About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Private Room (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (6)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
425 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed a very nice brunch. We loved ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed a very nice brunch. We loved the donut holes.

Tags: Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was excellent from the time we a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was excellent from the time we approached the door until we left the establishment. Our server Calieb was awesome. The food was ok but not worth the price. I ordered the Shrimp stuffed with crab meat that had no indication it was deep fried breaded stuffed shrimp, the cheddar grits that came with it was good. My mother ordered the crusted prime rib that was bland with no favor. This wasn't our first time visiting the restaurant however, it was the first time the food wasn't great as our last visit. Overall everything was great except the food this time. We will try Union Kitchen one last time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed brunch at Union Kitchen. The ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed brunch at Union Kitchen. They serve great mimosas during Sunday brunch. I had the chicken and waffle special. The portion was just right. Our server was enthusiastic and friendly. He was attentive when needed. We will be back to try their appetizers during happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiancé and I have been to TUK many ti ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My fiancé and I have been to TUK many times and our experience has always been great. Any time we have company in town the TUK brunch is a must stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was my first visit to The Union Kit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my first visit to The Union Kitchen. Overall I was impressed. I enjoy wine, but didn't care for their wine list. There were too many wines by the glass I was unfamiliar with. However, the wine that was recommended by the server was fine. The service was good and the server took my banter well. We had a good time. The food was also very good and the bread pudding was amazing. I will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service by Hope. Go ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food and great service by

Hope. Going back next week.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been dining at The Union Kitchen numerou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Been dining at The Union Kitchen numerous times - a good neighborhood restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The crab tower appetizer was unfortunate ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The crab tower appetizer was unfortunately not very good. The presentation was nice but the crab was far from fresh. It had a fishy taste that made us think of canned tuna. We were all very disappointed with the dish. The complimentary bread was also subpar. The bread was stale and had too much butter and shredded Parmesan, which tasted like it was from a bag sold in the grocery store. Our steaks were decent enough; a little dry but okay. Overall the meal left a lot to be desired. However, with that being said, the wait staff was great and all were very attentive. I would not change a thing about any of them. We will go back to The Union Kitchen in Kingwood for the pleasant wait staff and great wine list, but we really hope the food improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

This is upscale comfort food for those w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is upscale comfort food for those who enjoy eating. The service is efficient and attentive, the atmosphere is cordial and inviting, and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I am fortunate to have Union Kitchen wit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I am fortunate to have Union Kitchen within 6 miles from me. Great dining.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and the service were well prepa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food and the service were well prepared especially since there was a special event the same night. Our order was prepared appropriate temperature and timely. The server was attentive and took great care

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pecan pancakes special was very good ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The pecan pancakes special was very good . Their mimosa special was nice also. Service was excellent.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great environment, friendly ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food, great environment, friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time here.....great service and go ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Third time here.....great service and good. Large portions. Family for a moderate price.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch offerings. Plenty to food a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great brunch offerings. Plenty to food and "doggie bag" available. Service was exceptional.

Suggest you make a reservation for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we have been to Union Kitchen several ti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

we have been to Union Kitchen several times, and it is always consistently very good. It is great that we have a nice place to eat in our neighborhood. They have a nice variety of selections in all categories on their menu as well as a nice wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall good. They may have tried too ha ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall good. They may have tried too hard to create a great sandwich presentation rather than focusing on what is was. A sandwich.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Consistent good food & service. Great ba ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Consistent good food & service. Great bar and personable bar staff

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always the food here is truly exquisi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As always the food here is truly exquisite and the staff are exceptionally attentive, my wife and I are regulars and we know almost the whole wait staff.........Good drinks...Good food...Goodtime.

Ps: thank you Adam,Maddie ,Cluadia and all the beautiful people that make the restaurant enjoyable

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place for a birthday brunch. Great b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fun place for a birthday brunch. Great brunch menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my husband's birthday a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday and were very fortunate to sit in Hailey's section. If you go there - ask for her. Of the many times we have been to Union Kitchen - she is by far the best server we have had. She was friendly without interfering with our conversation and she was truly charming throughout the evening.

