Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn

Some of New England’s most acclaimed cuisine is found at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. Classic American cuisine showcases many ingredients from Martha’s Vineyard’s own farms and seas, and its bounty of local gardens. Sumptuous meals are presented amidst stunning surroundings. Whether it is by flickering candlelight in the glass-paned conservatory dining room, or beneath the stars on a terrace enclosed by ivy-covered lattice, there is no more romantic or elegant setting in which to enjoy an evening. The Terrace serves dinner to the public nightly in season; this setting is most appropriate for adults and children over the age of 14 as to ensure a quiet, romantic setting for our guests. Having run the Relais & Chateaux hotel for over 40 years, The Charlotte Inn is delighted to now own and operate The Terrace. Executive Chef Justin Melnick has quickly established a dedicated following of regular guests, and is a must-try restaurant for anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard.

27 South Summer Street
Edgartown, MA 02539
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday off season, Nightly in-season 5:30 pm

If you do not see a time you would desire, please contact us directly as our online reservations are limited. Thank you.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 627-6227

Website:
http://www.theterracemv.com/

Entertainment:
Visit MVOL.com for our holiday menus!
http://www.mvol.com/directory/restaurants/?searchby=town&id=3

Catering:
Private luncheons available in our dining room upon request.

Parking Details:
Parking available on public streets and in municipal lot diagonally across street. We gladly assist handicapped patrons with a side path entrance and private parking - please notify us in advance if possible in such circumstances.

Public Transit:
MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown

Executive Chef:
Justin Melnick

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fireplace (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fun (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We returned for our third year and the Terrace continues to be superb n every way. The inn is among the greatest dining spaces in beauty and enchantment. The staff knowledgeable about the food helped nearby table person extreme food sensitivities.
Generous portions of perfectly prepared food. We loved the wild salmon tartar with mango and the bolognese. The chefs sample of beet soup to start is great and I dont like beet soup. The onion soup is rich and not salty. The pasta dish with schrimp and special mushrooms was special.
We go hete every time we are in Edgartown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I don't say this lightly.....this was one of the best dinners that my wife and I have EVER had. Food was fantastic, service excellent, ambiance great.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were top notch

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This restaurant WANTS TO BE and LOOKS like a great restaurant - but it is NOT. The food is well below par - with overcooked meats, under-cooked pasta and poorly matched combinations. The wine list is severely limited. I found the service to be a bit cloying in it's desire to be good service without a strong idea of what that actually means. It's a shame. The beautiful Charlotte Inn and the amazing room deserve far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I am always reluctant to give the coveted 5 star rating but this place is most deserving . Our waiter James was a true professional who guided us both through the menu & wine list. The food was beautifully prepared & presented. A memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We dined at The Terrace to celebrate our anniversary and it was the perfect choice! It was elegant with superb service and an awesome menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Terrace was actually closed so we were seated in a cozy and rather intimate dining room with a fireplace. It was warm and cozy on a chilly winter night. Perfect. Our waiter was outstanding. The Prix Fixe menu was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent experience at the Green Room - private dining in a beautiful setting. Full menu not available off season, but the food was very good. Thank you to the owners for making a special occasion memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A quiet Victorian decorated dining room filled with antiques set in a garden.

Delicious food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The setting was cosy and elegant for Christmas Eve. The service was very good and chestnut soup was delicious. The rest of the food was very mediocre. Ended up as a very expensive night with disappointing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Schade! Wir hatten es zwei Monate im Voraus reserviert. Wir hatten das Weihnachtsmenue, jeweils 1x Fisch und 1x Fleisch. Die Tagessuppe vorab kam fast kalt auf den Tisch, trotz Reklamation war die erneute auch nur lauwarm. Die beiden Vorspeisen waren ok, bleiben aber deutlich bezüglich der Aromen und Anrichtung hinter den Erwartungen zurück. Der Hauptgang, ob Fisch oder Fleisch war auch ok aber nicht herausragend. Da ist noch viel Luft nach oben. Ob beim Geschmack oder beim Anrichten da geht noch deutlich mehr.... Schade, man kann nicht sagen dass es schlecht war, aber es bleibt nichts als wow in Erinnerung. Beide Desserts waren leider ein Totalausfall. Vor allem nicht bei der Kategorie des Hauses. Da fehlte jede Leichtigkeit..
Tagessuppe ***
Vorspeisen **
Hauptgang ***
Dessert **
Schade wir hatten deutlich mehr erwartet bei den vorliegenden Bewertungen und auch weil der Chef einige Zeit in Italien verbracht hatte... davon kann man zumindest die mediterrane Leichtigkeit mitnehmen....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in an historic inn/home. Because it was off season, we were the only diners. The service was excellent, and we had the opportunity to tour the kitchen and wine cellar. I would highly recommend this venue for a quiet dinner on a special occassion.

