About The Tasting Room - Uptown Park

1101 Uptown Park Blvd., Ste. 18
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Tasting Room at Uptown Park. Originating more than 10 years ago as a small wine café and retail shop, the Tasting Room Uptown Park has truly blossomed since its inception and now stands at more than 9,000 square feet, making it one of the largest wine bars in the nation. Tucked into the retail mainstay of Uptown Park, the Tasting Room is a wine café of a different cut. As our motto states, “A comfortable place to get serious about wine,” we offer a multitude of dining experiences to offer our guests not only an exceptional culinary experience, but a comfortable yet vibrant atmosphere. With more than 150+ wines to our name, and more than 5 million glasses poured since our inception, we average 1 million glasses poured a year ranging from unique and exotic wines, to creature comfort brands and specialty labels crafted through partnerships with wine makers from around the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday: 11AM – 12AM
Thursday – Saturday: 11AM – 1AM
Sunday: 11AM – 11PM

HAPPY HOUR
Monday – Friday: open – 6PM

LUNCH
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 3PM

DINNER
Daily: 11AM – close

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11am – 3pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 993-9800

Website:
http://www.tastingroomwines.com/uptown-park/

Entertainment:
Nightly live music performances.

Catering:
The Tasting Room takes all your social and life events to a higher level. Planning a bridal shower, rehearsal dinner, birthday or just a fun family gathering? Our events team can create menus and wine selections to match for everything from casual get-togethers to the most sophisticated of parties. For more information contact us at infoUptown@tastingroomwines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to valet, guests can park in the public parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Jonald Veneracion

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website's Calendar of Events page for details on our upcoming events.

Restaurant Photos

Tomato Basil Pizza
Mini Grilled Goat Cheese Sandwiches w/ Tomato Jam
Pesto Basil Pizza
Baked Brie
Hummus Duo
Mushroom Pizza
Snap Dragon Pinot Noir
Wire Ridge Cabernet Savignon - 2009
Ribs
Redneck Benedict
Frozen Sangria
Nutella Brownie & Vanilla Ice Cream
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Ahi tuna
Potato Leek Soup
Salmon Club Sandwich
Perrier Jouet Grand Brut
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
William Hill Chardonnay
Steak
Eggs, Bacon & Grits
Sticky Bun!
Oven Roasted Red Snapper

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Tasting Room at Uptown Park is located near the Galleria in the Uptown Park Shopping Village. This is our original location with over 7,600 square feet which offers a variety of spaces and configurations for up to 600 guests.

The Tasting Room - Uptown Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (9)
notable wine list (8)
good for groups (8)
See All
neighborhood gem (5)
romantic (5)
special occasion (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (4)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
fit for foodies (2)
Sort By:
Newest
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was friendly and professiona ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was friendly and professional. Wonderful experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great chefs experience. Very ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was a great chefs experience. Very strong menu and expertly prepared. Highly recommend for a dining experience over a wine bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was OK. Food was no big deal. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was OK. Food was no big deal. Cute spot but nowhere I am eager to return to.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

good outside dining / drinking area, goo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

good outside dining / drinking area, good meal options, very good wine list, regular prices, service needs to improve.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I truly enjoyed the wonderful food and w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I truly enjoyed the wonderful food and wine. Great girls night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was beyond amazing! I had orange Fr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was beyond amazing! I had orange French toast!!!! Best French toast ever!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was ridiculously slow. The resta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow. The restaurant was almost empty and the re was no reason for the poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

First time visit to try Mothers Day Brun ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

First time visit to try Mothers Day Brunch Buffet. Choices were very limited and the food was average at best. Omelette bar did have egg whites or any type of meat to choose for in your omelette. Our reservation was at 1 desserts there was one type of cupcake and a dry brownie to choose from even though it claimed assorted cookies & cupcakes.

The server was incredibly slow. She also told also brunch came with bottomless mimosas she neglected to mention it was $12 extra.

