About The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

1730 Mission Hill Rd.
West Kelowna, BC V4T 2E4
View Larger Map

Overlooking rows of Pinot Noir & Chardonnay set against the Okanagan Lake, our outdoor Terrace Restaurant complements our wine’s natural affinities with cuisine that is locally, sustainably, and seasonally sourced. By growing much of our own produce in the estate Varietal Garden and working hand-in-hand with local farmers, we are able to provide a spectacular culinary experience highlighting the bountiful ingredients & world-class wines that characterize this region.
By partnering with local farmers, our menu continuously evolves to incorporate the freshest ingredients. Similar to our philosophy in the vineyards, we have a firm belief in sustainable and bio-dynamic agricultural practices, including local foraging, organic farming, and the Vancouver Aquarium’s OceanWise program. Even our own honeybees help sustain the estate gardens while providing wildflower honey to be used by our culinary team.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Modern Tuscan, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
May 6th - June 12th
- 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm

June 13th - June 30th
- Lunch 11:30 am to 3:00 pm
- Dinner 5:00 pm to 8:30 pm

July 1st - September 5th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

September 6th - September 25th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 8:30pm

September 26th - October 9th
- 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ridge Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 768-6467

Website:
http://missionhillwinery.com/

Entertainment:
Watch our website for upcoming special events at Mission Hill Family Estate.
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Catering:
We combine world-class culinary expertise and service with local, sustainably grown ingredients to provide an unmatched wine-country experience. Driven by the flavour characteristics of the wine, our culinary team uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients to craft dishes around each wine’s natural affinities. Make your next event in the Okanagan truly unforgettable.

Parking Details:
Paved on-site parking includes spaces for handicapped guests and electric-vehicle charging stations. Mission Hill Family Estate is also wheelchair accessible has additional space for larger vehicles.

Public Transit:
Located at intersection of Mission Hill Rd and Boucherie Rd. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors just down the hill from our entrance. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chris Stewart

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (39)
great for outdoor dining (35)
special occasion (33)
See All
romantic (31)
notable wine list (23)
fit for foodies (21)
great for lunch (17)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (3)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, fantastic service and fa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, fantastic service and fantastic view!

food5
ambience4
service4

Food and wine was amazing, will definite ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food and wine was amazing, will definitely go back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was second to none.

Dined 6 days ago

You can't beat the view of Lake Okanagan at twilight.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing. Everything was perfect ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing. Everything was perfectly prepared. Beautiful spot with great views.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch!

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious lunch! Highly recommend the asparagus soup and the raviolo. Our server was amazing, fast service and good environment!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Victoria Day Long Weekend Visit

Dined 7 days ago

We live in Victoria, and have not visited the Okanagan area for many years. In May 2016 we spent the Victoria Day long weekend in Kelowna and at the recommendation of our daughter, we booked a table at Mission Hill Terrace Restaurant. She had enjoyed her visit in 2006, and ten years later, we were not disappointed! The setting is peaceful, with magnificent views over Lake Okanagan. The staff were helpful and courteous and the menu offered just the right amount of excellent choices. We ordered the Icewine Pate for starters, steak frites and chicken for mains, followed by pot de creme and Naramata blue cheese to finish. We enjoyed the wine pairings with each dish and found them perfect. We were not rushed - indeed, our waiter took time to take our photos as requested, and was very knowledgeable, answering all our questions regarding the menu. We would recommend Mission Hill Terrace Restaurant without hesitation to anyone wanting a unique dining experience. In fact, we have already recommended it to friends who will be visiting the area soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place for a nice dinner.

Dined 7 days ago

Will definitely come back next time I am in town. Great dinning experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Matt Pilkington, our server, was very kn ...

Dined 7 days ago

Matt Pilkington, our server, was very knowledgeable about the food and wine pairing, very professional and made our visit most enjoyable! We look forward to returning the next time we are in BC and were thrilled to be able to dine at this outstanding winery!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

The sun came out briefly on Saturday (21 ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The sun came out briefly on Saturday (21st may 2016) as we sat down at our table overlooking the vineyards. The dining experience is very unique, and it meets the standards of good food, good views and good service. Definitely reccomend stopping here on your visit to the winery/vineyard (if thats why you are here). We definitely came just for the food and walked over to the wine shop. Serves most of the good wines that the wine shop sells.. a good place to try your food pairings before you make a purchase. We got the Terroire Crosswinds Syrah after having it with our meal. Thanks to the chef and staff for a great meal and good service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as usual being up at mission hill never ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

as usual being up at mission hill never disappoints. the lunch was awesome with some amazing staff who were very attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience... Great food ... And ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Awesome experience... Great food ... And amazing service! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and views

