About The Timbers

168 Highway 50
Stateline, NV 89449
View Larger Map

** Walk-ins welcome if OpenTable reservations are not available. **
The Timbers provides a relaxing dining environment with open beam wooden ceilings coupled with contemporary decor. Located adjacent to the main casino floor, The Timbers is a Tahoe local's go-to restaurant. The extensive menus offer more than you ever imagine for the price!

You will enjoy traditional American fare and many unique and creative dishes. Dinner choices include flavorful seafood entrees, fresh fish and juicy Certified Black Angus beef, all beautifully presented. Chef Alvaro creates unique daily lunch and dinner specials, including hearty homemade soups. Breakfast is served all day, everyday.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open daily:

Breakfast served all day

Lunch: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Dinner: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Kahle Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 624-7980

Website:
http://www.lakesideinn.com/timber-house-restaurant-lake-tahoe

Parking Details:
Parking is free with convenient parking spots next to each of our three different entrance doors.

Public Transit:
The local bus service stops right at our property many times throughout the day.

Executive Chef:
Alvaro Ochoa

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

$19.99 Prime Rib & Lobster Meal

Special valid Apr 20, 2016 - Aug 20, 2016 all week from 7:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

$19.99 Prime Rib & Lobster Meal

Special valid Apr 20, 2016 - Aug 20, 2016 all week from 7:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
Complete dinner includes soup or fresh garden salad and The Timbers' famous warm bread basket. Served daily from 4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. at The Timbers Restaurant (while supplies last). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 20, 2016 - Aug 20, 2016 all week from 7:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

The Timbers Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

3.4

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Stateline ›

neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (9)
special occasion (8)
See All
scenic view (7)
fit for foodies (5)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
romantic (3)
great for brunch (3)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I have not felt so unwelcome in a restau ...

Dined 4 days ago

I have not felt so unwelcome in a restaurant since the 70's. We are a well-to-do Gay couple legally married and pretty clearly "upscale". When we walked in, there was instant disdain by the Maitre-D and other staff. Even though the restaurant was practically empty, they tried to put us in a dark back room of 2-3 tables - presumably to make sure we were not "seen" by other customers. When I complained about the seating, the Maitre'D asked what I wanted and I indicated the main room. He was condescending and sarcastic, but moved us. When reseated, the waiter approached us and managed to screw up the drink order and treated us in a manner that felt (again) like we were an annoyance, not a customer. At that point, we walked out - explaining to the Hostess (not the Maitre D) that we were leaving and the reason was that we did not like this restaurant. She made no comments or apologies as we walked out. I highly recommend you spend your Lake Tahoe Dining Dollars at one of the many other EXCELLENT restaurants we discovered on this trip.

food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best prime rib I h ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was probably the best prime rib I have ever had

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The food was good and a great value. I ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was good and a great value. I would go again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We got seated as soon as we arrived. Ser ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We got seated as soon as we arrived. Service was very good. Food was not good. Lobster tales were over cooked and about two and a half inches long. Garlic mash had been setting on the plates under the lights so they were hard. Was told they served Pepsi, but could get us a coke. We were served Pepsi. Disappointed!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jose, was sooo nice and very ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter, Jose, was sooo nice and very attentive. We were seated immediately upon arriving. We were served water and a basket of warm sourdough bread with olive oil. So very good. We each had the prime rib and lobster special for $19.99. My only complaint was that I wish there'd been 6 of those lobster tails on the plate! My baked potato was not done...it was so hard inside I couldn't eat it. However, after the bread and the salad (delicious bleu cheese dressing), the prime rib and lobster and the perfectly steamed broccoli and carrots, it didn't matter. I was full and satisfied. It was a nice Father's Day dinner :)

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Stopped in for the Prime Rib & Lobster o ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Stopped in for the Prime Rib & Lobster on the way back from my daughter's in Nevada. It was such a great deal, I had to take my girlfriend up the following weekend. Nice restaurant, awesome deal. Will most likely be back up in a couple of weeks for lunch or dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always have a great experience here! Sta ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Always have a great experience here! Staff is amazing and the food is spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food great value &ambiance Amb ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food great value &ambiance Ambiance good too

