About The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

1730 Mission Hill Rd.
West Kelowna, BC V4T 2E4
View Larger Map

Overlooking rows of Pinot Noir & Chardonnay set against the Okanagan Lake, our outdoor Terrace Restaurant complements our wine’s natural affinities with cuisine that is locally, sustainably, and seasonally sourced. By growing much of our own produce in the estate Varietal Garden and working hand-in-hand with local farmers, we are able to provide a spectacular culinary experience highlighting the bountiful ingredients & world-class wines that characterize this region.
By partnering with local farmers, our menu continuously evolves to incorporate the freshest ingredients. Similar to our philosophy in the vineyards, we have a firm belief in sustainable and bio-dynamic agricultural practices, including local foraging, organic farming, and the Vancouver Aquarium’s OceanWise program. Even our own honeybees help sustain the estate gardens while providing wildflower honey to be used by our culinary team.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Modern Tuscan, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
June 13th - June 30th
- Lunch 11:30 am to 3:00 pm
- Dinner 5:00 pm to 8:30 pm

July 1st - September 5th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

September 6th - September 25th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 8:30pm

September 26th - October 9th
- 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ridge Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 768-6467

Website:
http://missionhillwinery.com/

Entertainment:
Watch our website for upcoming special events at Mission Hill Family Estate.
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Catering:
We combine world-class culinary expertise and service with local, sustainably grown ingredients to provide an unmatched wine-country experience. Driven by the flavour characteristics of the wine, our culinary team uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients to craft dishes around each wine’s natural affinities. Make your next event in the Okanagan truly unforgettable.

Parking Details:
Paved on-site parking includes spaces for handicapped guests and electric-vehicle charging stations. Mission Hill Family Estate is also wheelchair accessible has additional space for larger vehicles.

Public Transit:
Located at intersection of Mission Hill Rd and Boucherie Rd. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors just down the hill from our entrance. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chris Stewart

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Restaurant Photos

  • The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery
The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
16 More
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Outdoor Dining
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (120)
great for outdoor dining (102)
special occasion (99)
See All
romantic (97)
fit for foodies (76)
notable wine list (73)
great for lunch (47)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (16)
great for brunch (11)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and view. We had an amazing ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and view. We had an amazing time at the Terrace Restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Firstly let me say we have been to Missi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Firstly let me say we have been to Mission Hill for dinner several times in the past....always"was" outstanding.... This dinner was far below the usual high quality food experience we have had in the past. The rigatoni appetizer was something I would make at home.....my $47.00 steak was something I wouldn't serve at home!!! I sent it back because it was totally overcooked, I was also very shocked at the thickness of this cut....not at all worth the price.. The others said their meals were..."just ok". In my mind going to at first class winery I/we expected first class meals....this did not occur...price aside , we are disappointed. The wine was excellent(2013 Shiraz), and the view/grounds were as always, spectacular. Lastly, with such an outstanding view the terrace wall obstructs the view for anyone not tall enough to look over, like my wife who is 5'4". Taller chairs or get a stone mason to cut the cement border in half would totally bring the vista in to play.....and what a spectacular vista you have!! I normally wouldn't comment but we truly have enjoyed the meals,grounds,and wine tasting in the past and this experience was sub-par. Regards, Gary Wain & family

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the most amazing service from Matt P ...

Dined 4 days ago

Had the most amazing service from Matt P. He was extremely knowledge about the wine list and the food and was very friendly. One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely a wonderful place to dine. Y ...

Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely a wonderful place to dine. You are treated so well and the food is incredible

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service from our waiter was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food and service from our waiter was first class. The only blot on the day was the lady who was at the reception table. We were asked if we had a reservation ~ no greeting, no smile, no nothing. Maybe she was having a bad day or just did not like us. I never saw her smile the whole time we were there. (She wore black stockings). Other than that great - our waiter went to great lengths to explain the food when it was served and checked regularly to ensure we were ok.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, but the restaurant is outdoor ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Good food, but the restaurant is outdoors. Weather dependent. Go when it is sunny and warm.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent on every level - service, food ...

Dined 6 days ago

excellent on every level - service, food, wine, view. Knowledgeable and passionate restaurant staff took it up a notch higher than excellent !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing place with great service. Food w ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Amazing place with great service. Food was good and server knew everything about the wines and Mission Hill wineyard. Fantastic experience!

