Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.81mi
  4. Distance: 0.82mi

About The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE

Our executive chefs minimalist approach to exquisite comfort food by offering a unique dining experience with a beautiful private dining room, an inviting bar and exhibition style kitchen provides a dining experience like any other.

Open for dinner 6 nights a week, and Brunch on Sundays, the Tavern Kitchen & Bar CWE offers something for every palate from fresh fish, to an award winning burger to vegetarian and gluten free items.

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar is exquisite comfort food, with flavors you know, artfully reinvented.

392 N. Euclid Ave.
St. Louis, MO 63108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Saturday 5pm-Close,
Sunday: Brunch only 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
McPhearson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 696-8400

Website:
http://tavernstl.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking and Public Parking Lot

Executive Chef:
Harold Sexauer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar offers a unique dining experience through beautiful private dining areas, an inviting bar and Tavern's signiture exhibition kitchen in full view. Our private dining rooms feature rustic woodwork in a cozy and inviting atmosphere.

We can also bring the Tavern to you, whether it be for a business event or personal party!

Private Room: accomodate up to 40ppl for any event
Entire Restaurant: 125 seats, 200 reception

Private Dining

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar

The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
People Watching (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (7)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Business Meals (3)
Romantic (3)
Tapas (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

this isn't the first time we have dined at The Tavern and won't be the last. Pomegranate martini...yum. Must try - their version of chicken parmesan or the surf and turf (three small dishes)...YUM!
Great for Birthday, Anniversary and date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 2, 2017

If you order any of the off-the-menu specials, be prepared to be charged an arm and a leg. They’re substantially higher than anything on the regular meno.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great drinks...chicken parm and burger were amazing...will go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2017

As always, the Tavern is a wonderful place for brunch with family or a great gathering place for dinner or a date night. The food and drinks are always great, the service is friendly and on point and the atmosphere is sophisticated yet relaxed. We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great server, sorry, can’t remember his name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on November 15, 2017

The appetizers and sides were amazing but the filet was REALLY under-seasoned and squid ink in a dish should never ever be overpowered by tomato (in my opinion), plus my mahi mahi was really dry. Would not waste another $200 on a meal here again. Save yourself and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Made our sons 21st birthday celebration special!
Delicious surf & turf appetizer

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Kristen took great care of us and we had a nice experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I have eaten at the Taven many times. This was the worst experience I have ever had. The Hanger steak was in etable and to pay a premium price is terrible. The main course came out before we were even done with our salad. To pay these prices for bad food and to be rushed out is not the way to treat customers.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Appetizers were very good. The entrées left much to be desired for- food dry and flavorless. The wait staff was sub par to average- had to ask for my check to sign after he had already cashed out the tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We were there for Sunday brunch. The Lobster Beignets were wonderful, as was the double cut bacon. My son had the chicken and waffles and said it was excellent, and his girlfriend had the blueberry waffles, a huge serving, which she said was very good. I also tried the Bloody Mary and it was perfect. Service was great (attentive but not intrusive), and we had a nice window seat, so could watch the passers-by on the neighborhood street -- a very nice experience overall, and we'll most likely return another time we're in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Beautiful food -- well-presented, creative, and delicious. The service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The ambiance was relaxed and warm. We were there for brunch and enjoyed our time very much; the food arrived promptly but we didn't feel rushed at all. The one criticism is that the prices were a bit high (especially for the shrimp and grits -- although they were excellent) for what we got. Not exorbitantly so, but just enough to feel like things were a little out of proportion. The portions aren't skimpy, but they're not especially generous either. I like the amount on the plate but would feel it fairer to pay a few dollars less for it. Otherwise, a very good experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

We have dined at both the Tavern Kitchen locations in the past, but had not been there for Sunday brunch. We had no idea what we were missing. The brunch menu contained a wide variety sure to please any palate, including three brunch tasting boards. My wife (not a breakfast eater) exclaimed that the chicken-fried steak was her favorite even while admitting that she normally doesn't like breakfast, let alone chicken-fried steak. It was a great pre-Fox Sunday matinee meal and we will be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

A gem ... Definitely one of my favorites. The food and service was very good. The atmosphere was very exciting/entertaining.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

we had reservations for 7pm and were surprised h0w alone we were surmised it was a carryover impact of the protests from a week earlier. they around 8pm, the place filled up

parking is an issue. no valet so we were a bit timid walking back to our car around 9:00

i would say that the waitstaff was wonderful. never intrusive. always available.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

