About The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

Overlooking rows of Pinot Noir & Chardonnay set against the Okanagan Lake, our outdoor Terrace Restaurant complements our wine’s natural affinities with cuisine that is locally, sustainably, and seasonally sourced. By growing much of our own produce in the estate Varietal Garden and working hand-in-hand with local farmers, we are able to provide a spectacular culinary experience highlighting the bountiful ingredients & world-class wines that characterize this region.
By partnering with local farmers, our menu continuously evolves to incorporate the freshest ingredients. Similar to our philosophy in the vineyards, we have a firm belief in sustainable and bio-dynamic agricultural practices, including local foraging, organic farming, and the Vancouver Aquarium’s OceanWise program. Even our own honeybees help sustain the estate gardens while providing wildflower honey to be used by our culinary team.

1730 Mission Hill Rd.
West Kelowna, BC V4T 2E4
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Modern Tuscan, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
The Terrace Restaurant is now open for the season. We are currently opened.

Sunday thru Thursday Lunch 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM, Dinner 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Friday Saturday Lunch 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM, Dinner 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Cross Street:
Ridge Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 768-6467

Website:
http://missionhillwinery.com/

Entertainment:
Watch our website for upcoming special events at Mission Hill Family Estate.
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Catering:
We combine world-class culinary expertise and service with local, sustainably grown ingredients to provide an unmatched wine-country experience. Driven by the flavour characteristics of the wine, our culinary team uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients to craft dishes around each wine’s natural affinities. Make your next event in the Okanagan truly unforgettable.

Parking Details:
Paved on-site parking includes spaces for handicapped guests and electric-vehicle charging stations. Mission Hill Family Estate is also wheelchair accessible has additional space for larger vehicles.

Public Transit:
Located at intersection of Mission Hill Rd and Boucherie Rd. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors just down the hill from our entrance. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Gayler

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:45PM

The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (140)
Great for Outdoor Dining (110)
Special Occasion (106)
See All
Romantic (102)
Good for a Date (93)
Good for Anniversaries (85)
Notable Wine List (84)
Worth the Drive (67)
Local Ingredients (66)
Creative Cuisine (58)
Great for Lunch (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Seasonal (32)
Tasting Menu (29)
Waterfront (28)
Casual (27)
Authentic (26)
Fun (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Cozy (19)
Healthy (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Business Meals (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Organic (12)
People Watching (12)
Disabled Access (11)
Afternoon Tea (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tapas (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Live Music (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

This is an outdoor restaurant so make sure to dress for the weather. Catch of the day was the Halibut and was good. The wine.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The menu and the service was a delight ... we expected nice wine but found a wonderful dining experience and service in our quest.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was on point and delicious and I would go back again. The service was great. Kind of dwindled near the end but was still great. Only negative thing is I would recommend changing what cab company you offer to guests. They said 25 min it was almost over an hour and when we called he cab company that was offered to us, the person on the other end was so rude, unhelpful and a downright a hole. The restaurant itself is such an amazing and wonderful experience and that cab company card offered to us put a sour taste in our mouth, worse then bed wine. Will be back for the food and wine in a heart beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

service and food were great. too bad we had to be the table next to the open kitchen.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful views and delicious food . Our server was wonderful and offered recommendations. Loved it !!❤️

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Was disappointed that a "simple" request I made the day before the business luncheon was not made possible by the restaurant. The server's reply was that they were busy. So instead on guest seeing a written note of thanks, the server blurted out the message. I felt it was memorised last minute in order to make a quick delivery. I had to ask the server to say slowly as my Guest was a bit surprised all these words were being said.
At the beginning of the main course, we asked for fresh pepper. Our server only said that pepper "interferes" with the wine. We respected that, however, both my guest and I loved a small sprinkling of pepper over our pasta. Was that too much to ask for? After 3 mins of waiting, a pepper shaker was found. The pasta tasted better based on "our" own taste bud. Maybe different from the Chefs' or the servers'. It would have been great if we were given a choice and not told that pepper will interfere with the wine. We didn't order any wine.
The dessert was a treat and actually felt that helped save the business luncheon. BTW, the guest came from Vancouver.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great location and always a cut above. Very friendly people that insure a rewarding dinning experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Fabulous Views. a Stunning winery and landscaped beautifully. Very good, fresh, organic food.
Had a really excellent sauvignon blanc with lunch. Great service. Just a wonderful place to dine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The servers were less than friendly, especially considering our reservation was cancelled and bumped up a day to accommodate their special group coming in. The food was delicious but portions were incredibly tiny compared to the influx of price. Would never come back now that I seen the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Awesome everything but especially the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Had a fantastic experience thanks to Darren and Jessica, our server. The food was exceptional - congratulations to the culinary team on a job well done!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wonderful service in an incredible setting. Small portion sizes but very tasty. Knowledgeable staff that help you select the best wine and food pairings. Highly recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was absolutely fantastic. Went for my 6 year anniversary with my partner Ryan. Loved every second.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Amazing dinner experience at The Terrace! The wine was, of course, exceptional and the appetizers, main courses and dessert exceeded all our expectations. Would definitely return - it's a must visit when in the Kelowna area!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

