About The Tropicale

330 East Amado Road
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

A chic and sophisticated décor provides the setting for our distinctive "world cuisine", a provocative mix of zesty influences that creates a delightful dining experience in Palm Springs, California. Plush high-backed semicircular banquettes surround our dining room and offer comfortable and private seating. The cuisine has a light, exotic feel with an emphasis on Pacific Rim specialties, from Chilean Sea Bass baked in Banana Leaves or Kahlua-Barbecued Pork Chops to all sorts of tasty tapas, salads, wood-fired pizzas, and desserts. The Coral Seas Lounge, a hip mid-century style bar is lined with sexy black leather bar-stools and is reminiscent of the upbeat lounges of old Palm Springs. It wraps around the dining room and leads outside to a lush, tropical, 2000 square foot dining patio where a variety of specialty cocktails and old-school favorites are mixed - an ideal place where friends gather and martinis are sipped under the starlit desert sky.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Saturday and Sunday Patio Brunch: 11:am to 2:45pm; Daily Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) 4:pm-7:pm, All night long Happy Hour (Bar and Lounge) Wednesday night; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday 5pm to 10pm, Friday & Saturday 5pm to 11pm. On Sundays nights we offer our dinner menu and also feature the best Sushi in town.

Cross Street:
Encilia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 866-1952

Website:
http://www.thetropicale.com/

Entertainment:
Every Tuesday and Thursday starting at 5:30, it's renowned jazz musician Derrik Lewis and his trio at the keyboard.

Catering:
Order wonderful Tropicale creations for any occasion. Call, place an order and we will have it ready for pick up. If you'd like to bring in your own special platters we can plate your choice of food and have them ready whenever you'd like.

Parking Details:
Private parking is available in the back of the restaurant. There is also parking available in the Casino lot across the street as well as plenty of street parking.

Executive Chef:
Tony Di Lembo

Private Party Facilities:
Our wonderful patio can be rented out for private functions.

Private Party Contact:
Ranz Wienert: 3238239632x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Open 365 days a year. Holiday special menus offered. Please call the restaurant to inquire.

Restaurant Photos

The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale
The Tropicale

The Tropicale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Vibrant Bar Scene
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
1 More
Most Booked
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (152)
Hot Spot (135)
Vibrant Bar Scene (125)
See All
Special Occasion (122)
Good for Groups (111)
Fit for Foodies (105)
Neighborhood Gem (96)
Romantic (76)
Great for Brunch (68)
Late-night Find (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Notable Wine List (21)
People Watching (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Fun (15)
Casual (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tapas (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Fireplace (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Tropical is a beautiful restaurant w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Tropical is a beautiful restaurant with excellent decorations. We were warmly greeted and shown directly our table thanks to our advance reservations made through Open Table. The wait staff was quickly quickly filling our water glasses and bringing us warm bread. After reviewing the menu we choice one of their pizzas and pasta. The starter salads were very tasty and our main dishes excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our all time faves when visiting ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of our all time faves when visiting the desert

We love the ambiance decor and more importantly - the food it's fresh well prepared

Sushi Sunday is a must

Gr8 cocktail s

From edgy service

We usalally dine there at least twice

Thank you

Aloah

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The firecracker shrimp, chicken satay an ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

The firecracker shrimp, chicken satay and Cobb salad were all wonderful -- excellent in fact. My dining companion was not enthused about the sushi; he called it "serviceable" but wasn't overly impressed. Everyone we encountered was pleasant. But the whole dining experienced felt ... rushed. I can't explain why. The dining room was not busy and I can't speak for the patio. It seemed as if only seconds elapsed before the shrimp was served and we hadn't finished it when the satay arrived. We were still nibbling on satay when the sushi and salad were presented. We were seated at 7:00 PM so it's not like the staff was trying to close up for the night. I simply felt as if they wanted us to eat fast and get outta there. I loved the atmosphere and decor. And I appreciate how the bartenders were willing to make me a non-alcoholic "highball". But something just didn't "click" and my final impression was one of disappointment. We'd been encouraged by so many of our friends to go to the Tropicale but, sadly, it didn't live up to the hype. Understand there was nothing "bad" about the experience and the food, excepting the sushi, was great. (The firecracker shrimp were sublime!) But I don't feel compelled to return.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Another outstanding Sunday brunch at Tro ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

Another outstanding Sunday brunch at Tropicale. As always, the food and service were awesome. We were fortunate to have one of our favorite servers - Lorrie. She was very professional and attentive. Can't wait until we have the opportunity to go again for weekend brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had six people in our group and we go ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had six people in our group and we got a Reservation on a very busy Saturday night.