One of, if not the, greatest brunches in Central West End. Waffles, pancakes, cocktails... everything so delicious. Only coffee to be improved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We were seated in the back room which was deserted except for another party. Kind of dampened the fun of this place. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive, but the food was really only just good, not great. Pot stickers were dry and overdone. Desserts were the best part. Seemed like an "off" night for this well reviewed spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always great food and we love to sit outside. We went for my Husbands Birthday.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We had a wonderful meal here. The food was delicious. The service was great. We would love to come back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Delicious dinner! Filet was superb. Loved the special bread before our meal. Great wine selection. Gooey butter cake was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Seasonal, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The Tavern is a good option for dinner and Sunday brunch. Service is usually very good, sometimes you get a moody waiter/waitress or bartender - not the case for this most recent visit. The Chef does seem passionate about making great food that isn't your typical ho-hum menu items... that's primarily why we come here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was great. Great team work with servers but one server wasn't very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We have returned to The Tavern in Central West End multiple times. They do a phenomenal job all around. The food is consistently great and the service is exceptional. Their tasting boards provide a great food experience and the variety of options covers most tastes.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service and great food! We celebrated a birthday and took a table outside since it was a beautiful evening. The chocolate chip cookie dessert was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Had a great anniversary meal this week. Service was perfect...friendly but not annoying...prompt but not rushed (thank you Elana) and the food was excellent...especially the Ahi Poke appetizer, the cocktails, and the half-baked cookie with espresso ice cream. We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Went to the Tavern for Anniversary and was not disappointed. Service was great like it always is. Very attentive staff - constantly filling empty glasses and paying attention to details. Food was ridiculously good. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the night. We will be back soon for more good times.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Tavern has a great, lively atmosphere with a classy cool crowd. The poke tuna appitizer is amazing (what I normally get as my entre) and their other fish options are pretty delish. Prepare to spend $27-$38 on an entre if you're doing fish, though. Plenty of salad options and apps, great wine and cocktail list. The patio is wonderful. Tavern is one of my favorite places in CWE and I take newcomers here quite a bit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Server was great, food very good
A bit on the pricey side

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This is one of my favorite places to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Another wonderful evening at the Tavern! Awesome service and a fabulous meal. Thanks to the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Although we LOVE The Tavern for special occasion dinners we didn't have the best experience this time around. My husband and I were celebrating his birthday (hostess was aware) and a table with 4 toddlers were seated next to us. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for small & active children... we were bummed we didn't have the "adult/romantic" ambience on our date night (away from our children).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The service was phenomenal! From start to finish our waitress was attentive and informative. Her recommendations were terrific. I got the strawberry gazpacho and my wife the beet and artichoke salad to start. Wonderful summer fare. The entrees were perfect size and delicious. We'll be back. Only drawback was the noisy street busker competing with the restaurant sound system.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I rarely say the service was incredible, but it was perfect! The food was absolutely amazing, as well. We LOVED this place and will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Husband & I decided to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary upon the recommendation of friends who used to live in St. Louis area. We weren't disappointed and thoroughly enjoyed the menu flight boards to take advantage of the different chef preparations. Husband & I shared each other's seafood and filet flights after treating ourselves to the surf & turf sushi rolls! Loved them! Enjoyed the filet flight better than the seafood flight but it was nice to have the variety to enjoy! Dessert was delicious with gooey butter cake with blueberry ice cream. Service was friendly and efficient with team approach. Ambience is perfect for celebration and location in Central West End offered a nice walk after dinner before returning to hotel.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a reservation with Open Table. When we arrived we were 'encouraged ' not to dine outside due to the long wait. So we accepted a table inside. Then we watched from our window seat as several tables turned within 5 minutes

Inside the music playing was New Age with a constant 'thumping' of the bass. Very difficult to have a conversation over and poor dinner music, fine for a bar, but not a meal with friends

Our server was attentive and did a nice job

The entrée of fish was bland and over cooked. A real disappointment as the fish looked to be of good quality

Nice wine selection by the glass

Based on reviews we were expecting something far better then we received

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food, music and overall service was amazing!! can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great service and food. Nice to be remembered and to have favorites and food allergies on file.
Meal was amazing and service by Brian was stellar!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was great. However, the noise level so loud that we had to lean forward and shout to hear one another. I get that the brick interior is authentic, but something to reduce noise needs to be done. Despite the great food, I wouldn't go back until this is addressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.