About The Tasting Room - Uptown Park

1101 Uptown Park Blvd., Ste. 18
Houston, TX 77056
View Larger Map

Welcome to the Tasting Room at Uptown Park. Originating more than 10 years ago as a small wine café and retail shop, the Tasting Room Uptown Park has truly blossomed since its inception and now stands at more than 9,000 square feet, making it one of the largest wine bars in the nation. Tucked into the retail mainstay of Uptown Park, the Tasting Room is a wine café of a different cut. As our motto states, “A comfortable place to get serious about wine,” we offer a multitude of dining experiences to offer our guests not only an exceptional culinary experience, but a comfortable yet vibrant atmosphere. With more than 150+ wines to our name, and more than 5 million glasses poured since our inception, we average 1 million glasses poured a year ranging from unique and exotic wines, to creature comfort brands and specialty labels crafted through partnerships with wine makers from around the world.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday: 11AM – 12AM
Thursday – Saturday: 11AM – 1AM
Sunday: 11AM – 11PM

HAPPY HOUR
Monday – Friday: open – 6PM

LUNCH
Monday – Friday: 11AM – 3PM

DINNER
Daily: 11AM – close

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 11am – 3pm

Cross Street:
Post Oak Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 993-9800

Website:
http://www.tastingroomwines.com/uptown-park/

Entertainment:
Nightly live music performances.

Catering:
The Tasting Room takes all your social and life events to a higher level. Planning a bridal shower, rehearsal dinner, birthday or just a fun family gathering? Our events team can create menus and wine selections to match for everything from casual get-togethers to the most sophisticated of parties. For more information contact us at infoUptown@tastingroomwines.com

Parking Details:
In addition to valet, guests can park in the public parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Jonald Veneracion

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website's Calendar of Events page for details on our upcoming events.

Restaurant Photos

Tomato Basil Pizza
Mini Grilled Goat Cheese Sandwiches w/ Tomato Jam
Pesto Basil Pizza
Baked Brie
Hummus Duo
Mushroom Pizza
Snap Dragon Pinot Noir
Wire Ridge Cabernet Savignon - 2009
Ribs
Redneck Benedict
Frozen Sangria
Nutella Brownie & Vanilla Ice Cream
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Ahi tuna
Potato Leek Soup
Salmon Club Sandwich
Perrier Jouet Grand Brut
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
William Hill Chardonnay
Sticky Bun!
Steak
Eggs, Bacon & Grits
Oven Roasted Red Snapper

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Tasting Room at Uptown Park is located near the Galleria in the Uptown Park Shopping Village. This is our original location with over 7,600 square feet which offers a variety of spaces and configurations for up to 600 guests.

The Tasting Room - Uptown Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Romantic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Live Music (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great for live music on Friday night wit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great for live music on Friday night with a late dinner. Loud enough to be lively but not to the point of preventing continuous conversation. Crowded but in a good way. Good, prompt service.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Truffle fries!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Truffle fries!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The experience was great, went for the M ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The experience was great, went for the Myoa live show and was treated outstanding. Small venue but caring hospitality and super energy. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for good food (the burger was terrific ) and great spirits. The staff really tried to make sure everyone was satisfied and having a truly unique experience . Thanks for the great time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really Loved the setting of this place. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Really Loved the setting of this place. Customer Service was great, Food and wine was awesome. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm not sure what's going on @ TTR latel ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I'm not sure what's going on @ TTR lately, but service and food quality have gone down hill. I used to enjoy going there on Sunday for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

A wonderful gem in uptown park. All staf ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A wonderful gem in uptown park. All staff extremely knowledgable regarding wine and food and exceptionally friendly. Diverse and inventive wine options. Option to sit inside or outside. Reasonably priced. Manager, Roderick, checked in on us and offered samples of wines we wanted to explore. Staff made our entire family, including our kids, feel comfortable and welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine. So glad you partici ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food and wine. So glad you participated in HRW. We will continue to support you. Thanks

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate from their restaurant weeks menu and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Ate from their restaurant weeks menu and everything I had was done perfectly. Oysters with three different preparations, Caesar salad, short rib, and dessert. I would go back and have the same meal tomorrow. Kudos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Service was slow and there was only abou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was slow and there was only about 5 tables taken. I asked for salt and never got it. Food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and service were exceptional. T ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food and service were exceptional. The location is great, and the ambience was great. I heard they play music at a certain time didn't experience that, but overall very nice

