About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Kingwood / Humble / Atascocita ›

special occasion (43)
neighborhood gem (38)
great for brunch (37)
See All
great for lunch (35)
good for groups (29)
romantic (24)
fit for foodies (23)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (13)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter did a great job. Very professiona ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter did a great job. Very professional. Food was fresh starting with the salad and bread. Presentation on main course was impressive and quality was good. This was a great experience. They had live music too (discrete and not overwhelming) which was a treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit was an early brunch reservatio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our visit was an early brunch reservation on a Sunday for 10am. Four of us enjoyed an easy conversation at the table with what was eventually a moderately busy, but not loud, restaurant. The atmosphere is upscale (my wife commented that she felt underdressed in her shorts and tank) but we were treated as though we had dressed the part. Waitress was very attentive but overly loud (a caffeinated diner like table side personality). She was kind and again, very capable, just startlingly loud. The food was delicious but the serving sizes could have been a little bigger. Considering the average menu price of around $13 and the atmosphere, I believe the Union Kitchen was very fair and I'll certainly be back. One point to mention however, as we were leaving we stopped by the bar to see if it could be our new hangout and with a greeting from afar by the bartender things were looking good but the second tender ruined it when he called out from 10ft away that "Friday night is the G-Spot."

Might as well have peeled the dark wood off the walls and splashed some cheap dark colored paint up there. Buddy, you just declassed the joint... We'll still be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We have been twice now. Totally wowed b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have been twice now. Totally wowed by the consistency of food and atmosphere. All of the wait staff show to genuinely love their jobs! It is great to see it radiate into their work. Will revisit for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food for entree has and was a bit of a w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food for entree has and was a bit of a wait. We were in no hurry but longer than expected. Victor was a pleasure and professional.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service as usual. Try the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good food and service as usual. Try the BBQ chicken sandwich. It is yummy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant with excellent food choi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent food choices and a good wine list. Quiet, classy environment that allows for good conversation. Love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is great and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place. The food is great and wide selection. The brunch has bottomless mimosas and a bloody Mary bar. Gary the bartender and the other guy are always great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks, pasta and deserts. Wil ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent steaks, pasta and deserts. Will definitely be returning soon. Service was outstanding. The staff made our families special occasion even more memorable.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful lunch with my family on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch with my family on Wednesday. Kalieb our waiter though he had 4 other tables was very attentive and efficient. The lunch menu had a lot to offer at reasonable prices. If you like French Onion soup I highly recommend their Apple Onion soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband I had a great relaxing dinner ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband I had a great relaxing dinner. Food and service were both exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner with family visiting for th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great dinner with family visiting for the 4th of July holiday. Our waitress, Camille, was friendly and made the evening very fun. Good food, lovely decor and atmosphere, welcoming service.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch with family fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch with family for my 4 year old birthday. It was great and our waitress was fantastic and food was great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty. Appetizers were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was very tasty. Appetizers were especially good. The waiter was just the right amount of attentive. Everyone in our party raved about their dishes. I would recommend highly!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a last minute date with my dad ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for a last minute date with my dad for father's day and it was awesome. The food was delish. This is the second time I came to the restaurant and I have never been disappointed. It's one of my favorite places to go for dinner. The Staff is very polite, helpful and welcoming. Definitely will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few girlfriends and I were looking for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A few girlfriends and I were looking for a brunch place to meet and catch up once a month and Union Kitchen was suggested. Bottomless mimosas are a plus and I can honestly say that my glass never got empty. Service was above par and I appreciate that your staff is trained to noticed trailing tables or servers "in the weeds" and help out other sections when they can. This makes our monthly gatherings smooth and fun, with no distractions or delays! We love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. Good service, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a great experience. Good service, good food, table was ready and the server was very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had reservations and were seated prom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had reservations and were seated promptly. Service was very good except we asked for bread which we never received. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met some friends for dinner. It was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We met some friends for dinner. It was a nice atmosphere. We were in a little separate room with few tables than the regular dining area. The service was great. Very friendly, professional and helpful. Checked on us often to see if we needed anything. The food was good. My husband and I shared the trout and our friends shared the scallops. We had potstickers and stuffed avocados as appetizers and were too full for dessert, but they all looked very good. We will come back on special occasions. We went there for our anniversary and birthdays. My personal opinion is that it is too pricey for lunches with friends. Thank you for asking for input.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time eating here and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Second time eating here and the food was excellent both times. During my most recent visit, all five people in our party ordered something different and we each loved our meals! Beautiful interior in an unassuming location. Great place for a nice date night or a celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lovely atmosphere! I had the shrimp Cobb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! I had the shrimp Cobb salad and it was delish! My father unfortunately ordered the chicken fried steak and it was incredibly tough. Over all I would come her again. Wait staff was attentive and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great server today! Very attentive to u ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server today! Very attentive to us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Redfish was one of the best I have had a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Redfish was one of the best I have had anywhere Well worth having