A bit pricey, considering how much food was on the plate. But at least, it was no surprise. For a "one time" visit, it was quite acceptable as the overall experience was special.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place is amazing. Every time I've gone, service is beyond expectation. Food is great, wine is good, service is awesome. Never to be disappointed, always to be amazed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent staff, service, and food. Wine pairings were spot on and the food was superbly cooked (had the duck breast as a main, excellent crispy skin on a medium rare finish). Worth the trip if you are not local, and an excellent spot to return to if you are.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Organic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Visited with relatives from U.K, gave brilliant impression of Canada. We all agreed we want to come back again. And again!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food menu chioces was limited. You would have more people going if you served enough food on the plates. I know its anout ambiance, but i was disapointed and won't be back. I will be telling my friends its a rip off.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Last weekend the temperatures were very high, hence we felt really hot! We felt that the sprinklers were not making much difference.
Also I usually have the fresh apple juice, which you get from local farm. But you were out of it this time and I was really hoping to have it! :(

Otherwise the food and everything else was great!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Had a great dinner, Chef Heather was superb and we really enjoyed the overall service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely beautiful presentation ,service and food. Wines were wonderful. Venue spectacular.great chef.. keep up the great work.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Consistently good food. Have been there a few times.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Really enjoyed!! Highly recommend going for a tasting first we tried a bunch of wines then we were able to pick an amazing wine with our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing tour, birthday lunch with amazing wine pairings. Best winery I have been to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Couldn't have had a better dinner with my wife on our special day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was very surprised when I ordered a fish and crab meal, this is what was on the menu! When I received it it had 2 very tiny amounts of crab! It did have shrimp and clams- but that was not mentioned in the description! It was still a very nice meal but I think if you only put 2 ingredients on your menu then they should be the biggest portion of the meal.

The view is lovely and the service was excellent, so I would still recommend this restaurant but may be clarifying what you are receiving may be a good idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food and View was outstanding the service was terrible waitress she was one step from giving us an eye rolls

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our server Jessica was amazing! Very knowledgable about wine and food. Make our night very memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our food took about 40 minutes to be delivered. Quite a long time. Beautiful scenery but took way too long to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 31, 2017

A beautiful evening of great food, a fantastic view and wonderful wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Amazing views, scenery, and ambiance. Wine tasting inside the store is so worth it! Highly recommend trying the Ice Wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Creative menu .elegant cutlery crockery and crystal.excellent wines.efficient if unemotional service.great setting and atmosphere.slightly tarnished by rather condescending hostesses at the restaurant reception.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent food and wine with a great view to go along with it. Good options for the kids too!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This was an early lunch (11:30 a.m.) for us because we prefer the quiet time we were the second table seated with a beautiful view. The food was excellent we had the linguine with shrimp with that light flavourful sauce and the scallop and pork dish. We picked the Rose for our wine and were delighted with the choice. To top if off with the almond and cherry tart with ice wine cream was portions perfectly to end our meal. Our server was attentive with out being intrusive or hovering, very good timing on her part when we needed anything.

Perfect site, perfect meal, wonderful experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great had an enjoyable time and the food was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I cannot say enough about this winery and restaurant. My husband and I were visiting Kelowna for the first time and planned a dinner at Mission Hill. Our Waitress, Caitlin, was fantastic from the very beginning. Very personable, friendly, and spent the time to give her opinion on the wine/menu and answer every question we have. She even took us to the "best spot in the restaurant" to take some pictures. We chose to do the tasting menu and wine pairing. The mushroom dish was by far one of my most favorite dishes of all time. My husband was in heaven over the lamb. Special regards to the chef and kitchen staff, whom are extremely talented! We especially loved that most of the ingredients were grown right in their own garden in the vineyard. The wines paired with the meal were impeccable. So good that we decided to join as wine club members. We went back the next day and Caitlin showed us around the winery. We were so impressed. We wish we didn't live across the country or we would be back regularly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have heard great things about Mission Hill and were really excited to try the restaurant. I came here with my fiancé and his parents to celebrate my mother in-law's retirement. Though the food was exceptionally good, overall I gave a rating of 3/5 for the restaurant mainly because of the service we got which I rated as 2/5. Initially we realized we were late and I called to notify the restaurant but no one answered. Instead of calling me back (which any restaurant would do) I received a notification in my email saying that our reservation is cancelled. We arrived at most 15 min late.
The second issue we had, is when we came to choose our bottle of wine we asked our waitress if she can guide, we barely got any guidance the first time we requested help. This is a winery restaurant where you'd expect a clear description of the wines and guidance with pairings. Once we chose our bottle, the waitress comes and directly pours the wine so confidently without offering us a tasting. When you are paying good money in one of the top restaurants in Kelowna, this is not acceptable.
Finally once we are served our food, the waitress does not explain the different plates - basically because she thought we don't understand fine dining. My fiancé then tells her kindly that we are big foodies and to please describe with more details the plates we are having. Overall I will come back as I know this is not your typical standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The terrace restaurant at Mission Hill winery has such beautiful lake and vineyard views if you sit at the side facing the lake. You can ask the waitress whether you can have a table looking over the lake. Some of these tables will be reserved for their members, but you can take your chance.
The food is exquisite, delicious and tasteful. The environment is classy and the service is meticulous. The food portion is not large, and this may be the only pity. But after all this is fine dining, so the small food portion is pardonable. If you don't order their wines, the price will not be particularly high, compared to the restaurants of most cosmopolitan cities within Canada or around the world.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.