The Tropicale

4.6
4266 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • People Watching
  • Vibrant Bar Scene
A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Contemporary American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(760) 866-1952
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tony Di Lembo
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ranz Wienert: (323) 823-9632
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Encilia
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 4266 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Walking in, you feel like you are walking into a 1950’s cuban scene. The outdoor dining is beautiful, it sets a very romantic ambiance with the colorful outdoor lights, water fountain and vibrant color of the walls. Your expectations get set up high with what you have experienced, so far.. we excitedly ordered the chicken satay as an appetizer, filet mignon and salmon with black rice as entrees. Our chicken satay arrived and it was dull.. chicken had no flavor nor did the the peanut sauce. Our entree’s arrived and we tried the filet mignon. The filet mignon was cooked excellent, it was so tender but was lacking flavor.. it had no flavor! The salmon dish was a major disappointment because it tasted like teriyaki sauce was added and that was it. My husband and I joked that I could’ve easily made the filet mignon, added some Lawry’s and call it a day. Maybe we were there at the wrong time and wrong day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Love this place. We dine there every time we are in Palm Springs. The food and service never disappoints, and the “vibe” is fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

I will come back to Palm Springs solely to come back to The Tropicale. As soon as you walk in, the ambiance takes you from the soul crushing heat and blah of the every-day and immerses you in old school chic and character very reflective of a more carefree time. I didn't want to leave. Especially once I had my first sip of the watermelon bliss crafted behind the bar. The pupu platter and salmon creation was worth fasting for and our server, Lorrie, was capable, professional, and just lovely. She knows the menu in and out and will make ideal recommendations. Ask for her section, if you can. Suffice to say, after 3 days in the desert, The Tropicale was the highlight :)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

We go to this restaurant at least 2 times a week. We spend at least $500.00 a week there for the past 4 months since moving to the Palm Springs area. This past time was our last time there.
I went for fathers day brunch with my husband and my son. The server was awful. He thought he's good looks would overrides his bad service. This was our second bad experience at the Tropical. We keep giving it another try because the food is good and they accommodate our diet restrictions. This time this waiter took our orders and completely messed up. After calling him on it, instead of taking it back to correct the problem, He blamed us and continued to argue. At the end he called us rude. After contacted the manager, who did make things right for us, we have decided not to go back and sharing our experience with others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Service was great. We had 5 people in our group & the table was to small for us. Next time we’ll ask for a bigger table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Another great brunch at Tropicale! Lori was our server and she was wonderful. Our food was excellent, as was the bottomless Sparkling Wine & Bloody Marys. I had the Jumbo Shrimp salad which was delicious. Two others with me had Eggs Benedict which was also wonderful. Our fourth had the Japanese noodle bowl and was also very happy. It was a fabulous way to celebrate Father's Day. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Father’s Day!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

I have been eating in this restaurant for years and have always had a great experience. Unfortunately, this evening was different. I wanted a wonderful vegetarian dining experience but it was disappointing. There were very few vegetarian items on the menu, and while we clearly indicated that we could not eat nuts in our dishes, the salad came out loaded with walnuts.Instead of bringing us our vegetarian entrée… They brought us a slab of ribs! Not funny! So… As much as I generally love this restaurant – tonight... it was mediocre at best. Better luck next time!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2018

You want to sit inside and enjoy the 70s interior. The food is very old-fashioned and OK. You go there for the location, not for the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Have dined many times at this restaurant. It is always lively, reception is friendly, drinks are great, food always good and service attentive. Who could ask for more? For just two or a large group - it is the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Made reservations but arrived early bc of light traffic from LA, receptionist was very understanding and took us in early. Waiter and bus guy (I think that's what their called) very attentive. But, most importantly the food was fabulous, no watered down drinks either!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

Fabulous as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

The ambience is fantastic, the drinks are fun & the food is delicious and plentiful. We’ll be back many times!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Awesome food .... excellent service ....wonderful cocktails and the patio was fun! Will definitely put this on our list to come back to!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Consistently good food and excellent service. My favorite place to dine in Palm Springs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Came from Alabama for a birthday celebration. Food was okay this time around. The fried chicken, greens and mashed potatoes all lacked seasoning and were dry.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Our server was excellent! He explained the menu and was very attentive. Loved the vibe of the restaurant, I would definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Delicious and Delightful in so many way!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Best in Palm Springs! Great food and comfortable atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Tropicale is a rare restaurant that fills many plates. Lively atmosphere with extraordinary food. After dining here many times, I've come to the conclusion that it may well be one of the best restaurants in So Cal. Because it's in Palm Springs, it doesn't get the accolades it deserves. Just extraordinary....

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Four of us came for Restaurant Week 2018 and sat on the outdoor patio. The atmosphere was terrific, the "vibe" energetic, and our menu selections both innovative and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great food, we went for restaurant week, everything on the menu was great, great service, drink, staff.

We are weekly diners never a bad meal, everything from the main menu is prefect and weekly specials are always awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Once again an excellent experience! This has become our favorite dining place in Palm Springs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The Tropicale was amazing! We had their restaurant week menu and everything was delicious! The service was excellent and the ambiance was exceptional! Will definitely come back when in Palm Springs!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Birthday. We had the restaurant week menu, and the choices were difficult . Like spicy Thai ribs and maray all’s and ravioli. Weird combo. But that said the ravioli and meatballs on their own were spectacular and the ribs fantastic. My friend and I both had stomach aches and couldn’t sleep. Should have had a salad for the first course. Live and learn lol. We will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The open aired dining area is awesome! Laurie was a great waitress.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

When I'm in Palm Springs I always visit the Tropical. I've never been disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great service and good was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Good food value in a lively Pan Springs setting. Will return for the music soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Everything was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Tropicale is always top notch. And Daniel is always the cherry on top!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Birthday

We had told them in advance it was a birthday. When we were done with the dinner they asked if we wanted dessert and we ordered. Desert came and went and when we were getting ready to leave they remembered it was a birthday and brought a scoop of ice cream and candle

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Fantastic in every sense of the word! I would highly recommend Tropicale to even the pickiest of people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Outstanding martini's in the back bar with Tito - Went early in the evening, relatively quiet, very enjoyable experience. Dinner was excellent, service was terrific - Great Birthday experience. Definitely will return...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Excellent food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

We dined and loved the ambiance. We were greeted by our waiter right away, our drinks were delicious and never had such an amazing sangria which I have heard they are known for and would strongly suggest ordering one! We ordered the platter that has a little bit of everything on it and did not disappoint-we also ordered the spaghetti and meatballs which were scrumptious! We all can’t wait to go back and try other items on the menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Now THIS is a place to LOVE!! And we do!!! Living in PS we are OFTEN here for ourselves, friends, family...or ANY reason!! This time was an evening with a special friend...were on COMFORTABLE patio...could talk but with vibrant people around!! And the food!!! And service!! What more could you ask?? We have been enjoying this wonderful place for the 10 years it has been here...and expect it to remain fabulous for YEARS to come...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The service was friendly but spotting. The pasta was much too chewy, although the meatballs and sauce were good. The best thing about the place is its ambience,

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This is a fun place for cocktails and appetizers on the patio or in the bar, but the main dishes at lunch were no better than fair. Although the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, the dining room (inside) servers and staff seemed indifferent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Love the Tropicale! Great food, wonderful service and

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
107