About The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn

27 South Summer Street
Edgartown, MA 02539
View Larger Map

Some of New England’s most acclaimed cuisine is found at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. Classic American cuisine showcases many ingredients from Martha’s Vineyard’s own farms and seas, and its bounty of local gardens. Sumptuous meals are presented amidst stunning surroundings. Whether it is by flickering candlelight in the glass-paned conservatory dining room, or beneath the stars on a terrace enclosed by ivy-covered lattice, there is no more romantic or elegant setting in which to enjoy an evening. The Terrace serves dinner to the public nightly in season; this setting is most appropriate for adults and children over the age of 14 as to ensure a quiet, romantic setting for our guests. Having run the Relais & Chateaux hotel for over 40 years, The Charlotte Inn is delighted to now own and operate The Terrace. Executive Chef Justin Melnick has quickly established a dedicated following of regular guests, and is a must-try restaurant for anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday offseason, Nightly in-season 5:30 - 9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 627-6227

Website:
http://www.theterracemv.com/

Entertainment:
Visit MVOL.com for our holiday menus!
http://www.mvol.com/directory/restaurants/?searchby=town&id=3

Parking Details:
Parking available on public streets and in municipal lot diagonally across street. We gladly assist handicapped patrons with a side path entrance and private parking - please notify us in advance if possible in such circumstances.

Public Transit:
MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown

Executive Chef:
Justin Melnick

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (9)
special occasion (8)
notable wine list (6)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
fit for foodies (4)
good for groups (2)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a restaurant for those occasions ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a restaurant for those occasions when you want to let the person you are with know that he or she is very special to you. Be sure to start with a quiet drink in the study next to the fireplace, where the mood will be set for the rest of the evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a pleasure eating at The Terrace

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

the special appetizer of the trio, bleu cheese, salmon spread, etc. was excellent. my salmon entree and my husband's lobster duo were also excellent. he enjoyed his dessert and we were both very pleased. our cocktails and wine were also great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous setting with the best food on t ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Gorgeous setting with the best food on the island. What more can be said.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Justin and his staff make dining memorable!

Dined on April 27, 2016

As you walk down S. Summer St. in Edgartown MV and enter the Charlotte Inn, your dining experience begins with a showcase of English country elegance. Chef Justin and his staff have all the ingredients to present a memorable dining experience and they put it together with a unique combination of sophistication and spontaneity. My guests and I had the opportunity to partake in a "Tasting Menu" where Chef Justin chats with us table-side, going over our "likes, dislikes" and plans a seven-course culinary performance. This description sounds very formal and staged..., the meal, however, was a gracious combination of elegance and fun! Chef Justin, you hit a "Grand Slam" -- if our dining experience was an indication of the wonderful menu you prepare every day, we wholly recommend The Terrace as a special restaurant experience. Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful ambience . The lamb was excell ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful ambience . The lamb was excellent. The vegetable risotto was very good. The chef Hors d'oeuvres were interesting but did not pair well. The lobster duo was good not excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Dining Experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and fantastic food. The chef is extremely talented and i can't wait to visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely, lovely, lovely!

Dined on December 12, 2015

We've lived on the Vineyard for over 40 tears and nothing else on the island even comes close to this dining experience. Expensive but worth every penny. Dress up and take someone you love to this beautiful inn, and be prepared to be pampered from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2

Won't disappoint

Dined on November 27, 2015

One of the loveliest restaurants you'll ever visit. The food is excellent, though the service can be insipid and almost obnoxious. Too bad, as it is otherwise nothing short of perfection!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely superb dining!

Dined on November 26, 2015

We loved our Thanksgiving feast at The Charlotte Inn. Food was amazing, decor unprecedented, service impeccable. Can't say enough; just go if you are in Edgartown!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, Delicious, Delovely

