About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Restaurant Photos

  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE, St. Louis, MO
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE, St. Louis, MO
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE, St. Louis, MO
  • The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE, St. Louis, MO

Report a photo problem

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Romantic (8)
Business Meals (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Cozy (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to Tavern many times and exc ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to Tavern many times and except for one occasion the food and service is always right on. I love their Sushi roll, tuna poke and several of the tasting boards. Great restaurant for special

Occasion --or not. We brought someone new

And he said it is One of his new favs!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been tobyhevtavernnin about a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We hadn't been tobyhevtavernnin about a year. It was good, but not excellent like I remembered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Yummy seafood sampler!!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Yummy seafood sampler!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incrdible. Both of us had excellent meal ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Incrdible. Both of us had excellent meals. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We decided to try somewhere new for date ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We decided to try somewhere new for date night and it was phenomenal. The entree trios were mouthwatering selections with robust flavors. We ran out of time to try the dessert menu so we are going back.

The Tavern should be on everyone's list in St. Louis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is good and the food is amaz ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The service is good and the food is amazing. Been here a few times, each abs every dish has throughly satisfied my taste! Half baked cookie is worth every bit

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service combined with delici ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Outstanding service combined with delicious food is the headline for any story about Kitchen Tavern and Bar. A customer will leave feeling very spoiled and very satisfied. Always a pleasant experience!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Tavern is a fun place, ambiance is e ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The Tavern is a fun place, ambiance is excellent, in old brick building. Food was very good, always well prepared, a bit pricey. Menu identical to west county sister restaurant. Overall, a great restaurant, one of my favorites in the Central West End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very happy overall. 2nd visit. Had the c ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very happy overall. 2nd visit. Had the chefs trio. The food was good overall, but I felt the risotto on the scallop dish was under seasoned. Mainly lacking salt. Love the atmosphere, and service is great. The sushi roll served as an appetizer is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious scallops, mutton, sushi, and b ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Delicious scallops, mutton, sushi, and bread. All was fabulous including exceptional service with a fantastic wine recommendation from our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful brunch venue in the CWE. Loved ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Wonderful brunch venue in the CWE. Loved my shrimp and grits and everyone else loved their brunch dish too. Service was very attentive too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to The Tavern for brunch with som ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went to The Tavern for brunch with some friends to celebrate my birthday. Our service was excellent and the food was delicious! Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service was left wanting. the food was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

service was left wanting. the food was served cold, sent back, returned just as cold. we were given desserts on the house for our troubles, and we were served not what we ordered and could not find anyone to help us. NEVER GO HERE!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great ambiance and staff. Loved the food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great ambiance and staff. Loved the food but wouldn't recommend the tasting boards. The food was too cool upon arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went for my best friends birthday. Ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We went for my best friends birthday. Our service was outstanding. Our waitress was engaging and the bartenders were helpful. There was not one thing we ordered for dinner that wasn't excellent. Location and ambiance were great as well. Birthday boy had an amazing time as did all his friends. Absolutely recommend this place!

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as the West County location! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious as the West County location! OUr first visit to the CWE did not disappoint. Potsticker appetizer was delicious, and the Surf and Turf tasting board was amazing! Great way to taste several things on the

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we had was great. They have e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Everything we had was great. They have excellent cocktails which is a must in the STL restaurant scene. The Brussels sprouts are worth trying if you love Brussels sprouts. The squid ink pasta with scallops was delicious. Can't go wrong with the Filet Trio. The chocolate cake dessert was worth the calories.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

WOW! Executive Chef Harold Sexauer has ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

WOW! Executive Chef Harold Sexauer has shown some true creativity in the design of his menu. He obviously created so many wonderful dishes that he had to offer "The Tasting Boards". When I saw the menu (on Line) I had no idea what I would order. There were just too many great choices. So, "The Tasting Board" choice was the only way to sample this Chef's creations. Our server James was outstanding We would ask for him on our next visit) and made excellent recommendations. My wife had the filet trio & I had the Oak Plank. Just excellent!!

