Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn

Some of New England’s most acclaimed cuisine is found at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. Classic American cuisine showcases many ingredients from Martha’s Vineyard’s own farms and seas, and its bounty of local gardens. Sumptuous meals are presented amidst stunning surroundings. Whether it is by flickering candlelight in the glass-paned conservatory dining room, or beneath the stars on a terrace enclosed by ivy-covered lattice, there is no more romantic or elegant setting in which to enjoy an evening. The Terrace serves dinner to the public nightly in season; this setting is most appropriate for adults and children over the age of 14 as to ensure a quiet, romantic setting for our guests. Having run the Relais & Chateaux hotel for over 40 years, The Charlotte Inn is delighted to now own and operate The Terrace. Executive Chef Justin Melnick has quickly established a dedicated following of regular guests, and is a must-try restaurant for anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard.

27 South Summer Street
Edgartown, MA 02539
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday off season, Nightly in-season 5:30 pm

If you do not see a time you would desire, please contact us directly as our online reservations are limited. Thank you.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 627-6227

Website:
http://www.theterracemv.com/

Entertainment:
Visit MVOL.com for our holiday menus!
http://www.mvol.com/directory/restaurants/?searchby=town&id=3

Catering:
Private luncheons available in our dining room upon request.

Parking Details:
Parking available on public streets and in municipal lot diagonally across street. We gladly assist handicapped patrons with a side path entrance and private parking - please notify us in advance if possible in such circumstances.

Public Transit:
MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown

Executive Chef:
Justin Melnick

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

If you at Martha's Viveyard, you need to come here if a dining experiance is what you are lookin for. My wife and I have dined at some very good places in Europe and the US. The Terrace is in our top five. It was flawless.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went here to celebrate at birthday. The atmosphere was great, nice cozy place. We were given the choice and chose to be seated out on the patio...again very nice but we we sitting on patio furniture which collapsed under a person at the next table. A very nice place but be sure to check the menu as it is limited. Price was not an issue for us but the portions were on the small side. Though the staff was kind an courteous, the wait between courses was rather long...at least for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Four of us had an excellent dinner at The Terrace recently. The dining room was full when we were seated at a corner table at 8 p m on a Tuesday night.
We ordered a round of cocktails and were allowed to enjoy them without being asked if we were ready to order, a nice change.
I ordered the wild salmon tartare to start and the scallops, which were the special. Both were delicious. The wine list is also very good. It was an excellent evening in a lovely setting. We'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2017

It was very nice but thought the prices were a bit
High.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great, great, great, great, what more can I say?! The service is impeccable, my mouth is watering right now just thinking about the food, the place is immaculate, a class operation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service! Great Food! Just a great Place! With the Price!

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Elegant dining room. Impeccably trained staff. Great food. We go there every summer for 20 years.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 30, 2017

What a fabulous restaurant for a special dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We celebrate our anniversary every year here. The ambiance is wonderful and it feels very special. I was slightly disappointed with my beet salad which was over dressed and not particularly flavorful. The lamb did not disappoint and the dessert was excellent. Overall it was a lovely meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our first time visiting this lovely spot. Ambiance was nice but we were surprised to find children in the dining room as the website said no one under the age of 14. We were not happy with the lobster dish and sent it back - twice - but the rest of the meal was very good. Service could have been a bit more attentive. Had to ask for a menu, ask for bread, ask for the wine to be poured and ask for the check and waited several minutes for all of this to be done. We were also surprised that there were tables open as they were not available to book online and yet many were empty the entire time of our visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Good ambiance, overrated in all other respects. Look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Special place in a beautiful quaint inn. Food was delicious. We will absolutely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The Terrace is one of our favorite restaurants on and off island. Unfortunately Tuesday night was such a disappointment. We have come to the Charlotte Inn for over 30 years and never been disappointed till this week. Waitress was overwhelmed with too many tables, my lamb was extremely fatty with only four decent bites. They were indifferent to my feedback. We were truly sad walking out from one of our special places to dine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Ambience was outstanding. Service was excellent.
Food was very good, however a bit to salty.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've ever been too !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Definitely a special
Occasion treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always lovely, delicious and grown up. Food and service are excellent. The setting is beautiful and soothing. Local fish, meat and veges. Good wine list. European ambiance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I wasn't told that there was a dress code so my husband had to wear a smelly dinner jacket over his business casual clothing. The food was very good and the table was in a pretty spot. Our waitress was good but the girl pouring water needs to work on manners as she said "what?" when asked for another bottle of sparkling water. A bit too stuffy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The restaurant itself was beautiful, an old house beautifully decorated with antiques, artwork and plants. The waiter was attentive as well as his supporting staff. The spinach salad was excellent, the steak was delicious, but the onion soup was watery and had no cheese or bread in it. It was awful!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

excellent food and service in town location the best restaurant we found in town

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience and were treated absolutely marvelously by our server Jeremy! We plan on coming back again next year same time, same place! Thank you for a wonderful treat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Elegant atmosphere with outstanding food and service to match
Bolognese was the best I've had
Swordfish was moist and exceptionally seasoned
Will look forward to return with each visit to Edgartown