Dined on November 26, 2015

Once upon a time two active retirees, whose children were planning their own individual Thanksgiving celebrations, went to Martha's Vineyard to chill out and enjoy the holiday weekend. Their accommodations were amazing, the weather was beautiful, and the sightseeing was only as the Vineyard can deliver. Each moment there held the anticipation of a Thanksgiving dinner to be remembered. The Terrace did not disappoint. From the first greeting it became apparent that this would be a first class experience. Entering the dining area was like stepping into a magical scene from 20th Century Fox. A huge vase of white roses greeted us, and our table was impeccably dressed with the finest linens and tableware that one could imagine. Many plants, hanging and otherwise, added to the magic. The first course of butternut squash soup was to die for. The next, a spinach salad with roquefort, apples and walnuts was a real winner. The tender turkey plate, accompanied by a delicious puree of cranberry, was just over the top with baby Brussels sprouts, divine mashed and sweet potatoes and a beautifully flavored stuffing. Dessert was so tantalizing that, as full as we were, we could not turn down. We cannot speak enough about the quality of service. Our waiter did not hover, but knew exactly when we needed attention. Bravo! We have traveled all over the world and this was one of the finest dining experiences ever. Price is not for the faint of heart, but so worth it. Thank you, Terrace. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Splendid restaurant

Dined on November 22, 2015

A perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Great ambiance, impeccable service from Josh, And food that was superb from appetizer to entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect place for an elegant dinner wi ...

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

A perfect place for an elegant dinner with a friendly attentive staff and some of the most delicious food on the island. Quickly became one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

An anniversary celebration

Dined on October 3, 2015

One of our favorites on Martha's Vineyard, The Terrace once again helped us celebrate a significant event. We were disappointed that we couldn't start the evening with a drink in the library because it was already occupied, but we were reasonably accommodated in the sitting room. The food was good, service great, and ambience enTerrace is our "go to" spot for special occasions and it did not disappoint for this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely outstanding beautiful dinning ...

Dined on September 21, 2015

Absolutely outstanding beautiful dinning room friendly-helpful servers /waiters And, most importantly the food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Totally romantic and enjoyable

Dined on September 19, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our fifth anniversary dinner at the Terrace. Aside from the inherent romance in the occasion, every aspect of our experience was excellent. Great and innovative dishes, an excellent waiter and waitstaff, and ambiance that was above and beyond.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Evening!

Dined on September 15, 2015

No complaints whatsoever... Food beautiful and tasty. Price point good - no more expensive than places not nearly on their level.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious

Dined on September 14, 2015

The service and food were outstanding. Excellent wine list. Beautiful dining room. We had the smoked salmon pate, cheese and steak tartare for an appetizer. My husband had the grilled swordfish and I had the house made gnocchi. They both were outstanding. The is the best restaurant on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quaint!

Dined on September 13, 2015

Love the ambiance of this restaurant. Very quaint and beautiful....food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

The Terrace is worth the trip

Dined on September 12, 2015

The location at the Charlotte Inn is really cool. The building is ancient and the place feels haunted in a good way. The best food we had in the Vineyard inc Le Etoille. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Evening at The Terrace

Dined on September 11, 2015

I booked our reservation at The Terrace as part of my wife's birthday trip to the Vineyard. The restaurant was incredible - filled with curiosities and amazing art work. An our meal was excellent. I had the swordfish; my wife, the crab and mascarpone ravioli. Pretty much a perfect evening. A restaurant of this caliber is a splurge for us, but I was pleasantly surprised when the check came....an experience well worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a winner

vip
Dined on September 11, 2015

From drinks in the green room, to dinner in the beautiful solarium... Everything is wonderful and truly a great evening experience. Ambiance, service, and food are exceptional. One of the best fine dining evenings on the Vineyard.. Don't miss it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on September 7, 2015

Went for a birthday, 6 of us and the service and food are terrific. Everyone enjoyed their appetizers and entree's . Rack of Lamb, filet of beef, signature pasta were all expertly prepared. We have been to a number of restaurants on the Vineyard, this is hands down the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding on every level

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

My first 5 stars across the board review. Not sure what to say about each category other than each was fabulous

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect

Dined on September 3, 2015

Lovely setting, atmosphere, service and food. The waiter, Josh, was well-informed and helpful. Highly recommended for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful celebration with great friends!

