About The Tasting Room - Kings Harbor

1660 W. Lake Houston Pkwy., Ste. 18
Ste. 105
Kingwood, TX 77339
View Larger Map

Is there anything better than a waterfront view with a glass of wine or classic cocktail in hand? Welcome to The Tasting Room Kings Harbor. Tucked away into the “Livable Forest” of Kingwood, The Tasting Room Kings Harbor is the one stop shop for all of your wine and dining needs on Lake Houston. With more than 100 wines offered by the glass (with a two glass commitment) and bottles featuring a variety of labels for all walks of life, we have a little something for everyone. Paired with culinary delights like Neapolitan-style pizza and seasonal specialties of both small plates and entrees, we ensure both our food and wine list provide a variety of options, catering to all kinds of palates.

For more information on booking a private event, contact us at events@tastingroomwines.com.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Tapas / Small Plates, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday: closed
Tuesday – Wednesday: 4PM – 10PM
Thursday: 11AM – 10PM *Open for lunch!
Friday – Saturday: 11AM – 12AM *Open for lunch!
Sunday: 10AM – 9PM *Open for brunch!

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(281) 361-0044

Website:
http://www.tastingroomwines.com/our_locations/kings_harbor/index.php#

Entertainment:

Catering:
The Tasting Room takes all your social and life events to a higher level. Planning a bridal shower, rehearsal dinner, birthday or just a fun family gathering? Our events team can create menus and wine selections to match for everything from casual get-togethers to the most sophisticated of parties. For more information contact us at events@tastingroomwines.com

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Check our website's Calendar of Events page for details on our upcoming events.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:30AM - 11:30AM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Wed 4:00PM - 5:00PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 10:00AM - 2:00PM 4:00PM - 5:00PM 6:30PM - 7:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether you're planning an intimate family gathering, a corporate meeting, a wine tasting or happy hour, a rehearsal dinner or a wedding we have two restaurant concepts & multiple venues that can help you create memories that last a lifetime.

The Tasting Room - Kings Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (12)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Showed for a reservation at 12:15, long ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Showed for a reservation at 12:15, long after brunch opening. No hostess in sight, and finally the guitarist told us (mid song!) to seat ourselves. Took a while to be greeted and given menus, and forever to receive our first course, despite only four parties in the place. Food is fine, but they need to up their staff to have timely, professional service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The HRW menu had excellent choices, but ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The HRW menu had excellent choices, but no I ne in my part enjoyed any of their meals. It was gross. We will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

There were 4 people in our party. Three ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There were 4 people in our party. Three of us ordered from the special menu for restaurant month. We thought the selections offered on that menu would work for each person in our group. Three of us order drinks. I would highly recommend the sangria. Three of us order the calamari as an appetizer. It had a good flavor albeit a bit over cooked. Also the three of us order the chicken fried steak. It was way over cooked. One person in our group sent it back and order something else. The manager did not charge for the substituted meal and gave a substantial discount for what was charged . That was very professional and appreciated. I believe we would go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant seemed very short-handed ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The restaurant seemed very short-handed in personnel. I thought the first course was great, the second course ok and needed classing up, the third course (fish) was tasteless, and the final course was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome food and dining experience for f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Awesome food and dining experience for first date. Thank you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the Barnard had very good serv ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We sat at the Barnard had very good service and the food was great! Loved the goat cheese appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We all ordered from the Houston Restaura ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We all ordered from the Houston Restaurant Week menu. I had calamari for my appetizer. It was overcooked; very rubbery. We all ordered the white fish over a bed of rice as our main course. The entire dish was very bland. The rice tasted like minute rice. The only thing that was decent was the dessert. To top it all of the service was not great. The experience was a total bummer! I'll never go back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Maybe they were understaffed but the ser ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Maybe they were understaffed but the service was poor. We were there an hour before our starter was served and mine was cold. I took one bite and pushed it aside. The waiter never came to check and when our salad was served he saw it sitting on the table and never asked if something was wrong. The entrees were ok but the ice cream cookie was disappointing, very little ice cream and I would say the cookies were not homemade. We order wine which was great but we will not go back. Disappointing!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Food came out cold when we came in for b ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food came out cold when we came in for brunch last weekend. Our server was on point though and took care of everything. The food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place to eat. Not bad reviews here ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great place to eat. Not bad reviews here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice meal, food and drinks were good, st ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice meal, food and drinks were good, staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful, but noise level was a lot louder than my previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Love going there

