About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (42)
great for brunch (40)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
great for lunch (31)
romantic (25)
good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (18)
notable wine list (18)
kid-friendly (10)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very tasty. Appetizers were ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was very tasty. Appetizers were especially good. The waiter was just the right amount of attentive. Everyone in our party raved about their dishes. I would recommend highly!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for a last minute date with my dad ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for a last minute date with my dad for father's day and it was awesome. The food was delish. This is the second time I came to the restaurant and I have never been disappointed. It's one of my favorite places to go for dinner. The Staff is very polite, helpful and welcoming. Definitely will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few girlfriends and I were looking for ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A few girlfriends and I were looking for a brunch place to meet and catch up once a month and Union Kitchen was suggested. Bottomless mimosas are a plus and I can honestly say that my glass never got empty. Service was above par and I appreciate that your staff is trained to noticed trailing tables or servers "in the weeds" and help out other sections when they can. This makes our monthly gatherings smooth and fun, with no distractions or delays! We love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great experience. Good service, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a great experience. Good service, good food, table was ready and the server was very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had reservations and were seated prom ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had reservations and were seated promptly. Service was very good except we asked for bread which we never received. Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We met some friends for dinner. It was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We met some friends for dinner. It was a nice atmosphere. We were in a little separate room with few tables than the regular dining area. The service was great. Very friendly, professional and helpful. Checked on us often to see if we needed anything. The food was good. My husband and I shared the trout and our friends shared the scallops. We had potstickers and stuffed avocados as appetizers and were too full for dessert, but they all looked very good. We will come back on special occasions. We went there for our anniversary and birthdays. My personal opinion is that it is too pricey for lunches with friends. Thank you for asking for input.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Second time eating here and the food was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Second time eating here and the food was excellent both times. During my most recent visit, all five people in our party ordered something different and we each loved our meals! Beautiful interior in an unassuming location. Great place for a nice date night or a celebration!

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely atmosphere! I had the shrimp Cobb ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely atmosphere! I had the shrimp Cobb salad and it was delish! My father unfortunately ordered the chicken fried steak and it was incredibly tough. Over all I would come her again. Wait staff was attentive and very friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great server today! Very attentive to u ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Great server today! Very attentive to us!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Redfish was one of the best I have had a ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Redfish was one of the best I have had anywhere Well worth having

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Union Kitchen is my go to for a romantic ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Union Kitchen is my go to for a romantic Brunch with my hubby, Girls Day out or even lunch by myself. I love this place!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

Dined on June 5, 2016

Best restaurant near IAH Bush Intercontinental Airport for brunch before a flight! Love the crab Benedict and the omlettes. Service is great and staff is friendly. Check it out next time you need to eat before flying.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service3

This restaurant just can't seem to get i ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

This restaurant just can't seem to get it together. Some food Items are good and others are not. They try to pull off a white Table cloth experience but always fall short. You are much better spending your hard earned money some place else. They could change their bread and serve it warm. They should Hire more experienced wait staff. Their restaurant is very nice But you would expect more.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Been here a number of times and it continues to please.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Best brunch spot in Kingwood!

Dined on May 21, 2016

I am so thrilled Kingwood has this gorgeous gem that serves authentic and delicious brunch. We used to drive all the way into town for brunch so I am very pleased to have found The Union Kitchen Kingwood close to home. While the exterior may be underwhelming, the interior of the restaurant is beautiful with rich dark wood and white linens. We're immediately welcomed by a smiling host/hostess and seated promptly. Our server was exceptional and the food was on point. Not on the menu, but get their special chicken and waffles! The bottomless mimosas is a plus too. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here on Mother's Day expecting grea ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Came here on Mother's Day expecting great food but knew it would be super busy. Turns out the food and service was outstanding. While they were packed the service was the best I have ever had there and I have been there many times. A manager came by with a small gift for everyone not just Mom's. Every table was getting the beverage container that is very nice. The food is always great but you really felt like the servers wanted were sincere in wanting you to have a nice day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I took my wife and kids here for brunch ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and kids here for brunch on Mother's Day. The food was delectable, and the service was exceptional. Our drinks never got less than half way before they were refilled, plates were cleared away quickly, and the servers were very attentive stopping by frequently to see if we needed anything. We were also checked on twice by individuals who were not waiting on our table to see how our visit was going. I also commented to the waiter that I thought their coffee was quite tasty. Not only did he find out the brand of coffee for me, he gave me a pack to take home.

food3
ambience3
service2

It was an average dining experience. The ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

It was an average dining experience. The food was good and the server was good, but there wasn't anything exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice lunch with co-workers

Dined on May 6, 2016

We had an 11:30 reservation and when we arrived right at 11:30 the table wasn't yet set up. That sort of annoyed me, but the food and service was excellent so I can easily overlook it.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Awesome

Dined on May 3, 2016

The shrimp and grits are to die for. I can't stop thinking about them. They were so good, I wanted to rub them all over my face. I can't wait to go there again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Try the Elvis waffles

Dined on May 1, 2016

The Elvis waffles are super delicious! Great for the table to share, only the sweet lover could handle it as their main event.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience at the Union K ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great experience at the Union Kitchen. The restaurant has a more formal feel yet jeans or shorts are ok. Our waiter was wonderful. He was friendly, stayed on top of everything, and gave us good recommendations. I will definitely come back as well as recommend it to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome!