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Dining Experience

Dined on June 11, 2016

The internet made the restaurant look very appealing. When we arrived it actually looked like a cafeteria in one room and the our room with leather booths and cramped table needed serious remodeling. They had just launched the new menu and were working out the kinks. Staff were very nice but seemed nervous adjusting to the menu changes. Our server Alfredo was very cordial. He new the menu and suggested items when asked. The prices are very reasonable. $26.00 for Halibut verses $40.00 at Chart House. We had the crab cake app, calamari app, soup or salad come with dinner. The prime rib & lobster special for $20.00. The add on blackened shrimp on a rum banana puree was delicious. The atmosphere is not the Chart House but the food is very good for the money. I would dine there again but do not expect atmosphere.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Lobster/Steak for $19.99 is on point!

Dined on June 7, 2016

$19.99 for beautifully cooked sirloin and lobster was really a great bargain and experience The starter salad was very nice and not from a bag. Bread for the table was outstanding with olive oil dip and freshly whipped butter. Dinner had a baked potato or garlic mash side - both excellent. Also, lightly candied carrots too, whi,h were a nice touch. We were stuffed and didn't try dessert. We will definitely be back - best deal in South Lake Tahoe!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Prime rib was great! Sadly, everything e ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Prime rib was great! Sadly, everything else we ordered (the mango spring rolls and chicken lettuce wraps) weren't. Spring rolls...the wrap was kind of wrong. Too gooey. I get that they were going for the Vietnamese rice paper spring roll thing, but execution was way off. Peanut sauce was inexplicably off. Chicken lettuce wraps had too little chicken, and way too much of those greasy fried noodles. Sauces saved the dish kinda.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiters were very nice and friendly and ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Waiters were very nice and friendly and the food was yummy, had steak and lobster. It was me and my husband and we had a big booth to cuddle and enjoy our meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance
food2
ambience1
service4

The bus boy was more attentive than our ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The bus boy was more attentive than our waiter was. I sent my food back, as the ribs were too greasy and the bbq sauce was over powering.

food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast great! Much better than dinne ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Breakfast great! Much better than dinner!

food2
ambience2
service2

The food and service was mediocre at bes ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The food and service was mediocre at best. I will say the the waiter and bus boy recognized their mistakes and bent over backwards to take care of us ! Even comped a glass of wine ! For $20 steak and lobster was a $20 meal..,,,lobster better than the steak.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went here while vacationing in Tahoe with the fam. The menu selection was great for adults and kids. The food was great and the price was excellent. Even the service was fantastic. No complaints. We all left stuffed and we talked about our awesome dinner the entire trip! We will be back the next time we're in Tahoe!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unexpected Gem!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had never been to this plae before, saw it in a magazine in our hotel room, decided to try it. We were very surprised at the ambience, the service, drinks and food! Absolutely going back! Great find. Totally recommend to everyone!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service4

The food was mediocre. I prob won't go t ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was mediocre. I prob won't go there again. However, our server was really personable.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They are courteous , friendly and help m ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

They are courteous , friendly and help make menu suggestions.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

I had ordered spring rolls which were gr ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I had ordered spring rolls which were great, halibut roasted with bok choy and forget what else. It too was good. But it came with a side salad and this is where I was turned off. The cucumbers were old and soggy and the greens were wilting. They would have done themselves a favor leaving out the salad with the dinner. It was kind of a turn off for me. I also ordered a creme brûlée for desert. It was more like a flan. The service, at least coming from the bus boy and waiter at my table were some of the best I've ever experienced. Waiters name was Jose and I forgot the bus boys name. I strive to find top quality dining experiences with top quality ingredients. I don't know if I'll return for a second meal. Don't get me wrong, the food was good, I just don't think it's the quality I'm looking for.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Have to try it at least once

Dined on April 16, 2016

After looking at their signs for years on the way to Tahoe, we decided to stop in and try it out. They advertise a special for steak and lobster ($19.99) so we tried that. You get an 8-ounce steak, 3 ounce lobster tail, choice of soup or salad, baked or garlic mashed potatoes and vegetable (carrots and broccoli). Serving size was good and food was very good, considering the price. Staff was helpful and friendly. An enjoyable experience and we will try them again next time.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food at a very good price.