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Union Kitchen is my go to for a romantic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Union Kitchen is my go to for a romantic Brunch with my hubby, Girls Day out or even lunch by myself. I love this place!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Best restaurant near IAH Bush Intercontinental Airport for brunch before a flight! Love the crab Benedict and the omlettes. Service is great and staff is friendly. Check it out next time you need to eat before flying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant just can't seem to get i ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This restaurant just can't seem to get it together. Some food

Items are good and others are not. They try to pull off a white

Table cloth experience but always fall short. You are much better spending your hard earned money some place else.

They could change their bread and serve it warm. They should

Hire more experienced wait staff. Their restaurant is very nice

But you would expect more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Great place!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Been here a number of times and it continues to please.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch spot in Kingwood!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I am so thrilled Kingwood has this gorgeous gem that serves authentic and delicious brunch. We used to drive all the way into town for brunch so I am very pleased to have found The Union Kitchen Kingwood close to home. While the exterior may be underwhelming, the interior of the restaurant is beautiful with rich dark wood and white linens. We're immediately welcomed by a smiling host/hostess and seated promptly. Our server was exceptional and the food was on point. Not on the menu, but get their special chicken and waffles! The bottomless mimosas is a plus too. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here on Mother's Day expecting grea ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Came here on Mother's Day expecting great food but knew it would be super busy. Turns out the food and service was outstanding. While they were packed the service was the best I have ever had there and I have been there many times. A manager came by with a small gift for everyone not just Mom's. Every table was getting the beverage container that is very nice. The food is always great but you really felt like the servers wanted were sincere in wanting you to have a nice day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my wife and kids here for brunch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and kids here for brunch on Mother's Day. The food was delectable, and the service was exceptional. Our drinks never got less than half way before they were refilled, plates were cleared away quickly, and the servers were very attentive stopping by frequently to see if we needed anything. We were also checked on twice by individuals who were not waiting on our table to see how our visit was going.

I also commented to the waiter that I thought their coffee was quite tasty. Not only did he find out the brand of coffee for me, he gave me a pack to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was an average dining experience. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

It was an average dining experience. The food was good and the server was good, but there wasn't anything exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Nice lunch with co-workers

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an 11:30 reservation and when we arrived right at 11:30 the table wasn't yet set up. That sort of annoyed me, but the food and service was excellent so I can easily overlook it.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply Awesome

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

The shrimp and grits are to die for. I can't stop thinking about them. They were so good, I wanted to rub them all over my face. I can't wait to go there again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the Elvis waffles

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The Elvis waffles are super delicious! Great for the table to share, only the sweet lover could handle it as their main event.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience at the Union K ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great experience at the Union Kitchen. The restaurant has a more formal feel yet jeans or shorts are ok.

Our waiter was wonderful. He was friendly, stayed on top of everything, and gave us good recommendations. I will definitely come back as well as recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I love this place! The food is really great! I try something new each time I go.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Union Kitchen is consistently outstandin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Union Kitchen is consistently outstanding. Our server, Ryan was very nice and attentive. We will most certainly be back. We love UK!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Ok experience for dinner; nothing special

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I'd only been to TUK previously for brunch. The brunch is good, but the dinner was just ok. Had the parmesan encrusted asparagus. The asparagus was really big, not cooked all the way and the dish had no flavor...even from the lump crab topping. For comparison, the exact same dish at Perry's is divine (even without the topping.) We went on a Friday evening, and it was kind of early (6:30) but was surprised that the diners were almost completely elderly folks. Nothing wrong with that, but "vibrant bar scene" or "hot spot" are definitely not phrases that come to mind. So, wasn't bad, but nothing special either and a little pricy for the food quality. Would recommend for brunch much more than for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

good overall.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Ambiance inside was nice, exterior was not. In a strip mall (cant really help that). Wait staff was nice and helpful. The noise of loud bargoers and staff was obnoxious! We spent over $100 for our experiance and i didnt know i was going to a spirts bar. The food selection was decent, expected more steak and seafood selection. Quality of food was good. Our overall experience was nice and we will go again. Please have the wait staff anounce evening specialties as i was unaware of any.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent! I had a rack of St. Louis Ri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent! I had a rack of St. Louis Ribs and they were cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Easter Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Attended for Easter Brunch and service and food were both very good. I like that they didn't gouge you into buying an expensive $50+ brunch just because it was Easter. Have been there a half dozen times and it is always good, will be going back, just wish it were a little closer to Fall Creek/Westlake area.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.