About The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn

27 South Summer Street
Edgartown, MA 02539
View Larger Map

Some of New England’s most acclaimed cuisine is found at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. Classic American cuisine showcases many ingredients from Martha’s Vineyard’s own farms and seas, and its bounty of local gardens. Sumptuous meals are presented amidst stunning surroundings. Whether it is by flickering candlelight in the glass-paned conservatory dining room, or beneath the stars on a terrace enclosed by ivy-covered lattice, there is no more romantic or elegant setting in which to enjoy an evening. The Terrace serves dinner to the public nightly in season; this setting is most appropriate for adults and children over the age of 14 as to ensure a quiet, romantic setting for our guests. Having run the Relais & Chateaux hotel for over 40 years, The Charlotte Inn is delighted to now own and operate The Terrace. Executive Chef Justin Melnick has quickly established a dedicated following of regular guests, and is a must-try restaurant for anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday off season, Nightly in-season 5:30 pm

If you do not see a time you would desire, please contact us directly as our online reservations are limited. Thank you.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 627-6227

Website:
http://www.theterracemv.com/

Entertainment:
Visit MVOL.com for our holiday menus!
http://www.mvol.com/directory/restaurants/?searchby=town&id=3

Catering:
Private luncheons available in our dining room upon request.

Parking Details:
Parking available on public streets and in municipal lot diagonally across street. We gladly assist handicapped patrons with a side path entrance and private parking - please notify us in advance if possible in such circumstances.

Public Transit:
MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown

Executive Chef:
Justin Melnick

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Ambiance
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Value
Cape Cod and the Islands
2 More
Special Occasion
Cape Cod and the Islands
American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Edgartown ›

Romantic (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Extraordinary describes this experience. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Extraordinary describes this experience. We felt like we were stepping back in time with the decor and pace of dinner. Truly a delight and must do if you are visiting Edgartown.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Bes ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Best filet ever, can't even comprehend how they did that. The swordfish was amazing, the bolognese fantastic. Excellent service as well. The only minor drawback was that we showed up in what I would call "island dressy casual" -- linen pants, (untucked) linen shirts, nice sandals -- and were told that it was semi-formal and that we would need to tuck our shirts in. Upon sitting down at our table, we saw many men with untucked shirts and we were clearly the nicest dressed men in the room. As nice as the property is, making us tuck in our shirts before entering the dining room was unnecessary. And, it exposed the fact that my buddy apparently doesn't bother to zip up his fly on vacation! Anyway, suck it up, tuck it in and enjoy the amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We celebrated our daughter's birthday in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's birthday in the outdoor garden. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great meal in a fantastic at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always a great meal in a fantastic atmosphere!! Will definitely return!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful "special event" restaurant. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Beautiful "special event" restaurant. We had only 1 of our 3 daughters that night so it was perfect. Service, decor, and food excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant restaurant in antique atmos ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very elegant restaurant in antique atmosphere . Old hotel with antique books and paintings. Beautiful table decor. Semiformal dress code. Man should wear shirt or Jacket. Food is excellent .Very friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This our favorite place of all the US an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This our favorite place of all the US and foreign travel we do . we come to the Vineyard a few times a year and always celebrate family here. Outstanding in every way an you will never stay anyplace that comes close to this.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a very wonderful and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were celebrating a very wonderful and momentous anniversary, and I did not want to be disappointed in our dining experience. On the contrary, we had the loveliest time at The Terrace. Everything was perfect. The space is gorgeous and special. The food was delicious and presented beautifully, and the service was exemplary. Not only would I recommend the restaurant to anyone who was celebrating a special occasion, I would return happily for no reason at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We liked the Terrace so much that we cam ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We liked the Terrace so much that we came back on our last night of our vacation. The food is exquisite and the service truly excellent. Sebastian was the perfect waiter: attentive, knowledgeable, very professional and there when we needed him without being intrusive. We will definitely be back and make this part of our Marthas Vineyard vacation plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess set the tone for the entire ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The hostess set the tone for the entire evening and did not have a good attitude. It was very hot outside so we asked not to sit on the patio. They had plenty of open tables in the main dining room that could seat the size of our party. Instead she tried to seat us away in a dark, stuffy side room. It was a special occasion and we noted the empty tables in the main dining room to the hostess. She left us sitting in the side room for several awkward minutes and begrudgingly lead us to what she said was the only available table by the service station which was cramped and busy with wait staff. The other nicer tables remained open and available for our entire meal. The waiter tried to make up for it and had a pleasant, professional attitude. Unfortunately, the food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

