About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (36)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Business Meals (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Casual (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fun (11)
Family Style (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Private Room (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Healthy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fireplace (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Mother-son brunch. We were very pleased with our server Chris and our choice of food and drink!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food. Our server, Whitney, made it extra special. She gave us great recommendations and was friendly and personable.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is always outstanding - service has tended to be hit and miss. But it really is a wonderful place to take the family. The chef does a great job with the menu - there seems to be a selection for every mood and apatite. The kids menu meets with raves from my three year old and ten year old.
When it's crowded - like Mother's day - it's loud. On other days it's an wonderful place to talk and enjoy family and friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Dinner!! Service was excellent and the food was delicious!! Wonderful experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall this is a great restaurant. The food was very good with good portions for the price. Our waiter was excellent and very patient with us since we had 2 toddlers to deal with. The regular menu selection I thought was very good as well as the special Mother's Day menu that was offered. Reservations are not needed, but highly recommended due to the size and popularity of the place. This has become our new favorite in the Kingwood area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Super busy, food was delicious and fresh, service was great. Love the souvenir glass for Mother's Day. Definitely recommend the Elvis waffles.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to The Union Kitchen & we were pleased as always. The Mother's Day menu was great & gave us a nance to try something new. We will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I liked the ambiance. The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the red fish with shrimp and crab. I enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place I go there often. The bar is always full of knowledgeable bartenders and our waiter Joe was great with my large party for mother's day.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server started out a little inattentive or too busy, not sure which. It took quite awhile to get the wine we ordered only to find out it was no longer available. Then, after a discussion about which entrée to choose, we ordered. Only to come back later to say they were out of that. I indicated it wasn't a very good welcome home/birthday dinner. Seemed like the least they could have done was given us a break on the dessert for all the misconnects. Pretty disappointing evening over all.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice interior. poor quality steaks, ribeye was only 3/4" thick making it tough. It was also extremely under seasoned. I would say on par with a chain restaurant like outback or salt grass. It was more expensive than those restaurants, so I have to say the value is not really there. The waiter really sold them saying the are cut in house, don't fall for it. Wife said the scallops were good so not a complete failure. Waiter took way to long to bring the check. Maybe try brunch there, I can't recommend them for dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere..just very cold. I wore a jacket but was freezing the whole time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Portion size was medium to large
They were quite busy for Sunday.
Good variety of choices.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Brunch! Slow service. No paper towels in restroom. Asked for a few items but never received them i.e.: jelly for English muffin, drink refill. Good prices for brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Terrific Sunday brunch; fast arrival of food, delicious and generous portions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took the family (6 people) to brunch after church on Sunday and the food and the service were excellent. Our waiter, Frank, was very friendly and attentive to our needs the entire time. Our drinks were never empty and he constantly asked if we needed anything else. Their brunch menu has a wide variety of options and the bottomless mimosas can't be beat. The food came out quickly and everyone enjoyed their meal. We don't come here often as it is on the pricier side for a family of 6 but it is definitely worth it. Every time we have eaten here, the food and service have always been top notch. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Second time I've eaten there, both times the rib-eye steak was excellent - cooked to perfection. Stuffed baked potato and the merlot were excellent, too. Service by Chad was very good. I'll be back! :-)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Business dinner for 5. Service was great! Restaurant was quiet and we were able to talk. Server suggested a moderately priced wine and it was outstanding. We had pot stickers and calamari for appetizers and they were both very good. I had the Saltimbocca for my main meal. Unfortunately, it was severely overcooked. Everyone else said there food was excellent, so I'm thinking my plate was just the odd one out. Had carrot cake and pecan pie for dessert and both were very good. Overall, it's definitely worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is a neighborhood gem! Great food, service and atmosphere! Brunch on Sunday was fabulous!!! They have a Bloody Mary Bar with all the fixings and my Eggs Benedict was perfect! I can't wait to meet friends there soon. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Yummy yummy! Went for brunch and it was so good! Wish I would have tried the make it yourself Bloody Mary bar, but their Bloody Mary was good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Just love this place. Service is always great. Food also great and so many options to choose from including brunch on Saturday. It is worth the drive even if you are in the back of Kingwood or Humble.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Walked right in. Great food and service! menu selections offer a nice variety.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always, we love coming here after church on Sunday! Food is great and the staff are excellent!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

the services is excellent and the food. we now know our servers and they are nice and friendly. it a nice faimly and cozy restaurant that have reasonable prices food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was prettt disguising. The restaurant closes at 10 and our reservations were at 9/9:15. I get it we're within an hour of closing but if the food quality was not going to be great at that time they should stop taking reservations past a certain time. We got the potstickers for an apetizer and they were soggy and extra greasy. My main dish was the union burger and it was the driest burger I ever had in my entire life. The fries tasted like they were fried in 4 day old grease. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As usual, Union Kitchen provided excellent food and a good variety of menu choices.

It was a little noisy but certainly tolerable.

Our waitress was great, knowledgeable and very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great staff and service. Food is excellent and the menu is diverse enough to satisfy everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great staff! Very accommodating as we arrived from out of town early. The food was wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was great! Christopher as always, was a terrific server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very elegant! We were extremely pleased with the quality of the food and wait staff. Everything was quite lovely. We plan to return again with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this place. Very friendly and the wait staff is excellent

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I met a friend for lunch. She recommended the restaurant. I will recommend it to others and will definitely dine there again. I want to try the buffet one day soon. I do recommend this restaurant. The food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

My husband and I took some close friends out for some time together, I had already made the reservation several days prior we got there no problems ,atmosphere was great ,the food was great , although portions are small, Even our Order came quickly..Service was awesome very nice and friendly would recommend this place for Anniversary Or first time date enjoy enjoy❗😋

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Upon placing the order my dining companion explained they were allergic to cheese. When the salad arrived it was covered with cheese. The waiter took the salad to the kitchen and brought back a salad that still had cheese on it. He insisted he watched the cook prepare a new one but they must have used some of the same ingredients that still had cheese on them.
I told the waiter he needed to let his management know this but I don't have any confidence that happened.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great place for Sunday Brunch! Halley is so nice and attentive!

Tags: Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had an enjoyable evening. Our server was attentive. Portions were the appropriate size.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great atmosphere, our server was outstanding and food was excellent!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had brunch with a friend who used to live in Kingwood. The food was good, service was very good - not overly intrusive, and the make your own Bloody Mary bar was very well supplied with all sorts of veggies and spices. We had a nice time.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything we ate was delicious!! The donut holes were insanely good and my omelette was also really great. The unlimited mimosas were heavier on the champagne side than the oj side, which was a nice surprise. Everything I saw going past us looked delicious and I can't wait to go back and try something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.