About The Tree Room @ Sundance

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

*Guests must be 12 years of age or older to dine in the Tree Room.


At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2014 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef David Mullen serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 pm- 9:00 pm
Friday- Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://sundanceresort.com/dine/tree_room.html

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Trout
Sticky bun
Margherita Pizza
Smoked Pork Loin
Foundry Burger
Rotisserie Pork Chop
Brownie Sundae
Sourdough Bread
Maple Brined Pork Chop
Summer Vegetable Linguini
Bread Starter
Wild Mushroom Pizza
Apple Pie
Rotisserie Pork
Whole Wheat Bread
Corn Meal Crusted Trout
Calamari Salad
French Cut Pork With Peach Compote
Portabello Wrap With Sweet Potato Fries

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

5.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Food
Utah
Best Service
Utah
8 More
Best Ambiance
Utah
Best Value
Utah
Fit for Foodies
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Contemporary American
Utah
Most Booked
Sundance
Best Restaurants in Sundance ›

special occasion (27)
scenic view (21)
romantic (20)
See All
fit for foodies (19)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (4)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
454 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the wait staff to the ambience. The ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

From the wait staff to the ambience. The food and the care delivered with each course, this was worth the price of admission.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect. I just loved it! The food was a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Perfect. I just loved it! The food was absolutely divine, waiter kind and very thoughtful. I will come back there, for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a BabyMoon and it was the per ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were on a BabyMoon and it was the perfect place! We dined outside with the water in the background and the beautiful trees all around.. The food was such a treat and the dishes were spot on. Each bite was a beautiful experience. The service was spot on and the entire experience was such a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there before and had great meal - t ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been there before and had great meal - this time was "eh"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I dine in very good restaurants all over ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I dine in very good restaurants all over the country. I would consider this restaurant in the top ten best restaurants I've been in. If you're in the Sundance area, this should be a must stop. The service was excellent and I found every course of our meal to be as good as I've ever had. I will be returning as soon as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Both staff membe ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was excellent. Both staff members serving us were friendly, attentive, and competent. Food was superb!!! Ambiance fit both the setting and the meal - quiet, private, and very upscale. Have eaten there many times and each time seems to be just a bit better than the last. This restaurant is definitely a treasure for this part of Utah.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Skylar, was fabulous and kno ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server, Skylar, was fabulous and knowledgable. We were lucky to have him.

Food was exquisite. Have the halibut with black rice if you can!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, amazing staff, overall a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wonderful food, amazing staff, overall amazing place for special occasions

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was nice, but I was disappoin ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The dinner was nice, but I was disappointed when a boisterous party of 10 was seated in the same room as several small parties of 2-4. It changed the atmosphere and mood from quiet and romantic to loud and "businessy." The food was well-prepared and the wine pairing was good, too.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Food, Great Service

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The Tree Room has never disappointed. We only go on special occasions. I know of other places that have a larger menu selection, but no place that quite measure up to the quality. The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum-oh!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Hadn't been here in many years and returned while staying up at Sundance for the Memorial Day weekend. All I can say is Yum-oh!!!!! Everything, and I mean everything, was absolutely perfect. We won't wait so long before returning again...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Their service was impeccable. From the f ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Their service was impeccable. From the first reservation confirmation, hostess greeting, menu service and while we were leaving the general manager gave us her heartfelt thank you. The menu gave us a well thought out variety. Taste, texture, presentation and above all else, so delicious. Love the Tree Room and will return very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put a well crafted meal served by ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Simply put a well crafted meal served by generous staff in an unbelievable setting. Well played indeed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have two sisters and we met in Salt La ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I have two sisters and we met in Salt Lake City where one of us were working. We planned this dinner because of the beautiful area and were very impressed with every aspect of our dinner. A must try if you are in the Provo area. Awesome and the wait staff was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Dining Experience