wonderful ambiance for a special occasio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

wonderful ambiance for a special occasion or dining and want stellar service. My only complaint is that the portions are just minuscule. Price are what you would expect at fine dining but the portions are noticeably smaller. The appetizer salad was the smallest that I

have seen on the island in any restaurant or club we attend. Food was good but not out of the

park. The setting in out of the park...elegant and great wine and dessert was very good...again,

small but exactly what you want for finishing off your dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good. Staff seemed to be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good.

Staff seemed to be mostly young East European women. Very quiet and hovering.

Two of the male waiters were not quiet. A bit too effusive.

Rooms are beautiful and our food choices were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything about the dinner was exceptio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything about the dinner was exceptional. From the personal greeting at the door, the impeccable service and totally delightful and well appointed interior of the Charlotte Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food at the terrace at the charlotte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

the food at the terrace at the charlotte inn is always good. our waiter, a young man from ridgewood, nj is always wonderful, we had him in may and in july. i enjoyed the ahi tuna sashimi and the cheese with the olives, did not care for the duck breast but do like goose liver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food insulted the beautiful china it ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food insulted the beautiful china it was served on: really disappointing considering the price of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Charlotte inn was amazing. Definitely if ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Charlotte inn was amazing. Definitely if in edgartown don't miss it. Formal dining but not stuffy! Great evening , highly recommend the lamb and chicken.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening at the Charlotte ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a lovely evening at the Charlotte Inn. Excellent wine, food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this visit was special ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about this visit was special from the second we were greeted at the door. There was an elegance without snobbery. You will truly feel like you are the most important guest. Despite being on Martha's Vineyard you be transported by the Southern feel, charm and hospitality. It's almost as if this place couldn't and shouldn't exist in this location but so glad it does.

Each course of food is truly amazing from the portion size, perfect preparedness and taste.

It is a great value as well- while not cheap, in comparison to the many overpriced options in the area, you will feel it's a dollar well spent.

Gentlemen- wear a jacket (no tie) and you'll fit right in though you will not be treated less if you are neat without one. Without rambunctious little kids, the setting is great for a quiet conversation or that perfect romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to this lovely, e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to this lovely, expensive restaurant. We were disappointed with the attitude of the hostess, who wanted to seat us in an almost empty restaurant, at a table with a large party with kids clearly under the age of 14. ( The restaurant discourages kids under 14 ) and by the waiter station, in a cramped table. I had requested a certain table, however, she said it was reserved and since it was set up for 4 she could not rearrange for our party of 3!! We were quite willing to leave and she was okay, and a very astute waiter saved the evening by asking the hostess to seat us at a table that was fine and lovely.

The waitress was lovely, the meal delicious, however, the server missed telling me that the soup bowl was scalding halt; thus when my wrist, inadvertently touched it, it scalded my now I have a scar, which I hope will fade in time. I was offered an apology for failing to mention that the dish is very, very, very hot!!

In spite of all this and the failing of a very incompetent hostess, we will go back and also recommend that this restaurant be on a list to go.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very nice but portions a bit sm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was very nice but portions a bit small. Outdoor ambiance was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific meal, p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific meal, perfectly paced, with several unexpected touches. From the welcoming sparkling Rose to the complimentary cookies, it was an exceptional dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dinner on the Terrace to celeb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful dinner on the Terrace to celebrate our anniversary and a new job, could not be any more perfect and delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef goes out of his way to please h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The chef goes out of his way to please his diners. The food is always perfectly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very elegant place to dine. Perhaps be ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A very elegant place to dine. Perhaps best on the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely, charming, very romantic - not on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely, charming, very romantic - not only is the food, service and ambiance wonderful, but it's a perfect place to stay. Reserve a table, dress up, find your favorite person, and enjoy the best dining experience on the Vineyard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for the over 65 set, but not everyone else

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Set on the back indoor covered terrace at the museum of Charlotte Inn is the extremely cluttered and very dated dining space. It feels like you have stepped back in time and landed at that crazy packrat great great aunt's home and every thing is exactly as she left it thirty years ago. The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and very helpful and the wait staff do everything they can to make sure you have an enjoyable evening. The food is good but you will quickly notice that the other diners average age is roughly 65 and they cater to those long, repeat customers. We had a very pleasant evening, but just be aware of where you are heading when you book dinner here. The dress code is there to keep away youngsters (under 50!).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

