Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Atria's - RichlandAtria's - Richland
(126)
American | Gibsonia, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Andora Fox ChapelAndora Fox Chapel
(321)
American | Fox Chapel, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - Pittsburgh - McKnightBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Pittsburgh - McKnight
(145)
Italian | Ross Township, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Marketplace Cafe - Nordstrom Ross ParkMarketplace Cafe - Nordstrom Ross Park
(1)
American | North Hills, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi BarNakama Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar
(78)
Japanese | Wexford, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
CureCure
(196)
Mediterranean | Lawrenceville, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Breakneck TavernBreakneck Tavern
(164)
American | Wexford, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Walnut Grill - WexfordWalnut Grill - Wexford
(450)
American | Wexford, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
WillowWillow
(1301)
Contemporary American | North Hills, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Joseph TambelliniJoseph Tambellini
(881)
Italian | Highland Park, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Walnut Grill - Fox ChapelWalnut Grill - Fox Chapel
(438)
American | Fox Chapel, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Donato's RestaurantDonato's Restaurant
(380)
Steakhouse | Fox Chapel, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Nancetta'sNancetta's
(65)
Italian | Fox Chapel, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Tender Bar + KitchenTender Bar + Kitchen
(255)
American | Lawrenceville, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now
Andora SewickleyAndora Sewickley
(739)
Contemporary American | Sewickley, Pittsburgh
Reserve Now

About The Tuscan Inn

2684 Wildwood Rd
Allison Park, PA 15101
View Larger Map

Enjoy the casual, simple cuisine originating from the Tuscan Valley of Italy at the Tuscan Inn. With its long history that dates back to the late 1800s, this establishment has been used for a hunting lodge, hotel and restaurant. It has now made a name for itself by serving authentic Italian food. Guests are surrounded by relaxing rustic European décor elements throughout the dining room. The Tuscan Inn's convenient location just outside of Pittsburgh allows patrons to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Chef Aldo uses only fresh, quality ingredients to craft each meal. Popular menu options at The Tuscan Inn include the margaritha flatbread, risotto d'mare and filetto d'mocha. Finish dinner with a tasty treat, such as the house tiramisu or mirtillo e rabarbaro.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday- Sunday: 4PM- CLOSE

Cross Street:
Route 8

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 486-7696

Website:
http://www.thetuscaninnzc.com/

Parking Details:
Off Street Parking Available

Private Party Facilities:
We have three separate dining areas in our restaurant that you may use for a private event. The Vine Room will hold up to 10, The Hearth Room with the beautiful stone fireplace will hold 30, and The Sunroom will hold approximately 20. It's perfect for showers, rehearsal dinners, and we've even had some small weddings in these rooms. Private business dinner parties, book club dinners, christenings, and wine tastings are some other options also.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We are available for Special Events.

Restaurant Photos

  • The Tuscan Inn
  • The Tuscan Inn
The Tuscan Inn
The Tuscan Inn
Sort By:
Newest
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Miss you

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

My friends and I have been coming to the Tuscan Inn for many years and always had a wonderful experience, great food and excellent staff. We will miss this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the food quality has gone down.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The bar is a nice place to sit and have a drink and order appetizers but don't eat dinner here. It used to be a good place for high quality food but no longer! Our fish was rubbery (the Chilean sea bass) and the scallops were over cooked. Not what we expected for the price. Very disappointed...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was much better than previous visit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was much better than previous visit ...more like what I have come to expect from this wonderful dining venue!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor value for money.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

1. Service was very rushed and impersonal.

2. Food was over-sized and pretentious.

3. Very expensive; salad a la carte.

4. Noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

overpriced

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was good, but it was very overpriced. Our server was very good

and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Just moved into area and looking for goo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Just moved into area and looking for good restaurants and we found a great one with the Tuscan Inn

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

okay

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We tried this restaurant to give it another chance. They were out of many items at 8:00 on a Sat and the wine is very expensive. Some of the food was good and some okay. The owner said they were having an off night and he was correct. Who runs out of items for a flat bread and scallops for a seafood dish at 8:00 on a Sat. The restaurant was not busy as we got on open table and made a 8:15 reservation at 8:00. You could never do this with the past owners as the place was always busy. I think they have to pay attention more to detail and offer some decent drink prices. This is a good place to go and would like to see it survive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent food! Will return frequently

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent food! Will return frequently

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Loved it! Nice, quiet, intimate, rustic, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved it! Nice, quiet, intimate, rustic, beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines dinner.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

