About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Casual (26)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Cozy (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Family Style (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Private Room (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

we had been there before and it's always delicious. Very creative dishes. We had a Father's day reservation. We usually cook for Father's day. We decided to do something different. The menu was great. We were seated almost immediately. Waitress was friendly and made sure that we had everything we wanted/ needed through out the meal. The food was incredible. MY husband loved it. The dessert was also phenomenal. We would definitely go there again on a special occasion. Not to say that we won't go there for dinner when we are in that area. It is worth the drive. It is a little on the expensive for every day but the portions are big and the food is incredible. So it is well worth it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

This is first time I was disappointed with Union Kitchen. Our reservations were at 11:15 am on Father's Day, and we waited maybe 5 minutes which wasn't a big deal. It took a while for the waiter to take our order, and then the meal took a good 30 minutes, if not longer, to arrive after we placed our order. I don't know if I can really be disappointed in the waiter or if it was because the kitchen was backed up that it took so long to receive our meal. My food was good, but my father and husband did not like their meal. My father did say something, and the waiter did take his food off the receipt. My husband, however, didn't say anything until we got home that he did not like his food. My dad had the stuff mushrooms, which had enjoyed in the past, and my husband had the Father's Day Barbeque special. My mother had a garden omlet, and she said it was okay but didn't enjoy the food like she had in the past. She also tried my father's mushrooms and confirm they were not good. We did ordered 2 desserts, and they were excellent. We were just really disappointed that the service was slow (we also waited a while before we saw the dessert tray and getting dessert was a waiting game too) and the food quality was no where near what we had enjoyed in the past.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great place for brunch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate Father's Day. My son had the flat steak, my husband the stuffed shrimp and I had the blackened Texas Redfish. All were excellent. We finished with their wonderful bread pudding. We love this place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been to this establishment before. However, this last time was not a good experience. It took almost ten minutes for someone to greet/seat us. Not sure why this was so because it was not very busy at the time. Our waiter seemed nice, but we did not receive the same amount of attention as other tables he served. We had to ask him if we could place our order since it had been a little while since he served us our drinks. This server also did not offer and or bring the dessert tray to the table. One person of my party did order dessert and asked for a take-out container. The server offered to box it up in the kitchen. When arriving home, this person noticed that it was the same dessert minus the fruit. This person also stated that it didn't taste the same as when eaten in the restaurant. I almost forgot that to say that we did receive a complimentary dessert because we were celebrating a special occasion. Not sure if I will return to this establishment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The assigned server didn't get to us until 15 minutes in. The manager was the one how took our beverage order and then later our appetizer order. We weren't impressed with the appetizer that was Gluten Free. So we paid, and decided to leave, the manager offered to refund us. We still left but felt like we should give it another try maybe at lunch next time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The Kingwood Union Kitchen is a place we enjoy both for gathering friends and a nice date night. The food is always top choice the service is always friendly but professional and every server we have met there has gone above and beyond to be sure we have what we want.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love this place for Sunday brunch! The menu has a vast selection and the Mimosas are great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Can't fail to have a great brunch at Union Kitchen. Many options and quick but effective service. Chad was great! Be sure to use your open table reservations because this place is very busy on the weekend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Service was attentive and helpful without being overbearing, brunch choices were more interesting than than traditional fare, but you could still get traditional for the less-adventurous. Ambiance in Kingwood significantly different from the more casual Bellaire location, but not stuffy. Parking not an issue here.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We needed a short-notice quick-bite option. Split a burger and house salad. Better than average wine list. Our server was very good and knowledgeable. The batter used for the onion rings was too thick and resulted in a doughnut-like, oily covering...not crunchy and light...don't recommend them if this is the norm.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch, anticipating a wait, we made reservations ahead of time which turned out to be unnecessary because they weren't overly busy. The bottomless mimosas were good, strong enough to feel it after only a couple. The food was really good, great flavors and the portions were a good size. The downside was that our waitress pretty much got us drunk during our meal, and then took 20 minutes to come back around and bring our bill, a literal buzzkill. We'll definitely be back for brunch, it's nice to have something locally that can compete with the eateries downtown.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Favorite place for brunch!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Mother-son brunch. We were very pleased with our server Chris and our choice of food and drink!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food. Our server, Whitney, made it extra special. She gave us great recommendations and was friendly and personable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is always outstanding - service has tended to be hit and miss. But it really is a wonderful place to take the family. The chef does a great job with the menu - there seems to be a selection for every mood and apatite. The kids menu meets with raves from my three year old and ten year old.
When it's crowded - like Mother's day - it's loud. On other days it's an wonderful place to talk and enjoy family and friends.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had dinner here on Mothers Day evening so we expected service to be slower than usual but it was really slow. My main complaint about service was ordering a glass of wine to have with my steak. I ordered it right as our food arrived. Our waitress walked by in the middle of our meal to tell me she didn't forget and it was on the way. I didn't receive it until I was finished eating.

