Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Great for Brunch (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Fun (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Casual (12)
Romantic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
People Watching (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (9)
Cozy (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were seated at the table by the kitchen which was so loud we had to shout to hear one another. We had a late (8:30) reservation but were disappointed at the number of options from their menu that they were out of for the night. Seated in a different section and having the full menu I expect we would have really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This was an absolutely perfect fit for our anniversary dinner! The staff was attentive without being oppressive, and did a great job of introducing us to the restaurant. We had the surf and turf tasting board, and also grilled sea scallops. The food was delicious and servings were generous. We were delightfully surprised by the sangria--refreshing without being overly sweet. I highly recommend The Tavern!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Do not overlook the stuffed biscuit for brunch. It's on the sides menu, but per our waitress's recommendation made an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food and a good variety of choices. The trio of offerings on some of the menu options was great for first-timers to try many things!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What a great brunch spot! The food was amazing! The wait staff were so helpful and friendly. They all seemed so happy and glad to be there. A very refreshing environment! I have already recommended this spot to a friend. This will be my new go to spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really a great experience. Food was creative but not too crazy, which is a good thing...didnt try too hard. I liked their unique options w the tasting boards. Hanger steak and mahi mahi were delish!

Our server was perfect. Im terrible and dont remember her name. Tall long dark almost black hair maybe in her 20s.... she was fabulous. Thanks for making our trip from Kansas City great! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely dinner with outstanding food in the Central West End. Perfect to celebrate our son's graduation from Washington University. We loved the flights of seafood. Such a great idea to provide small portions of different preparations so you get to try different things and don't have to choose and miss out. More restaurants should do this.
We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Outstanding all around. Service was fantastic, food delicious and different.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious treat for Mother's Day. Our service was incredible, food delish, just a great experience overall.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very good food presentation and food taste. I ordered a three ontre small plate and it was excellent. The waiter was also very good and informative. She recommended a bottle of red wine that was very good. We very much enjoy eating at the Tavern.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Love the atmosphere and the yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The Tavern is one of my absolute favorites in the CWE. We come here for anniversaries and date nights. We get amazing food every time and the ambiance is excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I love this place. The food is always excellent, and I especially like that you can choose your protein and then select among a range of preparations and flavor profiles. They do a lot with cast iron too, from great bread to yummy sides to wonderful desserts

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very average meal at The Tavern. The poke appetizer was very good but the bbq shrimp were very hot and missing flavor. The Filet topped with Ravioli sounded much better then it tasted. The ravioli was rather dry. We asked for extra blue cheese to add some flavor which helped but was surprised to be charged an extra dollar per entre for the the cheese. The best thing we had were the french fries. The broccolini sides were nicely cooked but barely warm. We usually go to the Tavern out west so may go back to the other place as this Tavern does not seem to have the same food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Probably my favorite meal I've ever had! Or at least one of my top 3. The food was simply amazing! The service, ambiance, decor did not disappoint. You must make this your next date night. And trust me- get the beet salad and squid ink linguine with scallops!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent but limited options. All items are fresh .. beet salad out of this world good and the burger off the ala carte menu with an egg, which was the referral idea I had was excellent. Decent bottle beer menu but they were out of a few things on the list.. all in all i would absolutely return and try the plank fish option for the fish or beef trio.... good spot, casual but
Fun for a group of 2-6 .... choices are not basics so its a spot for foodies ....

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 4, 2017

My experience was amazing, the food was awesome and the service was spectacular. I'll be returning

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our food was delicious and our waitress, Hannah, was amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Visit The Tavern every time I'm in Saint Louis...updated the menu for the season change--AMAZING per usual!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was first time at the central west end location. My partner and I ordered shrimp and grits and the chicken and waffles . The shrimp and grits were served cold, the chicken and waffle were pretty good but would have expected a garnish or some unique twist. Both of us agreed that the food was not up to the other locations dinners that we had had before.
Most bothersome was the check was inaccuarate. After we left we added up the cost of the items and realized that we must have been given another persons bill. We had been over charged by at least 30 bucks.
My friend said that he overheard another table talking about an inaccuarate bill as well.
This is such a nice location. Hopefully it will get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Had a nice seat by the window and the service was excellent from seating to goodbye. The starter was good, but not spectacular. Also shared a beet salad which was delicious. I ordered the seafood trio; very good, but wasn't very hot. My fiancée had the surf and turf; same for her food. The desserts sounded excellent, but we were too full to partake. The Tavern is one of my go-to restaurants and I will absolutely be back. I did feel a bit of a breeze from the air conditioning, so maybe that was the problem with the food being cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Came for Easter brunch. Everything was great. My husband only complaint was that I called a few weeks before reservation to see if menu would be pre fixe since it was Easter. I was told it would not be. I based my decision to book reservation on that info. When we arrived, it was pre fixe. Food was fabulous, but like limited. Disappointing when that happens. The carrot cake donuts were sublime. We honestly could have had those and nothing else. My frittata was overcooked. Husband loved chicken and waffles. Coffee good and service great. Would go back but not on a holiday.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Took my wife here for a night out and had a great experience. Wonderful server and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Second visit a disappointment. The romaine lettuce in my salad was brown on the edges which should never happen. The seafood trio tasting board was disappointing. The stir-fry Ahi portion had very little flavor. The mahi was also nondescript. The crusted salmon was the best of the three. Very pretty presentation and good portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

TTFD ( time to first drink) was too long. Nobody waited on us. Pasta dish was terrible.. way too salty.. told that to the person that finally waited on us.. and he said.. oh., I'll let the kitchen know... no concession at all for the crummy food. A bit Expensive,, dinner for three 200+ bucks, it'll be a while before we are back., disappointed since we had good meals there before. Maybe just an off night,,

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had two of the boards that we both shared. Service was very good and the food spectacular.Dessert is a must have. Looking forward to our return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was wonderful, the CWE location is great, valet parking was perfect for my friend in crutches. The service was slow abs the waitress didn't check on us nearly enough. I've had better service there in the past though. Highly recommend checking this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our food was delicious and our dining experience was made more enjoyable by our gracious server, Elana.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Went on a date for dinner. Sushi appetizer was great and the tasting board was amazing. The fish was delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Everything went well for our business meeting! Food and service was great!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great as always. Guests were impressed with trio selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Nice menu, good service, good portion size, quick seating.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very good mix of flavors.The tuna sushi roll for appetizer was unbelievable.Is little pricey but worth it

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food
Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere were all terrific! It was our first visit, but will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic service, food, and experience. Will absolutely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food. Each dish on the tasting boards was delicious. The half baked cookie is a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Meh! Underwhelming. Nothing wrong with place. Just didn't think it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My second time here and it's definitely on the list for a repeat. Service was great and the food was outstanding. I will return

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices and a wonderful wait staff. It can be a little loud early on when at total capacity, but ambiance is still very nice, especially if you like a high energy room!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.