About The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn

27 South Summer Street
Edgartown, MA 02539
View Larger Map

Some of New England’s most acclaimed cuisine is found at The Terrace at The Charlotte Inn. Classic American cuisine showcases many ingredients from Martha’s Vineyard’s own farms and seas, and its bounty of local gardens. Sumptuous meals are presented amidst stunning surroundings. Whether it is by flickering candlelight in the glass-paned conservatory dining room, or beneath the stars on a terrace enclosed by ivy-covered lattice, there is no more romantic or elegant setting in which to enjoy an evening. The Terrace serves dinner to the public nightly in season; this setting is most appropriate for adults and children over the age of 14 as to ensure a quiet, romantic setting for our guests. Having run the Relais & Chateaux hotel for over 40 years, The Charlotte Inn is delighted to now own and operate The Terrace. Executive Chef Justin Melnick has quickly established a dedicated following of regular guests, and is a must-try restaurant for anyone visiting Martha's Vineyard.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Continental, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday-Sunday off season, Nightly in-season 5:30 pm

If you do not see a time you would desire, please contact us directly as our online reservations are limited. Thank you.

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 627-6227

Website:
http://www.theterracemv.com/

Entertainment:
Visit MVOL.com for our holiday menus!
http://www.mvol.com/directory/restaurants/?searchby=town&id=3

Catering:
Private luncheons available in our dining room upon request.

Parking Details:
Parking available on public streets and in municipal lot diagonally across street. We gladly assist handicapped patrons with a side path entrance and private parking - please notify us in advance if possible in such circumstances.

Public Transit:
MVTA Church Street / Downtown Edgartown

Executive Chef:
Justin Melnick

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Terrace at the Charlotte Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Service
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Ambiance
Cape Cod and the Islands
3 More
Romantic
Cape Cod and the Islands
Special Occasion
Cape Cod and the Islands
American
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Edgartown ›

Romantic (45)
Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (24)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Historic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very beautiful and romantic. It was our ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very beautiful and romantic. It was our 25th anniversary. Beautiful antiques, plates, ambiance all top notch. Food was pricey but not as good as other MV top restaurants. Wine list was very good. I'm very glad we went and great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

My husband and I were both celebrating o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My husband and I were both celebrating our birthdays. It was a perfect spot. From the greeting at the door to final goodnight, the staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. I especially appreciated that each course was just the right amount of food. Although one of the most expensive dinners we've ever had, it was well worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a very nice experience. Terrific ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall a very nice experience. Terrific venue, excellent service. Food was a mixed result as we both thought our starter (onion soup) was average and my wife found her main course (risotto) to be unexciting/bland. My main course (steak with au gratin potato) was excellent. We do recommend and will return the next time we are on island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We quietly celebrated our 25th wedding a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We quietly celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was lovely, staff attentive and food delicious. So many choices will definitely return to try other offerings, but will probably repeat the olive oil orange cake. Would love to find that recipe!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My partner and I were staying over in Ma ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My partner and I were staying over in Martha's Vineyard to celebrate my birthday, but were unfamiliar with the restaurants there. By chance, we came across The Terrace at Charlotte Inn while walking around Edgartown. It looked beautiful from the outside, so we took a change on a last-minute booking. What a great choice! The food is outstanding and the service is second-to-none. But, best of all, is the incredible environment. We felt we had journeyed back to the 1890's and were experiencing the life-style of the super wealthy of that era. Although the outdoor terrace was available, we chose the indoor dining room, which was more of a conservatory, lush with palms and hanging ferns and filled with beautiful paintings and antiques from that era.

The menu offered a good of choice of items; I chose the grilled swordfish and my partner chose the chicken--both of which were perfectly prepared. The only glitch was a mistake on my salad (I was given the beet salad instead of the spinach salad I ordered), a mistake that was quickly corrected.

After completing our meal, we were invited by staff members to relax and enjoy some of the various public rooms of the Charlotte Inn, which the Terrace is part of. We felt like we were on the set of My Fair Lady, expecting Audrey Hepburn to appear any moment, singing "I could have danced all night... " Our hostess graciously relayed some of the history of the place and answered any questions we had.