All this for $75. Ribeye = cut to about 1/2" thick, cooked over wood. Tasted like a piece of burnt wood. Stuffed baked potato = 1/2 potato, about 2" long. One fork full of potato. Lobster tail = A 1/2 of a warm water lobster tail tiny and dry. Crab cake= hint of crab but tasted like sweet relish. Beans = hard as rocks. There is a reason hardly anyone was there. First and last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Valentine's Day Winner!!!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Wow! Wow! Wow! Tuscan Inn was fantastic on a recent Saturday night (2/13/16) with my wife celebrating Valentine's Day. Our seating was courteous and right on time. Appetizers, salads, entrees and dessert were all great!! The Italian flank steak appetizer wrapped in red pepper and cheese was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. My entrée was scallops/shrimp/lobster tail served over a bed of risotto. A++ rating on that selection. Service was impeccable and the courses were perfectly timed. I highly recommend this restaurant!! Bravo to the Tuscan Inn!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice evening

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoyed our Valentines Day meal here. Good food and good service. Always a good experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined here for the first time yesterday ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Dined here for the first time yesterday for Valentine's Day 2016. We were not disappointed. Food was excellent. We especially loved our appetizer - Italian stuffed flank steak. Delish! Glad we found this place because we will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attention to detail!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a wonderful date night here recently, and everything was very enjoyable. Our server was pleasant and helpful with describing the menu choices. We even had help from a manager in choosing the perfect glass of wine to accompany each course. My steak was one of the best I have ever had, no joke. The manager checked to make sure the temperature was perfect, (it wasn't) but I could not be more pleased that it was rectified immediately. I barely noticed the hiccup in what was otherwise a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to try this Resturant! It s gr ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

You have to try this Resturant! It s great AND it seems to get better every time we go.

It's worth the trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Atmosphere by the fireplace was so comfortable and pleasant, not wanting to leave. Food was unique and excellently prepared. Wait staff was cordial, helpful and not pushy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not as good as it used to be

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Very disappointed in the quality of the food for the high prices. There were only high priced wine options as well for wines that did not seem to fit the price tag. This restaurant has been excellent in the past, but this time it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We ate here for the first time in a long ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We ate here for the first time in a long time. We stayed away because of some poor reviews. I think the new owners have figured things out. Everything was very tasty and service was great. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great potential, bland food, spotty service.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

This lovely country inn has a really nice ambiance, but alas, we were sadly disappointed with the food and the service. My risotto with scallops, shrimp, and lobster was simply bland and it was served lukewarm. The service was spotty - while the staff were very friendly and eager, they kept removing our plates before we were finished, and our dinners were well started before we got our wine. (We had to wave our waitress over from where she was sitting at another table chatting with guests, to remind her about the wine. )

We really hoped our return to this place after a few years' absence would be a nice surprise, but now we remember why we stayed away. We'll wait to hear that it's turned around before we come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Not quite up to standards

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Saturday's visit was not quite up to normal Tuscan Inn standards. The food was awesome (as usual), but service was very average, especially considering our late dining hour (9PM) and the fact there were not a lot of other diners, at least in the front part of the restaurant. It took some time for a server to appear, and we ordered drinks. When the drinks were served, we ordered an appetizer and our entrees. After a longer period of time, our entrees arrived, sans appetizer. When we reminded the server about the appetizer, an apology was made and it was offered as a to-go (which we accepted). A second cocktail was also ordered at this time. The meal was nearly completed when our server checked back, and was reminded about the missing cocktail. She hurriedly took my empty glass (which was my water glass, since she took my cocktail glass when the second one was ordered), went to the bar and returned with the cocktail. We were filled at this point and did not opt for dessert. Again, food was delicious, but service not quite up to snuff....hopefully just a slightly off night for a normally solid restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Comfortable and tasty.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We had not been to the Tuscan in a while and were pleased to find it's still a great neighborhood restaurant with a unique atmosphere. Definitely on my more frequent list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite expensive given the quality of the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Quite expensive given the quality of the service and the overall ambiance. We won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Chef Ernest made our night special!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

