About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (117)
Vibrant Bar Scene (96)
Fun (91)
See All
Special Occasion (89)
People Watching (83)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Bar Seating (81)
Creative Cuisine (78)
Happy Hour (74)
Good for a Date (72)
Hot Spot (71)
Good for Birthdays (62)
Casual (56)
Good for Groups (55)
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Comfort Food (46)
Great for Brunch (44)
Worth the Drive (41)
Modern Decor (38)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Late-night Find (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Authentic (21)
Tapas (19)
Cozy (19)
Outstanding Value (18)
Business Meals (15)
Seasonal (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Healthy (13)
Live Music (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Disabled Access (10)
Historic (10)
Spicy (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Scenic View (8)
Fireplace (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Organic (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
2955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one Great Place to eat. We Ate ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one Great Place to eat. We Ate outside where they had standing heaters around all the table as it was cool out the night we went in. It was very comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here several times, and Trop ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

We've eaten here several times, and Tropicale never disappoints. Our favorite thing to do is order some cocktails and a number of appetizers to share. Everything was delicious, and the service was great. it was a cool evening, but the heaters on the patio made it very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate here on two consecutive nights, a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

We ate here on two consecutive nights, after loving it the first night!! Fast-paced restaurant, yet relaxed atmosphere & prompt, friendly service...

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again Tropicale was great Sean our ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Once again Tropicale was great Sean our waiter was great he was spot on with all of our drinks and food.

The sea bass was so good, it was a great night and we will be back for more.

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Groups, Healthy, Organic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service with fun atmosphere an ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service with fun atmosphere and vibe... Food was good...

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server seemed to have too many table ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server seemed to have too many tables. He was rushed & brief whenever he came to our table.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Another great experience at The Tropical ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Another great experience at The Tropicale. Introduced some friends to this desert gem!

The food was once again superior to anything else in Palm Springs. The cocktails were well mixed and the service was above and beyond.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a great spot!! Request the outside ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Such a great spot!! Request the outside patio with Reso.

Everything we ordered was YUMMY and just the right amount.

Can't wait until the next Brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere and great food. Th ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice atmosphere and great food. The servers are all very knowledgeable and very personable.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, patio dining and the server w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, patio dining and the server was very attentive, one thing I would mention is the server does have a bit of an attitude on the a regular basis.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had the best time the other night at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We had the best time the other night at Tropicale. The service was beyond amazing, so friendly, informative, and gave us time to relax and enjoy-no rush at all! We started with some fun appetizers(you couldn't go wrong with ANYTHING on the menu). I had the pork which had to be 4" thick and grilled to perfection and soooo moist, terrific flavor-I want to know their secret. The atmosphere is so fun, feels like your are stepping back in time to a dinner club from a bygone era , we kept expecting Ricky Ricardo or Merv Griffin to walk by at any moment-so authentic!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Again had a great time. Great food and s ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Again had a great time. Great food and service. Love the martinis.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Great fried chicken; Friendly server, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great fried chicken; Friendly server, good ambience and could hear the persons at the table. Would come back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Been a while since I've visited. I was o ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Been a while since I've visited. I was on my Broadway Tour. New faces/servers. Everything was Excellent, as ALWAYS.

My request Dining in Booth is ALWAYS honored along with Privacy

Thank you

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and very friendly service ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food and very friendly service !

We are frequent diners at this outstanding restaurant.

The vibe is fun!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not very good,frankly. Had braziino ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food not very good,frankly. Had braziino with polenta ,kale all jumbled together in a bowl. The poorly cooked kale made the whole thing almost unchewable. Waiter did bring a side of spinach which was good. My friend's salad was just OK. And her coffee was so bitter that she sent it back. I wanted a cappachino and was amazed that the restaurant did not have them won't be back any time soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

When we are in Palm Springs, we always c ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 11, 2017

When we are in Palm Springs, we always come here. This latest visit was less than great. Our server was very nice but, it does not mean it's ok to be MIA (missing in action)!

He took our cocktail order, then came back to take food order. Cocktails were good, as usual, but they took so long to get to us. When we wanted to order wine our waiter asked if I'd decided on something. I said I needed a few minutes. Never saw him again until we were halfway through with our main courses.

When our main courses came, we still hadn't been able to order any wine. We had to flag down the host that seated us to help. By this time we were annoyed. We explained our situation and while he was willing to help, even he had a bit of an attitude as if we'd done something wrong. But he did make good on his promise to get us our wine right away.

