About The Tropicale

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: 3238239632x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

Restaurant Photos

The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (221)
hot spot (173)
vibrant bar scene (172)
See All
special occasion (150)
good for groups (148)
fit for foodies (143)
neighborhood gem (134)
romantic (96)
great for brunch (93)
great for lunch (42)
late-night find (40)
notable wine list (25)
scenic view (23)
kid-friendly (11)
Sort By:
Newest
2482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A few of our gusts had experience The Tr ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 4 days ago

A few of our gusts had experience The Tropicale and so we decided to go there for a friends Birthday - we weren't disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food huge portions. Great service. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food huge portions. Great service. Great cocktails. A fun place to eat. It was hot outside but the courtyard was lovely.

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BEST BRUNCH EVER. Love this place! Exc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

BEST BRUNCH EVER. Love this place! Excellent service, delicious food, and a great ambiance inside or out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience overall , always busy s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great experience overall , always busy so get a reservation. Great drinks and fantastic food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun date night. Enjoyed the meal and se ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fun date night. Enjoyed the meal and service. We love your restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is great. Ambience excellent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Restaurant is great. Ambience excellent, food great, amazing drinks. Our only complaint was that we were a party of 12 and we were sat in a large booth for ten people. We were really uncomfortable and squished together. When I asked for a new table, I was told that we could only be out outside in the really warm weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love The Tropicale, one of the best r ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We love The Tropicale, one of the best restaurants in Palm Springs!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. As always, the food and service was awesome. It's a great place to take friends especially out-of-towners. Everyone has a positive experience of Tropicale and Palm Springs after dining there. Looking forward to the next brunch and dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tropicale is always great food, great se ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Tropicale is always great food, great service, great drinks and great atmosphere. Never had even a moment of anything that wasn't excellent. Customer service is very important and it shows.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great but the service was e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was great but the service was even better. Definitely recommend checking this place out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to dine, love the booths. Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place to dine, love the booths. Food is good, lots of choices. One of the hostesses was rude and seemed really overwhelmed. I go back every time I'm in Palm Springs.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We were disappointed with the service. A ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were disappointed with the service. Although we arrived early for our 7 pm reservation, they weren't able to seat us until after 7:30 pm. What was the point of making a reservation? The food was just ok, we've been to many other restaurants in the same price range that we felt were far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A consistently great restaurant. Wheneve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A consistently great restaurant. Whenever I'm in Palm Springs I make a reservation.

The bbq chicken pizza, fried chicken and salmon bowl are delicious.

I enjoy the experience every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food... good prices.... excellent ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food... good prices.... excellent Happy Hour.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall good Resturant! Service needs im ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall good Resturant! Service needs improvement from waiters not their support staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great food! Excellent service!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great food! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drinks are overpriced for what ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and drinks are overpriced for what you get . Open Table order was made, but when we checked in, we were told that since it was made the same day, they couldn't give us an inside table which made no sense. Waiter was slow and seemed rushed to take our order. One of us ordered the Pu Pu platter which was very cold (most items should have been heated) when we got it and the waiter never bothered to check up on us. We had to ask the hostess to get another platter that was heated. For $26 you think they would get it right. ...not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overall this was a great visit, we had 7 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall this was a great visit, we had 7 in our party and our food service was a little delayed would have preferred everyone receive their meals at the same time, and cocktails were a little slow as well...BUT this is probably one of the best dinning places in PS and have had dinner and brunch here a lot !!!! Overall 5 stars -and really the small delay was not that big of a deal but I'm super picky so that's all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites! Great for dinner. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

One of my favorites! Great for dinner. Also has one of my favorite happy hours!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Discovered this restaurant on yelp. What ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Discovered this restaurant on yelp. What a lucky choice. The food beyond delicious. Portions are large. Every thing wonderful. Large variety of dishes on the menu, but not overwhelming. Can't wait go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place continues to be our favourite ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This place continues to be our favourite. The server let us and Tropicale down, but it didn't ruin the experience once we ascertained the problem. Loved the sea bass, the tender chicken strips and the lobster wedge. Delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Tropicale is one of our favorite regular ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Tropicale is one of our favorite regulars. The menu is diverse and there are often tempting specials printed out and easy to peruse. I can always find a featured wine by the glass to enjoy.