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Love going there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went with my parents (in their 70s) an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I went with my parents (in their 70s) and the attendant at the door stood there and talked to a man who was flirting with her for two minutes while we just stood there. My parents finally sat themselves--they almost walked out. So that was the start of my belated Fathers Day dinner to my folks. Everything else was tolerable-the burger was great--the view was nice. Nothing was overwhelmingly good so I can't see myself going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The restaurant couldn't find my reservat ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The restaurant couldn't find my reservation B

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and 2 yr old son here for the Mothers Day brunch. The service and food were good and we really enjoyed the waterfront views. My only complaint is that they charged ala carte for the coffee and mimosa we had. For the price of the brunch and given that they advertised mimosas, I was surprised at least one wasn't included. I would like to see the small low cost things like coffee included in such an expensive br much rate. Aside from that we really enjoyed the experience and I do think we would consider them again in the future.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Not so great.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Kingwood really needs a nice wine bar and this place probably survives because it has no competition. The atmosphere is very nice. It's pretty and the view is great. The service was slow to non existent. Our waitress was friendly and busy so I assume they are understaffed. The service was very slow. We wanted to taste 3 white wines because it is after all called "The Tasting Room" and it's about the wine. Of the 3 we requested 1 was "sold out". Not a good start. We picked one and ordered a bottle. She poured us two glasses and never came back. Again. A wine bar. Shouldn't they be pouring? We also ordered a pizza to share. It was very thin, more dry than crispy, and bland. It was pretty but not very tasty. A final note. Our server was very slow to bring our bill. We put our credit card in the binder and waited. She took so long that I guess we got distracted and left without getting the card back. Two problems with this. First it took so long to return that we forgot. Second we had made a reservation so the restaurant had our name and phone number. We ate there on Saturday night and my husband noticed it missing on Tuesday. I called and they had the card but no one had done any follow up. So basically everything was mediocre. The wine stocking, the service, the food, and the payment follow up.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Buffet was uninspired, awkward to serve ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Buffet was uninspired, awkward to serve and nothing to be excited about. Many items were not labeled. Scrambled eggs, French toast, hot German potato salad were good. Prime rib would have been good if not sliced so thin you could see through it. Rest of the food was so so at best. No one asked if we would like mimosas or champagne or wine. Buffet was set up on the counter but no hinged lids. Had to hold the lid and serve yourself. Not much in the way of desserts. The bite sized goodies were rarely replenished and empty whenever I went up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great but need more work on brunch!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We love The Tasting Room. We were very disappointed for Easter brunch. The food had no real flow to it. It just seemed to be lacking in flow for a brunch especially for holiday. I cater a lot myself so maybe I'm not best judge. Service was ok, but never received some things we requested such as salt and pepper. Asked for toast and was told they didn't have any bread for brunch and I stated was disappointed and not exactly an appropriate answer; was then told they were just too busy getting the brunch food on. She did come back after awhile and said the kitchen was preparing toast for us. It came finally as we were finished. So a couple of us ate a piece so we wouldn't feel guilty. Had to ask for water and coffee refills more than once. Just disappointing considering I spent $216 with tip. But I'll definitely go back of an evening, just not sure I'll go back for a brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

A beautiful spring day by the water

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was good to fair. The curry roasted cauliflower was good complimented by the spicy yoghurt dressing. The roasted vegetable salad was uninspiring - the arugula and dressing were good - the roasted vegetables were bland and very sparse.

My wife had the chicken salad and soup. The soup was a very tasty tomatoe and basil. The cookie was very crisp (overcooked). No expresso coffee - offered instant expresso as an alternative.

Wine was good.

Lacked any real ambiance.

Not sure I would drive from Katy to dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Downhill

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were regular patrons since it's opening, and visiting every weekend. Since the change in ownership/management, howver, we have been disappointed more often than not. While the wine list remains relatively acceptable, the food and service continues to deteriorate.

