About The Tree Room @ Sundance

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2014 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef David Mullen serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 pm- 9:00 pm
Friday- Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://sundanceresort.com/dine/tree_room.html

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Best Service
Utah
8 More
Best Ambiance
Utah
Best Value
Utah
Fit for Foodies
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Contemporary American
Utah
Most Booked
Sundance
Best Restaurants in Sundance ›

special occasion (24)
fit for foodies (22)
romantic (22)
See All
scenic view (13)
notable wine list (9)
good for groups (5)
great for brunch (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their service was impeccable. From the f ...

Dined 5 days ago

Their service was impeccable. From the first reservation confirmation, hostess greeting, menu service and while we were leaving the general manager gave us her heartfelt thank you. The menu gave us a well thought out variety. Taste, texture, presentation and above all else, so delicious. Love the Tree Room and will return very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have two sisters and we met in Salt La ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have two sisters and we met in Salt Lake City where one of us were working. We planned this dinner because of the beautiful area and were very impressed with every aspect of our dinner. A must try if you are in the Provo area. Awesome and the wait staff was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Dining Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our third time to The Tree Room and it was just as amazing as the first two times. This is the perfect fine dining experience! Amazing food, top-notch service, beautiful, cozy atmosphere in a gorgeous mountain setting. One of our very favorite dining experiences in Utah! We even spotted Mr. Redford dining a couple of tables away from us, which was exciting. If you want an all-around extraordinary dining experience, this is a place you will not want to miss! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true 5 Star restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

If you are looking for a great place for great food then I highly recommend the tree room. I took my mom here for Mother's Day and she couldn't stop thanking me for a special evening. If you were looking a place to go for a special occasion or a romantic then this is definitely the place to go. To top the evening off we ran into Robert Redford on the way out and he was quite the gentleman. He even stopped in shook our hands. It doesn't get much better than that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Tree Room always a treat!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was great as usual, haven't been in a while so enjoyed some of the menu changes. The portions were just right, service above par. All in all a favorite that will continue to be on our Utah County top list

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place

Dined on March 30, 2016

I have been to the Tree Room a few times now and I haven't been disappointed yet. Good food and great service. It is pricey, but for special occasions you can't do much better than this. Its a plus that it is up at Sundance where the scenery is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely dining experience! Staff, food q ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Lovely dining experience! Staff, food quality and presentation all very nice. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fantastic experience all around. The food was incredible, location was sublime and everything about the meal was perfect. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot come back soon enough

Dined on February 27, 2016

The most kind and attentive staff. Everything that we ordered was delicious and clever in its pairing. Please do not leave with out trying the grilled octopus and the pepper steak. I cannot come back soon enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not as good as the glory days

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Please note - It the picture doesn't show a tablecloth on the table, it's not the Tree Room. It's the Foundry Grill. There is no Pizza at the Tree Room. ------------ The wife and I have been dining here for 41 years as of this writing. It goes back to when we were dating. We've dined here well over 100 times. I should have written a review here earlier, but my only meals have been with business groups, not just with the wife. The Tree Room has always been a true chef driven restaurant. That's fantastic in times when you have a Chef that's hitting on all cylinders. That's not always the case. Unfortunately the times they've had the best Chefs, the Chef gets national recognition and the Chef is gone within a year to a bigger market. Nearly all the Chefs have stayed within the box. This is a Western resort restaurant. The menu reflects those sensibilities. Sundance takes pride -- and justifiably so -- in the sourcing of ingredients. They grow many of the ingredients themselves. We had not been around in a while because there's been other options that fit our purse strings better, and it's only been recently I could have the scratch to dine here again. The verdict ... Solid food, but nothing that stood out. Minor lapses in the cooking. The sauces had less flavor then they should have. Ernest service, but not at the level of this level of fine dining should have. I appreciate that I apparently have excellent skills at picking good dishes. I expect everyone he serves does. I appreciate that he has dishes he likes better than others, and that he has endless curiosity about how much I'm enjoying the dish when I start eating it, while I'm eating it, and after I ate it. OK, I don't and I don't expect it at one of the States finest restaurants. At this point it's not reaching the level that it's handful of direct competition has reached. If the chef has changed since I wrote this, all bets are off about the quality. It may be back. I'll update as I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Place to impress

Dined on February 25, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to celebrate her birthday. The atmosphere and food contrasted nicely with the decor giving the restaurant a classy feelwithout trying too hard. The food was excellent. The elk loin is a new personal favorite and my girlfriend loved the grouper. The staff were really friendlyou and extremely helpful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5

Service exceptional as was the room and ...

