About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Casual (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (7)
Private Room (7)
Family Style (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
447 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not a lot in the Kingwood area so better ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Not a lot in the Kingwood area so better than most.....

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Pecan pancakes were delicious. The Texa ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pecan pancakes were delicious. The Texas blue crabcake Benedict was good as well. The make your own bloody Mary bar is a nice touch

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Would go to brunch every weekend if I co ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Would go to brunch every weekend if I could! Everything was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Flavorful, well prepared food in a comfo ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Flavorful, well prepared food in a comfortably casual but upscale setting. A great addition to the very limited nicer dining options in Kingwood. Very reasonably priced wines.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very good but the food i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service was very good but the food is way overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

If you're going to mess with the silverw ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

If you're going to mess with the silverware (perform mise en place), it shouldn't be so sloppy. It didn't take too much away from the experience mainly because my companion didn't/wouldn't notice. The food was very good and it was a good overall experience, but as a former finer dining server/somm I notice things others don't. Nothing ruins a nice night out than someone complaining about things that don't really matter. It just would have been nice if it was to be done, that it was done closer to right than it was.

I wish they had NY Strip as an option. The ribeye was good, but they're just too thin to really cook them the way I like. The lobster was tender and very good.

Again, it was a very nice experience. Just little things in the margins were missing. By all means GO to the Union Kitchen in Kingwood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good menu selection with great service. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good menu selection with great service. Nice ambience and good food. Loved the creme brulee bread pudding - fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the 3rd year in a row that we ha ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have gone to Union Kitchen on new years eve. It is our wedding anniversary and we want a nice, quiet place to enjoy our special dinner! Union Kitchen is our place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were both excellent ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were both excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a nice evening. With good food.

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was a nice evening. With good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but again we had slow ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was good but again we had slow service. We ordered drinks from the bar. Got the beer quickly but did not get our other drinks until our entrees arrived. We even asked a bus girl to ask where our drinks were. We like the food and ambiance but are getting frustrated with not so great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service. Bottomless ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food and service. Bottomless mimosa's always filled! Consistent good service and quality every time I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in the Kingwood area. G ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great restaurant in the Kingwood area. Good food. Friendly servers.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

I find this a fine and friendly place to ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I find this a fine and friendly place to meet with friends for good food and conversation.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They offer great brunch menu items. The ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They offer great brunch menu items. The restaurant is kid friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Look forw ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was horrible. 15 minutes to get ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was horrible. 15 minutes to get water. Another 20 mins for drinks. Waitress did not know the menu and made us point to the menu items because she could not understand what we wanted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Food quite sub-par. Undercooked chicken, ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food quite sub-par. Undercooked chicken, overcooked steak (ordered Medium, got well). You have a server taking your order but random bussers & others filling water, etc. Not much continuity. We came here for a girl's night while visiting the area, and were spoiled on the great food and service of Union Kitchen in Memorial. This location is not even close to the same level of service and attention to detail on food. Save yourself a visit and try somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Brunch is always great, but went the fir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Brunch is always great, but went the first time for dinner and wasn't too impressed. I had the crab-stuffed shrimp with greens and grits. It was dry and the greens undercooked for my taste. I requested some sauce and was given the Siracha and it was good to dip the shrimp in. Hubby had the meatloaf, and it was delicious. For dessert, we tried the carrot cake. It was dry and tasted kind of stale. I would definitely recommend brunch here, and will try dinner once more.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed a very nice brunch. We loved ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice brunch. We loved the donut holes.

Tags: Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was excellent from the time we a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was excellent from the time we approached the door until we left the establishment. Our server Calieb was awesome. The food was ok but not worth the price. I ordered the Shrimp stuffed with crab meat that had no indication it was deep fried breaded stuffed shrimp, the cheddar grits that came with it was good. My mother ordered the crusted prime rib that was bland with no favor. This wasn't our first time visiting the restaurant however, it was the first time the food wasn't great as our last visit. Overall everything was great except the food this time. We will try Union Kitchen one last time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed brunch at Union Kitchen. The ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed brunch at Union Kitchen. They serve great mimosas during Sunday brunch. I had the chicken and waffle special. The portion was just right. Our server was enthusiastic and friendly. He was attentive when needed. We will be back to try their appetizers during happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiancé and I have been to TUK many ti ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My fiancé and I have been to TUK many times and our experience has always been great. Any time we have company in town the TUK brunch is a must stop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was my first visit to The Union Kit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my first visit to The Union Kitchen. Overall I was impressed. I enjoy wine, but didn't care for their wine list. There were too many wines by the glass I was unfamiliar with. However, the wine that was recommended by the server was fine. The service was good and the server took my banter well. We had a good time. The food was also very good and the bread pudding was amazing. I will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service by Hope. Go ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food and great service by

Hope. Going back next week.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been dining at The Union Kitchen numerou ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Been dining at The Union Kitchen numerous times - a good neighborhood restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The crab tower appetizer was unfortunate ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The crab tower appetizer was unfortunately not very good. The presentation was nice but the crab was far from fresh. It had a fishy taste that made us think of canned tuna. We were all very disappointed with the dish. The complimentary bread was also subpar. The bread was stale and had too much butter and shredded Parmesan, which tasted like it was from a bag sold in the grocery store. Our steaks were decent enough; a little dry but okay. Overall the meal left a lot to be desired. However, with that being said, the wait staff was great and all were very attentive. I would not change a thing about any of them. We will go back to The Union Kitchen in Kingwood for the pleasant wait staff and great wine list, but we really hope the food improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

This is upscale comfort food for those w ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is upscale comfort food for those who enjoy eating. The service is efficient and attentive, the atmosphere is cordial and inviting, and the food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I am fortunate to have Union Kitchen wit ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I am fortunate to have Union Kitchen within 6 miles from me. Great dining.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and the service were well prepa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food and the service were well prepared especially since there was a special event the same night. Our order was prepared appropriate temperature and timely. The server was attentive and took great care

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pecan pancakes special was very good ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The pecan pancakes special was very good . Their mimosa special was nice also. Service was excellent.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great environment, friendly ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food, great environment, friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time here.....great service and go ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Third time here.....great service and good. Large portions. Family for a moderate price.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch offerings. Plenty to food a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great brunch offerings. Plenty to food and "doggie bag" available. Service was exceptional.

Suggest you make a reservation for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we have been to Union Kitchen several ti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 9, 2016

we have been to Union Kitchen several times, and it is always consistently very good. It is great that we have a nice place to eat in our neighborhood. They have a nice variety of selections in all categories on their menu as well as a nice wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall good. They may have tried too ha ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Overall good. They may have tried too hard to create a great sandwich presentation rather than focusing on what is was. A sandwich.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Consistent good food & service. Great ba ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Consistent good food & service. Great bar and personable bar staff

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always the food here is truly exquisi ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2016

As always the food here is truly exquisite and the staff are exceptionally attentive, my wife and I are regulars and we know almost the whole wait staff.........Good drinks...Good food...Goodtime.

Ps: thank you Adam,Maddie ,Cluadia and all the beautiful people that make the restaurant enjoyable

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place for a birthday brunch. Great b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fun place for a birthday brunch. Great brunch menu.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.