About The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

1730 Mission Hill Rd.
West Kelowna, BC V4T 2E4
View Larger Map

Overlooking rows of Pinot Noir & Chardonnay set against the Okanagan Lake, our outdoor Terrace Restaurant complements our wine’s natural affinities with cuisine that is locally, sustainably, and seasonally sourced. By growing much of our own produce in the estate Varietal Garden and working hand-in-hand with local farmers, we are able to provide a spectacular culinary experience highlighting the bountiful ingredients & world-class wines that characterize this region.
By partnering with local farmers, our menu continuously evolves to incorporate the freshest ingredients. Similar to our philosophy in the vineyards, we have a firm belief in sustainable and bio-dynamic agricultural practices, including local foraging, organic farming, and the Vancouver Aquarium’s OceanWise program. Even our own honeybees help sustain the estate gardens while providing wildflower honey to be used by our culinary team.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, Modern Tuscan, Canadian

Hours of Operation:
June 13th - June 30th
- Lunch 11:30 am to 3:00 pm
- Dinner 5:00 pm to 8:30 pm

July 1st - September 5th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 9:00pm

September 6th - September 25th
- Lunch 11:30am to 3:00pm
- Dinner 5:00pm - 8:30pm

September 26th - October 9th
- 12:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Cross Street:
Ridge Blvd

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 768-6467

Website:
http://missionhillwinery.com/

Entertainment:
Watch our website for upcoming special events at Mission Hill Family Estate.
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Catering:
We combine world-class culinary expertise and service with local, sustainably grown ingredients to provide an unmatched wine-country experience. Driven by the flavour characteristics of the wine, our culinary team uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients to craft dishes around each wine’s natural affinities. Make your next event in the Okanagan truly unforgettable.

Parking Details:
Paved on-site parking includes spaces for handicapped guests and electric-vehicle charging stations. Mission Hill Family Estate is also wheelchair accessible has additional space for larger vehicles.

Public Transit:
Located at intersection of Mission Hill Rd and Boucherie Rd. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors just down the hill from our entrance. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chris Stewart

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
http://www.missionhillwinery.com/ofsignificance.aspx

Restaurant Photos

  • The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery
The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM

The Terrace - Mission Hill Family Estate Winery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Outdoor Dining
Vancouver / British Columbia
17 More
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked
Vancouver / British Columbia
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Great for Lunch
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (227)
great for outdoor dining (200)
special occasion (183)
See All
romantic (170)
notable wine list (152)
fit for foodies (140)
great for lunch (87)
hot spot (26)
neighborhood gem (25)
good for groups (24)
great for brunch (16)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is what fine dining and fabulous vi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is what fine dining and fabulous view is about. Waiter made us feel special and was very familiar with all the wines and certainly the lunch menu. We just loved it and will come back again. The only complaint is that my husband is a bit handy capped and it was difficult for him to get from the entrance way to the restaurant. He used a walker with some difficulty with having to walk that distance, and parking was also a challenge, but I'm sure you have heard that before. We came on a Monday thinking that it might not be as busy as on the weekend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great setting, decent food but service i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great setting, decent food but service is spotty, in my opinion more waitstaff is needed to provide attentive service to patrons

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had the Chef's special multi course c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had the Chef's special multi course creation with wine pairing. The meal, service and view were awesome. Couldn't have picked a better venue to celebrate our 45th anniversary!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Restaurant is an adjunct to the Wine ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Restaurant is an adjunct to the Winery. It occupies a long covered patio that overlooks Okanagan Lake. We had an early dinner reservation and the weather conditions were perfect and view lovely. Service is attentive although a little slow at times.

The menu is not large with 5 or 6 appetizers and the same number of mains. For starters I had a tomato with cheese salad and my dinner partner had the seasonal greens. The seasonal greens were nicely done, as was the tomato salad although the amount of cheese and its light airy nature made it hard to taste and didn’t seem to contribute too much.

My partner had the pasta and wild shrimp selecting the tomato sauce option. It was well prepared and tasty but could have used a few more shrimp. The vegetables in the sauce were cooked al dente. I had the duck breast with fennel. The duck was served rare to medium rare. I haven’t had a lot of duck – the last time was a few years ago in Paris so I would have to say that this duck might be need to be an acquired taste. To my mind it could have been warmer, less chewy, and have a crispier skin. I doubt if I would order it again. The accompanying starch and vegetable were tasty.

The BC Gouda cheese for dessert was served with a bit of quince jam and was fine although it could have use a slightly larger serving board. It was a little difficult cutting a firm cheese on a board about 2 inches wide.