All in all, our dining experience was quite memorable and enjoyable. I highly recommend The Terrace at Charlotte Inn if you ever visit Edgartown.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An elegant restaurant that is a fine exa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

An elegant restaurant that is a fine example of gracious dining, delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really delicious food in quaint and char ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Really delicious food in quaint and charming in. It's expensive, but the experience was worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed that open table web si ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very disappointed that open table web site not explicit about dress code or follow up phone call to confirm reservation. My husband was told in a loud demeaning way by hostess that his ( very expensive) dress shirt had to be tucked in his pants . Our guests that were with us were very embarrassed and my husband humiliated. We were also told that since we had dined there before we should have known better; so it was our fault that the restaurant was not clear in its delivery of information to guests. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary ; to add insult to injury the halibut was dry. A real bad taste in my mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very beautiful setting and I have gone b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Very beautiful setting and I have gone back a few times now, however, I find the restaurant rather pretentious.

I have and will continue to recommend this restaurant as the food is delicious and its truly an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

outstanding, family birthday party , lov ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

outstanding, family birthday party , loved by all. The preordered birthday cake was outsstanding, best chocolate butter icing. Great food

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was tasty but it felt like we were ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food was tasty but it felt like we were eating in a museum - very old school decor. Gentlemen: Beware of the dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

An excellent dining experience. Food, s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

An excellent dining experience. Food, service and atmosphere were all excellent. More expensive than many of the restaurants on Martha's Vineyard but worth every penny. The pleasure of being able to actually talk in normal tones with your dining mates make the restaurant even more desirable.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extraordinary describes this experience. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Extraordinary describes this experience. We felt like we were stepping back in time with the decor and pace of dinner. Truly a delight and must do if you are visiting Edgartown.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Bes ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was absolutely phenomenal. Best filet ever, can't even comprehend how they did that. The swordfish was amazing, the bolognese fantastic. Excellent service as well. The only minor drawback was that we showed up in what I would call "island dressy casual" -- linen pants, (untucked) linen shirts, nice sandals -- and were told that it was semi-formal and that we would need to tuck our shirts in. Upon sitting down at our table, we saw many men with untucked shirts and we were clearly the nicest dressed men in the room. As nice as the property is, making us tuck in our shirts before entering the dining room was unnecessary. And, it exposed the fact that my buddy apparently doesn't bother to zip up his fly on vacation! Anyway, suck it up, tuck it in and enjoy the amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We celebrated our daughter's birthday in ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's birthday in the outdoor garden. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a great meal in a fantastic at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always a great meal in a fantastic atmosphere!! Will definitely return!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful "special event" restaurant. W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Beautiful "special event" restaurant. We had only 1 of our 3 daughters that night so it was perfect. Service, decor, and food excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant restaurant in antique atmos ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Very elegant restaurant in antique atmosphere . Old hotel with antique books and paintings. Beautiful table decor. Semiformal dress code. Man should wear shirt or Jacket. Food is excellent .Very friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This our favorite place of all the US an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This our favorite place of all the US and foreign travel we do . we come to the Vineyard a few times a year and always celebrate family here. Outstanding in every way an you will never stay anyplace that comes close to this.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating a very wonderful and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were celebrating a very wonderful and momentous anniversary, and I did not want to be disappointed in our dining experience. On the contrary, we had the loveliest time at The Terrace. Everything was perfect. The space is gorgeous and special. The food was delicious and presented beautifully, and the service was exemplary. Not only would I recommend the restaurant to anyone who was celebrating a special occasion, I would return happily for no reason at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We liked the Terrace so much that we cam ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We liked the Terrace so much that we came back on our last night of our vacation. The food is exquisite and the service truly excellent. Sebastian was the perfect waiter: attentive, knowledgeable, very professional and there when we needed him without being intrusive. We will definitely be back and make this part of our Marthas Vineyard vacation plans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess set the tone for the entire ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The hostess set the tone for the entire evening and did not have a good attitude. It was very hot outside so we asked not to sit on the patio. They had plenty of open tables in the main dining room that could seat the size of our party. Instead she tried to seat us away in a dark, stuffy side room. It was a special occasion and we noted the empty tables in the main dining room to the hostess. She left us sitting in the side room for several awkward minutes and begrudgingly lead us to what she said was the only available table by the service station which was cramped and busy with wait staff. The other nicer tables remained open and available for our entire meal. The waiter tried to make up for it and had a pleasant, professional attitude. Unfortunately, the food was just average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

wonderful ambiance for a special occasio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

wonderful ambiance for a special occasion or dining and want stellar service. My only complaint is that the portions are just minuscule. Price are what you would expect at fine dining but the portions are noticeably smaller. The appetizer salad was the smallest that I

have seen on the island in any restaurant or club we attend. Food was good but not out of the

park. The setting in out of the park...elegant and great wine and dessert was very good...again,

small but exactly what you want for finishing off your dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good. Staff seemed to be ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good.

