About The Timbers

168 Highway 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

** Walk-ins welcome if OpenTable reservations are not available. **
The Timbers provides a relaxing dining environment with open beam wooden ceilings coupled with contemporary decor. Located adjacent to the main casino floor, The Timbers is a Tahoe local's go-to restaurant. The extensive menus offer more than you ever imagine for the price!

You will enjoy traditional American fare and many unique and creative dishes. Dinner choices include flavorful seafood entrees, fresh fish and juicy Certified Black Angus beef, all beautifully presented. Chef Alvaro creates unique daily lunch and dinner specials, including hearty homemade soups. Breakfast is served all day, everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open daily:

Breakfast served all day

Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Kahle Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 624-7980

Website:
http://www.lakesideinn.com/timber-house-restaurant-lake-tahoe

Parking Details:
Parking is free with convenient parking spots next to each of our three different entrance doors.

Public Transit:
The local bus service stops right at our property many times throughout the day.

Executive Chef:
Alvaro Ochoa

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

$19.99 Prime Rib & Lobster Meal

Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Dec 19, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

$19.99 Prime Rib & Lobster Meal

Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Dec 19, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Complete dinner includes soup or fresh garden salad and The Timbers' famous warm bread basket. Served daily from 4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. at The Timbers Restaurant (while supplies last). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Dec 19, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

The Timbers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Timbers is a very good value with specia ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Timbers is a very good value with specials of roast beef and lobster. Salads are good excellent desserts Good food at reasonable prices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for breakfast and was seated immedi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went for breakfast and was seated immediately. Restaurant wasn't busy at all. After a short wait for drink order, the wait for someone to take our order was extremely long, even though there were about 5 staff members standing around in plain site doing nothing. While waiting about 15 min for our server, someone finally took our order. By now we didn't have a good feeling so we all kept it simple and ordered pancakes. Good choice right? ( WRONG ). Plate looked great and syrup was warm, but it tasted like the washed all the flavor out of the pancakes, not to mention the maple syrup had absolutely no taste ( lite )?? Not sure but after one bite, will definitely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful food. The chicken picata was w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful food. The chicken picata was wonderful. My husbands prime rib, and lobster dinner was good, and a great value at 19.99

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were great! The pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and service were great! The price was excellent. My friends went back with visiting friends two days later. I would recommend this restaurant 100 percent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were vacationing on S. Lake Tahoe and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were vacationing on S. Lake Tahoe and Timbers was within walking distance of our condo. Saw ad for lobster/prime rib and thought we would give it a try. Wasn't expecting a whole lot because of low price, but we were pleasantly surprised. Service was great and we had a nice booth in the bar area. Overall....GREAT!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time dining at the Timb ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our 3rd time dining at the Timbers. The past 2 visits, the food was fresh and well prepared. We went for our anniversary, a new tradition we started when we first visited Lake Tahoe. This time, the food was not as expected. The lobster tails were lukewarm and had absolutely no flavor, and seemed old. The steak was mediocre. A bit on the tough side and also lukewarm. It seemed that since the lobster and steak are such a bargain, they prepare it well ahead of time and it sits until ordered. So much for our anniversary tradition. We will probably not return next year. A side note, another table (with someone who obviously worked there) actually sent back shrimp that had not been de-veined. So if that is any indication, there is no attention to the fine dining they advertise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice surprise. This restaurant was adver ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Nice surprise. This restaurant was advertised in hotel magazine and we thought we would try it. Prime rib and lobster tail for $19.99! Gave it a try and we were not disappointed. Dinner includes soup or salad, potato, broccoli and carrots. The prime rib was very tender, better than more expensive restaurant we sampled a few days later.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Appetizers were awesome, prime rib delic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Appetizers were awesome, prime rib delicious rest of the entrees just so so.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Not fancy, but the prime rib and lobster ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not fancy, but the prime rib and lobster special was good. Seemed like a throwback. Looking forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

I arrived with my family for dinner on v ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I arrived with my family for dinner on vacation in Lake Tahoe. We ordered our food but were unimpressed with the restaurant or service . Unfortunately I had an adverse reaction to a new prescription medication about 15 minutes after we arrived.I blacked out , convulsed and became disoriented. My family was calling out for someone to call 911 and did so themselves.I regained consciousness and learned the medication had dropped my blood sugar to a dangerous level and decided, once it was corrected ,to eat some of my meal-- then have my family drive me to the ER. We quickly finished, could not find a waiter so my daughter in law went to the casino area ,received the check and paid it explaining the rush. On our way out of the parking lot a police officer or security guard and the manager came running toward our car demanding we pay our bill!!Between my medical issue and the fact that my daughter in law had already paid the bill--and the general rudeness and total lack of concern or sensitivity for the situation we will NEVER be returning to "The Timbers".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We all ordered the Prime Rib and Lobster ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We all ordered the Prime Rib and Lobster $19.99 special.

