Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Timbers

** Walk-ins welcome if OpenTable reservations are not available. **
The Timbers provides a relaxing dining environment with open beam wooden ceilings coupled with contemporary decor. Located adjacent to the main casino floor, The Timbers is a Tahoe local's go-to restaurant. The extensive menus offer more than you ever imagine for the price!

You will enjoy traditional American fare and many unique and creative dishes. Dinner choices include flavorful seafood entrees, fresh fish and juicy Certified Black Angus beef, all beautifully presented. Chef Alvaro creates unique daily lunch and dinner specials, including hearty homemade soups. Breakfast is served all day, everyday.

168 Highway 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open daily:

Breakfast served all day

Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Kahle Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 624-7980

Website:
http://www.lakesideinn.com/timber-house-restaurant-lake-tahoe

Parking Details:
Parking is free with convenient parking spots next to each of our three different entrance doors.

Public Transit:
The local bus service stops right at our property many times throughout the day.

Executive Chef:
Alvaro Ochoa

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Timbers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

3.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Music (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very reasonably priced steak and seafood located inside Lakeview hotel/casino. Really excellent food, steak was great and veggies /potato, soup or salad included. Huge tasty rancher's sirloin was perfectly cooked, and my wife's filet was excellent as well. Even prime rib or steak w lobster tail less than $40.
Nice cocktail and wine choices, too.
I only wish the gambling had been as good as the meal!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Timbers is a great place to eat. The food is very good, and the price is even better. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Nothing fancy but good value for the price. No view but people are friendly and food is OK.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Patty the server and Jackson the helper made our dinner enjoyable .. the bread is great ! The lobster special with prime rib was spot on! And for twenty bucks! Drink we're reasonable.. but again the waiter and her bus guy did a great job! Will be back....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We dined in the bar. It was quiet and nice with views of the baseball game. Service was pleasant. Even though he forgot my second drink and the bartender delivered it, all was good. He was attentive and nice. We made a last minute reservation and came in early, so it was nice to be seated no problem. The food was delicious. The petite filet was more than enough with the lobster tail. Great mashed potatoes. Overall, excellent dining experience. We had fun chatting with the couple next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

ordered the prime rib lobster special. Food and Service was very good

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The Draw is "Prime Rib and Lobster $19.99"
The wait was immediate seating with reservation. The bread was warm and excellent with a butter/grated cheese/olive oil/balsamic vinegar to dip it in. Yum.
The salad was good. Not too much. Ok freshness. Ate it all.
The main dish came and it looked good... but was cold. 😯. Waiter was nowhere to be seen. Called over the hostess and she sent the floor manager over a couple minutes later and graciously took it back to be done again.
The plate itself was extremely hot, the potatoes was new and the prime rib cut was new but the broccoli and carrots were the same ones taken away. (I could tell by the shape of the broccoli spear.) The lobster tail was the same one too. It was warmer but tougher too as it was reheated. Overall the meal was ok, 5 of 10, and I guess I have to say was a bit less than expected. If they would have done a complete re-plate, it may have been different.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

WARM CHARDONNAY WINE, NO CLUB SODA FOR MY COCKTAILS, ORDERED A RARE PRIME RIB DINNER AND WAS SERVED TO ME WELL DONE, SALAD WAS DAY OLD AND BROWN. IF IT WERE NOT FOR THE VERY NICE BARTENDER (RICK) I WOULD HAVE HAD DINNER SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Between the four of us we had salmon, lobster, a filet and prime rib. Everything was delicious, including the salads and sides. Too full for dessert, but I'm sure they are delicious as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I live in the Sacramento area and drive to Lake Tahoe/The Timbers just for their Prime Rib & Lobster special. Everybody I take to dinner there, love the food and value as much as I do.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food & service. The music & ambience were good. Our waiter was friendly & I would go back if in the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very old school decor. I would like to see table cloths on the tables Lower level better seating then the cafeteria style seating . i.e. worse than Denny's.
Service was attentive only forgot two things which we had to remind.
My lamb was slightly overcooked but had excellent flavors.
Other foods were good.
Prices are reasonable for a casino.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Breakfast was good and quick.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is an old school restaurant located in the middle of an old school, smoke filled casino. Service is attentive but not polished. Food is fresh and portions are large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The prime rib lobster tail got $19.95 can't be beat. I had the petit filet/lobster: cooked perfectly