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food at a very good price.

food5
ambience4
service4

The lobster and sirloin steak entree was ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The lobster and sirloin steak entree was delicious and it was a wonderful deal. The staff members were friendly and attentive. The wine list, while not extensive, was impressive; it even included favorites such as included Rombauer Chardonnay and Frank Family Zinfandel. There were lots of options by the glass too!

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely the best food in Tahoe! We ar ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Definitely the best food in Tahoe! We are never disappointed here.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Yikes

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a large group so I thought this place would be ok. Three of us ordered an Asian fish, poached with ginger, onions and the lot - only to have it served dripping in mayonnaise. We had to have those dishes sent back to the kitchen and replaced with plain, sauce less fish which took 20 minutes. The staff were apologetic and kind but it wasn't enough.😟

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy food :)

Dined on February 20, 2016

Yummy food :)

food4
ambience3
service4

Old school looking place, but food was v ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

Old school looking place, but food was very good. Lobster tail, macadamia nut crusted snapper were standouts. Liked the big bok choy with the snapper.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Treasure

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was looking for a nice restaurant within an hour of our Reno home to take my wife for a Valentine’s Day dinner. I didn’t know about “The Timbers” however they had an opening and I took it. We generally don’t like going to a restaurant located in a casino because of the heavy smoke in the air. To my wife’s delight “The Timbers” had a decent ventilation system and we enjoyed our dinner. My wife had the bacon wrapped scallops and I enjoyed lamb. Both of us were more than pleased with our meals and my special kudos to the chef for that wonderful tiramisu.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 15, 2016

I went here on Valentine's Day for a romantic dinner with my girlfriend. The casino it is located in is itself a bit run down, which already started the evening off on the wrong note. The restaurant itself is also very dated, but we had a reservation so we thought we'd stick it out. We were seated immediately, but we did not have any service for about 5 minutes. The waiter pointed out the v-day special, which we ordered, but he failed to mention it came with one steak to share, not two steaks like was implied. The food was good and the value was decent because luckily my girlfriend doesn't eat much. The service was very sub par for a 100$ meal though, the waiter was very pushy to move us along through our meal. To yhe extent that my girlfriend could see him standing around the corner watching for the last bite of steak to be eaten, he then immediately asked if we'd like desert. We didn't enjoy the over bearing waiter.

food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Nothing Special

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was fooled by the advertised pictures of this place which you will see online. They present wood decor with plenty of luster with fanciful accents. I reserved a table for two and got a booth for five with a lumpy seat. I had to decide whether I wanted to sit high and well into my dates eating space or split the difference between the lump and flat edge. We enter the place on reservation and they seat us in what felt like a back room. Even though other seating in the main area appeared open. They had a band playing but I couldn't enjoy it from our seat in the closet next to the noisy kitchen. Why can't I be seated in front of the band? I reserve seats and I can't get none of that? The food was bland. Nothing spectacular. Overall the bar was nothing special and nothing I'd recommend a good friend to.

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Unfortunate Valentines Experience

