Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 7:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Fun (7)
Cozy (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, service and atmosphere were all terrific! It was our first visit, but will not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Fantastic service, food, and experience. Will absolutely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent food. Each dish on the tasting boards was delicious. The half baked cookie is a must.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Meh! Underwhelming. Nothing wrong with place. Just didn't think it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My second time here and it's definitely on the list for a repeat. Service was great and the food was outstanding. I will return

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices and a wonderful wait staff. It can be a little loud early on when at total capacity, but ambiance is still very nice, especially if you like a high energy room!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Was looking for a nice place to take clients to dinner in St Louis. Not real familiar with that city, so relied on reviews and online menus. Got really lucky finding this place. It couldn't have turned out much better. Tavern Kitchen was fantastic. Excellent food with a unique menu and top-notch service. Starters seemed pretty pricey but mains were fairly priced IMO. Overall an excellent experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The short ribs are nothing short of amazing, and melt in your mouth. Gooey butter cake dessert was a perfect end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had great time our waiters was so sweet also from California, made reservation for May 17 for PRE graduation dinner

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The cookie skillet was out of this world! (My tavern burger and spinach salad were also wonderful, and the service was fantastic)

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Always willing to pay higher prices for exceptional meals. The restaurant did not live up to that standard. Above average food quality, low service quality, service and quality did not matching the price charged for entrées based on overall Value.
Really bad reception and vibe given by the maitre de well walking in. Not warmly welcomed, no smile and quite short and snippy attitude

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The menu offers something for everyone, and everything is rich in flavor. The service is excellent, and the atmosphere is wonderful. Parking can be a challenge in the area, so if you are making a reservation be sure to allow time to park the car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The new TKB brunch trio is fantastic: shrimp & grits,
country fried steak and a blueberry ricotta pancake, which you should eat last as a dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time at the Euclid incarnation of Tavern Market and first time for brunch. The trios are a great way to sample many tastes. The Lobster benigets sounded better than they tasted. Chicken and waffles was the perfect pairing of texture and flavor

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went for the first time for an Anniversary. Dining was nothing short of spectacular! The food was amazing. Honestly, top 3 restaurant that I've ever been to. Music was perfect for the setting along with a relaxed environment. Emily, our waitress, did a very very fine job as well. Going back for sure!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Organic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first trip. It's located in the CWE and offered valet parking which helps. We were seated promptly and the server brought over some freshly baked biscuits which were very good. There were 3 of us and we wound up ordering the Tasting Board appetizer which was a combination of 3 of the offerings. My daughter especially like the Island Meatballs. The ahi tuna was good as was the other offering. For dinner 2 of us ordered the Tasting Board entree which is similar to the appetizer in the sense that you are given a sample of 3 different entrees. My wife ordered salmon from the fish selections. Overall, the food was good, not great. At what averaged out to $65 pp with drinks, I would expect the food to be better than good. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We have had a few lovely meals at The Tavern Kitchen, but on this occasion the kitchen was a disappointment. I ordered the surf and turf board, and my complaint centers on the flavor of the grilled beef. There was an overpowering flavor of char from the grill. Perhaps the grill grates needed a cleaning? Our other entree was the short rib tagliatelle. It was peculiar and excessively sweet, like someone emptied a jar of jelly into the meat sauce. My beet salad was nice, and our server was very pleasant. We'll give this restaurant another try next month or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing duck carbonara!!
Everything we ate was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Always a great experience. I would be comfortable bringing anyone here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The Service was out of this world! Excellent!!! The Oak Plank was delicious. Great music and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service, ambiance, and food. The complimentary bread is amazing. Drinks are delicious as well. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Second time and already can't wait for our third time. Amazing food, excellent drinks, and great service. Our new favorite restaurant in St. Louis!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is a great place for dinner with a date or friends. Menu is varied and has something for everybody. Seafood is fresh which is rare for landlocked state. Service is very good and decor is comforting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was incredible and the service was fantastic. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food with great atmosphere the portions were large the salmon was cooked perfectly & the surf & turf was a great combination of filet chicken & snapper. The side dish of Brussels sprouts was awesome

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was an amazing evening. Everything about it was superb. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Amazing food and servers were very knowledgeable

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We selected this restaurant for brunch because it was close by and had gluten-free options for a member of our party with Celiac disease. The food was quite heavy and pricey but tasty. I could only eat half of my meal, but felt it "weigh me down" for a couple of hours afterwards.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a fabulous first experience at The Tavern in Valley Park. However, our experience was not as stellar at the CWE location.
The food was not nearly as impressive, the servers were very rushed, and the atmosphere was so loud you could barely hear the people speaking across from you.
When our waitress asked if we wanted dessert, we kindly mentioned the people we were with we're having us back to their house for dessert instead, she still continued on with a 3 minute diatribe of the restaurants dessert menu, despite our declination. We weren't sure if she was on autopilot, or if it was just so loud she didn't hear us.
Not to mention parking was atrocious- we had to park 7 blocks from the restaurant.
Not to say we wouldn't patronage this location again, but it wouldn't be our first choice.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

I have been to Tavern many times and except for one occasion the food and service is always right on. I love their Sushi roll, tuna poke and several of the tasting boards. Great restaurant for special
Occasion --or not. We brought someone new
And he said it is One of his new favs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We hadn't been tobyhevtavernnin about a year. It was good, but not excellent like I remembered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This vintage chic restaurant featured a quick variety of seafood and meat options. We appreciated the "flight"/trio of sample entrees to try their exquisite variations. Our waiter was very attentive to our needs and brought out a garlic crusted pull-apart mini loaf that satiated our palate until the main course arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Yummy seafood sampler!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Incrdible. Both of us had excellent meals. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We decided to try somewhere new for date night and it was phenomenal. The entree trios were mouthwatering selections with robust flavors. We ran out of time to try the dessert menu so we are going back.

The Tavern should be on everyone's list in St. Louis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The service is good and the food is amazing. Been here a few times, each abs every dish has throughly satisfied my taste! Half baked cookie is worth every bit

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Outstanding service combined with delicious food is the headline for any story about Kitchen Tavern and Bar. A customer will leave feeling very spoiled and very satisfied. Always a pleasant experience!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Tavern is a fun place, ambiance is excellent, in old brick building. Food was very good, always well prepared, a bit pricey. Menu identical to west county sister restaurant. Overall, a great restaurant, one of my favorites in the Central West End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.