Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About The Timbers

** Walk-ins welcome if OpenTable reservations are not available. **
The Timbers provides a relaxing dining environment with open beam wooden ceilings coupled with contemporary decor. Located adjacent to the main casino floor, The Timbers is a Tahoe local's go-to restaurant. The extensive menus offer more than you ever imagine for the price!

You will enjoy traditional American fare and many unique and creative dishes. Dinner choices include flavorful seafood entrees, fresh fish and juicy Certified Black Angus beef, all beautifully presented. Chef Alvaro creates unique daily lunch and dinner specials, including hearty homemade soups. Breakfast is served all day, everyday.

168 Highway 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open daily:

Breakfast served all day

Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Kahle Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 624-7980

Website:
http://www.lakesideinn.com/timber-house-restaurant-lake-tahoe

Parking Details:
Parking is free with convenient parking spots next to each of our three different entrance doors.

Public Transit:
The local bus service stops right at our property many times throughout the day.

Executive Chef:
Alvaro Ochoa

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Timbers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Romantic (6)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Surprisingly good for a casino restaurant. We ordered the Prime rib and lobster special for 21.99 and it was really good for the price. Fresh sourdough bread came with a really good dipping sauce. The green salad was fresh and crisp with good house made blue cheese dressing. A real plus! the lobster was small but cooked perfectly and the 10 oz prime rib was a perfect medium rare. The baked potato was cooked perfectly. A lot of food for the price. Also a small but very good wine list I had a Rombauer chardonnay and my husband had a Meomi Pinot noir. Did not expect this level of quality but will try again when we are in S. Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I would recommend Timbers for any meals.
They have reasonable prices and good food for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
I have had better prime rib, and filet mignon, but it was almost double the price.
I really like that you get a full meal for dinner, salad, baked potato, vegetable with your entree.
Most restaurants here in South Lake Tahoe don't give you that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had the special. Lots of great tasting food. Best prime rib I've had in a long time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The timbers is the first and last stop when we come to Lake Tahoe. We always get a window seat. Using open table is perfect. Both times we were seated immediately and where we wanted. The prime rib, soups, and drinks are great. We return next year.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We were visiting Lake Tahoe and saw The Timbers' ad for surf and turf - prime rib with lobster tail - we decided to give it a try. We went early and had excellent service. We split a meal (with the large portion of prime rib) plus an extra side salad, and it was perfect. The beef was nicely prepared, and the lobster tail was delicious. The salad was tasty...all in all, a wonderful meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The atmosphere and food is perfect for dinner. Very reasonable priced specials and great food for the price. Service is great and staff is very pleasant.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and wonderful service. Prime rib and lobster for $22? I'm in!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We go to Lake Tahoe every year as we have a timeshare. Lakeside Casino is our favorite casino by far. The Timbers is a great place. We usually stop there after a VERY LATE night of gambling. The after hours staff is very entertaining and engaging. We always have an enjoyable experience there. The food is prepared with care and to your liking. The BBQ sauce on the ribs were a little spicier than I like it, but then I'm a whimp when it comes to spicy foods.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our table was ready at our reservation time. My husband and I ordered the prime rib and Lobster special and for appetizer the crab cake. After we ordered the waitress set down freshly baked bread , Olive oil, Parmesan cheese , butter and balsamic vinegar dip. It was delicious. Soon after that we got our green salads which was part of the meal. Delicious as well. Our crab cake came and then a little after that our meal came out. The prime rib was generous and delicious and the lobster was delicious as well. Service was efficient and courteous without being intrusive. Great experience I would recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

It was a last minute decision that we made & We would say it was a mistake making a reservation to have a bite to celebrate my birthday.We drove almost 7 hours from San Jose ,and it was a tiring one.Flipping on to the pages of magazines in our room ,pictures and presentation of dishes,looking at the restaurant's arrangements and designs,it seemed very conducive ,quiet with good romantic ambiance .But to our surprise, because we arrived few minutes later than my given time,our reserved table I guess was given away which I understand.Had to wait few minutes also to get seated.Upon reaching our table,we were directed at a corner table next to a tiny room for soda fountain,table has still traces of food,mess from previous costumer.In short filthy,sticky.The food???The steak is oviously not what it is ,a little bit tough(I know because I'm also a cook),and the halibut I ordered?undercooked,the rice /corn were so sweet that I have to give it to my fiancé and traded with his vegetables.However,because we haven't had a meal since the morning before,we just ate it simply because we were hungry.A dollar menu from McDonald's could have done it better.And oh,by the way,the waiter who attended us was rude all the whole 40-45 minutes we stayed .Will definitely not recommend this place.Management needs to orient or train more of their servers,improve their menus and try not to rush your costumers just because incoming shift is few minutes .

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Live Music, Live Sports, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Kind of an upscale "Denny's"... ordered the prime rib/lobster special. Carrots were so overly glazed like eating dessert, prime rib was more like a thick roast beef than melt in your mouth prime rib and the lobster was over cooked and rubbery. One daughter ordered a burger which was good...huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 25, 2017

A big downgrade from our memory of what it was 20 yrs ago!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Limited seafood items, they had run out of fish, the waiter was too busy, had a busboy help us. They didn'not ask if we were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Got engaged and they knew nothing romantic about the food was not good at all service sucked we had to pour our own champagne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

My wife and I dined at the Timbers on July 5th, 2017. This was the worst prime rib and lobster I have ever had. We ordered the prime rib medium and it was way past well done. The au jus was more of a greasy oil than anything. The lobster was dry, tough and flavorless. The glop sour cream on my baked potato was larger than the potato.