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great dinner specials

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

this is the place to go to in South Lake Tahoe for adelicious well-prepared and reasonably priced meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Timbers is our go-to value meal for Prime Rib and Lobster with soup or salad choice of potato and perfectly cooked vegetables. Not to mention the freshly baked bread and this amazing herb-butter spread. ALL FOR $19.99? Amazing! We own a second home in Lake Tahoe and this is a place that is the best value ever!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Worst restaurant I have been to in a long time. It is inside an old, tired casino. The food is at best mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Decent bargain breakfasts. Restaurant is nothing fancy, decor is a little sterile. Service is adequate, but not particularly friendly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love coming here when we are in town. The price is right! The only thing I would say needs work is sometimes the food can come out over cooked if left for too long under the heat lamp. Other than that I would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Wonderful food and variety. Soup and oat meal cold 3 days in a row

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great seared ahi salad

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I ordered the large prime rib16oz with the lobster. While the lobster was very sweet and had good flavor, the prime rib lacked in flavor, very blan. The meal was prepared as ordered but the meat quality lacked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant is located inside of the Lakeside Inn Casino.

There is a delicious Prime Rib and Lobster combo for $19.99 which includes soup or salad and hot bread. We all thought it was very good and it's an excellent value. I recommend their house Lemon Garlic dressing for the salad. The prime rib was a nice medium rare, very juicy and tender and the lobster was seasoned nicely and not overdone. It came with generous sides of a potato or rice and carrots and broccoli. The carrots were too sugary for our taste but I think many people like them that way. One person ordered the burger which was generously sized for a large appetite. We were too full to order dessert but did enjoy their Pineapple Mojito which I'd also recommend as a nice cocktail.

Service was great too! We were well tended to by our server and the manager and as a bonus, they have live entertainment.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Staff was very frienly!! Prime Rib wads very tasty along with thier lobster tail.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Birthday dinner was supposed to be special and was one of the worst dinners we have ever had. I've never reviewed any restaurant but had to on this one.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We went on Christmas and I realize that it was busy due to this. There were errors with food and service but the staff attempted to make it up to us. For example, when we arrived on time for our reservation, we were told by the hostess it would be a 50 minute wait. The manager set a table up for us much sooner. We were comped a meal and a dessert for the mistakes in our food orders.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Prime Rib special is a great value. The meat was cooked perfectly, it was tender and for a few dollars more you could have it with a lobster tail. Dining room was spacious- allowing for quiet conversation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Really enjoyed the decor, but I had hoped for a more upscale dinning experience. The food was excellent. The service was not very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sergio and Carlos were AWESOME! The food is really pretty good for being in a Casino/Hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. The cocktails were also pretty amazing. There were three of us, and two of us had the Chocolate Hazelnut Martini and the third had the Raspberry Fuzz Martini, and the Cocktails were OFF THE HOOK amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the restaurant is attached to a casino and entices customers with delicious mid priced food. our group of eight enjoyed the evening and would return again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

