Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (173)
Vibrant Bar Scene (132)
Fun (125)
See All
Hot Spot (124)
Special Occasion (118)
People Watching (117)
Good for a Date (111)
Bar Seating (109)
Creative Cuisine (106)
Neighborhood Gem (101)
Happy Hour (97)
Good for Birthdays (95)
Good for Anniversaries (86)
Casual (82)
Good for Groups (76)
Romantic (73)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Comfort Food (67)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Modern Decor (57)
Great for Brunch (51)
Worth the Drive (47)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Cozy (33)
Authentic (31)
Tapas (29)
Business Meals (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Live Music (23)
Late-night Find (23)
Healthy (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Seasonal (21)
Outstanding Value (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Organic (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Spicy (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Historic (12)
Scenic View (11)
Vegan (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Fireplace (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Family Style (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Felt very crammed and touristy.

Two of the kids orders were done incorrectly, and thusly the children did not eat their dinner, as server neither offered to re-make it,or take it off the bill. Cesar salad was very basic, beet salad was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the vibe at Tropicale, so glad I made reservations with Open Table, even though it was a weekday the place was very, very busy. Our good friend from out of town really enjoyed it.
Service was excellent, great selection on the menu. My favorite is the fried chicken on waffles, but ordered PO PO which is the small plate sampler and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed our dinner - took elderly parents and sat outside where it was quieter. There was some confusion when taken to our table as it wasn't set up for 4 - the host got a little upset with the server, but they got it straightened out and we had a lovely table. Everyone else enjoyed their food, mine (a skirt steak kabob) was horrible. Couldn't get it off the skewer, even the server couldn't! It was tough and basically inedible. But they did take it off the bill.
All in all, we had a fun time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything here is great..... My only complaint is that they try to rush yu because they want to a fast turn around.......... i wouldn't recommend this place for a leisurely evening.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Really just . Okay. Food fair to poor. Fish cakes prob made in am and reheated at nite, awful. Server pleasant. Drinks, mostly ice Nd some flavoring. Not an enjoyable eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

We come here every year. It absolutely is one of the best restaurants in Palm Springs. Great value, food, and service. The martinis are also five star!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Another awesome Sunday brunch on the patio on a perfect Palm Springs early afternoon. Food and service was outstanding as always. Looking forward to our next Tropicale brunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfect as usual our go to place when ever we have out of town guests

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Parking was a problem
Bugs were bad from 6pm to 7 outside
Food was good and service good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time in two weeks and we loved the food and atmosphere. Easy to find and very helpful and friendly staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

I've had a good experience here with a patio table, and a not too good at an inside table, simply too loud inside, service was very good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Once again for dinner with close friends!!! Wonderfully cared for and welcomed always, NEVER disappointed with ambiance, food, service or just plain friendliness! Inside or on patio has its own special feel and we love both...as well as sushi on Sundays...a VERY special day for me...but there are other choices for those who wish!! This is such a successful restaurant because everyone feels special...guests AND staff...and they are!! Our favorite, rest assured...we frequent it often for good reasons...and we live here!!!

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

This visit we each had a pizza they were all really good.

All the food is done well, we never have a bad meal, the service is great, friendly fun.

Great place to eat on the patio.

We come at least once a week, will keep coming back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always stipulate on your open table reservation request your preference for patio or indoor seating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food and service were great. Started out poorly with seating and wait time but ended very nicely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Our waiter Sean and our bus boy took very good care of us. My partner and our guests really enjoyed their meals, but I was not all that impressed with mine.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not the best experience this time around. Food and ambience were great. Waiter and overall service was disappointing this visit. Everything was very rushed. Appetizers came and then the salads came right after, leaving no time to enjoy the appetizers first. Waiter got a bit snarky when we asked for them to delay our entrees so we could catch up in our eating. Still love the place, but the service folks need to slow down a bit with everything. Plates got wisked away as soon as the cutlery was put down. We felt very rushed throughout the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We stopped by this time since it was a rough day.

