Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Brunch (11)
People Watching (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

We have dined at both the Tavern Kitchen locations in the past, but had not been there for Sunday brunch. We had no idea what we were missing. The brunch menu contained a wide variety sure to please any palate, including three brunch tasting boards. My wife (not a breakfast eater) exclaimed that the chicken-fried steak was her favorite even while admitting that she normally doesn't like breakfast, let alone chicken-fried steak. It was a great pre-Fox Sunday matinee meal and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

A gem ... Definitely one of my favorites. The food and service was very good. The atmosphere was very exciting/entertaining.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

we had reservations for 7pm and were surprised h0w alone we were surmised it was a carryover impact of the protests from a week earlier. they around 8pm, the place filled up

parking is an issue. no valet so we were a bit timid walking back to our car around 9:00

i would say that the waitstaff was wonderful. never intrusive. always available.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

One of, if not the, greatest brunches in Central West End. Waffles, pancakes, cocktails... everything so delicious. Only coffee to be improved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were seated in the back room which was deserted except for another party. Kind of dampened the fun of this place. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive, but the food was really only just good, not great. Pot stickers were dry and overdone. Desserts were the best part. Seemed like an "off" night for this well reviewed spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here. The food was delicious. The service was great. We would love to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Delicious dinner! Filet was superb. Loved the special bread before our meal. Great wine selection. Gooey butter cake was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Tavern is a good option for dinner and Sunday brunch. Service is usually very good, sometimes you get a moody waiter/waitress or bartender - not the case for this most recent visit. The Chef does seem passionate about making great food that isn't your typical ho-hum menu items... that's primarily why we come here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was great. Great team work with servers but one server wasn't very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have returned to The Tavern in Central West End multiple times. They do a phenomenal job all around. The food is consistently great and the service is exceptional. Their tasting boards provide a great food experience and the variety of options covers most tastes.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and great food! We celebrated a birthday and took a table outside since it was a beautiful evening. The chocolate chip cookie dessert was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Had a great anniversary meal this week. Service was perfect...friendly but not annoying...prompt but not rushed (thank you Elana) and the food was excellent...especially the Ahi Poke appetizer, the cocktails, and the half-baked cookie with espresso ice cream. We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to the Tavern for Anniversary and was not disappointed. Service was great like it always is. Very attentive staff - constantly filling empty glasses and paying attention to details. Food was ridiculously good. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the night. We will be back soon for more good times.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Tavern has a great, lively atmosphere with a classy cool crowd. The poke tuna appitizer is amazing (what I normally get as my entre) and their other fish options are pretty delish. Prepare to spend $27-$38 on an entre if you're doing fish, though. Plenty of salad options and apps, great wine and cocktail list. The patio is wonderful. Tavern is one of my favorite places in CWE and I take newcomers here quite a bit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Server was great, food very good
A bit on the pricey side

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Another wonderful evening at the Tavern! Awesome service and a fabulous meal. Thanks to the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Although we LOVE The Tavern for special occasion dinners we didn't have the best experience this time around. My husband and I were celebrating his birthday (hostess was aware) and a table with 4 toddlers were seated next to us. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for small & active children... we were bummed we didn't have the "adult/romantic" ambience on our date night (away from our children).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was phenomenal! From start to finish our waitress was attentive and informative. Her recommendations were terrific. I got the strawberry gazpacho and my wife the beet and artichoke salad to start. Wonderful summer fare. The entrees were perfect size and delicious. We'll be back. Only drawback was the noisy street busker competing with the restaurant sound system.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I rarely say the service was incredible, but it was perfect! The food was absolutely amazing, as well. We LOVED this place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Husband & I decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary upon the recommendation of friends who used to live in St. Louis area. We weren't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed the menu flight boards to take advantage of the different chef preparations. Husband & I shared each other's seafood and filet flights after treating ourselves to the surf & turf sushi rolls! Loved them! Enjoyed the filet flight better than the seafood flight but it was nice to have the variety to enjoy! Dessert was delicious with gooey butter cake with blueberry ice cream. Service was friendly and efficient with team approach. Ambience is perfect for celebration and location in Central West End offered a nice walk after dinner before returning to hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a reservation with Open Table. When we arrived we were 'encouraged ' not to dine outside due to the long wait. So we accepted a table inside. Then we watched from our window seat as several tables turned within 5 minutes

Inside the music playing was New Age with a constant 'thumping' of the bass. Very difficult to have a conversation over and poor dinner music, fine for a bar, but not a meal with friends

Our server was attentive and did a nice job

The entrée of fish was bland and over cooked. A real disappointment as the fish looked to be of good quality

Nice wine selection by the glass

Based on reviews we were expecting something far better then we received

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food, music and overall service was amazing!! can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service and food. Nice to be remembered and to have favorites and food allergies on file.
Meal was amazing and service by Brian was stellar!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was great. However, the noise level so loud that we had to lean forward and shout to hear one another. I get that the brick interior is authentic, but something to reduce noise needs to be done. Despite the great food, I wouldn't go back until this is addressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Love, love, love the Tavern. One of our favorites and consistently excellent service and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great atmosphere and great menu. They were busy when we were there, a bit of a wait for service, however the food was very good! We will certainly go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was our first visit to The Tavern. We really enjoyed it. Food is a little on the pricey side, but excellent quality and presentation. Great atmosphere. We will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was delicious and its presentation was excellent. Attentive service without being pushy. Fun location; liked the valet parking option. Worth a second visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I went there for the first time with my monthly brunch gals today for Sunday Brunch. Everything was incredible. Service was amazing, food was the bomb (the lobster beignets were my fave), drinks were delicious, patio was perfect. Not a single complaint possible. Absolutely going back to try dinner!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Love dining at The Tavern! For me, A must start is the Dorothy Gale signature cocktail, followed with the warm parmesan cheese bread nosh. Since scallops are my favorite, I always try a new method of prep and have never been disappointed! My husband is partial to The Tavern's special brew, Coal Train, provided by O'Fallon Brewery and swears that The Tavern has
the Best Burgers in town! Inside or out , the atmosphere is Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were seated at the table by the kitchen which was so loud we had to shout to hear one another. We had a late (8:30) reservation but were disappointed at the number of options from their menu that they were out of for the night. Seated in a different section and having the full menu I expect we would have really enjoyed it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was an absolutely perfect fit for our anniversary dinner! The staff was attentive without being oppressive, and did a great job of introducing us to the restaurant. We had the surf and turf tasting board, and also grilled sea scallops. The food was delicious and servings were generous. We were delightfully surprised by the sangria--refreshing without being overly sweet. I highly recommend The Tavern!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Do not overlook the stuffed biscuit for brunch. It's on the sides menu, but per our waitress's recommendation made an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food and a good variety of choices. The trio of offerings on some of the menu options was great for first-timers to try many things!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

What a great brunch spot! The food was amazing! The wait staff were so helpful and friendly. They all seemed so happy and glad to be there. A very refreshing environment! I have already recommended this spot to a friend. This will be my new go to spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Really a great experience. Food was creative but not too crazy, which is a good thing...didnt try too hard. I liked their unique options w the tasting boards. Hanger steak and mahi mahi were delish!

Our server was perfect. Im terrible and dont remember her name. Tall long dark almost black hair maybe in her 20s.... she was fabulous. Thanks for making our trip from Kansas City great! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Lovely dinner with outstanding food in the Central West End. Perfect to celebrate our son's graduation from Washington University. We loved the flights of seafood. Such a great idea to provide small portions of different preparations so you get to try different things and don't have to choose and miss out. More restaurants should do this.
We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding all around. Service was fantastic, food delicious and different.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.