We each had a glass of wine selecting the suggested wine pairing. As this selection was not priced on the menu we were a bit surprised at the premium cost when we got the bill. The wine is served by pouring free hand from the bottle so we were guessing a bit about how much we actually got. Given BC alcohol limits for driving one might want to know with a little more precision how big the pour is (supposedly 5 ounces).

All in all a satisfactory experience but not necessarily a memorable one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful views, terrific service and fr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful views, terrific service and fresh well-preserved lunch. Delicious wine pairing and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top recommendation in west Kelowna.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Top recommendation in west Kelowna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our second time dining here and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time dining here and although the food was very good it was not the phenomenal meal we had last year.

I was surprised at how well the staff handled the families with young children as many fine dining restaurants are lacking in family friendly choices.

As the menu tends to evolve I think this evolution just missed the mark.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A lovely view and a wonderful meal. A gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

A lovely view and a wonderful meal. A great summer outdoor dining experience however it did get a bit windy and cool that night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Matt was very attentive - he surprised a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Matt was very attentive - he surprised and delighted us with his suggestions and wine pairings! The view is by far the best in Kelowna! Thank you for such a lovely evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful surroundings, excellent view, ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful surroundings, excellent view, very good food and service .

Will be back with friends for dinner ( just to show off ) at the end of August.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected the food to be better and to ge ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Expected the food to be better and to get more for the price you pay. We did love the view and the location

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Had the best server and the gal who brou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had the best server and the gal who brought the two choices of water fabulous and informative knowledgeable two much fun with them made my 85 year old mother feel like a princess and made me look like the greatest son Thank you all. Food was great wine was wonderful and the setting rivals anything in the world except the poor archtecture of the homes below. But the great desert made up for the poor taste of homes.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful Diner in a spectacular scenery ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful Diner in a spectacular scenery. Food and Wine belongs to each other, thats what Mission Hill said and celebrates.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the Halibut which was excellent. Co- ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had the Halibut which was excellent. Co-worker had the Lamb which he felt was Ok at best. Deserts are really lacking. Tried the chocolate cake, which I would not recommend as serving it that thin results in a dry tasteless desert, which then had to be supplemented by the toppings that come on it. Maybe other deserts are better.

Beautiful location, great view and ambiance, and my compliments to your wonderful serving staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experie ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience at The Terrace, although I wish we would have viewed the menu before we came as the cuisine was not our taste and we had a hard time appreciating the food. One recommendation for an event that left a somewhat sour taste in our mouths is that we ordered what I thought was one appetizer for myself but ended up being an appetizer for each, which we didn't need, nor want to pay for. Our server did not mention this to us at the time of ordering and when I questioned her on it when the bill came, she explained it then but didn't deduct the price from our bill.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

DON NOT GO THERE. according our experie ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

DON NOT GO THERE. according our experience, don't order special order. Wine is three time more expensive than the store located 30 second away, make u feel that u get rip off. Time take toooooo long, maybe just because the food taste so bad, they have to make you very starving to eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Service absolutely impeccable , Mr. Ian ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Service absolutely impeccable , Mr. Ian Young our server was the best I have experienced in years , food even though well presented was barely warm,total lack of seasoning,very small portion.

Outstanding scenic terrace and great service will not make up for the poor main reason in dinning establishment ,the food.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

This place is lovely! The quality of fo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This place is lovely! The quality of food was excellent !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food, great service, unbelieva ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic food, great service, unbelievable view. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It truly was an amazing experience and n ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It truly was an amazing experience and night of fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good experience, Great View, Great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very Good experience, Great View, Great Food, Very good wine ! and very good wine / meat recommendation

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Superb dinning at its finest. Service wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Superb dinning at its finest. Service was great and each plate was very meticulously prepared and presented. Tasted wonderful!

Very extensive wine menu being an estate winery. Fantastic views over looking wine vineyards, rolling hills and the Okanagen Lake. Will definitely be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful scenery and outstanding food. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Beautiful scenery and outstanding food. One of the best dining experiences I've ever had.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very impressed with the high sta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were very impressed with the high standard of service; Friendliness, Food and Wine knowledge. Food was fantastic! Special kudos to Shannon (waitress) and Samantha (helped with wine selection) for their outstanding service. They made the dining experience a real pleasure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and ambience was impeccable! St ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and ambience was impeccable! Staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and very accommodating. However, we waited nearly 70minutes for our mains to arrive. We had come in at exactly 12noon and did not get to eat until half past 1. The staff said there was a big backlog of orders and there was a large group that came in before us. They were very apologetic. We enjoyed our wine flight and starters but in the end, we pretty much inhaled our food to catch a 2pm wine tour which we had booked in advance. We would have loved to enjoy eating our food slowly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went later for a romantic setting howeve ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Went later for a romantic setting however we were seated right under the heater which caused our faces to heat up.

