About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Casual (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Business Meals (16)
Romantic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great Beer (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome Experience...Highly Recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Great menu! Will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We often come here for Sunday brunch. This time it was not satisfying. I had ordered the Lunch for Houston Restaurant Week. Food was great as always in the past but today was not what we are used to. My wife ordered the brunch menu but it seems the potato hash served was on the dry side. Matter of fact, she mentioned it the last time but thought it was just for that day.
We love to come back again but only for happy hour or dinner. Maybe the next time we can get better food to rave about. Service though is always good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Came in to have brunch with my little guys who are under 15 and older than 7. I come regularly and always enjoy the atmosphere and love bringing little guys, because their food choices are great for all ages. The restaurant has an upscale but casual feel to it you can never feel over or under dressed.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great Beer, Casual, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I went for Houston restaurant week . My husband and I enjoyed our meals. I got the musgrooms :). My veal was tasty as well. My husband gobbled his fish and I got one bite. We will definitely go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Not bad, not great, but nice for a casual date night, or less than exciting anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was delicious. We had Union meatloaf and crusted chicken. Both excellent. And, topped off with bread pudding that was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I had a perfectly blended martini to start. Then I had the caprese salad. My husband had the artichoke dip. These were very good. Then I had the filet mignon which was cooked to perfection. My husband had the ribs and they were very succulent.
Our server, Whitney, was excellent, knowledgeable and attentive. I love the atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I lost count what number visit this was for us here at The Union Kitchen - Kingwood but each time is fantastic. Everything about the restaurant is great. The service is always great, the wines are always delicious and the food comes out perfect. We dined in last night to celebrate my wife's birthday and again, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were stuck at the airport, wanted to find a non-chain, open late. For us, the food was basic...but our service was outstanding! I wish I knew her name!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great menu and service. You receive personal attention and you don't wait for your reservation. Staff well trained

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I took a business group of 6 out for lunch. Everyone raved over the taste and quality of the food. Our server was also extremely gracious and attentive. We had a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great lunch place with fabulous menu!! The food options were plenty and the dishes were delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Unfortunately, the ambience was more sports bar than fine dining. If that's what they are going for, I would suggest lowering the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I made a reservation and requested a table away from too much noise in order to conduct a meeting. They catered to all of our needs in a most professional way. The food was excellent and the staff was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

we had been there before and it's always delicious. Very creative dishes. We had a Father's day reservation. We usually cook for Father's day. We decided to do something different. The menu was great. We were seated almost immediately. Waitress was friendly and made sure that we had everything we wanted/ needed through out the meal. The food was incredible. MY husband loved it. The dessert was also phenomenal. We would definitely go there again on a special occasion. Not to say that we won't go there for dinner when we are in that area. It is worth the drive. It is a little on the expensive for every day but the portions are big and the food is incredible. So it is well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is first time I was disappointed with Union Kitchen. Our reservations were at 11:15 am on Father's Day, and we waited maybe 5 minutes which wasn't a big deal. It took a while for the waiter to take our order, and then the meal took a good 30 minutes, if not longer, to arrive after we placed our order. I don't know if I can really be disappointed in the waiter or if it was because the kitchen was backed up that it took so long to receive our meal. My food was good, but my father and husband did not like their meal. My father did say something, and the waiter did take his food off the receipt. My husband, however, didn't say anything until we got home that he did not like his food. My dad had the stuff mushrooms, which had enjoyed in the past, and my husband had the Father's Day Barbeque special. My mother had a garden omlet, and she said it was okay but didn't enjoy the food like she had in the past. She also tried my father's mushrooms and confirm they were not good. We did ordered 2 desserts, and they were excellent. We were just really disappointed that the service was slow (we also waited a while before we saw the dessert tray and getting dessert was a waiting game too) and the food quality was no where near what we had enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a great place for brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate Father's Day. My son had the flat steak, my husband the stuffed shrimp and I had the blackened Texas Redfish. All were excellent. We finished with their wonderful bread pudding. We love this place!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I've been to this establishment before. However, this last time was not a good experience. It took almost ten minutes for someone to greet/seat us. Not sure why this was so because it was not very busy at the time. Our waiter seemed nice, but we did not receive the same amount of attention as other tables he served. We had to ask him if we could place our order since it had been a little while since he served us our drinks. This server also did not offer and or bring the dessert tray to the table. One person of my party did order dessert and asked for a take-out container. The server offered to box it up in the kitchen. When arriving home, this person noticed that it was the same dessert minus the fruit. This person also stated that it didn't taste the same as when eaten in the restaurant. I almost forgot that to say that we did receive a complimentary dessert because we were celebrating a special occasion. Not sure if I will return to this establishment.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The assigned server didn't get to us until 15 minutes in. The manager was the one how took our beverage order and then later our appetizer order. We weren't impressed with the appetizer that was Gluten Free. So we paid, and decided to leave, the manager offered to refund us. We still left but felt like we should give it another try maybe at lunch next time.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The Kingwood Union Kitchen is a place we enjoy both for gathering friends and a nice date night. The food is always top choice the service is always friendly but professional and every server we have met there has gone above and beyond to be sure we have what we want.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love this place for Sunday brunch! The menu has a vast selection and the Mimosas are great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Can't fail to have a great brunch at Union Kitchen. Many options and quick but effective service. Chad was great! Be sure to use your open table reservations because this place is very busy on the weekend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Service was attentive and helpful without being overbearing, brunch choices were more interesting than than traditional fare, but you could still get traditional for the less-adventurous. Ambiance in Kingwood significantly different from the more casual Bellaire location, but not stuffy. Parking not an issue here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We needed a short-notice quick-bite option. Split a burger and house salad. Better than average wine list. Our server was very good and knowledgeable. The batter used for the onion rings was too thick and resulted in a doughnut-like, oily covering...not crunchy and light...don't recommend them if this is the norm.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch, anticipating a wait, we made reservations ahead of time which turned out to be unnecessary because they weren't overly busy. The bottomless mimosas were good, strong enough to feel it after only a couple. The food was really good, great flavors and the portions were a good size. The downside was that our waitress pretty much got us drunk during our meal, and then took 20 minutes to come back around and bring our bill, a literal buzzkill. We'll definitely be back for brunch, it's nice to have something locally that can compete with the eateries downtown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Favorite place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Mother-son brunch. We were very pleased with our server Chris and our choice of food and drink!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Great food. Our server, Whitney, made it extra special. She gave us great recommendations and was friendly and personable.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

