Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.13mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn

Some of New England’s most acclaimed cuisine is found at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. Classic American cuisine showcases many ingredients from Martha’s Vineyard’s own farms and seas, and its bounty of local gardens. Sumptuous meals are presented amidst stunning surroundings. Whether it is by flickering candlelight in the glass-paned conservatory dining room, or beneath the stars on a terrace enclosed by ivy-covered lattice, there is no more romantic or elegant setting in which to enjoy an evening. The Terrace serves dinner to the public nightly in season; this setting is most appropriate for adults and children over the age of 14 as to ensure a quiet, romantic setting for our guests. Having run the Relais & Chateaux hotel for over 40 years, The Charlotte Inn is delighted to now own and operate The Terrace. Executive Chef Justin Melnick has quickly established a dedicated following of regular guests, and is a must-try restaurant for anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard.

27 South Summer Street
Edgartown, MA 02539
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday off season, Nightly in-season 5:30 pm

If you do not see a time you would desire, please contact us directly as our online reservations are limited. Thank you.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 627-6227

Website:
http://www.theterracemv.com/

Entertainment:
Visit MVOL.com for our holiday menus!
http://www.mvol.com/directory/restaurants/?searchby=town&id=3

Catering:
Private luncheons available in our dining room upon request.

Parking Details:
Parking available on public streets and in municipal lot diagonally across street. We gladly assist handicapped patrons with a side path entrance and private parking - please notify us in advance if possible in such circumstances.

Public Transit:
MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown

Executive Chef:
Justin Melnick

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Cozy (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous, my go to restaurant in MV for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

A feast for the eyes as wel as the palate. Extraordinary ambiance, menu, chef sensitivity to a food allergy and service. Truly a unique dining experience. Reservations are a must and we were so glad we made ours!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This is second year we have eaten here and it was superb. The decor is fabulous , service and food were super, definitely would come again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was excellent service equaled food
Server well versed in wine as well as food being offered at restaurant
Everything was 5 star

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lovely place, good food and excellent service. We had a wonderful unhurried dinner. My only criticism is that we did not know that there is a dress code for men: dress shirts required. The staff provided suit coats from a collection but we would have dressed differently if we had known. The three men in the party were wearing golf shirts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Justin is a great talent and a big part of the consistent high performance of the restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wonderful visiting French chef this summer. The nicest restaurant we have visited on the island.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Terrace is a wonderful restaurant. The cuisine, atmosphere and service are consistently outstanding. It's a spectacular special occasion restaurant.
The chef supports local sourcing so the food is really fresh. I had the swordfish and my husband had the chicken and both were delicious.
I would highly recommend the Terrace.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Surprising disappointment. Relais & Chateux thus expected all to be high end but instead found a very pretentious restaurant with mediocre food and extremely weak wine list (nothing older than 2012?). The tip off should have been there was advertising on the menu; great to see the local fisheries, bakeries and farms, but... BMW? Vive Clicquot? outdoor garden lovely looking until the 8:15 sunset and the mosquitos arrived. Most disappointing part was being told the chef's special was fresh tuna from... wait for it...Hawaii. ?!? yes it was flown in overnight so probably was fresh, but MVY has some of the best fresh tuna and swordfish in the world. Don't waste your time with so many other far better food and atmosphere restaurants on the island (from casual Port Hunter, to fancy LeToile, to perfect up-Island State Road)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

My husband and I recently celebrated our 35 Wedding Anniversary at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. It is a high quality, old school service where they call you by name. Highly personalized service like dining at our country club. Delicious meal and such a romantic atmosphere with antiques and beautiful oil paintings all around the resturant and Inn! Delightful!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food and service was absolutely fabulous!! Don't even think twice about dining here - if you are vacation at Martha's Vineyard - this will be a memorable experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The Terrace Restaurant is a magical place. The menu, wine list, service and elegant dining room are outstanding. Chef Justin Melnick has made The Terrace the one place on Martha's Vineyard that is a must visit for dinner. The staff is outstanding and well versed on the menu and wine list. James who is one of the servers is outstanding. My wife and I travel a lot and dine at many top restaurants. The Terrace is at the top of our list!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Incredible food, service, and atmosphere. Truly a one of a kind experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Overall, food was tasty and delicately prepared; service was okay- drinks never got empty and timing was good, but all servers were rude and couldn't have cared less about socializing (literally didn't communicate at all) despite ordering expensive wine & dinner w/ appetizers; ambiance is quiet. For Martha's Vineyard, this place is unique, but not worth their stuffy attitudes and expensive pricing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were late because of traffic to the island....no frowns from the staff.
Our Italian waitress was a gem.
Food and wines excellent.
Will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Finest ambiance on the Island--perhaps on all the U.S. East Coast. Extraordinary service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We returned for our third year and the Terrace continues to be superb n every way. The inn is among the greatest dining spaces in beauty and enchantment. The staff knowledgeable about the food helped nearby table person extreme food sensitivities.
Generous portions of perfectly prepared food. We loved the wild salmon tartar with mango and the bolognese. The chefs sample of beet soup to start is great and I dont like beet soup. The onion soup is rich and not salty. The pasta dish with schrimp and special mushrooms was special.
We go hete every time we are in Edgartown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I don't say this lightly.....this was one of the best dinners that my wife and I have EVER had. Food was fantastic, service excellent, ambiance great.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were top notch

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This restaurant WANTS TO BE and LOOKS like a great restaurant - but it is NOT. The food is well below par - with overcooked meats, under-cooked pasta and poorly matched combinations. The wine list is severely limited. I found the service to be a bit cloying in it's desire to be good service without a strong idea of what that actually means. It's a shame. The beautiful Charlotte Inn and the amazing room deserve far better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I am always reluctant to give the coveted 5 star rating but this place is most deserving . Our waiter James was a true professional who guided us both through the menu & wine list. The food was beautifully prepared & presented. A memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We dined at The Terrace to celebrate our anniversary and it was the perfect choice! It was elegant with superb service and an awesome menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Terrace was actually closed so we were seated in a cozy and rather intimate dining room with a fireplace. It was warm and cozy on a chilly winter night. Perfect. Our waiter was outstanding. The Prix Fixe menu was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent experience at the Green Room - private dining in a beautiful setting. Full menu not available off season, but the food was very good. Thank you to the owners for making a special occasion memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A quiet Victorian decorated dining room filled with antiques set in a garden.

