Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (206)
Fun (153)
Vibrant Bar Scene (153)
See All
Hot Spot (144)
People Watching (142)
Good for a Date (133)
Special Occasion (132)
Creative Cuisine (123)
Happy Hour (122)
Bar Seating (119)
Neighborhood Gem (117)
Good for Birthdays (112)
Casual (103)
Good for Anniversaries (98)
Romantic (89)
Good for Groups (87)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Handcrafted Cocktails (78)
Comfort Food (76)
Modern Decor (62)
Great for Brunch (62)
Worth the Drive (55)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Cozy (37)
Tapas (36)
Live Music (30)
Business Meals (30)
Healthy (29)
Authentic (28)
Late-night Find (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Outstanding Value (22)
Seasonal (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Quick Bite (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Organic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Scenic View (13)
Spicy (13)
Historic (11)
Disabled Access (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Vegan (8)
Fireplace (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Family Style (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
3229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

As my 20year old nephew observed....they had more of a drink selection than food. I had the filet and it was OK but the polenta was a bit on the dry side. My partner had the spaghetti and liked it alot. The firecracker shrimp was good but nothing to write home about. .that said, it had great ambience and was a good place to take my nephew for a birthday dinner. We could hear each other allowi g us to catch up with one another. The waiter was attentive and friendly. I'll go back to enjoy their drinks and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

It was okay overall, but rowdy and rude table next to us ruined the evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

It is just a great reminder of the old style tropical dinner lounges where great food and atmosphere are both in abundance. Service is excellent, friendly and polite. The front desk was especially attentive when left to make sure we had a good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

This week we had the rice bowl with salmon and sea bass they were excellent very fresh

Cocktails were awesome as well, fun place everyone always takes good care of us.

Chris and Michael at the bar are the best, Lynn at the front desk is always getting us the perfect seats!!!

We go to Tropical at least once if not twice a week.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Tropicale the best service in PS!
Always a treat to go there.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

The host informed me that my table was not available and could seat me else where. I was taken back to a far corner of the non dining area which has happened before. I explained to the host this would not be acceptable as I specifically said I wanted the original reserved table. The location they tried to alter is an ongoing habit with hosts knowing it's the least desired of all clients. But they don't know if they don't try. I explained to them the best way to alter the reservation is to let the client know before hand what they can offer seating before taken all the way out to the location thus preventing wasted time and concern.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Tropicale never disappoints and the staff is very attentive!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Palm Springs. The patio is fantastic, the food is delicious, and the servers are great. Love this place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful Palm Springs night with wonderful food in an outdoor setting; as usual, the place was full of happy, engaged people.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We're giving up on the Tropicale. We've been going for five years and the food just seems to get worse. My Caesar salad dressing had a cloyingly sweetness, while my husband's spaghetti and meatballs suffered from tough, overcooked meatballs. Both dishes were practically inedible. Go for the bar scene, but don't expect a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the Tropicale! A must dining experience for out of town guests.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoy dinners in the courtyard patio when we have out of town guests. Food was very good last Tuesday, especially the miso salmon black rice bowl and the super calamari.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The ambiance of this place really can't be beat. The interior and live music is fabulous! The cocktails are pretty spot on and the food is generally good.(Love the firecracker shrimp) Our ceasar salad this visit, however, was oddly sweet and we couldn't finish it. The other salad we had was overdressed. We will be back for sure but will choose our menu items carefully.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The bacon in my shrimp and avocado salad was very sweet and mushy. It did not complement the meal. The service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was our favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. The happy hour was fabulous. We went there three nights out of our 5 nights in town. The outdoor dining is so pretty and the staff is amazing. Love.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We're long-time customers who just had their first dining experience on the patio. The food and service were totally fine - but the "shedding" tree in the courtyard lessened the enjoyment of dinner! When we were seated - there were dozens of small, yellow blossoms on the white tablecloth - first clue there would be a problem. But, we thought that it was the culmination of a days worth of blossoms - and not just a recent massive drop. We were wrong. We should have asked to be reseated - as the blossoms started falling as soon as we were seated. To make matters worse - there were small worms that were also falling from the tree or somewhere else nearby as one fell onto my plate. We're not prone to complaining - but rather vote with our pocketbooks when necessary. So, if you're not into having yellow blossoms fall into your drinks and/or food - you should think twice about having dinner on the patio at The Tropicale!

All that being said - the food was delicious. Two of us had the bone-in New York Steak and it was to die for. The flavors were wonderful and the steak, although a bit chewy was cooked to perfection. We'd definitely order the dish again without thinking twice!

The service was outstanding and our server helped get us through the falling blossoms issue with a few quick-witted comments that helped get us past the truly unpleasant experience of having falling debris drop onto our table and into our food and drinks. The worm, however, didn't make it to dessert!