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HoustonRestaurantsWeeks2016...did brunch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

HoustonRestaurantsWeeks2016...did brunch, it was really good, quick friendly service

The food was EXCELLENT!! will definitely go back even if not for restaurants weeks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service and the food was simpl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent service and the food was simply outstanding! We went during Houston Restaurant Week to check it out. Vegetarian options are excellent also. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was very nice but service was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Atmosphere was very nice but service was not so good. Waited 15mins for a glass of water. Had reservations and waited 30mins for a table (bcuz they gave ours away and we were on time). Then took another 30mins to get food and it came to the table half hot and half cold. Overall, not a good experience. I would go back to try the wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Myself and two friends went for brunch t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Myself and two friends went for brunch to try the Houston Restaurant Week Menu and we had a o.k experience but it took about 45 minutes to get each course and we only had two. They didn't have the bread pudding which was a bummer because the beignets one of us ordered were not that great. They were very hard and not doughy like we expected them to be. I had the Thai fried chicken plate and it was very good, could do without the curry fries. My friend had the egg sanwich which was excellent and her parmasean fries I wished I had on my plate. Overall I wouldn't come back until I was invited for the HRW and no we did not get any wine. But they should be prepared for brunch because it was so busy and have what is advertised on their menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great Brunch! Quick service and very eas ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great Brunch! Quick service and very easy to get to, good parking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The new oyster bar at the Uptown Park Ta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The new oyster bar at the Uptown Park Tasting Room was wonderful. Their selection of northern, cold water oysters were delicious. Small, slightly briny, and mild flavor made them more enjoyable than the large gulf oysters we usually get here in Houston. They also had a selection of 3 different styles of grilled oysters, of which we tried the Asian and the traditional. The Asian style had pozou sauce, some crisp strips (maybe won-ton?), and just pinch of wasabi. The traditional style were reminiscent of Rockefeller style oysters one would find in NOLA. Both we quite tasty. Service was attentive and pleasant; the chef even came over to our table when we requested an explanation of the Asian-style grilled oysters. My wife particularly enjoyed the guitar player/singer who played a nice selection of classic to more modern songs, all at a very nice level, allowing for conversions to be heard easily. Overall a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my birthday with a few friend ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Celebrated my birthday with a few friends and we enjoyed ourselves to the fullest. Good food, great wine and great company...what more could a birthday girl ask for?

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was friendly and professiona ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The service was friendly and professional. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great chefs experience. Very ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

This was a great chefs experience. Very strong menu and expertly prepared. Highly recommend for a dining experience over a wine bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine selection is terrific, but there ar ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wine selection is terrific, but there are better values for a similar experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Service was OK. Food was no big deal. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was OK. Food was no big deal. Cute spot but nowhere I am eager to return to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

good outside dining / drinking area, goo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

good outside dining / drinking area, good meal options, very good wine list, regular prices, service needs to improve.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I truly enjoyed the wonderful food and w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I truly enjoyed the wonderful food and wine. Great girls night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was beyond amazing! I had orange Fr ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was beyond amazing! I had orange French toast!!!! Best French toast ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was ridiculously slow. The resta ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Service was ridiculously slow. The restaurant was almost empty and the re was no reason for the poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

First time visit to try Mothers Day Brun ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

First time visit to try Mothers Day Brunch Buffet. Choices were very limited and the food was average at best. Omelette bar did have egg whites or any type of meat to choose for in your omelette. Our reservation was at 1 desserts there was one type of cupcake and a dry brownie to choose from even though it claimed assorted cookies & cupcakes.

The server was incredibly slow. She also told also brunch came with bottomless mimosas she neglected to mention it was $12 extra.