Dined on May 20, 2016

The waiter we had was very friendly and knowledgeable. He knew the menu and how the food items were prepared as well as what local ingredients were used. He also told some great stories. The food itself was amazing. I had simple pasta dish but the flavors were anything but simple. The desert was also delicious. The portion sizes were just right. And the view we had was one of a kind! The prices are on the high end but it was worth it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall excellent experience . The menu ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Overall excellent experience . The menu is on the short side and leaning towards lighter fare and portions. The hostess could have been more professional, friendly and sensitive to our comments about being seated at another table with a better view for both of us. The server was excellent. The food was fresh, imaginative, tasteful and well presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous overall experience! I rated t ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

A fabulous overall experience! I rated the noise level as "moderate" due to a family with a toddler sitting beside us. It's not really the best setting for children running around and showing their general discontent. The food, wine, service and view were outstanding. Mission Hill should be proud of what they have accomplished. Looking forward to our next visit this long weekend! Thank you!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely worth the experience, but obv ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Definitely worth the experience, but obviously as it is so expensive, dining there is more of a treat. Food and wine were great and view was even better. The servers were very kind and personable. I would go again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing experience! Beautiful pr ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

What an amazing experience! Beautiful property with great food, wine, and service!

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing Views

Dined on May 9, 2016

Amazing views, with good food. The food is a little bit expensive

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was delicious but it was outside and cold.

Dined on May 9, 2016

I recommend going on a hot day as if it is cold outside, the experience is less enjoyable. Food was very flavourful and not overly priced. Overall the experience was enjoyable but I will revisit the Terrace on a hot day.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great View!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Worth the price for a special occasion to enjoy excellent food with a view. Lots of great options available and able to cater to gluten free/celiac needs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical setting. We arrived at noon to t ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Magical setting. We arrived at noon to the bells chiming in the tower. This was followed by live music in the far pavilion. Service was top notch with friendly attentive service without hovering. The food was local, fresh and superbly prepared. All together a top quality experience to be remembered.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for lunch when it's nice weather

Dined on October 11, 2015

Great food, outstanding wine pairing - hopefully since we are at the Mission Hill winery - lovely service and outstanding scenic view. We were there for the last day of opening Oct 11, great weather.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great servers prov. great service, great menu

Dined on October 11, 2015

awesome appetizers a wicked dinner with fantastic ambiance / outside seating was wonderful the wine list was perfect / food came hot Dinner at the Terrace was a perfect ending to our wine tour and we will be back with friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Notable and memorable

Dined on October 4, 2015

First time at The Terrace since moving to Kelowna in summer 2015. Service and food were fabulous, beyond our expectations, with great ambiance as well. Guests would have liked a martini before dinner, but only slightly disappointed that only wine was available. Look forward to returning again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

The Terrace was excellent!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Had a great dinner over the weekend at The Terrace. Weren't sure if the weather would cooperate, but it was perfect. The staff is knowledgeable and attentive, the food was very good, and the wines at Mission Hill aren't bad, either. It's a little spendy, but worth it for a special occasion, if only for the view!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss this

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Have always loved Mission Hill, and they always amaze me. The food was incredible. This is one restaurant not to be missed. Very romantic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Winery

Dined on October 2, 2015

It's not just a winery, it's story- telling destination combining education, culture and experience together. Really like architectural and interior design. Just wish there's better weather if we visit it again in the future.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

A must see.

Dined on September 30, 2015

Good food + wine = you better go to this place or else , its like once in a lifetime opportunity. Will be back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3

Great setting; very poor dining experience

Dined on September 27, 2015

No doubt the setting is spectacular. And the staff was very nice. Unfortunately the meal itself was mediocre at best. We order the tasting portion of white wine and were served the full portion, with the price that comes with it! My appetizer was simply not good while my wife's soup ( supposedly a bisque ) was blend. We never got the olives we asked for. As for our main dishes, my wife got my medium rare steak while I was served my wife's medium steak. The waiter had no clue they were not the same. Finally, the carrot cake looked nothing like a carrot cake. So all in all, a very poor dining experience, and a costly one to... My sense is Mission Hill management probably doesn't care as the vast majority of guests are tourists and are not expected to return anyways.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect

Dined on September 27, 2015

Everything was perfect, from the scenery to the service. The food was incredible and the wine list and recommendations went perfectly with it all. I will definitely be going back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Business Lunch with a View

