Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (216)
Fun (173)
People Watching (169)
See All
Hot Spot (162)
Vibrant Bar Scene (156)
Good for a Date (145)
Neighborhood Gem (138)
Bar Seating (135)
Special Occasion (134)
Happy Hour (129)
Creative Cuisine (126)
Good for Birthdays (116)
Good for Groups (108)
Casual (108)
Handcrafted Cocktails (103)
Fit for Foodies (103)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Romantic (79)
Comfort Food (75)
Worth the Drive (62)
Great for Brunch (61)
Modern Decor (46)
Sunday Lunch (44)
Tapas (41)
Cozy (38)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Authentic (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Healthy (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Business Meals (30)
Late-night Find (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Seasonal (23)
Live Music (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Quick Bite (19)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Organic (16)
Scenic View (15)
Spicy (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Vegan (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Historic (8)
Great Beer (7)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Fireplace (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (0)
Sort By:
S
3382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Excellent meal. Loved the seasonal chile relleno dish. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated a combination Birthday and Father's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

I celebrated my 30th birthday at Tropical on Sunday the 18th of June. The atmosphere is very retro-Palm Springs and I appreciated the interesting style. The martini's at the bar were delicious and very high quality. The strawberry watermelon one tasted just like a Jolly Rancher!

The Firecracker Shrimp appetizer was phenomenal and is highly recommended! I enjoyed their Sunday Sushi option and ordered the Volcano roll. Tropicale has a very extensive menu so there is something for everyone!

I was given a little dessert with a candle at the end of the meal for my birthday. It was very thoughtful of the server/host to accommodate this. The staff were very kind and eager to assist.

I recommend Tropicale, its food and atmosphere. I would also return the next time I am in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Tropicale several times-one of our favorite places to dine in PS. Typically great service and usually great food.

We were there on Fathers Day at 7:00. Service was mediocre at best and I ordered a salad for my main course. It was awful. I would have sent it back but our server didn't return to our table until after the rest of my party had finished. Then I said something to him and nothing was done to compensate for the horrible salad.

Not great for customer service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

The Tropicale is one of our favorite restaurants in Palm Springs. The food and service are reliably good. The place has a fun vibe and we recommend it to friends and visitors.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, People Watching, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Always good food at reasonable pricing, service is attentive but not overbearing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

A fun place with a solid, island vibe. Attentive service, clever menu, and tasty dishes.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

I loved this restaurant! Ou server was great and the food was delicious. Great ambience too.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Tropical. The food and Service is great. And we love the hip crowd that hangs out there. Go there you will love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambience, romantic in the outdoor seating. Low noise level. People coming here are beautiful. Staff are very friendly from the receptionist, manager to waiters and bussers. They really take time to check on us if there's anything else we need. I don't have to call them for anything. Food are variety of every cuisine . This will be my restaurant to go to when in Palm Springs. Thank you Tropicsle staff, my hubby enjoyed our date night here.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best restaurants I've been to in a long time. Not only was service amazing the food was exceptional

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Hostess was amazing. So customer focused and attentive. Our waiter was also outstanding. Food, service and ambiance all were great but without great personal service, which we had, the rest would pale. Great job team Trop.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Been going here since it opened. Went for a wine-pairing dinner event. Food was excellent as was the wine. The place is crowded - and for good reason - wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

This week we had the catfish and the sea bass they were awesome.

Mikey at the bar took care of us all night, he made his "special" drink for our birthday boy (lol)

We are weekly dinners and you will not go wrong with anything on the menu.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, People Watching, Organic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect evening with great friends!
Fabulous food with excellent service. We will be back on our next trip to the desert!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Was visiting from Oregon and wanted to pick a spot that we could go to once we got in from our late flight to Palm Springs for my friends birthday.
We had picked a warm spell to go to Palm Springs - and when we got off the plane we were looking at 95 (from the 65 that we left in Portland).
We found the restaurant easily and were greeted warmly. We got to sit outside on their beautiful patio, with light strung and wonderful ambiance. Our waitress was endearing and very attentive. We had mojitos and shared an appetizer sampler that ended up being just enough food for the whole meal. Then we were surprised with a lovely complimentary birthday treat for my friend. It was a lovely lovely time!

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was eclectic creative and delicious, service was insanely fast
and friendly, prices were reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Tapas, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food, indoor and outdoor bars and a very nice outdoor dining area

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Great outdoor patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This was a GREAT dining experience! FUN atmosphere ... very upbeat ... knowledgeable wait staff ... fun people watching ... amazing food ... and the drinks were top notch... would def go back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 12, 2017

An absolutely great experience for a special evening -- all four of us really enjoyed! Creative menu, beautiful presentation, great service, plus lots of people-watching opportunities.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

First time and it was well worth it. The food was outstanding and the service was FANTASTIC! Shawn was our server and he is an asset to this restaurant! Impeccable service!
Love the TROPICALE!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We always love to sit on the patio and the food and service is always good. Great home made coffee cake!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great and fun

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Love this place. We have gone to dinner at the Tropicale each time we are in town. I will go back again.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The staff is amazing
The food is always fresh and tasty
The crowd is lively, friendly, and fun
The owners are amazingly friendly and customer focused
Hands down best spot in town for brunch, drinks and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service and food was top notch!!! Celebrated my friends bday. Had brunch with plenty of free flowing champagne. Will go back for sure!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This week we tried another selection from the Restaurant week menu we had the sticky rice bowl with chicken it was very good.

We have never had a bad mean here, we are weekly diners, we love Dan as our waiter when we sit at a table, Chris and Mikey take great care of us at the bar, the best bartenders in town.

We would highly recommend Tropical.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Spicy, Hot Spot, Vegan, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had such a great dining experience that we came back the next night. Wonderful ambience with the combo playing in the background. Great service and food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service here if beyond amazing, if I could give it more stars I would. From the outside it looks like a bar but when you walk in its elegance. All the food we had was full of flavor and the staff is wonderful. I will definitely come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

One of the best in the desert! Highly recommend. Restaurant week was awesome.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Best martinis! Came for restaurant week and look forward to trying other innovative items on the meni🤔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Another fabulous Sunday brunch at Tropicale. We brought a couple of our friends and they agreed it's the best brunch in Palm Springs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Cannot say enough about the service and food. Fantastic!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We enjoyed it. Been there many times and always great food. Had friends in town that I had promised to take them there the next time they visited, was sorry that I thought the restaurant week menu was a little weak compared to others at that price point.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Once again a great meal. Started off at the bar with Chris great drinks. Moved to our table inside where Mikey continued to serve up great drinks.

Dan is our new favorite waiter. Great service the restaurant week menu with crab tostada, the steak filet was perfectly cooked.

Great place highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great atmosphere, great selection, and can be relied upon to deliver a great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Organic, People Watching, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always a great evening at Tropicale . Always a great evening at Tropicale

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our weekly visit today we did the restaurant week special. The crab tostada was awesome, we never have a bad meal at Tropical.

Lynn at the front desk is wonderful always getting us our table, if we can't get a bar seat.

Chris and Mikey are wonderful bartenders always have our drinks ready and never disappoint us on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The Tropicale is definitely on the DO NOT MISS list if there is one!
Not only are the waitstaff fantastic, courteous and attentive the greeters/receptionist/managers/owners are all terribly attractive, sweethearts and professional.

From the moment you step in you are treated with great care and you can tell everyone loves working there by the smiles on their faces you can see and the whole light and bright feeling in the atmosphere!

The facility itself is beyond stunning!

Every dinning opportunity is a special one at The Tropicale!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Scenic View, People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.