About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Live Music (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

sent salad back. $10 for a beet salad I expected something special
Have eaten there before tonight not up to par. Over paid for the wine and desert (carrot cake ) dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amy and Chris are the best servers.

The lady at front is very professional. Great place to split your meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I was hoping for 3rd time a charm. But no, this is a mediocre restaurant in the suburbs. The food is bland, from appetizers to entrees. In Houston the variety is wide for area restaurants and this one needs to step it up. The servers are great however the chef needs to up his or her game.

Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Great food good service very high quality experience in a casual atmosphere

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Unfortunately, this was our third mediocre experience at Union Kitchen Kingwood. Our friends keep telling us how much they enjoy it, but our experiences have been that while the food is pretty good, the service is pretty slow. Our drink and food orders were also made incorrectly - vodka soda came as vodka tonic even though we went our of our way to make sure the server was aware of the distinction and one of the steaks was ordered medium rare came pretty close to well (and the remake was very much medium, not medium rare).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waiter, Chris, was great. Very attentive, friendly and always smiling.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always enjoy Union Kitchen Kingwood. Really a local jewel. Food never disappoints, waitstaff can be somewhat hit or miss, but usually solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

My reserved party consisted of nine people. We had only one server, no other servers were available to help. He was doing the best he could, however they continued to seat more people in his area to serve. I did have to ask for the manager to assist our server. The mgr came and was very polite. Our server was great too. Overall the experience was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We went to Union Kitchen for a friends get-together to participate in the Houston Restaurant Month for the Houston Food Bank. We made a reservation and I stated why we were coming.
When we got there, the waitress informed us that they were no longer participating. We did stay and have dinner but I was upset at their cavalier attitude toward an event I look forward to every year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Everything was great. The one thing I would mention is that the table we sat at was very cold. Must have been directly under the air conditioning vent.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Every time we eat there the food is excellent! Consistently excellent! It is delicious and the presentation is beautiful!!! If you haven't had their Eggs Benedict, you need to try Union Kitchen! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was able to get Saturday night reservation for 5 thru Open Table. Service and food was great! Great Moscow Mule served in the customary copper mugs! Enjoyed our dining experience and will return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great selection of bar bites and beer. Would like to see tastier wines for happy hour instead of the usual house wines. Would like to see cocktails made with other liquor besides house liquor. I believe guests are willing to pay more for premium cocktails offered at discounted prices for happy hour. Crab salad, & pot stickers were delicious. We had the burger with truffle fries. Very filling. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great atmosphere and good food, very easy to sit and hold conversations without hearing everyone's around you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

After several options were changed due to Hurricane Harvey...We decided to give The Union Kitchen a try. I have many friends that rave about..now.. you can add us to the list. Our dining experience was fantastic! Our waiter, Conner was a true delight!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was good and we had a friendly waiter. It's a nice, quiet restaurant in our neighborhood when we don't want to drive into town.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Good experience. Atmosphere was fine for discussion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A very nice and close place to enjoy for whatever reason.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We enjoyed our Sunday brunch. I had the crabcake Benedict and my husband had the steak omelette. The grapefruit mimosa was refreshing. Our server was excellent and paid attention to details.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant for meeting friends. We live some distance north of Kingwood and don't have access to fine dining where we live, so it is always an occasion when we decide to meet for dinner. We overwhelmingly vote for The Union Kitchen when we have a reason to pick up or drop off someone at the airport or see people who also drive a distance to meet us.

We spent an hour and a half over our brunch that day and all had favorites from the diverse menus offered. The food was fresh, flavorful and plentiful and presented with artistic flair.

Or server recognized us from previous visits and was attentive and friendly but did not hover. The staff here are professional and unintrusive and helpful with menu advice when needed.

The atmosphere has a traditional style but not stodgy. It is elegant without being stuffy or overwhelming to casual diners. The pricing is reasonable and the value for our dining out dollar is very good

We consider it a neighborhood gem and look forward to each opportunity we have to visit over and over again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Awesome Experience...Highly Recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

All four of us chose the "Restaurant Week" menu, two having the fish and two having the veal. The fish was not good; the veal only adequate. The desserts were only so-so. The salad was the only part of the meal we all enjoyed. It would have been good value if the food had been good, but we don't feel we can recommend Union Kitchen at all, based on the food we were served Saturday night. We had out-of-town guests with us, so this was not only disappointing, it was embarrassing.

