About The Tropicale

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: 3238239632x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

Restaurant Photos

The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (190)
Hot Spot (151)
Vibrant Bar Scene (144)
See All
Special Occasion (138)
Good for Groups (127)
Fit for Foodies (125)
Neighborhood Gem (118)
Romantic (91)
Great for Brunch (85)
Late-night Find (37)
Great for Lunch (35)
Notable Wine List (22)
Scenic View (14)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great restaurant for any occasion. Only ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant for any occasion. Only drawback at all is the bread which is very salty and despite pleas to get them to add a different style of rolls or bread they won't do it. Otherwise, it's a fun place to go with good food and an excellent bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We had a fantastic Sunday brunch here. O ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fantastic Sunday brunch here. Our server, Lori was spectacular. The food was delicious and you can't beat the $12 bottomless sparkling mimosas!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Tropicale. It's a staple in PS. G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love Tropicale. It's a staple in PS. Great outdoor patio and always a good atmosphere and friendly staff.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale was spectacular! The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tropicale was spectacular! The food was terrific, the service was exactly what you want...attentive without being creepy, great knowledge of the food and drinks, fun and interactive with the table. The patio is amazing even in the heat of summer, the fans and misters made it refreshing and fun.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale is one of my favorite special ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tropicale is one of my favorite special occasion local places to go. Nice outdoor patio/bar area and nice retro/60's/Miami Beachy atmosphere. Good for happy hour too. Happy hour prices are OK but dinner menu is pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated right on time. The place ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated right on time. The place was busy for Palm Springs, off-season, in the middle of August when it was very hot. We chose the patio over waiting a few minutes for a table inside. The misters were doing their job and the warm evening (in the high 90s) seemed to be forgotten as it was perfectly comfortable. The service was great (as usual) and the food was first-rate given the prices. For the first time I tried a veggie burger (one of the specials that night) and it was absolutely outstanding. The bun was like butter soft, the patties were just firm enough to make it work as a "burger" sandwich. Add the melted cheese and outstanding fries and you couldn't go wrong. My friends all enjoyed their meals - Korean beef salad and the (always good) chicken cob salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful vibe and food. One comment if ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful vibe and food. One comment if ls that the prices could/should be a tad lower. Great outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Tropicale is a favorite, and it's always ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Tropicale is a favorite, and it's always good. Our servince this (very busy) night was not as good as usual, but Tropicale always enchants.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The noise level was pretty high - would ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

The noise level was pretty high - would go back for brunch and be there early

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The drinks here usually surpass the food ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The drinks here usually surpass the food. This occasion was no different. They do pour a fabulous drink but at a premium price. Food always ok.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Sunday nights are the best at Tropicale! ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Sunday nights are the best at Tropicale! It's a party every week and the sushi rocks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great place to have dinner or b ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Always a great place to have dinner or brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another fabulous Sunday brunch at Tropic ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another fabulous Sunday brunch at Tropicale. The food and service was outstanding. Thank you Jose - one of the best servers. Tropicale has the best brunch in the Desert and I'm looking forward to cooler weather so we can enjoy sitting on the patio. I highly recommend Tropicale for brunch or dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tropicale is our favorite place to go in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Tropicale is our favorite place to go in Palm Springs. The food and service is 5 star. For a lite dinner we usually order from the happy hour(s) menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale is a great find. We have lived ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Tropicale is a great find. We have lived in Palm Springs since June, had our first visit to Tropicale in late July and have been back five times: a Sunday Brunch, a Saturday brunch, two cocktail hours, and an al fresco dinner on the patio. Excellent food, great ambiance both inside and out, and good-to-excellent service.They go out of their way to meet the social needs of their clientele whether it is live entertainment, drink specials, special nights, etc.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything stood out was a phenomenal ex ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything stood out was a phenomenal experience.. most definitely a returning customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is fine except the service: t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything is fine except the service: the next dish is served before you finished the first one, and the servers try to remove your plates before you are done with food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

As always a great dinner! Service, drink ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always a great dinner! Service, drinks and food quality that you always can count on.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, The Tropicale was a great din ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

