Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (123)
Fun (111)
Good for a Date (108)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (104)
People Watching (100)
Bar Seating (95)
Special Occasion (95)
Happy Hour (92)
Good for Birthdays (91)
Vibrant Bar Scene (91)
Creative Cuisine (87)
Hot Spot (87)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for Groups (72)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Casual (68)
Handcrafted Cocktails (67)
Romantic (63)
Great for Brunch (62)
Sunday Lunch (43)
Comfort Food (42)
Authentic (41)
Business Meals (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Pre/post Theatre (37)
Healthy (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Cozy (28)
Tapas (28)
Late-night Find (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Live Music (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Gluten Free Options (20)
Spicy (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Organic (17)
Seasonal (16)
Paleo Friendly (15)
Quick Bite (15)
Live Sports (13)
Vegan (13)
Scenic View (9)
Great Beer (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Love this place !! Never disappoints and always look forward to coming back !!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

I love this place - - - It always has a great crowd - - - beautiful and trendy decor - - - and the food is good too !

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Was a lovely dinner celebrating the kickoff of my friends’ bachelorette weekend. Every aspect was outstanding, service was quick and not too overbearing. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

On our recent visit to Palm Springs, Tropicale was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. Superb service, beautiful decor, delicious food paired with great wine made for a great experience. So great, we ate there a second time on the visit. Great place, check it out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Again...with close friends...great food, service and welcoming! We continue to call Tropicale our second home...never disappointed in eight years! WE live here...very often dine with these friends making this restaurant MORE than just a “place”...we love everything about it...

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 3 days ago

So much fun! Great food and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding as always

We visit Palm Springs three to four times each year and make a point of going to dinner at Tropicale. The service, food and drinks are outstanding. I highly recommend Southern Fried Chicken

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Consistently good food, with regular menu updates. Patio is great, but I also love cozy conversation in one or their curved booths.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

My neighbourhood go-to restaurant. Love their caesar salad with blackened salmon. Only suggestion: slow down the service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday & we had a blast! Food & service were great! The patio ambiance is spectacular.......thank you!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner in the patio. It’s a great place and we will return Real soon. The piano player and bass fiddle duo was terrific too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 15, 2017

It is one of our favorite go-to restaurants in Palm Springs!! Great for dinner or weekend brunch!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Fabulous, as always! Delish food, beautiful outdoor terrace, super nice staff!❤️

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Happy Hour, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great food once again. We had the steak, blue cheese burger from the specials menu, and the lamb. Everything cooked to order.

Great service from our waiter Dan!! We would highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tapas, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food good, service great, noise level was over the top...junior high cafeteria decibel level. We were four friends that hadn’t seen each other in a few years. We were busy catching up and nobody brought up the noise level, but as we were walking out there was a collective “Wow, it was loud in there!” There was a large group celebrating seated next to us so maybe our experience was unusual. Tropical is beautiful and I would go back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

So fun! The outdoor seating area was beautiful! Food, drinks, and service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We ate outside on the patio and it was a great experience. We tried some tropical cocktails and small plate assortments for our dinner. The Coconut Mojito was wonderful but the Salted Citrus Cocktail was unbearably salty, so it got traded out for the Strawberry Lime Mojito, which was A+. We loved this retro restaurant alot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

It's always a pleasure coming to The Tropicale. The food is always good and consistent. The service is attentive without being intrusive. Outdoors or in, the experience is fun, lively and delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Again...special friends are brought to Tropicale...we always know we will be welcomed, have great service and wonderful food...and sincerely enjoyed and enjoy!!! And everyone around us seems to be happy and excited to be here and together...what more could you want??? Have NEVER been even slightly disappointed ...and that is the truth!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The sangria was not good. Cheap red wine. However, the waitress, Lourie notice I was drinking it and offered to get something else for me. Also, a mistake was made on my meal. The kitchen had done it wrong. She again quickly rectified this. Lourie was an attentive great waitress. The food was nothing to write about. The atmosphere was great and we never felt rushed. We had a great time!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Happy Hour, Vegan, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We love this place - are here weekly. Server Sean was excellent, atmosphere is amazing on the patio. Food is a bit saltier than we prefer but very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I love the Tropicale and I usually always respond to the "Specials" by ordering them instead of ordering from the menu. Octoberfest was great disappointment for one who has celebrated in Germany. German potato salad and sauerkraut were extremely dry and lacked the expected seasoning. The sausages were wonderful however!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Been here before & had good experiences. This time was very disappointed. My husband's side Caesar salad had odd/poor tasting dressing as did my friend's chicken Caesar entrée. Husband's Salmon veggie rice bowl had no rice. Service felt rushed. Will say my veggie pizza was good but still not looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food!! Loved the patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great place to celebrate. Outdoor patio was amazing and so were the delicious drinks!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Patio seating was cool and breezy even on a hot afternoon.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great dinner the steak was cooked to perfection, our bartender Chris took great care of us always had our drinks filled, great time at a great place.

We are weekly diners everything is great never a bad meal highly recommend Chris & Mikey for your bartenders and Dan or Robert for your waiter.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Organic, Live Sports, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 5, 2017

The "small dishes" could have served as an entire dinner. The Lamb meat balls were wonderful and the calamari was some of the best I've had. The Salmon with Black rise entree was very good. However, I would not order the seed encrusted Mahi Mahi as it was some of the worst fish I have ever been served. Very, very, very dry and over cooked (did I say Dry?), and the outer coating needed a hammer to get through. I think maybe they had it left over and cooked it twice. Flavorless and dry with a super hard thousand-million seed crust fit for your parakeet. I didn't say anything because it was a special occasion so I didn't want to make a fuss and I've had nice meals here before so I figured this was just a strike out one-off mistake. My dog refused to eat it when I got home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This my "go to" whenever friends come to town. Always a treat. The food is great but even more - the servers/service excel.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Very nice ambiance. Food is a fair value. Server was overly solicitous to the point of being annoying first and eventually just comical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We had a nice anniversary dinner outside by the fountain. Lovely weather, music and cried this evening.
Delicious trout on the Special menu this week.
Our server, Lorrie made our evening! Ask for a seat in her section!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Never fails to deliver an enjoyable surrounding nor an. Excellent cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. This was my birthday and enjoyed myself. This place is good anytime when it's open. Great for birthdays or any other special occasion or a night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very nice Restaurant although we thought we have a sunday brunch as advertised. There was no brunch, we only could order from the breakfast or lunch menu.

But the place is very nice and we decided to return for dinner-

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This place is always fun and you just know your in Palm Springs when you are there. Food is good but it isn't high end gourmet. However, you will never be disappointed with anything you pick on the menu. The lamb meatballs are delicious. Try one of their big Sangria's too. I recommend going early and enjoying a cocktail before dinner.
Whenever I have out of town visitors to PS I take them here. Everyone there is so happy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The service was excellent, the food was exceptional and the cost was reasonable. We enjoyed ourselves very, very much. This was my first visit to the restaurant and I'm sure to go back. Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food is reliably good at Tropicale and, generally speaking, the service is capable and efficient. This particular evening the restaurant was packed. Partly that's because it is the start of the season, partly because Tropicale is popular and partly because another go-to spot in town is closed for renovations. Despite the crowd the staff handled the mob very well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Meal was good....service felt rushed....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great dinner once again the lobster roll on the special's menu for the week was very good.

The gluten free pizza is very good had many times, would recommend Tropical any time for any meal.

We are weekly diners great food and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.