About The Tropicale

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (142)
Vibrant Bar Scene (118)
Fun (111)
See All
Special Occasion (106)
People Watching (102)
Hot Spot (97)
Good for a Date (95)
Neighborhood Gem (93)
Creative Cuisine (90)
Bar Seating (88)
Happy Hour (85)
Good for Birthdays (84)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Casual (70)
Good for Groups (66)
Romantic (66)
Comfort Food (59)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (54)
Modern Decor (45)
Great for Brunch (43)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Cozy (28)
Authentic (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Late-night Find (25)
Outstanding Value (22)
Tapas (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Live Music (20)
Business Meals (18)
Healthy (17)
Seasonal (17)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Historic (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Organic (11)
Fireplace (10)
Scenic View (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Disabled Access (9)
Spicy (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3062 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

A Very popular restaurant in downtown Palm Springs - the fried chicken is the dish to get! If you want to pretend to be healthy get the salad version. You will feel left out if you order anything else. Vibrant and lively bar and dining scene!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Hayden was a wonderful waiter! The ambiance is very special and the food was rxcellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Always fun and vibrant ambience. The small plates are big plates and the cocktails are abundant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a fun place to go with plenty of options for your dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for dining out. Good drink n food. Felt a bit rushed. Main course was served before we were done with appetizer.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

A Palm Springs gem. The best Happy Hour in town! Great food too! Just don't go all at once.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Spicy, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 4 days ago

We come to Tropical at least 3 - 4 times a week. We love everything on the menu.

This time we shared the wedge salad and shrimp tacos, all the food is great, we would highly recommend Tropical to anyone.

Shaun W is the best waiter and Chris the bartender is great!!!!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Disabled Access, People Watching, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always love visiting Tropicale when in Palm Springs

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tapas, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food , great service , fun place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was very, very busy. Our table server was very good but was a bit overwhelmed.

My fried chicken was too salty and too greasy for my taste ( I like a drier, crispier outside w/ my fried chicken). My salad was a bit too soggy.

--The other dishes were good and satisfying.

All said, we would recommend and return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We lived the retro ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our 2nd time here - and nothing but a good time was had by all. The drinks, food, and service are all top-notch. So glad we made a reservation - the wait time without one was 2.5 hours.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Love Tropicale. Always fun ambiance and lively crowd. The service is also usually very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious meal. We sat outside on the patio which is wonderful. Very busy and buzzing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Loved the experience, the people watching was fun and the food was great!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Again, the choice for close friends (THESE from MINNESOTA!!...COLD THERE!!) and we had a perfect evening!! The Duck special was outstanding, as was the fried chicken (as usual) for one of our friends!! Slightly chilly and the heat lamps made it divine...we love this place and love to show it off to our friends and family from in or out of the Valley...never disappointed!!!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Best restaurant in the Desert since we've been in town this week. Our waitress, Lori, was faboulous and we took her lead on all of her suggestions. What a pleasure to find professional waitstaff taking care of customers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Always festive place with great food and friendly service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a reservation or a Saturday on a holiday weekend. When we needed to increase the number in our party (from 8 to 10) they accommodated us without hesitation. When we arrived, we were seated within minutes at a very comfortable booth. The cocktails were great (I think I'm the last person who likes a splash of vermouth in their martini and the bartender made it perfectly) and the food was delicious. We've worked our way around the menu over several visits and we've never been disappointed in our selections. The calamari is a particular favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We came to Tropicale for dinner before a night out for my sister's bachelorette party! There were 6 of us and we had a great table on the patio. The service was good, as was the food. We shared multiple small plates and everything was good. The ambience was great and energetic!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Never disappoints. Remarkably well run, efficient, ,,but if you want a leisure dinner you must tell the server., otherwise the food comes too fast as if they're trying to turn the table as fast as possible. Diverse fun menu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Overall great. Server was was more concerned about the heaters than his guests. Inattentive would be an understatement.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I love the decor, and the service is usually great. But the food is just OK, and the cocktails are all way too sweet. They're just trying to do too much, with an enormous menu filled with all types of cuisines. I'd encourage them to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We love Tropicale and its Palm Beach feel. I had an appetizer portion of filet mignon and tossed greens. It was delicious! The greens had caramelized walnuts giving them a nice crunch. The steak was smooth and cut like butter. My husband had the pork chop. He raved saying it was both flavorful and juicy. Our server also helped us get into the show that night at their Copa Cabana...a wonderful experience all the way around!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fun place to take visitors, busy and energetic room, great value, good comfort food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I love this place, it as supposed to rain and they called and re-scheduled us for a booth inside. How professional in a packed house then when we got there, it was okay to eat weather wise to eat outside in the patio that we love and they re-sitted us outside. An adorable hostess helped us, Kudos to her in her vintage outfit. It's my favorite place to go to in Palm Springs.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

