About The Tropicale

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: 3238239632x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

Restaurant Photos

The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
3 More
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Californian
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (266)
vibrant bar scene (209)
hot spot (194)
See All
good for groups (173)
fit for foodies (164)
special occasion (155)
neighborhood gem (143)
romantic (100)
great for brunch (99)
late-night find (51)
great for lunch (45)
notable wine list (30)
scenic view (29)
kid-friendly (12)
Sort By:
Newest
2434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food! We had 5 different small ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food! We had 5 different small plates to share with a party of 3. We frequent the restaurant almost weekly and are never disappointed! Lively tropical atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We usually hit this place on Sunday nigh ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We usually hit this place on Sunday night for their Sushi Sunday menu. It's really fresh and a great value. This Sunday no sushi and no explanation. Very disappointing. We stayed, order something off the specials menu and still had a good meal.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another outstanding Sunday brunch at Tro ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Another outstanding Sunday brunch at Tropicale. Service and food was outstanding. It's the best brunch in Palm Springs. Overall Tropicale is great experience for dinner, brunch or bar bites.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Fabulous Palm Springs at its ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Absolutely Fabulous Palm Springs at its best. Fabulous Food Ambiance, Service and a place to be seen with Palm Springs VIPs. A nostalgic gem that makes you fee special and important all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a blast at the bar and at our tab ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a blast at the bar and at our table. Staff was friendly and attentive

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Me and my partner loved it. It is a fun ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Me and my partner loved it. It is a fun place, good food, very friendly and nice. Recommended if you are in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the patio. Love the music. Love the ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Love the patio. Love the music. Love the vibe. Love the food. What more could you ask for a fun evening? From tempura prawns to fried chicken and pizza all served by a great wait staff! Always enjoy an evening at The Tropicale!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE it!! Went to Vigil in Palm Spri ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

We LOVE it!! Went to Vigil in Palm Springs for Orlando and then kept our dinner reservations previously planned...was, as always, just meant to work out!!! Wonderful food (love the sushi!!) and service (thank you, Tammy!!) and always feel welcome!!!! It is our "second home"...must be there 1-2 times a week with friends...there are reasons!!! Just enjoy...that is what we ALWAYS do!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The very best brunch in Palm Springs! Ou ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The very best brunch in Palm Springs! Outstanding brunch menu and service. I highly recommend Tropicale to all my friends and visitors.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

There is a lot to like about Tropicale, ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

There is a lot to like about Tropicale, which is why we enjoy going back. We've only been for brunch, and the food is really good, and the bottomless mimosas are not a bad deal. The service is usually quite attentive. My only complaint is that the prices are expensive. For a breakfast-type meal, we're looking at dinner prices. It's tasty, and I like that they can make most of their entrees vegetarian by just asking to replace the meat with something else, but I think they raised their prices since the last time we were there in April, and I'm afraid we won't be going back anytime soon because it just isn't an affordable outing anymore, and there are other places where we can get the bottomless mimosas and decent food for less cost. Tropicale, please don't price out your locals!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale is a vibrant bar and restauran ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Tropicale is a vibrant bar and restaurant. The indoor ambiance is lush. The food is delicious and the bartenders are generous and capable. We have been served by several of the wait staff capably whether for two or eight. The evening is dependable long term and is an exciting discovery for visitors. When friends visit PS, it usually includes an evening at Tropicale. IMHO.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the Filet Mignon egg Benedict and it ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had the Filet Mignon egg Benedict and it was amazing!

food3
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, wonderful out door area. ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great ambiance, wonderful out door area. Food was hit or miss.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Favorite

Dined on June 10, 2016

rrestaurant in Palm Springs good outdoor bar bites too

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Place

Dined on June 9, 2016

If you are looking for that old palm springs feel from the 40s and 50s this is the place to go.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service is everything

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our female server was interesting to say the least. Very uninhibited about "performing." A little "in-your-face" about it. Some of us minded less than other. Her tip could've been 20% but I reluctantly gave her 15%. Food was great. Atmosphere was lovely, noisier as the night went on. We will visit again but if the "performer" is our server, would probably ask for someone else.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I went to Tropicale for t ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

My husband and I went to Tropicale for their 3 course dinner. We loved every bite! Very creative dishes. Very generous portions (took some of the entree home). Loved it!! Thank you to a fabulous chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fun

Dined on June 5, 2016

Tropical is always a fun place to have dinner. There is always an eclectic crowd - it is so lively. The staff is very nice too. Last weekend we stayed until they closed and no-one ever rushed us or made us feel uncomfortable. The outdoor bar and sitting area is the best.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale is my happy place!

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

This is one of our perennial favorites since it opened for date nights, for group dinners/brunches/lunches, for holiday parties, etc. The food is consistently fantastic, great flavors, changing seasonal items, and at a great price point. The cocktails are inventive and the service staff represents some of the best in the desert resort community. The ambience is energetic at times, romantic other times, and usually about perfect for us anytime. Ranz and Tony and team are truly professional and treat regulars and newcomers like extended family. Congrats and thank you for always going above and beyond to make our dining experience, and that of our friends, such a wonderful experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful wednesday

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Visited on a very hot Wednesday evening. Still very busy and the patio was almost surreal in its perfect temp and ambiance. Love this place. You can't do wrong here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends night out.

