The Tuscan Inn

4.2
147 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

Enjoy the casual, simple cuisine originating from the Tuscan Valley of Italy at the Tuscan Inn. With its long history that dates back to the late 1800s, this establishment has been used for a hunting lodge, hotel and restaurant. It has now made a name for itself by serving authentic Italian food. Guests are surrounded by relaxing rustic European décor elements throughout the dining room. The Tuscan Inn's convenient location just outside of Pittsburgh allows patrons to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Chef Aldo uses only fresh, quality ingredients to craft each meal. Popular menu options at The Tuscan Inn include the margaritha flatbread, risotto d'mare and filetto d'mocha. Finish dinner with a tasty treat, such as the house tiramisu or mirtillo e rabarbaro.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Pizzeria, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Tuesday- Sunday: 4PM- CLOSE
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 486-7696
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have three separate dining areas in our restaurant that you may use for a private event. The Vine Room will hold up to 10, The Hearth Room with the beautiful stone fireplace will hold 30, and The Sunroom will hold approximately 20. It's perfect for showers, rehearsal dinners, and we've even had some small weddings in these rooms. Private business dinner parties, book club dinners, christenings, and wine tastings are some other options also.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Route 8
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Off Street Parking Available
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We are available for Special Events.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine
What 147 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 26, 2016

My friends and I have been coming to the Tuscan Inn for many years and always had a wonderful experience, great food and excellent staff. We will miss this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2016

I wish it was still open

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2016

The bar is a nice place to sit and have a drink and order appetizers but don't eat dinner here. It used to be a good place for high quality food but no longer! Our fish was rubbery (the Chilean sea bass) and the scallops were over cooked. Not what we expected for the price. Very disappointed...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was much better than previous visit ...more like what I have come to expect from this wonderful dining venue!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2016

1. Service was very rushed and impersonal.
2. Food was over-sized and pretentious.
3. Very expensive; salad a la carte.
4. Noisy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was good, but it was very overpriced. Our server was very good
and prompt.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2016

Just moved into area and looking for good restaurants and we found a great one with the Tuscan Inn

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2016

We tried this restaurant to give it another chance. They were out of many items at 8:00 on a Sat and the wine is very expensive. Some of the food was good and some okay. The owner said they were having an off night and he was correct. Who runs out of items for a flat bread and scallops for a seafood dish at 8:00 on a Sat. The restaurant was not busy as we got on open table and made a 8:15 reservation at 8:00. You could never do this with the past owners as the place was always busy. I think they have to pay attention more to detail and offer some decent drink prices. This is a good place to go and would like to see it survive

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent food! Will return frequently

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved it! Nice, quiet, intimate, rustic, beautiful!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2016

All this for $75. Ribeye = cut to about 1/2" thick, cooked over wood. Tasted like a piece of burnt wood. Stuffed baked potato = 1/2 potato, about 2" long. One fork full of potato. Lobster tail = A 1/2 of a warm water lobster tail tiny and dry. Crab cake= hint of crab but tasted like sweet relish. Beans = hard as rocks. There is a reason hardly anyone was there. First and last visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Wow! Wow! Wow! Tuscan Inn was fantastic on a recent Saturday night (2/13/16) with my wife celebrating Valentine's Day. Our seating was courteous and right on time. Appetizers, salads, entrees and dessert were all great!! The Italian flank steak appetizer wrapped in red pepper and cheese was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. My entrée was scallops/shrimp/lobster tail served over a bed of risotto. A++ rating on that selection. Service was impeccable and the courses were perfectly timed. I highly recommend this restaurant!! Bravo to the Tuscan Inn!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed our Valentines Day meal here. Good food and good service. Always a good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

Dined here for the first time yesterday for Valentine's Day 2016. We were not disappointed. Food was excellent. We especially loved our appetizer - Italian stuffed flank steak. Delish! Glad we found this place because we will certainly be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a wonderful date night here recently, and everything was very enjoyable. Our server was pleasant and helpful with describing the menu choices. We even had help from a manager in choosing the perfect glass of wine to accompany each course. My steak was one of the best I have ever had, no joke. The manager checked to make sure the temperature was perfect, (it wasn't) but I could not be more pleased that it was rectified immediately. I barely noticed the hiccup in what was otherwise a wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2016

You have to try this Resturant! It s great AND it seems to get better every time we go.
It's worth the trip!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 23, 2016

Very disappointed in the quality of the food for the high prices. There were only high priced wine options as well for wines that did not seem to fit the price tag. This restaurant has been excellent in the past, but this time it was a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2016

Atmosphere by the fireplace was so comfortable and pleasant, not wanting to leave. Food was unique and excellently prepared. Wait staff was cordial, helpful and not pushy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2016

We ate here for the first time in a long time. We stayed away because of some poor reviews. I think the new owners have figured things out. Everything was very tasty and service was great. We will be going back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 3, 2016

This lovely country inn has a really nice ambiance, but alas, we were sadly disappointed with the food and the service. My risotto with scallops, shrimp, and lobster was simply bland and it was served lukewarm. The service was spotty - while the staff were very friendly and eager, they kept removing our plates before we were finished, and our dinners were well started before we got our wine. (We had to wave our waitress over from where she was sitting at another table chatting with guests, to remind her about the wine. )

