Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Open Kitchen (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Romantic (10)
Fun (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

This was first time at the central west end location. My partner and I ordered shrimp and grits and the chicken and waffles . The shrimp and grits were served cold, the chicken and waffle were pretty good but would have expected a garnish or some unique twist. Both of us agreed that the food was not up to the other locations dinners that we had had before.
Most bothersome was the check was inaccuarate. After we left we added up the cost of the items and realized that we must have been given another persons bill. We had been over charged by at least 30 bucks.
My friend said that he overheard another table talking about an inaccuarate bill as well.
This is such a nice location. Hopefully it will get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a nice seat by the window and the service was excellent from seating to goodbye. The starter was good, but not spectacular. Also shared a beet salad which was delicious. I ordered the seafood trio; very good, but wasn't very hot. My fiancée had the surf and turf; same for her food. The desserts sounded excellent, but we were too full to partake. The Tavern is one of my go-to restaurants and I will absolutely be back. I did feel a bit of a breeze from the air conditioning, so maybe that was the problem with the food being cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter brunch. Everything was great. My husband only complaint was that I called a few weeks before reservation to see if menu would be pre fixe since it was Easter. I was told it would not be. I based my decision to book reservation on that info. When we arrived, it was pre fixe. Food was fabulous, but like limited. Disappointing when that happens. The carrot cake donuts were sublime. We honestly could have had those and nothing else. My frittata was overcooked. Husband loved chicken and waffles. Coffee good and service great. Would go back but not on a holiday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Took my wife here for a night out and had a great experience. Wonderful server and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Second visit a disappointment. The romaine lettuce in my salad was brown on the edges which should never happen. The seafood trio tasting board was disappointing. The stir-fry Ahi portion had very little flavor. The mahi was also nondescript. The crusted salmon was the best of the three. Very pretty presentation and good portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

TTFD ( time to first drink) was too long. Nobody waited on us. Pasta dish was terrible.. way too salty.. told that to the person that finally waited on us.. and he said.. oh., I'll let the kitchen know... no concession at all for the crummy food. A bit Expensive,, dinner for three 200+ bucks, it'll be a while before we are back., disappointed since we had good meals there before. Maybe just an off night,,

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had two of the boards that we both shared. Service was very good and the food spectacular.Dessert is a must have. Looking forward to our return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was wonderful, the CWE location is great, valet parking was perfect for my friend in crutches. The service was slow abs the waitress didn't check on us nearly enough. I've had better service there in the past though. Highly recommend checking this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our food was delicious and our dining experience was made more enjoyable by our gracious server, Elana.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Went on a date for dinner. Sushi appetizer was great and the tasting board was amazing. The fish was delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Everything went well for our business meeting! Food and service was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great as always. Guests were impressed with trio selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Nice menu, good service, good portion size, quick seating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very good mix of flavors.The tuna sushi roll for appetizer was unbelievable.Is little pricey but worth it

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food
Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere were all terrific! It was our first visit, but will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic service, food, and experience. Will absolutely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food. Each dish on the tasting boards was delicious. The half baked cookie is a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Meh! Underwhelming. Nothing wrong with place. Just didn't think it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My second time here and it's definitely on the list for a repeat. Service was great and the food was outstanding. I will return

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices and a wonderful wait staff. It can be a little loud early on when at total capacity, but ambiance is still very nice, especially if you like a high energy room!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was looking for a nice place to take clients to dinner in St Louis. Not real familiar with that city, so relied on reviews and online menus. Got really lucky finding this place. It couldn't have turned out much better. Tavern Kitchen was fantastic. Excellent food with a unique menu and top-notch service. Starters seemed pretty pricey but mains were fairly priced IMO. Overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The short ribs are nothing short of amazing, and melt in your mouth. Gooey butter cake dessert was a perfect end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had great time our waiters was so sweet also from California, made reservation for May 17 for PRE graduation dinner

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The cookie skillet was out of this world! (My tavern burger and spinach salad were also wonderful, and the service was fantastic)

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always willing to pay higher prices for exceptional meals. The restaurant did not live up to that standard. Above average food quality, low service quality, service and quality did not matching the price charged for entrées based on overall Value.
Really bad reception and vibe given by the maitre de well walking in. Not warmly welcomed, no smile and quite short and snippy attitude

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The menu offers something for everyone, and everything is rich in flavor. The service is excellent, and the atmosphere is wonderful. Parking can be a challenge in the area, so if you are making a reservation be sure to allow time to park the car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The new TKB brunch trio is fantastic: shrimp & grits,
country fried steak and a blueberry ricotta pancake, which you should eat last as a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time at the Euclid incarnation of Tavern Market and first time for brunch. The trios are a great way to sample many tastes. The Lobster benigets sounded better than they tasted. Chicken and waffles was the perfect pairing of texture and flavor

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went for the first time for an Anniversary. Dining was nothing short of spectacular! The food was amazing. Honestly, top 3 restaurant that I've ever been to. Music was perfect for the setting along with a relaxed environment. Emily, our waitress, did a very very fine job as well. Going back for sure!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first trip. It's located in the CWE and offered valet parking which helps. We were seated promptly and the server brought over some freshly baked biscuits which were very good. There were 3 of us and we wound up ordering the Tasting Board appetizer which was a combination of 3 of the offerings. My daughter especially like the Island Meatballs. The ahi tuna was good as was the other offering. For dinner 2 of us ordered the Tasting Board entree which is similar to the appetizer in the sense that you are given a sample of 3 different entrees. My wife ordered salmon from the fish selections. Overall, the food was good, not great. At what averaged out to $65 pp with drinks, I would expect the food to be better than good. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We have had a few lovely meals at The Tavern Kitchen, but on this occasion the kitchen was a disappointment. I ordered the surf and turf board, and my complaint centers on the flavor of the grilled beef. There was an overpowering flavor of char from the grill. Perhaps the grill grates needed a cleaning? Our other entree was the short rib tagliatelle. It was peculiar and excessively sweet, like someone emptied a jar of jelly into the meat sauce. My beet salad was nice, and our server was very pleasant. We'll give this restaurant another try next month or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing duck carbonara!!
Everything we ate was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always a great experience. I would be comfortable bringing anyone here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Service was out of this world! Excellent!!! The Oak Plank was delicious. Great music and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service, ambiance, and food. The complimentary bread is amazing. Drinks are delicious as well. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time and already can't wait for our third time. Amazing food, excellent drinks, and great service. Our new favorite restaurant in St. Louis!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

First visit here for my husband's birthday.
A very nice place for dinner, good wine and excellent food, extremely accomodating to vegetarian diners.
We will be back here again for a nice, casual dinner or evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.