Dined on August 30, 2015

Thank you to my husband and our dear friends for a lovely birthday celebration at the Charlotte Inn. Excellent wine list:)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Enchanting evening out

Dined on August 29, 2015

The Inn and restaurant is historic and charming, as well as interesting to tour. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. It seems to draw an older crowd and is a bit on the conservative side, however the experience overall was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Special place

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Great find in Edgartown. At first I was worried because they mentioned men wearing jackets on their website and I thought it would be stuffy. I was wrong. Everyone working there was friendly and welcoming. Both the garden and indoor seating are charming and inviting and the food and service were wonderful. Both my husband and I had the halibut and it was fantastic. For appetizers we had the beet salad and a trumpet mushroom salad - both excellent. This is a wonderful restaurant. When I made the reservation they asked if it was a special occasion. It was, in fact, our anniversary. As an extra nice touch, we were presented with proseco when we arrived. I think this is one of the better restaurants in Edgartown and highly recommend. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe. Williamsville ny

Dined on August 22, 2015

One of the most beatiful restaurants we have gone to. Definitely 5 star plus

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

Eh

Dined on August 19, 2015

There is a stuffiness we did not enjoy;waiter was terrible; food was OK. Beet soup was terrific.

food5
ambience5
service5

First five star after 6 years on OpenTable

vip
Dined on August 19, 2015

Thoughtful and anticipatory service starts with reservation confirmation, before entering building and continued through the meal. Tasteful decor, flavorful menu selections pleased the palates of our four diners although we had different dishes. Notable items included the beet salad, crab ravioli, and an exquisitely prepared opa fish from Hawaii, a must have if it's on the menu. Highest of compliments to the CIA trained chef and the entire team for providing us with a wonderfully memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Among the best dining experiances we've ever had!

Dined on August 14, 2015

It was our last night on Martha's Vineyard, and we wanted something special. The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn surpassed all of our expectations. The inn itself is beautiful both inside and out. Our server Sean was outstanding. And then there's dinner. All I can say is "Wow", the food was amazing. My grilled swordfish was the best that I'd ever had. My wife enjoyed one of the specials, a locally caught sea bass that was prepared to absolute perfection. If you are looking for a special night out in Edgartown, I would start right here at the Terrace.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on August 13, 2015

Everything was amazing about this restaurant. The service was great. It was one of the best meals I have had in a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal, beautifully presented

vip
Dined on August 13, 2015

The service was exceptional to begin with. Classic cocktails served in vintage glasses. Chef very talented at pairing foods. Waiter was amazing. He knew that I was allergic to dairy and prepared a special dessert. Can't wait to return someday.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place with terrible food

Dined on August 4, 2015

Restaurant is very nice, beautiful, service is great, plates with food look good but taste terrible. Drinks were not even close to the taste we expect, then food tasted bad. If you want nice cozy romantic time-go, if you want good tasty food- dont.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful special occassion dining experience!

Dined on August 2, 2015

Reservation confirmed and great communication and follow-through on all details to make the special occasion/Birthday early dinner perfect. We had noted that we had an early ferry departure time and the pace of the meal was adjusted to accommodate without any problems. Delighted by the delicious food start to finish. I would most certainly return to dine again - and in particular, enjoyed both of the seafood dishes we selected along with the spinach salad and other items selected. We chose to dine inside the Terrace area v. the patio area. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dining experience

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

This was an incredible meal for my family. The cuisine was all perfectly cooked and the service was flawless. The homemade tagliatelle with bolognese sauce was extraordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Beautiful hotel grounds ,amazing ambiance

Dined on July 31, 2015

We chose the Terrace at the Charlotte Inn for dinner based upon wonderful reviews we read. Most said the ambiance was incredible(which it was)and the service was wxcellent (it was very good) and the food was superb (it was not superb). The chicken was excellent. The sampler hors doeuvres platter was small bit excellent. The ceviche toast was my favorite. The other guests in my party thought their food was good but nothing special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal with exceptional service

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

Wonderful meal with exceptional service. The setting is beautiful and my waiter even called me the next morning to ask if I had left my camera which had fallen on the floor. I would highly recommend this restaurant which is as good now as it was 24 years ago when I first visited .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best on Island

vip
Dined on July 3, 2015

-best restaurant on Island by far Great lamb, bolonese, gravlox, onion soup

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner delight

Dined on July 3, 2015

My husband and I went to the Charlotte Inn for date night while vacationing. I've walked past the Inn many times not realizing it had a restaurant in it, as we stay in a house. It was a fine dining experience among beautiful paintings and old world architecture. Not beachy or hip, but a dining delight. Pricing about the same as Chesca's, perhaps more, my glass of Pinot Noir was $19. Service was a bonus as we were told the history of the Inn by the attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.