This is a restaurant for those occasions ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a restaurant for those occasions when you want to let the person you are with know that he or she is very special to you. Be sure to start with a quiet drink in the study next to the fireplace, where the mood will be set for the rest of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure eating at The Terrace

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

the special appetizer of the trio, bleu cheese, salmon spread, etc. was excellent. my salmon entree and my husband's lobster duo were also excellent. he enjoyed his dessert and we were both very pleased. our cocktails and wine were also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gorgeous setting with the best food on t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Gorgeous setting with the best food on the island. What more can be said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner to enjoy

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The waiters were attentive and helpful. We were given our space and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Justin and his staff make dining memorable!

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

As you walk down S. Summer St. in Edgartown MV and enter the Charlotte Inn, your dining experience begins with a showcase of English country elegance. Chef Justin and his staff have all the ingredients to present a memorable dining experience and they put it together with a unique combination of sophistication and spontaneity. My guests and I had the opportunity to partake in a "Tasting Menu" where Chef Justin chats with us table-side, going over our "likes, dislikes" and plans a seven-course culinary performance.

This description sounds very formal and staged..., the meal, however, was a gracious combination of elegance and fun!

Chef Justin, you hit a "Grand Slam" -- if our dining experience was an indication of the wonderful menu you prepare every day, we wholly recommend The Terrace as a special restaurant experience.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambience . The lamb was excell ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Wonderful ambience . The lamb was excellent. The vegetable risotto was very good. The chef Hors d'oeuvres were interesting but did not pair well. The lobster duo was good not excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Amazing Dining Experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere and fantastic food. The chef is extremely talented and i can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely, lovely, lovely!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We've lived on the Vineyard for over 40 tears and nothing else on the island even comes close to this dining experience. Expensive but worth every penny. Dress up and take someone you love to this beautiful inn, and be prepared to be pampered from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Won't disappoint

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

One of the loveliest restaurants you'll ever visit. The food is excellent, though the service can be insipid and almost obnoxious. Too bad, as it is otherwise nothing short of perfection!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Extremely superb dining!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We loved our Thanksgiving feast at The Charlotte Inn. Food was amazing, decor unprecedented, service impeccable. Can't say enough; just go if you are in Edgartown!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful, Delicious, Delovely

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Once upon a time two active retirees, whose children were planning their own individual Thanksgiving celebrations, went to Martha's Vineyard to chill out and enjoy the holiday weekend. Their accommodations were amazing, the weather was beautiful, and the sightseeing was only as the Vineyard can deliver. Each moment there held the anticipation of a Thanksgiving dinner to be remembered. The Terrace did not disappoint. From the first greeting it became apparent that this would be a first class experience. Entering the dining area was like stepping into a magical scene from 20th Century Fox. A huge vase of white roses greeted us, and our table was impeccably dressed with the finest linens and tableware that one could imagine. Many plants, hanging and otherwise, added to the magic. The first course of butternut squash soup was to die for. The next, a spinach salad with roquefort, apples and walnuts was a real winner. The tender turkey plate, accompanied by a delicious puree of cranberry, was just over the top with baby Brussels sprouts, divine mashed and sweet potatoes and a beautifully flavored stuffing. Dessert was so tantalizing that, as full as we were, we could not turn down.

We cannot speak enough about the quality of service. Our waiter did not hover, but knew exactly when we needed attention. Bravo!

We have traveled all over the world and this was one of the finest dining experiences ever. Price is not for the faint of heart, but so worth it. Thank you, Terrace. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Splendid restaurant

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

A perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. Great ambiance, impeccable service from Josh,

And food that was superb from appetizer to entree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A perfect place for an elegant dinner wi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

A perfect place for an elegant dinner with a friendly attentive staff and some of the most delicious food on the island. Quickly became one of our favorites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An anniversary celebration

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

One of our favorites on Martha's Vineyard, The Terrace once again helped us celebrate a significant event. We were disappointed that we couldn't start the evening with a drink in the library because it was already occupied, but we were reasonably accommodated in the sitting room. The food was good, service great, and ambience enTerrace is our "go to" spot for special occasions and it did not disappoint for this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.