Dined on June 2, 2016

Food and service was top notch. Server new the menu well and his recommendations were spot on. Want to go back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best calamari

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Started dinner with their calamari in a tangerine sauce. Cooked perfectly and liked that it wasn't deep fried. It was absolutely delicious with the sauce. One of the tastiest calamari I ever had. It was listed in the small plate section, but it was a heaping mound even for two people to share so didn't need much food after that. Service was spot on. Love coming back here for dinner when visiting Palm Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

Thanks - we had a great time. The food and service were very good When in Palm Springs we always visit your restaurant.

Tags: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Tropicale Restaurant Hot & Trendy

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Must say our group had a lot of fun there. It is very trendy and exciting. Drinks are good. I would go again for the Happy Hour and the bar scene but to eat, I don't think so. Our waiter Sean was very good. Food didn't seem fresh, especially the coconut shrimp. We each took and bite and said YUCK!! Put it back on the plate and was never touched again. We didn't say anything to the waiter and he didn't offer to ask us why the shrimps were left on the plate. Salads were ok. My chicken was good but everybody else's dinner was OK. Like I said I would go for the fun and trendy bar scene for Happy Hour but wouldn't eat dinner there.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

The Banh Mi sandwich at the outside bar ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Banh Mi sandwich at the outside bar was great, my wife had the Chinese chicken salad and said it was okay. The midday cool of the patio was nice, the bartender went out of his way to ensure our order was correct.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The staff, especially TAMMY is great. Sh ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The staff, especially TAMMY is great. She gave us such great service. Every time we travel to Palm Springs we make a point to have dinner with Tammy.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The most consistently great experience i ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The most consistently great experience in the desert. Food, service ambiance always wonderful. They really want every guest to feel welcome! Bravo!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

hot spot

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic as always. Busy, great atmosphere, fantastic food, service on point, welcoming unmatched. A must-visit desert dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious fried chicken!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Delicious fried chicken!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Once again Tropicale was great. We had t ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Once again Tropicale was great. We had the steak, fried chicken, pizza and chicken salad in our group all the meals were great, service was prefect and drinks were well made. We would recommend Tropicale any time and look forward to coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best!!! Food, service, setti ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Always the best!!! Food, service, setting perfect!! We are there almost weekly...nothing more needs to be said...eight years is the proof...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful patio. Never a bad experience ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Beautiful patio. Never a bad experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch in Palm Springs!

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were looking for a place for brunch that had bottomless mimosas and had good quality food at the same time. This place came up and proved to be just that. Will definitely come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience........ we enjoy ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great dining experience........ we enjoyed brunch for the first time at The Tropicale. Our waiter was extremely courteous and efficient as were his colleagues. A very nice selection of dishes for brunch and are selections were top notch. We sat outside and enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Went there for brunch Everyone loved foo ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Went there for brunch Everyone loved food but it was very crowded and the waiter had to be asked multiple times for things Go when it's not so busy

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great service....exceptional.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food hold up and is great and the service is exceptional. Refreshing to get good service, brings us back again and again. From hosts, to waiters, bartenders, busboys they are all on it and work as a team and it's appreciated

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2

We arrived about 25 minutes early and to ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We arrived about 25 minutes early and told the maître d' that we would be having a cocktail at the bar and we would return to his station once it was time for our reservations. He said "no worries I will give you an electronic reminder that will summoned you at 8:45 for your table. At 8:45 we returned to the maitre d's station waiting for our table. During the next 35 minutes (till 9:22) we watched group after group (2 to 6 people) come in. Many of them told the maître d' that they did not have reservations yet he was able to seat them right away. I became very irritated and went up to the maître d' and told him that I had reservations at 8:45, and that I noticed that he had seated many people since 8:45 without reservations and I wanted to know why we hadn't been seated yet.. He got somewhat of an attitude on his face,looked down at his computer, poked a few buttons then (low and behold all of a sudden my pager went off) REALLY??!! Then he said "oh look your number just came up!" He handed the menus to one of the other girls which made them very uncomfortable and he told them to seat us right away! As the owner of several bars and nightclubs of my own, needless to say his behavior was not only unprofessional, disrespectful and not good for business at all!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Service - Great outdoor spot!

Dined on May 22, 2016

You can not go wrong with anything you order. The Poke appetizer and Skirt Steak entree are a must!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

the boneless fried chicken was amazing, ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

the boneless fried chicken was amazing, three of our party had it and loved it. The fourth person had the chicken salad which was huge with loads of chicken.

food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I can not eat spice food due to a health ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I can not eat spice food due to a health problem. One of the things I ordered (small rib dish) was so spicy that all I did was take one bite out of it and pushed it away. I called the waiter over and told him and all he could do is say "oh". There is no marking on the menu denoting spicy and he just removed it after I said"no, I do not want to take it home". I should have asked for the manager but I did not want to upset the evening for all the other people who were at our table. The other people with us said the food was fair. The drinks were great! Spicy dishes are usually marked with a red asterisk or something of that nature like a pepper.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.