WORST meal I have ever experienced at a restaurant! Terrible presentation!! Went for a thanksgiving meal...turkey was loaf style, dark meat was dark gray, gravy was gray in color, mashed potatoes were ok, stuffing was very mushy. The worst of it was when we received our Pumpkin Pie...the slice was haphazardly cut and the whipped cream was sprayed on the Pie with no rhyme or reason, as if a 10 year old boy was in the kitchen holding the can for the first time!
COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!
We drove to Safeway afterwards for our own Pie!!! Just awful!!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I chose the Timbers restaurant because they advertised a special Thanksgiving meal for only $12.50. The Timbers is located \on the upper floor of the Lakeside Inn casino and hotel which is a small local establishment and the parking is close and available. You can access the restaurant without having to fight the crowd of a large casino. We made our reservation for the early afternoon and we're seated as soon as we arrived. The restaurant looked dated and worn, without warmth and there was a lack of intimacy. It appeared that tables had been removed and though the host was telling walk-ins that they were booked and would be a wait there were empty tables that stayed empty through our entire meal.
Our waiter, an older hispanic male, had worked there for many years. He lacked enthusiasm and didn't give justice to the meal that was to come. We had a choice of turkey or ham, salad or soup. When I asked if anything else came with the meal he said "no". When I asked if we got bread or roles he said "no". We both chose the ham and I had the soup while my husband had the salad. The butternut squash soup was delicious. It had a dab of sour cream in it and a smooth consistency with excellent flavor. The salad was generous and tasty. To our surprise, a basket of warm bread and butter was brought to the table (not by our waiter) which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Our dinner plates arrived and looked appealing. Contrary to what our waiter had said the ham was accompanied by a baked yam, green beans with crispy onions, and a sauce of cherries and berries over the ham. The food was great, every item, and we both ate every last crumb. What a shame the waiter had not prefaced the meal better. He lost out on a better tip and the opportunity to make our experience really great with anticipation which would have put it all over the top! He was too jaded, time for him to move on.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We have visited the Tahoe area about 5 times this year as it is our favorite getaway. Each time we visit, we've eaten at the Timbers at least twice and sometimes three times! The breakfasts are great as well as the daily lunch specials. They offer a dinner special that is one of the best in the area, prime rib and lobster for $19.99. It sure beats a generic buffet at the casinos any day of the week! We will continue to enjoy the dining at the timbers whenever we are in town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our first time here ! Food was good ..prices were great and service ...was by far the BEST customer service in a long time .. I have had anywhere !! Our waiter ( Jose ) was very attentive along with supporting staff ! Even manager came by to make sure everything was ok..Thank You

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We come here every weekend while skiing in Tahoe. Honestly, for $19.99, the prime rib special is A+. The service is always friendly and inviting. You get to play some black jack while waiting for a table and - get a free drink which you are welcome to bring into the restaurant. How can you beat that? We've been here with 12 people before and the service never faltered. This is pretty much my favorite place to go post day on the slopes.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good. Service was average. The vegetables could be better.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday. The first thing we noticed as we were seated was that the booth we were being seated in had rips in the leather. Although the restaurant wasn't busy it was almost 20 minutes before the waitress came over to take our initial order. I have to say the waitress was apologetic and was nice to us throughout the meal. Our appetizers did come out timely and had good flavor as my wife and I both had the clam chowder. The entrees came out slowly and then it went downhill from there. My wife ordered the prime rib and lobster special and requested medium rare. The prime rib came out overcooked and very over done. The lobster had a dark color and was very overcooked. When the waitress was notified she replaced the prime rib. It came back medium rare but bland. I ordered the 6oz filet mignon ordered medium. It too came out overcooked. My daughter ordered the turkey burger without the house dressing. The first time it came out it was an entirely wrong dish, a turkey sandwich. The manager had come by the table at this point and we pointed out that my daughter received the wrong meal. The waitress came over as well at this point. The manager went to put in the order a second time and the correct meal came out, prepared wrong! Despite requesting no house dressing there was dressing on the burger. The waitress put in the order again and, as the saying goes, the third time was the charm. Her meal came out prepared correctly in time to wrap it up to go! The manager came over and did comp her meal and her drink. We were also given free desserts. The overall experience ruined our night out to celebrate my wife's birthday. Based on this experience I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an enjoyable dining experience. This is a no brainer, no return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really liked the overall. Only had one problem. Needs a door to separate it from casino. We were seated at the entrance. LOTS of cigarette smoke kind of overshadowed the great food great value.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.