As always, The Tropicale was a great dining experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, attentive, and courte ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service, attentive, and courteous. We went to dinner here 2 days in a row because we wanted to try other things on the menu. We had the same waiter and he amazingly remembered our drink order. Reasonably priced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though it was a very busy Friday ni ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Even though it was a very busy Friday night, the service was fabulous, as was the food! Everyone was very professional, smiling, and friendly. One got the impression that this is a great place to work. We were especially impressed with how quickly everything came out! Very enjoyable evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent. We were seate ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was excellent. We were seated immediately upon arrival. The server was very informative and patient. All dishes were good (pizzas were great-- fried chicken was good). I had a balsamic glazed Cornish hen-- good but a bit heavy on salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A restaurant mostly for happy hour with ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A restaurant mostly for happy hour with a bite to eat. Patio is great but just too warm for the Summer months. The cocktails were wonderful. The food was so-so. We had a Pupu Platter. It was OK. Nothing memorable though and the beef skewers did not seem fresh. They smelled a little. The busboy, after asking us why we did not finish the last skewer, would not take our criticism lightly. He replied on the spot "Everything is FRESH here!" That was awkward to say the least. Toscan Cornish Hen and Pork dish were just OK. Nothing great. We hardly eat half. Observing other tables, I could notice the same. People would eat only half.

Basically a place to unwind with cocktails and a bite to eat. We saw people leaving on the edge of being 'drunk'. The Peach Pie with vanilla ice cream was delicious. The best of all the things we tried there. Service was great and attentive. Busboys seemed very stressed and tensed. Never smiling. Overall, great for cocktails and not so much for the food. Which is probably why during Happy Hour it was full capacity and right after Happy Hour the restaurant was almost empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant. Their weekly specials ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great restaurant. Their weekly specials are always terrific. Outstanding service with Lori!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great, service with a smil ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place is great, service with a smile and good food indoor and outside bar, just great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If I don't eat there at least several ti ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

If I don't eat there at least several times a month then I feel deprived! One of the best in Palm Springs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love Tropical, it's a must go to place ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I love Tropical, it's a must go to place when I'm in Palm Springs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud. I couldn't hear the music the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Too loud. I couldn't hear the music they were playing. The seating was way too close together. I could hear everyone's conversation and a lot of it was vulgar. The edamame was too salty I asked for a replacement and was given attitude about it because the manager wouldn't want to deduct it from my tab. I had eaten almost half of it, the waiter said. I said the middle part was saturated in salt and I had to scrape it off with my fingers. He brought me unsalted edamame but threw in that he had to sweet talk the chef to do that. Thanks. This place is much too expensive for the food. It was mediocre. Also, there were many drunk young ladies sitting around outside. Wouldn't let us get by so I had to push myself through. They were sitting on the floor right outside the door. Not coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Be ware. I had my wallet stolen tight of ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Be ware. I had my wallet stolen tight off the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

My husband and I had a very nice experie ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I had a very nice experience at the restaurant for it being our first time in Palm Springs. I definitely recommend this restaurant. The food was great and so was the service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a new friend for dinner...our FAVOR ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Took a new friend for dinner...our FAVORITE place here (we live in PS)...ALWAYS great food and ambiance...treated like friends (which we feel we are!!) by everyone. Robert was our server this time and, as usual, we enjoyed our evening (thank you!!)...probably eat here once a week (at least) and love bringing friends and family...as well as the two of us just having a meal "with friends"...NO better place...anywhere...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A few of our gusts had experience The Tr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A few of our gusts had experience The Tropicale and so we decided to go there for a friends Birthday - we weren't disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food huge portions. Great service. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food huge portions. Great service. Great cocktails. A fun place to eat. It was hot outside but the courtyard was lovely.

Tags: Group Bookings, Outdoor Eating, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST BRUNCH EVER. Love this place! Exc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

BEST BRUNCH EVER. Love this place! Excellent service, delicious food, and a great ambiance inside or out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall , always busy s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great experience overall , always busy so get a reservation. Great drinks and fantastic food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun date night. Enjoyed the meal and se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fun date night. Enjoyed the meal and service. We love your restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is great. Ambience excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Restaurant is great. Ambience excellent, food great, amazing drinks. Our only complaint was that we were a party of 12 and we were sat in a large booth for ten people. We were really uncomfortable and squished together. When I asked for a new table, I was told that we could only be out outside in the really warm weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love The Tropicale, one of the best r ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love The Tropicale, one of the best restaurants in Palm Springs!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. As always, the food and service was awesome. It's a great place to take friends especially out-of-towners. Everyone has a positive experience of Tropicale and Palm Springs after dining there. Looking forward to the next brunch and dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tropicale is always great food, great se ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Tropicale is always great food, great service, great drinks and great atmosphere. Never had even a moment of anything that wasn't excellent. Customer service is very important and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.