After that our waiter avoided our table, rather than try to make up for neglecting us. Only occasionally did he ask how the food was, before walking away.

While he was pleasant, being pleasant does not equate to good service. And a good wait person would make themselves more available rather than avoid a table when they've made an error in the service.

We've been coming here since 2012 and have never had a complaint. This is the first time we've ever had not so good service. We will still keep coming and hope this is just an isolated incident.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner out the first night in Palm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great dinner out the first night in Palm Springs . Spicy popcorn shrimp delicious. Snow peas in salmon bowl were unforgettably delicious

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful find in downtown Palm S ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

What a wonderful find in downtown Palm Springs! Don't miss it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Haydan, our server, was fabulous!!! He ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Haydan, our server, was fabulous!!! He was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Tapas, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Another outstanding brunch at Tropicale. As always, the service and food were awesome. Love the BLT. Our waiter, Robert was very attentive. It's my favorite place for brunch especially outside on the patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for my 40th Birthday party and l ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We went for my 40th Birthday party and loved it. We stayed at our table for a long time and were never pushed to leave. The bar was fantastic and the service amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Since it opened several years ago The Tr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Since it opened several years ago The Tropicale has been a favourite of mine. I usually avoid Friday evenings as it is so popular for TGIF gatherings.

Food is very good and presented well. No complaints about the drinks and the staff are friendly, efficient and polite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of favorite spots in Palm Springs. E ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of favorite spots in Palm Springs. Excellent food quality with great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday celebration for our daughter. G ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Birthday celebration for our daughter. Great time! Great service! Very cool atmosphere. Sean our server was attentive and very personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tropicale is a great scene for just abou ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Tropicale is a great scene for just about everything! It's great to sit outside, even when it's cold out, as their heaters are strong. There's a menu with something for everyone, and the drinks are great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, loved the venue, hated the fo ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 5, 2017

As always, loved the venue, hated the food. Even the trusty standby onion rings were cold and soggy. 😟

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

Great location and patio. Beautiful staf ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great location and patio. Beautiful staff but not the fastest service. Don't expect culinary miracles - just a decent meal in a spectacular location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

This place gets reviews as a local hango ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This place gets reviews as a local hangout for good food and people watching. The food was just ok not notable and the service this particular night was awful. Next time in PS I will try another joint. The people watching was the best dessert.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great! Staff very attentive. Feel ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always great! Staff very attentive. Feel welcome as soon as you open the front door. Very fun happy hour bar scene.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, acoustics and service. I the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great food, acoustics and service. I the waitress was beyond amazing

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fab ambiance and menu were as good a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The fab ambiance and menu were as good as we had been told the service however was not. Distracted waiter had too many underlings in the service team we hardly saw the same face twice. We repeatedly asked for sparkling water. Crab wedge salad + duck were perfect. Best Tito's martini ever. Clean up that service and we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The service was excellent. Fried chicken ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The service was excellent. Fried chicken as always was great and so was Cornish hen. Really enjoyed the music. A very nice evening. Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our new favorite spots in Palm Sp ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 3, 2017

One of our new favorite spots in Palm Springs. We took our kids and their fiancees for dinner on their first night here. Had a great table on the patio. Food was very good - a nice time had by all.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fried chicken is the best I think I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The fried chicken is the best I think I have ever had. The PuPu platter was really tasty! Excellent cocktails....service by Sean, outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy a visit to The Tropicale ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We always enjoy a visit to The Tropicale when in town, but something wasn't as great about this particular time. Our waiter was very nice, but he seemed to be covering too many tables. Also? I thought there was a general lack of vegetarian options, something that didn't seem as obvious in past visits. The pizza quality seemed lower as well. Wonderful atmosphere and lively crowds will keep us coming back, but I hope some more thought goes into the vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Amazing experience

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Make your reservations or you will wait! ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Make your reservations or you will wait! Outdoor patio was "cozy". Food was good. It seemed like the servers had a "at times" stretched amount of table. Or, it could have just been our wait staff. Overall great brunch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a fun spot to enjoy. The Bloody M ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a fun spot to enjoy. The Bloody Mary was top notch, loved the horseradish in the drink. The bottomless prosecco was a steal of a deal. Loved the Banh mi sandwich and the side of rosemary potatoes was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fun restaurant to go with friends to. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A fun restaurant to go with friends to. Dining outdoors just adds to the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.