for Sunday brunch. Stick with the sandwiches and salads, and skip the breakfast food.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I wasn't really impressed by The Valley Inn. My husband and I went out for a quiet date night. I made a reservation and we arrived a few minutes early. Went to the bar for a cocktail, but weren't able to get the bartender's attention before we were taken to our table for two, in the middle of a room of loud foursomes and several empty tables that would have been much less closed and much cozier. We were the only table in the middle of the room, so it was pretty uncomfortable and made actually talking to each other nearly impossible. However, I could have easily involved myself in our neighboring tables' conversation, since they were in closer proximity to me than my husband.
Food was good, not great. Appetizer was huge and our entrees were brought when we were not through with the app. So our tiny table was very crowded as well. Our waiter, although very nice, never brought the water that I requested and left us between drinks for a verrrrry long time.
Overall, I wasn't impressed. Unfortunately for us, as we still have a pretty hefty gift card balance to use. Oh well. Maybe it'll be better if we try again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

very poor service. Waiter mixed order and had to wait 30 minutes for a glass of water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good decent but we waited a long long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Our server, Taneeka, was fantastic. The atmosphere is nice. I did not love the salad I got - the Field and Stream Chef Salad. The flavors didn't meld together and there were WAY too many olives. The lobster burrito was a hit - spicy with a lot of tortilla chips on the side. Would recommend for lunch. Lots of choices on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always enjoy a visit to Valley Inn. Atmosphere is wonderful with the equestrian theme and the fire in the fireplace. Food, as usual, was wonderful. Only down-side for this visit was the service...our server kept "disappearing" and wasn't very responsive to drink refills, requests for condiments, etc. Otherwise, a very nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Met daughter and new boyfriend there for dinner - nice décor - quiet enough to have a conversation. Great service and food :) While a little pricey it was well worth it - will definitely do again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We usually are seated promptly every time we come, service is great and I love the diverse menu. The salads are fresh as well as seafood everytime. The only dish I have ever had that was subpar was the grilled oysters. Small oysters with too much breading for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Parmesan crusted rockfish special was one of my best meals ever. Calamari is excellent - clearly not frozen. Our server was sweet but overwhemed and disapeared on us for long periods of time. Our meal was over for at least 15 minutes before dessert menu offered, then disappeared again. It's on the pricey side for mid-upscale. including the cocktails. Atmosphere is lively. It is a welcome option in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

very enjoyable experience. Lunch with friends on the porch. Pete the waiter was VERY attentive and polite. We will come again.

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Fireplace, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Met friends for lunch. This was our first visit for all of us. THe atmosphere is very, very nice. The menu was varied; plenty of choices. My crab cake was excellent; it was about 4 oz. and came with a small side of coleslaw (also very good.) But at $18 it was way overpriced. The hot turkey sandwich with gravy was another selection. It was...meh. The creme brulee I ordered was devoid of flavor, and grainy. The last selection was a the chicken tortilla soup. It was very good. Except for the crabcake, all lunch selections were reasonably priced. The $8 creme brulee would have been a huge disappointment at $1.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food and a warm, inviting atmosphere. Reasonable prices for a restaurant of this type.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valley Inn is consistently delicious I eat there often.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a great disappointment! The service was slow, the menu was very limited - the restaurant does not serve lunch on Sunday, only brunch, up to the dinner time. The food was tasteless. I would not come there again, and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outside of where we were initially sat (tiny table right in the middle of all the traffic and at first the hostess didn't feel like moving us to a different table that didn't give the feeling I was going to be trampled during the meal), the service was great. The food was amazing, start to finish. Food came out quickly and we shared every plate. Would suggest to any friends, just make sure you request a booth or table that is not in the main walkway.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A regular stomping ground for us. Had friends in town for the Loyola /UVA lacrosse game. Food, service, and price all above average. Think country club quality food and atmosphere without the huge upfront fee and monthly minimums.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good was great. Our server, Gavin was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have eaten at the Valley Inn many times and have enjoyed it. We chose that restaurant to take out of town guests to on Saturday evening. When we arrived we were told that Open Table had overbooked, and we ended up having to eat in the bar with loud televisions and music ( we were accommodated when we asked to have music adjusted). Needless to say, it was a big disappointment. Whoever was responsible for the glitch, something needs to get fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food is very good, but no bread with a salad? No green tea? No choices but potato chips with sandwiches? Little garnish on Bloody Marys?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It's a great new/old restaurant.

Would have given the food a 5.

But the hamburger ordered as medium came out medium well to well.

And.

Shrimp tacos. Great taste. Two shrimp?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 30, 2017

50% off on Mondays hamb ergers is a wonderful deal

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.