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

It has been a while since we had dinner at a class restaurant in every sense, and very much from a European point of view. This restaurant knows that having dinner here is an occasion and not a quick meal. Food and drinks were paced the way it should be, slow enough to allow conversation and catching up between us, but expedient enough that you did not feel it was too slow.
It was a breath of fresh air to find a restaurant where they know how to handle food and drinks and how to serve it, i.e. how to apporach us from the right hand side when serving and not to serve the main course while you are still eating the starter. Additionally, the service knows how to handle wine, rather than strutting with arms swinging while having a great wine in hand, allowing the sediment to be shaken into the rest of the wine. No here they know how to do it right.
Restaurants like PapaRazzi, Not Your Average Joe's and alike, take notice. Their staff seems untrained compared to this restaurant.
We will definitely spread the word and be back on our next Vineyard vacation!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fabulous service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our experience at the Terrace was wonderful. The food and wine were sumptuous. Our waiter was really helpful when explaining the menu and offering wine suggestions that would pair well with our meal.

We also liked that the restaurant specified a nicer dress code as it created a more refined atmosphere which made the evening even more special.

I would recommend The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn to anyone looking to have a creative and delicious meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Celebrated a birthday - it was fabulous - Jeremy was our server and he was amazing - so informative and friendly - made the evening so special. Food was out of this world - pricey but great for a special occasion. The brownie served with the happy Birthday decoration was so sweet!!
The one "issue" is parking - we came from chilmark and it took a long time to find parking and we ended up more than 1/2 mile walk back - it would discourage me from coming again in season.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We loved everything about The Terrace! The atmosphere was intimate and romantic- perfect for our 40th anniversary! The food was simply amazing- with every bite, it was like it just melted in your mouth! The service was the absolute best that I think I have ever had in my 40 years of marriage! I would give The Terrace more stars if I could. We very much hope to come back to the island and if we do, I know the first place we are making reservations for!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Fabulous, my go to restaurant in MV for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A feast for the eyes as wel as the palate. Extraordinary ambiance, menu, chef sensitivity to a food allergy and service. Truly a unique dining experience. Reservations are a must and we were so glad we made ours!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This is second year we have eaten here and it was superb. The decor is fabulous , service and food were super, definitely would come again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was excellent service equaled food
Server well versed in wine as well as food being offered at restaurant
Everything was 5 star

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lovely place, good food and excellent service. We had a wonderful unhurried dinner. My only criticism is that we did not know that there is a dress code for men: dress shirts required. The staff provided suit coats from a collection but we would have dressed differently if we had known. The three men in the party were wearing golf shirts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Justin is a great talent and a big part of the consistent high performance of the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful visiting French chef this summer. The nicest restaurant we have visited on the island.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Terrace is a wonderful restaurant. The cuisine, atmosphere and service are consistently outstanding. It's a spectacular special occasion restaurant.
The chef supports local sourcing so the food is really fresh. I had the swordfish and my husband had the chicken and both were delicious.
I would highly recommend the Terrace.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Surprising disappointment. Relais & Chateux thus expected all to be high end but instead found a very pretentious restaurant with mediocre food and extremely weak wine list (nothing older than 2012?). The tip off should have been there was advertising on the menu; great to see the local fisheries, bakeries and farms, but... BMW? Vive Clicquot? outdoor garden lovely looking until the 8:15 sunset and the mosquitos arrived. Most disappointing part was being told the chef's special was fresh tuna from... wait for it...Hawaii. ?!? yes it was flown in overnight so probably was fresh, but MVY has some of the best fresh tuna and swordfish in the world. Don't waste your time with so many other far better food and atmosphere restaurants on the island (from casual Port Hunter, to fancy LeToile, to perfect up-Island State Road)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My husband and I recently celebrated our 35 Wedding Anniversary at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. It is a high quality, old school service where they call you by name. Highly personalized service like dining at our country club. Delicious meal and such a romantic atmosphere with antiques and beautiful oil paintings all around the resturant and Inn! Delightful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food and service was absolutely fabulous!! Don't even think twice about dining here - if you are vacation at Martha's Vineyard - this will be a memorable experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The Terrace Restaurant is a magical place. The menu, wine list, service and elegant dining room are outstanding. Chef Justin Melnick has made The Terrace the one place on Martha's Vineyard that is a must visit for dinner. The staff is outstanding and well versed on the menu and wine list. James who is one of the servers is outstanding. My wife and I travel a lot and dine at many top restaurants. The Terrace is at the top of our list!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.