Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.21mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About The Tropicale

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (165)
People Watching (148)
Fun (140)
See All
Hot Spot (138)
Vibrant Bar Scene (137)
Good for a Date (135)
Special Occasion (128)
Neighborhood Gem (124)
Bar Seating (120)
Good for Birthdays (112)
Creative Cuisine (109)
Happy Hour (107)
Good for Groups (100)
Fit for Foodies (99)
Handcrafted Cocktails (98)
Casual (85)
Good for Anniversaries (83)
Romantic (69)
Great for Brunch (66)
Comfort Food (56)
Worth the Drive (52)
Sunday Lunch (49)
Authentic (47)
Business Meals (40)
Tapas (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Cozy (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Late-night Find (23)
Quick Bite (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Gluten Free Options (21)
Seasonal (20)
Organic (19)
Live Music (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Spicy (16)
Paleo Friendly (14)
Vegan (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Scenic View (13)
Live Sports (10)
Great Beer (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Historic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

I love The Tropicale. It is definitely one of my "go to" places in Palm Springs. We probably eat here a few times per month. Their happy hour food is amazing! Service is always top notch, especially if you are lucky enough to get Mark as your server.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Always Excellent! Always Dependable!
If I lived in Palm Springs I would eat at The Tropicale every week!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

M Y friend sharrons first time
She said shed go back and back

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I think I would have enjoyed the ambiance better if we sat in a booth. Center tables don't have much privacy for personal conversation. But, the Martinis and Mojiotos are amazing!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, great good. I love the white Sangria!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Healthy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great hang. Great people watching. Love the good and the vibe.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service food. As always Chris & Mickey are the best bartendars they always take care of you.

This visit I tried the fried catfish on the special menu. Very good never a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently GREAT ! Always the perfect place to come for a birthday or special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

Great night it was the Leo party. All the staff was dressed in safari outfits for the owners birthday.

The food once again was great. Tonight Chris our bartender got me the oriental chicken salad (its only on brunch menu thanks for making customers happy)

The works pizza is awesome and the chicken strips perfect.

We are weekly dinners this week 3 times 😁 always great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Thanks for the entire evening. good service and we enjoyed the table that accommodated all eight of us where we could hold family discussions and conversation and be heard.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We would definitely go back and would recommend to everyone. The food was great and the service, from the host to the bartender to the waiter was very friendly. We sat outside and it was a beautiful setting. There was love music inside. Don't miss this excellent restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We visit Palm Springs once or twice a year. Tropicale is my husband's favorite restaurant. I also love it there. People watching, awesome cuisine, great cocktails. If the weather is good, like it was on our last visit, you can sit out in the patio with the misters and fountain on. There are overhead patio lights, and the atmosphere is wonderful. Cheaper than a trip to Positano!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Good ambiance with an elegant vintage feel. Food is interesting but a bit pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Another fabulous brunch at Tropicale - the best brunch in Palm Springs. The food and service is always awesome. Looking forward to my next visit for dinner, drinks and/or brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A quick stop for brunch while shopping. Once again great food, had the oriental chicken salad great, the coffee cake served at brunch was great as well.

Always great service from Chris at the bar, great conversation with the Ranz the owner.

You will not go wrong with any meal at Tropical, we are weekly dinners, this week 3 times :)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Happy Hour, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Fun, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Am frequent customer. Servers and bartenders are always great to me. Love your Happy Hour menu.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food great service. Dan our service was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We always enjoy going to this restaurant. It is a special occasion -the drinks, the food and the ambience are always so amazing. The bartenders make a great Bombay sapphire Martini and we enjoy sharing the tasty small plates. Fun evening

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

A great evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The people are cool - ambiance, way cool - fried chicken salad, awesome - waiter, handsome and genuine - martinis, dry.

Perfect Palm Springs Place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Once again a great meal at Tropical. Tonight a glass of wine and chicken salad. We are weekly diners never a bad meal at Tropical.

Chris our bartender always takes care of us our food is done correctly the drinks are always spot on. We highly recommend Tropical have a drink at the bar with Chris and Mikey the best bartenders in town, then a great meal with Dan the best waiter you could ask for.

Call Tropical ask for Lynn she will set you up at the best table. Lynn is the best hostess manager in town.

Highly recommend Tropical!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Tapas, Bar Seating, Spicy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Organic, Healthy, Live Sports, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Went with four friends. Loved the drinks, spectacular.. The appetizers we delish. The people watching was fun. We loved it. Our wait staff was terrific

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We're regulars. Always fun with great drinks and delicious food beautifully presented.
The small plate dishes are excellent and fun to share!
One of the best, most atmospheric restaurants in Palm Springs!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is just a great place and has a gr at feel to it. The music is a added bonus!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Live Music, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Tropcale is always a great experience. Beautiful decor, great food, drinks and service. Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 7, 2017

New to Palm Springs and the neighborhood…Tropicale was recommended by so many and did not disappoint. We love it!.. have been back several times ..The weekly specials and ever changing menu are wonderful, Sushi Sundays and amazing desserts. Warm attentive service from the greeting at the front door through the entire experience…..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The People are the best. This is a super fun awesome place to enjoy hanging out and having a cocktail and some food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fun, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome restaurant with amazing food and killer vibe. It's definitely my new fav in Palm Spring.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Flavorful food, festive atmosphere, consistently good. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu (especially the pork chop and the ahi tuna roll small plate), and the specials are always interesting. Dan was an excellent waiter, with movie star looks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Celebrating several summer birthdays---this is our go to when we want to treat friends and family to an amazingly, wonderful, deliciously prepared food with copious flavors that party hard in you mouth! I cannot recommend this dining experience enough and YES, the chicken dinner is that good...a must have for sure! Easily one of the top five eateries in the entire Coachella Valley. Just go!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Awesome service this visit. We had reservations for 2 ended up with 6, we ended up sitting at the bar, Chris the bartender got us 6 seats with just us walking up. Lynn and Ranz were awesome they had a back up table already for us if we couldn't sit at the bar.

We had the Pad Thai from the special's menu, chicken wrap, fried chicken and the chicken salad all were very good. We are weekly diners and would highly recommend any meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Sports, Good for Groups, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for a Date, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Healthy, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Coming from a foodie city this place is vin ordinaire..... wouldn't recommend this place - the front desk messed up our open table reservation which we had to correct so we wouldn't be dinged by their no show policy.... just unnecessary baloney

Also, the locals seem to come for the early happy hour and stuff themselves as close to the front door or on the raised platform tables to preview the entrance scene - it's really quite weird

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Sticky tables, musty room, average food, questionable hygiene .... much better ambiance in patio than inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very mediocre food and expensive. Wasn't a $50 per person meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere! Wonderful service! Delicious cocktails! Fantastic food! We had a charmed evening. Everything was perfect. My coworker is a well traveled foodie and said this was in her top 10 meals of all time. I will definitely be making another trip to Palm Springs just to bring people here.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Love this place - always a fun environment. Like S if super nice people, good food and fun drinks. Service was lacking on our last visit because the waitress was a bit overwhelmed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Live Music, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 31, 2017

This place is always great. My favorite restaurant in the desert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Had such an amazing time. Will definitely return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We love this place!! Lori and Mark are always so wonderful to see. They both take such great care of us! Tropicale is our "go to place" for great food and great service!! Not to mention the Bloody Mary's are the best in the world, YUM!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always an amazing place to dine! Been going here for a few years, Ranz and Tony always make you feel special and welcome!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Great Beer, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.