Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tree Room @ Sundance

*Guests must be 12 years of age or older to dine in the Tree Room.


At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2017 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef David Mullen serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
-Dinner Only-

Tuesday-Saturday: 5:00pm-9:00pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/tree-room/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Romantic (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Scenic View (12)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fireplace (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Historic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food! A little pricey but worth it. Low lit, romantic ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The menu and service at the Tree Room are great. We especially enjoyed the preparation of the fish, but all dishes were interesting and delicious. It is a bit pricey but not surprisingly so. It's also not easy finding the restaurant - a few signs point to "restaurant" but are not clear that they mean the Tree Room. The rusticity of the room is balanced out by the beautiful collection of Native American and Western art and artifacts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food, service and ambiance was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This restaurant exceeds my expectations every time and this occasion was no different. Staff are ultra professional, accommodating, thoughtful, and superb. Food is beyond divine. Ambiance is everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lived up to its reputation. One of the most pleasant, enjoyable meals I have ever had. Food , service and ambiance were special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Pricey but worth it. The staff really makes the experience worth it. Engaging waiter was friendly and had great suggestions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Just as great as it was our first time in 1966. We try to eat there every visit to Utah.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have been going to The Tree Room for 12 years. It never disappoints. The food is spectacular and the service is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Sundance Tree Room is one of our favorite restaurants, especially for special occasions and anniversaries.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I love this place. However the food was not as good as the last time I was here. Still fantastic but I was not 100% satisfied. The pepper steak was the best part. The octopus was good but not incredible, the fish was really good. The service was very professional and very friendly. Excellent on service. The overall experience will not be a 5 star like it was last time.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 29, 2017

WE drove from Park City and it was definitely worth the trip. We had 6 adults and 7 teenagers in our group and everyone had a fabulous time. The food and wine were fantastic. Basil, our waiter was spot on. The ambiance was cozy and scenic. It was a very memorable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Service was perfect, the servers had great knowledge about the food. The food was very creative and does not stop to amaze course after course. It is always a great place to wine and dine. Definitely best of state.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything we ate here was next level amazing. Same enthusiasm for the service and for the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Absolutely beautiful location. Everyone you meet is so friendly and warm. Staff is very well trained in making the guest feel welcome. The menu was focused and delicious. Reading the history, I think it endures because of the attention to detail.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The Tree Room lives up to its reputation in every way. The service was flawless, the food was outstandingly prepared and presented and the room itself is one of a kind.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I had dinner to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

Food was fantastic, service was excellent, definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We celebrated Valentines Day there. Had a wonderful evening! The ambience was amazing. The service was outstanding. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been going to the Tree Room for years. It never disappoints. The food, service and ambiance is all five star.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best restaurant I've been to in Utah. The staff is incredible and the food is unique to the chef. He has mastered the manipulation of palette. Incredible meal. Recommend for a date, great environment.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the wait staff was fantastic. The portions were smaller than I anticipated and we left still a bit hungry. But, the food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Tree Room was amazing. Not a once a week looks of place for someone with my income, but my wife and I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Ambiance was delightful, food was delicious and service was impeccable. First class everything.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another great meal (our third time) at The Tree Room. Had Basil (again) as our server, and he as good as they come. I had the scallops, which were outstanding, and my wife had the Pepper Steak (a Tree Room favorite). Great wine by the glass even...the dessert of Chocolae Decadence (and a glass of Port) was...decadent. 2 people, $240 including tip. Don't let the price put you off (plus add in a drink or two before hand at The Owl Bar) Great experience as always. We will return for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We had a delicious dinner with our friends. Tables and seating is comfortable, ambiance is great. The room is filled with Native American art. Service is excellent...friendly and efficient. The mushroom soup was very flavorful. The bread they serve is seedy and amazing. My pepper steak was cooked to perfection and not too peppery...just right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We have a tradition with friends to eat here before going to a Sundance movie each year. Service was excellent, incredible ambiance, celebrities scattered throughout the dining room, and overall just a fabulous experience each year.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dining at the Tree room has been a great! We are from out of state and are able to enjoy this once a year. Our server today and was Skyler he was very attentive and had wonderful charisma!
Our dinner was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the best service, food and wine, Cheers to this beautiful place! l Julie Lenoch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Lovely night, Basil was fabulous, delicious food! Perfect evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have to assume that this was an off night. We were seated an hour after our reservation time and the staff never apologized. I've frankly never seen anything quite like it.

It didn't help matters that there were no available parking spots so I was told I would have to drive to alternate parking half a mile up a hill and come back on the skier's shuttle.

The food was disappointing (cold soup? How hard is it to check that soup is reasonably warm?).

The good: the locale, buildings, and ambience were lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was amazing!! Flavor combinations I never would have thought of. The White Chocolate Fromage Cake blew my mind. Skyler (our server) was gracious and attentive. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfect spot off the beaten path for a special trip to enjoy great ambience and food. Service was exceptional! Definitely request a table near the tree as it gives the best view of the restaurant - and the booths are especially cozy for two! Make sure to leave plenty of time to get to the resort as it is off the beaten path...and if you get there too early - pop on over to the Owl Bar (a 2 second walk) for some to die for hummus and some local drinks!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Incredible service and food from start to finish. Very friendly, romantic, relaxing, and quiet atmosphere. We had a great experience and will return often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This has become our "go to" place for Christmas! Everything about it is true to the holiday spirit. The food is creative and delicious. Skylar, our waiter was attentive and offered suggestions that proved to be right on. It is pricy, but my husband says "worth every penny!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family of 7 spent Christmas Eve 2016 at the Tree Room, hoping for a wonderful dinner in a special place. The spiced wassail was fantastic. The Sundance salad was so tasty. All of us loved our entrees of salmon, steak and scallops. It was a quiet evening with great service and exceptionally terrific food while it snowed gently outside. Ah! Just as I had imagined.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

portions were a lot smaller than I feel that I paid for.
But we went for the ambiance anyway

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. The decor and cabin feel was very romantic. The seating was a little couch/booth that was cozy and made your dining experience more intimate.

The food was incredible. They start with a little taster for your meal. It was this shortbread with marinated goat cheese, basil, and strawberry. We immediately knew we picked the right place to eat. We got the pork belly appetizer (favorite part of the meal). The pork was so soft and creamy and flavorful. My husband got the pepper steak, which was delicious and I got the elk loin which was good but I think I'd order something else next time. I also got a spritzer that was very flavorful. We finished off with an ice cream dessert with chocolate sauce. Also delicious but I probably would have gone with something else looking back.

The service and our waitress was amazing. She was so knowledgeable about the menu.

Our total with the appetizer, one non-alcoholic drink, two entrees (we got the most expensive ones), and one dessert was $132 before tip.

Dining here was an experience and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Phenomenal services and flavorful, good quality food served in a quiet, beautiful setting.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was amazing. The steak melts in your mouth and you will crave it forever after. The only problem was a large group who didn't feel the need to use their indoor voices. Their conversation was very interesting and funny to listen to so no real harm done.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Again, as for each special occasion, we loved the Sundance Tree Room experience. The food is exquisite (the pepper steak is our food Holy Grail). Appetizers are unique and wonderful. Service and presentation are the best. What else can be said about the ambience - it's Sundance ! Do hit the Owl Bar before dining.. It's great fun. It's our favorite dining "experience" for the food, service, venue, and.... It's Sundance!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.