About The Timbers

168 Highway 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

** Walk-ins welcome if OpenTable reservations are not available. **
The Timbers provides a relaxing dining environment with open beam wooden ceilings coupled with contemporary decor. Located adjacent to the main casino floor, The Timbers is a Tahoe local's go-to restaurant. The extensive menus offer more than you ever imagine for the price!

You will enjoy traditional American fare and many unique and creative dishes. Dinner choices include flavorful seafood entrees, fresh fish and juicy Certified Black Angus beef, all beautifully presented. Chef Alvaro creates unique daily lunch and dinner specials, including hearty homemade soups. Breakfast is served all day, everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open daily:

Breakfast served all day

Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Kahle Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 624-7980

Website:
http://www.lakesideinn.com/timber-house-restaurant-lake-tahoe

Parking Details:
Parking is free with convenient parking spots next to each of our three different entrance doors.

Public Transit:
The local bus service stops right at our property many times throughout the day.

Executive Chef:
Alvaro Ochoa

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$19.99 Prime Rib & Lobster Meal

Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Dec 19, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

$19.99 Prime Rib & Lobster Meal

Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Dec 19, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Complete dinner includes soup or fresh garden salad and The Timbers' famous warm bread basket. Served daily from 4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. at The Timbers Restaurant (while supplies last). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 19, 2016 - Dec 19, 2016 all week from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

The Timbers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

Outstanding Value (13)
Casual (12)
Good for Groups (8)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Cozy (7)
Family Style (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the restaurant is attached to a casino a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

the restaurant is attached to a casino and entices customers with delicious mid priced food. our group of eight enjoyed the evening and would return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WORST meal I have ever experienced at a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

WORST meal I have ever experienced at a restaurant! Terrible presentation!! Went for a thanksgiving meal...turkey was loaf style, dark meat was dark gray, gravy was gray in color, mashed potatoes were ok, stuffing was very mushy. The worst of it was when we received our Pumpkin Pie...the slice was haphazardly cut and the whipped cream was sprayed on the Pie with no rhyme or reason, as if a 10 year old boy was in the kitchen holding the can for the first time!

COMPLETE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!

We drove to Safeway afterwards for our own Pie!!! Just awful!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

My husband and I chose the Timbers resta ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My husband and I chose the Timbers restaurant because they advertised a special Thanksgiving meal for only $12.50. The Timbers is located \on the upper floor of the Lakeside Inn casino and hotel which is a small local establishment and the parking is close and available. You can access the restaurant without having to fight the crowd of a large casino. We made our reservation for the early afternoon and we're seated as soon as we arrived. The restaurant looked dated and worn, without warmth and there was a lack of intimacy. It appeared that tables had been removed and though the host was telling walk-ins that they were booked and would be a wait there were empty tables that stayed empty through our entire meal.

Our waiter, an older hispanic male, had worked there for many years. He lacked enthusiasm and didn't give justice to the meal that was to come. We had a choice of turkey or ham, salad or soup. When I asked if anything else came with the meal he said "no". When I asked if we got bread or roles he said "no". We both chose the ham and I had the soup while my husband had the salad. The butternut squash soup was delicious. It had a dab of sour cream in it and a smooth consistency with excellent flavor. The salad was generous and tasty. To our surprise, a basket of warm bread and butter was brought to the table (not by our waiter) which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Our dinner plates arrived and looked appealing. Contrary to what our waiter had said the ham was accompanied by a baked yam, green beans with crispy onions, and a sauce of cherries and berries over the ham. The food was great, every item, and we both ate every last crumb. What a shame the waiter had not prefaced the meal better. He lost out on a better tip and the opportunity to make our experience really great with anticipation which would have put it all over the top! He was too jaded, time for him to move on.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value5

We have visited the Tahoe area about 5 t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We have visited the Tahoe area about 5 times this year as it is our favorite getaway. Each time we visit, we've eaten at the Timbers at least twice and sometimes three times! The breakfasts are great as well as the daily lunch specials. They offer a dinner special that is one of the best in the area, prime rib and lobster for $19.99. It sure beats a generic buffet at the casinos any day of the week! We will continue to enjoy the dining at the timbers whenever we are in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our first time here ! Food was good ..pr ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our first time here ! Food was good ..prices were great and service ...was by far the BEST customer service in a long time .. I have had anywhere !! Our waiter ( Jose ) was very attentive along with supporting staff ! Even manager came by to make sure everything was ok..Thank You

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good. Service was average. Th ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was good. Service was average. The vegetables could be better.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