As good as it gets! Everything on inventive menu is delicious-best burger on planet!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was raining so we could not sit in the outside patio. The food was very good and the wait staff was exceptional. I can't wait to go back on a sunny day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 18, 2017

"Date Night" with my husband...then over to COPA for a great Spencer Day performance!! As always, everything was perfect...was appreciably accommodated for inside because of heavy rain that occurred...though they were VERY busy, we never felt rushed. My husband had the Duck special and I had the veal...both outstanding!! By far, our favorite place...we always feel welcomed and have a wonderful time...

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Fun place and good food. We ate outside and enjoyed the festive atmosphere. Combo band played inside.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. I had the massive porkchop. Good service. Great wine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Over the top-Retro-Deep Booths-Marlin on wall experience. Live music a bonus if you're into golden oldies. Staff friendly and helpful. Great mix of diners. Inside is a little too dark -many phone flashlights in action to help see menus. Outside garden looks lovely & livelier. Can be seated at bar high-tops at hub of entrance/kitchen/bar/inside/outside but lots of kitchen & diner traffic. Lots of food selections and large portions.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very fun and vibrant. Fabulous retro atmosphere. Looking forward to dining outside on the patio.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Good food and good service at a moderate price. Have been there many times.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Palm Springs Retro. Great bar and darling patio dining plus dining room.

Lots of good choices on the menu. Service is outstanding. It is a casual, fun place with a great vibe.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Phenomenal! This was the best meal we've had in a long time. Every single item we ordered was fantastic, and the drinks were great as well. The patio is truly where the party is at, if you can score a table. Highly recommend The Tropicale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Palm Springs. Love the patio dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Have always enjoyed this restaurant and wrap-around bar, lovely ambience. Took clients and friends (4) there Feb14 and service failed us. Took over an hour for food while guests seated after us were served first. Waitress kept stating the kitchen was behind, but the food arrived lukewarm so we knew it was sitting.

Manager gave us credit for drinks which was nice but my guests were less than impressed. Disappointed. Won't bring friends back here.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Second time here and I would go again. The service was excellent and the food terrific. The Valentine's special dessert was more than outstanding !!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentines Day and we wanted a a special dinner out. We'd had pleasant dinners there before but this night the patio was super crowded. Tables very close together, and the noise level was quite high. Waiters zoomed past our table constantly and we could hear easily every other conversation nearby, making it difficult to have a relaxed dinner.

The service was swift and polite but the food wasn't up to par. I ordered an eggplant pasta which had so many other things in it, I never did find the eggplant. It lacked much flavor at all except for the three sausages laid on top.

We will return eventually, but we were disappointed this trip.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and the food was very good. No prefixed menu was nice!

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual everything was excellent. We have brought many friends and family to TRopicale while they were visiting and everyone has enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, service and food. A busy but quiet place to dine with a great patio and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have always enjoyed dining at Tropicale. This visit there was a problem with the Korean BBQ wings. They were overcooked and very tough. Management took it off the bill. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always a 5 STAR experience!

TROPICALE offers the cool Palm Springs vibe that so many of our guests love as do we!

Ranz and his staff are always pleasant and eager to make your experience a great one.

Thank you!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Awesome Palm Springs Dining experience!!

Sushi Sundays Rock!!! Service was impeccable

And our Food Was over the top GOOD!!! Best Tuna Poke!!! Ambience outside is very romantic !

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cool, funky and retro.

Worth checking out.

We had a wonderful waiter and the bottomless pour of sparkling wine was accurate.

Food was not amazing but this was brunch so not sure we can judge the restaurant based on that one meal. Also they were out of certain items, like their rosemary potatoes. The hash browns were not to our liking.

Perhaps dinner one night is in the cards.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another fabulous Sunday brunch on the patio. As always - outstanding food and service. The best brunch in Palm Springs.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great, as always. Really enjoy eating here. Cocktails are a bit pricey, but otherwise, excellent!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The patio is perfect for brunch. The umbrellas provide ample shade for those who wish to eat outdoors but not be in the sun. A lovely experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.