Food was over priced and came lukewarm to the table. They offered us 1 lousy piece of baguette with stone cold butter as an appetizer. Waiter poured us a pathetic and small glass of wine, maybe 3oz...said 5oz on menu but seemed like a lot less.. for around 15 dollars..a rip off, appetizer was very small and a few bites, dinner portion ridiculously small and nothing spectacular, for around $18 an appetizer each(cut up cucumber with some.goat cheese) and limp pasta noodles with a handful of shrimp with marinara sauce for $ 38 dollars each i found this place a rip off, basically u are paying to eat on the terrace...thats it.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We went here for a dinner on our mini ho ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went here for a dinner on our mini honeymoon and I couldn't of asked for a better night. Amazing food, wonderful staff and can't complain about that view ! Overall amazing night out !!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic scenery and great service. The ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fantastic scenery and great service. The food was OK but overpriced, you are paying for the experience. Would highly recommend this for a special occasion.

It's important to pick a time where the weather is cooperative since the restaurant is open to the outdoors.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Appy - I ordered the pate (with foie gra ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Appy - I ordered the pate (with foie gras) - was really disappointed when I received it. First it was not a pate - but a terrine. Not a spreadable texture. But a solid lump - that almost needed to be sliced. Although it was tasty - it was simply not what was described on the menu. The foie gras - was 2 tiny plugs - that looked like they had been inserted with a syringe. I just wish that the menu description had been more accurate. - Simply put - if its a terrine - say its a terrine. The accompanied ice wine made up for the food. My main was superbly cooked trout. It was delicious and beautifully presented. The wine too was delightful. The service was great and though I am not sure my gently- put feedback about the appy was ever related to the kitchen - hence the review. Im happy to pay for a spectacular meal - however overall I dont think this reached that point - pity. Recommend not going on a day with a possibilty of rain - they close the screens - and there is no view

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great restaurant and amazing views. Wou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great restaurant and amazing views. Would definitely come here again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and great meal. Rally ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent service and great meal. Rally enjoyed the scallops and the suggested wine paring. Interesting and flavourful desert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Dinning here was amazing. My only compla ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Dinning here was amazing. My only complaint is we went there later in the evening for a date night. The crying baby next to us killed anything romantic . It's great they have a kid friendly place but something that high end needs maybe a time for just adults. We would go back for a drink but our $250 bill did not match what should have ben an amazing date night

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This has probably been my third time eat ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This has probably been my third time eating at your restaurant and I have never been disappointed. I always enjoy stopping in when I'm in Kelowna on vacation. Our waitress Beckky was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional, as was the Vio ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food was exceptional, as was the Viognier. Enjoyed it very much. The desserts were not as interesting, but still very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view and ambiance and food are wonde ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The view and ambiance and food are wonderful but sadly, the evening that we were there, there were several children and babies which affected the evening - not ruined but affected.......

Our server was friendly and knowledgeable but we seldom saw her. Joshua, her assistant or bus was present and did his job well. We waited almost half an hour for our wine and it took a long time to get our bill.

Doubt I would go again as there are better places - great for the view and scenery though !

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We are repeat diners at The Terrace. The ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We are repeat diners at The Terrace. The view and setting are amazing. The staff is very knowledgeable and very friendly. Food and wine are exceptional. The Terrace is worth experiencing every time you are in Kelowna.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a really delicious beet salad here b ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had a really delicious beet salad here but the steak was just alright and rather pricey. I wasn't a big fan of the paired wine either and it didn't seem to be an awesome pairing. The service was so-so but I think it's just because the one main server we had was looking after too many people and couldn't pay us much attention. The other staff were quite attentive. It's a beautiful location but I don't know that I would go back to eat there.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

Tasty food, nice view, and great service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Tasty food, nice view, and great service! This Terrance has become my favourite restaurant in the area. We will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food in a beautiful setting. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful food in a beautiful setting. We loved everything we ordered and the service was very good. We had the foie gras, beet salad, duck and scallops. Highly recommended for people who love great food!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were so happy that we took the time t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were so happy that we took the time to go to this winery for lunch. The service was amazing our waiter was so knowledgeable about all the wine and wine parings - the food was outstanding and so fresh as they grow most of the items on site. Views were spectacular we will definitely go back next time we are in Kelowna.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.