Except for the occasional visit during wine happy hour, our patronage will be limited in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Offering a buffet today during brunch . ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Offering a buffet today during brunch . Would have like to order from the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

1st time to visit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great time. There were 6 in our group celebrating a birthday . The atmosphere was very nice. There was a gentleman playing guitar. Look forward to going back!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dinner was over priced for what was served.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We enjoy it for wine and appetizers and will keep it that way for the future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Valentine's Day special menu, it was cro ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Valentine's Day special menu, it was crowded naturally, but took a long time for waiter to notice us and take our order. Food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great Service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Our waitress provided excellent service. We will be back because of her terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Cool hangout

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Great drinks! Great atmosphere! Not too out of control for a couple parents looking for a nice evening on the town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful experience

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The decor of this restaurant is just amazing. The staff were top notch, warm and friendly. The food and drinks were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for a drink after dinner

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I really wouldn't recommend this place. It looks like they tried to convert a store to a place to eat and drink. Other locations are much better. (We didn't order food.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Fair experience

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

I've been here many times, and have always gotten good service and been really happy with the food choices. However, both were lacking on this last visit. We did get a great spot outside, but our waiter was either new or overwhelmed as he forgot about us a few times. There was a mishap with the wine he brought me. It did not taste the same as the previous glass, but he manipulated my words to trick me into accepting it anyway. That really rubbed me the wrong way. He should have just taken it back and not tried to debate. Also, they used to have some great appetizer choices such as truffle fries and goat cheese grilled cheese. The appetizer choices now are ok (the usual hummus, cheese plates, etc). Also, you aren't able to choose which cheeses you want. The plates are listed very generically without the names of the cheeses even specified (they were good, though). I also had a hard time finding any international wine by the glass selection. Almost all of the wines by the glass were from the U.S.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

It's a great place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

It's a great special place for a date or meeting friends. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Took over an hour for 20 minute food and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 5, 2015

Took over an hour for 20 minute food and we were one of four tables (and I think one of two eating).

I used to love this place and the servers are fantastic but the kitchen during the week has gone extremely downhill over the last few months. Great pizza when it comes though!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Love

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Absolutely love TTR...it is our go to date night restaurant! Have not been disappointed in well over 20 visits.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The level of service was quite disappoin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

The level of service was quite disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Pam Searcy

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

The food was delicious. By far the best food in the Atascocita area. Enjoyed the atmosphere and the server was very helpful on pairing our wine and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome wine, food and customer service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Good music, great wine, ambiance, food, and customer service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here to check out their menu for Ho ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

Went here to check out their menu for Houston Restaurants Week and it was great. Will definitely put this on my regular restaurants to go to.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exactly what I expected from the other reviews

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

I went in expecting a long wait, high prices and lower food quality but with a really nice view of the lake and a higher class atmosphere. The wait for the food was not as long as I had expected it to be which was nice. The food was a little over cooked and under seasoned. The waiter offered us salt to enhance the flavor, which did wonders to help pull out the meal's flavor. The waiter was attentive and assisted with wine options.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Terrific Lakeside Sunday Brunch

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

Sunday brunch was just terrific. Sat lakeside and had great service! The food was delish, everyone enjoyed their meal. It was an impressive menu, at an unexpected caliber, something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Disappointed w/the recent visit

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

This was my second time at this restaurant and it was very disappointing! I took my entire family there for dinner and drinks on a Friday and made my reservation through OpenTable. When we got there, there was no one to seat us, so we assumed that our table was the big one with the reserved sign on it. It took about 10 minutes for anyone to even come over and acknowledge us. They seemed very busy and it appear there were only 2 servers covering all the tables in the restaurant (inside & outside), with our server running around constantly...but yet there were people standing at the bar appearing to do nothing, but talking. They forgot one of our appetizers and then brought it out late. The hummus was pretty terrible, but our entrees were just okay. All in all, it wasn't nearly as good as I remember going to eat there the first time a year or two ago. Huge let down!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance,food and wine with a terrific view.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Perfect spot to hang out with friends or to even take a romantic date. Had the parmesan crusted pan seared pork chop with risotto, esparagus and it was absolutely delicious paired with a bottle of Pinot Noir. While waiting on other friends to get their i had a glass of the house pinot noir and it was even amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.