Tags: romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably my favorite restaurant - always ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Probably my favorite restaurant - always feel spoilt . Expensive .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

i love this restaurant it is one of my f ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

i love this restaurant it is one of my favourite spots

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

i would encourage you to start using lin ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

i would encourage you to start using linens on the tables, starched whites would finish off a great spot

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

the view and property were beautiful. my ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

the view and property were beautiful. my waiter, steve, was apparently fairly new, and was quite nice, but tended to overlook me for larger groups/couples. i had to flag hi down a couple times, or wait to be served. the restaurant was admittedly busy, but i felt a bit overlooked. the catch of the day entree was perfect, delicious. the salad was average. the dessert wa stasty, but disappointing..one of those overly creative takes on a classic dessert. was really looking forward to a traditional seasonal strawberry shortcake, but instead was served a supposedly artistic version which was overly sweet and not special. overall it was a nice experience and the entree, the palate clearing fruit soup, and the bread were beautifully served and delicious, so i would return. also the view was gorgeous

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our Vacation in the Okanagan, I w ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

During our Vacation in the Okanagan, I wanted to visit the Mission Hill Winery, as I enjoy Mission Hill Chardonay. Nancy, Ted, Susan and I spent the day at the property taking in the Reserve Tasting Tour and thoroughly enjoying lunch at the Terrace Restaurant. The food was excellent and we had the added bonus of sampling the newest wines from Mission Hill. The experience was 1 of a kind, the scenery was beautiful and the company was tremendous. The servers were extremely knowledgeable and very accommodating. Jessica ensured we enjoyed our experience at the Terrace Restaurant at Mission Hill. Thanks.....

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

No atmosphere service well above normal ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

No atmosphere service well above normal Really disapointed

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a fabulous meal, great wine, attenti ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

For a fabulous meal, great wine, attentive service, and a wonderful view be sure to visit The Terrace at Mission Hill Estate Winery.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lovely spot which we have been to many t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely spot which we have been to many times for a special treat. Great views, with creative food, and beautiful grounds to visit. One disappointing note was the wine - surprising at a winery. The merlot was served cold and the waiter agreed it should be warmer, so told us to wait for it to warm up. Surely there must have been other bottles, ready at the appropriate temperature !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I dine all over the world an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I dine all over the world and this had to be, hands down, one of the best dining experiences of our lives! We came on a rough evening (pouring rain) but we're still comfortable between the restaurant's heaters and blinds. The maitre'd offered my wife a blanket, a very nice touch! We started by sharing charcuterie (all made in house) which was presented on a very chic wooden board. The waiter recommended the Martin's Lane (a Mission Hill side project) Riesling to pair - marvellous. Entrees were fantastic, but we were simply too full to enjoy dessert after a day of wine touring. We learned upon exit that the chef offers a tasting menu - we will surely have to come back to enjoy. Highly recommended to anyone travelling to the Kelowna area - no one does it better than Mission Hill!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mission Hill has a great view, amazing f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Mission Hill has a great view, amazing food, great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Although there is no substitution for th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Although there is no substitution for the venue I found the food to be less approachable then in past visits. My dining guests floundered at the descriptions of dishes and the complexity of flavors seemed to me more about how many ingredients you could add without really adding to the dish. I will try it again but I cannot at this point recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mission Hill's restaurant continues to d ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Mission Hill's restaurant continues to defy its bizarre set-up. Not originally designed for fine dining (the kitchen is actually a couple of floors below; the terrace isn't wind- or rain-proof), The Terrace has become one of the destination restaurants in the Okanagan Valley--even if it didn't have a fine winery on the premises! Service is, as always, top-notch. (We've been a dozen times before.) The view is sublime. And the food is creative and scrumptious--I dropped one star only because fair spouse didn't care for the presentation of the tasty strawberry dessert and her main was just "good"--but not great. Salad was superb; sous-vide steak frites was marvelous (ordinary-looking fries are transformed by cooking in duck fat); and my chocolate "aero" cake was an extraordinary mix of dark chocolate and light texture. Another success, Mission Hill!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

They provide delicious gluten free nut b ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

They provide delicious gluten free nut bread to go with one of the appizers with the cured meat. Really good. They were very accommodating with gluten free options. Beautiful scenery.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The food was nothing special. Wine seeme ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was nothing special. Wine seemed very overpriced. We were seated near the server area and could hear the servers chatting and swearing. Not a great atmosphere. Also due to the way the tables were facing I was unable to enjoy the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I found the menu limited and expensive - ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I found the menu limited and expensive - the service was xcellent. Nice location but cold outside