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our third time to The Tree Room and it was just as amazing as the first two times. This is the perfect fine dining experience! Amazing food, top-notch service, beautiful, cozy atmosphere in a gorgeous mountain setting. One of our very favorite dining experiences in Utah! We even spotted Mr. Redford dining a couple of tables away from us, which was exciting. If you want an all-around extraordinary dining experience, this is a place you will not want to miss! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A true 5 Star restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

If you are looking for a great place for great food then I highly recommend the tree room. I took my mom here for Mother's Day and she couldn't stop thanking me for a special evening. If you were looking a place to go for a special occasion or a romantic then this is definitely the place to go. To top the evening off we ran into Robert Redford on the way out and he was quite the gentleman. He even stopped in shook our hands. It doesn't get much better than that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tree Room always a treat!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was great as usual, haven't been in a while so enjoyed some of the menu changes. The portions were just right, service above par. All in all a favorite that will continue to be on our Utah County top list

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Place

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I have been to the Tree Room a few times now and I haven't been disappointed yet. Good food and great service. It is pricey, but for special occasions you can't do much better than this. Its a plus that it is up at Sundance where the scenery is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely dining experience! Staff, food q ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Lovely dining experience! Staff, food quality and presentation all very nice. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Unbelievable

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Fantastic experience all around. The food was incredible, location was sublime and everything about the meal was perfect. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot come back soon enough

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The most kind and attentive staff. Everything that we ordered was delicious and clever in its pairing. Please do not leave with out trying the grilled octopus and the pepper steak. I cannot come back soon enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as the glory days

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Please note - It the picture doesn't show a tablecloth on the table, it's not the Tree Room. It's the Foundry Grill. There is no Pizza at the Tree Room.

------------

The wife and I have been dining here for 41 years as of this writing. It goes back to when we were dating. We've dined here well over 100 times. I should have written a review here earlier, but my only meals have been with business groups, not just with the wife.

The Tree Room has always been a true chef driven restaurant. That's fantastic in times when you have a Chef that's hitting on all cylinders. That's not always the case. Unfortunately the times they've had the best Chefs, the Chef gets national recognition and the Chef is gone within a year to a bigger market.

Nearly all the Chefs have stayed within the box. This is a Western resort restaurant. The menu reflects those sensibilities. Sundance takes pride -- and justifiably so -- in the sourcing of ingredients. They grow many of the ingredients themselves.

We had not been around in a while because there's been other options that fit our purse strings better, and it's only been recently I could have the scratch to dine here again.

The verdict ... Solid food, but nothing that stood out. Minor lapses in the cooking. The sauces had less flavor then they should have. Ernest service, but not at the level of this level of fine dining should have. I appreciate that I apparently have excellent skills at picking good dishes. I expect everyone he serves does. I appreciate that he has dishes he likes better than others, and that he has endless curiosity about how much I'm enjoying the dish when I start eating it, while I'm eating it, and after I ate it. OK, I don't and I don't expect it at one of the States finest restaurants.

At this point it's not reaching the level that it's handful of direct competition has reached. If the chef has changed since I wrote this, all bets are off about the quality. It may be back. I'll update as I know.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Place to impress

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to celebrate her birthday. The atmosphere and food contrasted nicely with the decor giving the restaurant a classy feelwithout trying too hard. The food was excellent. The elk loin is a new personal favorite and my girlfriend loved the grouper. The staff were really friendlyou and extremely helpful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service exceptional as was the room and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Service exceptional as was the room and the resort. Food was very disappointing . Selection was narrow. Elk from New Zealand ? Trout was weak. Dessert was poor. Expected an excellent meal to be disappointed .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Exceptional

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We had been at Sundance resort several times for brunch at the Foundry Grill but never had the opportunity to eat at the Tree Room until last week. The place is fantastic with beautiful Native American decor. The wine list is excellent. We tried the Hamachi with avocado which was delicious, the grilled octopus, the grouper and the lamb. Everything was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stacey