Dined on September 26, 2015

I arranged to have a business lunch at the Terrace restaurant with a colleague from Edmonton becasue I knew the views were spectacular to match the food experience. It did not disappoint - the food, the service, the views and ambiance were outstanding. There was an energy of carefree enjoyment on the patio and clear that everyone present was enjoying the whole experience. I have come here on a few occassions in the past and it is always a delight! The staff clearly understand the dishes they are serving with detailed descriptions of each course and the wine pairings spot on! The pear tart for dessert was the ultimate finish!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3

Rushed

Dined on September 21, 2015

Very excited to be in this incredibly beautiful venue. Was early on irritated with the feeling of being rushed. Then when mains arrived we waited for another glass of wine to enjoy with our dinner. Disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing xcellent time at this restaurant

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

The view was beautiful - the food was divine - the pairings spot on. We always end our wine country trip with lunch here and we are happy to declare we will return. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

I like the ambiance and outdoor dining!

Dined on September 14, 2015

It was all very good. I loved the extra little 'dining experience' items,,the nectarine juice with oil as a palate cleanser,,,nice touch. A bit disappointed with my entree. I ordered halibut and although the ham served with it was a nice different approach I would have preferred more halibut. A good all around experience and I would recommend dinner here for someone wanting more than just dinner or lunch. See you again one day!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We will return

Dined on September 13, 2015

We had enjoyed all previous occasions at the Terrace and were looking forward to The Taster's menu was exceptional in every regard. We were introduced to combinations of flavours and textures that we might not otherwise consider. All courses were beautifully presented; the Prawn Sabayon left a definite positive impression. The accompanying wines were well matched and led us to new varieties. As we have an Estate Winery in our neighbourhood we look forward to enjoying the new wines in our home. The service and presentation of each course complemented the high calibre of the dishes served. Descriptions and backgrounds of each course were conveyed with insight that reflected the server's knowledge of and appreciation of the food being served. We enjoyed the service of one primary server assisted on occasion by three colleagues all of whom added to a very pleasant evening. The natural setting is beautiful and needs no description; the overall atmosphere of the Terrace is quiet and peacefully welcoming. We will return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Great view. Odd lunch menu.

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

The view from the terrace is absolutely stunning. That said, the atmosphere was - disappointingly - reminiscent of a high school cafeteria (although, at $26 for a burger, the prices certainly weren't). The luncheon menu itself was also limited and quite peculiar. My companions and I were hard pressed to find something that appealed. For anyone looking for an amazing dining experience at a winery, however, I would have no hesitation recommending Quail's Gate.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

A must try for tourist

Dined on September 12, 2015

Appetizers beef carpaccio, farm greens, and foie gras we ordered were fantastic in terms of taste, presentation and portions. (Sorry little geese) The icewine marinated foie gras was the best to me. The only down side for food was all main courses we tried were a bit salty, we still enjoy each dish's flavours, otherwise I will give a 5-stars. Already told the server and hope they will do adjustment. For the riesling I picked is so expensive when compare to the retail price at the gift shop the winery is selling, but I still love it, so I bought another two bottles later to make myself feel better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience

Dined on September 12, 2015

It was our first time dining at Mission Hill and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. From the first greeting to the end of the evening the service was warm, attentive and personalized. Our waiter was outstanding and added to the enjoyment of the evening. The food was delicious. We did have a situation where our special request to make a dish vegetarian by omitting the bacon was missed by the kitchen, and after eating some of the dish I realized that there was bacon. Our waiter and the other staff handled it exceptionally well and my only concern was that it was stated "the kitchen is certain that no bacon was added". Well, that's just not the case and to say that is saying that I am not being truthful. However, the rest of the staff were incredibly attentive and my husband and I appreciate the service recovery and left as happy customers that look forward to our next return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly and attentive staff who were h ...

Dined on September 11, 2015

Friendly and attentive staff who were happy to make recommendations on both wine and food choices. Welcomed at venue with suggestion of having a complementary glass of wine before dinner whilst taking a stroll around surrounding vineyard

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

Dined on September 10, 2015

The total experience of food and scenery was exceptional. We had our 9 month grandson with us and the staff was excellent with him as well as serving the adults. The food was delicious and the pace of service was perfect, not rushed. We had time to enjoy the food as well as the beautiful scenery. It wad a memorable family time together.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1

Not what it used to be

Dined on September 9, 2015

Very disappointed in the quality and presentation of the food not up to the standard from our past experiences. Staff unaccommadating, seating arrangements could be improved upon. The wine was great.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.