Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tree Room @ Sundance

*Guests must be 12 years of age or older to dine in the Tree Room.


At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2017 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award, 2017 Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef Eric Miller serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
-Dinner Only-

Tuesday-Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/tree-room/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Scenic View (8)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Live Music (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We were well taken care of and the staff should be congratulated.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great attentive staff and wonderful combination of flavors from the chef...Beautiful setting and a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The whole experience was awesome staff was amazing, & friendly. Food was delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

This is a great romantic place. The service is fantastic. Always someone there filling ur water

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We first went to the Tree Room when we were in college and first married. We just celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary there. Thanks Tree Room for great memories.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've lived in the area for over two years and had been wanting to try this place for a while, but always thought it was going to be too far away. Turns out it's only 20ish minutes from central Orem, and well worth the drive!the wine and cocktail list is very impressive, and I'm looking forward to trying their seasonally changing menu at future visits.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I always look forward to any time I get to come up to Sundance and eat at this restaurant. It's a very special treat. The food is always amazing along with the service and the ambience. Highly recommended for a special night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Loved it! Always consistently marvelous food and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food and service were outstanding. I had heard a lot about this restaurant and it definitely lived up to the hype. My wife had the famous pepper steak and I had the buffalo.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Loved this place again! Out 2nd time.....and not our last. Food awesome; waiter (Ben) awesome. We had duck and having been to Sarlat in the Dordogne region of France, we were very curious to see if it was well prepared. It was FABULOUS! Hats off to chef and waiter who recommended it. Our thought previously, is that only the French can make duck ... we were happily, incorrect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Poor service. Long delay then got order wrong. Waitress barely ever came by. In the end the manager apologized and comped our entree. A kind gesture but our special dinner was a disappointment. Very surprised for the class of restaurant this tries to be. Don't bother going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a wonderful evening with excellent wine, food and service. Very relaxing and comfortable ambiance with an almost private setting for my wife's birthday. They accommodated us with a menu that included gluten free options and the desert of fresh berries topped off the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful evening! The food was fabulous! I would rate it one of the top restaurants in Utah! Excellent food, fabulous atmosphere for a fair price! Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been before and love it however this trip I was greatly disappointed in their lack of vegetarian options.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We love the tree room! There is always a new creation on the menu. The creative dishes with fresh local vegetables and fruits are fantastic. The ambience is hard to beat with a pure western mountains vibe that epitomizes Sundance. If you're borderline adventurous, ask the server to explain in detail the special or a couple of dishes that you might try. Once you hear them, you will likely be sold. If not, the pepper steak filet preparation is hard to beat. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very small portions, extremely high prices. Excellent service, but not worth the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Service was good , as they had several staff helping to keep the water glasses full and bread basket full
the tree is dead and there was no views or windows on our side of the restaurant

However, both the fish and chicken was good. It was a little expensive $100 for 2

we walked around after dinner and enjoyed the mountain river and air

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Small quaint Resturant with great friendly service. They work hard to give Good service without being overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Every dish was superb and the service was perfect. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

excellent ambiance, excellent service, exceptional food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were very impressed with the service and the attention we were given, just outstanding made you feel welcomed an comfortable....the little appetizer by the chief were excellent an not expected..the main cours, I had pepper steak, wife had salmon we're unbelievable.i have 25+ years in food service and my highest regards to the chiefs...great presentations an the tenderest steak I have ever had...I could have had about two more...Excellent..highly recommended
THANK YOU
RICHARD BAKER

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Elegant and charming. Fabulous and unique food. Professional yet friendly staff that excels in service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent food, and a small quiet setting. Perfect for our anniversary dinner!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Fantastic Romantic night. Will certainly be back. Worth the drive it is beautiful and the service is as good as it gets.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was top notch. Food amazing and artful. Every bite was a taste experience! Always enjoy our meals at the Tree Room.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The Rabbit Angliote had incredibly robust flavors.

The salmon itself was not my favorite and honestly lacked flavor, but the sides were nice additives.

The service was exemplerary.

You can't beat the setting and ambiance of this spot.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others, but perhaps try the Bison or the Pepper Steak instead of the Salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great relaxed atmosphere with the fine dining touch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We've been going to Sundance for 20+ years...this is the first time we've had a bad meal. Service was great as always, ambiance superb as always...New chef, food not as good. Hubby had Buffalo (hard little brown rocks), so not worth $48.00!
Tomato soup was like tomato sauce, Fennel that I could not chew, King Salmon 1/2 cooked through, etc. The bread was the best thing! So not worth it now, too bad, love the rest of Sundance Resort!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fantastic setting! Fantastic food! Fantastic service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food is good. Nothing wrong with the service. It is between casual to fine dining but New York pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent food! A little pricey but worth it. Low lit, romantic ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The menu and service at the Tree Room are great. We especially enjoyed the preparation of the fish, but all dishes were interesting and delicious. It is a bit pricey but not surprisingly so. It's also not easy finding the restaurant - a few signs point to "restaurant" but are not clear that they mean the Tree Room. The rusticity of the room is balanced out by the beautiful collection of Native American and Western art and artifacts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food, service and ambiance was fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'm always enjoying to come to this restaurant for outstanding service, which you'll never find in any other restaurants.
That is only restaurant in Utah truly deserve 5 star for the service and food.
Thank you for being such a great in every point.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This restaurant exceeds my expectations every time and this occasion was no different. Staff are ultra professional, accommodating, thoughtful, and superb. Food is beyond divine. Ambiance is everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Lived up to its reputation. One of the most pleasant, enjoyable meals I have ever had. Food , service and ambiance were special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Pricey but worth it. The staff really makes the experience worth it. Engaging waiter was friendly and had great suggestions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Just as great as it was our first time in 1966. We try to eat there every visit to Utah.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I have been going to The Tree Room for 12 years. It never disappoints. The food is spectacular and the service is amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.