As followers of a WFPB/SOS-free (whole food, plant-based, sugar-, oil-, salt-free) diet, it's often difficult to find restaurants willing or able to work with us on providing a delicious WFPB meal. I usually call ahead to see what our options might be. Chef Ernest McBall returned my call promptly, and was so patient and accommodating when listening to my request. When we arrived at the Tuscan Inn, Jason (the front of house manager) introduced himself and said Chef Ernest had a wonderful meal planned for us, which proved to be exactly what we got! Three inspired courses arrived, including a sweet, herb-accented vegetable soup; an appetizer of steamed baby potatoes filled with tender bits of veggies and vegan "cheese"; and the main course of a perfectly formed rice pilaf with delicately charred peppers, savory mushrooms and veggies. Chef Ernest took time on a very busy night to visit our table, so we were able to tell him personally how delicious and creative his cooking was. We HIGHLY recommend Chef Ernest and the Tuscan Inn, and we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Tuscan Inn was recommended to me for a small group dinner. Turned out to be the perfect place - great food, great service in a very casual, rustic setting. Several people in our group ordered the seafood risotto - it was loaded with lobster, shrimp, and scallops, with a delicious creamy, slightly sweet sauce with perfectly cooked rice. Nice wine list, too.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A few excellent choices!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The Minestrone soup was exceptional and A MUST try. The filet was nicely charred and perfectly cooked. The house salad was nondescript and over dressed, tasting like syrupy spring mix. Easily forgiven!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Just awesome. Waitress Gianna was such ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Just awesome. Waitress Gianna was such a delight. Food was even better than usual. If you haven't try the Inn, you will love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Value

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The food was not worth the price. My scallops entree was quite bland. My husbands lasagna was difficult to manuvor because of the dish. The bread was cold and dry and hard. We wont be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

VITO

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

We enjoyed the food and the service. Everyone was very nice with us and the manager even came over to see if we were OK. And wished us a happy anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

We tried this place for our anniversary. From the moment we walked in everyone was very nice! This was our first time there and our server did a great job helping us with the menu. The presentation was very good and the food was amazing! Cozy environment!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service from Danielle. The am ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Excellent service from Danielle. The ambiance was like we were having a private dinner for most of the time. Food was very good and competitively priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a favorite of mine but the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

This place is a favorite of mine but the other 3 in my party had not been here before. We had a terrific time - 4 different entrees (lamb, duck, short ribs, sea bass), all excellent; pleasant, efficient but non obtrusive server - it was a lovely evening. I heard it had changed hands - if so, the new folks are maintaining this great little gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

A wonderful neighborhood spot. Everyone makes you feel very welcome. Excellent, reasonably priced wines.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

New menu is really good. Wine selection ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 21, 2015

New menu is really good. Wine selection well varied. Our service was excellent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I had a chicken dish and it was good and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

I had a chicken dish and it was good and the chicken cooked perfect. My date had the salmon and it was mushy soft. I you have a big appetite you might come up short. A little heavy on the wallet for what you get.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Scenic and comfortable

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Great food with a rustic environment. Warm staff and good choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early Sunday Dinner

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

We had dinner at The Tuscan Inn at 4:30pm on a Sunday. The food and presentation were good and interesting, though I was expecting a much nicer atmosphere given the cost. Also, what I believe was the bread-making machine was being used continually in the back of the dining area throughout our meal, and so this very loud contraption certainly took away from the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Tuscan Inn

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

First off our waitress Morgan was very nice and had a good sense of humor and her service was wonderful. The food was interesting and unique and the taste of what we had was outstanding. I'd love to try a few other items that were on the menu but that will come later on our next visit. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This place is Great. Good is terrific an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

This place is Great. Good is terrific and the wait staff is always friendly and top notch. We done there often and it's always great

Highly recommend you give it a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat 40 minutes before we were even offer ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Sat 40 minutes before we were even offered water. It was not busy. Lamb chops poorly cut, tasteless, tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

New ownership? Why fix something if it's not broke

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

We go here 3 to 6 times a year for past 7 to 8 years, the food was always very good. However our last visit was very disappointing. The flat bread with confit duck was ok, when I think of confit duck I see pulled duck legs not diced breast and the dough doesn't taste the same. The Caesar salad was not a Caesar salad, great presentation horrible execution ( sorry) no garlic crouton, no lemon, no grated cheese and endive over romaine ? Caesar shouldn't even be mentioned in this salads description. Our entrees were slightly above average for a chain restaurant but for the Tuscan inn it was way below average.. Seafood risotto was warm, shrimp over cooked and served with tails on? Pasta with meat sauce was the best of all 4 but it's pasta with meat sauce. Pork was raw and was sent back when it came back it ok, sea bass with risotto was ok. The chocolate cake was a joke? It was stale brownie . The chef needs to pay more attention to cooking details then what type of plate the average food is going on.

Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.