All in all, this was probably the worst meal I have had in several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very reasonably priced steak and seafood located inside Lakeview hotel/casino. Really excellent food, steak was great and veggies /potato, soup or salad included. Huge tasty rancher's sirloin was perfectly cooked, and my wife's filet was excellent as well. Even prime rib or steak w lobster tail less than $40.
Nice cocktail and wine choices, too.
I only wish the gambling had been as good as the meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Timbers is a great place to eat. The food is very good, and the price is even better. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Nothing fancy but good value for the price. No view but people are friendly and food is OK.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Patty the server and Jackson the helper made our dinner enjoyable .. the bread is great ! The lobster special with prime rib was spot on! And for twenty bucks! Drink we're reasonable.. but again the waiter and her bus guy did a great job! Will be back....

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We dined in the bar. It was quiet and nice with views of the baseball game. Service was pleasant. Even though he forgot my second drink and the bartender delivered it, all was good. He was attentive and nice. We made a last minute reservation and came in early, so it was nice to be seated no problem. The food was delicious. The petite filet was more than enough with the lobster tail. Great mashed potatoes. Overall, excellent dining experience. We had fun chatting with the couple next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 6, 2017

ordered the prime rib lobster special. Food and Service was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Draw is "Prime Rib and Lobster $19.99"
The wait was immediate seating with reservation. The bread was warm and excellent with a butter/grated cheese/olive oil/balsamic vinegar to dip it in. Yum.
The salad was good. Not too much. Ok freshness. Ate it all.
The main dish came and it looked good... but was cold. 😯. Waiter was nowhere to be seen. Called over the hostess and she sent the floor manager over a couple minutes later and graciously took it back to be done again.
The plate itself was extremely hot, the potatoes was new and the prime rib cut was new but the broccoli and carrots were the same ones taken away. (I could tell by the shape of the broccoli spear.) The lobster tail was the same one too. It was warmer but tougher too as it was reheated. Overall the meal was ok, 5 of 10, and I guess I have to say was a bit less than expected. If they would have done a complete re-plate, it may have been different.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

WARM CHARDONNAY WINE, NO CLUB SODA FOR MY COCKTAILS, ORDERED A RARE PRIME RIB DINNER AND WAS SERVED TO ME WELL DONE, SALAD WAS DAY OLD AND BROWN. IF IT WERE NOT FOR THE VERY NICE BARTENDER (RICK) I WOULD HAVE HAD DINNER SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Between the four of us we had salmon, lobster, a filet and prime rib. Everything was delicious, including the salads and sides. Too full for dessert, but I'm sure they are delicious as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I live in the Sacramento area and drive to Lake Tahoe/The Timbers just for their Prime Rib & Lobster special. Everybody I take to dinner there, love the food and value as much as I do.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent food & service. The music & ambience were good. Our waiter was friendly & I would go back if in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Very old school decor. I would like to see table cloths on the tables Lower level better seating then the cafeteria style seating . i.e. worse than Denny's.
Service was attentive only forgot two things which we had to remind.
My lamb was slightly overcooked but had excellent flavors.
Other foods were good.
Prices are reasonable for a casino.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Breakfast was good and quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is an old school restaurant located in the middle of an old school, smoke filled casino. Service is attentive but not polished. Food is fresh and portions are large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The prime rib lobster tail got $19.95 can't be beat. I had the petit filet/lobster: cooked perfectly

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great dinner specials

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

this is the place to go to in South Lake Tahoe for adelicious well-prepared and reasonably priced meal

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Timbers is our go-to value meal for Prime Rib and Lobster with soup or salad choice of potato and perfectly cooked vegetables. Not to mention the freshly baked bread and this amazing herb-butter spread. ALL FOR $19.99? Amazing! We own a second home in Lake Tahoe and this is a place that is the best value ever!

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Worst restaurant I have been to in a long time. It is inside an old, tired casino. The food is at best mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Decent bargain breakfasts. Restaurant is nothing fancy, decor is a little sterile. Service is adequate, but not particularly friendly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love coming here when we are in town. The price is right! The only thing I would say needs work is sometimes the food can come out over cooked if left for too long under the heat lamp. Other than that I would recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Wonderful food and variety. Soup and oat meal cold 3 days in a row

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great seared ahi salad

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I ordered the large prime rib16oz with the lobster. While the lobster was very sweet and had good flavor, the prime rib lacked in flavor, very blan. The meal was prepared as ordered but the meat quality lacked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant is located inside of the Lakeside Inn Casino.

There is a delicious Prime Rib and Lobster combo for $19.99 which includes soup or salad and hot bread. We all thought it was very good and it's an excellent value. I recommend their house Lemon Garlic dressing for the salad. The prime rib was a nice medium rare, very juicy and tender and the lobster was seasoned nicely and not overdone. It came with generous sides of a potato or rice and carrots and broccoli. The carrots were too sugary for our taste but I think many people like them that way. One person ordered the burger which was generously sized for a large appetite. We were too full to order dessert but did enjoy their Pineapple Mojito which I'd also recommend as a nice cocktail.

Service was great too! We were well tended to by our server and the manager and as a bonus, they have live entertainment.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.