We won't be going back ever

If you want a good Sunday Bruch Buffet buy a plane ticket and go to Camelback Inn in Scottsdale, AZ you will be glad you did. They have out of this world food selections and mimosas are included

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Atrocious!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Worse restaurant experience I have ever had! After being seated, no one came after waiting 20 minutes. Had to go to bar and request service, got extremely poor reception. Mostly ignored, was told they would have someone come to help. Another 10 minute wait with no service! Asked door hostess if she could assist, explained situation, but basically put off with a "someone will be there shortly". Place is extremely busy and woefully understaffed! Left without service - will never be back! Could never recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Baked goat cheese appetizer was deliciou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Baked goat cheese appetizer was delicious, enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Live music on Wednesday nights! Play a g ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Live music on Wednesday nights! Play a great variety too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing. The chicken and pe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The food was amazing. The chicken and pesto pasta was cooked perfectly! We sat outside and had a nice bottle of rose. Our waiter was very knowledgable about the wine which is always helpful. I've never had bad food there! I recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Yummy food and drink!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Yummy food and drink!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice place, service could improve

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Nice spot. Took a while for the service. We wait a long to be sitted.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great wines, good food; not so great server

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We love going to TTR and always have a great time. The wine suggestions are spot on and the food great for sharing. However our last time (this past Saturday 3/26) left us with a bad taste in our mouths. Towards the end of or dinner the waitress rolled her eyes at us on two occasions, the most obvious as she said "it was my pleasure to serve you".

Despite this we left a very hefty tip. Hopefully management will address this with the staff as it speaks volumes of an establishment when the client is disrespected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Always awesome!!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Always awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricey for all we got - but ove ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

A little pricey for all we got - but overall: good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great weather, sat outside. Good food. F ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great weather, sat outside. Good food. Frozen sangrias were legit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not what we expected

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We went here for brunch this past weekend, and it wasn't what we expected after enjoying the other location (City Center) on numerous occasions. The menu was extremely limited, which wasn't a big deal in and of itself. Two of us ordered from the brunch menu, and two from the regular lunch menu. None of us were impressed with our food, and we all had different items. It wasn't inedible; just not done well. We would probably go back for the setting and to have wine on the very lovey patio. We will just stay away from the food. I will say that our server was incredibly attentive and good at her job. I think her name was Nicole.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Have wine here, but don't come for the food

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This restaurant is great for people who either are very adventurous in their wine explorations and like trying new things, or who really don't care and just want any glass of wine and to hang out. You will not find your favorite well-known, popular brand of anything here. We had Sunday brunch here -- both the food and the service were okay. Just okay. Not great and not terrible. The menu was very basic and limited but met our needs. We did find it a little confusing as to how they could offer toast with breakfast and not have jam. Our request for jam was met with something like mild surprise. (Why would we want jam on our toast? Imagine that!) Chairs are not very comfortable but we put up with them because the noise level was great (we sat outside) and we were able to have a conversation among four of us without shouting. Then the guitarist showed up and that went down the drain. Not sure why TTR feels the need for music on a nice Sunday morning but they do. This establishment does a great job of providing a hunting ground for (older) singles in the evenings who have tough backs that the uncomfortable chairs don't bother, and doesn't offer much more. We've been here for lunch and dinner too and as with brunch, we don't starve - there's always something to eat - but a culinary adventure it ain't. So if you're looking for terrific food and truly hospitable service, keep looking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Great wine list and nice atmosphere. My ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Great wine list and nice atmosphere. My group just ordered appetizers, and the baked goat cheese and cauliflower were our favorites. We sat on the patio which was very nice, and they had heaters as it's February. Our waiter seemed very busy even though it wasn't crowded at all. That didn't turn me off though, I would still go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Can you get the order corrrect?

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Nice restaurant,

We chose the restaurant for a special occasion. Our reservation for an hour later than we arrived, but were seated immediately. we sat outside which was nice for conversation, the patio is very comfortable. Our drink order came out in a timely manner, the food was ordered

then we waited and waited. When the food arrived my daughter's boyfriends order was completely wrong and sent back. We had all finished eating by time his order arrived ( Pesto Pasta w/ chicken) First they brought out the pasta no chicken.. it was sent back then the wait began again.. The manager came out and tried to fix the situation, he gave dessert on the house which was dry and a disappointment. Needless to say the bill was paid and we left with a to go box of food for a very hungry man. Maybe if the waiter would have repeated the order back to us this experience would not have happen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.