I had the flank steak w/jalapeño grits. Both were served room temperature. The meat was cooked very unevenly. I ordered medium rare. I got mostly medium well with a few pieces of rare.

The salads we ordered came with so little dressing that we thought there was none. We asked for some and we were brought the tiniest cup of dressing to share. There were 3 of us.

My mom had the crab cake appetizer for her meal. The presentation was nice and she enjoyed them.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Dinner!! Service was excellent and the food was delicious!! Wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Overall this is a great restaurant. The food was very good with good portions for the price. Our waiter was excellent and very patient with us since we had 2 toddlers to deal with. The regular menu selection I thought was very good as well as the special Mother's Day menu that was offered. Reservations are not needed, but highly recommended due to the size and popularity of the place. This has become our new favorite in the Kingwood area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Super busy, food was delicious and fresh, service was great. Love the souvenir glass for Mother's Day. Definitely recommend the Elvis waffles.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was our 3rd visit to The Union Kitchen & we were pleased as always. The Mother's Day menu was great & gave us a nance to try something new. We will definitely return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I liked the ambiance. The staff was courteous and attentive. I had the red fish with shrimp and crab. I enjoyed every bite.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great place I go there often. The bar is always full of knowledgeable bartenders and our waiter Joe was great with my large party for mother's day.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server started out a little inattentive or too busy, not sure which. It took quite awhile to get the wine we ordered only to find out it was no longer available. Then, after a discussion about which entrée to choose, we ordered. Only to come back later to say they were out of that. I indicated it wasn't a very good welcome home/birthday dinner. Seemed like the least they could have done was given us a break on the dessert for all the misconnects. Pretty disappointing evening over all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Nice interior. poor quality steaks, ribeye was only 3/4" thick making it tough. It was also extremely under seasoned. I would say on par with a chain restaurant like outback or salt grass. It was more expensive than those restaurants, so I have to say the value is not really there. The waiter really sold them saying the are cut in house, don't fall for it. Wife said the scallops were good so not a complete failure. Waiter took way to long to bring the check. Maybe try brunch there, I can't recommend them for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere..just very cold. I wore a jacket but was freezing the whole time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Portion size was medium to large
They were quite busy for Sunday.
Good variety of choices.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Brunch! Slow service. No paper towels in restroom. Asked for a few items but never received them i.e.: jelly for English muffin, drink refill. Good prices for brunch!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Terrific Sunday brunch; fast arrival of food, delicious and generous portions.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took the family (6 people) to brunch after church on Sunday and the food and the service were excellent. Our waiter, Frank, was very friendly and attentive to our needs the entire time. Our drinks were never empty and he constantly asked if we needed anything else. Their brunch menu has a wide variety of options and the bottomless mimosas can't be beat. The food came out quickly and everyone enjoyed their meal. We don't come here often as it is on the pricier side for a family of 6 but it is definitely worth it. Every time we have eaten here, the food and service have always been top notch. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Second time I've eaten there, both times the rib-eye steak was excellent - cooked to perfection. Stuffed baked potato and the merlot were excellent, too. Service by Chad was very good. I'll be back! :-)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Business dinner for 5. Service was great! Restaurant was quiet and we were able to talk. Server suggested a moderately priced wine and it was outstanding. We had pot stickers and calamari for appetizers and they were both very good. I had the Saltimbocca for my main meal. Unfortunately, it was severely overcooked. Everyone else said there food was excellent, so I'm thinking my plate was just the odd one out. Had carrot cake and pecan pie for dessert and both were very good. Overall, it's definitely worth a return visit.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This is a neighborhood gem! Great food, service and atmosphere! Brunch on Sunday was fabulous!!! They have a Bloody Mary Bar with all the fixings and my Eggs Benedict was perfect! I can't wait to meet friends there soon. Enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Yummy yummy! Went for brunch and it was so good! Wish I would have tried the make it yourself Bloody Mary bar, but their Bloody Mary was good!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Just love this place. Service is always great. Food also great and so many options to choose from including brunch on Saturday. It is worth the drive even if you are in the back of Kingwood or Humble.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Walked right in. Great food and service! menu selections offer a nice variety.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always, we love coming here after church on Sunday! Food is great and the staff are excellent!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

the services is excellent and the food. we now know our servers and they are nice and friendly. it a nice faimly and cozy restaurant that have reasonable prices food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Vegan, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food was prettt disguising. The restaurant closes at 10 and our reservations were at 9/9:15. I get it we're within an hour of closing but if the food quality was not going to be great at that time they should stop taking reservations past a certain time. We got the potstickers for an apetizer and they were soggy and extra greasy. My main dish was the union burger and it was the driest burger I ever had in my entire life. The fries tasted like they were fried in 4 day old grease. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As usual, Union Kitchen provided excellent food and a good variety of menu choices.

It was a little noisy but certainly tolerable.

Our waitress was great, knowledgeable and very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.