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The location was great. Even in the cold ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The location was great. Even in the cold weather, is was good to sit outside. Although, the food was not what we expected. We both had an entree and a main, as well one of the entree and one af the mains, were really not oke (the paté and the duck). Maybe we made the wrong choice.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The busy part of lunch service was over ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The busy part of lunch service was over however we waited for 15 minutes before the neighboring server took pity on us and brought us water and took our drink order. After a further 10 minutes a server appeared to take our orders. However, it didn't get any better for the food arriving. For that we waited another 45 minutes! Unacceptable in my opinion. It is a beautiful setting and the food was very good however, poor service threw a wet blanket on our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The setting is lovely - and the staff is ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The setting is lovely - and the staff is very attentive. The menu is limited, but the quality and presentation of the food is very nice. A word of caution that the tables near the kitchen area are quite noisy (we asked to move to another table and were kindly accommodated). The one thing that did shock us is the extreme mark-up on their win (after all, it is THEIR wine). We ordered a bottle of their reserve pinot noir ($70). It was really nice so we decided to return to the vineyard the next day to make a purchase. We were shocked to learn that the $70 bottle of wine retails in their wine shop for $25.99. We appreciate the need to make a profit ... but we thought this was quite ridiculous. Perhaps there are some "rules" to wine mark-up that we are not aware of but, if not, the pricing of the wine in their restaurant is something they might want to reconsider. A nice night out but be prepared to spend a bit of $$ ($200 for the two of us, with one bottle of wine (no dessert or coffee) and tip)..

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Highly recommend the tasting menu - grea ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Highly recommend the tasting menu - great value considering the number of courses served!! The kitchen staff were fantastic - even took us on a tour of their gardens - I can't praise their team highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We thought the setting was beautiful and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We thought the setting was beautiful and the food was well done. However, our waiter recommended a dessert for us which was bland and we only could take a couple of bites. We told him we did not enjoy it but at the end of the meal it was still on the bill so we were quite disappointed by that. We also thought it was a little strange that the bread before dinner was served in such small portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a wonderful experience. The weath ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The weather was not perfect but we were so well protected from the elements and totally comfortable. The food was amazing and the wine parings enhanced every dish. Definitely will bring other visitors to your winery and restaurant. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special time

Dined on June 11, 2016

My husband and I were visiting my best friend in Kelowna. Our last night together was such a special time at The Terrace - Mission Hill. Two of our foursome have dietary restrictions. They were so very accommodating. We all had incredible meals. Being at a winery, it's always nice to have food and wine pairing suggestions and to be able to have just a 2 or 3 oz. glass of wine allows you to enjoy a few of their pairings. And, it's Farm to Table - lovely. It was a chilly night to sit on a terrace but with the overhead heaters it was very pleasant. Fabulous evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant fulfilled every point on ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant fulfilled every point on the check list for our special occasion….fantastic service, excellent food, amazing view. Two of the guests had allergies and the staff were aware and had already reviewed the menu to advise us. The evening was cool, and the heat was turned on and my mother was given a cozy blanket to put around her shoulders. Have been before and will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Highly over-rated

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food, ambiance and service were just average. Not what we expected. Very expensive wines and . Not worth the money

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food, great views and attentive service

Dined on June 8, 2016

I've been to Mission Hill a couple of times. The food is excellent. Both times I have been surprised at the variety of flavours with well presented but decent sized portions of food. The views are stunning and it's a lovely place to relax, eat good food, share a conversation and of course drink some fantastic wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Anything - you can't go wrong !

Dined on June 7, 2016

Anything - you can't go wrong !

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Mini Family Reunion

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had family that were visiting from Hong Kong and we had gathered family from Hong Kong and Calgary, AB and met up in Kelowna. Made reservations and everyone raved about the Food, the View and the Ambience. My Kids also loved the Spray Mist that would go off every 10mins or so due to the 34 degrees Celsius weather outside. I highly recommend this restaurant as the Food was Excellent and the view just made it even more phenomenal!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful setting....

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Unique location on the grounds of the Mission Hill winery, and gorgeous surroundings...we felt like we were somewhere in the Tuscan hills! Dinner came at a leisurely pace but the food was good (although the chicken dish was very rich!), and the wine excellent. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love love Mission Hill

Dined on June 4, 2016

This is the place in the Kelowna to go for either lunch or dinner !!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Crazy expensive, about $180+ for a coupl ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Crazy expensive, about $180+ for a couple if you each have a glass of wine, appetizer and main entree, but, so, so worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

All about ambiance

Dined on June 3, 2016

The Mission Hill property is a sight to behold, and the Terrace restaurant is a integral part of that. The service was top notch, food was great, obviously wine is on point, and you can't beat the setting and the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We flew in from Calgary for lunch to re- ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

We flew in from Calgary for lunch to re-create one of our fondest memories of Canada before we move back home to Australia. The views, the service, the food and the memory were every bit as good as when we reviewed this restaurant the first time in 2013. You can tell that people just love to be working here and that energy and love shows through. The kids enjoyed their food and then retreated under a shady tree with a book and tumbled down their favourite roly poly hill. We are so comfortable here we sometimes forget we don't own it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.