About The Tree Room @ Sundance

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

*Guests must be 12 years of age or older to dine in the Tree Room.


At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2014 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef David Mullen serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 pm- 9:00 pm
Friday- Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://sundanceresort.com/dine/tree_room.html

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Trout - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Sticky bun - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Margherita Pizza - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Smoked Pork Loin - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Foundry Burger - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Rotisserie Pork Chop - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Brownie Sundae - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Sourdough Bread - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Wild Mushroom Pizza - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Bread Starter - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Maple Brined Pork Chop - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Summer Vegetable Linguini - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Apple Pie - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Rotisserie Pork - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Whole Wheat Bread - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Corn Meal Crusted Trout - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Portabello Wrap With Sweet Potato Fries - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
French Cut Pork With Peach Compote - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT
Calamari Salad - The Tree Room @ Sundance, Sundance, UT

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Best Service
Utah
4 More
Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Contemporary American
Utah
Best Restaurants in Sundance ›

Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Scenic View (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Historic (7)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fireplace (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Dancing (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was amazing. The steak melts ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was amazing. The steak melts in your mouth and you will crave it forever after. The only problem was a large group who didn't feel the need to use their indoor voices. Their conversation was very interesting and funny to listen to so no real harm done.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Again, as for each special occasion, we ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Again, as for each special occasion, we loved the Sundance Tree Room experience. The food is exquisite (the pepper steak is our food Holy Grail). Appetizers are unique and wonderful. Service and presentation are the best. What else can be said about the ambience - it's Sundance ! Do hit the Owl Bar before dining.. It's great fun. It's our favorite dining "experience" for the food, service, venue, and.... It's Sundance!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Menu needs to be revised. Not a good sel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Menu needs to be revised. Not a good selection. Deserts need to be totally revised. Nothing special about them

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Phenomenal as usual. Skylar, our Server, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Phenomenal as usual. Skylar, our Server, was terrific and his recommendations were all spot on!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit The Tree Room on a regular basi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We visit The Tree Room on a regular basis, it's not only the food that attracts us, Sundance is so beautiful and amazing! When you go, ask for Skyler, he's the dining captain and a fabulous waiter....it's truly an incredible dining experience...don't be in a hurry.....

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We entertained some out of state custome ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We entertained some out of state customers here and it was perfect! They very much enjoyed their whole experience. Food, ambiance, service even the drive ALL fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The Tree Room is a special dining experi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Tree Room is a special dining experience in the beautiful Sundance resort. The decor is beautiful and captures the western theme with a touch of elegance. The menu includes something for everyone. Good vegetarian options, fish and my husband had the pepper steak and loved it. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Cory was a great serve ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great experience. Cory was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at the tree room. The pepper steak was delicious and done to our liking.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is was a great experience for my wi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is was a great experience for my wife and I. We really enjoyed the setting and food. I also appreciated that we were not pushed to leave any sooner than we did. It was an overall excellent evening for us.

Thank you, Tree Room!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Skylar was an outstanding server and mad ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Skylar was an outstanding server and made our dinner a special experience. He was knowledgeable, subtle, friendly, attentive, and his timing was perfect with everything. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and atmosphere are top notch ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service and atmosphere are top notch. Very nice and worth the price of admission every once in a while. I was not as impressed with the menu - there just wasn't anything that really jumped out at me. I was pretty much on the mark with my fist impression of the menu, both meals were pretty much meh - nothing I am going to be craving any time soon. Maybe its just me and my tastes, but my wife kind of felt the same way. In fact I wound up eating half of hers because she did not really like it. I actually liked hers more than mine. The food is well prepared with high quality ingredients, just not all that exciting. When I go to a place like this I am really looking for a meal that is exceptional where every bite is amazing. I was even more disappointed in the dessert menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We loved the restaurant. We spent our an ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We loved the restaurant. We spent our anniversary there while visiting my son.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've traveled the world and dined at ma ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We've traveled the world and dined at many of the worlds finest rated restaurants, in our opinion The Tree Room @ Sundance has no equal. No one prepares a pepper steak like Sundance. Best restaurant we've ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You have to make the effort at least onc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

You have to make the effort at least once but I bet it will end up an old favorite.

The history, the setting, the food. The sundance resort is beautiful and setting is spectacular.

Book and go .....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a group of 5 girlfriends that cam ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a group of 5 girlfriends that came from out of state to vacation for a few days since I am a stage 4 cancer patient so this was a very important get together for me. Wish there was a filet minion option. I don't like a lot of pepper but that was the only steak option. The halibut was good but not great and for the price, I didn't think it was worth it. The menu option were so limited. Not sure why... The foundry was better where I ended up getting the filet I was looking for. But the service was great!

Tags: Live Music, Dancing, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Tree Room did not disappoint in any ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Tree Room did not disappoint in any aspect! The service was phenomenal and the food was astounding. Most importantly, the restaurant had a romantic feel and gave for a very intimate night. Beautiful decor. Overall restaurant was 10/10 for setting, service, and food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My salmon I could tell was sitting under ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My salmon I could tell was sitting under a heater for awhile and was barely warm when i got it served to me. I planned a group outing for my mom's 50th birthday, and for these prices, it was very underwhelming. I LOVE the sister restaurant, the foundry grill and feel like the quality, service, and consistency wins in my book any day of the week. Was really expecting a great foodie, fine dining experience here and that didn't happen. Had to ask servers for refills, or to have my initial drink brought to me. Super bummed!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We loved it! We were treated like royalt ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We loved it! We were treated like royalty! The food was exceptional! Loved the setting. It was really what we needed for an intimate night together.