I had read that the bread served could be the reason you would visit the Tavern. Well it is that good. A great starter is the "Surf & Turf Sushi Roll".

If you like a creative cuisine this is the spot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and service for dinner. L ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food and service for dinner. Less impressed for brunch. Brunch was tasty but greasy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always awesome. Thanks folks!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always awesome. Thanks folks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second time there for the se ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was my second time there for the seafood sampler - delish!! We ate too much and then heard about the amazing desserts! We'll be back for sure!! It's loud but a fun crowd, and wouldn't be appropriate for a quiet romantic dinner; however, the food is AMAZING!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server, Alana, made the night -- and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our server, Alana, made the night -- and so did the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Althought the two locations are similar ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Althought the two locations are similar in menu offerings we prefer the food at the Original Location. Highly recommend dining at the Valley Park restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome dinner and the service was super ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Awesome dinner and the service was superb. Our favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our dinner here on Octobe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our dinner here on October 15th a group of friends. Everyone loved their entrees and the scallops that I had were terrific. Everyone in the restaurant was friendly and attentive. I will definitely come back !

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Couldn't decide on jus ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent dinner. Couldn't decide on just one entree so had the oak plank trio...chicken saltimbocca, filet with grilled shrimp, and mahi with wok veggies. Parmesean garlic pull-apart biscuits were a great starter and gooey butter cake with homemade blueberry ice cream was a great finish. Nice wine list and delicious coffee. Excellent service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to this location ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was my first visit to this location since an old favorite left (the prior restaurant at this location, Duff's). I was extremely pleased by all aspects of our dinner. Creative dishes, a wonderful specialty bread offered as part of the meal at the beginning, unique cocktails, an attentive manager and knowledgeable waiter made this a fantastic dining experience. I can be picky, but The Tavern was excellent in all respects. We will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish dishes as always. The halibut ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great fish dishes as always. The halibut was cooked perfectly, paired with the caponata sauce. Asian salad was crisp and the ginger peanut dressing was perfectly umami. Loved the cinnamon donuts with maple bacon whipped cream.

My favorite side dish is the tater tot Casserole! It's like a creamy Mac and cheese, only with tots instead of Mac.

A little on the pricey side, but perfect for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food. Great desserts.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Amazing food. Great desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic except we were ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Everything was fantastic except we were seated in a room with a giant party - it was exceptionally loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great evening patio that we used to chat ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great evening patio that we used to chat about business and watch people strolling by.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, adorable patio. Everything w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Delicious, adorable patio. Everything we tried was great. And the bread was to die for !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The interior is rustic and modern. Solid ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The interior is rustic and modern. Solid menu of fish and other meat. Great execution on the fish. We skipped wine and got drinks. The drinks were ok, not great.

Overall the experience was outstanding. The CWE is a fun place and this place fits right in. It's suitable for an intimate dinner or for a large group of friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and very friendly staff. Th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food and very friendly staff.

The menu was excellent and the food very good too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food , friendly staff. Great outdo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food , friendly staff. Great outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great, food was amazing, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was great, food was amazing, and we can't wait to return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food ! Expensive though, but s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious food ! Expensive though, but still delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meals were absolutely delicious; the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Our meals were absolutely delicious; the food is creative and the presentation is artistic. Mandy, our server, was friendly and efficient and thoroughly familiar with the menu. She did an outstanding job. A memorable meal, although a bit pricey--but good value. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious - wish we had saved room for d ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious - wish we had saved room for dessert (which are home baked to order mid-meal), but we were full. This restaurant is suitable for people wishing to indulge calorically - or for those who would like to order clean, simple, fresh lower caloric options. Fresh fish and shrimp with different prep options. Our server was knowledgeable, kind, helpful and professional. Would definitely eat here again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly, architecturally interesti ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very friendly, architecturally interesting restaurant. Flavorful food. Original cocktails. Great service. Will be back. Bread served hot in a cast iron skillet is unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.