Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 15 times today

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

4.7
288 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 5 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday-Saturday 5pm-Close
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm
Mondays: Closed
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 696-8400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ryan Stupka
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McPhearson
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

View Private Dining Details
What 288 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food and enjoyable experience. We were right by the kitchen so it was very loud with lots of activity. Nothing ruinous but a bit distracting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating a birthday w/friends ... the restaurant has a great vibe w/amazing food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent meal with great service from Logan. Really enjoyed the tasting board concept. Delicious half-baked chocolate chip cookie with ice cream for our anniversary dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great food and wonderful craft cocktails! Ambience is perfect for date night or friends get together! Service was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Date night with my husband—-this was our first visit, but certainly won’t be our last! Amazing food and service! The pull apart Parmesan bread served was very tasty. The tasting boards are a must... great introduction to their menu choices... all fabulous! We topped off the meal with the 1/2 baked chocolate chip skillet cookie w/ ice cream.... OMG Delicious! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Perfect Love dining there - I’ll be back. The service was exceptional not just everyday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My family and I selected The Tavern CWE for our Easter brunch. We've never visited this location before, but we love the West County restaurant. The place was moderately full, although the furthest dining room was almost empty. We were seated in the room closest to the kitchen. Not only was this a constant walk through area, but it was freezing cold in there! I'm sure, in part, to keep the cooks cool while making dishes, but I was miserable, as was everyone else in the room! All the guests kept their coats on while eating! The food was so-so. I had to send back my eggs because they weren't cooked to order. I definitely wouldn't return here for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The menu online was not the menu they had today so a few of the things we came specifically for were not available. The trios they offer, for lunch and dinner, are one of the reasons I love this place so we missed that being offered today.
However, the food we did order was delicious! The espresso glaze with the chocolate donuts was amazing. The Tavern burger with egg was one of the best burgers I’ve had in a while. The chicken and waffles were good, but the chicken was a little dry. Service as always was great!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Have been to both locations multiple times. Very disappointed in the Easter Brunch menu. Was much more interested in the menu for Easter Brunch at the West County location. Didn't realize that location would be open for Easter when I made the reservation. I am not sure it has been in the past. Not sure why the menus were not the same. This was our 3rd year in a row having brunch here at CWE location and likely our last. Ordered the Avocado toast appetizer. Not good, soggy bread, uncooked egg. Some of the egg was still clear, not even white. Chicken & Waffles was good. Couldn't believe we were in and out in 45 minutes, felt kind of rushed. Tavern has always been a favorite of ours, but this experience left me doubting if I would return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Delicious! The menu was well thought out. The food was amazing and the fish was very fresh. I enjoyed the open kitchen atmosphere. Our waitress was very friendly and knowlegeable. It was overall a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

My girlfriend and I come to the Tavern about once a month for brunch. She always get the chicken/waffles, but the last couple times, the portion of chicken was extremely small, especially compared to what it used to be. The quality was good, but the portion wasnt a great value for the price (we went to gamlin the week prior and the price vs quantity was much better)

My Bloody Mary was excellent, but I also felt like it wasn’t sized right for being $10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Overall great restaurant, hidden gem in the CWE. Great ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Great food and service. Drinks were excellent and food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I have never had a bad meal at The Tavern! The service was very good and the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food was well prepared, especially the fish which was not overcooked. The 3 options to try small portions of 3 entrees was a lot of fun and a good way to get to know the menu. The downside is that the wine list was small and high priced. The cheapest chardonnay was $48 a bottle. Next time I'll ask if they have a corkage.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Food was amazing as was the service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Just moved to STL from outside the state, and this restaurant is simply amazing. We enjoyed everything about our dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We had brunch and everything was wonderful. The food and cocktails were delicious and the service was great. We really enjoyed the ambiance and coziness of the restaurant. We will definitely go back :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Delicious! We had a wonderful time and will be back soon!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Awesome menu options! Fabulous waitress with great recommendations! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Appetizers were not freshly prepared. K

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Best meal I have had in awhile

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Always excellent! Our favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Unique and well prepared menu. Very good wine list with lots of unique and well-priced selections.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We were visiting from out of town. We were looking for a restaurant with an interesting menu with healthy choices. We were very pleased with the options and recommendations from the waitstaff. We selected the Seafood Trio Tasting Board and all of the dishes were delicious and unique. We highly recommend The Tavern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Fanfuckintastic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food and service were both excellent, parking is a bit of a challenge so arrive a little early.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Food very good and kitchen was fast. Service is also excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Staff was friendly and food was amazing!!!!! Will go there again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was great and service was great and very friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

I always love the food here and I’m so happy to hear that they also help the community with collecting donations for first responders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Wonderful! Had a get together with girlfriends of mine and it was the perfect atmosphere! We ordered a few dishes to share as well as our own entrees and the food was delicious. Great wine selection as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Ny favorite restaurant in the US for brunch was Norma’s in NYC until Sunday at The Tavern. The trio with the ricotta pancake was amazing and I can’t quit talking about it. My husband had the Chicken and Waffle and it was also wonderful. Even the Mimosa was delicious. The service was perfect. I can’t wait to go back for dinner. I give this a full 10!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

They have a separate menu for vegetarians if you tell them

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

It was ok. Nothing special. Overpriced. Maybe just bad because it was New Years eve.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Excellent Food, Great Fish, Good Service and comfortable ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Fantastic service and food. Would go again next time I am in town!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

First time at this location, many times at the West County one. Biggest disappointment is no chef's counter at CWE. Was somewhat cold in the restaurant, especially when the door got stuck open for several minutes. Our server Logan was great, and did a great jot explaining all the various menu items. To me it is basically the same menu at both locations. When I go back it will definitely be to the West County location. Much better ambience plus chef's counter!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8