Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 19 times today

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

4.8
317 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 5 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm-Close
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm
Mondays: Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 696-8400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ryan Stupka
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McPhearson
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

View Private Dining Details
What 317 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Food is always amazing here. The entire staff is friendly and approachable, rare these days. Been here numerous times and have always been totally satisfied

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The Tavern always has outstanding food but the decor , service and ambiance of CWE Tavern
was exceptional. The decor is beautiful, the outside sitting is plentiful and reminds me of a Parisian cafe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We were seated outside. Food was delicious and Cameron our server was dynamite. He gave an excellent overview of the menu, made great recommendations and made our first dining experience a very memorable one. Will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great service. Server was very attentive. Food was awesome. We had the crab fritters, pot stickers, pork tenderloin and burgers. Hard to find great fries these days, but these had great seasoning and were delicious! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was creative and most importantly delicious. Our waitress was welcoming and took great care of us. Will go back again for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The food is outstanding. We shared a series of appetizers and then chose tasting platters. Presentation was very well done and flavors excellent. Overall very creative and interesting, without being outlandish. Service was professional and courteous, but not overly friendly. One of our friends runs a restaurant himself and quite enjoyed the whole experience. Note that this restaurant is a little on the pricey side, but it's justified. We definitely plan to come back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

The special “date night” dinner of our month long RV trip in the mid-west. It was a special selection that we would gladly make again. Our waiter, Camron, was a perfect blend of being invisible yet always there when you wanted something. His recommendations were spot on. We started with perfectly crafted martinis and an appetizer “Taste of the Tavern Board” essentially a sampler of favorites. For our main course, my bride had scallops with green curry while I chose to continue the sampler idea with a “Surf & Turf Board”. We were both delighted with our choices and thought everything was seasoned to produce maximum flavor. Next time our travels take us to St. Louis, the Tavern will be on our itinerary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This was my first time dining here. Food was amazing! Great place to Sunday Brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Brunch with out of town guests. We r fans of the original location for dinner so decided to try CWE for brunch. We sat outdoors on a gorgeous day — Food, drinks and service was excellent. A little something for everyone including a kid and gluten free menu too. So glad we came and will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great food! Very cool vibe. However, service was quite rushed for the price point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Service was great, food was great... overall a very good experience. Looking forward to returning soon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The service was very very good. This was my second time and I just don't think the food is on par with the prices. If you charge $45 for a steak it better be perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Always a winning choice. Awesome job team!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great food and great service is a nice combination. Located in hot local area--Central West End.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Great atmosphere good food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Fun place - friendly staff, comfortable setting, warm and vibrant vibe, creative food that was delicious and artful without being stuffy. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

What a nice restaurant! We enjoyed our evening, celebrating our daughter's graduation!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My husband and I enjoyed brunch on Mother’s Day, my only disappointment was that the menu was limited... they removed some key choices... Lobster Beignet!
Wait staff was awesome... Drinks (Momosa and Bloody Mary) were tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I took my mom here for brunch on mother’s day and it was perfect! Food was great, service was wonderful, and the patio is a great place to enjoy the neighborhood! I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

We love this restaurant! Cameron is our favorite waiter and he is very knowledgeable of the menu and makes the entire dining experience fun and engaging. The atmosphere is perfect for dinner (outside or inside) and we look forward to returning again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

One quick point on my noise ranking. The restaurant was full when we arrive but started emptying out by 8:30 and it made a huge difference. I would try to go at a slightly off hour. Regardless, I would go by, because the food was

The sesame potstickers and the surf and turf sushi were good appetizers, but personally, I would try a salad or soup dish next time. Two of us ordered the seafood trio and loved it. My son said the filet mignon was great. I think the trios set The Tavern apart from other restaurants and I strongly recommend trying one of them.

It was a special occasion for her us because it is on the pricy side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We were greeted immediately and seated, even though we arrived early. Our server, Logan, was very attentive without being intrusive. The menu choices were great. We loved the fact that you can select a trio of seafood or beef and enjoy more than one of their excellent entrees. We also liked the asparagus with the Norwegian bacon and over-easy egg. Very interesting. The chocolate chip cookie in the cast iron pan, served with peanut butter mousse and ice cream was absolutely amazing. We highly recommended it to the table next to us as they were debating on dessert. No disappointed people there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

25th wedding anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Loved the new menu unveiled this week!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

What restaurant doesn’t have milk for tea on a Sunday for brunch and has a million excuses as to why it doesn’t have milk, very bizarre

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Wonderful experience! Tremendous food and drinks, great service. One of the best gluten free menus we have found anywhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Always an excellent meal with awesome service. Our favorite neighborhood restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had a great first dining experience. The waitress Emily asked us if we had any dietary restrictions and worked with the kitchen staff to accommodate our requests. The food was very good and we enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. A very nice find. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great food and enjoyable experience. We were right by the kitchen so it was very loud with lots of activity. Nothing ruinous but a bit distracting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Celebrating a birthday w/friends ... the restaurant has a great vibe w/amazing food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent meal with great service from Logan. Really enjoyed the tasting board concept. Delicious half-baked chocolate chip cookie with ice cream for our anniversary dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great food and wonderful craft cocktails! Ambience is perfect for date night or friends get together! Service was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Date night with my husband—-this was our first visit, but certainly won’t be our last! Amazing food and service! The pull apart Parmesan bread served was very tasty. The tasting boards are a must... great introduction to their menu choices... all fabulous! We topped off the meal with the 1/2 baked chocolate chip skillet cookie w/ ice cream.... OMG Delicious! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Perfect Love dining there - I’ll be back. The service was exceptional not just everyday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My family and I selected The Tavern CWE for our Easter brunch. We've never visited this location before, but we love the West County restaurant. The place was moderately full, although the furthest dining room was almost empty. We were seated in the room closest to the kitchen. Not only was this a constant walk through area, but it was freezing cold in there! I'm sure, in part, to keep the cooks cool while making dishes, but I was miserable, as was everyone else in the room! All the guests kept their coats on while eating! The food was so-so. I had to send back my eggs because they weren't cooked to order. I definitely wouldn't return here for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The menu online was not the menu they had today so a few of the things we came specifically for were not available. The trios they offer, for lunch and dinner, are one of the reasons I love this place so we missed that being offered today.
However, the food we did order was delicious! The espresso glaze with the chocolate donuts was amazing. The Tavern burger with egg was one of the best burgers I’ve had in a while. The chicken and waffles were good, but the chicken was a little dry. Service as always was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Have been to both locations multiple times. Very disappointed in the Easter Brunch menu. Was much more interested in the menu for Easter Brunch at the West County location. Didn't realize that location would be open for Easter when I made the reservation. I am not sure it has been in the past. Not sure why the menus were not the same. This was our 3rd year in a row having brunch here at CWE location and likely our last. Ordered the Avocado toast appetizer. Not good, soggy bread, uncooked egg. Some of the egg was still clear, not even white. Chicken & Waffles was good. Couldn't believe we were in and out in 45 minutes, felt kind of rushed. Tavern has always been a favorite of ours, but this experience left me doubting if I would return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Delicious! The menu was well thought out. The food was amazing and the fish was very fresh. I enjoyed the open kitchen atmosphere. Our waitress was very friendly and knowlegeable. It was overall a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8