Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 1.91mi
  3. Distance: 2.67mi
  4. Distance: 2.83mi

About The Valley Inn

From the owner of The Oregon Grille.

10501 Falls Rd.
Lutherville, MD 21093
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Burgers

Hours of Operation:
Everyday 1130- Close

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 828-0002

The Valley Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (49)
Casual (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
See All
Bar Seating (37)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Special Occasion (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Fun (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Business Meals (18)
Cozy (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great Beer (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Live Sports (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Music (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The Valley Inn has a great menu. We always enjoy being able to eat an entree or just lite fare. The food is consistently good as is the service. However, if you are a person who does not like a noisy environment this would not be the restaurant for you.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

The Valley in is consistently good, conveniently located, full of energy, and representative of Maryland’s horse country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We're glad that TVI has revived this spot in the county. The interior design is superb with a hand towards Baltimore County history and culture. It makes for a cozy meal on a cold evening. It feels a bit "old-school" which creates familiarity. The menu is all over the place but allows for a variety of options. The apps were tasty but not all together excellent. Fried deviled eggs were unique but quite dry; a bacon jam or something piquant would elevate. The calamari was fairly standard and chewy though sauce was sweet and tangy. Meatballs were ok but did not arrive hot. The kids' meals were gigantic - a bit much for our little guys but we appreciated the generosity. Entrees arrived promptly and everyone seemed happy with their meals. My own meal, the Filet and Sweets (8oz, fries and brussels), underwhelmed me for $38. My mid-rare cut came past medium - not something I expected for the price. It should have been perfect. And I am in the camp that Brussel sprouts, because they are hard and bitter, should always be caramelized in the oven, which nobody's at the table were. They were somewhat inedible. We had a nice time overall: thank you. It was a special occasion as my mother retired after 54 years. We'll come back and try some other things. But for the prices, the rather casual service, and the fact that a few minutes down 83 I can, for less cost, have a mind-blowing food experience in warm environments with professional service, I think the cost is high.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was excellent!!! She was there when we needed her but otherwise she was unobtrusive.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great
Slow waitor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2017

our waitress provided excellent service and the food was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We have been to the Valley Inn many times and have never been disappointed. But this past week we went and sat for over 20 minutes before I went up and said that no one had even come over to our table. The waiter saw us sitting there. We requested a different waiter and he was excellent, attentive and was very friendly.
Would still go there again because it is a great and wonderful neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Valley Inn was delicious as usual, although the cheese in the chicken noodle soup could have been just a little more melted. We had a large group and sat in the bar area and the service wasn’t as good as it has been on previous visits. Overall an enjoyable meal, as long as you’re willing to be patient.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Lovely evening with friends, good food, fine service, noise level was cheerful but not overwhelming. Easy drive for us and free parking. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Love the seafood cobb salad and chicken noodle with gruyere cheese :-) also ask for the thin breadsticks and butter!! So yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

I had a great experience. I was sat outside on enclosed deck and was told the fire would be on. When it’s wasn’t, I addressed it with the server and monies later a bus boy was outside building a fire. That really showed how the staff goes above and beyond for its patrons. Food was good. It did become very loud though which made it difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Valley Inn is a routine meeting place for a group of my friends. The service is perfect. And, the lobster burrito is FANTASTIC!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

The servers were perfect—patient and attentive—which enabled old friends to catch up over a leisurely lunch. The food was likewise perfect as delectable as it was comfortable. We chose the Valley Inn because we’ve been there before and know how quiet, accommodating and satisfying it consistently is for getting together with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant and we loved it. The service was both friendly and competent and the food was delicious. We wanted to linger and talk and the servers kept refilling our beverages. It was a lovely dining experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Food was good but a bit overpriced for the portion size

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 25, 2017

I love The Valley Inn to meet friends for lunch. The chopped seafood salad is excellent, and the small is more than enough. This is the first time I've eaten in the enclosed porch area, and while it was nice to see the gardens, I prefer the front paneled room for ambience. Still, I'll return again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Delicious Hamburgers and fries. Shrimp salad and ceacer salad also very good

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

The decor and ambiance were just what I enjoy! Beautiful wood tones, charming and lovely! The equestrian theme in our dining area was perfect and suits the close proximity to the Hunt Valley/Worthington Valley/Hunt Cup areas! Heidi, our waitress, was exceptional handling our party of 5!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Dinner with granddaughters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2017