Thank you

We already have told friends how great it was.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! I would definitely go back! T ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Fantastic! I would definitely go back! The pepper steak was wonderful and our server Bassil was friendly, cool and a great addition to our evening. Was a bit amusing how many times I was asked if we had anyone under 12... Even to the point that the kids were asked directly how old they were... I appreciate the effort made to maintain the ambiance, it's unfortunate that the Sundance crowd requires such coaching, but hats off to the management for having the backbone to find a gentle solution for managing entitled folks with unruly children. Bottom line- we loved the Tree Room and feel that Sundance is a special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and food. Our waiter was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely ambiance and food. Our waiter was knowledgeable and charming. His quick thinking saved my new phone after i had inadvertently dropped it in the sink. I must admit we were taken aback by the menu prices.. I would only recommend it tout our wealthier friends, however.......

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

From the wait staff to the ambience. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

From the wait staff to the ambience. The food and the care delivered with each course, this was worth the price of admission.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. I just loved it! The food was a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Perfect. I just loved it! The food was absolutely divine, waiter kind and very thoughtful. I will come back there, for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a BabyMoon and it was the per ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were on a BabyMoon and it was the perfect place! We dined outside with the water in the background and the beautiful trees all around.. The food was such a treat and the dishes were spot on. Each bite was a beautiful experience. The service was spot on and the entire experience was such a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there before and had great meal - t ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been there before and had great meal - this time was "eh"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I dine in very good restaurants all over ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I dine in very good restaurants all over the country. I would consider this restaurant in the top ten best restaurants I've been in. If you're in the Sundance area, this should be a must stop. The service was excellent and I found every course of our meal to be as good as I've ever had. I will be returning as soon as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Both staff membe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was excellent. Both staff members serving us were friendly, attentive, and competent. Food was superb!!! Ambiance fit both the setting and the meal - quiet, private, and very upscale. Have eaten there many times and each time seems to be just a bit better than the last. This restaurant is definitely a treasure for this part of Utah.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Skylar, was fabulous and kno ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server, Skylar, was fabulous and knowledgable. We were lucky to have him.

Food was exquisite. Have the halibut with black rice if you can!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, amazing staff, overall a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful food, amazing staff, overall amazing place for special occasions

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was nice, but I was disappoin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2016

The dinner was nice, but I was disappointed when a boisterous party of 10 was seated in the same room as several small parties of 2-4. It changed the atmosphere and mood from quiet and romantic to loud and "businessy." The food was well-prepared and the wine pairing was good, too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Food, Great Service

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Tree Room has never disappointed. We only go on special occasions. I know of other places that have a larger menu selection, but no place that quite measure up to the quality. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum-oh!

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hadn't been here in many years and returned while staying up at Sundance for the Memorial Day weekend. All I can say is Yum-oh!!!!! Everything, and I mean everything, was absolutely perfect. We won't wait so long before returning again...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their service was impeccable. From the f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Their service was impeccable. From the first reservation confirmation, hostess greeting, menu service and while we were leaving the general manager gave us her heartfelt thank you. The menu gave us a well thought out variety. Taste, texture, presentation and above all else, so delicious. Love the Tree Room and will return very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put a well crafted meal served by ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Simply put a well crafted meal served by generous staff in an unbelievable setting. Well played indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have two sisters and we met in Salt La ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have two sisters and we met in Salt Lake City where one of us were working. We planned this dinner because of the beautiful area and were very impressed with every aspect of our dinner. A must try if you are in the Provo area. Awesome and the wait staff was superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Dining Experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our third time to The Tree Room and it was just as amazing as the first two times. This is the perfect fine dining experience! Amazing food, top-notch service, beautiful, cozy atmosphere in a gorgeous mountain setting. One of our very favorite dining experiences in Utah! We even spotted Mr. Redford dining a couple of tables away from us, which was exciting. If you want an all-around extraordinary dining experience, this is a place you will not want to miss! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A true 5 Star restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 5, 2016

If you are looking for a great place for great food then I highly recommend the tree room. I took my mom here for Mother's Day and she couldn't stop thanking me for a special evening. If you were looking a place to go for a special occasion or a romantic then this is definitely the place to go. To top the evening off we ran into Robert Redford on the way out and he was quite the gentleman. He even stopped in shook our hands. It doesn't get much better than that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tree Room always a treat!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was great as usual, haven't been in a while so enjoyed some of the menu changes. The portions were just right, service above par. All in all a favorite that will continue to be on our Utah County top list

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Place

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 30, 2016

I have been to the Tree Room a few times now and I haven't been disappointed yet. Good food and great service. It is pricey, but for special occasions you can't do much better than this. Its a plus that it is up at Sundance where the scenery is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dining experience! Staff, food q ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2016

Lovely dining experience! Staff, food quality and presentation all very nice. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.