About The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

1730 Mission Hill Rd.
West Kelowna, BC V4T 2E4
View Larger Map

Overlooking rows of Pinot Noir & Chardonnay set against the Okanagan Lake, our outdoor Terrace Restaurant complements our wine’s natural affinities with cuisine that is locally, sustainably, and seasonally sourced. By growing much of our own produce in the estate Varietal Garden and working hand-in-hand with local farmers, we are able to provide a spectacular culinary experience highlighting the bountiful ingredients & world-class wines that characterize this region.
By partnering with local farmers, our menu continuously evolves to incorporate the freshest ingredients. Similar to our philosophy in the vineyards, we have a firm belief in sustainable and bio-dynamic agricultural practices, including local foraging, organic farming, and the Vancouver Aquarium’s OceanWise program. Even our own honeybees help sustain the estate gardens while providing wildflower honey to be used by our culinary team.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Modern Tuscan, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
July 1st - September 5th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

September 6th - September 25th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 8:30pm

September 26th - October 9th
- 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ridge Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 768-6467

Website:
http://missionhillwinery.com/

Entertainment:
Watch our website for upcoming special events at Mission Hill Family Estate.
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Catering:
We combine world-class culinary expertise and service with local, sustainably grown ingredients to provide an unmatched wine-country experience. Driven by the flavour characteristics of the wine, our culinary team uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients to craft dishes around each wine’s natural affinities. Make your next event in the Okanagan truly unforgettable.

Parking Details:
Paved on-site parking includes spaces for handicapped guests and electric-vehicle charging stations. Mission Hill Family Estate is also wheelchair accessible has additional space for larger vehicles.

Public Transit:
Located at intersection of Mission Hill Rd and Boucherie Rd. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors just down the hill from our entrance. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Restaurant Photos

  • The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery
The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Outdoor Dining
Vancouver / British Columbia
13 More
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

Scenic View (314)
Great for Outdoor Dining (278)
Special Occasion (256)
See All
Romantic (232)
Notable Wine List (211)
Fit for Foodies (190)
Great for Lunch (125)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Hot Spot (40)
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Brunch (27)
Kid-friendly (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
892 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a must try restaurant. The scene ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 18 hours ago

This is a must try restaurant. The scenery is stunning!! The food, delicious! The service, delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I brought his 83 year old ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I brought his 83 year old mother for a late lunch. She was visiting from out of town. The meal, service and ambiance were superb.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, atmosphere and service.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second visit, after a golf group in June ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Second visit, after a golf group in June made me want to come back. This time just my wife and me for lunch. Excellent wines and food. Service was friendly and attentive. Amazing view of the lake.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service by Josh. Food and wine ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent service by Josh.

Food and wine pairing excellent.

Overall, a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the Terrace for lunch at the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to the Terrace for lunch at the recommendation of a friend and were not disappointed! Mission Hill is not only an Okanagan wine country classic, but the food and service are truly impeccable. We went on an incredibly hot day, misters in the restaurant were a nice touch. Much more than just a winery restaurant. Travis our server was friendly and professional, and the manager Kevin arranged that we could tour the stunning barrel cellar afterward. Thank you, Mission Hill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go often to show this place to visiti ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We go often to show this place to visiting friends. The view and winery setting are spectacular overlooking the lake. But, more often than not, the food is disappointing as was the case with or last meal. Typically the small cold appetizers and salads are very good and the mains are usually disappointing. I will continue bring fiends but will stick to a quick appetizer and glass of wine.

An additional note: We go to all of the concerts at Mission Hill and highly recommend these outings. We have always included the tapas and wine option prior to the concert. Going forward we will just do the concerts as the food is the same old boring stuff for every event. I would recommend they try something different in the future. We topically go with a large group of friends that belong to Mission Hill Wine Club and we have all decided on the same thing. Spectacular venue with the same food options at the events. Mission Hill needs to take as much care with the food as they do with the building a grounds.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Stunning view! Feels like you are dining ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Stunning view! Feels like you are dining in an European winery. Peaceful and scenic. Great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fortunately you have a stunning location ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fortunately you have a stunning location. Unfortunately the wine tasting area was over crowded with freeloaders hogging the counter with no intention of purchasing anything. The meal was very disappointing. The fois gras was a hybrid and misrepresented as food gras. The pasta that I ordered was over cooked , the shrimps were soggy and the tomato and basil sauce was bland. At least you had the good sense to remove it from the bill. The kitchen staff needs a real serious make over. You have failed miserably when it comes to food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Our waiter was wonderful as well as all ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful as well as all the other servers who were there to fill up our water glasses or wine glasses as soon as it was needed! We enjoyed it everything very much!

