Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
People Watching (9)
Casual (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Scenic View (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was great, food very good
A bit on the pricey side

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Another wonderful evening at the Tavern! Awesome service and a fabulous meal. Thanks to the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Although we LOVE The Tavern for special occasion dinners we didn't have the best experience this time around. My husband and I were celebrating his birthday (hostess was aware) and a table with 4 toddlers were seated next to us. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for small & active children... we were bummed we didn't have the "adult/romantic" ambience on our date night (away from our children).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was phenomenal! From start to finish our waitress was attentive and informative. Her recommendations were terrific. I got the strawberry gazpacho and my wife the beet and artichoke salad to start. Wonderful summer fare. The entrees were perfect size and delicious. We'll be back. Only drawback was the noisy street busker competing with the restaurant sound system.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I rarely say the service was incredible, but it was perfect! The food was absolutely amazing, as well. We LOVED this place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Husband & I decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary upon the recommendation of friends who used to live in St. Louis area. We weren't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed the menu flight boards to take advantage of the different chef preparations. Husband & I shared each other's seafood and filet flights after treating ourselves to the surf & turf sushi rolls! Loved them! Enjoyed the filet flight better than the seafood flight but it was nice to have the variety to enjoy! Dessert was delicious with gooey butter cake with blueberry ice cream. Service was friendly and efficient with team approach. Ambience is perfect for celebration and location in Central West End offered a nice walk after dinner before returning to hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a reservation with Open Table. When we arrived we were 'encouraged ' not to dine outside due to the long wait. So we accepted a table inside. Then we watched from our window seat as several tables turned within 5 minutes

Inside the music playing was New Age with a constant 'thumping' of the bass. Very difficult to have a conversation over and poor dinner music, fine for a bar, but not a meal with friends

Our server was attentive and did a nice job

The entrée of fish was bland and over cooked. A real disappointment as the fish looked to be of good quality

Nice wine selection by the glass

Based on reviews we were expecting something far better then we received

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food, music and overall service was amazing!! can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service and food. Nice to be remembered and to have favorites and food allergies on file.
Meal was amazing and service by Brian was stellar!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was great. However, the noise level so loud that we had to lean forward and shout to hear one another. I get that the brick interior is authentic, but something to reduce noise needs to be done. Despite the great food, I wouldn't go back until this is addressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Love, love, love the Tavern. One of our favorites and consistently excellent service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and great menu. They were busy when we were there, a bit of a wait for service, however the food was very good! We will certainly go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was our first visit to The Tavern. We really enjoyed it. Food is a little on the pricey side, but excellent quality and presentation. Great atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I went there for the first time with my monthly brunch gals today for Sunday Brunch. Everything was incredible. Service was amazing, food was the bomb (the lobster beignets were my fave), drinks were delicious, patio was perfect. Not a single complaint possible. Absolutely going back to try dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love dining at The Tavern! For me, A must start is the Dorothy Gale signature cocktail, followed with the warm parmesan cheese bread nosh. Since scallops are my favorite, I always try a new method of prep and have never been disappointed! My husband is partial to The Tavern's special brew, Coal Train, provided by O'Fallon Brewery and swears that The Tavern has
the Best Burgers in town! Inside or out , the atmosphere is Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were seated at the table by the kitchen which was so loud we had to shout to hear one another. We had a late (8:30) reservation but were disappointed at the number of options from their menu that they were out of for the night. Seated in a different section and having the full menu I expect we would have really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was an absolutely perfect fit for our anniversary dinner! The staff was attentive without being oppressive, and did a great job of introducing us to the restaurant. We had the surf and turf tasting board, and also grilled sea scallops. The food was delicious and servings were generous. We were delightfully surprised by the sangria--refreshing without being overly sweet. I highly recommend The Tavern!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Do not overlook the stuffed biscuit for brunch. It's on the sides menu, but per our waitress's recommendation made an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food and a good variety of choices. The trio of offerings on some of the menu options was great for first-timers to try many things!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What a great brunch spot! The food was amazing! The wait staff were so helpful and friendly. They all seemed so happy and glad to be there. A very refreshing environment! I have already recommended this spot to a friend. This will be my new go to spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really a great experience. Food was creative but not too crazy, which is a good thing...didnt try too hard. I liked their unique options w the tasting boards. Hanger steak and mahi mahi were delish!