The prime rib was tough and cold. We enjoyed the steak and lobster special they used to offer much more. Orderd a beer and it didn't get to the table until our food arrived. The server apologized and gave the excuse the bar was across the restaurant. All accompaniments were tasty, but also on the lukewarm side.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Menu looked good however when we arrived ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Menu looked good however when we arrived we were completely turned off by the ambience, the constant smell of smoke and the food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We enjoyed using Open Table to make the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoyed using Open Table to make the reservation. The wait time was 2 hours and with our reservation, we just walked in and had a fantastic meal. The $20 steak and lobster was our favorite item on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had family dinner at the Timbers for ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had family dinner at the Timbers for my husbands 30th birthday, and the food and service there was excellent. Out of six people nobody had any complaint, the filet minon just melts in your mouth. I wanted to get a bottle of their Italian dressing to take home, it tasted so delicious. They also sang happy birthday and brought out a mud pie slice that was tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the $20 special, and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went for the $20 special, and it was just ok. They forgot to serve our salads, so those arrived after the meal. The bus-person's shirt was very dirty, and quite unpleasant to look at him.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

This place is in desperate need of remod ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This place is in desperate need of remodeling but the food was surprisingly good and inexpensive and the service was outstanding. Some may want to take into account that this restaurant is located IN the Lakeside Inn Casino which is pretty smoke filled. There is not separation or door between the two spaces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Food and service were very good. The at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service were very good. The atmosphere was cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

In one word FANTASTIC Prices are great ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

In one word FANTASTIC Prices are great,meal was great,service was great and friendly and gave my cousin a birthday cheesecake The whole evening was great and we will come back over and over with friends or just us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at Timbers without reservatio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We arrived at Timbers without reservation at 7:30pm on 7/6. The hostess told us waiting time is an hour. We asked what if we order to-go. She said it would be longer than an hour. We didn't see any other people waiting around and we highly doubted if the restaurant really was that busy. Luckily we found the reservation for 7:45pm is available at OpenTable so we booked it. Then she let us in right at 7:45pm.

I don't know where the initial one hour or even longer waiting time is coming from. I hope it is not on purpose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had the special, prime rib and lobste ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had the special, prime rib and lobster for only $20. It was delicious and cooked perfectly, the veges were perfect too. Loved the warm sour dough rolls and the crispy fries. They made iced coffee's for me with free refills. The salad was not my favorite, we picked the house dressing, I would have gone for the soup instead. Overall it was definitely worth the price and the time to go there. The service was excellent. I'd go there again any time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty and the value is grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was tasty and the value is great.

I would have rated the restaurant five stars if it was not for the forgotten appetizer. Yes the appetizer was forgotten until the entry was served and we had to mention it to the waiter. We were left staring and playing our phones after the drinks were served, no appetizer coming. How can we eat appetizer after the entry is served?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This was my third time dining at the Tim ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my third time dining at the Timbers. The first two were with my family for T-Day. Last week was a girls get-a-way with my friend.

Great value for the lobster. Food and service are always great. Love the staff.

The little gift shop owner is awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Decor was 1970

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food. Decor was 1970

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Remodeling, so overall was just average. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Remodeling, so overall was just average. Wouldn't recommend until they finish remodel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I have not felt so unwelcome in a restau ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I have not felt so unwelcome in a restaurant since the 70's. We are a well-to-do Gay couple legally married and pretty clearly "upscale". When we walked in, there was instant disdain by the Maitre-D and other staff. Even though the restaurant was practically empty, they tried to put us in a dark back room of 2-3 tables - presumably to make sure we were not "seen" by other customers.

When I complained about the seating, the Maitre'D asked what I wanted and I indicated the main room. He was condescending and sarcastic, but moved us. When reseated, the waiter approached us and managed to screw up the drink order and treated us in a manner that felt (again) like we were an annoyance, not a customer.