Tags: Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent, highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Perfection. Since I need to write 50 characters , I could just keep writing perfect! Food, service, ambiance...perfect.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

When dining outside the NYC area, I try not to use my city food and hospitality profession to compare to elsewhere. But tonite, I could not help. Dining at the Terrace was unfortunate. After being seated by the pleasant hostess and getting serve our drink and sparkling water, everything went downhill. The ambiance was tropical and pleasantly quiet. It was 40% full and serve by Jeremy and James. After our drinks I observe a 25+ minute period of back and forth from kitchen to guest by the servers and a chef or cook for serve out. After this time we were giving our menus. 25+MINUTES! Adding to this it took awhile to take our order. The bread was serve with stone cold butter. I don't know anyone who enjoys cutting thru hard butter and trying to spread it on their bread. Our appetizer came timely but our entree took awhile. As we waited, we ask Jeremy for more bread and he forgot about it and we had to ask James. Around this time, our sparkling water glass sat empty. When James finally refill it, he pour pitcher water and realize immediately and apologize for his mistake, which was proper. As Jeremy serve my pasta entree, he did not offer fresh grated cheese as I notice him offer other tables. Trying too get his attention for cheese was a chore. When he finally came back he place a small bowl in front of me, not the freshly grated I expected. As the saying goes, "It's the little this that count." The whole experience was not the case at all. It just left a bad taste as we wonder when we will get the menu. The only good experience is they put a birthday candle on the dessert as I requested by email. All in all, the expectation was unexpectedly poor. For fine dining, you assume a higher standard and this was not met especially for how much you are spending. If you make a reservation and get seated there is no excuse for what happen that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was amazing. Some of the best I have ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent service considering the restaurant appeared to be short-staffed. Unfortunately, the filet mignon was not cooked medium well as requested. Even after being sent back, it still was not properly cooked (came out rare both times). Jeremy was a very engaging server.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This was our fourth time at this restaurant, including romantic gourmet dinners, and holiday brunches. It is definitely the most enjoyable fine restaurant on Martha's Vineyard. The food is always top notch (not for gluttons but for foodies). The pleasant professional service and lovely ambiance do the rest. Needless to say that this was not to be our last visit, but we are planning already to introduce more of our family to this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A lovely romantic dinner. Beautiful, elegant traditional decor and ambiance, but in a cozy setting. Dinner was delicious and fresh, waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very beautiful and romantic. It was our 25th anniversary. Beautiful antiques, plates, ambiance all top notch. Food was pricey but not as good as other MV top restaurants. Wine list was very good. I'm very glad we went and great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall a very nice experience. Terrific venue, excellent service. Food was a mixed result as we both thought our starter (onion soup) was average and my wife found her main course (risotto) to be unexciting/bland. My main course (steak with au gratin potato) was excellent. We do recommend and will return the next time we are on island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

My husband and I were both celebrating our birthdays. It was a perfect spot. From the greeting at the door to final goodnight, the staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. I especially appreciated that each course was just the right amount of food. Although one of the most expensive dinners we've ever had, it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We quietly celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was lovely, staff attentive and food delicious. So many choices will definitely return to try other offerings, but will probably repeat the olive oil orange cake. Would love to find that recipe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 12, 2016

My partner and I were staying over in Martha's Vineyard to celebrate my birthday, but were unfamiliar with the restaurants there. By chance, we came across The Terrace at Charlotte Inn while walking around Edgartown. It looked beautiful from the outside, so we took a change on a last-minute booking. What a great choice! The food is outstanding and the service is second-to-none. But, best of all, is the incredible environment. We felt we had journeyed back to the 1890's and were experiencing the life-style of the super wealthy of that era. Although the outdoor terrace was available, we chose the indoor dining room, which was more of a conservatory, lush with palms and hanging ferns and filled with beautiful paintings and antiques from that era.