Thank you for a wonderful experience!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is top notch! From start ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food here is top notch! From starters, pairing wine, main, dessert and even cappuccino! We absolutely loved everything that evil we ordered! Service was great. Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding view and ambience..Menu for ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Outstanding view and ambience..Menu for lunch could have had more choices as it has a lot of seafood...We had a slight problem which was looked after professionally and were satisfied with the result. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great spot somewhat ruined by a bad stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great spot somewhat ruined by a bad steak. Went for dinner with a couple of friends after a couple of winery stops (I was the designated driver!) and the location is great for an evening meal. Unfortunately it was marred by a terrible steak........everyone else's meal was good but my steak was not something you would expect for the $47.00 price tag. It was worse than a cheap sirloin (and billed as a rib eye). The server was kind enough to remove it from our bill (and offered to replace it) and the manager came over to offer apologies as well so they saved the overall experience for us but I will be more careful next time we visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We were a table of 4, 3 people ordered ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were a table of 4, 3 people ordered the catch of the day, which was halibut. I ordered the 10 ounce ribeye. The halibut was well presented and nicely prepared. However, when my $47.00 ( before taxes and gratuities ) steak arrived, it was overcooked ,not only did it look like shoe leather it was as tough as shoe leather and had no taste whatsoever. after 3 bites I called the waitress over, she then sent the manager over .who apologized profusely, and offered me a choice of another dish.. although she did not charge me for my meal I had to sit and watch the other 3 people eat their meal and when my meal arrived they then had to sit and watch me eat my meal.

Having said all of the above, what really upset me was the steak . to even serve such a terrible piece of meat speaks volumes of the attitude of the chef. personally, if it were my employee, I would have made him eat it, I have had better steaks in a greasy spoon restaurant at 1/3 the price ........Shame on you mission hills for allowing that dish to leave the kitchen

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

It was our first visit to Mission Hill, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was our first visit to Mission Hill, but definitely won't be our last. We made a reservation based on friends' recommendations, and we are so glad that we did so. Our lunch was spectacular - we shared the kale salad to begin with, which was delicious. We also got some bread to share. For the entree, my partner had the catch of the day (halibut) and I had the pasta and shrimp in the white wine and butter sauce, and both dishes were fantastic. My partner has a dairy allergy so didn't receive the gnocchi with the fish (nothing was substituted for it, which was a pity though) but other than that, the entire meal was faultless. Great staff too - attentive and friendly. Brilliant experience overall

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our dinner was such a pleasant experienc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our dinner was such a pleasant experience. The service was great, just a tiny bit slow and the food was delicious. What really made the evening truly memorable was the exquisite view from every seat in the restaurant. I will definitely be returning...and once again ordering the pomme frites!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was a wonderful experience. I was a li ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Was a wonderful experience. I was a little disappointed we didn't get a table on the lake side as I did reserve months ago, but on the whole a great evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wine selection was amazing and food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wine selection was amazing and food was perfectly paired.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday lunch with a friend. Everything ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Birthday lunch with a friend. Everything prepared from scratch and was so noticeable! Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a lovely dinner at the restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at the restaurant, although we were a bit disappointed that we could not get a lakeview table. That should be something that is indicated on Open Table.

the food was a bit slow in coming, but it was excellent when it came.