Dined on April 26, 2016

I love this place! The food is really great! I try something new each time I go.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Union Kitchen is consistently outstandin ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Union Kitchen is consistently outstanding. Our server, Ryan was very nice and attentive. We will most certainly be back. We love UK!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Ok experience for dinner; nothing special

Dined on April 15, 2016

I'd only been to TUK previously for brunch. The brunch is good, but the dinner was just ok. Had the parmesan encrusted asparagus. The asparagus was really big, not cooked all the way and the dish had no flavor...even from the lump crab topping. For comparison, the exact same dish at Perry's is divine (even without the topping.) We went on a Friday evening, and it was kind of early (6:30) but was surprised that the diners were almost completely elderly folks. Nothing wrong with that, but "vibrant bar scene" or "hot spot" are definitely not phrases that come to mind. So, wasn't bad, but nothing special either and a little pricy for the food quality. Would recommend for brunch much more than for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

good overall.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Ambiance inside was nice, exterior was not. In a strip mall (cant really help that). Wait staff was nice and helpful. The noise of loud bargoers and staff was obnoxious! We spent over $100 for our experiance and i didnt know i was going to a spirts bar. The food selection was decent, expected more steak and seafood selection. Quality of food was good. Our overall experience was nice and we will go again. Please have the wait staff anounce evening specialties as i was unaware of any.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! I had a rack of St. Louis Ri ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent! I had a rack of St. Louis Ribs and they were cooked to perfection.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Attended for Easter Brunch and service and food were both very good. I like that they didn't gouge you into buying an expensive $50+ brunch just because it was Easter. Have been there a half dozen times and it is always good, will be going back, just wish it were a little closer to Fall Creek/Westlake area.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place, Highly Recommend

Dined on March 27, 2016

First time we visited, brunch after church, it was very very nice, we'll go again.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

While it was a busy morning for Easter brunch, the restaurant performed well. The waitstaff was appropriately attentive and had good recommendations from the menu. We did not feel rushed and best of all, the food selections were inventive and delicious. It is normally more than I would spend for brunch, but given the fresh choices, the atmosphere, and the good service, we will be making a return trip.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wow !

Dined on March 20, 2016

I had the lobster omelette! It was excellent! Our waiter Victor was very attentive and had good suggestions! Really looking forward to returning!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service5

Husband's veal chops were excellent. My ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Husband's veal chops were excellent. My filet was first way over cooked, then undercooked on the second try. Manager handled problem. We did not pay for steak. Would return even though cook had a rough evening.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was just OK. Not worth the price. The waiter forgot the soup we ordered and then asked if we want him to get it. Three out of four of us did not think the food was worth the price.

food4
ambience4
service5

This was my first visit to the Union Kit ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

This was my first visit to the Union Kitchen and I wasn't ready for the friendliest, most attentive staff ever! We came in for a late lunch and thus were able to select from both the lunch and happy hour menu. Excellent since I love small bites! The Spin Artichoke Dip was uber creamy and probably the best I've had in a while. The crab cakes were good but missing a bit of a crunch (personal preference)...the cheeseburger sliders were just what you'd expect...greatness! Next time I'm going for the shrimp and grits thanks to the recommendation of one of the servers who came by, pointed out the bad boy grit meal and even offered up some of his plate...like I said not prepared for the friendliest staff ever! Dessert was bombtastic...creme brulee in your bread pudding? Yes, please! We'll be back for brunch... $10 unlimited mimosas...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Union Kitchen in Kingwood, TX was outstanding

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Highly recommended in all areas of food quality, service, and atmosphere. A major find for all tastes. Excellent, well balanced menu, excellent wine list, and our meals were not only delicious but plentiful in size.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Love The Union Kitchen! The food is always delicious. The service is always great. Wonderful spot especially for lunch or brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes to The Union Kitchen!

Dined on March 12, 2016

The Union kitchen was an awesome experience. Awesome service. And awesome food. It's a very nice restaurant. We had the chicken Belgium waffles for brunch. And they were excellent! We also had biscuits with gravy and the gravy was very good! I highly recommend the restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected

Dined on February 28, 2016

Based on previous research and reviews, I was nervous that I was going to feel awkward and uncomfortable at such a "high end" restaurant. However, the experience was great! The staff from the hostess to the waitress were warm and inviting. Worried I was underdressed, I was pleasantly surprised that many patrons were in comy/casual attire (ie, jeans, t-shirts), work attire, or in there best date night outfits. There were even family groups with small childten there. The food did not disappoint on taste or portion size. It was bright, fragrant, and plated beautifully. I did wish they had a larger beer selection but overall, there is a well stocked bar and great wine selection. I'm excited to try the weekend brunch with bottomless Mimosas! The overall ambience was warm and romantic with lots of low lighting and linens.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent first visit!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We were so pleasantly surprised by our first visit to The Union Kitchen. It's hard to tell from the sign, but the interior is quite subdued and elegant. We visited for Saturday brunch before going to a movie, and our server, Cole, was as helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable as one could hope. I ordered the chilaquiles and loved them, and my husband ordered the special, a cinnamon waffle, of which he finished every bite. We definitely plan to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Good space with poor food & unprofessional service

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Meatloaf and mashed potato piled up like a layer cake! Iced with French fried onions - weird! Certainly not fine dining - more like truck-stop cuisine. Server was intrusive - wanted to be included in our conversation. Not a good experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.