About The Tropicale

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: 3238239632x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

Restaurant Photos

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
5 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Hot Spot
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (317)
vibrant bar scene (245)
hot spot (222)
See All
fit for foodies (200)
good for groups (196)
special occasion (186)
neighborhood gem (160)
romantic (123)
great for brunch (110)
great for lunch (56)
late-night find (54)
notable wine list (39)
scenic view (34)
kid-friendly (13)
Sort By:
Newest
2399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful patio. Never a bad experience ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful patio. Never a bad experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch in Palm Springs!

Dined 3 days ago

We were looking for a place for brunch that had bottomless mimosas and had good quality food at the same time. This place came up and proved to be just that. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience........ we enjoy ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great dining experience........ we enjoyed brunch for the first time at The Tropicale. Our waiter was extremely courteous and efficient as were his colleagues. A very nice selection of dishes for brunch and are selections were top notch. We sat outside and enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Went there for brunch Everyone loved foo ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Went there for brunch Everyone loved food but it was very crowded and the waiter had to be asked multiple times for things Go when it's not so busy

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service....exceptional.

Dined 3 days ago

Food hold up and is great and the service is exceptional. Refreshing to get good service, brings us back again and again. From hosts, to waiters, bartenders, busboys they are all on it and work as a team and it's appreciated

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Service - Great outdoor spot!

Dined 4 days ago

You can not go wrong with anything you order. The Poke appetizer and Skirt Steak entree are a must!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

the boneless fried chicken was amazing, ...

Dined 4 days ago

the boneless fried chicken was amazing, three of our party had it and loved it. The fourth person had the chicken salad which was huge with loads of chicken.

food1
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Tropical many times and i ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Tropical many times and it's a wonderful go to place when I have guests in town! It never disappoints!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been here several times and this ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

I have been here several times and this place never disappoints. Great place to bring first timers. Very Palm Springs in my opinion. The noise level is a little high but that just contributes to the ambience in my opinion. See is is always excellent and food rarely disappoints. Sit outside if you can and don't miss the Moroccan Meatballs appetizer. An absolute must have.

food4
ambience4
service5

Eclectic menu, great flavor, fun small p ...

Dined 6 days ago

Eclectic menu, great flavor, fun small plates. Excellent service staff

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine on the enchanting patio or in the j ...

Dined 7 days ago

Dine on the enchanting patio or in the jazzy bar setting - either is a treat. The menu options are creative and excellent - a cut above in both presentation and flavor combinations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came in with same-day reservation, got s ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Came in with same-day reservation, got seated in outdoor patio. Wait-staff were all very attentive even though there were several bachelorette parties. Tammy is a real kick as a server, a floor show on her own! Buttermilk chicken was incredible. The menu is a fusion of Asian and Southern flavors and offers a good selection of appetizers, salads & entrees. A little off the beaten path but definitely a unique and enjoyable place!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Salmon!!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food and a fun place. Highly Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I had excellent waiter service and food ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I had excellent waiter service and food was delivered without much of a wait. The ambience in the restaurant was superb. The other diners were very friendly which made my evening excellent. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience Love this place Friendl ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great experience Love this place Friendly people and great food

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Consistently average food offering. Pric ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Consistently average food offering. Pricey (in the twenties for chicken thighs on a salad). Just not the place it should be.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Very disappointing

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Usually great food , but not this time. The waiter was attentive to the bad smelling fish entree which was replaced with an inedible overcooked mushy pasta dish. We were there late so it was not busy . Just an off night....

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Our First Disappointment

Dined on May 11, 2016

We have been to Tropicale close to 20 times over the last three years. We have always found the atmosphere to be special and this night was no exception. The outdoor dining setting is perfect. So, too, we have always found the service to be a cut above, at a minimum, and this time was no exception. The food has occasionally been outstanding and has always been quite good, even though our two favorite items (ahi tuna tower and filet mignon steak) have inexplicably been off the menu for over a year, it seems. Tonight, our party of three were disappointed all the way around after our fabulous starter of New Zealand mussels. We had the brie burger, the blackened catfish special, and the crab cakes. The brie burger, which my burger connoisseur wife has thought of as tied for first as the best burger in the desert was disappointing. The catfish was too heavily breaded or fried and the bedding of cabbage and vegetables had a texture I did not care for and lacked in taste. The crab cakes were a tad on the dry side. We love coming here and will be back again soon. I just don't want this night to be repeated as far as the food is concerned.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent late night drink and share pla ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent late night drink and share plate situation at the bar on the patio

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Sushi

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Sunday night, time for sushi at Tropicale. Food is great, service is fun and perfect(Tammy) what's not to like. We love this place. See ya next week!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

So fun, atmosphere was lively and great ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

