About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Great for Lunch (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Great for Brunch (40)
Good for Groups (31)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (21)
Kid-friendly (12)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
393 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good, dining area was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good, dining area was very nice, but wait staff was a little hit and miss; half step off compared to quality of food and overall dining area. Wait staff should visit with one another in designated areas away from seated guest areas. Guests are there for one another to focus upon, without overhearing various conversations from various waiters walking and talking two and fro with one another. It wasn't hugely wrong or bad, just expected more professionalism to accompany the cost of the evening.

Other than that, my wife and I enjoyed our 33 year anniversary at your establishment.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for a beer dinner with our local Ba ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went for a beer dinner with our local Back Pew Brewery providing the drink. Sold out area dedicated to the dinner. Union Kitchen staff did very well handling such a large group. Chef explained each course followed by the Back Pew Brewery owner explaining the beer match. Would definitely go again and would recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place, great food. Awesome service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place, great food. Awesome service. I highly recommend, I'll be going back soon

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been before even though we've ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had not been before even though we've lived in the area for a long time; we were celebrating a birthday but went primarily because of Restaurant Week. It was a totally great experience and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and service was good. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great and service was good. It feels cramped to me, and the other groups near us were very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We went with another couple for dinner o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went with another couple for dinner on a Sat night. Rainy night but good crowd. Got a 6:15 reservation at the last minute. Had the Brie and crab cakes for appetizers - really good. Entrees were more crab cakes, pork chop, Churrasco steak, and a chicken dish. All the dishes were well prepared. Claudia was an excellent server. A little pricey, but overall a good dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Union Kitchen is our favorite "date nigh ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Union Kitchen is our favorite "date night" restaurant in Kingwood. The food and service are always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awkward beginning...The waiter spilled t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awkward beginning...The waiter spilled the entire glass of wine on my son. It was an accident, of course, and he moved our table and apologized. My son laughed it off and ate his dinner with a wet shirt and shorts. I was very surprised that the waiter did not offer a free dessert or appetizers or glass of wine. I wonder if it was because we didn't complain. I just know that if I had been the waiter, I would have done something. It is not about the money, it is just about doing what is right. In any case, we were disappointed about that! The food was VERY GOOD!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Surprisingly pleasurable decor for a sho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Surprisingly pleasurable decor for a shopping center restaurant. The bar area was lively crowded bar... Better to order beer or wine vs mixed cocktail even if u give instructions when asked on how to make it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Eaten there twice in one week both times ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Eaten there twice in one week both times the food was wonderful. Sometimes that is unusual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elegant. When you want to turn a regula ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Elegant. When you want to turn a regular night into something special, this is where you should go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was very clean and attra ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was very clean and attractive . The staff was very friendly and the food was good, I did think the tables were too close for privacy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Friendly sta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. HRW meals cost more than expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We were there for Houston Restaurant wee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were there for Houston Restaurant week! 5 People! 3 enjoyed their lunch! Two of us ordered the coconut shrimp dish and the shrimp was dark brown and tough to cut with a stak knife! One would think that the waiter would question why we needed steak knives to cut Shrimp! Definitely cooked way too long! We should have sent it back, but I am never comfortable doing that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistent decent food, drinks and value ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Consistent decent food, drinks and value. One of the best restaurants in the area but then again the area is extremely lacking in good quality dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Most attentive wait staff, Bottle specia ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Most attentive wait staff, Bottle specials on wine, food course arrival couldn't have been timed any better. Sunday evening service area was pushed back next to kitchen area, so we had a lot of activity next to our table. Overall experience was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great afternoon brunch spot. Fresh never ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great afternoon brunch spot. Fresh never ending mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a real treasure for o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant is a real treasure for our North East Paris County area. There is very little else maybe no other restaurant as good as this we can easily drive to on a weeknight. Thrilled to hear about their happy hour specials as well

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Waiter did a great job. Very professiona ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Waiter did a great job. Very professional. Food was fresh starting with the salad and bread. Presentation on main course was impressive and quality was good. This was a great experience. They had live music too (discrete and not overwhelming) which was a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Only set back was t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was great. Only set back was the table was to small for party of seven.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit was an early brunch reservatio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our visit was an early brunch reservation on a Sunday for 10am. Four of us enjoyed an easy conversation at the table with what was eventually a moderately busy, but not loud, restaurant. The atmosphere is upscale (my wife commented that she felt underdressed in her shorts and tank) but we were treated as though we had dressed the part. Waitress was very attentive but overly loud (a caffeinated diner like table side personality). She was kind and again, very capable, just startlingly loud. The food was delicious but the serving sizes could have been a little bigger. Considering the average menu price of around $13 and the atmosphere, I believe the Union Kitchen was very fair and I'll certainly be back. One point to mention however, as we were leaving we stopped by the bar to see if it could be our new hangout and with a greeting from afar by the bartender things were looking good but the second tender ruined it when he called out from 10ft away that "Friday night is the G-Spot."

