About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Houston
Great for Brunch
Houston
Best Restaurants in Kingwood / Humble / Atascocita ›

Special Occasion (41)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
See All
Great for Brunch (32)
Good for Groups (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun place for a birthday brunch. Great b ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fun place for a birthday brunch. Great brunch menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for my husband's birthday a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went here for my husband's birthday and were very fortunate to sit in Hailey's section. If you go there - ask for her. Of the many times we have been to Union Kitchen - she is by far the best server we have had. She was friendly without interfering with our conversation and she was truly charming throughout the evening.

As for the food - my husband loved his steak. My teen-age son loved his barbecue chicken pizza. My tried and true order there is the parmesan crusted chicken with pasta. For some reason - this dish is special. We ordered two desserts which were both very good - and Hailey also brought over some cake balls with a candle. Again - above and beyond service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistency is why we pick Union Kitchen ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistency is why we pick Union Kitchen. The food is always good, the selections are great and the service is superior. Every single time!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found a nice restaurant in Kingwood t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We found a nice restaurant in Kingwood that we will visit again. Everything made from scratch, creative and taste good.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends who live in the area are very ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My friends who live in the area are very fond of The Union Kitchen so it was an easy choice for brunch with its varied menu. I had the Crab Cakes Benedict because I love crab cakes and Eggs Benedict so it seemed like a match made in Heaven. Hollandaise sauce which is a rare treat for me, is a simple emulsion of egg yolk and liquid butter, usually SEASONED with lemon juice, salt, and a little white pepper or cayenne pepper. But, the chef was too heavy handed with the lemon juice and the dish was ruined for me. It might have been a one-time occurrence and I'm willing to give them the benefit of the doubt because everyone else enjoyed their food, and our waiter, Cole is the epitome of excellent waitstaff and was a delight.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was outstanding. The service was am ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was outstanding. The service was amazing. First visit here and I'll definitely be back. Thank you for a lovely dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely love the ambience of the re ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I absolutely love the ambience of the restaurant. The menu has a wide range of delictable choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really Enjoyed the menu for Restaurant W ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Really Enjoyed the menu for Restaurant Week. Great to see lamb chops a one of offerings, the Cocktail was great different the regular shrimp cocktail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Camille, our waitress, knew every detail ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Camille, our waitress, knew every detail about each and every item on the menu. Told us not only what was in a specific selection but also how it was prepared. Camille made us feel like we were dining with family. I asked to have something special made for me - off the menu. "Surprise me" we're my instructions. Katarina, the Sous Chef, came out, asked me a few questions then went to work to prepare one of the best meals I have ever had. She prepared Sautéed veggies, mushroom risotto with added chicken stock for more moisture, flat iron steak with thyme and grilled to perfection. Carrot cake for desert was good, but when we told Camille our thoughts about the carrot cake, she brought out some bread pudding. It was phenomenal and better than I have ever had anywhere. Perfect balance of creaminess and crunchiness from the bread crusts. To die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very comfortable and relaxing atmosphe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

A very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere whether it be at the bar, in the wine room, or main dining, its all enjoyable. The food is excellent, not a bad choice on the menu, cooked and served to perfect. It is definitely worth the drive to get there, Houston Restaurant week is a great time to try it, they have an excellent menu available.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Will be back soon.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, dining area was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good, dining area was very nice, but wait staff was a little hit and miss; half step off compared to quality of food and overall dining area. Wait staff should visit with one another in designated areas away from seated guest areas. Guests are there for one another to focus upon, without overhearing various conversations from various waiters walking and talking two and fro with one another. It wasn't hugely wrong or bad, just expected more professionalism to accompany the cost of the evening.

Other than that, my wife and I enjoyed our 33 year anniversary at your establishment.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Went for a beer dinner with our local Ba ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went for a beer dinner with our local Back Pew Brewery providing the drink. Sold out area dedicated to the dinner. Union Kitchen staff did very well handling such a large group. Chef explained each course followed by the Back Pew Brewery owner explaining the beer match. Would definitely go again and would recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place, great food. Awesome service. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice place, great food. Awesome service. I highly recommend, I'll be going back soon

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been before even though we've ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had not been before even though we've lived in the area for a long time; we were celebrating a birthday but went primarily because of Restaurant Week. It was a totally great experience and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and service was good. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was great and service was good. It feels cramped to me, and the other groups near us were very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