We have never been disappointed ehen we have gone here for a meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Hostess and server were both exceptional, friendly and helpful.We sat in the outside porch, enclosed and heated, which gave us a nice view as well as keeping us out of the inside rooms which were full and cramped. We loved the crab soup although more crab meat would have been nice. Our only real complaint was the saltiness of the meatloaf and the crab imperial. So much so that we couldn't finish either.
Creme brulee came with mounds of whipped cream so say something if you aren't a fan. The hot fudge sundae was delicious, with so much fudge I couldn't finish it. Not a bad thing!
We also shared the fried deviled eggs, sounds terrible but very tasty. And we shared the brussel sprouts side dish, also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Service was quick and we loved the horse-themed decor! The food was a bit pricey, otherwise it would get straight 5’s!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Monday half price burger night is the best value in town. The best burger around. And if you like sweet potato fries, as I do, they are fabulous

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Shawn T was a really fine server. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Upon arrival we were seated, but then sort of left at our table for about 5 or 10 minutes before the waitress came out and asked "Did you want me to bring any water or anything for anyone?" It went downhill from there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch! My mother in law took me there’s for my birthday.
She and I enjoyed our meal and my yummy fudge brownie birthday dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This is the first time we came to The Valley Inn on a Monday night, so we were able to take advantage of Hamburger Night and its half price burgers. As always, the dinner was delicious, and meal was certainly a great value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The service was terrible. The noise level was way past unacceptable.
Conversations died with the noise level.
The food was overstated and too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I put in the notes that we would be celebrating my husband's 50th - I wasn't looking for the whole crew to come clapping and singing, however, a simple Happy Birthday from the waitress and or hostess would have been nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We have been there a number of times and it was clear that Sunday evening is an off night. Our server was fine, but had to constantly apologize for things beyond her control. The worst was that all the food came at once. We had just started on our starters (oysters and salads) when the warm mains arrived. Needless to say they were cold by the time we got to them. This was kind of strange because we had experienced a long wait to have our orders taken and to receive the oysters. Getting the wine list, breadsticks and condiments all required a request and further delay. Will think hard about going back on a Sunday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Lunch was very good. Our only complaint was a persistent bee as we ate outside.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I enjoyed the Valley Inn. I had not been there since it had been redecorated, and under new ownership and management. The ambiance clubby, with booths, wood paneling and horsey items. It felt very comfortable.The menu had lots of nice options, from full dinners to lite fair. I opted for the steak salad, which was good. It could have had a little bit more blue cheese, and a bit more steak to make it even better. One of our party had the t-bone steak, which was enormous, and cooked to perfection. He demolished it, so I didn't need to ask if he liked it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Loved the food @ Valley Inn. Had the Seafood Cobb- small size. It was delicious & enough for dinner! Enjoyed sitting outside.Tables are not too close together so noise was not a problem like so many places. Am picky -found many items on menu that I would like to order in future. I don't eat meat so often menus selections are limited.It is a MUST!

Tags: Romantic, Live Sports, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Myself and three friends had dinner at the Valley Inn last Saturday evening. We went early, 5:45PM before the crowd. Believe me, by 6:30 the people were pouring in the door! Beautiful Ambiance warm, inviting and comfortable. Service very good and food excellent! I will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service was impeccable! Everything we ordered was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

First time dining at The Valley inn. Beautiful setting. We were seated on the porch so fairly quiet. Wonderful service with enthusiastic waiter Mark who made terrific suggestions for each course. Each were winners. Ahi tuna tostadas and calamari for appetizers, small chopped salad for myself and rockfish for my husband for main courses and shared ice cream sandwich for dessert. Will definitely return to try out other items on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Enjoyed lunch and catching up with a good friend. We both had the smaller crab cobb salad which was delicious and a plentiful portion...can't actually imagine a full size! We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I have been to the Valley Inn numerous times, and the food has always been excellent. The space outside is very pleasant on a nice evening. Unfortunately, the food last night was not very good. This was a huge surprise. Maybe a backup chef or something? Very much not up to the usual standard. Will make me reconsider choosing Valley Inn for a quick casual dinner - there are many other excellent choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very disappointed in their "jumbo lump" crab cake. It was small and didn't look like a jumbo lump crab cake.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Needed a place to have a late lunch with friends and family. We had beem here before and knew the menu would fit the varied tastes of everyone coming. It was great and our server was wonderful.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.