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

Service exceptional as was the room and the resort. Food was very disappointing . Selection was narrow. Elk from New Zealand ? Trout was weak. Dessert was poor. Expected an excellent meal to be disappointed .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had been at Sundance resort several times for brunch at the Foundry Grill but never had the opportunity to eat at the Tree Room until last week. The place is fantastic with beautiful Native American decor. The wine list is excellent. We tried the Hamachi with avocado which was delicious, the grilled octopus, the grouper and the lamb. Everything was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stacey

Dined on January 29, 2016

Service was impeccable..we needed to move quickly as we were seeing a movie in the screening room..they got us out with time to spare. The food was delicious...unforgettable really! As was the wine..cant wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Annual Sundance Dinner

Dined on January 29, 2016

We attend the Sundance Film Festival every year and always try to schedule one evening screening at the Sundance Resort. Dinner at the Tree Room before or after our film is one of the highlights of our festival experience. The food is imaginative and very tasty, the rustic elegance of the dining room is very soothing, and the personable waitstaff are most accommodating. Truly a dining experience every time we go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Really elegant and relaxing with delicio ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Really elegant and relaxing with delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

January 9, 2016 Visit to the Tree Room

Dined on January 10, 2016

a Beautiful restaurant, with service that does not fail, the food was superb. Everyone on the staff aims to please, and is as pleasant as can be. My husband and I were there after a day of skiing at Sundance, what a wonderful way to cap off a great day !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Pepper steak is A+

Dined on December 3, 2015

Pepper steak is A+

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere, great food and a w ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Beautiful atmosphere, great food and a wonderful waitstaff!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Delicious!

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

We really enjoyed dinner at the Tree Room. The food was amazing, and the service was friendly, but very slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Tree Room is unique and the gem of Sundance.

Dined on November 6, 2015

The Tree Room has a very understated but special feel. The food served is not overly fancy but done very well. Service, especially by Basil, is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and arrived and we're sat a tabl ...

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

My wife and arrived and we're sat a table near a large family with children. As usual the family had no concideration for the other diners and allowed their child to bang a spoon on the plate in front of them. I spoke with Johnny the manager and he was fantastic immediately relocating us. The wait staff were impeccable and the food was the best I can remember in recent history. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond Awesome!

Dined on October 15, 2015

There are not enough positive adjectives in the Dictionary to describe our experience at The Tree Room on 15 Oct 2015. The Staff were amazing and very sensitive to our needs and wants; the ambience was perfect; and the food was heavenly. My wife and I had our first date at The Tree Room 39 years ago; and we decided to return (with our two youngest minor children) to "where it all began" for our 35th wedding anniversary. My wife was very pleased; our children were amazed; and I was very satisfied with what amounted to a perfect evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely remarkable.

Dined on October 10, 2015

The service was flawless, the food was incredible, the restaurant was beautiful - would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a first class place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A must visit for the Park City/Sundance area

Dined on October 3, 2015

This is an icon in the area and the service, food, atmosphere and experience was top notch. Many thanks to Skylar and the rest of the staff for a memorable evening. We liked it so much, we took our friends there a week later. And this is with us having to drive from Park City. The scallops were exceptional; the pepper steak cooked perfectly; and ooh the desserts. The soup changes but the tomato basil we had was delicious and poured tableside. The wines are a bit pricey but even the Sundance partnership zin wine with Altamura was good. (we will have to visit them on our next Napa excursion). Not to be missed. While some people may say it is on the expensive side, being from Dallas and staying in Park City for a month, it's in alignment with the area. And so much better service and ambiance than other places we went. Very intimate setting. Can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

We tried it for a special anniversary an ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

We tried it for a special anniversary and were not overly impressed-- the food came out cold and not prepared as requested....finally a busser took the plates away as the server had never made it back to inquire how it was and we were tired of trying to flag someone down. They offered us a coupon for money off the next visit- which we won't use as it really was disappointing to have bad food and bad service on a special occasion and trip all the way to sundance. Much better options are out there-

food5
ambience5
service5

Still great!