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

When you see a family who arrived same time as you get their meal before you get your order in, you get a little upset. When you see people who arrive after you getting desert and the check before you get your meal, you start to get really upset. (Turns out they were friends or a former co-worker with the waiter.) I'm not sure whether they were short staffed or what, but they totally dropped the ball on the service. The "water boy" was the only one who checked on how we were doing, but we only got vague excuses from him about "tray of food was accidentally dropped" (he didn't know whether it was ours), "some of the staff didn't show up today", and the promise that "it will be worth the wait". I didn't want to wait any more; I wanted to get out of there! By the time our meal showed up (about 1.5 hours after we got there!), we had eaten too much bread and my blood pressure was through the roof. I probably didn't give the meal much of a chance at this point, but the filet mignon didn't taste very special. The only thing that I especially liked was the grilled acorn squash, which was part of the vegetable medley. My daughter had a pasta dish, which was too rich for her tastes. (Or she also filled up on bread). My wife had the small filet mignon; neither she nor I felt like finishing our filet. We skipped desert. Maybe things would have been different had we ordered the four course valentine's dinner, but I'm not sure, and they certainly didn't warn us against ordering off the menu. What did we like: oysters Rockefeller was a good appetizer (and was brought out very quickly after ordering), the acorn squash in the veggie medley, and the bread/butter. And the water boy tried his best under some difficult circumstances. Not a great valentine's experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for Two in Love With Each Other & Good Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Found a great place for two. It was the Saturday before Valentine's Day 2015 and our 25th wedding anniversary coming up soon, so we wanted a warm and hearty place to go for dinner. We live in California and were visiting Tahoe for the weekend. The Timbers seemed right in its location right across the border, into Nevada. The food was fantastic and the price was very reasonable. We had the cheeseburger soup - wow! What an idea, but what more, what a taste. It was delicious and filling. For those who love lamb you've got to try the lamb steak. The sides were delicious too, especially how the chef prepared the sliced steamed and sweetened carrots. All of the dishes were well prepared and it was served very timely and by a great crew of professional waiters. They were polite and courteous and not overbearing. We recommend The Timbers to all who love a good O'l Tahoe atmosphere with a hearty American meal!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Just ok

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have always been a fan of lakeside, and while it is still good it's not great anymore. The prices keep going up and the product goes down. I'm referring to steak dinners. Still great for lunch or dinner if your having a sandwich/burger etc.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent steakhouse.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Party of 5. Prime rib was excellent. Only issue was I asked for baked potato to be served with butter on the side and horseradish for the meat. Neither was done. No big deal really. Other persons in party had petite filet. They enjoyed it. Salads were all tasty. Bread is excellent and served with olive oil on the table. We will be back for sure. Great value.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed the food and ambience

Dined on February 2, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and ambience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would Dine Here Again

Dined on January 24, 2016

At first, I was a little hesitant on choosing this reservation for my boyfriend's birthday, just because I wasn't sure about the ambiance, but I am so glad that I did! My boyfriend ordered the ribs and I got the steak and lobster combo which was delicious. We finished off with the creme brulee, and because our server forget to put our order in for our oysters, he gave us the desert for free. The service here was great, with multiple servers coming up to our table to check on us. I would definitely eat here again. This restaurant provides fine dining quality at an affordable price.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great value for great food!

Dined on January 21, 2016

Wide variety of steaks, prime rib, seafood and other assorted items. Large portions (I could not finish my filet!) and complete meals for a very reasonable rate. They have a sirloin and lobster tail meal, with a very nice salad, potatoes and veggies, for under twenty dollars! Atmosphere is rustic/lodge and the service is very good. You have to walk through the Lakeside Inn Casino to get there, but it is worth it. Wide variety of wines by the glass, too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best service and food I've had In a while

Dined on January 15, 2016

The staff was very friendly, very helpful and went the extra mile for us. The food was very tasty and relatively inexpensive, will definitely be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Didn't expect much and got just that

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

For years, my family and I had been wanting to go there. The reviews were either good or bad. We ordered the steak and lobster, husband and I, and a cheeseburger for our 11 year old. I had asked our friendly waiter to go easy on the butter and no special sauce on the kid's burger. I have never seen so much butter on my plate. There must have been 3 tablespoons on my baked potato, 2 on my steak and another 2-3 on my veggies and lobster. I like butter but everything was swimming in it. So was my kid's burger. Bread was saggy by the amount of special sauce. Waiter delivered the food saying the cook had gone ahead with the butter and special sauce?? No apologizing etc....Bread and oil/vinegar dip was good. My husband soup was good as well though a bit salty. We did like the old casino ambiance. The food was just not good enough.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrendous service

Dined on January 2, 2016

We were completely ignored and had to ask repeatedly for our waiter. He only came when we complained. Our food was late, they did not get the correct sauce despite repeated requests and even did not fill up our water. I will never go there again

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.