About The Union Kitchen (Kingwood)

The Union Kitchen serves Global Cuisine with Southern Hospitality. Full Bar Service, Outdoor Dining, Banquet Rooms and High Definition Televisions.

23918 Hwy 59 N
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Northpark Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 644-9067

Website:
http://www.theunionkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Plenty of free parking is available

Executive Chef:
Henry Hopkes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Thank you for considering THE UNION KITCHEN in KINGWOOD to host your upcoming event. We are pleased to offer The Lounge, PDR and Boardroom for events, along with a variety of banquet menus and service options.

The Union Kitchen (Kingwood) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Romantic (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Fun (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and loved the sax player

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I'm a regular client at the tuk in Kingwood. I love their food, ambience and wine selections.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was delicious, the decor is lovely, and although not inexpensive, the portion sizes are often enough to share, so it's reasonable. For example, the Union Burger is sizable and comes with truffle fries and three huge onion rings; easily enough for two. The only two slight drawbacks were that it was very cold, and the serving size of the calamari appetizer was smaller than expected. All in all, a wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Nice and quiet perfect for chatting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our server was amazing!! food was amazing, we had a great time with my wife and son.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fun place to go for brunch or dinner. Food is great, and the staff are very friendly.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great wine selection. Upscale American fare at a reasonable price. Family ambiance. All right around the corner. Fantastic place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Varied menu, something for everyone. Join the loyalty program.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went back for a second time and unfortunately it was not as good as I remembered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Enjoyed food choices and service was good. Good local coffe also.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our favorite local spot! The best place in town for a special meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Had to ask too many times for a tea refill. Service was not what I expected from a highly rated restaurant. Food was very good. Had a very loud table next to us. Overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Made reservations early in the evening so we would be served quickly. The dinner took 2 hours and the food was not brought out correctly. We were sat by the kitchen and all we could hear were the loud doors opening and closing. In addition, there did not seem to be enough wait staff for the number of tables. Will not be returning any time soon.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our server, Chris, was outstanding. Previously we were disappointed in the food but this visit made up for it. Everything was excellent. Definitely going to go back (and, of course, ask for Chris!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Only thing is the mixed cocktail that I ordered I had to send back, tasted like perfume.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a great time at Union Kitchen. The food was terrific and the water was very attentive. Great night overall.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is not the first time we've been there and seen entire tables get up and leave because of the delay in getting their food or even getting drinks. I once waited 2:30 for our food there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ten fingers up.....All around fun and exciting atmosphere. .Quiet and able to enjoy you significant other...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As a Purdue grad I see the nod to the Memorial Union and found it charming. The food was great and although the waitress was a bit much she was knowledgeable and helpful. We had a great family get together with really good food in a nostalgic setting. I definitely want to come back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Not a thing! There are better chefs at McDonalds, poor quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Three in our party ordered the special prime rib dinner. The potato was adequate but nothing special. The mixed vegetables were great only if you like tasteless cauliflower. A few of us had a few specks of green pepper. Meet was fatty with lots of waste. The only thing about the special that was special was the price ($37 I believe). Special for the Union Kitchen but certainly not for the attendees. The one lady had a birthday coupon and since the child with us ordered a hamburger, that was the free dinner. So, another sort of cheap situation. I am sure the coupon said it was for the lowest price meal, but when four adults are paying full price, that is a pretty cheap trick . Overall the waitress was great. The food was fine but certainly not worth the price. The cook should have more imagination! Presentation was certainly not what one would expect for the "special".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My husband and I had a great Valentine's dinner. Good food and ambience!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were told we could switch our reservation from7:30 to 7, by the person who called to confirm. When we got there, no record of this. Waited in bar and then seated in the casual bar area. Ordered bread, came out cold after meal. For frequent diners and union kitchen card holder, it was not an acceptable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Enjoyed the quality of food. Great waiter. Receptionist left at the bar too long. Said she called for us but we were standing in the bar and heard everyone else's call but not our own. Strange! Finally seated at 7:40 for 7:00 reservation. Not good. We arrived early so almost an hour in total.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My family and I absolutely love this restaurant! The staff even helped me surprise my husband and daughter with the news of a new baby addition to our family. It couldn't have asked for better service!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an excellent brunch. Waiter was not up to par as far as friendliness goes. In the past we have had exceptional service, but not so much on this visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again, a very nice restaurant in Kingwood. Service was excellent as was the meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waiter Trace was so nice and attentive. They were also quite patient to seat exactly where we wanted because I wanted to be at a round table so I could talk with all my family members. The poached egg in my Benedict was perfect & hot instead of some weird temperature from sitting too long. They gave me a free birthday dessert that was sooooo chocolaty delicious! Great staff. Great atmosphere. Good food. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

It was my first time dining here. I did not care for the bread, my food was bland and forgetful.
Service was good and its nice for a possible brunch with the girls. Oh, did not like the dried-out grits. You really need to cook with butter. Your steak was ok, the potatoes with heavy garlic was not good.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food is very over priced for what you get, the service was terrible, we had to ask the waitress 4 times to bring us water, my friend ordered Iced tea, she never brought the sugar, brought food at different times for all of us, it was like she was never trained!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place for lunch or dinner with excellent service and quality food. Brunch is also a special occasion every time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious as always. My family and I are regulars, be it brunch or dinner. Food is always good, unique dishes, service is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We all had a ball! Our waiter was awesome! He was very personable and super nice!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food, great service, overall excellent spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Niko or Nico the waiter is has it factor when serving someone.. Making me feel right at home along with my son on Sunday..kudos to him

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great value and good food. Our server was a little off...we would ask for some stuff and he either forgets about it or he's looking puzzled.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Personable, attentive server, Camile, made the evening great for us and our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Been here several times and this place is still as good as it was the first time. Service is outstanding. Food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great! Mother in law totally enjoyed it!! Will be back again!!!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.