At that point, we walked out - explaining to the Hostess (not the Maitre D) that we were leaving and the reason was that we did not like this restaurant. She made no comments or apologies as we walked out.

I highly recommend you spend your Lake Tahoe Dining Dollars at one of the many other EXCELLENT restaurants we discovered on this trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was probably the best prime rib I h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was probably the best prime rib I have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good and a great value. I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was good and a great value. I would go again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We got seated as soon as we arrived. Ser ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We got seated as soon as we arrived. Service was very good. Food was not good. Lobster tales were over cooked and about two and a half inches long. Garlic mash had been setting on the plates under the lights so they were hard. Was told they served Pepsi, but could get us a coke. We were served Pepsi. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Our waiter, Jose, was sooo nice and very ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter, Jose, was sooo nice and very attentive. We were seated immediately upon arriving. We were served water and a basket of warm sourdough bread with olive oil. So very good. We each had the prime rib and lobster special for $19.99. My only complaint was that I wish there'd been 6 of those lobster tails on the plate! My baked potato was not done...it was so hard inside I couldn't eat it. However, after the bread and the salad (delicious bleu cheese dressing), the prime rib and lobster and the perfectly steamed broccoli and carrots, it didn't matter. I was full and satisfied. It was a nice Father's Day dinner :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Stopped in for the Prime Rib & Lobster o ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Stopped in for the Prime Rib & Lobster on the way back from my daughter's in Nevada. It was such a great deal, I had to take my girlfriend up the following weekend. Nice restaurant, awesome deal. Will most likely be back up in a couple of weeks for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always have a great experience here! Sta ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always have a great experience here! Staff is amazing and the food is spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food great value &ambiance Amb ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food great value &ambiance

Ambiance good too

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Dining Experience

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The internet made the restaurant look very appealing. When we arrived it actually looked like a cafeteria in one room and the our room with leather booths and cramped table needed serious remodeling. They had just launched the new menu and were working out the kinks. Staff were very nice but seemed nervous adjusting to the menu changes. Our server Alfredo was very cordial. He new the menu and suggested items when asked. The prices are very reasonable. $26.00 for Halibut verses $40.00 at Chart House. We had the crab cake app, calamari app, soup or salad come with dinner. The prime rib & lobster special for $20.00. The add on blackened shrimp on a rum banana puree was delicious. The atmosphere is not the Chart House but the food is very good for the money. I would dine there again but do not expect atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Lobster/Steak for $19.99 is on point!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

$19.99 for beautifully cooked sirloin and lobster was really a great bargain and experience The starter salad was very nice and not from a bag. Bread for the table was outstanding with olive oil dip and freshly whipped butter. Dinner had a baked potato or garlic mash side - both excellent. Also, lightly candied carrots too, whi,h were a nice touch. We were stuffed and didn't try dessert. We will definitely be back - best deal in South Lake Tahoe!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Prime rib was great! Sadly, everything e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Prime rib was great! Sadly, everything else we ordered (the mango spring rolls and chicken lettuce wraps) weren't.

Spring rolls...the wrap was kind of wrong. Too gooey. I get that they were going for the Vietnamese rice paper spring roll thing, but execution was way off. Peanut sauce was inexplicably off.

Chicken lettuce wraps had too little chicken, and way too much of those greasy fried noodles. Sauces saved the dish kinda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Waiters were very nice and friendly and ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Waiters were very nice and friendly and the food was yummy, had steak and lobster. It was me and my husband and we had a big booth to cuddle and enjoy our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bus boy was more attentive than our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The bus boy was more attentive than our waiter was. I sent my food back, as the ribs were too greasy and the bbq sauce was over powering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4

Breakfast great! Much better than dinne ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Breakfast great!

Much better than dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was mediocre at bes ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food and service was mediocre at best. I will say the the waiter and bus boy recognized their mistakes and bent over backwards to take care of us ! Even comped a glass of wine ! For $20 steak and lobster was a $20 meal..,,,lobster better than the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Awesome!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Went here while vacationing in Tahoe with the fam. The menu selection was great for adults and kids. The food was great and the price was excellent. Even the service was fantastic. No complaints. We all left stuffed and we talked about our awesome dinner the entire trip! We will be back the next time we're in Tahoe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.