About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Romantic (16)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Family Style (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

This is not the first time we've been there and seen entire tables get up and leave because of the delay in getting their food or even getting drinks. I once waited 2:30 for our food there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Ten fingers up.....All around fun and exciting atmosphere. .Quiet and able to enjoy you significant other...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

As a Purdue grad I see the nod to the Memorial Union and found it charming. The food was great and although the waitress was a bit much she was knowledgeable and helpful. We had a great family get together with really good food in a nostalgic setting. I definitely want to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Not a thing! There are better chefs at McDonalds, poor quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Three in our party ordered the special prime rib dinner. The potato was adequate but nothing special. The mixed vegetables were great only if you like tasteless cauliflower. A few of us had a few specks of green pepper. Meet was fatty with lots of waste. The only thing about the special that was special was the price ($37 I believe). Special for the Union Kitchen but certainly not for the attendees. The one lady had a birthday coupon and since the child with us ordered a hamburger, that was the free dinner. So, another sort of cheap situation. I am sure the coupon said it was for the lowest price meal, but when four adults are paying full price, that is a pretty cheap trick . Overall the waitress was great. The food was fine but certainly not worth the price. The cook should have more imagination! Presentation was certainly not what one would expect for the "special".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My husband and I had a great Valentine's dinner. Good food and ambience!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were told we could switch our reservation from7:30 to 7, by the person who called to confirm. When we got there, no record of this. Waited in bar and then seated in the casual bar area. Ordered bread, came out cold after meal. For frequent diners and union kitchen card holder, it was not an acceptable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed the quality of food. Great waiter. Receptionist left at the bar too long. Said she called for us but we were standing in the bar and heard everyone else's call but not our own. Strange! Finally seated at 7:40 for 7:00 reservation. Not good. We arrived early so almost an hour in total.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My family and I absolutely love this restaurant! The staff even helped me surprise my husband and daughter with the news of a new baby addition to our family. It couldn't have asked for better service!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent brunch. Waiter was not up to par as far as friendliness goes. In the past we have had exceptional service, but not so much on this visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again, a very nice restaurant in Kingwood. Service was excellent as was the meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter Trace was so nice and attentive. They were also quite patient to seat exactly where we wanted because I wanted to be at a round table so I could talk with all my family members. The poached egg in my Benedict was perfect & hot instead of some weird temperature from sitting too long. They gave me a free birthday dessert that was sooooo chocolaty delicious! Great staff. Great atmosphere. Good food. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was my first time dining here. I did not care for the bread, my food was bland and forgetful.

Service was good and its nice for a possible brunch with the girls. Oh, did not like the dried-out grits. You really need to cook with butter. Your steak was ok, the potatoes with heavy garlic was not good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food is very over priced for what you get, the service was terrible, we had to ask the waitress 4 times to bring us water, my friend ordered Iced tea, she never brought the sugar, brought food at different times for all of us, it was like she was never trained!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place for lunch or dinner with excellent service and quality food. Brunch is also a special occasion every time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious as always. My family and I are regulars, be it brunch or dinner. Food is always good, unique dishes, service is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We all had a ball! Our waiter was awesome! He was very personable and super nice!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, great service, overall excellent spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Niko or Nico the waiter is has it factor when serving someone.. Making me feel right at home along with my son on Sunday..kudos to him

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great value and good food. Our server was a little off...we would ask for some stuff and he either forgets about it or he's looking puzzled.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Personable, attentive server, Camile, made the evening great for us and our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Been here several times and this place is still as good as it was the first time. Service is outstanding. Food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great! Mother in law totally enjoyed it!! Will be back again!!!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I haven't ever been here for brunch before today. It was fabulous! They give you these sweet muffins that are out of this world. I shouldn't be surprised as this is our go to restaurant we love it here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My fiance' and I went here for brunch and loved everything about the restaurant. The mimosas were delicious and they kept coming, which was a nice treat. We had so many options to choose from to eat and we'll be back to try them all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Not a lot in the Kingwood area so better than most.....

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pecan pancakes were delicious. The Texas blue crabcake Benedict was good as well. The make your own bloody Mary bar is a nice touch

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Would go to brunch every weekend if I could! Everything was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Flavorful, well prepared food in a comfortably casual but upscale setting. A great addition to the very limited nicer dining options in Kingwood. Very reasonably priced wines.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service was very good but the food is way overpriced for what you get.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

If you're going to mess with the silverware (perform mise en place), it shouldn't be so sloppy. It didn't take too much away from the experience mainly because my companion didn't/wouldn't notice. The food was very good and it was a good overall experience, but as a former finer dining server/somm I notice things others don't. Nothing ruins a nice night out than someone complaining about things that don't really matter. It just would have been nice if it was to be done, that it was done closer to right than it was.

I wish they had NY Strip as an option. The ribeye was good, but they're just too thin to really cook them the way I like. The lobster was tender and very good.

Again, it was a very nice experience. Just little things in the margins were missing. By all means GO to the Union Kitchen in Kingwood!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good menu selection with great service. Nice ambience and good food. Loved the creme brulee bread pudding - fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the 3rd year in a row that we have gone to Union Kitchen on new years eve. It is our wedding anniversary and we want a nice, quiet place to enjoy our special dinner! Union Kitchen is our place to go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were both excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thursday evening jazz added nicely to ambiance, friendly and attentive wait staff, great wine selections and really good food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was a nice evening. With good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was good but again we had slow service. We ordered drinks from the bar. Got the beer quickly but did not get our other drinks until our entrees arrived. We even asked a bus girl to ask where our drinks were. We like the food and ambiance but are getting frustrated with not so great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food and service. Bottomless mimosa's always filled! Consistent good service and quality every time I go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great restaurant in the Kingwood area. Good food. Friendly servers.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 12, 2016

I find this a fine and friendly place to meet with friends for good food and conversation.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

They offer great brunch menu items. The restaurant is kid friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was horrible. 15 minutes to get water. Another 20 mins for drinks. Waitress did not know the menu and made us point to the menu items because she could not understand what we wanted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food quite sub-par. Undercooked chicken, overcooked steak (ordered Medium, got well). You have a server taking your order but random bussers & others filling water, etc. Not much continuity. We came here for a girl's night while visiting the area, and were spoiled on the great food and service of Union Kitchen in Memorial. This location is not even close to the same level of service and attention to detail on food. Save yourself a visit and try somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Brunch is always great, but went the first time for dinner and wasn't too impressed. I had the crab-stuffed shrimp with greens and grits. It was dry and the greens undercooked for my taste. I requested some sauce and was given the Siracha and it was good to dip the shrimp in. Hubby had the meatloaf, and it was delicious. For dessert, we tried the carrot cake. It was dry and tasted kind of stale. I would definitely recommend brunch here, and will try dinner once more.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice brunch. We loved the donut holes.

Tags: Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was excellent from the time we approached the door until we left the establishment. Our server Calieb was awesome. The food was ok but not worth the price. I ordered the Shrimp stuffed with crab meat that had no indication it was deep fried breaded stuffed shrimp, the cheddar grits that came with it was good. My mother ordered the crusted prime rib that was bland with no favor. This wasn't our first time visiting the restaurant however, it was the first time the food wasn't great as our last visit. Overall everything was great except the food this time. We will try Union Kitchen one last time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed brunch at Union Kitchen. They serve great mimosas during Sunday brunch. I had the chicken and waffle special. The portion was just right. Our server was enthusiastic and friendly. He was attentive when needed. We will be back to try their appetizers during happy hour.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.