Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi
  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tree Room @ Sundance

*Guests must be 12 years of age or older to dine in the Tree Room.


At The Tree Room, dining is an art form. Recipient of the prestigious 2017 Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award and the 2014 Best of State American Artisan Fine Dining award, Chef David Mullen serves seasonal mountain cuisine. The atmosphere is romantic with candlelight and soft illumination accenting the Native American art from Robert Redford's private collection.

8841 N. Alpine Loop Rd.
Sundance, UT 84604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Dinner Cruise

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:00 pm- 9:00 pm
Friday- Saturday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 223-4200

Website:
http://www.sundanceresort.com/dining/tree-room/

Parking Details:
Resort parking available to all our guests.

Executive Chef:
David Mullen

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Tree Room @ Sundance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Worth the Drive (18)
Romantic (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (12)
Scenic View (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Historic (7)
Fireplace (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Simply amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was perfect, the servers had great knowledge about the food. The food was very creative and does not stop to amaze course after course. It is always a great place to wine and dine. Definitely best of state.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything we ate here was next level amazing. Same enthusiasm for the service and for the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Absolutely beautiful location. Everyone you meet is so friendly and warm. Staff is very well trained in making the guest feel welcome. The menu was focused and delicious. Reading the history, I think it endures because of the attention to detail.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The Tree Room lives up to its reputation in every way. The service was flawless, the food was outstandingly prepared and presented and the room itself is one of a kind.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I had dinner to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

Food was fantastic, service was excellent, definitely worth the drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We celebrated Valentines Day there. Had a wonderful evening! The ambience was amazing. The service was outstanding. We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been going to the Tree Room for years. It never disappoints. The food, service and ambiance is all five star.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best restaurant I've been to in Utah. The staff is incredible and the food is unique to the chef. He has mastered the manipulation of palette. Incredible meal. Recommend for a date, great environment.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the wait staff was fantastic. The portions were smaller than I anticipated and we left still a bit hungry. But, the food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Tree Room was amazing. Not a once a week looks of place for someone with my income, but my wife and I will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Ambiance was delightful, food was delicious and service was impeccable. First class everything.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Another great meal (our third time) at The Tree Room. Had Basil (again) as our server, and he as good as they come. I had the scallops, which were outstanding, and my wife had the Pepper Steak (a Tree Room favorite). Great wine by the glass even...the dessert of Chocolae Decadence (and a glass of Port) was...decadent. 2 people, $240 including tip. Don't let the price put you off (plus add in a drink or two before hand at The Owl Bar) Great experience as always. We will return for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We had a delicious dinner with our friends. Tables and seating is comfortable, ambiance is great. The room is filled with Native American art. Service is excellent...friendly and efficient. The mushroom soup was very flavorful. The bread they serve is seedy and amazing. My pepper steak was cooked to perfection and not too peppery...just right.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We have a tradition with friends to eat here before going to a Sundance movie each year. Service was excellent, incredible ambiance, celebrities scattered throughout the dining room, and overall just a fabulous experience each year.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Dining at the Tree room has been a great! We are from out of state and are able to enjoy this once a year. Our server today and was Skyler he was very attentive and had wonderful charisma!
Our dinner was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had the best service, food and wine, Cheers to this beautiful place! l Julie Lenoch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Lovely night, Basil was fabulous, delicious food! Perfect evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I have to assume that this was an off night. We were seated an hour after our reservation time and the staff never apologized. I've frankly never seen anything quite like it.

It didn't help matters that there were no available parking spots so I was told I would have to drive to alternate parking half a mile up a hill and come back on the skier's shuttle.

The food was disappointing (cold soup? How hard is it to check that soup is reasonably warm?).

