About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Restaurant Photos

  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
St. Louis
Contemporary American
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
2 More
Best Food
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Central West End ›

fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (37)
special occasion (26)
See All
great for outdoor dining (24)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (18)
romantic (16)
good for groups (16)
notable wine list (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
78 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can not find one thing wrong with this p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Can not find one thing wrong with this place...only problem is becomes a little loud because of the small space, but the food and service more than make up for it... Total 5 star recomendation

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Since we love the Ballwin location we th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Since we love the Ballwin location we thought we'd give this a try for my birthday. It was really special. Service was attentive without being nosy, the menu had creative trios (I loved the seafood one) and my husband's halibut with the Asian slaw was probably among the best things we've ever put in our mouths! Cooked to perfection, not a dry piece and the seasoning was just right. I had the specialty Bourbon, peach concoction and my honey's amber beer was refreshing, just as it should be. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was wonderful, all in my party en ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Waiter was wonderful, all in my party enjoyed the evening! Food was very good but one of the board plates of fish was too spicy to eat. I loved my short ribs!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While the fish selection was appealing, ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

While the fish selection was appealing, the preparations offered were too involved, and they tended to be overdone (too many ingredients, etc.) How about a simple broiled fish filet. Don't need to pay for all those fancy preparations. The rest of the menu was limited and uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Just meeting a good friend for dinner at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Just meeting a good friend for dinner at one of my favorite places. Went out on a limb and tried something new - the veggie sushi, and my friend had the regular. LOVED IT. Will be back specifically for it. Nice wine. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server made our experience ! She was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server made our experience ! She was wonderful and personable. We love your restaurant and go for birthdays and anniversaries. We can't wait to go back !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It may be my imagination, but the prices ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It may be my imagination, but the prices seem to have crept up here. A piece of fish for $40 is pretty high for St. Louis, and this restaurant can't justify it. I recall their other location being much more reasonably priced. As a result, I don't consider The Tavern in the CWE to be a good value and don't recommend it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first experience at The Tavern, foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our first experience at The Tavern, food was well presented, and absolutely fabulous! We had the Seafood Trio, each one was spectacular, very fresh, well prepared! Scallops were nicely seared, tender and fresh! The duck breast pasta entrée was incredible, as were all of the salads (beet salad, Caesar salad).

Service was excellent with great knowledge of the wine list and menu.

A nice atmosphere, great for business, romantic or just friend get together.

I will say, it was very impressive, everything was perfect, they know how to put it all together, service, ambiance, and cuisine!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Lobster risotto, edamame, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food! Lobster risotto, edamame, and the steak special with raisins...mind blowing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Personable service down to the bus boy. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Personable service down to the bus boy. Bread course was a iron cast pan of flaky, well seasoned biscuits-very delicious. Chicken Saltibocca, Duck pasta, Surf and Turf trio entrees were excellent, generous portions. We were new to the restaurant and plan to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waiter was informative, food was good an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Waiter was informative, food was good and it was a perfect night for the outside seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creativity, taste and execution make for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Creativity, taste and execution make for a wonderful combination in each fish, showcasing a combination of ingredients with flavors that are sublime. Not really geared for the low carb crowd, they'll happily modify the menu for those trying to stay in the zone. I'm from NYC and I've got to admit, it rarely gets better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Favorite St. Louis Dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Love this place. Fantastic meal. High quality ingredients interestingly prepared. Servers are excellent and personable. I go back every time I'm in St. Louis

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and even better service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic food and even better service. The Tavern does it all right, we will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Really liked the restaurant. Had a littl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really liked the restaurant. Had a little trouble accomdatiing my wife's garlic allergy. Need to call in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We ordered French toast, not stuffed Fre ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered French toast, not stuffed French toast. They served the latter. They replaced with the former, but, charged us for the latter.

The fenced patio was quite nice. The table staff were just okay.

Fifty dollars for, for two, for brunch, without alcohol, is pricey. Even for the CWE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great brunch place!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great service, really good food and an awesome drink menu. Great place to meet up with friends and enjoy a relaxing fun brunch. The server was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Awesome Breakfast

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our third time for brunch and everyone we have taken here loves it. It has great selections whether you want sweet or savory and the portions are huge so sharing is easy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This is some of the best food I've had since moving to St. Louis. And the service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Typically we love Tavern. This was disappointing.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The lamb chop special was poor. The fish was way overcooked. The service was ok and waitress was annoying - way too personal and wouldn't leave one member of our party alone.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was amazing and our waiter did ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter did a great job providing a fun atmosphere! Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A bit pricy but outstanding food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This was my second time at The Tavern and in both cases I had the tuna though cooked differently each time (you choose your fish and them match it to one of several cooking "styles"), and in both cases it was outstanding. As far as appetizers go, I had the duck gravy poutine one time and the shrimp and grits the other. Both were great, especially the shrimps where the "grits" part ended being tasty without being too heavy or oily.

My colleagues had other dishes with which they were equally happy.

Portions are large so in both cases we ended-up skipping dessert.

There is a vegetarian/gluten free menu, and while it offers slightly more choice than the usual single vegetarian dish that is in order in many restaurants, don't expect as wide a variety of choices as on the regular menu.