The menu offered a good of choice of items; I chose the grilled swordfish and my partner chose the chicken--both of which were perfectly prepared. The only glitch was a mistake on my salad (I was given the beet salad instead of the spinach salad I ordered), a mistake that was quickly corrected.

After completing our meal, we were invited by staff members to relax and enjoy some of the various public rooms of the Charlotte Inn, which the Terrace is part of. We felt like we were on the set of My Fair Lady, expecting Audrey Hepburn to appear any moment, singing "I could have danced all night... " Our hostess graciously relayed some of the history of the place and answered any questions we had.

All in all, our dining experience was quite memorable and enjoyable. I highly recommend The Terrace at Charlotte Inn if you ever visit Edgartown.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2016

An elegant restaurant that is a fine example of gracious dining, delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Really delicious food in quaint and charming in. It's expensive, but the experience was worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very disappointed that open table web site not explicit about dress code or follow up phone call to confirm reservation. My husband was told in a loud demeaning way by hostess that his ( very expensive) dress shirt had to be tucked in his pants . Our guests that were with us were very embarrassed and my husband humiliated. We were also told that since we had dined there before we should have known better; so it was our fault that the restaurant was not clear in its delivery of information to guests. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary ; to add insult to injury the halibut was dry. A real bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very beautiful setting and I have gone back a few times now, however, I find the restaurant rather pretentious.
I have and will continue to recommend this restaurant as the food is delicious and its truly an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2016

outstanding, family birthday party , loved by all. The preordered birthday cake was outsstanding, best chocolate butter icing. Great food

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food was tasty but it felt like we were eating in a museum - very old school decor. Gentlemen: Beware of the dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

An excellent dining experience. Food, service and atmosphere were all excellent. More expensive than many of the restaurants on Martha's Vineyard but worth every penny. The pleasure of being able to actually talk in normal tones with your dining mates make the restaurant even more desirable.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Extraordinary describes this experience. We felt like we were stepping back in time with the decor and pace of dinner. Truly a delight and must do if you are visiting Edgartown.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Best filet ever, can't even comprehend how they did that. The swordfish was amazing, the bolognese fantastic. Excellent service as well. The only minor drawback was that we showed up in what I would call "island dressy casual" -- linen pants, (untucked) linen shirts, nice sandals -- and were told that it was semi-formal and that we would need to tuck our shirts in. Upon sitting down at our table, we saw many men with untucked shirts and we were clearly the nicest dressed men in the room. As nice as the property is, making us tuck in our shirts before entering the dining room was unnecessary. And, it exposed the fact that my buddy apparently doesn't bother to zip up his fly on vacation! Anyway, suck it up, tuck it in and enjoy the amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's birthday in the outdoor garden. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always a great meal in a fantastic atmosphere!! Will definitely return!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Beautiful "special event" restaurant. We had only 1 of our 3 daughters that night so it was perfect. Service, decor, and food excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This our favorite place of all the US and foreign travel we do . we come to the Vineyard a few times a year and always celebrate family here. Outstanding in every way an you will never stay anyplace that comes close to this.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very elegant restaurant in antique atmosphere . Old hotel with antique books and paintings. Beautiful table decor. Semiformal dress code. Man should wear shirt or Jacket. Food is excellent .Very friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were celebrating a very wonderful and momentous anniversary, and I did not want to be disappointed in our dining experience. On the contrary, we had the loveliest time at The Terrace. Everything was perfect. The space is gorgeous and special. The food was delicious and presented beautifully, and the service was exemplary. Not only would I recommend the restaurant to anyone who was celebrating a special occasion, I would return happily for no reason at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We liked the Terrace so much that we came back on our last night of our vacation. The food is exquisite and the service truly excellent. Sebastian was the perfect waiter: attentive, knowledgeable, very professional and there when we needed him without being intrusive. We will definitely be back and make this part of our Marthas Vineyard vacation plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.