As for the food - my husband loved his steak. My teen-age son loved his barbecue chicken pizza. My tried and true order there is the parmesan crusted chicken with pasta. For some reason - this dish is special. We ordered two desserts which were both very good - and Hailey also brought over some cake balls with a candle. Again - above and beyond service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistency is why we pick Union Kitchen ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistency is why we pick Union Kitchen. The food is always good, the selections are great and the service is superior. Every single time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found a nice restaurant in Kingwood t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We found a nice restaurant in Kingwood that we will visit again. Everything made from scratch, creative and taste good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends who live in the area are very ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My friends who live in the area are very fond of The Union Kitchen so it was an easy choice for brunch with its varied menu. I had the Crab Cakes Benedict because I love crab cakes and Eggs Benedict so it seemed like a match made in Heaven. Hollandaise sauce which is a rare treat for me, is a simple emulsion of egg yolk and liquid butter, usually SEASONED with lemon juice, salt, and a little white pepper or cayenne pepper. But, the chef was too heavy handed with the lemon juice and the dish was ruined for me. It might have been a one-time occurrence and I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt because everyone else enjoyed their food, and our waiter, Cole is the epitome of excellent waitstaff and was a delight.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was outstanding. The service was am ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was outstanding. The service was amazing. First visit here and I'll definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely love the ambience of the re ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I absolutely love the ambience of the restaurant. The menu has a wide range of delictable choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Enjoyed the menu for Restaurant W ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Really Enjoyed the menu for Restaurant Week. Great to see lamb chops a one of offerings, the Cocktail was great different the regular shrimp cocktail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camille, our waitress, knew every detail ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Camille, our waitress, knew every detail about each and every item on the menu. Told us not only what was in a specific selection but also how it was prepared. Camille made us feel like we were dining with family. I asked to have something special made for me - off the menu. "Surprise me" we're my instructions. Katarina, the Sous Chef, came out, asked me a few questions then went to work to prepare one of the best meals I have ever had. She prepared Sautéed veggies, mushroom risotto with added chicken stock for more moisture, flat iron steak with thyme and grilled to perfection. Carrot cake for desert was good, but when we told Camille our thoughts about the carrot cake, she brought out some bread pudding. It was phenomenal and better than I have ever had anywhere. Perfect balance of creaminess and crunchiness from the bread crusts. To die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very comfortable and relaxing atmosphe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

A very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere whether it be at the bar, in the wine room, or main dining, its all enjoyable. The food is excellent, not a bad choice on the menu, cooked and served to perfect. It is definitely worth the drive to get there, Houston Restaurant week is a great time to try it, they have an excellent menu available.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Will be back soon.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, dining area was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good, dining area was very nice, but wait staff was a little hit and miss; half step off compared to quality of food and overall dining area. Wait staff should visit with one another in designated areas away from seated guest areas. Guests are there for one another to focus upon, without overhearing various conversations from various waiters walking and talking two and fro with one another. It wasn't hugely wrong or bad, just expected more professionalism to accompany the cost of the evening.

Other than that, my wife and I enjoyed our 33 year anniversary at your establishment.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for a beer dinner with our local Ba ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went for a beer dinner with our local Back Pew Brewery providing the drink. Sold out area dedicated to the dinner. Union Kitchen staff did very well handling such a large group. Chef explained each course followed by the Back Pew Brewery owner explaining the beer match. Would definitely go again and would recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place, great food. Awesome service. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice place, great food. Awesome service. I highly recommend, I'll be going back soon

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been before even though we've ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had not been before even though we've lived in the area for a long time; we were celebrating a birthday but went primarily because of Restaurant Week. It was a totally great experience and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and service was good. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great and service was good. It feels cramped to me, and the other groups near us were very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We went with another couple for dinner o ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went with another couple for dinner on a Sat night. Rainy night but good crowd. Got a 6:15 reservation at the last minute. Had the Brie and crab cakes for appetizers - really good. Entrees were more crab cakes, pork chop, Churrasco steak, and a chicken dish. All the dishes were well prepared. Claudia was an excellent server. A little pricey, but overall a good dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Union Kitchen is our favorite "date nigh ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Union Kitchen is our favorite "date night" restaurant in Kingwood. The food and service are always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awkward beginning...The waiter spilled t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awkward beginning...The waiter spilled the entire glass of wine on my son. It was an accident, of course, and he moved our table and apologized. My son laughed it off and ate his dinner with a wet shirt and shorts. I was very surprised that the waiter did not offer a free dessert or appetizers or glass of wine. I wonder if it was because we didn't complain. I just know that if I had been the waiter, I would have done something. It is not about the money, it is just about doing what is right. In any case, we were disappointed about that! The food was VERY GOOD!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Surprisingly pleasurable decor for a sho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Surprisingly pleasurable decor for a shopping center restaurant. The bar area was lively crowded bar... Better to order beer or wine vs mixed cocktail even if u give instructions when asked on how to make it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A good neighborhood restaurant. A good s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

A good neighborhood restaurant. A good selection on the menu. Wine list seems extensive but most times - unavailable:-((

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.