We went with another couple for dinner o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went with another couple for dinner on a Sat night. Rainy night but good crowd. Got a 6:15 reservation at the last minute. Had the Brie and crab cakes for appetizers - really good. Entrees were more crab cakes, pork chop, Churrasco steak, and a chicken dish. All the dishes were well prepared. Claudia was an excellent server. A little pricey, but overall a good dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Union Kitchen is our favorite "date nigh ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Union Kitchen is our favorite "date night" restaurant in Kingwood. The food and service are always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awkward beginning...The waiter spilled t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Awkward beginning...The waiter spilled the entire glass of wine on my son. It was an accident, of course, and he moved our table and apologized. My son laughed it off and ate his dinner with a wet shirt and shorts. I was very surprised that the waiter did not offer a free dessert or appetizers or glass of wine. I wonder if it was because we didn't complain. I just know that if I had been the waiter, I would have done something. It is not about the money, it is just about doing what is right. In any case, we were disappointed about that! The food was VERY GOOD!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Surprisingly pleasurable decor for a sho ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Surprisingly pleasurable decor for a shopping center restaurant. The bar area was lively crowded bar... Better to order beer or wine vs mixed cocktail even if u give instructions when asked on how to make it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Eaten there twice in one week both times ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Eaten there twice in one week both times the food was wonderful. Sometimes that is unusual.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Elegant. When you want to turn a regula ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Elegant. When you want to turn a regular night into something special, this is where you should go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was very clean and attra ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This restaurant was very clean and attractive . The staff was very friendly and the food was good, I did think the tables were too close for privacy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Friendly sta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Good food. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. HRW meals cost more than expected.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We were there for Houston Restaurant wee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were there for Houston Restaurant week! 5 People! 3 enjoyed their lunch! Two of us ordered the coconut shrimp dish and the shrimp was dark brown and tough to cut with a stak knife! One would think that the waiter would question why we needed steak knives to cut Shrimp! Definitely cooked way too long! We should have sent it back, but I am never comfortable doing that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Consistent decent food, drinks and value ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Consistent decent food, drinks and value. One of the best restaurants in the area but then again the area is extremely lacking in good quality dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Most attentive wait staff, Bottle specia ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Most attentive wait staff, Bottle specials on wine, food course arrival couldn't have been timed any better. Sunday evening service area was pushed back next to kitchen area, so we had a lot of activity next to our table. Overall experience was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great afternoon brunch spot. Fresh never ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great afternoon brunch spot. Fresh never ending mimosas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a real treasure for o ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant is a real treasure for our North East Paris County area. There is very little else maybe no other restaurant as good as this we can easily drive to on a weeknight. Thrilled to hear about their happy hour specials as well

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Waiter did a great job. Very professiona ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Waiter did a great job. Very professional. Food was fresh starting with the salad and bread. Presentation on main course was impressive and quality was good. This was a great experience. They had live music too (discrete and not overwhelming) which was a treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Only set back was t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was great. Only set back was the table was to small for party of seven.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit was an early brunch reservatio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our visit was an early brunch reservation on a Sunday for 10am. Four of us enjoyed an easy conversation at the table with what was eventually a moderately busy, but not loud, restaurant. The atmosphere is upscale (my wife commented that she felt underdressed in her shorts and tank) but we were treated as though we had dressed the part. Waitress was very attentive but overly loud (a caffeinated diner like table side personality). She was kind and again, very capable, just startlingly loud. The food was delicious but the serving sizes could have been a little bigger. Considering the average menu price of around $13 and the atmosphere, I believe the Union Kitchen was very fair and I'll certainly be back. One point to mention however, as we were leaving we stopped by the bar to see if it could be our new hangout and with a greeting from afar by the bartender things were looking good but the second tender ruined it when he called out from 10ft away that "Friday night is the G-Spot."

Might as well have peeled the dark wood off the walls and splashed some cheap dark colored paint up there. Buddy, you just declassed the joint... We'll still be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We have been twice now. Totally wowed b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have been twice now. Totally wowed by the consistency of food and atmosphere. All of the wait staff show to genuinely love their jobs! It is great to see it radiate into their work. Will revisit for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have tried Union Kitchen several time ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have tried Union Kitchen several times and each time we come away unimpressed. This time has to be our most disappointing experience. From our food being served by wait staff with an armful of takeout boxes for another table, staff arguing amongst themselves at the POS, to a special order being served incorrectly and taking 10 minutes to correct, Union Kitchen has seen us for the final time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food for entree has and was a bit of a w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food for entree has and was a bit of a wait. We were in no hurry but longer than expected. Victor was a pleasure and professional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and service as usual. Try the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good food and service as usual. Try the BBQ chicken sandwich. It is yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant with excellent food choi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent food choices and a good wine list. Quiet, classy environment that allows for good conversation. Love this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is great and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place. The food is great and wide selection. The brunch has bottomless mimosas and a bloody Mary bar. Gary the bartender and the other guy are always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks, pasta and deserts. Wil ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent steaks, pasta and deserts. Will definitely be returning soon. Service was outstanding. The staff made our families special occasion even more memorable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful lunch with my family on ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch with my family on Wednesday. Kalieb our waiter though he had 4 other tables was very attentive and efficient. The lunch menu had a lot to offer at reasonable prices. If you like French Onion soup I highly recommend their Apple Onion soup.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.