We chose this restaurant to celebrate my ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We chose this restaurant to celebrate my wife's birthday. The first thing we noticed as we were seated was that the booth we were being seated in had rips in the leather. Although the restaurant wasn't busy it was almost 20 minutes before the waitress came over to take our initial order. I have to say the waitress was apologetic and was nice to us throughout the meal. Our appetizers did come out timely and had good flavor as my wife and I both had the clam chowder. The entrees came out slowly and then it went downhill from there. My wife ordered the prime rib and lobster special and requested medium rare. The prime rib came out overcooked and very over done. The lobster had a dark color and was very overcooked. When the waitress was notified she replaced the prime rib. It came back medium rare but bland. I ordered the 6oz filet mignon ordered medium. It too came out overcooked. My daughter ordered the turkey burger without the house dressing. The first time it came out it was an entirely wrong dish, a turkey sandwich. The manager had come by the table at this point and we pointed out that my daughter received the wrong meal. The waitress came over as well at this point. The manager went to put in the order a second time and the correct meal came out, prepared wrong! Despite requesting no house dressing there was dressing on the burger. The waitress put in the order again and, as the saying goes, the third time was the charm. Her meal came out prepared correctly in time to wrap it up to go! The manager came over and did comp her meal and her drink. We were also given free desserts. The overall experience ruined our night out to celebrate my wife's birthday. Based on this experience I cannot recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an enjoyable dining experience. This is a no brainer, no return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Really liked the overall. Only had one p ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really liked the overall. Only had one problem. Needs a door to separate it from casino. We were seated at the entrance. LOTS of cigarette smoke kind of overshadowed the great food great value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Very good breakfast! They give you a lot ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good breakfast! They give you a lot of good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

had Prime Ribs/lobster, great food! grea ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2016

had Prime Ribs/lobster, great food! great value for 20.00. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Not a great experience. Cold food, cold ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Not a great experience. Cold food, cold shouldered service. I would not go back for sure based on this initial experience.

They may not be charging a whole bunch, but they could do sooo much better with what they already have. They need to fix the ventilation, the cold plates (who doesn't warm plates in 2016?) for hot food, and unacceptable grouchy service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

2nd time coming here. Excellent value fo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

2nd time coming here. Excellent value for 19.99, you get a lobster tail and prime rib. Comes with soup or salad, and a baked potato with all the fixins. Can't beat the the price for what you get. Lobster tail is excellent, prime rib is good, just a little more done than asked for, this time around. Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Took my wife and mother in law for thei ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Took my wife and mother in law for their bithdays this past Saturday and it was terrible. Service sucked food was not good couldnt even get my order right. I paid $45 dollars for a porterhouse that tasted terrible and was dry. Asked for medium got well some. Drinks were warm

Felt like I was at a cheap casino cafe. Without the cheap price

Very sad...... o

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We've eaten at The Timbers restaurant se ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We've eaten at The Timbers restaurant several times before. The restaurant is nice enough and the bathrooms are clean. The only drawback is you can't see the lake from the restaurant. The service and food have aways been good and that's why we chose to go there.

This time however, we went there to celebrate our anniversary. And this time was no exception The food and service were quite good. That's why we recommend it to anyone that's hungry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was very tasty. Wifey had the m ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was very tasty. Wifey had the mignon and I ordered the prime rib/lobster special. Excellent value.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Wait staff had to be asked to bring brea ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Wait staff had to be asked to bring bread, fill water glasses and remove empty soup bowls and salad plates. We had to lift the bowls and plates so the waiter could set down the main course. However, the food was terrific and a great value for the price. I recommend the prime rib and lobster for $19.99.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

This is our favorite restaurant in the a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in the area. So we invited friends. We had a party of seven. There was a large wedding party finishing up. Apparently the kitchen could not handle the large group. Or unloaded food prepared for them on us. All the dishes were awful. All lobsters fishy and overcooked. Pilaf was mush. Salads were brown. Prime rib grey. All of our condiments and extras were served in a mishmash of containers, some to go containers! We are used to this being a higher end experience for our special night. We had raved and bragged about the Timbers. It was quite embarrassing as well as disappointing. Three weeks ago, we had an awesome meal. Consistency is a real issue.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Prime rib and lobster for $19.99 is unhe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Prime rib and lobster for $19.99 is unheard of. My expectations weren't very high. But the food was fantastic. The prime rib was perfectly seasoned and tender. The lobster was perfectly cooked. I would go back again and again if I could. The creme brûlée dessert was also very good. Plenty of real vanilla beans throughout. Don't count The Timbers out. This was a wonderful meal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Clean air, too much smoke from cigs and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Clean air, too much smoke from cigs and cigars. Is bad for people who are allergic.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service impeccable. Pretty good wie list and cocktails were well done. Raspberry Moscow Mule was great! Incredible value. Love this place. Had dinner and came back for breakfast it was so good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

To be honest, I think the Timber was far ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 17, 2016

To be honest, I think the Timber was far better then Friday Station. The waiter was very attentive to our needs. The service was not rushed and the food was great., especially for $20 dollars. I would definately recommend having dinner at the Timber. Plus the drinks were strong with great prices. I can't wait to return in January.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food , generous portions and great ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good food , generous portions and great service. Only negative is I hate it when the wait staff comes by to ask "How is everything tasting?" Fine to ask "May I get you anything?" or "How may I help you?" or "Is everything satisfactory?" but "How is everything tasting?" just sounds dumb and is very off putting.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food for a great price. Prime rib w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good food for a great price. Prime rib was outstanding and only $19.99!! Came with soup or salad, baked potato and veggies.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