Please don't think this is a super-critical review of The Tropicale - it isn't meant that way. We continue to go back - and we'll continue to go back (just not for patio dining) as the food, service, and ambiance are great. Just be forewarned of the hazards and unpleasantries of the tree with the beautiful yellow blossoms . . . . they're just not for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We looooved Tropicale! Our evening could not have been better - amazingly friendly and fabulous staff (bunny ears on Easter? Yes, please!), delish cocktails and the food was fantastic! The patio on a warm evening is heaven...we can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a fabulous brunch on Easter Sunday outside on the patio. We ordered two of our favorites from the menu (salmon caeser salad and the BLT). Both were delicious. The bottomless champagne kept flowing. Our server, Jose, was the best. My favorite brunch in Palm Springs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service! My favorite place in the desert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter-wonderful service and fabulous food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Friends had told me what a gem this place is and we weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and made us feel welcomed. The food server was friendly and professional but not over-bearing. He was knowledgeable about the menu and answered all of our questions. I have to say that the food was delicious and somehow stayed warm to the last bite. My opinion? Five stars in all areas. I will definitely go to Tropicale again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Tropicale is always good. Great atmosphere, great service and great food. I highly recommend the Cobb Salad, and the Small plates are wonderful for sharing as appetizers or as a light meal. Delicious pizzas. Indoors or outside, it is a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We brought our adult kids and grandchildren ages 10 and 12. Menu pleased all and food pacing, service, presentation and taste was great. Only complaint was my husband's tough duck special.
Appreciate full and replenished water too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food is amazing. I requested the patio & they accommodated it. The bussers were all great and quick. The only issue I had was that I could literally touch the table next to me without even trying. The patio is literally so packed, it's hard not to bump into someone as you make your way to the restroom. Lovely environment though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Incredible and we can't wait to go back. Very special

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service is always perfect and the staff is very helpful and knowledgeable regarding the menu. I love this place, and it's always constant with food and service. Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One word EXCELLENT
FOOD CALMARI BEST.
Salmon bowl delicious and worth the price
Drinks unique

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This visit was to celebrate new friends. We were originally going to sit at the bar however decided on a table, Lynn at the front desk took such great care of us she worked her magic within 15 min. she found us a table on the patio with are favorite waiter Robert.

We had the fried chicken, steak, and habitat, every thing was prepared so well, fresh severed on time, hot perfect meal.

We had drinks at the bar before sitting down and Chris took great care of us along with Michael they always make sure you have your drink and it's made to perfection, our guest were surprised by all the fresh ingredients that are used for the drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Organic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Healthy, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Tasty, eclectic menu. Loved our server. I liked the over all ambiance a lot. Very Palm Springs chic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

reliably good food, now with menu of the week.
derek on piano with his 3 piece combo can play anything- he
is there twice a week starting at 7 pm and can play
broadway, big band, 70s 80s 90s etc.
Great spot to go with friends/family/guests - the perfect way to
introduce friends to Palm Springs
locals come here often! You will not be disappointed

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 14, 2017

One of, if not my all-time favorite restaurants in Palm Springs.

Fried Chicken Salad my go to.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As we often do, we were showing friends how our favorite place to dine is so wonderful...this time to friends from India...we have know him 10 years but their first time to PS...and they loved everything about our evening at Tropicale...as we knew they would!!! Perfect patio table and great food (one even had the fried chicken..."typical" America food!!...and loved it!!). Thanks to perfect service, wonderful food and beautiful space, we totally enjoyed our evening...and knew we could not find a better place than Tropicale...as always, THANK YOU!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Major hostile attitude from the host at the desk when we ask if we could sit in the patio area. Cold and indifferent. Slow service and inside dining room is depressing. However, excellent food...so pick your poison !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had both brunch and a dinner at Tropicale and enjoyed both. We sat on the patio, which was lovely, but the vibe is a bit frenzied. Service was great, and food very inventive. The fried chicken salad was the best!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always great food, drink and ambiance. Go for a date, with friends or any excuse to go to Tropicale! Wednesday nights, happy hour all night. Clink

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had great drink and the food was good. This time, the service was disappointing. We were flung our meals - no one checked on us and we had to repeatedly ask for items. The servers acted like they were doing us the favor. I truly hope this review gets to the management

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Fun spot! It's very "desert" as the gentleman at the front door sipping a cocktail told me. ;)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

A must-go in Palm Springs. Beautiful outdoor dining, great food and drinks. Vibrant atmosphere. Need several visits to taste all the wonderful menu selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 11, 2017

For the first time in the 7 years I have eaten at Tropicale, the service was very bad. Our orders were not right, the waiter took forever to even stop at the table and then everything we ordered was wrong or cold. Not a good experience but 1 bad experience in 7 years isn't so bad. Hope they can get back on top of their game!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Waited 25 minutes to br seated, after making a special seating request online. Our table was still occupied, although evident by doggie bags, that the couple could be leaving momentarily. No such luck. Our guest went to the reception and they gave us a table that had not been claimed. At least we got settled in. From that point forward, all was great. A selection of tasty small plates, including calamari, Thai chicken satee, fried prawns and even pizza. Good solid wine list and a nice New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, excellent staff and service, and a shared sorbet desert. A good time was had by all. Next time, 6 PM reservations, especially when it's High Season! And Easter Week . . .

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.