Staff seemed to be mostly young East European women. Very quiet and hovering.

Two of the male waiters were not quiet. A bit too effusive.

Rooms are beautiful and our food choices were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything about the dinner was exceptio ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything about the dinner was exceptional. From the personal greeting at the door, the impeccable service and totally delightful and well appointed interior of the Charlotte Inn.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food at the terrace at the charlotte ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

the food at the terrace at the charlotte inn is always good. our waiter, a young man from ridgewood, nj is always wonderful, we had him in may and in july. i enjoyed the ahi tuna sashimi and the cheese with the olives, did not care for the duck breast but do like goose liver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food insulted the beautiful china it ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food insulted the beautiful china it was served on: really disappointing considering the price of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Charlotte inn was amazing. Definitely if ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Charlotte inn was amazing. Definitely if in edgartown don't miss it. Formal dining but not stuffy! Great evening , highly recommend the lamb and chicken.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a lovely evening at the Charlotte ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had a lovely evening at the Charlotte Inn. Excellent wine, food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this visit was special ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything about this visit was special from the second we were greeted at the door. There was an elegance without snobbery. You will truly feel like you are the most important guest. Despite being on Martha's Vineyard you be transported by the Southern feel, charm and hospitality. It's almost as if this place couldn't and shouldn't exist in this location but so glad it does.

Each course of food is truly amazing from the portion size, perfect preparedness and taste.

It is a great value as well- while not cheap, in comparison to the many overpriced options in the area, you will feel it's a dollar well spent.

Gentlemen- wear a jacket (no tie) and you'll fit right in though you will not be treated less if you are neat without one. Without rambunctious little kids, the setting is great for a quiet conversation or that perfect romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to this lovely, e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to this lovely, expensive restaurant. We were disappointed with the attitude of the hostess, who wanted to seat us in an almost empty restaurant, at a table with a large party with kids clearly under the age of 14. ( The restaurant discourages kids under 14 ) and by the waiter station, in a cramped table. I had requested a certain table, however, she said it was reserved and since it was set up for 4 she could not rearrange for our party of 3!! We were quite willing to leave and she was okay, and a very astute waiter saved the evening by asking the hostess to seat us at a table that was fine and lovely.

The waitress was lovely, the meal delicious, however, the server missed telling me that the soup bowl was scalding halt; thus when my wrist, inadvertently touched it, it scalded my now I have a scar, which I hope will fade in time. I was offered an apology for failing to mention that the dish is very, very, very hot!!

In spite of all this and the failing of a very incompetent hostess, we will go back and also recommend that this restaurant be on a list to go.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very nice but portions a bit sm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was very nice but portions a bit small. Outdoor ambiance was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific meal, p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a terrific meal, perfectly paced, with several unexpected touches. From the welcoming sparkling Rose to the complimentary cookies, it was an exceptional dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dinner on the Terrace to celeb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Beautiful dinner on the Terrace to celebrate our anniversary and a new job, could not be any more perfect and delicious...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chef goes out of his way to please h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The chef goes out of his way to please his diners. The food is always perfectly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very elegant place to dine. Perhaps be ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A very elegant place to dine. Perhaps best on the island

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely, charming, very romantic - not on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Lovely, charming, very romantic - not only is the food, service and ambiance wonderful, but it's a perfect place to stay. Reserve a table, dress up, find your favorite person, and enjoy the best dining experience on the Vineyard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for the over 65 set, but not everyone else

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Set on the back indoor covered terrace at the museum of Charlotte Inn is the extremely cluttered and very dated dining space. It feels like you have stepped back in time and landed at that crazy packrat great great aunt's home and every thing is exactly as she left it thirty years ago. The hotel staff are extremely pleasant and very helpful and the wait staff do everything they can to make sure you have an enjoyable evening. The food is good but you will quickly notice that the other diners average age is roughly 65 and they cater to those long, repeat customers. We had a very pleasant evening, but just be aware of where you are heading when you book dinner here. The dress code is there to keep away youngsters (under 50!).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

This is a restaurant for those occasions ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a restaurant for those occasions when you want to let the person you are with know that he or she is very special to you. Be sure to start with a quiet drink in the study next to the fireplace, where the mood will be set for the rest of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure eating at The Terrace

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

the special appetizer of the trio, bleu cheese, salmon spread, etc. was excellent. my salmon entree and my husband's lobster duo were also excellent. he enjoyed his dessert and we were both very pleased. our cocktails and wine were also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.