We won't be going back ever

If you want a good Sunday Bruch Buffet buy a plane ticket and go to Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, AZ you will be glad you did. They have out of this world food selections and mimosas are included

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Atrocious!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Worse restaurant experience I have ever had! After being seated, no one came after waiting 20 minutes. Had to go to bar and request service, got extremely poor reception. Mostly ignored, was told they would have someone come to help. Another 10 minute wait with no service! Asked door hostess if she could assist, explained situation, but basically put off with a "someone will be there shortly". Place is extremely busy and woefully understaffed! Left without service - will never be back! Could never recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Baked goat cheese appetizer was deliciou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Baked goat cheese appetizer was delicious, enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Live music on Wednesday nights! Play a g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Live music on Wednesday nights! Play a great variety too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing. The chicken and pe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was amazing. The chicken and pesto pasta was cooked perfectly! We sat outside and had a nice bottle of rose. Our waiter was very knowledgable about the wine which is always helpful. I've never had bad food there! I recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy food and drink!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Yummy food and drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice place, service could improve

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Nice spot. Took a while for the service. We wait a long to be sitted.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great wines, good food; not so great server

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We love going to TTR and always have a great time. The wine suggestions are spot on and the food great for sharing. However our last time (this past Saturday 3/26) left us with a bad taste in our mouths. Towards the end of or dinner the waitress rolled her eyes at us on two occasions, the most obvious as she said "it was my pleasure to serve you".

Despite this we left a very hefty tip. Hopefully management will address this with the staff as it speaks volumes of an establishment when the client is disrespected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Always awesome!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey for all we got - but ove ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

A little pricey for all we got - but overall: good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great weather, sat outside. Good food. F ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great weather, sat outside. Good food. Frozen sangrias were legit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not what we expected

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We went here for brunch this past weekend, and it wasn't what we expected after enjoying the other location (City Center) on numerous occasions. The menu was extremely limited, which wasn't a big deal in and of itself. Two of us ordered from the brunch menu, and two from the regular lunch menu. None of us were impressed with our food, and we all had different items. It wasn't inedible; just not done well. We would probably go back for the setting and to have wine on the very lovey patio. We will just stay away from the food. I will say that our server was incredibly attentive and good at her job. I think her name was Nicole.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Have wine here, but don't come for the food

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant is great for people who either are very adventurous in their wine explorations and like trying new things, or who really don't care and just want any glass of wine and to hang out. You will not find your favorite well-known, popular brand of anything here. We had Sunday brunch here -- both the food and the service were okay. Just okay. Not great and not terrible. The menu was very basic and limited but met our needs. We did find it a little confusing as to how they could offer toast with breakfast and not have jam. Our request for jam was met with something like mild surprise. (Why would we want jam on our toast? Imagine that!) Chairs are not very comfortable but we put up with them because the noise level was great (we sat outside) and we were able to have a conversation among four of us without shouting. Then the guitarist showed up and that went down the drain. Not sure why TTR feels the need for music on a nice Sunday morning but they do. This establishment does a great job of providing a hunting ground for (older) singles in the evenings who have tough backs that the uncomfortable chairs don't bother, and doesn't offer much more. We've been here for lunch and dinner too and as with brunch, we don't starve - there's always something to eat - but a culinary adventure it ain't. So if you're looking for terrific food and truly hospitable service, keep looking.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great wine list and nice atmosphere. My ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Great wine list and nice atmosphere. My group just ordered appetizers, and the baked goat cheese and cauliflower were our favorites. We sat on the patio which was very nice, and they had heaters as it's February. Our waiter seemed very busy even though it wasn't crowded at all. That didn't turn me off though, I would still go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Can you get the order corrrect?

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice restaurant,

We chose the restaurant for a special occasion. Our reservation for an hour later than we arrived, but were seated immediately. we sat outside which was nice for conversation, the patio is very comfortable. Our drink order came out in a timely manner, the food was ordered

then we waited and waited. When the food arrived my daughter's boyfriends order was completely wrong and sent back. We had all finished eating by time his order arrived ( Pesto Pasta w/ chicken) First they brought out the pasta no chicken.. it was sent back then the wait began again.. The manager came out and tried to fix the situation, he gave dessert on the house which was dry and a disappointment. Needless to say the bill was paid and we left with a to go box of food for a very hungry man. Maybe if the waiter would have repeated the order back to us this experience would not have happen.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Brunch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Lobster Benedict was amazing!! If you ever get a chance to order that do not hesitate. The only problem I had was that the mimosas should be changed to bottomless for a flat rate instead of only 2 glasses for a dollar each. There were no complaints about the service, actually the waitress was slammed with the patio section and managed to do really well (so kudos to her on Valentines Day)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was great. Atmosphere was good