We had the happy hour menu everything is great, this evening we had the house salad, spring roles, and pizza.

Everything is prepared perfectly and always a great meal. We will be back and highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not impressed. The portions were large but the food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This place is a must do for Palm Springs! They never disappoint and their staff is A+++! LOVE the patio. It's our go to for all guests!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Food was excellent. We were in town for the BNP Paribus tournament and dined there Saturday night. it was extremely busy but we were seated immediately (had reservation). Staff is energetic and very professional. We liked it so much we came back on Tuesday night.

Tags: Live Music, Late-night Find, Fun, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

As always, the food was excellent. it's hard to find a better restaurant in Palm Springs.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The atmosphere is really fun and the service is very attentive. I ordered their Zatar dusted
steak. I should have sent it back as I couldn't even cut it. My husband had the Tuna Poke special. He said it was very good. My son has the Brie Burger. It was served luke warm. I am sad to write a mediocre review. If I had had the "guts" to send my steak back- I believe this review would have been more positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A great California restaurant. Just what you'd expect. Great food. Great ambiance. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food is always consistently good, the cocktails generous, and the atmosphere loads of fun. The outside space is my favorite.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This continues to be one of our favorites in Palm Springs. The back patio is tropical and fun. The service was very good. The food is different and tasty. My only complaint is the host/hostess. The two talk to each other and ignore customers as they entered. They did the same thing last time we were here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

I hadn't been to Tropicale for a while due to mixed experience with the food preparation, but I decided to try it again. The service and ambiance have always been above average.

I ordered one of the specials, a gourmet burger. I asked that it be cooked Medium. It was delivered to me with a flag indicating medium, but it was actually well done. I decided not to send it back, because that would have delayed my dining companions. There are far better burgers in Palm Springs for 1/3 of the price. At the prices they are asking, the food should be prepared to perfection. It is not. In the past, I have gotten pork chops that were overcooked to the point that there was no juiciness at all.

They either need a new chef or better supervision in the kitchen. I will not be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Tropicale is a very good pick for a fun night out. Vibrant atmosphere, cool Palm Springs vibe, good to great food & drinks. Recommended.

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Never disappointed here. This is our "go to" place to take friends and visitors for the best Sunday Brunch. The Tropicale Bloody Mary is a meal in itself and the various Benedicts (my husbands favourite is the Filet) are fantastic. Although the desert abounds with great restaurants this one is always consistently fantastic and that is not always the case elsewhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our dinner at Tropicale was a wonderful experience. The food was delicious and the ambience was reminiscent of Old Palm Springs. We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful service and delicious food. Always a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

good food, lovely atmosphere. feels like classic Palm Springs with a wealthy edge.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Organic, Family Style, Authentic, Wood Oven, Cozy, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Vegan, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I loved the creative cocktails. The ginger martini was one of the best renditions I've had. We ordered the fried chicken and a salad with walnuts and Gorgonzola. My husband said the chicken was great and the greens exceptional. I had a taste of his meal and thought it was to salty. Very limited choices for vegetarians. I would like to see a creative main dish that was vegan for those of us who don't eat a lot of meat or none at all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This time we had the pizza and the wedge salad they were great as always you can't go wrong with anything on the menu.

We come to Tropical at least once a week. Would highly recommend, great waiter Shaun W. , Chris and Mike behind the bar are great

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved everything! Ambiance was fun. Mixed crowd of all lifestyles. Drinks and food were fantastic. Service was excellent. My husband and I will definitely go back next time we're in Palm Springs. High recommendation.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was a fun evening. Delicious food, great ambience and service.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were indoors, which was a disappointment. Very crowded. Felt like we were sharing the table with two other couples.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Fabulous, as always. We love the patio. Service, food, ambiance always a delight. We meet friends there at least once a week.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This is what Palm Springs is all about! Everyone having a great time together, fresh and flavorful food you don't find in other places. Always served by people who love to make sure you are enjoying the experience. The one place to go to experience Palm Springs at its best.
Thank you, Tropicale, or maintaining your momentum.

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.