made reservation for mother's day. was seated around 6:20 and no came to until 6:40 for our drinks. Then it took even longer to order our food. people who came after us got their food. my mom had to flag our waitress down so we could order!! my mum asked her why people who came after and the waitress, a lady with red hair and and an accent said she placed our order at the same time and even showed us the ticket! if that was the case then our food should've been out right after theirs! but we never got our food. talked to the manager. said sorry and went to go check to see what took so long. he never came back. not did our waitress. long story short, he blew my mum off when she went to go talk to him. we got up and left. never again will we be back. we never had any issues until today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is always outstanding - service has tended to be hit and miss. But it really is a wonderful place to take the family. The chef does a great job with the menu - there seems to be a selection for every mood and apatite. The kids menu meets with raves from my three year old and ten year old.
When it's crowded - like Mother's day - it's loud. On other days it's an wonderful place to talk and enjoy family and friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had dinner here on Mothers Day evening so we expected service to be slower than usual but it was really slow. My main complaint about service was ordering a glass of wine to have with my steak. I ordered it right as our food arrived. Our waitress walked by in the middle of our meal to tell me she didn't forget and it was on the way. I didn't receive it until I was finished eating.

I had the flank steak w/jalapeño grits. Both were served room temperature. The meat was cooked very unevenly. I ordered medium rare. I got mostly medium well with a few pieces of rare.

The salads we ordered came with so little dressing that we thought there was none. We asked for some and we were brought the tiniest cup of dressing to share. There were 3 of us.

My mom had the crab cake appetizer for her meal. The presentation was nice and she enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While the food was amazing... the service was subpar.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Dinner!! Service was excellent and the food was delicious!! Wonderful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall this is a great restaurant. The food was very good with good portions for the price. Our waiter was excellent and very patient with us since we had 2 toddlers to deal with. The regular menu selection I thought was very good as well as the special Mother's Day menu that was offered. Reservations are not needed, but highly recommended due to the size and popularity of the place. This has become our new favorite in the Kingwood area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Super busy, food was delicious and fresh, service was great. Love the souvenir glass for Mother's Day. Definitely recommend the Elvis waffles.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to The Union Kitchen & we were pleased as always. The Mother's Day menu was great & gave us a nance to try something new. We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I liked the ambiance. The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the red fish with shrimp and crab. I enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place I go there often. The bar is always full of knowledgeable bartenders and our waiter Joe was great with my large party for mother's day.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.