Our server was perfect. Im terrible and dont remember her name. Tall long dark almost black hair maybe in her 20s.... she was fabulous. Thanks for making our trip from Kansas City great! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Lovely dinner with outstanding food in the Central West End. Perfect to celebrate our son's graduation from Washington University. We loved the flights of seafood. Such a great idea to provide small portions of different preparations so you get to try different things and don't have to choose and miss out. More restaurants should do this.
We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding all around. Service was fantastic, food delicious and different.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious treat for Mother's Day. Our service was incredible, food delish, just a great experience overall.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Very good food presentation and food taste. I ordered a three ontre small plate and it was excellent. The waiter was also very good and informative. She recommended a bottle of red wine that was very good. We very much enjoy eating at the Tavern.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Love the atmosphere and the yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The Tavern is one of my absolute favorites in the CWE. We come here for anniversaries and date nights. We get amazing food every time and the ambiance is excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I love this place. The food is always excellent, and I especially like that you can choose your protein and then select among a range of preparations and flavor profiles. They do a lot with cast iron too, from great bread to yummy sides to wonderful desserts

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very average meal at The Tavern. The poke appetizer was very good but the bbq shrimp were very hot and missing flavor. The Filet topped with Ravioli sounded much better then it tasted. The ravioli was rather dry. We asked for extra blue cheese to add some flavor which helped but was surprised to be charged an extra dollar per entre for the the cheese. The best thing we had were the french fries. The broccolini sides were nicely cooked but barely warm. We usually go to the Tavern out west so may go back to the other place as this Tavern does not seem to have the same food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Probably my favorite meal I've ever had! Or at least one of my top 3. The food was simply amazing! The service, ambiance, decor did not disappoint. You must make this your next date night. And trust me- get the beet salad and squid ink linguine with scallops!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent but limited options. All items are fresh .. beet salad out of this world good and the burger off the ala carte menu with an egg, which was the referral idea I had was excellent. Decent bottle beer menu but they were out of a few things on the list.. all in all i would absolutely return and try the plank fish option for the fish or beef trio.... good spot, casual but
Fun for a group of 2-6 .... choices are not basics so its a spot for foodies ....

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My experience was amazing, the food was awesome and the service was spectacular. I'll be returning

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our food was delicious and our waitress, Hannah, was amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Visit The Tavern every time I'm in Saint Louis...updated the menu for the season change--AMAZING per usual!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was first time at the central west end location. My partner and I ordered shrimp and grits and the chicken and waffles . The shrimp and grits were served cold, the chicken and waffle were pretty good but would have expected a garnish or some unique twist. Both of us agreed that the food was not up to the other locations dinners that we had had before.
Most bothersome was the check was inaccuarate. After we left we added up the cost of the items and realized that we must have been given another persons bill. We had been over charged by at least 30 bucks.
My friend said that he overheard another table talking about an inaccuarate bill as well.
This is such a nice location. Hopefully it will get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Had a nice seat by the window and the service was excellent from seating to goodbye. The starter was good, but not spectacular. Also shared a beet salad which was delicious. I ordered the seafood trio; very good, but wasn't very hot. My fiancée had the surf and turf; same for her food. The desserts sounded excellent, but we were too full to partake. The Tavern is one of my go-to restaurants and I will absolutely be back. I did feel a bit of a breeze from the air conditioning, so maybe that was the problem with the food being cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter brunch. Everything was great. My husband only complaint was that I called a few weeks before reservation to see if menu would be pre fixe since it was Easter. I was told it would not be. I based my decision to book reservation on that info. When we arrived, it was pre fixe. Food was fabulous, but like limited. Disappointing when that happens. The carrot cake donuts were sublime. We honestly could have had those and nothing else. My frittata was overcooked. Husband loved chicken and waffles. Coffee good and service great. Would go back but not on a holiday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Took my wife here for a night out and had a great experience. Wonderful server and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.