The meal was ok. Price was good for prim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The meal was ok. Price was good for prime rib and lobster. I didn't care for where we sat. It was a tiny weird shaped room to the left when you walk in. Our server was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

My prime rib was served Well done when I ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My prime rib was served Well done when I had asked for medium. The meat was very tough. The side dishes were not that tasty either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Timbers is a very good value with specia ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Timbers is a very good value with specials of roast beef and lobster. Salads are good excellent desserts Good food at reasonable prices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for breakfast and was seated immedi ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went for breakfast and was seated immediately. Restaurant wasn't busy at all. After a short wait for drink order, the wait for someone to take our order was extremely long, even though there were about 5 staff members standing around in plain site doing nothing. While waiting about 15 min for our server, someone finally took our order. By now we didn't have a good feeling so we all kept it simple and ordered pancakes. Good choice right? ( WRONG ). Plate looked great and syrup was warm, but it tasted like the washed all the flavor out of the pancakes, not to mention the maple syrup had absolutely no taste ( lite )?? Not sure but after one bite, will definitely not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful food. The chicken picata was w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful food. The chicken picata was wonderful. My husbands prime rib, and lobster dinner was good, and a great value at 19.99

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were great! The pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and service were great! The price was excellent. My friends went back with visiting friends two days later. I would recommend this restaurant 100 percent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were vacationing on S. Lake Tahoe and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We were vacationing on S. Lake Tahoe and Timbers was within walking distance of our condo. Saw ad for lobster/prime rib and thought we would give it a try. Wasn't expecting a whole lot because of low price, but we were pleasantly surprised. Service was great and we had a nice booth in the bar area. Overall....GREAT!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd time dining at the Timb ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 3, 2016

This was our 3rd time dining at the Timbers. The past 2 visits, the food was fresh and well prepared. We went for our anniversary, a new tradition we started when we first visited Lake Tahoe. This time, the food was not as expected. The lobster tails were lukewarm and had absolutely no flavor, and seemed old. The steak was mediocre. A bit on the tough side and also lukewarm. It seemed that since the lobster and steak are such a bargain, they prepare it well ahead of time and it sits until ordered. So much for our anniversary tradition. We will probably not return next year. A side note, another table (with someone who obviously worked there) actually sent back shrimp that had not been de-veined. So if that is any indication, there is no attention to the fine dining they advertise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice surprise. This restaurant was adver ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Nice surprise. This restaurant was advertised in hotel magazine and we thought we would try it. Prime rib and lobster tail for $19.99! Gave it a try and we were not disappointed. Dinner includes soup or salad, potato, broccoli and carrots. The prime rib was very tender, better than more expensive restaurant we sampled a few days later.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Appetizers were awesome, prime rib delic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Appetizers were awesome, prime rib delicious rest of the entrees just so so.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Not fancy, but the prime rib and lobster ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Not fancy, but the prime rib and lobster special was good. Seemed like a throwback. Looking forward to going again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

I arrived with my family for dinner on v ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I arrived with my family for dinner on vacation in Lake Tahoe. We ordered our food but were unimpressed with the restaurant or service . Unfortunately I had an adverse reaction to a new prescription medication about 15 minutes after we arrived.I blacked out , convulsed and became disoriented. My family was calling out for someone to call 911 and did so themselves.I regained consciousness and learned the medication had dropped my blood sugar to a dangerous level and decided, once it was corrected ,to eat some of my meal-- then have my family drive me to the ER. We quickly finished, could not find a waiter so my daughter in law went to the casino area ,received the check and paid it explaining the rush. On our way out of the parking lot a police officer or security guard and the manager came running toward our car demanding we pay our bill!!Between my medical issue and the fact that my daughter in law had already paid the bill--and the general rudeness and total lack of concern or sensitivity for the situation we will NEVER be returning to "The Timbers".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

We all ordered the Prime Rib and Lobster ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We all ordered the Prime Rib and Lobster $19.99 special.

The prime rib was tough and cold. We enjoyed the steak and lobster special they used to offer much more. Orderd a beer and it didn't get to the table until our food arrived. The server apologized and gave the excuse the bar was across the restaurant. All accompaniments were tasty, but also on the lukewarm side.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

Menu looked good however when we arrived ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Menu looked good however when we arrived we were completely turned off by the ambience, the constant smell of smoke and the food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We enjoyed using Open Table to make the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We enjoyed using Open Table to make the reservation. The wait time was 2 hours and with our reservation, we just walked in and had a fantastic meal. The $20 steak and lobster was our favorite item on the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had family dinner at the Timbers for ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had family dinner at the Timbers for my husbands 30th birthday, and the food and service there was excellent. Out of six people nobody had any complaint, the filet minon just melts in your mouth. I wanted to get a bottle of their Italian dressing to take home, it tasted so delicious. They also sang happy birthday and brought out a mud pie slice that was tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for the $20 special, and it was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We went for the $20 special, and it was just ok. They forgot to serve our salads, so those arrived after the meal. The bus-person's shirt was very dirty, and quite unpleasant to look at him.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.