Seated right away and all six ordered a different Entree and all was great as so was the

service. We will be back !!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had to change my reservation number & ho ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had to change my reservation number & host staff were very cooperative & were able to accomodate me. The staff at Tropicale are always helpful & pleasant. Great evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Tropicale many times and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to Tropicale many times and have always thoroughly enjoyed my food and the atmosphere. Will continue to make this place one of my stops every time I'm in Palm Springs. Especially love the ambiance!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Tropicale is always great. This time ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The Tropicale is always great. This time it was brunch to celebrate a birthday. The service was impeccable (like it always is) and the food choices were great. So much so, that everyone had a hard time deciding. We also did not feel rushed, so we hung out and had some bottomless champagne.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing service all around! I had made a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing service all around! I had made a reservation a few weeks ago but on the day of We had called ahead to see if we could get a booth but originally was told they wouldn't be able to accommodate us but when we arrived they had a booth ready for us! Our waiter was super helpful and friendly (wish I could remember his name!) and our drinks and dinner were amazing! I always make sure to come here when I'm in town and all the above mentions are the reason why. We always have an amazing experience whenever we come to The Tropicale :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always think of Tropicale for a special, ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always think of Tropicale for a special, innovative dinner and never disappointed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Tropicale is a Palm Springs must! Food i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Tropicale is a Palm Springs must! Food is always amazing, love the boneless fried chicken, service always on point, and if it's cool enough the patio is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We entered the restaurant at the end of ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We entered the restaurant at the end of their Happy Hour and the bar area was packed. We sat in the outside dinning area and it was very nice. Robert our waiter was very nice and the drinks were good. The food was just so so. I had Halabit and it was over cooked and my wife had the fried chicken that was good. All the food was over salted and the salad we ordered was over dressed and old. We did not eat the salad. We would give this restaurant another chance before we make our final decision.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Tropicale always proves itself to be a w ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Tropicale always proves itself to be a winner with great appetizers and pizzas. Being my birthday, they gave us a nice treat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved our experience there. Don't ch ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We loved our experience there. Don't change a thing!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to my Birthday, and what a grea ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went to my Birthday, and what a great time we had. The food was delicious. The service was good. We really enjoyed ourselves. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best over all experiences in ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of the best over all experiences in PS. Great food service and ambiance

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Came for brunch, but won't be back. Serv ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Came for brunch, but won't be back. Service was good, was seated immediately thanks to Open Table and our server was very friendly. Food was disappointing. The Shelton Farm Herb Chicken with Poached Egg sounded enticing but plating was sloppy with barely any hollandaise, 3 pieces of shredded chicken and lacked seasoning. The Morning After Breakfast with Scrambled Eggs and Pancakes looked just as bad with eggs that looked like school cafeteria eggs, some sausages thrown in there - like Denny's diner food. Pancakes were good though super fluffy. My friend ordered a burger well done but came medium (now I'm a rare-medium rare person but why ask how you would like your meat cooked when you can't do it anyway?). Then looking around with what other people ordered, their plates looked just as bland and boring too. Pineapple Jalapeno Margarita was good just as our server recommended. Bloody Mary was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Great ambiance with affordable and uniqu ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great ambiance with affordable and unique dishes. Good place for a lively meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked a reservation here for me and 4 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I booked a reservation here for me and 4 girl friends after seeing the great reviews online. This placed surpassed my expectations, it had a great vibe and was conveniently located. It's also wayyy prettier in person (we dined at night) pictures don't do it justice! The food and service were all great. Overall it was an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like the atmosphere and the vibe besid ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I like the atmosphere and the vibe beside the food. Great place for any occasion. Food is made fresh and you can change some ingredients in the food. I have soy allergies and they were able to do that for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The large table next to us was quite lou ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The large table next to us was quite loud. Annoyed that two who were feeling no pain ended up sitting at our table and nothing was done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My dining partner's Viener schnitzel and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My dining partner's Viener schnitzel and was not very good - too thick and not up to his expectations. We had a very good server however, and the restaurant's ambiance is very nice. Tropicale's prices seem to have gone up - not as good a value as it once was. Still a fairly good choice though, in Palm Springs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

My favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Palm Springs. All the staff is so friendly and the food is always wonderful. This it a five star restaurant for me.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's all about the scene. I wouldn't go ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It's all about the scene. I wouldn't go for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Always high-energy fun and the best pati ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always high-energy fun and the best patio in the desert!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we have been to Trop many times and just ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

we have been to Trop many times and just love the food and the service. must visit for those going to PS.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my 70th birthday and I had told t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It was my 70th birthday and I had told them that, but there was no mention of my birthday, and no complimentary dessert. I was a little disappointed by that, after a totally different and much better earlier birthday experience with another local restaurant. It was too hot to eat outside, which has a much better ambiance than inside (restaurant can't be blamed for the weather, however!) overall, it was ok but don't expect anything extra if it is a special occasion. Food is fine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Tropical is always a wonderful experienc ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Tropical is always a wonderful experience. Love the food, the ambiance and the service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had A small birthday dinner out on the p ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Had A small birthday dinner out on the patio. Service was great food was delicious a fun time was had by all including the birthday boy thanks again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Again, took close friends to our favorit ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Again, took close friends to our favorite place...and, again, never disappointed!! Sunday is sushi and my sushi platter was outstanding. My husband enjoyed the Cobb Salad, our guests, fish and meatballs/spaghetti ...and the Cosmos are always perfect!!! Just love the ambiance, welcoming attitude, food, service...all anyone would want...and we enjoy it often...love the place!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The hostess seating was a nightmare this ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The hostess seating was a nightmare this time . I stood at the hostess stand ans was next and around 12 mins later after others cutting in front of me I finally said something and was acknowledged . We had reaervations ans I felt invisible .

In addition the ahi appetizer tasted fishy ans the shrimp was overlooked . We used to love this place ans it's slipping .

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I consistently find the staff and restau ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I consistently find the staff and restaurant exceptional. Since the first time I came to find this desert gem, I have had a memorable visit each and every time. The reservations are always spot on and tailored to the request if at all possible. The food is trendy, yet tasty with a comfort food flair. Its a place everyone feels welcome and special regardless of the occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful patio. Wonderful ambience and ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful patio. Wonderful ambience and delicious food. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great restaurant for any occasion. Only ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great restaurant for any occasion. Only drawback at all is the bread which is very salty and despite pleas to get them to add a different style of rolls or bread they won't do it. Otherwise, it's a fun place to go with good food and an excellent bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

We had a fantastic Sunday brunch here. O ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a fantastic Sunday brunch here. Our server, Lori was spectacular. The food was delicious and you can't beat the $12 bottomless sparkling mimosas!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Tropicale. It's a staple in PS. G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Love Tropicale. It's a staple in PS. Great outdoor patio and always a good atmosphere and friendly staff.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale was spectacular! The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Tropicale was spectacular! The food was terrific, the service was exactly what you want...attentive without being creepy, great knowledge of the food and drinks, fun and interactive with the table. The patio is amazing even in the heat of summer, the fans and misters made it refreshing and fun.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tropicale is one of my favorite special ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Tropicale is one of my favorite special occasion local places to go. Nice outdoor patio/bar area and nice retro/60's/Miami Beachy atmosphere. Good for happy hour too. Happy hour prices are OK but dinner menu is pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated right on time. The place ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were seated right on time. The place was busy for Palm Springs, off-season, in the middle of August when it was very hot. We chose the patio over waiting a few minutes for a table inside. The misters were doing their job and the warm evening (in the high 90s) seemed to be forgotten as it was perfectly comfortable. The service was great (as usual) and the food was first-rate given the prices. For the first time I tried a veggie burger (one of the specials that night) and it was absolutely outstanding. The bun was like butter soft, the patties were just firm enough to make it work as a "burger" sandwich. Add the melted cheese and outstanding fries and you couldn't go wrong. My friends all enjoyed their meals - Korean beef salad and the (always good) chicken cob salad.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful vibe and food. One comment if ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful vibe and food. One comment if ls that the prices could/should be a tad lower. Great outdoor dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.