HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

4.7
263 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 696-8400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Harold Sexauer
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McPhearson
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

View Private Dining Details
What 263 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined 6 days ago

We were visiting from out of town. We were looking for a restaurant with an interesting menu with healthy choices. We were very pleased with the options and recommendations from the waitstaff. We selected the Seafood Trio Tasting Board and all of the dishes were delicious and unique. We highly recommend The Tavern.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Fanfuckintastic

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service were both excellent, parking is a bit of a challenge so arrive a little early.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Kansas City)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Food very good and kitchen was fast. Service is also excellent

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 12, 2018

Staff was friendly and food was amazing!!!!! Will go there again soon.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was great and service was great and very friendly

Report
Helpful
vipCatherineR (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

I always love the food here and I’m so happy to hear that they also help the community with collecting donations for first responders.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Wonderful! Had a get together with girlfriends of mine and it was the perfect atmosphere! We ordered a few dishes to share as well as our own entrees and the food was delicious. Great wine selection as well.

Report
Helpful
vipAryan (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Ny favorite restaurant in the US for brunch was Norma’s in NYC until Sunday at The Tavern. The trio with the ricotta pancake was amazing and I can’t quit talking about it. My husband had the Chicken and Waffle and it was also wonderful. Even the Mimosa was delicious. The service was perfect. I can’t wait to go back for dinner. I give this a full 10!!!

Report
Helpful
vipKitty (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on January 12, 2018

They have a separate menu for vegetarians if you tell them

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

It was ok. Nothing special. Overpriced. Maybe just bad because it was New Years eve.

Report
Helpful
Michael (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent Food, Great Fish, Good Service and comfortable ambiance.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2017

Fantastic service and food. Would go again next time I am in town!

Report
Helpful
PinotFan (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

First time at this location, many times at the West County one. Biggest disappointment is no chef's counter at CWE. Was somewhat cold in the restaurant, especially when the door got stuck open for several minutes. Our server Logan was great, and did a great jot explaining all the various menu items. To me it is basically the same menu at both locations. When I go back it will definitely be to the West County location. Much better ambience plus chef's counter!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

My guests from Austin loved everything: good, ambiance, service. Recommend opening a branch in Texas!

Report
Helpful
mikeo (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

This would have been a very good dining experience, except for one thing: some of the foods were just too hot to be pleasant. By hot I mean spicy hot, except that the the hotness did not carry additional flavor- it was just hot. I had a fish sampler with three different fish prepared in different ways. Both the curry and the Asian sauces were hot enough to detract from the fish. I like spicy food, and can tolerate much hotter, but I don’t see the point of sacrificing flavor. My wife is more sensitive, and did not finish her curry dish. We ate here about two years ago, and had no problems, so maybe it’s a case of creeping hotness. Not sure if we'll be back, but everything else was fine.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

The Tavern never disappoints. I’ve been bragging about this place for months and finally got to take my sister. She loved it just as much as me!

Report
Helpful
Shelley (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on December 16, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Great food, service and atmosphere. One of the best in the city

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on December 8, 2017

this isn't the first time we have dined at The Tavern and won't be the last. Pomegranate martini...yum. Must try - their version of chicken parmesan or the surf and turf (three small dishes)...YUM!
Great for Birthday, Anniversary and date night.

Report
Helpful
vipSamiam (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on December 2, 2017

If you order any of the off-the-menu specials, be prepared to be charged an arm and a leg. They’re substantially higher than anything on the regular meno.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on November 29, 2017

This was my fifth time to The Tavern. I have never had a bad meal or experience and continue to be impressed with their menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on November 24, 2017

Great drinks...chicken parm and burger were amazing...will go back

Report
Helpful
vipDanielleT (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on November 19, 2017

As always, the Tavern is a wonderful place for brunch with family or a great gathering place for dinner or a date night. The food and drinks are always great, the service is friendly and on point and the atmosphere is sophisticated yet relaxed. We love it!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on November 18, 2017

Great server, sorry, can’t remember his name.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
3.0  Dined on November 14, 2017

The appetizers and sides were amazing but the filet was REALLY under-seasoned and squid ink in a dish should never ever be overpowered by tomato (in my opinion), plus my mahi mahi was really dry. Would not waste another $200 on a meal here again. Save yourself and go somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
4.0  Dined on November 6, 2017

Made our sons 21st birthday celebration special!
Delicious surf & turf appetizer

Report
Helpful
qwertry (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on November 3, 2017

Kristen took great care of us and we had a nice experience

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
2.0  Dined on October 27, 2017

I have eaten at the Taven many times. This was the worst experience I have ever had. The Hanger steak was in etable and to pay a premium price is terrible. The main course came out before we were even done with our salad. To pay these prices for bad food and to be rushed out is not the way to treat customers.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (St. Louis)
2.0  Dined on October 27, 2017

Appetizers were very good. The entrées left much to be desired for- food dry and flavorless. The wait staff was sub par to average- had to ask for my check to sign after he had already cashed out the tab.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9