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Service was impeccable..we needed to move quickly as we were seeing a movie in the screening room..they got us out with time to spare. The food was delicious...unforgettable really! As was the wine..cant wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annual Sundance Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We attend the Sundance Film Festival every year and always try to schedule one evening screening at the Sundance Resort. Dinner at the Tree Room before or after our film is one of the highlights of our festival experience. The food is imaginative and very tasty, the rustic elegance of the dining room is very soothing, and the personable waitstaff are most accommodating. Truly a dining experience every time we go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really elegant and relaxing with delicio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Really elegant and relaxing with delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

January 9, 2016 Visit to the Tree Room

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

a Beautiful restaurant, with service that does not fail, the food was superb. Everyone on the staff aims to please, and is as pleasant as can be. My husband and I were there after a day of skiing at Sundance, what a wonderful way to cap off a great day !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pepper steak is A+

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

Pepper steak is A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautiful atmosphere, great food and a w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Beautiful atmosphere, great food and a wonderful waitstaff!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We really enjoyed dinner at the Tree Room. The food was amazing, and the service was friendly, but very slow.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The Tree Room is unique and the gem of Sundance.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

The Tree Room has a very understated but special feel. The food served is not overly fancy but done very well. Service, especially by Basil, is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and arrived and we're sat a tabl ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

My wife and arrived and we're sat a table near a large family with children. As usual the family had no concideration for the other diners and allowed their child to bang a spoon on the plate in front of them. I spoke with Johnny the manager and he was fantastic immediately relocating us. The wait staff were impeccable and the food was the best I can remember in recent history. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond Awesome!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

There are not enough positive adjectives in the Dictionary to describe our experience at The Tree Room on 15 Oct 2015. The Staff were amazing and very sensitive to our needs and wants; the ambience was perfect; and the food was heavenly. My wife and I had our first date at The Tree Room 39 years ago; and we decided to return (with our two youngest minor children) to "where it all began" for our 35th wedding anniversary. My wife was very pleased; our children were amazed; and I was very satisfied with what amounted to a perfect evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely remarkable.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

The service was flawless, the food was incredible, the restaurant was beautiful - would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a first class place to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A must visit for the Park City/Sundance area

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

This is an icon in the area and the service, food, atmosphere and experience was top notch. Many thanks to Skylar and the rest of the staff for a memorable evening. We liked it so much, we took our friends there a week later. And this is with us having to drive from Park City. The scallops were exceptional; the pepper steak cooked perfectly; and ooh the desserts. The soup changes but the tomato basil we had was delicious and poured tableside. The wines are a bit pricey but even the Sundance partnership zin wine with Altamura was good. (we will have to visit them on our next Napa excursion). Not to be missed. While some people may say it is on the expensive side, being from Dallas and staying in Park City for a month, it's in alignment with the area. And so much better service and ambiance than other places we went. Very intimate setting. Can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We tried it for a special anniversary an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

We tried it for a special anniversary and were not overly impressed-- the food came out cold and not prepared as requested....finally a busser took the plates away as the server had never made it back to inquire how it was and we were tired of trying to flag someone down. They offered us a coupon for money off the next visit- which we won't use as it really was disappointing to have bad food and bad service on a special occasion and trip all the way to sundance. Much better options are out there-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Still great!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

I know that the Utah restaurant scene is always improving; however, The Treeroom has remained at, or near the top for a long time. The creativity of the dishes and the development of flavors makes this restaurant comprable to Forage and Handle. That's very good company to keep.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a night to remember!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

We went to the Tree Room for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere from the drive up the canyon, to the moment you step out of your car, you are relaxed and peaceful. The restaurant is beautifully rustic and feel so warm and welcoming. We had the Halibut dish which was hands down the best meal either of us had every eaten. From the Salad to the dessert, it was perfection. The wait staff was also amazing!! Every need was met with friendly and professional service. Skyler was the best! ...along with Brent and the others. Thank you for making our night so wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.