We really hoped our return to this place after a few years' absence would be a nice surprise, but now we remember why we stayed away. We'll wait to hear that it's turned around before we come back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 2, 2016

Saturday's visit was not quite up to normal Tuscan Inn standards. The food was awesome (as usual), but service was very average, especially considering our late dining hour (9PM) and the fact there were not a lot of other diners, at least in the front part of the restaurant. It took some time for a server to appear, and we ordered drinks. When the drinks were served, we ordered an appetizer and our entrees. After a longer period of time, our entrees arrived, sans appetizer. When we reminded the server about the appetizer, an apology was made and it was offered as a to-go (which we accepted). A second cocktail was also ordered at this time. The meal was nearly completed when our server checked back, and was reminded about the missing cocktail. She hurriedly took my empty glass (which was my water glass, since she took my cocktail glass when the second one was ordered), went to the bar and returned with the cocktail. We were filled at this point and did not opt for dessert. Again, food was delicious, but service not quite up to snuff....hopefully just a slightly off night for a normally solid restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2015

We had not been to the Tuscan in a while and were pleased to find it's still a great neighborhood restaurant with a unique atmosphere. Definitely on my more frequent list.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2015

Quite expensive given the quality of the service and the overall ambiance. We won't return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2015

As followers of a WFPB/SOS-free (whole food, plant-based, sugar-, oil-, salt-free) diet, it's often difficult to find restaurants willing or able to work with us on providing a delicious WFPB meal. I usually call ahead to see what our options might be. Chef Ernest McBall returned my call promptly, and was so patient and accommodating when listening to my request. When we arrived at the Tuscan Inn, Jason (the front of house manager) introduced himself and said Chef Ernest had a wonderful meal planned for us, which proved to be exactly what we got! Three inspired courses arrived, including a sweet, herb-accented vegetable soup; an appetizer of steamed baby potatoes filled with tender bits of veggies and vegan "cheese"; and the main course of a perfectly formed rice pilaf with delicately charred peppers, savory mushrooms and veggies. Chef Ernest took time on a very busy night to visit our table, so we were able to tell him personally how delicious and creative his cooking was. We HIGHLY recommend Chef Ernest and the Tuscan Inn, and we can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2015

Tuscan Inn was recommended to me for a small group dinner. Turned out to be the perfect place - great food, great service in a very casual, rustic setting. Several people in our group ordered the seafood risotto - it was loaded with lobster, shrimp, and scallops, with a delicious creamy, slightly sweet sauce with perfectly cooked rice. Nice wine list, too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2015

The Minestrone soup was exceptional and A MUST try. The filet was nicely charred and perfectly cooked. The house salad was nondescript and over dressed, tasting like syrupy spring mix. Easily forgiven!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 15, 2015

Just awesome. Waitress Gianna was such a delight. Food was even better than usual. If you haven't try the Inn, you will love it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was not worth the price. My scallops entree was quite bland. My husbands lasagna was difficult to manuvor because of the dish. The bread was cold and dry and hard. We wont be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2015

We enjoyed the food and the service. Everyone was very nice with us and the manager even came over to see if we were OK. And wished us a happy anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2015

We tried this place for our anniversary. From the moment we walked in everyone was very nice! This was our first time there and our server did a great job helping us with the menu. The presentation was very good and the food was amazing! Cozy environment!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2015

Excellent service from Danielle. The ambiance was like we were having a private dinner for most of the time. Food was very good and competitively priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2015

This place is a favorite of mine but the other 3 in my party had not been here before. We had a terrific time - 4 different entrees (lamb, duck, short ribs, sea bass), all excellent; pleasant, efficient but non obtrusive server - it was a lovely evening. I heard it had changed hands - if so, the new folks are maintaining this great little gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2015

A wonderful neighborhood spot. Everyone makes you feel very welcome. Excellent, reasonably priced wines.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2015

New menu is really good. Wine selection well varied. Our service was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 17, 2015

I had a chicken dish and it was good and the chicken cooked perfect. My date had the salmon and it was mushy soft. I you have a big appetite you might come up short. A little heavy on the wallet for what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2015

Great food with a rustic environment. Warm staff and good choices.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 4, 2015

We had dinner at The Tuscan Inn at 4:30pm on a Sunday. The food and presentation were good and interesting, though I was expecting a much nicer atmosphere given the cost. Also, what I believe was the bread-making machine was being used continually in the back of the dining area throughout our meal, and so this very loud contraption certainly took away from the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2015

First off our waitress Morgan was very nice and had a good sense of humor and her service was wonderful. The food was interesting and unique and the taste of what we had was outstanding. I'd love to try a few other items that were on the menu but that will come later on our next visit. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2015

This place is Great. Good is terrific and the wait staff is always friendly and top notch. We done there often and it's always great
Highly recommend you give it a try.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 12, 2015

Sat 40 minutes before we were even offered water. It was not busy. Lamb chops poorly cut, tasteless, tough.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4