About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Restaurant Photos

  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
3 More
Best Service
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Most Booked
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Central West End ›

Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Good for Groups (18)
Romantic (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food , friendly staff. Great outdo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food , friendly staff. Great outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, food was amazing, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing, and we can't wait to return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food ! Expensive though, but s ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious food ! Expensive though, but still delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meals were absolutely delicious; the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our meals were absolutely delicious; the food is creative and the presentation is artistic. Mandy, our server, was friendly and efficient and thoroughly familiar with the menu. She did an outstanding job. A memorable meal, although a bit pricey--but good value. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious - wish we had saved room for d ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious - wish we had saved room for dessert (which are home baked to order mid-meal), but we were full. This restaurant is suitable for people wishing to indulge calorically - or for those who would like to order clean, simple, fresh lower caloric options. Fresh fish and shrimp with different prep options. Our server was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and professional. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly, architecturally interesti ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very friendly, architecturally interesting restaurant. Flavorful food. Original cocktails. Great service. Will be back. Bread served hot in a cast iron skillet is unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was not the quality I have had ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was not the quality I have had there in the past. They did not bring us bread and it took several times asking to get it. Then, our side was forgotten completely. The entire time we were there out waiter seemed bother by us and definitely didn't give us the same service his other tables around us were getting. I will not go back to The Tavern in the CWE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The entire experience from start to fini ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The entire experience from start to finish was perfect. From the atmosphere, service to the delicious food, dinner at The Tavern was a wonderful evening! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Tavern CWE. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our first visit to Tavern CWE. My wife and I were with another couple. Everyone really enjoyed the cocktails and food, but the service really put it over the top. Our server, Jeff, was incredible. He was attentive and helpful throughout. This was truly one of our best dinning experiences in years. We will definitely be back for dinner and I would like to try brunch (I've heard great things).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I came for Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My husband and I came for Sunday brunch. We had eaten here for Easter Brunch and saw several things on the menu that we were interested in trying so we decided to come back.

For an appetizer we had the Lobster Beignets. My husband loved them. I thought they were good, but would opt to try something different next time. For our entrees my husband ordered the Country Fried Steak and I had the Waffle Trio. When our order arrived my husband said he wished he had gotten what I did. He said his Country Fried Steak was good, but mine looked better. I can tell you the Waffle Trio was amazing. I would definitely get it again. So, so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

our food was excellent we ranged from po ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

our food was excellent we ranged from pork to salmon to chicken and beef. All selections were great. Our server Mattie was outstanding and had a great knowledge of the menu. The noise level is a bit high, but I suppose if you ate outside it would be better. Overall I will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I have now been to this restaurant twice ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have now been to this restaurant twice and both times were excellent food and service. We sat outside both times, which is always my preference, so haven't dined inside. We took a couple with us the second time and they throughly enjoyed the experience too. Highly recommend the entrees and appetizers that have three choices on the same platter. It gives the chance to try several things at once and makes it easy to share. The desserts, which need to be ordered early in the meal so they can be freshly baked, were exquisite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rough start with seating due to water is ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Rough start with seating due to water issues, they got us to a new table. From then on, we had a marvelous meal. The lobster gnocchi & seafood tasting board were delicious. Dessert of gooey butter cake with blueberry ice cream is worth stuffing yourself for!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was good and our server was excelle ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was good and our server was excellent. I will definitely return and will recommend to others as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Tavern has many great things going f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Tavern has many great things going for them - excellent wine and delicious food. Very contemporary and modern feel. Only down side is it's a bit pricey.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

Can not find one thing wrong with this p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Can not find one thing wrong with this place...only problem is becomes a little loud because of the small space, but the food and service more than make up for it... Total 5 star recomendation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Since we love the Ballwin location we th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Since we love the Ballwin location we thought we'd give this a try for my birthday. It was really special. Service was attentive without being nosy, the menu had creative trios (I loved the seafood one) and my husband's halibut with the Asian slaw was probably among the best things we've ever put in our mouths! Cooked to perfection, not a dry piece and the seasoning was just right. I had the specialty Bourbon, peach concoction and my honey's amber beer was refreshing, just as it should be. Loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was wonderful, all in my party en ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Waiter was wonderful, all in my party enjoyed the evening! Food was very good but one of the board plates of fish was too spicy to eat. I loved my short ribs!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While the fish selection was appealing, ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

