Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (224)
Fun (173)
People Watching (168)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (167)
Hot Spot (166)
Good for a Date (149)
Neighborhood Gem (135)
Creative Cuisine (135)
Special Occasion (131)
Happy Hour (127)
Bar Seating (124)
Good for Birthdays (117)
Casual (113)
Good for Groups (106)
Good for Anniversaries (97)
Fit for Foodies (95)
Handcrafted Cocktails (94)
Romantic (88)
Comfort Food (82)
Modern Decor (65)
Great for Brunch (61)
Worth the Drive (57)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Cozy (41)
Tapas (37)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Local Ingredients (34)
Authentic (32)
Healthy (31)
Business Meals (29)
Live Music (29)
Late-night Find (27)
Great for Lunch (26)
Notable Wine List (20)
Seasonal (20)
Quick Bite (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Scenic View (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Spicy (15)
Organic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Historic (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Vegan (9)
Disabled Access (9)
Fireplace (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Family Style (6)
Great Beer (5)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Brunch at Tropicale is an experience. Good to great food, fun and festive drinks, excellent service! A fun place - make sure you call in advance for reservations for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Tropical is a fantastic Sunday brunch destination. Food was wonderful. Service was fantastic. I would go every Sunday if only I could.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding brunch in all respects. One of the best restaurants in the desert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

It's always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

As always, great food and great service. There were eight of us and we were treated royally. We all commented on good the food was (brunch), how nice and pleasant the restaurant is and how the service is consistently good. We continue to go back and introduce new friends.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

What a great place for brunch , bottomless prosecco add to a fun experience

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service, Love the Brunch at Tropicale its excellent. The outside is very nice . The food so great for Dinner stick too Brunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant for bachelorette dinner. It was a lively and fun ambiance with a diverse menu that had something for everyone in our group. The price point was very reasonable for the area. Definitely recommend for groups!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere and cocktails, mediocre food, TERRIBLE service. My wife and I were visiting Palm Springs for our wedding anniversary, and on the recommendation of a friend, we made a dinner reservation at Tropicale. When we walked in, we had high hopes. We left very disappointed. I had let them know ahead of time that this was a special occasion, and when we arrived, the hostess let us know she was working on putting together a "special table" for us. When it was ready, we were led to one of two (2) tops that was nestled amongst 3 large parties (bachelorette). This would have been fine, but the waiter was just terrible. It took nearly 10 minutes for us to be acknowledged, and each subsequent step of the way for the rest of the evening got worse and worse, culminating with me needing to go find the server to sign for my check! The food was not great, one of our 2 entrees (Mahi Mahi) was overcooked.

This is probably only the 2nd review I've ever felt the need to write after visiting a restaurant, but I feel compelled to let others know so that they may be spared of the experience we had here. Save your money and time and pick a different spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place for a night out! The food is great and the ambiance is lovely.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Exceptional service, great fun atmosphere. The dinners we ordered were outstanding. This is always a wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

We absolutely loved the experience, food and ambiance. Can't wait to go back. Worth the 40 minute drive.
If we had to say anything negative, we all wondered why the restrooms are so dark....made all of us wonder "what are we not seeing".

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

Probably the best pizza in Palm Springs..... Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food again. This week we just had a couple appetizers tried the new nachos they were good.

As always Mikey and Chris took care of great service, food, drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Superb experience . A must to visit when you come to Palm Springs

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Tropicale is always a good time with friends -- great drinks, good food and friendly service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Just an evening with my husband before the show at COPA...wonderful!!! The special mahi mahi was DELICIOUS!!! Sat by the fountain...perfect...AGAIN!!! Love this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We requested outdoor seating and got it... the service was great and my swordfish was tasty... we didn't have appetizers nor any dessert

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, a diamond in the desert. Consistently a go-to place but always with a surprise menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Tropicale is a great bar scene with a nice food menu. The restaurant is also nice, but service is often spotty. Decor is great and a nice place to gather with friends. Outdoor dining is also very nice. Although not a regular restaurant of ours, it is on the list.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We're frequent diners at Tropicale and almost always order small plate menu items and share.
The Jack Daniels ribs, large fried shrimp and Moroccan meatballs are awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 15, 2017

There is are many reasons Tropicale remains such a popular, "go to" restaurant in Palm Springs -- wonderful ambiance and decor, excellent food, attentive service, a great bar scene and an all-around fun place for dining! If you're visiting town, be sure to include Tropicale among the restaurants you visit.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding!!! A great place for all occasions! I will be back when I'm in town!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time for brunch on Mothers Day. As always the food was great shrimp tacos, pizza, and hoagie sandwich was perfect.

The rose given to all Mothers was very nice.

We are weekly diners and would recommend Tropical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My favorite restaurant! Fried chicken is the best!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our evening was perfect, great food and love the ambiance!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First time here. Good service, huge portions, and the food was great. In a city that has a lot of options, this is one place to check out. I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a wonderful time... staff, service and good couldn't be better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

There is always a great crowd at the bars. I have never had a bad meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Another lovely evening in the outdoor seating area of Tropicale. Service is even and good. Good always consistent. Favorite local place

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was excellent, ambiance outside was wonderful! All the staff was friendly and on spot! Great cocktails, plenty of people watching! Food was fantastic, will go again next trip!!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Dinners were very good but dessert was ok and overpriced.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great menu choices with a small plate options if you are not really hungry.

Great service and beautiful patio experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Tropicale is a hip, well-designed restaurant with creative food and reliable service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We meet our friends out there every year when we visit and this is the must go to restaurant....in the past 4 years it is the only one that we have kept going to for its: food, service, ambience and overall experience. We love being out side if the weather is nice enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The Tropicale is so much fun, and full of excitement on weekends! Thanks for a great meal with great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The Tropical is our go to bar in Palm Springs! From the moment you walk in and are greeted by the fabulous hostess to the guys at the bar, the wait staff and everyone else, you're treated like your the best! Love this place!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I enjoy their breakfast / brunch more than any other meal. Food is great and patio is relaxing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We went here for a girls trip and were not disappointed! Mostly by the people watching and fun atmosphere. The food was pretty good, but expensive for what we got. Pupu platter at $26 had not as much food as I was imagining. The chicken thighs were the most disappointing part of the meal, just lacked imagination and was bla. The salmon bowl was very fresh and the veggies and black rice delish. Fried catfish was also pretty good too. My favorite part of the meal was the coconut pie! And we all enjoyed our fruity cocktails too...

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fun, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.