The decor is of rustic style and while the ceilings are high and the walls bricks, the noise level was low and we could easily carry out conversations without having to strain one's ear.

The wine list is OK though not particular original or expansive. They do have a list of bottled beers and cocktails.

The prices are a tad higher than in other CWE stalwarts but not by much, and the food is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sunday brunch: 1) wonderful waiter, Jos ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Sunday brunch:

1) wonderful waiter, Joshua

2) chef's Benedict great (should be for $21) with chorizo and beer cheese sauce, but the hash & eggs were really disappointing. We had the same dish several weeks ago and the hash was filled with Brussels sprouts, pork belly and pancetta. Today's was 99% potatoes. This made for an ultra dry dish, really disappointing! The vegetarian hash was equally bad, again a plate of potatoes. I'm not sure we'll return, which is a shame, since we do Sunday brunch frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Very pleased!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious! Great service and atmosphere! My new favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The menu is unique and everything I had was soo delicious I had go go back within a weeks time! Staff was very attentive and the vibe is chill and fresh. Can't wait to try the brunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, excellent food

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Accomoddated our late arrival for reservation with warm welcome and excellent service.

Food will make us want to go back again and again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was ok - service great

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

we had the ribs and lobster pot stickers. I think they use the same sauce for both dishes, at least it seemed that way. way too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good as West Tavern.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Not as good as West Tavern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Some of the most delectable food in St L ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Some of the most delectable food in St Louis! Expensive but worth it. Ask to sit in the back room away from the main entrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time, birthday, date night

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

From the hostess to the bartender to our wonderful server, everyone did a great job making our dining experience very, very good. I loved my wine, my husband had a couple great beers, the biscuits they bring to the table were exceptional! Poutin was an amazing appetizer. A seafood special with mussels, barramundi and scallops in saffron broth was perfect. My husband loved the meatloaf. Hats off to the hard working chefs in the kitchen!

We loved the vib of the place and will certainly return soon with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CWE Favorite

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

My second visit was better than the first one(which was excellent), really enjoyed the special desert of gooey butter cake topped with homemade Blueberry ice cream with sugared lemon twists. Scallops were great & my wife ordered your excellent burger again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem in the Central West End

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We've been fans of the original Tavern location for several years and thoroughly enjoyed the Tavern CWE. Excellent menu and everything really well prepared. The relatively simple menu belies a really wide variety of offerings. Seafood selections were excellent and the tasting boards are a must.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice, had a gift card, would come again. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Nice, had a gift card, would come again.

Beer was a little warm for our taste.

Service was very good, attentive.

Pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food and ambiance

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Went to The Tavern the other night and really enjoy the setting there. There was a lot to choose from and it was difficult to pick. The hamburger was good and the fish was great. I have also been there for brunch and had the veggie hash thing which was great.

My only criticism was that our empty plates sat for a while before being cleared.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my second time at The Tavern an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

This was my second time at The Tavern and it was much more of a let down this second time than my first. My first experience here was fantastic, food and service were beyond phenomenal, so when my friends asked where we should go for Sunday brunch I recommended this place. We had a party of 6, but myself and one other person arrived early. We were sat immediately by the kitchen line which I was excited about because I work in the industry, so I love to see how everything works. It took 26 minutes for someone to come over and touch our table, and that was after I stopped to say that we wanted coffee and no one had came to our table. After that everything was alright,not the best service but the food still came out outstanding. Unfortunate about the really delayed service, probably won't be back for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Good food and service, nice ambiance

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

After reading previous reviews, I was a bit apprehensive, but everything was fine. The servers were very nice, the food is good, the ambiance is pleasant. The restaurant is priced as if it wants to be towards the upper end of the St. Louis market; it is easy to spend $50 per person without drinks. The most interesting/best values are probably the tasting boards in the low $30's. The fish dishes, in the high $20's, were more standard. I will go back, but I'm in no hurry; it's just one CWE option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very Good but...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

This was very good however not as good as the West County location. The tasting boards had three items instead of four. I think I was just expecting more because I have been to the West County location twice. I did not know about the CWE until I went to make the reservation and because this was closer my our house we tried it. It was my hubby first time and after hearing about me rave about everything it was a little bit of a let down. We went for his birthday and they gave him a card which was super nice and the kids menu was great. If I were to go again I would choose to go out of my way to go to the West County location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A Disappointing Experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Recently went to the Tavern with friends for the first time. The ambience is pleasant enough, but we were immediately struck by the high prices. The food was OK, but not in any way outstanding or justifying the prices. One friend had the hamburger (quite ordinary) for $12; fries were an additional $5. The gnocchi with lobster was dry and the lobster chewy. The chicken saltimbocca was good, but nothing special. Our server was constantly asking us if we were ready to order after we told him we just wanted a bit of time to relax before ordering and he later told one of my friends that the reason the gnocchi with lobster was dry was because my friend didn't eat it immediately. I will not be going back to the Tavern. A very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Interesting menu, tasty dishes, with ver ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Interesting menu, tasty dishes, with very good service. Prices a bit on the high side for the overall experience. Worth a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.