While the fish selection was appealing, the preparations offered were too involved, and they tended to be overdone (too many ingredients, etc.) How about a simple broiled fish filet. Don't need to pay for all those fancy preparations. The rest of the menu was limited and uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Just meeting a good friend for dinner at ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Just meeting a good friend for dinner at one of my favorite places. Went out on a limb and tried something new - the veggie sushi, and my friend had the regular. LOVED IT. Will be back specifically for it. Nice wine. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server made our experience ! She was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server made our experience ! She was wonderful and personable. We love your restaurant and go for birthdays and anniversaries. We can't wait to go back !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It may be my imagination, but the prices ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It may be my imagination, but the prices seem to have crept up here. A piece of fish for $40 is pretty high for St. Louis, and this restaurant can't justify it. I recall their other location being much more reasonably priced. As a result, I don't consider The Tavern in the CWE to be a good value and don't recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our first experience at The Tavern, foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our first experience at The Tavern, food was well presented, and absolutely fabulous! We had the Seafood Trio, each one was spectacular, very fresh, well prepared! Scallops were nicely seared, tender and fresh! The duck breast pasta entrée was incredible, as were all of the salads (beet salad, Caesar salad).

Service was excellent with great knowledge of the wine list and menu.

A nice atmosphere, great for business, romantic or just friend get together.

I will say, it was very impressive, everything was perfect, they know how to put it all together, service, ambiance, and cuisine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Lobster risotto, edamame, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing food! Lobster risotto, edamame, and the steak special with raisins...mind blowing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Personable service down to the bus boy. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Personable service down to the bus boy. Bread course was a iron cast pan of flaky, well seasoned biscuits-very delicious. Chicken Saltibocca, Duck pasta, Surf and Turf trio entrees were excellent, generous portions. We were new to the restaurant and plan to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Waiter was informative, food was good an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Waiter was informative, food was good and it was a perfect night for the outside seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creativity, taste and execution make for ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Creativity, taste and execution make for a wonderful combination in each fish, showcasing a combination of ingredients with flavors that are sublime. Not really geared for the low carb crowd, they'll happily modify the menu for those trying to stay in the zone. I'm from NYC and I've got to admit, it rarely gets better than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Favorite St. Louis Dining

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Love this place. Fantastic meal. High quality ingredients interestingly prepared. Servers are excellent and personable. I go back every time I'm in St. Louis

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and even better service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic food and even better service. The Tavern does it all right, we will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Really liked the restaurant. Had a littl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Really liked the restaurant. Had a little trouble accomdatiing my wife's garlic allergy. Need to call in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We ordered French toast, not stuffed Fre ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered French toast, not stuffed French toast. They served the latter. They replaced with the former, but, charged us for the latter.

The fenced patio was quite nice. The table staff were just okay.

Fifty dollars for, for two, for brunch, without alcohol, is pricey. Even for the CWE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great brunch place!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great service, really good food and an awesome drink menu. Great place to meet up with friends and enjoy a relaxing fun brunch. The server was very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Awesome Breakfast

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This was our third time for brunch and everyone we have taken here loves it. It has great selections whether you want sweet or savory and the portions are huge so sharing is easy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambiance!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This is some of the best food I've had since moving to St. Louis. And the service was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Typically we love Tavern. This was disappointing.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The lamb chop special was poor. The fish was way overcooked. The service was ok and waitress was annoying - way too personal and wouldn't leave one member of our party alone.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was amazing and our waiter did ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was amazing and our waiter did a great job providing a fun atmosphere! Will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A bit pricy but outstanding food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

This was my second time at The Tavern and in both cases I had the tuna though cooked differently each time (you choose your fish and them match it to one of several cooking "styles"), and in both cases it was outstanding. As far as appetizers go, I had the duck gravy poutine one time and the shrimp and grits the other. Both were great, especially the shrimps where the "grits" part ended being tasty without being too heavy or oily.

My colleagues had other dishes with which they were equally happy.

Portions are large so in both cases we ended-up skipping dessert.

There is a vegetarian/gluten free menu, and while it offers slightly more choice than the usual single vegetarian dish that is in order in many restaurants, don't expect as wide a variety of choices as on the regular menu.

The decor is of rustic style and while the ceilings are high and the walls bricks, the noise level was low and we could easily carry out conversations without having to strain one's ear.

The wine list is OK though not particular original or expansive. They do have a list of bottled beers and cocktails.

The prices are a tad higher than in other CWE stalwarts but not by much, and the food is worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sunday brunch: 1) wonderful waiter, Jos ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Sunday brunch:

1) wonderful waiter, Joshua

2) chef's Benedict great (should be for $21) with chorizo and beer cheese sauce, but the hash & eggs were really disappointing. We had the same dish several weeks ago and the hash was filled with Brussels sprouts, pork belly and pancetta. Today's was 99% potatoes. This made for an ultra dry dish, really disappointing! The vegetarian hash was equally bad, again a plate of potatoes. I'm not sure we'll return, which is a shame, since we do Sunday brunch frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Very pleased!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious! Great service and atmosphere! My new favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.