Dined on September 12, 2015

I know that the Utah restaurant scene is always improving; however, The Treeroom has remained at, or near the top for a long time. The creativity of the dishes and the development of flavors makes this restaurant comprable to Forage and Handle. That's very good company to keep.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a night to remember!

Dined on September 11, 2015

We went to the Tree Room for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere from the drive up the canyon, to the moment you step out of your car, you are relaxed and peaceful. The restaurant is beautifully rustic and feel so warm and welcoming. We had the Halibut dish which was hands down the best meal either of us had every eaten. From the Salad to the dessert, it was perfection. The wait staff was also amazing!! Every need was met with friendly and professional service. Skyler was the best! ...along with Brent and the others. Thank you for making our night so wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive staff, and the food was outst ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

Attentive staff, and the food was outstanding . Would come back in a heartbeat !

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect location to start a perfect evening!

Dined on August 26, 2015

I would recommend The Tree Room to everyone. The food, service, view, and everything else is excellent. The restaurant has a wonderfully secluded and quiet feel, giving it a sense of calm comfort. The soft low light and rustic decoration adds visual interest for guests. I love it. I chose to take my now fiancé there for dinner before I proposed to her on one of the scenic trails on the side of the stream. I would say that The Tree Room is the perfect location to start a perfect evening. That is how it was for me. My fiancé and I will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food ever

Dined on August 23, 2015

I loved everything about this place. But there was nothing better than their Tree Pepper Steak. The juiciest steak I've ever had with a mango chutney to die for. I want to go back...now!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

The place is a great place to bring peop ...

Dined on August 19, 2015

The place is a great place to bring people from out of state to get a good feel of mountain resorts. The location is fantastic and has great walks to show off Utah. The I took a friend up there and we both had fish. He had the trout and I had the halibut. While both were good, I found the trout to be the more appealing. Not the absolute best I have ever had but really good. The service was a little slow for me.

food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous place to celebrate special occasions

Dined on August 13, 2015

Wife and I recently celebrated our 22nd anniversary at The Tree Room. Fabulous ambience, incredible service. What a great place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We try and eat at the best restaurants g ...

Dined on August 8, 2015

We try and eat at the best restaurants globally in our regular travels, and many hit their marks in some areas but never all of them. The Tree Room is our favorite by far. Attention to detail in every aspect coupled with 'less is more' seasoning that allows the dish to pop with a freshness of flavors often never experienced.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasing

Dined on August 7, 2015

The menu was enticing, the food and paired flavors, memorable, the presentation enjoying, and the service fun, knowledgable and aimed to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Special

vip
Dined on August 6, 2015

The tree room is a very special treat. The atmosphere is comfortable and warm, yet elegant. The staff is very friendly and efficient, and they know the menu and wine selections very well. The service is perfect, but not stuffy. The menu is not extensive, but everything we have ever had has been excellent. This time I had the Alaskan Halibut, and it was perfectly prepared and very flavorful. It is hard to imagine a better dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Stellar experience!

Dined on August 4, 2015

One of the best meals I've ever had! Service was fantastic and very personalized. I had the Lamb which was incredible and my guest had ther famous peppered Filet Mignon which also was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent customer service, ambience wonderful

Dined on July 23, 2015

Food was excellent. I did have to send my steak back because it was not cooked as requested, but they were excellent about it. When I did get it, it was very good. Service was wonderderful. One of the best guest experiences ever because the staff " aimed to please"

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable restaurant in Wooded Paradise

vip
Dined on July 23, 2015

The Tree Room may have been on of the top 5 meals I have had in the past year. From the top notch service and well plated and fresh food (pepper steak, trout and scallops were incredible) to the 5 star Wine List - make sure to try Sundance's own wine that make with famous California and Oregon Wine Makers - The Cabernet was a 95+ point wine ($80/bottle). Highly Recommend and made our weekend quite special

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Great place

vip
Dined on July 12, 2015

Just an overall wonderful experience. Service was great and good was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.