Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tree Room @ Sundance

*Guests must be 12 years of age or older to dine in the Tree Room.


At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2017 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award, 2017 Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef David Mullen serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
-Dinner Only-

Tuesday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/tree-room/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Scenic View (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very small portions, extremely high prices. Excellent service, but not worth the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Service was good , as they had several staff helping to keep the water glasses full and bread basket full
the tree is dead and there was no views or windows on our side of the restaurant

However, both the fish and chicken was good. It was a little expensive $100 for 2

we walked around after dinner and enjoyed the mountain river and air

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Small quaint Resturant with great friendly service. They work hard to give Good service without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Every dish was superb and the service was perfect. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

excellent ambiance, excellent service, exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were very impressed with the service and the attention we were given, just outstanding made you feel welcomed an comfortable....the little appetizer by the chief were excellent an not expected..the main cours, I had pepper steak, wife had salmon we're unbelievable.i have 25+ years in food service and my highest regards to the chiefs...great presentations an the tenderest steak I have ever had...I could have had about two more...Excellent..highly recommended
THANK YOU
RICHARD BAKER

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Elegant and charming. Fabulous and unique food. Professional yet friendly staff that excels in service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent food, and a small quiet setting. Perfect for our anniversary dinner!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Fantastic Romantic night. Will certainly be back. Worth the drive it is beautiful and the service is as good as it gets.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was top notch. Food amazing and artful. Every bite was a taste experience! Always enjoy our meals at the Tree Room.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The Rabbit Angliote had incredibly robust flavors.

The salmon itself was not my favorite and honestly lacked flavor, but the sides were nice additives.

The service was exemplerary.

You can't beat the setting and ambiance of this spot.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others, but perhaps try the Bison or the Pepper Steak instead of the Salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great relaxed atmosphere with the fine dining touch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We've been going to Sundance for 20+ years...this is the first time we've had a bad meal. Service was great as always, ambiance superb as always...New chef, food not as good. Hubby had Buffalo (hard little brown rocks), so not worth $48.00!
Tomato soup was like tomato sauce, Fennel that I could not chew, King Salmon 1/2 cooked through, etc. The bread was the best thing! So not worth it now, too bad, love the rest of Sundance Resort!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic setting! Fantastic food! Fantastic service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food is good. Nothing wrong with the service. It is between casual to fine dining but New York pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food! A little pricey but worth it. Low lit, romantic ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The menu and service at the Tree Room are great. We especially enjoyed the preparation of the fish, but all dishes were interesting and delicious. It is a bit pricey but not surprisingly so. It's also not easy finding the restaurant - a few signs point to "restaurant" but are not clear that they mean the Tree Room. The rusticity of the room is balanced out by the beautiful collection of Native American and Western art and artifacts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food, service and ambiance was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'm always enjoying to come to this restaurant for outstanding service, which you'll never find in any other restaurants.
That is only restaurant in Utah truly deserve 5 star for the service and food.
Thank you for being such a great in every point.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant exceeds my expectations every time and this occasion was no different. Staff are ultra professional, accommodating, thoughtful, and superb. Food is beyond divine. Ambiance is everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lived up to its reputation. One of the most pleasant, enjoyable meals I have ever had. Food , service and ambiance were special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Pricey but worth it. The staff really makes the experience worth it. Engaging waiter was friendly and had great suggestions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Just as great as it was our first time in 1966. We try to eat there every visit to Utah.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I have been going to The Tree Room for 12 years. It never disappoints. The food is spectacular and the service is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Sundance Tree Room is one of our favorite restaurants, especially for special occasions and anniversaries.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I love this place. However the food was not as good as the last time I was here. Still fantastic but I was not 100% satisfied. The pepper steak was the best part. The octopus was good but not incredible, the fish was really good. The service was very professional and very friendly. Excellent on service. The overall experience will not be a 5 star like it was last time.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 28, 2017

WE drove from Park City and it was definitely worth the trip. We had 6 adults and 7 teenagers in our group and everyone had a fabulous time. The food and wine were fantastic. Basil, our waiter was spot on. The ambiance was cozy and scenic. It was a very memorable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Service was perfect, the servers had great knowledge about the food. The food was very creative and does not stop to amaze course after course. It is always a great place to wine and dine. Definitely best of state.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything we ate here was next level amazing. Same enthusiasm for the service and for the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely beautiful location. Everyone you meet is so friendly and warm. Staff is very well trained in making the guest feel welcome. The menu was focused and delicious. Reading the history, I think it endures because of the attention to detail.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The Tree Room lives up to its reputation in every way. The service was flawless, the food was outstandingly prepared and presented and the room itself is one of a kind.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My wife and I had dinner to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

Food was fantastic, service was excellent, definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We celebrated Valentines Day there. Had a wonderful evening! The ambience was amazing. The service was outstanding. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have been going to the Tree Room for years. It never disappoints. The food, service and ambiance is all five star.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Best restaurant I've been to in Utah. The staff is incredible and the food is unique to the chef. He has mastered the manipulation of palette. Incredible meal. Recommend for a date, great environment.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the wait staff was fantastic. The portions were smaller than I anticipated and we left still a bit hungry. But, the food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Tree Room was amazing. Not a once a week looks of place for someone with my income, but my wife and I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Ambiance was delightful, food was delicious and service was impeccable. First class everything.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.