We have eaten at Union Kitchen a few times before, although it has been just about a year since we were there. It has certainly gone downhill since then.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

A classy yet casual restaurant that serves very good, tasty food and has great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great menu! Will definitely return.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We often come here for Sunday brunch. This time it was not satisfying. I had ordered the Lunch for Houston Restaurant Week. Food was great as always in the past but today was not what we are used to. My wife ordered the brunch menu but it seems the potato hash served was on the dry side. Matter of fact, she mentioned it the last time but thought it was just for that day.
We love to come back again but only for happy hour or dinner. Maybe the next time we can get better food to rave about. Service though is always good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Came in to have brunch with my little guys who are under 15 and older than 7. I come regularly and always enjoy the atmosphere and love bringing little guys, because their food choices are great for all ages. The restaurant has an upscale but casual feel to it you can never feel over or under dressed.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great Beer, Casual, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I went for Houston restaurant week . My husband and I enjoyed our meals. I got the musgrooms :). My veal was tasty as well. My husband gobbled his fish and I got one bite. We will definitely go back and try other dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Not bad, not great, but nice for a casual date night, or less than exciting anniversary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was delicious. We had Union meatloaf and crusted chicken. Both excellent. And, topped off with bread pudding that was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

I had a perfectly blended martini to start. Then I had the caprese salad. My husband had the artichoke dip. These were very good. Then I had the filet mignon which was cooked to perfection. My husband had the ribs and they were very succulent.
Our server, Whitney, was excellent, knowledgeable and attentive. I love the atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I lost count what number visit this was for us here at The Union Kitchen - Kingwood but each time is fantastic. Everything about the restaurant is great. The service is always great, the wines are always delicious and the food comes out perfect. We dined in last night to celebrate my wife's birthday and again, we had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were stuck at the airport, wanted to find a non-chain, open late. For us, the food was basic...but our service was outstanding! I wish I knew her name!

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great menu and service. You receive personal attention and you don't wait for your reservation. Staff well trained

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I took a business group of 6 out for lunch. Everyone raved over the taste and quality of the food. Our server was also extremely gracious and attentive. We had a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great lunch place with fabulous menu!! The food options were plenty and the dishes were delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Unfortunately, the ambience was more sports bar than fine dining. If that's what they are going for, I would suggest lowering the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I made a reservation and requested a table away from too much noise in order to conduct a meeting. They catered to all of our needs in a most professional way. The food was excellent and the staff was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

we had been there before and it's always delicious. Very creative dishes. We had a Father's day reservation. We usually cook for Father's day. We decided to do something different. The menu was great. We were seated almost immediately. Waitress was friendly and made sure that we had everything we wanted/ needed through out the meal. The food was incredible. MY husband loved it. The dessert was also phenomenal. We would definitely go there again on a special occasion. Not to say that we won't go there for dinner when we are in that area. It is worth the drive. It is a little on the expensive for every day but the portions are big and the food is incredible. So it is well worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is first time I was disappointed with Union Kitchen. Our reservations were at 11:15 am on Father's Day, and we waited maybe 5 minutes which wasn't a big deal. It took a while for the waiter to take our order, and then the meal took a good 30 minutes, if not longer, to arrive after we placed our order. I don't know if I can really be disappointed in the waiter or if it was because the kitchen was backed up that it took so long to receive our meal. My food was good, but my father and husband did not like their meal. My father did say something, and the waiter did take his food off the receipt. My husband, however, didn't say anything until we got home that he did not like his food. My dad had the stuff mushrooms, which had enjoyed in the past, and my husband had the Father's Day Barbeque special. My mother had a garden omlet, and she said it was okay but didn't enjoy the food like she had in the past. She also tried my father's mushrooms and confirm they were not good. We did ordered 2 desserts, and they were excellent. We were just really disappointed that the service was slow (we also waited a while before we saw the dessert tray and getting dessert was a waiting game too) and the food quality was no where near what we had enjoyed in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always a great place for brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.