So fun, atmosphere was lively and great cocktails!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic late Mother's Day bru ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a fantastic late Mother's Day brunch. The patio was full, so we sat inside. I would prefer outdoor seating on a nice day, but the entire restaurant has a very cool "on vacation" vibe. Looking forward to returning soon!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Brunch in Palm Springs

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. Although it was Mother's Day and we are motherless, it was still a lot of fun. The staff treated mothers to a rose. The patio was packed but the service was still excellent. Thank you Taylor! We each ordered one of our favorites from the menu (shrimp tacos and salmon Caesar) with bottomless champagne. Will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delightful experience! Ate ther ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Always a delightful experience! Ate there with my son on Mother's Day… Love the patio especially at night! Lovely lighting... quaint inside. The food is always good. the service is always good .I live here in town so it's become one of my/our favorite places. 😊

food4
ambience5
service5

We went to Mother's Day brunch. We sat o ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Mother's Day brunch. We sat outside, shaded by many umbrellas. The temperature was perfect, the service was excellent and the food was very good. Tropicale is one of our favorite restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

I'd never been to Palm Springs and had looked at quite a few restaurants to take my mom for Mother's Day brunch. The Tropicale did not disappoint. The wait staff was friendly, the food and drinks were delicious (big portions), and the ambiance and decor are very cool. My mom even left with a rose at the end of our meal, which was unexpected and she was thrilled with. We both enjoyed our time and if I'm ever back in Palm Springs, this will be the first place I'll go for a meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Palm Springs

Dined on May 8, 2016

I live in La and whenever my husband and I visit Palm Springs for a weekender, we always dine at Tropicale. The outside looks pretty basic but once inside you feel like you stepped into the aet of mad men. The service is super friendly and on point. The food is phenomenal! Highly recommended!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was a total sweetheart!!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I wish I would have remembered teh waitress' name, she was very attentive and had that aura of making you feel as if you knew her and made you feel right at home. Her food recommendatiosn were great and she knew exactly how it was prepared and how it would taste.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great venue. Patio is the best seating o ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great venue. Patio is the best seating option but a bit cramped. Many tables and hard for their stage to maneuver around. But it works and the best waiter is Michael. Very polite and attentive. Made sure we were checked on often and asked if we would like more time I between checking back with us. Drinks are great. Food is good. Love it!

food4
ambience5
service4

Food is great! Fun people

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is great! Fun people

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful in every aspect!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were in Palm Springs for a long weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary and before our baby comes. We decided on the Tropicale for the tiki-style modern decor and ambiance. Plus, great reviews on their food. We showed up 45 minutes early for our reservation and they sat us straight away. Staff was super nice and accommodating. Our server was very friendly, knowledgable, and not afraid to give his opinion on the menu options (which is great as it was our first time there). The place was packed, and still our service was great! Complimentary dessert for our anniversary. My husband loved the jalepeno margartia. He ordered the Brie Burger and I got the Fried Chicken entree. Both were superb, as was the firecracker shrimp app. Would highly recommend!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Always great

Dined on May 7, 2016

One of my very favorite place in Palm Springs . I eat there overtime I'm in town Beautiful room . fun crowd , great patio . I even enjoy eating at the bar when I'm alone Food is good . Staff is friendly . Its more about the whole vibe than the food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything about this place was so nice. We sat outside and were a party of 5 with a 10-month-old baby. I was nervous about it maybe not being kid friendly, but I was wrong. Everyone who worked there was so nice and they sat us at a perfect table . Our waiter was the best, I wish I remembered his name. He recommended us to another restaurant for breakfast and it was amazing! I had the cucumber,watermelon margarita and it was the best! So refreshing. We all had a wonderful time here.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

This place was great! We sat outside and ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

This place was great! We sat outside and love every moment . The food was very good . Our waitress was good even though she was very busy. Loved the people watching too. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place has excellent drinks, friendl ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

This place has excellent drinks, friendly staff. It's good for small bites but also has big entrees.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tropicale has been consistent ever since it opened

Dined on May 5, 2016

This website question is unnecessarily complicated with "different" numbers of characters "allowed"! I would have written much more if it was "allowed" in the previous box!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as Ever!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We just continue to have fine times here, from server to table to meals to respect. It is our favourite restaurant in PS!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Our waiter made a few suggestions that were absolutely fabulous! I had the buttermilk fried chicken which was light and moist and delicious. I opted for different vegetables, which was easily accommodated. The portion was extremely generous and just as delicious the next day. My table mates ordered the salmon bowl and pork, both were said to be equally delicious. We had shared the calamari which was prepared in a unique sauce, light and very yummy! We sat outside and it was a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Tropical Evening

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This is a great restaurant and mainstay of Palm Springs, but, these days, some of the wait staff could use more training at being focused and more accurate with their descriptions of the entrees. However, this is a minor issue, and I still highly recommend Tropicale for any visit to Palm Springs. No visit would be complete without it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Finally, a place with good main course s ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Finally, a place with good main course salads!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.