We have or very favorite dishes such as the Miso grilled salmon bowl with vegetables on black rice, and the fabulous lamb meatballs with taboule and pita, but there are also new and interesting dishes to enjoy each visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great time. The food and servic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had a great time. The food and service were fantastic. Be sure to try the desserts! They are the best I've ever had. The Mike High Chocolate cake was to die for and the peach pie and rice pudding creme brûlée were delicious. We'll definitely return the next time we're in Palm Springs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome retro decor, romantic yet energe ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Awesome retro decor, romantic yet energetic vibe, and amazingly unique dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! So glad we went, my husband ch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved it! So glad we went, my husband choose it. I had the iceberg lobster wedge with green goddess dressing, It was delicious! Also the jumbo shrimp cocktail, beautifully prepared and also delicious. My husband had the pork chop and he was very happy.

My drink was a blood orange, grapefruit martini with a salted rim. Loved it, not sweet.

Our server Lisa explained the menue in detail... She knows her stuff...lovely.

We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a good experience at this ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We always have a good experience at this restaurant. Sitting outside in the warm evening with the fans and misters going is so much fun. There is great energy at this restaurant, the wait staff is attentive, and the food never disappoints. Each time we visit Palm Springs, we always make it a point to visit this restaurant, sometimes more than once.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, ambiance, cocktails a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent service, ambiance, cocktails and cuisine. The entree salads are phenomenal. The onion rings are top notch and make for a nice shared starter. I'll skip the spaghetti and meatballs next time, but everything else I've had here is among the best in the city. And lots of eye-candy among staff and clientele to keep things interesting outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

went for my birthday with the whole fami ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

went for my birthday with the whole family, everything was great, love this place especially the staff

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday brunch for my mother.. Food was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Birthday brunch for my mother.. Food was excellent and the our server was also outstanding! Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The back patio is the perfect place for ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The back patio is the perfect place for brunch in Palm Springs. The food is delicious, the back ground has the best ambiance, and the background music provides a fun, but relaxed, mood.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my third time here, and three st ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This is my third time here, and three strikes, your out. There is one good thing about this place: It's Happening! The food is mediocre, but the management is a disaster. Just look on Yelp (which we should have) to find every bad reviewer getting verbally attacked by the owner.

In a nutshell, 5 of us went for dinner. We made a reservation for 9pm the day before on OpenTable. We go there before 9pm and checked in. We were told 5 minutes as our table was just waiting on the previous guests leaving (why are we waiting on a single table? I have no idea). 45 minutes later and complaining 3 times, we are seated. The service was slow (20 minutes to get our first drink). The food was SALTY!! Every dish. And when we asked for the check at 11:30pm, it took the waiter another 10 minutes - even though the place was almost empty by then. (Turns out he was eating his dinner).

With dozens of amazing places to go in Palm Springs, avoid this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a great dinner with 6 friends one co ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had a great dinner with 6 friends one couple celebrating 16 years of marriage.

Food was great the country fried chicken was the hit of the night.

Drinks were made to order the staff is always accommodating, friendly, helpful

We come here often when in town would high recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The Arctic Char (which our waiter said i ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The Arctic Char (which our waiter said is like a blend of salmon and trout) was delicious. I would rather have had grilled asparagus instead of pickled asparagus. The bread was tasty, but should have been brought to the table sooner--with the water. The meal didn't take long to come out to the table after we ordered, which was nice. We were going to get dessert, but with ONE slice of pie costing $14-16, we felt that was outrageously priced so we went elsewhere for dessert afterwards. Prices here are definitely above average. You are mostly paying for the name here. I highly recommend reservations because they are quite busy.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic, as always. Great service and ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fantastic, as always. Great service and fun is wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience and ambience. Take t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Amazing experience and ambience. Take the time to find time for this place. Wonderful food and wonderful atmosphere and service that is incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We very much enjoyed brunch. Great loca ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We very much enjoyed brunch. Great location and food. Taylor was our waiter and was very pleasent . Will be back soon

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They have Paella now - - - who knew- - - ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

They have Paella now - - - who knew- - - great meal and great ambiance

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food. Highly recommen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service and food. Highly recommend the calamari appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE Tropical and my friend from Thousa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

LOVE Tropical and my friend from Thousand Oaks insists on going there every time she comes to visit me. LOVE your small plates.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.