I think the suggested wine pairings should be listed with a price. Our daughter mistakenly (as it turned out) asked for the wine pairing for her meal, and one glass of wine was $24. That was about double what we were expecting. It is not nice to be rather taken aback by the price of a glass of wine!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The place is cool, amazing view. When my ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The place is cool, amazing view. When my wife and I sat down we felt like we were being rushed through, our waitress wasn't very patient or friendly with us until we were paying (she didn't stop and chat with us, even though she had lengthy convos with the people at the tables on either side of us). Food was good, I had the steak. The way we were seated was a little odd. The place has an amazing view but the tables were such that I had my back to the view the whole mean, that was a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Incredible date night- we had the nine c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Incredible date night- we had the nine course meal with wine pairings, stayed all evening, our server and the rest of the staff were amazing. Relaxed and welcoming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Food was great. Was t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Beautiful setting. Food was great. Was there for lunch and wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been going to the Terrace for many ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I've been going to the Terrace for many years since it opened and last year I noticed the quality of food was diminished. This year it was actually worse. This used to be my favorite restaurant but I don't think we'll be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Best server I have ever had. Knowledgeab ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best server I have ever had. Knowledgeable, funny, kind.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food and venue. However, booke ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Fabulous food and venue. However, booked through open table and they did not have our reservation in the system, however, they found a spot. I recommend you check your booking directly. Ended up fine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful ambiance and food was deliciou ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Beautiful ambiance and food was delicious. Very unique flavours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upon arriving on time for our Opentable ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Upon arriving on time for our Opentable reservation, we were promptly welcomed and seated. While water was served promptly, it was a long wait before we met our server as she seemed to be overwhelmed and markedly delayed by a large group a few tables over that were getting individual bills! Eventually, a hostess took our order and served our selected glasses of premium/paired wine. Later we noticed that the hostess had a rather minimal pour volume compared to the server for our area, as the actual server poured similar, but much larger, glasses of wine for some later arrivals at an adjacent table. Food was slow to arrive, but very good. With no appetizer or dessert, a main with wine (paired, but of only average quality) that amounted to $75 per person seemed rather expensive for lunch. Probably will pass next time in that Kelowna area as there are better places close by.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fantastic food and service, and the view ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fantastic food and service, and the view is out of this world. It likely goes without saying that the wine list is superb as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing meal here. The food w ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had an amazing meal here. The food was cooked to perfection and the service was amazing. It was expensive but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, the service wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was outstanding, the service was excellent, a beautiful view and wonderful ambience. dining experience - it is not over the top and well worth the investment!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We purposely made a point of coming here ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We purposely made a point of coming here for lunch on our trip this year after an amazing lunch last year - and it did not disappoint! Beautiful views over the vineyard, great service and everything on the menu is a foodie delight! All the meats and cheeses for their charcuterie are made in house. Wine can be expensive but those wines are worth the price tag! Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First off, food was amazing! All four d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First off, food was amazing! All four dishes we ordered were incredible!

Service however, not so much. Waitress was really nice but the service was crazy slow. Took 40 minutes to get two glasses of wine and two apple juice for our two children. We also noticed that we weren't the only table who felt this way. We saw three other tables express their frustration as well. I read other reviews saying the special food preparation takes long and that I understand. This was just wine and apple juice (plus the same thing happened at dessert time but we finally just left instead of waiting).

In summary, food and view are worth the trip but don't expect the service to match.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything as outstanding. The views of ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything as outstanding. The views of the winery and the lake,the food (the duckwas cooked to perfection) and the wines suggested for each dish. We went with our kids(they 3 options for kids) but it's an incredibly romantic place.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not the same Mission Hill. Lots of great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Not the same Mission Hill. Lots of great options in the Valley that are as good or better. This used to be the one place you had to dine. Not anymore. We've heard from friends, and it was confirmed tonight, that Mission has dramatically changed. And not for the better.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Great food, if you order the right thing ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great food, if you order the right thing! Scenery, environment, and wine is also wonderful!

Even if you don't dine at this area, the Mission Hill winery is also worth a walk!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a must. Great overall experience. ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It's a must. Great overall experience.

Will beback

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outdoor Eating, Romance, Special Occasions, Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely lunch and wine list. Menu is a bi ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lovely lunch and wine list. Menu is a bit pricey, but outstanding. Service was friendly and efficient. Perfect place for a special lunch with Mum.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely gorgeous Restaurant with trul ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Absolutely gorgeous Restaurant with truly wonderful food. Staff was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Great location. Great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately there was a thunderstorm t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Unfortunately there was a thunderstorm the day my daughter and I went for dinner! It was very windy and rainy with the occasional thunder. I did not want to cancel though. The experience would have been a much more pleasurable had the weather been more favorable. They had all the heaters on in the restaurant and it was too hot! We stayed only 45 minutes and spent $108.24. The meals were good but not $30.00 - $32.00 good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.