The good: the locale, buildings, and ambience were lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was amazing!! Flavor combinations I never would have thought of. The White Chocolate Fromage Cake blew my mind. Skyler (our server) was gracious and attentive. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfect spot off the beaten path for a special trip to enjoy great ambience and food. Service was exceptional! Definitely request a table near the tree as it gives the best view of the restaurant - and the booths are especially cozy for two! Make sure to leave plenty of time to get to the resort as it is off the beaten path...and if you get there too early - pop on over to the Owl Bar (a 2 second walk) for some to die for hummus and some local drinks!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Incredible service and food from start to finish. Very friendly, romantic, relaxing, and quiet atmosphere. We had a great experience and will return often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This has become our "go to" place for Christmas! Everything about it is true to the holiday spirit. The food is creative and delicious. Skylar, our waiter was attentive and offered suggestions that proved to be right on. It is pricy, but my husband says "worth every penny!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family of 7 spent Christmas Eve 2016 at the Tree Room, hoping for a wonderful dinner in a special place. The spiced wassail was fantastic. The Sundance salad was so tasty. All of us loved our entrees of salmon, steak and scallops. It was a quiet evening with great service and exceptionally terrific food while it snowed gently outside. Ah! Just as I had imagined.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

portions were a lot smaller than I feel that I paid for.
But we went for the ambiance anyway

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. The decor and cabin feel was very romantic. The seating was a little couch/booth that was cozy and made your dining experience more intimate.

The food was incredible. They start with a little taster for your meal. It was this shortbread with marinated goat cheese, basil, and strawberry. We immediately knew we picked the right place to eat. We got the pork belly appetizer (favorite part of the meal). The pork was so soft and creamy and flavorful. My husband got the pepper steak, which was delicious and I got the elk loin which was good but I think I'd order something else next time. I also got a spritzer that was very flavorful. We finished off with an ice cream dessert with chocolate sauce. Also delicious but I probably would have gone with something else looking back.

The service and our waitress was amazing. She was so knowledgeable about the menu.

Our total with the appetizer, one non-alcoholic drink, two entrees (we got the most expensive ones), and one dessert was $132 before tip.

Dining here was an experience and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Phenomenal services and flavorful, good quality food served in a quiet, beautiful setting.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Everything was amazing. The steak melts in your mouth and you will crave it forever after. The only problem was a large group who didn't feel the need to use their indoor voices. Their conversation was very interesting and funny to listen to so no real harm done.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Again, as for each special occasion, we loved the Sundance Tree Room experience. The food is exquisite (the pepper steak is our food Holy Grail). Appetizers are unique and wonderful. Service and presentation are the best. What else can be said about the ambience - it's Sundance ! Do hit the Owl Bar before dining.. It's great fun. It's our favorite dining "experience" for the food, service, venue, and.... It's Sundance!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Night before Thanksgiving dinner with family from out of town. Perfect table by the fire, snowing outside, fantastic food and drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Menu needs to be revised. Not a good selection. Deserts need to be totally revised. Nothing special about them

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Phenomenal as usual. Skylar, our Server, was terrific and his recommendations were all spot on!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We visit The Tree Room on a regular basis, it's not only the food that attracts us, Sundance is so beautiful and amazing! When you go, ask for Skyler, he's the dining captain and a fabulous waiter....it's truly an incredible dining experience...don't be in a hurry.....

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We entertained some out of state customers here and it was perfect! They very much enjoyed their whole experience. Food, ambiance, service even the drive ALL fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Tree Room is a special dining experience in the beautiful Sundance resort. The decor is beautiful and captures the western theme with a touch of elegance. The menu includes something for everyone. Good vegetarian options, fish and my husband had the pepper steak and loved it. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great experience. Cory was a great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at the tree room. The pepper steak was delicious and done to our liking.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is was a great experience for my wife and I. We really enjoyed the setting and food. I also appreciated that we were not pushed to leave any sooner than we did. It was an overall excellent evening for us.

Thank you, Tree Room!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Skylar was an outstanding server and made our dinner a special experience. He was knowledgeable, subtle, friendly, attentive, and his timing was perfect with everything. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service and atmosphere are top notch. Very nice and worth the price of admission every once in a while. I was not as impressed with the menu - there just wasn't anything that really jumped out at me. I was pretty much on the mark with my fist impression of the menu, both meals were pretty much meh - nothing I am going to be craving any time soon. Maybe its just me and my tastes, but my wife kind of felt the same way. In fact I wound up eating half of hers because she did not really like it. I actually liked hers more than mine. The food is well prepared with high quality ingredients, just not all that exciting. When I go to a place like this I am really looking for a meal that is exceptional where every bite is amazing. I was even more disappointed in the dessert menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.