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First visit. Reserved a seat for an early Valetines dinner. Ordered the roasted chicken and pesto pasta. Chicken was cooked and seasoned well. The mashed potatoes and carrots served with the chicken where very tasty as well. The pesto pasta was had a great taste as well. The girlfriend and I both agreed to have a return visit. Prices where responable. Excellent experience for a first visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'll drive to further TTR @ city center next time

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Arrived 15 min. before reservation time, hostess first said it was a 30 min wait then I told her our reservation name and time. She said they seated our table 30 minutes ago, which is impossible because HELLO we're standing in front of you, then said she only had one table available which happened to be next to the door leading to the outside patio so every time the waitstaff or buser would go in and out, it was freezing because it was 45* out that night. My husband was sweet by letting me wear his suit jacket and buying us a bottle of red wine to warm us up. He still managed to make our anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

For a group of people, it is fun and a g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

For a group of people, it is fun and a great place to be. A bit pricey but for the location, I think you pay for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

And overall great dining experience.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

The wine list is second to none and the food is nothing short of outstanding. The staff is very well trained and agreeable in every way possible.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The company was the high light of the evening.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Service was boardering on unfriendly. Wine samples were provided when requested. Nice place if just getting to know someone over a glass of wine.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great Staff .. Always enjoy this place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Great Staff .. Always enjoy this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High Price for Poor Service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Terrible wait staff - very inattentive, loud music from private party made it impossible to carry on conversation, hostess pouted all night-which was the most entertaining experience of the evening. Limited food menu. $350 for 2 couples.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

The service was great!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The service was great! The music was not that good, however the bottle of Tow Hand Australian wine was priced nicely. Great place to start the night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

When we arrived there was no hostess or ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

When we arrived there was no hostess or manager to help us, so after few minutes of looking around an other guest arrived and he goes well I guess we have to sit out selfs so we just walk out side with out being acknowledge by any of the employees.

After that we just sat a one of the tables out side and were created by a server who walked by and ask if we were already being taking care of and we say know so he introduce him self and took it from there.

The reason I give 5 stars is because our server was awesome, food was good and we are positive people who make the best out of every situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service...great selection

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Great service...great selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine, poor service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Overall we had an enjoyable evening, but they are understaffed and the service was poor. We had to flag someone down anytime we needed something. The food was great and the live music is always nice to have. Hopefully they can get some additional servers because it really is a neat place to go.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great if you can drop some coin

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

They have lots of wines to order by bottle, but not many by glass. The waiter was knowledgable, but took too long between taking orders and such, but to be fair he looked busy. It was ok, and I will probably do it again.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The Tasting Room Review

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Food was sub-par for a really interesting place. The service was good, our waiter was attentive and nice. There is a very comprehensive wine list suitable for all tastes. I wish the food was better, it came out hot and quick but it wasn't at a level for the price. I think there is room for improvement all around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Awesome wine, great food, excellent service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Our server was Charlie. He did awesome job and took care of us. Good food. Nice wine collection. Ended up buying 6 wines. Good ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Girlfriend Get Together

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

The food was outstanding and the service was excellent. I recommend the Cucumber, feta, and quinoa salad. I had the grilled pork chop and my girlfriend had the salmon. Both were delicious. My creamed spinach side dish was a little more cream than spinach and slightly salty, however, the pearl couscous served with the salmon was excellent. The atmosphere was energetic until about 7:30p when the noise level rose considerably making it difficult to converse easily and be heard. I will definitely go back but plan to eat closer to 5p and head out by 7

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

HRW Review

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2015

The restaurant is nice. The ambiance is great. Dim lighting. Outside seating. Bar. Great for groups, families or date night. Great wine list. I went for HRW. First course we had crab cakes and chicken spring rolls, both were delicious. Second course we had the stuffed chicken, potatoes, and zucchini. This course was NOT good. The stuffing contained wild rice and other ingredients that were not to our liking. Third course we had the molten chocolate cake and green apple dessert. The molten cake was OKAY. The Green apple was delicious. Overall we had a positive dining experience. I would not recommend the stuffed chicken breast though.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was "okay"

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

It was extremely loud where we sat because there was a band playing. The lamb was overpriced and wasn't enough food. They charged us for bringing my birthday cake inside and charged each person who would be eating it. I doubt that I'll be going back.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.