Delicious food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The setting was cosy and elegant for Christmas Eve. The service was very good and chestnut soup was delicious. The rest of the food was very mediocre. Ended up as a very expensive night with disappointing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Schade! Wir hatten es zwei Monate im Voraus reserviert. Wir hatten das Weihnachtsmenue, jeweils 1x Fisch und 1x Fleisch. Die Tagessuppe vorab kam fast kalt auf den Tisch, trotz Reklamation war die erneute auch nur lauwarm. Die beiden Vorspeisen waren ok, bleiben aber deutlich bezüglich der Aromen und Anrichtung hinter den Erwartungen zurück. Der Hauptgang, ob Fisch oder Fleisch war auch ok aber nicht herausragend. Da ist noch viel Luft nach oben. Ob beim Geschmack oder beim Anrichten da geht noch deutlich mehr.... Schade, man kann nicht sagen dass es schlecht war, aber es bleibt nichts als wow in Erinnerung. Beide Desserts waren leider ein Totalausfall. Vor allem nicht bei der Kategorie des Hauses. Da fehlte jede Leichtigkeit..
Tagessuppe ***
Vorspeisen **
Hauptgang ***
Dessert **
Schade wir hatten deutlich mehr erwartet bei den vorliegenden Bewertungen und auch weil der Chef einige Zeit in Italien verbracht hatte... davon kann man zumindest die mediterrane Leichtigkeit mitnehmen....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in an historic inn/home. Because it was off season, we were the only diners. The service was excellent, and we had the opportunity to tour the kitchen and wine cellar. I would highly recommend this venue for a quiet dinner on a special occassion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent, highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Perfection. Since I need to write 50 characters , I could just keep writing perfect! Food, service, ambiance...perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

When dining outside the NYC area, I try not to use my city food and hospitality profession to compare to elsewhere. But tonite, I could not help. Dining at the Terrace was unfortunate. After being seated by the pleasant hostess and getting serve our drink and sparkling water, everything went downhill. The ambiance was tropical and pleasantly quiet. It was 40% full and serve by Jeremy and James. After our drinks I observe a 25+ minute period of back and forth from kitchen to guest by the servers and a chef or cook for serve out. After this time we were giving our menus. 25+MINUTES! Adding to this it took awhile to take our order. The bread was serve with stone cold butter. I don't know anyone who enjoys cutting thru hard butter and trying to spread it on their bread. Our appetizer came timely but our entree took awhile. As we waited, we ask Jeremy for more bread and he forgot about it and we had to ask James. Around this time, our sparkling water glass sat empty. When James finally refill it, he pour pitcher water and realize immediately and apologize for his mistake, which was proper. As Jeremy serve my pasta entree, he did not offer fresh grated cheese as I notice him offer other tables. Trying too get his attention for cheese was a chore. When he finally came back he place a small bowl in front of me, not the freshly grated I expected. As the saying goes, "It's the little this that count." The whole experience was not the case at all. It just left a bad taste as we wonder when we will get the menu. The only good experience is they put a birthday candle on the dessert as I requested by email. All in all, the expectation was unexpectedly poor. For fine dining, you assume a higher standard and this was not met especially for how much you are spending. If you make a reservation and get seated there is no excuse for what happen that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Food was amazing. Some of the best I have ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Excellent service considering the restaurant appeared to be short-staffed. Unfortunately, the filet mignon was not cooked medium well as requested. Even after being sent back, it still was not properly cooked (came out rare both times). Jeremy was a very engaging server.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This was our fourth time at this restaurant, including romantic gourmet dinners, and holiday brunches. It is definitely the most enjoyable fine restaurant on Martha's Vineyard. The food is always top notch (not for gluttons but for foodies). The pleasant professional service and lovely ambiance do the rest. Needless to say that this was not to be our last visit, but we are planning already to introduce more of our family to this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A lovely romantic dinner. Beautiful, elegant traditional decor and ambiance, but in a cozy setting. Dinner was delicious and fresh, waiter was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very beautiful and romantic. It was our 25th anniversary. Beautiful antiques, plates, ambiance all top notch. Food was pricey but not as good as other MV top restaurants. Wine list was very good. I'm very glad we went and great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall a very nice experience. Terrific venue, excellent service. Food was a mixed result as we both thought our starter (onion soup) was average and my wife found her main course (risotto) to be unexciting/bland. My main course (steak with au gratin potato) was excellent. We do recommend and will return the next time we are on island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

My husband and I were both celebrating our birthdays. It was a perfect spot. From the greeting at the door to final goodnight, the staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. I especially appreciated that each course was just the right amount of food. Although one of the most expensive dinners we've ever had, it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We quietly celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was lovely, staff attentive and food delicious. So many choices will definitely return to try other offerings, but will probably repeat the olive oil orange cake. Would love to find that recipe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.