Might as well have peeled the dark wood off the walls and splashed some cheap dark colored paint up there. Buddy, you just declassed the joint... We'll still be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We have been twice now. Totally wowed b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have been twice now. Totally wowed by the consistency of food and atmosphere. All of the wait staff show to genuinely love their jobs! It is great to see it radiate into their work. Will revisit for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have tried Union Kitchen several time ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have tried Union Kitchen several times and each time we come away unimpressed. This time has to be our most disappointing experience. From our food being served by wait staff with an armful of takeout boxes for another table, staff arguing amongst themselves at the POS, to a special order being served incorrectly and taking 10 minutes to correct, Union Kitchen has seen us for the final time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food for entree has and was a bit of a w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food for entree has and was a bit of a wait. We were in no hurry but longer than expected. Victor was a pleasure and professional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service as usual. Try the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good food and service as usual. Try the BBQ chicken sandwich. It is yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant with excellent food choi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent food choices and a good wine list. Quiet, classy environment that allows for good conversation. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is great and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place. The food is great and wide selection. The brunch has bottomless mimosas and a bloody Mary bar. Gary the bartender and the other guy are always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks, pasta and deserts. Wil ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent steaks, pasta and deserts. Will definitely be returning soon. Service was outstanding. The staff made our families special occasion even more memorable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful lunch with my family on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch with my family on Wednesday. Kalieb our waiter though he had 4 other tables was very attentive and efficient. The lunch menu had a lot to offer at reasonable prices. If you like French Onion soup I highly recommend their Apple Onion soup.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband I had a great relaxing dinner ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband I had a great relaxing dinner. Food and service were both exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner with family visiting for th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great dinner with family visiting for the 4th of July holiday. Our waitress, Camille, was friendly and made the evening very fun. Good food, lovely decor and atmosphere, welcoming service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch with family fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch with family for my 4 year old birthday. It was great and our waitress was fantastic and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very tasty. Appetizers were ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was very tasty. Appetizers were especially good. The waiter was just the right amount of attentive. Everyone in our party raved about their dishes. I would recommend highly!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a last minute date with my dad ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for a last minute date with my dad for father's day and it was awesome. The food was delish. This is the second time I came to the restaurant and I have never been disappointed. It's one of my favorite places to go for dinner. The Staff is very polite, helpful and welcoming. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few girlfriends and I were looking for ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A few girlfriends and I were looking for a brunch place to meet and catch up once a month and Union Kitchen was suggested. Bottomless mimosas are a plus and I can honestly say that my glass never got empty. Service was above par and I appreciate that your staff is trained to noticed trailing tables or servers "in the weeds" and help out other sections when they can. This makes our monthly gatherings smooth and fun, with no distractions or delays! We love this place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. Good service, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a great experience. Good service, good food, table was ready and the server was very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had reservations and were seated prom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had reservations and were seated promptly. Service was very good except we asked for bread which we never received. Food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met some friends for dinner. It was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We met some friends for dinner. It was a nice atmosphere. We were in a little separate room with few tables than the regular dining area. The service was great. Very friendly, professional and helpful. Checked on us often to see if we needed anything. The food was good. My husband and I shared the trout and our friends shared the scallops. We had potstickers and stuffed avocados as appetizers and were too full for dessert, but they all looked very good. We will come back on special occasions. We went there for our anniversary and birthdays. My personal opinion is that it is too pricey for lunches with friends. Thank you for asking for input.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time eating here and the food was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Second time eating here and the food was excellent both times. During my most recent visit, all five people in our party ordered something different and we each loved our meals! Beautiful interior in an unassuming location. Great place for a nice date night or a celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lovely atmosphere! I had the shrimp Cobb ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! I had the shrimp Cobb salad and it was delish! My father unfortunately ordered the chicken fried steak and it was incredibly tough. Over all I would come her again. Wait staff was attentive and very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.